About Daniel

60 East 65th St.
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Daniel Boulud’s namesake restaurant features contemporary, seasonal French cuisine in a setting that combines striking neoclassical architecture with elegant modern furnishings. The sophisticated bar and lounge are a welcoming spot for before and after dinner drinks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday, 5:30pm -10:30pm

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 288-0033

Website:
http://www.danielnyc.com/

Catering:
Feast & Fêtes is Daniel’s exclusive catering company. It provides Daniel’s sumptuous cuisine combined with personalized service and attention to every detail of your off-premise entertaining needs. Call Jean Christophe Le Picart at (212)737-2224.

Parking Details:
There are also parking garages on 65th St. between Madison, Park and Lexington Avenues.

Public Transit:
Stops 68th Street stop, #6 Train
Lexington Avenue / 63rd Street stop, F Train

Executive Chef:
Daniel Boulud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Report a photo problem

Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY
Daniel, New York, NY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Daniel Boulud is delighted to offer you a one-of-a-kind private dining experience at his acclaimed restaurant. DANIEL is a perfect setting for both business and celebratory occasions

Daniel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Good for Anniversaries (83)
Romantic (82)
See All
Tasting Menu (66)
Creative Cuisine (62)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Notable Wine List (54)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Business Meals (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Authentic (15)
People Watching (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Historic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (10)
Seasonal (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Private Room (7)
Fun (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Family Style (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Vegan (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
4587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely out of this world experience ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Absolutely out of this world experience all around - perfect ambiance, superb food and excellent service! Best meal I had in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Restaurant I have ever been to, sup ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Best Restaurant I have ever been to, superb service, ambiance and of course the food.

Staff were excellent. Am already planning my return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular on all levels! The service ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Spectacular on all levels! The service was impeccable, the food innovative and wonderful! A great place to celebrate all of life's special occasions!

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just visited to celebrate my wife's birt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Just visited to celebrate my wife's birthday.

I greatly enjoyed every second of our visit: outstanding level of service and atmosphere, but above all this - quality and exquisiteness of every item on their menu. Pure delight both for your taste and your eyes. I would put Daniel above 5 stars if that were possible, as I cannot even closely compare it to other 5-star places you can see on OpenTable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, , Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muy elegante el lugar y fue muy agradabl ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Muy elegante el lugar y fue muy agradable la atención especial a mi hija. El servicio y el profesionalismo de la atención fueron excelentes. La comida muy buena y variada. La pasamos extraordinario

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than the Broadway show we saw the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Better than the Broadway show we saw the night before

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very overpriced tasting menu and the po ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Very overpriced tasting menu and the portions were very small. The food was salty and not particularly tasty. The atmosphere was perfect for a birthday dinner. Wet sophisticated and formal restaurant in the city.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I've eaten in about 100 Michellin strarr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I've eaten in about 100 Michellin strarred restautants, several 3 stars too. Daniel was one of the best ever. Great food, fantastic service. If you consider between Per Se and Daniel, I would strongly recommend the latter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cena fabulosa en un ambiente inolvidable ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Cena fabulosa en un ambiente inolvidable. Solo un poquito larga la espera entre los platos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My review is somewhat prejudiced by the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My review is somewhat prejudiced by the following night visit to Le Bernardin, but this time Daniel was not quite as good as it has been in the past. If you are thinking of a single upscale dinner in NYC, would now recommend elsewhere, which is a huge change from previous evals.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Amazing food and service. We chose the 4 ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Amazing food and service. We chose the 4 course option and all of the courses were beyond outstanding. The abalone ma be one of the best dishes I've ever tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such delicious, thoughtfully created and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Such delicious, thoughtfully created and curated meal, along with impeccable service and beautiful decor. My father in law, whose birthday dinner this was, was so effusive in his praise and delight and can't wait to visit more often.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant meets the expectations. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This restaurant meets the expectations. It is very expensive but worth it. The food and service are outstanding. This is a very special experience. Each course builds to the fantastic finish. It is a great food performance. We loved it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Debo destacar la atención y servicio . ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Debo destacar la atención y servicio . soy chef y note la dedicación y capacitación que tienen.

