About decarli

decarli restaurant is where rustic meets modern. Chef/owner, Paul DeCarli, pulls from his Swiss-Italian roots to create a menu that reflects his heritage as well as combine local Northwest ingredients. Polenta fries with gorgonzola butter, mussels in fennel-saffron cream sauce, and espresso-braised shortribs are just a few of the many "must-haves.” Soaring open beam ceilings with rustic brick walls add to the ambiance of this 1924 historic building.

4545 SW Watson Ave
Beaverton, OR 97005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 641-3223

Website:
http://www.decarlirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking in front of the restaurant. Also, to the right there is plenty of off-street parking as well as a small public lot.

Public Transit:
Watson and Farmington both offer bus stops within a block of the restaurant. MAX is 3 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Paul DeCarli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Tagliatelle With Pork And Beef Bolognese - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Speck Wrapped Asparagus - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Fettucine Nero - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Shigoku Oysters - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Foie Gras - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Whole Wheat Chitarra, Nettle Pesto, Farm Fresh Egg Yolk, Ricotta, Pecorino - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Green Bean And Potato Soup - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Linguine, Clams, Fennel Sausage, Garlic, Chili, White Wine - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Braised Ribs - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Prosciutto Sweet Potato Chevre Pizzetta - decarli, Beaverton, OR
steak tartare - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Prosciutto Fontina Arugula Pizza  - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Green Bean, Tomato, And Potato Salad With Mustard Vinaigrette - decarli, Beaverton, OR
polenta fries - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Pork Sholder - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Beet Salad - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Pizza Margherita - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Tiramisu - decarli, Beaverton, OR
NY Steak - decarli, Beaverton, OR
pistachio semifreddo - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Spaghetti and Meatballs - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Speck, Arugula, And Grilled Pear With Balsamic - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Calamari With Chickpeas - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Polenta Fries W Gorgonzola Butter - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Shrimp And Chorizo With Chickpeas And Aioli - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Brushetta Trio - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Braised Ribs #Whybotherchoosinganythingelse - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Pan Roasted Brick Oven Chicken - decarli, Beaverton, OR
Salted caramel cheesecake - decarli, Beaverton, OR

Private Dining

Italian-inspired with a menu that changes weekly, decarli features fresh seasonal ingredients from the Northwest.

decarli Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (39)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Casual (14)
Authentic (13)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Cozy (12)
Fun (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1012 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Need to go if you haven't been! One of t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Need to go if you haven't been! One of the best go to spots for fine dining and foodies on the Westside. Polenta Fries and Oysters are a must. Menu changes frequently, excellent for a date night, friends gathering or family night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice menu selection, well executed dishe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice menu selection, well executed dishes, tasty cocktails, attentive staff.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed their New Year's E ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed their New Year's Eve five course menu. Between us we had ten different dishes and I tried nine of them. All were excellent. The pork ragu, short ribs, and duck confit were exceptional. Their tiramisu was maybe the best I've ever had.

Cocktails were excellent.

Service was flawless. Courses were timed perfectly.

Food rivals Higgins. Desserts rival Urban Farmer. That's the highest praise I can muster.

Four stars for value because it's not an inexpensive venue, but it's better than just a fair price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and great service!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent meal and service! The beet sal ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent meal and service! The beet salad was best I've ever had and the tuna was delicious on bed of mashed potatoes and greens!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, cooked to perfection. Co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Delicious food, cooked to perfection. Cozy, romantic ambiance. Great for friends or a date.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, , Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Decarli - great food and gre ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always love Decarli - great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent meal at De ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent meal at DeCarli. The staff was welcoming and friendly, which was very comforting, as I had had a rather bad day. Being pampered and having people bring me good food was delightful! I had a pizzetti (not sure of the spelling) and the mixed green salad, both were excellent. My husband enjoyed his entree as well. We definitely will go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely the best experience for a dow ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Absolutely the best experience for a downtown feeling in Beaverton! Love having this restaurant so close to home and getting a great meal with great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cocktails are as amazing as the food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The cocktails are as amazing as the food! My wife loved the Spicy Mango Margarita.

