Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi

About DeAngelo's

New York style pizzas, calzones, heaping salads, and pastas with a Louisiana "flare" - you can enjoy all these and more at DeAngelo's, voted one of Bloomington's Best Italian Restaurants. Come visit our casual family oriented restaurant for Italian food at its best.

2620 East Third Street
Bloomington, IN 47401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 961-0008

Website:
http://www.deangelosbloomington.com/

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

DeAngelo's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
See All
Casual (3)
Family Style (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
53 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The special that day was $10 bottles of wine but they were out of all the sweet/semi-sweet bottles. The menu isn't very creative...almost all of the pasta dishes were traditional that someone could make at home, yet the price doesn't reflect such simple dishes.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

DeAngelo's never disappoints. I had not been there for awhile and it's good to see that things are still the same. Great food, ambiance and service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was just OK. While the chicken alfredo wa al dente, it was rather bland and the chicken was dry and flavorless. The chianti was average for the price. The tiramisu was outstanding however. It is odd for an Italian restaurant not to have veal on the menu?

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Nice place to gather with family. The food is solidly good and the wait staff very friendly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

They didn't have my reservation. I have no idea why not since I received emails from Open Table confirming and reminders too. They did accommodate us and thank goodness since it was graduation weekend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Some of the food was good. My entre was extremely bland. Maybe I should have stuck to their specialties listed on the menu (my husband ravioli which was a special was delicious).
While the server was attentive, she was almost aggressively so, and I wouldn't say she was friendly.
There really wasn't anything special about the restaurant or the good. We won't be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Chicken and mushroom ravioli was delicious and the texture of the pasta was excellent. Service was fast and polite. Calzones had tasty, crisp crusts.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Generous portions and very tasty. We were there on half price wine night, which was a bonus. Food was good and more than enough. Ended up taking some home.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is a busy non-chain local Italian restaurant. The cuisine tastes home made. The ravioli entree and the calzones my party ordered were delicious. The service was friendly and efficient. Prices seemed a little high for a hometown family restaurant, this being said, I am looking forward to my next meal at DeAngelo's!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good took forever but was good. We had tickets to basketball game and thought we left plenty of time but it was busy to took an extra long time

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

DeAngelo's is reliably good. Have never had a bad meal there. Hubby loves their spaghetti and meatballs! Very friendly service!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They are busy you better make a reservation or forget it.There was a couple of big parties which got the most of the attention. It was just my wife and I and we was lucky to get a refill on our drinks. I wouldn't go back my wife said she would I thought it was overpriced and small portions

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went to DeAngelo's after an Indiana basketball game. It seems to be a hot spot so plan accordingly with reservations. Open table worked great. I enjoyed to beer selection with several good craft beers. I had the Tuscan Chopped salad as a starter. Not what I would call an authentic chopped salad but I enjoyed the salad. Also shared a NY style pizza which was spot on and some really good spicy meatball. This is an Italian restaurant but has a few New Orleans influenced items that I found very tasty. I would recommend the Spicy Jambalaya. Someone in the group has a calzone that also looked good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I have been coming to DeAngelos since it opened, many years ago. Love the place. Good food, outstanding waiters, enjoyable atmosphere. I like it equally for lunch and for dinner, for pizza and for other dishes. A good small wine list.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Not our first time at DeAngelo's, and it won't be our last! We love the food and informal, friendly atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We really enjoyed the casual atmosphere. Our server was really knowledgable and gave great recommendations. The food was really good and we very much enjoyed the whole experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

surprised this was on open table. one notch above pizzaria. slow/forgetfull service. hot food served luke warm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went there Sunday, Sept 4, 2016 for lunch because we found a Groupon deal. I was not impressed. We ordered calamari for an appetizer, which were more pretty tasteless and kind of greasy. Our calzone was soggy. My son, who normally loves any pizza he is given, took one bite and would not eat any more. My daughter said her kid's spaghetti was pretty good, though. The two desserts we ordered, the Peanut Butter Explosion and one with lemon and raspberry were extremely tiny for $6.50 each. Even the free bread was plain and tasteless, but was edible with marina sauce and olive oil. Sorry DeAngelos, but we were very disappointed. For a better deal and much better food, I'm going back across the street to Fazolis.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Surprisely nice interior and a great wait staff. Portions were smaller than expected but very tasty. Definitely worth another trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I am very happy with the experience I had at DeAngelo's. We were seated immediately upon entering the restaurant. The food was amazing and our waitress, Katie, was very attentive throughout our time there.

