About Degree Metropolitan Food + Drink

1190 Auraria Pkwy
Suite B
Denver, CO 90204
View Larger Map

A gathering place that blends new school with old school offering handcrafted, familiar food and drinks done right. Our globally-inspired menu is thoughtfully sourced. Enjoy 16 wines by the glass, over 20 Colorado craft beers or handcrafted cocktails made from local spirits. Degree Metropolitan Food + Drink gives the Hospitality students of MSU Denver first-hand learning experience training alongside seasoned, professional restauranteurs from Sage Hospitality.

By dining during the lunch hours at Degree Metropolitan Food + Drink, you play a part in these students’ bright futures. You not only enjoy a fantastic meal, get to soak in the students’ hospitality but also become part of their education. The dollars you spend at Degree Metropolitan Food + Drink on lunch, dinner or even at the bar, all ultimately go towards the Metropolitan State University of Denver Foundation, benefitting student scholarships. Graduate your dining experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 10:30am - 10:00pm with bar service until 12:00am.
Sunday: 10:30am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Speer

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 439-2890

Website:
http://www.degreerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
MSU Denver Students and Faculty can park with the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Valet for $8. There is also parking to the west in the Tivoli parking garage at 9th and Auraria.

Public Transit:
The Metropolitan is located at the southern corner of Auraria and Speer.

Bus stops include:
Blake & 14th
Market & 14th
Larimer & 12th
Auraria & 9th

Lightrail stops include:
Pepsi Center/Elitch Gardens Station
Colfax at Auraria Station

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Degree Metropolitan Food + Drink
Degree Metropolitan Food + Drink

Degree Metropolitan Food + Drink Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (3)
Healthy (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
25 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lunch time, no crowd. Lovely meal, staf ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Lunch time, no crowd. Lovely meal, staff and environment

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to grab a bite and a cocktai ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great place to grab a bite and a cocktail before heading to a concert at Pepsi Center!

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server was perfect. The food was fla ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server was perfect. The food was flavorful and fresh. My husband and I loved our dinner. I had the Pueblo Slopper and he had the cornbread salad. We had the strawberry pound cake for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Stopped in for dinner after an event at ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Stopped in for dinner after an event at the Pepsi Center.

Immediately seated and drink orders taken within a few minutes. Our server was friendly and quick.

As a training ground for the Metro State culinary school, we were a little hesitant , but were very surprised by the quality and creativity of the food.

We had the gaucho, and the pueblo slopper. Both were excellent. Note: The pueblo slopper, while a burger, needs to eaten with a knife and fork.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was a very enjoyable dinner - the onl ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

It was a very enjoyable dinner - the only thing I would recommend, is for staff to acknowledge guests even if busy - a simple 'Hi, I'll be right with you' would have been appreciated. We also had to go up to request our check after waiting for a while.

The food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Went here before a concert at the Pepsi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Went here before a concert at the Pepsi Center since it is 0.1 miles from the venue. The valet parking is $11.00, not $4 as I believe a previous reviewer suggested. Unfortunately the udon soup was truly awful as a previous reviewer noted. I figured he was just overly picky - I was wrong. No flavor at all, really - was like warm water, and tough undercooked noodles. The appetizers - crab cakes and roaster jalapeños - were very good. Service was good, but my soup/meal was inedible, and the pasta ordered by others was mediocre. . sorry - I really wanted to like this place due to its proximity to the Pepsi Center. Hoping this review helps the managers to improve their product - love the idea of supporting the students and love the location - but needs work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

This was the WORST dining experience I'v ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was the WORST dining experience I've ever had. I cannot rate the food, because we never received our food, which was the crux of the problem. We made 6pm reservations for an 8pm concert at the Pepsi Center, so we ordered our food, appetizers and another round of drinks by 6:20pm. By 7:15pm, we had nothing - not entrees, nor appetizers, nor drinks. We had to chase down the waiter to find out what was going on and it was clear that he had forgotten to place our order for EVERYTHING, and then lied to us about it saying "oh, I see your order in the window, it will be right up" and then disappearing. He finally brought drinks and then dropped off our appetizer at 7:25, which we had to gulp down in order to make the concert. We never saw our dinner and then, having no choice, we had to up and leave. This restaurant is a training ground for the Metro State culinary school, and it shows, as it appears to be run by a bunch of rookies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Our table for 6 was ready for us when we ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our table for 6 was ready for us when we arrived. We had prompt service, great food in a friendly atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Place

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I stopped here before a Nuggets Game for dinner. The restaurant was not very business and was mostly people from the nearby hotel. The menu was unique by limited. The food tasted good but not outstanding. The surface was ok but not great. We waited a while for our food and were beginning to wonder what was taking so long.

