About DBGB- New York

299 Bowery
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Indulge in a refined menu of carnivorous delicacies, served alongside a wide selection of craft beer and sommelier selected wine at New York’s coolest industrial bistro. A fresh take on the classic French brasserie, DBGB- New York is one of the city’s hottest downtown spots and a can’t be missed for an after work outing. Helmed by the incomparable Chef Daniel Boulud, this restaurant and bar features a Lyonnais-inspired menu of bistro cuisine in a warm and rustic setting.

Guests can enjoy the chef’s creations in a private dining room within Boulud’s kitchen for a truly exceptional private dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5pm - 10:00pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 5pm - 11:00pm

Friday: 12:00pm - 12:00am

Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Houston and 1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 933-5300

Website:
http://www.dbgb.com/nyc/

Entertainment:
Great Music, Great Food, Great Friends! An Open Kitchen, Whole Hogs, and the famous Flaming Baked Alaska to boot!

Catering:
Inquire by phone, 212-933-5300, or order online via TRYCAVIAR.COM

Parking Details:
Street parking and garages, located on 22 East 1st (between 2nd Ave and Bowery) or 321 Bowery (btwn 2nd St & Bleecker)

Public Transit:
B, D, F & M to Broadway-Lafayette

6 to Bleecker Street

N/R to Prince

J to Bowery

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Tang

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


From our intimate private dining room, The Kitchen Table, which seats 18 in a private room amidst chefs, to a full buyout of the restaurant, DBGB is the perfect spot for any special occasion! We can easily accommodate larger groups from 8 to 30 people in our dining room and bar room.

Check out our large format Whole Beast Feasts* (Hog, Beef or Lamb) to share with your favorite friends and family for a unique and memorable experience!

Call the restaurant or email our events coordinator Matt Renskers: mrenskers@danielnyc.com

*Please Note: Advanced notice is necessary so that we can coordinate with the farm and prepare the beast.

Restaurant Photos

Frenchie Burger
DBGB Dog
croque monsieur
brioche french toast
Beaujolais
Brussel sprouts
House-Baked Pastry Basket
Eggs Florentine
Home Fries
Beet Salad
Butternut Squash Soup
Chop Chop Salad
Chocolate Creme Brulee Cake
Chilled Corn Soup
Black Forest Cake
Chocolate Peanut Butter Sundae
Chickpea Cavatelli
Chop Chop
Beer Battered Cod Sandwich
Jim's Matzo Ball Soup
Roasted Beets
Bibb Salad
Baked alaska
Thai sausage with quail egg
Long Island Fluke Ceviche
The Piggie Burger
Mint Chocolate Sundae
Smoked Salmon Platter
The Frenchie Burger
Iced Mocha Ice Cream Sundae
Smoked Scottish Salmon
thai sausage
Viennoise Sausage with Rye Beer and Turnip Sauerkraut
Lamb Merguez
Spaghetti All Chitarra Pasta
Vermont Sausage
Brussels Sprouts
Matzoh Ball Soup
Searned Tuna Pan Bagnat
Salad
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg
French Fries
Pork Belly Bacon Burger
The Sundae Scoop
Pork Vermont
Pork Toscane
Boneless Pig Foot
Espagnole
Assorted Desserts
Pappardelle Bourguignon
thai dog
The Yankee Burger with Fried Egg
Burger
Asparagus and Fried Egg
Ricotta Cheesecake With Figs And Sangria Sorbet
Complimentary Bread
Creamy Leeks
Pâté
Croissant
Fried Soft Egg And Asparagus
Fromage De Tete
Strawberry Cheesecake
Beaujolais Banger
Blood Sausage
Cheddar Cheese Pork Sausage
Bone Marrow
flat iron steak
Beaujolaise Sausage
Tunisienne
New York Steak
Hash Browns
merguez sausages with spiced chickpeas and spinach
Calamari Keifir Lime Cream
Escarole With Saurkraut Dressing And Pine Nuts
Yankee Burger
BLACK FOREST CAKE with brandied cherries, whipped creme fraiche chocolate chip cherry ice cream
LONG ISLAND DUCK DUO, roasted breast, crispy duck, toasted pistachio  rhubarb couscous, cipollini onion, lemon verbena jus
WARM STICKY TOFFEE PUDDING ,citrus poached pineapple, calamansi sorbet
Chilled Carrot Soup
Norwegian Salmon
The Triple Dog Dare
Baked Alaska!
Dark Chocolate Praline Cake
Atlantic Salmon With Summer Squash And Farro
Peanut Butter Chocolate Tart
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad
Mussels
Bangers and Mash
Burgers
hamburguer
The Frenchie
House-smoked Turkey Club
Piggie Burger
Duck Confit with Spaetzle
SOUFFLÉ CHAUD, grand marnier souffle, orange confit, vanilla anglaise
Ice Cream Sundae with peanuts
Provencal Saucisse
Blueberry Vacherin,mint meringue,blueberry sorbet,praline ice cream
Potato Salad
The Yankee Burger

