About decarli

4545 SW Watson Ave
Beaverton, OR 97005
View Larger Map

decarli restaurant is where rustic meets modern. Chef/owner, Paul DeCarli, pulls from his Swiss-Italian roots to create a menu that reflects his heritage as well as combine local Northwest ingredients. Polenta fries with gorgonzola butter, mussels in fennel-saffron cream sauce, and espresso-braised shortribs are just a few of the many "must-haves.” Soaring open beam ceilings with rustic brick walls add to the ambiance of this 1924 historic building.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 641-3223

Website:
http://www.decarlirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking in front of the restaurant. Also, to the right there is plenty of off-street parking as well as a small public lot.

Public Transit:
Watson and Farmington both offer bus stops within a block of the restaurant. MAX is 3 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Paul DeCarli

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tagliatelle With Pork And Beef Bolognese
Speck Wrapped Asparagus
Fettucine Nero
Shigoku Oysters
Foie Gras
Whole Wheat Chitarra, Nettle Pesto, Farm Fresh Egg Yolk, Ricotta, Pecorino
Green Bean And Potato Soup
Linguine, Clams, Fennel Sausage, Garlic, Chili, White Wine
Braised Ribs
Prosciutto Sweet Potato Chevre Pizzetta
steak tartare
Prosciutto Fontina Arugula Pizza
Green Bean, Tomato, And Potato Salad With Mustard Vinaigrette
polenta fries
Pork Sholder
Beet Salad
Pizza Margherita
Tiramisu
NY Steak
pistachio semifreddo
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Speck, Arugula, And Grilled Pear With Balsamic
Calamari With Chickpeas
Polenta Fries W Gorgonzola Butter
Shrimp And Chorizo With Chickpeas And Aioli
Brushetta Trio
Braised Ribs #Whybotherchoosinganythingelse
Pan Roasted Brick Oven Chicken
Salted caramel cheesecake

Private Dining

Italian-inspired with a menu that changes weekly, decarli features fresh seasonal ingredients from the Northwest.

decarli Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
Best Service
Westside
3 More
Best Ambiance
Westside
Best Value
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Beaverton ›

Neighborhood Gem (92)
Fit for Foodies (80)
Special Occasion (55)
See All
Good for Groups (43)
Notable Wine List (42)
Romantic (32)
Hot Spot (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
901 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great time, service could not h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great time, service could not have been any better. Nice to see some favorites on the menu as well as some new ones. Pork shoulder was perfect and the peach upside down desert was nice and fresh. Don't miss the polenta fries. So glad to the restaurant so busy, and yet we still got in when we wanted and with only a days notice. Great job Paul and team! Keep it up see you again soon.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Pork shoulder and Caesar salad were tast ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Pork shoulder and Caesar salad were tasty. Spaghetti and meatballs not that great.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

As always, the best Italian restaurant i ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

As always, the best Italian restaurant in (outer) SW Portland. Famous for their short ribs!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is incredible, great service, needs ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food is incredible, great service, needs to crank up the A/C on hot days!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We always look forward to dinner at Deca ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We always look forward to dinner at Decarli. They have deliciously creative dishes you won't find in other places and a great ambiance. I would definitely recommend ordering an appetizer, entree, and dessert to have the full dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Decarli's a few times an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been to Decarli's a few times and this experience was just OK. The food for me was average and lacked real flavor. Decarli's is probably one of the better restaurants in Beaverton, but to be honest, if you have a bit more time, there are many better options in Portland. Overall, this experience was just average. Since we live in Beaverton, we will likely be back, but probably more for their happier hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

We had the spaghetti and meatballs, deli ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had the spaghetti and meatballs, delicioso! Chilled soup of cucumber, melon, basil, creamed fraiche and chili oil was good for the hot weather, but not one of their best soups (of which they have many). Polenta fries are always a favorite. One of our favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time here and it was g ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was my first time here and it was great. I love the elegant but non snobbish feel of the place. I am from Los Angeles and this place would have fit right in but I love that Beaverton did it right for the locals.

Place is absolutely beautiful with all the low Edison lights surrounding the place and the intimate candles on the table adding more glow to the place.

The food was so good. Nothing was too generic but it also wasn't too fancy where you weren't quite sure what it was. Great balance of food people knew with a little touch of classy.

The dessert was to die for!!! If you are a group of four or more try 3 to 4 dessert options. There will be enough of you to finish them all. But if you must choose 1 or 2...pick the smore

And the salted caramel cheesecake. I'm sorry...I just can't narrow it down to one! Lol

So if you're looking for a fancy romantic dinner, social celebration, family time, or just looking for a spot to sit and eat...it doesn't matter the reason, this is a great place to stop.

Wear flip flops and a hat (which is what I wore), jeans and a nice shirt, or a blazer and a dress...its PORTLAND people, everyone is accepted!!!! Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Our server was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was excellent. Our server was extremely friendly, knowledgable, and helpful with wine and food selection, however she was stretched pretty thin, so we waited awhile for our drinks. The noise level was high as the restaurant was full, so keep this in mind if you are dining with those that are hard of hearing (we were). Overall, I was extremely happy with the meal, ambiance and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have come here several times and have ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have come here several times and have always been very impressed with the consistently high quality of the food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. A little loud for table con ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food. A little loud for table conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

DeCarli never fails. EXCELLENT in every ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

DeCarli never fails. EXCELLENT in everything. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best short ribs anywhere! Also, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The very best short ribs anywhere!

