About Degage Jazz Cafe & Fine Dining and Degage Express: Soups, Sandwiches & Such

301 River Rd
Maumee, OH 43537
View Larger Map

"I want to show people the depth of Maumee's food culture and to be able to share and gain new perspectives on the food with them. All of our food is born locally. It's the foundation of what we do."


A true devotee to the local food movement, Native Toledoan and Chef Joseph Jacobsen has been revolutionizing Maumee's & the surrounding areas culinary scene since he took over Degage Jazz Cafe & Fine Dining 4 years ago. He shares his passion for connecting local farmers and consumers with monthly cooking classes, seasonally-changing menu, locally-grown & sources produce, meats & dairy. The International Culinary Institute-alum brings his farm-to-table passion fruition at Degage & diners love the spot's refined blend of locally-grown produce and use of fresh costal seafood as do local foodies.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: CLOSED

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm-1:00am
Sunday: 4:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
River Road & East Wayne Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 794-8205

Website:
http://www.historiccommericalbuilding.com/

Entertainment:
Listed on the National Historic Register and located in one of Northwest Ohio's oldest commercial establishments on the first floor, the Dégagé Jazz Café features an intimate club setting and an outdoor patio with live music 5 nights a week!!

Select from our newly updated martini menu and a delicious menu of signature plates while you relax and enjoy great live jazz!

Extended seating outside the main café, including our River Room, Wine Room, & Levi Room are also available with large screen viewing of the evening’s live jazz entertainment.

Parking Details:
Parking available in our private parking lot as well as along East Wayne Street. Free valet parking available during special events.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Jacobsen

Private Party Facilities:
Langley Hall is the ideal location for a guest list as few as 6 up to 120 guests. The Hall may also be divided to accommodate smaller groups of guests. We pride ourselves on customizing your experience while remaining affordable! All room fees include set up / clean up, tables and chairs, uniformed servers, use of our in-house centerpieces, silverware, glassware, and china, white linen tablecloths and napkins and skirting of appropriate tables.

Located on the second floor of The Historic Commercial Building, Langley Hall can be reserved for seated dinners or grazing and cocktail party events for:
• Receptions
• Rehearsal Dinners
• Showers
• Reunions
• Birthdays Parties
• Work Parties
• Celebrations
• Fundraisers
Call today for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Monica Fowler: 4197948205x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Degage Jazz Cafe & Fine Dining and Degage Express: Soups, Sandwiches & Such Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Toledo
Best Food
Toledo
Best Service
Toledo
9 More
Best Ambiance
Toledo
Special Occasion
Toledo
Most Booked
Toledo
Best Overall
Toledo
Best Food
Toledo
Best Service
Toledo
Best Ambiance
Toledo
Special Occasion
Toledo
Most Booked
Toledo
Best Restaurants in Maumee ›

neighborhood gem (16)
special occasion (16)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
romantic (13)
good for groups (7)
notable wine list (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
late-night find (5)
hot spot (4)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining experience was very pleasant for ...

Dined 6 days ago

Dining experience was very pleasant for a family celebration. Menu accommodated a variety of life styles and tastes (adult and child). Service was excellent!! Would definitely book a reservation again - many thanks!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we dine here it is a wonderfu ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Every time we dine here it is a wonderful experience. The food is superb and always a delicious twist on dishes. The building and atmosphere are charming and we love the live jazz. The wait staff are knowledgeable and attentive. We most recently had a private room for a wedding celebration and all 16 people throughly enjoyed the experience

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE this place. All the food is extr ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I LOVE this place. All the food is extremely good and well-pesented. Staff is excellent. Prices are very reasonable. FRENCH FRIES are to die for!!! And any time you have Grant Flick playing his violin, I will try to be there. He is an amazing kid. This place is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Degage Jazz Cafe has a terrific ambience ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Degage Jazz Cafe has a terrific ambience, but what's even better is the imaginative menu. Everything that we tried was delicious, and the service that we received was quite impressive. We will certainly recommend Degage to others who are looking for a fine dining experience in the Toledo area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and music...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We enjoyed both the food and atmosphere. Was a pleasant experience and we will definitely be back. We both had the brisket and it was delicious. Have already recommended to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and atmosphere. Service was s ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Service was slow at first but got better with time. This is about my 4th visit. Nice place.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome spot!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Awesome spot!