Promotions

$1 East Coast Oysters

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

$7 Happy Hour Drinks--CHEERS!

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Any Dog, Any Beer, Anytime--$10 in the Bar

Special valid May 31, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

$1 East Coast Oysters

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Our oyster man, Paco, can shuck them almost as fast as you can slurp them down! The Barcat Oyster from the Rappahannock River in Virginia is a delicious breed for those who love briny East coast AND sweet West coast bi-valves. Helluva value for $1!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Order unlimited oysters Sunday through Thursday between 5 and 7!. Special valid May 31, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
$7 Happy Hour Drinks--CHEERS!

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
If you like our $1 oysters then you'll love something to drink with them! What better than a refreshing glass of rose OR an ice cold draft beer for $7! The options will change regularly but will be hand selected by our somm, Ian Hood. Cheers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. In the bar and on the patio only. Special valid May 31, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
Any Dog, Any Beer, Anytime--$10 in the Bar

Special valid May 31, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Details
Grab a seat in the bar for any of our 22 craft beers on draft paired with our house made sausages on a bun, all for just 10 bucks! Go for the one-and-only all beef DBGB Dog, the exotic Thai Dog, or the spicy Tunisienne Dog, also known as the Barguez!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available at the bar. Special valid May 31, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private dining at the Kitchen Table for up to 18 guests, overlooking the kitchen.

DBGB- New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (86)
fit for foodies (80)
neighborhood gem (43)
See All
hot spot (40)
vibrant bar scene (34)
special occasion (32)
great for brunch (30)
great for lunch (23)
notable wine list (22)
late-night find (13)
kid-friendly (11)
romantic (11)
great for outdoor dining (5)
Sort By:
Newest
3124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Being late to the table and pressed for ...

Dined 3 days ago

Being late to the table and pressed for time, the service bent over backwards to make it all worth while. Thanks to the staff you made our troubles melt like lemon drops. Made it to the theater with time to spare. And of course the food was fantastic! Thanks to all see you again!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The service and brunch menu was great. ...

Dined 4 days ago

The service and brunch menu was great. The only negative is that for $19, I would have liked my Salmon Florentine with a side of potatoes and a salad. You had to pay extra for these things which is included on most menus at the same price point from their competitors in the area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The steak tartare was ok, but the calama ...

Dined 5 days ago

The steak tartare was ok, but the calamari and baked alaska were excellent, as were the drinks. (The bread was also delicious.) This was my second visit for baked alaska, and I really like the place. Our waiter was friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

It is a wonderful place, but we were a b ...

Dined 5 days ago

It is a wonderful place, but we were a bit disappointed with the 9oz steak frites, which was way over-dry, even for a medium-well steak, which we asked for. Other than that, the staff is extremely friendly and was very helpful with our 1 year old baby. Flavor combinations and boldness are unique and delicious, but it is a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just had hamburgers--always excellent. ...

