About Degage Jazz Cafe & Fine Dining and Degage Express: Soups, Sandwiches & Such

301 River Rd
Maumee, OH 43537
View Larger Map

"I want to show people the depth of Maumee's food culture and to be able to share and gain new perspectives on the food with them. All of our food is born locally. It's the foundation of what we do."


A true devotee to the local food movement, Native Toledoan and Chef Joseph Jacobsen has been revolutionizing Maumee's & the surrounding areas culinary scene since he took over Degage Jazz Cafe & Fine Dining 4 years ago. He shares his passion for connecting local farmers and consumers with monthly cooking classes, seasonally-changing menu, locally-grown & sources produce, meats & dairy. The International Culinary Institute-alum brings his farm-to-table passion fruition at Degage & diners love the spot's refined blend of locally-grown produce and use of fresh costal seafood as do local foodies.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: CLOSED

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm-1:00am
Sunday: 4:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
River Road & East Wayne Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 794-8205

Website:
http://www.historiccommericalbuilding.com/

Entertainment:
Listed on the National Historic Register and located in one of Northwest Ohio's oldest commercial establishments on the first floor, the Dégagé Jazz Café features an intimate club setting and an outdoor patio with live music 5 nights a week!!

Select from our newly updated martini menu and a delicious menu of signature plates while you relax and enjoy great live jazz!

Extended seating outside the main café, including our River Room, Wine Room, & Levi Room are also available with large screen viewing of the evening’s live jazz entertainment.

Parking Details:
Parking available in our private parking lot as well as along East Wayne Street. Free valet parking available during special events.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Jacobsen

Private Party Facilities:
Langley Hall is the ideal location for a guest list as few as 6 up to 120 guests. The Hall may also be divided to accommodate smaller groups of guests. We pride ourselves on customizing your experience while remaining affordable! All room fees include set up / clean up, tables and chairs, uniformed servers, use of our in-house centerpieces, silverware, glassware, and china, white linen tablecloths and napkins and skirting of appropriate tables.

Located on the second floor of The Historic Commercial Building, Langley Hall can be reserved for seated dinners or grazing and cocktail party events for:
• Receptions
• Rehearsal Dinners
• Showers
• Reunions
• Birthdays Parties
• Work Parties
• Celebrations
• Fundraisers
Call today for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Monica Fowler: 4197948205x3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 4:00PM

Tue 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Degage Jazz Cafe & Fine Dining and Degage Express: Soups, Sandwiches & Such Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Toledo
Most Booked
Toledo
Best Restaurants in Maumee ›

Fit for Foodies (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Romantic (11)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Live Music (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Authentic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoy Dégagé for both food & atmosphe ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We enjoy Dégagé for both food & atmosphere. The Jazz is always delightful. We've enjoyed the steak a few times & feel it is one of the best around. It is a great place to try something you don't make at home.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entree was excellent. We had scallo ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The entree was excellent. We had scallops & duck. Special cucumber martini was splendid.

Our waitress was pleasant & efficient. The dessert was substandard. The special french press coffee was overpriced and terrible.

I would recommend it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always love Dégagé, however the table we ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always love Dégagé, however the table we were placed at was disappointing due to the wait staff and band using our extremely small aisle space as their main walkway. There were 5 other open tables in the center of the lounge that were not disturbed by the constant hustle in which they could have moved us to., but of course they claim they were "reserved." ( No one ever showed up and sat at those open tables).

