About DBGB NYC

299 Bowery
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Indulge in a refined menu of carnivorous delicacies, served alongside a wide selection of craft beer and sommelier selected wine at New York’s coolest industrial bistro. A fresh take on the classic French brasserie, DBGB NYC is one of the city’s hottest downtown spots and a can’t be missed for an after work outing. Helmed by the incomparable Chef Daniel Boulud, this restaurant and bar features a Lyonnais-inspired menu of bistro cuisine in a warm and rustic setting.

Guests can enjoy the chef’s creations in a private dining room within Boulud’s kitchen for a truly exceptional private dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5pm - 10:00pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 5pm - 11:00pm

Friday: 12:00pm - 12:00am

Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Houston and 1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 933-5300

Website:
http://www.dbgb.com/nyc/

Entertainment:
Great Music, Great Food, Great Friends! An Open Kitchen, Whole Hogs, and the famous Flaming Baked Alaska to boot!

Catering:
Inquire by phone, 212-933-5300, or order online via TRYCAVIAR.COM

Parking Details:
Street parking and garages, located on 22 East 1st (between 2nd Ave and Bowery) or 321 Bowery (btwn 2nd St & Bleecker)

Public Transit:
B, D, F & M to Broadway-Lafayette

6 to Bleecker Street

N/R to Prince

J to Bowery

Executive Chef:
Nicholas Tang

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


From our intimate private dining room, The Kitchen Table, which seats 18 in a private room amidst chefs, to a full buyout of the restaurant, DBGB is the perfect spot for any special occasion! We can easily accommodate larger groups from 8 to 30 people in our dining room and bar room.

Check out our large format Whole Beast Feasts* (Hog, Beef or Lamb) to share with your favorite friends and family for a unique and memorable experience!

Call the restaurant or email our events coordinator Isela Velasco: ivelasco@danielnyc.com

*Please Note: Advanced notice is necessary so that we can coordinate with the farm and prepare the beast.

Restaurant Photos

Frenchie Burger - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
DBGB Dog - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
brioche french toast - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Beaujolais - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
croque monsieur - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Cavatelli - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Brussel sprouts - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
House-Baked Pastry Basket - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Home Fries - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Eggs Florentine - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Beet Salad - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Butternut Squash Soup - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Chocolate Creme Brulee Cake - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Beer Battered Cod Sandwich  - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Jim's Matzo Ball Soup - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Hot Dog!!!! - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Roasted Beets - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Bibb Salad - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Baked alaska - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Thai sausage with quail egg - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Long Island Fluke Ceviche - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
The Piggie Burger - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Mint Chocolate Sundae - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Smoked Salmon Platter - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
The Frenchie Burger - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Iced Mocha Ice Cream Sundae - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Smoked Scottish Salmon - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
thai sausage - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Viennoise Sausage with Rye Beer and Turnip Sauerkraut - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Lamb Merguez - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Chop Chop Salad - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Spaghetti All Chitarra Pasta - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Vermont Sausage - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Salad - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Searned Tuna Pan Bagnat - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Brussels Sprouts - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Matzoh Ball Soup - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
French Fries - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Pork Belly Bacon Burger - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
The Sundae Scoop - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Pork Toscane - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Pork Vermont - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Boneless Pig Foot - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Espagnole - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Assorted Desserts - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Pappardelle Bourguignon - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
thai dog - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
The Yankee Burger with Fried Egg - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Burger - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Asparagus and Fried Egg - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Ricotta Cheesecake With Figs And Sangria Sorbet - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Complimentary Bread - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Creamy Leeks - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Croissant - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Pâté - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Chilled Corn Soup - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Fried Soft Egg And Asparagus - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Fromage De Tete - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Strawberry Cheesecake - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Beaujolais Banger - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Blood Sausage - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Cheddar Cheese Pork Sausage - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Bone Marrow - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
flat iron steak - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Beaujolaise Sausage - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Tunisienne - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
New York Steak - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Hash Browns - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
merguez sausages with spiced chickpeas and spinach - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Escarole With Saurkraut Dressing And Pine Nuts - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Calamari Keifir Lime Cream - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Yankee Burger - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
BLACK FOREST CAKE with brandied cherries, whipped creme fraiche chocolate chip cherry ice cream  - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
WARM STICKY TOFFEE PUDDING ,citrus poached pineapple, calamansi sorbet  - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
LONG ISLAND DUCK DUO, roasted breast, crispy duck, toasted pistachio  rhubarb couscous, cipollini onion, lemon verbena jus - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Norwegian Salmon - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Chilled Carrot Soup - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
The Triple Dog Dare  - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Baked Alaska! - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Dark Chocolate Praline Cake - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Atlantic Salmon With Summer Squash And Farro - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Peanut Butter Chocolate Tart - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Mussels - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Bangers and Mash - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Burgers - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
hamburguer - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
The Frenchie - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
House-smoked Turkey Club - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Piggie Burger - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Provencal Saucisse - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Duck Confit with Spaetzle - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Ice Cream Sundae with peanuts - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Blueberry Vacherin,mint meringue,blueberry sorbet,praline ice cream - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
SOUFFLÉ CHAUD, grand marnier souffle, orange confit, vanilla anglaise - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Potato Salad - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
The Yankee Burger - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Braised Lamb & Gnochetti  - DBGB NYC, New York, NY
Earl Grey Tea - DBGB NYC, New York, NY

