Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About decarli

decarli restaurant is where rustic meets modern. Chef/owner, Paul DeCarli, pulls from his Swiss-Italian roots to create a menu that reflects his heritage as well as combine local Northwest ingredients. Polenta fries with gorgonzola butter, mussels in fennel-saffron cream sauce, and espresso-braised shortribs are just a few of the many "must-haves.” Soaring open beam ceilings with rustic brick walls add to the ambiance of this 1924 historic building.

4545 SW Watson Ave
Beaverton, OR 97005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 641-3223

Website:
http://www.decarlirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking in front of the restaurant. Also, to the right there is plenty of off-street parking as well as a small public lot.

Public Transit:
Watson and Farmington both offer bus stops within a block of the restaurant. MAX is 3 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Paul DeCarli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Private Dining

Italian-inspired with a menu that changes weekly, decarli features fresh seasonal ingredients from the Northwest.

decarli Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (33)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Romantic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Happy Hour (14)
Casual (13)
Cozy (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Business Meals (11)
Seasonal (11)
Authentic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Private Room (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice setting and ambiance, large open space.

We ordered Caesar's salad, grilled calamari, rigatoni duck confit, lobster spaghetti, kid's toasted cheese sandwich. Salad was okay, dressing was heavy and salty, nice large Romaine lettuce leaves, croutons bit stale. Both pasta dishes were too heavily salted for our taste. Server forgot calamari appetizer, apologized and comped it. Too bad it came out at the end of the meal when we were all done. Have to say though, the calamari was the best of what we ordered overall. Wines by the glass were fine.

If we lived in Beaverton, can see going back just due to proximity/convenience/quality. For us, was okay to try but not returning real soon.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was good, but a little too salty. They need to do something about the noise level, though, which was almost intolerable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

IT WAS MY FIANCE'S BIRTHDAY AND I WANTED TO TAKE HIM SOMEWHERE NEW AND SPECIAL. DECARLI DID NOT DISAPPOINT. WE HAD THE POLENTA FRIES, CEASAR SALAD, BEEF SHORT RIBS AND THE LOBSTER SPAGHETTI WITH A VERY NICE BOTTLE OF WINE AND BIRTHDAY DESERT. THE SERVICE WAS TOP NOTCH. WE DID HAVE TO WAIT A COUPLE MINUTES TO BE SEATED. I LOOK FORWARD TO RETURNING.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was a great experience. We had a large group (a lot of whom were late) and the restaurant was super accommodating and understanding

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fun, Private Room, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We went for our anniversary. The food and drinks were great. The pizza appetizer was a meal on its own! Which we didn't realize. Overall great way to spend our night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Woman at the front desk came across as rude. Everything else was wonderful!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We met for a family dinner with folks from around the region. The dinner was fantastic. I especially enjoyed the short ribs but we also had excellent Italian wine, appetizers and salads.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went here for birthday celebration and it was just about perfect. Do prepare for a bit of volume as the din was noticeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We enjoyed our meal. Food and service was good. It would be nice if they offer more vegetarian choices. We and lots of people we know would like to eat closer to home than go to Portland to eat if good restaurants nearby offer more vegetarian options that are tasty and well prepared.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

It was very lively, so wasn't a great place for a romantic evening. The food and service was good though, so it just depends on your mood.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were seated immediately according to our reservation time, and the staff was very polite in a very busy atmosphere. Great food but very noisy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always a wonderful dining experience with a great selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Decarli is one of our favorite go-to spots. Have to admit that the experience did not start out great. We arrived with our two and a half year old who is very well-behaved. We asked for a high chair and got an unfriendly look from the hostess. We asked if that was ok she rudely said "well I guess it will have to be." I get the restaurant is more upscale, but when you have a restaurant in the suburbs you've got to expect a child from time to time.

