About Daniel

60 East 65th St.
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Daniel Boulud’s namesake restaurant features contemporary, seasonal French cuisine in a setting that combines striking neoclassical architecture with elegant modern furnishings. The sophisticated bar and lounge are a welcoming spot for before and after dinner drinks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday, 5:30pm -10:30pm

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 288-0033

Website:
http://www.danielnyc.com/

Catering:
Feast & Fêtes is Daniel’s exclusive catering company. It provides Daniel’s sumptuous cuisine combined with personalized service and attention to every detail of your off-premise entertaining needs. Call Jean Christophe Le Picart at (212)737-2224.

Parking Details:
There are also parking garages on 65th St. between Madison, Park and Lexington Avenues.

Public Transit:
Stops 68th Street stop, #6 Train
Lexington Avenue / 63rd Street stop, F Train

Executive Chef:
Daniel Boulud

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Daniel Boulud is delighted to offer you a one-of-a-kind private dining experience at his acclaimed restaurant. DANIEL is a perfect setting for both business and celebratory occasions

Daniel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
French
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
3 More
Best Service
Manhattan
Special Occasion
Manhattan
French
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Upper East Side ›

special occasion (168)
romantic (141)
fit for foodies (125)
See All
notable wine list (113)
neighborhood gem (23)
hot spot (14)
good for groups (7)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for lunch (4)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4036 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely superb in every way! Stunning ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely superb in every way! Stunning food and attentive service that helped and guided without being intrusive. The perfect blend of exceptional quality and an unforgettable evening. My daughter was made to feel so special!. If you don't enjoy your evening here, it's you not them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Daniel is truly wonderful. Just steppin ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Daniel is truly wonderful. Just stepping into the dining room is an experience. The service was superior and the food was truly delicious. We were there for my birthday dinner and they didn't forget, making me feel very special. I highly recommend the White Cosmopolitan cocktail (a flower petal in the round ice cube!), and the bison was exceptional! A lovely, special evening I won't soon forget.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Daniel was a favorite fine dining spot e ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Daniel was a favorite fine dining spot every time when we visited NYC in the last 15 years.

With much anticipation, we visited New York this year with reservations at 4 top rated fine dining spot. Daniel was one of the them. Others are Junstix, Soto and Marea.

Daniel was a big disappointment. We were asked to sit at a table by the door initially until we asked to sit at another table. The room was very warm, felt like their air condition was not working. The lack of elegant ambience was immediately notice by our party. I must said that the service and food were still very good.

Half way into our dinner, two little old lady showed up and were seated at the table behind us. Lots of loud giggling and little girl talks soon after they settled down in their seat. we could hear the loud DNC convention speech blasting from their table. Not a single server, manager if they were, bother to stop by to tell them to put their displayed IPone on their table away. This went on for the entire meal.

Daniel by far was the worst experience we had on this NY trip. The chance of us returning to this high end restaurant in the future is very slim.

Kelly Wong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

Fantastic experience. I caught up with o ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic experience. I caught up with old friends for dinner and the wait staff, from the bartenders to the Matire'd to the servers, all took amazing care of us. The food met or exceeded all of my expectations, and we were absolutely stuffed by the time we finished our 4-course tasting menu. One of my friends wasn't fond of seafood, and so they offered him the vegetarian menu and he said it was some of the best food he had ever had even though there was no meat!

A sublime experience I won't ever forget. All future dinners will be held against this standard!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was such an unforgettable experienc ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was such an unforgettable experience. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service. We got to visit the kit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Amazing service. We got to visit the kitchen; fantastic experience. It is totally worth it

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to change the reservation, last m ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had to change the reservation, last minute, to a later time due to horrendous traffic issues and the restaurant was so great in accommodating us! Excellent customer service!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite simply the single best dining expe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Quite simply the single best dining experience I have had in my entire life. The service--no fewer than a cast of 8 took care of us--was over the top. But, not in a subservient way. Almost invisible characters helping us maximize the Daniel experience. The food was out of this world. I can't imagine anything more that could have been done to make our evening more memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant dining...extraordinary service , ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Elegant dining...extraordinary service , beautiful plating, and exquisitely delicious. It was a remarkable evening with culinary delights.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual superb, outstanding, great, exc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As usual superb, outstanding, great, excellent, etc...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Amazing!!!! DANIEL deserves all ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing Amazing!!!! DANIEL deserves all recognition!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food; lovely experience. We ce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wonderful food; lovely experience. We celebrated out 25th anniversary and the wait staff went out of their way to make it very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant we have dined in...impec ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Best restaurant we have dined in...impeccable service, fantastic gastronomic experience, a real winner, attention to detail and customer focus top-notch

