Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Dakotah Steakhouse

4.4
592 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal.

We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive.

Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours.

From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too.

The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.

Named "Best Restaurant in South Dakota" 2015 by Business Insider
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(605) 791-1800
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Cody Bartels Sous Chef Epi
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We offer a small private dining room set up board room style seating approximately 12 people. A/V, WIFI.

We also have two semi-private areas for up to 30 people.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Robin Schnieder: (605) 791-1800
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
I-90
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 592 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

service was not good. food was worse. I will never go back here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Past experiences have been much better. Was disappointed but will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Our favorite place in the Black Hills!!The food is totally awesome and the atmosphere is over the top!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food and service was great. Very attractive surroundings.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

I had noted in the reservation I was celebrating my birthday. No one mentioned it. I found this disappointing. Why include the question in the reservation if the restaurant is not going to acknowledge it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

It was our anniversary dinner. Very nice evening out. Great food and staff were very professional. Will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Really not impressed, Prices go to pay for the beautiful building but not for the food ingredients.I could have had the same Steak at a Texas Roadhouse for 1/3 of the price. Liked the bread but they only served two tiny pieces in a huge basket.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The hostess was very accommodating out meal was very good and nicely prepared
The waitress was attentive and very knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

I had the fillet, it was med rare as i ordered it, I was highly disappointed as it was tough. The price was way too high for the quality of this cut. Not sure we will be back for a second time with those prices. 😔

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Very mediocre. Not terrible but with the beautiful building it could be a lot better. pretty typical for the Rapid City area. It is set up like a"fine dining" establishment but has waitress that are more like disgruntled truckstop waitresses. They were more worried about getting out of there ASAP than really attending to their patrons.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Always a favorite. Walleye fingers are a definite must.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We had the special of the night, Chateaubriand, and it was excellent! The drinks were good, the service was great, we enjoyed the whole experience. This is about the 3rd or 4th time we've been here and has been a great experience each time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Mixed review. The wine selection was very nice. However my dad asked about a hot brandy. They couldn’t do it. Asked about hot buttered rum. No luck. Another party asked for JB scotch and water. They didn’t have that either. So for an upper scale restaurant their bar offerings were mediocre at best.

We had the petite filet. It was cooked very well and tasty. I ordered the asparagus as a side. It was way over cooked and mushy. It was very disappointing. Three spears of asparagus wrapped in bacon but you could tell it was cooked up ahead and held on heat for a long time. If it weren’t a business dinner I would have sent it back. Then I ordered herb tea with no caffeine. They brought me a box of tazo tea, nice...not!! Every tea had caffeine. I did send that back and the waitress brought me two individual tea bags.

I feel that there is definitely room for improvement in the details. The prices are high enough that I would expect a better experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

The food, service and atmosphere were all outstanding as they have been every time we eat at Dakotah Steakhouse. This is out favorite steakhouse in all of the Black Hills. We have brought our family from California and Australia there in the past and all of them were very impressed. On the most recent visit our waitress Tallulah provided truly exceptional service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The food and service were both fabulous. The New York strip was one of the best we have ever had. Nice wine list and not terribly overpriced. Would definitely eat there again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We enjoy eating at Dakotah. The food is always great the so is the service. We especially like brining family and guests here for a special evening dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Great evening, perfect! The food was perfectly prepared, the drinks were just right, and we had a waiter who was very experienced and did a perfect job. And excellent dessert!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Love this place one our favorites in rapid city. Every time it’s awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

We had a wonderful meal and great service. We prefer to sit in a booth at the bar. It’s quieter and we like the seating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Our party had different special dietary requirements and they did a great job with each of the needs. Food was delicious and meal was perfect. Very impressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

We were very satisfied with the quality of the food and the ambiance. We visited on Christmas Eve, the food was delicious, and the staff never made us feel rushed through tour the evening.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Their names says Steakhouse but you can get a better steak at Longhorns just an exit away for 1/2 the price. Overall, the meals we had were very average in flavor. Nothing stands out for a 40 dollar rib eye or New York strip. Won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2017

