About DBGB NYC

299 Bowery
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Indulge in a refined menu of carnivorous delicacies, served alongside a wide selection of craft beer and sommelier selected wine at New York’s coolest industrial bistro. A fresh take on the classic French brasserie, DBGB NYC is one of the city’s hottest downtown spots and a can’t be missed for an after work outing. Helmed by the incomparable Chef Daniel Boulud, this restaurant and bar features a Lyonnais-inspired menu of bistro cuisine in a warm and rustic setting.

Guests can enjoy the chef’s creations in a private dining room within Boulud’s kitchen for a truly exceptional private dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5pm - 10:00pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 5pm - 11:00pm

Friday: 12:00pm - 12:00am

Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Houston and 1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 933-5300

Website:
http://www.dbgb.com/nyc/

Entertainment:
Great Music, Great Food, Great Friends! An Open Kitchen, Whole Hogs, and the famous Flaming Baked Alaska to boot!

Catering:
Inquire by phone, 212-933-5300, or order online via TRYCAVIAR.COM

Parking Details:
Street parking and garages, located on 22 East 1st (between 2nd Ave and Bowery) or 321 Bowery (btwn 2nd St & Bleecker)

Public Transit:
B, D, F & M to Broadway-Lafayette

6 to Bleecker Street

N/R to Prince

J to Bowery

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Tang

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


From our intimate private dining room, The Kitchen Table, which seats 18 in a private room amidst chefs, to a full buyout of the restaurant, DBGB is the perfect spot for any special occasion! We can easily accommodate larger groups from 8 to 30 people in our dining room and bar room.

Check out our large format Whole Beast Feasts* (Hog, Beef or Lamb) to share with your favorite friends and family for a unique and memorable experience!

Call the restaurant or email our events coordinator Matt Renskers: mrenskers@danielnyc.com

*Please Note: Advanced notice is necessary so that we can coordinate with the farm and prepare the beast.

Restaurant Photos

Frenchie Burger
DBGB Dog
croque monsieur
brioche french toast
Beaujolais
Brussel sprouts
House-Baked Pastry Basket
Home Fries
Eggs Florentine
Beet Salad
Butternut Squash Soup
Chocolate Creme Brulee Cake
Chop Chop Salad
Beer Battered Cod Sandwich
Jim's Matzo Ball Soup
Roasted Beets
Bibb Salad
Baked alaska
Thai sausage with quail egg
Long Island Fluke Ceviche
The Piggie Burger
Mint Chocolate Sundae
Smoked Salmon Platter
The Frenchie Burger
Iced Mocha Ice Cream Sundae
Smoked Scottish Salmon
thai sausage
Viennoise Sausage with Rye Beer and Turnip Sauerkraut
Lamb Merguez
Hot Dog!!!!
Spaghetti All Chitarra Pasta
Vermont Sausage
Salad
Searned Tuna Pan Bagnat
Brussels Sprouts
Matzoh Ball Soup
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg
French Fries
Pork Belly Bacon Burger
The Sundae Scoop
Pork Toscane
Pork Vermont
Boneless Pig Foot
Espagnole
Assorted Desserts
Pappardelle Bourguignon
thai dog
The Yankee Burger with Fried Egg
Burger
Asparagus and Fried Egg
Ricotta Cheesecake With Figs And Sangria Sorbet
Complimentary Bread
Creamy Leeks
Croissant
Pâté
Chilled Corn Soup
Fried Soft Egg And Asparagus
Fromage De Tete
Strawberry Cheesecake
Beaujolais Banger
Blood Sausage
Cheddar Cheese Pork Sausage
Bone Marrow
flat iron steak
Beaujolaise Sausage
Tunisienne
New York Steak
Hash Browns
merguez sausages with spiced chickpeas and spinach
Escarole With Saurkraut Dressing And Pine Nuts
Calamari Keifir Lime Cream
Yankee Burger
BLACK FOREST CAKE with brandied cherries, whipped creme fraiche chocolate chip cherry ice cream
WARM STICKY TOFFEE PUDDING ,citrus poached pineapple, calamansi sorbet
LONG ISLAND DUCK DUO, roasted breast, crispy duck, toasted pistachio  rhubarb couscous, cipollini onion, lemon verbena jus
Norwegian Salmon
Chilled Carrot Soup
The Triple Dog Dare
Baked Alaska!
Dark Chocolate Praline Cake
Atlantic Salmon With Summer Squash And Farro
Peanut Butter Chocolate Tart
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad
Mussels
Bangers and Mash
Burgers
hamburguer
The Frenchie
House-smoked Turkey Club
Piggie Burger
Provencal Saucisse
Duck Confit with Spaetzle
Ice Cream Sundae with peanuts
Blueberry Vacherin,mint meringue,blueberry sorbet,praline ice cream
SOUFFLÉ CHAUD, grand marnier souffle, orange confit, vanilla anglaise
Potato Salad
The Yankee Burger
Braised Lamb & Gnochetti
Earl Grey Tea
German Sausage

