About decarli

4545 SW Watson Ave
Beaverton, OR 97005
View Larger Map

decarli restaurant is where rustic meets modern. Chef/owner, Paul DeCarli, pulls from his Swiss-Italian roots to create a menu that reflects his heritage as well as combine local Northwest ingredients. Polenta fries with gorgonzola butter, mussels in fennel-saffron cream sauce, and espresso-braised shortribs are just a few of the many "must-haves.” Soaring open beam ceilings with rustic brick walls add to the ambiance of this 1924 historic building.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 641-3223

Website:
http://www.decarlirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking in front of the restaurant. Also, to the right there is plenty of off-street parking as well as a small public lot.

Public Transit:
Watson and Farmington both offer bus stops within a block of the restaurant. MAX is 3 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Paul DeCarli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tagliatelle With Pork And Beef Bolognese
Speck Wrapped Asparagus
Fettucine Nero
Shigoku Oysters
Foie Gras
Whole Wheat Chitarra, Nettle Pesto, Farm Fresh Egg Yolk, Ricotta, Pecorino
Green Bean And Potato Soup
Linguine, Clams, Fennel Sausage, Garlic, Chili, White Wine
Prosciutto Sweet Potato Chevre Pizzetta
Braised Ribs
Prosciutto Fontina Arugula Pizza
Green Bean, Tomato, And Potato Salad With Mustard Vinaigrette
steak tartare
polenta fries
Beet Salad
Pork Sholder
pistachio semifreddo
Tiramisu
NY Steak
Pizza Margherita
Calamari With Chickpeas
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Polenta Fries W Gorgonzola Butter
Shrimp And Chorizo With Chickpeas And Aioli
Speck, Arugula, And Grilled Pear With Balsamic
Salted caramel cheesecake
Brushetta Trio
Pan Roasted Brick Oven Chicken
Braised Ribs #Whybotherchoosinganythingelse

Private Dining

Italian-inspired with a menu that changes weekly, decarli features fresh seasonal ingredients from the Northwest.

decarli Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
5 More
Best Service
Westside
Best Ambiance
Westside
Best Value
Westside
Neighborhood Gem
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Beaverton ›

neighborhood gem (75)
fit for foodies (73)
special occasion (47)
See All
good for groups (37)
notable wine list (35)
romantic (31)
hot spot (22)
vibrant bar scene (17)
kid-friendly (10)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great experience at Decarli's. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great experience at Decarli's. Had a business meeting and the service was attentive, the food great, and the wine list good. You can never go wrong with the short ribs. You don't need a knife to eat these short ribs. I would recommend this place for any meal and make sure you make a reservation.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant was too loud, so much so ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The restaurant was too loud, so much so that we could barely hear each other speak. Our server didn't offer any bread or dessert suggestions. The food was just okay. Not a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I thought everything about the food was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I thought everything about the food was excellent - from presentation to taste etc.

Parking was difficult at 7:15 pm Saturday. For us (over 62) the noise level was tough. Our waitress might have had the same issue as she missed our drink order which was a long time coming and the service seemed slow...

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The short ribs & halibut were excellent, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The short ribs & halibut were excellent, also a great wine list. Very enjoyable, nice atmosphere.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We travel about and hour to visit one of ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We travel about and hour to visit one of of favorite restaurants in the Portland area. It has never failed to live up to our expectations of great food and great service. We will be back many times.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten at DeCarli's at least twic ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have eaten at DeCarli's at least twice a month since there inception and have always had outstanding service and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy decarli, the food is gre ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We always enjoy decarli, the food is great, the wait staff is great, our place for a special evening meal

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were very excited to try this new lit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were very excited to try this new little gem. The place was packed but we had reservations, the services was great, the wine list was awsome and the food was pretty good.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My experience here did not disappoint. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My experience here did not disappoint. EXCELLENT FOOD AND EXCELLENT SERVICE!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entrees took 1:15 to receive. Service w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Entrees took 1:15 to receive. Service was spotty. Steak was too salty and overall just average. Not impressed, not likely to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Slow service but good food. Loved the b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Slow service but good food. Loved the beet salad and the s'mores dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We will be back ... Very impressed with ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We will be back ... Very impressed with service and food.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love this place! Great wait help. Wonder ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Love this place! Great wait help. Wonderful food. Lots of street parking. We are repeat customers and will be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at this restaurant several ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant several times and recommended it to many of our friends. Best eatery in Beaverton. Excellent food, every single time!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went to Decarli for a date with my husba ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Went to Decarli for a date with my husband. They have a great, seasonal menu that is always changing. Ordered the pizzetta, which was large enough for a meal in itself. Great crust. Also had the speck wrapped asparagus. We both ordered pasta dishes which were light, fresh and tasty. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall the restuarant is very nice, and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Overall the restuarant is very nice, and great to have in Beaverton. Most Friday's we have to drive across town to get a good meal so we are very happy to have this option close to home. Two things that I would suggest:

1. Improve the training of the wait staff so that they know a bit more about the food.

2. Always have a special or two, as the menu is not varied enough to come back frequently.

Keep up the good work, go a bit lighter on the sodium but overall nice meal/evening.