Dined 7 days ago

Just had hamburgers--always excellent. A nice, unpretentious place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

DO not eat OUTSIDE! Street noise is unb ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

DO not eat OUTSIDE! Street noise is unbearable! Interior is quite attractive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service! Fantastic dining experi ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing service! Fantastic dining experience.

food3
ambience3
service2
value4

We have been long time customers since D ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been long time customers since DBGB's first opened. It has always been a place we all looked forward to going. We often took out of town guest here. I was sadly disappointed this time and not sure we will be back. We had reservations, which a credit card was required this time. The hostess was not accommodating, or friendly. The restaurant was nearly empty and she insisted on putting us on a very small table by next to a larger party. I was knocked into by the person next to me and the service staff several times during the entire meal. There was no reason to place us in this uncomfortable spot when 80 percent of the booths were empty in the dinning room. The waitress was rough, not the service level or sophistication that has always been consistent with this establishment. The menu options were much more limited. So sad to see this restaurant slip.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very nice interior design. The wait staf ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice interior design. The wait staff was excellent and the food was really good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

This is the third time we have been to D ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is the third time we have been to DBGB. We have always sat in the back room as the noise levels n the front bar area can be excessive (some may say vibrant or rocking). Service, as always is excellent and although your table comes under one waiter/waitress, any waiter passing gets involved so there are no annoying delays in getting attention. Food was very good and excellent value for money. The only downside this visit was a very large table near us which was pretty noisy - in fact customers at this table kept getting up and standing a few feet away just so they could have a proper conversation. Definitely not a restaurant for a romantic evening but well worth a visit. We will certainly visit again on our next trip to New York.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was prepared with care. Nice presen ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was prepared with care. Nice presentations. Loved the country pâté. They said that the burgers were on the salty side. Loved the names of the chefs up above and the copper cookware.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was all great. I had been there befo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It was all great. I had been there before for a work lunch but it was the first time for my wife who was impressed with the atmosphere. We both had the cucumber gazpacho soup which was amazing. The different flavors kept popping in our mouth. We ate it slowly cause we didn't want it to end. Mussels, fabulous. Dessert was simple- sorbet and ice cream but flavors intense and delicious. Great service. A definite go-to place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly and so welcoming. The ambiance ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Friendly and so welcoming. The ambiance inside is excellent and decor in the main dining area left me in awe.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Chef Daniel made it again! (Went also to have dinner at Café Boulud and it was awesome) The DBGB has an extraordinary ambiance, great food, very nice service. I will return without a doubt.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Incredibly salty fries served with amazi ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Incredibly salty fries served with amazing burgers missed the mark for us overall, chocolate cake for desert tasted almost stale.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely staff and the salads were fantast ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Lovely staff and the salads were fantastic. Great drink - Ward 8

food4
ambience5
service5

Good food - I recommend the entrees over ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Good food - I recommend the entrees over the burgers. Great presentation and great service.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

dbgb

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was great, I will definitely go back. The service was a little slow but other than that, no complaints.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service1

Had to wait 30mins for our table. Food t ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Had to wait 30mins for our table. Food took ages to arrive and they got orders wrong. Staff generally unfriendly and unhelpful.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Too much hype

Dined on May 21, 2016

$10 for beer and $20 for burger, but nothing special about it, just over priced.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Great burgers! Our waiter wasn't that gr ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great burgers! Our waiter wasn't that great unfortunately.

food5
ambience5
service5

My friends and I ate some of the more in ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My friends and I ate some of the more informal dishes on the menu, such as Merguez and Thai sausages, and cheeseburgers. All of it was excellent. The Grand Marnier soufflé was to die for. Nice atmosphere. It's a big place, but doesn't feel big. We will happily come here again.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A nice pre-theatre surprise. We had an ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

A nice pre-theatre surprise. We had an hour and a quarter to spend, and we were able to do it all: drinks, appetizers, entrees, dessert. Good job! dbgb

