About Dante Next Door

2253 Professor Ave
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

Dante Next Door is a casual lunch and brunch Trattoria style restaurant located in Cleveland historic Tremont "next door" from Dante Boccuzzi signature restaurant DANTE. Featuring hand toss pizza in a traditional wood fire oven,pasta, salads and sandwiches, this venue is the perfect location for a quick business lunch or a relaxing week-end brunch. Dante Next Door is also available for all your catering needs and for private events.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Literary

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 274-1201

Website:
http://www.danteboccuzzi.com/

Catering:
Please contact danteboccuzzi@danteboccuzzi.com or call 216.274.1201.

Parking Details:
Valet or street parking

Public Transit:
RTA walking distance

Executive Chef:
Dante Boccuzzi

Private Party Facilities:
Available for lunch and dinner parties, every day of the week.
For inquiries please email danteboccuzzi@danteboccuzzi.com, call 216-274-1201 or visit our website at www.danteboccuzzi.com/nextdoor.

Private Party Contact:
Monica Ferrari: 2162741201x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Dante Next Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

great for brunch (25)
neighborhood gem (18)
fit for foodies (17)
See All
good for groups (10)
great for lunch (9)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (6)
special occasion (4)
romantic (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
85 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined here for lunch very often, bu ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Have dined here for lunch very often, but the dinners and chefs table is outstanding, if you ever have an opportunity to embark on such an event the chefs table is outstanding, the food, staff, servers I cannot say enough for the efforts that Dante, Melissa, and the staff did for a surprise birthday party for my wife. "PRICELESS"

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great Gluten-Free Pizza!

Dined on May 6, 2016

They have a wonderful selection of GF pizza. I can't wait to go back.

food4
ambience5
service5

We were with a very large group for Sund ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were with a very large group for Sunday brunch (post wedding brunch) and the hostess and servers could not have been more accommodating and gracious...we had a lovely time! French press coffee and blueberry lemon pancakes...delicious!!!

food5
ambience4
service4

The Carbonara Frittata was amazing!!!!

Dined on March 13, 2016

The Carbonara Frittata was amazing!!!!

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Good standard brunch!

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Dante's brunch was fun and the food and service were good. It's not a super fancy brunch and the room is small but we still enjoyed it. Cocktails were excellent especially the bloody mary. The hot olive version was not super spicy but had a subtle kick and came with cubes of cheese and meat as well as the obligatory olives. The bacon and eggs were standard fare and cooked as requested, potato tart was a take on latkes. It seemed strange that the share plates were individual sizes (small) and we had to order additional food. The pasta carbonara frittata was undercooked and had almost no carbonara ingredients - - just tons and tons of egg - disappointing. Our favorite entree was the giardiniera pizza - unusual but it worked. We tried ordering the pastry basket for the table but were told they didn't have pastries . . . . odd. Our server was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was clean and well maintained but not highly decorated and luxurious by any means. We will try this place again the next time we're in Cleveland.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dante's Next Door Never Fails

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

A perfect place for a Sunday breakfast/brunch/lunch. Excellent service. Delicious meal. Perfect choices and nice twists on traditional items. Enjoy

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for Sunday Brunch after Church

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

As usual, Next Door had a wonderful brunch would highly recommend to anyone

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Next Door for Brunch

Dined on January 24, 2016

Our group was six. Most restaurants jam you in. That was not the case here. Service was excellent. The wait staff was very attentive. Can't say enough about the food, excellent flavors and taste.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Saturday brunch

Dined on January 2, 2016

Appropriately priced. Great service. Not too crowded. Blood mary was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Dante Next Door has turned into the spot ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

Dante Next Door has turned into the spot I go for my birthday brunch. I've done it 2 years in a row and will most likely continue the tradition next year.

food2
ambience3
service2

Noisy

Dined on December 5, 2015

Very disappointed in my recent trip to Dante's next door. Our service was very slow. (Patrons who came in after us were served long before we were.) My plate was hotter than the food that was served on it. It had been a year since I last ate here and my favorite thing, some wonderful donuts, was no longer on the menu. It was replaced by some commercial pastries. All in all, a bit of a let down.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch

