About Decanter at St. Regis

923 16th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20006
View Larger Map

Distinctive. Delightful. Designed by renowned architect David Rockwell and the talented Rockwell Group, the restaurant highlights many of the original features including the landmarked ceiling and is set in a landscape of bold hues of black, silver, brown, cream and gold which intermingle with rich textures to create a lush, warm environment. The modern décor beautifully complements the newly restored St. Regis. Decanter features an eclectic blend of American cuisine with French and North African influences.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
16th & K

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 509-8000

Website:
http://www.decanterdc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available upon arrival at St. Regis Hotel main entrance.

Executive Chef:
Chef Gyo Santa

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Decanter is available for private events for up to 78 guests. Existing set up can be modified to accommodate smaller groups seated at banquettes and alcove tables.

Decanter at St. Regis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
District of Columbia
Romantic
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

romantic (13)
fit for foodies (12)
special occasion (11)
See All
notable wine list (9)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for lunch (5)
good for groups (3)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love this bar/restaurant, located on 16t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Love this bar/restaurant, located on 16th & K, just a block from the White House!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took over an hour to have lunch for f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

It took over an hour to have lunch for four people served at 11:30am! There was only one other party (2 people) in the restaurant the entire time my group was there. The service was excellent. The food delivery was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Perfect spot for a business lunch with ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Perfect spot for a business lunch with nice food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Stranger in a City

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Just happened to see this restaurant walking on the sidewalk.

Took a chance and found that the ambiance was attractive, the food was great, and the service was exceptional.

It was really nice to choose a restaurant and have it live up to your expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. Marvelous service, great d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Outstanding. Marvelous service, great decor. A true gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We thought the food was very good. there was almost no one there so it was very quiet. The décor is well done -- nice modern furnishings in the classic old style room. Only negative is that we were seated in one of the cool looking circular booths. Very uncomfortable seating. We said to each other -- we'll be back but will ask to be seated elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

surprisingly fantastic

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I was not expecting much from this restaurant even though I've heard spectacular reviews. I surprisingly enjoyed every minute and every thing...food, service, ambiance. And best of all, since I am treating two of my friends in delayed celebration of their birthdays, both had a wonderful time...thanks Decanter!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Easter Bruch

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a great experience at Decanter for Easter Brunch. The food was superb as was the service. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend, high-end, high-quality

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My husband and I went here for a romantic dinner to celebrate our 20th anniversary. GREAT CHOICE. I had the lamb and it was succulent. (He had the NY Strip and was equally happy.) Wonderful wine selection. The servers were extremely attentive. I would highly recommend this place for a romantic dinner. Pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ladies night!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

I got the chilled asparagus soup...it was average. Amazing service though and great attention to detail!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely as always

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

We have had dinner twice recently at Decanter. Both meals have been superb. The service is impeccable -- friendly but not obtrusive or overbearing. There was one slight hiccup this time -- the main dishes took a little long to arrive (not that we were in a rush), but the slight miscue was remedied immediately and without inquiry through a couple very nice glasses of wine. It's not cheap but it's also not outrageously expensive, and well worth it for a true fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of my fave breakfast spots

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Great place for a business breakfast. Beautiful dining room, usually not very crowded, plenty of space between the tables for those sensitive subjects. Also good food and attentive but unobtrusive service. What more could one want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful with great potential.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was good just didn't match the beautiful place and exceptional service. Just need to make menu more exciting especially to the eyes.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

The restaurant that was previously in this space, Adour, was at the time one of the best in DC. Decanter has kept the decor, which is very nice, and the service was good, but regrettably the food was nothing special. This was our second time at Decanter (we were married in the St. Regis and have very fond memories here), but on future anniversaries we’ll probably just stroll through the beautiful lobby and eat elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

It was great.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch spot

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Came here for brunch last week, and the food was fantastic. I had the steak and eggs while my date had the french toast - which was a steal for the price it was listed at. My one negative was that the service was not top notch, but it was the end of the breakfast service and it didn't detract from the experience. The decor of the St. Regis is beautiful and looking around was a nice way to spend some time digesting our food after we paid.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Decanter, in a word, Amazing

