About Damian's Cucina Italiana

3011 Smith Street
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

For 31 years Damian's Cucina Italiana has been known worldwide as the top authentic Italian restaurant in Houston, Texas. Set in an old-world atmosphere which is elegant, yet warm and friendly, diners at Damian's are accustomed to extensive menu offerings, specially tailored dishes, and weekly specials created by Chef Napolean Palacios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Anita / Rosalie

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 522-0439

Website:
http://www.damians.com/

Entertainment:
Damian's offers complimentary shuttle service after dinner to the Wortham Center, Hobby Center, and Jones Hall.

Catering:
Call the event planner for catering details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Barillas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for our upstairs private party functions.

Private Dining

Our Private dining rooms seat from 10 to 140ppl.

Damian's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

special occasion (75)
romantic (51)
fit for foodies (36)
See All
notable wine list (33)
good for groups (30)
great for lunch (25)
neighborhood gem (24)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous food, exemplary service!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous food, exemplary service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter was just doing his job and no ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The waiter was just doing his job and not doing that very well. He was very matter of fact. He had no personality. The host was great.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Ben G was our server. Table staff very a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Ben G was our server. Table staff very attentive. Food was great as always--I had the seafood pescatore (off the menu), and delicious. Wines excellent. Our 27th year in Houston, and Damian's always wonderful for special occasions and people. Bravo!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Damian's is always great. Excellent food ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Damian's is always great. Excellent food & service and you don't have to worry about the noise level being so loud you cannot hear yourself, much less your dining companion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dinner prior to an event at the The ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best Dinner prior to an event at the Theater district. Great food and service with a theater shuttle included! no parking, not walking for miles, no waiting in traffic to get in and out. It made the whole experience stress free. Also, we had a 10 year old in our party, they treated her like a young lady! She is now a big fan too...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food Excellant! Service Incredible! Atmo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food Excellant! Service Incredible! Atmosphere Exceptional.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but unremarkable.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was good but unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Wonderful atmosphere! Quiet, and comfort ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere! Quiet, and comfortable dining. We could even have a conversation with our guests. The service was very good, someone was always near if we needed anything. The food was wonderful. This is one of our very favorite restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizer calamari was extremely over co ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Appetizer calamari was extremely over cooked(very rubbery). My dish had decent(mostly from the pesto topping) flavor but the crust of the pork chops was very soggy. The pork chop itself was not seasoned well. My wife got the special seafood pasta dish of the night and the amount of sauce that was given was more like a cream soup with pasta. First time diners here and will not be back. Not the way we wanted to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Service and Food both excellent! Servic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service and Food both excellent! Service was extremely accommodating with our needs and went above and beyond to see they were met!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Damien's is a standard for others to fol ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Damien's is a standard for others to follow. I like the food in new places but Damien's is old school, great food and waiters that know the art of serving. Attentative staff, but great food. Had the snapper and it was excellent! I know the food will always be good at Damien's. We will be back and hope to go more often! You can have a conversation without having to scream across the table!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old midtown Resturant ... Old location ( ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Old midtown Resturant ... Old location (10+ years) ... Old family recipes ...and a NEW taste experience every time I go! Great plates of food...we had chicken, veal and fish and all 3 were perfect. Attentive service. They rushed their service to get us to the theatre...or I would still be there ordering another course. Go. Go back...it's still wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quality has not diminished with new owne ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Quality has not diminished with new ownership. Service & food is still exceptional

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The veal Marsala was the only good dish ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The veal Marsala was the only good dish there. There were 4 of us dining and the rest of us got sick from our shrimp entrées. So only one dish out of 4 was any good. We were disappointed unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Another great night at Damian's. My wife ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Another great night at Damian's. My wife and I along with two friends had dinner before a show at the Wortham. Two of us had the specials of the night, osso buco, and sea bass. Although a little pricey at $39 and $40, the portions were large and the meals were very tasty. You can finish that bottle of wine and not worry about driving to the show by taking advantage of the free theatre shuttle bus. No paying to park and marching through a hot parking lot. The bus drops you and picks you up right outside the door to your theatre. Any doggie bags you had are waiting for you when you return to the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was absolutely a great find. The f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was absolutely a great find. The food was unbelievable, the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They have an extensive wine list and the entrees were wonderful. Also, the desserts were incredible as was the entire evening. I would definitely recommend this establishment for all families and especially for special occasions. If you like Italian food, don't miss out on Damiens if you are in Houston.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 8 enjoyed good food and dri ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our group of 8 enjoyed good food and drink. The specials seemed fairly high priced, so we got things like spaghetti, dinner salad, linguine with clam sauce and split desserts.

The main feature we came for was the complimentary theatre shuttle to Alley Theatre, but one of our guest remarked that we might have been better off eating at a lower priced place like Italiano's and paying for our parking near the theatre.

All in all, we had a nice table for 8 and we enjoyed dinner and the theatre.