Promotions

$1 East Coast Oysters

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

$7 Happy Hour Drinks--CHEERS!

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Any Dog, Any Beer, Anytime--$10 in the Bar

Special valid May 31, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

$1 East Coast Oysters

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Our oyster man, Paco, can shuck them almost as fast as you can slurp them down! The Barcat Oyster from the Rappahannock River in Virginia is a delicious breed for those who love briny East coast AND sweet West coast bi-valves. Helluva value for $1!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Order unlimited oysters Sunday through Thursday between 5 and 7!. Special valid May 31, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

$7 Happy Hour Drinks--CHEERS!

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

If you like our $1 oysters then you'll love something to drink with them! What better than a refreshing glass of rose OR an ice cold draft beer for $7! The options will change regularly but will be hand selected by our somm, Ian Hood. Cheers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. In the bar and on the patio only. Special valid May 31, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Any Dog, Any Beer, Anytime--$10 in the Bar

Special valid May 31, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Details

Grab a seat in the bar for any of our 22 craft beers on draft paired with our house made sausages on a bun, all for just 10 bucks! Go for the one-and-only all beef DBGB Dog, the exotic Thai Dog, or the spicy Tunisienne Dog, also known as the Barguez!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available at the bar. Special valid May 31, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private dining at the Kitchen Table for up to 18 guests, overlooking the kitchen.

DBGB NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (76)
Good for Groups (72)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Hot Spot (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Great for Brunch (29)
Great for Lunch (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
Romantic (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Sort By:
Newest
3168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. Will definit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and service. Will definitely eat there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

DBGB was a great experience. Food was g ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

DBGB was a great experience. Food was good, service was attentive, kids are welcome, perfect for outdoor dining.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

In NYC for the weekend and took my wife ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

In NYC for the weekend and took my wife and daughter to dinner at DBGB. We arrived early for drinks. Great bar and atmosphere. The staff was professional and accommodating. Good location with e dined in the back area which I recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food here is only outmatched by the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food here is only outmatched by the service. The appetizers were great and the burgers live up to the name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Vermont sausage came out undercooked. I ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Vermont sausage came out undercooked. I took a bite and it was mushy and meat was still pink. Waiter agreed. Had a the same meal replaced. This was the only dish that was notably nice. Mussels was standard. Lamb chops - meat was flavorless as it came out undercooked and the only flavor was coming from the spices. Steak tartare was subpar. Overall bad experience starting with perhaps a chef forgetting the basics of cooking food. Eugh. Service was great though and ambience was nice. $150.00 bill for 2 for raw food? Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

AC was broken and food was overpriced. W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

