About Deerfield

507 Thompson Station Road
Newark, DE 19711
View Larger Map

Deerfield is comprised of two options. The Pub & Grille caters to golfers & other guests (appetizers, sandwiches, salads, lunch/dinner entrees and specials.) The Pub & Grille is seasonal, so please check our website for hours of operation. Reservations cannot be made for the Pub & Grille.

A second set of very different dining options includes our calendar of Sunday Brunches and Deerfield's holiday events. Holiday events include Valentine's Brunch, Easter Buffet, Mother's Day Buffet, Father's Day Brunch, Thanksgiving Buffet, and Brunches With Santa.

Late September to early May, Deerfield features "Delaware's Best Sunday Brunch" (10am-2pm) featuring over "111 feet of brunchy goodness." Brunch is not served from early May until late September (other than Father's Day). Brunch & Holiday Events differ from each other in menu and pricing.

Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Amex are accepted.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Delaware's Best Sunday Brunch is available 10am-2pm from late September to early May. The hours & pricing of special Holiday Events can vary. Please check website for details.

The Pub & Grille is currently closed for the season and will reopen in the early Spring.

Cross Street:
Paper Mill Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 368-6640

Website:
http://www.deerfieldgolfclub.com/

Catering:
Deerfield's menus are unique, fun and flavorful with entrees and packages to suit every taste and budget. You will work closely with our Sales Managers and Operations Team to craft an event that is perfect. All menus and packages are available at our website. Of course, we are thrilled to design a menu just for you if you don't see exactly what you require. Let us know how we can help.

Executive Chef:
Michael Josephick

Private Party Facilities:
Deerfield is Delaware's premier wedding, banquet, meeting, and special event destination. Wedding ceremonies and receptions are hosted in spectacular fashion, with several outdoor ceremony locations from which to choose, and banquet spaces that can accommodate 60-460 guests. In addition to weddings, parties, baby showers, bridal showers, bar and bat mitzvahs, proms, rehearsal dinners, corporate meetings, trade shows, seminars and a myriad of other functions can be hosted in any of Deerfield's banquet rooms featuring amazing golf course and park views. Menus and packages can be tailored to suit almost any need. Careful attention to detail and our "Hospitality PLUS!" approach to customer service ensures a memorable experience for each guest. All culinary choices are delivered by Chef Mike Josephick, one of the Mid-Atlantic's most well-respected chefs. For your next special occasion, be sure to consider the hospitality professionals at Deerfield.

Private Party Contact:
Sales Office : 3023686640x1217

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
In addition to Delaware's Best Sunday Brunch, Deerfield offers a Thanksgiving Day Buffet, several Brunches With Santa, a Valentine's Dinner Event, an Easter Buffet, and a Mother's Day Buffet. Other events may be added seasonally. Prices do vary, call for more details.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details

Deerfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Kid Friendly
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Special Occasion
Delaware
1 More
Contemporary American
Delaware
Best Restaurants in Newark ›

great for brunch (51)
special occasion (44)
scenic view (40)
See All
good for groups (36)
kid-friendly (24)
great for lunch (15)
fit for foodies (11)
romantic (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for outdoor dining (3)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

All the food was well prepared, always h ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

All the food was well prepared, always hot and plenty to eat. The selection is like none other.

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

VERY EXPENSIVE - FOOD AND SERVICE NOT SO GREAT

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and son took me for brunch on Mothers Day. The table was far from the buffet tables and it was difficult to walk around chairs with our plates. The food was fair. My husband travels for work internationally and dines out frequently with customers. We thought this might be an option since recently moving to Delaware. 3 brunches and 2 drinks was $200.00 for food that was just ok, we served ourselves by walking through a maze of patrons sitting down weaving our way past chairs. It was awful. The ran out of French toast before we even got to the buffet table. My husband would never use this place for customer visits nor will we recommend to friends or dine there again. This is my first negative review since moving to Delaware. Save your money - dine elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Emily was a fantastic server!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Can't say enough about the service! From top to bottom, we were well looked after. Managers, who in some places are hiding in their back office, were on the floor looking for problems. Serving staff was extremely friendly! Cooks...COOKS! My hat is off to them! Everything I tasted was wonderful! Looking in to joining this club immediately!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was very attentive. Thank you ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff was very attentive. Thank you for a wonderful mothers day experience

