Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About David Burke Kitchen

David Burke Kitchen pays homage to the craft of cooking and sharing hearty, rustic American food. Its artisan menu items are inspired by morning visits to the green market and what is freshest in the region, prepared with creativity and refined technique. The result is a dining experience that is truly of-the-moment, authentic and regional. Kitchen celebrates the integrity of ingredients at their peak, prepared with a deft hand and served alongside the finest wines and spirits.

23 Grand Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 201-9119

Website:
http://www.davidburkekitchennyc.com/

Catering:
Contact events@craveablehg.com

Parking Details:
Varick Street Garage, 360 West Broadway
Icon Parking Systems, 114 Varick Street
Central Parking System, 45-47 Dominic Street

Public Transit:
A, C, E, J, N. Q, R, Z, 1, 6: Canal Street Stations

Executive Chef:
Raoul Whitaker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
David Burke Kitchen's interior is inspired by the surrounding neighborhood, and blends the cool, industrial simplicity of SoHo's airy lofts with the rustic warmth of a country abode. The restaurant's multi-level spaces offer several different ways to experience Chef Whitaker's playful menu. From rehearsal dinners, weddings and bachelorette parties to corporate events, David Burke Kitchen is the ideal spot for your next special event. Contact events@craveablehg.com to learn more!

Private Dining

David Burke Kitchen brings creative, inventive culinary style to downtown New York. Focusing on wholesome and hearty modern American food, David Burke Kitchen combines locally-sourced ingredients and presents them in a creative and whimsical style.

David Burke Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Business Meals (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fun (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Romantic (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Scenic View (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Seasonal (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for NYC Restaurant Week. Great menu (more options than other RW menus) and the food was absolutely delicious. Plan to go back and would absolutely recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

