About DBGB- New York

299 Bowery
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Indulge in a refined menu of carnivorous delicacies, served alongside a wide selection of craft beer and sommelier selected wine at New York’s coolest industrial bistro. A fresh take on the classic French brasserie, DBGB- New York is one of the city’s hottest downtown spots and a can’t be missed for an after work outing. Helmed by the incomparable Chef Daniel Boulud, this restaurant and bar features a Lyonnais-inspired menu of bistro cuisine in a warm and rustic setting.

Guests can enjoy the chef’s creations in a private dining room within Boulud’s kitchen for a truly exceptional private dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5pm - 10:00pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 5pm - 11:00pm

Friday: 12:00pm - 12:00am

Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Houston and 1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 933-5300

Website:
http://www.dbgb.com/nyc/

Entertainment:
Great Music, Great Food, Great Friends! An Open Kitchen, Whole Hogs, and the famous Flaming Baked Alaska to boot!

Catering:
Inquire by phone, 212-933-5300, or order online via TRYCAVIAR.COM

Parking Details:
Street parking and garages, located on 22 East 1st (between 2nd Ave and Bowery) or 321 Bowery (btwn 2nd St & Bleecker)

Public Transit:
B, D, F & M to Broadway-Lafayette

6 to Bleecker Street

N/R to Prince

J to Bowery

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Tang

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


From our intimate private dining room, The Kitchen Table, which seats 18 in a private room amidst chefs, to a full buyout of the restaurant, DBGB is the perfect spot for any special occasion! We can easily accommodate larger groups from 8 to 30 people in our dining room and bar room.

Check out our large format Whole Beast Feasts* (Hog, Beef or Lamb) to share with your favorite friends and family for a unique and memorable experience!

Call the restaurant or email our events coordinator Matt Renskers: mrenskers@danielnyc.com

*Please Note: Advanced notice is necessary so that we can coordinate with the farm and prepare the beast.

Restaurant Photos

Frenchie Burger
DBGB Dog
croque monsieur
brioche french toast
Beaujolais
Brussel sprouts
House-Baked Pastry Basket
Eggs Florentine
Home Fries
Beet Salad
Butternut Squash Soup
Chocolate Creme Brulee Cake
Chop Chop Salad
Chilled Corn Soup
Chickpea Cavatelli
Black Forest Cake
Beer Battered Cod Sandwich
Jim's Matzo Ball Soup
Roasted Beets
Bibb Salad
Baked alaska
Thai sausage with quail egg
Long Island Fluke Ceviche
The Piggie Burger
Mint Chocolate Sundae
Smoked Salmon Platter
The Frenchie Burger
Iced Mocha Ice Cream Sundae
Smoked Scottish Salmon
thai sausage
Viennoise Sausage with Rye Beer and Turnip Sauerkraut
Lamb Merguez
Spaghetti All Chitarra Pasta
Vermont Sausage
Brussels Sprouts
Matzoh Ball Soup
Searned Tuna Pan Bagnat
Salad
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg
French Fries
Pork Belly Bacon Burger
The Sundae Scoop
Pork Vermont
Pork Toscane
Boneless Pig Foot
Espagnole
Assorted Desserts
Pappardelle Bourguignon
thai dog
The Yankee Burger with Fried Egg
Burger
Asparagus and Fried Egg
Ricotta Cheesecake With Figs And Sangria Sorbet
Complimentary Bread
Creamy Leeks
Pâté
Croissant
Fried Soft Egg And Asparagus
Fromage De Tete
Strawberry Cheesecake
Beaujolais Banger
Blood Sausage
Cheddar Cheese Pork Sausage
Bone Marrow
flat iron steak
Beaujolaise Sausage
Tunisienne
New York Steak
Hash Browns
merguez sausages with spiced chickpeas and spinach
Calamari Keifir Lime Cream
Escarole With Saurkraut Dressing And Pine Nuts
Yankee Burger
BLACK FOREST CAKE with brandied cherries, whipped creme fraiche chocolate chip cherry ice cream
LONG ISLAND DUCK DUO, roasted breast, crispy duck, toasted pistachio  rhubarb couscous, cipollini onion, lemon verbena jus
WARM STICKY TOFFEE PUDDING ,citrus poached pineapple, calamansi sorbet
Chilled Carrot Soup
Norwegian Salmon
The Triple Dog Dare
Baked Alaska!
Dark Chocolate Praline Cake
Atlantic Salmon With Summer Squash And Farro
Peanut Butter Chocolate Tart
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad
Mussels
Bangers and Mash
Burgers
hamburguer
The Frenchie
House-smoked Turkey Club
Piggie Burger
Duck Confit with Spaetzle
SOUFFLÉ CHAUD, grand marnier souffle, orange confit, vanilla anglaise
Ice Cream Sundae with peanuts
Provencal Saucisse
Blueberry Vacherin,mint meringue,blueberry sorbet,praline ice cream
Potato Salad
The Yankee Burger
Braised Lamb & Gnochetti
Earl Grey Tea

Promotions

$1 East Coast Oysters

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

$7 Happy Hour Drinks--CHEERS!

