About Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate

1 Approach Road
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

This charming restaurant located on Biltmore Estate was originally an historic barn designed by Richard Morris Hunt. Now transformed into a courtyard restaurant with walls of windows, Deerpark Restaurant serves a generous array of Southern style dishes and Appalachian specialties. Our Taste of the South Weekend brunches offers bountiful choices. It's an excellent setting for family dining, with children nine and younger dining for free. Paid Estate admission is required.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Saturday Lunch 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Sunday Brunch 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Expanded Holiday Season Hours: Beginning November 4th
Lunch Thurs-Sat. 11:00a.m. -2:00 p.m. (open daily December 15th - Jan 2nd)
Dinner Fri and Sat. 4:00 p.m. - 8:00p.m. (expanded dinner hours Thanksgiving week and December)
Christmas Eve 12:00p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Christmas Day 12:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6260

Website:
http://biltmore.com/visit/dining/deerpark.asp

Executive Chef:
Kirk Fiore

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Deerpark Restaurant-Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Great for Lunch
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville
2 More
Special Occasion
Asheville
American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Great for Brunch (69)
Special Occasion (61)
Great for Lunch (47)
See All
Scenic View (46)
Romantic (41)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Kid-friendly (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Historic (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Seasonal (9)
Healthy (6)
Casual (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Cozy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Live Music (4)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
928 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is nice place to go for a good Sund ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is nice place to go for a good Sunday noon meal. They have breakfast along with lunch items, salads, breads, soup, and some wonderful deserts. The day we were there they had some music that added to the meal. Great servers and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding as always. A be ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was outstanding as always. A beautiful restaurant and excellent service. The praline pecan cake was one of the best cakes I have ever tasted.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

..........thoroughly enjoyed our experie ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

..........thoroughly enjoyed our experience!The food was excellent, the "open air" feel on a fall morning was wonderful, could not have had a better start to a wonderful day!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the historic vibe of Deerpark's Bru ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love the historic vibe of Deerpark's Brunch. Can't beat driving through the grounds of Biltmore to get there. Food is great with awesome selections. Something for everyone! On your birthday they give you a special chocolate truffle treat :)

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Historic, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful ambiance. Food outstanding. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful ambiance. Food outstanding. Everyone friendly. Server went out of his way to find out about ingredients in a certain dish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deerpark never disappoints. The food c ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Deerpark never disappoints. The food consistently is created from fresh, high quality ingredients. The buffet appeals to all tastes and the staff is just wonderful. It's like coming home to a place where you are wanted and all the people preparing food graduated from culinary school with high honors!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing selection and delicious brunch ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing selection and delicious brunch options, with open air and gorgeous courtyard views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Deerpark's new Autumn Menu is superlativ ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Deerpark's new Autumn Menu is superlative. Each dish is a culinary delight. The restaurant is beautiful and the buffet is bountiful. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere with much better than ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Lovely atmosphere with much better than average food for a brunch. Food was well prepared, nicely presented with an unusual variety for Saturday brunch. Offerings were listed on a printed menu and were noted as gluten free, vegetarian, etc as appropriate. All this for $20 a person. Very good value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Less than anticipated offering for the m ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Less than anticipated offering for the money, but the atmosphere was great!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I made the reservations about a hour in ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I made the reservations about a hour in advance as we were driving up the mountains toward Asheville. I remember it could get really busy during lunch time and we were only stopping for lunch then back on the road. It had been a few years since we had dined at The Deerpark and I was looking forward to returning. We were seated right away. Table was set very lovely. Crisp table cloth and napkins. Drink service was right away and they sent us on to the buffet. As my husband and I enjoy different choices in a brunch/lunch this was ideal. He could have his breakfast/brunch items and I could have my brunch/lunch items. The food was really prepared well and taste delicious. I ended my meal with some desert, which as as delicious as my mean, very well prepared. We left feeling quite full. We will be back.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've gone to Deer Park for 20 years or ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We've gone to Deer Park for 20 years or more and it's always excellent. I only wish they still served lunch on weekdays

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Sunday brunch was outstanding. The ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The Sunday brunch was outstanding. The chefs really outdid themselves with the selection, quality, and presentation. We were so happy to be a part of this autumnal food celebration!

Tags: Healthy, Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for family , was kind of worry abo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great for family , was kind of worry about health code 94 at front but was told it's because no sneeze guards at food tables , that OK with us , keeps it classic

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A great experience. The food, service, a ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A great experience. The food, service, and atmosphere were perfect.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had Sunday Brunch there ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My husband and I had Sunday Brunch there as part of our Anniversary Weekend. We were able to sample some very delicious foods in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch or brunch at Deepark Restaurant is ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Lunch or brunch at Deepark Restaurant is always so relaxing, with a beautiful building and courtyard, live music, great service, and a delicious variety of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was cold, roast beef was chewy, not ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

food was cold, roast beef was chewy, not much flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Best eatery on Biltmore. Beautiful. Wond ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Best eatery on Biltmore. Beautiful. Wonderful food and service. Reasonable prices. Only open on Saturday and Sunday. That's too bad. Great ending to Biltmore stay