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience. Comparabl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. Comparable to the best restaurants to which we've been around the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our second time at Daniel's and certainl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our second time at Daniel's and certainly will not be our last. Simply sublime in all regards.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZING!!! Service, decor, atmosphere a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

AMAZING!!! Service, decor, atmosphere and most of all the food & wine were all amazing!!! We have dined at every three star restaurant in NY (more then once) and other parts of the world and can not believe Daniel does not have THREE MICHELIN STARS!!! We had the seven course tasting menu with the wine pairing. Every serving was delicious, including all the in between little chefs complainants that was served.

If someone complains about anything at Daniel, then they probably just like to complain.

If your thinking of eating at a Three Michelin Star restaurant don't miss this one ( oh yea, should be three stars).

Will we be back? Absolutely!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You eat very good, but it's not worth th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

You eat very good, but it's not worth the price , it is too expensive. You have to wear a jacket to be in the restaurant, I think that's absurd. For two people without drinking beverages you spend at least $500 USD

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Best restaurant in New York with a smart ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Best restaurant in New York with a smart, edgy and timeless French offering. Best-in-class in every single angle, the remarkable staff is fully commited to deliver a WOW experience. Daniel honors it's Michellin stars, and goes beyond that.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food - has been consistent for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Exquisite food - has been consistent for 14 years!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and elegantly pre ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was excellent and elegantly prepared. The staff was attentive and professional, and willing and able to answer any questions we had, and the ambiance was all we could ask for. All in all, a relaxed and enjoyable experience for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we have dined around the world and this ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

we have dined around the world and this is one of the top 5 places and experiences we have ever had!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!! One of the best meals that we have ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wow!! One of the best meals that we have ever had anywhere! The food was beautifully prepared, creative and outrageously tasty. From start to finish, it's clear that you are in one of the countries best restaurants! A must for anyone who loves food and fine dining. While everything was great, the North American halibut cooked slowly in a lemongrass white bere blanche sauce was truly unbelievable .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fantastic experience..... The 7 ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Always a fantastic experience..... The 7 course dinner was phenomenal......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nothing better in NYC or USA and most fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Nothing better in NYC or USA and most foreign cities we have been to

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Give Daniel back his Michelin star. He d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Give Daniel back his Michelin star. He deserves three stars.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service. Best in the City. Foo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fantastic service. Best in the City. Food was exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals that I've ever had ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of the best meals that I've ever had. I cannot recommend this place enough!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I could not have asked for, nor would I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I could not have asked for, nor would I have to because they were so attentive, a better experience. From beginning to end this was one of the best culinary experiences I have had. I highly recommend having the seven course tasting menu and optional wine pairing. It was a nice surprise that Chef Daniel made a point to visit each table while we were there. I would say the night was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

some of sevise r sucks

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

some of sevise r sucks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A wonderful dinner in a beautiful restau ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

A wonderful dinner in a beautiful restaurant. Food and service were superb. We especially enjoyed chatting with the friendly staff members -- they were knowledgeable and genuinely interested in their customers. Wine pairings were generous and perfect with the various dishes. Daniel is definitely on our "top ten" list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dining experience. A wonderful r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Amazing dining experience. A wonderful restaurant to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a fantastic dining experience. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

It was a fantastic dining experience. The food was fantastic, the staff there were incredibly helpful and attentive, some of the best service I have experienced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasting menu was superb! They provided a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Tasting menu was superb! They provided a complimentary dessert and a card with a copy of the tasting menu to commemorate our celebratory dinner. Outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and fantastic service. A bit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and fantastic service. A bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food. Chef's selection and pai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Fantastic food. Chef's selection and pairing wine were amazing.

