About Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co

315 10th Ave
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co has a playful Hellenic inspired cuisine and cask cocktail program. The menus also features many classic American dishes but with a light Greek undertone. The edgy name is a historic name and we are paying homage to the history of the neighborhood that we are growing roots in. Our establishment is intimate and features a gorgeous 2000 square foot private garden patio. We push the envelop at Death Ave by making cleverly working Hellenic flavors, ingredients and cooking techniques into new dishes and drinks. From cocktails to dessert we take great pride in providing great product and service to our patrons.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sun-Wed: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thurs-Sat: 4:00pm-11:00pm
Brunch Sat & Sun 11:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
28th & 29th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 695-8080

Website:
http://www.deathave.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Private and Event Room - Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Garden - Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY
Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co, New York, NY

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Death Ave provides an array of stunning event spaces for all occasions, from an intimate meeting to an extravagant outdoor reception. Our restaurant features options for indoor and outdoor events that can host up to 250 guests.

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Bar Seating (4)
See All
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tapas (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I visited Death Ave about a year ago fro ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

I visited Death Ave about a year ago from Boston and fell in love with the atmosphere, amazing food, and creative menu. I knew I wanted to come back, so I specifically planned to return! Just as excellent as I remember.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great space, some tables were tucked int ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great space, some tables were tucked into a alcove with velvet curtains. Nice rustic decor. The outdoor garden looked amazing with a bar, games, artistic lighting. Coming soon a brewery in the basement. Also offers a nice side room for small gathering.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was friendly, but inefficien ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

The service was friendly, but inefficient. The food was way over priced for what u got. Tapa portion for entree price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Good food and good ambiance. Came here ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Good food and good ambiance. Came here after a friend's art show opening. We had made a reservation and Death Row had our table ready for us. Because we were a few less than expected they easily moved us to one of the tables in their cubby sections just past the bar. So intimate and lovely and easy to talk closely with friends. We all had different meals and they were all delicious. My sausage tacos were especially wonderful. I love going to this restaurant!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steve and the rest of the staff at Death ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Steve and the rest of the staff at Death Ave. really made our night out a special experience. The shots of house-infused banana bourbon were so smooth and flavorful! Their beer selection is good, but it will become even better once their own brews go on tap (They said some time next month!). The dip trio was an excellent appetizer; the portion size was great and the flavor was exceptional. We also had the Souvlaki "Tacos" with eggplant which were incredible! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place shouldn't be open yet. The foo ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

The place shouldn't be open yet. The food was ok, service was absolutely horrible there were 3 tables in the entire restaurant and the waiter messed up our order and would never check on our table we had to get up to pay. Also they are not a brewery they don't brew their own beer yet this should be noted the place is not good at all I would never come back here to eat. Maybe in the summer when the backyard opens

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food...Great drinks ...Great night ...

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food...Great drinks ...Great night... will definitely go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The decor is nice, but the food is very ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

The decor is nice, but the food is very over-priced for what it is. You can get much better Greek ("Hellenic") food elsewhere, with more vibrant flavors, and better craft cocktails elsewhere as well. Bottles of wine that retail for $12 were $17/glass. Not remotely worth the price.

Tags: Fireplace, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Good wine list. Booth was semi-private, ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Good wine list. Booth was semi-private, and service was prompt, but not rushed. We shared the dishes. Food was all very fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place to share food and drinks wit ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great place to share food and drinks with friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

poor service for a large group, and they ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

poor service for a large group, and they were rude about their difficulty meeting our needs. we discussed access to outdoor space at the time we made a reservation but the outdoor area was closed for renovation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Awesome food, drinks and service.

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Awesome food, drinks and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to leave before ordering more than d ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Had to leave before ordering more than drinks and snacks because the noise level was off the charts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Loved everything about it except for the ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Loved everything about it except for the noise. But there was a party going on so we forgave it! We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Everything!

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great experience. Everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great space and interesting menu. The f ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great space and interesting menu. The food was very good. Service was slow due to a large party ahead of us. Waiter was attentive and apologetic for the wait. Would go again - lots of different seating areas with private booths and an outdoor central patio. Very nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Superb food and service!

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Superb food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Decent food and nice decor

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Decent food and nice decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Service was fast, servers were polite. O ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was fast, servers were polite. Ordered a small appetiser, one small side (that I was talked into because the appetiser portion size was so small), and a small desert that somehow all cost fifty dollars. I will probably not return because the prices are absurd for the very modest portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Excellent service excellent food selecti ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent service excellent food selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fine except the food was ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was fine except the food was a little cold.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I made reservations based on the reviews ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I made reservations based on the reviews and menu. I had high expectations and they were exceeded in every way. Open table offered the option of having flowers sent to the table, they were there when we arrived. I noted it was an anniversary dinner, they set us in one of their curtained, private alcoves which was surprisingly quiet give the busy bar. The drinks with infused spirits set the tone for a classy, fun evening. The food was outstanding, I had the Hellenic BBQ with steak and B had the souvlaki tacos.. You must try! They finished off our evening with a suppose dessert with a candle (unplanned by me) and two glasses of champagne. The staff was very attentive, they didn't seem to mind whose table was whose.. They all kept a discreet eye in case you needed anything. They are all knowledgable about the menu and cocktail items.

I could not have asked for a more wonderful evening. Please.. Please try this place. The bar crowd was hopping, restaurant is low key dress code and it can be as fancy or as casual as you want it to be. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow and inattentive service. A bit over ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Slow and inattentive service. A bit overpriced.