Best...JimmyC

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent found, attentive but not obnox ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent found, attentive but not obnoxious service. We had a reservation so got a good table in a quiet corner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebration of husband's 3 years of bein ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Celebration of husband's 3 years of being cancer free. Had a drink in the bar which always fun. Asked to be seated next to the wall and had a small table which we would have liked to have a larger one, but my husband did ask for one. Our meals were very good. Good service and always love coming to the restaurant and bar. Good job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Several visits in past 2 months..food, a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Several visits in past 2 months..food, atmosphere & service has been great. Continues to be a 'go to' for any occasion. Prices moderate, reservation strongly suggested no matter what day or time..worth every minute!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had out of town guests. They loved it. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had out of town guests. They loved it. We are never disappointed at DeCarlis. They are top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. We ordered an appetizer of p ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great food. We ordered an appetizer of polenta fries, delicious and salty in a good way. Pork shoulder dish and a beef short rib and both were cooked to perfection, very flavorful. Reasonable portion sizes. We also had apricot upside down cake which ended up being the perfect dessert, not too rich or heavy. The beer and wine lists seemed fine, plenty of choices to complement your meal.

It was a little bit noisy but more in a hustle and bustle, vibrant, busy restaurant way and not so loud that we couldn't have a conversation. Probably quieter outside but we enjoy the romantically dimly lit indoor space and the beautiful artwork on the walls. It was our anniversary, we appreciated it so much last year for the same occasion we decided on Decarli again this year and are so glad we did.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful experience. The ribs we ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Just a wonderful experience. The ribs were out of this world and our waitress was just wonderful. We will be back. Highly recommended.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are always excellen ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food and service are always excellent. Great pastas and a good kids menu. The only reason we don't go more often is that the main menu for meat options never changes much.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been visiting decarli for several ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've been visiting decarli for several years. The food and service are always top-notch. The one thing that sometimes causes us to choose another restaurant for a meal with friends is the noise level. On a recent Saturday night the dining room was so loud that we had to raise our voices considerably to have a conversation with our friends. There were four of us, and we were at a smaller table in the front window alcove, but still had trouble hearing one another. Great food, outstanding service, but too noisy for conversation!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Beer salad was good, but had almost no g ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Beer salad was good, but had almost no goat cheese. Disappointing.

Spaghetti was cooked perfectly (al dente), but portion was tiny. Also disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great menu overall. Oven brick chicken ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great menu overall. Oven brick chicken and their short ribs are the go to dishes though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

decarlis' always on our list of places t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

decarlis' always on our list of places to go when we want that something special to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service continue to ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and great service continue to characterize this wonderful neighborhood gem. The menu changes frequently and the pasta is excellent. Be sure to check out their list of Italian wines and don't be embarrassed to ask for a recommendation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Only need a few words: I have dining a D ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Only need a few words: I have dining a DiCarli for many years and never have been disappointed. This place is a gem, a loud one, but still a gem

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a lovely little Italian Bistro. ...

vip
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This is a lovely little Italian Bistro. Service and food were amazing. This is a must do again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had sat in the bar before for a light ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had sat in the bar before for a light appetizer and drink in the past but the restaurant menu and dinner service is unbelievable. We had the steak tartare which was rich and delicate. The roasted beet salad complemented and cleansed the palate for the entree round. Taglietelle pasta dish was bursting with flavor and richness and complimented the Al Dente noodles exquisitely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood gem!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We love Decarli's for it's big style in the 'burbs. We went for my husband's bday. We got there early and sat at the bar for about 25 minutes. We informed the hostess, and she had our table ready on time. She actually had to wait on us while we waited for our son to arrive. The bartender was busy but very engaging and helped me choose a vodka that I was not allergic to. They gave us a table in the corner by the front window and that was very nice. The waiter was good, and the other wait staff was very attentive.

I had asked for help with selecting foods that I was not allergic to, and the waiter did not seem informed of that fact. Or, if he was informed, he didn't mention it when I told him about my allergies. Other restaurants have practically bent over backwards when I have mentioned this ahead of dining. That was the only downfall to our experience. I did my best to choose something off the menu that wasn't likely to have the allergens I must avoid and I seemed to be OK. We generally love the food here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Short ribs are amazing!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Short ribs are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GD

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

First time at this restaurant as i'm from out of town and hate eating at chains. The food was awesome and service excellent. I highly recommend for quality of local produce and authentic Italian taste.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Short ribs are a must.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Short ribs are a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, great service and a great ad ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food, great service and a great addition to the local Beaverton area. The decor is pretty neat but it can get quite loud. The night we dined was very busy and it was almost impossible to hold conversation without raising your voice pretty hight. Don't let the noise keep you away, this is piece of Portland in our own back yard with amazing food and prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for delicious food. Reserva ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great place for delicious food. Reservations are recommended. I love bar area and they serve the full menu there too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and service

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak tartare is always wonderful!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The steak tartare is always wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a Great experience

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We have come here about five times and enjoy the food and the staff. They are very helpful in the selection of wine and the service is outstanding. We will continue to come to this fine dinning establishment.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.