About Dakotah Steakhouse

We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal.

We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive.

Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours.

From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too.

The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.

Named "Best Restaurant in South Dakota" 2015 by Business Insider

1325 N Elk Vale Road
Rapid City, SD 57703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I-90

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1800

Website:
http://www.dakotahsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Cody Bartels Sous Chef Epi

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining room set up board room style seating approximately 12 people. A/V, WIFI.

We also have two semi-private areas for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Robin Schnieder: (605) 791-1800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dakotah Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Fireplace (16)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Casual (10)
Romantic (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Family Style (5)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (1)
 (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Good selection of steaks. Very good salad. Waiter could have been more informed about wine but did know the beers. Generous portions. We had lunch for the next two days.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great, cooked to our desire and very tasty. Service was very well done, allowing us to enjoy our dining with minimum but sufficient checking on how we were doing. food was delivered promptly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, great service. Special night for us and DSH lived up to expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Sirloin steak was a little tough/ didn't taste fresh but it was priced cheap. 3 sisters soup was good and so was their kuchen, the state dessert. The chairs had rollers which felt odd. Server was a pro at her job so kudos to her!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We were visiting South Dakota, from Colorado, over Father's Day, so I made reservations at Dakota Steak House for Father's Day dinner. My husband loved his prime rib and I had the small filet mignon. Both were excellent. The mushroom bread pudding was an interesting side (very good) and my husband had a loaded baked potato. We had sage ice cream for dessert. Our table was right next to the big fireplace and the service from Skylar was terrific. What a lovely evening! We'll be back next trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We struggled to pick a restaurant in Rapid City to celebrate our 40th Anniversary while staying for a few days. We made the right choice! Service was great, food was great (the aged ribeye was the best steak we ever had) and everything was handled in a timely manner. We definately recommend the Dakota!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

It was our first visit and we had a wonderful time! From the welcoming hostess to the knowledgeable server, service was great. The food was exceptional, worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We were tourists in Rapid City and wanted a nice steak house. Dakotah fit the bill. We enjoyed the dining experience and the food. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This is the best steakhouse I have eaten at. The only problem is we were on vacation and we live in South Carolina not South Dakota. I wish we had one in Mount Pleasant, SC! Loved everything: house salad, baked potato, six ounce top sirloin, and creme brulee.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The Buffalo Satay Skewers is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Convenient choice for dinner after a long day's drive. Excellent prime rib. Courteous, professional staff seemed as if they were trying to cover too many tables at once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Overall great dining experience. South Dakota was the 50th state I've visited and wanted to taste SD cuisine "chisilic". It was spicy but taste great. The sauce gave it an extra kick. I was disappointed with the prime rib sandwich. The meat was bland and over cooked. The sweet potatoe fries were the best I ever had! Could have a little less salt though. Very pleased with the food presentation and the wonderful service.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We were traveling and this place was recommended by the hotel. We had a relaxing supper. Good service and food.

Tags: Great Beer, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best steak in Rapid City. Tommy was our server and did a fantastic job. If you're heading to Rapid City and want a delicious meal with good service, you need to hit Dakotah.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food was amazing. The prices could definitely use some work...i added shrimp to a steak and the small shrimp that arrived was not worth the $10 upcharge, burnt taste. The steak on the other hand, i would have paid double. It was a common flat iron steak but at medium....soft and almost buttery. Thee buffalo skewers are the best. Go there at least once just to say you did. I would recommend this place to everyone i meet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 30, 2017

the food here is amazing we drive 150 miles for the steak its not the cheapest but we pay for quality and our waitress was fun and did an awsome job i think they called her lou i hope she is our waitress every time we go. I will continue to eat here as long as it is open and the steaks are as good

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The steak quality was fabulous , your hostess should be more aware of people coming into your restaurant to greet th m

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food flavor and temperature were exceptional. Server was fun and playful with our group. Will defiantly go back when in town.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Having visited Dakotah Steakhouse several times over the past 2+ years, have always found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and courteous. On every visit the food has been truly excellent and more than enough to satisfy even the hardest of appetites. This restaurant has my very highest recommendation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Fireplace, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was excellent, however. a little too pricy. The glass of wine was a very short fill. I ask for a slice of birthday cake and the waiter left and came back and read me your flyer that I already receive in the mail . I understood that. but I still desired a slice of cake if available. Of course I was willing to pay for it. The waiter has too defensive and not very accommodating. Sorry. but the atmosphere was good.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent ribeye steak. Great service. Nice wine selection.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My family stoped here looking for a good meal, the service was fair, but the food was under par for the price. We get better steak dinners for half the price, and we will not be coming back.
This place takes decent meat and overlooks it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love to come to Dakotah for special occasions and love the food-
dinner is better than brunch, however.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The only positive was The food was prepared well and tasted good. The waitress was nice.