The set up of tables in the lounge could be so much better. It could be arranged in a way that you aren't being disturbed throughout your entire experience with wait staff walking back and forth ~practically brushing your elbows ~ and looking as if inconvenienced your table is in their way. I've seen the path change over the years, and have always noted how invasive and disturbing to the meal it is. They should remove the 3 tables along the inside wall and use that as their main walkway. Add more tables up in front of the stage if needed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard good things about this place ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I had heard good things about this place. My wife and I are not from Toledo and wanted to give it a try. She had the mussels. We've had them all over the world and have never experienced mussels with globs of horseradish sauce piled on top. I had the salmon - which was overcooked. A live jazz band was playing in the bar - which sounded pretty good. Our server was nice and attentive. Our only complaint was with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Was very disappointed with our visit. H ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Was very disappointed with our visit. Hadn't been there in awhile and has changed a lot. Food was not up to par for this type of restaurant and price. Food was about quality and taste. Now it's about looks. Will not be back nor will w recommend any more. Also found out they have a new chef. Explains a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Appetizers were delicious and so were th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Appetizers were delicious and so were the meals we tried. We went for a special celebration and I am likely to go back when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I usually love this place and came quite ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I usually love this place and came quite often while chef Joe was their chef. Maybe it was an off night but I wouldn't call this particular experience stellar. We started with a chocolate martini and the drink has separated into clear at the bottom of the glass with a milky substance at the top. We mentioned something to the waitress and she let the bartender know to remake. He said he followed the recipe to how he always does. He was wonderful and really tried to make the experience better but the drink was not good. That is the drink of choice for any and every place we go to so we know a good one when we have it unfortunately. We sat in the back and I wish the lightening was a little better. It was very dim lighting so it was hard to see our food and really enjoy with our eyes. At the very end of our meal they adjusted the lights which did make for a better experience. Lastly, bread board was wonderful as always. Main entrée, the steak was ordered medium rare. But when I took my left overs home I realized that it was more on the rare side. I couldn't tell in the restaurant due to the lightening. I really did have a nice experience and I wouldn't say I wouldn't eat there again. I think its the very basic of things that can convolute the wonderful food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This was our third time dining in this r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our third time dining in this restaurant. Unfortunately, only the first time everything was outstanding. It seems as if the quality is going down. very surprising too, we had reservations for Saturday a 7 pm, and the place was dead. The food was OK, but not for the price we paid, same goes for the drinks. Service was very low considering there were not many guest in the restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

I was pleasantly surprised by the whole ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. This was my first time going to Degage. I will make sure that this place is on my "to do list" for future trips to Toledo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I chose this restaurant ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I chose this restaurant for a rare date night away from our 3 young children. The live jazz music and ambiance were pleasant, but the food was unimpressive for the price. The waiter we had did a good job, but somehow our meal got placed on someone else's table and the recipient didn't realize they got the wrong food. So they had to re-cook our food, which took a solid 20 - 25 minutes extra. Again, if the food tasted great, we wouldn't have cared because we had the time. But my salmon was undercooked and our sides were lackluster. We were so bummed because we have been looking for a great restaurant in the Toledo area, and this was definitely not up to our standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We went to De Gage to celebrate our wedd ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went to De Gage to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We sat in the patio on a beautiful evening. The service, food and ambiance was great. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining experience was very pleasant for ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Dining experience was very pleasant for a family celebration. Menu accommodated a variety of life styles and tastes (adult and child). Service was excellent!! Would definitely book a reservation again - many thanks!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we dine here it is a wonderfu ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Every time we dine here it is a wonderful experience. The food is superb and always a delicious twist on dishes. The building and atmosphere are charming and we love the live jazz. The wait staff are knowledgeable and attentive. We most recently had a private room for a wedding celebration and all 16 people throughly enjoyed the experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE this place. All the food is extr ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I LOVE this place. All the food is extremely good and well-pesented. Staff is excellent. Prices are very reasonable. FRENCH FRIES are to die for!!! And any time you have Grant Flick playing his violin, I will try to be there. He is an amazing kid. This place is a gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Degage Jazz Cafe has a terrific ambience ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Degage Jazz Cafe has a terrific ambience, but what's even better is the imaginative menu. Everything that we tried was delicious, and the service that we received was quite impressive. We will certainly recommend Degage to others who are looking for a fine dining experience in the Toledo area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and music...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We enjoyed both the food and atmosphere. Was a pleasant experience and we will definitely be back. We both had the brisket and it was delicious. Have already recommended to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. Service was s ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Service was slow at first but got better with time. This is about my 4th visit. Nice place.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Awesome spot!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Awesome spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SS

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had never been to this establishment, invited friends for a night out, wanted to try somewhere new. Unfortunately our service was very poor. Our drinks sat at the bar, the waitress kept disappearing. Food was so-so, nothing remarkable mentionable. Jazz band was the best part.. breaks seemed a bit long. Unfortunately we will not return :(

and were a bit embarrassed to have invited our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Not overly impressed

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I can't say that I will be back. The food was alright. The service was excellent. The prices were a bit high for what I got. Even though we arrived for dinner at 630 and the band started at 730, they automatically (and without any warning) added $8 per person to our bill for a cover charge. For the amount we paid, there are better places to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Expensive and disappointing anniversary dinner.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Went for our anniversary. The service was average, which was disappointing for the amount we paid. Another table next to us appeared to be VIP's as they got very different service than we did. Food was overpriced for what it was. We had perused the online menu and were well aware of the prices and prepared to pay them for high quality food. But it didn't deliver.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The food was wonderful, creatively prese ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was wonderful, creatively presented and very tasty. We especially enjoyed the Bread Appetizer and the Salmon Appetizer. It was a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great smorgasbord appetizer with Salmon, ...

vip
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great smorgasbord appetizer with Salmon, walleye ceviche, ribs. Delicious maple infused wood planked salmon.

