About Dark Roux

3524 Kaliste Saloom Road Suite 101
Lafayette, LA 70508
View Larger Map

Dark Roux. is a showcase of the inventive cuisine & cocktails of Chef Ryan Trahan and Mixologist Paige Tait. Through the seasons each plate will highlight sustainably sourced regional and local ingredients, showcasing the freshness of our cuisine , and outlining our story of Louisiana foods. Our team draws inspiration from classic European/French traditions and refinement, Southern culture, American ingenuity, and the vast bounty that Louisiana has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, American, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4:30pm to 10pm
Brunch: Friday - Sunday 9am to 2pm

Cross Street:
East Broussard Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 504-2346

Website:
http://www.darkrouxla.com/

Catering:
Private personalized catering available... Just make an appointment with our chefs and we can create a menu for any occasion!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Trahan & Cory Bourgeois

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We Host numerous special events and pop-up restaurants throughout the year! Check us out at www.darkrouxla.com for more event information

Dark Roux Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
New Orleans / Louisiana
Outdoor Dining
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans / Louisiana
6 More
Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Special Occasion
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

fit for foodies (22)
great for brunch (16)
great for outdoor dining (15)
See All
special occasion (13)
romantic (6)
great for lunch (5)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
91 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinning at Dark Roux was an experience ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Dinning at Dark Roux was an experience my wife and I will not soon forget. The menu is limited, which is a good thing, it allows each dish to be prepared to perfection. The fish dishes we had were great and compared and perhaps even better than the #1 seafood Resturant in New Orleans. Dark Roux also has a good hand crafted cocktail and limited but excellent wine offerings.

The staff is young and seems to really care that you dinning in their Resturant , which means you get excellent service.

If you are in the Lafayette, La area please give Dark Roux a try. The Resturant is small, indoor seating for about 30, so use your Open Table App to be sure you get a table.

*be sure to try cornbread pudding for desert*

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire staff is sincerely trying to ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The entire staff is sincerely trying to make this a unique dining experience. If you go in with an open mind and palate you will be pleasantly surprised. This is not the kind of place for people who are squeamish about different types of food. The mixed cocktails are fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was so fantastic! I wish we c ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This place was so fantastic! I wish we could've ordered everything on the menu; the hardest thing was choosing just 1! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty Outing

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to Dark Roux for Sunday Brunch. The wine selection was very good and the menu was varied and interesting. The corn dog appetizers are a must and I enjoyed the red eye gravy and ham. We will return because there are many other things on the menu I want to try.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! Our drinks were very ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great experience! Our drinks were very good. We ordered a charcuterie plate, two small plates and a large plate. All of the food was excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Amazing food! Each time I go is some of the most delicious meals I have ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, awesome service, and d ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great experience, awesome service, and delicious food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ramen Pop-Up

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We went for the recent Ramen Pop-Up but frequent Dark Roux for brunch and love it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Conceptually, this restaurant has always ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Conceptually, this restaurant has always been ambitious and progressive...however, they don't usually deliver. This was the second time I attended one of their pop-up nights (first one was dim sum night) and both times I was disappointed. Service is excellent, space is great, concept is exciting -- but they somehow don't deliver on flavors and value (and by value I mean I paid $9 for a cucumber and tomato salad).

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious,but the service w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was delicious,but the service was less than stellar.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

We highly recommend Dark Roux!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We made our first trip to the restaurant for Mothers Day. The food and atmosphere were excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent brunch!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been to Dark Roux before and found the portion sizes to be a little small. Decided to take a chance on brunch. It was incredible!!! Do yourself a favor and hit them up for brunch and bottomless sangria!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great find

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My family was in town for the weekend and we wanted to go to brunch for Mother's Day. It was perfect! Food was good, service was excellent. It was indeed a charming place.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pricey but delicious. The service was e ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Pricey but delicious. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Incredible food and service. Farm to tab ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Incredible food and service. Farm to table is an obvious passion for this establishment and they deliver it exceptionally. Our server Dom was very knowledgable and attentive while exhibiting her personal enthusiasm for the food she presented us. So much attention to the little details, all the way down to the hand carved ice, made this experience for me way more than just a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always high quality and delicious!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We appreciate the grass-fed beef and farm eggs ("happy meat")! Waiter catered to our allergen needs, too! Good people who stand behind their high quality ingredients! We can taste the difference!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I ate brunch on a rainy Satu ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I ate brunch on a rainy Saturday! My first time to go

And we were seated promptly with arrest stink they open table! Everything was great! Bartender has to be the best in the area! She makes great specialty drinks! Very impressed! Food excellent and service very good! We will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great choices for menu. Taylor was a gre ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Great choices for menu. Taylor was a great server and everyone worked well add a team. Might have been nice to have a non-alcoholic or low alcoholic (plum wine perhaps) drink option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I visited solo while travelling and the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

I visited solo while travelling and the overall experience was fantastic! Both the hostess and my server were very sweet and attentive. As for the food, I had the gumbo which was delicious! I also had the hanger steak that comes with oyster mayo, chili oil, bruleed egg, and veggies-absolutely divine! I just wish I had saved room for dessert... At the end of the meal, my check came with a postcard and a hand-written thank you--definitely a nice little touch. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch heaven

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

If you do nothing else, go there for Sunday brunch and order the beignet's. Best piece of food I have had in a long time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Primo Meal

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Always a great meal and always exceptional service. We feel like family when I walk in the door... Tonight the Pop-Up's Carne Asada, Mexican Street Corn, and Vegetarian Enchiladas were the highlights!! We at Primo's Peppers highly recommend you visit Dark Roux!!

