About Dakotah Steakhouse

We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal.

We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive.

Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours.

From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too.

The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.

Named "Best Restaurant in South Dakota" 2015 by Business Insider

1325 N Elk Vale Road
Rapid City, SD 57703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I-90

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1800

Website:
http://www.dakotahsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Cody Bartels Sous Chef Epi

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining room set up board room style seating approximately 12 people. A/V, WIFI.

We also have two semi-private areas for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Robin Schnieder: (605) 791-1800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dakotah Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Casual (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fireplace (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
519 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We had dinner while visiting the Rapid City area. The prime rib was excellent as well as the chicken noodle soup which was the soup of the day. Even The baked potatoes were really good. The service was wonderful. All around great meal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

We were traveling through the area and wanted to find a great steakhouse. The Dakotah was even better than what we had expected and incredibly happy with our meal. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Robin was awesome. Servers did great. Food was exceptional!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Best steak I've had at a restaurant in years. Melt in your mouth good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2017

I'm from California and have eaten at the best steak houses in Beverly Hills, there Steak was awesome and perfectly prepared.
Can't wait to go back next year to Sturgis, will absolutely make it a point to eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 14, 2017

My husband and I loved the atmosphere, food, and drinks. The service was impeccable, the food is unlike any other restaurant food in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

3 people and 2 pieces of bread. When asked for more, got 2 more.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Scheduled a table for a business dinner. Requested a table back in a corner so we could discuss some sensitive materials. The hostess selected a great table for us. Felicia, our server, was great. She respected our time and space. Which we appreciated greatly with the items we needed to discuss while we were there. When the food showed up, we all were very impressed with the quality and presentation of the food. Overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Supposedly on of the better dinner places in Rapid City. I had a $ 48 dry aged steak that was average. Service was ooor - as our appetizer was late - served on top of dinner. Privy for the quality of fare. Drinks were also late - and only 2 beers !!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The best aged beef I've ever had!
The buffalo skewers were a perfect small entree for my wife!
Nice drinks and wine selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Over rated - steaks were tough and over cooked to order!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Best steak my daughter & I have ever had! The waiter was courteous & friendly, let me have a taste of the wine I ordered before a full glass in case I didn't like it, without me requesting to do so. I will definitely come back here next time I'm back in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Never a disappointment when dining here. Food is always excellent, service is outstanding. Be careful when you are seating, as chairs roll and you could slip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 22, 2017

They catered to our every request. Even added a little flair to a birthday dessert for my wife's birthday. The price is high but so is the quality. Definitely returning here when we get a chance. I made a reservation but arrived early and didn't need to wait at all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

A note about our visit.
July 16, 2017
Our server was new, he did a pretty good job and was nice.
The Sunday evening "Chef" Burned our 10 Once Filet and our Bison Ribeye. It took a very long time for the manager to come by for assistance. By this time we had to move on for later plans. We would have liked to have had the steaks redone, but we had no time for a second round.

The Female manager there on Sunday night made a bad choice in the way she made up for the bad food. Instead of removing 100% of the charges for the burned steaks she just reduced the bill. We left a much greater portion of the food then she covered with the reduction in price.
The "crust" on the meat was pure coal like to over 1/8" deep. Black, power, chalky black. Made the slices taste horrible. Could not eat it. I showed her how it bounced off the plate and left black on my fingers.
I did not protest her decision. I did feel cheated, I do not respect a manager or a restaurant who would charge for badly cooked steaks. It was never about the money! It is about Class, Value, Mutual Respect and customer service! The server was embarrassed by her decision (Manager).

My bill was still over $100.00 after her little discount. Even though she ruined our meal.

At Tally's Silver spoon we gave rave reviews as deserved. At Dakotah's I am giving the review deserved as well. Will post a review everywhere I can find to post them.

Next time do the right thing for the next customer whom you provide substandard food too. I expected excellence and was willing to pay for high quality. Very disappointed.

