Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About decarli

decarli restaurant is where rustic meets modern. Chef/owner, Paul DeCarli, pulls from his Swiss-Italian roots to create a menu that reflects his heritage as well as combine local Northwest ingredients. Polenta fries with gorgonzola butter, mussels in fennel-saffron cream sauce, and espresso-braised shortribs are just a few of the many "must-haves.” Soaring open beam ceilings with rustic brick walls add to the ambiance of this 1924 historic building.

4545 SW Watson Ave
Beaverton, OR 97005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 641-3223

Website:
http://www.decarlirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking in front of the restaurant. Also, to the right there is plenty of off-street parking as well as a small public lot.

Public Transit:
Watson and Farmington both offer bus stops within a block of the restaurant. MAX is 3 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Paul DeCarli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Private Dining

Italian-inspired with a menu that changes weekly, decarli features fresh seasonal ingredients from the Northwest.

decarli Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for a Date (54)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Casual (24)
Romantic (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Authentic (18)
Business Meals (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Fun (15)
Comfort Food (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Cozy (10)
Seasonal (10)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Organic (3)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Very friendly staff. Had reservation but they seated us early. Only challenge is parking which is not that big of deal. Food was amazing.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for a double date and would do it again. The food was tasty except for the bruschetta which I didn't love. Everything else was delicious! Smores brownie dessert was decadent! All the main courses we tried were super yummy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

The appetizers, main course and dessert were exceptional (as usual), the noise level was loud (as usual). However the service was terrible! Our waiter was too interested in interacting with other staff members to notice that we were out of water, sat with dirty dinner dishes, that we might want to order dessert, or that we might want an after dinner drink. Because our dessert had long been eaten and he didn't come back we decided to ship that and hopefully leave. We waited for the bill and then waited again for him to charge our credit card to be charged. By that time the room was half empty so could not figure out the long wait times. Of course we will be back but will make darn sure we never have that waiter again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was a surprise. Sister and brother in law in town for Beaverton High School reunion. I live in NE Portland so just selected this place by online recommendation. Our waiter Bryan was really pro and the food, ambiance and service exceeded all of our expectations.
First rate spot. I'll make the trek to go there again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Decarli's never fails to give us a great time. The food is excellent and the scene is lively. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful as always. We are so fortunate to have this outstanding restaurant in the neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

This is our third time eating here since we moved last year and as always we enjoyed our dinner. We ordered polenta fries and shigoku oysters for our appetizer and beef short ribs, spaghetti with dungeness crab and grilled Columbia river salmon as our entree. Even our kids loved the cheese pizza. We highly recommend this place.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great food as always. The short ribs and polenta fries are special

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service was exceptional. The food was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Their mussels are the most delicious we have ever had anywhere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Have eaten here many times...this visit was not up to par with past outings.
My wife is quite petite and not a big eater....her entrée (a homemade pasta) was a bit salty and very small in portion; she ate it in 4 bites and was still hungry.

The rest of the meal was "fine" but not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 9, 2017

No air conditioning. The place was empty by 9:30 so definitely not a late night crowd; it was a Tuesday. Great food, excellent service but we were all sweating. Very noisy - not ideal for conversation until people cleared out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 9, 2017

One of the best places in town, and definitely west of the West Hills.
Great food and a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The restaurant was an ideal date spot. The ambiance is stellar and the food is delicious. On top of that, our waiter Jarret was extremely friendly, knowledgeable about the menu options, and present without being overbearing. Stellar experience and will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Decarli is a fun, good food, dining place. We went on a day that was seeing 100+ temperatures and even with the air conditioning it was hot. So the owner went to get our group, 2 of whom was very uncomfortable with the heat, a fan which meant we could stay to enjoy our dinner. Their attention to our discomfort and service throughout was outstanding. Thanks Decarli, we,will definetly be back :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food and service was exceptional as always. Best dining in Beaverton!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was our first visit. Loved it!!! We will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The brick oven baked chicken was flavorless. The ground pork in the pork bolognese sauce in the lasagna was in big chunks not evenly spread. The server was attentive and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was good, the server staff was very friendly and knowledgeable when asked questions.

