Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.82mi
  2. Distance: 2.22mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.82mi
  2. Distance: 2.22mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.82mi
  2. Distance: 2.22mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.82mi
  2. Distance: 2.22mi
  3. Distance: 2.64mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

About Deerfield

Deerfield is comprised of two options. The Pub & Grille caters to golfers & other guests (appetizers, sandwiches, salads, lunch/dinner entrees and specials.) The Pub & Grille is seasonal, so please check our website for hours of operation. Reservations cannot be made for the Pub & Grille.

A second set of very different dining options includes our calendar of Sunday Brunches and Deerfield's holiday events. Holiday events include Valentine's Brunch, Easter Buffet, Mother's Day Buffet, Father's Day Brunch, Thanksgiving Buffet, and Brunches With Santa.

Late September to early May, Deerfield features "Delaware's Best Sunday Brunch" (10am-2pm) featuring over "111 feet of brunchy goodness." Brunch is not served from early May until late September (other than Father's Day). Brunch & Holiday Events differ from each other in menu and pricing.

Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Amex are accepted.

507 Thompson Station Road
Newark, DE 19711
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Delaware's Best Sunday Brunch is available 10am-2pm from late September to early May. The hours & pricing of special Holiday Events can vary. Please check website for details.

The Pub & Grille is currently open daily from 11am until 9pm. Reservations are not currently accepted and tables are available on a first come, first serve basis. Visit www.deerfieldgolfclub.com to view our complete menu for the Pub & Grille!

Cross Street:
Paper Mill Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 368-6640

Website:
http://www.deerfieldgolfclub.com/

Catering:
Deerfield's menus are unique, fun and flavorful with entrees and packages to suit every taste and budget. You will work closely with our Sales Managers and Operations Team to craft an event that is perfect. All menus and packages are available at our website. Of course, we are thrilled to design a menu just for you if you don't see exactly what you require. Let us know how we can help.

Executive Chef:
Michael Josephick

Private Party Facilities:
Deerfield is Delaware's premier wedding, banquet, meeting, and special event destination. Wedding ceremonies and receptions are hosted in spectacular fashion, with several outdoor ceremony locations from which to choose, and banquet spaces that can accommodate 60-460 guests. In addition to weddings, parties, baby showers, bridal showers, bar and bat mitzvahs, proms, rehearsal dinners, corporate meetings, trade shows, seminars and a myriad of other functions can be hosted in any of Deerfield's banquet rooms featuring amazing golf course and park views. Menus and packages can be tailored to suit almost any need. Careful attention to detail and our "Hospitality PLUS!" approach to customer service ensures a memorable experience for each guest. All culinary choices are delivered by Chef Mike Josephick, one of the Mid-Atlantic's most well-respected chefs. For your next special occasion, be sure to consider the hospitality professionals at Deerfield.

Private Party Contact:
Sales Office : (302) 368-6640 ext. 1214

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
In addition to Delaware's Best Sunday Brunch, Deerfield offers a Thanksgiving Day Buffet, several Brunches With Santa, a Valentine's Dinner Event, an Easter Buffet, and a Mother's Day Buffet. Other events may be added seasonally. Prices do vary, call for more details.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Deerfield requires a credit card number to hold this reservation.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Deerfield requires a credit card number to hold this reservation.

Deerfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (23)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Groups (15)
See All
Sunday Lunch (13)
Scenic View (11)
Family Style (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Romantic (7)
Fun (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Dancing (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
575 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a 1:30 reservation for the brunch. Most of the pasta dishes were dry by that time and a fresh supply had not been added. Lamb chops were gone. We were told beef tenderloin was out, but were advised just a few minutes later a new one was coming. Thank goodness, since it was the best thing on the menu. The crab legs were really skimpy and didn't look good. The servers at the serving stations were sometimes difficult to find, but pleasant once located. The table service was excellent. Choices were great and made to order items were quite good. Overall,it was a bit disappointing, since we had high expectations for our first time there to celebrate a 77th irthday

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

If the service was better it would have been 100 percent. Was slow and a couple drinks we asked for never came. The room was no where full so either they were short staffed or inexperienced.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and the service was Wonderful. Had a great time celebrating our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Last week we had reservations and our son got sick while walking to our table. They were very understanding and helpful at the time. We booked a return for this past Sunday and were created very warmly with the staff asking how our son was.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful wonderful brunch experience. I highly recommend going and taking friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great venue for a special celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The variety of the buffet is awesome, as well as the service- well worth the price.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We go here for brunch. It is the best in Delaware by far. There is always a good reason to have brunch with friends and family. Deerfield is that place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good, beautiful setting. WIll return next year.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The best brunch I have had. Pricey, but worth it!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always an enjoyable time at Deerfield. The service, food and atmosphere are all great. Not stuffy, family friendly and yet classy all at the same time. I would highly recommend for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is the most amazing Brunch in the Delaware Valley. Everything you could ask for along with desert. There truly is no competition to this Brunch. Enjoy!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Nice place- plenty of food choices. Family friendly without out of control kids running amok.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was a good experience, buffet was exquisite and the noise was moderate at best.

