About David's Restaurant & Lounge

802 Ash St
Amelia Island, FL 32034
View Larger Map

The ART of Dining! Top rated seafood and meats available on Amelia Island. Our mouthwatering menu features a wide selections of delicious entrees such as Filet Oscar, Rack of Lamb,& Grilled Prime Rib Eye. On the Sea side Dover Sole, Truffle Scallops, Sea Bass & our New Wild Mushroom Fettuccini. Our elegant presentation & experienced wait staff makes dining at David’s Restaurant a unique intimate. Attire: Resort casual in the dining room. Enjoy fine wines, liquors and cocktails, and relax in the lounge. Valet Attendant on the weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

7 nights a week

Bar & Lounge opens at 5:00pm

Dining room opens at 6:00pm

Cross Street:
S. 8th St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 310-6049

Website:
http://www.ameliaislanddavids.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available Thursday, Friday, Saturday & Holiday Sunday's. Parking lot is located behind the building.

Private Party Facilities:
The Private Wine Room at David’s is a luxurious setting for intimate gatherings up to 12 guests. You will be surrounded by rich mahogany and fine wines during your culinary experience. This is the perfect room to host an intimate rehearsal dinner, birthday or anniversary gathering. You will be swept away with the Old World ambience and professional service you will experience here at David’s.

The Banquet Room at David’s can accommodate up to 50 guests. It is the perfect place to host receptions, rehearsal dinners, business meetings or any evening private event. The room can be configured in many different ways in order to host your unique event just as you envision. We have created several banquet menus for you to choose from or we can tailor a custom menu to your specific needs. We are happy to help you with the details of planning your event and look forward to serving you and your guests. Contact our Manager to create the perfect event with no detail missed.

Private Party Contact:
Blane: 9043106049x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners
Murder Mystery Dinners
Rehearsal Dinners
Wedding Receptions

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

David's Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Notable Wine List
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
10 More
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Contemporary American
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Amelia Island
Best Food
Amelia Island
Best Service
Amelia Island
Best Ambiance
Amelia Island
Best Value
Amelia Island
Fit for Foodies
Amelia Island
Special Occasion
Amelia Island
Most Booked
Amelia Island
Best Restaurants in Amelia Island ›

special occasion (124)
romantic (96)
fit for foodies (68)
See All
notable wine list (64)
neighborhood gem (43)
good for groups (36)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
551 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found David's food to be exceptional ...

Dined 3 days ago

We found David's food to be exceptional and unique in that one could easily eat dinner for $25 or $150. The menu was that varied. Almost as important, the staff was pleasant, accommodating and efficient. This is a wonderful place to dine.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

My experience was just average, I don't ...

Dined 6 days ago

My experience was just average, I don't think I'd return as there are so many finer restaurants in the area. Overhyped for my money ! Lamb chops subpar - Filet Oscar subpar ( crabmeat very pasty) in NYC this restaurant wouldn't have a shot ! Sorry David's !

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Gem

Dined 6 days ago

We had a very enjoyable dinner at David's, everything from the bar to dinner the service was excellent. The food was also delicious, and tho' pricey was well worth every bite. I had the Dover Sole and relished each bite, it was that good. The atmosphere is comfortable, noise level was not a problem but it was a weekday night and we eat early

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Disappointed in food

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We have been here several times before and loved it but this time I ordered the snapper special and the piece of fish was so tiny it was ridiculous...I think I had 3-4 bites and it was tough. Then the mashed potatoes were suppose to have a touch of blue cheese in them... it was so loaded with it they were sickening... they didn't even look appealing... a blob of GRAY potatoes on your plate.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 8, 2016

Not our first time here. First visit the King Crab was amazing. Being a Deadliest Catch fan I always wanted to have that crab and they made it possible. One of the best meals I have ever had. Our second visit was just as great as the first. The steak was cooked to perfection, the staff was very helpful and attentive overall just an awesome experience. I definitely recommend a visit.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Once again, the food was outstanding, the service was great. Request Michael Pierce for a truly exceptional waiter. We had three very happy mothers by the end of the evening,.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant and Professional

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was excellent, service was the best and atmosphere was elegant and quiet. Many times restaurants fail to live up to claims and what's presented on their website but not in this case. David's in Fernandina Beach is a gem. We have only been twice but both visits were excellent. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome restaurant. Very friendly and at ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Awesome restaurant. Very friendly and attentive staff. Great ambience. The food is superb. The clams Biloxi are awesome as is everything on the menu. Definitely going back probably once a week.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was fine-we were not blown away

Dined on May 3, 2016

We ate at David's based on reviews while in town for a business meeting. The outside looks like nothing-kind of worrisome. There was an odor in the hallway upon entering (wet mop smell?) which also worried me. However inside was very pleasant. Service was good. They try hard to be over the top but it comes across a bit forced and unnatural. We had the Dover Sole and the Snapper special. Both dishes were tasty. They have a nice wine selection and pour generously. We had a nice meal but I personally would not feel a need to eat there again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Staff was very polite and accomodating.

Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff was very attentive and the food was very good. I decided to try a house Pionot Noir and I was very pleasantly suprised that it was "Hangtime". Very buttery and smooth. even those at my table that normally did not drink that wine found it pleasent. The food was ample and filling. We enjoyed it very much and found the price range within reason for the quality and experiance. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, great service, but pricey!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was delicious...and perfectly prepared! My steak was tender and juicey, and the risotto was very tasty. Unfortunately, I will have to save David's for special occasions; meals for three people and a bottle of wine was well over $240.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our only comment is that for a fine dini ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our only comment is that for a fine dining restaurant the mixed drinks are not very generous, actually skimpy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was delicious as always. Great servic ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was delicious as always. Great service, staff and attentive without being intrusive. Always a dining experience not just dining out!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An elegant dining experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

I had planned to my girl to a nice restaurant for a good meal. What I found at David’s was a great place with great food and service. The staff behaved 5 stars, from the moment we entered to the moment we left. The professionalism was on point, they’re polite and kindness and attention to us during our time there was impressive. I will be back!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated 65 with my wife.

Dined on April 20, 2016

We celebrated 65 birthday at our favorite place on the island for special occasions. David's did not disappoint. Food, service, drinks all very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely place to celebrate our 47th ann ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

A lovely place to celebrate our 47th anniversary....the food was very nice, ambience, lovely. We'll go again before #48, just because......

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on April 18, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here and were impressed when we walked in the door. We were greeted by name, told "Happy Anniversary" and seated right away. Our server brought an anniversary card signed by all the staff - very nice staff. Excellent service and food. Will definitely be back during our next vacation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Nice Ambiance - Bad Service!!!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Restaurant very nice, however, waitstaff poorly trained and Manager belongs managing a fast food restaurant rather than one that is trying to present itself as being high-end! Filet Mignon was ordered medium but mine came out medium rare. They wanted to re-cook mine while my husband ate his??? Seriously, it was our anniversary - that's why we went there!!! They tried to make up for the issue with giving us a free dessert so I choose Bananas Foster - which they then told us couldn't be lit due to fire concerns, but they placed dishes in between us "for our safety"! I don't know what this restaurant wants to become but if it is a high-end restaurant, they have a long way to go!!! Totally disappointed! Don't go - waste of a lot of money!

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding the highlight of our vacatio ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Outstanding the highlight of our vacation

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and efficient friendly servic ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Great food and efficient friendly service. Had a very enjoyable pre-dinner cocktail at the bar. Food service and quality was excellent in a "no rush" atmosphere.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on April 9, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant. My date and I ordered the beef and it was very tough. The price charged should bring better service and quality of the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lives up to its reputation

Dined on April 8, 2016

The total package was top quality. The decor is very modern but well done, staff were very professional and helpful. We enjoyed excellent seafood with excwellent presentation. Good restaurant measured against any standard. Well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Michael our server was excellent, best e ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Michael our server was excellent, best ever!!!! The food was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special to me

Dined on April 2, 2016

While Amelia Island does have many fine restaurants, outstanding service puts David's over the top. Very few on this island, outside of private clubs, understand how to go that extra mile to make a dining experience special. Our waiter, Michael Pierce, knows the secret. We will continue to ask for him by name every time we go.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special evening

Dined on March 31, 2016

Delightful and delicious experience at David's. Low key excellent service, quiet and relaxed setting, and delicious food created the perfect special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food every time we are there!!! Ve ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Great food every time we are there!!! Very consistent in quality of food. Many great flavorful dishes.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

To Alaska, the Bering Sea and beyond

Dined on March 28, 2016

A wonderful evening, a 7 pound King Crab for our family of 4. Side dishes of terrific garlic mashed potatoes....broccolini and asparagus boring but good quality and the risotto not my particular favorite but made well. Bread excellent; unusual and tasteful. Wine list had something for everyone. Would go back again. The service is excellent and a lovely environment. When in Fernandina it's a place I would go back to. S

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

When you see David's from the outside, i ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

