About DeAngelo's

2620 East Third Street
Bloomington, IN 47401
View Larger Map

New York style pizzas, calzones, heaping salads, and pastas with a Louisiana "flare" - you can enjoy all these and more at DeAngelo's, voted one of Bloomington's Best Italian Restaurants. Come visit our casual family oriented restaurant for Italian food at its best.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 961-0008

Website:
http://www.deangelosbloomington.com/

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

DeAngelo's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

3.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Bloomington
Best Restaurants in Bloomington ›

good for groups (5)
kid-friendly (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
See All
great for lunch (3)
fit for foodies (3)
notable wine list (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
31 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Had A 6:30 Reservation Got Right In With ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Had A 6:30 Reservation Got Right In With No Wait. We Had The Spicy Meatballs As Are Appetizer, We Loved Them. Our Entrées Arrived Shortly After We Were Very Hot, We Had Too Let Them Cool Before Eating & That's Fine With Me. Priced Appropriately & We'll Be Back.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were there for my daughters graduation from IU with a party of six. Great food, interesting menu, nice atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Easter Lunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We were suspicious of the ability of this restaurant to deliver considering the location and interior but we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. The calzones and chicken parmasean were delicious. They need more wait staff to refill drinks but the Easter lunch was great. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

good restaurant

Dined on March 26, 2016

This seems to be what I call a classic "American Italian" restaurant. Menu items cover the traditional Italian food. The food quality was good. Not much choice in terms of seafood items. Initially, there was a loud talker in the bar which we could hear all the way where we were sitting in the main section. But after we complained and the person left, everything was fine.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Was pretty good...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was good, our table shared a variety and all liked what we tried, tho the service was a tad slow; our reservation was at 5, well before the dinner rush, this makes me hesitant to go back for a later meal but will definitely go back if only for a late lunch.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went before an IU basketball game. Was a ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

Went before an IU basketball game. Was able to make reservations with ease. Had a great meal was not rushed and made it to game in plenty of time.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

BEST KEPT SECRET IN BLOOMINGTON

Dined on January 23, 2016

Didn't even know it was there. A friend who lives in Bloomington suggested it to us. Couldn't believe we have never heard of this gem. Excellent food, service, ambiance. We will definitely make it one of our regulars. And owned by an awesome gentleman.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

DeAngelo's Recommended

Dined on January 15, 2016

We have been going to DeAngelo's since it opened in Bloomington, well over a decade ago. It's a pleasant local Italian place with good food, very good value and outstanding service. Hope it remains here a very long time.

food4
ambience3
service4

Busy Football Evening at IU

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

They were very busy with it being post college football game in Bloomington. Struggled a little getting people seated, but I think they were confronted with a bunch of walk-ins. The service was personable and efficient in light of the crowds. There was a wide variety of food ordered at our table of four and everyone was pleased with their meal. Reasonable prices, efficient friendly service, good food. That's definitely a do again.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious again!

vip
Dined on September 26, 2015

This was our second visit and it was wonderful! Food is just delicious! Not terribly fond of the roasted garlic for the bread but better with salt and pepper. We will definitely be back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Really good!

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

For some reason, we never think of this restaurant when we're deciding on a place to eat. I guess it's the location in a strip mall. But the food is delicious! We will definitely be back!

food3
ambience3
service4

Food was ok, nothing to go out of your w ...

Dined on August 16, 2015

Food was ok, nothing to go out of your way for. In addition to Italian, DeAngelos serves New Orleans style food. I had shrimp creole, but it was average and not a whole lot of flavor. Not what I expected. Stick with Italian food. Good sized portions. Good deserts.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience4
service4

The staff were nice, the appetizer was g ...

Dined on April 4, 2015

The staff were nice, the appetizer was good, but the main corse, not so good

food5
ambience5
service5

We love deangelos

Dined on March 8, 2015

This is our favorite Italian restaurant in Bloomington! Took an out of town guest and she said it was the best Italan food she has ever eaten. The vegetarian lasagna, calzones are all fantastic. Kids love the kids pizza. Decent wine list. If you have a larger party, plan ahead or make a reservation o to avoid the dinner hour Rush.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

Don't go out of your way...

vip
Dined on January 19, 2015

We had never been to Bloomington before, so we decided to take a recommendation from Open Table. The restaurant is in a strip mall, and it has seen better days. It's a typical college town restaurant with typical college students working there. i.e., No chefs in the kitchen. Chicken parmesan was not crisp, and came with a side of forgettable "spaghetti". Pricey to boot, so look elsewhere for a better dining experience.

food4
ambience3
service5

Italian food in Bloomington, Indiana

Dined on January 18, 2015

Waiter was excellent. Food was great. Location convenient. Much nicer inside than appears from outside. Made for a wonderful girl's night out. Affordable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I think DeAngelo's is good for anytime.

