About Dean & DeLuca

6903 Phillips Place Court
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Just five minutes from the center city in the Southpark neighborhood is Charlotte's ultimate tasting experience, DEAN & DELUCA's Wine Room. Here we serve North Carolina's greatest selection of American and International wines, with more than 50 different wines by the glass and 500 by the bottle. We also feature small-production, hard-to-find selections, many exclusive to DEAN & DELUCA.

Enjoy your meal and wine inside or out.

The DEAN & DELUCA Wine Room is the perfect place to meet with friends, relax and enjoy wonderful wines and food. And if you are having a business meeting we’re happy to arrange your event.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: 12pm-11pm
Sunday: 12pm-10pm

Breakfast Hours
Monday-Friday: 8am-11am
Saturday: 8am-2pm
Sunday: 8am-2pm

Cross Street:
Cameron Valley Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 643-5152

Website:
http://www.deandeluca.com/aboutus/CharlotteWineRoom.aspx

Entertainment:
Join us for live music every Wednesday and Thursday

Parking Details:
Choose from valet, or our ample parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Andrés Moncayo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dean & DeLuca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Casual (6)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Live Music (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Cozy (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tapas (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Romantic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Fun and yummy

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous! Great food and ambience. Bartender was perfect!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went there for Valentine's Day and enjoyed a great bottle of wine but the food was disappointing. The crab claws in the Seafood Sampler were frozen and not thoroughly defrosted. The lobster tail was very overcooked and rubbery. The crabcake however was delicious.

The gnocchi was overcooked to the point of gumminess and the branzino was not properly filleted - I don't mind one or two pinbones but there were at least half a dozen.

Nothing special was offered for dessert - we shared a cheesecake in a heartshaped dish - it was more corny than delicious.

Just felt like they got sloppy with the preparation and not a lot of thought went into the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Overall I was pleased. I would definitely go back again. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. We didn't have to wait a long time for our food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love the bartender staff not crazy about manager they didn't have our table reserved so we had to squish in at bar fortunately Scott the bartender was great and the menu shown at the door was not available so that was disappointing. It's a pricey wine bar but it's convenient if we want a small bite and the bar staff and local crowd keeps us going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Dean & Deluca is our local go-to choice before/ after a movie or shopping. Food and service always good with a changing menu. Fun, reasonably priced wine list.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Terrible experience from start to finish. Poorly managed restaurant. Still waiting on something to drink-just a refill on my water would have been great. Never made it to the food-we left and the manager offered nothing -would not speak to us. We were not asking for free food -just wanted to talk--Interesting way of handling things, huh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Absolutely wonderful!!

This is definitely a. Ice spot for a "first date"!!!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very pleasant atmosphere. Food was great and waitstaff was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The good was very good, lobster bisque and beef stroganoff. The wine was good too. All fair price. The service was limited at best. The noise level was too high to talk to anyone. They need to address sound absorption issues. Also to add to the noise issue was live music, which was good, but also complicated the already terrible noise level issue. It actually ruined dinner. We left with a very lack luster feeling, not really wanting to dine or drink there again. The waitress could care less as to our presence.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I loved our meal here. We did the queen's feast menu, the seafood pasta apparently did not have much flavor by my lobster bisque,Chicken Saltimbocca and bourbon bread pudding were excellent! Great service, nice environment for chatting and great live music later in the evening too! Looking forward to another visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Enjoy the lunch and had a pleasant glass of wine. We had our grandson with us and he really enjoyed the hamburger and fries. Our waiter was extremely helpful particularly as my husband has to use a walker. Overall very pleasant.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 12, 2017

It was a ok experience. It was an easy place to grab a quick bite and drink after the movies, parking can be difficult , our server was attentive, found small plates very small.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dean and DeLuca provides consistency in the quality of the food and the servers are always willing to go above and beyond. I have been here many times and Ahmad and Insaf have provided an unforgettable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I had a really great experience this year. A friend and I get up every year here when I come to visit from chicago. The bar tender was the server. He was attentive and personable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very dissapointed because very expensive but food and service were average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great time with friends. Live music and efficient staff. Dessert yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food was very good though portions are a bit small, but pricing is in line. Great atmosphere with live music, but was a slow night. Great wine list and pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

D&D wine bar is a nice neighborhood place for a quiet dinner and excellent wine selection. Our dishes this evening were well-prepared and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Food serving size is very small I had to eat fast food after leaving to get full. Nice environment. Food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

we met friends for dinner after the movies at Phillips Place, which is really convenient. we like it because it has a good wine list and there's a varied selection of food. our server was very friendly and efficient. i ordered beef stroganoff ( as did a friend ) since had there before several times and you don't find on menus elsewhere.

this was disappointing. the dish was dried out and lukewarm.

we had a cheese plate before the dinner, which was enjoyable with our wine.

i'd go back but wouldn't order the stroganoff again.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Service was really great. Lots of personal attention. Wine was pretty awesome. Food was great. I especially enjoyed the tempura oyster salad. Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Mussels were good as well as the sparkling wine flight

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2016

They try hard here food is good. Doesn't work well for parties over four as they only have bar seating. Very accommodating but think I'd eat next door next time at upstream for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2016

slow, poor service and dirty dishes. will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We dined there for dinner during the recent Queens Feast restaurant week. Everything went very well, we had a reservation and were seated immediately at a nice table. The food was great from the starters to dessert and the service was excellent. Will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Really expected more of a wine and food pairing experience...really did not get that.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Appetizers were great as was the service. Music was a great bonus. Short ribs were cooked perfectly but the chicken not so much( dry).

