About Damian's Cucina Italiana

3011 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

For over 30 years Damian's Cucina Italiana has been known worldwide as the top authentic Italian restaurant in Houston, Texas. Set in an old-world atmosphere which is elegant, yet warm and friendly, diners at Damian's are accustomed to extensive menu offerings, specially tailored dishes, and weekly specials created by Chef Napolean Palacios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Anita / Rosalie

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-0439

Website:
http://www.damians.com/

Entertainment:
Damian's offers complimentary shuttle service after dinner to the Wortham Center, Hobby Center, and Jones Hall.

Catering:
Call the event planner for catering details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Barillas

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for our upstairs private party functions.

Private Dining

Our Private dining rooms seat from 10 to 140ppl.

Damian's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Houston
Best Service
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

Special Occasion (50)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Business Meals (32)
See All
Good for Groups (30)
Good for a Date (30)
Authentic (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Romantic (27)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (9)
Historic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (4)
Private Room (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorite restaurants and one o ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants and one of the very best in town. Nothing trendy, nothing paleo, nouveau, or hip. Just consistently excellent food; outstanding service; the best martini in Houston; and a relaxing atmosphere. Perfection every time! Everything and anything you order will be wonderful and know that Damian's prepares fish as well as anywhere. And if you are going to any downtown show, the shuttle bus service is a win win. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very friendly atmosphere but our waiter ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Very friendly atmosphere but our waiter had a little attitude, failed to listen. Food is amazing as always. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I've eaten in Damians for over 25 years. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

I've eaten in Damians for over 25 years. This is one of the few times I was disappointed with the food. My Veal Marsala was passable at best. The sauce was so so. The veal really didn't have much flavor. For the price I would have thought it would have been of better quality. It just didn't taste as good as you would expect from a Damian entree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Always delicious food, great service and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always delicious food, great service and nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal - food and drinks were gr ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent meal - food and drinks were great. Service is very attentive.

Our group challenges them with payment since we like to split checks and they don't do separate checks, so it can be a little slow and awkward at the end.

We love the shuttle to the theatre district!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Thanks for offering a shuttle to the the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Thanks for offering a shuttle to the theater!!! Great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our party of four ate a pre theatre meal ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our party of four ate a pre theatre meal. Because of traffic issues we arrived fifteen minutes after our scheduled confirmation time but were promptly seated . We told our waiter, Juan, that we were going to a concert and he promptly took our orders and promptly(without us feeling rushed) served us and we were able to enjoy delicious meals. We were able to get on Damien's shuttle at its scheduled departure time and arrive at the concert hall in plenty of time. The veal marsala was the best I have ever eaten and the other three members of our party also enjoyed their fish dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Damian's whenever we have an ev ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We go to Damian's whenever we have an event downtown, and would go there for a special event too. The food is great and the service is fantastic. I recently messed up on the shuttle time for our event and they went out of their way to get us there on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want a place that treats you as a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

If you want a place that treats you as a customer and wants you to enjoy your meal and time at the restaurant this is the place.. On most evenings it is quiet so to have a business or pleasure conversation.. They do not rush you but caters to your needs.. The bartender is very nice and waiters here are seasoned... meaning they know what to do and how to do it...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sea Bass was great. The bread was fresh ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Sea Bass was great. The bread was fresh and much better than you find at other places. All in all, a fine dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I had dinner here. Our first ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My wife and I had dinner here. Our first time eating at Damian's. Lets get to the main course....we decided to try out their seafood. I had the red snapper and my wife had the trout. My dish was very delicious. My wife said the trout was good but was a little salty for her taste. Overall, it was worth trying. I would give a 7 out of 10.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good! We miss Armando but the fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always good! We miss Armando but the food and service was still excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food & Service were outstanding. Do not ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food & Service were outstanding. Do not miss the shrimp damian, carbonara, lasagna, chicken with lemon & olives, spaghetti Bolognese. Tiramisu was fabulous. Cocktails were very generous. Every person who worked was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Damions has consistently good food! I ha ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Damions has consistently good food! I have never been disappointed in meal I have had there. Portion sizes are large, can easily split with another person. Service is right on que.

Tags: Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a consistently good meal. Service ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Always a consistently good meal. Service is stellar. And the shuttle to the Hobby Center is so convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, service exceptio ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was delicious, service exceptional; very satisfied

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well done, once again!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Well done, once again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love coming here on the nights we go ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We love coming here on the nights we go to see The Houston Symphony at Jones Hall.

