About Decanter at St. Regis

923 16th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20006
View Larger Map

Distinctive. Delightful. Designed by renowned architect David Rockwell, the restaurant highlights many of its original features, including the landmarked ceiling, and is set in a landscape of bold hues of black, silver, brown, cream and gold which intermingle with rich textures to create a lush, warm environment. The décor beautifully complements our cuisine, which features an eclectic blend of American cuisine with bold Spanish influences.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
16th & K

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 509-8000

Website:
http://www.decanterdc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available upon arrival at St. Regis Hotel main entrance.

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Lopez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For large parties and special events please contact Camille Pisano at camille.pisano@stregis.com, or Andy Powell at andy.powell@stregis.com

Private Dining

Decanter is available for private events for up to 78 guests. Existing set up can be modified to accommodate smaller groups seated at banquettes and alcove tables.

Decanter at St. Regis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

61% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Romantic (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
See All
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Cozy (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our Valentine's day experience was great. I just wish that the pre-fix menu had a variety rather than what the chef selected. In addition, knowing ahead of time instead of the time we were seated that the menu was pre selected would have been appreciated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. Very good service. However, menu very limited and primarily meat driven - very few fish/vegetarian options.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Loved the ambiance and interior design of the bar area and the actual restaurant however the menu lacked depth. Only 4 entrees to select from and there weren't any side offerings as stated in the menu online that I reviewed prior to attending the restaurant. Our servers were awesome, suggestive, and attentive but that was also because were two of possibly 3 other couples in the entire restaurant. I think if I return it will only be to have drinks in the bar/lounge area.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Breakfast was fabulous and the service was excellent.

However, when we returned in the afternoon for cocktails and appetizers we were ignored for 40+ minutes. We finally went to the bar to order our drinks and the bartender said he would send out a server to deliver our drinks. Instead, 20 minutes later, a server asked us what we wanted to drink and eat without acknowledging we had already placed our order. We were shocked by the lack of service and that fact that no one apologized for the poor service.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The new chef was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The menu selection is very limited and the portions are beyond disappointing. The service was outstanding. Our meal was less than satisfying and we stopped at another restaurant on the way home. This meal was the most expensive and least satisfying meal we have had.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a NYE tasting menu from their new chef (2 weeks maybe) everything was wonderful and unique. Cocktails were top notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great service and style. My wife and I wanted something special for our anniversary. We have little kids at home and were looking for an excuse to go out on the town and dress up. Before dinner we got drinks at the bar. Then we had a great dinner. The staff made us feel like royalty and we had and intimate private booth.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Sigh. We like to eat really good food & don't mind paying the price for it. I specifically looked on open table for a non prix fixed dinner for Christmas. Nothing in the notes said it was prix fixed, and other restaurants had put in the description about the prix fixed.

It was $90 a person. If the food & service were excellent - I'm in. We were completely neglected Our order just for drinks was taken 10 minutes after we sat down. Steak wasn't great. Service got better after we hit a hiccup as nothin on the menu worked for our 10 yr old. I will say they worked with us but the server freaked & had to get someone else to step in. There are Mcgee better places to eat at this price point in our city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Thank you to the staff at the Decanter- St. Regis for truly understanding opulence and fine dining. The three course meal met my taste buds and the decor/ambience was simply divine. I also appreciated the service from the staff who remained professional but not stuffy. Thanks again for making this dining experience on Christmas 2016 a most memorable moment.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had dinner for a party of six on Christmas Eve. Overall, I thought the restaurant did a terrific job.

First of all I was surprised that the menu that night was more flexible that the menu shown on the restaurant's website. It incorporated some of the bar menu's less formal and less pricey food in addition the regular dinner entrees.

Second, the food was good, very good in some respects. It was apparent from the VERY high quality of the accompaniments that they were using first quality ingredients - the fig jam and the whole grain mustard that came with the charcuterie was amazing, for example. The bread was first rate.

Third, the bill we received was considerably less than I had expected. It was quite reasonable for a meal of this quality. We had a Puligny Montrachet, for example, that was excellent and a bargain - for a restaurant - for $70.

Fourth, and most importantly, everyone on the wait staff was clearly formally trained, served the meal beautifully, was agreeable, welcoming, and a pleasure to deal with. It was the best service I have had in a restaurant in MANY years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was okay. Steak was overcooked and needs some options for sides but came with nothing but fries. The highlight were the appetizers. FANTASTIC appetizers. Wish we could've ordered all of them. Dinner overall was fine but the downside was the valet parking. When we pulled at the hotel, the valet said it was free. I read on the website that the valet was $8. The valet kep telling me it was free and wouldn't accept my $8 payment. Then when the dinner was over and we got the car, the valet said the bill was $29. INSANE. Then I went over to one of the managers and she said it was $12. So...which is it?? Everyone is telling me different things. The valet wouldn't let me go until the $29 bill was settled. Eventually, the manager told us she was sorry for the miscommunication and let us go for free. Absolutely unacceptable. Night would've been better if valet and the restaurant had a clear communication and worked it all out. Ruined the night by the rude valet attendant.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing dinner . Service was great . Perfect for a special date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Emre my waiter from Turkey was absolutely tremendous. He deserves a big fat raise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service was very good. But the food wasn't so good. The food was very average. Maybe it's time to find a different chef. The Mac n cheese tasted and look like my kids Mac.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Elegant dining, top notch service and well prepared dishes make this a reliably good choice for business entertaining. Very pricy, but you get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

