Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About da Maurizio

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: (902) 423-0859

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (41)
Romantic (41)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Business Meals (27)
Cozy (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Authentic (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Waterfront (11)
Casual (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fun (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Although this is an Italian restaurant, I had the most amazing steak. The wine was divine and the staff were friendly and helpful. They happily made suggestions when asked. I highly recommend this dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing..., especially the escargot.
All four of us raved about our meals...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 6 days ago

Disappointed. Food was OK but not worth the price. Other restaurants like Mappatura on Spring Garden Road and Cafe Chianti on Barrington provide diners with far better quality of dining for equivalent pricing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Terrific place with wonderful wait staff; beautiful place with lovely ambience

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Meals were excellent. Surprised the bread was stale as they make their own bread. Cool venue. Outdoor terrace very nice and quiet but no view

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and presented beautifully by Graham. We recommend he be cloned and his pay doubled immediately! This was an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Cuisine de grande qualité. Service rapide malgré l'achalandage du samedi soir. Excellent rapport qualité/prix.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food is excellent, well presented and full of flavour. Consistently remains one of the top restaurants in Halifax.
Decor is becoming a little tired, could use a sprucing up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was fantastic. The staff was very attentive. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone in the Halifax area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We had a terrific visit. The dinner was beyond our expectations. The staff were great from greeting , throughout the visit and on departure. Very attentive but in a very warm and welcoming way would describe the time there. Our personal waitress was exceptional. She made us feel special and appreciated for our business. It was a special occasion for us and the staff went out of their way to elevate the interest in our being there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We had an excellent meal here, the four of us enjoyed all three courses. The service was efficient, polite and friendly. Our waiter was able to recommend several wines which made our selection easier. The food was very tasty and seemed to be a mix of Italian with a few inventive local influences.
We were there with our bosses who are wealthy and have dined all over the world. They were very happy with their meal. Due to being elderly and having small appetites, they felt the portions were large. I have a good appetite and felt full after three courses which is usually the desired result.
I would recommend this restaurant.
At some point in the next few years they could do with re-covering/replacing the chairs and sprucing up the carpet so that they don't become shabby.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Everything was wonderful! Food was delish, superb service and great atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Absolutely awesome in every way! Fantastic food and wine list served by our most professional waiter we found in Halifax named Graham. This is a must eat at when in Halifax. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 4, 2017

My favourite restaurant now! Fantastic food, amazing menu choices. The rack of lamb was exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Enjoyed an excellent meal om a week night; we are inside but there were as many eating outside on a warm evening. The food was prepared and served with precise timing. The calamari as a appetizer was outstanding as was the haddock.

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food but meal was very slow in arriving. They did Comp us food because of delay but overall, not a great experience. Have been there before and experience was excellent but not on this occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

What a great experience! I have wanted to check out da Maurizio for years but finally bit the bullet and took my Mom for dinner. We started with the goat cheese/prosciutto dates, they were to die for. Her main was the chicken and I swear it was the best chicken either of us have ever tasted, my main was the veal, and it was amazing. I couldn't finish it but not for lack of desire. The sides were all wonderful as well. For dessert Mom had the cheesecake which she loved! My ONLY complaint (and I hesitate to use the word complaint) is that I ordered the Tiramisu and was underwhelmed :( . As someone who has lived in Italy and knows that the owner is in fact Italian, I had such high hopes for this! It was more sweet and creamy, with hardly any espresso flavor. Now, that being said it was still amazing, just not quite caffeinated enough to be called Tiramisu. As you see I've still given 5 stars on all accounts because it really was a wonderful experience with fantastic service and decadent food. Thank you! I will certainly be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The initial part of the meal did not go well as it took an inordinate amount of time to get someone to return to take our drinks order - After more than 10 minutes I asked the waitress to come and take our drink order. Service response improved after that. The food was amazing - we ordered from the prix fixe menu and it was sensational. The goat cheese stuffed dates are phenomenal - the tragedy is that they are not a mains as well! The proscuitto wrapped pork tenderloin was fantastic. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her haddock and mussels. Desserts were also top quality. The restaurant meet our request for a secluded location for our wedding anniversary celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

From the moment we stepped through the door until our final goodbyes daMaurizio was a special place to celebrate a special anniversary. We left the cocktail choices to the staff and they surprised us with great options. The food was great and prepared with great flavour. The final surprise was the extra touch of anniversary wishes on our dessert. We had not told them ahead of time that it was our anniversary but the waiter found out in one of our conversations and must have passed that along to the kitchen. It is these touches that make this place so special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

For the price (over $450 for five of us) would have been nice to have a little quiet. We were seated between a large party of rowdy ladies and a wedding in the private room on the other side with guests and servers coming and going. Had to reposition a chair to get out of the traffic. The food was great but just can't ever seem to be seated away from the chaos! Not the first time we've experienced this.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Absolutely stellar in every way. The best dining experience in Halifax, bar none

Tags: Tasting Menu, Organic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was delicious, atmosphere great and waiters were friendly and extremely helpful. Love the experience, will definitely dine again.
Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The dinner was excellent, great oval table which allowed everybody to converse. Wait staff was excellent and very attentive. Food quality was excellent. We would gladly book in again when in Halifax.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fantastic cuisine with and unbeatable ambiance. Worthy of a very special occasion meal. As romantic a restaurant as there is in Halifax.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our server was professional, informative and showed exactly the right amount of attentiveness. The food was well prepared and beautifully showcased.

This is a high end restaurant with high end prices and the food and the service deserve it to be. We had a wonderful meal. Thank you.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

It was our wedding anniversary, and once again, da Maurizio did not disappoint. We ordered from the prix fixe menu, which was all good, but the salad with cheese-stuffed, ham-wrapped Medjool dates was a stand-out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Surrey)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We sat outside for lunch on their small bit very nice patio , we had been recommended by the residents who we meet when our plane was very delayed at deer lake !! We come from the uk it was our last full day away so decided to go there for lunch . We had excellent food in a quiet relaxed patio. Generous portions and excellent friendly service

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This was our first time here, by recommendation of our daughter who had dined there only one time before . It was absolutely delicious , and the atmosphere was very nice . The service was great , everyone was so friendly . We'll be back to try a new dish 😊

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Love this restaurant! Service is impeccable and food is fantastic!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Service and quality of food is always exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Not a great experience just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The service was fantastic, the place is adorable, the portions are reasonable but the food was just average for the price. Worth a visit if your looking for a splurge but there are better places to eat in Halifax at this price point.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 5, 2017

What a delightful meal! I went out with my brother and the two of us shared an appetizer and had a meal and a drink - EVERYTHING was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Overall it was a pleasant experience but parking is definitely an issue.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was amazing the lamb and fetuchini dishes were perfect. Quiet place. Service was really good. Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our server was excellent. The wine was very good. The decor was nice but two in our group found that that there was a musty smell... carpet, drapes? My lobster croissant was tasty but a bit mushy, no chunks of lobster. I wouldn't be in a hurry to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 22, 2017

There was nothing off about this meal. From the portions, to the value, to the quality! Yummmmmm

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service was particularly good. We enjoyed the cocktails and the food very much.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Ever since we discovered it some years ago, da Maurizio's has always been our 'special' restaurant. Staff is friendly and thoroughly professional, service has always been excellent, and the food is spectacularly wonderful. It is not inexpensive, but prices do not appear out of line for value, and we love the place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

A bit pricey. Fairly good food but the waiting staff was overworked.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.