About Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co

315 10th Ave
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co has a playful Hellenic inspired cuisine and cask cocktail program. The menus also features many classic American dishes but with a light Greek undertone. The edgy name is a historic name and we are paying homage to the history of the neighborhood that we are growing roots in. Our establishment is intimate and features a gorgeous 2000 square foot private garden patio. We push the envelop at Death Ave by making cleverly working Hellenic flavors, ingredients and cooking techniques into new dishes and drinks. From cocktails to dessert we take great pride in providing great product and service to our patrons.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sun-Wed: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thurs-Sat: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Brunch Sat & Sun 11:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & 29th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 695-8080

Website:
http://www.deathave.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Death Ave provides an array of stunning event spaces for all occasions, from an intimate meeting to an extravagant outdoor reception. Our restaurant features options for indoor and outdoor events that can host up to 250 guests.

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (24)
neighborhood gem (23)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
great for lunch (13)
good for groups (11)
romantic (10)
great for brunch (6)
special occasion (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
99 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I made reservations based on the reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 17 hours ago

I made reservations based on the reviews and menu. I had high expectations and they were exceeded in every way. Open table offered the option of having flowers sent to the table, they were there when we arrived. I noted it was an anniversary dinner, they set us in one of their curtained, private alcoves which was surprisingly quiet give the busy bar. The drinks with infused spirits set the tone for a classy, fun evening. The food was outstanding, I had the Hellenic BBQ with steak and B had the souvlaki tacos.. You must try! They finished off our evening with a suppose dessert with a candle (unplanned by me) and two glasses of champagne. The staff was very attentive, they didn't seem to mind whose table was whose.. They all kept a discreet eye in case you needed anything. They are all knowledgable about the menu and cocktail items.

I could not have asked for a more wonderful evening. Please.. Please try this place. The bar crowd was hopping, restaurant is low key dress code and it can be as fancy or as casual as you want it to be. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow and inattentive service. A bit over ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Slow and inattentive service. A bit overpriced.

Ordered drinks and ended up leaving before ordering food.

In Death Ave's defense, it still seems as though they're trying to get the restaurant/brewery operational, whilst still trying to serve customers. Not sure that approach is working all that well at the moment.

We may try again in a few months, once the restaurant has gotten into more of a rhythm.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

The owner and service were super friendl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The owner and service were super friendly and attentive. The garden area is very nicely done. We ate brunch and found the food to be overly spiced, in particular too much salt and pepper.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the better restaurants we've been ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the better restaurants we've been too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious at Death Ave, but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was delicious at Death Ave, but the service was slow and they forgot our last two dishes - we had to remind them. We attended for Movie Monday and we loved the outdoor seating and ambiance. The food was way too expensive for what it was, but would go back for Movie Monday/ambiance.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was fair, the 8 hrs octopus wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was fair, the 8 hrs octopus wasn't as tender as I expected it to be. The service was good though.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Very friendly and efficient service, lov ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very friendly and efficient service, lovely and quiet courtyard and great food. The 8-hour octopus is amazing. Go there !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The cheese plate! Especially the manour ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The cheese plate! Especially the manouri. Also, souvlaki tacos.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Went here for a dinner with 4 co-workers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Went here for a dinner with 4 co-workers, all of whom have discerning taste. Death Ave did not disappoint - our dinner was phenomenal. Whereas I had eaten here before, it was everyone else's first time and definitely not their last!

Our dinners included the tacos, the cod, grilled chicken and sliders. Fried pickles for the table and fig ice cream for dessert! Great selection of wines.

The only complaint or critique I would have concerned the burger. I ordered it sans bun or fries and what remained was not as listed on the menu. When I questioned this, the waitress replied that the menu wasn't printed correctly. While accommodating, this should have been mentioned in advance. This is the reason I gave the "service" a score less than perfect.

