About Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate

1 Approach Road
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

This charming restaurant located on Biltmore Estate was originally an historic barn designed by Richard Morris Hunt. Now transformed into a courtyard restaurant with walls of windows, Deerpark Restaurant serves a generous array of Southern style dishes and Appalachian specialties. Our Taste of the South Weekend brunches offers bountiful choices. It's an excellent setting for family dining, with children nine and younger dining for free. Paid Estate admission is required.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Saturday Lunch 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Sunday Brunch 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Expanded Holiday Season Hours: Beginning November 4th
Lunch Thurs-Sat. 11:00a.m. -2:00 p.m. (open daily December 15th - Jan 2nd)
Dinner Fri and Sat. 4:00 p.m. - 8:00p.m. (expanded dinner hours Thanksgiving week and December)
Christmas Eve 12:00p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Christmas Day 12:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6260

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/deerpark.asp

Executive Chef:
Kirk Fiore

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Most Booked
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville
3 More
Special Occasion
Asheville
American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Great for Brunch (69)
Special Occasion (66)
Sunday Lunch (59)
See All
Great for Lunch (51)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Good for a Date (47)
Historic (46)
Scenic View (45)
Romantic (42)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Worth the Drive (40)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Local Ingredients (35)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Seasonal (27)
Outstanding Value (24)
Cozy (23)
Comfort Food (23)
Casual (22)
Family Style (22)
Kid-friendly (19)
Live Music (16)
Authentic (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Fun (15)
Healthy (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Disabled Access (7)
People Watching (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1019 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent as always. Our s ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent as always. Our server was fantastic....so sorry cannot remember her name. Hate the place closing in January for upfit/remodel. My only complaint with Biltmore/Deerpark is what they charge for their wine in their own restaurant...I compare them to Chateau Moirsette and their wine price is the same for a bottle as at their gift shop.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best brunch I have ever been ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

This is the best brunch I have ever been to. I love brunch and this is the best by far. The crab claws are outstanding. The salmon and turkey and lamb were superb. The waffles and all the fixings are great. The salads are wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great but I prefer their brun ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Dinner was great but I prefer their brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed Deerpark as a special dinner ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed Deerpark as a special dinner for our anniversary. Relaxed, yet elegant dining.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

overpriced food, limited selection, the ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

overpriced food, limited selection, the hand carved meat station was terrible. The slices of meat were paper thin; yes, you could go back for more , but it was just ridiculous. I felt uncomfortable asking for more meat every time. The desserts were just ok. The lady had to again, hand you a slice of cheesecake or cake. when I asked her what was in the cake, she said she had not idea! ha! ok- we won't go back and I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone. sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Always a favorite for lunch/brunch. Pri ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a favorite for lunch/brunch. Prime rib was very good and the sides were flavorful. Service was outstanding -even the Manager took time to make sure all was well. The desserts - try them all!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since the onset on a new Operations Mana ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Since the onset on a new Operations Manager in 2015, with the exception of Thanksgiving, 2015 when a high level of reservations coupled with inadequate staffing resulted in food that was tepid at best the Deerpark Restaurant has offered consistently excellent offerings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our DeerPark dinner was delicious, the s ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our DeerPark dinner was delicious, the server was attentive and the buffet was awesome, the dessert choices all looked so good, we nearly started with dessert first. The meal was a great choice to top off a trip to the Biltmore for a Christmas treat. We heard the renovations planned for next year are sure to make it even a more special place.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant puts out consistently de ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This restaurant puts out consistently delicious food. The waitstaff were friendly and attentive. The environment is beautiful and peaceful allowing for conversation without having to fight noise to hear. Always a delight... I wouldn't change a thing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Plenty of food for all. Great history an ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Plenty of food for all. Great history and comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We were very pleased with our dining exp ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We were very pleased with our dining experience. Even with a 3-year-old, the variety of food and ambiance were perfect. She said she liked her fancy dinner. 😊

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and atmosphere. Took my g ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Loved the food and atmosphere. Took my girlfriend on a date here and we absolutely loved it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a great brunch with family. Marni ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had a great brunch with family. Marnie our server was terrific and very helpful. The food was outstanding and the choices were terrific. Could not try everything even though I tried 3x. Overall great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, would highly ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food and service, would highly recommend to others

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful Sunday brunch. Great food, ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A beautiful Sunday brunch. Great food, nice atmosphere. Friendly server.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deerpark is a beautiful setting for Satu ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Deerpark is a beautiful setting for Saturday lunch or Sunday brunch buffet and is my favorite restaurant on the estate. The entire dining room encircles an open courtyard and large glass doors are opened during warmer weather to take advantage of gentle breezes. Many menu selections are grown on the farms at Biltmore and are as fresh as you can get. Your meal includes non-alcoholic beverage, appetizers, soup, salad, entree, side dishes and desserts. Desserts are small so it's easy to indulge and try them all! Alcoholic beverages are available at an additional cost. Acceptable attire ranges from coat and tie to casual. This is the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or just to relax while visiting the estate.