Primo

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good but service not so much

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

More attention to service at pop ups in particular is necessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food and drinks. Everyone loved th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great food and drinks. Everyone loved their entrees. We will return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Italian Avante Garde night was outst ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

The Italian Avante Garde night was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic find in Lafayette, LA.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Tremendous restaurant. Outstanding food and cocktails. Extremely accommodating for the vegan member of our party.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On this beautiful Sunday morning, my Dad ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

On this beautiful Sunday morning, my Dad, my brother and I sat at an outside table on their patio. We were promptly and warmly greeted by our server, Nina. Her service throughout the meal was attentive without being obtrusive at all. She had excellent knowledge of the menu and expertly guided our decisions on food and beverage choices.

All the dishes came out promptly without the timing making us feel rushed. These were our selections:

Apps:

Crawfish Corndogs : perfect amount of spice; served fresh out of the frier; with tangy/creamy dipping sauce that complemented them perfectly

Beignets: a totally different approach than those at Cafe du Monde; in my opinion, Dark Roux makes the BEST beignets I have ever eaten.. Hands down. They're only served at lunch/brunch so make sure order them if you go during those hours!

Entrees:

Pain Perdu: the house made Texas cut toast was what made this dish an absolute standout; perfect ratio of fruit compote and creme anglaise served on top; absolutely divine!

Crawfish Fried Rice: my dad and my brother devoured this so quickly that I only got one bite! Totally unique dish that is just as good as the menu description sounds. Very filling and larger portion size than some other dishes offered.

BLT (with an egg added): my brother said it was the best BlT ever! The addition of one of their sunny side up farm eggs elevated this classically beautiful sandwich even further.

Overall: My first brunch experience will not be my last. Can't wait to explore the incredible drink list and try more menu items. Service was on point from the hostess who greeted us to the sever that wished us a good day as we walked out. Dark Roux. Is an absolute treasure in Lafayette. You HAVE to try it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exciting seasonal food

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Our favorite date spot. Locally sourced seasonal food of the highest quality and oh-so-delicious. Menu is never boring and food never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

In a town know for great restaurants, Dark Roux is clearly my favorite. Whether ordering from the menu or dining at the pop ups, the food, service and atmosphere is spot on.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Must try the Bloody Mary's.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This is a must try. No more than a party of 4. Small setting but good ambiance. Sunday Brunch is worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Everything was good

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

While trying to find a place to have dinner with my wife on the last minute of valentine's day, i ended up finding The Dark Roux.

Everything was really good, the special menu for valentine's day was well developed, drinks were well done and food was delicious.

The woman that was serving us was very gentile and knew everything about the meals that she was bringing for us. The whole meal with 4 courses was a little bit expensive but it was really worth.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner here is perfection. Every single ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Dinner here is perfection. Every single time! The plating, the service, ambiance, everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved everything!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

It was our first time but definitely not our last time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Phenomenal! Everything is delicious. Husband and I went for Valentine's, and we enjoyed it all. The shrimp and grits were so yummy. It's pricey, but you won't regret it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went here for our Valentine dinner, and the food is super delicious. It's more " tapas"style but we enjoy our food alot.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One thing...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

We had a fantastic time. Something I would suggest, however, is to let those who reserve a spot know that there will be communal seating. If that was mentioned and I missed it, my apologies! I still had a great time, but it was shocking at first to us and the other 2 people at our table and was a little awkward at the beginning...just not a normal part of our culture. I think a heads up would've helped the situation. Overall, we had a lovely time, service and food were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

One of our favorites

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My family loves Dark Roux. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable. Their menu is always different and the food is always excellent. They also have great cocktails and a very tasty old-fashion!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not for dinner. Good for Lunch / Brunch.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

As noted in title, I enjoy Dark Roux for lunch and brunch. However, I'm not a fan of dinner under this new model. The menu has morphed into a small plate only style (and I do mean small). Don't get me wrong, we enjoy tapas, but this isn't a tapas restaurant. They have struggled to find their place as an evening venue, but I don't think the current strategy will be the answer. We love the ambiance of the venue, and the staff and drinks are great. We were a larger group, and everyone seemed unhappy with the inability to have a tradional meal (apps, salads, and mainly...a real entree). The menue blends all in one, and portions are small. I do hope they move on to the next strategy and find their niche', as we want to support them. If your a parent, there is no kid friendly items - just beware. And lastly, for a small restaurant with limited seating, it seems that the chef could take small requests from guests. However, the menu clearly reads at the top: "To ensure an exceptional dining experience, all substitutions & modifications are politefully declined." An exceptional dining experience to most people is likely one that would allow for some level of customization. Either way, there is probably a better way to communicate this.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

2nd Visit in Consecutive Months

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Fortunately I had to return to Broussard, LA for business, and so my wife and I had to re-visit the wonderful Dark Roux. Great service from Jessie, and once again some memorable food - Buffalo Oysters, Pea Risotto and Fireside Carrots - wonderfully tasting and imaginative! The Villa Bosconia Reserva - Rioja lived up its billing, a fine full-bodied Old World style accompaniment. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Business meal

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

Food was amazing! The preparation, presentation, and ingredients were so well done. Taryn waited on us and walked is through our dining experience and did a great job.

My suggestion... Try everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Fabulous food ( we went for brunch), the chef is creative and everything we got was great. The service was spotty, however. Our waiter was good but it took ordering our drink twice to get it, we were seated at very busy table and it took a while to get our food. The food certainly makes up for some of the lack in service, so we will make sure to come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.