About Dakotah Steakhouse

1325 N Elk Vale Road
Rapid City, SD 57703
View Larger Map

We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal.

We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive.

Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours.

From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too.

The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.

Named "Best Restaurant in South Dakota" 2015 by Business Insider

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I-90

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1800

Website:
http://www.dakotahsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Cody Bartels Sous Chef Epi

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining room set up board room style seating approximately 12 people. A/V, WIFI.

We also have two semi-private areas for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Robin Schnieder: 6057911800x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dakotah Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
5 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Best Value
South Dakota
Special Occasion
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Rapid City
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

special occasion (36)
good for groups (23)
fit for foodies (19)
See All
romantic (19)
notable wine list (17)
neighborhood gem (9)
kid-friendly (7)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (3)
hot spot (3)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding - I had the ribeye ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was outstanding - I had the ribeye steak and my wife had the shaved prime rib dip. The service was great and friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting family. We enjoyed the ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We were visiting family. We enjoyed the onion rings. We all ordered the filets and they were very good and well prepared. We always go there when we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We made a reservation at this restaurant ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We made a reservation at this restaurant for a nice Father's Day dinner celebration. We are from out of town so we had no expectations ahead of time but looked up the menu and it looked great! We arrived early and got seated right away. It took a little while for our drinks and we waited awhile to order. Our waitress, Ashley, did not check back with us at any point. Staying patient we finally asked around to see if we could order food. We got our drinks and ordered our meals. After an hour of waiting and still we hadn't received our appetizer, we decided to pay for our drinks and leave. The staff felt unorganized and were not too friendly when we decided to leave. The place seemed nice but after our experience with the service, I would not recommend it to anyone EVER! When we left several other customers chimed in that they were also unhappy with the service and the food. We are so happy we didn't waste the money or the time on Dakotah Steakhouse.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Alcohol sales were stopped due to early ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Alcohol sales were stopped due to early closing on Father's Day but we were never forewarned. Entree with venison and bison with blackberry sauce was great but overall experience was disappointing. Would try it again, however.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great locally owned steak house. Always ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great locally owned steak house. Always a delicious meal. Quality cuts of beef. The other people in my party all had steaks, which I have had in the past, and they were all very happy with how they were cooked. I had the Parmesan chicken with mushrooms and it was Fantastic! Thumbs up on the soup and desert as well. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great restaurant and the food was very g ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant and the food was very good. You could go casual or dress up.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Both steaks were done the way we request ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Both steaks were done the way we requested and were tender and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, service and ambiance was what ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food, service and ambiance was what we were looking for for the evening. Too bad that we live so far away and can't place Dakotah on our "to go" place.

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Service started quickly. We were impress ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Service started quickly. We were impressed and thought we were going to have a fantastic experience. However, once we got our appetiser, service dropped off drastically. We waited for an extraordinarily long time for our entrees. We were again disappointed when we tasted our food. I love mashed potatoes but could barely eat a few bites of mine due to the bad, almost sour, taste. The bacon wrapped asparagus used large, past its prime spears. I could eat the upper half until I got to the overly large bottom part of the stalks. The steak was supposed to be prime, not choice. However, I've had choice steaks that were much more flavorful and tender. Again, I could only eat about a third to half of the steak. The rest of my family was similarly disappointed and couldn't finish their meals either. Our server was not attentive. We had difficulty getting refills and had to wait forever for our check. In fact, half my family returned to our nearby hotel while the rest of us waited not only for the check but for the server to return with the receipt for me to sign. On a positive note, we did enjoy the decor, quiet atmosphere and Chislic appetizer. Unfortunately, the food and service were extremely disappointing. It was overpriced to begin with, but the flavor was an insult and a meal we had looked forward to on our vacation left us extremely disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Mandy was wonderful, couldnt ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server Mandy was wonderful, couldnt have been better

food1
ambience2
service3
value1

How do you mess up a steak?

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

This was supposed to be a highlight meal of our trip to Cedar Rapids. My husband's soup was over salted; my medium rare steak was barely pink inside; my "bacon wrapped asparagus" was two woody spears wrapped in barely cooked bacon. I would not recommend this restaurant. The waitress did discount my steak.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food,service, and reasonable prices.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything was very good. It was our second time at the restaurant and both times we had a good dining experience. No complaints at all.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy to find a local place during mega road trip!

Dined on May 23, 2016

My best friend and I were traveling from Florida to California via South Dakota. Everywhere we stopped, we tried to find local places. In Rapid City, we were recommended by our front desk to go to Dakotah. We were not disappointed. Everything we ordered was perfect. The bison rib appetizer, and the ribeye steaks...everything was great and gave us the feel that we were getting a true local experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great restaurant

Dined on May 22, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our birthday celebration dinner at Dakota Steakhouse. The food met or exceeded expectations. There were six adults plus a toddler, all ordered a different entree, and everyone loved their meal. The atmosphere was relaxed but refined.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Food and Service just so-so

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was just ok. My sisters steak was really tough. I asked to have my wedge salad chopped and tossed and the waitress told me we don't serve it that way. The bbq sauce is so vinegary that I could not eat it. The rest of the meal was just ok, nothing to boast about.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice experience. Great service and good menu.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good steaks and great appetizers. Friendly staff and nice ambiance. Would recommend it for a nice night out.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dakota Steakhouse on the mark.

