About decarli

4545 SW Watson Ave
Beaverton, OR 97005
View Larger Map

decarli restaurant is where rustic meets modern. Chef/owner, Paul DeCarli, pulls from his Swiss-Italian roots to create a menu that reflects his heritage as well as combine local Northwest ingredients. Polenta fries with gorgonzola butter, mussels in fennel-saffron cream sauce, and espresso-braised shortribs are just a few of the many "must-haves.” Soaring open beam ceilings with rustic brick walls add to the ambiance of this 1924 historic building.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 641-3223

Website:
http://www.decarlirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking in front of the restaurant. Also, to the right there is plenty of off-street parking as well as a small public lot.

Public Transit:
Watson and Farmington both offer bus stops within a block of the restaurant. MAX is 3 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Paul DeCarli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tagliatelle With Pork And Beef Bolognese
Speck Wrapped Asparagus
Fettucine Nero
Shigoku Oysters
Foie Gras
Whole Wheat Chitarra, Nettle Pesto, Farm Fresh Egg Yolk, Ricotta, Pecorino
Green Bean And Potato Soup
Linguine, Clams, Fennel Sausage, Garlic, Chili, White Wine
Prosciutto Sweet Potato Chevre Pizzetta
Braised Ribs
Prosciutto Fontina Arugula Pizza
Green Bean, Tomato, And Potato Salad With Mustard Vinaigrette
steak tartare
polenta fries
Beet Salad
Pork Sholder
pistachio semifreddo
Tiramisu
NY Steak
Pizza Margherita
Calamari With Chickpeas
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Polenta Fries W Gorgonzola Butter
Shrimp And Chorizo With Chickpeas And Aioli
Speck, Arugula, And Grilled Pear With Balsamic
Salted caramel cheesecake
Brushetta Trio
Pan Roasted Brick Oven Chicken
Braised Ribs #Whybotherchoosinganythingelse

Private Dining

Italian-inspired with a menu that changes weekly, decarli features fresh seasonal ingredients from the Northwest.

decarli Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
6 More
Best Service
Westside
Best Ambiance
Westside
Best Value
Westside
Neighborhood Gem
Westside
Special Occasion
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Beaverton ›

fit for foodies (76)
neighborhood gem (74)
special occasion (49)
See All
good for groups (39)
notable wine list (36)
romantic (32)
hot spot (23)
vibrant bar scene (20)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
853 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Several visits in past 2 months..food, a ...

Dined 5 days ago

Several visits in past 2 months..food, atmosphere & service has been great. Continues to be a 'go to' for any occasion. Prices moderate, reservation strongly suggested no matter what day or time..worth every minute!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had out of town guests. They loved it. ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

Had out of town guests. They loved it. We are never disappointed at DeCarlis. They are top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. We ordered an appetizer of p ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Great food. We ordered an appetizer of polenta fries, delicious and salty in a good way. Pork shoulder dish and a beef short rib and both were cooked to perfection, very flavorful. Reasonable portion sizes. We also had apricot upside down cake which ended up being the perfect dessert, not too rich or heavy. The beer and wine lists seemed fine, plenty of choices to complement your meal. It was a little bit noisy but more in a hustle and bustle, vibrant, busy restaurant way and not so loud that we couldn't have a conversation. Probably quieter outside but we enjoy the romantically dimly lit indoor space and the beautiful artwork on the walls. It was our anniversary, we appreciated it so much last year for the same occasion we decided on Decarli again this year and are so glad we did.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful experience. The ribs we ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Just a wonderful experience. The ribs were out of this world and our waitress was just wonderful. We will be back. Highly recommended.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service are always excellen ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The food and service are always excellent. Great pastas and a good kids menu. The only reason we don't go more often is that the main menu for meat options never changes much.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

We've been visiting decarli for several ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We've been visiting decarli for several years. The food and service are always top-notch. The one thing that sometimes causes us to choose another restaurant for a meal with friends is the noise level. On a recent Saturday night the dining room was so loud that we had to raise our voices considerably to have a conversation with our friends. There were four of us, and we were at a smaller table in the front window alcove, but still had trouble hearing one another. Great food, outstanding service, but too noisy for conversation!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Beer salad was good, but had almost no g ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Beer salad was good, but had almost no goat cheese. Disappointing. Spaghetti was cooked perfectly (al dente), but portion was tiny. Also disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu overall. Oven brick chicken ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great menu overall. Oven brick chicken and their short ribs are the go to dishes though.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

decarlis' always on our list of places t ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

decarlis' always on our list of places to go when we want that something special to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and great service continue to ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and great service continue to characterize this wonderful neighborhood gem. The menu changes frequently and the pasta is excellent. Be sure to check out their list of Italian wines and don't be embarrassed to ask for a recommendation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Only need a few words: I have dining a D ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Only need a few words: I have dining a DiCarli for many years and never have been disappointed. This place is a gem, a loud one, but still a gem

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a lovely little Italian Bistro. ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

This is a lovely little Italian Bistro. Service and food were amazing. This is a must do again.

food5
ambience4
service5

We had sat in the bar before for a light ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had sat in the bar before for a light appetizer and drink in the past but the restaurant menu and dinner service is unbelievable. We had the steak tartare which was rich and delicate. The roasted beet salad complemented and cleansed the palate for the entree round. Taglietelle pasta dish was bursting with flavor and richness and complimented the Al Dente noodles exquisitely.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Neighborhood gem!

