Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

DeAngelo's

4.2
71 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Business Meals
  • Neighborhood Gem
New York style pizzas, calzones, heaping salads, and pastas with a Louisiana "flare" - you can enjoy all these and more at DeAngelo's, voted one of Bloomington's Best Italian Restaurants. Come visit our casual family oriented restaurant for Italian food at its best.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Pizzeria
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Daily 11:00 am–4:00 pm
Dinner
Mon–Sat 11:00 am–10:00 pm
Sun 11:00 am–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(812) 961-0008
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Beer, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 71 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.2
service
3.5
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our Mother's Day dinner reservation was at 5:00 and the restaurant was half empty when we arrived, so I was incredibly surprised and disappointed when we walked into the dining room to see how filthy the room was. Every bit of carpet was covered in food or bits of trash. Our chairs, table, and menus were greasy or sticky as well. There is no excuse to start the dinner shift without cleaning the carpet.

When we left, 4 staff were hanging out in the waiting area just chatting. Instead of lounging, staff should be cleaning -- running a carpet sweeper over the floor and cleaning the crud off of menus and chairs.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I was skeptical of a restaurant in a shopping mall and my skepticism was well founded. Things started off badly when they were out of their one premium bottle of wine (during IU graduation weekend....really?). So I ordered the $40 bottle vs the $70 bottle. During our dinner, a guy just started vacuuming next to our table (you can’t make this stuff up). It wasn’t a cleanup, he vacuumed for several minutes. On the good front, the egg plant parmesan was quiet good. Please work out your service issues.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The hostess couldn’t find our reservation but found us a booth that was across from the bar. A busy area to sit in but it worked

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Great calzones and pizza specials. Definitely going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

There is nothing especially remarkable about DeAngelo's decor; it is a typical mall-style restaurant wedged between two large retail stores. But it is a comfortable place, with a friendly and efficient staff. Since I prefer places that are quiet enough that one can converse without shouting, I was very comfortable with the noise level and the lack of wallpaper music. But to the real point: the food was very good. On my first visit I had a full order of calamari appetizer ($10) and the meat lasagna entree ($17), served with bread and oil. I enjoyed both so thoroughly that I returned a few days later and had exactly the same meal. The second experience was just as good as the first. As a bonus, on Thursdays $10 buys you a 1.5 liter bottle of wine (I chose a California Merlot, and it was quite decent). I don't know if this is a temporary promotion, but it is worth taking advantage of while it lasts.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Always consistent and absolutely delicious! Highly recommendable to all ages.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great food and friendly casual atmosphere. :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Son’s birthday. He received some complimentary tiramisu.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 28, 2018

The best thing I can say is that I was able to make a reservation on an otherwise busy day in our College Town. Thank you Open Table! Just afraid the restaurant is a bit BLAH...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Came in and waited for 10 until after 10mins. A manager finally acknowledged us even those he saw us when we walked in. Totally was ignored. We asked a couple in front of us. They said the same thing. The server was terrible. She was unhappy. We asked for a large pizza and calamari and never saw calamari and she came back with a medium size pizza. Food was good. Just bad and bad management. If u r an owner, do something...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

we were recommended DeAngelo's and were not at all disappointed. the service was great and the food was fantastic. appetizers were wonderful. we had a variety of their specialties and calzones. desserts were great as well. will definitely be back. nice wine list for a smaller restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Outstanding dinner! We ordered the shrimp and crawfish diavolo as well as the crawfish etouffe. Both of them were terrific. The calzone was also extremely good. I would definitely go back. Our waiter, Michael, was wonderful!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 29, 2017

We have been eating at DeAngelos since it opened, many years ago. It remains one of our favorite Bloomington restaurants. Good food, excellent service, pleasant ambiance. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 15, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and loved the idea of being able to choose Cajun or Italian entrees. Will definitely recommend to others.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 3, 2017

It's really a shame that there is no "adult supervision" at this restaurant, because the food is actually very good. Yes, it's location near Indiana University in Bloomington makes it entirely logical that college students would represent a large part of the service staff. However, the college student staff at DeAngelo's are not properly supervised by more seasoned staff member that would impart a more serious attitude about service quality.

Along these lines, we found the atmosphere at DeAngelo's to be more about the college student employees having a good time, rather than them focusing on the quality of service that is provided to customers. Thus, while the employees always seem to be having a good time, a member of our party was served the wrong meal, and we had to keep asking our server many times for something as basic as water refills and additional napkins. Disappointing for sure.