En cuanto a la comida simplemente un adjetivo es posible ponerle, SUBLIME

el balance logrado conjuntamente con la presentación nos da la pauta de que estamos frente a un muy buen chef. Tan solo debo felicitar a vuestro establecimiento.espero poder concurrir nuevamente ya que desde Argentina es un poco lejos. Saludos y sigan adelante

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent but the portions ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food was excellent but the portions seemed small for what you were paying for. They seem to know put a greater effort on presentation at, perhaps, the expense of the quantity of the food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was the most expensive meal I've ev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This was the most expensive meal I've ever had, but the most fabulous food, service and overall experience I've ever had. Kudos to the chef. Next time we'll avoid the pre dinner cocktails , $20 standard martini and $25 dollar glass of scotch. Very memorable experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mi hija y yo cenamos en Daniel y fue tod ...

 
 (México)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Mi hija y yo cenamos en Daniel y fue toda una experiencia . Desde la cena deliciosa hasta el ambiente. El servicio y la atención excelentes .

Está el bar donde puedes pedir a la carta .

Y tiene un ambiente más relajado . También está el comedor donde se sirve el menú de degustación el cual está delicioso . Lo recomiendo .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New Year's Eve was both a gastronomic an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve was both a gastronomic and visual treat. As always, the food was splendid, the service outrageously outstanding and the ambience, always beautiful, featured more balloons than I have ever seen on a ceiling, all tied with dangling silver ribbons.It was a festive treat and a great way to end 2016. Daniels has become my go to restaurant for special family events.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dining experience wit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience with the tasting menu and wine pairing. Everything was exquisite and perfect. The first dish in the tasting menu was a little bland i.e. the chicken terrine mosaic. The wine pairing with the food was done with great care and the wines enhanced the taste of the food. Overall, It was a memorable experience. I would definitely visit Daniel again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal. The staff was incredible wit ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Phenomenal. The staff was incredible with our children (age 9, 10). Just perfect, we will definitely return. Exquisite food, exquisite wine, all of it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an absolutely wonderful time at Dani ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had an absolutely wonderful time at Daniel during a dinner date! The service and the food was amazing, and is a must-try. Words can't even express how great the experience was, I urge you to make a reservation far in advance and try if for yourself!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly embodies service. Does not let the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Truly embodies service. Does not let the Relais and Chateau quality down.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our visit to Daniel (this time) was to c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our visit to Daniel (this time) was to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary. We come back every time we come to NY. The occasion could not have been better and our choice unsurpassable. We were taken care of by Humberto, from Ecuador. The service was better than what anybody could have wished for. Attentive, precise, accommodating, non-intrusive, in one word: excellent. The tasting menu was out of this world. Fluke, lobster, suckling pig, rabbit and much more. For dessert we ordered pear tart and chocolate cake, but were overwhelmed by several other mini desserts and an anniversary surprise. I ordered a Mercurey Clos des Myglands from Faiveley 2014 that greatly complemented our food. This is one, if not the, best dinner we have had ever. Not even in Europe the quality of both food and service is so consistent. I thank Daniel Boulud and congratulate him for giving us such a sublime experience time after time. See you in our next trip.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. The wine pai ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service was excellent. The wine pairings were perfect. Beautiful decor. Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good Restaurant, amazing place to e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very good Restaurant, amazing place to eat and to taste new food un a different way.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

EXCELLENT! Amazing food and service! Des ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

EXCELLENT! Amazing food and service! Deserve 3 Michelin stars! Definitely the best restaurant in New York!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good experience. Loved it and will ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very good experience. Loved it and will come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So far is my favorite fine dining place ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

