About Damian's Cucina Italiana

3011 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

For over 30 years Damian's Cucina Italiana has been known worldwide as the top authentic Italian restaurant in Houston, Texas. Set in an old-world atmosphere which is elegant, yet warm and friendly, diners at Damian's are accustomed to extensive menu offerings, specially tailored dishes, and weekly specials created by Chef Napolean Palacios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Anita / Rosalie

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-0439

Website:
http://www.damians.com/

Entertainment:
Damian's offers complimentary shuttle service after dinner to the Wortham Center, Hobby Center, and Jones Hall.

Catering:
Call the event planner for catering details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Barillas

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for our upstairs private party functions.

Private Dining

Our Private dining rooms seat from 10 to 140ppl.

Damian's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

Special Occasion (75)
Romantic (54)
Good for Groups (40)
See All
Notable Wine List (38)
Great for Lunch (32)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Italian food! Many choices and sp ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great Italian food! Many choices and specials. Outstanding service by our server - Vic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere at Damian's is very class ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

The atmosphere at Damian's is very classy, relaxed and inviting. The staff is very respectful and engaging, not pushy nor make you feel rushed. Not a place for children who can't keep themselves in their seats. As for the food, OMG, excellent is putting it lightly from appetizer to dessert everything tasted outstanding. You need to try Damian's - you won't regret it!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic Italian! Great quality.

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Classic Italian! Great quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was quite good, but I thought t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The meal was quite good, but I thought the wine list was surprisingly limited, and desserts were nothing special.......

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Damian's is our favorite. The food is ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Damian's is our favorite. The food is always fantastic, service superb and the overall experience unforgettable. We especially appreciated the personal service provided by Armando.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well established restaurant. Service was ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Well established restaurant. Service was perfect but unfortunately the food was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Excellent as always!!! I have been going ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent as always!!! I have been going to Damian's since I was young...I was there for my birthday and I almost always go every year... I love the food and you cannot get any better Italian in Houston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak tasted like charcoal. Would not ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Steak tasted like charcoal. Would not go back or refer. If all the food tasted this poorly I am suprised this resturant is still open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

The food was memorable as always over ou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The food was memorable as always over our 20 years of visits. The restaurant itself is looking a little tired and musty. Not many patrons but it was a Tuesday night. The waitstaff was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The service was excellent, except for on ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The service was excellent, except for one tiny little hiccup on the bill which was quickly cleared up. The food was very good, and I spend a lot of time in Italy, so I'm very picky. I will definitely return.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and the food and w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was great and the food and wine wonderful. A bit more crowded and loud than I like, but that is what it is like when it is Restaurant Month. Will try again in a few weeks.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fabulous before going to the theatre.... ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

fabulous before going to the theatre.....exceptional service and care.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried Damian's for Restaurant Week an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We tried Damian's for Restaurant Week and look forward to going back. The food was delicious, the staff was very friendly and the wine was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were amazing as usual. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food and service were amazing as usual. Highly recommend the table side Caesar and lobster bisque!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and generous for th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was amazing and generous for the price. The service was outstanding and a great place to go pre-post theater.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going to Damian's for over 30 ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I've been going to Damian's for over 30 years. It is a terrific restaurant. I have never had a bad meal.

They have friendly waiters, great food, valet parking.

