About Dakotah Steakhouse

1325 N Elk Vale Road
Rapid City, SD 57703
View Larger Map

We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal.

We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive.

Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours.

From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too.

The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.

Named "Best Restaurant in South Dakota" 2015 by Business Insider

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I-90

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1800

Website:
http://www.dakotahsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Cody Bartels Sous Chef Epi

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining room set up board room style seating approximately 12 people. A/V, WIFI.

We also have two semi-private areas for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Robin Schnieder: (605) 791-1800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dakotah Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Cozy (11)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fireplace (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The buffalo skewers with the peanut sauc ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 2 days ago

The buffalo skewers with the peanut sauce are to die for.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Attentive staff... but food was below pa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Attentive staff... but food was below par. Disappointing and we will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Waitress forgot to put in our appetizer ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Waitress forgot to put in our appetizer order.

Steaks were delivered with degree of doneness mixed up between us. When finally redone correctly, the food was excellent.

With our appetizers forgotten and food done incorrectly, I was quite surprised that they didn't offer any compensation for the disaster that was our dining experience. All that was offered was a smile and a shrug.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was okay but not worth the pric ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was okay but not worth the price. I highly recommend the buffalo skewers. But amount of steak you get for the price you pay is insane. For 28 dollars I got "8 ounces" of steak and a potato. The "8 ounces" of steak was more like two tiny slivers of steak and it was mediocre at best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service this occasion and excellen ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service this occasion and excellent food! Would be nice if the dinner salad was included with the steak meal as it is at other steakhouses around the area. Other than that, nice place and great food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We dine here several times each year for ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We dine here several times each year for special occasions as well as anytime we have company and want to take them for a nice evening out. It's priced a little higher than most places in town but always a satisfying night. The wait staff is typically very good however this night the gal was pretty new and not quite as accommodating as our usual waitress. Regardless, you will not find a better dinner or atmosphere anywhere in Rapid City than at Dakotah Steakhouse.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The only thing I had that could be impro ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The only thing I had that could be improved was the creme brule was cold and seemed to be prepared in advance. Service was great and so was the meat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent staff service food and environ ...

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent staff service food and environment

We dine here often

Never a bad meal

Great wine

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered 2 appetizers and two entries ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ordered 2 appetizers and two entries which was too much food for two people!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We ate early on NY Eve, a nice evening. ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We ate early on NY Eve, a nice evening. Very good food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the Dakota Steakhouse very mu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed the Dakota Steakhouse very much. Everything from the service (very friendly) to the martini to the food. This was our second time there and we would go back, again and again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is winter season, I pulled up in the ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It is winter season, I pulled up in the handicapped parking spot since I require a walker, the space itself seemed to be cleared of snow but the ramp that leads to the sidewalk from the space was full of snow and ice. I am glad that I do not require a wheelchair since the chunks of snow at the edge of the sidewalk on the ramp were rather large and formidable. I also ended up taking my meal to go and finished it at home not only because of noisy children in the adjacent section and a baby crying but with the hardwood floors there is not much for heating in the restaurant. It has an open warehouse type ceiling and an enclosed fireplace that seems more for looks than warmth. My legs got too cold for my stay to be enjoyable enough to stay and finish my meal. I have been there many times and this was not the best visit.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Great steaks. No TVs. Quiet luxurious am ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great steaks. No TVs. Quiet luxurious ambiance. Love the huge fireplace. This is the place to enjoy a romantic meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing customer service and our steaks ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Amazing customer service and our steaks were cooked to perfection!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places. Being vegeta ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 18, 2016

One of our favorite places. Being vegetarian, there are plenty of choices for me. And the price is very reasonable. I also love getting the coupons via email.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food took a little longer than we had ho ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food took a little longer than we had hoped, but overall we enjoyed ourselves.

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The character is great and the acoustics ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The character is great and the acoustics are the best in Rapid City. I like the buffalo bone with broccoli and a salad. Wish you were open for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very high class reasonably priced menu T ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very high class reasonably priced menu

The walleye was fresh and expertly prepared

The beet and goat cheese salad was uniquely fine dining

As good as any steakhouse anywhere

Better than 99%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, walking distance to our hotel ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good food, walking distance to our hotel and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife had the seared scallops, which s ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My wife had the seared scallops, which she very much enjoyed, but my prime rib was probably the worse I have had. It was tough, chewy, and had a lot of gristle --- just wasn't a very good meal overall for me.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Service was good but ambience is mediocr ...

