About Daniel

60 East 65th St.
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Daniel Boulud’s namesake restaurant features contemporary, seasonal French cuisine in a setting that combines striking neoclassical architecture with elegant modern furnishings. The sophisticated bar and lounge are a welcoming spot for before and after dinner drinks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday, 5:30pm -10:30pm

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 288-0033

Website:
http://www.danielnyc.com/

Catering:
Feast & Fêtes is Daniel’s exclusive catering company. It provides Daniel’s sumptuous cuisine combined with personalized service and attention to every detail of your off-premise entertaining needs. Call Jean Christophe Le Picart at (212)737-2224.

Parking Details:
There are also parking garages on 65th St. between Madison, Park and Lexington Avenues.

Public Transit:
Stops 68th Street stop, #6 Train
Lexington Avenue / 63rd Street stop, F Train

Executive Chef:
Daniel Boulud

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Daniel Boulud is delighted to offer you a one-of-a-kind private dining experience at his acclaimed restaurant. DANIEL is a perfect setting for both business and celebratory occasions

Daniel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
2 More
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
French
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Upper East Side ›

special occasion (179)
romantic (152)
fit for foodies (133)
See All
notable wine list (112)
neighborhood gem (23)
hot spot (17)
good for groups (9)
late-night find (7)
great for lunch (4)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
4007 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals that I've ever had ...

Dined 3 days ago

One of the best meals that I've ever had. I cannot recommend this place enough!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I could not have asked for, nor would I ...

Dined 4 days ago

I could not have asked for, nor would I have to because they were so attentive, a better experience. From beginning to end this was one of the best culinary experiences I have had. I highly recommend having the seven course tasting menu and optional wine pairing. It was a nice surprise that Chef Daniel made a point to visit each table while we were there. I would say the night was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

some of sevise r sucks

Dined 6 days ago

some of sevise r sucks

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience. A wonderful r ...

Dined 6 days ago

Amazing dining experience. A wonderful restaurant to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a fantastic dining experience. Th ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

It was a fantastic dining experience. The food was fantastic, the staff there were incredibly helpful and attentive, some of the best service I have experienced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We were put at a table in the mezzanine, ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We were put at a table in the mezzanine, way in the back. It was like being in exile, but we did have a view of part of the main room. The disappointment came quickly when we asked for the soft-shell crab. The waiter said he had to check if they still had some. Upon his return, he said they had one left. I asked what else on the menu they were running short of, before I wasted my time looking, and I added that they could run over to Cittarella and buy a soft shell crab. The waiter then told me, there'd be no problem, and my guest and I each had a crab. Go figure! Lol. I'd say I felt somewhat ripped off at almost $600 for two; and the wine pairing was just so-so, and quite niggardly imho.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and fantastic service. A bit ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and fantastic service. A bit pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic food. Chef's selection and pai ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Fantastic food. Chef's selection and pairing wine were amazing. Not big in quantity but deep in quality. Subtle, elegant, delicate and enjoyable. Great for romantic dinner or special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining is a hobby of mine. I colle ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Fine dining is a hobby of mine. I collect great meals as others might collect rare coins or stamps. My supper at Daniel was as wonderful as an Upside Down Jenny for a stamp collector. The service is perfect and completely lacks the austerity shown in many Michelin starred restaurants. It was truly fun and such a pleasant surprise to speak with every member of the staff. The premium wine pairings provided a true complement to each course. And, oh the food! My favorites include: Flet - Long Island Fluke with sea urchin, Granny Smith apple seaweed crisp, white sturgeon caviar, Foie Gras - Vodka flambeed foie gras, apricot, pistachios, red ribbon sorrel, Boeuf - Waygu beef tenderloin, morels, fava bean mousseline, pommes amandine, chickweed salad. And, if you can score some fresh-from-the-oven Madeleines do so! This restaurant is a precise reflection of Chef Daniel Boulud, perfect but not pretentious with a very real reverence for the food. This meal is now among my top three in all the world.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly wonderful and amazing Surpasses ot ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Truly wonderful and amazing Surpasses other in its class

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When I do a review there is a reason why ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

When I do a review there is a reason why I give three stars to most "very good" to "excellent" restaurants I dine at. And that is because there are a few - like Daniel - that deserve extra stars because they are indeed head and shoulders above the rest. My wife and I went to New York for 40th anniversary. We wanted to dine at a top notch restaurant (one or more Michelin stars or the equivalent) for our celebratory meal. Our anniversary fell on a Monday so a bunch of places were closed. Daniel was open, had a table available, we love French inspired food, so I booked it. From the moment we walked in it was obvious they do it right. A bit early for our table, we were offered a seat in the lounge. "Would you like a cocktail?" "No thanks, we plan on a wine pairing tonight." "I understand. May I offer a glass of cold water instead?" It was much appreciated. Our table was ready at the time of our reservation. Our server appeared promptly greeting us with a cheery "Happy Anniversary." While enjoying a glass of champagne we ordered the tasting menu with the premium wine pairing. An amuse and an appetizer trio were served as we finished up our champagne. Then the real fun began. The progression of the menu, the pacing of the meal, and the pairing of the wine were all outstanding. And the food was pretty darn good too -- sensational (and seasonal) ingredients, expertly prepared, well conceived in flavor, aroma and texture, and all artfully plated. There were two options for dessert and as we debated which to choose, both were served with "Happy 40th Anniversary" piped in chocolate on the plate. And for an encore we were offered delicate chocolate candies to nibble on and a petit babas to take and enjoy later. Was it perfect? No. Bread was average, a bit of silver skin tissue in my waygu beef tenderloin, dishes though flavorful and beautifully prepared were not cutting edge or innovative. But was everything in sum excellent - yes, without a doubt - Daniel delivered!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Exceptional

