About David Burke Kitchen

23 Grand Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

David Burke Kitchen pays homage to the craft of cooking and sharing hearty, rustic American food. Its artisan menu items are inspired by morning visits to the green market and what is freshest in the region, prepared with creativity and refined technique. The result is a dining experience that is truly of-the-moment, authentic and regional. Kitchen celebrates the integrity of ingredients at their peak, prepared with a deft hand and served alongside the finest wines and spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 201-9119

Website:
http://www.davidburkekitchennyc.com/

Catering:
Contact events@craveablehg.com

Parking Details:
Varick Street Garage, 360 West Broadway
Icon Parking Systems, 114 Varick Street
Central Parking System, 45-47 Dominic Street

Public Transit:
A, C, E, J, N. Q, R, Z, 1, 6: Canal Street Stations

Executive Chef:
Raoul Whitaker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
David Burke Kitchen's interior is inspired by the surrounding neighborhood, and blends the cool, industrial simplicity of SoHo's airy lofts with the rustic warmth of a country abode. The restaurant's multi-level spaces offer several different ways to experience Chef Whitaker's playful menu. From rehearsal dinners, weddings and bachelorette parties to corporate events, David Burke Kitchen is the ideal spot for your next special event. Contact events@craveablehg.com to learn more!

Private Dining

David Burke Kitchen brings creative, inventive culinary style to downtown New York. Focusing on wholesome and hearty modern American food, David Burke Kitchen combines locally-sourced ingredients and presents them in a creative and whimsical style.

David Burke Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (61)
Special Occasion (49)
Good for Groups (46)
See All
Great for Lunch (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Romantic (34)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Great for Brunch (26)
Notable Wine List (23)
Hot Spot (20)
Scenic View (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tuna tartar.....mini mini cubed tuna. M ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Tuna tartar.....mini mini cubed tuna. Mini mini cubed watermelon. More watermelon than tuna!! Total rip off. Rest of meal decent and VERY expensive !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We keep coming back to David Burke Kitch ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We keep coming back to David Burke Kitchen for Restaurant Week - it is the best in NYC! Service was above and beyond, my mother ordered something that she didn't expect and ended up disliking, but our server quickly reassured us it wasn't a problem and brought our a new dish for her right away. Just spectacular. The Sommelier was fantastic, offering us appropriate wines for our taste and price range. The food was exceptional, as always. Never a bad meal at David Burke Kitchen. Very highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

grilled whole branzino the the must-have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

grilled whole branzino the the must-have meal. I came here for the branzino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I thought that for the price, neither th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I thought that for the price, neither the food nor the service was particularly great. However, it was still a good meal, I would just go elsewhere if looking to spend $80+ on a dinner with a drink or two.

Fish was great, appetizers were medicore

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Private party in the garden area so the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Private party in the garden area so the service was challenged. Tree house bartender was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Outstanding service and food. Rare that ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Rare that pastry chef will come out and introduce herself and make something special plus she knew what funnelcakes are. Our waiter was outstanding- Damon . Plus the treats at the end in tin containers were nice and made for an incredible evening. Very relaxing place-unprenentious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent! The brunch was definitely one ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent! The brunch was definitely one of the best restaurant week places I've been to. You're getting a bang for your buck!! Really cute atmosphere too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was really not exceptional. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was really not exceptional. The best thing I had was the Granola/Yogurt, but I wouldn't go back to a restaurant for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I came to David Burke Kitchen for restau ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I came to David Burke Kitchen for restaurant week brunch, and everything was great. It seems weird to rave about a salad, but all of us agreed that the kale and chicory salad with blue cheese was the best thing we ate. Cocktails are good, but pricey (I guess that's the norm for SoHo) - $15 for a mimosa and up to $18 for other cocktails. I might come again for a pre-fix, but personally find the everyday prices too high for what you get.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing service and a delicious meal.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing service and a delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal was pleasant, not spectacular, ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our meal was pleasant, not spectacular, just pleasant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Came here as a group of 5 and the best m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Came here as a group of 5 and the best main ordered at the table out of the 5 was the : ROASTED FILLET OF BRANZINO

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Appetizer of asparagus and Brie was deli ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Appetizer of asparagus and Brie was delicious. Entree of branding was average. Supplement for some dishes were over-priced

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

It is a shame that although the food and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It is a shame that although the food and service were decent, when a server spilled sauce/ grease on my suit jacket there were no discounts or any sort of accommodations offered. You would think a manager would react in such a way no questions asked, especially considering the item tarnished is worth more than the meal itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

It was just okay. Our main took a really ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was just okay. Our main took a really long time to arrive, and when it did, my burger was under-seasoned. My friend's salmon was under-seasoned too, and the skin was soggy, which is a first time. The restaurant week deal would have been worth it if the food were better, but I probably wouldn't come here paying full-price, sorry. Sidenote: considered ordering drinks for lunch, but a cocktail was $18, whereas a 3-course lunch was $29, so I really couldn't justify to myself spending $18 on a drink.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

disappointing as it was not as good as p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

disappointing as it was not as good as previous visits and certainly not ax great as it was when it was uptown

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

For a restaurant week I figured food be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

