About da Maurizio

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: 902-423-0859

Additional:
Bar Dining, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken With Jumbo Shrimp In Lemon And White Wine Sauce
Chicken With Jumbo Shrimp In Lemon And White Wine Sauce

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
12 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Best Overall
Halifax
Best Food
Halifax
Best Service
Halifax
Best Ambiance
Halifax
Best Value
Halifax
Most Booked
Halifax
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

special occasion (78)
romantic (60)
fit for foodies (55)
See All
notable wine list (37)
good for groups (31)
neighborhood gem (13)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
844 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The menu, the service, the food and drin ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined 5 days ago

The menu, the service, the food and drink, and the service were wonderful. However, the noise level was such that conversation was actually somewhat difficult. As I age, noise levels are almost as important as the menu and the food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Where did my points go? Open table is in ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Where did my points go? Open table is in my bad books!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding. This ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service were outstanding.

This restaurant has never disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bravo- the food was very fresh and prepa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Bravo- the food was very fresh and prepared with outstanding sauces that tempted you to "lick the plate".

The pasta (ravioli with lobster) was very delicious and the rack of lamb was cooked perfectly medium and was so tender.

We will back for sure. The service was outstanding !

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

While its entrance isn't obvious (go in ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

While its entrance isn't obvious (go in off entryway to Marriott hotel_ it's well worth making the effort to this fine Italian restaurant. Elegantly apoointed and comfortable seating, Very diverse menu and $50 three course dinner options. Extensive wine list including some Nova Scotia offerings. Able and knowledgeable staff some of whom have been there for over a dozen years (a good sign).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply outstanding. Our favourite dining ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Simply outstanding. Our favourite dining spot in Halifax. It has everything a fine dining restaurant should have - outstanding staff, excellent menu and wine list and a terrace kitchen. Well done everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a highly rated restaurant the food w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

For a highly rated restaurant the food was just average though the desserts were exceptional. I would hope there is better value and better food to be found elsewhere in Halifax. It was a bit disappointing. My wife and I live 5 months a year in Sicily so we're use to better Italian food then what we had. The duck confit was over cooked and a bit dry and the skin was not crunchy perhaps too much time in the warming tray. The pasta primavera had an over abundance of tomatoe sauce and the vegetables were not grilled as advertised. The pasta itself was quite excellent. The desserts were as stated previously were excellent. We had the lemon Tort and the tiramisu. The wine menu was excellent with some exceptional choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

While the service food and beverages are ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

While the service food and beverages are first rate, the music works at the Hard Rock Cafe does not work here. At least our server turned down the volume. Also, the lighting to the wine cellar needs to be directed to be only there, not glaring in eyes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Food was outstanding and service was ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The Food was outstanding and service was very good. Overall a great Italian experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Parking was very confusing and very inco ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Parking was very confusing and very inconvenient. The location of the restaurant was very hard to find given that are from out of town and don't know the area. We ended up walking back and forth trying to find the entrance.

Server was overly polite - and, yes, there IS such a thing as being overly polite.

Main course was overly priced for the portions received. The appetizer, however, was a very good value (I had the meatballs in tomato sauce).

I, most likely, would not visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We discovered da Maurizio 's a few years ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We discovered da Maurizio 's a few years ago but being from Ontario we can only go when we're in Halifax. Every time we we're in town we come here. Fantastic mussels, meatballs, seafood dishes like panko crusted haddock with lobster chunk. Wow.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Halifax to celebrate Ca ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were visiting Halifax to celebrate Canada Day and since da Maurizio was close to our hotel we decided to have supper there.

From the moment that we walked in to the time we left the staff treated us like dignitaries.

The food was pricey but was worth every penny spent.

I would definitely recommend da Maurizio to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was disappointed Saturday night as the ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I was disappointed Saturday night as there was a wedding and we were seated just outside the room. It was very noisy and I had a special friend visiting from Ottawa. I told him it was a nice quiet place and they did not rush you through your servings. Everything was rushed Saturday, my meal came before I was finished my mussels

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at Da Maurizio ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Da Maurizio: the food was amazing, the service outstanding, and we sat on the lovely small patio outdoors on a warm summer night, all made for a memorable meal. A small note: finding the entrance to this restaurant is quite a challenge, many people asked diners sitting on the patio on how to get inside (including us), so: you have to enter the building through glass doors and the entrance to Da Maurizio is down the hallway (passed casual Indian and Chinese take-out places) on the left.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thew service and the food were great. An ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Thew service and the food were great. Another wonderful experience at one of our favourite places to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I will be back. It was wonderful! Great ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I will be back. It was wonderful! Great culinary experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service Great food Wonderful wine ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great service

Great food

Wonderful wine list

We were a party of five.

