About David Burke Kitchen

23 Grand Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

David Burke Kitchen pays homage to the craft of cooking and sharing hearty, rustic American food. Its artisan menu items are inspired by morning visits to the green market and what is freshest in the region, prepared with creativity and refined technique. The result is a dining experience that is truly of-the-moment, authentic and regional. Kitchen celebrates the integrity of ingredients at their peak, prepared with a deft hand and served alongside the finest wines and spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 201-9119

Website:
http://www.davidburkekitchennyc.com/

Catering:
Contact events@craveablehg.com

Parking Details:
Varick Street Garage, 360 West Broadway
Icon Parking Systems, 114 Varick Street
Central Parking System, 45-47 Dominic Street

Public Transit:
A, C, E, J, N. Q, R, Z, 1, 6: Canal Street Stations

Executive Chef:
Raoul Whitaker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
David Burke Kitchen's interior is inspired by the surrounding neighborhood, and blends the cool, industrial simplicity of SoHo's airy lofts with the rustic warmth of a country abode. The restaurant's multi-level spaces offer several different ways to experience Chef Whitaker's playful menu. From rehearsal dinners, weddings and bachelorette parties to corporate events, David Burke Kitchen is the ideal spot for your next special event. Contact events@craveablehg.com to learn more!

Private Dining

David Burke Kitchen brings creative, inventive culinary style to downtown New York. Focusing on wholesome and hearty modern American food, David Burke Kitchen combines locally-sourced ingredients and presents them in a creative and whimsical style.

David Burke Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Cozy (8)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Casual (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Romantic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My mom and I went to David Burke Kitchen ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

My mom and I went to David Burke Kitchen to celebrate our birthdays. Service was excellent and although there were not that many gluten-free options on the menu, Carlos- our server- worked closely with the manager to ensure that we had a great experience.

I started with the roasted beets which were delicious. My mother had the kabocha squash which was perfectly roasted and caramelized. We both had the scallops, which we highly recommend. 5 fat, succulent scallops in broth with spinach and two kinds of mushrooms. The baked potato and sauteed mushrooms were also quite tasty.

The restaurant does not have gluten free desserts, but we did enjoy the sorbet and ice cream options. The cinnamon ice cream, in particular, was rich, and smooth and cinnamony, but not overwhelming.

The restaurant has a nice wine list and creative cocktails. Overall, a great experience and we look forward to another visit to celebrate a special event.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was spectacular! My husband and i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was spectacular! My husband and i were lookong for a nice date night dinner, and we found it at David Burke Kitchen. Quiet evening on our visit was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent and clearly scratch m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food was excellent and clearly scratch made. Definitely must try the close line bacon and house made ricotta. Our server was great, and made excellent cocktail recommendations too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had our anniversary dinner here and i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had our anniversary dinner here and it was amazing to say the least. I appreciate the delicious creative cuisine provided by the chef and friendly staff that accommodated us. This will certainly not be the last night we dine here.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time at David Burke's kitchen. Goo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Third time at David Burke's kitchen. Good was on point. I was not enthused about the pork belly but everything else was fantastic . Worth every $$$

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed that on a Sunday at 11 am w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Disappointed that on a Sunday at 11 am we could not order breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The dessert was awful, the service was i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The dessert was awful, the service was inattentive but yet intrusive, and overall it is a bad New Years meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The food was amazing and the service ver ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was amazing and the service very good. It was mostly empty, which made the ambience suffer. It might have been due to the holidays and the fact that it's a bit off the beaten path. The bread board should not be missed and the bacon clothesline is a delicious, albeit artery clogging experience. We will define back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great breakfast and dinner. The clothes ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great breakfast and dinner. The clothesline bacon, filet and pancakes are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall an okay experience a range of fo ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Overall an okay experience a range of foods available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I've never left a review about a restaur ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I've never left a review about a restaurant but the disgusting Christmas dinner at David Burke Kitchen warrants the effort. In chronological order:

(1) In a half-empty dining room, they unsuccessfully attempted to squeeze our party of 3 into a table for 2.

(2) My husband's onion soup was tasteless and bland while my squash appetizer also desperately needed some -- any -- sort of seasoning.

(3) My sirloin steak -- which was a $25 up-sell from the prix fixe -- was supposed to be medium rare and arrived well past well done. I returned it and waited 15 minutes for a new steak, during which time my family finished their meals. The belated second steak had barely been cooked: ribbons of white fat in the steak were totally unrendered and the steak was covered with a thick layer of gristle. I tried sawing through the layers of fat and gristle but the basically uncooked piece of meat was as tough as an old boot. My first bite revealed that absolutely no seasoning had been used. I asked for salt, which didn't help the poor beast that had effectively been marched straight from the field to the dining room without stopping by the kitchen. I gave up after a total of two nauseating bites.

(4) Needless to say, the fact that the chef ruined our holiday dinner and served me an inedible entree didn't stop the staff from charging us the bloated full price for my uneaten chunk of raw meat. The meal was grotesquely expensive, especially given its shockingly low quality.

(5) As a final telling indicator, the careless staff kicked my chair/bumped into me no less than 6 times. Number of apologies: zero.

Vile in every possible respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

We went there for Christmas Day dinner a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went there for Christmas Day dinner and walked away talking about the place.

