About Dakotah Steakhouse

1325 N Elk Vale Road
Rapid City, SD 57703
View Larger Map

We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal.

We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive.

Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours.

From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too.

The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.

Named "Best Restaurant in South Dakota" 2015 by Business Insider

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I-90

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1800

Website:
http://www.dakotahsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Cody Bartels Sous Chef Epi

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining room set up board room style seating approximately 12 people. A/V, WIFI.

We also have two semi-private areas for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Robin Schnieder: 6057911800x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dakotah Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Rapid City
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

special occasion (39)
romantic (23)
good for groups (21)
See All
fit for foodies (19)
notable wine list (17)
neighborhood gem (10)
kid-friendly (8)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (4)
hot spot (3)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy to find a local place during mega road trip!

Dined 5 days ago

My best friend and I were traveling from Florida to California via South Dakota. Everywhere we stopped, we tried to find local places. In Rapid City, we were recommended by our front desk to go to Dakotah. We were not disappointed. Everything we ordered was perfect. The bison rib appetizer, and the ribeye steaks...everything was great and gave us the feel that we were getting a true local experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great restaurant

Dined 5 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our birthday celebration dinner at Dakota Steakhouse. The food met or exceeded expectations. There were six adults plus a toddler, all ordered a different entree, and everyone loved their meal. The atmosphere was relaxed but refined.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Food and Service just so-so

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was just ok. My sisters steak was really tough. I asked to have my wedge salad chopped and tossed and the waitress told me we don't serve it that way. The bbq sauce is so vinegary that I could not eat it. The rest of the meal was just ok, nothing to boast about.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice experience. Great service and good menu.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good steaks and great appetizers. Friendly staff and nice ambiance. Would recommend it for a nice night out.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dakota Steakhouse on the mark.

Dined on May 8, 2016

My sirloin steak was fantastic. There were 6 in our group and everyone had a delicious meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going there from the time th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been going there from the time they first opened. The food is great and the services person are very friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice selection, delicious dinner!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Nice selection, delicious dinner!

food4
ambience2
service3

Restaurant was nicely adorned, but the a ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Restaurant was nicely adorned, but the atmosphere wasn't very inviting. Food was very good, but nothing really unique. Waitstaff were quite cold & unwelcoming, so that set the tone. Good location, easy to find & right off the hwy.

food4
ambience5
service5

Was in town for a little work and a litt ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Was in town for a little work and a little geocaching. Decided to try this restaurant. I had the Charred Romaine Caesar Salad and added salmon. The coffee was amazingly good and the wait person was very attentive. While the salad was really good I was surprised that the romaine was chopped and had no char. I am not complaining, because it was so good. Thank you for the lunch

food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best steak house in Rapid Ci ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

This is the best steak house in Rapid City. I look forward to my next visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Rapid City

Dined on April 4, 2016

We went here to celebrate a special birthday and were seated in a smaller area, away from the main dinning room, so it was like we had our own private space. Each of us had steak, either filet or rib eye and all were excellently prepared. The presentation was beautiful. Our waitress was very attentive. If we were in Rapid City again we would definitely go back.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We happened to stay across the street fr ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We happened to stay across the street from Dakotah while visting Mt. Rushmore and since it was my son's birthday, we decided to have dinner at Dakotah. The food was great - My husband had the filet mignon, my daughter and I shared Cowboy Bone-In Rib-eye and my son ordered the Buffalo Rib-eye - all were quite tasty and cooked to perfection.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great Service! Good Atmosphere! Avg Food!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The burger, and the flank steak were very good. The Prime Rib was pretty rare, even by Prime Rib standards. The Rib-eye by the ounce was average. The wedge salad was far inferior to others in town, especially for the price. You have good food, but not to the level that warrants the price versus other steakhouses in Rapid. The service was very good!

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

food

Dined on March 31, 2016

Walleye, tasteless, watery. Dry aged, prime, rib eye; tough, seemed reheated. It was however, expensive. Asparagus, cold, stringy, tough.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place!

Dined on March 18, 2016

I love this restaurant. Food is always great. Best steaks in town. Great service and atmosphere. Drink menu is great too. St. Patrick's day dinner was very good. Both of us always thoroughly enjoy going here. A fun night always with friends to stop in for one of the yummy burgers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant surprise right across from our ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Pleasant surprise right across from our hotel!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pretty good food.

Dined on February 15, 2016

I had no problem worth my reservation. The service was good, the food was pretty good. The steak I had was amazing, however the prime my boyfriend had wasn't as good but still tender and juicy. Bq sauce was icky but maybe that was just us. I would definately recommend this to a friend, nice place really.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants to eat a ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants to eat at in Rpaid City. Lovely rustic atmosphere, top notch menu, fresh ingredients, homemade food, wonderful bar menu.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Valentine day dinner good food and environmental

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience.

