Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Degree Metropolitan Food + Drink

A gathering place that blends new school with old school offering handcrafted, familiar food and drinks done right. Our globally-inspired menu is thoughtfully sourced. Enjoy 16 wines by the glass, over 20 Colorado craft beers, or handcrafted cocktails made from local spirits. Degree Metropolitan Food + Drink gives the Hospitality students of MSU Denver first-hand learning experience training alongside seasoned, professional restaurateurs from Sage Hospitality.

By dining at Degree Metropolitan Food + Drink, you play a part in these students’ bright futures. You not only enjoy a fantastic meal, get to soak in the students’ hospitality, but also become part of their education. The dollars you spend at Degree Metropolitan Food + Drink on lunch, dinner or even at the bar, all ultimately go towards the Metropolitan State University of Denver Foundation, benefiting student scholarships. Make your reservation today and graduate your dining experience!

1190 Auraria Pkwy
Suite B
Denver, CO 90204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Kitchen Hours Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 10:00pm
Kitchen Hours Friday and Saturday 11:00am - 11:00pm
Kitchen Hours Sunday 11:00am - 10:00pm

Bar Hours Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 12:00am
Bar Hours Sunday 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Auraria and Speer

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 439-2890

Website:
http://www.degreerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Degree features $4 Valet parking at the SpringHill Suites for lunch and dinner service. Valet is also available for $10 for dining at Degree and attending an event at the Pepsi Center.

Metered spots are located around the perimeter of the restaurant, and the Tivoli parking garage is a short walk to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Degree is located at the southern corner of Auraria and Speer.

Bus stops include:
Blake & 14th
Market & 14th
Larimer & 12th
Auraria & 9th

Lightrail stops include:
Pepsi Center/Elitch Gardens Station
Colfax at Auraria Station

Executive Chef:
Chef Dan Hyman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Degree Metropolitan Food + Drink Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Bar Seating (5)
See All
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great Beer (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Vegan (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
44 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great, healthy, tasty options. Could do better for non-dairy guests. They had no bread that did not have egg and we had a little guy who wanted a grilled cheese.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We wanted to have dinner before a show at the Pepsi Center. This was the perfect spot! It's kind of tucked away in the corner of Metro State building, which helped make it a bit more quiet (a plus when you're trying to have a conversation). Our drinks were great, dinners were served very promptly, the wait staff was attentive. I'll definitely go back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

We had concert tickets at the Pepsi Center and made reservations to dine here. Great location and excellent food! We were happy and satisfied with our experience! Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Throughly enjoyed the restaurant, incredible Cubanno sandwich, and must try Chinese Chicken Salad.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We went with 12 people to Degree and had a great, fun, surprising meal. It is close to Pepsi Center and downtown. Good food, fun place, good service. We like the concept of training new restaurant people but the place stands alone as a good restaurant. A little hidden away… worth the search.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We booked this because it was close to Pepsi Center where we were going to a concert. It is located in an Auraria Campus building with OK ambiance, nothing special. The service was cordial and efficient. The menu is limited but had good choices. We started with a cheese quesadilla that was delicious. We had a cornbread salad that was good and a Cubano sandwich that was very good. This place is an excellent choice for a pre-Pepsi Center event dinner.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food was delicious but the lunch time service is slow. Attempt to order in advance or takeaway if you are limited to a one hour lunch break.

