About Dakotah Steakhouse

1325 N Elk Vale Road
Rapid City, SD 57703
View Larger Map

We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal.

We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive.

Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours.

From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too.

The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.

Named "Best Restaurant in South Dakota" 2015 by Business Insider

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I-90

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1800

Website:
http://www.dakotahsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Cody Bartels Sous Chef Epi

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining room set up board room style seating approximately 12 people. A/V, WIFI.

We also have two semi-private areas for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Robin Schnieder: 6057911800x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dakotah Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
3 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Rapid City
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (24)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Kid-friendly (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Hot Spot (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Cozy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great burger place. Pricey steaks. W ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great burger place. Pricey steaks. We don't live in the area.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Have always eaten in th ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food. Have always eaten in the bar area which is nice. Excellent cut of meet and Mushroom Bread Pudding is excellent accompaniment. Granted not inexpensive, but many menu items are not in the $49 high-end steak category and still well prepared.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very striking Western decor with a large ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very striking Western decor with a large fireplace. Food, mainly steaks, was excellent and prepared very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We ate here a year ago while traveling t ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We ate here a year ago while traveling thru on vacation and this year we knew we had to return for another dinner. Food, service and atmosphere were great again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service and tasty food

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great service and tasty food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our server just couldn't stay focused. D ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our server just couldn't stay focused. Drinks were slow to come to the table. He had to be reminded to bring the drinks. One person was served the wrong soup. Our table did not receive a bread basket. We needed to ask for this. When it was time for the second round of drinks, some came to the table, some did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service. The staff wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. The staff was friendly and got us in very quickly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For our son's birthday, we wanted to tak ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

For our son's birthday, we wanted to take him for prime rib, which we had ordered

a few months ago.

Our meals came promptly, but every cut had a lot of grizzle and triming to be done.

We were disappointed!!

Our serve was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food! Brandi, our waitress, was gr ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food! Brandi, our waitress, was great! Food was delicious, prompt service

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mixed review for our meals. 2 were very ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Mixed review for our meals. 2 were very good and 2 were not as good. For the price I would expect all 4 meals to be excellent .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went on-line to get reservation becau ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We went on-line to get reservation because Sturgis crowd was in town. We arrived early and decided we would just have a drink at the bar until our table was ready. Well we stayed at the bar because the Bartender was fabulous and really enjoyed just relaxing at the bar. We ordered everything we wanted - all was delicious! We asked for our reservation to be changed because we loved sitting at the bar. This was our first time to Dakota Steakhouse. Everything was wonderful, relaxing, fun and delicious ~ thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose this restaurant primarily due t ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We chose this restaurant primarily due to the fact that it was walking distance from out hotel. We both had appetizers and then burgers. Wife had regular hamburger and I Hamas the buffalo burger. Large helpings for sure and all cooked as requested. The onion ring appetizer we got would of fed 4 people.

We would return if back in the area.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Young server, seemed inexperienced, but ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Young server, seemed inexperienced, but he doesn't control the kitchen. They were "just out" of 2 of the 3 entrees we ordered, but I heard other tables order them successfully later.

A filet mignon, ordered medium rare was undercooked, tough and full of gristle, not the "slice with a fork" cut one expects for filet. The restaurant was overpriced and the quality of food below an Outback. Here in Steak Country, customers deserve better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The service was fair. Many tables turned ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The service was fair. Many tables turned over more than once while we were still seated. Food was ok. It's not a bad place to stop coming off of I-90 for a decent steak, but I wasn't overly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Our meal was somewhat leisurely paced. ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our meal was somewhat leisurely paced. Everything arrived at the right temperature (hot food was hot, cold food was cold). Although I didn't order a steak, I loved my meal and was happy with every bite. We splurged on dessert, and that put us over the budget a bit. It was worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I received excellent service. The Buffal ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I received excellent service. The Buffalo skewers were really good. My steak was over cooked but my server took it back and had it re done for me. I had two glasses of wine but I should have asked to sample them first because I probably wouldn't have selected either of them if I'd tried them first. I had the Cabernet Sauvignon and the Pinot Noir. If I'd tried them first I probably would have settled on a Merlot. Overall it was a good experience and I'd probably visit again if I was in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very friendly staff, courteous and atten ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very friendly staff, courteous and attentive server. We ordered the prime rib and walley and both were very good. Probably the best ambiance in Rapid City.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the spot to have a real good ste ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is the spot to have a real good steak. The waitress were very nice even though we arrive late. Portions are good size and as I said beef is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Made reservations but not too busy at 7p ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Made reservations but not too busy at 7pm for a Friday night. Staff was friendly and helpful, but being not too busy, took a while to get service promptly and had to wait some time to get the check.

Dinner entre seemed salty.

Made reservations for wife's 40th birthday. Even noted it on the reservation hoping for a special touch or something special as an option for her. Not even a happy birthday by anyone. Based on prices and image of the higher class restaurant in western SD, you think it would WOW a person.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding dinner, excellent service , ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outstanding dinner, excellent service , everything you would expect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere was nice. We came about 8:30 ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Atmosphere was nice. We came about 8:30 so there weren't many customers. Food was good but pretty expensive for what it was. The waitress only came by a couple of times. We would have appreciated more attention. Also she wasn't very friendly or talkative.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Good service and excellent food. You sh ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Good service and excellent food. You should not restrict review

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding. Enjoyed t ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The service was outstanding. Enjoyed the "house" cabernet and the nice wine glasses.

