About Daniel

60 East 65th St.
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Daniel Boulud’s namesake restaurant features contemporary, seasonal French cuisine in a setting that combines striking neoclassical architecture with elegant modern furnishings. The sophisticated bar and lounge are a welcoming spot for before and after dinner drinks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday, 5:30pm -10:30pm

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 288-0033

Website:
http://www.danielnyc.com/

Catering:
Feast & Fêtes is Daniel’s exclusive catering company. It provides Daniel’s sumptuous cuisine combined with personalized service and attention to every detail of your off-premise entertaining needs. Call Jean Christophe Le Picart at (212)737-2224.

Parking Details:
There are also parking garages on 65th St. between Madison, Park and Lexington Avenues.

Public Transit:
Stops 68th Street stop, #6 Train
Lexington Avenue / 63rd Street stop, F Train

Executive Chef:
Daniel Boulud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us for this festive evening; we will have a Pre-Gala Dinner from 5.30pm to 6.30pm. A three-course menu will be offered at $245 per person.
Our Gala Dinner begins at 8.45pm until 9:30pm serving a seasonal 6-course tasting menu including dishes with truffles and caviar at $625 per person.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Daniel Boulud is delighted to offer you a one-of-a-kind private dining experience at his acclaimed restaurant. DANIEL is a perfect setting for both business and celebratory occasions

Daniel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
Manhattan
French
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Upper East Side ›

Special Occasion (109)
Romantic (100)
Good for Anniversaries (80)
See All
Notable Wine List (74)
Tasting Menu (68)
Creative Cuisine (62)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Worth the Drive (29)
Business Meals (26)
Authentic (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Seasonal (12)
Cozy (11)
Molecular Gastronomy (11)
Historic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
People Watching (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Fun (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Private Room (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Family Style (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Vegan (3)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
4213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful experience. Our group was trea ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful experience. Our group was treated well with exceptional service and very well prepared, interesting dishes. A taste delight. Ambience of the room was lovely and the quiet and good table spacing facilitated conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always !!!! The service, amb ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing as always !!!! The service, ambiance and food are what brings

us back again & again to Daniel. Never disappointed !

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!! Love it! Great food, serv ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding!!! Love it! Great food, service, ambience. Prefer over Per Se.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best restaurant in New York a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Simply the best restaurant in New York and maybe the best in the country.

The menu includes a wide choice of french specialty items.

The service was excellent.

I recommend the four course option.

For a romantic dinner for two ask for the side seating . This area is private & elevated above the main dining room.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very special restaurant in every way for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Very special restaurant in every way for a very special occasion. It was magic!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best French restaurant in NYC!!! My favo ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Best French restaurant in NYC!!! My favorite one!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstandingly helpful, attentive and pol ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstandingly helpful, attentive and politely engaging staff made for a delightful and memorable dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always impeccable. Perfect experience. B ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always impeccable. Perfect experience. Best food in NYC.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daniel was a wonderful dining experience ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Daniel was a wonderful dining experience. Impeccable service and the food was absolutely delicious. Worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked the Skybox at Daniel for my hus ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I booked the Skybox at Daniel for my husband's 50th birthday celebration and what a memorable experience the night turned out to be. The Skybox is tucked away, quiet and cozy with lots of Daniel Boulud's personal memorabilia, with a clear view to the kitchen below as the chefs are preparing dinner. We enjoyed course after course of creative cuisine and there wasn't a single item that wasn't delicious-- Chef Eddy Laroux and his team outdid themselves and I am personally grateful to everyone who made my husband's night so special. At the end of the evening, my husband and I were given a book listing each wine and course we had for the evening. Each member of Daniel involved in our experience went above and beyond to assure it was an evening we would never forget. We have always enjoyed dining in Daniel but now that we have dined in THE SKYBOX, I'm not so sure we can go back to the dining room....we've now been spoiled beyond compare. The Skybox is the way to go...Daniel is our favorite NYC restaurant, needless to say!

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic! The whole experien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! The whole experience was incredible. The staff were attentive, knowledgeable and helpful. The food was spectacular and the wine was delicious. It is expensive, but you absolutely get what you pay for!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a dining experience in every sens ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was a dining experience in every sense; from the ambiance to the flawless presentation of the meal, and impeccable service. This was dining at its best.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went here for Thanksgiving and a birthda ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went here for Thanksgiving and a birthday meal. Sublime. Very busy but excellent service nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I went here for Thanksgiving "dinner" at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I went here for Thanksgiving "dinner" at 2:30pm. The service was excellent, but I was very disappointed with the food. The amuse bouche (bite sized appetizers) tasted stale, like they had been made the day before. For the main course I had the turkey and my boyfriend had the venison. The turkey was unpalatable, I swapped plates with my boyfriend who could at least eat the turkey. The stuffing was burned and difficult to eat. Wait staff did not come by in a reasonable time after the main course was served to check on us. The venison was cooked wonderfully, and the desserts were delicious, but not good enough by themselves for a $500 price tag. My boyfriend left a review that we had lunch there and did not have a good experience. The restaurant responded that they haven't served "lunch" in 15 years. This was an annoying, snobbish, and irrelevant response considering that first of all, the name of the mealtime was not the point of the review, and second the woman at the coat check, and our server both used the word "lunch." I will not be going back here and I will tell my friends their money can be better spent elsewhere.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

We arrived at Daniel at 21:45h, just in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We arrived at Daniel at 21:45h, just in time for our reservation. We were greeted by the waiter who explained the options of prix fixe menu: 4 or 7 dishes, with or without wine pairing. We choose the 4 dishes option ($142) with wine pairing ($82), and it was the most incredible gastronomic experience we ever had (thank god, since is not cheap!). The dishes were really works of art, with really fresh ingredients and technique for each plate masterful. We ate lobster, duck, wagyu and they even had an extra dessert to comemorate our engagement! Overall, an incredible experience! I would like to thank especially to the waiters that were very helpful and nice with us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

As already sent : Cher Pierre, Quelque ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

As already sent :

Cher Pierre,

Quelques lignes pour vous redire que nous avons passé une excellente soirée hier chez DANIEL.

