About Dakotah Steakhouse

1325 N Elk Vale Road
Rapid City, SD 57703
View Larger Map

We"ve always believed that dining should be a social occasion, a time when friends, family, and coworkers can enjoy great conversation over a great meal.

We believe in supporting our local artisans and staying connected to our Black Hills community. At a time when the area is growing and expanding, we're striving to keep the flavor of the region alive.

Inspired by the history of this area, both the aesthetics of the building and the diversity of the menu are true to our local roots, something no nation-wide franchise can duplicate. Certainly, there are other steakhouses out there, but none like ours.

From the first design to the actual construction, we've focused on creating a balance between upscale dining and a casual atmosphere-crafting a chic steakhouse where the kids are welcome too.

The rest is easy-buy the very best meat possible and prepare it correctly.

Named "Best Restaurant in South Dakota" 2015 by Business Insider

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I-90

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1800

Website:
http://www.dakotahsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Cody Bartels Sous Chef Epi

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining room set up board room style seating approximately 12 people. A/V, WIFI.

We also have two semi-private areas for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Robin Schnieder: 6057911800x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dakotah Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
3 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Rapid City
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

Special Occasion (45)
Romantic (24)
Good for Groups (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Fireplace (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Scenic View (4)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is always excellent. Serving of Ro ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food is always excellent. Serving of Rocky Mountain oysters was very small for price. Everything else was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We came here for my husband's birthday w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We came here for my husband's birthday with my son and his wife. The large buffalo rib appetizer was very good and beautifully presented. The wedge salad was good but a bit skimpy on the blue cheese dressing and did not come with bacon. The rolls they served were too chewy but the bourbon butter was very good. My husband had prime rib which was very large and perfectly rare as ordered, with a nice horseradish sauce and au jus on the side. It came with a bowl of clam chowder and a choice of sides. He had blue cheese mashed potatoes that were very nice. I had a hangar steak, it was sliced, very tender and perfectly cooked. The mushroom bread pudding was good but a bit dry. My son and his wife each had Walleye which they liked. The fried mac and cheese side was excellent. We shared the kuchen for dessert and the chef wrote a beautiful "Happy Birthday" in chocolate on the plate. The kuchen was really delicious with a nice berry and whip cream topping and ice cream on the side. The service was excellent and the ambiance was very nice for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were good, but hone ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and service were good, but honestly a bit overpriced.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing food. Perfect for my anniversary ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Amazing food. Perfect for my anniversary. Great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were staying at the Comfort Suites ju ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We were staying at the Comfort Suites just across the car park and found it very convenient to walk to. We dined at the Dakotah two nights. The cosy fireplace was very welcoming on a chilly evening and we enjoyed the friendly ambience. The menu was varied and we thought the food & service were very good.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was delicious. Lettuce Wedge was s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Steak was delicious. Lettuce Wedge was sparse. waitress was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, great food. The berry ki ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great service, great food. The berry kitchen is worth the trip alone! Delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered their dry aged ribeye which wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I ordered their dry aged ribeye which was good but for $50 it should have been thicker, and tasted even better.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Incredible experience. The food was fant ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Incredible experience. The food was fantastic and the service was even better. Steak ordered Medium, was cooked exactly medium. Mushrooms and asparagus were cooked perfectly as well. The only thing I think they could better, is open a location in Dallas, TX where I live.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in wait staff. One of us ha ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Disappointed in wait staff. One of us had a special drink request and asked the wait staff to check with the bartender. Instead of doing that she told us that the drink couldn't be made, that it would "lose it's integrity". We should have insisted. The other thing was that the same person who had the drink request was short her fork. Instead of immediately bringing her a new napkin setting, the waitress practically argued with her about not having a fork. Then she brought one and just plunked it down in front of her. My friend was black, by the way. Did that have anything to do with the waitress' rudeness?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

From a food perspective this was an aver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

From a food perspective this was an average experience. The food was good but nothing stood out. You're paying for the ambiance as I feel the food was overpriced for what you receive in uniqueness and taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The steak was very good, however the veg ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The steak was very good, however the vegetables were cold. The server also had a bad attitude.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This was our first visit and we were ver ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This was our first visit and we were very impressed. Our waitress was first class and took care of our every need. Food was delicious. We will be back!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Cozy, Disabled Access, Authentic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place we like to go for great food, ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The place we like to go for great food, special occasion, or just for a night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great. A very ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food and service was great. A very nice place to eat with great food.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a good restaurant for having dinner ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Was a good restaurant for having dinner with the family durig a vacation trip. Food was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great burger place. Pricey steaks. W ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great burger place. Pricey steaks. We don't live in the area.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Have always eaten in th ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent food. Have always eaten in the bar area which is nice. Excellent cut of meet and Mushroom Bread Pudding is excellent accompaniment. Granted not inexpensive, but many menu items are not in the $49 high-end steak category and still well prepared.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very striking Western decor with a large ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very striking Western decor with a large fireplace. Food, mainly steaks, was excellent and prepared very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We ate here a year ago while traveling t ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We ate here a year ago while traveling thru on vacation and this year we knew we had to return for another dinner. Food, service and atmosphere were great again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service and tasty food

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great service and tasty food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our server just couldn't stay focused. D ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our server just couldn't stay focused. Drinks were slow to come to the table. He had to be reminded to bring the drinks. One person was served the wrong soup. Our table did not receive a bread basket. We needed to ask for this. When it was time for the second round of drinks, some came to the table, some did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service. The staff wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. The staff was friendly and got us in very quickly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For our son's birthday, we wanted to tak ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

For our son's birthday, we wanted to take him for prime rib, which we had ordered

a few months ago.

