Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.80mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 2.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.80mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 2.54mi

About Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate

This charming restaurant located on Biltmore Estate was originally an historic barn designed by Richard Morris Hunt. Now transformed into a courtyard restaurant with walls of windows, Deerpark Restaurant serves a generous array of Southern style dishes and Appalachian specialties. Our Taste of the South Weekend brunches offers bountiful choices. It's an excellent setting for family dining, with children nine and younger dining for free. Paid Estate admission is required.

1 Approach Road
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Saturday Lunch 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Sunday Brunch 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Expanded Holiday Season Hours: Beginning November 4th
Lunch Thurs-Sat. 11:00a.m. -2:00 p.m. (open daily December 15th - Jan 2nd)
Dinner Fri and Sat. 4:00 p.m. - 8:00p.m. (expanded dinner hours Thanksgiving week and December)
Christmas Eve 12:00p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Christmas Day 12:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6260

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/deerpark.asp

Executive Chef:
Kirk Fiore

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Great for Brunch (25)
See All
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Scenic View (18)
Seasonal (18)
Historic (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Casual (14)
Romantic (14)
Family Style (13)
Healthy (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fun (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Live Music (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (3)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely restaurant, good service but very expensive. We had Easter brunch and there was a nice selection of different foods. I would say one is paying for the atmosphere more than the food. It is a beautiful, relaxing setting though.
Our server was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Went to Deerpark for Easter brunch. At $56/person, plus more for drinks, the buffet of lukewarm, overcooked, mostly tasteless food leaves me wondering how this restaurant stays in business in a foodie town like Asheville. The restaurant has a lovely ambiance with a central courtyard surrounded by glass doors that open to the courtyard. Table service was good, but no one seemed to be staying on top of what was running out at the buffet. The buffet line is in the front of this large space. Items in chafing dishes (grilled vegetables, mac & cheese, roasted potatoes, waffles, soup) were lukewarm to cold. And the long walk back to your table ensured that nothing on your plate would be warm when you got there. The blackened grouper was well past done, the asparagus and carrots uncutable and the mac & cheese gooey. The shrimp (peel & eat?) were good quality and properly cooked. The house cocktail sauce was tasty. The desserts, very attractive and fresh, were lacking in real flavor and uninspiring. The ice cream and sorbet saved the dessert bar. For this kind of money, I expected fresher, more flavorful and proper temperature food. Even the Bloody Mary Bar was short of ingredients to make a decent drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was fantastic. Particularly for a buffet. We have eaten at Deerpark before, but it has been a few years. Seven of us, including two children, were eating Easter Sunday brunch. I tasted most of what they were serving. No easy task, because many choices were presented. Some of it was estate raised, which is always nice. We were surprised by the cost. Due to it being Easter, the normally high price was much higher. $56 per adult plate. I believe children were $24. I was doubly surprised when my annual pass holder discount did not apply because of the holiday. I have never had it refused, even though we have been on the estate for numerous holidays. All five adults at the table were passholders. We were disappointed, which caused a sour end to an otherwise sweet meal. Regardless, the meal itself was very nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Always enjoy this restaurant and will return the food is always good great for Brunch

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on April 16, 2017

We all enjoyed our meal! We will be back! We try to go there at least every Easter

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

What a let down...expected so much and received far less than that, especially on Easter Sunday.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love Biltmore wines (wine club member) and dining at their restaurants. Deerpark is our choice for "Special Days" like Easter and especially Thanksgiving. For us, the only negative for dining at the Deerpark is an extremely limited wine selection. If the Biltmore was a shorter drive (drive time from our house is about 2 hrs. and 15 minutes), we would definitely be more frequent visitors.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The meal was excellent as always we are away from our family we look to the Biltmore for the Holidays we spend by ourselves also a good place to bring the children and grandchildren when they visit

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Disappointed! We are season pass holders and go the Biltmore every year for Easter Brunch. This year the food was very disappointing and blah - just no flavor. We read the menu prior to attending but found the lunch options even more limited this year. Breakfast options were ok.
Dessert table was not properly set as there were no plates available - unless you walked back to the main dinning area. Our server, was great!. Besides the food, there were several guest were in very casual attire such as flip flops and shorts. I understand there is no suggested dress code but when you're paying those prices to dine on an Easter Sunday, well, its disappointing and again it's just not what I have come to expect from Easter Brunch at The Biltmore. Lastly, we weren't allowed to use our membership discount for brunch this year - makes me reconsider my membership overall. We love the Biltmore but this time the dining and food were definitely a miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was a wonderful Easter meal. The food was delicious. The staff was on point. It had a particularly festive atmosphere that made the holiday feel special. It is our new official "go to" spot for holidays!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Seating was very orderly and on time. Beautiful floral arrangements throughout. The Brunch menu was extensive and the food was delicious. Servers were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to friends and look forward to visiting again.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The service was good they could be a little more attentive. We asked her straw and she forgot to bring it to us we had asked for it again. Also we all thought that the prime rib was a little fattier than it should've been. The food was good but it wasn't excellent. The desserts were pretty tasteless except for the cobbler and the ice cream. We were not told when we ordered orange juice before we got dinner that it was not included in the buffet price and on the menu it said that coffee was 295 but when we inquired about that I have it with our dessert we were told it was a miss print and that it was free. This was a holiday weekend and very busy. To have a miss print on a menu when you're going to be that busy, it's just unacceptable .
I thought for the variety of food and the quality of food it was a little over priced.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to DeerpRk for Easter Brunch and I cannot say enough positives about the experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent, upscale dining!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch at Deerpark on the Biltmore Estate is an annual celebration for us . We enjoy the setting and the brunch is very good. We tour the estate after the brunch for the Festival of Flowers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent Easter Sunday Brunch. Staff was on their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was excellent. Lots of variety and wonderful flavor. The staff was courteous and attentive . The setting was spectacular!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with great food
It is very pricey, but that is expected when visiting the Biltmore.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed Easter Brunch at Deerpark and had a wonderful experience. We were a few minutes late for our reservation and the gracious host seated us immediately. The live music, delicious buffet offerings (deserts!!!) and Bloody Mary's made it a meal to remember.
Keep it up Biltmore!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

For a $56 brunch, the food was well below what we've had at Grove Park Inn and other good restaurants for brunch. Our impression is that they are only trying to maximize revenue, not please customers. Waffles were soggy (probably frozen waffles), a cheap syrup not maple syrup, no toaster for bread (had to have it cold), selection was pretty routine. Shrimp bar and omlette station were nice. Pleasant ambience.