Also, the best waitress.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and drink were amazing as alway ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and drink were amazing as always. It is pricey, but for a special occasion worth it. I felt like the waitstaff was overwhelmed and felt rushed, we had to ask for bread 3 times. We ordered cocktails, appetizers, salads, and main courses, we felt the service wasn't up to par with previous visits. No one was rude and the service wasn't bad, I felt like the timing was off, it took forever for bread, and all the salads came out at different times. We were seated by one of the front windows so the noise level was better than usual. I recommend that spot for a party of 6.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband and I went to decarli for our ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My husband and I went to decarli for our second anniversary. We had never been, but it got good reviews on Google. I'm SO glad we went! The food is amazing: fresh (including homemade pasta!) and local. The portions were perfect. And, since I'd included a note via Open Table that this was our anniversary, they gave us some complimentary dessert wine and a scoop of gelato.

We absolutely loved this place -- everything from the food, to the service, to our special anniversary treatment -- and will go back for sure!

One thing to note: As some Google reviews said, it can be a bit loud when the place is crowded (it's mostly a wooden interior, with high ceilings), but if you can get over that then you should definitely give it a try! It will be a place we enjoy for years to come.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazingly tasting food and great servers ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazingly tasting food and great servers as usual!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the short ribs, and the chicken li ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Loved the short ribs, and the chicken liver pate. Everything was quite good, but it was very noisy. We met friends with whom we dine out often, and we agreed that this was a place we will return to, and recommend to others, primarily because of the food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been disappointed the last few times I'v ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Been disappointed the last few times I've eaten there. Steak overpriced at $34. Very average. Wine was good. I wonder if there is a new chef.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

the polenta fries were outstanding, as w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

the polenta fries were outstanding, as was the entrees we had.

I wish our table for 2 had been a bit more separated from our fellow customers to our right and left.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent as was the servic ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was excellent as was the service. The server recommended a delicious wine. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is solid but is acceptable to o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food is solid but is acceptable to overpriced (depending on what you get).

In my visit here around 6:30pm it took a WHILE (15 mins+) before we even got our order in.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was excellent and so was the servic ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was excellent and so was the service. Make a reservation at least a week in advance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My only disappointment was that when I b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My only disappointment was that when I booked this reservation I added a note that this was a birthday dinner celebration and asked for something with a candle at the end of the meal. That note was not acknowledge in any way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, excellent service, great ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, great ambiance. I've never had a bad experience at Decarli.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, the polenta fries are to die ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food, the polenta fries are to die for. Meals were just the right size. We would definitely go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant except for its n ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We love this restaurant except for its noise. Service is impeccable and our latest waitress introduced us to our new fav, Basel Cellars 2011 claret. Hard to choose between food favorites like prosciutto pizza or short ribs/spaetzl.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fresh and delicious using local ingredie ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fresh and delicious using local ingredients. Great Happy Hour menu. A cool little place in Beaverton

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great experience at Decarli's. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always a great experience at Decarli's. Had a business meeting and the service was attentive, the food great, and the wine list good. You can never go wrong with the short ribs. You don't need a knife to eat these short ribs. I would recommend this place for any meal and make sure you make a reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food as always exceptional service ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food as always exceptional service. Decarli is definitely one of the nicest restaurants in Beaverton. The brick walls and wood ceilings make for a louder atmosphere. So if you are looking for a quiet romantic setting make your reservation later in the evening after the peek dining times. Be sure not to park in the lots in Beaverton (where they have posted signs) they WILL tow your car. Park on the side streets.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was excellent. Every bite of ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service was excellent. Every bite of food leaves you wanting just a little more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was too loud, so much so ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The restaurant was too loud, so much so that we could barely hear each other speak. Our server didn't offer any bread or dessert suggestions. The food was just okay. Not a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I thought everything about the food was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I thought everything about the food was excellent - from presentation to taste etc.

Parking was difficult at 7:15 pm Saturday. For us (over 62) the noise level was tough. Our waitress might have had the same issue as she missed our drink order which was a long time coming and the service seemed slow...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The short ribs & halibut were excellent, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The short ribs & halibut were excellent, also a great wine list. Very enjoyable, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We travel about and hour to visit one of ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We travel about and hour to visit one of of favorite restaurants in the Portland area. It has never failed to live up to our expectations of great food and great service. We will be back many times.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten at DeCarli's at least twic ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have eaten at DeCarli's at least twice a month since there inception and have always had outstanding service and great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy decarli, the food is gre ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We always enjoy decarli, the food is great, the wait staff is great, our place for a special evening meal

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were very excited to try this new lit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were very excited to try this new little gem. The place was packed but we had reservations, the services was great, the wine list was awsome and the food was pretty good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My experience here did not disappoint. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My experience here did not disappoint. EXCELLENT FOOD AND EXCELLENT SERVICE!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entrees took 1:15 to receive. Service w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Entrees took 1:15 to receive. Service was spotty. Steak was too salty and overall just average. Not impressed, not likely to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Slow service but good food. Loved the b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Slow service but good food. Loved the beet salad and the s'mores dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.