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers Day 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our annual family Mothers Day with the family. The first time at the Deerfield after many years at the Mendenhall Inn. The experience was outstanding in terms of food & service. We will be returning next year for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

Special anniversary celebration. Food and service were really good (I very rarely give 'excellent' since always room for improvement). Brunch so lots of choices. Would recommend for Sunday brunch, don't know about dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sunday brunch

Dined on April 3, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch. The food was fantastic loved all the seafood ( raw oysters, crab legs, crab cakes and much More) meat - rack of lamb and filet sooooo good not to mention their million dollar bacon yum. Everything else was good but I had my fill of the delicious protein. I'm not a huge desert person it looked good but not out of this world. Just ok. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Worth the money. So good for a special occasion. This is not your every Sunday brunch it's over the top good.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Sunday Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere here. Plenty of options to choose from - carved meats to backed fish and a kids section with Mac and cheese! Like soup and salad? They have that, too! Or if you prefer a hot breakfast with eggs and sausage or waffles, it's all there! More desserts than you could imagine. Service attendants are very nice and helpful. Enjoy!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Over rated Easter brunch!

Dined on March 27, 2016

This year's brunch was a bit disappointing… there was no omelet to order or any none red meats to offer except for bake grill chicken. In the other times we have visited Deerfield there was turkey and omelet to order. Also, the seafood options wasn't that much better… with bake salmon and cold shrimp/crab legs bar. As for the service… our waitress got loss several times and we had to rely on others in the area. This is my last visit to the Deerfield for brunch.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

astronomically expensive. Not actually worth it.

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Last year it wasn't as expensive so I stupidly assumed it would be the same price and the bill came and it was just ignorant -- Can't even believe it -- Won't be back next year, that's for sure!

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Holiday Brunch-Not all items advertised available!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food is good but during a holiday brunch they did not have everything that was advertised. Price for the holiday brunch is 25% higher with fewer options to choose from. Service was weak and at a premium price not worth it overall. I've eaten here during an off holiday brunch and would recommend it for the price. But during a Holiday Sunday brunch at their increased rates I would not recommend!

food3
ambience3
service3

I had been to the Deerfield Sunday brunc ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I had been to the Deerfield Sunday brunch on two previous occasions and both the food and service was excellent. Easter brunch was a bit disappointing especially as the price was substantially increased. We were there at 1230. The carved meat station was good but the other offerings were quite frankly average and at times, cold when they should have been warm at least. Deserts were disappointing. My son and his girlfriend live in DC where brunch is quite an experience-sadly Deerfield this time you did not measure up. Tables were so crowded together it was quite loud. We would return but never again during a holiday.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!! So yummy

Dined on March 20, 2016

Amazing!! So yummy

food4
ambience4
service5

Fabulous Sunday brunch! The raw bar was ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Fabulous Sunday brunch! The raw bar was spectacular as were the desserts.

food5
ambience3
service5

The most amazing brunch. I can understan ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The most amazing brunch. I can understand why it won the best of Delaware!

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Overall the experience was average

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was slow and inattentive, certain food items ran out and were not replenished and a food station attendant was rude.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy Deerfield

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food quality and variety and the presentation are always excellent at Deerfield. The staff is attentive and always very helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Deerfield Valentine's Day Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was a Valentine's Day Brunch for $38.95/person. They had many selections, but the food was only slightly warm, and it tasted like it had been made several days before and reheated. The crab cakes tasted old. They had beautiful looking desserts, but they weren't very tasty. This was a terrible value for the price.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Felt like since we made a later reservat ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Felt like since we made a later reservation we got shafted. Food was semi cold. They were out of ice cream. Manager had to tell someone to come up to one of the stations to Serve us. I didn't pay a discounted price because we came later but felt like we got end of the night service . Would be nice to get some kind of a refund here .

