About Damian's Cucina Italiana

3011 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

For 31 years Damian's Cucina Italiana has been known worldwide as the top authentic Italian restaurant in Houston, Texas. Set in an old-world atmosphere which is elegant, yet warm and friendly, diners at Damian's are accustomed to extensive menu offerings, specially tailored dishes, and weekly specials created by Chef Napolean Palacios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Anita / Rosalie

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-0439

Website:
http://www.damians.com/

Entertainment:
Damian's offers complimentary shuttle service after dinner to the Wortham Center, Hobby Center, and Jones Hall.

Catering:
Call the event planner for catering details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Barillas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for our upstairs private party functions.

Private Dining

Our Private dining rooms seat from 10 to 140ppl.

Damian's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

special occasion (91)
romantic (65)
fit for foodies (48)
See All
good for groups (39)
great for lunch (30)
notable wine list (29)
neighborhood gem (28)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the stuffed veal chop was outstanding. W ...

Dined 6 days ago

the stuffed veal chop was outstanding. Wish they would redo the bar area and make it more appealing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We've eaten here a couple times now for ...

Dined 6 days ago

We've eaten here a couple times now for different occasions and have never been disappointed in anything except our lack of tummy space to take in all the delicious variety of excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and fantastic food. Th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great atmosphere and fantastic food. The seafood daily special with risotto was fantastic. The veal picatta is outstanding - the best of any restaurant in Houston. We love this place for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Damians a number of tim ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

We have dined at Damians a number of times, and every time it's just great! The service is always spot on...not too much attention, just the right amount. And our dinners were very nice too. I had the piccata this time which was very tasty. And we all enjoyed the wine list as usual! We will return soon.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I take valued clients to dine at Damian' ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I take valued clients to dine at Damian's. The service is fantastic, the food is fantastic and you can hold a conversation and have a relaxing lunch.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The flounder was so fresh! All our food ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The flounder was so fresh! All our food was delicious! The service was so attentive that you had to put your hand over your tea to keep them from refilling your glass every few minutes.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service are always outstanding! ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and service are always outstanding! Perfect place for a business lunch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Theater Go To

Dined on June 8, 2016

I love that that provide a free shuttle to all the theaters. It saves me the trouble of trying to maneuver a parking garage. After the show, the bus is waiting. My leftovers (if I have any) are waiting for me at the restaurant. Perfect for a show night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Would not recommend

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

It was so cold inside, even the men complained. I did not find anything Italian about the food other than the names. Their cooking has been totally Americanized with lots of cheese on the chicken Marsala and too much oil or butter on the Red Snapper. Get an Italian Chef.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Good food, and even better service.

Dined on June 7, 2016

From the moment you walk in you are treated like Family. The entire staff, from management on down, is very attentive. Appetizers and Entrees are excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on June 4, 2016

We dined at Damian's prior to going to the theater. The food was wonderful, the service exceptional. They were timely without being rushed to get food out so we could depart with plenty of time to get to the theater.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and dishes always excel.

Dined on June 1, 2016

The service and dishes always excel.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed immensely!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Feeling that we are spoiled with fabulous food in Houston, we truly felt that this restaurant is a gem. The food was spectacular as was the service. We will return again very soon ;)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian Resturant with quality service

Dined on May 27, 2016

This is a restaurant with a standing history of excellence! This was our first visit and there was nothing to disappoint. Outstanding service by one of the long time servers, Benjimin, with great suggestions on every question. Very comfortable seating and the ambiance was great for any occasion. The 48 oz. veal chop was outstanding. Made a few special requests that were handled perfectly. Hats off to the Chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The presentation of the food is great. O ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The presentation of the food is great. Our server was first rate. Got the chicken dish with goat cheese and dried tomatoes and added a side salad. Very accommodating about no onions in salad. The chicken was a little chewy but great flavor. I have real problem with tolerating garlic flavoring although I don't think it was too heavy for most. In retrospect I should have inquired about skipping the garlic. The speed of service and attentiveness was perfect

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As one of the Great Italian families in ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

As one of the Great Italian families in Houston,, You can always rely on having a great meal

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, and great service!

Dined on May 23, 2016

Delicious food, and great service!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolute favorite restaurant in the worl ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolute favorite restaurant in the world. Food is great; service is about the best you'll find in the city. Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Consistently good

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food that should be served chilled is exactly that. And beautifully plated without being fussy. Our main courses arrived piping hot. My husband had briefly left the table and our waiter had sense enough not to put the plates down until he returned. Old school proper! The wine we choose was nice and the mark up very reasonable. We did not have dessert because we were stuffed. I forget to mention the Focaccia served at the beginning of our meal. Piping hot and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible Italian!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband and I went to Damian's for the first time last weekend. Every single aspect of our experience, from the valet to the dessert was top notch. The table-side Ceasar salad was the best I've ever had, and their lobster bisque is amazing! We will most definitely be adding Damian's to our regular restaurant rotation!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service can improve