We sat in the backroom, off the back patio. Sometimes backrooms can feel like a left over or an after thought; instead, this felt like the main event, comparable to the front bar area. Next time we will request to sit out back, as the courtyard looked so charming.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I've eaten there before and always had a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I've eaten there before and always had a good meal with a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The mussels were horrible; limited selec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The mussels were horrible; limited selection of gin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Delicious! We got the fresh made pasta a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Delicious! We got the fresh made pasta and lamb burger with truffle fries

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, not great service.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co has a great covered outdoor dining area, with a good menu. I ordered the reconstructed Horiatiki salad, with added chicken, my friends had the tacos and a pasta dish. My salad was good, though the one large crouton was a little difficult to "deconstruct" into edible sizes without effort. My friend raved about his tacos with truffle fries. The tacos were so good that he wished there had been three instead of two. The pasta dish was also well received, and we were impressed with the quality of the pasta. The patio was covered with a thick canvas that provided shade and a moderate amount of protection from the rain, which did occur that night.

The biggest drawback to dinner was the service. There was a fair bit of waiting for our orders, and check-ins to see how things were going were few and far between. We had all finished our drinks and sat waiting for someone to ask if we wanted another drink--at a brewery. This was a Saturday evening, and there did not seem to be that much activity. We suspect it was because of the service (and the rain), because the food is good and the ambience was better than average for NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Retro feel!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great space and decor. Loved the outdoor seating, food and service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hit or Miss, depends on your server.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This restaurant is in a good location off the Highline, and about the price you'd expect from the neighborhood. Unfortunately, when you have a bad server, the service is horrible. Our waiter, (whom I won't name, but who should be reprimanded) completely neglected us - and his supervisor wasn't paying attention to what was going on to even make sure he was doing his job. To whit - after ordering a drink before delving into the menus, I watched it sweat at the bar for 10 minutes (during which time another server had to bring us water and menus), before I gave up and got it myself. The white sangria is quite refreshing, even with a waterback.

When we ordered from him, we requested a dish be vegetarian, and then it came out (brought to us by a different waiter) with sausage inside. Our waiter did not apologize, he just told us it would be another 10 minutes. The third waiter brought it to us. The vegetarian version of the egg tacos are delicious, and the truffle fries are worth the upgrade.

We had to ask the second waiter (she was lovely, by the way, and very apologetic for the way we were being treated) for the cheque, because our waiter had decided that a larger party was more worth his while. He did, however, show up as we were deliberating how to tip. Was it to apologize for the mix up? No. He wanted to let us know that the original dish came with meat in it (it is possible to build a taco without putting meat in it, it isn't pre-made fried rice) and that "usually people tell us up front that they are vegetarian" (which we had)

It's always great to punctuate your meal with your server blaming you for anything that went wrong with your dining experience was your fault - especially your order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

What a wonderful place! Gorgeous, charm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

What a wonderful place! Gorgeous, charming, fun, great food, outstanding service. It's like going on vacation without leaving the neighborhood. We also had an event here and they did an amazing job.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool place!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was pretty good. Nothing special. Very cool looking place. Wanted to eat outside but it was too cold. No heaters. Pretty expensive

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The service and food were fantastic. We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service and food were fantastic. We will be visiting and again in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Super Delicious!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This was my second time at Death Ave and the food did not disappoint. Everything was amazing. The food took a little longer to come out but it was well worth the wait. We ordered way too much but whatever wasn't eaten at lunch was gone by the next day. So happy to have this little gem in Chelsea :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Incredible hospitality & ambiance

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We had an absolutely perfect dinner here. There were 6 of us, we sat on the gorgeous back patio, and had the most incredible service. Not to mention the fantastic food! The owner is so extremely humble, and treated us as his own private guests, ensuring we were properly fed and wined :)

Will DEFINITELY return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small plates amid overwhelming construction

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We've eaten at Death Ave a few times and like the small plates, the atmosphere and the back patio. However, you get the feeling they are just being swallowed by all the construction around them. Which is too bad and unfair to them.

The food is delicious and somewhat creative in a good way. They have 3 or 4 distinct areas to eat depending on your mood (bar, private booth, back room and patio).

