About Damian's Cucina Italiana

3011 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

For over 30 years Damian's Cucina Italiana has been known worldwide as the top authentic Italian restaurant in Houston, Texas. Set in an old-world atmosphere which is elegant, yet warm and friendly, diners at Damian's are accustomed to extensive menu offerings, specially tailored dishes, and weekly specials created by Chef Napolean Palacios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Anita / Rosalie

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-0439

Website:
http://www.damians.com/

Entertainment:
Damian's offers complimentary shuttle service after dinner to the Wortham Center, Hobby Center, and Jones Hall.

Catering:
Call the event planner for catering details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Barillas

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for our upstairs private party functions.

Private Dining

Our Private dining rooms seat from 10 to 140ppl.

Damian's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Business Meals (39)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Authentic (38)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Romantic (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Notable Wine List (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (12)
Historic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (6)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The lobster bisque bowl is the signature ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined a day ago

The lobster bisque bowl is the signature dish. It comes in a bread bowl...worth the calories and the overall flavor has a kick...well worth it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great. Service impeccable. Staff ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food is great. Service impeccable. Staff very friendly and always attentive/. Very consistent through the years.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fish special. Lobster bisque alwa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great fish special. Lobster bisque always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great "old school" Italian cuisine! Eve ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great "old school" Italian cuisine! Even though our better was excellent, we prefer Jose! Food was excellent as always. I love this place!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I hadn't been there in years ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

My wife and I hadn't been there in years but it was well worth the wait. The menu was great and it was perfect before going to the theatre. We will definitely be back ad won't wait for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great overall experience! Great food, g ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great overall experience! Great food, great service, great ambiance. Highly recommended for a classic Italian experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and awesome food ! Will g ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great service and awesome food ! Will go back soon !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been a fan for many years....the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have been a fan for many years....the quality has lasted all that time..Bravo for food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and the food were as spectac ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service and the food were as spectacular as always. It's so nice to be able to count on a great experience with each trip to Damian's

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Damien's was an excellent choice for din ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Damien's was an excellent choice for dinner prior to attending a musical at the Hobby Center. We ordered the tortellini and the sea bass special. Both were excellent dishes and would order them again. The staff was friendly and helpful when asked to print out tickets that we had forgotten. The shuttle to the Hobby Center was a delight. We didn't have to worry about parking at the event and they were prompt in picking us back up. Will definitely dine in again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Damian's never disappoints. Great option ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Damian's never disappoints. Great option for dinner before a show downtown with a free shuttle.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to Damian's prior to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have been going to Damian's prior to go to the theatre and always had a wonderful dinner. We like that they have a shuttle going to the theatre. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time here. Had mussels ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was my first time here. Had mussels appetizer and veal Marsala. Both great. They have a van to take you to Jones Hall or Hobby Center. Fabulous. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed dinner. Have not been there i ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We enjoyed dinner. Have not been there in years & years.

Decided to try it before a play at the Hobby. We enjoyed our Shrimp & chicken choices. But the best part was the transportation to & from the play.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and food was great. G ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent service and food was great. Great location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous New Years Eve dinner! Delicious

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fabulous New Years Eve dinner!

Delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent NYE here. Great experience. Food a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Spent NYE here. Great experience. Food and service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best service and food. The Ne ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always the best service and food. The New Years Eve meal was wonderful! One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They never disappoint! Food is great - ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They never disappoint! Food is great - service impeccable. Well done.....again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was 5 out of ten. Went for an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The meal was 5 out of ten. Went for an early dinner on News Years Eve. Was not able to have the normal menu. Price was good for the options available. The fiancé and I were looking forward to the main menu! Enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Absolutely love Damien's. Fabulous food ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely love Damien's. Fabulous food & amazing drinks...one of my favorite places to dine. Service is always excellent!!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service. Amazing food. What m ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Impeccable service. Amazing food. What more can you ask?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time. The food is excelle ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a great time. The food is excellent. The service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb dining experience! We have gone t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Superb dining experience! We have gone to Damian's for Christmas Eve for the past 3 years, and it is becoming a family tradition!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed Damian's for many years ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have enjoyed Damian's for many years and they always amaze us. Best Italian food in Houston! Thanks for another great evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we first arrived, it was very busy ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

When we first arrived, it was very busy and the person at the host station barely acknowledged us and told us to wait in the already-crowded bar. We were a few minutes early for our reservation, but we did not feel welcomed. Once we sat down, the service was excellent. The food was also delicious. Two of us had the bolognese, and one had the clam linguine. We also had good wine. Overall, a very pleasant experience. Would definitely return and try something else. Delicious food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a party of 6 and made reservation ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a party of 6 and made reservations for 12/23 knowing that the restaurant would be crowded. Had no trouble making reservations and had to change our time due to a concert but Damiam's had no problem with it. Then we had to change it back to what it was and again they were very good about it.

When we got to the restaurant we only a few minutes to wait even though they had so many people. Appreciated that we had requested the time and Damian's got our reservation the way we wanted it.

I gave 4 stars for food as one person in our group got her dinner which between the kitchen and the waiter never should have been served to her. The dish was basically burned. She said something to the waiter and he promptly took it back and she got a salad instead. But they did prepare a whole meal for her to take home as well as comping her dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good and service was excellent, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was good and service was excellent, all as expected. I've eaten at Damian's on many occasions and never been disappointed

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I always go here before o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My husband and I always go here before our theatre outings. It's so nice to be able to take the shuttle service. We just valet our car, have dinner, go to our show and leave. No traffic, no parking fees, and no driving downtown. Love, love, love, this place!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant! Food is excellent and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great restaurant! Food is excellent and so is the service. I like the atmosphere. Great location for anything in downtown Houston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Dinner

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Christmas Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always. Nothing that we di ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent as always. Nothing that we did not like. Only complaint at all is that it can get a bit pricey for Italian food. That said, it is the best we have found in Houston by far!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was great expect I believe I ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This place was great expect I believe I got food poisoning from the flounder.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We arrived about 20 minutes before our r ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We arrived about 20 minutes before our reservation, but were seated promptly. We were a party of 5. All ordered different dishes. The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. Everyone enjoyed the food and the service. We then left our vehicle at the restaurant and took the complimentary shuttle to and from the theater. Overall, it was a wonderful dining experience and evening. I would highly recommend this restaurant for dinner with clients, a group or a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Italian at its best. Wonderful se ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Family Italian at its best. Wonderful service and a beautiful atmosphere inside. The selections were excellent and the food tastes heavenly. Even better that there is a free shuttle to/from the Theater District, so this makes the perfect restaurant to dine at before a nice night in the city. We will most certainly be returning here again and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster bisque is always my favorite ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The lobster bisque is always my favorite and it is highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was an outstanding experience. Exce ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This was an outstanding experience. Excellent food, excellent service, and very reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the shuttle to show and quick valet ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Love the shuttle to show and quick valet. Great meal selection. Waiters very attentive. Will be back

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, excellent! Waiter in black j ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 13, 2016

As always, excellent! Waiter in black jackets everywhere. Service excellent. Food excellent. Good wine selection at all prices. Food prices from moderate ($16-18) to $30/40s. Still one of our favorite places. We never feel disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fabulous!!! We use Favors de ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Absolutely fabulous!!! We use Favors delivery many times for home. This place is A-1

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.