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was good but ambience is mediocre and good is ok but not fantastic

Overall a 5 out of 10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Our only complaint was the bacon wrapped ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our only complaint was the bacon wrapped asparagus which was bland and bitter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have frequented this steakhouse on th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We have frequented this steakhouse on three occasions during our visits to Rapid Ciry where our oldest son attends SDSMT. We eat as a family if our other kids are able to travel or with our son and available roommates as a great during their cafeteria school year. The food is always fabulous and the atmosphere is cozy and comfortable. I would recommend for date night, business meal, or any other special occasion. Not the kind of place I would expect to hear/see small children. Price is fair but not inexpensive and makes for a memorable evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant, great service a ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding restaurant, great service and the food is amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Food was fantastic. ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great experience. Food was fantastic. Fillet was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great, as expected. The ser ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was great, as expected. The service was horrible! Not what was expected. From the time we sat down and placed our drink orders, it took 22 minutes just to get our drinks. From the time we sat down to the time we actually received our meals was well over an hour! Don't go if you're hungry and expect to be eating right away. It won't happen.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

This is the third time we have eaten her ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is the third time we have eaten here and each time they have had the same problem. The service is slow and unprofessional. The food was good each time but the service is so bad that we have decided to never return. We have talked to management about their issue but we see no end to the problem. It stems from poor management to begin with and they see themselves as good at what they do but they SUCK! Find another place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Decent food, good service, pricey but go ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Decent food, good service, pricey but good. Nice atmosphere. Staff was very attentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was so good! The beet-goat cheese s ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was so good! The beet-goat cheese salad was divine! Ad the Three Sisters Soup . . . always delicious. Husband had a steak which was prepared perfectly.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I cannot paste my total review so please ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I cannot paste my total review so please look it up on Yelp or Google Maps posting. Horrible, stay away if you value steak and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

As always a great experience. Dakotah is ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 12, 2016

As always a great experience. Dakotah is a gem in Rapid City. I had a party of 8 and Tallulah was our waitress, she was absolutely amazing. The food was excellent but the service was second to none. Thank you for a great night.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Private Room, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dakotah Steakhouse serves bison in a var ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Dakotah Steakhouse serves bison in a variety of tasty ways.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went there on the last night of our a ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went there on the last night of our adventurous Mt. Rushmore and Yellowstone honeymoon. It was a great change to have a delicious meal in a fun setting. The rockfish was great and my husband loved his prime rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

THE STEAKS WERE THE BEST I HAVE HAD IN Y ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 6, 2016

THE STEAKS WERE THE BEST I HAVE HAD IN YEARS. THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS I ORDERED A 16 ONCE RIBEYE AND MY WIFE HAD A 10 ONCE FILLET. THE MEALS ARRIVED AND THEY WERE BOTH FILLETS. SO THE WAITRESS TOOK MINE AND I GOT TO WATCH MY WIFE EAT HER MEAL AND THEN WHEN MINE SHOWED UP SHE GOT TO WATCH ME EAT MINE. NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS AT ALL. SHOULD HAVE SENT THEM BOTH BACK AND SAID START OVER.OTHERWISE WE LOVED THE PLACE. WE LIVE IN YANKTON AND IT TOOK 2 YEARS TO GET OUT THERE AND THEN THAT HAPPENED. $5.00 WAS TAKEN OFF THE BILL. DOES NOT SEEM LIKE MUCH. AT LEAST TAKE CARE OF THE DRINKS. CALL ANYTIME. 605 661 2598. JERRY R KOLDA

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We have always had consistent quite good ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We have always had consistent quite good food here. This time it was quite disappointing. The quality and preparation was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Its always a delight and great food. Its ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Its always a delight and great food. Its a quiet seen with less kiddos.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is always excellent. Serving of Ro ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food is always excellent. Serving of Rocky Mountain oysters was very small for price. Everything else was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We came here for my husband's birthday w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We came here for my husband's birthday with my son and his wife. The large buffalo rib appetizer was very good and beautifully presented. The wedge salad was good but a bit skimpy on the blue cheese dressing and did not come with bacon. The rolls they served were too chewy but the bourbon butter was very good. My husband had prime rib which was very large and perfectly rare as ordered, with a nice horseradish sauce and au jus on the side. It came with a bowl of clam chowder and a choice of sides. He had blue cheese mashed potatoes that were very nice. I had a hangar steak, it was sliced, very tender and perfectly cooked. The mushroom bread pudding was good but a bit dry. My son and his wife each had Walleye which they liked. The fried mac and cheese side was excellent. We shared the kuchen for dessert and the chef wrote a beautiful "Happy Birthday" in chocolate on the plate. The kuchen was really delicious with a nice berry and whip cream topping and ice cream on the side. The service was excellent and the ambiance was very nice for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were good, but hone ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and service were good, but honestly a bit overpriced.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

My husband and I have made this our go-t ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 16, 2016

My husband and I have made this our go-to spot for our anniversary and Valentines Day dinners. The food is always fantastic and the service is A+. I'm already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.