About Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate

1 Approach Road
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

This charming restaurant located on Biltmore Estate was originally an historic barn designed by Richard Morris Hunt. Now transformed into a courtyard restaurant with walls of windows, Deerpark Restaurant serves a generous array of Southern style dishes and Appalachian specialties. Our Taste of the South Weekend brunches offers bountiful choices. It's an excellent setting for family dining, with children nine and younger dining for free. Paid Estate admission is required.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Saturday Lunch 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Sunday Brunch 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Expanded Holiday Season Hours: Beginning November 4th
Lunch Thurs-Sat. 11:00a.m. -2:00 p.m. (open daily December 15th - Jan 2nd)
Dinner Fri and Sat. 4:00 p.m. - 8:00p.m. (expanded dinner hours Thanksgiving week and December)
Christmas Eve 12:00p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Christmas Day 12:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6260

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/deerpark.asp

Executive Chef:
Kirk Fiore

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (90)
Great for Brunch (73)
Sunday Lunch (72)
See All
Good for a Date (68)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Great for Lunch (62)
Worth the Drive (55)
Scenic View (54)
Historic (54)
Romantic (51)
Good for Groups (50)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Seasonal (47)
Local Ingredients (46)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Cozy (40)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Outstanding Value (34)
Family Style (34)
Comfort Food (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Casual (30)
Fun (26)
Authentic (23)
Kid-friendly (23)
Live Music (17)
Healthy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Tasting Menu (14)
Disabled Access (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
People Watching (9)
Business Meals (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Private Room (4)
Organic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

New Year day brunch. We ate here prior ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year day brunch. We ate here prior to visiting the Biltmore, meal was good and lots of choices. Kind of expensive but that is expected on New Years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The Sunday brunch at Deerpark is by far ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Sunday brunch at Deerpark is by far one of the best places in Asheville. It started from the moment we walked in the door with a pleasant greeting from the host staff. They were very friendly and told us a little bit about the history of the place while we waited. We then were walked back to our table and greeted ever so cheerfully by our server Becky. She explained to us everything on the buffet and accommodated all of our needs. I don't think anyone at our table ever had an empty glass or a dirty plate! Overall the place was amazing, couldn't ask for a better ambiance and the food was to die for. If you haven't tried this place then you are missing out!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent but they ran out ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was excellent but they ran out of several main items on the buffet.. some temporarily and some completely. Being that reservations were required and it was a holiday dinner you would expect not to run out of menu items.. our reservation was at 630 and by the time we had dessert about half of the choices were gone.. the atmosphere was pleasant but mixed drinks took way to long to be served and we had to get up and fill our own water glasses when our waitress continually was no where to be found.. the property and holiday decorations were beautiful and overall the staff accommodating..

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Delicious buffet with an excellent view. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious buffet with an excellent view. Great sspot for a romantic dinner before going to the Biltmore house.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of food this time did not equal ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Quality of food this time did not equal the price. I was a little disappointed. Food was just not as good as it had been in previous visits. Friendly staff and great atmosphere.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food! My husband states that it i ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food! My husband states that it is the best prime rib around! Great selection of choices.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My daughter and Ihad lunch on New Year's ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My daughter and Ihad lunch on New Year's Eve. The food was delicious and the service was great!!! Looking forward to my next trip and lunch @ Deerpark... Everything was true Biltmore style!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting the Biltmore for the ev ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were visiting the Biltmore for the evening Candlelight Tour and decided to make reservations here. We were definitely not disappointed! The layout of the restaurant itself is somewhat unique and very picturesque. The buffet was very good and the server friendly and efficient. Honestly, at $39 a person it was a bit overpriced, but all things considered, it was a worthwhile expenditure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We eat at Deerpark about 3 or 4 times a ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We eat at Deerpark about 3 or 4 times a year, trying out each of the changes of menu through the seasons. We decided to take a dear friend there a couple of weeks before Christmas and absolutely loved the menu! So many tasty dishes: the pumpkin soup, prime rib, haddock/salmon cakes, roasted turkey, mashed potatoes, cauliflower & cashew salad, absolutely delicious desserts, interesting breads and butters. We so loved the menu that we decided to break with tradition and go back for another fabulous meal. The staff is always so pleasant, helpful and entertaining.