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Buffet Food / Sevice

Dined on February 13, 2016

Buffet . Hot food was cold and was not restock on a timely basis . Once seated and drinks brought to the table the server was never to be seen again . The Club should invest with upgraded induction heaters , steno is old school.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine Celebration

Dined on February 13, 2016

We decided to try Deerfield's Valentine dinner evening with 2 other couples. Everyone had an outstanding evening, which exceeded our expectations. Deerfield is an excellent venue to handle special occasions and they really presented a great value for the evening. The ball room was set-up with plenty of room between tables, so you did not feel crammed in with herds of people. The buffet tables were well spaced so there were never more then one or two people waiting in line. We sat right next to the grand piano at the edge of the dance floor along the windows and although initially concerned that we would not be able to hold a conversation, this proved not to be a problem and the music was not over powering and was mixed with several breaks. The quality and variety of food was outstanding from the lobster bisque to the beef tenderloin and lamb chops. We arrived at 6:00 pm and finally ended the evening close to 9:00 pm, never feeling like we were overstaying our reservation. I noticed from last year's event that there were several comments about slow drink service, credit to our server or management, we did not have any concerns with the level of table service. Would we go again next year, you bet.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The usual marvelous dining experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

The usual marvelous dining experience! Our family loves to go to Deerfield for very special occasions. The staff, the food, the atmosphere, the location, and the generous free parking make this a real go to any location. I recommend this for any large or small groups.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Valentine's Day Celebration

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was a great Valentine's Day celebration -- great food, quiet atmosphere and nice live piano music. We have been to several of their holiday buffets and this was the best by far.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Go Early for Crab Legs

Dined on January 31, 2016

We were looking forward to the clams, shrimp, and crab legs. Our reservation was for 1:00 PM. We arrived on time and went right to the seafood. There was a small amount of clams, no shrimp and no crab legs. I asked if they were going to bring out any more shrimp or crab legs and they said that was it. They finally brought out a few shrimp. They never brought out any crab legs. The reason we choose 1:00 PM was to get the seafood. What a disappointment. If you want seafood don't make reservations for 1:00 PM.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch within 100 miles

Dined on January 31, 2016

Today was our third visit to Deerfield. It was always excellent but the new chef and enthusiasm have made it our very favorite. The staff, under the careful watch of managers Jeff and Dave, have thought of everything. The price of $38.95 is a bargain for the quality & variety: Velvety mushroom soup, salad greens, assorted veggies and dressings, tarragon potato salad, chicken salad with cranberries, & chopped antipasto (brilliant idea!). Seafood bar: Spicy peel and eat shrimp (ask for wipes), raw oysters, snow crab, drawn butter, clams bruschetta, mussels, crab cakes, oysters Rockefeller (best we have ever had), smoked salmon, gravlax, bagels. Carving station: roast beef tenderloin, rack of lamb, millionaire's bacon. Omelet station: All of the usual fillings plus crab meat and caramelized onions.Breakfast: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, French toast, Nutella-stuffed French toast, creamed chipped beef/biscuits. Lunch: salmon/fennel cream sauce, amazing chicken parm (pounded thin, tender, and juicy), jambalaya/rice, corn/black bean stuffed peppers, assorted veggies. Kids': Mac/cheese bites, fries, chicken tenders, pizza, milk, sweets. Continental breakfast: muesli, pastries, muffins, breads, cinnamon rolls, doughnuts, perfectly ripe blueberries, raspberries, pineapple, melon, yogurt. Desserts: addicting funnel cake "fries", layer cakes, pies, cheesecake, mini cannoli, cream puffs, eclairs, bar cookies, bread pudding/creme anglais, waffle station with assorted toppings. The amount of time & attention that goes into this brunch boggles the mind. Every staff person is knowledgeable & helpful. Managers make the rounds seeking input and suggestions on what is working (everything) and what could be improved (not a single thing). Servings are cut into "right-sized" portions, making it easier to sample a variety of dishes. Kudos to the chef, managers,our great servers Alec and Bethany for a wonderful experience. We will be back for every possible holiday.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Quality has decreased

