About Daniel

60 East 65th St.
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Daniel Boulud’s namesake restaurant features contemporary, seasonal French cuisine in a setting that combines striking neoclassical architecture with elegant modern furnishings. The sophisticated bar and lounge are a welcoming spot for before and after dinner drinks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday, 5:30pm -10:30pm

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 288-0033

Website:
http://www.danielnyc.com/

Catering:
Feast & Fêtes is Daniel’s exclusive catering company. It provides Daniel’s sumptuous cuisine combined with personalized service and attention to every detail of your off-premise entertaining needs. Call Jean Christophe Le Picart at (212)737-2224.

Parking Details:
There are also parking garages on 65th St. between Madison, Park and Lexington Avenues.

Public Transit:
Stops 68th Street stop, #6 Train
Lexington Avenue / 63rd Street stop, F Train

Executive Chef:
Daniel Boulud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Daniel Boulud is delighted to offer you a one-of-a-kind private dining experience at his acclaimed restaurant. DANIEL is a perfect setting for both business and celebratory occasions

Daniel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
French
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
4 More
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
Notable Wine List
Manhattan
French
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Upper East Side ›

Special Occasion (152)
Romantic (124)
Fit for Foodies (108)
See All
Notable Wine List (106)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A very pleasant experience. Staff dedica ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

A very pleasant experience. Staff dedicated to please your taste and overall comfort.

Excellent meals and drinks. Well worth the trip whether coming from the city or from far away (we came from Orange county upstate NY)!

A little afraid of "high end" atmosphere when walked in, but the service and staff is exceptional and makes you feel so welcome we moved to bar after dinner to enjoy yet another drink!

Definitely plan on going there again soon...

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daniel is always a phenomenal experience ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Daniel is always a phenomenal experience. The decor is very charming and elegant, the food is wonderful, and you are treated very well. Even though there are a multitude of options, we try to get here whenever we are in the city. Save room for the dessert courses.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lives up to its reputation! Excellent an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Lives up to its reputation! Excellent and creative food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Restaurant Daniel is one of the finest d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Restaurant Daniel is one of the finest dining experiences in New York, in my opinion. And Chef Boulud has earned his Michelin stars not simply for his culinary flair and attention to detail but for the impeccable service that is, quite simply, exceptional. It is hard to fault his restaurant - the ambiance, the welcome, the attentive but unfussy service, the amazing food and wonderful wine pairings. And to see a master Chef quietly walking around the tables during service chatting to his guests ...it was a wonderful experience. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The raw hamachi was perfect, The cooked ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The raw hamachi was perfect, The cooked hamachi was overcooked, loved the lamb chop in salt with merguez and the beans (generous portion and great flavor). Scallop dish and tuna were ok but not great. The bread and butter are delicious as were the amuse bouche, petit fours, the madeleines and mini chocolates. There is plenty of service and attention and the space is gorgeous. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Everything perfect as usual.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everything perfect as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

THE FOOD AND SERVICE WERE WONDERFUL, BUT ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

THE FOOD AND SERVICE WERE WONDERFUL, BUT THE ABSENCE OF ALA CARTE CHOICES ALWAYS SEEMS TO BE VERY COSTLY.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely incredible, best dining exper ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Absolutely incredible, best dining experience and the staff is simply amazing. We felt very special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

perfection beyond description could ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

perfection beyond description could not fault it in the slightest

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service. I never had b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing food and service. I never had better food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not sure how to top Daniel. Everything w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Not sure how to top Daniel. Everything was absolutely spot on....food, service, ambiance.....fine dining at its best!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been dining -- when we can affor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have been dining -- when we can afford it, with chef Boulud since he opened the first Daniel, now Cafe Boulud. Never disappointed, it is always the most splendid dance across the palate. We keep going back. It is the evenings event. Give him back his third star.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I was gonna propose to my girlfriend her ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was gonna propose to my girlfriend here, but I chose not to.

It's not because Daniel is not romantic place. I just had another plan.

But, I mentioned about the proposal when I made a reservation, so they cared a lot.

I appreciate that.

Without that, they provided great service and food.

I'm not a foodie, and I hate to spend so much money on fancy restaurant, but this is the first time I think it's worth.

I think this place will be perfect for anniversary event.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will never be disappointed in the fo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

You will never be disappointed in the food, or quality of service at Daniel. Absolutely fantastic. The staff are the best in the business.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding !

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our evening at Daniel. Notabl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at Daniel. Notably the foie gras presentation is really great. The scallop dish was fabulous. The lamb and veal were both perfect. They sent us home with lovely madelines and petit fours we couldn't finish. They also carefully noted the wines that were paired at our request and gave us the list when we left. The dining area is very nicely done, white table cloths etc. but is not really a warm space. More formal really. We were seated on the upper level so had a great view of the dining room. I guess any criticism would be that the whole evening felt a little too staged as per the service. It did not feel personal, although it was very well executed. Bouley felt more intimate, as has the Inn at Little Washington, both restaurants on par with Daniel. We are glad we went, if you haven't been and you want a very formal setting and very good food then by all means try Daniel.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Two out of three guests liked it. One gu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Two out of three guests liked it. One guest found the food not very tasty and not worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