Dined on January 10, 2015

The food has always been good and the staff always very friendly and making sure that your food is good and you have everything that you need. I love going to DeAngelo's

food4
ambience3
service3

Authentic Italian

Dined on December 28, 2014

Very nice menu and the food is well prepared. Seemed very fresh. Better than the chains!

food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous waiter!

Dined on September 26, 2014

Part of our group of 7 was held up in traffic and late getting to the restaurant by 1 hour. Our waiter made us feel VERY comfortable at our table and told us not to worry about the delay. He brought us bread and we ordered appetizers. It was not a problem that we occupied our big table for a long time. Incidentally, it was my mother's 87th birthday--he brought her a special dessert on the house too.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4

not as good as usual

Dined on July 15, 2014

I have eaten there several times, and did recommend to friends. This time, however, on Monday night for dinner to celebrate a couple's engagement, the food was not as good. The flat bread was very skimpy on toppings, and eggplant parmesan was the last one (3 of us ordered that but only 1 left!) and was dried up and tough. I was the host for the 5 guests, and I was very disappointed in this meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone we came into contact with begin ...

Dined on June 14, 2014

Everyone we came into contact with beginning with 2 people who answered the phone regarding a reservation question to our waiter was polite and accomodating. We had a party of 13 and things were set up accordingly when we added another person to our party the night of the dinner. our waiter was kind and efficient with splitting our checks without any problems. the food was great! especially the lasagne. will definitely dine her again! we saw several other families in the restaurant and larger parties and all seemed to be managed well!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Slow food, but worth the wait.

Dined on May 11, 2014

We were a little surprised at the time it took for our food to be brought out. The restaurant was not full to capacity, but we did have to wait for quite awhile. Perhaps there was a shortage of chefs due to the college graduation the previous day. I always love the taste of the food I order. The Sunday special, all you can eat spaghetti and meatballs was enjoyed by several in our group. Others of us ordered the calzones and no one left hungry. We have gone to DeAngelos for anniversaries, holidays and just for a date night. One of my favorite Bloomington eateries.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Good Italian

vip
Dined on March 5, 2014

Looking for a place to dine our first night in town. Enjoyed the food - tasty and good sized potions, and the service was great!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dining

Dined on February 16, 2014

We've been going here for years and love it! Any minor problems that have come up have been well handled by the manager and the owner. This is really fresh and delicious food with a great atmosphere and good service at a fair price. I highly recommend dining here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2

Great Food, a tad slow on service

Dined on February 15, 2014

This is the 7 or 8th time i've eaten at De Angelo's. I always enjoy the food, the wine list, and the atmosphere. The restaurant was busy but not full. The food, as always, was excellent. The cream sauce is 2nd to none. This time however the service was a little slow. Samantha was our waitress and though she was attentive, it seemed that there were some mistakes coming out of the kitchen as lots of plates were being returned to the kitchen due to missing items, not prepared correctly etc. Our food did come out correctly but was a little slow. Overall, I rated DeAngelo's a 4/5 but a 2/5 on service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Super Shrimp

Dined on February 15, 2014

Some of the best shrimp I've ever had.......and the dessert was fantastic

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

This is our favorite neighborhood

Dined on February 14, 2014

This is our favorite neighborhood restaurant. The food is always delicious, service great, and an nice wine list. My husband I always share a DeAngelo salad then choose our own entrees. My favorite is the chicken lemon alfredo, though there are many items on their menu that I enjoy. It's our go-to place for special occasions or just an impromptu night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

Dined on February 14, 2014

We loved DeAngelos last Friday night! We were coming into Bloomington and the weather delayed us. I called Deangelos and they kept our reservation for us. We were 1 1/2 hours late due to bad weather and they were so kind to us. Food & service was great! Highly recommend it!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3

Food was good. Order of soup

Dined on February 6, 2014

Food was good. Order of soup never arrived, but we were in a group of 7. Otherwise service was good. It was too dark in the restaurant. All in all a good place for lunch on the East side.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Italian food and

Dined on December 31, 2013

Delicious Italian food and friendly server. Seating can be open or slightly intimate. Good for casual or dressy/special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1

Sub par

Dined on November 29, 2013

I thought I was taking my family out for a delicious, nice meal. Food was just so-so. Waited a very long time from time of ordering to getting our meals. We joked about maybe our order had been lost and were considering going to Fazoli's. Way over priced for the quality of our meals. Probably won't be back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.