Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About da Maurizio

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: (902) 423-0859

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Business Meals (20)
Authentic (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (6)
Private Room (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Waterfront (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Historic (4)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1061 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service outstanding. Best tasting salad I've ever eaten. Also veal was excellent the way it was prepared and presented. A little noisy with a large table near but it was acceptable.

Thank you

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 6 days ago

This dining experience was absolutely wonderful. Atmosphere, service, food were all far over the top. Cannot wait to go again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to da Maurizio a dozens of time over the last ten to fifteen years. This was the last time.... The food is still amazing but the ambiance was absolutely terrible. There was a group on the other side of the restaurant with extremely loud ladies yelling the entire evening and basically ruined the evening of everybody else. I understand they cannot control who book an evening but they should have been told politely to be more respectful for the rest of the restaurant. Our server seemed overwhelmed and the service suffered. We ordered 2 glass of cognac Louis XIII to finish our evening. We had Louis XIII many times in the past. At $200 per ounce there is only one way to serve this cognac. You bring the bottle to the table and measure one ounce per glass in front of the customer. That way, you know you are getting one ounce and you are getting Louis XIII. That's how we always had it served in Paris, New York, Vegas, Hong Kong, Budapest, Zurich... Most of the time, they bring it on a cart specifically for the cognac. I was extremely upset to see the 2 glasses of what I hope was one once each of Louis XIII arriving at the table. A restaurant of that class should know better. It was my wife's birthday so I tried not to show how shocked and upset I was in front of her not to ruined her evening. That was the icing on the cake and completely unacceptable. They just lost a loyal customer.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Disappointed that it did not live up to its reputation. It was my wife's birthday. When I made the reservation, I asked for a nice table. They didn't even wish my wife a happy birthday or put a candle in her dessert. The waiter didn't inspect my order before putting it on the table. We had to send it back along with my wife's so that hers would be warm and we'd eat at the same time. Don't know what all of the fuss is about. Overpriced because it didn't live up to expectations.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Thank dinner for friends

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

According to the concierge in our hotel this is the best restaurant in Halifax. As I had booked da Maurizio from Australia based on reviews, this was good to hear. After our experience I heartily agree.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We chose the Prix Fixe dinner menu and it was great! Very nice wine list and our server was excellent, thanks Kelly!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Best restaurant in Halifax! Great service, beautiful atmosphere and exceptional cuisine - everytime

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We were in NS for a 6 day vacation to see the Halifax, Lunenburg and the Annapolis Valley. This was the best dinner of all dinners while in NS! We'd go back there in a heartbeat!!! I had the veal chop and my wife had the rack of lamb, both were fantastic. Wine was equally good as was the service provided by our waiter, "Kelly".

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The restaurant came highly recommended for Italian fare, so we chose it to have a pre-graduation celebration for our son. We were seated at the foot of the stairs, which was not very nice, but the room was fairly quiet.

We ordered each an appetizer and a main course, and I will say the scallops, shrimp and bisque were all delicious, raising our hopes for the entrees. However, we were thoroughly disappointed with the pastas (lobster ravioli and vongole linguini) as well as the pork tenderloin. You could tell that the pasta dishes had been left under a heating lamp for a while as the sauces were covered with a film that made it unappealing. The pork tenderloin was tough, hinting at overcooking or again, having been left on a heating unit or in the oven while waiting to be served.

I think the restaurant was very crowded for the convocation season, but pasta should always be served immediately after being cooked and tossed in sauce. I would think that is an elementary rule for an Italian restaurant, especially of this calibre.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I really enjoy this restaurant and definitely recommend it to anyone looking to go to a good restaurant. I encourage many of my business lunches and suppers at this restaurant. It is currently in my top 2.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We dined here for our anniversary,
The meat and fish dishes were of a very high standard.
I am Vegetarian and gave the restaurant prior notice of this.
The Vegetarian options were limited but adequate.
The flavour and imagination of the vegetarian dishes fell short of my expectations. the dishes were rather bland and needed some refinement.
With this restaurant's reputation and prices I expected a little more

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was ok.. service is good.. not worth the price...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food quality is good and fresh. Service was attentive and swift. Price was right even though food costs have gone sky high but this restaurant does not sacrifice quality for cost cutting. Few will do that for their patrons. Always look forward to have another meal there.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The staff is always so attentive to our needs. I used the web reservation for the first time it was flawless in operation. Of course the main star is the food always top notch and no surprises.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent! Food and ambiance were perfect. Great service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was well prepared and presented. We enjoyed the taste. The server was courteous and attentive. We had a very nice evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall we were okay, my partner liking it more than me, but that was based on the quality of her meal selection as compared to mine. My starter, calamari was covered with a sauce that was far too generous to allow a taste of the calamari. My main course, rabbit, a favourite of mine was almost absent from the meal. There were two smal pieces of rabbit, no bigger than a woman's small finger. The plate was piled high with flat pasta. After a futile search for any more rabbitI I surrender my effort. The waiter inquired as to the uneaten dish and advised that he would speak to the chef. There was no further discussion

