About David Burke Kitchen

23 Grand Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

David Burke Kitchen pays homage to the craft of cooking and sharing hearty, rustic American food. Its artisan menu items are inspired by morning visits to the green market and what is freshest in the region, prepared with creativity and refined technique. The result is a dining experience that is truly of-the-moment, authentic and regional. Kitchen celebrates the integrity of ingredients at their peak, prepared with a deft hand and served alongside the finest wines and spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 201-9119

Website:
http://www.davidburkekitchennyc.com/

Catering:
Contact events@craveablehg.com

Parking Details:
Varick Street Garage, 360 West Broadway
Icon Parking Systems, 114 Varick Street
Central Parking System, 45-47 Dominic Street

Public Transit:
A, C, E, J, N. Q, R, Z, 1, 6: Canal Street Stations

Executive Chef:
Raoul Whitaker

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
David Burke Kitchen's interior is inspired by the surrounding neighborhood, and blends the cool, industrial simplicity of SoHo's airy lofts with the rustic warmth of a country abode. The restaurant's multi-level spaces offer several different ways to experience Chef Whitaker's playful menu. From rehearsal dinners, weddings and bachelorette parties to corporate events, David Burke Kitchen is the ideal spot for your next special event. Contact events@craveablehg.com to learn more!

Private Dining

David Burke Kitchen brings creative, inventive culinary style to downtown New York. Focusing on wholesome and hearty modern American food, David Burke Kitchen combines locally-sourced ingredients and presents them in a creative and whimsical style.

David Burke Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (35)
special occasion (23)
great for lunch (20)
See All
great for outdoor dining (20)
neighborhood gem (19)
good for groups (19)
romantic (15)
notable wine list (14)
great for brunch (12)
hot spot (7)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I definitely recommend the Valhrona cho ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

I definitely recommend the Valhrona chocolate cake! It was the Best I've ever had!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We felt a little rushed second to it bei ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

We felt a little rushed second to it being restaurant week. We finished all 3 courses in 35 minutes!

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sat us right by a crying baby when there ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Sat us right by a crying baby when there were plenty of empty tables all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value3

Our Summer 2016 Restaurant Week was exce ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our Summer 2016 Restaurant Week was excellent, which is what you'd expect at David Burke Kitchen if you'd dined there before, as I have. The starter we both had, gazpacho of heirloom tomato and watermelon with lump crabmeat, was delicious, marred only by a mediocre cherry tomato garnish (the tomatoes were not completely ripe, with not much flavor). We each had a seafood main dish -- Skuna Bay salmon w minted fava beans and Roasted fillet of branzino w wilted spinach -- which were wonderful, and perfectly cooked. The dessert, Valrhona chocolate truffle cake w raspberry preserves and fresh raspberries, was perfect. And the service couldn't have been better. We were there early, so the room was very quiet, which we also enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Every time that we go to the Kitchen, th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Every time that we go to the Kitchen, the staff treats us like family. In fact, every David Burke restaurant is like that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This is our second visit & we were very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is our second visit & we were very pleased again with the food & service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the look of this restaurant and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

I loved the look of this restaurant and was surprised it wasn't busier, maybe we were there too early - no matter, I would definitely return!! The food was excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Was very disappointed in spotty slow ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Was very disappointed in spotty slow service. Salmon delivered under-cooked after asking for it well done. sent it back. It should have been comped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Beautifully prepared and presented meal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beautifully prepared and presented meal - from start to finish. The ambiance is upscale but waitstaff is homey and kind. Love the fact that much of the menu is locally sourced. Will come back to experience DB Kitchen again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went on a Sunday night and boy was it ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We went on a Sunday night and boy was it quiet. The food did not fail however. We have been big David Burke fans for years and since Townhouse and Fishtails closed, we had to travel a bit to check this place out. Hope it sticks around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While visiting the city, David Burke Kit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

While visiting the city, David Burke Kitchen was recommended by two different concierge where we stayed and was previously recommended by a friend who had been there years before. It was no disappointment. We had great service and the Bacon Started was one of the most incredible food delights I have experienced.

Overall it was a great atmosphere, great service and wonderful food. Would highly recommend David Burke Kitchen to anyone visiting the Soho area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal at the David Bur ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at the David Burke Kitchen. The food was inventive and delicious. I have a unusual diet and they were extremely accommodating, so much so that the dish the chef prepared for me was one of the best I've ever had!

Great service, great find. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

the restaurant was freezing cold. Also ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

the restaurant was freezing cold. Also I asked for a bone-dry cappuccino and was brought a latté. Server should not pretend that he knows what it is if he does not. Besides that, the food was good but over priced and the restaurant was pretty empty.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I took my fiance here for his birthday. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I took my fiance here for his birthday. Our waitress was great. When I booked the reservation, I added that it was my fiance's birthday. I never mentioned it to them directly. When we ordered dessert, they also gave him a cupcake with a candle as well as an entire tree of cheese cake pops and two glasses of proseco on the house! We have never experienced anything like this before. We recently got engaged at a small restaurant, and they didn't do anything except to say congratulations. Really impressive what David Burke's Kitchen did. We will go again

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very expensive especially for alcohol an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very expensive especially for alcohol and the food is a B.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Food was nice but our waiter looked he ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was nice but our waiter looked he would rather be somewhere else. He was not particularly friendly although he did warm up bit later in the night.

