Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About David Burke Kitchen

David Burke Kitchen pays homage to the craft of cooking and sharing hearty, rustic American food. Its artisan menu items are inspired by morning visits to the green market and what is freshest in the region, prepared with creativity and refined technique. The result is a dining experience that is truly of-the-moment, authentic and regional. Kitchen celebrates the integrity of ingredients at their peak, prepared with a deft hand and served alongside the finest wines and spirits.

23 Grand Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 201-9119

Website:
http://www.davidburkekitchennyc.com/

Catering:
Contact events@craveablehg.com

Parking Details:
Varick Street Garage, 360 West Broadway
Icon Parking Systems, 114 Varick Street
Central Parking System, 45-47 Dominic Street

Public Transit:
A, C, E, J, N. Q, R, Z, 1, 6: Canal Street Stations

Executive Chef:
Raoul Whitaker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
David Burke Kitchen's interior is inspired by the surrounding neighborhood, and blends the cool, industrial simplicity of SoHo's airy lofts with the rustic warmth of a country abode. The restaurant's multi-level spaces offer several different ways to experience Chef Whitaker's playful menu. From rehearsal dinners, weddings and bachelorette parties to corporate events, David Burke Kitchen is the ideal spot for your next special event. Contact events@craveablehg.com to learn more!

Private Dining

David Burke Kitchen brings creative, inventive culinary style to downtown New York. Focusing on wholesome and hearty modern American food, David Burke Kitchen combines locally-sourced ingredients and presents them in a creative and whimsical style.

David Burke Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Good for Groups (8)
Business Meals (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Romantic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Casual (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fun (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
2435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and place was very nice, we have been there in the past.

The service, the server was rude and inattentive. My date told me that she was figuring out the tip because she didnt want to give him anything, thats how bad the service was. This is very uncommon for us, because I am normally a good tipper for good service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The ambiance and service was amazing. The food was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great outdoor dining. Fun menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Gorgeous roof bar. Evening started out well, except for very loud law firm party, but after a short while the service plunged from friendly and attentive to completely horrendous. Don't know if the problem was in the kitchen, or too few waitstaff, but it took forever to get food, we refilled our own warm white wine, begged for butter for our lobster (which was cold by the time the butter arrived), etc. and by the way, the three course $35 Tues lobster dinner they advertised turned out to be two courses. They included dessert after we complained, but not entirely graciously.
Too bad as prior meals here have been much better...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food. Weird room. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Delicious meal - all dishes for our party of 4. If you arrive before 8,get your drink at the bar (happy hour pricing).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Fantastic food, complete with extra attention paid to celebrate my friend's special birthday. We all loved it. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My favorite restaurant. Love the food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Ate at the Treehouse-pre fixe lunch is an amazing deal and the outside space is great. Not such a great value on the $18 drinks though.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Interesting and eclectic menu, with well prepared food. Service was excellent with kudos to sommelier who was informative and enthusiastic. We had a great experience and look forward to returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wow, the food was unbelievable, the service was great. This was our first time eating here but we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We went there with some friends after our wedding at City Clerk's Office. The staff were over the top friendly and happy for us. They definitely made our day even more beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Overall a great experience! Brunch was delicious, enjoyed pineapple pancakes, lobster toast was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Fun and friendly staff treat you like family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was unbelievable and the ambience was comforting; I didn't want to leave!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Every bite was perfect and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Really great starter plates - lobster and food gras pate. The lamb balls were warm and tasty. Generous portions. Main courses excellent with added rice, greens, sauces, etc that made the dishes more complex.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food and service. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Overall good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I ordered the halibut. It arrived as a thin filet that did not resemble any halibut I have ever had in my life. A few ramps, maybe some mushrooms- forty-five dollars. The prices are way out of line with what you get. We eat out everywhere in Manhattan and rarely do I feel ripped off like I did after this meal. Stay clear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The meal was not bad, it took a long time and we were only one of two tables. On top of that they forgot our side of brussel sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was a desaster
Not professional at all
A shame because food was really good and service ruined all our brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This has to be the most disappointing meal in quite a while. The main dining room was booked for a private gathering and we were forced to eat our brunch upstairs. The staff was mainly concerned with the private party and we were kinda ignored. The yogurt with granola was good enough, but the egg, cheese, sliced link sausage and muffin thing was awful. The coffee actually got cold, really cold while we waited for our waiter to reappear. Lousy...we won't make this mistake again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great food with a creative flair and the lunch price fixe is an amazing deal. My only complaint is that the first course was a salad (fantastic) and then my sandwich came with a house salad on the side. A few house-made chips or fries would have been preferable at that point! In any case, it's a neighborhood treasure and I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was great and we really enjoyed our meal. The bacon appetizer was great!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

It was a nice quiet place. Service was a little slow given there weren't many in for lunch. The waitress was very nice though and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I tried this place for a get-together with an old friend. The room is pleasant, intentionally minimal, I suppose, in keeping with the rather trendy farm-sourced menu. The staff couldn't be friendlier, and the managers are clearly evident seeing that everything runs smoothly. The a la carte menu is incredibly expensive, but there is a $29 prix fixe for 3 courses that's really a good deal (though be warned, many items have an extra charge). The food can be superb (e.g., the sea bass, beautifully done), but also what I'd call Brooklyn-trendy (the Caesar salad, for example, is made with kale and some kind of lettuce that isn't romaine or iceberg - - the concoction does not go well with the dressing, which is very good in itself, and does not taste like a Caesar salad should). Among the desserts, share the cheesecake lollipops. They are over-the-top delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Had an delicious and generous prix fix lunch at DB Kitchen this week.
Amazing beet salad, cauliflower dish and desert - $29. My friend had the same with salmon instead of the cauliflower. Food was fresh and delicious and the portions were the normal size.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Good, but overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always excellent food in taste me presentation in fun relaxing environment!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food and service are very good but buy drinks here at your peril. My recent brunch for three with one drink each, sparkling water and two cups of coffe each came to $165, slightly less than half of which was for food! My very average Bloody Mary, at $18, cost more than my entree. Better value for equal food can be readily found all over the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The service was amazing and the atmosphere was great. The waitstaff were knowledgable and friendly and the food was delicious. It wasn't an inexpensive lunch, we had appetizers, 2 entrees and a bottle of wine and with tip came out to about $170, so it should be a special occasion when you go there but it was well worth it. I have paid more and received less.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a great time! Food was good😊

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We returned to celebrate sister's 74th Birthday... Well, despite it being a quiet night (last night of a 3-day weekend in NYC), the service and friendliness was sufficient to not let us notice... Our server and bartender was superb! Great drinks, great food and outstanding service! All guests happy and satisfied... Love good service with a smile! Thanks for a wonderful celebration! We'll be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service and dining was execellent. Great place for brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent American cuisine restaurant, very friendly and efficient service, and my wife and I could hear each other talk. As seniors, that is no little thing.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loved it. Food great. Atmosphere very nice. Service awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was out of this universe good. The chef was kind enough to give us a complimentary sampler and it was amazing. I highly recommend the truffle mash... I literally did a happy dance. Lighting was perfect, nothing was cold, no long, attentive service. We were in heaven and then in hell after eating everything like animals. But I regret nothing! Please please please get the monkey bread and cheesecake lollipops, you won't regret it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, with some inventive dishes, but really not sure if it is worth the $. Food is kind of one note - VERY VERY RICH.

The beautiful upstairs room is not always open so make sure to call and inquire before booking! The downstairs dining room is lovely but no windows and pales in comparison to the upstairs window filled room with great views and uncovered in summer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.