Tallulah made our experience at Dakota Steakhouse very enjoyable! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

The food is amazing and the service is good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 10, 2017

Neither of us are big beef eaters, so we ordered the Prime Rib to split between us. The prime was melt in the mouth, but the fat was not charcoaled enough. The bacon-wrapped asparagus was good, but bacon needed to be wrapped more than just around the middle of the bundle.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 5, 2017

Appetizer came out cold. Sent it back and it came out cold again. Waitress was nowhere to be found so we ate it since we were starving. Manager argued with us very rudely and said "You ate the appetizer, it must have been delicious. You ate it, there's nothing I'm going to do". Thanks for ruining an expensive birthday dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

FOOD WAS GOOD, THE STAFF WAS GREAT, THE ONLY THING IS OUR WAITER WOULD NOT CHECK IN ON US AS OFTEN AS I WOULD HAVE LIKED, DRINKS SAT EMPTY. OTHER THEN THAT THE PLACE WAS GREAT.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 29, 2017

Brandie was an excellent waitress. I left her a good tip but probably not enough, especially since we spent so much time talking after we were done eating. Hopefully I didn’t take too many customers away from her.

It was just a very pleasant and enjoyable evening with my sister-in-law. We had a great time, and I would recommend Dakota steakhouse different for sure.
Fred

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 23, 2017

Dakotah steakhouse is a basic, overpriced restaurant that serves small portions for an outrageous price. I will never eat there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2017

We had reservations for a Thanksgiving dinner. As usual, the service was excellent.

I had a combination turkey/ham dinner. The turkey was as expected, very good, but the ham was tasteless. Wish I had not spent the money on the combination dinner.
Will we visit again? Yes, but no ham.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great facility, quiet, with rustic exposed ceiling beams and unique lighting. Good menu, wine list and excellent bourbon selection. Prime rib and lamb chops that my wife and I ordered were prepared perfectly to order and were absolutely superb. Not inexpensive, but well worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 16, 2017

Celebrated a special anniversary with family and chose the Dakotah Steakhouse as the best venue in Rapid City to fit our desires. The service was great, the steaks were outstanding and we really enjoyed the evening. It's a little pricey but we'll be back for our next special event!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 15, 2017

I was in town on business, and the Dakotah Steakhouse, close by, had nice reviews. The menu was basic - steaks, Walleye, pasta, and sandwiches, but interesting enough. I started dinner with a very nice bourbon cocktail, settled in to a dinner of a 14 oz ribeye (served with a house salad and a choice of side, in this instance, sauteed kale), and a piece of warm fry bread. The steak was served medium rare, as ordered. Flavor: OK, nothing outstanding. Tenderness: OK, not particularly tender. Sauteed kale: I got what I asked for. Service was pleasant and prompt, and a dessert of a locally made sage ice cream was the meal's winner. All in all, dinner was OK. I wouldn't discourage someone from trying it, and I might do so again in the way of a "second chance", but there are other options that may be worth a visit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 10, 2017

Nothing special

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 10, 2017

The restaurant was recommended as an upscale establishment. Accommodations were above average, but the entries were extremely over priced for the quality of the food received. Service was mediocre, well below what was expected for the price of the menu items.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 10, 2017

Mt Rushmore, wind cave and Dakota steakhouse are the top 3 on my list every time to visit rapid city.
Ribeye cooked just right as we ordered. Prime rib always good. The shrimp as steak topping is a surprise, fresh and flavorful.
The dressing for side salad made by real blue cheese.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere and great food. Will definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

We really enjoyed our first dinner at Dakotah Steakhouse. One of us ordered the buffalo ribeye steak and the other the bone-in ribeye. We split them and both were amazing. Great service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 2, 2017

Great food and great service. Food came out quick and tasted very good. Desert was also really good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 1, 2017

Great experience all the way around. Great service, great wine, great dinner, great dessert. Absolute A+ dining experience.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15