We're so sad that the restaurant will be closed much of this year for renovations. As passholders, I suppose we'll see in the magazine or in an email of the grand reopening--hopefully sooner than planned!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time !! I enjoy it when ther ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had a great time !! I enjoy it when there is live music but this time there wasn't any playing can you have live music again?

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and my wife needed a little get away, ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Me and my wife needed a little get away, it's been a tough year physically and mentally . I have had 3 major surgerys and it's depressing but I will survive . We haven't been to Biltmore since we got married 27 years ago , we had such a good time we went ahead and got season passes. Looking forward to coming back soon !

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, , Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Deer park lunch is our favorite on ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Deer park lunch is our favorite on the Biltmore Estate. It is a gourmet buffet with multiple selections and includes a beverage and dessert all for $19.95! I am a gluten free vegetarian so they prepared a special entree for me that was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, , Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food! Awesome Ambiance. Divi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic Food! Awesome Ambiance. Divine Dainties.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deer Park was great, Open Table was WRON ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Deer Park was great, Open Table was WRONG, it allowed a reservation when the restaurant was not open. Good thing we checked ahead of time so we did not waste time and $$$$$$-it required an entry ticket to BIltmore House to get to Deer Park and that would have wasted an entry passes usage.

Beware that open table has inaccurate information on making reservations.

Tags: Private Room, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a disappointing return visit to ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was a disappointing return visit to a restaurant I previously would have rated highly, and recommended to anyone. The atmosphere was congenial, and despite the large area, quiet conversation is possible due to the room layout. Both diners at this time found the food good but not outstanding. However, our main complaint was that we were actually unable to enjoy or even eat some of the food because of the extreme amount of salt used. Sadly, I think I won't return to a place I really enjoyed dining. Sad, because maybe this was just a bad day? Previously dining here was something to anticpate with pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We enjoyed a date night dinner here befo ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We enjoyed a date night dinner here before visiting the Biltmore. I'm not usually a big buffet person, but the food was pretty tasty and the wait staff was attentive. We also appreciated the seasonal selection of ingredients, and the dessert options was extensive as well! Not our favorite dining spot in Asheville -- and not the world's best value -- but Deerpark is definitely a nice option when visiting the estate, especially for big groups and/or special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We really enjoyed our Christmas visit to ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our Christmas visit to the Biltmore Estate and our lunch at Deerpark. The food was wonderful (my only suggestion would be less sage in the apple dressing).

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Every bite of every item was delicious. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Every bite of every item was delicious. Great service. Scenic, Historic, a great experience in every way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Deerpark and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was my second visit to Deerpark and it was well worth the wait. I will definitely go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The service at the food bars were not th ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service at the food bars were not that great. They were out of salad plates. The service at the table was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

this is a relaxing setting and a creativ ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

this is a relaxing setting and a creative menu of traditional and familiar favorites. I have been before during a Sunday brunch with friends. I had the same wonderful experience.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have wanted to dine at Deerpark for m ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We have wanted to dine at Deerpark for many years. The lunch buffet was the perfect choice for us. The value was outstanding based on the number of dishes that were available and it offered us an opportunity to try a wide variety of foods. The wait staff could not have been nicer or more efficient. The restaurant gives you the feeling of an intimate dining experience even with the large open areas. I would highly recommend dining here and plan to do so again myself.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time, the food was good, ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had a great time, the food was good, especially the pumpkin soup. Potatoes were a bit too salty and greens over seasoned. This wasn't the case on our first visit. Deer park is the best value on the Estate, we plan to come again! Thank you.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, , Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We went for the buffet on Christmas Day. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for the buffet on Christmas Day. Everything was excellent! The place was pretty full but not overcrowded. There was adequate space between tables, and the staff did not seem harried or stretched. The restaurant is a huge glassed-in patio built around a courtyard, so it has an outdoor feel. Note that getting into this restaurant also requires that you purchase admission to the Biltmore Estate. Since we were visiting Biltmore anyway this was not a problem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quite disappointed in the Christmas buff ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Quite disappointed in the Christmas buffet...Shrimp in shell...rather messy for a special dinner..Cheese station...looked like deli selection. Good roast beef. Dessert table rather sad.

