About decarli

4545 SW Watson Ave
Beaverton, OR 97005
View Larger Map

decarli restaurant is where rustic meets modern. Chef/owner, Paul DeCarli, pulls from his Swiss-Italian roots to create a menu that reflects his heritage as well as combine local Northwest ingredients. Polenta fries with gorgonzola butter, mussels in fennel-saffron cream sauce, and espresso-braised shortribs are just a few of the many "must-haves.” Soaring open beam ceilings with rustic brick walls add to the ambiance of this 1924 historic building.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 641-3223

Website:
http://www.decarlirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking in front of the restaurant. Also, to the right there is plenty of off-street parking as well as a small public lot.

Public Transit:
Watson and Farmington both offer bus stops within a block of the restaurant. MAX is 3 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Paul DeCarli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Italian-inspired with a menu that changes weekly, decarli features fresh seasonal ingredients from the Northwest.

decarli Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
6 More
Best Service
Westside
Best Ambiance
Westside
Best Value
Westside
Neighborhood Gem
Westside
Special Occasion
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Beaverton ›

fit for foodies (79)
neighborhood gem (71)
special occasion (60)
See All
good for groups (44)
romantic (36)
notable wine list (32)
hot spot (21)
vibrant bar scene (16)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (7)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (3)
 (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
835 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for delicious food. Reserva ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great place for delicious food. Reservations are recommended. I love bar area and they serve the full menu there too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and service

food5
ambience4
service5

The steak tartare is always wonderful!

Dined on May 21, 2016

The steak tartare is always wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a Great experience

Dined on May 20, 2016

We have come here about five times and enjoy the food and the staff. They are very helpful in the selection of wine and the service is outstanding. We will continue to come to this fine dinning establishment.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great and the service is impecca ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food is great and the service is impeccable . Only small complaint is the restaurant is a little loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service inside a grea ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food and service inside a great old building. You'd never know you were in downtown Beaverton! Also fun to sit at the bar for a drink or even dinner if you can't get a table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner for my Grandson's 21s ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Had a great dinner for my Grandson's 21st Birthday. The Polenta Fries are incredible! We ended up getting a second order because they were so delicious! I also had the Steak Tartare and the soup. The Nero pasta was perfectly cooked with great seafood.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2

Food was very flavorful with great selec ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was very flavorful with great selections. Service did not live up to the food quality. Server forgot bread, forgot wine. Two of our four entrees were served cold, having clearly sat for a while. Cold steak was replaced, however the waiter who brought the replacement wouldn't wait to ensure replacement was ok, just dropped and ran. No compensation nor apology for serving cold food.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Highly recommend for a special occasion

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is the second time we have been to decarli for a special dinner. Both time the food has been outstanding. Both times one person in our party has had the Pork Chop, which sells out quickly, it is so amazing! The customer service was excellent. They were kind, very informative about the food and wine plus very personable and kind. We live in SE and are more than happy to drive out to Beaverton for this indulgence

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Zero in a row in my room for a long way ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Zero in a row in my room for a long way in which a man with my family and friends of friends with a few weeks and months and it will take the bus driver just got to go out with my family and friends of friends with a lot to say it was not

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Not the same

Dined on May 6, 2016

DeCarli's was great when they first opened. I was disappointed this time. I had the short ribs, and they were more like pot roast...stringy. Also very noisy there with the sparse furnishings. Parking is a mess. I ended up parking a half mile away.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food, service!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Always great food, service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on April 28, 2016

Decarli came highly recommended by many. It was great all around. Great food and service. We did make reservations in advance and were immediately upon arrival.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Our meals were very good, however my "Al ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Our meals were very good, however my "Allen brothers" steak was very tough! The rest of the meals were fine. would go back again , but would NOT order steak.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always perfect

Dined on April 16, 2016

My Husband and have been here many times. We love the food, the service and everything about Decarlis is perfect. But make reservations! We are not the only ones that know about it. Oh if you are a beef eater, the beef short ribs are killer!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on April 13, 2016

Decarli never disappoints! Their menu is interesting and offers a good variety! The polenta fries as an appetizer is a must to share. Service is always good and attentive. It's our favorite go to place for special occasions as well as everyday dining with friends. Also LOVE Happy Hour in the bar especially on Sunday's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and great atmosphere. Lov ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Delicious food and great atmosphere. Love it and will be back!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Only drawback - no fish - Halibut was go ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Only drawback - no fish - Halibut was gone when we were seated, was offered Sword fish instead but it was also sold out once the order was placed. Seems like they would have more inventory so not to run out at 7PM on a Saturday night.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious! The polenta fries and short r ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Delicious! The polenta fries and short ribs were amazing. Great wine list. Feels like a big-city place tucked into Beaverton. My only gripe is the dessert of chocolate pound cake was ho hum. Nothing I couldn't have put together myself at home.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, polenta fries are amaz ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great atmosphere, polenta fries are amazing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great dining experience at DeCar ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Another great dining experience at DeCarli! It's one of our favorite restaurants to meet at with good friends. Service was excellent.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on March 24, 2016

