About David Burke Kitchen

David Burke Kitchen pays homage to the craft of cooking and sharing hearty, rustic American food. Its artisan menu items are inspired by morning visits to the green market and what is freshest in the region, prepared with creativity and refined technique. The result is a dining experience that is truly of-the-moment, authentic and regional. Kitchen celebrates the integrity of ingredients at their peak, prepared with a deft hand and served alongside the finest wines and spirits.

23 Grand Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 201-9119

Website:
http://www.davidburkekitchennyc.com/

Catering:
Contact events@craveablehg.com

Parking Details:
Varick Street Garage, 360 West Broadway
Icon Parking Systems, 114 Varick Street
Central Parking System, 45-47 Dominic Street

Public Transit:
A, C, E, J, N. Q, R, Z, 1, 6: Canal Street Stations

Executive Chef:
Raoul Whitaker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
David Burke Kitchen's interior is inspired by the surrounding neighborhood, and blends the cool, industrial simplicity of SoHo's airy lofts with the rustic warmth of a country abode. The restaurant's multi-level spaces offer several different ways to experience Chef Whitaker's playful menu. From rehearsal dinners, weddings and bachelorette parties to corporate events, David Burke Kitchen is the ideal spot for your next special event. Contact events@craveablehg.com to learn more!

Private Dining

David Burke Kitchen brings creative, inventive culinary style to downtown New York. Focusing on wholesome and hearty modern American food, David Burke Kitchen combines locally-sourced ingredients and presents them in a creative and whimsical style.

David Burke Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Modern Decor (25)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Romantic (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Casual (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Seasonal (12)
Business Meals (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
People Watching (5)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Service and dining was execellent. Great place for brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent American cuisine restaurant, very friendly and efficient service, and my wife and I could hear each other talk. As seniors, that is no little thing.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loved it. Food great. Atmosphere very nice. Service awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was out of this universe good. The chef was kind enough to give us a complimentary sampler and it was amazing. I highly recommend the truffle mash... I literally did a happy dance. Lighting was perfect, nothing was cold, no long, attentive service. We were in heaven and then in hell after eating everything like animals. But I regret nothing! Please please please get the monkey bread and cheesecake lollipops, you won't regret it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, with some inventive dishes, but really not sure if it is worth the $. Food is kind of one note - VERY VERY RICH.

The beautiful upstairs room is not always open so make sure to call and inquire before booking! The downstairs dining room is lovely but no windows and pales in comparison to the upstairs window filled room with great views and uncovered in summer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was very attentive and the restaurant was very quiet, but we were there at 5:30 on a Saturday evening. As good customers of other David Burke restaurants, we received an extra first course we had not ordered, but that we had discussed with the waiter. My bison steak was very tasty and my wife liked her scallops very much. Being only a block from the subway, it is very convenient to dine at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service overall. The food was good; service and management staff were very attentive. It was the last day of NYC winter restaurant week. I like the fact that I could order anything on the menu and only pay a supplemental charge. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere and great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

Excellent dinner!

Everyone loved their meal. The scallops were cooked perfectly. The beet salad and lobster were delicious. The service was excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

The staff was very courtesy. I only did the lunch prefix but the food was eh..I've had a lot better. The drinks are also overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

Amazingly creative cuisine, especially the vegetarian selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

This restaurant was delicious!! We went for Restaurant Week and was surprised by the many choices offered on the special menu. It felt like a real menu rather than an abridged menu. The portions were very generous as well. I have not been to any other restaurant week meal as satisfying and generous ( and I've been to many). The food was delicious as sometimes it can be compromised during the promotion. The service excellent and we were not rushed though we overstayed lunch time hours.I will be back regardless of of the discount of restaurant week

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

I went here for Restaurant Week. The portions were very generous and you can actually order the entire menu, however, some of the dishes have a supplement added to them if you are there for Restaurant Week. The staff was very nice and the food was amazing, definitely recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food & service even for Restaurant Week diners! They gave an amazing deal and wonderful service, will definitely come back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing food and service. Gerard, the manager on duty, and our server Alina were very welcoming and accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

