About da Maurizio

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: (902) 423-0859

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (47)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Business Meals (30)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Cozy (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Authentic (20)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Private Room (8)
Historic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Waterfront (5)
Casual (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've been eating at this restaurant for ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I've been eating at this restaurant for a number of years now and can honestly say everytime has been a wonderful experience. They have a very hard working staff and management team there and always go out of there way to ensure your dinning experience is the best possible. Although at first look you make think this is an upscale Itialin restaurant (which it is) but for me I tell everyone it's the best Steakhouse in Atlantic Csnada.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, , Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been 18 years since my last visit a ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

It's been 18 years since my last visit and all I can say if your are going to Halifax this establishment is a must. The food, service is outstanding!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great to go to an excellent restaurant w ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great to go to an excellent restaurant where you eat so well but also can carry on a conversation with your table mate! Really appreciate the quiet table and am so please Da Maurizio's is now open for lunch. Will recommend it highly, especially when someone is looking for something a little special.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Years ago this restaurant was open for l ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Years ago this restaurant was open for lunch. Welcome back . Retired people like a great lunch with bottle of wine, women like upscale food and environment at lunch ( a special place to celebrate everything from birthdays to its Thursday), grandparents like a venue to introduce upscale dining to grandchildren. ( They have to pass the Nana test before they can come so don't panic) . Great place for a business lunch as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been several times have never had a less ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Been several times have never had a less than excellent meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

da Maurizio is always amazingly deliciou ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

da Maurizio is always amazingly delicious. The restaurant has just opened for lunch and it was every bit as good as dinner. A lovely menu with lighter fare. Lots of variety, excellent service and beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we came for an italian meal and we were ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

we came for an italian meal and we were not disappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant with amazing food and ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Amazing restaurant with amazing food and service. We visit this restaurant mostly for our anniversary but we always take out of town friends there

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks was amazing, service not ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food and drinks was amazing, service not so much. It took 45 minutes to have the server come take our drink orders, then another 25 minutes to get the drinks themselves. Server also never seemed interested in serving us... didn't talk much and seemed annoyed when we decided to split a bunch of appetizers. Additionally, we were seated 30 minutes before a table of 6 yet they seemed to have everything come to them first and the waitress seemed to be with them every time we looked for her.

Would come back to this restaurant...but maybe would submit my drink and food order ahead of time

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

I have been a regular for years and have ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have been a regular for years and have never been disappointed. The lunch menu is fabulous and a great way to impress a client.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We discovered this gem several years ago ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

We discovered this gem several years ago, and continue coming back because of the welcoming atmosphere, amazing food, and wonderful staff. We live almost two hours away so we don't get there as often as we like, but when we do we are never disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my 50th birthday with fam ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

We celebrated my 50th birthday with family (table for 6). We all found the food outstanding - it was delicious and we felt like the serving sizes were perfect for the price point. The service was excellent. We all loved that when we asked the waiter for advice on food selections he responded with knowledge and with confidence...it was so helpful! He seemed to know exactly what each of us would enjoy. We chose DaMaurizio's because we wanted a dining experience...we wanted to enjoy outstanding food and service but in a setting where we could talk and hear each other. We also didn't want to feel rushed. DaMaurizio gave us all of that. The whole experience was perfect :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, , Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing time during our dinner ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had an amazing time during our dinner! The food was amazing as always and the service was outstanding. Absolutely love the attention paid to details and how friendly the staff is. Truly wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

all was excellent as usual. we even were ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

all was excellent as usual. we even were served favourite items that had been on previous menus but not on the current menu. appreciated that. .... minor comment, cous cous didnt really go with the duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent value for money. Delicious foo ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent value for money. Delicious food. Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Da Maurizio's is our favorite special oc ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Da Maurizio's is our favorite special occasion restaurant. Very special for us. Staff is great. Love Tanya and that she remembers us each time. Really makes the date special for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we had a fantastic experience they ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