We usually love eating here but something was off this time. The buffalo bone appetizer was dry, difficult to cut , and was a smaller serving than we've had before -- it's usually fall-off-the-bone tender and juicy. Needless to say, we were disappointed, especially since we had out-of-town friends with us.

We will give them another try, though, as this is the only time out of many that we've been disappointed with the food.

NEVER disappointed in the service staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

We have visited Dakotah Steakhouse many ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have visited Dakotah Steakhouse many times. Always it is an excellent experience. My only criticism is that the waitstaff needs education in wine serving protocols.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was delicious. Recommend for those ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was delicious. Recommend for those traveling in Rapid City or if you live there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding food and environment. Great ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding food and environment. Great, friendly service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this place recommended by Yelp whi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Found this place recommended by Yelp while on vacation. So glad we stopped in! Food and service were both great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me preface this review with a commen ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Let me preface this review with a comment. I grew up in the Black Hills and now live in Denver. My boyfriend and I dine at 5 star steakhouses very regularly and are fully prepared to pay for a great meal. The Dakotah Steakhouse was not one of these places. I was extremely disappointed with my experience and meal at Dakotah Steakhouse.

There are numerous reasons for my poor rating. I will enumerate below.

1- WARNING!! The online menu is not accurate and the staff is fully aware of this false advertisement. The current prices are about 20% higher. I selected Dakotah Steakhouse over others because of the great value and good reviews. This was not the case.

2- Our waiter was mediocre, at best. He was nice but not attentive. He did not periodically check on our table while we were eating. He never asked or replenished our water glasses. We had to ask for additional bread as we were not offered. He did not ask if we would like an additional drink from the bar and took plates without asking if we were finished.

3- My lamb chops were rare and not medium rare as indicated on the menu and as I requested. The flavor was good but they were unevenly cut with one being very thin, around 1/2 inch, and one as think as an inch and a half. The inconsistency surely impacted the doneness of the meat.

4- My side was asparagus wrapped in bacon. It sounded wonderful and the bacon was delicious but the asparagus was woody. About 1/4 of the stalk was not eatable.

5- My boyfriend ordere the dry aged ribeye medium rare. The steak was not medium rare. It was medium. There is no better way to ruin a great steak than to over cook it. The flavor was just ok. Nothing spectacular.

6- The blue cheese wedge was poorly presented and lacked dressing. Right?!? Yes, the blue cheese wedge was inadequately dressed. I had to ask for additional dressing (which took forever) and there was also a little mound of onions and carrots on the plate making it very disjointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent food and service.

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OK experience....but place and service f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

OK experience....but place and service felt aged. Was traveling through town so a reasonable solution to need for a meal...pricing just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was outstanding - I had the ribeye ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was outstanding - I had the ribeye steak and my wife had the shaved prime rib dip. The service was great and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting family. We enjoyed the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We were visiting family. We enjoyed the onion rings. We all ordered the filets and they were very good and well prepared. We always go there when we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation at this restaurant ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We made a reservation at this restaurant for a nice Father's Day dinner celebration. We are from out of town so we had no expectations ahead of time but looked up the menu and it looked great! We arrived early and got seated right away. It took a little while for our drinks and we waited awhile to order. Our waitress, Ashley, did not check back with us at any point. Staying patient we finally asked around to see if we could order food. We got our drinks and ordered our meals. After an hour of waiting and still we hadn't received our appetizer, we decided to pay for our drinks and leave. The staff felt unorganized and were not too friendly when we decided to leave. The place seemed nice but after our experience with the service, I would not recommend it to anyone EVER! When we left several other customers chimed in that they were also unhappy with the service and the food. We are so happy we didn't waste the money or the time on Dakotah Steakhouse.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Alcohol sales were stopped due to early ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Alcohol sales were stopped due to early closing on Father's Day but we were never forewarned. Entree with venison and bison with blackberry sauce was great but overall experience was disappointing. Would try it again, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great locally owned steak house. Always ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great locally owned steak house. Always a delicious meal. Quality cuts of beef. The other people in my party all had steaks, which I have had in the past, and they were all very happy with how they were cooked. I had the Parmesan chicken with mushrooms and it was Fantastic! Thumbs up on the soup and desert as well. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant and the food was very g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant and the food was very good. You could go casual or dress up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Both steaks were done the way we request ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Both steaks were done the way we requested and were tender and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food, service and ambiance was what ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food, service and ambiance was what we were looking for for the evening. Too bad that we live so far away and can't place Dakotah on our "to go" place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service started quickly. We were impress ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service started quickly. We were impressed and thought we were going to have a fantastic experience. However, once we got our appetiser, service dropped off drastically. We waited for an extraordinarily long time for our entrees. We were again disappointed when we tasted our food. I love mashed potatoes but could barely eat a few bites of mine due to the bad, almost sour, taste. The bacon wrapped asparagus used large, past its prime spears. I could eat the upper half until I got to the overly large bottom part of the stalks. The steak was supposed to be prime, not choice. However, I've had choice steaks that were much more flavorful and tender. Again, I could only eat about a third to half of the steak. The rest of my family was similarly disappointed and couldn't finish their meals either. Our server was not attentive. We had difficulty getting refills and had to wait forever for our check. In fact, half my family returned to our nearby hotel while the rest of us waited not only for the check but for the server to return with the receipt for me to sign.

On a positive note, we did enjoy the decor, quiet atmosphere and Chislic appetizer. Unfortunately, the food and service were extremely disappointing. It was overpriced to begin with, but the flavor was an insult and a meal we had looked forward to on our vacation left us extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Our server Mandy was wonderful, couldnt ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server Mandy was wonderful, couldnt have been better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.