Dined on November 29, 2015

Go with what they're known for and get the italian-style brunch dishes. The pasta carbonara fritatta and the shrimp and polenta were outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant and energetic waitstaff. Wonder ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Pleasant and energetic waitstaff. Wonderful maple pepper bacon. The greens salad served with the omelette du jour was refreshing, enjoyed by even the non-salad eater in our group..

food4
ambience3
service2

Service Slow... very slow

Dined on November 22, 2015

Have eaten at Next Door many times BUT the last several times the service of the food getting to the table has been very, very slow, like 30+ minutes last two times. In fact, some of the meals were warm, not hot. The brunch is one of the area best we have eaten at, but is slipping in our experience. The parking lot helps when you can get in it as parking in Tremont can be challenging. We will return but running out of chances.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect!

Dined on November 19, 2015

Took my friend here for her birthday lunch. Delicious food and surprise birthday dessert that was very, very good. Always excellent food and great service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Deliciously decadent

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

Perfect spot for Sunday brunch with friends. Crab cake eggs benedict were divine, and the carbonara frittata was hearty & indulgent. (Like having breakfast, lunch & dinner all at the same time!) The duck fat potatoes are a must try. Whole fingerling golden potatoes crisped in duck fat -- elevates an ordinary potato into a thing of culinary beauty.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

great place for Sunday brunch

Dined on October 18, 2015

This was our first time dining here. A friend and I went for brunch before going to the theater in downtown Cleveland. We loved it. Cool, casual atmosphere; fantastic food with an interesting spin on traditional bunch foods; great unusual brunch drinks; and spectacular service. We've been highly recommending it to our friends as a great place for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious fabulous lunch ! Best tiramisu ...

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

Delicious fabulous lunch ! Best tiramisu ever , wonderful salad !

food5
ambience5
service5

Bartender is the best she always gives h ...

vip
Dined on September 30, 2015

Bartender is the best she always gives honest and great suggestions

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent brunch! Stellar desserts.

Dined on September 20, 2015

A group of 6 went to celebrate a birthday, and everything was amazing. Friendly service, delicious cocktails and the food is incredible. I ordered the Pasta Carbonara Fritatta, and it was very tasty. If you like sweets, do not pass up the Nutella Pie!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection.

Dined on September 6, 2015

I took my sister here for Sunday brunch while she was in town and we were not disappointed! I have been to Dante before for dinner, so I can't say I'm surprised that this brunch was fantastic. We ordered the rosemary french toast, crab cakes benedict, blueberry sausage, and duck fat potatoes (as well as a couple of brunch cocktails). Everything was fantastic. The service was great as well - very friendly and attentive employees. The patio was very nice - even though it was 90 degrees out. I would HIGHLY recommend this place; I will definitely be going back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5

Very friendly customer service.

Dined on September 6, 2015

Very friendly customer service.

food5
ambience4
service5

Destination

vip
Dined on August 14, 2015

We rode out bikes from the towpath with Dante's patio as our destination! Perfect place to end the ride. Great food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Dante was as usual an excellent choice for lunch.

vip
Dined on August 7, 2015

Dante is our favorite place for lunch/brunch. Their gluten free pizza cannot be beat and the salmon salad was absolutely phenomenal. Everyone was very pleased with their meal, especially the birthday boy who got an amazing nutella dessert that he said the fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

Dined on August 1, 2015

We decided to go here for brunch and were very pleased. We had the featured omelette and it was delicious. The Rosemary French toast was amazing. The staff were all attentive and very knowledgeable. We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

What do I do with this extra space?

vip
Dined on July 26, 2015

That had to have gone through Chef Dante's head at some point. The result? Excellence!! Chef Dante brings you everything you want, all under one roof!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Eatwelleatoften.

Dined on June 28, 2015

Dante Next Door is great for brunch or lunch. They have a unique menu that changes with the seasons, and fantastic pizza. The service is always an A+. Worth the trip from where ever you live.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome, great service!

vip
Dined on June 26, 2015

I go there for lunch every day, great service, great food, would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3

Had brunch outside, it was a great ambie ...

