About Dark Roux

3524 Kaliste Saloom Road Suite 101
Lafayette, LA 70508
View Larger Map

Our team at Dark Roux. led by Chef Ryan Trahan, General Manager Aaron Brinkman, and Mixologist Paige Tait strives to provide its patrons with creative, simple southern foods and beverages that are carefully crafted and thoughtfully presented in a modern Acadian style setting. We draw inspiration from classic European/French traditions and refinement, Southern culture, American ingenuity, and the vast bounty that Louisiana has to offer. Our menus are inspired by the seasons and dictated by mother nature; as well as our family farmers and small batch artisans. As they change so will our menu. Our team understands the cultural importance and culinary value of supporting small family farms and producers. Through these practices we are dedicated to responsibly sourcing the best quality ingredients in the South. Our plates and glasses will highlight the bounty of each season, showcasing the freshness of our cuisine , and outlining our story of Louisiana foods.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Contemporary American, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday 5pm to 10pm
Brunch: Wednesday - Friday 10am to 2pm Saturday & Sunday 9am - 2pm
Happy Hour: Friday - Sunday 2pm to 5pm

Cross Street:
East Broussard Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 504-2346

Website:
http://www.darkrouxla.com/

Catering:
Private personalized catering available... Just make an appointment with our chefs and we can create a menu for any occasion!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Trahan & Cory Bourgeois

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We Host numerous special events and pop-up restaurants throughout the year! Check us out at www.darkrouxla.com for more event information

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Throwback Thursday #tbt

Thursdays from 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Old Fashioned Fridays

Fridays from 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM

50% off Bloody Mary's and Mimosas

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. 50% off all Wine Bottles and 50% off select Wine Glasses. Special valid Oct 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Wednesdays from 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Throwback Thursday #tbt

Thursdays from 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

$5 Classic Cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Thursdays from 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Old Fashioned Fridays

Fridays from 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

$5 House Old Fashioned. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Fridays from 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

50% off Bloody Mary's and Mimosas

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Details

50% Off Bloody Marys and Mimosas. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dark Roux Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Food
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Service
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
5 More
Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

Local Ingredients (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
See All
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Romantic (3)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Authentic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place is 2/2 and by far our favorit ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This place is 2/2 and by far our favorite place in Lafayette. I had the dry aged steak and my wife had the quail. Both were outstanding. My wife said she believes the char grilled oysters appetizer with gruyere cheese were the best grilled oysters she's had. I cannot say enough good things about this place. Dark Roux, shut up and take my money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food and service. The cockt ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Really good food and service. The cocktails were strong and the food cooked very well. We will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect. Great drink specials, focused m ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Perfect. Great drink specials, focused menu, waiter was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another fantastic experience at Dark Rou ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Another fantastic experience at Dark Roux. In general, the new menu seemed to be less experimental and "safer" than in the past-- but we couldn't have been happier with the meals, cocktails and service. We'll be back as soon as possible.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a second visit to Dark Roux, ap ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was a second visit to Dark Roux, approximately a year after my first visit. It more than lived up to what I remembered as a memorable dining experience. First, the cocktail menu is wonderfully creative. Secondly, the food is admirably farm to table and laced with more creative touches than can be imagined. Thirdly, the service is consistently good, low-key, and friendly. I love this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

FABULOUS! We go to upscale restaurants ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

FABULOUS! We go to upscale restaurants on a regular basis and decided to try something new. The food was absolutely the best we have had in a long, long time. There were menu items that we have only been able to get in New Orleans, so this was a real treat!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. One of the freshest, inventiv ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent. One of the freshest, inventive and delicious entrees I have had in a while. Try the homemade Kombucha tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We drove 1 hour to this restaurant from ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We drove 1 hour to this restaurant from Baton Rouge. It was excellent and will definitely return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience. I would like to see mor ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good experience. I would like to see more menu options. I thought the beverages were a little expensive.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Dark Roux's boudin Benedict was amazing! ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Dark Roux's boudin Benedict was amazing! The service there was par for the course. The only negative thing O have to say about it was that there's not a lot of dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

After driving the freeway, then off onto ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

After driving the freeway, then off onto state highways and lastly onto surface streets, we finally arrived at Dark Roux. It doesn’t jump out at you. It looked like a neighborhood family style restaurant. What a pleasant surprise! Inventive craft cocktails, delicious soft shell crab, incredibly rich herbed gnocchi, and a sublime duck egg creme brûlée, dinner was a real treat. I never thought a butter lettuce salad could be so tasty! Here’s to hydroponics! We were guided through it all by Dominique, who was very on top of the menu and her suggestions were spot on. All in all a wonderful dining experience. Dark Roux should be on everyone’s dinner list when visiting the Lafayette area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Alawesome service and food.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Alawesome service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best gumbo I've ever had in a restau ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The best gumbo I've ever had in a restaurant. Period. Not a big menu but the dishes we tried were traditional with a fresh twist. Service was good. Atmosphere cozy and comfortable.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We live in Baton Rouge and planned a Laf ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We live in Baton Rouge and planned a Lafayette day trip specifically around a visit to Dark Roux-- which exceeded all expectations. Creative dishes with equally-clever presentations, plus an unusual cocktail menu-- and fantastic service to boot. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very quiet nite at a dark Roux. We had ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 11, 2016

A very quiet nite at a dark Roux. We had been to sat brunch in the past and it was very lively! We went on $8 cocktail

Nite but you have to careful which ones you order or its regular price which is not cheap but very good! We had crawfish dogs, ravioli, crab salad small plates and short rib risotto large plate and three of us shared! Small plates are pretty small but we had plenty after a few cocktails that are also excellent! Bartender is really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Dinning at Dark Roux was an experience ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Dinning at Dark Roux was an experience my wife and I will not soon forget. The menu is limited, which is a good thing, it allows each dish to be prepared to perfection. The fish dishes we had were great and compared and perhaps even better than the #1 seafood Resturant in New Orleans. Dark Roux also has a good hand crafted cocktail and limited but excellent wine offerings.