Net-net, we like a lot and hope that all the construction around them doesn't hurt them.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice food !

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Good food with a nice Greek twist ! Too bad the terrasse was closed.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good place. No complaints.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Good place. No complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Soggy truffle fries

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Party of 7 and food came haphazardly. First burger was cold and 19yr old waiter can't help with wine or beer suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Our second visit here and both times we ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Our second visit here and both times we were very pleased

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice and secluded. Calmer energy from t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Nice and secluded. Calmer energy from typical NYC madness. Great truffle fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Innovative

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

This is a great place. Innovative food in a casual setting. Very convenient if you need to meet someone near Penn Station. Great tacos with a greek flair. Nice beer list. Probably has a good dinner and post-work drink scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was very mediocre. We had slid ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was very mediocre. We had sliders that were so dry that we had to ask for all sorts of other sauces. The staff ignored us for long periods of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent and attentive service. Friendl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellent and attentive service. Friendly, accommodating very pleasant experience overall. 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lamb chops - great cheese board. A ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Great lamb chops - great cheese board. A little over priced IMHO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Saturday Late Lunch Review

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Went with a small group of people. Starters were good but Lamb wasn't cooked well at all and one of the fish dishes was over-salted.

Beer selection is good and with the garden they have, this could be a great neighborhood summer bar...the food needs work.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was AMAZING as was the staff and th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was AMAZING as was the staff and the ambiance. Will definitely come back again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, excellent food, awesome b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great service, excellent food, awesome beer and wine selection... Overall an excellent place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great tasty Greek food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Great tasty Greek food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Enjoyable - and Close to "Sleep No More"

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a nice dinner - very cool spot. Great lighting, soft but not too dark and there are private booths inset into the wall that are great when you can score them. We had the coconut shrimp, which was one of the best dishes - the seafood grill although popular was a mess with too many chickpeas. We also ordered the truffle fries - very tasty but they arrived cold. Good service.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Poor Experience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We sat in the back room which is quiet but it is very dreary. The food was generally bland and uninspiring. As an example there tzatziki was yogurt with a little dill on it. The was poor and service was just fine but there was no one in the place so it should have been better. Would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Romantic spot , especially the closed of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Romantic spot , especially the closed off tables, and food was delicious. We had a great time. Loved the tacos

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty food, but...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

First off, the food itself was very tasty. The sausage sliders and the lamb were absolutely delicious. We looked at the menu and decided to go with a lot of small plates. The menu is geared towards that. We ordered 5 and they all came out at the same time. When at a restaurant with tapas or small plates, they are always staggered a bit, so you can enjoy them and don't have to rush to eat them all before they get cold. All were designed to be hot plates, but only one was hot. The rest were lukewarm or room temperature, as though they had been plated ahead and waited under the lamps until someone ordered them. Then, it was hard to eat them without some going cold before we got around to eating them. Our waiter also seemed "bothered" even though we made no complaints to him. Maybe they were just having an "off-night" with timing in the kitchen (although the restaurant was almost empty).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Death Ave never tasted soo great!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

One of the only great spots in the upper 20's on Trnth Ave. for brunch, dinner, etc. Great restauarnt, awesome atmosphere, focused on Greek, Med. Food. Brought a group of foodies both veggie lovers and carnivores. Something for everyone, and the food is finished beautifully.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, but service needs refinement

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

We were a party of three. We shared an appetizer of a variety of spreads, and all were great. As an entree, the lamb shank was tender and delicious and both my wife and her friend liked their pasta dishes. The ambiance was nice. We were seated in a booth that afforded both space and privacy, which is a very nice touch.

Somewhat disappointing was unrefined service, including the busboy putting the utensils used for the appetizer back on the table to be re-used with the entree rather than replacing with clean silverware, and also trying to pick up dishes when everyone at the table had not finished their dinner. These are small adjustments that would improve the experience, and while annoying, did not detract tremendously from our meal.

The food was so good we will try Death Avenue again in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.