About decarli

4545 SW Watson Ave
Beaverton, OR 97005
View Larger Map

decarli restaurant is where rustic meets modern. Chef/owner, Paul DeCarli, pulls from his Swiss-Italian roots to create a menu that reflects his heritage as well as combine local Northwest ingredients. Polenta fries with gorgonzola butter, mussels in fennel-saffron cream sauce, and espresso-braised shortribs are just a few of the many "must-haves.” Soaring open beam ceilings with rustic brick walls add to the ambiance of this 1924 historic building.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 641-3223

Website:
http://www.decarlirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking in front of the restaurant. Also, to the right there is plenty of off-street parking as well as a small public lot.

Public Transit:
Watson and Farmington both offer bus stops within a block of the restaurant. MAX is 3 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Paul DeCarli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Private Dining

Italian-inspired with a menu that changes weekly, decarli features fresh seasonal ingredients from the Northwest.

decarli Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Romantic (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Cozy (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Casual (14)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Seasonal (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Business Meals (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Private Room (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1036 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of three top 3 pork chops of all tim ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

One of three top 3 pork chops of all time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent but very ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service was excellent but very noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Always enjoy the food here

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Always enjoy the food here

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mussels were the best I've ever eaten! T ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Mussels were the best I've ever eaten! The beet salad and caramel cheese cake also delicious. Service was attentive w/o hovering. My only caution is it's a little noisy ( it was very busy) and not very private...Just tables in a big open room and no booths. Nevertheless, very positive experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always a great place to take that spe ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

As always a great place to take that special person in your life, or the whole family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, terrific menu. Table service ( ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As usual, terrific menu. Table service ( Bryan) was just ok, though. He seemed overly busy. Maybe there was a missing server or two that night? Very friendly guy, but was scarce to find. Bus staff was excellent, as was the hostess.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Grabbed a last minute table through open ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Grabbed a last minute table through open table for a birthday dinner with my wife. We were seated very quickly, it was a 5:15 seating so the restaurant was about 20% filled and bar was packed. By 6 the hall was packed.

We started with the Speck and shared a mixed greens salad. The Speck was great and dressing in the salad was delicious.

I had the New York Strip medium rare but it actually was a lot cooler on the rare side. I was okay with as the steak still had a lot of flavor. The potatoes were really good and the mushrooms were good.

Wife had the parpadelle pasta with truffle butter. Pasta was cooked to perfection and the sauce was spot on and not too overpowering with truffle butter.

Ended with the bread pudding and that was amazeballz as well.

Service was very good and the waitress gave me a great wine pairing for the steak. The Hall Street Cooler was pretty good. Light drink

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beef short ribs are amazing, great food!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Beef short ribs are amazing, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Italian restaurants in t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the best Italian restaurants in the Portland area. They have bypassed the usual Italian cliches to provide excellent, special and very flavorful pasta dishes, preceded by top notch appetizers. Desserts are excellent. Also a nice and affordable wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service (very friendly and accommo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great service (very friendly and accommodating), delicious food and wine. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Decarli is easily the best restaurant in ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Decarli is easily the best restaurant in Washington County. Very fine dining and reasonably priced. I have never had a bad meal off of their rotating menu. This is a favorite spot for my wife and I.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable evening - great food and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very enjoyable evening - great food and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always fun - not always the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food is always fun - not always the best value (filet main dish plus salad is about 40 dollars)- but different and tasty. Noise levels can be high but the crowd on this last Friday night was pretty good in keeping their conversations down a little. We really like this restaurant and will be back many more times. Again, the food is good - service has been great and the setting is very nice. We recommend for groups of 6 or less.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Varied menu, something for everyone. Ni ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Varied menu, something for everyone. Nice wine selection.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a lovely meal at decarli! The resta ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a lovely meal at decarli! The restaurant made a point to help my husband and I celebrate Lunar New Year after missing our previous New Years eve reservation. I recommend the steak tartare - it's always a treat. And the lobster pasta is above and beyond! Everything is fresh, and service excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm always pleased with the quality of s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I'm always pleased with the quality of service and food here. This is Beaverton's gem.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Loud for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great food and great service. Loud for trying to have a conversation, but the yummy food made up for it!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our whole experience was terrific! Food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our whole experience was terrific! Food was fantastic and wine list amazing! Our waiter Mark was professional and friendly and upbeat! I had left my umbrella there and the next day, a very kind person working in the back let me retrieve it from under my table. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their signature dish, the Beef Shortribs ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Their signature dish, the Beef Shortribs, is a must-have and we order it every time. The polenta fries with gorgonzola butter is a favorite appetizer of ours as well.