I would recommend it to those who are into fine dining.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went for brunch. While there was variety in selection, the food quality was average at best. For the price, I expected much more. I would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I have visited this location several times this year. The food is very good and the wait staff is friendly and attentive. The dining area is very large and you are not piled on top of each other. This leaves plenty room for intimate and private conversations while dining. I would certainly recommend this location for your Sunday Brunch for large and small groups. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a lovely and different dining experience for my father's birthday. The buffet was probably one of the most comprehensive I have ever seen ... hands down, anywhere ! The price tag was very reasonable considering the lovely display and array of food. I would definitely go back again and make sure that I was hungry so I could eat sample more of their outstanding cuisine.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was great place! The menu is awesome! At first I was hesitant about spending $40 but it was well worth the price!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We enjoyed our meal while there. It is pricey but the selection is wide ranging. I made sure not to eat too much to allow myself to visit each and ever table. Between the lamb, steak, salads, breakfast items, omlette stations, pastries and deserts, we got our fill for sure. The service was good and our waiter did a good job. He removed my plates promptly each time I got up to get more food. My kids said he did great for me but they always came back to dirty plates on the table. That's ok cause their young and my wife and I are paying! For two adults, 3 kids between 11-16 and two memosa's bill was about $180 with tip. Great Brunch and we didn't even need to fix dinner since we were so full!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great Food / good service ... very pleasant - server was very good

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New Year's Day brunch was awesome for the most part. There are a variety of options and the room is very nice. My only issue was that the food was pretty bland to only suit a particular set of taste buds. That's the only thing I think needs to change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Beautiful views, excellent service and delicious food. We've had many Sunday brunches at Deerfield and have never been disappointed. Reserved a private room at DGC for a large, surprise birthday party and all staff members were very pleasant and responsive. They helped me pull off a top-notch event!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It was a wonderful Brunch with Santa. The whole family enjooyed it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

A great Christmas brunch and possibly better than it has ever been.

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great and warm professional welcome, no wait to be seated. All staff from the food stations to wait staff were courteous and helpful. Menu options were endless. And to top it off, a visit from Santa.

Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The Santa is great, if it weren't for him I wouldn't bother to ever go there for brunch again. The service is lousy as the waiters/waitresses cater to the large parties and ignore the smaller ones. We were ignored twice for 20 minutes each ruining the kids experience. We had to eat without drinks and then wait forever to get our check. The kids were bored and waiting sucked the fun out of going for them

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A beautiful place, casual but elegant, wonderful food and very attentive service. Worth the trip and the price. I wish I could eat like that all the time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

As always, the Brunch with Santa is great-- what an excellent Santa! The food is great, lots of options for hot/cold and breakfast/lunch. Always rotating in some new options. The special mimosas helped! Appreciate they always give us about 2 hours at the table, enough time to enjoy, then go back for more. And... did I mention, the Santa is really good!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Had a wonderful experience at the Santa Brunch on Sunday with my granddaughter. The food was delicious. Our server, Anne, was attentive, friendly, and professional. Your Santa is the best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Dancing, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I had purchased gift certificates to the Sunday brunch for my family that expired 12/31/16. When we went to use them they would not allow because Santa was at the brunch and they called this a special occasion. If these gifts were good until 12/31/16, and the only available time to use them is Sunday brunch and EVERY Sunday brunch is not allowing the gift cards then shame on you for telling us they were good through the month they cannot be redeemed. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We attended the Thanksgiving buffet. Staff was very polite & helpful. We had 5:30 reservations but due to crowds, we had to wait about 20 min. When we went to the various buffet tables, we found that they were out of plates. We had to settle for smaller plates just to get any food. They were also out of salad, crab cakes & one of the main desserts. For $50 per person, we think the buffet service should have been better managed & stocked. We will try another place next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very good Thanksgiving Brunch. The restaurant raised the price from $39.90 last year to $49.90 per person without informing me when making the reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was fine, although turkey was a bit dry. Lots of different foods meant we had to sample them all. Wait staff was great. Wait for seating was understandable due to huge crowd. We will return for other events.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Been to Deerfield many times for Thanksgiving & it's been very good, but this time was most disappointing. Selection of items that have been available in the past weren't available on 11/24 & turkey was very dry. A candle or artificial flowers on the table would have been nice. Had a reservation & still waited 1 hour to be seated (for 4 people).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We made a reservation for Thanksgiving. We arrived ontime, yet there were a great many people waiting in the hallway. We waited 20 minutes to be seated. The food was okay, nothing was what I considered great, standard buffet fare. The people carving the turkey and beef were cutting very thin slices, one per guest. I think my son and husband would have appreciated a more substantial serving. Service was good, not outstanding, I think they were not prepared for the number of guests. We were okay with everything, but nothing was a standout.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The server, whose only responsibility was to get drinks, was no where to be found after the drink order was placed. It was only after we asked for a manager did she appear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving treat, all the family enjoyed the meal and eating out on this special day. Although, busy, we did not have to wait long for our table, but we did eat early, at 1.30pm and service was excellent and buffet items regularly replaced. Would return next year.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

After attending Thanksgiving dinner at Deerfield for several years, this year was a disappointment. Although the price was higher, the menu selections have been pared down. The dressings, both cornbread and bread, were dry and lacked flavor. There is no longer an appetizer station. The selection of desserts was smaller. No bread pudding.

Walking to the buffet was a challenge with all of the tables and chairs that had to be navigated. It seemed more crowded than usual.

The people manning the carving stations seemed inexperienced.

The one bright spot was we had very good servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We attended the Thanksgiving Dinner Buffet at Deerfield. The food was delicious. The service was top notch and the ballroom was perfect for an elegant yet very relaxing dinner. This was our Sixth event at Deerfield and we enjoy it more each time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Organic, Special Occasion, Dancing, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Healthy, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Groups, Cozy, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We took my husband's father to Deerfield for Thanksgiving Day dinner. The dining area is absolutely breathtaking for views with all the glass. However, we were disappointed with the turkey. It was very dry. The buffet line was not replenished quick enough. Service was excellent. I just wish the food had been better for the price. The ice cream was delicious from Woodside Creamery.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.