About Daniel

60 East 65th St.
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Daniel Boulud’s namesake restaurant features contemporary, seasonal French cuisine in a setting that combines striking neoclassical architecture with elegant modern furnishings. The sophisticated bar and lounge are a welcoming spot for before and after dinner drinks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday, 5:30pm -10:30pm

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 288-0033

Website:
http://www.danielnyc.com/

Catering:
Feast & Fêtes is Daniel’s exclusive catering company. It provides Daniel’s sumptuous cuisine combined with personalized service and attention to every detail of your off-premise entertaining needs. Call Jean Christophe Le Picart at (212)737-2224.

Parking Details:
There are also parking garages on 65th St. between Madison, Park and Lexington Avenues.

Public Transit:
Stops 68th Street stop, #6 Train
Lexington Avenue / 63rd Street stop, F Train

Executive Chef:
Daniel Boulud

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Daniel Boulud is delighted to offer you a one-of-a-kind private dining experience at his acclaimed restaurant. DANIEL is a perfect setting for both business and celebratory occasions

Daniel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Food
Manhattan
4 More
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
Special Occasion
Manhattan
French
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Upper East Side ›

special occasion (175)
romantic (153)
fit for foodies (129)
See All
notable wine list (109)
neighborhood gem (22)
hot spot (19)
good for groups (11)
great for lunch (8)
 (5)
 (5)
late-night find (4)
 (4)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3984 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The synchronization of the staff was ama ...

Dined 6 hours ago

The synchronization of the staff was amazing when serving food and clearing plates...every corse stood by itself and was fantastic

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We hade one of the best dining experinces ever!

Dined 3 days ago

My family and I had an amaizing evening at Daniel! We celebrated a birthday and an anniversary and we couldn't have wished for a better venue to do that. The food was exquisite and the service was above our expectations! The atmosphere was exactly what we wanted for this special occasion. We picked the tasting menue and the cheff didn't disappoint us. I can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Both my husband and I had the most perfe ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Both my husband and I had the most perfect dining experience , the food tasted great and looked beautiful, the service was just right, the wine pairing was excellent. I cannot recall a dining experience so completely delightful as last Saturday at Daniel ( having tasted many great tables around the world), just wish to keep coming back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner with outstanding servic ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Excellent dinner with outstanding service. The food, the wine list and atmosphere were all just perfect. We enjoyed the Waiter and the suggestions for dinner and wine were right on point. It was a wonderful time for our family to get together and enjoy a memorable dining experience. Everyone in the family enjoyed the evening and had wonderful comments about how memorable and outstanding the food was.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Evening at Daniel

Dined on May 24, 2016

We had a lovely dinner. It was out of the norm, and quite special with wonderful wine suggestions, and unique dishes beautifully prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on May 23, 2016

This is. Fine dining restaurant and the food and service meets all expectations. They do not rush you through the evening. Great place

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all respects

Dined on May 23, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service. Even though it was clear that we were only commoners from New Zealand, we felt like we were treated like royalty. The wait staff were very attentive to our tastes and preferences. We ordered the 7 course tasting menu, but there seemed to be a continuous stream of amouse bouches, bread, and other little extras. Overall, an outstanding experience and we would definitely recommend Daniel as a go for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely superb! We celebrated our 20 ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolutely superb! We celebrated our 20th anniversary in style at Daniel. From the decor to the friendly wait staff to the spectacular food, everything was what we expected and more! It is costly, but it is worth every dollar. It was an evening to be remembered. Thank you for making our celebration wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on May 20, 2016

We arrived over 40 minutes late because of some insane traffic (coming from central NJ, took almost 3 hours leaving at 3:40), and we were told we would be seated in the lounge area. This was disappointing, but understandable given that it was a busy Friday night. We decided to get a drink and wait a few minutes to see if a table opened up. A server, who remembered us from A YEAR AGO, approached us and asked about our situation. He said that he hoped everything worked out. About 5 minutes later, we were told that a table was available in the main dining room. It's hard to beat that level of service and hospitality. The food, as it was during my previous visits, was outstanding. Of all the top restaurants in the city that I've been to, Daniel is absolutely my favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the best

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

My wife and I went to Daniel for her birthday and it was the finest birthday present that she could have received. The food is insanely good, the wine pairing both superb and reasonably priced and the service was above and beyond. Can't wait to find another excuse to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience.