Tags: Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Pork skins were fresh and tasty. Server worked as cook too on short staff.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food, cocktails and service was just great. Knew that we were going to an event and was very timely in making sure we had plenty of time to get to our event without being rushed. Very accommodating and friendly. Plan on going again during happy hour very soon. Thank you for helping to start our evening off right.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The restaurant is nice. The atmosphere is pleasant. However, the service was very slow and inefficient. We waited way too long for the food, and we didn't have time for dessert. It was also lacking in amenities such as bread or rolls and coffee.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Christina was terrific re: reservations and accommodating our 8 students and the need for a fast lunch/food turnaround. Food was delicious and service was better! Thanks very much!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great to support the students! Enjoyed the food and the service was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

if looking for a place to dine before an event at the Pepsi Center, Degree Metropolitan is the place. Food was very tasty and not too pricey. Staff was very friendly and responsive to our needs and time constraints

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Made a reservation. Got a call back to confirm Friday evening reservation. they said they were really busy. When we got there, I would say 1/4 - 1/3 of the restaurant was filled. Ok, no big deal. First impression upon entering the restaurant, it appeared clean and the atmosphere seemed good - contemporary in nature. The wait staff was friendly, but slow to address the needs of each table. Which was surprising given the lack of customers at the time. Overall, the food tasted good, but I ordered a simple hamburger to be cooked medium, and it came to me well done. I believe the prices were fair in what we ordered. I also understood going in, that this restaurant is attached to the MSU Hospitality, Tourism and Events program. So expect students to be doing what they can to learn their craft. I've seen this restaurant given 4 -5 stars on some websites. More like 3 stars in my opinion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This was a nice place! Interesting menu and very friendly service. Perfect place to go before a Pepsi center event. The service was pretty slow. Get there early!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is a very good restaurant with a limited but exciting menu. The service has always been good. We enjoy coming here before an event at the Pepsi Center. Try the wings as a starter with a Cubano or a burger next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised! This place was fantastic! The food was outstanding the service good and friendly. We went before the Av's game and it was a great meal. Loved it and would recommend it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was decent but overpriced for the quality. They were out of almost every draft beer on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The food coming out was a little slow, but everything else was great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Lunch time, no crowd. Lovely meal, staff and environment

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great place to grab a bite and a cocktail before heading to a concert at Pepsi Center!

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server was perfect. The food was flavorful and fresh. My husband and I loved our dinner. I had the Pueblo Slopper and he had the cornbread salad. We had the strawberry pound cake for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Stopped in for dinner after an event at the Pepsi Center.
Immediately seated and drink orders taken within a few minutes. Our server was friendly and quick.
As a training ground for the Metro State culinary school, we were a little hesitant , but were very surprised by the quality and creativity of the food.
We had the gaucho, and the pueblo slopper. Both were excellent. Note: The pueblo slopper, while a burger, needs to eaten with a knife and fork.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2016

It was a very enjoyable dinner - the only thing I would recommend, is for staff to acknowledge guests even if busy - a simple 'Hi, I'll be right with you' would have been appreciated. We also had to go up to request our check after waiting for a while.
The food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Went here before a concert at the Pepsi Center since it is 0.1 miles from the venue. The valet parking is $11.00, not $4 as I believe a previous reviewer suggested. Unfortunately the udon soup was truly awful as a previous reviewer noted. I figured he was just overly picky - I was wrong. No flavor at all, really - was like warm water, and tough undercooked noodles. The appetizers - crab cakes and roaster jalapeños - were very good. Service was good, but my soup/meal was inedible, and the pasta ordered by others was mediocre. . sorry - I really wanted to like this place due to its proximity to the Pepsi Center. Hoping this review helps the managers to improve their product - love the idea of supporting the students and love the location - but needs work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2016

This was the WORST dining experience I've ever had. I cannot rate the food, because we never received our food, which was the crux of the problem. We made 6pm reservations for an 8pm concert at the Pepsi Center, so we ordered our food, appetizers and another round of drinks by 6:20pm. By 7:15pm, we had nothing - not entrees, nor appetizers, nor drinks. We had to chase down the waiter to find out what was going on and it was clear that he had forgotten to place our order for EVERYTHING, and then lied to us about it saying "oh, I see your order in the window, it will be right up" and then disappearing. He finally brought drinks and then dropped off our appetizer at 7:25, which we had to gulp down in order to make the concert. We never saw our dinner and then, having no choice, we had to up and leave. This restaurant is a training ground for the Metro State culinary school, and it shows, as it appears to be run by a bunch of rookies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our table for 6 was ready for us when we arrived. We had prompt service, great food in a friendly atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 2, 2016

I stopped here before a Nuggets Game for dinner. The restaurant was not very business and was mostly people from the nearby hotel. The menu was unique by limited. The food tasted good but not outstanding. The surface was ok but not great. We waited a while for our food and were beginning to wonder what was taking so long.

