Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About David Burke Kitchen

David Burke Kitchen pays homage to the craft of cooking and sharing hearty, rustic American food. Its artisan menu items are inspired by morning visits to the green market and what is freshest in the region, prepared with creativity and refined technique. The result is a dining experience that is truly of-the-moment, authentic and regional. Kitchen celebrates the integrity of ingredients at their peak, prepared with a deft hand and served alongside the finest wines and spirits.

23 Grand Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 201-9119

Website:
http://www.davidburkekitchennyc.com/

Catering:
Contact events@craveablehg.com

Parking Details:
Varick Street Garage, 360 West Broadway
Icon Parking Systems, 114 Varick Street
Central Parking System, 45-47 Dominic Street

Public Transit:
A, C, E, J, N. Q, R, Z, 1, 6: Canal Street Stations

Executive Chef:
Raoul Whitaker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
David Burke Kitchen's interior is inspired by the surrounding neighborhood, and blends the cool, industrial simplicity of SoHo's airy lofts with the rustic warmth of a country abode. The restaurant's multi-level spaces offer several different ways to experience Chef Whitaker's playful menu. From rehearsal dinners, weddings and bachelorette parties to corporate events, David Burke Kitchen is the ideal spot for your next special event. Contact events@craveablehg.com to learn more!

Private Dining

David Burke Kitchen brings creative, inventive culinary style to downtown New York. Focusing on wholesome and hearty modern American food, David Burke Kitchen combines locally-sourced ingredients and presents them in a creative and whimsical style.

David Burke Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Modern Decor (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Great for Brunch (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Romantic (19)
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Business Meals (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Fun (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Seasonal (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Organic (4)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Good, but overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always excellent food in taste me presentation in fun relaxing environment!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food and service are very good but buy drinks here at your peril. My recent brunch for three with one drink each, sparkling water and two cups of coffe each came to $165, slightly less than half of which was for food! My very average Bloody Mary, at $18, cost more than my entree. Better value for equal food can be readily found all over the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The service was amazing and the atmosphere was great. The waitstaff were knowledgable and friendly and the food was delicious. It wasn't an inexpensive lunch, we had appetizers, 2 entrees and a bottle of wine and with tip came out to about $170, so it should be a special occasion when you go there but it was well worth it. I have paid more and received less.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a great time! Food was good😊

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We returned to celebrate sister's 74th Birthday... Well, despite it being a quiet night (last night of a 3-day weekend in NYC), the service and friendliness was sufficient to not let us notice... Our server and bartender was superb! Great drinks, great food and outstanding service! All guests happy and satisfied... Love good service with a smile! Thanks for a wonderful celebration! We'll be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service and dining was execellent. Great place for brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent American cuisine restaurant, very friendly and efficient service, and my wife and I could hear each other talk. As seniors, that is no little thing.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loved it. Food great. Atmosphere very nice. Service awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was out of this universe good. The chef was kind enough to give us a complimentary sampler and it was amazing. I highly recommend the truffle mash... I literally did a happy dance. Lighting was perfect, nothing was cold, no long, attentive service. We were in heaven and then in hell after eating everything like animals. But I regret nothing! Please please please get the monkey bread and cheesecake lollipops, you won't regret it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, with some inventive dishes, but really not sure if it is worth the $. Food is kind of one note - VERY VERY RICH.

The beautiful upstairs room is not always open so make sure to call and inquire before booking! The downstairs dining room is lovely but no windows and pales in comparison to the upstairs window filled room with great views and uncovered in summer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was very attentive and the restaurant was very quiet, but we were there at 5:30 on a Saturday evening. As good customers of other David Burke restaurants, we received an extra first course we had not ordered, but that we had discussed with the waiter. My bison steak was very tasty and my wife liked her scallops very much. Being only a block from the subway, it is very convenient to dine at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service overall. The food was good; service and management staff were very attentive. It was the last day of NYC winter restaurant week. I like the fact that I could order anything on the menu and only pay a supplemental charge. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere and great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Excellent dinner!
Everyone loved their meal. The scallops were cooked perfectly. The beet salad and lobster were delicious. The service was excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The staff was very courtesy. I only did the lunch prefix but the food was eh..I've had a lot better. The drinks are also overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Amazingly creative cuisine, especially the vegetarian selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This restaurant was delicious!! We went for Restaurant Week and was surprised by the many choices offered on the special menu. It felt like a real menu rather than an abridged menu. The portions were very generous as well. I have not been to any other restaurant week meal as satisfying and generous ( and I've been to many). The food was delicious as sometimes it can be compromised during the promotion. The service excellent and we were not rushed though we overstayed lunch time hours.I will be back regardless of of the discount of restaurant week