Not big in quantity but deep in quality. Subtle, elegant, delicate and enjoyable.

Great for romantic dinner or special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine dining is a hobby of mine. I colle ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Fine dining is a hobby of mine. I collect great meals as others might collect rare coins or stamps. My supper at Daniel was as wonderful as an Upside Down Jenny for a stamp collector. The service is perfect and completely lacks the austerity shown in many Michelin starred restaurants. It was truly fun and such a pleasant surprise to speak with every member of the staff. The premium wine pairings provided a true complement to each course. And, oh the food! My favorites include: Flet - Long Island Fluke with sea urchin, Granny Smith apple seaweed crisp, white sturgeon caviar, Foie Gras - Vodka flambeed foie gras, apricot, pistachios, red ribbon sorrel, Boeuf - Waygu beef tenderloin, morels, fava bean mousseline, pommes amandine, chickweed salad. And, if you can score some fresh-from-the-oven Madeleines do so! This restaurant is a precise reflection of Chef Daniel Boulud, perfect but not pretentious with a very real reverence for the food. This meal is now among my top three in all the world.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly wonderful and amazing Surpasses ot ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Truly wonderful and amazing

Surpasses other in its class

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I do a review there is a reason why ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

When I do a review there is a reason why I give three stars to most "very good" to "excellent" restaurants I dine at. And that is because there are a few - like Daniel - that deserve extra stars because they are indeed head and shoulders above the rest.

My wife and I went to New York for 40th anniversary. We wanted to dine at a top notch restaurant (one or more Michelin stars or the equivalent) for our celebratory meal. Our anniversary fell on a Monday so a bunch of places were closed. Daniel was open, had a table available, we love French inspired food, so I booked it.

From the moment we walked in it was obvious they do it right. A bit early for our table, we were offered a seat in the lounge. "Would you like a cocktail?" "No thanks, we plan on a wine pairing tonight." "I understand. May I offer a glass of cold water instead?" It was much appreciated.

Our table was ready at the time of our reservation. Our server appeared promptly greeting us with a cheery "Happy Anniversary." While enjoying a glass of champagne we ordered the tasting menu with the premium wine pairing. An amuse and an appetizer trio were served as we finished up our champagne. Then the real fun began.

The progression of the menu, the pacing of the meal, and the pairing of the wine were all outstanding. And the food was pretty darn good too -- sensational (and seasonal) ingredients, expertly prepared, well conceived in flavor, aroma and texture, and all artfully plated. There were two options for dessert and as we debated which to choose, both were served with "Happy 40th Anniversary" piped in chocolate on the plate. And for an encore we were offered delicate chocolate candies to nibble on and a petit babas to take and enjoy later.

Was it perfect? No. Bread was average, a bit of silver skin tissue in my waygu beef tenderloin, dishes though flavorful and beautifully prepared were not cutting edge or innovative. But was everything in sum excellent - yes, without a doubt - Daniel delivered!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Daniel lives up to the hype for culinary creativity. Combining unique preparation and presentation of common ingredients into truly culinary works of art. Amazing effort clearly was taken in delivery of each dish. Truly a gourmand's dream. 4 course menu will keep you satisfied, and if you dine with another, no reason to splurge on the 7 course menu as sharing tastes accomplished the same at at $100 per person discount. Our 4 course menu took nearly 3 hours to complete and we left well sated. The wine paring was well worth the cost and the pours were generous. The service was impeccable and we were never left wanting. The ambiance was intimate, classic and beautiful. The only blemish on near perfection was cost. The bill on the 4 course menu for 2, with wine paring for 1 and gratuity was nearly $600. I hesitate to consider the cost of the 7 course experience when all said and done. Would recommend Daniel for that rare special occasion, maybe once in a decade.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent!!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

First of all, I want to say that "Daniel" is the definition of elegant. The room is amazing. We were seated in the waiting area and served one of the best "manhattans" I have ever had. We had the tasting menu and the standard wine pairing and everything we had was prepared to perfection. The wait staff was very gracious and polite. I felt like a very special person there and I would go back to dine in the area where you can watch the kitchen. It was amazing and I would recommend it highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.