Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.67mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About Degage Jazz Cafe & Fine Dining and Degage Express: Soups, Sandwiches & Such

"I want to show people the depth of Maumee's food culture and to be able to share and gain new perspectives on the food with them. All of our food is born locally. It's the foundation of what we do."


A true devotee to the local food movement, Native Toledoan and Chef Joseph Jacobsen has been revolutionizing Maumee's & the surrounding areas culinary scene since he took over Degage Jazz Cafe & Fine Dining 4 years ago. He shares his passion for connecting local farmers and consumers with monthly cooking classes, seasonally-changing menu, locally-grown & sources produce, meats & dairy. The International Culinary Institute-alum brings his farm-to-table passion fruition at Degage & diners love the spot's refined blend of locally-grown produce and use of fresh costal seafood as do local foodies.

301 River Rd
Maumee, OH 43537
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: CLOSED

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm-1:00am
Sunday: 4:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
River Road & East Wayne Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 794-8205

Website:
http://www.historiccommericalbuilding.com/

Entertainment:
Listed on the National Historic Register and located in one of Northwest Ohio's oldest commercial establishments on the first floor, the Dégagé Jazz Café features an intimate club setting and an outdoor patio with live music 5 nights a week!!

Select from our newly updated martini menu and a delicious menu of signature plates while you relax and enjoy great live jazz!

Extended seating outside the main café, including our River Room, Wine Room, & Levi Room are also available with large screen viewing of the evening’s live jazz entertainment.

Parking Details:
Parking available in our private parking lot as well as along East Wayne Street. Free valet parking available during special events.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Jacobsen

Private Party Facilities:
Langley Hall is the ideal location for a guest list as few as 6 up to 120 guests. The Hall may also be divided to accommodate smaller groups of guests. We pride ourselves on customizing your experience while remaining affordable! All room fees include set up / clean up, tables and chairs, uniformed servers, use of our in-house centerpieces, silverware, glassware, and china, white linen tablecloths and napkins and skirting of appropriate tables.

Located on the second floor of The Historic Commercial Building, Langley Hall can be reserved for seated dinners or grazing and cocktail party events for:
• Receptions
• Rehearsal Dinners
• Showers
• Reunions
• Birthdays Parties
• Work Parties
• Celebrations
• Fundraisers
Call today for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Monica Fowler: (419) 794-8205 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 4:00PM

Tue 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Degage Jazz Cafe & Fine Dining and Degage Express: Soups, Sandwiches & Such Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Historic (20)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Live Music (18)
Romantic (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fun (13)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Casual (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Organic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (5)
Vegan (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
229 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined a day ago

Loud, of course, in room w jazz, back rooms moderate. Interesting food, but high calorie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Degage jazz café is one of my favorite venues for food, music, drinks, and atmosphere. The food is good, the drinks are good, the wine list is nice, and the music is the best.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

It was amazing!! The food was absolutely delicious, the ambiance was cool jazz, and music was professional and spontaneous!

Tags: Casual, Dancing, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Healthy, Seasonal, Live Music, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was amazing. You can tell a lot of prep and work went into it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Casual, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This was my first time here. Great wait staff, great food, great entertainment. I didn't know there was a $6.00 cover charge to be on the cafe side. It is not reflected on the website, and if it is, it is hidden well. Other than that, I had a great experience, and I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Fun, Organic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Overall the night was ok. What was most notably upsetting was the food (chicken too overcooked, lamb pasta not great) and the chilly temperature. Service was acceptable. Won't be back though.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 29, 2017

There was one worker to act as hostess, server, bartender, and food runner. She did an excellent job with the situation she was given, but I saw 2 tables walk out because service was a little slower than normal and the fact that the jazz band was cancelled for the evening. I felt bad for her, I have been a server before and know how stressful it can be. I would recommend giving her some help in the future. I would still recommend Degage to others because the food is excellent and the ambiance is generally unlike any other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was so nice to go out for a nice dinner and find an entire vegan menu (upon request). The restaurant was beautiful and the atmosphere was cozy. We will be back!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good food, great selection, and amazing atmosphere. Only downside is that the parking is limited and you may have to park down the street. Small price to pay to enjoy the food and the live jazz.

Tags: Fun, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Authentic French cuisine, research menu if you don't have the palette. Great live music and bar scene. Pleasant and accommodating staff. Will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Casual, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 5, 2017

One of us has an onion and garlic allergy. This makes it difficult to eat anywhere. Food was done properly but the veggies had onions. They immediately rectified this! During restaurant week, the place is slammed. We waited about 30 minutes for our table.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our service was great and the food was terrific. The pork shoulder was fork tender and delicious, The salmon was cooked to perfection. The vegetable sides were equally as good.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We headed out on the town to find a special stop for our celebrated birthdays. Degage is such a diamond on the outskirts of Maumee. Sitting close to the waterfront it would be a great place to visit in the summer on the patio. Both my husband and I were pleasantly surprised with great food, service, and jazz ambiance. It was a wonderful place to enjoy conversation and jazz music. I would recommend this resteraunt to anyone for a special occasion!

