About DBGB

299 Bowery
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Indulge in a refined menu of carnivorous delicacies, served alongside a wide selection of craft beer and sommelier selected wine at New York’s coolest industrial bistro. A fresh take on the classic French brasserie, DBGB is one of the city’s hottest downtown spots and a can’t be missed for an after work outing. Helmed by the incomparable Chef Daniel Boulud, this restaurant and bar features a Lyonnais-inspired menu of bistro cuisine in a warm and rustic setting.

Guests can enjoy the chef’s creations in a private dining room within Boulud’s kitchen for a truly exceptional private dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5pm - 10:00pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 5pm - 11:00pm

Friday: 12:00pm - 12:00am

Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Houston and 1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 933-5300

Website:
http://www.dbgb.com/nyc/

Entertainment:
Great Music, Great Food, Great Friends! An Open Kitchen, Whole Hogs, and the famous Flaming Baked Alaska to boot!

Catering:
Inquire by phone, 212-933-5300, or order online via TRYCAVIAR.COM

Parking Details:
Street parking and garages, located on 22 East 1st (between 2nd Ave and Bowery) or 321 Bowery (btwn 2nd St & Bleecker)

Public Transit:
B, D, F & M to Broadway-Lafayette

6 to Bleecker Street

N/R to Prince

J to Bowery

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Tang

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


From our intimate private dining room, The Kitchen Table, which seats 18 in a private room amidst chefs, to a full buyout of the restaurant, DBGB is the perfect spot for any special occasion! We can easily accommodate larger groups from 8 to 30 people in our dining room and bar room.

Check out our large format Whole Beast Feasts* (Hog, Beef or Lamb) to share with your favorite friends and family for a unique and memorable experience!

Call the restaurant or email our events coordinator Matt Renskers: mrenskers@danielnyc.com

*Please Note: Advanced notice is necessary so that we can coordinate with the farm and prepare the beast.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Dad deserves a proper feast to celebrate the day reserved for him! What better fare than that which he craves all summer long. BURGERS, BANGERS and BEER!! 'Nuff said!
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private dining at the Kitchen Table for up to 18 guests, overlooking the kitchen.

DBGB Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (117)
fit for foodies (107)
hot spot (56)
See All
neighborhood gem (56)
vibrant bar scene (45)
great for brunch (39)
special occasion (36)
great for lunch (31)
notable wine list (29)
romantic (22)
late-night find (21)
kid-friendly (12)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service1

Had to wait 30mins for our table. Food t ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Had to wait 30mins for our table. Food took ages to arrive and they got orders wrong. Staff generally unfriendly and unhelpful.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Too much hype

Dined 6 days ago

$10 for beer and $20 for burger, but nothing special about it, just over priced.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Great burgers! Our waiter wasn't that gr ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great burgers! Our waiter wasn't that great unfortunately.

food5
ambience5
service5

My friends and I ate some of the more in ...

Dined 7 days ago

My friends and I ate some of the more informal dishes on the menu, such as Merguez and Thai sausages, and cheeseburgers. All of it was excellent. The Grand Marnier soufflé was to die for. Nice atmosphere. It's a big place, but doesn't feel big. We will happily come here again.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A nice pre-theatre surprise. We had an ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

A nice pre-theatre surprise. We had an hour and a quarter to spend, and we were able to do it all: drinks, appetizers, entrees, dessert. Good job! dbgb

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1

Rude crew. Food far from being great. An ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Rude crew. Food far from being great. Anyone could prepare the dishes. Good beer tough.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

very pleasant service was all about this ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

very pleasant service was all about this place, stuffs and manager were efficient, friendly and professional manner at the same time that made me feel much appreciate for their foods.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, wonderful space, excellent food!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We went there on a Friday night out for dinner, and DGBG didn't disappoint! Very spacious place with a wonderful wine selection. We went for the pre-fixe menu which comes with an appetizer, main entree and a dessert, all from a relatively wide selection. Ambiance here is hard to beat! Highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Flavorful food and attentive service

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fries and mussels were so delicious, especially accompanied by a glass of sauvignon blanc. And the pistachio sundae is superb. But it's the friendly and attentive service that also keeps me coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First Impression was great!