A restaurant that still requires jackets ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

A restaurant that still requires jackets on gentlemen! How nice. I love this restaurant and whenever we are in the city we try to visit. Just outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in NYC. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in NYC. I took my daughter here for her birthday and she was in heaven. The food and service are second to none. We had an excellent waiter and were pleased with all of his recommendations. It is a wonderful place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I came here to celebrate my friends 70th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I came here to celebrate my friends 70th birthday and it was an amazing experience! We both enjoyed everything! The service and attention to detail was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daniel has the be one of the best restau ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Daniel has the be one of the best restaurants in the world. Food was first class, service was first class. They made our anniversary so special. We'll never forget it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing! I highly recommend ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Absolutely amazing! I highly recommend to everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience. From the concierge ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Awesome experience. From the concierge to the dessert. David. Mark. Jorge and the rest of the staff made our evening (Aug 1st ) awesome. Will return when in NYC again.

Top notch. Great people loved it David and Jorge were fantastic

Keep up the great service

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Remarkable experience. My grandmother an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Remarkable experience. My grandmother and I went out for a dinner-date and we were treated like royalty. Every bit was fabulous: the food theatrical, the service warm, the ambiance luxuriant. We'll just have to be back someday!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceptional in every way!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always exceptional in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely time from every entree t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a lovely time from every entree to service. We opted to have the chef's tasting menu. Worth every penny not to mention, we were given a booklet copy of every dish we had that night. Such gesture is priceless! I highly recommend it, but ready to pay an arm and a leg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was sublime better than any of the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was sublime better than any of the reviews and the service was over the top super attentive above and beyond anything we have ever experienced in our many years of fine dining everywhere. They were especially sensitive to and prepared for any and all food allergies and gluten issues from the bread through the desserts. An absolute delight from start to finish in a gorgeous setting. The champagne made especially for Daniel was exquisite.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for many memorable evenings. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Thank you for many memorable evenings.

Your food and service was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely superb in every way! Stunning ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Absolutely superb in every way! Stunning food and attentive service that helped and guided without being intrusive. The perfect blend of exceptional quality and an unforgettable evening. My daughter was made to feel so special!. If you don't enjoy your evening here, it's you not them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive, but we knew that going in. Gr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Expensive, but we knew that going in. Great experience for a NY special occasion

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful dining environment, exceptiona ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Beautiful dining environment, exceptional caring service, excellent food with some well performed table side service elements. Overall wonderful evening at Daniel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daniel is truly wonderful. Just steppin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Daniel is truly wonderful. Just stepping into the dining room is an experience. The service was superior and the food was truly delicious. We were there for my birthday dinner and they didn't forget, making me feel very special. I highly recommend the White Cosmopolitan cocktail (a flower petal in the round ice cube!), and the bison was exceptional! A lovely, special evening I won't soon forget.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is really one of the best in New Yo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This is really one of the best in New York. Cannot be faulted for food or service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daniel was a favorite fine dining spot e ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Daniel was a favorite fine dining spot every time when we visited NYC in the last 15 years.

With much anticipation, we visited New York this year with reservations at 4 top rated fine dining spot. Daniel was one of the them. Others are Junstix, Soto and Marea.

Daniel was a big disappointment. We were asked to sit at a table by the door initially until we asked to sit at another table. The room was very warm, felt like their air condition was not working. The lack of elegant ambience was immediately notice by our party. I must said that the service and food were still very good.

Half way into our dinner, two little old lady showed up and were seated at the table behind us. Lots of loud giggling and little girl talks soon after they settled down in their seat. we could hear the loud DNC convention speech blasting from their table. Not a single server, manager if they were, bother to stop by to tell them to put their displayed IPone on their table away. This went on for the entire meal.

Daniel by far was the worst experience we had on this NY trip. The chance of us returning to this high end restaurant in the future is very slim.

Kelly Wong

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

Fantastic experience. I caught up with o ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic experience. I caught up with old friends for dinner and the wait staff, from the bartenders to the Matire'd to the servers, all took amazing care of us. The food met or exceeded all of my expectations, and we were absolutely stuffed by the time we finished our 4-course tasting menu. One of my friends wasn't fond of seafood, and so they offered him the vegetarian menu and he said it was some of the best food he had ever had even though there was no meat!

A sublime experience I won't ever forget. All future dinners will be held against this standard!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was such an unforgettable experienc ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was such an unforgettable experience. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service. We got to visit the kit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Amazing service. We got to visit the kitchen; fantastic experience. It is totally worth it

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to change the reservation, last m ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had to change the reservation, last minute, to a later time due to horrendous traffic issues and the restaurant was so great in accommodating us! Excellent customer service!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite simply the single best dining expe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Quite simply the single best dining experience I have had in my entire life. The service--no fewer than a cast of 8 took care of us--was over the top. But, not in a subservient way. Almost invisible characters helping us maximize the Daniel experience. The food was out of this world. I can't imagine anything more that could have been done to make our evening more memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant dining...extraordinary service , ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Elegant dining...extraordinary service , beautiful plating, and exquisitely delicious. It was a remarkable evening with culinary delights.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.