We adore Biltmore except for food and come very often and walk the grounds, but never for meals. All restaurants are mediocre except the Stable Cafe, but hambergers and such are not our thing. Opportunity lost!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a wonderful experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great buffet lunch on weekend while visiting Biltmore with family.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Authentic, People Watching, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We love the Deerpark. They have just remodeled the courtyard in the center of it. It's open now and paved, and has chairs and umbrellas that one can just sit and relax in (sometimes necessary after a very long house tour). The food is wonderful and varied. Anyone can find something to eat on that buffet, and the service is always pleasant and enthusiastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It was very enjoyable and the atmosphere was great. Went for brunch at 11:30. Didn't have any breakfast items but that could have been served a little earlier, not sure. The overall experience was very nice and quiet.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I am sixty years of age and this was the most enjoyable meal I have ever experienced.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Historic, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Thank you for the wonderful food and service this past weekend. My girlfriend and I were there with two other couples and had an awesome Sunday Brunch at Deerpark after touring the Biltmore Estate. I highly recommend dining here as the restaurant is gorgeous and right on property! We will be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great brunch.... wonderful selection... friendly staff... amazing food!! Well priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The dining experience at Deerpark is always exceptional. The food is fresh, well prepared, delicious, and the waitstaff friendly and competent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was our first trip to the Biltmore and decided to have lunch onsite. Parking was ample and close. Our reservation time turned out to be an "estimated time". We had a half hour wait.

Once seated, we were free to go to the buffet at our leisure. Unfortunately, being right at closing time, if that had a bearing on things, most of the items on the buffet were empty. I had to ask for items to be refilled and was very disappointed.

The food we had was delicious but for the price we paid, we were disappointed with the buffet itself.

I will end by saying " go but don't expect the service to be top notch". Maybe the staff had a bad day.

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Deerpark is in the process of undergoing a update. You may not even notice but the windows are being replaced and they have added air conditioning. The spring menu is one of their best. The beef is especially good and their is a variety of alternatives to please most anyone. Be sure to save room for desert as there are multiple - did I mention this is a BUFFET.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed the Saturday lunch buffet. The restoration/transformation of the old Deerpark barn is the perfect setting for such a display of gourmet dishes from starter salads all the way through to the decadent desserts. We were told the menu changes seasonally. We enjoyed the new Spring menu. The Farm to Table concept was beautifully displayed and the chef's creations with the home grown produce and meats were superb! For your sweet tooth - the array of desserts were heavenly. We dined like the Vanderbilts once must have with all the courses of a formal meal available. There was live music and the staff was very friendly waiting on our every need. Absolutely spectacular!
A great value for all that is offered. We HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The new spring menu was full of wonderful options in every category! The pineapple and blueberry salad, macaroni salad, the great feta cheese and spinach turnovers ere perfect. And then the deserts! They even have expanded on the wonderful selection of desserts. Something for everybody was available.

Visiting Biltmore is always a wonderful experience. And going to the Deerpark Restaurant to experienced their wonderful homemade food is at the top of my list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I enjoyed my visit to Deerpark Restaurant. The food, atmosphere were both excellent. It was relaxing and the service was really great. It was time well spent and I will definitely return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Catherine Davis our server was amazing! She is a true gem!

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We are always so happy with Deerpark at Biltmore. This visit was no exception. The food was wonderful, and the service staff are always friendly and attentive. Unfortunately at this visit the lady that was at the front checking people in was extremely rude. She was by the far the worst employee I have ever interacted with at Biltmore (Deerpark or otherwise). Someone that is the first person you interact with at an establishment should at least have basic people/communication skills and this lady most certainly did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year day brunch. We ate here prior to visiting the Biltmore, meal was good and lots of choices. Kind of expensive but that is expected on New Years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Sunday brunch at Deerpark is by far one of the best places in Asheville. It started from the moment we walked in the door with a pleasant greeting from the host staff. They were very friendly and told us a little bit about the history of the place while we waited. We then were walked back to our table and greeted ever so cheerfully by our server Becky. She explained to us everything on the buffet and accommodated all of our needs. I don't think anyone at our table ever had an empty glass or a dirty plate! Overall the place was amazing, couldn't ask for a better ambiance and the food was to die for. If you haven't tried this place then you are missing out!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was excellent but they ran out of several main items on the buffet.. some temporarily and some completely. Being that reservations were required and it was a holiday dinner you would expect not to run out of menu items.. our reservation was at 630 and by the time we had dessert about half of the choices were gone.. the atmosphere was pleasant but mixed drinks took way to long to be served and we had to get up and fill our own water glasses when our waitress continually was no where to be found.. the property and holiday decorations were beautiful and overall the staff accommodating..

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious buffet with an excellent view. Great sspot for a romantic dinner before going to the Biltmore house.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Quality of food this time did not equal the price. I was a little disappointed. Food was just not as good as it had been in previous visits. Friendly staff and great atmosphere.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.