Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.82mi
  2. Distance: 2.22mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.82mi
  2. Distance: 2.22mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.82mi
  2. Distance: 2.22mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.82mi
  2. Distance: 2.22mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

About Deerfield

Deerfield is comprised of two options. The Pub & Grille caters to golfers & other guests (appetizers, sandwiches, salads, lunch/dinner entrees and specials.) The Pub & Grille is seasonal, so please check our website for hours of operation. Reservations cannot be made for the Pub & Grille.

A second set of very different dining options includes our calendar of Sunday Brunches and Deerfield's holiday events. Holiday events include Valentine's Brunch, Easter Buffet, Mother's Day Buffet, Father's Day Brunch, Thanksgiving Buffet, and Brunches With Santa.

Late September to early May, Deerfield features "Delaware's Best Sunday Brunch" (10am-2pm) featuring over "111 feet of brunchy goodness." Brunch is not served from early May until late September (other than Father's Day). Brunch & Holiday Events differ from each other in menu and pricing.

Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Amex are accepted.

507 Thompson Station Road
Newark, DE 19711
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Delaware's Best Sunday Brunch is available 10am-2pm from late September to early May. The hours & pricing of special Holiday Events can vary. Please check website for details.

The Pub & Grille is currently open daily from 11am until 7pm. Reservations are not currently accepted and tables are available on a first come, first serve basis. Visit www.deerfieldgolfclub.com to view our complete menu for the Pub & Grille!

Cross Street:
Paper Mill Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 368-6640

Website:
http://www.deerfieldgolfclub.com/

Catering:
Deerfield's menus are unique, fun and flavorful with entrees and packages to suit every taste and budget. You will work closely with our Sales Managers and Operations Team to craft an event that is perfect. All menus and packages are available at our website. Of course, we are thrilled to design a menu just for you if you don't see exactly what you require. Let us know how we can help.

Executive Chef:
Michael Josephick

Private Party Facilities:
Deerfield is Delaware's premier wedding, banquet, meeting, and special event destination. Wedding ceremonies and receptions are hosted in spectacular fashion, with several outdoor ceremony locations from which to choose, and banquet spaces that can accommodate 60-460 guests. In addition to weddings, parties, baby showers, bridal showers, bar and bat mitzvahs, proms, rehearsal dinners, corporate meetings, trade shows, seminars and a myriad of other functions can be hosted in any of Deerfield's banquet rooms featuring amazing golf course and park views. Menus and packages can be tailored to suit almost any need. Careful attention to detail and our "Hospitality PLUS!" approach to customer service ensures a memorable experience for each guest. All culinary choices are delivered by Chef Mike Josephick, one of the Mid-Atlantic's most well-respected chefs. For your next special occasion, be sure to consider the hospitality professionals at Deerfield.

Private Party Contact:
Sales Office : (302) 368-6640 ext. 1214

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
In addition to Delaware's Best Sunday Brunch, Deerfield offers a Thanksgiving Day Buffet, several Brunches With Santa, a Valentine's Dinner Event, an Easter Buffet, and a Mother's Day Buffet. Other events may be added seasonally. Prices do vary, call for more details.

Deerfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Scenic View (3)
See All
Special Occasion (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Went for buffett. Ton of food to choose from and the entire staff was great. They were all very happy great service. Will definitely go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

I have been to Deerfield several times for the Sunday Brunch and found the food it to be wonderful. This Sunday (10/8) there was not as much variety. The lamb was very tough.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had a very enjoyable 80th Birthday brunch for my mom.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Bountiful brunch - go extremely hungry because you'll want to try everything and there's much to much to choose from. I gave it my best and walked away overstuffed! Worse than a thanksgiving feast! Seriously though, there is so much to try from homemade fresh Belgian waffles to omelettes to crab cakes and crab legs to the carving station with three types of meat/poultry and a nice selection of dessert including ice cream with toppings. One of the new additions was a fresh donut wall. The apple cinnamon cider donut was so tempting I bit into it before I made it back to my table. It's a little pricey but you'll understand why.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

This was our first time at Deerfield. We had their brunch and was extremely pleased. There was a variety of both hot & cold food choices. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly and attentive. We will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Always a treat to dine at Deerfield. The buffet has been changed and no longer offers the raw bar. I really missed the oysters. They also did away with the best bread pudding I've ever had. I know oysters can be pricey, but please bring back the highlight of our meal!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

My family and I could not miss the opening to 111ft brunch goodness this past Sunday 9/24/17. Deerfield has done it again with its Sunday brunch . From the food to the service it was great. David and his staff are great .. the new add Stirfry to the brunch is great . Jd and his partner can’t remember her name were very on top of our table . Jeff Robbison , David Quinn the managers were on top of checking on every table making sure everything was ok ... the family and I will be back for sure .. me for that Stirfry and a great bloody Mary 👍🏾

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Seasonal, Casual, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

