About Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate

1 Approach Road
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

This charming restaurant located on Biltmore Estate was originally an historic barn designed by Richard Morris Hunt. Now transformed into a courtyard restaurant with walls of windows, Deerpark Restaurant serves a generous array of Southern style dishes and Appalachian specialties. Our Taste of the South Weekend brunches offers bountiful choices. It's an excellent setting for family dining, with children nine and younger dining for free. Paid Estate admission is required.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Saturday Lunch 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Sunday Brunch 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Expanded Holiday Menu: Easter Sunday 10-3, Mothers Day 10-3

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6260

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/deerpark.asp

Executive Chef:
Kirk Fiore

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
1 More
American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Great for Brunch (81)
Special Occasion (67)
Great for Lunch (59)
See All
Scenic View (43)
Romantic (40)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Groups (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Kid-friendly (22)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
907 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our third time at Deerpark for ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was our third time at Deerpark for the Sunday Brunch. The food is outstanding, with many choices of seasonal dishes. The dishes are made with local ingredients. The service is always friendly and efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service during past visits was excellent ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service during past visits was excellent. Service was lax and inattentive during the most recent visit. The server was pleasant but largely absent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I enjoyed the made to order omelet very ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I enjoyed the made to order omelet very much and the blueberry lemon pancakes as well as the live music. (Guitar and harmonica player and singer) He was upbeat and many danced to his music. As someone who has only visited Deerpark during the holidays I realized that I very much missed the prime rib and horseradish cream that is available during the holidays. I also missed the made to order omelets. They were precooked and cold. Also, the spoon for the whipped cream had dropped in the middle of the bowl and was never removed during my entire visit. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. She brought a plate with chocolates and strawberries to the table with Happy Birthday written in chocolate. A nice surprise! All in all a very nice brunch...just wish the prime rib and horseradish cream was always on the menu. It is so delish and such a special treat!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent , you will not be disappointed

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent , you will not be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy the Deerpark and appreci ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We always enjoy the Deerpark and appreciate the variety of the menu throughout the seasons. The ambiance is excellent for our "dates", rather quiet with pleasant music (sometimes live), and absolutely delicious and interesting dishes. The shrimp and corn chowder was a real hit with my husband, and the wait staff is very pleasant, just friendly enough without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional experience! Everything from ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Exceptional experience! Everything from the greeting, seating, table location, wait staff, buffet variety and quality exceeded our expectations. Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant! We enjoyed a pre- ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful restaurant! We enjoyed a pre-concert buffet - everything was delicious!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dining at Deerp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our second time dining at Deerpark and we found it as wonderful as the first. It's in an open air setting, when the doors are open, though not completely outdoors (be careful of bugs that fly through while you eat), and the temperature was just right for having the doors open. The food is outstanding and has a wide variety of something everyone will like and can eat.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The quality of the food and the service ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The quality of the food and the service was exceptional

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience for our anni ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful dining experience for our anniversary. Would recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful brunch at Deerfield I ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch at Deerfield Inn Restaurant. We had spent all morning hiking around Biltmore House and grounds. It was a lovely place to relax, refuel, visit and enjoy the view. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roast too chewy. Quiche strange taste. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Roast too chewy. Quiche strange taste. The rest was wonderful. Worth it all. Littlewarm ontemp.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

The food and atmosphere were awesome. T ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food and atmosphere were awesome. The service was average. My biggest issue and the reason I can not recommend is that you have to pay for an entrance ticket to the entire Biltmore facility. Each ticket is $60.00 per person. We had a party of 6. That is $360.00 just to evidently have the privilege of eating brunch. When I made the reservation this info was in small print and I was unaware. We all came from at least 3 hours away. Needless to say I was not happy when we were initially not allowed to honor our reservations. With an attitude from the Biltmore staff we were begrudgingly allowed to pass. However, we were made to feel as we were some how getting over. I personally will never return. If you are already paying entry I would suggest you try out the brunch. However, if it's on a Sunday and you want a Bloody Mary, better go after 12:00 pm. After sitting down and trying to order at 10:30 am we were informed of this rule in NC. However, none of us were from NC so that was another pleasant surprise. Guess that may have been in the "Small print" also. Happy Trails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

The spectacular setting alone is worth t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The spectacular setting alone is worth the visit but luckily the food is just as amazing. Our visit was for brunch and we sampled as much as we could without ever getting close to trying all that was available. The service was also outstanding. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third visit, and the food w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was our third visit, and the food was better than ever. We especially enjoyed the blackberry barbecue chicken. Dining here has become our chosen way of wrapping up a trip to Asheville.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Deerpark Restaurant continues to be ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Deerpark Restaurant continues to be a favorite venue in Asheville both due to the quality of the lunch and brunch cuisine offered, but as importantly for the quiet elegance and overall setting that creates the distinctive ambience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We took our grandkids visiting from Miam ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We took our grandkids visiting from Miami & as a breakfast venue, it was great . However, we were looking for more of a lunch menu & found fewer choices. The staff were delightful, the setting beautiful & the teenage grands were happy w/ the omelettes & waffles. The dessert table offered sweets that were less than spectacular.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to the Deerpark Restaurant at Bi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went to the Deerpark Restaurant at Biltmore Estate for Sunday brunch with friends to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Everybody really enjoyed the food In a relaxed atmosphere with great views. I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience! Sunday brunch is fant ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great experience! Sunday brunch is fantastic! Attention to detail, good service. Would love to live near 😊.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality was not up to par! Pastry was so ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Quality was not up to par! Pastry was soggy, rhubarb dominated. Salad was limited. Roast beef was tuff. Where did the chef go, on vacation maybe....,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