Again, this is really a shame, because the food is often times excellent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Not my favorite place to take for special diner to astudent member of our family
Totally disappointed!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 10, 2017

Everything was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 26, 2017

Service was slow tonight, but the food was more than worth waiting for.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 25, 2017

The special that day was $10 bottles of wine but they were out of all the sweet/semi-sweet bottles. The menu isn't very creative...almost all of the pasta dishes were traditional that someone could make at home, yet the price doesn't reflect such simple dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2017

DeAngelo's never disappoints. I had not been there for awhile and it's good to see that things are still the same. Great food, ambiance and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was just OK. While the chicken alfredo wa al dente, it was rather bland and the chicken was dry and flavorless. The chianti was average for the price. The tiramisu was outstanding however. It is odd for an Italian restaurant not to have veal on the menu?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Nice place to gather with family. The food is solidly good and the wait staff very friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2017

They didn't have my reservation. I have no idea why not since I received emails from Open Table confirming and reminders too. They did accommodate us and thank goodness since it was graduation weekend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2017

Some of the food was good. My entre was extremely bland. Maybe I should have stuck to their specialties listed on the menu (my husband ravioli which was a special was delicious).
While the server was attentive, she was almost aggressively so, and I wouldn't say she was friendly.
There really wasn't anything special about the restaurant or the good. We won't be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2017

Chicken and mushroom ravioli was delicious and the texture of the pasta was excellent. Service was fast and polite. Calzones had tasty, crisp crusts.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2017

Generous portions and very tasty. We were there on half price wine night, which was a bonus. Food was good and more than enough. Ended up taking some home.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2017

This is a busy non-chain local Italian restaurant. The cuisine tastes home made. The ravioli entree and the calzones my party ordered were delicious. The service was friendly and efficient. Prices seemed a little high for a hometown family restaurant, this being said, I am looking forward to my next meal at DeAngelo's!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2017

Good took forever but was good. We had tickets to basketball game and thought we left plenty of time but it was busy to took an extra long time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2017

DeAngelo's is reliably good. Have never had a bad meal there. Hubby loves their spaghetti and meatballs! Very friendly service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 28, 2017

They are busy you better make a reservation or forget it.There was a couple of big parties which got the most of the attention. It was just my wife and I and we was lucky to get a refill on our drinks. I wouldn't go back my wife said she would I thought it was overpriced and small portions

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 21, 2017

We went to DeAngelo's after an Indiana basketball game. It seems to be a hot spot so plan accordingly with reservations. Open table worked great. I enjoyed to beer selection with several good craft beers. I had the Tuscan Chopped salad as a starter. Not what I would call an authentic chopped salad but I enjoyed the salad. Also shared a NY style pizza which was spot on and some really good spicy meatball. This is an Italian restaurant but has a few New Orleans influenced items that I found very tasty. I would recommend the Spicy Jambalaya. Someone in the group has a calzone that also looked good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 12, 2016

I have been coming to DeAngelos since it opened, many years ago. Love the place. Good food, outstanding waiters, enjoyable atmosphere. I like it equally for lunch and for dinner, for pizza and for other dishes. A good small wine list.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 27, 2016

Not our first time at DeAngelo's, and it won't be our last! We love the food and informal, friendly atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 30, 2016

We really enjoyed the casual atmosphere. Our server was really knowledgable and gave great recommendations. The food was really good and we very much enjoyed the whole experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 23, 2016

surprised this was on open table. one notch above pizzaria. slow/forgetfull service. hot food served luke warm

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 4, 2016

We went there Sunday, Sept 4, 2016 for lunch because we found a Groupon deal. I was not impressed. We ordered calamari for an appetizer, which were more pretty tasteless and kind of greasy. Our calzone was soggy. My son, who normally loves any pizza he is given, took one bite and would not eat any more. My daughter said her kid's spaghetti was pretty good, though. The two desserts we ordered, the Peanut Butter Explosion and one with lemon and raspberry were extremely tiny for $6.50 each. Even the free bread was plain and tasteless, but was edible with marina sauce and olive oil. Sorry DeAngelos, but we were very disappointed. For a better deal and much better food, I'm going back across the street to Fazolis.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 30, 2016

Surprisely nice interior and a great wait staff. Portions were smaller than expected but very tasty. Definitely worth another trip!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2016

I am very happy with the experience I had at DeAngelo's. We were seated immediately upon entering the restaurant. The food was amazing and our waitress, Katie, was very attentive throughout our time there.

I had the Homemade Meat Lasagna and it was amazing. I enjoyed how the meat in the lasagna was a little spicy and how it had so much flavor. My husband had the Meatball and Sausage Calzone and enjoyed it, as well. He didn't anticipate ricotta cheese being in it (which he doesn't like), but he said in the future that he'd just ask them to leave out the ricotta cheese.

Overall, we enjoyed our food and will be going back in the future.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 4, 2016

We have eaten at DeAngelo's several times and the food has always been very good. Service is always just right as well. When IU is in session, it can get really crowded so plan ahead.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2016

Had A 6:30 Reservation Got Right In With No Wait. We Had The Spicy Meatballs As Are Appetizer, We Loved Them. Our Entrées Arrived Shortly After We Were Very Hot, We Had Too Let Them Cool Before Eating & That's Fine With Me. Priced Appropriately & We'll Be Back.

Report
Helpful
1
2

Tweets by DeAngelo's