I would recommend this to others for a bite before or after an event at the Pepsi Center area, but probably would not drive from Littleton to just eat here. It is better than Brooklyns or the Tivoli or the Blue Sky Grill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2016

I would give 10 if I could. If you are going to a show at Pepsi Center, this is totally the go-to place. Food is great; service is outstanding. We went for dinner before a show at Pepsi Center, and due to a scheduling mixup for an event at the adjacent springhill suites hotel, people who were going to the event at the hotel ended up having to go to Degree to obtain drinks which led to a lot of people waiting at the bar for drinks which was totally unrelated to dinner at Degree. The staff was totally gracious and clearly were doing their best to make everyone happy, to the extent that we were given our first round of drinks for dinner. Keep in mind that this is also a training experience for students enrolled at the Metro State hospitality degree program, as the restaurant is affiliated with the school and proceeds go to the degree program (which is why i choose to go to this restaurant). This night's experience was clearly a test under fire, and as far as I am concerned, they all came through with flying colors. Plus they have reasonably priced valet parking through the hotel if you are attending a concert at pepsi center. Service in Denver is at times questionable, but at Degree you will receive the best as they are training others to manage restaurants so excellence is their goal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2016

A secret spot to hit before an event at Pepsi Center. Park or $15 then walk over. Like the fact it also supports Metro State.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Lunch was great, crab cakes were very tasty. Great place to eat and support the education of our future hospitality professionals

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2016

My veggie burger was delicious. I loved the wine and whiskey flight options. My co-diners gave thumbs up on the Cubano sandwhich and Chicken entrée. Professional and friendly service. I've gone a number of times and will continue to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2016

This restaurant is a good blend of fresh locally sourced food and training for the next generation restauranteurs and chefs.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2016

The menu online was not the same as the one you see when you arrive, disappointing. Food tastes great but very oily, service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Our family really enjoyed our evening here from appetizers through desserts. The appetizers and entrees were flavorful and not skimpy. The signature cocktails and wine offerings were certainly ample. We all agreed that we shall be repeat customers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2016

This restaurant is tucked away behind the the Springhill Suites at the Metro State Campus. The menu is small but with a good variety of items on it. Our server was very personable and went through the menu professional with us. The wine/beer list was very good and reasonably priced. We had the brussel sprout appetizer which was great. I had the Cubano sandwich which was the best I have had in Denver and my wife had their hamburger which was cooked to order and also excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2016

I have eaten at degree restaurant previously for lunch but never dinner. I was eager to try the dinner options and was absolutely pleased with the gnocchi I ordered as well as a delectable flight of whiskey! Service is always excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2016

I had a fantastic lunch at Degree! The staff was very friendly and engaging, and the pork bahn mi was excellent. Located next to the SpringHill Suites this was a great place for before a game at the Pepsi Center.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2016

This was our first visit to Degree Metropolitan and we will be back. While the ambience is a little sparse and since we were headed to a hockey game it was early. The menu is fresh and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2016

I ate at Degree last night with a group. The menu here is very interesting. If you didn't realize that these dishes are all somewhat spinoffs, you would be confused as to why there are ramen, empanadas, and and a cheeseburger all on the same menu. The food was really good! We tried the brussel sprouts, empanadas, a chicken sandwich, and even some deserts that I didn't necessarily care for. Overall, it was a really good experience - and within walking distance of the Pepsi Center to go to the Avs game.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.