They have very nice vans that shuttle us to the front door at Jones Hall and are waiting for us after the concert is over. So convenient and it is all at no cost! A great delicious meal with our favorite waiter Benjamin and free transportation! It is a GREAT experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Great place ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great place to dine before a show. The valet parking makes it easy in and out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time we dined here. Food was fanta ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 3, 2016

First time we dined here. Food was fantastic and HOT lime it is supposed to be. Perfect. Service was outstanding. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great meal and nice to have the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always a great meal and nice to have the shuttle service to the theatre district makes a great night out.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. One of my favorite business ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food. One of my favorite business lunch places downtown. Highly recommended

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another successful customer dinner at Da ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Another successful customer dinner at Damian's.

My wife and I have seasons tickets for the theater and Damian's is the best option for a pre-show meal. Also, they accommodate our vegan diet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

very classic place. good food and fast s ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

very classic place. good food and fast service. Conveniently located closed to everything

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious food, especially the Gnocci Ve ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Delicious food, especially the Gnocci Verdi, Salmon Paillard, and the Infusione di Cioccolato...OMG! Service was great - attentive and nice people. Ambience was perfect - quiet and lovely...overall had a fantastic time!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service . Tasty food

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great service . Tasty food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our lovely experience began with PERFECT ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our lovely experience began with PERFECT execution of our request for a quiet table. Our server then assisted us in selecting a wine that fit perfectly with our preferences and followed up with entrée support that was spot-on. Husband's lasagna was authentic and not over-done with cheese (American style) and my seafood linguine was amazing and light - loved the lump crabmeat!! The salted chocolate caramel cake balanced out my light pasta...but was SO worth it!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is one of the old mainstays for Ita ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is one of the old mainstays for Italian fine dining in Houston. There is a traditional ambiance that has disappeared in most restaurants. The food is very good and very dependable. It is grownup dining at it's best in Houston.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Damian's is an excellent choice for dini ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Damian's is an excellent choice for dining before attending an event in the Theater District. The shuttle is just a sidebar to the wonderful food and impeccable service. Business lunches or dinners can be more productive because of the low noise level. The decor is very warm and welcoming. The wait staff are top shelf. The Parmesan crusted asparagus and the sausage & roasted peppers antipastas were a wonderful start. The lobster bisque in a bread bowl was lucious. The salads were fresh and crisp, try the Mona Lisa. The entrees were well prepared and of generous portion. The house chianti tied it all together. Damian's is an excellent value for your dining dollar.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been to Damian's in a while, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had not been to Damian's in a while, but we're going to go back soon! Everything about our lunch was absolutely perfect. The Gavi by the glass was lovely. Our server was attentive, but not hovering. We split a salad, and then had pasta entrees. My gluten free pasta with clams was delicious, and the veal ravioli was extremely tasty. Perhaps one of the nicest things (other than food and service) was that the noise level was just right. A bit of conversation could be heard from other tables so that you knew people were enjoying themselves, but we did not have to shout or strain to have a conversation ourselves.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were celebrating a birthday and had a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 12, 2016

we were celebrating a birthday and had an 8 year old with us. They treated her very nicely and she enjoyed it and was thrilled with the happy birthday singing for her mother.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been coming to Damien's for busin ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I have been coming to Damien's for business and big occasions for 20 years. It is still my favorite for quality Italian cuisine and ambiance.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Our favor ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Our favorite place to eat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is always so wonderful. It ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food here is always so wonderful. It's a special place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was rushing us at first. I a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Our waiter was rushing us at first. I asked for a wine list and he brought the food menu and said there are wines by he glass in here you can look at. I was taken aback. He came back and my daughter asked him again for a wine list. He brought us one. My husband and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary, but the waiter did not seem interested or treat us a little special. Otherwise the food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Awesome wait staff. So friendly and help ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Awesome wait staff. So friendly and helpful. Great recommendation on the wine, and didn't go to the most expensive in our consideration set. Real class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite restaurants in all of ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in all of Houston! Table side Caesar and the Lobster Bisque are must haves. Always amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food! Many choices and sp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great Italian food! Many choices and specials. Outstanding service by our server - Vic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere at Damian's is very class ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The atmosphere at Damian's is very classy, relaxed and inviting. The staff is very respectful and engaging, not pushy nor make you feel rushed. Not a place for children who can't keep themselves in their seats. As for the food, OMG, excellent is putting it lightly from appetizer to dessert everything tasted outstanding. You need to try Damian's - you won't regret it!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic Italian! Great quality.

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Classic Italian! Great quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.