About David Burke Kitchen

23 Grand Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

David Burke Kitchen pays homage to the craft of cooking and sharing hearty, rustic American food. Its artisan menu items are inspired by morning visits to the green market and what is freshest in the region, prepared with creativity and refined technique. The result is a dining experience that is truly of-the-moment, authentic and regional. Kitchen celebrates the integrity of ingredients at their peak, prepared with a deft hand and served alongside the finest wines and spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 201-9119

Website:
http://www.davidburkekitchennyc.com/

Catering:
Contact events@craveablehg.com

Parking Details:
Varick Street Garage, 360 West Broadway
Icon Parking Systems, 114 Varick Street
Central Parking System, 45-47 Dominic Street

Public Transit:
A, C, E, J, N. Q, R, Z, 1, 6: Canal Street Stations

Executive Chef:
Raoul Whitaker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
David Burke Kitchen's interior is inspired by the surrounding neighborhood, and blends the cool, industrial simplicity of SoHo's airy lofts with the rustic warmth of a country abode. The restaurant's multi-level spaces offer several different ways to experience Chef Whitaker's playful menu. From rehearsal dinners, weddings and bachelorette parties to corporate events, David Burke Kitchen is the ideal spot for your next special event. Contact events@craveablehg.com to learn more!

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas Day and experience creative, and delicious takes on all of your holiday favorites. Relax and enjoy the holidays knowing that your entire family will find new favorites among our delicious takes on classic dishes, along with superior hospitality in a warm setting.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in the New Year with us at David Burke Kitchen!
We are offering 2 seatings. The first seating is between 6:30pm & 7:30pm and will feature a 4 course menu for $75/pp. The second seating is between 9pm & 10pm and features a 5 course menu and a complimentary champagne toast at midnight for $110pp

Private Dining

David Burke Kitchen brings creative, inventive culinary style to downtown New York. Focusing on wholesome and hearty modern American food, David Burke Kitchen combines locally-sourced ingredients and presents them in a creative and whimsical style.

David Burke Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (34)
Special Occasion (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
See All
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Casual (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (8)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
2227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Try the cheesecake lollipop ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined a day ago

Great food. Try the cheesecake lollipops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Had Thanksgiving dinner there. Great qu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had Thanksgiving dinner there. Great quick service, food was top notch. Had the Thanksgiving prefixed meal and everything from starter to dessert was succulent. Absolutely a gem in the neighborhood.

Jessica from Hawaii

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, Casual, Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was lovely. It is the NYC ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The atmosphere was lovely. It is the NYC experience everyone wants. the Price was high but it felt right.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was very delicious. A truly spe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was very delicious. A truly special experience. So really this is a place with rustic charm in a super modern hotel that is 100% about the food. Friendly service, casual co-diners.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was outstanding. We got stuc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was outstanding. We got stuck in traffic and was almost an hour late the staff was very understanding and accommodating. The waiter was knowledgeable made some great recommendation based on what flavors we enjoyed most. Service was impecable. Appetizers (oysters and lobster toast) were wonderful. The oysters were tangy sweet deliciousness. the lobster toast was simply amazing. our main course (steak and sea bass )was simple and delicious. Our side were pecorino fries and mushrooms, you can not go wrong with fries but the mushrooms stole the show. On to dessert the Candy Bar! Oh my god I did not expect to be wowed because it looked so simple to my delight is was amazing the ice cream pairing was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous food, imaginative menu choices. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fabulous food, imaginative menu choices. Tracy Wilk is a genius!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make sure to save room for the Monkey Br ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Make sure to save room for the Monkey Bread dessert. It's an absolute must-have! 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

3 course luncheon special is great deal; ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

3 course luncheon special is great deal; room, even if only half full is too noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good service and tasteful food, Ama ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very good service and tasteful food, Amazing T-Bone and drinks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous restaurant! Our first time the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fabulous restaurant! Our first time there and so glad we chose this place to celebrate a birthday! Everything was delicious from the perfectly seasoned filet to the crispy hot fries to the awesome brussel sprouts! Nice selection of wines. Service was attentive. Great ambience! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The waiter was not very good and the foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The waiter was not very good and the food was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Was a SOLO dinner after a long day of me ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Was a SOLO dinner after a long day of meetings, the manager Alexander and the staff were all very attentive and professional. Nice evening. I came back late a second night and had the Cornish Hen .. wonderful!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Andy provided excellent service; attenti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Andy provided excellent service; attentive and friendly. Food was great, as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good prix-fixe deal and food. Ok wait st ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Good prix-fixe deal and food. Ok wait staff; hostess in particular was welcoming, helpful and professional. Modern decor, spacey and not crowded during weekday lunch. Much more crowded on the weekends, as expected.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is tasty- but also fun! We sta ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food is tasty- but also fun! We stated with raw vegetables and dip as an appetizer and felt like kids. We had DIY donuts for dessert. They are like large Timbits- and you inject the sauce to stuff the donuts! There is also a bacon appetizer that comes with bacon clipped onto a rack!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food and service in an atmosph ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very good food and service in an atmosphere conducive to a night out with friends, a date or a meal with colleagues/business partners.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had requested a quieter table but wer ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We had requested a quieter table but were seated in the middle of the room next to a large party that was really loud. Looking around there were lots of other tables open that would have met our request

