Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About decarli

decarli restaurant is where rustic meets modern. Chef/owner, Paul DeCarli, pulls from his Swiss-Italian roots to create a menu that reflects his heritage as well as combine local Northwest ingredients. Polenta fries with gorgonzola butter, mussels in fennel-saffron cream sauce, and espresso-braised shortribs are just a few of the many "must-haves.” Soaring open beam ceilings with rustic brick walls add to the ambiance of this 1924 historic building.

4545 SW Watson Ave
Beaverton, OR 97005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Farmington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 641-3223

Website:
http://www.decarlirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking in front of the restaurant. Also, to the right there is plenty of off-street parking as well as a small public lot.

Public Transit:
Watson and Farmington both offer bus stops within a block of the restaurant. MAX is 3 blocks away.

Executive Chef:
Paul DeCarli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Private Dining

Italian-inspired with a menu that changes weekly, decarli features fresh seasonal ingredients from the Northwest.

decarli Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Romantic (26)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Business Meals (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Authentic (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Casual (14)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Fun (9)
Seasonal (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
1263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Had a very pleasant and enjoyable evening with my wife was looking for more quiet but the experience was wonderful overall. Make your reservation a day in advance and you will enjoy an awesome meal and a great glass of wine. Oh yes I'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

The best place in Beaverton for dinner and the food always meets or exceeds expectations. Great service and friendly staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were as great as ever. The pork chop was outstanding, and you can't beat the polenta fries. They could use a little more on the Oregon wines. Our favorite dining on the west side.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 8, 2017

The food was wonderful as always. We both had the butternut squash soup, it had a little chili oil floated on top to give it a nice, subtle bit of heat. I had the penne with gorgonzola, walnuts and radicchio, it was fabulous, but very rich, I took half home. Husband had the pork meatballs with tagliatelle, also very delicious. Finished with the apple crisp. Service wasn’t quite up to the usual standards, not terrible but not great either. Decarli remains one of our favorite restaurants anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 7, 2017

The short ribs are amazing! Consistently my favorite on the menu. The beat salad they have right now is also delicious. I'd like to see more appetizer options. My group had a bit of difficulty finding appetizers that they liked. I think the diversity of the appetizers could be expanded here. Otherwise the service was great. Atmosphere is good. Only improvement I'd recommend is some tapestries or something to absorb the sound. It's a bit to loud for me to recommend for business or a cozy dinner. I hope these suggestions help. I love this place and I'm very happy it's here on the west side

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Great find in Beaverton. Finally somewhere to go besides McCormick’s for a nice restaurant. Short ribs were delicious and huge portion. Beet salad also very good although I prefer a few more greens. Friend had papardelle and she said it was also very good. Chocolate bread pudding was good but I’ve had better hence 1 star drop.
Restaurant is small and tables are very close together so a bit noisy and street parking really difficult. Would be nice if they had valet.

Wine great also. Looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Fantastic food . We arrived at 5:00, had reservations at 5:00. Although, all tables were empty we had to wait 30 minutes to get a table. Soo probably they were not ready to serve? Hostess was not kind at all, not even an apology or explanation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2017

This little gem 💎 never disappoints!
From the time you are greeted by the hostess, to the end of the meal 🥘 it is always outstanding!
We had friends in town from San Francisco and we decided to take them to our favorite restaurant in Beaverton!
We will return!

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Food was not hot when served but service was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Normally love this place. Have been there a bunch of times and always had great food. Unfortunately, this time the service was marginal and the food (mushroom Bolognese and a steak filet) was awful. Hopefully this is an aberration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

We went for my wife’s birthday with the kids and my daughter has Celiac so she’s gluten free. I made a note of this on my reservation.

Our server was Jordan & he was very attentive with excellent customer service. He was also very informative and dedicated to assisting our daughter with her special diet.

The food was excellent and the service was perfect.

Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Overall the food and experience was very good. The only downside was we thought the desert menu was a bit lacking. Not many choices and nothing we really wanted. Would be nice have tiramisu, creme brulee, or even carrot cake. We wanted desert but there was nothing on the desert menu we liked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2017

A decent but uninspired neighborhood restaurant. It has been around awhile and was crowded, which may explain why they didn’t seem to be trying very hard. Service was indifferent (our server studiously ignored us the first 15 minutes we were there while she exchanged life histories with the table next to us). Oysters and Caesar salad were good but entrees were mediocre. Mine was a small portion of lukewarm pasta. OK but not a destination restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Food was poor and took over an hour to arrive - we arrived at 6:45 and our entrees were served a little after 8pm. The waiter told us our orders just "hit the kitchen at the wrong time". My pasta was under cooked (It was so poorly prepared that I sent it back to the kitchen), my daughter's fish was extremely salty, and the sauce on the third entree was not at all as described on the menu. The appetizers we ordered were okay. Plus the hostess actually tried to argue that our entrees didn't take that long to arrive - no apologies, no let's talk about this so we can improve - nothing positive to end the experience. We will not go back and will certainly not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2017