Dined on May 10, 2016

First time here. Staff was super friendly and the decor was amazing. We had attentive service and our food was delicious. Bonus was we hit the happy hour special of $1 oysters! Made the evening even better! Noticed there was also a prix-fixe menu which we weren't up for desserts, but think we may save our appetites and try for next time! Would definitely return and recommend!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Lot's of missteps with service on this v ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Lot's of missteps with service on this visit. Normally anything from DB is spot on. But this time, the service was subpar. I am not sure if it because we had a 5:15 reservation and this was on the ' change over.' But I have waited table in NYC for years myself and know when the service is competent or not. The bright spot was the somme / manager who ended up taking our order and checking in on us. He was amazing. Hoping for a better experience on the next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Soft shell crab was amazing. The French ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Soft shell crab was amazing. The French toast was fluffy and buttery. The dbgb dog was awesome. All in all really delicious. Need to come back to try other things

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

GREAT FOOD, TERRIBLE SERVICE

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The food is terrific. The kitchen knows what it's doing. But the front house is poorly managed. Bad waitstaff. Our side orders were completely forgotten and did not arrive until after we finished our main courses. We were given the wrong drinks. With dessert, they brought white wine instead of Armagnac. They did not know their own food menu, could not answer questions. Did not know what Armagnac was, had to get another person to find it. This was not just one server. Three different servers bungled their orders. Someone should do some staff training. Despite the good food, we will not be back. Not what we expect from DB.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not Punked

Dined on May 3, 2016

My friend, Paul, and I had a lot of catch up to do and DBGB was the perfect spot. The food's very good, the room's mellow, and the noise level is modest. The prix fixe always makes me happy.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Sunday night dinner

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent for post Sunday matinee meal. Had the Yankee burger and the duo of sausages. Both delicious. But the real standouts were the appetizers. A delicious carrot salad off the regular menu, and a special of crispy artichokes, which was amazing. The restaurant was empty, and very quiet, and the service was friendly and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Looking for a restaurant in LES for a birthday dinner with friends. Decided on DBGB and couldn't be happier with that decision . The atmosphere was great, the food was delicious, and we received fabulous service from start to finish. Really felt like VIPs and went above and beyond to make the night soecial

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent night at DBGB

Dined on April 29, 2016

We have eaten here many times, so I thought it would be a great place to take my sister for her birthday. The wait staff and sommelier were attentive and helpful without being intrusive. The tuna crudo and asparagus appetizers were perfect to start the meal. My steak was a perfect medium rare and the frites were delicious. Everyone enjoyed the food, it was such a great experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Date Night Spot

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I recently went here on Date Night- Great Food, great ambiance and great service!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good bistro food with one caveat- avoid ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Good bistro food with one caveat- avoid the french fries which are constantly limp even when ordered "extra crispy".

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Was there with kids a bit before rush ho ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Was there with kids a bit before rush hour and the staff was very accommodating. Food was as delicious as usual and service excellent! Always confident that I'll have a great experience here :)

food5
ambience4
service5

Duck was cooked perfectly and the piggie ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Duck was cooked perfectly and the piggie burger was delicious. Staff was courteous and knowledgeable. Large selection of wine, beer and cocktails. Overall wonderful experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my mother-on-laws birthday and ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Went for my mother-on-laws birthday and they made it extra special for her! The bartender is great, he was sharing stories before we sat at our table and watching him create drinks was like watching an artists painting.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. We were there fo ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Great food and service. We were there for birthday and they were most helpful with preparing the birthday dessert. Everyone loved the baked Alaska. Will def be going back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Go for the beers, stay for the food

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

great sausages and hot dogs, loved the fries; save room for the large selection of draft beers, and especially for the grand marnier souffle for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service4

No one in the place. We understand hey ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

No one in the place. We understand hey stopped providing unlimited drinks. Place was empty. Low energy. Great food

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

DBGB

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

We always get great food, terrific service, in a great atmosphere at DBGB. We will keep coming back!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Execution All Around

