About decarli

4545 SW Watson Ave
Beaverton, OR 97005
View Larger Map

decarli restaurant is where rustic meets modern. Chef/owner, Paul DeCarli, pulls from his Swiss-Italian roots to create a menu that reflects his heritage as well as combine local Northwest ingredients. Polenta fries with gorgonzola butter, mussels in fennel-saffron cream sauce, and espresso-braised shortribs are just a few of the many "must-haves.” Soaring open beam ceilings with rustic brick walls add to the ambiance of this 1924 historic building.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 641-3223

Website:
http://www.decarlirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking in front of the restaurant. Also, to the right there is plenty of off-street parking as well as a small public lot.

Public Transit:
Watson and Farmington both offer bus stops within a block of the restaurant. MAX is 3 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Paul DeCarli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tagliatelle With Pork And Beef Bolognese
Speck Wrapped Asparagus
Fettucine Nero
Shigoku Oysters
Foie Gras
Whole Wheat Chitarra, Nettle Pesto, Farm Fresh Egg Yolk, Ricotta, Pecorino
Green Bean And Potato Soup
Linguine, Clams, Fennel Sausage, Garlic, Chili, White Wine
Braised Ribs
Prosciutto Sweet Potato Chevre Pizzetta
steak tartare
Prosciutto Fontina Arugula Pizza
Green Bean, Tomato, And Potato Salad With Mustard Vinaigrette
polenta fries
Pork Sholder
Beet Salad
Pizza Margherita
Tiramisu
NY Steak
pistachio semifreddo
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Speck, Arugula, And Grilled Pear With Balsamic
Calamari With Chickpeas
Polenta Fries W Gorgonzola Butter
Shrimp And Chorizo With Chickpeas And Aioli
Brushetta Trio
Braised Ribs #Whybotherchoosinganythingelse
Pan Roasted Brick Oven Chicken
Salted caramel cheesecake

Private Dining

Italian-inspired with a menu that changes weekly, decarli features fresh seasonal ingredients from the Northwest.

decarli Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
Best Service
Westside
4 More
Best Ambiance
Westside
Best Value
Westside
Special Occasion
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Beaverton ›

Neighborhood Gem (88)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Special Occasion (59)
See All
Notable Wine List (40)
Romantic (38)
Good for Groups (35)
Hot Spot (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Casual (10)
Seasonal (8)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Business Meals (3)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
916 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service were good. Its noisy an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food and service were good. Its noisy and too dark to see the menu.

Tags: Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

DeCarli is noisy when busy, but noise le ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

DeCarli is noisy when busy, but noise level drops dramatically if you avoid the peak times. The food and service are consistently excellent anytime. There may be a better choice on the west side, but I have not yet discovered one!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our service was very poor, but food was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our service was very poor, but food was good. We've been to Decarli a few times and this was an experience that makes me question coming back.

Tags: Healthy, Family Style, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

always good food, service and atmosphere ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

always good food, service and atmosphere. called ahead and took our own special birthday cake in. they welcomed it, held it for us and then served it on a beautiful serving dish then served six of us...all for an unbelievable small charge. always a given you're going to have a great experience there.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both my husband and I recollect going to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Both my husband and I recollect going to decarli a number of years ago when it first opened. We went there again tonight on our 8th wedding anniversary at the suggestion of one of the daughters, who had given us a gift certificate at Christmas 2014. The Beaverton area doesn't have many "nice" restaurants, but decarli is definitely nice. The restaurant is very tastefully (pun intended) decorated and the atmosphere is quite pleasant. A very friendly lady (owner?) seated us early for our 6:15 reservation (through Open Table, which I hadn't used before, but certainly will again!), greeted us warmly, and brought us 2 glasses of complimentary champagne after I mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary. Thank you, that was thoughtful! The couple next to us asked if we had been there before and we had a nice chat about some of the menu items. We started with the polenta fries (yum) and the steak tartare (super yum; definitely a must-have!!) to accompany Hubby's Hefeweizen and my ruby red martini. Delightful!! Hubby chose the tomato basil soup to have with his herb-encrusted halibut, both of which were satisfactory. My selection of the New York steak, which I requested rare, was perfectly prepared, with a delightful side of heirloom tomato and fingerling potatoes. I could not have ordered a better meal. All that deliciousness was far too much to consume in one sitting; it was boxed up for me to take home to enjoy tomorrow. I always check the menu first for dessert before I even glance at the meal offerings, however, as enticing as the desserts were, I was entirely too full to even consider dessert this evening. Dang! I guess that will have to be a return visit. We paid for our meal with the gift certificate and a generous tip to our server, a very attentive and personable young man, for the excellent service, and that concluded our decarli experience. An absolutely wonderful way to spend our anniversary evening. Thank you to everyone there for making it so special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The lady and I shared 3 courses and ever ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The lady and I shared 3 courses and everything we had was wonderful. Everything came out relatively quickly and the server was attentive and knowledgeable.

