Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About decarli

decarli restaurant is where rustic meets modern. Chef/owner, Paul DeCarli, pulls from his Swiss-Italian roots to create a menu that reflects his heritage as well as combine local Northwest ingredients. Polenta fries with gorgonzola butter, mussels in fennel-saffron cream sauce, and espresso-braised shortribs are just a few of the many "must-haves.” Soaring open beam ceilings with rustic brick walls add to the ambiance of this 1924 historic building.

4545 SW Watson Ave
Beaverton, OR 97005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 641-3223

Website:
http://www.decarlirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking in front of the restaurant. Also, to the right there is plenty of off-street parking as well as a small public lot.

Public Transit:
Watson and Farmington both offer bus stops within a block of the restaurant. MAX is 3 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Paul DeCarli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Private Dining

Italian-inspired with a menu that changes weekly, decarli features fresh seasonal ingredients from the Northwest.

decarli Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Special Occasion (41)
See All
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Casual (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Romantic (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Business Meals (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Authentic (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Fun (9)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

As always the food here was great. They always seem to have a challenge having enough waitstaff to deal fully with all the tables but the food makes it worth it. Be warned this place is really loud and noisy once the tables get full.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Love their braised beef and would submit this is the best restaurant in Beaverton for the food. Excellent service. A little spendy but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was really expressive I was in Italy last summer it just bring good memories in my mouth delizioso !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 11, 2017

The food was good but the experience was disappointing. I took my mom there for her 65th birthday and we were ignored and condescended to the entire meal. Not a nice way to spend your birthday evening! The food was tasty, yes, but not nearly enough to ever go back. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Excellent food and portions (not overly massive). Its a bit noisy even on a Tuesday evening, but overall cozy with good service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2017

It had been many years since I'd been to Decarli as we don't get to Beaverton often. I won't wait so long next time. The quality of the food and service rivaled any of the better restaurants we go to in Portland. The menu had something for everyone and everyone's meal was over the top delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a great dinner and our waiter, Brian, was excellent. We’ll be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food here is always great. Brick chicken a long-time favorite. Great Caesar salad too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The short ribs are to die for and a personal favorite! Nicely done Paul and team!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We ordered small plates and drinks. The food was amazing and the service was great. I will be going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food and service are always fantastic! It is too noisy as a restaurant overall!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Service and food were impeccable. Great wine! Atmosphere was awesome. Recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food was average. Slow kitchen. Menu selections were limited

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Service was impeccable, food was delicious, and lovely ambience. Will definitely be going again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great place for families or friends stable menu with a few seasonal items bean salad with dill and peaches for example was amazing

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 28, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant with fabulous food. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food wasn't as amazing as it's always been. My chicken was undercooked. But it's there only exception to year's of great experience with you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Food, esp the braised short ribs-
Was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Love the restaurant and food! The restaurant noise level needs to be addressed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Tamera was unpleasant and she always is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Just an awful dinner, pork was about 1/4 in thick and burnt black and looked like a chunk of coal, the sausage was raw inside, just an awful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 20, 2017

This was our second time in to Decarli and once again we were not disappointed. The menu changes but quality does not. We ordered a feast. We started with the polenta fries dipped in a delicious creamy butter and drinks. Cocktails were original and well prepared, no skimping on the alcohol. The tartare will not disappoint, tangy and full of flavor. Both the mozzarella with heirloom tomato and beet salad were exceptionally fresh. We ordered 2 entree's the steak and short ribs. Both were melt in your mouth perfection along with the risotto to share. Portions were plenty enough we could not finish all of our food. Decarli excels at service! Plenty of staff. Food always brought fresh and hot, cleared immediately and drinks kept flowing without being over attentive or intrusive. Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food and service were excellent. My only disappointment is that when I booked I specified we were celebrating our 22yr anniversary and this was not acknowledged in any manner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Repeat customer. We love the food here and the ambiance. Staff are always friendly and helpful. I always order the same thing off the menu- beef short ribs to die for. The wife and son always try new things.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I've been here before, but the food tonight was extraordinary. I never order chicken in restaurants (because I think I can do better myself usually), but my partner wanted to split the chicken, and it was the biggest surprise I've had in a restaurant in years. It was perfectly done, tender, and delicious. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2017