I had the Homemade Meat Lasagna and it was amazing. I enjoyed how the meat in the lasagna was a little spicy and how it had so much flavor. My husband had the Meatball and Sausage Calzone and enjoyed it, as well. He didn't anticipate ricotta cheese being in it (which he doesn't like), but he said in the future that he'd just ask them to leave out the ricotta cheese.

Overall, we enjoyed our food and will be going back in the future.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 4, 2016

We have eaten at DeAngelo's several times and the food has always been very good. Service is always just right as well. When IU is in session, it can get really crowded so plan ahead.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Had A 6:30 Reservation Got Right In With No Wait. We Had The Spicy Meatballs As Are Appetizer, We Loved Them. Our Entrées Arrived Shortly After We Were Very Hot, We Had Too Let Them Cool Before Eating & That's Fine With Me. Priced Appropriately & We'll Be Back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were there for my daughters graduation from IU with a party of six. Great food, interesting menu, nice atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were suspicious of the ability of this restaurant to deliver considering the location and interior but we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. The calzones and chicken parmasean were delicious. They need more wait staff to refill drinks but the Easter lunch was great. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 26, 2016

This seems to be what I call a classic "American Italian" restaurant. Menu items cover the traditional Italian food. The food quality was good. Not much choice in terms of seafood items.
Initially, there was a loud talker in the bar which we could hear all the way where we were sitting in the main section. But after we complained and the person left, everything was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was good, our table shared a variety and all liked what we tried, tho the service was a tad slow; our reservation was at 5, well before the dinner rush, this makes me hesitant to go back for a later meal but will definitely go back if only for a late lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Went before an IU basketball game. Was able to make reservations with ease. Had a great meal was not rushed and made it to game in plenty of time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 23, 2016

Didn't even know it was there. A friend who lives in Bloomington suggested it to us. Couldn't believe we have never heard of this gem. Excellent food, service, ambiance. We will definitely make it one of our regulars. And owned by an awesome gentleman.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2016

We have been going to DeAngelo's since it opened in Bloomington, well over a decade ago. It's a pleasant local Italian place with good food, very good value and outstanding service. Hope it remains here a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2015

They were very busy with it being post college football game in Bloomington. Struggled a little getting people seated, but I think they were confronted with a bunch of walk-ins.

The service was personable and efficient in light of the crowds. There was a wide variety of food ordered at our table of four and everyone was pleased with their meal.

Reasonable prices, efficient friendly service, good food. That's definitely a do again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 26, 2015

This was our second visit and it was wonderful! Food is just delicious! Not terribly fond of the roasted garlic for the bread but better with salt and pepper. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 6, 2015

For some reason, we never think of this restaurant when we're deciding on a place to eat. I guess it's the location in a strip mall. But the food is delicious! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 16, 2015

Food was ok, nothing to go out of your way for. In addition to Italian, DeAngelos serves New Orleans style food. I had shrimp creole, but it was average and not a whole lot of flavor. Not what I expected. Stick with Italian food. Good sized portions. Good deserts.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 4, 2015

The staff were nice, the appetizer was good, but the main corse, not so good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 8, 2015

This is our favorite Italian restaurant in Bloomington! Took an out of town guest and she said it was the best Italan food she has ever eaten. The vegetarian lasagna, calzones are all fantastic. Kids love the kids pizza. Decent wine list. If you have a larger party, plan ahead or make a reservation o to avoid the dinner hour Rush.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 19, 2015

We had never been to Bloomington before, so we decided to take a recommendation from Open Table. The restaurant is in a strip mall, and it has seen better days. It's a typical college town restaurant with typical college students working there. i.e., No chefs in the kitchen. Chicken parmesan was not crisp, and came with a side of forgettable "spaghetti". Pricey to boot, so look elsewhere for a better dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 18, 2015

Waiter was excellent. Food was great. Location convenient. Much nicer inside than appears from outside. Made for a wonderful girl's night out. Affordable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2015

The food has always been good and the staff always very friendly and making sure that your food is good and you have everything that you need. I love going to DeAngelo's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 28, 2014

Very nice menu and the food is well prepared. Seemed very fresh. Better than the chains!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2014

Part of our group of 7 was held up in traffic and late getting to the restaurant by 1 hour. Our waiter made us feel VERY comfortable at our table and told us not to worry about the delay. He brought us bread and we ordered appetizers. It was not a problem that we occupied our big table for a long time. Incidentally, it was my mother's 87th birthday--he brought her a special dessert on the house too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.