My husband and I came for lunch for the Iceland Food Week Menu. Everything was fantastic. The service, including the gentleman at the hotel's main entrance, was stellar. We were greeted and seated right away in a lovely booth, per my request on the reservation. I was impressed by the hostess offering me a black napkin since I was wearing black pants. I declined but appreciated that they pay attention to the possibility of unsightly lint patches. Our server was equally friendly and attentive. The food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the special menu. The restaurant itself is beautiful and they have a great wine room that doubles as an impressive display. I would love to return for a romantic date night. Highly recommend Decanter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Girls birthday dinner. Lots of great champagne! A few of us had the chef's tasting menu and were quite pleased with the selections. Wait staff were great as well.

Beautiful dining room with a fabulous ceiling!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was superb. The staff is incredible and very accommodating. We will be back! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

El servicio desde que uno llega y le reciben el coche, es de primera clase. Todos, sin excepción , nos trataron amablemente y estuvieron atentos todo el tiempo a lo que pudiéramos necesitar. La experiencia de la semana de comida con las chefs mexicanas fue inolvidable, los platillos estuvieron exquisitos y la atención de la chef fue un gran detalle.

Las personas que nos atendieron durante nuestra cena fueron super atentas y nos hicieron sentir muy bien. Salimos realmente felices con la experiencia.

Tags: Cocina creativa, ocasión especial, Ideal para una cita
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We went during the week celebrating Mexican food, featuring two guest chefs and a special menu. We couldn't have been happier with our selections. The food (including the grasshoppers!!) was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The whole dining experience was great! Both dinner and service were absolute amazing. The restaurant environment is really nice, with a combination of modern inside the tradition of the St. Regis hotel. Besides, the deserts were on the house because there was a confusion on Open Table with the dates of an special menu that we were expecting and our reservation date that had the regular menu. And now, we are coming back one more time for the special Mexican dinner menu...! Thanks to Decanter for the nice evening and dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wow! Fabulous service, and wonderful food. I was attending a meeting nearby, and wanted a quiet meal. The hostess made me feel at home right away, and the food was mouthwatering. ALso, everything arrived quickly, and without feeling rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Armando and Omar were great waiters and deserve a raise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

My new favorite breakfast meeting spot! Outstanding food and service, wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Stephan the waiter and the hostess who seated me what absolutely tremendous. They both deserve raises right now. absolutely mThe place smelled like roses . Inwill come back there anytime. The food was just exquisite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Love this bar/restaurant, located on 16th & K, just a block from the White House!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 11, 2016

It took over an hour to have lunch for four people served at 11:30am! There was only one other party (2 people) in the restaurant the entire time my group was there. The service was excellent. The food delivery was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Perfect spot for a business lunch with nice food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Just happened to see this restaurant walking on the sidewalk.

Took a chance and found that the ambiance was attractive, the food was great, and the service was exceptional.

It was really nice to choose a restaurant and have it live up to your expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Outstanding. Marvelous service, great decor. A true gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2016

We thought the food was very good. there was almost no one there so it was very quiet. The décor is well done -- nice modern furnishings in the classic old style room. Only negative is that we were seated in one of the cool looking circular booths. Very uncomfortable seating. We said to each other -- we'll be back but will ask to be seated elsewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2016

I was not expecting much from this restaurant even though I've heard spectacular reviews. I surprisingly enjoyed every minute and every thing...food, service, ambiance. And best of all, since I am treating two of my friends in delayed celebration of their birthdays, both had a wonderful time...thanks Decanter!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a great experience at Decanter for Easter Brunch. The food was superb as was the service. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

My husband and I went here for a romantic dinner to celebrate our 20th anniversary. GREAT CHOICE. I had the lamb and it was succulent. (He had the NY Strip and was equally happy.) Wonderful wine selection. The servers were extremely attentive. I would highly recommend this place for a romantic dinner. Pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 23, 2016

I got the chilled asparagus soup...it was average. Amazing service though and great attention to detail!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2016

We have had dinner twice recently at Decanter. Both meals have been superb. The service is impeccable -- friendly but not obtrusive or overbearing. There was one slight hiccup this time -- the main dishes took a little long to arrive (not that we were in a rush), but the slight miscue was remedied immediately and without inquiry through a couple very nice glasses of wine. It's not cheap but it's also not outrageously expensive, and well worth it for a true fine dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2016

Great place for a business breakfast. Beautiful dining room, usually not very crowded, plenty of space between the tables for those sensitive subjects. Also good food and attentive but unobtrusive service. What more could one want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was good just didn't match the beautiful place and exceptional service. Just need to make menu more exciting especially to the eyes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2016

The restaurant that was previously in this space, Adour, was at the time one of the best in DC. Decanter has kept the decor, which is very nice, and the service was good, but regrettably the food was nothing special. This was our second time at Decanter (we were married in the St. Regis and have very fond memories here), but on future anniversaries we’ll probably just stroll through the beautiful lobby and eat elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.