Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.80mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 2.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.80mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 2.54mi

About Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate

This charming restaurant located on Biltmore Estate was originally an historic barn designed by Richard Morris Hunt. Now transformed into a courtyard restaurant with walls of windows, Deerpark Restaurant serves a generous array of Southern style dishes and Appalachian specialties. Our Taste of the South Weekend brunches offers bountiful choices. It's an excellent setting for family dining, with children nine and younger dining for free. Paid Estate admission is required.

1 Approach Road
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
NOW OPEN FRIDAYS 11:00a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Saturday Lunch 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Sunday Brunch 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Open for Dinner Concert evenings July and August
*Estate admission required*

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6260

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/deerpark.asp

Executive Chef:
Kirk Fiore

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (66)
Great for Brunch (62)
Sunday Lunch (54)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Great for Lunch (46)
Local Ingredients (43)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Good for a Date (38)
Worth the Drive (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Casual (34)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Romantic (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Comfort Food (28)
Scenic View (27)
Live Music (26)
Fun (23)
Authentic (20)
Seasonal (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Disabled Access (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (10)
Business Meals (10)
Historic (8)
Organic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Vegan (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Good variety of food with reasonable price before attending concert.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This was our last meal on the wonderful Biltmore estate. It did not disappoint! All of the food served at their brunch is delicious. We would definitely return to enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always look forward to brunch at deerpark. Have to say courtyard very sterile. I liked the old courtyard but I understand your plan.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delicious buffet with a plethora of choices. The only thing i wish had been on the buffet was grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Only thing we didn't care for was the "Pulled pork" Bbq sliders which where more mush then identifiable pork,,, and the raspberry cake which had no flavor,,,, but as always an amazing meal with amazing friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We went to Sunday Brunch and had read many good reviews about the food. We were very disappointed. First, we did enjoy these dishes. The corn-squash casserole was well seasoned and very delicious as was the Ginger Melon soup. The small buttermilk biscuits, the sausage links and the smoked salmon deviled eggs were also good. My husband loved the buttermilk ranch dressing on his mixed salad. So much for the positive part of the review. The entire restaurant was too warm. I had read that the restaurant was not cool enough and we had to agree. It was difficult to enjoy a dining experience when the room was too warm. The peel your own shrimp had cocktail sauce that was gelatinous, did not appear to be freshly made. The corned beef eggs benedict had a bland taste - not seasoned. The tomato grits had no taste - I couldn't finish them. The Texas brisket was too fatty - more fat than meat. The desserts were unimpressive - they sounded good but they were too warm. Cheesecake and mousse filling should be served cold and they were not. Our waitress was OK. She did not remove our first plates and we sat there with a table of clutter. She walked by our table several times and didn't seem to care. We had to wait for our bill even after requesting it and then it took 15 minutes to bring our credit card back. Poor service! Some dishes were good but our overall experience was not pleasant. We expected more and they did not deliver. We will not go back nor recommend the Deerpark to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Without hesitation, both my wife and I give the Sunday buffet our HIGHEST rating. Simply put, it is THE best buffet we have ever experienced. The food choices are many, varied and extremely high in quality. The staff kept every one of the many items fully and freshly stocked. Every item we had was perfectly prepared. Our server was very attentive, but not obtrusive. We highly recommend this restaurant, especially on Sundays.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

They needed to have more items such as a good grilled fish and a chicken item. The desserts looked nice but weren't that good. They ran out of ice cream too.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We often have lunch or brunch at Deerpark when family is in town. Lovely ambiance. The food was superb this time. Best roasted Turkey I have ever tasted and a delicious arugula and grilled peach salad. Saturday lunch is a great value.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Portions of meat were carved very small. Desserts were presented beautifully, but lacked flavor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I had a really good experience except for one thing. I was seated directly in the sun.
It did get very warm by the window.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent brunch buffet. We were happy that alcohol is now available starting at 10 on Sundays. Loved the mimosas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food flavorful. There was good variety I miss the old courtyard it had more character and seemed to keep the restaurant cooler and was nicer to look at than the new concrete slab. But overall the food was great as it always is.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Seasonal, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I have enjoyed Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate for many years and have enjoyed every visit. It is a real bright star in the restaurant area in the Asheville area.