We'll definitely return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was excellent even though the choices were limited (not too many). The wine choices were excellent however, the pricing was Way out of line ! I have paid the same in other restaurants for 6 oz. that you are charging for 2oz. The charge for the 9oz seemed to be as much for 1/2 bottle. I guess I wasn't watching that you actually sold 2oz. glasses for dinner. Maybe our waiter needed to point that out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Another nice experience. I stopped in for a quick bite. It was early and not crowded. I took the suggestion of the server for a lovely glass of chardonnay and the kale caesar salad. Both were excellent and I will certainly return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was ok....I have specter more from Dean and DeLuca for the prices charges. Service was slow and I made my reservation on Open Table only to receive a notice from Open Table that I was listed as a no show. My party spent a lot of money that evening...it wasn't busy and this was very irritating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Elegant dining with a casual feel. The service was great and timely. I enjoyed their extensive wine list. Definitely recommend for all to try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very disappointed in the service. The hostess was dismissive of our party and made us feel like we were not wanted. The food was mediocre. I expected a lot more from Dean and Deluca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 2, 2016

The wine and service was excellent. We had a very attentive waiter (but not too much). We were taken immediately to our table per notes in my reservation (i.e., window table).

My only complaint is that there was a large group of people near our table who created quite a bit of noise and may it difficult to talk with/hear my guest.

The hostess was very apologetic about the noise and I would try Dean and Deluca again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Loved it! I'm so impressed with the way that they have the place set up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice ambiance. Great date night restaurant. We started with a wine flight where we had a tasting of some of the amazing wines at the wine bar. Our meals was delicious & the dessert was amazing. The service was a little slow but I enjoyed ten extra time to chat & snuggle with the hubby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food, good idea the Mother's Day brunch. Worst service ever! The waitress didn't have a clue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food selection was good, omelets, pork, turkey, breakfast, shrimp, pastries, crab cake eggs benedict. My only surprise was the price $40/person which seemed a little high for what was offered, otherwise it was really good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Okay so the Mother's Day brunch food was good but the price was a bit ridiculous. We had four adults and 1 child, 3 glasses of champagne, 1 glass white wine and one Dr. Browns soda. Cost with automatically added gratuity was $312. Service was bad and it was a buffet. Totally over priced. My fault though , I didn't inquire about prices on anything. Will never go back, for Mother's Day anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the second year we've booked our Mothers Day brunch and like last year, it didn't disappoint. Buffet selection was outstanding; everything from shrimp cocktail to kale lobster salad to omelet station. Service was also excellent. We will definitely return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a party of 8 entire experience was great for a Friday night! Food was excellent my only complaint was they did not refill our water glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 26, 2016

Good food, good wine and a nice evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2016

I went in to try their new menu. I chose the Halibut Entrée and was not disappointed. It was wonderful. A great glass wine and good music completed the evening. Can't wait to take my wife to enjoy the Seafood Tower.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent Cafe Style restaurant with large selection of wines, cheese and meat options with fresh seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2016

From reservation to paying the check, I was so impressed with this restaurant that I didn't even realize existed! My server, Darnell, had a fairly demanding party of 12 and little ol' me. Usually solos get ignored in this case. Not with Darnell. He took great care of me.

What a generous wine list. There were several by-the-glass wines I would have loved, but I wanted to try something new - I enjoyed the "European Vacation" flight of red wine. The snapper (recommended by Darnell) was SO good. They left the skin on and it was crispy while the inside was flaky. Served with broccolini and mashed potatoes. The sauce was really yummy.

All this while "Leslie and Rico Due" played jazzy and and easy listening numbers. They are there every Thursday night.

I loved this place so much, I am going to bring my wine club!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2016

Longstanding favorite, especially the patio & service. Love the cheese plate & crab-cake salad is excellent! Our six year old loves the calamari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 6, 2016

High price for pretty average food. All the food was acceptable, but nothing to rave about here. Except the tab!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2016

We stopped here for lunch while shopping in Charlotte before heading to the airport. It was about 2:00 PM on a Monday, so the place was pretty empty. We waited for the hostess for about 10 minutes (seeing no one) before a waiter sat us. He was pleasant, but not attentive (my iced tea was a bout 3/4 full and had no lemon, no straw, no sugar bowl, no spoon). The food came out pretty quickly. I had the club sandwich (it was massive) and it was on white bread that wasn't toasted enough to hold a big sandwich. The whole thing totally fell apart and I had to eat it with a fork. My friend had the BLT with avocado which looked better, he said it was "pretty good". Both came with fries, which were room temp. We had to chase down the waiter for the check, which is always annoying.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Had Easter Brunch here...great food, great service. Good selection of food including some good provision for children. Was a little surprised that we had to pay for the mimosa we were offered. Would certainly visit again next time we are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.