About David Burke Kitchen

23 Grand Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

David Burke Kitchen pays homage to the craft of cooking and sharing hearty, rustic American food. Its artisan menu items are inspired by morning visits to the green market and what is freshest in the region, prepared with creativity and refined technique. The result is a dining experience that is truly of-the-moment, authentic and regional. Kitchen celebrates the integrity of ingredients at their peak, prepared with a deft hand and served alongside the finest wines and spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 201-9119

Website:
http://www.davidburkekitchennyc.com/

Catering:
Contact kitchenevents@davidburke.com

Parking Details:
Varick Street Garage, 360 West Broadway
Icon Parking Systems, 114 Varick Street
Central Parking System, 45-47 Dominic Street

Public Transit:
A, C, E, J, N. Q, R, Z, 1, 6: Canal Street Stations

Executive Chef:
Raoul Whitaker

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
David Burke Kitchen's interior is inspired by the surrounding neighborhood, and blends the cool, industrial simplicity of SoHo's airy lofts with the rustic warmth of a country abode. The restaurant's multi-level spaces offer several different ways to experience Burke's playful menu. From rehearsal dinners, weddings and bachelorette parties to corporate events, David Burke Kitchen is the ideal spot for your next special event. Contact kitchenevents@davidburke.com to learn more!

Private Dining

David Burke Kitchen brings creative, inventive culinary style to downtown New York. Focusing on wholesome and hearty modern American food, David Burke Kitchen combines locally-sourced ingredients and presents them in a creative and whimsical style.

David Burke Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (90)
special occasion (59)
good for groups (55)
See All
great for brunch (41)
great for lunch (38)
neighborhood gem (38)
romantic (34)
hot spot (27)
notable wine list (23)
great for outdoor dining (13)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious, loved the pickl ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious, loved the pickled veggie dip. The mash potato was absolutely enormous. Very tasty. All the food ordered was enjoyed thoroughly. The price of the wine was just silly. I thought I was looking at bottles at first. It should not be necessary to only offer that price level

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Breakfast...Yes! Breakfast.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Opted for a Mothers Day breakfast. All the standards are offered with delightful twists. Brioche French Toast with Berries. Add the Maple Bacon. Excellent.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5

The service was incredible. Steaks came ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The service was incredible. Steaks came out over cooked and seamed to be bad cuts of meat. Not impressed by the food overall which was a disappointment.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Wine way too expensive

Dined on May 4, 2016

Wine is ridiculously priced. One or two bottles around $80 and the rest 100's & 1000's of dollars. Food very nice and service good. We enjoy wine with our meal but unfortunately those prices spoilt the whole thing. All they need to do is have 2 or 3 of each at more of an entry level.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

food was different and interesting

Dined on May 1, 2016

My favorite was the cheesecake pops for dessert. I wished they brought out more for our table. The sugar cinnamon rolls were delicious. My seafood meal was delicious and unique. Everyone at the table was very content.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

DBK 04.22.16

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was good. My scallop was perfectly cooked. My brother lamb was a bit dry. At present, limited options for desserts.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience4
service1

The waitress was horrible. We were there ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The waitress was horrible. We were there for about two hours and she literally came to the table twice. We had to constantly keep asking for her, and she wasn't even busy, she was just standing in the front of the restaurant by the computer. The busboys did a better job than she did. The food was good, but nothing extraordinarily amazing. In my opinion, the restaurant is overpriced but it's in New York, so that wasn't really my issue since I expected everything to be more expensive. Considering this is supposed to be a higher end restaurant, I was expecting much better service for the price of the food. I will not be back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great SOHO Spot!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food, great service., great value. The pasta fra diavolo had it was great. More seafood - lobster & rock shrimp. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great casual but elegant atmosphe ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Really great casual but elegant atmosphere. Great wines and food. High end but excellent food. Great for a date or couples night out

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For nearly any dining occassion

Dined on April 14, 2016

My experience at David Burke's Kitchen from ambiance, service and quality of cuisine, was beyond my highest expectation. Chef Raoul Whitaker isn't trying to appease to the latest trend. His menu caters to the diversity and class of the clientele. Whether meeting up with friends or impressing a business client, you will enjoy every aspect of the occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch at kitchen

