About Dakotah Steakhouse

1325 N Elk Vale Road
Rapid City, SD 57703
View Larger Map

We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal.

We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive.

Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours.

From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too.

The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.

Named "Best Restaurant in South Dakota" 2015 by Business Insider

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I-90

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1800

Website:
http://www.dakotahsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Cody Bartels Sous Chef Epi

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining room set up board room style seating approximately 12 people. A/V, WIFI.

We also have two semi-private areas for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Robin Schnieder: 6057911800x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dakotah Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
4 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Best Value
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Rapid City
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

special occasion (39)
good for groups (23)
romantic (20)
See All
fit for foodies (17)
notable wine list (15)
kid-friendly (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very friendly staff, courteous and atten ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very friendly staff, courteous and attentive server. We ordered the prime rib and walley and both were very good. Probably the best ambiance in Rapid City.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the spot to have a real good ste ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This is the spot to have a real good steak. The waitress were very nice even though we arrive late. Portions are good size and as I said beef is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Made reservations but not too busy at 7p ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Made reservations but not too busy at 7pm for a Friday night. Staff was friendly and helpful, but being not too busy, took a while to get service promptly and had to wait some time to get the check.

Dinner entre seemed salty.

Made reservations for wife's 40th birthday. Even noted it on the reservation hoping for a special touch or something special as an option for her. Not even a happy birthday by anyone. Based on prices and image of the higher class restaurant in western SD, you think it would WOW a person.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding dinner, excellent service , ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outstanding dinner, excellent service , everything you would expect.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere was nice. We came about 8:30 ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Atmosphere was nice. We came about 8:30 so there weren't many customers. Food was good but pretty expensive for what it was. The waitress only came by a couple of times. We would have appreciated more attention. Also she wasn't very friendly or talkative.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Good service and excellent food. You sh ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Good service and excellent food. You should not restrict review

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding. Enjoyed t ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The service was outstanding. Enjoyed the "house" cabernet and the nice wine glasses.

We usually love eating here but something was off this time. The buffalo bone appetizer was dry, difficult to cut , and was a smaller serving than we've had before -- it's usually fall-off-the-bone tender and juicy. Needless to say, we were disappointed, especially since we had out-of-town friends with us.

We will give them another try, though, as this is the only time out of many that we've been disappointed with the food.

NEVER disappointed in the service staff.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

We have visited Dakotah Steakhouse many ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have visited Dakotah Steakhouse many times. Always it is an excellent experience. My only criticism is that the waitstaff needs education in wine serving protocols.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was delicious. Recommend for those ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was delicious. Recommend for those traveling in Rapid City or if you live there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding food and environment. Great ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding food and environment. Great, friendly service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me preface this review with a commen ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Let me preface this review with a comment. I grew up in the Black Hills and now live in Denver. My boyfriend and I dine at 5 star steakhouses very regularly and are fully prepared to pay for a great meal. The Dakotah Steakhouse was not one of these places. I was extremely disappointed with my experience and meal at Dakotah Steakhouse.

There are numerous reasons for my poor rating. I will enumerate below.

1- WARNING!! The online menu is not accurate and the staff is fully aware of this false advertisement. The current prices are about 20% higher. I selected Dakotah Steakhouse over others because of the great value and good reviews. This was not the case.

2- Our waiter was mediocre, at best. He was nice but not attentive. He did not periodically check on our table while we were eating. He never asked or replenished our water glasses. We had to ask for additional bread as we were not offered. He did not ask if we would like an additional drink from the bar and took plates without asking if we were finished.

3- My lamb chops were rare and not medium rare as indicated on the menu and as I requested. The flavor was good but they were unevenly cut with one being very thin, around 1/2 inch, and one as think as an inch and a half. The inconsistency surely impacted the doneness of the meat.

4- My side was asparagus wrapped in bacon. It sounded wonderful and the bacon was delicious but the asparagus was woody. About 1/4 of the stalk was not eatable.

5- My boyfriend ordere the dry aged ribeye medium rare. The steak was not medium rare. It was medium. There is no better way to ruin a great steak than to over cook it. The flavor was just ok. Nothing spectacular.

6- The blue cheese wedge was poorly presented and lacked dressing. Right?!? Yes, the blue cheese wedge was inadequately dressed. I had to ask for additional dressing (which took forever) and there was also a little mound of onions and carrots on the plate making it very disjointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent food and service.

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OK experience....but place and service f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

OK experience....but place and service felt aged. Was traveling through town so a reasonable solution to need for a meal...pricing just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was outstanding - I had the ribeye ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was outstanding - I had the ribeye steak and my wife had the shaved prime rib dip. The service was great and friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting family. We enjoyed the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We were visiting family. We enjoyed the onion rings. We all ordered the filets and they were very good and well prepared. We always go there when we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation at this restaurant ...

 
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We made a reservation at this restaurant for a nice Father's Day dinner celebration. We are from out of town so we had no expectations ahead of time but looked up the menu and it looked great! We arrived early and got seated right away. It took a little while for our drinks and we waited awhile to order. Our waitress, Ashley, did not check back with us at any point. Staying patient we finally asked around to see if we could order food. We got our drinks and ordered our meals. After an hour of waiting and still we hadn't received our appetizer, we decided to pay for our drinks and leave. The staff felt unorganized and were not too friendly when we decided to leave. The place seemed nice but after our experience with the service, I would not recommend it to anyone EVER! When we left several other customers chimed in that they were also unhappy with the service and the food. We are so happy we didn't waste the money or the time on Dakotah Steakhouse.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Alcohol sales were stopped due to early ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Alcohol sales were stopped due to early closing on Father's Day but we were never forewarned. Entree with venison and bison with blackberry sauce was great but overall experience was disappointing. Would try it again, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great locally owned steak house. Always ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great locally owned steak house. Always a delicious meal. Quality cuts of beef. The other people in my party all had steaks, which I have had in the past, and they were all very happy with how they were cooked. I had the Parmesan chicken with mushrooms and it was Fantastic! Thumbs up on the soup and desert as well. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant and the food was very g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant and the food was very good. You could go casual or dress up.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Both steaks were done the way we request ...