While we had a fantastic experience they did not deliver on my request for a special delivery for my parents 50th anniversary party, even though it was confirmed the day before that they would.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We live in Italy, and have the good fort ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We live in Italy, and have the good fortune to dine in some great Italian restaurants. We have both eaten in DaMaurizo's on different occasions over the past 10 years, and our return this past week lived up to our memories. Local ingredients, amazing service, creative entrees and antipasta....what a treat. Based on our experience, anything with lobster, scallops or haddock will not disappoint. The wine list is abbreviated but covers the range of what you would enjoy. We both felt it was one of the best meals we have had in some time......well done Andrew, can't wait for an excuse to be back in Halifax so we can marvel in the flavours again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in Halifax f ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Halifax for special occasions: excellent food, excellent service, welcoming hostess who sincerely wants one to have a good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, friendly & knowledgabl ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great atmosphere, friendly & knowledgable staff. The food was excellent! Wood recommended it to family & friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, , Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

DaMaurizo has been our go to destinatio ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

DaMaurizo has been our go to destination for special occasions for many years. This week we celebrated my husband's birthday. They were very accommodating , providing a special holiday dessert. The food and service were as always impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Da Maurizio never disappoints! This was ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Da Maurizio never disappoints! This was another wonderful meal with fabulous wine and service. I would highly recommend to anyone whether it's a romantic dinner for two or a celebration with a group.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Da Maurizio is our close second fave res ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Da Maurizio is our close second fave restaurant in Halifax. It never disappoints. Most excellent venue for a romantic dinner. Congrats to mr and mrs King!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was out of this world. Hands do ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was out of this world. Hands down the best food I have ever eaten. The server was so confident and good at his job he made getting coffee sound amazing like something that needed to be done. Overall amazing experience and will be back again soon

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, , People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience at da Maurizio! ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Another great experience at da Maurizio! Our go to place for special occasions. Always fantastic food and great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff, excellent service, great ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Friendly staff, excellent service, great wine list, and extraordinarily tasty food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Authentic, Fun, , Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we really enjoyed our meal and t ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Overall we really enjoyed our meal and the service was outstanding. This was our first trip but won't be our last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful place for a romantic meal. T ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

A wonderful place for a romantic meal. The food was a delight to the palette, presentation was excellent, and the prix fixe menu was amazing and great value. I would highly recommend da Maurizio.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, , Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This restaurant always serves great food ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

This restaurant always serves great food and they are very flexible with picky eaters. Service is great and good atmosphere. Love going here!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Tanya and her host of professional staff ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Tanya and her host of professional staff, provide an unsurpassed evening of great food, wine and ambience . Maurizio has been my choice of dining, for far too many years to count. Haven't had a disappointing experience yet.

Looking forward to the new renovations and grand opening for lunch.

Always a fan.

Pierre Legere

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience on this evening was wonde ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

Our experience on this evening was wonderful. The food was fantastic and the service exceptional. We found the serving size to be just about perfect and the wine list exquisite. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this restaurant! Probably my favou ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

Love this restaurant! Probably my favourite in Halifax. I have been coming here for years, and the food is always great and the service attentive. Hope to enjoy many times more in the coming years.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always one of the very best dining exper ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always one of the very best dining experiences in Halifax

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Our com ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Our company from away truly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I asked for a quiet location - we had a ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

I asked for a quiet location - we had a table under a stairwell - noise came at us from all directions. The service was intrusive and rushed. A napkin caught fire at the next table after the couple left - we put out the fire but the server left the smouldering napkin on the table. The appetizers, main dishes and wine were great (meat cooked to perfection) - desserts were not tastey. the waiter said "how are the desserts. delicious." and then started to leave so I said they were average to below average - not to complain but more to say they weren't "delicious" .

We were looking forward to a romantic evening (we had our first date at the restaurant and only great memories until now) and what we had was clatter, noise, rushed service, napkin smoke and average desserts.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

One of the best meals I've ever had! Kud ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had! Kudos to all staff. Memorable in a very positive way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Da Maurizio never fails to create the pe ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Da Maurizio never fails to create the perfect atmosphere one looks for when going out to celebrate a special occasion. The food, the service and warm ambiance you get when you go is unparalleled in the city of Halifax. Thank you again for giving us an evening to remember. We will be back again....very soon!

Morrison/ Smith-Camp Family

Tantallon

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The halibut and Romano salad very good. ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

The halibut and Romano salad very good.

The eggplant appetizer was good.

The duck was tuff.

The linguini with lobster not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I love d'Maurizio. The food is always de ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

I love d'Maurizio. The food is always delicious and the staff always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service, genuine Ital ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent food and service, genuine Italian fine dining - a Halifax restaurant staple for decades!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.