About Dante Next Door

2253 Professor Ave
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

Dante Next Door is a casual lunch and brunch Trattoria style restaurant located in Cleveland historic Tremont "next door" from Dante Boccuzzi signature restaurant DANTE. Featuring hand toss pizza in a traditional wood fire oven,pasta, salads and sandwiches, this venue is the perfect location for a quick business lunch or a relaxing week-end brunch. Dante Next Door is also available for all your catering needs and for private events.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Literary

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 274-1201

Website:
http://www.danteboccuzzi.com/

Catering:
Please contact danteboccuzzi@danteboccuzzi.com or call 216.274.1201.

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking

Public Transit:
RTA walking distance

Executive Chef:
Dante Boccuzzi

Private Party Facilities:
Available for lunch and dinner parties, every day of the week.
For inquiries please email danteboccuzzi@danteboccuzzi.com, call 216-274-1201 or visit our website at www.danteboccuzzi.com/nextdoor.

Private Party Contact:
Monica Ferrari: (216) 274-1201

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dante Next Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
See All
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Family Style (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Perfectly prepared comfort food. While i ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Perfectly prepared comfort food. While it is expected that the entrees would be exceptional, I was surprised by the amazing level of quality and flavor in the sides. How do scrambled eggs, potatoes and bacon taste that good?! Very impressive seasoning and preparation.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

There were so many good sounding things ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

There were so many good sounding things on the menu it took forever for me to decide what to get. My friend and I finally decided to split three different things and found each to be AMAZING!! We left so full and so happy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks for celebrating our 6th wedding a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Thanks for celebrating our 6th wedding anniversary with us. Try the Nutella pie- - the paratore

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Cozy, Live Music, Casual, Bar Seating, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it. We got the everything bagel wi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Loved it. We got the everything bagel with lox and french toast, and they were amazing!!

Coffee is super good as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to find a great place for a brunc ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wanted to find a great place for a brunch with a friend and business associate to catch up. I think I made a good choice with D.N.D.

I would also say that the space was better for bar talk (speak loudly) than intimate conversation. I am in my 60's with hearing challenges. And while I really enjoyed the 'abstract' art on the walls, sound absorbing art would also have been useful (FD - my wife is a commercial fibre artist). Tin ceilings and refinished wooden industrial floors were great.

Staff was knowledgeable, properly attentive and very friendly.

Menu was creative and well executed. I fell for the Crab Cakes Hollandaise and came away thinking they threw too much into one dish. The potato sides were out of this world. The fancy Waffle was outstanding.

I will be back. When you have this much culinary firepower, you have to learn how to use it for your own purposes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Historic, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First visit and we loved it, The Spaghe ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

First visit and we loved it, The Spaghetti & Meatball pizza was incredible and we are anxious to return to this location.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dante Next Door should be on everyone's ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Dante Next Door should be on everyone's "best brunch in Cleveland" list. Food is well-prepared and satisfying, pizza is excellent. In a city filled with mediocre restaurant service, Dante's staff is professional and friendly. Ottimo lavoro.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to Dante Next Door. Sta ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our first visit to Dante Next Door. Staff was very friendly & atentive. Food was delicious.I would definitely give a recommendation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The calamari and shrimp app was amazing! ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The calamari and shrimp app was amazing! Also had the pork belly and pumpkin pie which was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Melissa and Phil are the bomb!!! Best c ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Melissa and Phil are the bomb!!! Best customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tiger shrimp and polenta was soooo good. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Tiger shrimp and polenta was soooo good. My boyfriend had the crab cakes benedict and that was stellar too! A+

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of 9 really enjoyed everything ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our party of 9 really enjoyed everything we ordered. Service was outstanding as well. I think this will be our new go to brunch spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a hidden gem, I have been coming ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 21, 2016

This is a hidden gem, I have been coming here for lunch for several months and have never been disappointed other than not open on Monday and Tuesday . However we all need a break sometime

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed brunch with mom and sisters. Ex ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Enjoyed brunch with mom and sisters. Excellent Food and Service. I enjoyed the Cinnamon French Toast. It was a little bit loud as it got more crowded, but for me that was a good energy, everyone was enjoying themselves. It could be harder for people who have hearing aids.

Beautiful art work on the walls and a very warm feeling to the place!

Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service here really spoiled the enti ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service here really spoiled the entire experience. It was a slow Saturday morning, without many other customers. After a very nice greeting from the hostess, the service went downhill. Our server barely said two words to us and the food came out very late, with strange timing (one person's pancakes, followed by the next person's entrée about ten minutes later). The food was just okay, nothing too spectacular, which is sad because the setting and atmosphere are pretty pleasing. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

This is one of my favorite brunch places ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is one of my favorite brunch places in all of NE CLE. The food is wonderful, the décor and atmosphere of the restaurant is great, and the food is fairly priced for the taste and quality. We try to get out here at least once a month and never is anything lacking. It is nice to find a good place, with solid food, at a reasonable price, and where my dining experience from one visit to the next is always consistent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome, excellent place to conduct busi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Awesome, excellent place to conduct business where you and guest is always treated with greatest of service, period!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food choices. Hard to decide wha ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome food choices. Hard to decide what you want to. I wanted to try it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food and service. The wine sele ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love the food and service. The wine selection is very nice and they put wines in their proper glass.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waited 15 minutes for waitress after bei ...

vip
 (Acapulco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Waited 15 minutes for waitress after being seated, and after ordering she truly nowhere to be found. I think the food was great little light on the bacon ok the breakfast pizza but besides that very good. This could be a great brunch spot but the service is awful.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Food was fantastic, drinks were great to ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was fantastic, drinks were great too. The service was amazing. I've never ordered dessert after having brunch but I couldn't pass up the nutella pie, so yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have had dinner and lunch here before ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have had dinner and lunch here before but this was the first time we came for brunch. The food and overall experience were great. We sat on the patio and had a great experience. We will definitely be brunch regulars.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a favorite of ours for a leisure ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is a favorite of ours for a leisurely Sunday brunch. We weren't disappointed during our past visit. The drink specials (coffee and a wine "smoothie") were quite tasty. The daily omelet and crab cake Benedict were well prepared and presented. The service staff has always been professional and courteous, and well versed in the preparation and ingredients of their offerings.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went for brunch. It was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I went for brunch. It was fine -- but just fine. The pizza and duck fat potatoes were pretty good; the granola was mediocre. Our server ignored us for long enough (after we ordered drinks but before entrees) that we were about ready to flag down somebody, anybody, else so that we could order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice casual lunch. Service was very goo ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Nice casual lunch. Service was very good and the pizza was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

good was amazing

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 3, 2016

good was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The spaghetti and meatball pizza is the ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The spaghetti and meatball pizza is the best! Also a great Hot Olive bloody mary to go with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice bright decor. Crabcake eggs Benedic ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nice bright decor. Crabcake eggs Benedict was delicious! My friend really liked the potatoe special of day with veggies. Brunch isn't Brunch without a few nice glasses of champagne. Topped it off with homemade warm banana nut bread and raspberry turnover.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Brunch. Creative menu with variati ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great Brunch. Creative menu with variations on your standard brunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The brunch menu is fabulous. It has some ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The brunch menu is fabulous. It has something for everyone! We have had brunch here three times already and have never been disappointed. The service is very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious. My vegetarian hash ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious. My vegetarian hash was so good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and service

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Servers were great and the food was delicious. Met or exceeded all expectations, had a great brunch for a family member's birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined here for lunch very often, bu ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Have dined here for lunch very often, but the dinners and chefs table is outstanding, if you ever have an opportunity to embark on such an event the chefs table is outstanding, the food, staff, servers I cannot say enough for the efforts that Dante, Melissa, and the staff did for a surprise birthday party for my wife. "PRICELESS"

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Gluten-Free Pizza!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2016

They have a wonderful selection of GF pizza. I can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We were with a very large group for Sund ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We were with a very large group for Sunday brunch (post wedding brunch) and the hostess and servers could not have been more accommodating and gracious...we had a lovely time! French press coffee and blueberry lemon pancakes...delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The Carbonara Frittata was amazing!!!!

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 13, 2016

The Carbonara Frittata was amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good standard brunch!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Dante's brunch was fun and the food and service were good. It's not a super fancy brunch and the room is small but we still enjoyed it. Cocktails were excellent especially the bloody mary. The hot olive version was not super spicy but had a subtle kick and came with cubes of cheese and meat as well as the obligatory olives. The bacon and eggs were standard fare and cooked as requested, potato tart was a take on latkes. It seemed strange that the share plates were individual sizes (small) and we had to order additional food. The pasta carbonara frittata was undercooked and had almost no carbonara ingredients - - just tons and tons of egg - disappointing. Our favorite entree was the giardiniera pizza - unusual but it worked. We tried ordering the pastry basket for the table but were told they didn't have pastries . . . . odd. Our server was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was clean and well maintained but not highly decorated and luxurious by any means. We will try this place again the next time we're in Cleveland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Dante's Next Door Never Fails

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 7, 2016

A perfect place for a Sunday breakfast/brunch/lunch. Excellent service. Delicious meal.

Perfect choices and nice twists on traditional items. Enjoy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for Sunday Brunch after Church

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 29, 2016

As usual, Next Door had a wonderful brunch would highly recommend to anyone

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Next Door for Brunch

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Our group was six. Most restaurants jam you in. That was not the case here. Service was excellent. The wait staff was very attentive. Can't say enough about the food, excellent flavors and taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.