Dined on January 3, 2016

I really enjoyed the brunch 3 years ago when I discovered Deerfield; but I've been disappointed in the food quality the last two times, and this will probably be my last. I don't mind paying a high price for a quality buffet, but I think they've gone downhill. The meats are dry and the number of salads on the salad bar has been reduced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on December 27, 2015

The Club is beautiful. The service is terrific. We loved the food! Lots of choices: breakfast items, lunch choices, waffles, omelets, meat carving station. Amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on December 20, 2015

Great experience at Deerfield. I have never had a bad experience with all of their events. They handle the mass of people very very well, very professionally ran and great food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

good food, very understaffed

Dined on December 20, 2015

We went there last Sunday. The place was packed. The food is great but they were very under staffed. We waited for 20min to pay, and it turned out their credit card machine was down so we ended up pay by check. Great food, great holiday sprit, just be prepared of the wait.

Tags: kid-friendly
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Room for improvement

vip
Dined on December 20, 2015

$40/person so one would expect decent food. Very limited selection of food. The dessert table is even more scarce. The place definitely has gone down in quality from what it used to be.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience. Food, se ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

We had a wonderful experience. Food, server, Santa - all exceptional.

food4
ambience5
service5

Santa Brunch

Dined on December 13, 2015

We just found a new Christmas tradition. Brunch was Santa, walked us right into the Christmas season. Santa was the best looking Santa I have ever seen, he had a wonderful, joyful personality! We were not rushed, food selection was great, and staff was extremely friendly. The kids (11, 8, & 3) were thrilled, a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Brunch with Santa

Dined on December 13, 2015

My family and I had a wonderful time at brunch. The decorations were beautiful, the food was excellent, Santa was perfect and to my four year old's surprise unlike any Santa she has seen! We will be back next year!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This is a buffet, we rarely saw our serv ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

This is a buffet, we rarely saw our servers and had to wait 30 minutes to get our check, otherwise this is our 4th year at Brunch with Santa and really enjoy the tradition.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience1
service1

Not good enough for the price

Dined on December 13, 2015

We came here for the first time to attend their "brunch with Santa". This place was not even worth the price to begin with. Serive was awful! We literally waited 15-20 minutes each time we needed our drinks refilled. Food was cold, seemed like we were invisible to alot of people. Management was really nice, but their servers were awful. Need to think about who they hire, and/or hire more help to take on the work load!!! Then on top of that, the line to see santa was over 30 minutes long. Terrible, just terrible. I will not be visiting this place again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best Santa Brunch Ever

Dined on December 13, 2015

We reserved our brunch with Santa for our grand daughter while visiting the area for a family event. The food was terrific, as usual, and we enjoyed our brunch immensely. The Santa was the best Santa we have ever seen and he did not rush his time with the children. Deerfield is always the gold standard for brunch and any meal or event. We are never disappointed here.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

New layout and still good

Dined on December 13, 2015

The brunch buffet is a popular venue for [our] family affairs. Has good options for everyone -- breakfast, lunch, drinks, kids food, seafood raw and hot, desserts. The new layout actually improved the service quite a bit, the create your own omelet station is now more centrally located and has two chefs working multiple pans -- since this is a popular choice, big improvement on the wait time. Staff are typically very quick to attend to clearing plates or bringing drinks. They don't mind if you stay a while, we've had 12 people at our table for 2 hours allowing everyone to take turns eating, watching kids, etc. The regular buffet is a decent value, the Santa buffet maybe less so. Over all, a solid buffet in a banquet setting.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Food and Service

Dined on December 6, 2015

We had a wonderful time with Breakfast with Santa he is the best looking Santa I have ever seen and great with the kids. Your food was plentiful and delious something good for everyone. Especially love the brown bacon

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was pretty good, however, I would l ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Food was pretty good, however, I would love to see a larger seafood selection. The mean mimosas are delicious. Staff were very attentive and helpful.

food5
ambience4
service4

Thanksgiving at Deerfield

Dined on November 26, 2015

The food was delicious. Everything tasted very well, the turkey, the vegetables and the salads. Although many people attended the meal, there was more than enough for everybody. And the waiters worked fast and good. Everytime they cleaned the table, took away used plates. It was a wonderful Thanksgiving meal

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.