Dined on June 8, 2016

Daniel lives up to the hype for culinary creativity. Combining unique preparation and presentation of common ingredients into truly culinary works of art. Amazing effort clearly was taken in delivery of each dish. Truly a gourmand's dream. 4 course menu will keep you satisfied, and if you dine with another, no reason to splurge on the 7 course menu as sharing tastes accomplished the same at at $100 per person discount. Our 4 course menu took nearly 3 hours to complete and we left well sated. The wine paring was well worth the cost and the pours were generous. The service was impeccable and we were never left wanting. The ambiance was intimate, classic and beautiful. The only blemish on near perfection was cost. The bill on the 4 course menu for 2, with wine paring for 1 and gratuity was nearly $600. I hesitate to consider the cost of the 7 course experience when all said and done. Would recommend Daniel for that rare special occasion, maybe once in a decade.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!!

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

First of all, I want to say that "Daniel" is the definition of elegant. The room is amazing. We were seated in the waiting area and served one of the best "manhattans" I have ever had. We had the tasting menu and the standard wine pairing and everything we had was prepared to perfection. The wait staff was very gracious and polite. I felt like a very special person there and I would go back to dine in the area where you can watch the kitchen. It was amazing and I would recommend it highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a great evening on every level. From ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Was a great evening on every level. From the first glass of champagne to the madeleines at its conclusion , was a masterpiece on every level

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Elegant dining experience

Dined on June 7, 2016

A fabulous dining experience. We arrived 15 mins early for our reservation, but were shown promptly to our table. The service was exceptional and friendly. We asked lots of questions about the menu items when making our choices and the servers were more than happy to assist and provide recommendations. Each course was delicious, with some served tableside with flair. Highly recommend for a special occassion

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Dining Stalwart: Classic, French, New York

Dined on June 7, 2016

Dining at Daniel serves as a reminder that fine dining, in a classic dégustation format, still exists within a modern age that challenges the definition - and necessity - of "fine dining" formalities. Beyond the once predictable, yet now evolved parameters of NYT and Michelin stars, and in contrast to the democratization of "good food," there luckily still exists a niche for restaurants like Daniel. It exists not as the leader of the avant garde or a Pellegrino 50-pushing location, but as a standby, iconic restaurant that is worthy for special occasions - just as much as a spot for a proper bite during the week. It attracts the well-to-do just as much as it caters to the congratulatory treats. It serves expense accounts and businessmen as much as it does the dilettantes to actual connoisseurs. It's a beautiful expression of Mr. Boulud's storied career and drive, just as much as it is an establishment run by of a team of highly skilled individuals that believe in serving more than just "another meal." Service remains attentive without being intrusive, warm without being pushy, and elegant without snoot. Yet of course this is subjective upon a diner's desired experience - some might come for the grandeur and upscale theatrics - while others seek nothing more than to focus and concentrate on each course's sensual nuances. Dining at this level, in truth, is hedonistic no matter how you frame it. If you're here for the food and drink, there's enough detail and finesse per course to keep someone's attention fully engaged. This is a prix fixe of polished technique and agreeable offerings - you eat what makes sense for the season and a happy palate, more so than dishes that seek to blow your mind. Food and wine pairings meld flavors as they're meant to be - more so than to shock, awe, and say, "Look at me!" You leave with a sense of contentment. It's an experience you know you'll want again. You tell yourself, "Daniel, you're a star in the face of the sky."

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must try in New York

Dined on June 3, 2016

A unique dining experience, from the food to the service. Everything was just right altogether with the wine pairing offered to us by the sommelier. A must try for that special occasion in New York.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Was great - should have been for 641 but ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Was great - should have been for 641 but excellent service & food.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Most interesting

Dined on June 1, 2016

We are Japanese therefore we are very impressed and amused with the way that your cuisine has included some Japanese Ingedient such as Yuzu, Yuba, Tempura and overall Kaiseki style presentation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite Dining

Dined on June 1, 2016

Attention to detail and the finest food, service second to none.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The synchronization of the staff was ama ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

The synchronization of the staff was amazing when serving food and clearing plates...every corse stood by itself and was fantastic

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We hade one of the best dining experinces ever!