Tags: Vegan, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was ok, but the server and people tending the food tables were very rude! A lot of them just standing around doing nothing but talking to each other, looking lost. Acted like we were bothering them to ask for what we wanted. Waitress was flat out rude. I will not be returning to Deerpark restaurant. I was embarrassed....I had friends from my hometown come down to go to Biltmore...I raved about the place and the food and the people. Boy was this a let down AND embarrassed! Won't happen again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. Biltmore needs to offer special discounts to bring guest for Saturday brunch.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was good...not great. The price is outrageous for the Sunday brunch. Friendly staff, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Beautiful setting, fabulous food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Sunday Brunch at Deer Park is exceptional with an outstanding menu that is remarkable. There were several items like the Corned Beef Eggs Benedict that was delicious and we were truly surprised with the flavor.
The chef has developed a menu that offers excellent breakfast and lunch choices that are not found on most brunch tables. The meat, fresh vegetables, breads and even the desserts were prepared in ways that were outstanding and made choosing very difficult.
I recommend the Sunday Brunch to all who seek something special in a special setting at a truly special estate.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This is a great place for Sunday brunch!
The staff is super nice, no pressure, and the food is excellent.
Killer deserts.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We wanted a treat before our tour of the Biltmore House, and Deer Park's brunch met all our expectations. From appetizers to main courses to desserts -- especially the desserts -- we had fun trying everything and going back for seconds on our favorites. The remodeling has changed considerably the inner courtyard -- the shady trees are gone, replaced by a concrete surface because of plumbing issues -- but the interior dining area is the same. Food and service are great, and the price can't be beat. Take your friends here, and remember to make reservations early for holiday meals.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was the best brunch I have experienced. I am 57 years old, visited 27 countries, and I am humbled to have the beautiful experiences I have had. I am blessed to be a member of the Biltmore Estate and this was without a doubt, the best brunch I have ever had. I would be amazed if anyone would be displeased with this brunch. It is expensive, but worth every penny :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

1. Need to get some air conditioning!!! Sat next to open glass door sweating in 90 degree heat.
2. Waiter made a point to tell me that my online purchase included everything but the tip even though it clearly said tip was included. He forgot to bring my drink twice while he brought drinks to other tables that ordered after me.
3. Concerned about cold food sitting out in the heat.

WOULD NOT EAT THERE AGAIN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Deerpark is our favorite Biltmore Restaurant. The food is fresh with a wide variety of flavors and options available. Mike, at the carve station, always has a fresh made sauce available to compliment his wares! Many desserts to choose from as well. They do need an ice cream freezer as the ice bath they currently use, doesn't keep the ice cream cold enough. The ice cream sandwich station is more like cookies dipped in a milk shake.
A wonderfaul value on Fridays and Saturdays, well worth the short drive from the main house.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This is one of our favorite experiences in Asheville. The summer menu was delicious and the desserts were spectacular. We always rrquest Icelyn as our server--she is fabulous. A great experience and a terrific value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Amazing restaurant with equally amazing cuisine! One of the best buffet lunches I have ever had. So glad I was able to make reservations during our stay.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very tasty. Casual yet elegant. Most definitely return the next time we visit The Biltmore Estate.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I was disappointed to see the court yard had changed and not having the plants, fountains, sitting benches and beautiful ambiance it once had. Now it's like looking at a parking lot. I understand it's been leveled to host weddings. I will more than likely not return because of this. It's lost its special charm.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food was okay however I think it was a little overpriced. There needs to be an in between price for kids. Not the same as adults.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Fantastic food, beautiful setting, delightful service

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Sunday brunch was great! Lovely guitarist provided light live music. Food was great! Lots to choose lunch or breakfast with fruit & goodies! Very beautiful & peaceful - great service!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Outstanding lunch buffet. Food was outstanding, deserts were just too much. Staff was highly professional and personable. Tremendous value for the price. Very relaxing atmosphere that made you want to enjoy every minute.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have loved dining at Deerpark for years and go at least once a month. The friendly staff are simply without peers and the food is excellent. The season menu changes are always anticptated. We keep annual Biltmore passes to keep enjoying Deerpark.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We go there quite often and this last week we went on a Friday. It was less busy than Saturday or Sunday and very pleasant. Ample selection of entrees and desserts. Cannot go wrong.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent restaurant. If you are looking for a special dining experience, this is your place. The Sunday Brunch has a very good variety of breakfast and lunch items. Come hungry!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our experience was excellent. We did miss the beauty of the courtyard. Seems that the area lost some of its appeal without the trees and flowers to which we are accustomed in the past. Service was good and the food was excellent as usual. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food was wonderful! Just wish we could have tried more of the food. We have enjoyed the brunch at Deer Park for several years now.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Good lunch buffet on Biltmore Estate away from the hustle of the home tours. Reservations were for a 2pm late lunch, disappointed so many items had been eaten and were not being replenished on the buffet.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was just ok. The beef was tough and hard to cut with the butter knife..the hush puppies were terrable. Our waitress was never around when we needed her. Water glasses set empty till we were ready to leave. We ask about a military discount and she said she would take it off but when she gave us our bill it had not been deducted. Then we set for another 15 minutes to settle our tab.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed Saturday lunch after visiting Biltmore. Very comfortable restaurant, with a delicious, clean and inviting buffet. The presentation of the different buffet stations was very inviting. All dishes were labeled so there was no guessing when choosing the food. The variety of items was very good and the buffet was maintained at all times. We would highly recommend the Deerpark restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.