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Enjoy Christmas Eve Dinner with Family and Friends at DBGB!
Dinner will be served from 5pm-10pm.
A la Carte menu with Holiday Specials will be available

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in the New Year with Family & Friends at DBGB!
Dinner will be served from 5:00-11:00pm
A la carte menu please festive specials will be available!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private dining at the Kitchen Table for up to 18 guests, overlooking the kitchen.

DBGB NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Groups (25)
Casual (19)
See All
Hot Spot (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fun (12)
Great Beer (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
People Watching (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Romantic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, bad food for brunch that was ov ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 8 hours ago

Overall, bad food for brunch that was over priced. Steak and eggs was laughable. They were out of one of the sides. The service was marginal at best. It's sad, I was here a year ago and it was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I've been here a few times and liked the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

I've been here a few times and liked the restaurant until tonight's visit. We were seated 1.5 hours after our reservation After being told repeatedly that it would only be "10 to 15 more minutes". I have been to other restaurants where the waitstaff firmly but kindly tells the current party that their reserved time is up and the table is needed for the next seating. This clearly did not happen tonight.

After finally being seated at another table, three of our entrees came out 10 minutes after the rest of our entrees and must have been forgotten about and then rushed to be made...one burger was overdone, the second was completely raw inside, and the third pasta entree was doused in cheese/dairy when the person who ordered is lactose intolerant and specified no dairy. To make matters worse, the waitstaff acknowledged it but didn't even offer to remake those 3 items which was bizarre.

They took the three inedible entrees off our bill along with 100$, but I feel that we deserved to get the $400 bill at least cut in half, if not fully taken care of considering the entire fiasco of a night. I own my own business, and I certainly would've comped the entire meal if this had happen in my place of business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Nicholas Tang is a gifted chef! Food was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Nicholas Tang is a gifted chef! Food was excellent! We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great dinner at DBGB NYC. Food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had a great dinner at DBGB NYC. Food was excellent, service was fast. It was worth the price. The room was a little dark and the music was louder than I like but over all it was great and I highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

pleasant comfortable surroundings with a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

pleasant comfortable surroundings with acceptable noise level serving good basic food.the quality of service is good,attentive.service is quick,maybe a little too quick,we like to take a little more time between appetizer and main course.

the timing of service between kitchen and table can be improved.i.e. the food needs to be served without cooling down too much,we like our food hot,not tepid.