Tags: Historic, Fun, Cozy, Authentic, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I had hair in my food. My husbands steak was not cooked properly. The chef came out and treated us horribly! We will NOT be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Unfortunately the food was absolutely a disaster. How can a chef mess up a goodbquality cut of meat? Filet mignon...Three (3) times. My husband took his dinner home because he was being nice after the second time. We brought it home and trashed it. It was not edibe. The mash potatoes can't be described as potatoes. The Brussels sprouts were not cooked. The salad was fine. Our server became less interested in serving us after noting the obvious. ( Emily/Emma) she became less and less scared. We had different servers serve us water. We still left a decent tip. We will never have dinner here ever again but we did enjoy the live band.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was superb. The live band and ambience was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful dinner and wonderful jazz!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've been here before, and the food has always been top notch. This time I ordered the beef brisket. It was one of the best briskets I've ever had, and I lived in Texas for 10 years. The brisket was smoked perfectly and very tender. Served with what I think was a home made steak sauce, the flavor was amazing. It melted in your mouth.
My fiancee had the bourbon glazed wood plank salmon. This too was a great choice, with the plank adding a little smoky flavor, and the bourbon glaze was not overpowering. A perfect balance.
All in all, a wonderful experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Organic, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Seated by busy bar station on tiny table. Both of us ordered medium lamb chops one plate came out medium the other plate came out raw. Server took out more money from gift card than receipt said. I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We love Degage ! Food delicious and service always the best ever !

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Tapas, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Chef Mike was great and would definitely go back again

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We were disappointed that the menu had changed so dramatically since the last time we visited. We were excited to order something that was no longer offered. MANY things were no longer offered.
What we ordered was fine....just fine. But it was nothing that would make us rush back for more.
Our waitress was a doll, but the service was incredibly slow. The restaurant was far from full, yet we waited nearly an hour for our food. I know that our waitress felt bad when I jokingly said, "I'm starving!"
We love that it's local, love the location, love the ambiance.
But, man, were we disappointed in the food selection and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Out with my wife. Jazz, from Mr. Buzzelli, gave a mellow tempo to the night's meal. My wife had a burger, Caesar salad, & spinach/artichoke dip with pita while myself had frites, salad, & pasta of the season which was chicken penne pasta with peanut sauce & pear apple cider to wash it down...Loved it & will visit again once time & finances return.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great time - nice jazz band playing, extraordinary service and a wonderful atmosphere. The staff was very attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was quiet, but that's because the live music had not yet started. The food was outstanding and the service great. We will be returning at some point in the near future, I hope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I went for New Year's Eve dinner and the food was absolutely fabulous. I was a little disappointed that they ran out of creme brulee dessert so early in the evening (8pm). The music was hard to hear at our table, the noise level was too loud to hear through the speaker system until the loud group left. You could see the performance on the screen, but couldn't hear anything but the bass, unfortunately. I definitely want to go back at another, not so raucus evening. I love jazz/blues and the food was really fantastic.

Tags: Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to Degage for our sixth weddding anniversary. We did not inform the staff of this and I still feel as though they made the experience great. They were very attentive to our needs and very helpful when we had questions. The food was wonderful and looked beautiful on the plates. Our tradition is to try a restaurant we've never been to for our anniversary dinner. Degage was definitely the best choice we could have made this year.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We absolutely love this restaurant. The food is always excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Went there Wednesday evening for dinner and had not been there in a long time. They were slammed as Gene Parker was playing. Had to drop off the ladies and park a block away. Since they were slammed, service was a bit slower than anticipated but not bad at all. Food was good. Beer was cold. We opted for seating in the dining room over the bar as we were interested in conversation more than Jazz on this particular evening. Overall a pleasant experience and won't wait so long to return.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had a lovely Christmas Eve dining experience.. Glad they were open and took reservations...our server was very pleasant, efficient and could answer any questions we had...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service and food. Jazz trio was excellent! Great atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have been there several times and always get seated in the Jazz cafe. Not even sure there is another dining area. But if you are going for conversation etc, this is not the place to go. The music although good, was loud and it's very dark in there. Would return for drinks and music but will pass on going for dinner again

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent food with intimate music experience. This is place to be for jazz lovers like myself. The young group playing night of the 16th truly refreshing from electrifying drummer, calm collected pianist to the passionate technically gifted bassist virtuoso. Bravo to all!!!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This is our third experience with degage. The first two times were very very good . This last time was a huge disappointment. The atmosphere was wonderful however the food was off-base . The appetizers were very good tho,
Especially the bacon on the stick additional appetizers were ordered for that. My chicken dinner was burnt . The pirogi special was very sparse for the cost , but tasted fine . Four others barely ate their sandwiches . The steak and salmon dinners I was told were good. I am sorry to say it will not be our first choice to come here again with our friends .

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Nice service, live jazz band on the night we dined. Okay food, nothing remarkable. We had the Carnivore appetizer, overpriced for small portions, nothing special on it...cedar plank salmon nicely prepared, rack of lamb, two tiny chops, touch to cut, eat, flavorless.
Expected better, but will go back and try the Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Pro's the ambiance and the food
Con's portion size and for the price they should serve bread with dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Love the interesting menu and food is fresh and mostly local. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Don't think I will be visiting here anymore, at least not for dinner. This is the second time we went there and they ran out of the food we ordered. Second option was overcooked and very salty. Waiter was nice but it took entirely too long for our food to come. Good idea for my birthday, just wish the experience was better.

Tags: Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Have been there 3 times and each time the food is amazing!! And they pour the drinks very well 😊

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

My family and I had a wonderful meal and enjoyed the dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.