About Deerfield

507 Thompson Station Road
Newark, DE 19711
View Larger Map

Deerfield is comprised of two options. The Pub & Grille caters to golfers & other guests (appetizers, sandwiches, salads, lunch/dinner entrees and specials.) The Pub & Grille is seasonal, so please check our website for hours of operation. Reservations cannot be made for the Pub & Grille.

A second set of very different dining options includes our calendar of Sunday Brunches and Deerfield's holiday events. Holiday events include Valentine's Brunch, Easter Buffet, Mother's Day Buffet, Father's Day Brunch, Thanksgiving Buffet, and Brunches With Santa.

Late September to early May, Deerfield features "Delaware's Best Sunday Brunch" (10am-2pm) featuring over "111 feet of brunchy goodness." Brunch is not served from early May until late September (other than Father's Day). Brunch & Holiday Events differ from each other in menu and pricing.

Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Amex are accepted.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Delaware's Best Sunday Brunch is available 10am-2pm from late September to early May. The hours & pricing of special Holiday Events can vary. Please check website for details.

The Pub & Grille is currently open daily from 11am until 9pm. Reservations are not currently accepted and tables are available on a first come, first serve basis. Visit www.deerfieldgolfclub.com to view our complete menu for the Pub & Grille!

Cross Street:
Paper Mill Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 368-6640

Website:
http://www.deerfieldgolfclub.com/

Catering:
Deerfield's menus are unique, fun and flavorful with entrees and packages to suit every taste and budget. You will work closely with our Sales Managers and Operations Team to craft an event that is perfect. All menus and packages are available at our website. Of course, we are thrilled to design a menu just for you if you don't see exactly what you require. Let us know how we can help.

Executive Chef:
Michael Josephick

Private Party Facilities:
Deerfield is Delaware's premier wedding, banquet, meeting, and special event destination. Wedding ceremonies and receptions are hosted in spectacular fashion, with several outdoor ceremony locations from which to choose, and banquet spaces that can accommodate 60-460 guests. In addition to weddings, parties, baby showers, bridal showers, bar and bat mitzvahs, proms, rehearsal dinners, corporate meetings, trade shows, seminars and a myriad of other functions can be hosted in any of Deerfield's banquet rooms featuring amazing golf course and park views. Menus and packages can be tailored to suit almost any need. Careful attention to detail and our "Hospitality PLUS!" approach to customer service ensures a memorable experience for each guest. All culinary choices are delivered by Chef Mike Josephick, one of the Mid-Atlantic's most well-respected chefs. For your next special occasion, be sure to consider the hospitality professionals at Deerfield.

Private Party Contact:
Sales Office : 3023686640x1214

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
In addition to Delaware's Best Sunday Brunch, Deerfield offers a Thanksgiving Day Buffet, several Brunches With Santa, a Valentine's Dinner Event, an Easter Buffet, and a Mother's Day Buffet. Other events may be added seasonally. Prices do vary, call for more details.

Restaurant Photos

  • Deerfield, Newark, DE
  • Deerfield, Newark, DE
  • Deerfield, Newark, DE
  • Deerfield, Newark, DE
  • Deerfield, Newark, DE
  • Deerfield, Newark, DE
  • Deerfield, Newark, DE
  • Deerfield, Newark, DE
  • The Doomsday Burger - Deerfield, Newark, DE
Deerfield, Newark, DE
Deerfield, Newark, DE
Deerfield, Newark, DE
Deerfield, Newark, DE
Deerfield, Newark, DE
Deerfield, Newark, DE
Deerfield, Newark, DE
Deerfield, Newark, DE
The Doomsday Burger - Deerfield, Newark, DE

Deerfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (15)
Special Occasion (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
See All
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Family Style (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Romantic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Dancing (2)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a wonderful experience at the Santa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful experience at the Santa Brunch on Sunday with my granddaughter. The food was delicious. Our server, Anne, was attentive, friendly, and professional. Your Santa is the best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Dancing, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had purchased gift certificates to the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I had purchased gift certificates to the Sunday brunch for my family that expired 12/31/16. When we went to use them they would not allow because Santa was at the brunch and they called this a special occasion. If these gifts were good until 12/31/16, and the only available time to use them is Sunday brunch and EVERY Sunday brunch is not allowing the gift cards then shame on you for telling us they were good through the month they cannot be redeemed. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We attended the Thanksgiving buffet. St ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We attended the Thanksgiving buffet. Staff was very polite & helpful. We had 5:30 reservations but due to crowds, we had to wait about 20 min. When we went to the various buffet tables, we found that they were out of plates. We had to settle for smaller plates just to get any food. They were also out of salad, crab cakes & one of the main desserts. For $50 per person, we think the buffet service should have been better managed & stocked. We will try another place next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Very good Thanksgiving Brunch. The resta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very good Thanksgiving Brunch. The restaurant raised the price from $39.90 last year to $49.90 per person without informing me when making the reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Thanksgiving dinner was fine, although t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was fine, although turkey was a bit dry. Lots of different foods meant we had to sample them all. Wait staff was great. Wait for seating was understandable due to huge crowd. We will return for other events.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Been to Deerfield many times for Thanksg ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Been to Deerfield many times for Thanksgiving & it's been very good, but this time was most disappointing. Selection of items that have been available in the past weren't available on 11/24 & turkey was very dry. A candle or artificial flowers on the table would have been nice. Had a reservation & still waited 1 hour to be seated (for 4 people).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