ZS

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We made our reservations for our anniversary which was never noticed. The prime rib was delicious but the sides were crap. My husband ordered blue cheese mashed potatoes and got a smashed potato with three blue cheese crumbles on it. My bacon wrapped asparagus was so burnt in the ends could only eat the middle!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our go to place for taking out of town guest, special occasion or just a great meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The reservation was so easy to make online. The bartender was very prompt when we needed another drink. The waiter was very attentive and the Cowboy Bone-in Ribeye was done perfectly and tasted awesome.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food and service was exceptional. The waiter was very patient with the young kids, and helped find suitable items on menu for person with food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The atmosphere was good, the server was fantastic, but my steak (fillet) was very over done. First time I've been disappointed here. I ordered medium rare. I got well done. No pink at all. But we'll be back, it's always been very good in the past. Everybody can have an off day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We were vacationing in South Dakota and Dakota was near our hotel so we gave it a try and were pleasantly surprised. The steak was outstanding as was our service by Skylar! The menu isn't large but the selections were good. My son had the Elk Ravioli and said it was delicious. I had the filet and my husband ordered the Rib Eye. Everything was so good and the dessert was even better! A great place to go.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food. Was sat next to a table with 3 small children and it was a special occasion. Other than that it was a great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Went here based on reviews. My steak was ordered med rare and arrived med-well. Service was Ok but it was hard to catch the attention of the servers who seemed pretty busy. wine list was marginal for a steak house. The facility was great (large and spacious) and parking was easy. The reception staff were very friendly. This place would do better to bill itself as a family restaurant rather than a steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We were on vacation in S.D. I checked my Open Table app for nearby restaurants and this looked like a good candidate. The food was excellent and our server was very friendly. Great place for a good steak in Rapid City SD.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Horrible experience, waiter was not engaged and ignored our needs. When we engaged the manager with our concerns she wasn't overly apologetic. Doubt I will return too bad was a great looking place...

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 26, 2017

to start with, the server was very glib even though when we asked for specific libations, he just blew us off. I said to my husband when he asked for two different martinis that they did not have, I said to him that we could always leave, and the server says " whoa there girl!!"..and server was all he was...not geared for the hospitality business.the meal was fair at best. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We go about once a year when we are visiting the hills and haven't been disappointed yet. Had the buffalo steak this year and it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Good selection of steaks. Very good salad. Waiter could have been more informed about wine but did know the beers. Generous portions. We had lunch for the next two days.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The food was great, cooked to our desire and very tasty. Service was very well done, allowing us to enjoy our dining with minimum but sufficient checking on how we were doing. food was delivered promptly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Amazing food, great service. Special night for us and DSH lived up to expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Sirloin steak was a little tough/ didn't taste fresh but it was priced cheap. 3 sisters soup was good and so was their kuchen, the state dessert. The chairs had rollers which felt odd. Server was a pro at her job so kudos to her!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were visiting South Dakota, from Colorado, over Father's Day, so I made reservations at Dakota Steak House for Father's Day dinner. My husband loved his prime rib and I had the small filet mignon. Both were excellent. The mushroom bread pudding was an interesting side (very good) and my husband had a loaded baked potato. We had sage ice cream for dessert. Our table was right next to the big fireplace and the service from Skylar was terrific. What a lovely evening! We'll be back next trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We struggled to pick a restaurant in Rapid City to celebrate our 40th Anniversary while staying for a few days. We made the right choice! Service was great, food was great (the aged ribeye was the best steak we ever had) and everything was handled in a timely manner. We definately recommend the Dakota!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

It was our first visit and we had a wonderful time! From the welcoming hostess to the knowledgeable server, service was great. The food was exceptional, worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were tourists in Rapid City and wanted a nice steak house. Dakotah fit the bill. We enjoyed the dining experience and the food. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This is the best steakhouse I have eaten at. The only problem is we were on vacation and we live in South Carolina not South Dakota. I wish we had one in Mount Pleasant, SC! Loved everything: house salad, baked potato, six ounce top sirloin, and creme brulee.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The Buffalo Satay Skewers is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Convenient choice for dinner after a long day's drive. Excellent prime rib. Courteous, professional staff seemed as if they were trying to cover too many tables at once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Overall great dining experience. South Dakota was the 50th state I've visited and wanted to taste SD cuisine "chisilic". It was spicy but taste great. The sauce gave it an extra kick. I was disappointed with the prime rib sandwich. The meat was bland and over cooked. The sweet potatoe fries were the best I ever had! Could have a little less salt though. Very pleased with the food presentation and the wonderful service.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We were traveling and this place was recommended by the hotel. We had a relaxing supper. Good service and food.

Tags: Great Beer, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.