They offered food that was different but not too far out there along with a good general menu. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went there for Christmas brunch which ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went there for Christmas brunch which was an excellent choice! Staff were all very helpful and friendly. We went with a newborn and they were able to arrange us a table that fit a stroller and arranged changing area for us. Food was amazing and portion was big! Overall, we had a pleasant experience dining at David Burke's kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FANTASTIC!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

FANTASTIC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for lunch and had the three cour ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We went for lunch and had the three course option. First the food was fantastic. I had a rabbit fettuccine that had a savory blend of herbs and my other three diners had equally delicious courses. The dessert was such a pleasant surprise with hints of salted Carmel and chocolate. it is a great value too. The staff could not have been more pleasant and we felt like we were welcomed friends. The location and ambience are great. I cannot wait to go back and this is now on the top of my favorite NYC spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good and so was ambiance. Serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was good and so was ambiance. Service was a bit slow and not very good with dealing with kids during dunner service. I've been other times for lunch/brunch and they know how to tend to children more so which is strange.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very enjoyable, excellent food and servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Very enjoyable, excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance for dinner.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great ambiance for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was underwhelming and expensive. O ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Food was underwhelming and expensive. Our table had the lobster toast, onion soup, steak, salmon and cod. Only the cod was acceptable with a nice crispy skin. The steak was chewy and the salmon dry. The lobster toast was ordinary. I'm not sure why the food was so poorly made. I was there on a Sunday night and there was only 4 tables with diners. This place was about 80 percent empty. Too many better dining experiences in Soho. Don't waste your time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great meal. Great service. Decent beer s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great meal. Great service. Decent beer selection. Awesome burger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a bit slow. Our waiter took ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was a bit slow. Our waiter took way too long to bring us a cup of coffee after our meal. Food was greatt though! We got the ribeye.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great food. Try the cheesecake lollipop ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great food. Try the cheesecake lollipops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Everything was just mediocre - and I exp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Everything was just mediocre - and I expected more for the hype and the price. 😔

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Had Thanksgiving dinner there. Great qu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had Thanksgiving dinner there. Great quick service, food was top notch. Had the Thanksgiving prefixed meal and everything from starter to dessert was succulent. Absolutely a gem in the neighborhood.

Jessica from Hawaii

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, , Casual, Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was lovely. It is the NYC ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The atmosphere was lovely. It is the NYC experience everyone wants. the Price was high but it felt right.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was very delicious. A truly spe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was very delicious. A truly special experience. So really this is a place with rustic charm in a super modern hotel that is 100% about the food. Friendly service, casual co-diners.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was outstanding. We got stuc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was outstanding. We got stuck in traffic and was almost an hour late the staff was very understanding and accommodating. The waiter was knowledgeable made some great recommendation based on what flavors we enjoyed most. Service was impecable. Appetizers (oysters and lobster toast) were wonderful. The oysters were tangy sweet deliciousness. the lobster toast was simply amazing. our main course (steak and sea bass )was simple and delicious. Our side were pecorino fries and mushrooms, you can not go wrong with fries but the mushrooms stole the show. On to dessert the Candy Bar! Oh my god I did not expect to be wowed because it looked so simple to my delight is was amazing the ice cream pairing was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous food, imaginative menu choices. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fabulous food, imaginative menu choices. Tracy Wilk is a genius!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make sure to save room for the Monkey Br ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Make sure to save room for the Monkey Bread dessert. It's an absolute must-have! 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

3 course luncheon special is great deal; ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

3 course luncheon special is great deal; room, even if only half full is too noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good service and tasteful food, Ama ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very good service and tasteful food, Amazing T-Bone and drinks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous restaurant! Our first time the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fabulous restaurant! Our first time there and so glad we chose this place to celebrate a birthday! Everything was delicious from the perfectly seasoned filet to the crispy hot fries to the awesome brussel sprouts! Nice selection of wines. Service was attentive. Great ambience! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The waiter was not very good and the foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The waiter was not very good and the food was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Was a SOLO dinner after a long day of me ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Was a SOLO dinner after a long day of meetings, the manager Alexander and the staff were all very attentive and professional. Nice evening. I came back late a second night and had the Cornish Hen .. wonderful!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Andy provided excellent service; attenti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Andy provided excellent service; attentive and friendly. Food was great, as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good prix-fixe deal and food. Ok wait st ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Good prix-fixe deal and food. Ok wait staff; hostess in particular was welcoming, helpful and professional. Modern decor, spacey and not crowded during weekday lunch. Much more crowded on the weekends, as expected.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is tasty- but also fun! We sta ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food is tasty- but also fun! We stated with raw vegetables and dip as an appetizer and felt like kids. We had DIY donuts for dessert. They are like large Timbits- and you inject the sauce to stuff the donuts! There is also a bacon appetizer that comes with bacon clipped onto a rack!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food and service in an atmosph ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very good food and service in an atmosphere conducive to a night out with friends, a date or a meal with colleagues/business partners.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had requested a quieter table but wer ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We had requested a quieter table but were seated in the middle of the room next to a large party that was really loud. Looking around there were lots of other tables open that would have met our request

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

It was our 36th wedding anniversary, eve ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 24, 2016

It was our 36th wedding anniversary, everyone was so helpful and thoughtful. Brandon was our server, what a great guy. Brandon knew the menu and food preparation. He made us feel comfortable and at home. Thank you guys for a great dinner

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.