AC was broken and food was overpriced. We had the restaurant week menu, not worth 40 dollars.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I ordered a Yankee cheese burg as entree ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I ordered a Yankee cheese burg as entree and it really disappointed me .The beef with cheese was tasteless, beef was cooked too much and not juicy at all.The cheese didn't taste like cheese ,it tasted like nothing,not salty ,didn't smell good,it was just tastes like NOTHING.I also ordered a tomato salad as appetizer,but it was fair,dessert,fair too.I thought it may not amazing me ,which is acceptable, there is nothing can always amazing people ,but it really disappointed me .You want to eat some burger in this restaurant?I recommend Mcdonald's

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Our waiter was really great. Held casual ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our waiter was really great. Held casual, helpful conversation without being pushy, creepy or annoying.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to talk my husband into going with t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Had to talk my husband into going with the kids. He was already asking about going again before we left. Great food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Burger for restaurant week was weak. My ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Burger for restaurant week was weak. My guess is that the rest of the menu is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Very hip atmosphere with an open kitchen ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Very hip atmosphere with an open kitchen concept. Overall very positive experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

DGBG. Was great food was really good we ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

DGBG. Was great food was really good we have oysters and calamari. Next Vermont sausage and Beaujolais sausage finished with the DGBG hot dogs. The service was unbelievable, I drove 3hrs in traffic from LBI to get there paid $54 to park my excursion and this place was worth it would do again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprised to see this restaurant prepare ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Surprised to see this restaurant prepares its salads in advance and puts them in the fridge. As a result, a salad that looks and tastes terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

A particularly amazing meal from start t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A particularly amazing meal from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food Attentive servers Beautiful a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food

Attentive servers

Beautiful ambiance

Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Arrived early for our 7:15 reservation a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Arrived early for our 7:15 reservation and were promptly seated. Very comfortable booth. Room quite nice with a very professional and helpful staff. Food excellent. For starters we had 6 oysters and crostini. Our main courses were the filet steak and the Yankee burger with cheddar. Everything excellent. Desserts were ice cream and a wonderful grand marnier soufflé. Our wine was a Bordeaux Blanc. Should have had a red but my wife has had some allergic reactions to reds. So white to be safe.

Really an excellent restaurant and street parking was no problem. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing from the moment ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was amazing from the moment we stepped in the door. We had our 9 month year old son and the seating location was perfect for the high chair and stroller.

The service was excellent and the bunch menu provided a variety of options. I had the goat cheese omelette which came with salad and home fries. The omelette was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best French Toast ever!! Came all the wa ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best French Toast ever!! Came all the way from Mexico just for that!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

NYC Restaurant week menu was fabulous. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

NYC Restaurant week menu was fabulous. I really enjoyed it. However, my girlfriend preferred to order lamb chops from the main menu and she claims that those were delicious as well. DBGB is a very cozy place with some nice people working there and has a marvelous wine list. Planning to come back. Thank You very much

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried out for lunch during Restaurant we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Tried out for lunch during Restaurant week. Gazpacho and orecchiette delicious, dessert fell far short - "profiteroles" were basically ice cream sandwich cookies. My dining partner's chicken schnitzel was really terrific, pate app was fairly standard but good. Highly recommend for food quality and portions, but would watch out re dessert. Did have to wait quite a while for food, not sure why as we arrived shortly after the restaurant opened. Perhaps chef was late...

-

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great every step of the way, from host s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great every step of the way, from host station to our exit. Of particular note was the bar tender. We stopped for a drink before dinner and was absolutely impressed with the bar tender's level of knowledge and understanding of all her spirits, beers and shrubs. 2 thumbs up. I expect amazing food from DBGB, but the bar tender brought it to a different level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sausages were under cooked; however, the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Sausages were under cooked; however, they offered to remake the meal and took it off the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

