About Daniel

60 East 65th St.
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Daniel Boulud’s namesake restaurant features contemporary, seasonal French cuisine in a setting that combines striking neoclassical architecture with elegant modern furnishings. The sophisticated bar and lounge are a welcoming spot for before and after dinner drinks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday, 5:30pm -10:30pm

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 288-0033

Website:
http://www.danielnyc.com/

Catering:
Feast & Fêtes is Daniel’s exclusive catering company. It provides Daniel’s sumptuous cuisine combined with personalized service and attention to every detail of your off-premise entertaining needs. Call Jean Christophe Le Picart at (212)737-2224.

Parking Details:
There are also parking garages on 65th St. between Madison, Park and Lexington Avenues.

Public Transit:
Stops 68th Street stop, #6 Train
Lexington Avenue / 63rd Street stop, F Train

Executive Chef:
Daniel Boulud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Daniel Boulud is delighted to offer you a one-of-a-kind private dining experience at his acclaimed restaurant. DANIEL is a perfect setting for both business and celebratory occasions

Daniel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
French
New York / Tri-State Area
4 More
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
French
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Upper East Side ›

Special Occasion (148)
Romantic (129)
Notable Wine List (105)
See All
Fit for Foodies (101)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Tasting Menu (36)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Good for a Date (27)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (13)
Hot Spot (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Historic (3)
Cozy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Private Room (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second visit here and it was just as ama ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Second visit here and it was just as amazing as my first. Everything is impeccable and delicious. If you want the best dining experience of your life. Go to Daniel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The most outstanding dining experience I ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The most outstanding dining experience I have ever had. We ate here because of Chef Daniel's reputation. The staff is extremely attentive. The food and presentation was without parallel. We never felt rushed. Meeting Daniel was for me the highlight of my visit to NYC. We will eat here again when we visit. We intend to visit his restaurant in Lyon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious. Very tasty. We ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Everything was delicious. Very tasty. We concluded with a new York style cheesecake which was really really unique. It was like no other cheesecake

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I leave in LA and made reservations for ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I leave in LA and made reservations for my parents 50th anniversary who are currently traveling from Europe. The entire process of setting this very special evening went without a hitch. Id like to thank everyone at Daniel from the polite and courteous ladies I spoke with over the phone to set it all up, to the amazing staff who made sure my parents had the most outstanding and amazing experience. Their feedback to me was nothing short of spectacular. Thanks you Daniel Restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very special place. I don't th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

This is a very special place. I don't think I've had a better meal.

Daniel Boloud is a top notch chef and restaurantur.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing on all fronts. Food, service, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Amazing on all fronts. Food, service, ambiance - all top-notch. One of the most amazing meals we've ever had. The service is impeccable. The food is incredible and so beautifully presented. The dining room is beautiful and, although quite busy, the acoustics allow for quiet conversation. I can't think of one negative about our experience except that it was over too soon, despite taking our time and savoring every single bite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience, best goose liver in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Awesome experience, best goose liver in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every plate was not only exceptional but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Every plate was not only exceptional but was also a work of art. Fabulous meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant and service ! Wonderfu ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great restaurant and service ! Wonderful wine ist.

A bit expensive but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I think I should have communicated that ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I think I should have communicated that the restaurant require jackets for men

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

5 star loved it very much I would visit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

5 star

loved it very much I would visit again soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing dinner at Daniel. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We had an amazing dinner at Daniel. The service in particular was perfection. We were given a private tour of the kitchen, Daniels office and the private dining room. The food and wine was beautifully chosen and prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceeded our expections. Our server Vict ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Exceeded our expections. Our server Victor and his assistants were excellent and made our experience perfect! merci!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Daniel to celebrate our 50th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We came to Daniel to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We have traveled extensively throughout the world and have eaten at many fine restaurants. Daniel tops the list in every category. It was fascinating to watch how the waiters presented the food, to see how guests at our neighboring tables were enjoying the experience and, especially, to enjoy the exquisitely well prepared presentations that arrived course after course. Unexpected taste treats were offered to us from time to time and each one was superb, both in how it was presented and in how it was conceived. There were so many interesting treats offered to us. We were there for three hours, but we were never without something to talk about and savor. It was a magnificent experience, from start to finish. We really can't imagine how the meal could have been improved at all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant,the environment i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I love this restaurant,the environment is nice,waitress is patient,I will introduce this restaurant to all my friends, I hope to come here next day!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The main disappointment is the entree. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The main disappointment is the entree. My friend and I ordered bluefin tuna and veal. The bluefin tuna was not well seasoned and the veal was better, and these two dishes proved to the lowlight of the whole meal. The cheesecake, I have to admit, is one of the best I ever had. A very modern take on a very classy dessert. I alway like going to Daniel's other restaurants like Cafe Boulud and Boulud Sud, but this one doesn't impress me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Daniel is simply top drawer. From the co ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Daniel is simply top drawer. From the cocktails through to dessert this restaurant is number 1 on trip advisor for a reason. You are made to feel special, it is more a performance than dinner service. Expensive but you need to try it before you die. A taste sensation .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came a long way to eat at Daniel's-fr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We came a long way to eat at Daniel's-from Slovenia:) For those who are clueless where that is, check the map (Melania Trump is our product yes, but we don't like to brag about it). We enjoy good food and we try to visit well known chefs and their restaurants wherever we go for our holiday. This year it was NY so I booked a dinner at Daniel's and we brought our fancy suits with us in our suitcase. The ambiance, the service, lighting, overall experience was 11 out of 10. The food was also very good, and the way they put it on a plate was just exceptional, the lay-out, colours. For an European guest to spend 900USD for a dinner for two...friends say we are crazy. Our coutry also has top chefs known worldwide like Bratovz Janez (his restaurant is on the San Pellegrino's list of 50 top restaurants in the world), Jagodic Igor, Volcic Bine, Ros Ana. Bratovz Janez also has two Michelin stars and you would probably be surprised if I told you that his 9 tasting menu costs 80 eur - it's just the difference if you say New York or Ljubljana (capital city of Slovenia). So all in all an experience for a life time, like many others before and after Daniel. We also wish all the best to a friend from ex-YU that made it possible for us to see where the magic happens-the kitchen. Thank you again.