 The staff is young and seems to really care that you dinning in their Resturant , which means you get excellent service.

  If you are in the Lafayette, La area please give Dark Roux a try. The Resturant is small, indoor seating for about 30, so use your Open Table App to be sure you get a table.

  *be sure to try cornbread pudding for desert*
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire staff is sincerely trying to ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The entire staff is sincerely trying to make this a unique dining experience. If you go in with an open mind and palate you will be pleasantly surprised. This is not the kind of place for people who are squeamish about different types of food. The mixed cocktails are fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was so fantastic! I wish we c ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 19, 2016

This place was so fantastic! I wish we could've ordered everything on the menu; the hardest thing was choosing just 1! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty Outing

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to Dark Roux for Sunday Brunch. The wine selection was very good and the menu was varied and interesting. The corn dog appetizers are a must and I enjoyed the red eye gravy and ham. We will return because there are many other things on the menu I want to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! Our drinks were very ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great experience! Our drinks were very good. We ordered a charcuterie plate, two small plates and a large plate. All of the food was excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Amazing food! Each time I go is some of the most delicious meals I have ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, awesome service, and d ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great experience, awesome service, and delicious food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ramen Pop-Up

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 16, 2016

We went for the recent Ramen Pop-Up but frequent Dark Roux for brunch and love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Conceptually, this restaurant has always ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Conceptually, this restaurant has always been ambitious and progressive...however, they don't usually deliver. This was the second time I attended one of their pop-up nights (first one was dim sum night) and both times I was disappointed. Service is excellent, space is great, concept is exciting -- but they somehow don't deliver on flavors and value (and by value I mean I paid $9 for a cucumber and tomato salad).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious,but the service w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was delicious,but the service was less than stellar.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

We highly recommend Dark Roux!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We made our first trip to the restaurant for Mothers Day. The food and atmosphere were excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent brunch!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been to Dark Roux before and found the portion sizes to be a little small. Decided to take a chance on brunch. It was incredible!!! Do yourself a favor and hit them up for brunch and bottomless sangria!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great find

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

My family was in town for the weekend and we wanted to go to brunch for Mother's Day. It was perfect! Food was good, service was excellent. It was indeed a charming place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pricey but delicious. The service was e ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Pricey but delicious. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Incredible food and service. Farm to tab ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Incredible food and service. Farm to table is an obvious passion for this establishment and they deliver it exceptionally. Our server Dom was very knowledgable and attentive while exhibiting her personal enthusiasm for the food she presented us. So much attention to the little details, all the way down to the hand carved ice, made this experience for me way more than just a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always high quality and delicious!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We appreciate the grass-fed beef and farm eggs ("happy meat")! Waiter catered to our allergen needs, too! Good people who stand behind their high quality ingredients! We can taste the difference!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I ate brunch on a rainy Satu ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I ate brunch on a rainy Saturday! My first time to go

And we were seated promptly with arrest stink they open table! Everything was great! Bartender has to be the best in the area! She makes great specialty drinks! Very impressed! Food excellent and service very good! We will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great choices for menu. Taylor was a gre ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 25, 2016

Great choices for menu. Taylor was a great server and everyone worked well add a team. Might have been nice to have a non-alcoholic or low alcoholic (plum wine perhaps) drink option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I visited solo while travelling and the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 25, 2016

I visited solo while travelling and the overall experience was fantastic! Both the hostess and my server were very sweet and attentive. As for the food, I had the gumbo which was delicious! I also had the hanger steak that comes with oyster mayo, chili oil, bruleed egg, and veggies-absolutely divine! I just wish I had saved room for dessert... At the end of the meal, my check came with a postcard and a hand-written thank you--definitely a nice little touch. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch heaven

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2016

If you do nothing else, go there for Sunday brunch and order the beignet's. Best piece of food I have had in a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Primo Meal

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Always a great meal and always exceptional service. We feel like family when I walk in the door... Tonight the Pop-Up's Carne Asada, Mexican Street Corn, and Vegetarian Enchiladas were the highlights!! We at Primo's Peppers highly recommend you visit Dark Roux!!

Primo

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good but service not so much

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 11, 2016

More attention to service at pop ups in particular is necessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food and drinks. Everyone loved th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great food and drinks. Everyone loved their entrees. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Italian Avante Garde night was outst ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 21, 2016

The Italian Avante Garde night was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic find in Lafayette, LA.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Tremendous restaurant. Outstanding food and cocktails. Extremely accommodating for the vegan member of our party.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.