So far is my favorite fine dining place in NYC, location is convenient especially if you live in the mid-town area. The service in Daniel was super, the waiter/waitress were very attentive unlike the restaurant Bouley which was horrible service on Christmas Eve and spoiled our evening. We had the tasting menu with 8 course as my gf wanted white truffle which the food was excellent but simply just too much food. I would suggest taking the four or seven course menu unless you are really hungry. If you drink, I will definitely suggest the wine pairing, their sommelier is great, all the wine I had for the whole dinner was super! They also have excellent variety of breads, personally my favorite is the sweet roll. I will say this restaurant is a great place for a romantic night out if you other half likes great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Christmas Eve

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Were five of us ; with two teenagers and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Were five of us ; with two teenagers and even them, enjoy it.. and you know kids are hard to deal...

We really recommend this place... we will come back for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, , Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

The food was exceptional, and paired wit ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was exceptional, and paired with wine was mind-blowing. Attention to service was unparalleled - teams of waiters were ready without a hitch. Food breakdown was as follows:

Osetra golden caviar (stomach party essential, very taxing on wallet)

Foie gras

Lobster (frothy)

Wagyu - despite being american, rivaled japan hard

Deserts - red current sorbet with beets chocolate maple syrup cake

Complimentary fried manadarin oranges - unbelievable

Bread was amazing

Incredible experience overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

C'était "notre dîner" à New York ( le ch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

C'était "notre dîner" à New York ( le choix d'une belle table pour fêter 3 anniversaires )

Et bien nous ne regrettons pas notre choix ! Un accueil extraordinaire, un service +++, à savoir efficace et professionnel, hyper attentionné et

surtout pas guindé, ce que nous apprécions dans ce type d’établissement quand on y va avec des ados / jeunes adultes ! Nous avons même eu la chance de finir en cuisine et sommes repartis avec la photo de famille avec le chef !

Côté cuisine justement, une très belle carte , le menu 4 plats est largement suffisant pour profiter de cette carte qui comprend quelques

plats originaux dont les ormeaux ( = abalone , parfaitement cuite car la cuisson de ce crustacé peut être un désastre ....) , les cuisses de

grenouilles,un très bon cochon de lait, mais aussi des plats végétariens comme la betterave . A côté de cela du classique de très bonne facture

( Homard, saint Jacques, poularde ). Très bonne exécution et très belle présentation dans les assiettes.

A noter de très bons desserts, des petites madeleines toutes fraîches ( nous avons vu la préparation en cuisine par les 6 pâtissiers ) et une belle attention pour nos 3 anniversaires.

Enfin cadre somptueux. Une très belle adresse pour " faire la fête « en cassant un peu la tirelire ! Cela restera la plus belle soirée culinaire de

NY

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, , Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ultimate in fine dining. Food and servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Ultimate in fine dining. Food and service are top flight, and the best place for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Professional service as there are a lot ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Professional service as there are a lot of kind and well trained servers. The food is the most impressive. Every dish is beautiful. Not only the presentation but the taste are extraordinary. Even though it is pricy, it is worth trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time at Daniel and we definite ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our first time at Daniel and we definitely kept "the best for last" as Wednesday was our last night in the Big Apple. I was thrilled to get a table that was remote enough to enjoy a quiet and scrumptious dinner and still watch the crowd!!!

Merci à tous pour une expérience incroyable et nous reviendrons faire une autre visite bientôt!!! Il faudra réserver un dinner un peu plus tôt la prochaine fois...Joyeux Noël

Chantal

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made our reservation for a special oc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We made our reservation for a special occasion. It was wonderful, service and food exceptional. A lovely evening.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Had the ormeaux (abal ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food was amazing! Had the ormeaux (abalone), white truffle agnolotti, cochon de lait (sucklinng pig pomegranate), and delices de la terre (truffle sweet potato biscuit); all the dishes tasted awesome and visually appealing. Best part was the service-- Giovanni and Catherine really made us feel at ease and made my mom's birthday celebration special. Oh and we got cannele to take home; was really good even though we ate it the next day.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent tasting menu and outstanding s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent tasting menu and outstanding service in a exquisite dining room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.