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

It was our 36th wedding anniversary, eve ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 24, 2016

It was our 36th wedding anniversary, everyone was so helpful and thoughtful. Brandon was our server, what a great guy. Brandon knew the menu and food preparation. He made us feel comfortable and at home. Thank you guys for a great dinner

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were greeted warmly and shown to a lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were greeted warmly and shown to a lovely table. Our waiter was delightful and appropriately available through the entire brunch. The bloody Mary's were good( comes with shrimp garnish, so those allergic beware). I had the kitchen omelet. It was one of the few healthy options. It was healthy, and tasted good.. not great

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice serene decor adds to the feeling th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Nice serene decor adds to the feeling that the food coming from the kitchen is honest and made with top shelf ingredients. Like most places in NYC, the pricing is somewhat distorted with the cost of the actual ingredients. Highlights from my group was the burger and steak and eggs. The only negative on this visit was the slow bar which wasn't able to get a second drink to the table before the main course was eaten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I was disappointed in the food at this r ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was disappointed in the food at this restaurant. The roasted cauliflower dish was disappointing and there were not many other vegetarian options. The bill was high for what we ordered and only one of us ordered a glass of wine.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Ambiance: A Decor: A Service: C Food: A ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Ambiance: A

Decor: A

Service: C

Food: A

The ribeye was exceptional, as was the oysters/bone marrow special starter. The only reason why I am not raving about my experience is because it took 68 minutes to receive our entrees after ordering. Other than that, food was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was pleasant and responsive. A ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was pleasant and responsive. Ate on the patio upstairs which is very nice on warm nights. The foie and duck pate was excellent, as was the shaved vegetable salad which was quite fresh and incorporated unique flavor combinations. My wife ordered the salmon, which was ordered medium rare but came medium +. I ordered the dry aged rib-eye which was probably the worst cut of meat I have had in some time. If you're going to go out of your way to feature red meat in New York, you had better be up to the task.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good fresh food served excellently.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very good fresh food served excellently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The outdoor seating is awesome & the sta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The outdoor seating is awesome & the staff was friendly, chic & knowledgable. Desserts are impossible to turn away. Perfect atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

MONKEY bread was awesome! Enough for 4 p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

MONKEY bread was awesome! Enough for 4 people. Service was excellent as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tuna tartar.....mini mini cubed tuna. M ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Tuna tartar.....mini mini cubed tuna. Mini mini cubed watermelon. More watermelon than tuna!! Total rip off. Rest of meal decent and VERY expensive !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We keep coming back to David Burke Kitch ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We keep coming back to David Burke Kitchen for Restaurant Week - it is the best in NYC! Service was above and beyond, my mother ordered something that she didn't expect and ended up disliking, but our server quickly reassured us it wasn't a problem and brought our a new dish for her right away. Just spectacular. The Sommelier was fantastic, offering us appropriate wines for our taste and price range. The food was exceptional, as always. Never a bad meal at David Burke Kitchen. Very highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

grilled whole branzino the the must-have ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

grilled whole branzino the the must-have meal. I came here for the branzino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I thought that for the price, neither th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I thought that for the price, neither the food nor the service was particularly great. However, it was still a good meal, I would just go elsewhere if looking to spend $80+ on a dinner with a drink or two.

Fish was great, appetizers were medicore

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Mediocre food at a big price tag ( lunch ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Mediocre food at a big price tag ( lunch for 2 for the restaurant week is 100.00), a glass of sauvignon blanc for 21.00 and only half filled.

The girl at the front refused to give us a good table citing they are not available (the restaurant is half empty at 130pm ! but she managed to give that table to someone else came after us.

Do not recommend and will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Private party in the garden area so the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Private party in the garden area so the service was challenged. Tree house bartender was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Outstanding service and food. Rare that ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Rare that pastry chef will come out and introduce herself and make something special plus she knew what funnelcakes are. Our waiter was outstanding- Damon . Plus the treats at the end in tin containers were nice and made for an incredible evening. Very relaxing place-unprenentious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent! The brunch was definitely one ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent! The brunch was definitely one of the best restaurant week places I've been to. You're getting a bang for your buck!! Really cute atmosphere too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was really not exceptional. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was really not exceptional. The best thing I had was the Granola/Yogurt, but I wouldn't go back to a restaurant for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I came to David Burke Kitchen for restau ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I came to David Burke Kitchen for restaurant week brunch, and everything was great. It seems weird to rave about a salad, but all of us agreed that the kale and chicory salad with blue cheese was the best thing we ate. Cocktails are good, but pricey (I guess that's the norm for SoHo) - $15 for a mimosa and up to $18 for other cocktails. I might come again for a pre-fix, but personally find the everyday prices too high for what you get.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our meal was pleasant, not spectacular, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our meal was pleasant, not spectacular, just pleasant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing service and a delicious meal.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing service and a delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here as a group of 5 and the best m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Came here as a group of 5 and the best main ordered at the table out of the 5 was the : ROASTED FILLET OF BRANZINO

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Appetizer of asparagus and Brie was deli ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Appetizer of asparagus and Brie was delicious. Entree of branding was average. Supplement for some dishes were over-priced

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.