The menu is purposefully small and changes frequently to offer variety and seasonality. Order anything that looks good; we've been to Decarli several times and have never had anything that was less than fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit noisy and difficult to have conver ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A bit noisy and difficult to have conversation with friends. Homemade pasta was awesome!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, short ribs are amazing.

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great service, short ribs are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Thanks again for another great meal! We ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Thanks again for another great meal! We so appreciate the excellently prepared food so close to home. However, we would also travel to eat at Decarli's because it is so good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Need to go if you haven't been! One of t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Need to go if you haven't been! One of the best go to spots for fine dining and foodies on the Westside. Polenta Fries and Oysters are a must. Menu changes frequently, excellent for a date night, friends gathering or family night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice menu selection, well executed dishe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Nice menu selection, well executed dishes, tasty cocktails, attentive staff.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed their New Year's E ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed their New Year's Eve five course menu. Between us we had ten different dishes and I tried nine of them. All were excellent. The pork ragu, short ribs, and duck confit were exceptional. Their tiramisu was maybe the best I've ever had.

Cocktails were excellent.

Service was flawless. Courses were timed perfectly.

Food rivals Higgins. Desserts rival Urban Farmer. That's the highest praise I can muster.

Four stars for value because it's not an inexpensive venue, but it's better than just a fair price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and great service!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent meal and service! The beet sal ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent meal and service! The beet salad was best I've ever had and the tuna was delicious on bed of mashed potatoes and greens!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, cooked to perfection. Co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Delicious food, cooked to perfection. Cozy, romantic ambiance. Great for friends or a date.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, , Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Decarli - great food and gre ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always love Decarli - great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent meal at De ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent meal at DeCarli. The staff was welcoming and friendly, which was very comforting, as I had had a rather bad day. Being pampered and having people bring me good food was delightful! I had a pizzetti (not sure of the spelling) and the mixed green salad, both were excellent. My husband enjoyed his entree as well. We definitely will go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely the best experience for a dow ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Absolutely the best experience for a downtown feeling in Beaverton! Love having this restaurant so close to home and getting a great meal with great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cocktails are as amazing as the food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The cocktails are as amazing as the food! My wife loved the Spicy Mango Margarita.

We had the Tombo Tuna with celery root puree. That was cooked perfectly!

We also enjoyed the polenta fries and mussels as appetizers.

Tags: Spicy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite a find for a Beaverton restaurant. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Quite a find for a Beaverton restaurant. Dining area has a warm comfortable feel, with brick walls, nice artwork and dark wood chairs a tables. Service was excellent. Our server was personable and attentive. The other waitstaff coordinated deliver of food and drinks very well. We liked the food. I had the short ribs and my wife had lasagna. We will be back again to try other items on the menu. The food is a bit spendy but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always it was a great meal, wonderful ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

As always it was a great meal, wonderful wine, excellent service! This place rocks!

The Tuna Tumbo was heavenly!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decarli is our go-to fine dining Italian ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Decarli is our go-to fine dining Italian place in Beaverton area. Super high quality, scratch kitchen creating traditional Italian dishes with a lot of local ingredients. Simply amazing, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food. Great atmosphere. Slightly r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere. Slightly rushed by wait staff. We will go there again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always fantastic

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in Beaverton, ha ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Beaverton, hand down! Service is always good and the food selections are always high quality. Thank you for offering gluten-free pasta. I'm in heaven.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, fantastic food and nice a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great service, fantastic food and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Polenta fries are a must!!!!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Polenta fries are a must!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.