For a restaurant week I figured food be amazing. My friend and I were not happy with the starter or the main course. We were like for a restaurant week it would be good to try it out that way the restaurant can bring the people back. I would not go back or my friend. The only thing good was the dessert. I can make better salmon and had better salmon at some other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Overall the place is nice and energetic. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Overall the place is nice and energetic. Food is good...I have the grilled salmon cooked medium rare over a bed of Veggies and I think nuts. But my friend who went for restaurant week menu and picked the seared scallops weren't too impressed with not just the food taste but the price. Having to pay an extra $15 on top of the prix fix price is not worth it considering there are so many places with similar or better quality of food without the need to pay extra on top of the prix fix price. So boo to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Food was delicious. Service excellent. P ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was delicious. Service excellent. Price was more reasonable because we took advantage of restaurant week prices.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was all that you would expect f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was all that you would expect from a David Burke kitchen. Beautifully presented and sinfully delicious. Great outdoor space.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me first that the food at David Burk ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Let me first that the food at David Burke's is hands delicious. Service is good. My friends and I went for restaurant week. For this do have a large menu. My issue is that almost every item had an up charge with it. We were a bit surprised the least as this is counter intuitive to whole idea of restaurant week. We have gone here several times in the past, but I definitely rethink if we go again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Great meal! We loved the salmon & branzi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great meal! We loved the salmon & branzino. Thanks to the Chef for the complimentary prosciutto & melon (to celebrate our anniversary)! 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice environment and quiet for Satu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very nice environment and quiet for Saturday afternoon. Beautiful garden and great customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing! Will definitely return ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was amazing! Will definitely return! Staff was attentive and awesome. Chicken and salmon were delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was awful. At start nice greeti ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was awful. At start nice greeting, take your time with drinks. Food was very good, presentation excellent. Desert was rushed. We received our bill on the table while still eating desert. Someone needed to turn the table, ha?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

food was great but the service was amazi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

food was great but the service was amazing. Everyone was so friendly and went out of their way to make it a great night!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great dinner but very cold at our table ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great dinner but very cold at our table and the entrees came out rather slow. We were all almost shivering. The drinks were great and the apps were amazing. Entrees were nothing life changing but good. Dessert was spectacular especially its presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food! Great choices! My wife rav ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food! Great choices! My wife raved about the vegetables as I don't think she has ever tasted fresh peas and favs beans. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very pleasant Restaurant. With outside g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very pleasant Restaurant. With outside gardens

Food&service very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing. Not sure if this is simp ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Disappointing. Not sure if this is simply due to restaurant week but having dined here previously, I expected more. The lovely pickle and breadstick basket was missing. Most of the selection had a hefty surcharge attached. Neither the salmon nor the hamburger was up to previous standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The service here was AMAZING! Everyone w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service here was AMAZING! Everyone was cheery and humorous. Had a great dining experience and great deal on the price fix menu. The outdoor seating is phenomenal with views of the One World Trade Center as well as perfect decor, feels like you're truly in a treehouse!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and bar. The ambience is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent food and bar. The ambience is very contemporary modern design with upscale casual clientele .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took advantage of the Restaurant Week ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We took advantage of the Restaurant Week menu having had enjoyed it last summer.

We order the tomato watermelon gazpacho with lump crabmeat, the kale and chicory salad and the asparagus and Brie. This was followed by the Bronzino served over sautéed spinach, the seared scallops, the rack of lamb and the duck breast . Each dish was presented well and each was prepared well.

For desserts there was Valrhona truffle cake which had an intense chocolate flavor, a vanilla bean panna cotta and the macerated market berries with st. Germain liqueur and sheeps milk yogurt. The latter was too tart for me.

A tea and a beer were additionally ordered.

As supplements were added on to some of the choices the bill was greater than the Restaurant Week price. We were aware of it before ordering.

The food experience was great as was the service and the comfort and appearance of the room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

SHIVER & SHOUT & EATWELL--A typical Davi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

SHIVER & SHOUT & EATWELL--A typical David Burke experience----More Downtown in ambiance than the defunct Fishtail and Townhouse. The food was good, plated decoratively, and the waiter was as attentive in a fully packed restaurant. A great evening was hampered by a freezing room & loud noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is such an amazing restaurant. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This is such an amazing restaurant. The wine list is vibrant. The food menu has so many options to choose from and each dish is delicious on its on right. My friends and I enjoyed our dinner, drinks, and dessert. The pastry chef was very nice, she gave us a free sample of treats, which were super delicious by the way. This is place is truly a gem and we will be back to sample some tasty dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The place is magical , very friendly sta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The place is magical , very friendly staff

I loved the outdoors,

Plenty to choose from in the menus

It was lunch for us and I was shocked that the portions were very large , and of course we ate it all, it was very good , and the little left we even had it packed to take home .

We were pretty full that day , it was our fault eating uncontrollably ,

In that case I would have liked a little smaller portions .

Thank you so much and will definitely come again . Ruth

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant week deal so far

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The best restaurant week deal so far

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stayed at the James and having brunch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We stayed at the James and having brunch here was the natural choice. Loved the quail egg donuts, great Bloody Mary, huge portions of salmon, and excellent eggs Benedict! It is NYC so it was pricey, but worth it and thank you for the kind service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's a little pricey for brunch but I wo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It's a little pricey for brunch but I would highly recommend sitting outside upstairs. Our server was fabulous and really knew the emu well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Duck was delicious!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The Duck was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.