About Dakotah Steakhouse

We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal.

We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive.

Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours.

From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too.

The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.

Named "Best Restaurant in South Dakota" 2015 by Business Insider

1325 N Elk Vale Road
Rapid City, SD 57703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I-90

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1800

Website:
http://www.dakotahsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Cody Bartels Sous Chef Epi

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining room set up board room style seating approximately 12 people. A/V, WIFI.

We also have two semi-private areas for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Robin Schnieder: (605) 791-1800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dakotah Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fireplace (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (13)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Private Room (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Family Style (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great Beer (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
 (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 5 days ago

Food flavor and temperature were exceptional. Server was fun and playful with our group. Will defiantly go back when in town.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 5 days ago

Having visited Dakotah Steakhouse several times over the past 2+ years, have always found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and courteous. On every visit the food has been truly excellent and more than enough to satisfy even the hardest of appetites. This restaurant has my very highest recommendation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Fireplace, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was excellent, however. a little too pricy. The glass of wine was a very short fill. I ask for a slice of birthday cake and the waiter left and came back and read me your flyer that I already receive in the mail . I understood that. but I still desired a slice of cake if available. Of course I was willing to pay for it. The waiter has too defensive and not very accommodating. Sorry. but the atmosphere was good.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent ribeye steak. Great service. Nice wine selection.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My family stoped here looking for a good meal, the service was fair, but the food was under par for the price. We get better steak dinners for half the price, and we will not be coming back.
This place takes decent meat and overlooks it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love to come to Dakotah for special occasions and love the food-
dinner is better than brunch, however.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The only positive was The food was prepared well and tasted good. The waitress was nice.

The prices are very high for what you get however.

I made the reservation and stated in writing we were celebrating my husbands birthday. I Left my phone number in case of any questions.

I've done this many times before in other restaurants with positive results.

When we arrived no one ever acknowledged that it was his birthday.

The restaurant was almost empty but we were seated in the back with a view of the cars going by on the highway.

Then they seated a loud family right next to us. We listened to their conversation and watched traffic during dinner.

By dessert, I went to remind them to put a candle on his dessert. I was told they have no candles and acted like I was asking for something that they had never heard of. It was so rude.

Why not ask the chef to write happy birthday on his dessert plate at least. NOTHING was ever done. NOTHING.

Since I did leave my phone number when I made the reservation, They should have called me to say that they do NOTHING for birthdays and I would have brought my own darn candle or gone elsewhere.

In a fine establishment the least they should do is acknowledge a birthday or seat us in a beautiful part of the restaurant, Or keep the LOUD family away from us as this was a SPECIAL OCCASION!

This occasion was TOTALLY IGNORED.

This LACK OF SERVICE ruined it for us. It didn't even feel like it was a birthday dinner in any way shape or form.

I've never had this happen in any fine dining establishment. For this reason I do not recommend it for any special occasion.

