About Dakotah Steakhouse

We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal.

We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive.

Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours.

From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too.

The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.

Named "Best Restaurant in South Dakota" 2015 by Business Insider

1325 N Elk Vale Road
Rapid City, SD 57703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I-90

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1800

Website:
http://www.dakotahsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Cody Bartels Sous Chef Epi

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining room set up board room style seating approximately 12 people. A/V, WIFI.

We also have two semi-private areas for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Robin Schnieder: (605) 791-1800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dakotah Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Quiet Conversation (18)
Business Meals (17)
Casual (16)
Comfort Food (13)
Romantic (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Neither of us are big beef eaters, so we ordered the Prime Rib to split between us. The prime was melt in the mouth, but the fat was not charcoaled enough. The bacon-wrapped asparagus was good, but bacon needed to be wrapped more than just around the middle of the bundle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

Appetizer came out cold. Sent it back and it came out cold again. Waitress was nowhere to be found so we ate it since we were starving. Manager argued with us very rudely and said "You ate the appetizer, it must have been delicious. You ate it, there's nothing I'm going to do". Thanks for ruining an expensive birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

FOOD WAS GOOD, THE STAFF WAS GREAT, THE ONLY THING IS OUR WAITER WOULD NOT CHECK IN ON US AS OFTEN AS I WOULD HAVE LIKED, DRINKS SAT EMPTY. OTHER THEN THAT THE PLACE WAS GREAT.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

Brandie was an excellent waitress. I left her a good tip but probably not enough, especially since we spent so much time talking after we were done eating. Hopefully I didn’t take too many customers away from her.

It was just a very pleasant and enjoyable evening with my sister-in-law. We had a great time, and I would recommend Dakota steakhouse different for sure.
Fred

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

Dakotah steakhouse is a basic, overpriced restaurant that serves small portions for an outrageous price. I will never eat there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

We had reservations for a Thanksgiving dinner. As usual, the service was excellent.

I had a combination turkey/ham dinner. The turkey was as expected, very good, but the ham was tasteless. Wish I had not spent the money on the combination dinner.
Will we visit again? Yes, but no ham.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great facility, quiet, with rustic exposed ceiling beams and unique lighting. Good menu, wine list and excellent bourbon selection. Prime rib and lamb chops that my wife and I ordered were prepared perfectly to order and were absolutely superb. Not inexpensive, but well worth every penny.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Celebrated a special anniversary with family and chose the Dakotah Steakhouse as the best venue in Rapid City to fit our desires. The service was great, the steaks were outstanding and we really enjoyed the evening. It's a little pricey but we'll be back for our next special event!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2017

I was in town on business, and the Dakotah Steakhouse, close by, had nice reviews. The menu was basic - steaks, Walleye, pasta, and sandwiches, but interesting enough. I started dinner with a very nice bourbon cocktail, settled in to a dinner of a 14 oz ribeye (served with a house salad and a choice of side, in this instance, sauteed kale), and a piece of warm fry bread. The steak was served medium rare, as ordered. Flavor: OK, nothing outstanding. Tenderness: OK, not particularly tender. Sauteed kale: I got what I asked for. Service was pleasant and prompt, and a dessert of a locally made sage ice cream was the meal's winner. All in all, dinner was OK. I wouldn't discourage someone from trying it, and I might do so again in the way of a "second chance", but there are other options that may be worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

The restaurant was recommended as an upscale establishment. Accommodations were above average, but the entries were extremely over priced for the quality of the food received. Service was mediocre, well below what was expected for the price of the menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Mt Rushmore, wind cave and Dakota steakhouse are the top 3 on my list every time to visit rapid city.
Ribeye cooked just right as we ordered. Prime rib always good. The shrimp as steak topping is a surprise, fresh and flavorful.
The dressing for side salad made by real blue cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere and great food. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