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Comfort Food, Live Music, People Watching, Modern Decor, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday brunch was very mediocre food. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Saturday brunch was very mediocre food. Very disappointing. Service and atmosphere were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Every visit to Deerpark Restaurant is a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Every visit to Deerpark Restaurant is a memorable event. The food is always plentiful, expertly prepared and wonderfully presented. You will be attended by an efficient staff that is very attentive to your needs but never obtrusive. There is no better value than Deerpark and never a doubt as to your having a wonderful experience. Please do yourself a big favor and avail yourself of this beautiful setting, great food and the delightful entertainment right here in our own backyard. Asheville is fortunate indeed to have such a terrific venue such as this.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third time at Deerpark for ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was our third time at Deerpark for the Sunday Brunch. The food is outstanding, with many choices of seasonal dishes. The dishes are made with local ingredients. The service is always friendly and efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service during past visits was excellent ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service during past visits was excellent. Service was lax and inattentive during the most recent visit. The server was pleasant but largely absent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I enjoyed the made to order omelet very ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I enjoyed the made to order omelet very much and the blueberry lemon pancakes as well as the live music. (Guitar and harmonica player and singer) He was upbeat and many danced to his music. As someone who has only visited Deerpark during the holidays I realized that I very much missed the prime rib and horseradish cream that is available during the holidays. I also missed the made to order omelets. They were precooked and cold. Also, the spoon for the whipped cream had dropped in the middle of the bowl and was never removed during my entire visit. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. She brought a plate with chocolates and strawberries to the table with Happy Birthday written in chocolate. A nice surprise! All in all a very nice brunch...just wish the prime rib and horseradish cream was always on the menu. It is so delish and such a special treat!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent , you will not be disappointed

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent , you will not be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy the Deerpark and appreci ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We always enjoy the Deerpark and appreciate the variety of the menu throughout the seasons. The ambiance is excellent for our "dates", rather quiet with pleasant music (sometimes live), and absolutely delicious and interesting dishes. The shrimp and corn chowder was a real hit with my husband, and the wait staff is very pleasant, just friendly enough without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional experience! Everything from ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Exceptional experience! Everything from the greeting, seating, table location, wait staff, buffet variety and quality exceeded our expectations. Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant! We enjoyed a pre- ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful restaurant! We enjoyed a pre-concert buffet - everything was delicious!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dining at Deerp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our second time dining at Deerpark and we found it as wonderful as the first. It's in an open air setting, when the doors are open, though not completely outdoors (be careful of bugs that fly through while you eat), and the temperature was just right for having the doors open. The food is outstanding and has a wide variety of something everyone will like and can eat.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The quality of the food and the service ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The quality of the food and the service was exceptional

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience for our anni ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful dining experience for our anniversary. Would recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful brunch at Deerfield I ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch at Deerfield Inn Restaurant. We had spent all morning hiking around Biltmore House and grounds. It was a lovely place to relax, refuel, visit and enjoy the view. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roast too chewy. Quiche strange taste. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Roast too chewy. Quiche strange taste. The rest was wonderful. Worth it all. Littlewarm ontemp.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

The food and atmosphere were awesome. T ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food and atmosphere were awesome. The service was average. My biggest issue and the reason I can not recommend is that you have to pay for an entrance ticket to the entire Biltmore facility. Each ticket is $60.00 per person. We had a party of 6. That is $360.00 just to evidently have the privilege of eating brunch. When I made the reservation this info was in small print and I was unaware. We all came from at least 3 hours away. Needless to say I was not happy when we were initially not allowed to honor our reservations. With an attitude from the Biltmore staff we were begrudgingly allowed to pass. However, we were made to feel as we were some how getting over. I personally will never return. If you are already paying entry I would suggest you try out the brunch. However, if it's on a Sunday and you want a Bloody Mary, better go after 12:00 pm. After sitting down and trying to order at 10:30 am we were informed of this rule in NC. However, none of us were from NC so that was another pleasant surprise. Guess that may have been in the "Small print" also. Happy Trails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

The spectacular setting alone is worth t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The spectacular setting alone is worth the visit but luckily the food is just as amazing. Our visit was for brunch and we sampled as much as we could without ever getting close to trying all that was available. The service was also outstanding. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third visit, and the food w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was our third visit, and the food was better than ever. We especially enjoyed the blackberry barbecue chicken. Dining here has become our chosen way of wrapping up a trip to Asheville.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Deerpark Restaurant continues to be ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Deerpark Restaurant continues to be a favorite venue in Asheville both due to the quality of the lunch and brunch cuisine offered, but as importantly for the quiet elegance and overall setting that creates the distinctive ambience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We took our grandkids visiting from Miam ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We took our grandkids visiting from Miami & as a breakfast venue, it was great . However, we were looking for more of a lunch menu & found fewer choices. The staff were delightful, the setting beautiful & the teenage grands were happy w/ the omelettes & waffles. The dessert table offered sweets that were less than spectacular.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to the Deerpark Restaurant at Bi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went to the Deerpark Restaurant at Biltmore Estate for Sunday brunch with friends to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Everybody really enjoyed the food In a relaxed atmosphere with great views. I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience! Sunday brunch is fant ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great experience! Sunday brunch is fantastic! Attention to detail, good service. Would love to live near 😊.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.