Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

da Maurizio

4.7
1203 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(902) 423-0859
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Andrew King
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Salter
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.
Additional
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Waiter was excellent, food was superb and loved the fact that we could talk and hear each out! Overall excellent venue!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

The fabric on the chairs had holes in them and was wobbly. That same chair was wobbly the last time we were there. The place needs a makeover. My wife ordered Braised beef on noodles and it looked like a big plate of spaghetti with meat sauce. It looked like the kids special (Spaghetti with meat sauce). I tried it an it was just okay. It was way to much for one person. I made a reservation a while ago and asked they bring a piece of cake out with a candle as we were celebrating my wife's birthday. Never happened. Not the first time this happened. My wife was the first to say when we left that it will be a while before we go back. The service was okay. I do not like male waiters. They always seem annoyed that they are serving you. Same thing at Chives. Get some female waitresses. My best service has always been with female waitresses. At least they seem to care. On one positive note, my meal was really good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

I have been to this restaurant several times. I have always been very pleased with the welcome, ambiance, service, and the quality of the food. There are many wonderful options on the menu, and I often discuss our preferences with the server, and let them select a full course meal for us to enjoy. Whether it be a business celebration, birthday, anniversary, or some other special occasion, I would definitely recommend this as a great place to treat those special people in your life.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Their attention to detail was wonderful. Service was great. We got the right amount of attention; not too much, not too little. Ambiance was wonderful. Very cozy. And the food was really great too. It was on the pricey side, so it's a 'special occasion' type place. All in all very satisfied though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We always book a table when we go to Halifax, ambience is lovely and food is always the best. Lovely waitress who took care of us and made recommendations. Hope to go back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We love this restaurant it is definitely our favorite restaurant of all time. The food and service is always amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

We had a lovely supper before going to see Mamma Mia at Neptune Theatre. It was at my suggestion as I have been there multiple times and absolutely love it, but was the first time for my friend. They had never experienced any fine dining experience and I thought this would be a great opportunity and was not disappointed. The food was delicious and we had some great serving staff that were very friendly. I will definitely be back again, this is my absolute favorite restaurant in Halifax for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

As always, fine dining and delicious food. We are never disappointed by da Maurizio. Both menus (regular and prix-fixe) have many excellent dishes from which to choose. Wine list is comprehensive, and service exceptional.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I've eaten here many times over the last 20+ years but this was our friends first and we were excited to treat them. The food was just so-so. The plating was absolutely boring, like home-cooking on too-small Kmart dishes. Not a single garnish, food just plopped on. The food portions suggested quantity over quality. My friend and I both had the ravioli - we both agreed that while a few were tasty, many tasted "off" while others simply had no taste and were over stuffed. I was so disappointed. This was not the Da'maurizio's we used to love.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Of the four in our party, only one disappointed with the meal. Two of the party ordered from the Prix Fixe menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent food!
It was bit too noisy in the area we sat for my liking but definitely great service, great food and overall great fine dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great food, excellent service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great, private atmosphere. Menu is great for all food interests. Server was very familiar with the menu and made perfect wine comparisons. This restaurant came highly recommended to us and will we will be recommending it too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

It is impressive how well this place has maintained its high reputation over the years. It is a very special treat to spend an evening here. Every bite of our meals was wonderful. Nothing is an afterthought. The cocktails were creative and delicious. The service is always professional and the perfect balance of discrete and attentive. There is no snobbishness here just the desire to treat you well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Food was excellent, great flavours and generous portions.
Service was excellent. Knowledgeable , friendly and professional.
Great restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Amazing service from Holly!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Our experience as always was awesome. We have always had impeccable service and this is why we have been coming here every year for the last 26 years at least twice a year. We have even made it a Family Tradition by coming here at Christmas time with our daughter. This is going to be year 4 for this tradition.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Service was excellent. I had the Stufato and it was one of the Best seafood dishes I've ever had. Our waiter was very knowledgable and gave excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

When it came time to choose a place to celebrate our 10th anniversary, we were in agreement instantly: DaMaurizio. Our evening was exquisite! Thank you for a divine celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great food, great staff, and great atmosphere. Love to go there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