The prices are very high for what you get however.

I made the reservation and stated in writing we were celebrating my husbands birthday. I Left my phone number in case of any questions.

I've done this many times before in other restaurants with positive results.

When we arrived no one ever acknowledged that it was his birthday.

The restaurant was almost empty but we were seated in the back with a view of the cars going by on the highway.

Then they seated a loud family right next to us. We listened to their conversation and watched traffic during dinner.

By dessert, I went to remind them to put a candle on his dessert. I was told they have no candles and acted like I was asking for something that they had never heard of. It was so rude.

Why not ask the chef to write happy birthday on his dessert plate at least. NOTHING was ever done. NOTHING.

Since I did leave my phone number when I made the reservation, They should have called me to say that they do NOTHING for birthdays and I would have brought my own darn candle or gone elsewhere.

In a fine establishment the least they should do is acknowledge a birthday or seat us in a beautiful part of the restaurant, Or keep the LOUD family away from us as this was a SPECIAL OCCASION!

This occasion was TOTALLY IGNORED.

This LACK OF SERVICE ruined it for us. It didn't even feel like it was a birthday dinner in any way shape or form.

I've never had this happen in any fine dining establishment. For this reason I do not recommend it for any special occasion.

In fact, I don't recommend this restaurant for anything but an EXPENSIVE meal. And good luck with where you are seated.
We will never go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We stopped here on a family vacation and the service was extremely slow. Overall, the atmosphere is nice for family dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My steak was mediocre at best-- overlooked and the add-on mushrooms left much to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Steaks were over cooked. Buffalo steak was to thin. Disappointed with the food. Great service tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Beautiful building. Great fireplace. A bit expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It's a nice place for a special occasion. Good food and service. But too expensive for dining often. Nice treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Absolutely enjoyed every aspect of our meal. The Buffalo skewers are definitely a must and the option to choose my own steak size really hit home for me. Excellent service and suggestions from our waiter, Skylar, and a great atmosphere. Although pricy, it was definitely worth it and we plan to spend many special occasions here.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Business Meals, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We booked this restaurant as it was recommended, but the Hostess was right out rude and unfriendly, she never greeted us and as I explained we had a reservation she still gave us the silent treatment, a young lady took us to our table and was friendly, welcoming us. We were then served by Kayla and she did a great job. When leaving the restaurant the hostess was at the front desk and my husband greeted her, again she did not care to respond.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Elk ravioli dish was delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was somewhere my girlfriend had always wanted to go. It is somewhat expensive, but well worth the money spent. Our server, Skylar, was awesome. Excellent recommendations by him. I will be back for sure!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I asked for a quiet, romantic corner to celebrate my husband's birthday. They put us in the most perfect place next to the Fireplace. Food and service was amazing (as always) as was the wine. The ambiance made the evening special! Thank you staff, you're awesome!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The dinner was the best I think I've ever had at a restaurant. The service was just as good as well. We will certainly be back, everytime we are in Rapid City. We will make a special stop. Hands down amazing!! Wish we had one in Bismarck/Mandan ND.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was excellent and our server was great! Love the ambiance of this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great restaurant with excellent food! Never disappointed when we eat there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The buffalo skewers with the peanut sauce are to die for.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Attentive staff... but food was below par. Disappointing and we will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Waitress forgot to put in our appetizer order.
Steaks were delivered with degree of doneness mixed up between us. When finally redone correctly, the food was excellent.
With our appetizers forgotten and food done incorrectly, I was quite surprised that they didn't offer any compensation for the disaster that was our dining experience. All that was offered was a smile and a shrug.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.