 
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Both steaks were done the way we requested and were tender and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food, service and ambiance was what ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food, service and ambiance was what we were looking for for the evening. Too bad that we live so far away and can't place Dakotah on our "to go" place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service started quickly. We were impress ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service started quickly. We were impressed and thought we were going to have a fantastic experience. However, once we got our appetiser, service dropped off drastically. We waited for an extraordinarily long time for our entrees. We were again disappointed when we tasted our food. I love mashed potatoes but could barely eat a few bites of mine due to the bad, almost sour, taste. The bacon wrapped asparagus used large, past its prime spears. I could eat the upper half until I got to the overly large bottom part of the stalks. The steak was supposed to be prime, not choice. However, I've had choice steaks that were much more flavorful and tender. Again, I could only eat about a third to half of the steak. The rest of my family was similarly disappointed and couldn't finish their meals either. Our server was not attentive. We had difficulty getting refills and had to wait forever for our check. In fact, half my family returned to our nearby hotel while the rest of us waited not only for the check but for the server to return with the receipt for me to sign.

On a positive note, we did enjoy the decor, quiet atmosphere and Chislic appetizer. Unfortunately, the food and service were extremely disappointing. It was overpriced to begin with, but the flavor was an insult and a meal we had looked forward to on our vacation left us extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Our server Mandy was wonderful, couldnt ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server Mandy was wonderful, couldnt have been better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

How do you mess up a steak?

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was supposed to be a highlight meal of our trip to Cedar Rapids. My husband's soup was over salted; my medium rare steak was barely pink inside; my "bacon wrapped asparagus" was two woody spears wrapped in barely cooked bacon. I would not recommend this restaurant. The waitress did discount my steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Good food,service, and reasonable prices.

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything was very good. It was our second time at the restaurant and both times we had a good dining experience. No complaints at all.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Happy to find a local place during mega road trip!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

My best friend and I were traveling from Florida to California via South Dakota. Everywhere we stopped, we tried to find local places. In Rapid City, we were recommended by our front desk to go to Dakotah. We were not disappointed. Everything we ordered was perfect. The bison rib appetizer, and the ribeye steaks...everything was great and gave us the feel that we were getting a true local experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our birthday celebration dinner at Dakota Steakhouse. The food met or exceeded expectations. There were six adults plus a toddler, all ordered a different entree, and everyone loved their meal. The atmosphere was relaxed but refined.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and Service just so-so

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was just ok. My sisters steak was really tough. I asked to have my wedge salad chopped and tossed and the waitress told me we don't serve it that way. The bbq sauce is so vinegary that I could not eat it. The rest of the meal was just ok, nothing to boast about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Very nice experience. Great service and good menu.

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Good steaks and great appetizers. Friendly staff and nice ambiance. Would recommend it for a nice night out.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dakota Steakhouse on the mark.

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My sirloin steak was fantastic. There were 6 in our group and everyone had a delicious meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going there from the time th ...

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been going there from the time they first opened. The food is great and the services person are very friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice selection, delicious dinner!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Nice selection, delicious dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was nicely adorned, but the a ...

 
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Restaurant was nicely adorned, but the atmosphere wasn't very inviting. Food was very good, but nothing really unique. Waitstaff were quite cold & unwelcoming, so that set the tone. Good location, easy to find & right off the hwy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Was in town for a little work and a litt ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Was in town for a little work and a little geocaching. Decided to try this restaurant. I had the Charred Romaine Caesar Salad and added salmon. The coffee was amazingly good and the wait person was very attentive. While the salad was really good I was surprised that the romaine was chopped and had no char. I am not complaining, because it was so good. Thank you for the lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is the best steak house in Rapid Ci ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

This is the best steak house in Rapid City. I look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in Rapid City

 
·Dined on April 4, 2016

We went here to celebrate a special birthday and were seated in a smaller area, away from the main dinning room, so it was like we had our own private space. Each of us had steak, either filet or rib eye and all were excellently prepared. The presentation was beautiful. Our waitress was very attentive. If we were in Rapid City again we would definitely go back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We happened to stay across the street fr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We happened to stay across the street from Dakotah while visting Mt. Rushmore and since it was my son's birthday, we decided to have dinner at Dakotah. The food was great - My husband had the filet mignon, my daughter and I shared Cowboy Bone-In Rib-eye and my son ordered the Buffalo Rib-eye - all were quite tasty and cooked to perfection.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Service! Good Atmosphere! Avg Food!

 
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The burger, and the flank steak were very good. The Prime Rib was pretty rare, even by Prime Rib standards. The Rib-eye by the ounce was average. The wedge salad was far inferior to others in town, especially for the price. You have good food, but not to the level that warrants the price versus other steakhouses in Rapid. The service was very good!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Walleye, tasteless, watery. Dry aged, prime, rib eye; tough, seemed reheated. It was however, expensive. Asparagus, cold, stringy, tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My favorite place!

 
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I love this restaurant. Food is always great. Best steaks in town. Great service and atmosphere. Drink menu is great too. St. Patrick's day dinner was very good. Both of us always thoroughly enjoy going here. A fun night always with friends to stop in for one of the yummy burgers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.