Dined on June 17, 2015

Had brunch outside, it was a great ambience the eggs Benedict were very well cooked and the omelette was delicious, the blueberry ricotta pancakes were pretty good too.

food5
ambience4
service3

Food was Great

vip
Dined on May 31, 2015

Visited for Sunday brunch; service was a little off, but food was great. Those who ordered pancakes were very pleased; I ordered the "Bulls-eye Egg" dish, and it was excellent. All in all a wonderful brunch - will definitely return despite service issues, none of which were major but a number of minor things not typical of Dante's.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Eclectic menu

Dined on May 17, 2015

The banana chocolate waffles with fois gras was stellar as was the carbonara frittata. Paired with French press coffee and a spicy olive Bloody Mary it was a great start to the day. Staff was terrific.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent !

Dined on May 17, 2015

Everything we ordered was wonderful. Had the omelette of the day, eggs benedict and egg with pasta carbonara. sides we had were the blueberry sausage and potatoes. We would go back again. Noise level is pretty high, but not unbearable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

Disappointed

Dined on May 16, 2015

This restaurant got such high reviews online that I thought it would be a great treat to take my aunt there to celebrate her birthday. The host was nice but the service was extremely slow. Maybe our waiter was having an off day but he wasn't very friendly, welcoming or informative. The atmosphere was OK. The food was average - not bad but not really unique and not so tasty that I would rush back. Again, maybe my expectations were just too high. Cleveland has too many really good restaurants for me to waste my time going back here.

food5
ambience4
service4

Brunch menu was appealing on many levels ...

Dined on May 10, 2015

Brunch menu was appealing on many levels / tastes. -- Pastry selection was especially good that Sunday. For an upscale restaurant, the waiters appeared to be particularly accommodating to families / children; while the two bars were very accommodating to singles and couples.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service2

Service was disjointed and confusing ...

Dined on May 10, 2015

Service was a bit off - we ordered fruit as an appetizer, and it came out half way through our entrees. I had to ask for more water and more coffee twice. They weren't very busy, so the need to request these services was odd. But, aside from that, the food was delicious! I'd give it another try.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

The polenta with the tiger shrimp and sp ...

Dined on April 25, 2015

The polenta with the tiger shrimp and spicy sausage was just to die for. Great brunch cocktails also.

food5
ambience4
service3

Great Food, Service a little slow

vip
Dined on April 19, 2015

We had a brunch reservation for 12:45 pm on Sunday. We got there and had to wait about 15 minutes for a table which was no big deal as we knew the place was busy. We waited about 10 mins to have our drink order taken. The drinks arrived another 15 mins later, but they were very tasty. The food took about a half hour to arrive. The food was absolutely awesome. It really was worth the slow service. We will go back because of the food that's for sure. Definitely one of the best brunches in Cleveland, just make sure you give yourself time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Work Luncheon

Dined on April 15, 2015

Dante's Next Door has a wonderful decor and atmosphere. It is very good with portion sizes except for salads. They wanted $8 to $10 for a salad plus another $8-$12 to add chicken, shrimp or salmon. The salads were very tasty but not plentiful for the price. I think $16 to $22 for a luncheon salad is overpriced. One of our co-workers had the salmon added to her salad and she said it was pnenomenal! Meatball sub with fries was definitely worth the price and it was excellent. Dante's Inferno pizza was very good if you like thin crust but it didn't have alot of cheese and crust was a little burnt. Chicken cutlets were very large in size and very tasty but not as tender as I would have hoped and just a sprinkling of cheese. The eggplant parmesean was excellent. it was a perfect size for lunch. I was filled me up but I didn't feel overstuffed. I would get this one again. It would have been nice if they offered (or just brought out) grated or shredded cheese to the table if someone wanted to add a little more since they are a bit frugal with it. I would definitely go to Dante's Next Door again.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Think we have found a new spot for Brunch!

Dined on April 12, 2015

Loved the brunch menu! The ricotta blueberry pancakes were a winner ! Had a pleasant server! Looking forward to returning with family!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Food here is nothing short of superb

Dined on April 12, 2015

I had the Sunday brunch here, and the food was nothing short of superb. Everything is outstanding, well-prepared, well-presented, and exceptionally tasty. Even the portions are just the right size. The restaurant decor is "post-industrial light": Exposed brick and beams, distressed hardwood floors, but with colorful Modern Art glass light fixtures overhead. The space can be a bit cavernous and thus loud, but while you'll need to raise your voice during busy times to be heard you won't need to shout (like at some places).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.