Aleksandra&Bojan

Tags: Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely outstanding! Could not have b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Absolutely outstanding! Could not have been satisfied with the personal service that accompanied the exquisite 7 course tasting. My wife opted for the 4 course and the timing was impeccable for delivering both.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional as one would expect. Only co ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Exceptional as one would expect. Only complaint is the price but it comes with the territory n

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good dining. Outstanding wines. The food ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good dining. Outstanding wines. The food did not impressed me as I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A truly amazing experience with world cl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A truly amazing experience with world class cuisine.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As far as my wife and I are concerned, t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

As far as my wife and I are concerned, this is the best restaurant in Manhattan, and much further. Five stars are not enough. This is at least 10 stars out of 5. The food is amazingly creative. The service is impeccable. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary at Daniel ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Daniel last week, and the experience could not have been more wonderful. This is a restaurant where every detail is considered and every effort made to make the diners feel like they are special, and each occasion even more important. The food was spectacular in every way, and more expert gourmets than I have described every delicious morsel, but for this special event -I would like to truly thank the staff - a highly dedicated group who worked together magically - and with a true sense enjoyment. This additional engagement must be somewhat new to fine dining - I can recall endless waiters parading in constant attention but never seeming to react as people - that trend is clearly gone - and good riddance! The professionalism and courtesy extending by the staff was wonderful - they are engaging and caring and helped make the evening an even greater joy. They were happy that we chose to spend our special event at Daniel, and I can assure you so were we. Magnifique!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food especially desert, beau ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Outstanding food especially desert, beautiful place, knowledgeable staff extremely friendly for such a high class restaurant. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Daniel for a 50th Birthday ce ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We went to Daniel for a 50th Birthday celebration having eaten in many fine dining establishments in the UK. I can honestly say we were all delighted with our choice of restaurant for a special occasion. The standards of service from arrival to departure were fantastic, whether the front of house staff, table waiting staff or the sommelier. The food was outstanding with fabulous extra tasters between courses and interesting and varied dishes, all beautifully cooked and presented. The wine list is extensive but there is good value to be found and the quality at all levels is fantastic. We all agreed that this was the best culinary experience we had ever experienced. Thoroughly recommended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food and very well attended to by ...

 
 (Edinburgh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Superb food and very well attended to by staff. Nice additional touch of small birthday cake for us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Daniel, lovely people, atmospher ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We love Daniel, lovely people, atmosphere and food!!

We will come back soon:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was amazing but the food was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The service was amazing but the food was a let down over cooked and lack of flavour

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Fantastic all round experience. Would re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Fantastic all round experience. Would recommend to anyone. Staff were very professional, good was excellent, cannot fault.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience was the most impre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The dining experience was the most impressive I have ever had, the quality of the food, the service and the ambiance is second to none. Magnificent..

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of New York's great restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This is one of New York's great restaurants. It is a beautiful place to go for a special occasion. The food is outstanding and the service is as good as it gets.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner simply perfect, thank ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Anniversary dinner simply perfect, thank you SO much!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was perfectly executed, service was ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was perfectly executed, service was impeccable. A great dinner experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely lovely evening: possibly the ...

 
 (Kent)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Absolutely lovely evening: possibly the best I ever had. The vodka-flambé fois gras is extraordinary. Perfect wine pairings and desserts just kept coming. Faultless

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb! A beautiful dining experience. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Superb! A beautiful dining experience. Tops in hospitality, food & restaurant design. Bravo!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's very good, very pricey but its wort ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

It's very good, very pricey but its worth it. They made my husbands birthday very special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful food, outstanding service and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Beautiful food, outstanding service and delectable wine. What more could you want?! We visited on our honeymoon after visiting Miami and Florida Keys. This was by far the best meal we ate and we did eat at some very nice places! It is pricey but when you have experienced it, you know is was actually a bargain. A must go to place if you're in the area and enjoy good food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you enter the restaurant, you're no ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

When you enter the restaurant, you're not impressed with the décor, but you can already feel you're in a temple of gastronomy. Everything is classy, the staff is very courteous and welcoming. We decided to stay at the bar first, to enjoy some cocktails. Amazing. We had a cosmo like one with an orchid in the ice cube... Beautiful. We took the 4 courses menu. Everything was breathtaking. I had the lobster to start, you would not expect the way it is prepared. Which is what I love about gastronomy, it is not your typical anything. Then the snacked foie gras from the Hudson valley. It definitely competes with the best ones in France (believe me, I'm French). The bison was soooo tender and full of taste! To add to this wonderful cuisine experience, Daniel Boulud himself came around the tables and chatted with us for a good 15 mn. He is absolutely charming, very simple and funny. He was so kind to offer us a bib for our baby daughter which we had mentioned casually during the discussion. We had an amazing time!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.