A little disorganized today. Waited 45mins for our 1:30 reservation. Drinks came 3/4 through the meal. Getting the check and settling up took over 30mins. Food was wonderful and staff were kind and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We attended brunch on Father's Day and had a 1:30 reservation but didn't get seated until 2:10. The place was packed & the servers were visibly frazzled & not very friendly. We had iced tea & water for our beverages & each time we had to flag down a server for refills we had to ask for ice because none of the glasses came with it. The food itself was excellent, however, since we were seated late, some of the desserts ran out because the buffet was only scheduled to run until 3:00. Therefore, the advertised ice cream dessert bar that my daughter was so looking forward to was basically a dish of vanilla ice cream with a few sprinkles on top and the scrapings of some chocolate sauce from the bottom of the dish that was remaining! The rest of the fixins were gone and were not to be replaced, as was the apple pie, the lemon meringue pie and numerous other goodies. While I did enjoy the items on the buffet, I found the $43.00 per person charge to be a bit much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I brought my husband here for Father's day. We had a great dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great location but this experience below par. Father's day brunch inferior to Easter brunch. Service terrible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was great, service was friendly and prompt.
Would definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We came for Father's Day brunch. The staff was well prepared for such a large turnout.
The variety of food was incredible and everything was delicious. We were seated by the window facing the 18th hole. Our servers were excellent. It was just a little pricey.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have lived in Delaware for 33 years and have always heard how great the Sunday brunch was at Deerfield. For my money it was OK at best and WAY OVERPRICED. Although there were good things, I was VERY disappointed in the raw bar. Only two selections - oysters and crab legs. The oysters were not at all firm (I've had much better) and I have NEVER seen crab legs that were so SMALL. We will NOT be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Too noisy. Way overpriced. Ran out of certain food items or were slow to refill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

So not worth the undisclosed $57/pp! Which does not include coffee, juice, or adult beverages. Very crowded, loud and uncomfortable. The first table they attempted to seat us at had a filthy table cloth and had 5 seats despite our reservation for 6 people. Food was mediocre at best. Limp salad, light crabs, terrible crab cakes. Oh and not to mention buffett so all the wonderful things that come w that-- fingers all over everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We chose Deerfield for Mother's Day because we were also celebrating my mom's 80th birthday and we wanted something special. My daughter's wedding reception was here in Dec 2016 and we were so pleased. Mother's Day Buffet was outstanding! What a treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Party of 8 for Mother's Day Brunch....
As always the food was good. But for the first time at this restaurant we had inconsistent service at the table during the buffet style brunch. We were a bit surprised by this but it seems the staff may have been overwhelmed by the volume. It took over 10 minutes for someone to come to our table(after we beckoned a different waiter for service). Throughout our meal the plates were left at our table forcing our party to shift used plates to the middle or side until someone finally noticed or we grabbed a passing by staff member and requested they be removed. On top of all that our drink orders did not arrive at all in some cases, or for those that did it took a really long time.

As we love this place for Mother's Day, when we can get in, this experience won't change our desire to patronize this time around. We will chalk it up to higher than as n planned volume and perhaps a little understaffing for the event.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family really enjoyed Mother's Day brunch. The facilities are upscale and the staff was very friendly. We had to wait a few minutes for our table. There was a terrific variety of food and the quality was very good. My only real complaint is that some of the chafing dishes did not keep the food hot enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Attended Mothers Day brunch. Food and service were FANTASTIC!! Will definitely attend next year.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day brunch. Everybody enjoyed it. It was pretty expensive, but huge variety of food and all-you-can eat. Buffet lines never got long. Service was attentive. None of the food was knock-you-socks-off delicious, but was good for buffet fare. The best part are the attended made-to-order stations, including breakfast burritos, made-to-order eggs, omelets, waffles, and a very high quality carving station.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

What a delicious & awesome Mothers Day Brunch!
Enjoyed getting to see my kids, Emily & Aaron Young on Mothers Day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great for Mothers Day brunch with the whole family. Good selection of food although the price per person is getting very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This restaurant offers a lovely buffet for special occasions. It is extremely pricey. For the price charged, one would expect everything to be near perfect; however that is not the case. In years past the service has been subpar. The waiters only need to bring drinks and clear your table of dirty dishes . Sometimes that was done very slowly or even to the point of not being done it all. That was not a complaint that our group had this year. Our service was excellent this year; however, five of us were crammed into a small table which was not designed to seat five people. As a result, three out of the five of us could not put our legs underneath the table because of the large apron that hang down as well as table legs that were very close together and didn't allow for a chair to be pulled up so that body legs could be fit under the table. It was especially uncomfortable for my 6 ft 2 inch tall husband. For a brunch that cost $350.00 for 5 people, my husband and two others should not be complaining about anything - certainly not the comfort of the seating arrangement. Note: I made the reservation months and months ago. I was not a last minute reservation and we were the second group to be seated when they opened.