If you like to have lots of waiters, this is your place - think we had about 3 or 4 for our table.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

the stuffed veal chop was outstanding. W ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

the stuffed veal chop was outstanding. Wish they would redo the bar area and make it more appealing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've eaten here a couple times now for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We've eaten here a couple times now for different occasions and have never been disappointed in anything except our lack of tummy space to take in all the delicious variety of excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great atmosphere and fantastic food. Th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great atmosphere and fantastic food. The seafood daily special with risotto was fantastic. The veal picatta is outstanding - the best of any restaurant in Houston. We love this place for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Damians a number of tim ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We have dined at Damians a number of times, and every time it's just great! The service is always spot on...not too much attention, just the right amount. And our dinners were very nice too. I had the piccata this time which was very tasty. And we all enjoyed the wine list as usual! We will return soon.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I take valued clients to dine at Damian' ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I take valued clients to dine at Damian's. The service is fantastic, the food is fantastic and you can hold a conversation and have a relaxing lunch.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The flounder was so fresh! All our food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The flounder was so fresh! All our food was delicious! The service was so attentive that you had to put your hand over your tea to keep them from refilling your glass every few minutes.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food and service are always outstanding! ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and service are always outstanding! Perfect place for a business lunch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Theater Go To

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I love that that provide a free shuttle to all the theaters. It saves me the trouble of trying to maneuver a parking garage. After the show, the bus is waiting. My leftovers (if I have any) are waiting for me at the restaurant. Perfect for a show night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would not recommend

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

It was so cold inside, even the men complained. I did not find anything Italian about the food other than the names. Their cooking has been totally Americanized with lots of cheese on the chicken Marsala and too much oil or butter on the Red Snapper. Get an Italian Chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Very Good food, and even better service.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

From the moment you walk in you are treated like Family. The entire staff, from management on down, is very attentive. Appetizers and Entrees are excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We dined at Damian's prior to going to the theater. The food was wonderful, the service exceptional. They were timely without being rushed to get food out so we could depart with plenty of time to get to the theater.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and dishes always excel.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The service and dishes always excel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed immensely!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Feeling that we are spoiled with fabulous food in Houston, we truly felt that this restaurant is a gem. The food was spectacular as was the service. We will return again very soon ;)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian Resturant with quality service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This is a restaurant with a standing history of excellence! This was our first visit and there

was nothing to disappoint. Outstanding service by one of the long time servers, Benjimin,

with great suggestions on every question. Very comfortable seating and the ambiance was

great for any occasion. The 48 oz. veal chop was outstanding. Made a few special requests

that were handled perfectly. Hats off to the Chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The presentation of the food is great. O ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The presentation of the food is great. Our server was first rate. Got the chicken dish with goat cheese and dried tomatoes and added a side salad. Very accommodating about no onions in salad. The chicken was a little chewy but great flavor. I have real problem with tolerating garlic flavoring although I don't think it was too heavy for most. In retrospect I should have inquired about skipping the garlic. The speed of service and attentiveness was perfect

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As one of the Great Italian families in ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

As one of the Great Italian families in Houston,, You can always rely on having a great meal

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, and great service!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Delicious food, and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolute favorite restaurant in the worl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolute favorite restaurant in the world. Food is great; service is about the best you'll find in the city.

Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently good

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food that should be served chilled is exactly that. And beautifully plated without being fussy. Our main courses arrived piping hot. My husband had briefly left the table and our waiter had sense enough not to put the plates down until he returned. Old school proper! The wine we choose was nice and the mark up very reasonable. We did not have dessert because we were stuffed. I forget to mention the Focaccia served at the beginning of our meal. Piping hot and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Incredible Italian!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband and I went to Damian's for the first time last weekend. Every single aspect of our experience, from the valet to the dessert was top notch. The table-side Ceasar salad was the best I've ever had, and their lobster bisque is amazing! We will most definitely be adding Damian's to our regular restaurant rotation!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service can improve

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I love Damian's food. The taste of their traditional Italian cuisine is great. The ambiance is good and the valet service excellent. But the waiters service is "underwhelming" in my opinion. I have been at Damian's twice and I for sure will go back but both times I have been attended by waiters that have very heavy Spanish accents and trouble with the English language. Language would not be a problem if they are least were friendly. They are not. When one of my guest asked for recommendations, the waiter's answer was "everything on the menu is good". Well, I certainly hope that wasn't the answer Mr. Mandola was looking for when his waiters were hired. Nevertheless, good food like in all the Mandola's restaurants.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was great, tiramisu spectacular an ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was great, tiramisu spectacular and the shuttle to the Hobby Center made for a completely enjoyable and stress free evening.

The quiet setting is the best Dining experience for entertaining friends,

always enjoy being there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The Insalata Naparst which is a favorite ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The Insalata Naparst which is a favorite was lacking needing more acid and seasoning--it was flat, a very unusual event.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.