Nice service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome food!!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food, great drinks and great music, what more could you want!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive But Good...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was good but if I go there again I would order an appetizer and salad. Not a whole meal. It is supposed to be French but I have been to France 7 times and never saw BBQ on the menu. So be aware. We did enjoy our evening but I think we all liked it but did not think it was worth the money. The music was good. Not many tables.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Waitress said normally you get a salad

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Then charged us for each salad. It would not have been a problem if she had explained it.

Wish the menu was explained more. Waitress was never around if you needed something.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and entertainment

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

I had family visiting from out of town one from Los Angeles and other from Brooklyn. We enjoyed everything about this cafe. From the Jazz, the appetizers, I ordered spinach dip (amazing), then the Salmon was ( outstanding) too full for deserts!! Oh and the drinks were not watered down, I was good with one strong drink (foxy .....

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dégagé review

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was expertly prepared and served. People here know food--how to prepare it and how to present it. Emily, our server, made a knowledge wine recommendation and was very professional in how she went about presenting the food. The live music was also a plus. My wife and I are very glad we have a restaurant like this so close to home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great as always

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

food is amazing. prices are on the higher side, but worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great Valentine's dinner. Start ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a great Valentine's dinner. Started with drinks and the yamstine appetizer, filet and country fried steak entrees with a bottle of wine, and ended with champaign cake and chocolate beer bread pudding. The food was really great. The yams were delicious, and the combination of the smoky filet with the blue cheese and their take on brussel sprouts was fantastic. The country fried steak didn't have the complexity of the other dishes, but it was pure comfort food.

We were in a separate room from the music, so it was not too loud as other people have complained in reviews. We enjoyed it very much. The service was also good, from pleasant conversation with the hostess, to our server giving us the space and time we wanted to make a dining experience.

There is much more on the menu that we want to try and will be going back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Early Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This is a unique setting, as you can sit between the bar and the stage, or in separate rooms away from them. The live music is provided with a cover charge. The food was outstanding with unique choices and flavors. The salmon is fantastic, as was the brisket. Service was great and everyone was welcoming. We will certainly try to return and try more of the menu!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have visited this restaurant often an ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We have visited this restaurant often and have never been disappointed. The food is delicious, the atmosphere is quiet and inviting, and the service is always top-notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Historical Building, Nice experience.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Enjoyed our night out at this place. Very nice waitress who helped us decide on our selections. We really loved the Bar where they had a nice Jazz band playing that night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambience, meal and service all excellent

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Ambience, meal and service all excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Disappointed

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I ordered a salad for my entree and for $8.00, the majority of the lettuce was wilted. We were never told of the $6 cover charge upon entering or from our server. The music was so loud, (And I love live/loud music!) that we couldn't carry a conversation without yelling. I doubt that we will be back anytime soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Frank our server was great! Very attentive.

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

The music was great. We will go back to hear more Jazz!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was amazing, however, our server was a bit less than attentive. I watched the another server who had a large party and several other tables never miss a beat, while my server seemed to pay attention to her other tables but seemed to disappear when ever I or my date needed something. Outside of the service the food was outstanding and I will be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

First Time Visit for Special Occasion

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

It was the first time my husband and I ever visited the restaurant. We've always heard great things about it so we chose to spend our Wedding Anniversary/New Years there. Great choice! The food was simply amazing. Very unique but tasty. We enjoyed everything we tried. I had the duck and my husband had the scallops. We also enjoyed a phenomenal appetizer as well as dessert.

The service was fantastic. The ambiance was great as well. Although we did not sit in the bar area where the live jazz and band were. we were able to still enjoy the soulful jazzy sounds of Ramona Collins in our area. There was also a screen where we were able to view the jazz set as well.

We will definitely return and recommend this place to everyone. I have to try as many things on the menu as possible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Party of twelve

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

With a large group you always wonder. The food and service was Fantastic. We will definitely recommend Degage to our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were amazing! Woul ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on December 7, 2015

The food and service were amazing! Would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.