the taste profile is interesting .the bearnaise sauce could be a little more pronounced bearnaise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Reservations were easy for Thanksgiving, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Reservations were easy for Thanksgiving, I even got a personal call to remind me. When we arrived the place was hopping, and we were excited until we were assaulted with loud hip hop music - on Thanksgiving? We decided to let it go. I ordered a bottle of wine since my son was unfamiliar. The wine was pricey, the wine steward presented the bottle and once I ok'd he poured for my son first - which I was surprised by but willing to let go but no one but my son and I poured additional wine for us the rest of the night! I'd be lame if that was my whole complaint. Not the worst part of the night. The busboy or waiter did not bring us bread, I had to ask for it - he said he forgot. The appetizer arrived timely, the entree took a little long, but it was Thanksgiving we were patient. Finally we ate, it was all pretty good. Then we stopped seeing our waiter. We sat with dirty dishes in front of us for 15 minutes. We then received desserts and I ordered 2 irish coffees, again waiter went missing. I had to go hunt someone down to bring us our coffees. I paid $260+ for this barely mediocre evening. The WORST part? I threw it all up later that evening - the oysters. This was my first time in NYC and I was excited to spend Thanksgiving with my son. But it turned into my worst night ever and I had to leave to fly home a day early because I was so sick. I do not recommend this restaurant and I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We dined at DBGB on Thanksgiving evening ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We dined at DBGB on Thanksgiving evening. Two of bus had the turkey entree and two had the steak option on the pre-fixe menu. The turkey was moist and the stuffing was savory. A very pleasant meal. We were a bit under-whelmed by the desserts - specifically the pecan pie, which had an unusual dry brownie-like texture (not like any pecan pie I've ever had) but the overall flavor was good. All of is chose different appetizers and each one was great. The calamari with curry sauce, in particular, received rave reviews. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We celebrated Thanksgiving there last ye ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We celebrated Thanksgiving there last year and couldn't wait to return hoping to make it a new tradition. We were disappointed. No comparison to last year. The portions were in half for the same prices. They were "tasting" menu portions. Two of us had the filet. It was 4 small slices,serve cold and missing the Bearnaise sauce. When we ask the waitress for the sauce it was another 10-15 minutes before it arrived. The waitress was always arguing with the bus boy directly behind our table. She never came to the table to see if we wanted anything else. We guess she was to busy arguing. Sadly, we will look for another place to have Thanksgiving.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We went with a three adults and two youn ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went with a three adults and two young children for Thanksgiving. As usual, good food, good service and good drinks; DBGB really manages to be consistent over time, and if you do ever have an issue, the restaurant is eager to make it right. Portions were decent for the price point with good execution, although prix fix menu was limited in scope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very mixed bag -- waited for an hour bef ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very mixed bag -- waited for an hour before the table was ready so didn't eat until 10:30pm! However food was amazing and they comped our drinks -- so that offset the waiting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great brunch with a large group of frien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great brunch with a large group of friends. Easy to get a reservation later in the day. Able to be seated with the majority of our party there. Portions were small but food was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Slow service although the staff was plea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Slow service although the staff was pleasant

The food was subpar for a Daniel Boulud restaurant as it was cold and very late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Great disappointment :( to end our girl' ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great disappointment :( to end our girl's weekend... definitely below our expectations. The ambiance and decor were lively and pleasant, definitely a party place and not suitable for a quite, romantic meal....so it met our expectations there. It was a crowded Saturday nite and they could not handle the crowd at all! Service was slow and poor. I had to wait for my glass of wine because they were out of glasses...had to be washed. My friends had cocktails so they were fine. They were done with them by the time i got my wine! One of our dishes was great--the sausages. The meat was tough, not good quality, the pasta very bland, nothing special---certainly not worth the money. Received the wrong bill at the end of our meal--it belonged to another table. To end it all, when asked for the street address to summon an Uber was given the wrong street address--Uber was waiting for us at the wrong place. We had made reservations expecting a great meal at a fun place and were highly disappointed.....!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Great place to meet friends. Large, live ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place to meet friends. Large, lively and comfortable bar area for pre-dinner drinks. Cosy booths as well as open tables for dining. Good, tasty and well presented food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place, good food, tasty cocktails. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great place, good food, tasty cocktails. My wife and I love this place.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for my laid back birthday lunch! Y ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great for my laid back birthday lunch! You can never go wrong with a Daniel Bouloud restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OK experience. I was on the fence about ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