Dined on May 8, 2016

My sirloin steak was fantastic. There were 6 in our group and everyone had a delicious meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going there from the time th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been going there from the time they first opened. The food is great and the services person are very friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice selection, delicious dinner!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Nice selection, delicious dinner!

food4
ambience2
service3

Restaurant was nicely adorned, but the a ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Restaurant was nicely adorned, but the atmosphere wasn't very inviting. Food was very good, but nothing really unique. Waitstaff were quite cold & unwelcoming, so that set the tone. Good location, easy to find & right off the hwy.

food4
ambience5
service5

Was in town for a little work and a litt ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Was in town for a little work and a little geocaching. Decided to try this restaurant. I had the Charred Romaine Caesar Salad and added salmon. The coffee was amazingly good and the wait person was very attentive. While the salad was really good I was surprised that the romaine was chopped and had no char. I am not complaining, because it was so good. Thank you for the lunch

food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best steak house in Rapid Ci ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

This is the best steak house in Rapid City. I look forward to my next visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Rapid City

Dined on April 4, 2016

We went here to celebrate a special birthday and were seated in a smaller area, away from the main dinning room, so it was like we had our own private space. Each of us had steak, either filet or rib eye and all were excellently prepared. The presentation was beautiful. Our waitress was very attentive. If we were in Rapid City again we would definitely go back.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We happened to stay across the street fr ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We happened to stay across the street from Dakotah while visting Mt. Rushmore and since it was my son's birthday, we decided to have dinner at Dakotah. The food was great - My husband had the filet mignon, my daughter and I shared Cowboy Bone-In Rib-eye and my son ordered the Buffalo Rib-eye - all were quite tasty and cooked to perfection.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great Service! Good Atmosphere! Avg Food!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The burger, and the flank steak were very good. The Prime Rib was pretty rare, even by Prime Rib standards. The Rib-eye by the ounce was average. The wedge salad was far inferior to others in town, especially for the price. You have good food, but not to the level that warrants the price versus other steakhouses in Rapid. The service was very good!

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

food

Dined on March 31, 2016

Walleye, tasteless, watery. Dry aged, prime, rib eye; tough, seemed reheated. It was however, expensive. Asparagus, cold, stringy, tough.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place!

Dined on March 18, 2016

I love this restaurant. Food is always great. Best steaks in town. Great service and atmosphere. Drink menu is great too. St. Patrick's day dinner was very good. Both of us always thoroughly enjoy going here. A fun night always with friends to stop in for one of the yummy burgers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant surprise right across from our ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Pleasant surprise right across from our hotel!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pretty good food.

Dined on February 15, 2016

I had no problem worth my reservation. The service was good, the food was pretty good. The steak I had was amazing, however the prime my boyfriend had wasn't as good but still tender and juicy. Bq sauce was icky but maybe that was just us. I would definately recommend this to a friend, nice place really.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants to eat a ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants to eat at in Rpaid City. Lovely rustic atmosphere, top notch menu, fresh ingredients, homemade food, wonderful bar menu.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Valentine day dinner good food and environmental

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience.

Dined on February 6, 2016

Excellent experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

night out

Dined on February 6, 2016

We took visiting friends to Dakotahs for supper. They had Texas boar as a special and our friend really enjoyed this unique dish. The rest of us had various steaks. I ask for the green pepper rings along with onion rings and the chef was kind enough to make them (they used to be on the menu and we loved them). The soups and salads were excellent, no desert we were to full! The waitress was wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to have dinner

Dined on February 3, 2016

Dakota Steakhouse is a great place to eat. The food is good & service is excellent. We always stop here when we are in Rapid City.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great meal at Dakota St ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

We always have a great meal at Dakota Steakhouse. Our go to place for dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for holiday gathering

Dined on January 8, 2016

We held our board and staff holiday gathering at Dakotah Steakhouse. Staff was really attentive and everything was really nice. Food was delicious and people really enjoyed the event. Their dining rooms are very nice--our group had just over 30 and it was fantastic. Many stayed afterwards for dinner and enjoyed the night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service meets awesome food. The qu ...

vip
Dined on November 27, 2015

Great service meets awesome food. The quirky menu options were filled with delicious morsels that made our taste buds sing. You should definitely try the elk ravioli. Dreamed about it later that night. Save room for dessert though. It made the already great meal perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dakota Steakhouse is our favorite restaurant in RC

Dined on November 26, 2015

We have had numerous dinners at Dakota Steakhouse and feel it is the best for all around good food. We have had dinner for two, family dinner for 6 and group dinners of over a dozen and the food and service has been unequaled in Rapid City. If you don't like their steaks, burgers, seafood or other items we feel sorry for you. We haven't had a bad experience there in the years that they have been open. The only regret we have is that they aren't open for lunch anymore.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4

We have been to Dakotah several times al ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

We have been to Dakotah several times always very happy but this time the prime rib was not right dident seem to have any taste and was a little tough. Sevice was great and Walleye fingers were great

food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent Meal

Dined on October 18, 2015

Took my family of 5 out for dinner as a little celebration, walleye fingers appetizer was delicious, we enjoyed the filet, prime rib, cheeseburger and grilled cheese and all were excellent. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting beef.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.