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had fabulous dinner at Decanter. Stephane our waiter explained our plates thoroughly, was attentive to our needs and provided an overall enjoyable experience. We had the good fortune to meet Jeffrey, the General Manager at another restaurant the night before and he made sure to greet us upon arrival and offer a complimentary glass of champagne to celebrate our anniversary, as well as introducing us to the chef later on the that evening. There is a warmth to the design of the restaurant that provided a pleasant and relaxing ambiance. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Dining

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

I was very impressed by Decanter. The setting is elegant and the service was impeccable -- attentive and friendly but not overbearing or overly familiar. We had the tasting menu with the wine pairings, and every course was delicious and beautifully presented. As other diners have noted, however, it is sparsely populated. We were there on a Thursday evening at 8, and there were only a handful of other diners. We would definitely go back, and I hope that others will, as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic food in a lovely setting

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Decanter did not fail to impress. Attentive and friendly service, a varied menu and from starters to desserts everything was delicious. A pity the restaurant was not as full as it deserved to be. The alcove seating was romantic and the wonderful decor enhanced our enjoyment of a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service is impeccable!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Service is impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Business Lunch

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

This is a great spot in the heart of downtown DC. Great for a business lunch with clients. Service outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely everything.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We dined with another couple; the four of us travel together to a different city around New Year every year. Decanter was a last-minute choice one evening free we walked by it and saw the wine "cellar". There were only two other tables occupied so it was very quiet and service was outstanding. I enjoyed the Lobster Vol au Vent; the others had various steaks and fish. Wine selection was outstanding! We shared an Oregon Pinot Noir recommended by our server. Afterward we lingered in the adjacent St Regis bar for a digestif near the cozy fire. A very special evening, we would definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice job Christmas Day

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Very pleased with our experience on Christmas Day. The only disappointment was we had requested a table on the side of the room which was confirmed to me earlier in the week and ended up in one of the middle tables. However we were early for our reservation so perhaps this was why; however I suspect it was more likely this got overlooked by the Maitre D. They did remember that we had a gluten concern when presenting the menu. The service was outstanding; the food very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely Christmas Dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We booked an early Christmas dinner (3:30PM) for 2 and were seated at a lovely window table. The service and ambience were perfect, and the food was delicious, if just a tad short of spectacular. (Best dish was my veloute starter-course with foie gras garnish, but the lobster main course and desserts were also tasty.) We didn't want a whole bottle of wine, so our server recommended an excellent wine-by-the glass. Valet parking for only $8 also a plus! All-in-all a very pleasant holiday repast.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely ambience. Superb food. Exquisite service.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Really wonderful brunch. The best traditional Eggs Benedict. Specialty coffees. Relaxed atmosphere. Amazing service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful brunch refuge

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

It's just a nice relaxing place to have brunch. The dining room is well-appointed, with tasteful music playing. Everything we had to eat was excellent, from the crabcake benedict to the pancakes. French press coffee was very good too. Service was polite and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fine, but it was not French ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

The food was fine, but it was not French. We were looking for French cuisine in particular for our special occasion. This was typical fine-dining fare, but it was not French. Moreover, the tuna carpaccio was more of a tuna sashimi, not at all carpaccio. The crab cakes were over cooked. The lamb was nicely done to order and the desserts were very good, not too heavy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Pleasant & Quiet

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

If you are looking for a downtown location that offers a quiet location for a business lunch - I recommend Decanter at the St. Regis hotel. The service is superior, the atmosphere is very nice and the chairs very comfortable. My colleague and I had an entree salad that was good - I just can't say that it was anything memorable or special and considering all the other aspects - it was a bit disappointing.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

A lovely dinner

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

A beautiful restaurant, a great meal, and wonderful service (Manuel was great) - what more could you want!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

What an amazing experience. Me and my fa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 10, 2015

What an amazing experience. Me and my family decided to have lunch there during a week day. The restaurant was not busy, the hostess was very friendly. Our server was good, he made great recommendations and the food was fantastic! The yellow fin tuna carpaccio was out of this world! Perfect experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My new favorite lunch spot

