About Damian's Cucina Italiana

3011 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

For 31 years Damian's Cucina Italiana has been known worldwide as the top authentic Italian restaurant in Houston, Texas. Set in an old-world atmosphere which is elegant, yet warm and friendly, diners at Damian's are accustomed to extensive menu offerings, specially tailored dishes, and weekly specials created by Chef Napolean Palacios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Anita / Rosalie

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-0439

Website:
http://www.damians.com/

Entertainment:
Damian's offers complimentary shuttle service after dinner to the Wortham Center, Hobby Center, and Jones Hall.

Catering:
Call the event planner for catering details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Barillas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for our upstairs private party functions.

Private Dining

Our Private dining rooms seat from 10 to 140ppl.

Damian's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

Special Occasion (88)
Romantic (63)
Fit for Foodies (43)
See All
Notable Wine List (40)
Good for Groups (37)
Great for Lunch (36)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Hot Spot (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite places for dinner an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

One of our favorite places for dinner and theater. Great food and service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table side Caesar salad is the best. Foo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Table side Caesar salad is the best. Food was very delicious, love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had been to Damian's before, but this ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had been to Damian's before, but this was the first time I'd taken my sister. She couldn't get enough of the lovely decorations when we first walked in. I had booked it for the Restaurant Week in Houston and I enjoyed a grilled chicken fillet and fettuccini alfredo. She got the steak with mushroom sauce. Polished off the night with wonderful bread pudding. I would highly recommend Daimian's for special occasions or a quiet get together with friends. It was a wonderfully calm atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined here many times over the ye ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have dined here many times over the years and have found the food and service to be outstanding. The atmosphere is inviting and subdued noise level is a plus.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first visit and it was fabul ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was my first visit and it was fabulous! It was raining and to have the complimentary valet with umbrellas handy to assist us getting out of the car was so nice! The ambience and the food was wonderful, a little pricy for lunch but it was still great and I will highly recommend to my friends and colleagues.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding as we ordered f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was outstanding as we ordered from the Restaurant Week menu. We attended the Frankie Valli venue but had plenty of time to casually eat dinner and catch the shuttle to the Wortham. Service was extremely attentive. Wonderful place for dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Waiter offered to make a dis ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food. Waiter offered to make a dish off menu. Only weak spot wine list which has no California wines. Overall great place I would go back to.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Very good service and the food was great ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very good service and the food was great. Never had a bad meal there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The recommendation we received did not m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The recommendation we received did not match our experience. Our waiter was pleasant and efficient. The salads were overdressed. The pasta dishes were inconsistent. Desserts were poor, except for the gelato.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Fantastic place to go before the theater ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic place to go before the theater. They provide a shuttle to take you and pick you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I were going to the theate ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My friend and I were going to the theater so we decided to go to Damian's . We had a wonderful meal with wonderful waitstaff. After a leisurely dinner, we were told our theater shuttle was waiting. We were dropped off and picked up at the front of the theater . Also, even though the restaurant was closed, the maitre d' waited for everyone's return in the event they needed anything. Damian's is a lovely restaurant with great food so it's my new favorite restaurant .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Famous Houston institution of the Mandol ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Famous Houston institution of the Mandola Family group. Classic Italian fare done in the finest manner. a must go to experience a slice of Houston history.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was terrific as always. Some of th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was terrific as always. Some of the best service in the city with waiters who have been with the restaurant for over 20 years. The consistency of the food at Damian's is simply amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Will definit ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time there. Fabulous in every ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our first time there.

Fabulous in every respect.

The food was to die for (sweet potato ravioli omg!), the service was truly first class with an appropriate level of personal friendliness, and the ambiance was just right--comfortable and classy without being stuffy or pretentious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great to come here for a business ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Always great to come here for a business meeting. Great customer service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have wanted to eat here for years. Fin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I have wanted to eat here for years. Finally, after 25 years I finally made it. And it was worth it. Excellent food. Attentive service. Very happy with the entire experience from appetizers to dessert. I will be a more frequent guest !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Damian's numerous times. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have been to Damian's numerous times. Never a average or bad experience. Always great. Excellent service from the time we drive up to the time we get our table. Menu selections is always outstanding as is the service. We will keep coming back.

Also, was my first time using the "Damian's" round trip shuttle to a play. Outstanding guest feature. My wife has used this service a few times and had my expectations built up. Did not fail.