Dined on May 15, 2016

I love Damian's food. The taste of their traditional Italian cuisine is great. The ambiance is good and the valet service excellent. But the waiters service is "underwhelming" in my opinion. I have been at Damian's twice and I for sure will go back but both times I have been attended by waiters that have very heavy Spanish accents and trouble with the English language. Language would not be a problem if they are least were friendly. They are not. When one of my guest asked for recommendations, the waiter's answer was "everything on the menu is good". Well, I certainly hope that wasn't the answer Mr. Mandola was looking for when his waiters were hired. Nevertheless, good food like in all the Mandola's restaurants.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great, tiramisu spectacular an ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was great, tiramisu spectacular and the shuttle to the Hobby Center made for a completely enjoyable and stress free evening. The quiet setting is the best Dining experience for entertaining friends, always enjoy being there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Insalata Naparst which is a favorite ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The Insalata Naparst which is a favorite was lacking needing more acid and seasoning--it was flat, a very unusual event.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, professional waitstaff t ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent food, professional waitstaff that can read your mind, great wine list at not over the top prices. One of my favorites!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We have been to Damiens several times ov ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been to Damiens several times over the years and have generally had good experiences. On Mother's Day I took my wife, daughter and grand daughter. There was a fixed menu, which I wasn't aware of but was probably my fault for not paying attention. Our choices were limited and were basically forced to get a salad or soup, main course and dessert as it was a fixed price. They did make a cesear salad for my grand daughter as she didn't want any of those offered. Main courses were average but not worth the cost, Drinks were very average and expensive. The fixed menu and cost were both in the restaurants favor. They got to limit the choices and charge more than the individuals items would have totaled. I was not a SPECIAL experience on a special day.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service . One of Hous ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and service . One of Houston's best.

food5
ambience4
service4

We had a big party (8) and they did a gr ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a big party (8) and they did a great job serving us so we got to the theater on time. Food is always excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect Pre-Theatre & Shuttle Downtown

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Damians did a great for a group of 8 of us on a Friday night. We had excellent service and even though it was early in the evening, it was packed and there was a warm, vibrant ambiance. We were on our way to a show at Hobby Center, and Damians took us straight downtown at 7:30 and dropped us off and picked us up after. I love not worrying about parking downtown, and you can relax and enjoy your meal without feeling rushed. Great pre-theatre pick.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Another successful evening

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Damians provides the perfect location for meeting clients before the theater. Food is good, service is excellent and one does not feel rushed. Damians also accommodated our vegan diet.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place!!!!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We went to dinner before the theatre and it was fabulous. The food is always great. I had shrimp and my husband had filet mignon and we both enjoyed out dinners. The specialty cocktails were interesting and very different so that added to our enjoyment. Will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and even better food. ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Excellent service and even better food. Will be going again soon. Ask for Fred.

food5
ambience4
service4

My sister and I enjoyed a dinner meal at ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

My sister and I enjoyed a dinner meal at Damian's after seeing an afternoon show. Overall the meal was wonderful but it seemed a little rushed. We had to tell more than one person we were not using the shuttle and attending an evening show. This restaurant never disappoints! The food is wonderful.

food5
ambience4
service5

Eating at Damian's is always a pleasant ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Eating at Damian's is always a pleasant experience. The food is uniformly fresh, expertly prepared, and nicely presented. "0sso Buco" is a favorite when available. "Insulata Neparst" is my go to dish. The waitstaff is friendly, but unobtrusive, and competent. A big bonus is Damian's shuttle bus, which takes diners to any one of the downtown theaters during the week, as well as on Saturday evening. Make sure to reserve a seat on the bus when you make a dinner reservation.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a pleasure ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Damian's is always an easy answer for dinner, as it's located quite close (hotel shuttle) to where we always stay (recently returned to its origin as The Whitehall). The ambience, always calm and quiet, makes for easy conversation, and there is, importantly, a well-seasoned wait staff whom we recognize year after year after year! The food is usually spot on, from pastas to pork and veal, to fish. The one disappointment this time was the crab-stuffed portobello; the mushroom having been baked and rebaked to the toughness and density of shoe leather. We did not complain, but we should have, since only the crabmeat could be consumed. Otherwise, Damian's is an enjoyable dinner out for those us who don't require loud music, the crush of boisterous under-30s, or a rowdy bar scene.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun with our granddaughter!

Dined on April 14, 2016

We took our 10-year-old granddaughter to Damian's before seeing a show at Hobby Center. Our server treated her like a valued diner. After one bite of her buttered noodles, she asked, "Is there a Damian's in Southlake (Texas)?" We rode the free Damian's shuttle to and from the theater. We may never park in the parking garage again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just Plain Brilliant

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food and service can be summarized in one word: Superb.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great

Dined on April 9, 2016

Planned the evening for an early birthday celebration for my wife. The ambience was romantic; the food was great, and the service impeccable. They provided a shuttle to the Houston Symphony, making the evening more special and relaxed. Great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I was somewhat disappointed in the food quality.

Dined on April 5, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed in the food quality. I have eaten there before and really enjoyed my dish. This time there was entirely too much tomato sauce which drowned out the taste. Probably would not order that dish again, but afraid the quality is not the same as it has been in the past.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food & service

Dined on March 29, 2016

An excellent, enjoyable evening. Great food and attentive, friendly service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ride to symphony. Got fed with ple ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Great ride to symphony. Got fed with plenty of time.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.