Dined on May 29, 2016

My family and I had an amaizing evening at Daniel! We celebrated a birthday and an anniversary and we couldn't have wished for a better venue to do that. The food was exquisite and the service was above our expectations! The atmosphere was exactly what we wanted for this special occasion. We picked the tasting menue and the cheff didn't disappoint us. I can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Both my husband and I had the most perfe ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Both my husband and I had the most perfect dining experience , the food tasted great and looked beautiful, the service was just right, the wine pairing was excellent. I cannot recall a dining experience so completely delightful as last Saturday at Daniel ( having tasted many great tables around the world), just wish to keep coming back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner with outstanding servic ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent dinner with outstanding service. The food, the wine list and atmosphere were all just perfect. We enjoyed the Waiter and the suggestions for dinner and wine were right on point. It was a wonderful time for our family to get together and enjoy a memorable dining experience. Everyone in the family enjoyed the evening and had wonderful comments about how memorable and outstanding the food was.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Daniel Fine Dining

Dined on May 26, 2016

The is stunning! The wine list is far too expensive and needs a more realistic pricing selection. This was fine dining at its best though.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Evening at Daniel

Dined on May 24, 2016

We had a lovely dinner. It was out of the norm, and quite special with wonderful wine suggestions, and unique dishes beautifully prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on May 23, 2016

This is. Fine dining restaurant and the food and service meets all expectations. They do not rush you through the evening. Great place

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all respects

Dined on May 23, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service. Even though it was clear that we were only commoners from New Zealand, we felt like we were treated like royalty. The wait staff were very attentive to our tastes and preferences. We ordered the 7 course tasting menu, but there seemed to be a continuous stream of amouse bouches, bread, and other little extras. Overall, an outstanding experience and we would definitely recommend Daniel as a go for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely superb! We celebrated our 20 ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolutely superb! We celebrated our 20th anniversary in style at Daniel. From the decor to the friendly wait staff to the spectacular food, everything was what we expected and more! It is costly, but it is worth every dollar. It was an evening to be remembered. Thank you for making our celebration wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on May 20, 2016

We arrived over 40 minutes late because of some insane traffic (coming from central NJ, took almost 3 hours leaving at 3:40), and we were told we would be seated in the lounge area. This was disappointing, but understandable given that it was a busy Friday night. We decided to get a drink and wait a few minutes to see if a table opened up. A server, who remembered us from A YEAR AGO, approached us and asked about our situation. He said that he hoped everything worked out. About 5 minutes later, we were told that a table was available in the main dining room. It's hard to beat that level of service and hospitality. The food, as it was during my previous visits, was outstanding. Of all the top restaurants in the city that I've been to, Daniel is absolutely my favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the best

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

My wife and I went to Daniel for her birthday and it was the finest birthday present that she could have received. The food is insanely good, the wine pairing both superb and reasonably priced and the service was above and beyond. Can't wait to find another excuse to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience.

Dined on May 16, 2016

Everything was perfect. Helpful, friendly, expert wait staff. Excellent attention to every detail. Food was wonderful and the dining room beautiful. Highly recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience I've ever had! Am ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Best dining experience I've ever had! Amazing!

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

My son and I (from Wash DC) went with hi ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

My son and I (from Wash DC) went with high expectations, and that is not always a good thing for fine dining. We loved the service and the atmosphere - they were as advertised. The wine 'guy' offered a wonderful selection and it truly was the highlight of the meal (along with the bread service). The food, however, was a bit of a disappointment. We each got the 4 course menu with different selections for each course. First course was OK (soup and crab) but pretty bland. Second course had some highlights (foie gras) but the escargots were pretty gritty and over cooked. Although there were no complaints for the Guinea Hen Duo, the rabbit was not carefully prepared as we had bone shards in multiple bites and the flavors seemed off. Dessert was great... Given the cost and the expectations, I can't say I would go there again. Is it just me or has the top end restaurant scene in NYC decided to rest on it's laurels and be OK with offering pedestrian food while focusing on 'over the top' atmosphere? Maybe they should take a page from the Philly or Charleston (best east coast food towns) notebooks and shift focus back to the food... Just say-in...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing. We had the four co ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was amazing. We had the four course menu and there was plenty to choose from for each of the four courses. I particularly liked the Slow Cooked striped Bass. We all had the matching wines as well with different wines for each person depending on what they ordered. The service was very very good. Our waiters sensed the mood of our table and were happy to chat a little and have a joke with us while always being attentive and very professional. The quality of service was the best I have ever experienced. Everything was perfect and we were even fortunate enough to meet the chef, Jean-Francois Bruel, who was a lovely man. Couldn't fault anything, a perfect night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Literally the definition of excellence o ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Literally the definition of excellence on every level.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We cannot go to New York without dining ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

We cannot go to New York without dining at Daniels. It has become a tradition tied in to our anniversary. We always enjoy the food and the great service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We went there for a birthday dinner. Whi ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

We went there for a birthday dinner. While the dining room is spectacular, the food is easily forgettable (but the price tag is not). We expected much more from what is touted as the best fine dining experience in NYC. There are most certainly much better places in Manhattan.

food4
ambience5
service5

Simply excellent, perhaps more variety i ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Simply excellent, perhaps more variety in the deserts offer would be nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisit and delish! Incredible experien ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Exquisit and delish! Incredible experience

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.