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1

Rude crew. Food far from being great. An ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Rude crew. Food far from being great. Anyone could prepare the dishes. Good beer tough.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

very pleasant service was all about this ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

very pleasant service was all about this place, stuffs and manager were efficient, friendly and professional manner at the same time that made me feel much appreciate for their foods.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, wonderful space, excellent food!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We went there on a Friday night out for dinner, and DGBG didn't disappoint! Very spacious place with a wonderful wine selection. We went for the pre-fixe menu which comes with an appetizer, main entree and a dessert, all from a relatively wide selection. Ambiance here is hard to beat! Highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Ok dinner

Dined on May 14, 2016

I was a bit disappointed with the experience at DBGB. Nothing was actually bad, but nothing of what we ordered stood out. It was an ok meal, I was just expecting a bit more from a Boulud's restaurant and for what we paid.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Flavorful food and attentive service

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fries and mussels were so delicious, especially accompanied by a glass of sauvignon blanc. And the pistachio sundae is superb. But it's the friendly and attentive service that also keeps me coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First Impression was great!

Dined on May 10, 2016

First time here. Staff was super friendly and the decor was amazing. We had attentive service and our food was delicious. Bonus was we hit the happy hour special of $1 oysters! Made the evening even better! Noticed there was also a prix-fixe menu which we weren't up for desserts, but think we may save our appetites and try for next time! Would definitely return and recommend!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Lot's of missteps with service on this v ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Lot's of missteps with service on this visit. Normally anything from DB is spot on. But this time, the service was subpar. I am not sure if it because we had a 5:15 reservation and this was on the ' change over.' But I have waited table in NYC for years myself and know when the service is competent or not. The bright spot was the somme / manager who ended up taking our order and checking in on us. He was amazing. Hoping for a better experience on the next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Soft shell crab was amazing. The French ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Soft shell crab was amazing. The French toast was fluffy and buttery. The dbgb dog was awesome. All in all really delicious. Need to come back to try other things

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

GREAT FOOD, TERRIBLE SERVICE

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The food is terrific. The kitchen knows what it's doing. But the front house is poorly managed. Bad waitstaff. Our side orders were completely forgotten and did not arrive until after we finished our main courses. We were given the wrong drinks. With dessert, they brought white wine instead of Armagnac. They did not know their own food menu, could not answer questions. Did not know what Armagnac was, had to get another person to find it. This was not just one server. Three different servers bungled their orders. Someone should do some staff training. Despite the good food, we will not be back. Not what we expect from DB.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not Punked

Dined on May 3, 2016

My friend, Paul, and I had a lot of catch up to do and DBGB was the perfect spot. The food's very good, the room's mellow, and the noise level is modest. The prix fixe always makes me happy.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Sunday night dinner

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent for post Sunday matinee meal. Had the Yankee burger and the duo of sausages. Both delicious. But the real standouts were the appetizers. A delicious carrot salad off the regular menu, and a special of crispy artichokes, which was amazing. The restaurant was empty, and very quiet, and the service was friendly and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Looking for a restaurant in LES for a birthday dinner with friends. Decided on DBGB and couldn't be happier with that decision . The atmosphere was great, the food was delicious, and we received fabulous service from start to finish. Really felt like VIPs and went above and beyond to make the night soecial

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent night at DBGB

Dined on April 29, 2016

We have eaten here many times, so I thought it would be a great place to take my sister for her birthday. The wait staff and sommelier were attentive and helpful without being intrusive. The tuna crudo and asparagus appetizers were perfect to start the meal. My steak was a perfect medium rare and the frites were delicious. Everyone enjoyed the food, it was such a great experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Date Night Spot

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I recently went here on Date Night- Great Food, great ambiance and great service!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good bistro food with one caveat- avoid ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Good bistro food with one caveat- avoid the french fries which are constantly limp even when ordered "extra crispy".

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Was there with kids a bit before rush ho ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Was there with kids a bit before rush hour and the staff was very accommodating. Food was as delicious as usual and service excellent! Always confident that I'll have a great experience here :)

food5
ambience4
service5

Duck was cooked perfectly and the piggie ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Duck was cooked perfectly and the piggie burger was delicious. Staff was courteous and knowledgeable. Large selection of wine, beer and cocktails. Overall wonderful experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.