Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.80mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 2.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.80mi
  2. Distance: 2.42mi
  3. Distance: 2.46mi
  4. Distance: 2.54mi

About Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate

This charming restaurant located on Biltmore Estate was originally an historic barn designed by Richard Morris Hunt. Now transformed into a courtyard restaurant with walls of windows, Deerpark Restaurant serves a generous array of Southern style dishes and Appalachian specialties. Our Taste of the South Weekend brunches offers bountiful choices. It's an excellent setting for family dining, with children nine and younger dining for free. Paid Estate admission is required.

1 Approach Road
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
NOW OPEN FRIDAYS 11:00a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Saturday Lunch 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Sunday Brunch 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Open for Dinner Concert evenings July and August
*Estate admission required*

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6260

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/deerpark.asp

Executive Chef:
Kirk Fiore

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (66)
Great for Lunch (57)
Local Ingredients (55)
See All
Special Occasion (54)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Sunday Lunch (48)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Good for a Date (44)
Worth the Drive (43)
Casual (40)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Comfort Food (34)
Good for Groups (31)
Romantic (31)
Scenic View (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Fun (27)
Authentic (26)
Seasonal (26)
Healthy (22)
Live Music (22)
Kid-friendly (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Cozy (13)
Disabled Access (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Business Meals (9)
Organic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vegan (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Sort By:
S
1329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Sunday Brunch.

So much deliciousness happening here! $35/pp is a steal for a boutique restaurant buffet. Hotels are more expensive!

Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Awesome experience, varied menu for brunch, very tasty in a beautiful setting. Totally chilled and relaxed atmosphere. Awesome service, as we experienced across the entire Biltmore property! We are looking forward to brunch again soon at Deerpark.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great as usual. Miss the old patio. Seems less appealing and hotter due to the lack of vegetation in courtyard as in the past. The plants seemed to keep shaded and cooler. Maybe some awnings would help. Food great as usual. Such a variety.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

It was a very nice experience, tasty food, beautiful place, love the restaurant decorations, very warming

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Outstanding food. Outstanding live Acoustic guitar music to accompany an outstanding atmosphere. Reasonably priced and worth the value. Have already recommended this to many friends. Thanks for a memorable experience...

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch at Deerpark! The food selection was varied and really nice. Everything was neat and displayed beautifully. Would highly recommend this place as a lovely addition to your Biltmore visit! Our server Neal was fantastic!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

The food was very good for a buffet. The presentation was nice and the service was very good. I thought the price ($44 for two) was a little high but that comes with the territory (Biltmore House). The options were varied and should please anyone's taste preferences.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

My husband and I felt very special celebrating our 44th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed the delicious food in beautiful surroundings. Everyone we encountered made us feel very welcomed. Great experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The Sunday brunch was a delicious way to celebrate my sister’s visit to Asheville. There was a great variety of foods and each dish we tried was excellent. Our waitress recommended a superb Biltmore wine. The accompanying music from a local guitarist set a wonderful mood. I’ll take other out of town guests to the Deer Park buffet.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Deerpark Restaurant is one of my favorite places to eat at Biltmore. The restaurant has received the Diner’s Choice Award for Best Brunches several times and once you dine here you will understand why! The choices on the Sunday Brunch menu are expansive from seafood to grill brisket to cajun fried chicken with all the breakfast entrées also. If they have the Parsnip and Pear soup you must try some. It was delicious. My husband and I had such a relaxing time trying different dishes and listening to a guitar player. I can’t wait to go again!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This was a lovely spot for a rainy day brunch with great friends. Amazing amount of food from a carving station to omelet bar; from salads to sweets galore. I have to be gluten free (celiac disease) so the choices were a little more limiting but there was plenty I could eat. Despite a little confusion - foods were not always marked the same way they were on the menu which had gluten-free designations - the staff steered me in the right direction and I found plenty of safe choices. The only thing missing was fruit, unless you count cream cheese coated grapes or apple slices dipped in caramel sauce and coated in candy. Yummy looking but not so healthy. Nevertheless, I would return in a heartbeat.

My gripe (if I have one) is that you must pay a hefty ($65/person) entrance fee to come into the Estate and that is before you pay for brunch. Worth it if you plan to spend the day, which we did.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Had an appointment to tour the Biltmore estate and wanted to eat brunch there also. It was an expensive $35 failure ... The breakfast items were decent, but the dinner items were awful. Pork loin is one of my favorites, but it was overcooked, dry and tough; the potatoes and the Brussels sprouts were burnt. A couple arrived, passed by my table and commented "yuck, that didn't look appetizing, did it?" I replied "stay with the breakfast items." The atmosphere wasn't anything special either ... This buffet should visit a world class Sunday buffet at the Broadmoor in Colorado (live piano player playing classics, ice scriptures, attentive servers surrounding beautifully presented items that were delicious!