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Any Dog, Any Beer, Anytime--$10 in the Bar

Special valid May 31, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

$1 East Coast Oysters

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
$7 Happy Hour Drinks--CHEERS!

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Any Dog, Any Beer, Anytime--$10 in the Bar

Special valid May 31, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private dining at the Kitchen Table for up to 18 guests, overlooking the kitchen.

DBGB- New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (78)
fit for foodies (76)
neighborhood gem (45)
See All
hot spot (40)
special occasion (33)
vibrant bar scene (30)
great for brunch (29)
great for lunch (24)
notable wine list (18)
romantic (10)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (9)
great for outdoor dining (7)
Sort By:
Newest
3135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A great environment, a delicious looking ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A great environment, a delicious looking menu, an incredible beer selection ... All rendered meaningless by very mediocre food. It should have been great, but just wasn't.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to spend a good time. As usu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place to spend a good time. As usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cucumber soup, rather than subtle an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The cucumber soup, rather than subtle and soothing, was sour and spicy. The Nero d'Avola mediocre. Otherwise food quite good. Front room appealing though noisy. The large back room strikes me as grim, very corporate.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The place is really noisy, there was onl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The place is really noisy, there was only one bathroom for a huge restaurant where males and females had to wait on line to use it. The food was mediocre and overpriced ($30 for an overcooked salmon that had nothing special). The service was excellent, though. The host gave us the quietest table if there is such a thing in that restaurant. The waiter took away a dish that we were not happy with (cucumber gazpacho, they never mentioned yogurt or too much lime) and the manager came to top a glass of wine that came too empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

Delicious food and great service! Highly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious food and great service! Highly recommend the family brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Overall great dining experie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food. Overall great dining experience although the air conditioning was a little cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding food and service. The place ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding food and service. The place is beautiful. We can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to DBGB and it ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was our second visit to DBGB and it lived up to our expectations. If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere where you can sink you teeth into tasty, well-prepared meat, then you should consider dining here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super service at the bar, particularly d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Super service at the bar, particularly during happy hour. $1 oysters were delicious and an outstanding value. Everyone at my table (ages 24-72) was very satisfied with their food order.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Being late to the table and pressed for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Being late to the table and pressed for time, the service bent over backwards to make it all worth while. Thanks to the staff you made our troubles melt like lemon drops. Made it to the theater with time to spare. And of course the food was fantastic! Thanks to all see you again!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service and brunch menu was great. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service and brunch menu was great. The only negative is that for $19, I would have liked my Salmon Florentine with a side of potatoes and a salad. You had to pay extra for these things which is included on most menus at the same price point from their competitors in the area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The steak tartare was ok, but the calama ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The steak tartare was ok, but the calamari and baked alaska were excellent, as were the drinks. (The bread was also delicious.) This was my second visit for baked alaska, and I really like the place. Our waiter was friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It is a wonderful place, but we were a b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It is a wonderful place, but we were a bit disappointed with the 9oz steak frites, which was way over-dry, even for a medium-well steak, which we asked for.

Other than that, the staff is extremely friendly and was very helpful with our 1 year old baby.

Flavor combinations and boldness are unique and delicious, but it is a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Just had hamburgers--always excellent. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Just had hamburgers--always excellent. A nice, unpretentious place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

DO not eat OUTSIDE! Street noise is unb ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

DO not eat OUTSIDE! Street noise is unbearable!

Interior is quite attractive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Amazing service! Fantastic dining experi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing service! Fantastic dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been long time customers since D ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been long time customers since DBGB's first opened. It has always been a place we all looked forward to going. We often took out of town guest here.

I was sadly disappointed this time and not sure we will be back. We had reservations, which a credit card was required this time. The hostess was not accommodating, or friendly. The restaurant was nearly empty and she insisted on putting us on a very small table by next to a larger party. I was knocked into by the person next to me and the service staff several times during the entire meal. There was no reason to place us in this uncomfortable spot when 80 percent of the booths were empty in the dinning room. The waitress was rough, not the service level or sophistication that has always been consistent with this establishment. The menu options were much more limited. So sad to see this restaurant slip.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Very nice interior design. The wait staf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice interior design. The wait staff was excellent and the food was really good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is the third time we have been to D ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is the third time we have been to DBGB. We have always sat in the back room as the noise levels n the front bar area can be excessive (some may say vibrant or rocking). Service, as always is excellent and although your table comes under one waiter/waitress, any waiter passing gets involved so there are no annoying delays in getting attention. Food was very good and excellent value for money. The only downside this visit was a very large table near us which was pretty noisy - in fact customers at this table kept getting up and standing a few feet away just so they could have a proper conversation.