We had the Tombo Tuna with celery root puree. That was cooked perfectly!

We also enjoyed the polenta fries and mussels as appetizers.

Tags: Spicy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite a find for a Beaverton restaurant. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Quite a find for a Beaverton restaurant. Dining area has a warm comfortable feel, with brick walls, nice artwork and dark wood chairs a tables. Service was excellent. Our server was personable and attentive. The other waitstaff coordinated deliver of food and drinks very well. We liked the food. I had the short ribs and my wife had lasagna. We will be back again to try other items on the menu. The food is a bit spendy but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always it was a great meal, wonderful ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

As always it was a great meal, wonderful wine, excellent service! This place rocks!

The Tuna Tumbo was heavenly!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decarli is our go-to fine dining Italian ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Decarli is our go-to fine dining Italian place in Beaverton area. Super high quality, scratch kitchen creating traditional Italian dishes with a lot of local ingredients. Simply amazing, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food. Great atmosphere. Slightly r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere. Slightly rushed by wait staff. We will go there again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always fantastic

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in Beaverton, ha ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Beaverton, hand down! Service is always good and the food selections are always high quality. Thank you for offering gluten-free pasta. I'm in heaven.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, fantastic food and nice a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great service, fantastic food and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Polenta fries are a must!!!!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Polenta fries are a must!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the polenta fries to the double cut ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

From the polenta fries to the double cut pork chop!! Its all amazing!! Service is on point and atmosphere is great!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ONLY spot I'll recommend in the 'bur ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The ONLY spot I'll recommend in the 'burbs. A consistently good experience. On par with many renowned downtown options. Doubt you'll be disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

This was our first time at Decarli. We ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was our first time at Decarli. We loved it. We spent a lot of money without any alcohol, but it was worth it on our anniversary. On the other hand, if it weren't a special occasion, we could have skipped the appetizer and dessert with coffee to keep the cost pretty reasonable. However, the mussels we had as an appetizer were amazing, and perhaps the best thing we had. You actually could have them as an entree. Everything we had was a taste delight. Because of the American conception of "Italian," I would not use it as a descriptor for this restaurant. Had I not had a recommendation from a friend, which pushed me to look at the menu, I might have bypassed this gem. We were there on a Thursday night and it was packed. I'm so glad we had a reservation. Because it was so busy, and it is one big room, the noise level was a little higher than I would prefer, but not intolerable by any means. In spite of it being so busy, the service was amazing. Our waiter was professional, friendly, attentive, but not too friendly or attentive, if you know what I mean. He was just always there at the right time, and we did not wait long for any of our food either. The halibut with the celery root was fantastic. The vegetables, and sauce that accompanied the pork shoulder were extremely delicious, though the meat itself was a little dry. The crepinette seemed entirely unnecessary (already plenty of meat), and not my favorite. That being said, it was still delicious. We will return for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to dine at DeCarli. Ap ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at DeCarli. Appreciate the consistency of the food and service. Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great food and beer. My date enj ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Really great food and beer. My date enjoyed her mojito too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

mussels-delicious, brucetta -delicious, ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

mussels-delicious, brucetta -delicious, halibut -delicious, and pasta dish -delicious. Service was very good. Overall a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!! As always.

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent!!! As always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Visited for my husbands burthday. One of ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Visited for my husbands burthday. One of the better options in Beaverton where we live. Service was polite and very attentive and food was very good. We go to their happy hour every few months but aye in the dining room on this date. The consuela is amazing. I enjoyed my chicken. Their polenta fries are a special treat. There was a private party for Halloween in their private dining area so the noise level was higher than usual. Parking was challenging as it was a Saturday evening. Be careful not to park in the lot where the appliance part store is. All the businesses were closed as it was past 7pm. We saw two tow trucks drive in and take away cars as we were walking to the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for our anniversary dinner. It w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went for our anniversary dinner. It was great as usual. Good Service, Good Food, Good Wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with friends, service and food we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Dinner with friends, service and food were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time at Decarli and I ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was my first time at Decarli and I was told by several people that I had to order the short ribs because it is the best in town. The short ribs were good, very tender but not the best I've had. I'm not sure what they braise the short ribs in but it is very dark - almost black. My friend had the sausage pizza, again, it was good but not the best. The 2 items that we really enjoyed was the butternut squash soup and the apple upside down cake with salted almond gelato. Service was very good - our server was very attentive. The dining room was quite loud though when all the tables were filled up.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