The food was excellent as we have come to expect from Da M. My Romano salad was one of the tastiest I have eaten and everyone else was equally pleased with all their dishes.
Our server was outstanding - he assisted and explained without overselling and when we were dissatisfied with the only bottle of Merlot on your wine list he replaced it without being asked with a very nice Cabernet Which we all enjoyed. I would recommend restricting dessert choices to home made ice cream.
Overall Da Mauritzio is still our preferred restaurant choice in Halifax. The food is excellent and the restaurant is quiet and comfortable and the staff are all highly professional and very experienced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

One of the best restaurants in Halifax. Northern Italian cuisine...exceptional. Service is friendly but not intrusive, and very knowledgeable. Great wine list. Nice location on Halifax waterfront but no water view.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The food is so delicious and melts in your mouth. It’s an absolute treat to eat here, highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Probably the best restaurant in the HRM and I have tried most of them. I have tried about half the menu and never been disappointed. You need to experience this restaurant once and I guarantee you will keep coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Every thing was great but the waiter serving was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Outstanding Service,Outstanding Food, Oveerall simply put Outstanding

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Food was great - the atmosphere is a little stuffy, but I guess that is to be expected of a restaurant in this price range. Median age was definitely close to 60.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The main course was amazingly good. I mean 11 out of 10 good! Holy $#*# good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

As usual, I had a superb meal at Da Maurizio restaurant. I took advantage of the set menu and enjoyed the starter, main course and dessert. We were a group of six and everyone in the party was more than pleased with the service, the ambiance and the quality of our meals. We will all be returning soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Da Maurizio is a true authentic Italian restaurant. The food quality is top notch, and very rich. I was very happy with the portions that they provided as well. It's a great place to take your significant other, or even special people for a special occasion. Staff are friendly, well informed on the menu, and cater to most of your needs. I had a set dinner menu, and I was very pleased. The start was a rich mussel dish, and the main a delicious Cavatappi bolognese. Lastly, despite being so full that I couldn't breathe, the Tiramisu was splendid. I actually ate two from how much I loved it!
All in all, this place is a must visit for those who love Italian food. It can be pricey so if you are deterred price, this may be the only downside.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The food and service was top notch. The chairs were Terrible. we both left with backaches
and could hardly wait to get out of there. Very not nice experience. We won 't be coming back or recommending. I am taking another friend out for dinner this week and hoped it would be here, but can't risk another very uncomfy experience. Sorry, I think you sacrificed " style " for comfort.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Incredible food with great experience. I believe this is truly one of the best traditional Italian restaurants in the country. A must try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Awesome experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Great food, service and we had a great table, private.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Don’t visit Halifax often but in between visits I crave my special “Nick seafood Pasta” which is the best ever! Everyone treats us special which means a lot to us old birds! We tell all our friends about this special place and the special staff who make us feel so welcomed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Always a great experience but this time was a step above. Great food. Great service. Loved everything about it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great restaurant, impeccable service, which was most likely the highlight of this dining experience.
The food was great, I would rate it 4/5 stars, I had the duck breast and leg confit, although the breast was good, the leg confit was a bit dry to my liking and the sides were poorly prepared/ stale.
On the other hand, portions are fantastic if you have a great appetite.
My wife had the seafood tomato stew which was brillant.
Overall, Damaurizio is by far the best Italian restaurant in town, the food quality and genuine kindness of the staff places them miles ahead of the bycicle thief.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The food was amazing as always! Our server was slow and clearly did not want to be there. Other staff cleared our table after we sat with empty plates and glasses for over 25 minutes.
The Calamari and radicchio salad were perfect and mains never fail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

An excellent Valentine dining experience. My wife and I enjoyed everything about the meal and the evening. The restaurant was very busy but that did not impinge on our enjoyment in any way.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

This is absolutely the best restaurant we have ever frequented. It is pretty bad that we got excited making our next reservation. This is our 6th time here over the last year and a half and we have never been disappointed in any course. They have all been excellent and we have now tried about half the menu. We are absolutely excited for our next visit next month.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
31

Tweets by da Maurizio