OK experience. I was on the fence about recommending it b/c I have never been to the one in NYC even though I've lived here my entire life. My friend and I arrive 15 minutes early (clearly we were. It expexting to be seated then) and we were told by the hostess we would receive the next available table that was not already reserved. My friend and I expected that and waited st the bar for 15 minutes and recognized other parties were just walking in without reservations and being seated ahead of us. We brought this to both of the hostesses' attention and they didn't seem to care, until my friend reasoned with them and they admitted they made a mistake. I can understand making a mistake but two tables were sat ahead of us in error and had I not brought it to the hostesses' attention who knows how long we would be waiting. On a Saturday night you expect to get good service, and it was annoying that I had to keep such close attention to what was happening at the hostess desk. We finally sat and our waiter was nice and helpful. He gave us good recommendations and was kind enough to offer us a complimentary soup b/c we were not sure if we wanted to order it. When our main entrees came we were extremely underwhelmed. I thought I was being "punked" I ordered the roasted chicken and the portion was SO skimpy. The plate was practically empty and it was not very tasteful. My friend ordered the steak which was also very small. We were both very hungry still after finishing out entrees. The price was not cheap either. On a Saturday night you have certain expectations for a dinner and it's unfortunate to leave a restaurant still hungry after paying $130. Now I understand why I have not been there and it's not a place I hear about often. Our waiter was great and so was the company (my friend) but besides that, the experience was not great. There are so many options in NYC and this isn't a place I would go back to.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I've now eaten at DBGB three times. I t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I've now eaten at DBGB three times. I think their prices are generally ridiculous for the portion size (although I guess in line with the neighborhood) but the food is solid good & in some instances spectacular (for example, the roasted carrots). The plain burger is nothing to get excited about, which is odd given the place is supposed to be all about burgers, but the Frenchie (with bone marrow) and the Piggy (with pulled pork) are quite good, although the Piggy could have used some more pork. Steak tartare is great but one time it was underseasoned and the next it was over-salted. The smartest way to go is the prix fixe- $39 for three courses with fairly decent choices. However, their cocktails are spectacular and really interesting, and service is just great. Everyone from the waitstaff to the bus people is super nice, well informed and cheerful without seeming phony. The drinks and the service keep me coming back whenever I am going to a show on the LES.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Always fun to go to DGBG, coming in from ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always fun to go to DGBG, coming in from Europe getting the right NYC feeling; lively and fun atmosphere. Great burgers. Good service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and nice people but I was expe ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Good food and nice people but I was expecting more and that might be my fault.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

we had the beast feast awesome awesome ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

we had the beast feast awesome awesome we had ten large guys and we were all good no one left hungry from app to dessert ( baked Alaska pretty cool ) spot on !!!!! service was so good loved it here !!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great Beer, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good but took 2 and a half ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was good but took 2 and a half hours to arrive. The staff were apologetic but said the kitchen was just busy. Seems like the kind of thing you should just organise better. They did take money off the bill which made amends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Delicious beet salad; good steamed musse ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicious beet salad; good steamed mussels and interesting selection of sausages. Not too noisy early on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was amazing! Highly recommend getti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was amazing! Highly recommend getting any of the sausages! Had a grate French ciders also that was yumm! Service was awesome! Would eat here a again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! We loved our server, Jess ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great service! We loved our server, Jess. She was knowledgeable and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We live in Soho and had been to DBGB sev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We live in Soho and had been to DBGB several times when it opened ... then it simply fell off our radar and we were always concerned about the noise factor. We were so surprised that the food was even better than before and each and every dish was beyond memorable ... rare nowadays for a trendy restaurant. Even our picky 11 year old twins gave it a thumbs up from the "vermonter" sausage oozing cheddar, oysters, aged ny strip, steamed fish for my friend who is allergic to everything so they custom made dishes for her, to a perfect burger and fries. Then the sides ... great veggies and they even gave us a complimentary kale salad with the most other worldly sweet potatoes that was sent by accident. Dessert was solid as nothing too complicated in the ice cream sundays with traditional toppings. Our server was on point and so kind ... a pleasant surprise to be a true New Yorker and be able to take our kids to a hot spot on a Friday night and have fun with fabulous food! The noise factor was manageable as we were in a booth and again any trendy restaurant will be noisy so if you have not been here before or in a while ... go NOW!