I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

FOOD WAS GOOD BUT COFFEE WAS TERRIBLE... ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

FOOD WAS GOOD BUT COFFEE WAS TERRIBLE...REQUESTED FRESH CUP OF COFFEE AND IT WAS VERY BLAH...SENT BACK AND REQUESTED ESPRESSO WHICH CAME TO THE TABLE COLD AND BITTER. DID NOT DRINK EITHER AND WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food has a understated elegance. By ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food has a understated elegance. By itself, the food is amazing. However, they can accommodate food allergies such as gluten, soy, or dairy without compromising the flavor. Amazing. Steaks are awesome. Sides complement the steaks but are good on their own. And Monkey bread. Get some. You'll see why.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Spot!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Dined at the suggestion of a native New Yorker for a unique roof-top dinner with a view away from the downtown area. Our New York Trip was a graduation gift to my son, and this was a perfect place to spoil him with great food, service, atmosphere and a view of the WTC. Our waiter was wonderful with his suggestions - especially the Drunken Donuts for dessert! Bison, Filet and Scallops were all perfect! The green beans should not be missed either!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I didn't love it.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Empty, overpriced, really disappointed. Very sweet staff though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food, and our server was terri ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Excellent food, and our server was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little slow for a Friday night...only ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

A little slow for a Friday night...only about 5 couples. Our servers was efficient but not at all engaging or friendly. Food was good, particularly the dessert - a cookie sampler. The highlight was having the pastry chef come out to greet us and explain the different types of cookies. She was friendly and made our night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent food; the wine list is incredi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent food; the wine list is incredible but very expensive. Very few bottles under $100... A wine list with more wines between $50 and $70 would have been appreciated...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Underwhelming food. Poor service. Not gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Underwhelming food. Poor service. Not great vibe. Will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Bacon appetizer, while good, was a rip-o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Bacon appetizer, while good, was a rip-off at $18 for 3 strips. Presentation was excellent. Sommelier was a little condescending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The ambiance and the service was great. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The ambiance and the service was great. My date and I sat on the rooftop. The matredee pleasantly escorted us to a table where our waiter tended to us frequently throughout our meal. Sounds from other patrons as well as music playing were backdrops to my conversation and never interfered. I would refer to a friend

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, loved the pickl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious, loved the pickled veggie dip. The mash potato was absolutely enormous. Very tasty. All the food ordered was enjoyed thoroughly. The price of the wine was just silly. I thought I was looking at bottles at first. It should not be necessary to only offer that price level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Breakfast...Yes! Breakfast.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Opted for a Mothers Day breakfast.

All the standards are offered with delightful twists.

Brioche French Toast with Berries.

Add the Maple Bacon. Excellent.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Honestly underwhelmed and disappointed w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Honestly underwhelmed and disappointed with one of the few restaurants in the city that offered high Zagat rankings at a "reasonable price". Very good service and a nice atmosphere in a hotel that offers two of my favorite bars- The Treehouse and Jimmy.

The dishes sounded like everything you'd expect from Davis Burke but there was a severe lack of star factor quality on the caviar tots and the lobster brioche.

Steaks were good cuts but lacked flavor and fell well short of what you'd expect in a city of phenomenal steaks.

The price tag of roughly $115 per diner had me raise my eyebrows as I can get a much more enjoyable meal at Capital Grille or Ruth's Chris', etc. for 20-30 dollars less. Go for drinks upstairs and come down for the cheesecake lollipop tree for dessert if you must check it off your list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The service was incredible. Steaks came ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The service was incredible. Steaks came out over cooked and seamed to be bad cuts of meat. Not impressed by the food overall which was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Wine way too expensive

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Wine is ridiculously priced. One or two bottles around $80 and the rest 100's & 1000's of dollars. Food very nice and service good. We enjoy wine with our meal but unfortunately those prices spoilt the whole thing. All they need to do is have 2 or 3 of each at more of an entry level.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

food was different and interesting

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My favorite was the cheesecake pops for dessert. I wished they brought out more for our table. The sugar cinnamon rolls were delicious. My seafood meal was delicious and unique. Everyone at the table was very content.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

DBK 04.22.16

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was good. My scallop was perfectly cooked. My brother lamb was a bit dry. At present, limited options for desserts.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The waitress was horrible. We were there ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The waitress was horrible. We were there for about two hours and she literally came to the table twice. We had to constantly keep asking for her, and she wasn't even busy, she was just standing in the front of the restaurant by the computer. The busboys did a better job than she did.

The food was good, but nothing extraordinarily amazing. In my opinion, the restaurant is overpriced but it's in New York, so that wasn't really my issue since I expected everything to be more expensive.

Considering this is supposed to be a higher end restaurant, I was expecting much better service for the price of the food. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Great SOHO Spot!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food, great service., great value. The pasta fra diavolo had it was great. More seafood - lobster & rock shrimp. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really great casual but elegant atmosphe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Really great casual but elegant atmosphere. Great wines and food. High end but excellent food. Great for a date or couples night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For nearly any dining occassion

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

My experience at David Burke's Kitchen from ambiance, service and quality of cuisine, was beyond my highest expectation. Chef Raoul Whitaker isn't trying to appease to the latest trend. His menu caters to the diversity and class of the clientele. Whether meeting up with friends or impressing a business client, you will enjoy every aspect of the occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch at kitchen

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

We took our daughter out to celebrate her graduation from medical school, and were not disappointed. The food was outstanding, quite filling, and presented in a artistic fashion! Our waiter was personable, knowledgeable, and friendly. Overall, a wonderful experience. PS- we do miss Fishtail!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff hovered like helicopters and y ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The staff hovered like helicopters and yet the device was still lacking. Ugh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

I have eaten at DBK on several occasions ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I have eaten at DBK on several occasions over the past few months and wether you're having breakfast, lunch or dinner the food and service is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.