I don't like to compare, but I will...the buffet at Grove Park outdoes by a mile....Also the service was quite poor...You'd get up for another course and come back to plates still on table...Really hate to say these things as I live here, but they need to be said and the entire buffet needs some attention.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We spent Christmas at Biltmore. Ambience ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We spent Christmas at Biltmore. Ambience was perfect, only issue was cold out and by time I got back to table through courtyard my food was cold. Passing through buffet to restrooms was an abolute no no in my book. I would have thought that out better. The hostess was delightful at right of lobby. Three girls hanging on left counter were sour faced...really?

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Historic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very bland and not up to what I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was very bland and not up to what I expected based on previous experiences with Deer Park. Wait staff was poor as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We ate at Deerpark for the Christmas bu ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We ate at Deerpark for the Christmas buffet. We went last year, and it was incredibly crowded, we had to wait an hour for our table. But the food was good, so we tried again this year. The crowds were gone and it was half empty. Our server told us that the restaurant cut back on the number of reservations after complaints about last year's crowds, but they cut back too far. A buffet has to be busy to be good, otherwise the food sits around. The turkey and salmon were dried out and the soup was practically cold. The turkey dressing was mushy. The best parts of the meal were the collard greens, braised carrots and green beans. The breads were good also. And the Christmas decorations were very nice. But we will go somewhere else next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Christmas Day

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We went there with our family this Chris ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went there with our family this Christmas Day for what was supposed to be an outstanding buffet. There were no stone crab claws as advertised (somebody said there had been tiny ones floating around in the bowl of shrimp but we could not locate them), the turkey was very dry, and the prime rib overdone. The desserts were honestly just okay...they were serving apple cobbler only all the cobbler was gone on the top and the apples were floating around in liquid. We ate at 3pm so it wasn't as if we were at the tail end of the buffet. One good thing was the assortment of breads. $64 per person pretty expensive for some good bread.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

The food was not quite up-to-par from la ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was not quite up-to-par from last Christmas Day, 2015. The shrimp were only okay and you had to peel them, the turkey was rather flavorless, vegetables were good but nothing outstanding, and finally the pumpkin soup was excellent and deserts were very good. It was a nice meal, but not outstanding.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely venue for Christmas Day dinner. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lovely venue for Christmas Day dinner. The buffet was substantial with a good variety to select from. The service was excellent as usual. Overall excellent experience.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant with good food. Service ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very pleasant with good food. Service was very good . Ease/access to

restaurant from highway was exceptional. Parking was no problem. Very clean.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food selection, quality and quanti ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food selection, quality and quantity outstanding, venue on the estate says it all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good. Desserts a little dried ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was good. Desserts a little dried out. People bumping into our chairs. Noise level high. Would have been nice to have some kind of music or singers for the Christmas Day holiday. Room temperature cool. We were disappointed in the holiday experience for the cost. We would recommend just going during the week.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

My group went there for brunch on Christ ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My group went there for brunch on Christmas Day. The restaurant was beautifully decorated.

The food was really wonderful. The staff was very attentive. We never felt rushed. It was a wonderful holiday treat for us all.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Christmas Dinner wasn't much differe ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The Christmas Dinner wasn't much different from their regular menu but was twice the price. I don't get it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I've been to Deerpark for brunch before, ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I've been to Deerpark for brunch before, but Christmas Eve dinner here was really special - I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Our Christmas Eve dinner was totally del ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our Christmas Eve dinner was totally delightful. We had a table for ten and we have declared it was the best Christmas yet! Delicious food, beautiful decor , good drinks and excellent service. Making the reservation through Open Table was ever so convenient too. I would highly recommend The Deer Park for anyone looking for a restaurant to celebrate a special event.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, , Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely overpriced and we had to go ou ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Extremely overpriced and we had to go outdoors through a courtyard and reenter the dining room with our plates of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.