I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous! We had not been ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was fabulous! We had not been in a few years and we cannot figure out why! Two of us had the Restaurant Week menu and the other two ordered a la carte. We shared many things and everyone raved. The martinis were fabulous as well . The service was professional...attentive but did not rush us. We will be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places for dinner an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of our favorite places for dinner and theater. Great food and service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table side Caesar salad is the best. Foo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Table side Caesar salad is the best. Food was very delicious, love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had been to Damian's before, but this ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I had been to Damian's before, but this was the first time I'd taken my sister. She couldn't get enough of the lovely decorations when we first walked in. I had booked it for the Restaurant Week in Houston and I enjoyed a grilled chicken fillet and fettuccini alfredo. She got the steak with mushroom sauce. Polished off the night with wonderful bread pudding. I would highly recommend Daimian's for special occasions or a quiet get together with friends. It was a wonderfully calm atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined here many times over the ye ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have dined here many times over the years and have found the food and service to be outstanding. The atmosphere is inviting and subdued noise level is a plus.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first visit and it was fabul ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was my first visit and it was fabulous! It was raining and to have the complimentary valet with umbrellas handy to assist us getting out of the car was so nice! The ambience and the food was wonderful, a little pricy for lunch but it was still great and I will highly recommend to my friends and colleagues.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the table side Caesar Salad and i ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had the table side Caesar Salad and it was amazing the risotto is also to die for!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding as we ordered f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was outstanding as we ordered from the Restaurant Week menu. We attended the Frankie Valli venue but had plenty of time to casually eat dinner and catch the shuttle to the Wortham. Service was extremely attentive. Wonderful place for dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Waiter offered to make a dis ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food. Waiter offered to make a dish off menu. Only weak spot wine list which has no California wines. Overall great place I would go back to.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Very good service and the food was great ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very good service and the food was great. Never had a bad meal there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The recommendation we received did not m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The recommendation we received did not match our experience. Our waiter was pleasant and efficient. The salads were overdressed. The pasta dishes were inconsistent. Desserts were poor, except for the gelato.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Fantastic place to go before the theater ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic place to go before the theater. They provide a shuttle to take you and pick you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I were going to the theate ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My friend and I were going to the theater so we decided to go to Damian's . We had a wonderful meal with wonderful waitstaff. After a leisurely dinner, we were told our theater shuttle was waiting. We were dropped off and picked up at the front of the theater . Also, even though the restaurant was closed, the maitre d' waited for everyone's return in the event they needed anything. Damian's is a lovely restaurant with great food so it's my new favorite restaurant .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Famous Houston institution of the Mandol ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Famous Houston institution of the Mandola Family group. Classic Italian fare done in the finest manner. a must go to experience a slice of Houston history.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was terrific as always. Some of th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was terrific as always. Some of the best service in the city with waiters who have been with the restaurant for over 20 years. The consistency of the food at Damian's is simply amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Will definit ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time there. Fabulous in every ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our first time there.

Fabulous in every respect.

The food was to die for (sweet potato ravioli omg!), the service was truly first class with an appropriate level of personal friendliness, and the ambiance was just right--comfortable and classy without being stuffy or pretentious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great to come here for a business ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Always great to come here for a business meeting. Great customer service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have wanted to eat here for years. Fin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I have wanted to eat here for years. Finally, after 25 years I finally made it. And it was worth it. Excellent food. Attentive service. Very happy with the entire experience from appetizers to dessert. I will be a more frequent guest !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Damian's numerous times. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have been to Damian's numerous times. Never a average or bad experience. Always great. Excellent service from the time we drive up to the time we get our table. Menu selections is always outstanding as is the service. We will keep coming back.

Also, was my first time using the "Damian's" round trip shuttle to a play. Outstanding guest feature. My wife has used this service a few times and had my expectations built up. Did not fail.

All the best to the entire Damian's staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Damian's has impeccable service and wond ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Damian's has impeccable service and wonderful food. There menu has something for everyone prepared with the highest quality products .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Convenient shuttle to the theater distri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Convenient shuttle to the theater district at 7:30pm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Damian's before the theater is a real jo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Damian's before the theater is a real joy. Armondo always provides great service and recommendations about special off the menu items the chef has prepared. The management always warmly greets you and checks on if the food is prepared to your satisfaction. Great wine selection and always a great recommendation if you need a tie-breaker between two wines. Starting with a Sicilian Cosmo and ending with a wonderful desert, it is a relaxed dining experience that makes you want to hurry back.

Daryl & Bobbie J

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at the chef's table. It was an ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We dined at the chef's table. It was an amazing experience. our personal waiter was fantastic. Francisco the chef gave us a tour of the kitchen and explained all the details of how the kitchen works. All of the cooks were friendly and greeted us. Since it was a weeknight and they were not very busy the chef invited us to help prepare our own pasta dish. Therefore I would recommend the Week night Chef's Table experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.