I went here with a friend for my birthday. The staff could not have been nicer and more professional. I really enjoyed the experience. The food was pretty good as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went during restaurant week. Great selections for brunch. Great smoked pastrami salmon, Kitchen burger and hazelnut budino . Service with a smile from reception to waiter.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

We ate brunch here for restaurant week and had such a wonderful time. The restaurant itself is beautiful and calming, and other than my baked eggs being overdone, our dishes were delicious and came out quickly. Our servers were especially attentive and friendly, too. This is a sophisticated option for a date or to grab a high-quality meal with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Another great restaurant by David Burke... great ambiance amazing food and professional yet personable service. Thanks, AJ!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went to DBK for winter restaurant week. Started with a poorly made Old fashioned with way to many ice cubes leading to a water ed downed drink. The staff was confused and couldnt bill the drink to our table. Ordered the bison tartare which was subpar & crab and shrimp arancini. Mains ordered were the scallops which were seared on one side. The broth was not good. The poached lobster was good. The stars of the night were the desserts - LEMON MERINGUE TART and the HAZELNUT MOCHA BUDINO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was pretty good. Staff was great.

Definitely a scene.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Absolutely great time. Really was a wonderful time here at David Burke. The food was fantastic and delicious. The wait staff were wonderful people just wonderful. Really had a great night out. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Birthday celebration

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

If your're going to David Butke Kitchen, you already know it's going to be good. The food was just absolutely stunning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Energetic staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

The clams with bone marrow butter was heavenly!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

perfect for sexy date with someone who appreciates good food and good service. the prix fixe was lovely. soup looked light and flavorful, the kabocha squash was sublime, fish perfectly cooked, short ribs really melt-in-your-mouth delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

Visited for restaurant week. Several offerings that were most appealing to me had an upcharge. Food was mostly nice but I did not enjoy the salmon with the bloodline and skin intact. Very fishy flavored. Deserts were fun. Decour needs a lot of work. If it wasn't so dark it would not be very attractive. Appears thrown together with strange, huge photos of various farmers on the walls. We asked and were told they were farmers they work with but the photos appear so staged it felt like being at a weird chain restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food, amazing restaurant week experience. Wine options could have been better. Great wine selection if you're looking to spend a bit more. Not many options for moderate priced bottles. Definitely recommend overall, food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

Amazing food and fantastic service! We went for Restaurant week dinner, and everything we order was incredible. I'd happily pay full price for all of these menu items, and more! The waitress was a sweetheart as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

Had such a great meal with my Dad for his birthday. The food was delicious... our favorite dishes were the crab and shrimp arancini followed by the rabbit agnolotti. Also, our server Christian was so sweet and attentive which made everything that much more special. I also have to mention that strawberry whipped cream with our lollipop tree was highly addictive! Definitely a must if you're in SoHo!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 1, 2017

Went for restaurant week lunch - turns out they have that deal for lunch all the time, which was a great find! All items were delicious and creative - tried the salmon for entree, just amazing! The hazelnut mocha dessert was the perfect end to a great lunch! Definitely going back there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 1, 2017

A wonderful dining experience! The food was very good. The servers were friendly and warm. We look forward to going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 30, 2017

DBK is a consistent performer. Been there solo, duo and large group. Service excellent. Food the same. Usually do a rin eye but tried the roast chicken during Restaurant Week. Outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 30, 2017

Restaurant Week dinner menu (Winter 2017) had great variety but turned out to be disappointing. Ordered the rabbit agnolotti; presentation was terrible (haphazardly slid off-center) and was not tasty. Have had a good experience with better food at David Burke Kitchen before, so happy to give benefit of the doubt. Prior Restaurant Week experience may have been lunch and was certainly better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went for restaurant week sunday brunch, menu was lovely and had good variety. servers were attentive and quick - i ordered baked eggs that had happened to have mushrooms in the hash (which i am allergic to), and staff were more than helpful and prompt in getting me another menu option.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