Dined on February 6, 2016

Excellent experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

night out

Dined on February 6, 2016

We took visiting friends to Dakotahs for supper. They had Texas boar as a special and our friend really enjoyed this unique dish. The rest of us had various steaks. I ask for the green pepper rings along with onion rings and the chef was kind enough to make them (they used to be on the menu and we loved them). The soups and salads were excellent, no desert we were to full! The waitress was wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to have dinner

Dined on February 3, 2016

Dakota Steakhouse is a great place to eat. The food is good & service is excellent. We always stop here when we are in Rapid City.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great meal at Dakota St ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

We always have a great meal at Dakota Steakhouse. Our go to place for dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for holiday gathering

Dined on January 8, 2016

We held our board and staff holiday gathering at Dakotah Steakhouse. Staff was really attentive and everything was really nice. Food was delicious and people really enjoyed the event. Their dining rooms are very nice--our group had just over 30 and it was fantastic. Many stayed afterwards for dinner and enjoyed the night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service meets awesome food. The qu ...

vip
Dined on November 27, 2015

Great service meets awesome food. The quirky menu options were filled with delicious morsels that made our taste buds sing. You should definitely try the elk ravioli. Dreamed about it later that night. Save room for dessert though. It made the already great meal perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dakota Steakhouse is our favorite restaurant in RC

Dined on November 26, 2015

We have had numerous dinners at Dakota Steakhouse and feel it is the best for all around good food. We have had dinner for two, family dinner for 6 and group dinners of over a dozen and the food and service has been unequaled in Rapid City. If you don't like their steaks, burgers, seafood or other items we feel sorry for you. We haven't had a bad experience there in the years that they have been open. The only regret we have is that they aren't open for lunch anymore.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4

We have been to Dakotah several times al ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

We have been to Dakotah several times always very happy but this time the prime rib was not right dident seem to have any taste and was a little tough. Sevice was great and Walleye fingers were great

food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent Meal

Dined on October 18, 2015

Took my family of 5 out for dinner as a little celebration, walleye fingers appetizer was delicious, we enjoyed the filet, prime rib, cheeseburger and grilled cheese and all were excellent. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting beef.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Ribeye was perfect and we had ...

vip
Dined on October 14, 2015

Excellent! Ribeye was perfect and we had a lot of fun experimenting with appetizers; buffalo satay, walleye fingers and pheasant poppers were excellent. Elk ravioli is also fantastic. Ask for extra bourbon whipped cream on the apple crisp. Recommended wine pairings were right on. Great ambiance near the fireplace.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice night

Dined on October 8, 2015

Had a group of 11. Ashley supported the room by herself. She could have used some help but did a very nice job alone. Food was very good. Reviews were positive from all. Worth the trip

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, service was exceptional.

Dined on October 7, 2015

As tourists we weren't sure what what to expect, but what a great restaurant! A little on the pricey side, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

GREAT STEAKS

Dined on September 26, 2015

we both h ordered from the recommendation of our excellent waitress, Alix. I order my steak well done and it was delicious! Unusually tender. My husband had the petite sirloin, medium rare. Salads were fresh and crisp. Bleu cheese mashed were delicious. The server was the r a son we'd go back again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice dinner while we were on vacati ...

Dined on September 22, 2015

Very nice dinner while we were on vacation. Quiet, great food, waitress did not rush us. Will come back next time we are in the area. Food was super Fresh and very flavorful. Delicious steak

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Foodiefile

vip
Dined on September 15, 2015

We found this restaurant across from our hotel after a long day of travel. It was wonderful! We enjoyed elk ravioli, chicken, & the best filets we've had anywhere (& we're from Chicago so have enjoyed good steaks). Great warm bread, beautiful salads & delicious sides.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Steakhouse

Dined on September 14, 2015

On my honeymoon my new bride and I were looking for places to eat that we hadn't tried before when we found Dakotah Steakhouse. We were very pleased upon arrival and that remained for the whole meal. The butter was out of this world and my Sirloin steak was cooked to perfection. I will definitely be going back next time I am in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on September 13, 2015

We were at the Marriott and this is across the street. Food was very good, nice inside, attentive waiter. Prices were comparable to the quality of food

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Food and Romantic Setting

Dined on September 11, 2015

Went to the Dakotah Steakhouse for my birthday. The food was great, but however was disappointed in the service. Considering I purchased one of the most expensive items on the menu we received very little service. Our waitress was absent or extremely busy. Was told rolls would be coming and they never arrived. When meal was delivered still had not received any dinner rolls. Ask for them and still did not get them. Asked again and they were finally brought out after our meal was half eaten. Never asked to refill my drink and waitress did not come to check on our meals that were delivered by other. Bill was presented to me without my $10 discount for my birthday which I had given to the waitress.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Almost Perfect

Dined on September 8, 2015

The food was excellent, the ambience very nice although a good cleaning of the high lights is in order, the waitress was very friendly and our orders were correct but she appeared to be extremely busy causing delays in our service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great meal at the end of the day!

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

Great meal at the end of the day!

food4
ambience3
service3

Service? Needs some training here.

vip
Dined on September 1, 2015

Food was good, but service lacking. She decanted our wine (expensive bottle) so she was told to decant it and then was going to immediately pour. We asked her to wait. Waited 30 minutes for our appetizer and finally waitress came by and said fryer station "was slammed" so our order was not ready yet she asked if we wanted our salad and soup first. We agreed and when we were done with them our appetizer finally arrived. Food was good.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.