We will be back for dinner again very soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a date night. The food ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great place for a date night. The food is great, wine list is extensive, atmosphere is romantic and service is helpful.

The charcharcuterie plate was delicious. Duck was perfectly cooked. Impeccable sides with the pork shoulder.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I have had in the Portland Are ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best meal I have had in the Portland Area. Each course was great. awesome service. Perfect cocktails. Great Beer selection. Awesome location. Great service

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time there and it was fantasti ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our first time there and it was fantastic! Our waitress was very friendly and helpful with her suggestions. We had the pork shoulder and braised short ribs and they were to die for! We will definitely be back and I would highly recommend decarli to all my friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We saw several people order the polenta ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We saw several people order the polenta fries at the happy hour bar and while ordering our dinner for the short ribs and crustin halibut, I ask if we could've a sample polenta fries since we never tasted one. The waitress said that it was not possible. Thought that one complimentary fries would have been a good gesture and we may have order it. The short ribs was very good which was given an excellent review by the customers. The halibut was not what I expected. Probably should've ask if it was fresh. It was kind of dry and was not hot. Would not visit Decarli again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Restaurant is noisy, but food and servic ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Restaurant is noisy, but food and service terrific.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Very hard to find parking. The restaura ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very hard to find parking. The restaurant is great, very rustic. The food is fantastic. Tried the Beef Short Ribs marinated in Espresso. It melted in your mouth and the taste was "fantastico". The service was excellent . We will definitely be back.

Thanks for making our evening special.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food as always at DeCarli. Service ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good food as always at DeCarli. Service was excellent, the server, the wait staff and the hostess were all very friendly and helpful. Arrived early and had a beer at the outside tables, which the hostess made me feel very welcome. My favorite restaurant in the Beaverton area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for our anniversary a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My wife and I went for our anniversary and it was our first time dining at Decarli. Love the seasonal choices on the menu and the steak tartare was amazing! Highly recommend Decarli!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We tried this place for the first time a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We tried this place for the first time after finding it online. Took a chance and were extremely surprised - it was fantastic! The service was perfectly attentive (waited to bring our entrees until we were done with our soups/salads), the food was great, and it was a very comfortable place to share a meal.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time, service could not h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Always a great time, service could not have been any better. Nice to see some favorites on the menu as well as some new ones. Pork shoulder was perfect and the peach upside down desert was nice and fresh. Don't miss the polenta fries. So glad to the restaurant so busy, and yet we still got in when we wanted and with only a days notice. Great job Paul and team! Keep it up see you again soon.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Pork shoulder and Caesar salad were tast ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Pork shoulder and Caesar salad were tasty. Spaghetti and meatballs not that great.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

As always, the best Italian restaurant i ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

As always, the best Italian restaurant in (outer) SW Portland. Famous for their short ribs!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is incredible, great service, needs ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food is incredible, great service, needs to crank up the A/C on hot days!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We always look forward to dinner at Deca ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We always look forward to dinner at Decarli. They have deliciously creative dishes you won't find in other places and a great ambiance. I would definitely recommend ordering an appetizer, entree, and dessert to have the full dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Decarli's a few times an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been to Decarli's a few times and this experience was just OK. The food for me was average and lacked real flavor. Decarli's is probably one of the better restaurants in Beaverton, but to be honest, if you have a bit more time, there are many better options in Portland. Overall, this experience was just average. Since we live in Beaverton, we will likely be back, but probably more for their happier hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

We had the spaghetti and meatballs, deli ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had the spaghetti and meatballs, delicioso! Chilled soup of cucumber, melon, basil, creamed fraiche and chili oil was good for the hot weather, but not one of their best soups (of which they have many). Polenta fries are always a favorite. One of our favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time here and it was g ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was my first time here and it was great. I love the elegant but non snobbish feel of the place. I am from Los Angeles and this place would have fit right in but I love that Beaverton did it right for the locals.