Dined on June 2, 2016

We love Decarli's for it's big style in the 'burbs. We went for my husband's bday. We got there early and sat at the bar for about 25 minutes. We informed the hostess, and she had our table ready on time. She actually had to wait on us while we waited for our son to arrive. The bartender was busy but very engaging and helped me choose a vodka that I was not allergic to. They gave us a table in the corner by the front window and that was very nice. The waiter was good, and the other wait staff was very attentive. I had asked for help with selecting foods that I was not allergic to, and the waiter did not seem informed of that fact. Or, if he was informed, he didn't mention it when I told him about my allergies. Other restaurants have practically bent over backwards when I have mentioned this ahead of dining. That was the only downfall to our experience. I did my best to choose something off the menu that wasn't likely to have the allergens I must avoid and I seemed to be OK. We generally love the food here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Short ribs are amazing!

Dined on May 30, 2016

Short ribs are amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GD

Dined on May 29, 2016

First time at this restaurant as i'm from out of town and hate eating at chains. The food was awesome and service excellent. I highly recommend for quality of local produce and authentic Italian taste.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Short ribs are a must.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Short ribs are a must.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service and a great ad ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food, great service and a great addition to the local Beaverton area. The decor is pretty neat but it can get quite loud. The night we dined was very busy and it was almost impossible to hold conversation without raising your voice pretty hight. Don't let the noise keep you away, this is piece of Portland in our own back yard with amazing food and prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for delicious food. Reserva ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great place for delicious food. Reservations are recommended. I love bar area and they serve the full menu there too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and service

food5
ambience4
service5

The steak tartare is always wonderful!

Dined on May 21, 2016

The steak tartare is always wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a Great experience

Dined on May 20, 2016

We have come here about five times and enjoy the food and the staff. They are very helpful in the selection of wine and the service is outstanding. We will continue to come to this fine dinning establishment.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great and the service is impecca ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food is great and the service is impeccable . Only small complaint is the restaurant is a little loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service inside a grea ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food and service inside a great old building. You'd never know you were in downtown Beaverton! Also fun to sit at the bar for a drink or even dinner if you can't get a table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner for my Grandson's 21s ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Had a great dinner for my Grandson's 21st Birthday. The Polenta Fries are incredible! We ended up getting a second order because they were so delicious! I also had the Steak Tartare and the soup. The Nero pasta was perfectly cooked with great seafood.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2

Food was very flavorful with great selec ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was very flavorful with great selections. Service did not live up to the food quality. Server forgot bread, forgot wine. Two of our four entrees were served cold, having clearly sat for a while. Cold steak was replaced, however the waiter who brought the replacement wouldn't wait to ensure replacement was ok, just dropped and ran. No compensation nor apology for serving cold food.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Highly recommend for a special occasion

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is the second time we have been to decarli for a special dinner. Both time the food has been outstanding. Both times one person in our party has had the Pork Chop, which sells out quickly, it is so amazing! The customer service was excellent. They were kind, very informative about the food and wine plus very personable and kind. We live in SE and are more than happy to drive out to Beaverton for this indulgence

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Zero in a row in my room for a long way ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Zero in a row in my room for a long way in which a man with my family and friends of friends with a few weeks and months and it will take the bus driver just got to go out with my family and friends of friends with a lot to say it was not

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Not the same

Dined on May 6, 2016

DeCarli's was great when they first opened. I was disappointed this time. I had the short ribs, and they were more like pot roast...stringy. Also very noisy there with the sparse furnishings. Parking is a mess. I ended up parking a half mile away.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food, service!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Always great food, service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on April 28, 2016

Decarli came highly recommended by many. It was great all around. Great food and service. We did make reservations in advance and were immediately upon arrival.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Our meals were very good, however my "Al ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Our meals were very good, however my "Allen brothers" steak was very tough! The rest of the meals were fine. would go back again , but would NOT order steak.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always perfect

Dined on April 16, 2016

My Husband and have been here many times. We love the food, the service and everything about Decarlis is perfect. But make reservations! We are not the only ones that know about it. Oh if you are a beef eater, the beef short ribs are killer!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on April 13, 2016

Decarli never disappoints! Their menu is interesting and offers a good variety! The polenta fries as an appetizer is a must to share. Service is always good and attentive. It's our favorite go to place for special occasions as well as everyday dining with friends. Also LOVE Happy Hour in the bar especially on Sunday's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and great atmosphere. Lov ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Delicious food and great atmosphere. Love it and will be back!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Only drawback - no fish - Halibut was go ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Only drawback - no fish - Halibut was gone when we were seated, was offered Sword fish instead but it was also sold out once the order was placed. Seems like they would have more inventory so not to run out at 7PM on a Saturday night.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious! The polenta fries and short r ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Delicious! The polenta fries and short ribs were amazing. Great wine list. Feels like a big-city place tucked into Beaverton. My only gripe is the dessert of chocolate pound cake was ho hum. Nothing I couldn't have put together myself at home.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, polenta fries are amaz ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great atmosphere, polenta fries are amazing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great dining experience at DeCar ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Another great dining experience at DeCarli! It's one of our favorite restaurants to meet at with good friends. Service was excellent.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.