we made the mistake of ordering steak at a non steakhouse and was disappointed. i felt so rushed to place our order . we were seated and given the menu for maybe 5 min and was asked three times if we're ready. and when we weren't ready to place our dessert order we were told we had to place it then and there since we were there for restaurant week and the guy said "okay order this" and he kept tapping his pen like he was annoyed we weren't ready. he continues to make a comment and when i retorted to his comment he tried to be funny and told me to relax and enjoy my dinner. horrible service! i don't think i will be returning to this restaurant anytime soon. way too many options in nyc to return. there was a $25 supplement for the steak when i was told on the phone that it was $15. and when i asked about one of the dessert the waiter said loudly that there's a $10 supplement . i can read that there's a $10 supplement, i wasn't asking about the price i was asking about the dessert. so of course we ordered something haphazardly and it was maybe the worst dessert i have ever had and any restaurant. it's summer but they managed to find the most un-ripped peach in nyc. it was just not good and no one should order it especially for the price! the cheesecake lollipop was good and was the reason why i did return , but i don't think it's good enough for me to return for a third time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Took a friend here for his birthday. We had the Restaurant Week menu and really enjoyed the whole thing. Service was nice yet casual enough to feel comfortable. Food was well presented, and more importantly tasty.
Overall a great choice for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Server did not take orders for coffee/tea before dessert came. Was nowhere in sight.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Top notch dining indoor and out
Our second recent visit to DB was a birthday lunch
Seated outdoors in an airy, large and pleasant space on a terrace above the main restaurant, the Reataurant Week menu offered ample choices at great value. We had baked oysters,whitefish salad and cheeseburger, all perfectly done and presented. The greeting and waitstaff were all friendly and helpful. A fine choice of wines by the glass complimented the lunch. We had delicious berries and chocolate mousse for desert.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Restaurant week. Obviously the restaurant doesn't care. Food was decent admittedly. But service was atrocious. Sat for over 25 minutes without getting a drink order in. Table seated 10 minutes after us had appetizers before we had a drink on the table. Honestly, if you are annoyed by restaurant week crowds, don't offer RW menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Went for a girlfriends day out during restaurant week. Ate in the upstairs outdoor dining area. View of city was fantastic! We almost felt like we were in a different place - no street noise. Server was very helpful & attentive. Great value for a 3 course lunch & food was delicious!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Romantic, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Service was excellent. The lollipop cheesecake is definitely something to taste. Will be back for the main course of salmon too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great food but very slow service. We went there at 11:45 for lunch and we had to take our desert to go because we had a meeting at 1pm that we were going to be late for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Service was on point. Went there for restaurant week and had the beat meal. Lollipops are a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was excellent, only 4 stars for service since we felt very rushed by the pace of service. We went on a Monday night in the summer and the restaurant was not busy. Each course came out so quickly we hardly had time to talk (which was the real purpose of meeting up).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We went to David Burke's Kitchen for my husband's birthday and I had noted that when I made our reservation. I had asked them to add a candle to dessert but they didn't do anything - they brought our dessert out (we were sharing) but no candle. The waitress also didn't bring two spoons! Finally, when we got our check, I realized that they had charged us for a BOTTLE of red wine - not the GLASS that my husband had with his steak! The waitress revised the check but made no effort to "fix" the mistake - I've seen restaurants comp a glass or even a meal for something like that. The bottle was about 5x more than the glass - and if I hadn't realized, I would have tipped on the much higher amount as well. Overall, between ignoring my birthday request and then that mistake on the bill, I wasn't impressed. The food was very good and the location worked for us given meetings I was having in that area but I am not sure I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I had a wonderful experience. My waiter welcomed me, and explained the Restaurant Week menu thoroughly. The food was excellent, and very filling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Came toward the end of brunch and sat at the lower level, which was on the quiet side. Food was nothing short of amazing. Shared the kitchen omelet and pina colada pancakes. The pancakes were probably the best I've ever had. Looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The staffs are attentive and knowledgable. Good food, and great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We went there for NYC Restaurant week (reservations for 13pm done through Open Table). We were sited and a menu was offered, but when we tried to order (3 course prix-fixe), the waiter sad that the menu that was given to us (Lunch) was incorrect and shall be replaced for other (Brunch), even if the first menu had the statement of Prix-Fixe course on it. Very disappointing. Despite this, food was good. Will not return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food! Great drinks! Great Ambiance! Must try the Pineapple Colada Pancake, which is basically your own personal pan cake. It was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was so bland. The chicken was just chicken. The asparagus had no flavor which was hard to imagine with it sitting on a bed of sauce, which the sauce had no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Perhaps it was due to it being Restaurant week but overall experience was underwhelming. I feel like short cuts were taken bc prices were cut. Food was bland and nothing to rave about. Drinks were unimpressive as well- not strong and only expensive.
I think I would have been more understanding about the food if service was better. My waiter did not want to work. There was no greeting. It was nearly 20 mins before he saw us flagging him down. He was not doing anything that entire time. He even decided to stop in the middle of taking our order to pour another table their drinks. On top of that, he got our drinks wrong.
Should have taken other comments seriously. Lots of people complained of mediocre food and horrible service.
Not going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The Kitchen always welcomes us warmly. The service is friendly and competent. The appetizers, especially the meatballs and the lobster, are creative and delicious. The porkbelly is a memorable dish.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We went for NYC Restaurant week. While most others have a very limited menu we were surprised that theirs included everything (some items had supplements). Our server was knowledgeable and offered great suggestions. She was attentive and understood our time constraints. Each course we had was wonderful, charred asparagus, lamb meatballs, braised rabbit, skuna salmon and chocolate cherry mousse for dessert. Everything was timed perfectly and again with consideration to our time needs. I will definitely return again!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Fresh ingredients; nice flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food here is absolutely amazing. I went for lunch during Restaurant Week with a friend and we were both blown away by the deliciousness. That being said, the service was absolutely atrocious for a restaurant of this price and caliber. We waited over 15 minutes to place an order, and waited another 15 minutes for the server to take our cards for the check once we received it. I could understand if the restaurant wasn't busy, but it wasn't not.

Additionally, at first they weren't able to find my reservation in the computer system, despite having called me the previous day to confirm. This wouldn't have been an issue, except that the man in the front was quite rude and snooty. I understand this is an upscale restaurant, but there is no need to make your customers feel out of place or unwanted. Thankfully, another woman stepped in and got everything taken care of with a smile and a much more pleasant demeanor.