We really enjoyed our first dinner at Dakotah Steakhouse. One of us ordered the buffalo ribeye steak and the other the bone-in ribeye. We split them and both were amazing. Great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great food and great service. Food came out quick and tasted very good. Desert was also really good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Great experience all the way around. Great service, great wine, great dinner, great dessert. Absolute A+ dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was great! My husband and I came for our anniversary. Once our meal came our server Brandi went MIA for twenty minutes. We needed things and waited and waited....We went out to smoke and once we got back waited another 10 minutes until we asked someone to get her. She came back and said "i checked on you twice but you were out smoking" with a little attitude. We were nothing but respectful and were tired of waiting. The restaurant was less than busy. It wouldnt of been a big deal if she wasnt gone for 20 minutes before we stepped outside. Hostess was nice and said she had a special spot for us. It was a quiet saturday night. Food was delicious but was unhappy with the "hospitality" and service from our waitress.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Fantastic steaks and tasty sides! 4 stars would've been 5 if the wine selection was better.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

The food was great and the service was poor for what’s expected at this restaurant. For example the waitress was no Sommelier. She had no idea how to serve wine but then again the waitress who served us a couple weeks was the same. We are also members and the waitress didn’t ask or provide me with my current point status.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2017

We were here for three days and ate here twice! Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Miss Shelly at the desk was very friendly. Our server Tommy was great. My steak was the best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Too expensive for what I got. Buffalo steak was delicious but too fatty. Really fatty for buffalo. 50.00 and it was fatty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Me and my wife love to eat here,its are special spot to enjoy the best food in the area..You will enjoy this great steakhouse,yes its a little pricey,but So worth it!my favorite is the cowboy bone in ribeye.Great place..

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 14, 2017

This was our first time to dine at the Dakotah Steakhouse. A good friend recommended it and we were not disappointed. The staff had great service matched to outstanding steaks. Definitely will return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Fired mac & cheese was great. Everything else was way too salty. Service and ambiance were on par for this type of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

First trip to Rapid City, pleasantly surprised! Fry bread and butter, so tasty! Salad and entrees were so delicious. A must if you ask me if you want an upscale dinnning experience. Kota, our server was fabulous!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent service and food very well prepared. We enjoyed it all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 4, 2017

This place is ok. Very pricey for what is served. We had steak one night which was tough and returned another night for just a burger. The burger was better then the steak. The atmosphere was nice. The service was good

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Atmosphere wonderful. Food,Server and service very good

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Excellent food and service! We actually went back a second night in a row while we were visiting! Everything from the soup and salad, to the main courses of both steaks and sandwiches were wonderful! Dakota, our server was fantastic! Wish we lived closer!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was excellent, enjoyed the fry bread and butter. The soups were very good. Wish we felt like the desserts after our meal, next time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I am a rewards card member and appreciated the fact they honored my reservation request to be seated by the fireplace. The service was very good. However, the specialness, if you will, was taken back a bit by the cold baked potato my wife was served.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Drove by looked interesting so we stopped. The food was great! Desert was delicious price was more than reasonable if I lived in town it would be our go to place for dinner

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Mediocre food at best. This is certainly not the best steakhouse in Rapid City. My NY strip lacked flavor. The lambs chops were nicely presented; however, it also lacked seasoning. The pasta here was just awful; that should be the easiest item to cook on the entire menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Traveled through rapid city on vacation and stayed across the street. Walleye fingers and bison rib eye were great. One steak was plenty for two. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The steak was rare on one side and well done on the other. It seemed burned on the outside. I am not sure what that dessert was. It definitely was NOT traditional South Dakota kuchen. The meal was over priced and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our family celebrated our parents 50th wedding anniversary and the whole dining experience was top notch from the time we entered the restaurant till the time we left. We really enjoyed our waiter Skylar as well, he was so attentive to all of us (he did not know about the special occasion) which made the day a little bit special. We highly recommend Dakotah Steakhouse.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Service was not great. Steaks were OK but had to send back a "medium rare" filet that was "medium well+" done; the new steak was rare to medium rare which was OK. The salad was poor (refrigerator taste). The sides were poor at best. The fry bread, asparagus, and fried Mac & Cheese were not good. Tourist trap???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 5, 2017

My husband and I are on vacation and keystone South Dakota, a restaurant closer to where we were staying had to wait. We decided to look on trip advisor and find another restaurant, this one was 20 minutes away but well worth the drive. The restaurant was beautiful, the wait staff was helpful and friendly and the food was wonderful. We each got a ribeye which was topped with crispy onions and the bread was fried bread, those two together are always good. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and may go back before we leave .

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.