The estate was lovely, but spend your meal dollars elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Delicious! Service was the best I’ve ever experienced!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Lots of great selections but the veggies were burned, not enough protein variety. Meat cutter gives very little. Like to see more baked or grilled chicken or turkey rather than pork or overly fried chicken. Since it's a southern thing, lots of heavy fatty foods, but flavors were good. Service was just enough. Becky comes around but not so often she pesters her patrons. I'd return but hopefully the overlooked items will change to more tender, not burned selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Dont reserve unless you plan on paying $150 per couple just to get kn the property!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Enjoyed the service, food and atmosphere on a sunny Friday afternoon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 6, 2017

A beautiful restaurant with a glass walled courtyard. The food was offered buffet style and it was wonderful. The breads were especially good. The Biltmore Estate is a wonder.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

The Deerpark restaurant has been a favourite of ours for many years. We take family and friends there for special occasions. The atmosphere is family orientated. The staff are friendly. The food is delicious.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent in all respects, particularly service and food. Nice setting out in the country of Biltmore Estate. Have to pay to get into the estate, so it adds to the tab, but well worth it on special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

The beautiful display of brunch offerings was topped only by delicious flavors we found in every item of the menu. It was such a pleasure to taste the seasonings and combinations from appetizer through gorgeous desserts.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food and service were excellent. We had reservations for 1:00 PM on a Sunday. Seated almost as soon as we got there. Our table was around the corner from the food prep stations so it was fairly quiet. We did not like the folk music for this venue, especially the vocals. Some time back Deer Park had nice quiet upscale live harp music. For an upscale ($$$) venue we did not feel the music was appropriate.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I have eaten at DeerPark on numerous occasions, and this was the best ever! The food was extraordinary! Sunday Brunch was wonderful!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was beyond good and the price reasonable. It’s unfortunate you have to have either an annual pass to the estate or pay the steep estate admission prices to go to the restaurant.. Both the food and service were so excellent I would recommend it to everyone, if that weren’t the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Nice experience, but you have to have tickets (day pass) to the Biltmore to get to this restaurant and your own car of you want to do any of the other attractions on the property. NOTE: They will not let you through the gate to the Deerpark Restaurant without a ticket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Sunday weather was beautiful. The DeerPark is ideal when super weather occurs. Service was better than usual--never had to request anything as it was always provided without asking. Food for the Sunday buffet was good overall. However, no ice cream. There were children there, too. Biltmore without ice cream is like San Francisco without a Golden Gate Bridge! Table decorations were colorful and seasonal. Cost is somewhat expensive. It's really not possible to have lunch for less than $40 per person not including the gratuity. That said, the environment, when the weather cooperates, is certainly worth part of the extra expense. Reservations are not always needed; however, you are rewarded with better seating choices if you have them.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Beautiful location, creative menu wonderfully executed, great service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We made the drive all the way from Atlanta to have brunch here and then tour the Biltmore--it was a great value and we had a ton of fun!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

From the moment you enter the Deerpark, you feel relaxed and comfortable. The buffet is truly spectacular and each dish is carefully crafted by the talented chef. I bring groups here all the time and everyone is always delighted with the service, the beautiful restaurant and the delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Deerpark for lunch was a special treat! We purchased our lunch buffet voucher online when we got our Biltmore tickets. It was the first day of their new Fall menu. The variety and quality of food was excellent! Best buffet I have had in many years. The chef should be proud.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Everything we tried was delectable. And we tried almost everything! A good mix of comfort food with a twist, stuff I make except fancier. Beef was superb, deserts varied and lovely small portions so we could try several. Made to order omelets perfect, sides all fresh and service was friendly. All the Servers were gracious and accommodating. Felt like four star in a casual environment. Will definitely go back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I have been enjoying the delicious offerings of the Deerpark Restaurant for about 15 years now. I've been for birthdays, anniversaries, Thanksgiving, Easter, Father's Day and more. I'm never disappointed and always amazed at the new offerings each time. Thank you for wonderful memories and great food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was excellent. However, we were seated at a 2 top in direct sunlight. Very uncomfortable. Requested a different table before sitting and were told we could not have one because no other 2 tops were available. There were. But also, there were many 4 tops available for the entire time we were there. It was disappointing to spend $75 for breakfast, and be anxious to finish and leave ASAP to get out of the sun. Had to wear our sunglasses entire time. So unacceptable treatment by staff.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

lovely Sunday afternoon treat!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 9, 2017

As always, the Deerpark and its staff excelled with every aspect of our experience. We eat at the Deerpark several times every year and always, always, the food was delicious, the service terrific and the live music pleasant and performed well. Because our experience has always been wonderful, we look for friends we can bring with us, those who can also appreciate the quality. The summer menu was exceptional, so we made another trip to enjoy it one last time before the menu was changed. We LOVE the Deerpark!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Dry nice brunch, lovely setting.
The smoked tomato grits and the waffles with blueberry sauce made my day.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We brought 4 guests with us on September 3rd and we all were a little disappointed in the service at our table. Our waitress needs to take lessons from Icelan. Icelan is very attentive, knows when to remove your plate, fill your water glass and when to give the bill. She is kind and gracious. We will be requesting to be in her section from now on. We all were disappointed in the carved beef brisket. It was overcooked. The meat carver behaves very unusual with his remarks and behavior and isn't the most friendly employee. The salmon was nicely cooked. The salad bar could use a few more items, tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers. I loved the Shrimp, feta and kalamatas! The bacon was tough and we usually love your bacon.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

As usual the Sunday Brunch was great. Only downside was the corn beef eggs benedict. Eggs were over done and the corn beef stringy and tough. The potato pancake was cold and the grilled onions were not a good match for the dish. Overall they were cold and did not taste good. Also they were difficult to get out of the serving pan which made for a mess around the pan. A spatula of some kind would have been most helpful. All other items were excellent and the service was excellent as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great Buffett with wonderful service and location with awesome views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful ambiance, great service, melt in your mouth food. This restaurant is one of our favorites in Asheville. It does have limited days of the week it operates, but worth working around their schedule. Receiving a passholder discount is just the icing on the cake.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Outstanding service and great ambiance with historical overtones with décor, architecture, and food selection. As season pass holders, we try and catch lunch or brunch at Deerpark several times throughout the year.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Healthy, Casual, Organic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.