In fact, I don't recommend this restaurant for anything but an EXPENSIVE meal. And good luck with where you are seated.
We will never go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We stopped here on a family vacation and the service was extremely slow. Overall, the atmosphere is nice for family dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My steak was mediocre at best-- overlooked and the add-on mushrooms left much to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Steaks were over cooked. Buffalo steak was to thin. Disappointed with the food. Great service tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Beautiful building. Great fireplace. A bit expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It's a nice place for a special occasion. Good food and service. But too expensive for dining often. Nice treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Absolutely enjoyed every aspect of our meal. The Buffalo skewers are definitely a must and the option to choose my own steak size really hit home for me. Excellent service and suggestions from our waiter, Skylar, and a great atmosphere. Although pricy, it was definitely worth it and we plan to spend many special occasions here.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Business Meals, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We booked this restaurant as it was recommended, but the Hostess was right out rude and unfriendly, she never greeted us and as I explained we had a reservation she still gave us the silent treatment, a young lady took us to our table and was friendly, welcoming us. We were then served by Kayla and she did a great job. When leaving the restaurant the hostess was at the front desk and my husband greeted her, again she did not care to respond.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Elk ravioli dish was delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was somewhere my girlfriend had always wanted to go. It is somewhat expensive, but well worth the money spent. Our server, Skylar, was awesome. Excellent recommendations by him. I will be back for sure!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I asked for a quiet, romantic corner to celebrate my husband's birthday. They put us in the most perfect place next to the Fireplace. Food and service was amazing (as always) as was the wine. The ambiance made the evening special! Thank you staff, you're awesome!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The dinner was the best I think I've ever had at a restaurant. The service was just as good as well. We will certainly be back, everytime we are in Rapid City. We will make a special stop. Hands down amazing!! Wish we had one in Bismarck/Mandan ND.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was excellent and our server was great! Love the ambiance of this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great restaurant with excellent food! Never disappointed when we eat there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The buffalo skewers with the peanut sauce are to die for.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Attentive staff... but food was below par. Disappointing and we will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Waitress forgot to put in our appetizer order.
Steaks were delivered with degree of doneness mixed up between us. When finally redone correctly, the food was excellent.
With our appetizers forgotten and food done incorrectly, I was quite surprised that they didn't offer any compensation for the disaster that was our dining experience. All that was offered was a smile and a shrug.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was okay but not worth the price. I highly recommend the buffalo skewers. But amount of steak you get for the price you pay is insane. For 28 dollars I got "8 ounces" of steak and a potato. The "8 ounces" of steak was more like two tiny slivers of steak and it was mediocre at best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service this occasion and excellent food! Would be nice if the dinner salad was included with the steak meal as it is at other steakhouses around the area. Other than that, nice place and great food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We dine here several times each year for special occasions as well as anytime we have company and want to take them for a nice evening out. It's priced a little higher than most places in town but always a satisfying night. The wait staff is typically very good however this night the gal was pretty new and not quite as accommodating as our usual waitress. Regardless, you will not find a better dinner or atmosphere anywhere in Rapid City than at Dakotah Steakhouse.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The only thing I had that could be improved was the creme brule was cold and seemed to be prepared in advance. Service was great and so was the meat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent staff service food and environment
We dine here often
Never a bad meal
Great wine

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ordered 2 appetizers and two entries which was too much food for two people!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We ate early on NY Eve, a nice evening. Very good food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed the Dakota Steakhouse very much. Everything from the service (very friendly) to the martini to the food. This was our second time there and we would go back, again and again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It is winter season, I pulled up in the handicapped parking spot since I require a walker, the space itself seemed to be cleared of snow but the ramp that leads to the sidewalk from the space was full of snow and ice. I am glad that I do not require a wheelchair since the chunks of snow at the edge of the sidewalk on the ramp were rather large and formidable. I also ended up taking my meal to go and finished it at home not only because of noisy children in the adjacent section and a baby crying but with the hardwood floors there is not much for heating in the restaurant. It has an open warehouse type ceiling and an enclosed fireplace that seems more for looks than warmth. My legs got too cold for my stay to be enjoyable enough to stay and finish my meal. I have been there many times and this was not the best visit.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great steaks. No TVs. Quiet luxurious ambiance. Love the huge fireplace. This is the place to enjoy a romantic meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Amazing customer service and our steaks were cooked to perfection!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 18, 2016

One of our favorite places. Being vegetarian, there are plenty of choices for me. And the price is very reasonable. I also love getting the coupons via email.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food took a little longer than we had hoped, but overall we enjoyed ourselves.

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The character is great and the acoustics are the best in Rapid City. I like the buffalo bone with broccoli and a salad. Wish you were open for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very high class reasonably priced menu
The walleye was fresh and expertly prepared
The beet and goat cheese salad was uniquely fine dining
As good as any steakhouse anywhere
Better than 99%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good food, walking distance to our hotel and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My wife had the seared scallops, which she very much enjoyed, but my prime rib was probably the worse I have had. It was tough, chewy, and had a lot of gristle --- just wasn't a very good meal overall for me.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.