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

SS

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had never been to this establishment, invited friends for a night out, wanted to try somewhere new. Unfortunately our service was very poor. Our drinks sat at the bar, the waitress kept disappearing. Food was so-so, nothing remarkable mentionable. Jazz band was the best part.. breaks seemed a bit long. Unfortunately we will not return :( and were a bit embarrassed to have invited our friends.

food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Not overly impressed

Dined on April 30, 2016

I can't say that I will be back. The food was alright. The service was excellent. The prices were a bit high for what I got. Even though we arrived for dinner at 630 and the band started at 730, they automatically (and without any warning) added $8 per person to our bill for a cover charge. For the amount we paid, there are better places to go.

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Expensive and disappointing anniversary dinner.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Went for our anniversary. The service was average, which was disappointing for the amount we paid. Another table next to us appeared to be VIP's as they got very different service than we did. Food was overpriced for what it was. We had perused the online menu and were well aware of the prices and prepared to pay them for high quality food. But it didn't deliver.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was wonderful, creatively prese ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was wonderful, creatively presented and very tasty. We especially enjoyed the Bread Appetizer and the Salmon Appetizer. It was a lovely evening.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great smorgasbord appetizer with Salmon, ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great smorgasbord appetizer with Salmon, walleye ceviche, ribs. Delicious maple infused wood planked salmon. Nice service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food, great drinks and great music, what more could you want!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Expensive But Good...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was good but if I go there again I would order an appetizer and salad. Not a whole meal. It is supposed to be French but I have been to France 7 times and never saw BBQ on the menu. So be aware. We did enjoy our evening but I think we all liked it but did not think it was worth the money. The music was good. Not many tables.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Waitress said normally you get a salad

Dined on April 15, 2016

Then charged us for each salad. It would not have been a problem if she had explained it. Wish the menu was explained more. Waitress was never around if you needed something.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and entertainment

Dined on March 16, 2016

I had family visiting from out of town one from Los Angeles and other from Brooklyn. We enjoyed everything about this cafe. From the Jazz, the appetizers, I ordered spinach dip (amazing), then the Salmon was ( outstanding) too full for deserts!! Oh and the drinks were not watered down, I was good with one strong drink (foxy .....

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dégagé review

Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was expertly prepared and served. People here know food--how to prepare it and how to present it. Emily, our server, made a knowledge wine recommendation and was very professional in how she went about presenting the food. The live music was also a plus. My wife and I are very glad we have a restaurant like this so close to home.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great as always

Dined on February 20, 2016

food is amazing. prices are on the higher side, but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great Valentine's dinner. Start ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a great Valentine's dinner. Started with drinks and the yamstine appetizer, filet and country fried steak entrees with a bottle of wine, and ended with champaign cake and chocolate beer bread pudding. The food was really great. The yams were delicious, and the combination of the smoky filet with the blue cheese and their take on brussel sprouts was fantastic. The country fried steak didn't have the complexity of the other dishes, but it was pure comfort food. We were in a separate room from the music, so it was not too loud as other people have complained in reviews. We enjoyed it very much. The service was also good, from pleasant conversation with the hostess, to our server giving us the space and time we wanted to make a dining experience. There is much more on the menu that we want to try and will be going back for sure.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Early Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

This is a unique setting, as you can sit between the bar and the stage, or in separate rooms away from them. The live music is provided with a cover charge. The food was outstanding with unique choices and flavors. The salmon is fantastic, as was the brisket. Service was great and everyone was welcoming. We will certainly try to return and try more of the menu!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We have visited this restaurant often an ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We have visited this restaurant often and have never been disappointed. The food is delicious, the atmosphere is quiet and inviting, and the service is always top-notch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Historical Building, Nice experience.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Enjoyed our night out at this place. Very nice waitress who helped us decide on our selections. We really loved the Bar where they had a nice Jazz band playing that night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1

Ambience, meal and service all excellent

Dined on January 23, 2016

Ambience, meal and service all excellent

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on January 23, 2016

I ordered a salad for my entree and for $8.00, the majority of the lettuce was wilted. We were never told of the $6 cover charge upon entering or from our server. The music was so loud, (And I love live/loud music!) that we couldn't carry a conversation without yelling. I doubt that we will be back anytime soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Frank our server was great! Very attentive.