High quality, authentic Italian offering, crafted with care and presented in style without any pretension. Great wine list too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Appetizer and salad were creative and tasty. Although the dinner options sounded intriguing, they fell flat. The execution was poor. The meat was over cooked and tough. The pasta needed a touch more sauce.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Definitely one of our favorite restaurants in Beaverton and the west side. Outstanding food and excellent venue. Strongly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Upscale restaurant without the parking problems of Portland. This restaurant has a lot of potential, but it needs a bit more attentiveness and sharpness in order to justify the higher prices.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Dinner was very good! We ordered the short ribs, outstanding !! We are lovers of mussels, and had them as appetizers, but I would not order them again. They were watery and didn’t taste really fresh. The sauce and bread that went with them was deliciou!! I wish we would have had some warm bread with the salad though. But we will definetly come back. Moved to Beaverton, so this was our first dinner out in downtown area there. Thanks!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Pasta was excellent - tagliolini dish. It was VERY busy for a weeknight 6:30 pm dinner. Hard to hear conversation across the table from my friend. Server was sincere, friendly, and mostly attentive, but we did not receive our starters and our glasses were "dry" for longer than preferred. (Starters were not billed on the check, so maybe miscommunication.) Entrees were served timely, hot and delicious. Have had a couple of company functions there that were superior in food and service. Will definitely go back... it might be one of the few good dinner spots in Beaverton.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

The beef short ribs with house made spaetzle noodles is my favorite. The sauce is divine with a faint prune and expression flavor in a light cream sauce. In season, the Panna Cotta here is a memorable creamy light dessert. It can be very loud, but the other night our table was beautifully positioned to deflect conversations.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Decarli’s is always very nice. They also have a private dining area for large groups.

Tags: Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food was great. Service was excellent. Polenta fries are a must try. A little pricey for just casual dining but great for a special event.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Decarli continues to impress "out-of-town" business colleagues who consider themselves well seasoned "foodies" and hungry for a place for both work and casual conversation, laughs and great drinks.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 2, 2017

This is truly a neighborhood gem! Fine dining in Beaverton-stoked!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Our evening started out wonderful for happy hour in the bar. Nice happy hour menu for food and drinks. Service in the bar was outstanding. Then we moved to the dining room for dinner. Service started out great and then completely disappeared after our entrée was delivered. We ordered the veal. It was the worst veal we have ever had - tough and dry with no flavor. We should have sent it back, but no one ever checked on us again until they delivered the check. We suspect the server knew that the veal was terrible, but did not have the courage to tell us. We will not be going back to DeCarli.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Portions were not large but the dishes were well executed with colors, flavors and textures well balanced and interesting. The lemon curd dessert was memorable.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great-as always!!!! Food is so good, atmosphere is like the pearl district but easy parking!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Wonderful dining experience to celebrate 20th wedding anniversary with our family. The service was very good. The food delicious. We were surprised with two complimentary glasses of sparkling wine to toast our 20th wedding anniversary; completely unexpected and a very thoughtful gesture.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Lovely candlelit table, attentive service, and great scratch pastas and gelati.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Excellent Italian restaurant. The menu is changing weekly. Surprising combinations of ingredients. Very tasty!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2017

I was very disappointed in my main dish. The flavor of the pasta was flat with really no special attributes at all. My wife's with the clams and pasta was good she said. I would not go back myself.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 20, 2017

V nice Restaraunt food; cocktails so so & service decent but super noisy; like a constant stadium hum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 20, 2017

I grew up a 2nd generation Italian American & am not often impressed with pasta in Portland. However, I decided to try the pasta with pork Bolognese sauce. It was molto buono! So were the the steak, short ribs & salmon that the others in our party had. We will now consider this our "go to" place for Italan food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Decarli is truly a gem. Great food, great service, friendly staff, great wine and cocktails. I would put it up against any Portland restaurant. Bruschetta with shaved beef and fontina, and peperonata with chèvre were great. Tagliatelle with pancetta, mushrooms, and shallots - delicious. Cappucino makes a nice finish. Love this restaurant!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Absolutely delicious!!! Loud and fun restaurant, but great ambience. Service was fine, but seemed very rushed every time he was at our table. He walked away numerous times before we could get a question asked. Nice individual, I think they were just really busy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Finding and enjoying time with step-daughter and daughter-in-law is a rare and wonderful experience. Combining that with the atmospherics, server, and cuisine was a memorable time had by all three of us. We are blessed to find you and will return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 19, 2017

One of our favorite places to dine. Our only negative is the noise level. We were seated next to a large group and we could hardly hear our own conversation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Decarli has great potential, but my biggest issue with it is the menu is basically the same, for years now. They may tweak a few of the ingredients in the gnocchi or pasta, but it's generally always the same. You'd think if it was always the same, it would be amazing, since they should be really good at making it, right? It's good, but it's not knock your socks off good. Place has a good atmosphere, but we notice it's not as busy at it once was and wondering if they are losing their touch a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.