All the best to the entire Damian's staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Damian's has impeccable service and wond ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Damian's has impeccable service and wonderful food. There menu has something for everyone prepared with the highest quality products .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Convenient shuttle to the theater distri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Convenient shuttle to the theater district at 7:30pm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Damian's before the theater is a real jo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Damian's before the theater is a real joy. Armondo always provides great service and recommendations about special off the menu items the chef has prepared. The management always warmly greets you and checks on if the food is prepared to your satisfaction. Great wine selection and always a great recommendation if you need a tie-breaker between two wines. Starting with a Sicilian Cosmo and ending with a wonderful desert, it is a relaxed dining experience that makes you want to hurry back.

Daryl & Bobbie J

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at the chef's table. It was an ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We dined at the chef's table. It was an amazing experience. our personal waiter was fantastic. Francisco the chef gave us a tour of the kitchen and explained all the details of how the kitchen works. All of the cooks were friendly and greeted us. Since it was a weeknight and they were not very busy the chef invited us to help prepare our own pasta dish. Therefore I would recommend the Week night Chef's Table experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a wonderful restaurant if you're ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant if you're going to anything in the theater district. The shuttle is wonderful...hop on, drop off, then pick back up after. So convenient! And the food and ambiance are fantastic. Never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service from everyone involved. E ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

great service from everyone involved. Even the parking valets were super friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at Damians is ALWAYS amazing!! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food at Damians is ALWAYS amazing!! The service is beyond anything I've experienced....these guys work together very well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, exemplary service!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fabulous food, exemplary service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter was just doing his job and no ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The waiter was just doing his job and not doing that very well. He was very matter of fact. He had no personality. The host was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Ben G was our server. Table staff very a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Ben G was our server. Table staff very attentive. Food was great as always--I had the seafood pescatore (off the menu), and delicious. Wines excellent. Our 27th year in Houston, and Damian's always wonderful for special occasions and people. Bravo!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Damian's is always great. Excellent food ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Damian's is always great. Excellent food & service and you don't have to worry about the noise level being so loud you cannot hear yourself, much less your dining companion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dinner prior to an event at the The ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best Dinner prior to an event at the Theater district. Great food and service with a theater shuttle included! no parking, not walking for miles, no waiting in traffic to get in and out. It made the whole experience stress free. Also, we had a 10 year old in our party, they treated her like a young lady! She is now a big fan too...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food Excellant! Service Incredible! Atmo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food Excellant! Service Incredible! Atmosphere Exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but unremarkable.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was good but unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I ordered spinach gnocchi as my main cou ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I ordered spinach gnocchi as my main course along with a salad. The food was good as usual.

My main complaint is that the herb bread should be a little less oily and possibly slightly less dense but overall good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful atmosphere! Quiet, and comfort ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere! Quiet, and comfortable dining. We could even have a conversation with our guests. The service was very good, someone was always near if we needed anything. The food was wonderful. This is one of our very favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizer calamari was extremely over co ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Appetizer calamari was extremely over cooked(very rubbery). My dish had decent(mostly from the pesto topping) flavor but the crust of the pork chops was very soggy. The pork chop itself was not seasoned well. My wife got the special seafood pasta dish of the night and the amount of sauce that was given was more like a cream soup with pasta. First time diners here and will not be back. Not the way we wanted to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Service and Food both excellent! Servic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service and Food both excellent! Service was extremely accommodating with our needs and went above and beyond to see they were met!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Damien's is a standard for others to fol ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Damien's is a standard for others to follow. I like the food in new places but Damien's is old school, great food and waiters that know the art of serving. Attentative staff, but great food. Had the snapper and it was excellent! I know the food will always be good at Damien's. We will be back and hope to go more often! You can have a conversation without having to scream across the table!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old midtown Resturant ... Old location ( ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Old midtown Resturant ... Old location (10+ years) ... Old family recipes ...and a NEW taste experience every time I go! Great plates of food...we had chicken, veal and fish and all 3 were perfect. Attentive service. They rushed their service to get us to the theatre...or I would still be there ordering another course. Go. Go back...it's still wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quality has not diminished with new owne ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Quality has not diminished with new ownership. Service & food is still exceptional

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The veal Marsala was the only good dish ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The veal Marsala was the only good dish there. There were 4 of us dining and the rest of us got sick from our shrimp entrées. So only one dish out of 4 was any good. We were disappointed unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.