We made a reservation for Thanksgiving. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We made a reservation for Thanksgiving. We arrived ontime, yet there were a great many people waiting in the hallway. We waited 20 minutes to be seated. The food was okay, nothing was what I considered great, standard buffet fare. The people carving the turkey and beef were cutting very thin slices, one per guest. I think my son and husband would have appreciated a more substantial serving. Service was good, not outstanding, I think they were not prepared for the number of guests. We were okay with everything, but nothing was a standout.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The server, whose only responsibility wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The server, whose only responsibility was to get drinks, was no where to be found after the drink order was placed. It was only after we asked for a manager did she appear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Thanksgiving treat, all the family enjoy ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving treat, all the family enjoyed the meal and eating out on this special day. Although, busy, we did not have to wait long for our table, but we did eat early, at 1.30pm and service was excellent and buffet items regularly replaced. Would return next year.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We attended the Thanksgiving Dinner Buff ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We attended the Thanksgiving Dinner Buffet at Deerfield. The food was delicious. The service was top notch and the ballroom was perfect for an elegant yet very relaxing dinner. This was our Sixth event at Deerfield and we enjoy it more each time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Organic, Special Occasion, Dancing, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Healthy, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Groups, Cozy, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took my husband's father to Deerfield ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We took my husband's father to Deerfield for Thanksgiving Day dinner. The dining area is absolutely breathtaking for views with all the glass. However, we were disappointed with the turkey. It was very dry. The buffet line was not replenished quick enough. Service was excellent. I just wish the food had been better for the price. The ice cream was delicious from Woodside Creamery.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

After attending Thanksgiving dinner at D ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

After attending Thanksgiving dinner at Deerfield for several years, this year was a disappointment. Although the price was higher, the menu selections have been pared down. The dressings, both cornbread and bread, were dry and lacked flavor. There is no longer an appetizer station. The selection of desserts was smaller. No bread pudding.

Walking to the buffet was a challenge with all of the tables and chairs that had to be navigated. It seemed more crowded than usual.

The people manning the carving stations seemed inexperienced.

The one bright spot was we had very good servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Wonderful food and atmosphere, service w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful food and atmosphere, service was a little lacking.

We would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

we had a large group (26 of us) go to De ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

we had a large group (26 of us) go to Deerfield for Sunday brunch for my Mom's birthday. The staff did a great job with our large group and the food was very good. the only down side is that Deerfield brunch is a little pricey

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Deerfield was a nice place for Sunday br ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Deerfield was a nice place for Sunday brunch. I was very impressed by the selection and the quality of the food was excellent overall. The price was a bit high, but we were very happy with the food and the service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Deerfield for brunch. Our famil ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love Deerfield for brunch. Our family has gone to their Christmas and Easter brunch and celebrated birthdays, Mother's Day and other events going to their brunch. The food is tremendous and the staff is friendly and welcoming. It's our only choice!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation and we still waited ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a reservation and we still waited a long time. Also people arriving after us were being seated first. And there were plenty of open tables. And when we start to get our food the kids buffet was all dried out looked like it had been there all morning. Really disappointed because we had been told that it was great. And our first experience was not so great. Was ok but definitely not worth a hundred bucks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Outstanding start to finish. Great food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding start to finish. Great food and service!! Thank you!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at their Halloween B ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a great time at their Halloween Brunch on Sunday. As always the food was excellent, the staff attentive, and the atmosphere friendly. Always enjoy our time there!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, everyone is trying har ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great experience, everyone is trying hard to please-noise level disturbing but will be hard to control since everybody is happy !!!!!!!!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Brunch was fantastic. Great selection an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Brunch was fantastic. Great selection and variety. I was very impressed by how fresh the food was. A lot of brunch buffets will leave food sitting out, until it eventually becomes old and stale. Deerfield kept smaller portions out (especially seafood), but had an attendee there restocking fresh food as soon as it became low. I have yet to see any other brunches where someone is shucking oysters right there at the serving location. The only downside was that our 2 waiters were somewhat slow in picking up our dirty plates and refilling our drinks. With 2 servers, I would think that we shouldn't have had that long of a wait. Both server were very pleasant and helpful - just a little slow.