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

Decanter is an excellent place to meet friends and colleagues for lunch in DC. It's located inside the St. Regis Hotel on 16th St NW at K Street NW. The dining room is absolutely beautiful with intricate detail on the ceiling and huge windows that let in light. The street scene is interesting as well since K St NW is a busy venue. The food is excellent, the service is equal to any 5 star restaurant, and I always feel comfortable there. The prices are competitive for lunch in DC. I highly recommend this charming and relaxing location.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

More than Expected

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

All elements - food , service, décor, and ambience were above expectations. Clearly, a great find and convenient close to my office and other work and social places of business.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent all around

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Was near the St Regis last week on business and went over to check out the menu and the restaurant. Of particular interest was Gluten Free and Vegetarian options. But i was struck by how lovely the room is. Also, It seems more rare these days that I leave a restaurant and say, "that was worth it and i'll be back" But our group was all in agreement that we would be back. The St. Regis bar is quite beautiful as well and the dinning room is quite stunning. Very nice spacing between tables, so you can have normal conversation and not have to yell or worry about listening to your neighbors. 4 people, 3 different entree's and all were superb. Service was very professional. they really did not job on the gluten/dairy free member of our party. The added benefit is after dinner, you can stroll a couple of blocks up to the White House.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Special Day!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 27, 2015

One of those very elegant spots that can be over looked at lunch time! We had a fantastic double Birthday celebration for friends and staff just couldn't have been nicer! The selections are narrow however over the top with surprises. Just can say enough about how special we all felt.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Wonderful Tasting Menu Experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 29, 2015

Totally forgot to do this review, so it's a bit delayed.

Delayed or not though the dining experience at Decanters stands out as still very memorable, and actually quite wonderful.

I went for the Chef's Tasting Menu, paired with the Sommelier's Wine Pairing. I deliberately did not look at the menu in advance, and upon seating I told the server 'Surprise me'.

They didn't disappoint. Every dish was perfectly prepared, and the wine-pairings that went with them were expertly chosen to match or beautifully contrast with the flavors of the food.

Excellent service from the floor team. Excellent wine pairings from the Sommelier. Excellent ambiance in the restaurant. Even though it was pouring rain from a thunderstorm outside, the quiet dining experience was simply sublime on all accounts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Kept Secret in DC

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Amazing. Practically empty on a Saturday night! Beautiful interior, fantastic food, delectable desserts. Dine here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good for business conversation, not ideal food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

Decanter has an attractive and quiet room for business lunches. The service is pleasant and discrete. The food, however, was not ideal on my first visit. I am not sure where the communication broke down, but my medium rare order arrived very well done. While they were very willing to replace the order, it was an awkward delay in the meal. I would have expected an apology for the inconvenience at the end of the meal but none was offered. Not sure if I will give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Decanter at St. Regis: new favorite meeting place

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

I started dining here regularly about one year ago and now it is one of my favorite spots for meeting friends and colleagues for lunch. The dining room is beautiful with a wonderfully decorated ceiling and spectacular windows that light the room in a way that keeps me coming back. The food is excellent and the service is attentive and 5 star level. Our server spent time with my friend helping her select the items for her charcuterie plate and shared his personal experience with the foods. The wine list is expansive with something for every taste. I highly recommend this location for lunch, but it is also a great selection for dinner or drinks.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not your run of the mill DC dining experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

I booked this reservation for our anniversary dinner. This is not your run-of -the mill DC dining experience. Entering the lobby, you know you are in an upscale establishment.

The staff at Decanter goes out of their way to make the experience perfect. There isn't a bad seat in the room. The atmosphere is quiet. It has just the right amount of ornateness.

This special occasion turned out to be home run. My wife was very pleased.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent location for a business meal

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2015

I often entertain for breakfast and can struggle to find a good spot that allows for great food and a quality einvrionment. Decantur was perfect. There's nothing on the menu that stands out or makes it extraordinary, but you can trust that the service is top notch. Do not get me wrong, the food is good. I just don't walk away from it with a desire to tell all my friends about my omelette. However, if you want a truly delicious cup of coffee, it's here. Top notch French press and fantastic. I will continue to entertain here for breakfast meetings.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.