I've been to DBGB Kitchen & Bar for both ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I've been to DBGB Kitchen & Bar for both a dinner for four on a crowded weekend and on this visit for a group of ten on a Tuesday night. Both experiences were different, but really enjoyable . Cocktail menu is extensive and creative, and the food is delicious across the board. On the latest visit we all enjoyed the burgers immensely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for restaurant week and they had a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Went for restaurant week and they had a few items not on the regular menu. Food was very good, no complaints. They also had an excellent selection of beer, some local/ small batch. Very attentive service and beautiful open space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for my birthday with some friends, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Went for my birthday with some friends, we all loved our meals and had an amazing time. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the delicious and carefully prepare ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

From the delicious and carefully prepared dishes to the top-notch yet relaxed service, DBGB always pleases! Has been and always will be at the top of our list. Go-to place for guests and parties, too! Just plain love DBGB's guts! ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic attention to service. The appe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Fantastic attention to service. The appetizers and entrees were very good. I very munch enjoyed the lamb along with the exceptional vegetables. We we disappointed in the peach crumble. It had a burnt taste. All and all it was an enjoyable albeit very expensive dinner $240 for 2, my wife had a hamburger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Charles was absolutely amazing! He walke ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Charles was absolutely amazing! He walked us through the menu, gave us his personal opinions on food, beer and even cider! We loved every recommendation. He really went above and beyond to make sure we had a great experience. The food, as mentioned, was excellent. The sausage (with lentils) and duck (with grilled plums) were our favorite dishes. The baked alaska was tremendous (and it was on fire!). We will definitely be coming back for many evening meals and other special occasions. My boyfriend noted that itd be a great place for a bachelor party, as well as an after work spot. We loved it for his birthday meal. The decor and atmosphere were perfect for mid-twenty somethings looking for a regular upscale casual spot. And the beer/wine list, was a novel. So niche for beer lovers. We can't wait to return! See you soon Charles!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What i expect from a Daniel restaurant. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

What i expect from a Daniel restaurant. Food was executed well. The front staff was attentive and friendly without being too over bearing. The crispy calamari was good. The duck with braised leek and plum was good as was the spiced lamb entree. The thai sausage was very flavorful and one of the highlights of the meal as well as the baked alaska for two. Impressive tableside presentation for a casual eatery.

I would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

What it lacks in ambiance, it makes up f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

What it lacks in ambiance, it makes up for in service and table fare. We had the Grand Plateau. It was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

First they have a great happy hour from ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

First they have a great happy hour from 5-7 with $1 oysters, which were excellent. We shared a chef special of roasted chicken with truffles. It was amazing. Adding to that was an intensely flavor-able sausage with french lentils. All topped of by a stellar dessert of bourbon poached Peach crumble.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A great environment, a delicious looking ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A great environment, a delicious looking menu, an incredible beer selection ... All rendered meaningless by very mediocre food. It should have been great, but just wasn't.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to spend a good time. As usu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place to spend a good time. As usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cucumber soup, rather than subtle an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The cucumber soup, rather than subtle and soothing, was sour and spicy. The Nero d'Avola mediocre. Otherwise food quite good. Front room appealing though noisy. The large back room strikes me as grim, very corporate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The place is really noisy, there was onl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The place is really noisy, there was only one bathroom for a huge restaurant where males and females had to wait on line to use it. The food was mediocre and overpriced ($30 for an overcooked salmon that had nothing special). The service was excellent, though. The host gave us the quietest table if there is such a thing in that restaurant. The waiter took away a dish that we were not happy with (cucumber gazpacho, they never mentioned yogurt or too much lime) and the manager came to top a glass of wine that came too empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

Delicious food and great service! Highly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious food and great service! Highly recommend the family brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Overall great dining experie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food. Overall great dining experience although the air conditioning was a little cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Unique menu, great service. Full wine li ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Unique menu, great service. Full wine list. Really enjoyed lunch, would love to go back for diner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding food and service. The place ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding food and service. The place is beautiful. We can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to DBGB and it ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was our second visit to DBGB and it lived up to our expectations. If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere where you can sink you teeth into tasty, well-prepared meat, then you should consider dining here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.