This place is definitely a nice neighborhood gem. Location is good and the food was great. Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable, and she also had very good recommendations for us.
I would definitely go back and I would recommend it to all my friends for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Amazing! Would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2017

A Sunday dinner with my husband. Our server took very good care of us, making sure we had everything we needed. He was able to explain things that we didn't know what they were on the menu. Ask for a glass of a certain wine that they didn't have by the glass so Mathew brought a sample of another one which was perfect. My husband just asked Mathew to bring the best red wine they had by the glass and it was a perfect wine. Our meals per cooked perfectly and we thoroughly enjoyed every part of our dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Salmon wasn't very good for the price. Waiter was excellent. Very noisy considering restaurant was only half full. Drinks were nice. They provided a glass of champagne since it was our anniversary which was thoughtful. I would try it again but would choose a different entree.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Exceptional dining! The food is amazing and the staff is remarkable! Never, never disappoints and always exceeds expectations!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We love everything about this restaurant. The food is amazing & the service is always superb. This is always one of our go to restaurants when we have people visiting from out of town, our guests are always blown away by Decarli.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Menu options need to change more frequently. Very hot inside hard to be comfortable

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was lovely, the corkage prices are reasonable and we had a very enjoyable dinner overall. Will repeat. It's so nice to have an independent foodie restaurant in Beaverton.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The food is good. Wait staff is competent and friendly. Prices are appropriate. Accoustics are terrible. The noise level is a deal-killer for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This is third year in a row we've celebrated a friend's birthday at Decarli. While the menu hasn't changed much over that time, I don't think it is necessary for this restaurant. The Cazuela and polenta fries appetizers were outstanding and perfect for sharing. The Pappardelle required a moment of silence after the first bite. It was that good.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Had dined here last year but will likely not return. Seemed to be some confusion with wait staff, had to ask for water, wife's pasta (I believe it was the chitara) was oversalted. I had the bistro filet which was nice, but I was surprised since it seemed more like sirloin than filet (having googled this cut I now understand the difference between teres major and filet, but still feel a bit misled). Figs, speck, and ricotta appetizer was on point, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 28, 2017

For our family gathering, we were seated at the round table near the front of the restaurant at a window facing the street with a chandelier overhead. The cocktails, appetizers, pasta, meat entrées and desserts were all excellent. The server was attentive, pleasant and had a nice personality. We would come back to this restaurant again for dinner without hesitation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had been to this restaurant several times in the past, and it wasn't bad, then a 3/5 at best. Owners must have changed or something. The waiter was very bad, didn't know what he was doing, didn't know the menu, no bread, no olive oil, forgot to order an appetizer, then salmon was undercooked on all 3 of our plates, and it was moderately spendy, the portions were small, compared to other comparable Italian restaurants. We were very disappointed, and will not return...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Have been here multiple times and never had a bad meal or server and that says a lot. The saffron mussels were done to perfection with fennel and garlic.The short ribs and spatzle were perfectly done as always and is a must have.

Our waiter was very knowledgeable on the wines and some of their rotating signature drinks. The peartini was done to perfection for my dinner guest as per the recommendation. All in all once again a great dining experience and excellent food

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 24, 2017

For my taste, the dining room was too dark and too loud. Also, a fan was blowing above my head (we were sitting in the middle of the room, not in booth along the wall) and I had to keep brushing my hair away from my face. Annoying. My son loved his lasagna, my husband liked his short ribs. My dish, papparadelle with vegetables, was nicely cooked (al dente, pasta and vegetables) but had no seasoning that I could taste. I think the vegetables were sautéed in the pasta broth and that was it. I had to salt and pepper it, which I didn't want to do, but was desperate for a little flavor. Cocktails unremarkable. Other diners seemed happy and the restaurant is very popular, so I may be an outlier!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.