My sister and I came for Restaurant Week Brunch/Lunch. The appetizers were great (roasted komboucha squash and beet salad), we had the Ricotta pancakes for our main and Lemon tart/Hazelnut coffee mousse. I was disappointed in the pancakes as I was served overcooked slightly burned ones covered with the blueberry sauce, whereas the other patrons had perfectly cooked ones. They were too thick and very dry. More like big biscuits. I wasn't impressed. The dessert was mediocre.

In the end, I would still come back, as the drinks were tasty and their other meals that were served looked delicious.

I just won't order the $17 pancakes again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Came here for Sunday Brunch during restaurant week.

Their restaurant week menu had a good variety of dishes- burgers, eggs, chicken, and steak. I had the roasted kabocha squash with brie and pears as my appetizer - ok execution, didn't like that the brie was drizzled.

For my entree, I had the Kitchen burger. Burger itself was juicy, but the 'challah' bun was not impressive - seemed like any ordinary dry bread bun. Dessert was my favorite, a hazelnut mocha budino - highly recommend. I'd describe it as a "chocolate hazelnut flan."

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Booked this restaurant as part of restaurant week. They quickly seated us and it wasn't until after we were given coffee that it turns out we were not eligible for the restaurant week deal. They didn't even bother to mention it to us prior. Felt completely ripped off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Ok experience. Only issue is I made a reservation and was on time, I still had to wait a extra 15 minutes at the bar. Whats the point of making a reservation?

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a big snafu with our reservation and the manager ended up comping our meal which by the way was amazing and unexpected given his sincere apology. The service was terrific but not intrusive and we took advantage of the restaurant week menu which allowed us to choose from the regular menu so there were plenty of options. Delish. Check it out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome dinner and waiter!! Have been here 4 times and will keep going back! Love it!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

We are treated like family. Food is terrific and so is service. I would recommend The Kitchen to casual diners as well as gourmands.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fun, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

They added $40 in extra fees without first informing us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

the waiter made a point of asking how I wanted my salmon cooked and recommended medium. I requested medium rare and got well done salmon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our server was lovely. The offerings were enticing and a exotic. I would recommend this restaurant to people looking for contemporary dining. Especially if interested in after dinner drink next door at the James Hotel rooftop bar which has a very cool view.

Overall experience: It was restaurant week ($42 pp) and the food came out too quickly. I would've slowed the pace. Partly our fault, we misunderstood the server.

Server asked if it was ok to bring our additional 2 sharing appetizers at the same time as our individual appetizers; Lobster w toast $19, caviar sour cream/ toter tots $27. Someone said yes b/c they couldn't hear her. We got hit with too many plates and food at once.

The "add-on" costs printed on menus was missed by most of the group. It's there, but doesn't jump out. Everyone's order had "add-ons" to each of the 3 courses - they didn't realize it. The Monkey Bread dessert was a $10 add-on, nice but not worth the $30 extra + tax & tip. Planning on $125-$150 per couple & it was $250. Our own fault.

What we loved; the server bringing the bottle to the table to pour the individual glasses (we were drinking wine per glass), the table bread, the caviar, and rabbit entree.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

Loved it! Went for Restaurant Week and was pleasantly surprised the it applied to the whole menu. You were able to pick anything off the menu with a few items donning a supplemental price. Had the Kobacha Squash appetizer (delightful), the salmon (AMAZING) and finished with a lemon tart as suggested by the waiter. Left feeling full and happy as a clam. Love the note in the beginning of the menu stating where all their food is sourced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

awesome service and the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our meal was everything we expected and more. Although we went during Restaurant Week, it was still pricey for lunch. However, the quality of the food was exceptional, as was the service.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves. 2nd time eating at DB Kitchen

Noise level on high side but everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves!

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.