Definitely not a restaurant for a romantic evening but well worth a visit. We will certainly visit again on our next trip to New York.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was prepared with care. Nice presen ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was prepared with care. Nice presentations. Loved the country pâté. They said that the burgers were on the salty side. Loved the names of the chefs up above and the copper cookware.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was all great. I had been there befo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was all great. I had been there before for a work lunch but it was the first time for my wife who was impressed with the atmosphere. We both had the cucumber gazpacho soup which was amazing. The different flavors kept popping in our mouth. We ate it slowly cause we didn't want it to end. Mussels, fabulous. Dessert was simple- sorbet and ice cream but flavors intense and delicious. Great service. A definite go-to place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly and so welcoming. The ambiance ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Friendly and so welcoming. The ambiance inside is excellent and decor in the main dining area left me in awe.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

 
 (México)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Chef Daniel made it again! (Went also to have dinner at Café Boulud and it was awesome) The DBGB has an extraordinary ambiance, great food, very nice service. I will return without a doubt.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredibly salty fries served with amazi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Incredibly salty fries served with amazing burgers missed the mark for us overall, chocolate cake for desert tasted almost stale.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Lovely staff and the salads were fantast ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Lovely staff and the salads were fantastic. Great drink - Ward 8

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food - I recommend the entrees over ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Good food - I recommend the entrees over the burgers. Great presentation and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

dbgb

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was great, I will definitely go back. The service was a little slow but other than that, no complaints.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Had to wait 30mins for our table. Food t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Had to wait 30mins for our table. Food took ages to arrive and they got orders wrong. Staff generally unfriendly and unhelpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Too much hype

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

$10 for beer and $20 for burger, but nothing special about it, just over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great burgers! Our waiter wasn't that gr ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great burgers! Our waiter wasn't that great unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

My friends and I ate some of the more in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My friends and I ate some of the more informal dishes on the menu, such as Merguez and Thai sausages, and cheeseburgers. All of it was excellent. The Grand Marnier soufflé was to die for. Nice atmosphere. It's a big place, but doesn't feel big. We will happily come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice pre-theatre surprise. We had an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

A nice pre-theatre surprise. We had an hour and a quarter to spend, and we were able to do it all: drinks, appetizers, entrees, dessert.

Good job! dbgb

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Rude crew. Food far from being great. An ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Rude crew. Food far from being great. Anyone could prepare the dishes. Good beer tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

very pleasant service was all about this ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

very pleasant service was all about this place, stuffs and manager were efficient, friendly and professional manner at the same time that made me feel much appreciate for their foods.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, wonderful space, excellent food!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We went there on a Friday night out for dinner, and DGBG didn't disappoint! Very spacious place with a wonderful wine selection. We went for the pre-fixe menu which comes with an appetizer, main entree and a dessert, all from a relatively wide selection. Ambiance here is hard to beat! Highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ok dinner

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I was a bit disappointed with the experience at DBGB. Nothing was actually bad, but nothing of what we ordered stood out. It was an ok meal, I was just expecting a bit more from a Boulud's restaurant and for what we paid.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Flavorful food and attentive service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Fries and mussels were so delicious, especially accompanied by a glass of sauvignon blanc. And the pistachio sundae is superb. But it's the friendly and attentive service that also keeps me coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First Impression was great!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

First time here. Staff was super friendly and the decor was amazing. We had attentive service and our food was delicious. Bonus was we hit the happy hour special of $1 oysters! Made the evening even better! Noticed there was also a prix-fixe menu which we weren't up for desserts, but think we may save our appetites and try for next time! Would definitely return and recommend!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lot's of missteps with service on this v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Lot's of missteps with service on this visit. Normally anything from DB is spot on. But this time, the service was subpar. I am not sure if it because we had a 5:15 reservation and this was on the ' change over.' But I have waited table in NYC for years myself and know when the service is competent or not. The bright spot was the somme / manager who ended up taking our order and checking in on us. He was amazing. Hoping for a better experience on the next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Soft shell crab was amazing. The French ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Soft shell crab was amazing. The French toast was fluffy and buttery. The dbgb dog was awesome. All in all really delicious. Need to come back to try other things

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.