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

I'm just going to say it...we loved DBGB. My wife and I had a reservation on a Tuesday night on the early side. As such, the restaurant was not particularly packed so we didn't have to deal with any of the noise issues indicated by other reviewers. Every bit of food we ordered was excellent, including the mid-meal Vermont sausage course. Eggs were poached to perfection, steak cooked perfectly, and Grand Marnier dessert soufflé was magnificent. The main room is inviting with copper cookware from world-renown chefs adorning the rafters and devoid of any stuffiness. What impressed us most was the service. Our waiter was perfectly attentive (i.e., not overbearing, but there when we needed him), but it was the service around the entirety of the room that was most impressive. They were restocking wine on the shelves around the dining room which might have been an otherwise un-noteworthy event, but to have 5 or 6 people doing this so effortlessly in a manner that didn’t disturb the diners, and to have every single person working so cooperatively was amazing. I know it may seem like a tiny thing, but in today’s dining world it’s refreshing to see people working together without complaint and possibly even enjoying themselves. Incidentally, with respect to wine we ordered a phenomenal bottle of wine at $200 that was one of the most fairly priced I've seen (i.e., less than a 2x markup). We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great family dinner with kids in a nice atmosphere

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Went to DBGB for a family dinner as a visiting family member was going back home and we wanted to send him off with a good meal. We sat in a private banquet which was really nice and quiet. The burgers and mussels with fries were standouts, while I wasn't as impressed with the homemade sausages. The restaurant is very accommodating for kids and there were quit a few tables with children. The wine selection was nice, while the beer is somewhat limited unless you like craft beers - you won't find your standard choices here. My only complaint was the waitress. She had a little bit of an attitude and forgot to bring the sausages we ordered. I would definitely go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3

We went for the Big Bowery Brunch. It's ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We went for the Big Bowery Brunch. It's a lot of food and very tasty. It just doesn't have the vibe of other, much more popular venues for brunch (it's a lot less crowded).

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun and Lively

Dined on April 9, 2016

Met my 2 sisters for the weekend in NYC. Added a family friend who lives downtown to the mix. We were starving when we arrived and had good drinks and the food was delivered at a nice pace. I was happy with the food overall. Fun atmosphere too. Best of all, we wanted to hang out a bit and talk and we were not rushed out.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is as dedicated and decadent as the food!

Dined on April 3, 2016

We had a great experience at DBGB. From the decadent appetizers (Tuna Crudo was bursting with flavor), to the mains, and the cocktail list was spot on through the meal. Amazing service with knowledgeable staff and attentive management. Every time we dined there, there was at least one dish that came in "complementary of the Chef", which coincidentally fit to the overall dining experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome as always

Dined on April 2, 2016

Always a lovely meal. Thanks to Kevin for wonderful beer suggestions! My friends were totally floored. And I'm always happy to check out exciting beers!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Solid meal

Dined on April 1, 2016

Glad I went. The wrong food came out at first but the waitress noticed right away and corrected the mistake. Great service an the food was tasty. it was nice to check out a famous chef's food without having to do fine dining. A nice mid-level gastropub feel.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Dinner with friends

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great drinks. For the price, food could have been better. Service was amazing! Atmosphere is inviting and not pretentious.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great go-to spot for nice dinner

Dined on March 30, 2016

Have been here a few times and never disappoints. It's always on the list of ideas for a great dinner with friends or colleagues. Something on the menu for everyone, and great quality. The entire restaurant is warm and casual in the upscale sense.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Love his spot Chef Danielle is a genius!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Love his spot Chef Danielle is a genius!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very good Easter lamb!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Had an amazing lamb dish - which was the special for the day. Would recommend friends!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Looks deceiving from outside...

Dined on March 25, 2016

This place looks a bit plain from the outside, and with that boring name, but is quite nice inside. Being daytime and with kids, we were happy to sit by the window, but the booths in the back room look like they'd be lovely for night time or a boozy lunch. Service was good - we were happy to have kids meals brought out very quickly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

So so

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Its ok. We came from 58th ave and 5th. So quite far hoping it was good. However, it was just ok. Presentation was not the greatest for plating. The papaya salad with the Thai sausage was good. The actual sausage was not good. Overall, will not come again.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5

Great spot for a special occasion with a ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great spot for a special occasion with a group. Superb cocktails. One complaint: they seated five of us at a four-top where the fifth was seated in a busy aisle.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.