It is important to note that a Daytime admission ticket or Annual Pass is required to dine at Deerpark. A passholder may bring guests to Sunday brunch if reservations are made in advance. Deerpark is closing around January 9, 2017, through sometime in the fall for renovations. When it reopens, I'm sure it will be more spectacular than ever.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Deerpark Restaurant - Biltmore Estat ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The Deerpark Restaurant - Biltmore Estate was an awesome experience. First time

Dining here and will not be the last. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere was

so special. We were here for Sunday Brunch and had lots of special items to choose from.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Historic, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the Saturday lunch buffet an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We went for the Saturday lunch buffet and everything was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Deer Park Lodge on the Biltmore Estate o ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Deer Park Lodge on the Biltmore Estate offers a food buffet that pleases all palates. Some diners start with dessert -- and who can blame them when it includes homemade peppermint chocolate shards, pumpkin cheesecake and red velvet cupcakes. Beyond that the breads, butters and jams, primer rib, turkey, soups - the soups are the best! - and salads, and you have more than you can possibly want in a meal. Buffet style fits all appetites. Price is right. Location is perfect any season of the year. We are sad that the Restaurant will be closed for 10 months in 2017 for construction. We hope to be back next November, the expected reopening date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Definitely recommend es ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Love this place! Definitely recommend especially for holidays

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We had a lovely 60th Birthday celebratio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a lovely 60th Birthday celebration lunch prior to a visit to the estate and enjoyed the variety of the foods as well as the lovely location and service.

I hear they are going to do some renovations but I thought it was great just the way it was!

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere and kind attentive ser ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Lovely atmosphere and kind attentive service. Saturday lunch is a great value. Lots of desserts for those who can indulge. Would appreciate a few more no/low carb options. The prime rib was delicious and I enjoyed a lot of it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time and a great meal at ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great time and a great meal at Deerpark, as usual. We didn't realize that they are closing in January 2017 for a major remodel that is planned to last for 10 months. Glad we went one more time before part of it is torn down. All the original structure is supposed to remain.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding cuisine, great atmosphere, g ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding cuisine, great atmosphere, great service, perfect for a Sunday Brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alternate Thanksgiving dinner was delect ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Alternate Thanksgiving dinner was delectable, especially the Thai spiced pumpkin soup. We always love the food and atmosphere. Service is good...Casey was attentive. Last time we had skirt steak, which was devine and better than the prime rib. See you next month !!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Basic buffet fare, nothing special, very ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Basic buffet fare, nothing special, very mundane. The cold crab claws were the best part, which tells you something since it's a no cook type thing. Everything else was very blah or downright bad. By far the worst meal we had while at the resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were there the evening after Thanksgi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were there the evening after Thanksgiving, It was fabulous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited the Biltmore on ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My husband and I visited the Biltmore on the day after Thanksgiving. It was a hard decision deciding where to eat because the restaurants all looked so good. We decided on the Deerpark and were so glad we did. It was delicious! The buffet was laid out beautifully and everything was perfect. The desserts were amazing. They had a S'mores pie that was to die for. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had wonderful food. It was relaxing a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had wonderful food. It was relaxing atmosphere. You could talk to each other and hear each other which was wonderful.

We were there for thanksgiving week and our 42 wedding anniversary. Our grandkids enjoyed having do many choices. Our daughter and son in law had a wonderful meal as well. We will diffently be back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Historic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Healthy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting and the food was deli ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Beautiful setting and the food was delicious. One wonders about a buffet but no worries here. Thanksgiving dinner was superb with choices for everyone and one better than the next. Every staff member as friendly, helpful and ready to serve. Dessert table was weak but by then having had a fine meal, it was enough. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Thanksgiving meal was fabulous - a d ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our Thanksgiving meal was fabulous - a delicious feast with no work and no clean up. We enjoyed seeing the Estate before the meal and then had a fun time at the beautiful winery after. Perfection!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The buffet was excellent. Everything w ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The buffet was excellent. Everything was tasty and cooked to perfection. The dessert choices were the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a special treat to visit Biltmore ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always a special treat to visit Biltmore and dine at Deer Park restaurant. Views of surrounding woods very pleasant while dining. Food was plentiful, tasty and accommodating to every taste.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I LOVED the brown sugar gingerbread chee ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I LOVED the brown sugar gingerbread cheesecake! They had shrimp and crab legs, salmon dip and the most tender roast beef. The only downside was that our table was across the courtyard from the food so by the time we got back to our table, the food was slightly cold (the weather was cold too so that didn't help). But if you get a closer table then it's all good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was very pricey for what we receive ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was very pricey for what we received. $200 for lunch for three and that is with no extras. Thanksgiving lunch. Will think twice before doing this again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great food, great service, overall a won ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food, great service, overall a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving, plenty of meat choices all ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving, plenty of meat choices all good, great salad bar, not many sides, desserts were ok. For the cost not worth price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Host seated us far away from the food wh ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Host seated us far away from the food when there were other tables closer. Plenty of choices but not worth $39.00 a person for buffet.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Roast beef was tough, Shrimp was under-c ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Roast beef was tough, Shrimp was under-cooked, stuffing was too spicy, most deserts were very bland and the pumpkin pie tarts crust was soggy. The green beans were not hot enough and cooled off too quickly.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Been going to the Deerpark for more than ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Been going to the Deerpark for more than 20 years and it's still a favorite and never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.