Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About decarli

decarli restaurant is where rustic meets modern. Chef/owner, Paul DeCarli, pulls from his Swiss-Italian roots to create a menu that reflects his heritage as well as combine local Northwest ingredients. Polenta fries with gorgonzola butter, mussels in fennel-saffron cream sauce, and espresso-braised shortribs are just a few of the many "must-haves.” Soaring open beam ceilings with rustic brick walls add to the ambiance of this 1924 historic building.

4545 SW Watson Ave
Beaverton, OR 97005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 641-3223

Website:
http://www.decarlirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking in front of the restaurant. Also, to the right there is plenty of off-street parking as well as a small public lot.

Public Transit:
Watson and Farmington both offer bus stops within a block of the restaurant. MAX is 3 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Paul DeCarli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Private Dining

Italian-inspired with a menu that changes weekly, decarli features fresh seasonal ingredients from the Northwest.

decarli Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (41)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Romantic (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Happy Hour (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Cozy (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Business Meals (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Casual (14)
Seasonal (13)
Authentic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Private Room (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1086 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

Phenomenal as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

The mussels are fantastic! Paired with a salad, they even make a good meal size. The happy hour burger looked super. This is just a really fun nice place for a good meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great dinner! Couldn't believe how busy it was on a Tuesday night at 7:30!
Great salads, wonderful cocktails & enjoyed the mussels❤

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We have dined at The Decarli several times and each time the food and service have been excellent. This is one of our go to places for company and special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful service and delicious food. It is not a quiet spot for dinner, but everything else is extraordinary. We had the fois gras and steak tartare for starters, entrees of steak, halibut and spaghetti were delish and we took our desert home to enjoy. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants in the Portland metro area. Never disappoints. Outstanding food and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

The whole experience just left me speechless. The only negative thing I can even say is finding parking but once you set foot inside. The lighting to the service to the food, everything was top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent as always. Noise level a little high, but didn't impede a nice evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had reservations at 6:30 was seated on time. Their short ribs our favor of mine recommend them highly. Our order took over 45 minutes to get the table was getting very hungry by then. Wine selection was was above average. Did not have dessert

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent Food. Highly recommended. Will dine here again!!!!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Decarli was a wonderful experience. From the food to the service, they leave nothing to be desired. This place has it all. The food is so well thought out and delicious. Our new favorite dinner spot!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Lovely menu with just the right amount of tasty choices prepared and served beautifully. The polenta fries are addictive as are the cocktails.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The quality of the food and service more than make up for the noise level. The polenta fries are awesome!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

First time. Great service and food in s comfortable atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I have been to Decarli's several times over the years and it is always a great place to go.
And they were even kind enough to help accommodate my group when we unexpectedly had two extra people join us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We just discovered this place and love it!!
Great food and great service!
Been there 4 times now and always consistent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Nice place, good service, open atmosphere with warm cozy colors. The food is only fair. I had roasted chicken. I asked what comes on the plate, like a half chicken or just a piece or what? The server said "it's a half a chicken". I got two drumsticks. That's not a half a chicken. It came served on a pile of some kind of grain, might have been barley or similar. The menu said it also had celery root, but there was probably a whole tablespoon of finely diced celery root on the whole plate. I would have liked much more celery root and less of the grain; I realize that would cost more to source and prepare. Flavor was decent, chicken was cooked thoroughly and browned but not crispy. Nothing wrong, just nothing special. She ordered lobster spaghetti. I never understood why pasta is always so expensive in restaurants. The main part of the dish is an incredibly cheap ingredient. Her dish came with a few sizable chunks of lobster, so not too bad on that part. The plate overall was pretty small though, I would have been pretty disappointed if the portion was mine. The sauce was relatively thin and runny, I would have expected something more buttery. Not too special. I had an appetizer pizza as well. The pizza was at least 14 inches in diameter, nice and thin, with a nice, light covering ingredients. I don't like pizza overloaded with cheese, so this fit the bill. Only disappointment there was that the pizza was quite undercooked with very little crisp to any of the dough and the pieces flopped like a wet rag when picked up. The potential was there, but it needed more time in the oven for sure. Her appetizer was a beet salad. This came with large chunks of golden beet and some arugala and shaved pear with a fruity vinaigrette. The salad was delicious and I would consider it the best part of the meal. I was on the fence about whether to say yes or no to the "would you recommend Decarli to a friend" question. Not bad, not awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I have been going to decarli for some years now. I always enjoy the food and atmosphere. It's the best fine dining experience in Beaverton.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We always have a great meal here. Had the steak and it was cooked just right. Wine list is very good and quite affordable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Nice place to have a get together with office mates. Good service will be back again.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 3, 2017