Ordered drinks and ended up leaving before ordering food.

In Death Ave's defense, it still seems as though they're trying to get the restaurant/brewery operational, whilst still trying to serve customers. Not sure that approach is working all that well at the moment.

We may try again in a few months, once the restaurant has gotten into more of a rhythm.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

The owner and service were super friendl ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The owner and service were super friendly and attentive. The garden area is very nicely done. We ate brunch and found the food to be overly spiced, in particular too much salt and pepper.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the better restaurants we've been ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the better restaurants we've been too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious at Death Ave, but ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was delicious at Death Ave, but the service was slow and they forgot our last two dishes - we had to remind them. We attended for Movie Monday and we loved the outdoor seating and ambiance. The food was way too expensive for what it was, but would go back for Movie Monday/ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was fair, the 8 hrs octopus wa ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was fair, the 8 hrs octopus wasn't as tender as I expected it to be. The service was good though.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Very friendly and efficient service, lov ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very friendly and efficient service, lovely and quiet courtyard and great food. The 8-hour octopus is amazing. Go there !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The cheese plate! Especially the manour ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The cheese plate! Especially the manouri. Also, souvlaki tacos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Went here for a dinner with 4 co-workers ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Went here for a dinner with 4 co-workers, all of whom have discerning taste. Death Ave did not disappoint - our dinner was phenomenal. Whereas I had eaten here before, it was everyone else's first time and definitely not their last!

Our dinners included the tacos, the cod, grilled chicken and sliders. Fried pickles for the table and fig ice cream for dessert! Great selection of wines.

The only complaint or critique I would have concerned the burger. I ordered it sans bun or fries and what remained was not as listed on the menu. When I questioned this, the waitress replied that the menu wasn't printed correctly. While accommodating, this should have been mentioned in advance. This is the reason I gave the "service" a score less than perfect.

We sat in the backroom, off the back patio. Sometimes backrooms can feel like a left over or an after thought; instead, this felt like the main event, comparable to the front bar area. Next time we will request to sit out back, as the courtyard looked so charming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I've eaten there before and always had a ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I've eaten there before and always had a good meal with a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The mussels were horrible; limited selec ...

 
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The mussels were horrible; limited selection of gin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Delicious! We got the fresh made pasta a ...

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Delicious! We got the fresh made pasta and lamb burger with truffle fries

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, not great service.

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Death Ave Restaurant & Brewing Co has a great covered outdoor dining area, with a good menu. I ordered the reconstructed Horiatiki salad, with added chicken, my friends had the tacos and a pasta dish. My salad was good, though the one large crouton was a little difficult to "deconstruct" into edible sizes without effort. My friend raved about his tacos with truffle fries. The tacos were so good that he wished there had been three instead of two. The pasta dish was also well received, and we were impressed with the quality of the pasta. The patio was covered with a thick canvas that provided shade and a moderate amount of protection from the rain, which did occur that night.

The biggest drawback to dinner was the service. There was a fair bit of waiting for our orders, and check-ins to see how things were going were few and far between. We had all finished our drinks and sat waiting for someone to ask if we wanted another drink--at a brewery. This was a Saturday evening, and there did not seem to be that much activity. We suspect it was because of the service (and the rain), because the food is good and the ambience was better than average for NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Retro feel!

 
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great space and decor. Loved the outdoor seating, food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hit or Miss, depends on your server.

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This restaurant is in a good location off the Highline, and about the price you'd expect from the neighborhood. Unfortunately, when you have a bad server, the service is horrible. Our waiter, (whom I won't name, but who should be reprimanded) completely neglected us - and his supervisor wasn't paying attention to what was going on to even make sure he was doing his job. To whit - after ordering a drink before delving into the menus, I watched it sweat at the bar for 10 minutes (during which time another server had to bring us water and menus), before I gave up and got it myself. The white sangria is quite refreshing, even with a waterback.

When we ordered from him, we requested a dish be vegetarian, and then it came out (brought to us by a different waiter) with sausage inside. Our waiter did not apologize, he just told us it would be another 10 minutes. The third waiter brought it to us. The vegetarian version of the egg tacos are delicious, and the truffle fries are worth the upgrade.

We had to ask the second waiter (she was lovely, by the way, and very apologetic for the way we were being treated) for the cheque, because our waiter had decided that a larger party was more worth his while. He did, however, show up as we were deliberating how to tip. Was it to apologize for the mix up? No. He wanted to let us know that the original dish came with meat in it (it is possible to build a taco without putting meat in it, it isn't pre-made fried rice) and that "usually people tell us up front that they are vegetarian" (which we had)

It's always great to punctuate your meal with your server blaming you for anything that went wrong with your dining experience was your fault - especially your order.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

What a wonderful place! Gorgeous, charm ...

 
·Dined on May 23, 2016

What a wonderful place! Gorgeous, charming, fun, great food, outstanding service. It's like going on vacation without leaving the neighborhood. We also had an event here and they did an amazing job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool place!

 
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was pretty good. Nothing special. Very cool looking place. Wanted to eat outside but it was too cold. No heaters. Pretty expensive

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The service and food were fantastic. We ...

 
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service and food were fantastic. We will be visiting and again in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Super Delicious!!

 
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This was my second time at Death Ave and the food did not disappoint. Everything was amazing. The food took a little longer to come out but it was well worth the wait. We ordered way too much but whatever wasn't eaten at lunch was gone by the next day. So happy to have this little gem in Chelsea :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.