Our meals came promptly, but every cut had a lot of grizzle and triming to be done.

We were disappointed!!

Our serve was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food! Brandi, our waitress, was gr ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food! Brandi, our waitress, was great! Food was delicious, prompt service

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mixed review for our meals. 2 were very ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Mixed review for our meals. 2 were very good and 2 were not as good. For the price I would expect all 4 meals to be excellent .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went on-line to get reservation becau ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We went on-line to get reservation because Sturgis crowd was in town. We arrived early and decided we would just have a drink at the bar until our table was ready. Well we stayed at the bar because the Bartender was fabulous and really enjoyed just relaxing at the bar. We ordered everything we wanted - all was delicious! We asked for our reservation to be changed because we loved sitting at the bar. This was our first time to Dakota Steakhouse. Everything was wonderful, relaxing, fun and delicious ~ thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose this restaurant primarily due t ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We chose this restaurant primarily due to the fact that it was walking distance from out hotel. We both had appetizers and then burgers. Wife had regular hamburger and I Hamas the buffalo burger. Large helpings for sure and all cooked as requested. The onion ring appetizer we got would of fed 4 people.

We would return if back in the area.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Young server, seemed inexperienced, but ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Young server, seemed inexperienced, but he doesn't control the kitchen. They were "just out" of 2 of the 3 entrees we ordered, but I heard other tables order them successfully later.

A filet mignon, ordered medium rare was undercooked, tough and full of gristle, not the "slice with a fork" cut one expects for filet. The restaurant was overpriced and the quality of food below an Outback. Here in Steak Country, customers deserve better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The service was fair. Many tables turned ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The service was fair. Many tables turned over more than once while we were still seated. Food was ok. It's not a bad place to stop coming off of I-90 for a decent steak, but I wasn't overly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Our meal was somewhat leisurely paced. ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our meal was somewhat leisurely paced. Everything arrived at the right temperature (hot food was hot, cold food was cold). Although I didn't order a steak, I loved my meal and was happy with every bite. We splurged on dessert, and that put us over the budget a bit. It was worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I received excellent service. The Buffal ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I received excellent service. The Buffalo skewers were really good. My steak was over cooked but my server took it back and had it re done for me. I had two glasses of wine but I should have asked to sample them first because I probably wouldn't have selected either of them if I'd tried them first. I had the Cabernet Sauvignon and the Pinot Noir. If I'd tried them first I probably would have settled on a Merlot. Overall it was a good experience and I'd probably visit again if I was in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very friendly staff, courteous and atten ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very friendly staff, courteous and attentive server. We ordered the prime rib and walley and both were very good. Probably the best ambiance in Rapid City.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the spot to have a real good ste ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is the spot to have a real good steak. The waitress were very nice even though we arrive late. Portions are good size and as I said beef is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Made reservations but not too busy at 7p ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Made reservations but not too busy at 7pm for a Friday night. Staff was friendly and helpful, but being not too busy, took a while to get service promptly and had to wait some time to get the check.

Dinner entre seemed salty.

Made reservations for wife's 40th birthday. Even noted it on the reservation hoping for a special touch or something special as an option for her. Not even a happy birthday by anyone. Based on prices and image of the higher class restaurant in western SD, you think it would WOW a person.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding dinner, excellent service , ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outstanding dinner, excellent service , everything you would expect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere was nice. We came about 8:30 ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Atmosphere was nice. We came about 8:30 so there weren't many customers. Food was good but pretty expensive for what it was. The waitress only came by a couple of times. We would have appreciated more attention. Also she wasn't very friendly or talkative.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Good service and excellent food. You sh ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Good service and excellent food. You should not restrict review

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding. Enjoyed t ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The service was outstanding. Enjoyed the "house" cabernet and the nice wine glasses.

We usually love eating here but something was off this time. The buffalo bone appetizer was dry, difficult to cut , and was a smaller serving than we've had before -- it's usually fall-off-the-bone tender and juicy. Needless to say, we were disappointed, especially since we had out-of-town friends with us.

We will give them another try, though, as this is the only time out of many that we've been disappointed with the food.

NEVER disappointed in the service staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

We have visited Dakotah Steakhouse many ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have visited Dakotah Steakhouse many times. Always it is an excellent experience. My only criticism is that the waitstaff needs education in wine serving protocols.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.