Place is absolutely beautiful with all the low Edison lights surrounding the place and the intimate candles on the table adding more glow to the place.

The food was so good. Nothing was too generic but it also wasn't too fancy where you weren't quite sure what it was. Great balance of food people knew with a little touch of classy.

The dessert was to die for!!! If you are a group of four or more try 3 to 4 dessert options. There will be enough of you to finish them all. But if you must choose 1 or 2...pick the smore

And the salted caramel cheesecake. I'm sorry...I just can't narrow it down to one! Lol

So if you're looking for a fancy romantic dinner, social celebration, family time, or just looking for a spot to sit and eat...it doesn't matter the reason, this is a great place to stop.

Wear flip flops and a hat (which is what I wore), jeans and a nice shirt, or a blazer and a dress...its PORTLAND people, everyone is accepted!!!! Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Our server was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was excellent. Our server was extremely friendly, knowledgable, and helpful with wine and food selection, however she was stretched pretty thin, so we waited awhile for our drinks. The noise level was high as the restaurant was full, so keep this in mind if you are dining with those that are hard of hearing (we were). Overall, I was extremely happy with the meal, ambiance and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have come here several times and have ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have come here several times and have always been very impressed with the consistently high quality of the food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. A little loud for table con ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food. A little loud for table conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

DeCarli never fails. EXCELLENT in every ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

DeCarli never fails. EXCELLENT in everything. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best short ribs anywhere! Also, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The very best short ribs anywhere!

Also, the best waitress.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and drink were amazing as alway ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and drink were amazing as always. It is pricey, but for a special occasion worth it. I felt like the waitstaff was overwhelmed and felt rushed, we had to ask for bread 3 times. We ordered cocktails, appetizers, salads, and main courses, we felt the service wasn't up to par with previous visits. No one was rude and the service wasn't bad, I felt like the timing was off, it took forever for bread, and all the salads came out at different times. We were seated by one of the front windows so the noise level was better than usual. I recommend that spot for a party of 6.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband and I went to decarli for our ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My husband and I went to decarli for our second anniversary. We had never been, but it got good reviews on Google. I'm SO glad we went! The food is amazing: fresh (including homemade pasta!) and local. The portions were perfect. And, since I'd included a note via Open Table that this was our anniversary, they gave us some complimentary dessert wine and a scoop of gelato.

We absolutely loved this place -- everything from the food, to the service, to our special anniversary treatment -- and will go back for sure!

One thing to note: As some Google reviews said, it can be a bit loud when the place is crowded (it's mostly a wooden interior, with high ceilings), but if you can get over that then you should definitely give it a try! It will be a place we enjoy for years to come.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazingly tasting food and great servers ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazingly tasting food and great servers as usual!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the short ribs, and the chicken li ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Loved the short ribs, and the chicken liver pate. Everything was quite good, but it was very noisy. We met friends with whom we dine out often, and we agreed that this was a place we will return to, and recommend to others, primarily because of the food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been disappointed the last few times I'v ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Been disappointed the last few times I've eaten there. Steak overpriced at $34. Very average. Wine was good. I wonder if there is a new chef.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

the polenta fries were outstanding, as w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

the polenta fries were outstanding, as was the entrees we had.

I wish our table for 2 had been a bit more separated from our fellow customers to our right and left.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent as was the servic ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was excellent as was the service. The server recommended a delicious wine. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is solid but is acceptable to o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food is solid but is acceptable to overpriced (depending on what you get).

In my visit here around 6:30pm it took a WHILE (15 mins+) before we even got our order in.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was excellent and so was the servic ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was excellent and so was the service. Make a reservation at least a week in advance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My only disappointment was that when I b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My only disappointment was that when I booked this reservation I added a note that this was a birthday dinner celebration and asked for something with a candle at the end of the meal. That note was not acknowledge in any way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, excellent service, great ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, great ambiance. I've never had a bad experience at Decarli.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, the polenta fries are to die ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food, the polenta fries are to die for. Meals were just the right size. We would definitely go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.