About Dakotah Steakhouse

1325 N Elk Vale Road
Rapid City, SD 57703
View Larger Map

We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal.

We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive.

Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours.

From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too.

The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.

Named "Best Restaurant in South Dakota" 2015 by Business Insider

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I-90

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1800

Website:
http://www.dakotahsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Cody Bartels Sous Chef Epi

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining room set up board room style seating approximately 12 people. A/V, WIFI.

We also have two semi-private areas for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Robin Schnieder: 6057911800x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dakotah Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
South Dakota
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (15)
Fireplace (12)
See All
Cozy (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Family Style (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Historic (3)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The character is great and the acoustics ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The character is great and the acoustics are the best in Rapid City. I like the buffalo bone with broccoli and a salad. Wish you were open for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very high class reasonably priced menu T ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very high class reasonably priced menu

The walleye was fresh and expertly prepared

The beet and goat cheese salad was uniquely fine dining

As good as any steakhouse anywhere

Better than 99%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, walking distance to our hotel ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good food, walking distance to our hotel and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife had the seared scallops, which s ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My wife had the seared scallops, which she very much enjoyed, but my prime rib was probably the worse I have had. It was tough, chewy, and had a lot of gristle --- just wasn't a very good meal overall for me.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Service was good but ambience is mediocr ...

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was good but ambience is mediocre and good is ok but not fantastic

Overall a 5 out of 10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Our only complaint was the bacon wrapped ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our only complaint was the bacon wrapped asparagus which was bland and bitter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have frequented this steakhouse on th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We have frequented this steakhouse on three occasions during our visits to Rapid Ciry where our oldest son attends SDSMT. We eat as a family if our other kids are able to travel or with our son and available roommates as a great during their cafeteria school year. The food is always fabulous and the atmosphere is cozy and comfortable. I would recommend for date night, business meal, or any other special occasion. Not the kind of place I would expect to hear/see small children. Price is fair but not inexpensive and makes for a memorable evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant, great service a ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding restaurant, great service and the food is amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Food was fantastic. ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great experience. Food was fantastic. Fillet was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great, as expected. The ser ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was great, as expected. The service was horrible! Not what was expected. From the time we sat down and placed our drink orders, it took 22 minutes just to get our drinks. From the time we sat down to the time we actually received our meals was well over an hour! Don't go if you're hungry and expect to be eating right away. It won't happen.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

This is the third time we have eaten her ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is the third time we have eaten here and each time they have had the same problem. The service is slow and unprofessional. The food was good each time but the service is so bad that we have decided to never return. We have talked to management about their issue but we see no end to the problem. It stems from poor management to begin with and they see themselves as good at what they do but they SUCK! Find another place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Decent food, good service, pricey but go ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Decent food, good service, pricey but good. Nice atmosphere. Staff was very attentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was so good! The beet-goat cheese s ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was so good! The beet-goat cheese salad was divine! Ad the Three Sisters Soup . . . always delicious. Husband had a steak which was prepared perfectly.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I cannot paste my total review so please ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I cannot paste my total review so please look it up on Yelp or Google Maps posting. Horrible, stay away if you value steak and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

As always a great experience. Dakotah is ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 12, 2016

As always a great experience. Dakotah is a gem in Rapid City. I had a party of 8 and Tallulah was our waitress, she was absolutely amazing. The food was excellent but the service was second to none. Thank you for a great night.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Private Room, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dakotah Steakhouse serves bison in a var ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Dakotah Steakhouse serves bison in a variety of tasty ways.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went there on the last night of our a ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went there on the last night of our adventurous Mt. Rushmore and Yellowstone honeymoon. It was a great change to have a delicious meal in a fun setting. The rockfish was great and my husband loved his prime rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

THE STEAKS WERE THE BEST I HAVE HAD IN Y ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 6, 2016

THE STEAKS WERE THE BEST I HAVE HAD IN YEARS. THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS I ORDERED A 16 ONCE RIBEYE AND MY WIFE HAD A 10 ONCE FILLET. THE MEALS ARRIVED AND THEY WERE BOTH FILLETS. SO THE WAITRESS TOOK MINE AND I GOT TO WATCH MY WIFE EAT HER MEAL AND THEN WHEN MINE SHOWED UP SHE GOT TO WATCH ME EAT MINE. NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS AT ALL. SHOULD HAVE SENT THEM BOTH BACK AND SAID START OVER.OTHERWISE WE LOVED THE PLACE. WE LIVE IN YANKTON AND IT TOOK 2 YEARS TO GET OUT THERE AND THEN THAT HAPPENED. $5.00 WAS TAKEN OFF THE BILL. DOES NOT SEEM LIKE MUCH. AT LEAST TAKE CARE OF THE DRINKS. CALL ANYTIME. 605 661 2598. JERRY R KOLDA