Dined on May 16, 2016

Everything was perfect. Helpful, friendly, expert wait staff. Excellent attention to every detail. Food was wonderful and the dining room beautiful. Highly recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience I've ever had! Am ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Best dining experience I've ever had! Amazing!

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

My son and I (from Wash DC) went with hi ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

My son and I (from Wash DC) went with high expectations, and that is not always a good thing for fine dining. We loved the service and the atmosphere - they were as advertised. The wine 'guy' offered a wonderful selection and it truly was the highlight of the meal (along with the bread service). The food, however, was a bit of a disappointment. We each got the 4 course menu with different selections for each course. First course was OK (soup and crab) but pretty bland. Second course had some highlights (foie gras) but the escargots were pretty gritty and over cooked. Although there were no complaints for the Guinea Hen Duo, the rabbit was not carefully prepared as we had bone shards in multiple bites and the flavors seemed off. Dessert was great... Given the cost and the expectations, I can't say I would go there again. Is it just me or has the top end restaurant scene in NYC decided to rest on it's laurels and be OK with offering pedestrian food while focusing on 'over the top' atmosphere? Maybe they should take a page from the Philly or Charleston (best east coast food towns) notebooks and shift focus back to the food... Just say-in...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing. We had the four co ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was amazing. We had the four course menu and there was plenty to choose from for each of the four courses. I particularly liked the Slow Cooked striped Bass. We all had the matching wines as well with different wines for each person depending on what they ordered. The service was very very good. Our waiters sensed the mood of our table and were happy to chat a little and have a joke with us while always being attentive and very professional. The quality of service was the best I have ever experienced. Everything was perfect and we were even fortunate enough to meet the chef, Jean-Francois Bruel, who was a lovely man. Couldn't fault anything, a perfect night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Literally the definition of excellence o ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Literally the definition of excellence on every level.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We cannot go to New York without dining ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

We cannot go to New York without dining at Daniels. It has become a tradition tied in to our anniversary. We always enjoy the food and the great service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We went there for a birthday dinner. Whi ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

We went there for a birthday dinner. While the dining room is spectacular, the food is easily forgettable (but the price tag is not). We expected much more from what is touted as the best fine dining experience in NYC. There are most certainly much better places in Manhattan.

food4
ambience5
service5

Simply excellent, perhaps more variety i ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Simply excellent, perhaps more variety in the deserts offer would be nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisit and delish! Incredible experien ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Exquisit and delish! Incredible experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An amazing experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I flew to New York for my birthday. We went to Daniel on a early Saturday night. The menu had many great choices and the wine list was stunning. Easily the best service I have ever had for a meal out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Great Night

Dined on May 6, 2016

As usual, Daniel provided an outstanding evening of dining with my wife, celebrating our anniversary and births of our twins. The room is very romantic, quiet, perfect for conversing. The service was second to none, very attentive, superb. The food was very good. The last time I went there it was beyond excellent; tonight it was very very good. Maybe I ordered items I should not have not in line with my taste. I'm speaking about entrees. Dessert was beyond amazing. Overall I would give the restaurant 4.5/5 stars, only because the food was not as good as it usually is. But, overall, an amazing restaurant and extremely highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!

Dined on May 6, 2016

We came to Daniel for our friends Birthday - the food was TERRIFIC and our servers were like a well rehearsed team - GREAT!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply amazing! Will be back soon.