Overall, the food is great, but the service and initial welcome definitely put me off on a future date here. There are too many other great places in the city with equally delicious food and better service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Excellent restaurant week pick! Full portions! Nice wine list and drinks! Only downside felt a little rushed but I'm sure that was because it was a Friday night during restaurant week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Was pleased that DB are dog-friendly on their lovely outdoor terrace are. Went with a friend and a dog and had a delicious meal in a great setting. Can't wait to return! Have already recommended to friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Wonderful experience this week for lunch! The food is prepared with care and only the freshest ingredients are used. The service was attentive, prompt and funny in a good way! All around great experience. The beet salad is amazing, the salmon delicious and flavorful, the berries and sorbet a perfect ending to a refreshing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

My friend and I had a great time, food was very good and service was excellent... we'll definitely come back and recommend this restaurant to my other friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was very good as always, but the service was off. The wait staff seemed to be in a daze and unorganized. No bread was served at the table until asked mid way through the meal. Coffee with dessert means that it is served together. Coffee was served about 20 minutes after the dessert!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My boyfriend and I decided to try this place during restaurant week and we loved it! The food was delicious, the service was wonderful, and the atmosphere is fun! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

It was fine to try during Rest Week. However, I didn't find the menu that interesting, with too many items with suppl mental f the s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our waiter was not friendly and provided minimal service. I think the only time he was nice was handing the check to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had phenomenal service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Went here for Restaurant Week which presented a pretty good value for such a fashionable restaurant. Had to wait 20 minutes to be seated even though I had a 7 o'clock reservation.

Table bread was quite varied and fresh. Three different varieties were served.

My party and I ordered the prix fixe menu. We had the Lamb Meatballs, which were served with ordinary pita bread and while well spiced, were drier than the needed to be. The burrata was fine, seeming a little bland and not really of a high quality. This is not the place to order burrata. The bread accompanying this had a delightful crunch

For entrees we had the braised rabbit agnolotti, which while serving a skimpy portion of rabbit, was quite good. This dish was plated terribly and was the first thing I noticed when it arrived. Someone ordered the pork belly and seemed to like it fine.

The chocolate cherry mousse seemed fine, but I've always hated the combination cherries and chocolate so I'm totally baised.

The best thing on offer was the Stone fruit short cake. I don't even really like peaches but this cake and it's accompaniments were amazing. Order this! I was told the cocktails were very good too.

The service here was fast and efficient, to the point of almost being brusque, and the servers have a hard time checking in on you because of how cramped and loud this place can be. Also, we hated the large printed photographs of butchers and fish mongers. Overall, I'd say this place is fine, but not really in par with some of its competition in Manhattan. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was wonderful as always and our waiter was great! The only thing that was challenging was it is incredibly loud and we felt at times like we couldn't hear one another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The burrata is delicious and portions for the main are generous. Had the stone fruit shortcake which was a little disappointing. Would recommend the lollipop tree or the monkey bread instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Amazing food and service. The burger and chicken sandwich were amazing. The upstairs garden is so beautiful. Perfect to take pictures. I went during lunch time and it was very peaceful and quiet.
Had the lollipop tree for dessert. It was ok, pretty but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent food, particularly the beet salad and lollipop cakes. Service was friendly and attentive, but we visited during restaurant week and the waitress charged us ala carte. It took a very, very long time for the bill to be corrected.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great atmosphere. Charming servers Amazing food and fun delicious cocktails. Meal took a little to long to serve after the appetizers but all in all, a fabulous restaurant!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Service was extremely slow. We waited 20 min for a waiter to show up to take our drink order. Another 20 min to take our food order. When they finally served our main course, we had to wait another 5 min for them to bring silverware.
Also, they advertised that they have lobster nights on tuesdays. We went on a Tuesday and they said no, they don't have it anymore?!?! (Btw, I just received their lobster promotion email a few days prior). I went there looking for lobster and had to settle for fish.
Need a big improvement on service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food was great! If you like protein, the clothesline bacon as an appetizer and the pork belly as a main were amazing.
The service lacked in comparison to the food and atmosphere. Our appetizer order got mixed up and we ordered a bottle of wine that came after our appetizers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.