This is a gem of a restaurant, it never disappoints. Can't say enough positive things...love, love, love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5

We really enjoyed our meal at decarli. T ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal at decarli. The food was solid, service super attentive and friendly, and energetic ambiance.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome

Dined on March 13, 2016

A wonderful dinning experience on all levels..a bit pricy, but we can't wait to go back again! Reservations a must, go early or go late..parking is tough but doable, noise level makes it an effort for conversation, bar is packed solid. But nothing that can't be overcome..worth the effort!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great hidden gem

Dined on March 10, 2016

Needed a place to celebrate a birthday and found this on Open Table and couldn't be happier. Great food and even better service. Will be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All Good Again

Dined on March 10, 2016

Been to Decarli's about 8 times in the past year after hearing about it from other west siders. So far no dissapointments and it stands up to any restaurant in the city which is where I am usually eating. reception = friendly, Server = great attention, Lamb Shank = delicious. OK the crowd is not as edgy but this place is good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great to see some new and unique items o ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Great to see some new and unique items on the menu.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Food, Great Service, Great Prices...

Dined on March 4, 2016

We've been here about 50 times in the last 3 years and have never been disappointed. They've managed to avoid all mathematical probability that we'd received at least one less than great experience. Whether it's the short-ribs, swordfish or duck confit, they've got it down!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Surprised at size of restaurant & food quality

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

When looking for a place in Beaverton a friend recommended DeCarli and we were very pleasantly surprised. The charcuterie plate was excellent and the wine list very well done. My pasta was done perfectly and my wife's soup and salad were very good. The only caveat was their version of French onion soup had such a large piece of bread/crouton that it absorbed all the liquid of the dish. Our waiter was excellent and the restaurant with its chandeliers made it unique. We don't go to Beaverton very often, but we will be back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was perfect! The food was ama ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Everything was perfect! The food was amazing and this was one of our favorite meals dining out!

food5
ambience4
service5

We had the short robs and they were wond ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

We had the short robs and they were wonderful. It is my favorite place in Beaverton. Noise level is always a little high but that won't keep me from going back.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Cute spot

Dined on February 22, 2016

We had a nice evening at decarli but unfortunately all four in our party felt that the food was much too salty. The menu selections were very nice and looked very appetizing and had it not been for the over-seasoning (with salt) we probably would have enjoyed it more. Each one of us ordered a different entree so we were surprised that all the dishes were over-salted. My guess is we'll give it one more try to see if there is improvement - it's possible we just hit it on a bad night. We did let the hostess know our concerns so hopefully it will be addressed with the chef. We don't feel comfortable recommending the restaurant to friends at this time.

food5
ambience5
service5

I originally reserved for 4 people but t ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

I originally reserved for 4 people but then 2 people wanted to join us and it was so gracious for the restaurant to accommodate us and put up a table for 6 easily. Our server'/waiter, Mark was superb! Food delicious and good value. Thank you! Sandy

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and wonderful service. Ther ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Amazing food and wonderful service. There aren't many nice places to eat out in Beaverton, so I didn't know what to expect. De Carli was top notch and I will definitely be back! Forgot I was in sleepy suburban Beaverton for a while. :)

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great choice for Italian

Dined on February 17, 2016

Been to Decarli's many times for the consistently excellent food, beverages and outstanding service. The restaurant is an open design and the noise can be challenging when busy...which it generally is due to the excellent food and outstanding service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

The staff, food, and atmosphere were all amazing!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best food I've had in years!

Dined on February 15, 2016

I have food allergies so I thought this was going to be a challenge. The waitress was not a bit annoyed at finding out what I could and could not have off the menu and what accomodations could be made. This was on Valentine's Day. I ended up choosing a beef tenderloin with truffle mashed potatoes and kale and I kid you not, every single bite was perfect, right to the end. My husband chose a coffee rubbed, spiced short rib dish with German noodles and he was in heaven. He's hard to please too! I know because I cook for him and am getting pretty good at it as a result. But this was pure food heaven and worth going out and spending the money on. Every single drop!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You have to try.......

Dined on February 15, 2016

The short ribs. OMG mouth watering flavor. It a signature dish that all must try.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall very good

Dined on February 14, 2016

Discovered DeCarlis about a month ago. The first visit was exceptional. Great ambiance and wait staff. Food selection and quality is unbeatable. My wife and I came back for a Valentine dinner. Had two areas that could have been better. The noise level was high and the sound system seemed to only produce bass. The waiter could have been a bit more attentive. After approximately 20 minutes we finally asked for some bread. It came quickly but it would have been nice to snack on while we were waiting for our meal. Overall, a very enjoyable experience. Will definately be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.