This was not our first visit to Deerpark ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was not our first visit to Deerpark Restaurant but our friends from Indianapolis were experiencing Asheville and the Biltmore Estate for the first time. This was the first time all of us had experienced the Sunday Brunch. It was delicious with unique combinations and tastes which we all enjoyed trying and finding everyone delightful. Deerpark is an elegant buffet with a wonderful array of fulfilling southern dishes and southern hospitality at its finest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch with the family was excell ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Sunday brunch with the family was excellent - absolutely gorgeous venue, great music and the food was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dessert options! It's an excellen ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great dessert options! It's an excellent setting for brunch / lunch on the estate and there was a musician playing throughout brunch, which was very nice.

Tags: Group Bookings, Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We've been to the Deerpark on several oc ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We've been to the Deerpark on several occasions and have never been disappointed in their quality and variety of foods for there weekend brunch. We live about an hour away but I have yet to find anyone that has not had a very special meal at the Deerpark on Biltmore Estate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to go there. Have freq ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always a pleasure to go there. Have frequented Deerpark for many many years.

Staff are always remarkable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating at Deerpark is a wonderful experi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Eating at Deerpark is a wonderful experience. The food is fantastic and the dining area is so nice and airy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nick the front desk concierge made our d ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Nick the front desk concierge made our day, and the overall dining was tremendous. A bit overpriced, but nontheless a gem of an experience. The open air seating and live music was charming; the food sumptuous and varied. If you have a big family and can afford the expense, it will give everyone a time to remember.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been passholders for the past ye ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have been passholders for the past years, but this was our first visit to The

park inn. what a great place, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice ambiance there was a musician ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very nice ambiance there was a musician playing guitar, banjo and harmonica that was wonderful. Food was great and it was quiet enough to actually have conversations. Great for adults that want a break from the crowds at the estate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

as with anything that pertains to Biltmo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

as with anything that pertains to Biltmore, this will now be one of the stops on my next trip to Biltmore. Everything from the food to the service was perfect. I took my cousin there before we went over to the house and she has been raving about it ever since. I am already looking forward to my next trip. Thanks for a great afternoon, Wayne

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family of 6 went for Father's Day Brunch ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Family of 6 went for Father's Day Brunch. Food was good. Atmosphere was fabulous. Weather was perfect. Service was average as it has been on numerous previous visits. Even though it was a special occasion, it still seemed a bit overpriced for the selection of meats offered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Fantastic Father's Day Brunch! We are n ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fantastic Father's Day Brunch! We are never disappointed! Delicious from start to end!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to the Deer Park restaurant ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been to the Deer Park restaurant many times. This time around was very good. The menu had something for everyone. This menu was one of the best we have seen in awhile. Most of the food was very good. The desserts were not as good as they should have been, but otherwise the lunch buffet on Saturday was very good. I like the fact that Deer Park is returning to some food that everyone can identify with. Some of the menus, especially in the past year or so, have not been as good as in the past. I know Biltmore caters to the elite in the restaurants so many times, but all of us, regardless, enjoy some familiarity in the foods. My wife and I enjoy trying some of the creative dishes at Deer Park, but we also like the familiarity that we particularly saw in this menu. We had a very nice waiter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My server, Monte, was fabulous. He shou ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My server, Monte, was fabulous. He should be teaching all servers how to be a server. The food was good, with a new menu. I expect it to improve the next time I am there. I always enjoy going to Deere Park - it is just beautiful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Deerpark Restaurant is a must when you v ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Deerpark Restaurant is a must when you visit Biltmore. Excellent food, superb service and a beautiful restaurant! The courtyard is full of flowers and the glass doors open to provide an outdoor experience. Be sure to make reservations and bring your appetite! Saturday's buffet can't be beat!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had relatives and "new relatives" vis ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had relatives and "new relatives" visiting and was able to book a table for nine people. Our server was wonderful. She was extremely attentive. Even though our relatives had been in Asheville for about five days, Biltmore Estate and the Deerpark Restaurant was the high point of their visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a beautiful place with fair food an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It's a beautiful place with fair food and a complacent wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Deer Park Restaurant

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

As always, I enjoy eating on the estate. This was my sixth or seventh time eating at Deer Park. The food was excellent, and I always enjoy their signature peanut butter cookies for dessert. However, on this visit, our service wasn't up to par. We received very little attention and had to flag down another waiter for assistance.

I will be back on my next visit to Biltmore, though. Hopefully, I will notice an improvement in their service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good selection of brunch items

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Good location for a brunch when visiting Biltmore. The open windows on the central courtyard create a nice atmosphere and the live music was a great bonus.

Tags: Brunch, Child Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have gone many times and alwasy very nice

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This last time was the best ever. the home made soup and veg pie was some of the best food I have ever tasted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.