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I went here for Restaurant Week. The portions were very generous and you can actually order the entire menu, however, some of the dishes have a supplement added to them if you are there for Restaurant Week. The staff was very nice and the food was amazing, definitely recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food & service even for Restaurant Week diners! They gave an amazing deal and wonderful service, will definitely come back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing food and service. Gerard, the manager on duty, and our server Alina were very welcoming and accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I went here with a friend for my birthday. The staff could not have been nicer and more professional. I really enjoyed the experience. The food was pretty good as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went during restaurant week. Great selections for brunch. Great smoked pastrami salmon, Kitchen burger and hazelnut budino . Service with a smile from reception to waiter.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We ate brunch here for restaurant week and had such a wonderful time. The restaurant itself is beautiful and calming, and other than my baked eggs being overdone, our dishes were delicious and came out quickly. Our servers were especially attentive and friendly, too. This is a sophisticated option for a date or to grab a high-quality meal with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Another great restaurant by David Burke... great ambiance amazing food and professional yet personable service. Thanks, AJ!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went to DBK for winter restaurant week. Started with a poorly made Old fashioned with way to many ice cubes leading to a water ed downed drink. The staff was confused and couldnt bill the drink to our table. Ordered the bison tartare which was subpar & crab and shrimp arancini. Mains ordered were the scallops which were seared on one side. The broth was not good. The poached lobster was good. The stars of the night were the desserts - LEMON MERINGUE TART and the HAZELNUT MOCHA BUDINO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was pretty good. Staff was great.
Definitely a scene.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Absolutely great time. Really was a wonderful time here at David Burke. The food was fantastic and delicious. The wait staff were wonderful people just wonderful. Really had a great night out. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Birthday celebration

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

If your're going to David Butke Kitchen, you already know it's going to be good. The food was just absolutely stunning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Energetic staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The clams with bone marrow butter was heavenly!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

perfect for sexy date with someone who appreciates good food and good service. the prix fixe was lovely. soup looked light and flavorful, the kabocha squash was sublime, fish perfectly cooked, short ribs really melt-in-your-mouth delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Visited for restaurant week. Several offerings that were most appealing to me had an upcharge. Food was mostly nice but I did not enjoy the salmon with the bloodline and skin intact. Very fishy flavored. Deserts were fun. Decour needs a lot of work. If it wasn't so dark it would not be very attractive. Appears thrown together with strange, huge photos of various farmers on the walls. We asked and were told they were farmers they work with but the photos appear so staged it felt like being at a weird chain restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good food, but nothing spectacular, especially considering the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food, amazing restaurant week experience. Wine options could have been better. Great wine selection if you're looking to spend a bit more. Not many options for moderate priced bottles. Definitely recommend overall, food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Amazing food and fantastic service! We went for Restaurant week dinner, and everything we order was incredible. I'd happily pay full price for all of these menu items, and more! The waitress was a sweetheart as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Had such a great meal with my Dad for his birthday. The food was delicious... our favorite dishes were the crab and shrimp arancini followed by the rabbit agnolotti. Also, our server Christian was so sweet and attentive which made everything that much more special. I also have to mention that strawberry whipped cream with our lollipop tree was highly addictive! Definitely a must if you're in SoHo!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Went for restaurant week lunch - turns out they have that deal for lunch all the time, which was a great find! All items were delicious and creative - tried the salmon for entree, just amazing! The hazelnut mocha dessert was the perfect end to a great lunch! Definitely going back there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.