My only 2 complaints which are very minor in the overall but is the restaurant was sweltering hot, and the decor really didn't blend. I hope it is a broken ac that is getting fixed and not that they keep it that temp. As far as the decor goes, you can do minimalist , contemporary, primitive, farmhouse, but all of those don't blend together well. You can blend styles, just not all the styles.at once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great service. We stayed a long time and weren't rushed. Next time will ask server to have kitchen cut bruschetta appetizer- a little hard to do myself at table. Fresh pasta fantastic, although the pork ragu was a little too salty for my taste. In general, very pleased and happy with meal. Would come again and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Creative menu is very good Good portions, the staff very pleasant,courteous and very efficient.
The room was a bit loud,but added to the ambience

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food at decarli has never disappointed. Their continually rotating menu is always incredible. We, along with family and friends, have always had an amazing meal and experience. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great Italian restaurant in Beaverton. Our go to place with friends. Awesome food and fantastic service. Lovely place

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Decarli specializes in a fresh, always-changing PacNW take on Italian cuisine. Their bartending is solid, as are house staples like the pappardelle and the rotating bruschetta trio. Things can get a bit crowded -- even more of a testament to the kitchen's chops considering the fact that DeCarli has no parking to speak of and even posts warnings about the towtrucks patrolling nearby businesses' lots. Public transit doesn't stop nearby either, or I'd find myself going here more often. Certainly this time, as with every previous dining experience here, was a pleasant one.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great time at Decarli! Great for date night or to bring clients. Try the cocktails and appetizers, they are delicious!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We love Decarli. It is a regular stop fur us when we want something convenient, friendly, and interesting. We always enjoy the variety and quality of choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful time and great service. Thanks for a great date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

As usual Decarli delivered. Always a nice time good service and excellent food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Lovely ambiance, excellent food, attentive and friendly service. A little pricey, but worth it. Who would have thought to find such a gem in Beaverton!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

DeCarli's does a fine job with food and service. The menu is becoming a bit "weird," like Portland, I guess. Relax and just serve good food. The bruschetta wasn't tasty, to be honest - trying too hard to be different failed. Servers are friendly, but management not so much. A good spot overall!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very authentic Italian cuisine. We had an attentive and very knowledgeable waiter, he made sure we had everything we needed without being intrusive to our conversation. It was just a tad noisy for a date setting, but the overall atmosphere is quite charming. The Caesar salad is as good as they come. A true Caesar made with coddled egg, not mayo, and not slathered with things like chicken or tomatoes or anything else that doesn't belong in such a classic. Pasta cooked to perfection. The beef ragu was just a touch sweet for my taste, but still delicious. I recommend the Cazuela appetizer. Delicious baked ricotta with a lemon tang served with crostini.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 19, 2017

This is our second time at Decarlis. We live in Bend and wish we had such a wonderfully crafted Italian restaurant there. I had the roast chicken and my husband, the pork ragu pasta dish. Both were superb. We will eat here whenever we come to Portland.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Love this place as this is my 3rd time eating here. The food is amazing but I really wish the main dishes were a little bit bigger. It's pricey, but tasty :).

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Love the polenta fries and the cesar salad. The chitarra pasta was robust. They also have a decent wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Decarli is a gem, we are so glad to have this wonderful restaurant in our neighborhood. The soup is always delicious, pastas are great. We started with the bruschetta trio, the corn relish was especially delicious. I had the ravioli, husband the pappardelle, both were great. Finished with a lovely cappuccino.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Service was very slow, restaurant extremely loud - so much so that you could not hear the person across the table from you. Food was VERY salty, or no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Third or fourth visit, we've always very much enjoyed our meals. This time, the pork was very over-cooked and resembled jerkey. We mentioned on the way out as to not cause a scene at dinner, and the server acknowledged it wasn't up to par and to look for him again to make it right. We appreciate that, and will be back for another try. Believe just an off night perhaps.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Have been to Decarli many times because the food and service is outstanding!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great meal! We'd been here twice before and it was good but not amazing -- much better all around this time, great experience. Delicious food, good ambience. Will come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.