This was our first time visiting Deerfield for brunch. Will definitely return. Not quite sure when - as it's somewhat pricier than it's competitors. But their ad campaign is right - the best brunch in DE that I've found so far.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Very nice selection of freshly prepared ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very nice selection of freshly prepared food. The food quality was very good and the ambience was very nice. The cost is on the high side for brunch, but it is justified by the food quality and selection. Great for special events or family gatherings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Deerfield has been my favorite brunch pl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Deerfield has been my favorite brunch place for several years now. Unfortunately, today's visit was exceptionally disappointing. All of the carved meats were cold. The biscuits could and would be mistaken for hardtack. The belgium waffles were premade, deformed, and cold. When you could get someone to make a fresh one, it looked better, and the temperature was better, but it still wasn't very good.

The one area that the brunch did well was the pastries. The pastry chef was spot on, but the rest were just not up to normal. They have apparently had a lot of changes in staff since last year and while most of the staff was friendly enough, the food execution was simply not worth the money charged. This might have been an off day, but, it will be a while before my family returns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Price went up, quality decreased. Bacon ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Price went up, quality decreased. Bacon was cold. All my fave stations are gone. Make your own Mac and Cheese, bread pudding, antipasto platter, andpasta salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

first time we tried sunday brunch...we w ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 9, 2016

first time we tried sunday brunch...we will be back! the bacon alone was worth the trip!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fun, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 days later and my 3 young daughters ar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

3 days later and my 3 young daughters are still raving about Sunday's brunch. Selection, taste, friendliness of staff are all reasons I've been raving about it too!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Sunday Brunch of the season! Beau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 25, 2016

First Sunday Brunch of the season! Beautiful room with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the golf course and gardens! More food than you could imagine!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Father's Day. Was the best Brun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for Father's Day. Was the best Brunch I ever had. Was Amazing! This will be the "Go To" brunch from now on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been there many times and the food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've been there many times and the food does change from time to time. People are friendly and go out of there way for you. Just Love the food!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the food was well prepared, always h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

All the food was well prepared, always hot and plenty to eat. The selection is like none other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

VERY EXPENSIVE - FOOD AND SERVICE NOT SO GREAT

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and son took me for brunch on Mothers Day. The table was far from the buffet tables and it was difficult to walk around chairs with our plates. The food was fair. My husband travels for work internationally and dines out frequently with customers. We thought this might be an option since recently moving to Delaware. 3 brunches and 2 drinks was $200.00 for food that was just ok, we served ourselves by walking through a maze of patrons sitting down weaving our way past chairs. It was awful. The ran out of French toast before we even got to the buffet table. My husband would never use this place for customer visits nor will we recommend to friends or dine there again. This is my first negative review since moving to Delaware. Save your money - dine elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food! Emily was a fantastic server!!!

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Can't say enough about the service! From top to bottom, we were well looked after. Managers, who in some places are hiding in their back office, were on the floor looking for problems. Serving staff was extremely friendly! Cooks...COOKS! My hat is off to them! Everything I tasted was wonderful! Looking in to joining this club immediately!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very attentive. Thank you ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff was very attentive. Thank you for a wonderful mothers day experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mothers Day 2016

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our annual family Mothers Day with the family. The first time at the Deerfield after many years at the Mendenhall Inn. The experience was outstanding in terms of food & service. We will be returning next year for sure.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Special anniversary celebration. Food and service were really good (I very rarely give 'excellent' since always room for improvement). Brunch so lots of choices. Would recommend for Sunday brunch, don't know about dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday brunch

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 3, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch. The food was fantastic loved all the seafood ( raw oysters, crab legs, crab cakes and much More) meat - rack of lamb and filet sooooo good not to mention their million dollar bacon yum. Everything else was good but I had my fill of the delicious protein.

I'm not a huge desert person it looked good but not out of this world. Just ok.

A bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Worth the money.

So good for a special occasion. This is not your every Sunday brunch it's over the top good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Sunday Brunch

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere here. Plenty of options to choose from - carved meats to backed fish and a kids section with Mac and cheese! Like soup and salad? They have that, too! Or if you prefer a hot breakfast with eggs and sausage or waffles, it's all there! More desserts than you could imagine. Service attendants are very nice and helpful. Enjoy!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Over rated Easter brunch!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 27, 2016

This year's brunch was a bit disappointing… there was no omelet to order or any none red meats to offer except for bake grill chicken. In the other times we have visited Deerfield there was turkey and omelet to order. Also, the seafood options wasn't that much better… with bake salmon and cold shrimp/crab legs bar. As for the service… our waitress got loss several times and we had to rely on others in the area. This is my last visit to the Deerfield for brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

astronomically expensive. Not actually worth it.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Last year it wasn't as expensive so I stupidly assumed it would be the same price and the bill came and it was just ignorant -- Can't even believe it -- Won't be back next year, that's for sure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Holiday Brunch-Not all items advertised available!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food is good but during a holiday brunch they did not have everything that was advertised. Price for the holiday brunch is 25% higher with fewer options to choose from. Service was weak and at a premium price not worth it overall. I've eaten here during an off holiday brunch and would recommend it for the price. But during a Holiday Sunday brunch at their increased rates I would not recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.