When you see David's from the outside, it really doesn't say much. Once you are inside, it's a totally different world. Great ambiance, soothing lighting, very nice decor, and a general feeling of nice things about to happen. Food is superb, even though my meal was not quite up there. My girlfriend and I shared a brie en croute, which was delicious. Then she had a crab bisque, which according to her it was out of this world. I had the truffle scallops with risotto and asparagus. Very good dish overall, except for the risotto, which was a tad dry. Then for dessert we shared the David's Banana Foster: a different take on the traditional dessert, which was outstanding. One special note of commendation: our server, Vanessa, extremely knowledgeable, impeccable timing, and excellent customer service skills. Certainly an asset to the staff. If you are in Fernandina Beach, you ought to go to David's. You won't regret it!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service, on the return list!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Attentive service, listened and met expectations for dietary requests, and our dishes looked beautiful and tasted delicious. Although a step pricier than we typically eat out, even on vacation, David's was memorable and worth it. You have an ideal formula for success, so keep doing what you are doing. You are on our recommendation list and we will see you again when we return to the island. Thank you! -Ed & Tom

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant with the most delicious food!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

This is a restaurant that is pricey but worth every penny. The food is fantastic and the wine list has many options. There is a good range of foods so everyone can find something they like. They provide sorbet in between appetizers and entrees to help cleanse your pallet and chocolate covered strawberries after your meal! Definitely a restaurant to check our if you're in the area!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vegitarians may not be interested

Dined on March 26, 2016

Overall a good dining experience, but for the price the portions could have been larger - - how much can mashed potato's cost anyway? Only one vegetarian item on the menu - Mushroom Alfredo. If someone in your party is a vegetarian, you may want to choose another restaurant.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Annual Visit

Dined on March 26, 2016

We visit David's every spring for our Fernandina Beach "date night". Every year continues to please. The bartender is exceptional. The servers are polite, knowledgeable, and aim to please. The food is always delicious! We highly recommend David's.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was great. Restaurant was way too ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was great. Restaurant was way too noisy. Wait for seating and service was long.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful meal

Dined on March 25, 2016

Really enjoyed this delightful meal. I loved the sherry cream sauce on the lobster ravioli. Glad I decided on coming here for a night out with the hubby.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Average experience

Dined on March 25, 2016

We based our visit on Tripadvisor comments that David's was a special occasion place. We were cordially greeted and served pleasantly throught the visit. I had a salad and crabcakes; my husband risotto and filet mignon. The restaurant is elegantly, minimally decorated and is pleasant. But what we went for was the food and we were both underwhelmed by our average dishes. We would not dine here again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal. The Dover soul was excell ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Fabulous meal. The Dover soul was excellent. The lobster bisque was really good. I wish this restaurant was near home, I would love to eat here more often.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delightful meal at David's. Pat ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

We had a delightful meal at David's. Patrick did a very good job serving us without hovering. Food was delicious. I ordered the Dover sole and hubby got the filet. Both were served hot and cooked perfectly. The sole serving wasn't large and probably wouldn't fill up a big eater, but it was perfect for me since we had ordered an appetizer. Restaurant was quiet and a little dark with no windows, but the ambience was nice, was a great date night. Ordered the bananas foster for dessert which was a perfect ending to a really wonderful meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Food

Dined on March 23, 2016

We really enjoyed the food here. The service was friendly and flawless. The decor very attractive and relaxing. Even though it was crowded with several large groups the noise level was fine. Interesting wine list. We split the tomato bisque soup, the beet and goat cheese salad, truffle Mac and cheese, and steak Oscar. Everything was perfectly prepared and delicious. I would definitely eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service.. The waitress was very im ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Great service.. The waitress was very impressive, she knew what type of wine that would appeal my palate. The food was impeccable. Our first and certainly not our last time going to David's Restaurant. My husband and I enjoyed our evening.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Two Boatmen's Review....

Dined on March 19, 2016

Really had an excellent time at Davids from start to finish. Reservation was simple and got both an email and call back that went to my voicemail within minutes. Even though it was full on Saturday night it didn't feel crowded. Staff was great in all concerns of our visit there. Meal wise the Chilean sea-bass(crab-cake style) over a small salad was a GREAT appetizer as well as the escargots. Got a bottle of Cabernet Sonoma for our meal. Got a chuckle when I had to tell my friend that the two scoops of sorbet were to "cleanse the palate" between courses. The filet mignons we both ordered medium rare were both a "hint" over charred resulting in a very small degree of dryness. We both enjoyed them anyway. Got to admit the best part of the meal was the dessert of a banana split. We would both go back to have that dessert again. Absolutely superb!!!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.