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My wife and I were greeted with a friendly smile immediately! The service and food was 5 stars all the way through our dinner! It was recommended my a co-worker and I will also recommend to family and friends. We look forward to the next time we go. Congrats to the chef and staff for a wonderful experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

A friend told me about this restaurant and how we had to go for dinner there - we were not disappointed. My wife and I had a lovely evening - great food, service and ambiance

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Exceptional. Despite being a frequent dinner guest, this was my first time dining there for lunch. They have a fantastic and creative lunch menu though that shouldn't have surprised me! The service was impeccable as always.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Damaurizio's is the overall best restaurant in Halifax !
Food is excellent, great ambiance,professional serving staff !
No weak areas !

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Greeted by a lovely friendly hostess. Food was very good. Service was nice. They even found my earring in the parking lot and tracked me down. So grateful!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Da Maurizio is an excellent restaurant. Always great food, service and ambiance. We started our meal with two glasses of Champagne which were not at all cold and completely flat with no effervecence. I pointed out this to our waiter who quickly changed them out. Unusual for this caliber of restaurant, but rest of night was amazing with great warm raddichio salad, foie gras, beef tenderloin and veal scallopini. Nice Super Tuscan by the glass. We will return!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Each time I go, I have excellent food and experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Every time we visit Halifax, we try to have dinner here. The service is very professional. The staff know the menu and the wine list so they can make excellent recommendations for food and wine pairings. The setting is elegant with white linen table cloths and napkins, dark wood panelling, reasonable space between the tables, etc. As always, we really enjoyed our meal of fois gras paired with Jost ice wine and a Livorno style fish stew paired with a Chablis. We shared a rich torte for dessert. We'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Will be back!!!!!!
Great food! Great everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This restaurant continues to impress on every visit. For the last 10 years or so, my wife and I have been going to da Maurizio 10-12 times a year and we have yet to not have an outstanding experience. Tanya, the co-owner and front of the house Manager/Maitre D is always so welcoming and appreciative of your business. When we book online for reservations, without saying anything, they try and seat us a our favourite table. The wait staff , most of whom been there for many years, Kelly, Carl, Carlo and Graham are always so professional and efficient. On top of the wait service are a group of assistants that seem virtually invisible but clear dishes, refill water and bread without you even knowing. Finally, the food is incredible, the kitchen staff consistently turn out masterpieces of culinary excellence. This is without a doubt the premier dining room in Halifax.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Still one of the Best Itialian Restaurants in Halifax and is a pleasure to enjoy

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The entire experience delightful as always! The hostess is exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Excellent as always. Our favourite Halifax restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Da Maurizio is one of the finest restaurants in Halifax. We have gone many times for dinner but this was our first for lunch as they have only recently started offering lunches.
I have never been disappointed and have recommended it to many friends. I was very pleased with the lunch menu and portions. We're looking forward to returning.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 10, 2017

always enjoyable, has stood the test of time. Great Italian food prepared as you like it. Very accommodating for special requests.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Historic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Once again a delicious lunch with family . Great service and food .
We are so glad that Da Maurizio is now open for lunch .

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We dined at da Maurizio on our 50th wedding anniversary on February 24 and were not disappointed. We used to eat at this restaurant frequently during the 1990's when we were on business trips from Moncton to Halifax and were never disappointed in the service or cuisine. The meals were perfectly prepared and the service was flawless. My wife and I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Halifax.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Love everything about this restaurant. Had the tenderloin steak twice in the past couple of weeks. Perfectly cooked and tender to the point I believe you could cut it with a butter knife.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This was our first Lunch at Da Maurizio .
The food and service were very good and the wine list is excellent .
The lunch menu offers a variety of choices and we enjoyed the lobster Croissant with crispy pancetta , avacado and lobster with a small mixed bean salad . Delicious . We alsomchose the Gnocchi with wild mushroom sauce , the best Gnocchi we've ever eaten , light cloudy pillows and the sauce is rich and full of mushrooms . Our guest diner enjoyed the burger and fries .

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The evening was fantastic it was my wives birthday and Kelly was amazing as always. We will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our evening at Da Maurizio's was a very pleasant respite from the snow shoveling of the week before. We had a lovely table and excellent service on what was a very busy post Valentine's weekend. We both started with the grilled scallops which were excellent, and then follow with the Veal Scallopini with lobster and a rose sauce. It was divine ! We would both recommend the place and the meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.