Waiter was very friendly and food was fantastic as usual. Polenta fries are a must and the pasta was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food. Great service. Would definitely go back there again!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We get the pleasure of dining at decarli about three or four times a year. Each time it is a better experience, especially with how the food is prepared and the variety of the menu. We really enjoy it when we can get a reservation and spend a few hours being in the moment.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food and service were both excellent. Wonderful restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I had the short ribs. They were great. The women had Cavatelli and they both enjoyed their meals. The other man had the pork shoulder and although he mostly enjoyed it, it had a spiciness to it he wasn't expecting. The cocktails were good, the service was good, but a little slow. We would return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of three top 3 pork chops of all time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food and service was excellent but very noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always enjoy the food here

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Mussels were the best I've ever eaten! The beet salad and caramel cheese cake also delicious. Service was attentive w/o hovering. My only caution is it's a little noisy ( it was very busy) and not very private...Just tables in a big open room and no booths. Nevertheless, very positive experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As always a great place to take that special person in your life, or the whole family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As usual, terrific menu. Table service ( Bryan) was just ok, though. He seemed overly busy. Maybe there was a missing server or two that night? Very friendly guy, but was scarce to find. Bus staff was excellent, as was the hostess.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Grabbed a last minute table through open table for a birthday dinner with my wife. We were seated very quickly, it was a 5:15 seating so the restaurant was about 20% filled and bar was packed. By 6 the hall was packed.

We started with the Speck and shared a mixed greens salad. The Speck was great and dressing in the salad was delicious.

I had the New York Strip medium rare but it actually was a lot cooler on the rare side. I was okay with as the steak still had a lot of flavor. The potatoes were really good and the mushrooms were good.

Wife had the parpadelle pasta with truffle butter. Pasta was cooked to perfection and the sauce was spot on and not too overpowering with truffle butter.

Ended with the bread pudding and that was amazeballz as well.

Service was very good and the waitress gave me a great wine pairing for the steak. The Hall Street Cooler was pretty good. Light drink

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Beef short ribs are amazing, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the best Italian restaurants in the Portland area. They have bypassed the usual Italian cliches to provide excellent, special and very flavorful pasta dishes, preceded by top notch appetizers. Desserts are excellent. Also a nice and affordable wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great service (very friendly and accommodating), delicious food and wine. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Decarli is easily the best restaurant in Washington County. Very fine dining and reasonably priced. I have never had a bad meal off of their rotating menu. This is a favorite spot for my wife and I.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very enjoyable evening - great food and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food is always fun - not always the best value (filet main dish plus salad is about 40 dollars)- but different and tasty. Noise levels can be high but the crowd on this last Friday night was pretty good in keeping their conversations down a little. We really like this restaurant and will be back many more times. Again, the food is good - service has been great and the setting is very nice. We recommend for groups of 6 or less.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Varied menu, something for everyone. Nice wine selection.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a lovely meal at decarli! The restaurant made a point to help my husband and I celebrate Lunar New Year after missing our previous New Years eve reservation. I recommend the steak tartare - it's always a treat. And the lobster pasta is above and beyond! Everything is fresh, and service excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I'm always pleased with the quality of service and food here. This is Beaverton's gem.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great food and great service. Loud for trying to have a conversation, but the yummy food made up for it!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our whole experience was terrific! Food was fantastic and wine list amazing! Our waiter Mark was professional and friendly and upbeat! I had left my umbrella there and the next day, a very kind person working in the back let me retrieve it from under my table. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Their signature dish, the Beef Shortribs, is a must-have and we order it every time. The polenta fries with gorgonzola butter is a favorite appetizer of ours as well.

The menu is purposefully small and changes frequently to offer variety and seasonality. Order anything that looks good; we've been to Decarli several times and have never had anything that was less than fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A bit noisy and difficult to have conversation with friends. Homemade pasta was awesome!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great service, short ribs are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Thanks again for another great meal! We so appreciate the excellently prepared food so close to home. However, we would also travel to eat at Decarli's because it is so good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Need to go if you haven't been! One of the best go to spots for fine dining and foodies on the Westside. Polenta Fries and Oysters are a must. Menu changes frequently, excellent for a date night, friends gathering or family night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.