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We have always had consistent quite good ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We have always had consistent quite good food here. This time it was quite disappointing. The quality and preparation was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Its always a delight and great food. Its ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Its always a delight and great food. Its a quiet seen with less kiddos.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is always excellent. Serving of Ro ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food is always excellent. Serving of Rocky Mountain oysters was very small for price. Everything else was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We came here for my husband's birthday w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We came here for my husband's birthday with my son and his wife. The large buffalo rib appetizer was very good and beautifully presented. The wedge salad was good but a bit skimpy on the blue cheese dressing and did not come with bacon. The rolls they served were too chewy but the bourbon butter was very good. My husband had prime rib which was very large and perfectly rare as ordered, with a nice horseradish sauce and au jus on the side. It came with a bowl of clam chowder and a choice of sides. He had blue cheese mashed potatoes that were very nice. I had a hangar steak, it was sliced, very tender and perfectly cooked. The mushroom bread pudding was good but a bit dry. My son and his wife each had Walleye which they liked. The fried mac and cheese side was excellent. We shared the kuchen for dessert and the chef wrote a beautiful "Happy Birthday" in chocolate on the plate. The kuchen was really delicious with a nice berry and whip cream topping and ice cream on the side. The service was excellent and the ambiance was very nice for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were good, but hone ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and service were good, but honestly a bit overpriced.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing food. Perfect for my anniversary ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Amazing food. Perfect for my anniversary. Great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were staying at the Comfort Suites ju ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We were staying at the Comfort Suites just across the car park and found it very convenient to walk to. We dined at the Dakotah two nights. The cosy fireplace was very welcoming on a chilly evening and we enjoyed the friendly ambience. The menu was varied and we thought the food & service were very good.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was delicious. Lettuce Wedge was s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Steak was delicious. Lettuce Wedge was sparse. waitress was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, great food. The berry ki ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great service, great food. The berry kitchen is worth the trip alone! Delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered their dry aged ribeye which wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 12, 2016

I ordered their dry aged ribeye which was good but for $50 it should have been thicker, and tasted even better.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Incredible experience. The food was fant ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Incredible experience. The food was fantastic and the service was even better. Steak ordered Medium, was cooked exactly medium. Mushrooms and asparagus were cooked perfectly as well. The only thing I think they could better, is open a location in Dallas, TX where I live.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in wait staff. One of us ha ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Disappointed in wait staff. One of us had a special drink request and asked the wait staff to check with the bartender. Instead of doing that she told us that the drink couldn't be made, that it would "lose it's integrity". We should have insisted. The other thing was that the same person who had the drink request was short her fork. Instead of immediately bringing her a new napkin setting, the waitress practically argued with her about not having a fork. Then she brought one and just plunked it down in front of her. My friend was black, by the way. Did that have anything to do with the waitress' rudeness?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

From a food perspective this was an aver ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2016

From a food perspective this was an average experience. The food was good but nothing stood out. You're paying for the ambiance as I feel the food was overpriced for what you receive in uniqueness and taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The steak was very good, however the veg ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The steak was very good, however the vegetables were cold. The server also had a bad attitude.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This was our first visit and we were ver ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 31, 2016

This was our first visit and we were very impressed. Our waitress was first class and took care of our every need. Food was delicious. We will be back!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Cozy, Disabled Access, Authentic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place we like to go for great food, ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The place we like to go for great food, special occasion, or just for a night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great. A very ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food and service was great. A very nice place to eat with great food.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a good restaurant for having dinner ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Was a good restaurant for having dinner with the family durig a vacation trip. Food was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great burger place. Pricey steaks. W ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great burger place. Pricey steaks. We don't live in the area.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Have always eaten in th ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent food. Have always eaten in the bar area which is nice. Excellent cut of meet and Mushroom Bread Pudding is excellent accompaniment. Granted not inexpensive, but many menu items are not in the $49 high-end steak category and still well prepared.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very striking Western decor with a large ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very striking Western decor with a large fireplace. Food, mainly steaks, was excellent and prepared very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We ate here a year ago while traveling t ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We ate here a year ago while traveling thru on vacation and this year we knew we had to return for another dinner. Food, service and atmosphere were great again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.