Dined on January 21, 2016

The music was great. We will go back to hear more Jazz!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great place

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was amazing, however, our server was a bit less than attentive. I watched the another server who had a large party and several other tables never miss a beat, while my server seemed to pay attention to her other tables but seemed to disappear when ever I or my date needed something. Outside of the service the food was outstanding and I will be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First Time Visit for Special Occasion

Dined on January 1, 2016

It was the first time my husband and I ever visited the restaurant. We've always heard great things about it so we chose to spend our Wedding Anniversary/New Years there. Great choice! The food was simply amazing. Very unique but tasty. We enjoyed everything we tried. I had the duck and my husband had the scallops. We also enjoyed a phenomenal appetizer as well as dessert. The service was fantastic. The ambiance was great as well. Although we did not sit in the bar area where the live jazz and band were. we were able to still enjoy the soulful jazzy sounds of Ramona Collins in our area. There was also a screen where we were able to view the jazz set as well. We will definitely return and recommend this place to everyone. I have to try as many things on the menu as possible!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Party of twelve

Dined on December 27, 2015

With a large group you always wonder. The food and service was Fantastic. We will definitely recommend Degage to our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were amazing! Woul ...

Dined on December 7, 2015

The food and service were amazing! Would definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Saturday night fun!

Dined on December 6, 2015

We will definitely go back to try the rest of the menu. Everything was delicious! We had the spinach artichoke dip: "fantastic!" My husband ordered the filet which came with blue cheese mashed potatoes (to dye for!) and brussels sprouts (also delicious!) and the filet itself melted in your mouth. I had the country fried steak... incredible! Definitely both dishes are must try! Excellent service as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

they never got my reservation.

Dined on November 20, 2015

They never got my reservation. So what good are you! You sent me a nice email to tell me my[ reservation was confirmed. Problem is they never got it. Fortunately they had a table. The restaurant was good. My experience with your open table website was not good.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5

Good

Dined on November 14, 2015

The food was excellent but very heavy and rich. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service2

Saturday Night

Dined on November 7, 2015

The food was well presented and had a lot of flavor. I was with a friend enjoying dinner and then after dinner cocktails. We had a great time listening to the live jazz in the dining area. It was an added feature to have the band on the tv screen. Unfortunately, when we ordered our after dinner drinks, the server seemed annoyed. About 15 minutes later, a different server had taken over our table. It would have been nice to be informed on the situation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

Dined on November 6, 2015

We had heard of Degage for a while and just hadn't made it in. We'll we decided to go for our anniversary. The ambience is great. It's in an old building, with character. Had a jazz band in the bar area and was not loud out in the dining area. The menu was awesome. Nothing is traditional, all items have the own spin. It is a little pricey, but it is quality food and worth it. Our service was excellent as well. I would highly recommend. Dress can be casual to business, it's up to you. Very relaxing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great spot!

Dined on October 23, 2015

Good locally-sourced food prepared with care and I can't wait to go back!! The duck & waffles was absolutely amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2

Not quite what I was expecting

Dined on October 17, 2015

I went to Degage because of a reference from a friend. I haven't followed back up with him to see where they sat, but we sat as far as you could possibly be from the music. When I heard "Jazz Cafe", I thought of a much more open/airy atmosphere where the music could travel. This is not the case at all with Degage. Very old building, and still very chopped up. I think I counted 5 separate dining "areas". Food was fine, service was ok. I'm not sure if I would go back or not...?

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service1

disappointing

Dined on October 10, 2015

I was very disappointed when i ordered scallops on a saturday night at 7pm and was told they were out. I had my heart set on scallops as they are my favorite dish. Instead i ate mediocre chicken served in a metal bucket. The cheese plate appetizer was delicious, but over priced. The martinis were blase. The service was terrible. I was very excited to go, but very disappointed at the end of the night

food5
ambience4
service4

Eating in the dining area allows social ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

Eating in the dining area allows social conversation while still being able to hear the band. You could also watch the band on monitors.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Kudos to Dégagé Jazz Cafe

Dined on September 13, 2015

We were entertaining friends from out of town who are very knowledgable about food. One is an outstanding cook in her own right and the other was once in the restaurant business. Both agreed, along with me and my wife, that the way the flavors blended in the chicken and salmon dishes were the work of an expert. The atmosphere was conducive to conversation, the live musicians played well and unobtrusively, and Emily, our server, knew the menu thoroughly and seemed to enjoy presenting such outstanding food. Her good work was a major contributor to this experience. The visit in question was our first, and we will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Open Table Gem

Dined on September 4, 2015

Staying in Maumee for an event I went on Opentable for a restaurant close to our hotel. Degage Jazz Cafe came up and it was an unexpected delight! The location and setting were interesting and impressive. We sat on the patio and had a wonderful meal. The menu was very different and we enjoyed everything we ordered, especially the drunken mussels. Great service and we would love to be able to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.