Dined on April 11, 2016

We took our daughter out to celebrate her graduation from medical school, and were not disappointed. The food was outstanding, quite filling, and presented in a artistic fashion! Our waiter was personable, knowledgeable, and friendly. Overall, a wonderful experience. PS- we do miss Fishtail!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2

The staff hovered like helicopters and y ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The staff hovered like helicopters and yet the device was still lacking. Ugh.

food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at DBK on several occasions ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I have eaten at DBK on several occasions over the past few months and wether you're having breakfast, lunch or dinner the food and service is great.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fun Soho spot

Dined on April 4, 2016

Love this restaurant. Great for a work lunch in Soho

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2

Service was polite but sluggish. Dining ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Service was polite but sluggish. Dining room was about 1/3 full, took over 1/2 hr before we saw food, 20 minutes just for tea. Food was just ok, omlette like rubber, everything else ok

food4
ambience4
service5

Loved coming here for my birthday dinner ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Loved coming here for my birthday dinner... Was so happy to have the lamb special!!!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Tourist Hotel Restaurant

Dined on March 25, 2016

DBK is a decent hotel restaurant catering to the tourist's palette. Friendly service, nice atmosphere, good for families or groups, tourist fare. Good for what it is.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Probably would not go there again

Dined on March 25, 2016

We had lunch there last Friday; it was one of my favorite place for couple years. Menu does not change, the same offerings month after month. What did change is the wine list - it became super expensive. We could not find anything below $77 per bottle (except rose). Even by glass it was unreasonable. No wonder all places around David Burke were packed, and this restaurant was empty.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great night!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Took my girlfriend out for some dinner and we had a wonderful night, the food was great and our waitress was even better!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

From the warm and welcoming David, who c ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

From the warm and welcoming David, who called to confirm our reservation, to the charmingly buoyant Alessandra who cares for us all night, our time at David Burke was sublime. My wife had a great birthday dinner, and we looked like champs for having suggested a unique gem of a place. Yay us! But really, Yay David Burkes Kitchen.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I wish they really they had more variety ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I wish they really they had more variety with meats other then just fish. And better appetizers (more of a selection)

Tags: romantic
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Blah

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Short ribs cold and tasted like leftover meat. Not going back. To many excellent spots in the city. Three scallops for around 40 dollars

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was fine

Dined on March 7, 2016

I'm an out of towner and I stand by my previous thought - I'd rather go high end ($120+ prix fixe like Daniel, Gordon Ramsey) than spend approx $60pp at a place like David Burke Kitchen. It was fine but it wasn't much better than what I could get in Cincinnati. When I come to NY, I want amazing and this wasn't. The brussels sprouts were a great side though.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Very disappointing.

Dined on March 1, 2016

On the surface the Menu reads Incredible. All food that I would normally love. Of the 6 items we ordered they all were the poorest of this food I have ever had. The burrata, the foie gras, the Duck, the Branzino and the Fra Diavlo. All dishes the were mediocre at best. Very disappointed as I had high hopes for this well recommended restaurant. On a side note the service was horrendous, it was a quiet evening and they were all over the place and not attentive at all.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Disappointment

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Unfortunately, the place was a bit disappointing. I have to say the person who greeted us and has taken us to a table was very welcoming and warm, nothing bad about that and that was the ONLY great thing about this place. On the other hand, our server was not too friendly at all. We were there for brunch and I asked if they had hot chocolate (for my child) and the guy looked at me like I was was asking for a shot of vodka for breakfast. Also I was not even asked once if I wanted a refill on my coffee. Well ok. My kids waited for their tea instead which took about 20 minutes or 25 minutes (I am NOT joking). Our food was talking a long time as well and was not super warm when it arrived to the table. Was the food great, I felt it would taste much better if it was hot and not warm. I did not want to make a fuss about it because we just wanted to get out of this place. Would I go back, a definite NO. There are many other and better options. Service was terrible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Service, Overall Excellent

Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was superb and the service was impeccable. Raoul did a magnificent job in the kitchen. It was one of the most satisfying meals and dining experiences I've ever had. The 30 day dry aged t-bone was perfectly cooked. The vegetarian chili was wholesome and full of flavor.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this restaurant !