I would recommend this to others for a bite before or after an event at the Pepsi Center area, but probably would not drive from Littleton to just eat here. It is better than Brooklyns or the Tivoli or the Blue Sky Grill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

outstanding

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I would give 10 if I could. If you are going to a show at Pepsi Center, this is totally the go-to place. Food is great; service is outstanding. We went for dinner before a show at Pepsi Center, and due to a scheduling mixup for an event at the adjacent springhill suites hotel, people who were going to the event at the hotel ended up having to go to Degree to obtain drinks which led to a lot of people waiting at the bar for drinks which was totally unrelated to dinner at Degree. The staff was totally gracious and clearly were doing their best to make everyone happy, to the extent that we were given our first round of drinks for dinner. Keep in mind that this is also a training experience for students enrolled at the Metro State hospitality degree program, as the restaurant is affiliated with the school and proceeds go to the degree program (which is why i choose to go to this restaurant). This night's experience was clearly a test under fire, and as far as I am concerned, they all came through with flying colors. Plus they have reasonably priced valet parking through the hotel if you are attending a concert at pepsi center. Service in Denver is at times questionable, but at Degree you will receive the best as they are training others to manage restaurants so excellence is their goal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A secret spot to hit before an event at ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

A secret spot to hit before an event at Pepsi Center. Park or $15 then walk over. Like the fact it also supports Metro State.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Highly Recommend

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Lunch was great, crab cakes were very tasty. Great place to eat and support the education of our future hospitality professionals

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Yummy Food and Drinks

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

My veggie burger was delicious. I loved the wine and whiskey flight options. My co-diners gave thumbs up on the Cubano sandwhich and Chicken entrée. Professional and friendly service. I've gone a number of times and will continue to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a good blend of fresh ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

This restaurant is a good blend of fresh locally sourced food and training for the next generation restauranteurs and chefs.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The menu online was not the same as the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The menu online was not the same as the one you see when you arrive, disappointing. Food tastes great but very oily, service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Tasty Treats from Start to Finish

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Our family really enjoyed our evening here from appetizers through desserts. The appetizers and entrees were flavorful and not skimpy. The signature cocktails and wine offerings were certainly ample. We all agreed that we shall be repeat customers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A hidden Gem

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

This restaurant is tucked away behind the the Springhill Suites at the Metro State Campus. The menu is small but with a good variety of items on it. Our server was very personable and went through the menu professional with us. The wine/beer list was very good and reasonably priced. We had the brussel sprout appetizer which was great. I had the Cubano sandwich which was the best I have had in Denver and my wife had their hamburger which was cooked to order and also excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and thoughtful service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I have eaten at degree restaurant previously for lunch but never dinner. I was eager to try the dinner options and was absolutely pleased with the gnocchi I ordered as well as a delectable flight of whiskey! Service is always excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Bahn Mi!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

I had a fantastic lunch at Degree! The staff was very friendly and engaging, and the pork bahn mi was excellent. Located next to the SpringHill Suites this was a great place for before a game at the Pepsi Center.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Degree Metro ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

This was our first visit to Degree Metropolitan and we will be back. While the ambience is a little sparse and since we were headed to a hockey game it was early. The menu is fresh and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Cool little place on Metro's campus

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

I ate at Degree last night with a group. The menu here is very interesting. If you didn't realize that these dishes are all somewhat spinoffs, you would be confused as to why there are ramen, empanadas, and and a cheeseburger all on the same menu. The food was really good! We tried the brussel sprouts, empanadas, a chicken sandwich, and even some deserts that I didn't necessarily care for. Overall, it was a really good experience - and within walking distance of the Pepsi Center to go to the Avs game.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was marginal. Chicken overcooked an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Food was marginal. Chicken overcooked and dry. Veggies overcooked and limp. French fries rocked. Waiter was delightful but didn't offer dessert, just brought the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Interesting and Tasty

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 1, 2015

I'm already planning my third visit in as many weeks. Great for those on the Auraria campus or coming from anywhere. An attractive space, professional and friendly service, and appealing food variety. I enjoyed everything I've had so far.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a very positive experience. The st ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

I had a very positive experience. The students did a great job of taking care of me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Lunch

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 13, 2014

I often have business lunches at Degree and my guests always comment on the quality of the food and are impressed by the involvement of Metro State students in working in the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.