The food is delicious - spite of the fact that the whipped cream was mistakenly made with salt instead of sugar. That was an anomaly easily overlooked. The table is difficult to overlook. Someone needs to sit at the tables and decide if you want to sit and eat like that for over an hour.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The options and choices were a bit disappointing for the price. Some dishes were delicious but the crab cakes were not. We made the appropriate reservation, was with older women that have a lot of trouble walking, not to mention standing for long periods of time yet we waited to be seated fir20 minutes! No one offered chairs for them. Everyone seemed confused and frustrated. Disappointing

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

110 ft of brunch food makes this a brunch to remember! Set on the edge of of a beautiful golf course, the county club setting couldn't be lovelier. Most of the food was quite good, suffering a little from the usual buffet issues - cold eggs and a serving of meat that was a little dry (the next was not), Deerfield goes above and beyond with their buffet. My only food suggestion is the same for all buffets - by cooking crab/shrimp/etc into the omelets it guarantees your multiple guests with shell fish allergies cannot take advantage of the egg bar. If you could dedicate one pan, and one cleaning cloth, to non-shellfish ingredients only, you'd have patrons for life. Because, while I'm sure I could have ordered eggs from the kitchen (given my allergy), I hate making a fuss and would have much rather had the option to just order with everyone else from the egg bar. Even adults like to fit in with the crowd :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The only complaint that I have was that we were second table seated and it was a good 10-15 minutes before any waiter or waitress came to our table to tell us about the brunch and take our drink orders. Another server saw us sitting there without any service and told us someone would be with us in a minute.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

easter brunch, reservations, seated within 15 minutes, staff friendly. however food was not worth the $56 pp, crab legs were tiny and scant & usually empty, better crab legs at a cheap Asian buffet, only carved beef option was extremely rare. lamb chops were good. I would not spend the money to do that again on Easter, we were expecting much more for the price. possibly it was less impressive because it was so late in the day for easter brunch, but we paid the same as those that came earlier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family and I had a very nice Easter brunch here. The food was very good with a lot to choose from. Our reservation and seating was right on time. Thumbs up to the servers and chefs who prepare the variety of food. The table service was ok. They may have been a little under staffed for the amount of people. Overall four stars out of five. Only due to the price per person. ($56). Seems high just for brunch plus paying for any drinks you have.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Yummy Easter dinner. Very crowded and noisy though. Also had requested seating close to food for elderly guests. That didn't happen. Too many folks hanging around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family went to Deerfield for their Easter Brunch. The food was excellent. The carmelized bacon was outstanding, the raw oysters were scrumptious and the items on the carving table were tender. The number of tasty items available was outstanding. The only problems we encountered was that the place was somewhat noisy and the service was fair. The waitress asked if I wanted more ice tea and I said yes, however, it never came. The check showed 5 adults rather than 3 adults and two children. When the check was brought to me the waitress stepped on my daughter's foot and never apologized.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Was pleased with last years Easter Brunch. It seems a lot more walking to get to the food. Your old set up was much better. Food was good but NO BREAD PUDDING??? Servers had way more tables and getting the check (one register) was forever. Otherwise servers did their BEST More work for handicap customers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Sunday Brunch for Easter. We have been there many times in the past but it never disappoints. Large selection of great food, staff was very attentive and we were seated quickly. We've tried Brunch many other places in the area in years past but I'm so glad we made our way back to Deerfield.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent service, hot, delicious coffee, good food choices. I think going at 11am was the perfect time.$55 a piece is just a bit pricey for those of us who eat normal portions and with all the tables rather close noise level is very high. Husband loved the diversity of food choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Review is for Easter Sunday Brunch. Great atmosphere, friendly professional staff, excellent food choices and preparation. However participating in the brunch has become expensive especially when you are taking a large family. Though we have enjoyed the brunches over the years unless a change is made to the cost structure we probably will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have been here a couple of times, this time at 1pm and we basically had no waitress service. Plates were piling up, we were only offered coffee once. Even though I booked well in advance, it seems they were not prepared for our party of four. I would recommend that when serving chopped salad, that the utensils to chop and cutting board are cleaned. Waited for a salad only to find pieces of food that I dont like throughout the salad. The first experience was much better. I would go back but we left disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent as usual. Eggs benedict were very good but took a long time to arrive. The millionaire bacon is my biggest attraction at this brunch. Great personal welcome by the manager.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

First time attending brunch. Much of the food was very dry. Vegetables and Ravioli were left in the steamer too long. Attentiveness to food products was lacking. I did not enjoy the experience. Other functions I have attended at Deerfield have been very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a 1:30 reservation for the brunch. Most of the pasta dishes were dry by that time and a fresh supply had not been added. Lamb chops were gone. We were told beef tenderloin was out, but were advised just a few minutes later a new one was coming. Thank goodness, since it was the best thing on the menu. The crab legs were really skimpy and didn't look good. The servers at the serving stations were sometimes difficult to find, but pleasant once located. The table service was excellent. Choices were great and made to order items were quite good. Overall,it was a bit disappointing, since we had high expectations for our first time there to celebrate a 77th irthday

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.