Dined on February 19, 2016

The only reason I gave 4 out of 5 stars was because my beef was full of fat and gristle (just not a great cut of meat) but the preparation of it, the beets for our appetizer, and our brownie dessert were perfect as usual. We came ready for the monkey bread for dessert, but unfortunately there was something wrong with the oven and they couldn't make it the night I was there. Brownie dessert was a close second.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ny david burke

Dined on February 17, 2016

I had been there for having lunch with 2 people. We made 3 different course orders and the total amount was about $180. Foods were nice enough and the area that this restaurant located in is great to start the soho.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

left and got a slice after

Dined on February 16, 2016

Service was slow and unfriendly. The short ribs tasted like they were made in the microwave, the polenta cake was coarse and gritty and excreting oil like a leaky 72 Porsche targa. Service was slow and not helpful. The bar program was weak. The restaurant should be closed. I have had better meals in coach class on united airlines.

food4
ambience4
service4

Love the monkey bread:).

Dined on February 14, 2016

Love the monkey bread:).

food5
ambience3
service5
value1

Exquisite!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Brunch was fantastic ! But drinks a little pricy:( I will recommend for sure .

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very quick and efficient service, consis ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Very quick and efficient service, consistently mediocre food.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Now and Later

Dined on February 7, 2016

I really enjoyed my experience there. The main course and dessert were amazing, I had the monkey bread. The waiter was attentive as well and the Honey Badger cocktail was perfect. Not everything agreed with my stomach. I think that the duck liver I ordered for the appetizer didn't like me as much as I liked it. The experience while I was there was nice though. And if you go in the summer they have a wonderful roof bar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Ok food, small quantity, overpriced

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was ok The quantity was very small Everything was overpriced

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, but felt a bit rushed

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was excellent, I really enjoyed everything from beginning to end. I am not sure if it was because it was restaurant week or if that's how it normally is with the service, but I felt rushed. Every course they would come over and ask if I was done while I was literally still eating and I was not taking my sweet time. Don't feel like I should have to inhale my food when eating out. Also I felt the drinks were overpriced. Otherwise I really enjoyed the food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

was just ok. Desert was best oart. The ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

was just ok. Desert was best oart. The Cheesecake Lollipops. Waiter oversold things, especially the ravioli appetizer. Over priced and over rated.

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here for restaurant week and thi ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

I went here for restaurant week and this is the only restuarant that I know that has everything on their regular menu as choices. Some choices did have a supplement, but considering most restaurants only give you three choices with no substituions this is very different. The food, service everything was great.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on February 5, 2016

The table setup was too close together. Appetizers came out in 3 seconds, and the entree came in 2 seconds after they took our plates even though I told them no rush with bringing out our entrees. For an expensive restaurant , we were rushed and the waiter didn't even tell us his name. Don't get the cheesecake lollipop tree...

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Restaurant Week Dinner!

Dined on February 5, 2016

We came here for dinner during NYC Restaurant Week. The menu had a lot of options, some included supplement charges. The highlight of our meal was the monkey bread dessert, which was definitely worth the $15 supplement! We watched as a waiter prepared our portions tableside, topping the monkey bread with ice cream, caramel, and powdered sugar. We were even able to take home the leftovers in a cute David Burke tin! Overall, an excellent Restaurant Week dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Not a bad experience, just a few issues ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Not a bad experience, just a few issues 1) weird combination for my main: salmon, with sauerkraut .... It wasn't very good- and to top it off it was mixed in with the whipped potatoes. So very difficult to eat around 2) there was no mention of "lemon" being in the frozen yogurt, which was on top of fresh berries (not very sweet either) so that ruined a bit of my experience- they offered to change my dessert for another one, but I didn't want to risk 'something' being done to it (complaints don't get you far WITHIN the restaurant lol) I'm not sure I would go back, especially for a $6 cup of herbal tea. If you're in the area and happen to get their "pre fixe" deal ($25 for restaurant week) it's worth it, otherwise... Save your $$ for somewhere else.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.