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was terrific! We were late d ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The service was terrific! We were late due to Subway snarl, but DGBG made our guests comfortable and were gracious when we finally arrived. We never felt hurried and were able to enjoy a leisurely, delicious dinner. Thanks DGBG!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was as expected, good, nothing spec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food was as expected, good, nothing special, service ok. What we found irritating that the place was only half full with people - we go here quite regularly and never experienced such few guests. The vibrant atmosphere sure adds to the overall experience and we hope it'll be back.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

What an awesome place. I came here for b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What an awesome place. I came here for brunch and came back 2 weeks later bc it was so good. The staff are nice, bartenders are even better. I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time @ DBGB. Went with a family gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

First time @ DBGB. Went with a family group of 5. Had a great meal: the food, service and ambiance didn't disappoint. Special shout out to the sommelier - excellent wine recommendations for not totally extravagant prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Recommended for a special date night. It ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Recommended for a special date night. It's the kind of place where everyone helps everyone not just your assigned server. Unique set up and the food was amazing. I couldn't eat all my food for fear of not being able to fit thru the door. TONS of it, especially the mussels. I recommend the desserts as they are all amazing. We had the mango sorbet and the lava cake. Both unbelievable!

This will be a regular place for us every time we visit NYC. We had gone there at the end of a stormy, complicated day of travel and almost just stayed in. DBGB changed the perspective and set a new positive tone for our visit and I cannot be more appreciative than that on a quick trip that needed to be special...and it was. DBGB was a large part in making it so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The saltiest chips ever eaten. Had to s ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The saltiest chips ever eaten. Had to send them back twice. Service was below par. Steak was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The food could have been better. Ordere ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food could have been better. Ordered a medium rare burger got well done wasn't tasty at all. Definitely disappointed overall since it was highly recommended.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Went on a Sunday night for dinner and en ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Went on a Sunday night for dinner and enjoyed the entire experience. The price fixe menu was a great value at $39.00 though some entrees were better than others. The curried cauliflower soup was delicious; the beet salad was delicious. The pasta with squash was good, but a bit starchy; moules frites delicious and the sausage sampler was good. Cheese plate was 2 cheeses, pecans, and hearty bread and was really good. Molten chocolate cake was good too. We sat at the bar and the bartender was engaging, but not overbearing, and directed us to a nice bourbon. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Remarkable cocktails, outstanding wine l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Remarkable cocktails, outstanding wine list, peerless appetizers and small plates. Sausage was competent and flavorful. Strangely, the burger was mediocre, barely at the level of your corner pub; desserts were similarly average (aside from the passion fruit sundae, which was a standout).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The wait staff seemed overburdened, we w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The wait staff seemed overburdened, we were not served well. The food portions were very small for the price. The steak frites were over cooked and the meal was so so. Very disappointed on this trip as other times we had good food. Won't be going back, too much money for mediocre food and too busy a staff.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

A really great place to go for excellent ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A really great place to go for excellent food and service in a casual setting. Everything first rate from the superb shrimp wrapped in bacon to the grand marnier soufflé. Sommelier recommended a Macon villages. And it was excellent. Well worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A brilliant interpretation of the classi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A brilliant interpretation of the classic Parisian Bistro with a decidedly American twist. The service was at a Michelin starred, formal standard but with a unpretentious and casual feel. Our incredible waitress was knowledgeable and obviously highly trained and experienced. She was always there the moment you needed her, but never overbearing. The sommelier was incredibly knowledgeable and willing to teach and inform. In hot New York restaurants, one often gets the feeling that waitstaff is selected on looks before skill and talent, but this was not the case here at all (not to say that the staff wasn't an attractive bunch!). I will definitely return on my next trip to the city! And I almost forgot the food, it was incredible to say the least. We started with a very authentic charcuterie board and a heavenly curried cauliflower soup. I had the duck breast as my main course, and it was heaven. Cooked to the perfect temperature. We ended our meal wit an ice cream sundae and a tawny port. Next time I'll be certain to try the incredible sounding steak tartare, they are known for it. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, welcoming spot. Food better th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Friendly, welcoming spot. Food better than expected, esp. The burgers. Staff seemed to be enjoying serving.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good humored and accommodating service. ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Good humored and accommodating service. Great food - burgers and other classics with a twist. Seating is amidst an open kitchen, which gives special flair. Only downside: very noisy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.