WOW! First visit; we'll be back for sure... soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food was great, the drinks delicious and the wait staff attentive. Will defintely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I have left a previous review. DeCarli's is one of the best restaurants on the Westside. The food is always good to excellent. It does not disappoint. Service is always excellent. Would like a little more variety on the menu -- but I understand, when you have a great thing, why change it.

The night we were there, my wife and I split an Oregon white truffle tagliatelle that was sublime and truly amazing. Thought we were in Alba in late October. We also shared a dover sole that was robust and flavorful. No complaints.

Our server recommended an excellent italian white for my wife that went great with the sole and a NW red blend based on barbera that went great with the tagliatelle. Another excellent meal.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

As usual we had a great meal at Decarli. They never disappoint. The short ribs and bruschetta are fantastic!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Very consistent dishes coming out of the kitchen. I had the Endive/Satsuma salad and the Short Ribs on Spaetzle. Trio of Gelato was the perfect ending to a perfect meal.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Private Room, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Oh my goodness! We had a wonderful time!!! Kate, our waitress, was amazing!!! Thank you so much!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Good wine choices. A very good alternative to driving into Portland.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great restaurant with a very nice atmosphere. Our party enjoyed it!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Decarli is a local favorite for our family. The food and service is always exceptional. Love the ambiance ... solid drink and wine selection.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

As always the beef ribs outstanding with great service!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Nice setting and ambiance, large open space.

We ordered Caesar's salad, grilled calamari, rigatoni duck confit, lobster spaghetti, kid's toasted cheese sandwich. Salad was okay, dressing was heavy and salty, nice large Romaine lettuce leaves, croutons bit stale. Both pasta dishes were too heavily salted for our taste. Server forgot calamari appetizer, apologized and comped it. Too bad it came out at the end of the meal when we were all done. Have to say though, the calamari was the best of what we ordered overall. Wines by the glass were fine.

If we lived in Beaverton, can see going back just due to proximity/convenience/quality. For us, was okay to try but not returning real soon.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was good, but a little too salty. They need to do something about the noise level, though, which was almost intolerable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

IT WAS MY FIANCE'S BIRTHDAY AND I WANTED TO TAKE HIM SOMEWHERE NEW AND SPECIAL. DECARLI DID NOT DISAPPOINT. WE HAD THE POLENTA FRIES, CEASAR SALAD, BEEF SHORT RIBS AND THE LOBSTER SPAGHETTI WITH A VERY NICE BOTTLE OF WINE AND BIRTHDAY DESERT. THE SERVICE WAS TOP NOTCH. WE DID HAVE TO WAIT A COUPLE MINUTES TO BE SEATED. I LOOK FORWARD TO RETURNING.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was a great experience. We had a large group (a lot of whom were late) and the restaurant was super accommodating and understanding

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fun, Private Room, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We went for our anniversary. The food and drinks were great. The pizza appetizer was a meal on its own! Which we didn't realize. Overall great way to spend our night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Woman at the front desk came across as rude. Everything else was wonderful!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We met for a family dinner with folks from around the region. The dinner was fantastic. I especially enjoyed the short ribs but we also had excellent Italian wine, appetizers and salads.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went here for birthday celebration and it was just about perfect. Do prepare for a bit of volume as the din was noticeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We enjoyed our meal. Food and service was good. It would be nice if they offer more vegetarian choices. We and lots of people we know would like to eat closer to home than go to Portland to eat if good restaurants nearby offer more vegetarian options that are tasty and well prepared.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

It was very lively, so wasn't a great place for a romantic evening. The food and service was good though, so it just depends on your mood.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.