Toutes nos félicitations pour votre chaleureux accueil, toutes les charmantes attentions dont vous nous avez comblées, le décor du restaurant, l’excellent service et le délicieux dîner. Mille mercis à toute l’équipe !

Nos hôtes et nous mêmes avons eu beaucoup de plaisir à rencontrer le grand patron et de le voir aux commandes dans ses cuisines. Certes c’est dur d’arriver à une telle perfection mais quelle réussite !!!

Bravo, merci et à bientôt ! Happy Thanksgiving !

Cordialement,

André Mustaki et Stephen Braddock

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Idéal pour les fêtes, Menu dégustation, Idéal pour les plus fins palais
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience is almost too amaz ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The dining experience is almost too amazing to describe at this iconic restaurant in NYC. The food and service are excellent, for a special occasion or amazing dining experience I do not think Daniel has an equal.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was top notch. Food delicious ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Everything was top notch. Food delicious and beautiful. Service was wonderful. Enjoyed a very special anniversary!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant we have ever been! E ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The best restaurant we have ever been! Every aspect of our dining experience was perfect!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has to be the very best restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This has to be the very best restaurant in NYC! The decor, the service, the attention to detail, the sublime taste of every morsel. And the rolls . . . Truly a very special evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible meal/experience

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Incredible meal/experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Un lugar único en el corazón del Central ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Un lugar único en el corazón del Central Park, primer nivel y muy alta cocina.

Espectacular, muy recomendable si la intención es ir al mas alto nivel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was one hell of a meal and an even be ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 15, 2016

It was one hell of a meal and an even better bottle of wine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seriously, what can I say? Yes, possibly ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Seriously, what can I say? Yes, possibly THE best food you will ever eat. But the main reason to go is the total immersive experience. The staff is attentive but never intrusive. There is even an odd "family" vibe to make you feel welcome. Make no mistake: this is high-end cuisine and you need to dress up (and sacrifice a paycheck). But you will be treated like royalty, with no whiff of condescension. THIS is what fine dining is all about.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant, simply prepared, flavorful cuis ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Elegant, simply prepared, flavorful cuisine - wonderful variety, excellent wine list - superb service and quiet - what more can one want?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really, really wanted to love Daniel. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I really, really wanted to love Daniel. The restaurant is beautiful, the service was perfection, but the food left much to be desired. My husband and I both ordered the 4 course dinner and neither of us really loved any of the dishes. I found most of my dishes to be very salty. I noticed there are two other reviews that echo my own sentiment from about the time we were there- maybe just an off week?

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal in NYC! Beautiful setting ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The best meal in NYC! Beautiful setting, outstanding service and superb food! The portions are generous, creative and delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at Daniel was once in a li ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My experience at Daniel was once in a lifetime. Everything from the food to the service was outstanding. It was easy to see why this restaurant is one of the top in NYC. Thank you for making my night one that I will never forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food ok Nothing special

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food ok

Nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

Daniel is a fantastic upmarket restauran ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Daniel is a fantastic upmarket restaurant, more than worthy of its Michelin Star status. Beautifully adorned dining room sets the tone for what lays ahead. Price is high but great value for what you receive. Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive and quite unremarkable.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Expensive and quite unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

A truly badass night. Our mixologist Mar ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A truly badass night. Our mixologist Marcy was darling. Really enthusiastic about the cocktails she was making, and it showed all the drinks were fantastic. The tasting menu with the second tier wine tasting was perfection. The pork trotters and the wine it was with definitely was my favorite of the night. The somm Aaron was so friendly as well as the waiter Chris. The cheese selection was vast and impressive. Being a moderate cheese addict it was like heaven when they rolled that funky cart around to our table. You guys are great and you should feel great. Thanks again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service is impeccable and Daniel wil ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The service is impeccable and Daniel will offer up an exquisite dining experience. However, on the occasion we dined, the food was good, but not as flavored as hoped. Many of the tastes were more subtle and sometimes almost tasteless with little seasoning. Will I dine again? Absolutely. Will I hope for a more dynamic menu of flavorful dishes. For sure

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent, creative food, superb service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent, creative food, superb service, wonderful experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great. Very beautif ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food and service was great. Very beautiful dining room.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to Daniel's several times and am ne ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Been to Daniel's several times and am never disappointed. Start to finish - outstanding. A special place

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This s one of the great gastronomic trea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This s one of the great gastronomic treats of the world. It's a 2 star Michelin, I believe; that's very high praise. We went 'cause I got it on Open Table. I've never been able to get in on the phone. It's always worth t! Delicious elegance..,and the night we were there on a Tuesday, it was mobbed!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was spot on! From start to fi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything was spot on! From start to finish everything was great. Highly recommend for a nice special occasion or if you can every night! Go and enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance; great food and great ser ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great ambiance; great food and great service!! Very memorable experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish I would be lucky to be there soon ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I wish I would be lucky to be there soon again , for some great evening

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.