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Simply amazing! Will be back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect in every way

Dined on May 2, 2016

Being in the hospitality industry myself, I'm not usually impressed when dining out, that's until we went to Daniel. I'd heard good things about the restaurant and when my wife and I took a holiday to New York it was on my list. Every review I'd read raved about it and I wasn't disappointed. Every aspect of the meal was outstanding, the setting, food, service all brilliant. Anyone considering doing hospitality service and anyone in the industry and think their service skills are great (New York especially) needs to go to this restaurant to see how it should be done. Sommelier's knowledge of the wines on the menu was excellent and the pairings were perfect with each course. Food was amazing, my wife and I both had the 7 course tasting menu, my wife is a pescatarian and it was no trouble at all to swap out the meat course for her to something else. We could really see the attention to detail in the preparation of ingredients and plating of the dishes and there wasn't a single component on the plate that didn't belong there. My hat off to the chef's and staff at Daniel, keep up the excellent service, you are miles ahead of other establishments in the Manhattan area. Only complaint is to my wife for not letting me take any photo's. : )

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went here to celebrate my engagement with my now fiancee and the food was amazing. The staff was impeccable. The whole experience was unreal. It's pricey but you're really getting what you pay for, highly recommended for a very special occasion, especially being that the staff is so accommodating and willing to help.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always on Point!

Dined on April 29, 2016

We've been going to Daniel for as long as I can remember, and each time is as good if not better than the last. Although the tab can get quite high, the quality and preparation of the dishes, and the accompanying wines always leaves us feeling like it was well worth it. On our last visit for my birthday, we arrived at 8:00 and feasted until almost midnight enjoying a dizzying array of fantastic dishes and fine wines! It was like a mini vacation, and we'll be taking another soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, great, great....!! Certainly One ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great, great, great....!! Certainly One of The best dinners I ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A once-in-a-lifetime experience of food, ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

A once-in-a-lifetime experience of food, atmosphere and pleasure. Simply outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highlight of our honeymoon!

Dined on April 27, 2016

We chose to eat at Daniel during our Honeymoon in New York, it was the best decision we made! The seven-course tasting menu was incredible as were the staff who ensured that our experience was perfect from start to end. Their knowledge of the dishes, wine and cheese was of an incredibly high standard and they demonstrated huge passion for their work throughout our meal. The setting was beautiful and our table was secluded from the rest of the restaurant, creating an amazing romantic ambience for us to enjoy. We would recommend Daniel to anyone travelling to New York or looking for a truly unique location for their event / dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a fabulous meal. What a wonderful ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

We had a fabulous meal. What a wonderful evening filled with delicious food and wonderful service

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was not tasty, though technically e ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was not tasty, though technically elaborate. Pretentious , too expensive for quality

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Winning line-up was lobster, foie, wagyu. Amazing

Dined on April 26, 2016

Worth the high price - delicious and outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

lacking taste!

Dined on April 26, 2016

The food presentation was good but the food was very bland and lacked taste. The service was so slow, we were sitting for three hours for 4 course meal. I'm comparing to some of the fine dining restaurants in Europe, Daniel didn't impress us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

10/10

Dined on April 25, 2016

Amazing food. Top class service. And they Brought extra dessert with happy birthday on it with candle for my partners birthday. Very nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

This was our third time at Daniel and it was a disappointment. The food was just OK and the service was not up to the standard we expected from Daniel. Our experience has diminished each time after our first visit. We will try a different restaurant the next time we are in New York.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Amazing meal and experience. Daniel Baloud is a genius! Can't wait to go back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is what I expected, very nice ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Everything is what I expected, very nice,one of the best in NYC

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Fine Second Trip to Daniel

Dined on April 20, 2016

Daniel lived up to our expectations on our second trip, 15 months after our original visit. Outstanding 4 course menu with truly creative cuisine and impeccable service. It was our 25th wedding anniversary, and the Daniel staff provided just the right special, and subtle, appreciations. Still our favorite restaurant in the world.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did not disappoint!

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

A long time bucket list restaurant! The food, service and ambience were perfect. I loved the Quebec butter, French salt and Japanese pepper. The opera cake was sensational!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Service was excellent as was the food. The Jacket policy for gentlemen is, I feel, somewhat unnecessary but overall a fantastic dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.