As always, wonderful food, service, and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

As always, wonderful food, service, and ambiance. DeCarli is a thankful addition to Beaverton's culinary offering.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food & great service, made for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Delicious food & great service, made for a great way to say "Thanks" to our friends for watching our dog! Why do we not eat here more often?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thought the food was amazing. Cocktai ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We thought the food was amazing. Cocktails were okay. Too many sweet/fruity drinks to choose from. Seemed to be a summer patio cocktail menu. I originally ordered the Dicarli because it sounded so delicious, but sent it back because although the menu stated a splash of lemon juice the drink seemed to be entirely lemon juice and was unpleasently tart.

Also, the restrooms were surprisingly dirty...I had to go in each one before choosing the least filthy one to use.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We returned and brought some "first time ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We returned and brought some "first timers" who also shared our enthusiasm for Decarli. We tried the steak tartare (since they ran out of mussels) and what a wonderful treat. I had read good reviews of this appetizer on YELP and boy were they were right! It was delicious.

Our waiter made our dinner a fun evening with great recommendations (wine and food) and terrific fun banter with all of us, very engaging and fun. We'll be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I would have given it 5 stars - but my d ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I would have given it 5 stars - but my dad got a mild touch of food poisoning after dinner here. But he was the only one of our party.

Service was great, food tasted great!

Parking was difficult. Hopefully the city of Beaverton figures this area out!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dining experience was top notch as a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Our dining experience was top notch as always. We have been regular patrons for a long time and highly recommend the restaurant to our family and friends. HOWEVER, and this has nothing to do with deCarli other than parking is becoming more of an issue and with the new apartment complex being built it will only intensify the parking problem . Since street parking is SO limited we opted to park in the lot on Watson, one block up from the restaurant. The lot that has several small businesses. After enjoying a wonderful birthday celebration with friends, we came out only to find my friend's car had been towed and ours was just about to be towed. We both misread the sign as No Parking during business hours, not 24 hours, and since the lot was full we assumed (mistake on our part) that we could park there. Now here is the real kicker. We take full responsibility for parking in a tow away zone; however, the cost of the tow by Beaverton Towing was $335!!!!! And, they would only take cash. This is just wrong on all levels! How many people carry that kind of cash with them. Luckily we all left together, otherwise my friend would have been left alone (how unsafe is that for a female) to deal with the towing company. I want reiterate that this has nothing to do with deCarli, however, as a regular patron of the restaurant, I felt obligated to let others know to take the Towing Sign seriously. Apparently, the music owner doesn't like cars parking in the lot after hours and calls Beaverton Towing.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Always good food & great service

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Always good food & great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were fortunate to have a great server ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We were fortunate to have a great server. Wine list was decent, with both local and European wines. Pasta made from scratch. Seasonal oriented menu. Went to celebrate a birthday. Perfect for our party of 6.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall dinner was good although they we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Overall dinner was good although they were busy and service was a bit slow from the kitchen and when the food did come out it was not hot it was not cold but it wasn't piping hot either

We will go back course service was fine with have better service before and I'm sure we'll have better service and food again

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food. Great menu. Unfortunately, it ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good food. Great menu. Unfortunately, it was a noisy place. Had to speak louder than usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The service was great and the check in w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The service was great and the check in was smooth despite a large crowd at the bar. The eating area was quite nice although there was a little to much noise to talk to someone sitting across from you. The food was great . A small thing is that the menu was typed in a very cramped format and was difficult to read in the muted lighting.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.