Everyone raved about their meals...fish/lamb/veal/gnocchi

All were spectacular

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sit in the main area and request Kelly a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Sit in the main area and request Kelly as your server. Our last dining experience under the direction of Kelly was 5 star; this one did not live up to our expectations. Sitting in a dark corner behind the steps did not set the atmosphere for a special birthday celebration. Food was excellent but server needed some polish/training and noise from above filtered down to our table. It will be a while before we return.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

I've dined at da Maurizio prior to this ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I've dined at da Maurizio prior to this visit and have really enjoyed my experiences. However, I made a reservation here to celebrate an accomplishment with family and all members were disappointed. The staff were friendly and happy to accommodate any request but the food did not meet expectations. None of us were able to finish our main dishes as they were not enjoyable. We have all had amazing experiences at Da Maurizio in the past but it unfortunately lacked this time around. It was definitely not worth the money and we were genuinely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The gnocchi are to die for.....with a go ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The gnocchi are to die for.....with a good variety of sauces.....and the server Kelly was exceptional. a must visit to Halifax....we took 3 other dishes and they were all amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was absolutely amazing, they ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This place was absolutely amazing, they took special requests and made the night truly something to remember for my anniversary. Five stars for sure

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A last minute reservation brought us to ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A last minute reservation brought us to da Maurizio. We lived the shrimp starter and the veal dish we each had was delicious. Tender but full of flavour. If we were in Halifax again we would be sure to dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This visit is the result of a request f ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This visit is the result of a request from Graduate from post secondary education. Fantastic location, ambiance and staff. Food was to die for including the deserts . Age range was 18 to 74 years and we all cleaned our plate and ate to much. So yeah it was great. Nice and quiet great menu selection and wine list. Not cheap but if you are a foodie this place will not disappoint. Recommend reservations

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meatballs are to die for. Great ser ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The meatballs are to die for. Great services, lovely food and a truly enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place with beautiful pictures ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very nice place with beautiful pictures on the walls. Service was great, you felt important. The food was tasty with a special touch of their own. We recommend without any hesitations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The fois gras appetizer was to die for ( ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The fois gras appetizer was to die for (I seriously considered having it again for dessert!). The rest of our dinner was also amazing and the service was impeccable. This is now on our favourite Halifax restaurants list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff were attentive, food was excellent ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Staff were attentive, food was excellent. Would love to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, the service was exceptional f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

As always, the service was exceptional from the moment we entered the restaurant. The new menu for spring was amazing and they continue to offer some favorite menu items with a new twist. The Bolognese sauce was wonderful - and makes it hard to move on to other menu items!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food, service and ambiance

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

da Maurizio's sets the standard for Halifax restaurants. Fantastic food, great service, fine wine, all in the old Brewery Market complex with its old world charm.

This is not a budget restaurant, so we generally go there for special occasions to enjoy the fine dining experience.

The ambiance on the main floor is perfect. There are a few odd little tables on the lower floor, but if you are not looking for a window, they are acceptable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tried and True

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Always offers a high standard of service and quality. We always choose this restaurant when we want a great experience, traditional Italian cuisine and no surprises. As other restaurants come and go in Halifax DaMaurizio remains our "go to" place for special occassions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can count on da Maurizio to provide ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

You can count on da Maurizio to provide excellent service and fine food. We started with mussels which were in a delicious tomato based broth, good enough to qualify as a soup on its own! The pork tenderloin had a lovely sauce; the meat itself was a little tougher than expected. It was attractively served with nice vegetables, properly cooked. Chocolate mousse to finish was melt in your mouth delicious, the apple crumble not as interesting. All in all, a great evening with attentive service in a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently Great!

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Awesome as usual! We are from Ontario and whenever we are in Halifax this is our must go to place for dinner. The food and service are always, consistently great! The calamari appetizer is always a staple for us. We have found over the years that you cannot go wrong with any of the menu items. Thanks to the owners and staff as this is not often found in many restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as were our hostess & waiter.

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

1st visit and wont be our last the restaurant is very relaxing and comfortable. The minute we walked in the hostess made use feel we were the most important thing in her day. Our waiter was also very pleasant went over the menu and made a number of good suggestions,

All our meals were delicious. The only suggestion I may have would be pasta, the whole idea for me in going to an Italian restaurant is the pasta. The pasta was very good and we enjoyed what we ordered. But found the selection a bit quiet ( safe ) nothing really jumped out at us. As in I have to try that or that sounds interesting or a bit different.

Once more thank for a lovely evening and looking forward to returning to da Maurizio.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, atmosphere and food. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent service, atmosphere and food. They pay attention to all details

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely meal and excellent service

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Food melted in mouth: soup was hot/freshly made and halibut was best ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Experience

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've ever dined in. The food was great and a nice relaxing atmosphere. Service by our waiter and others was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best unknown resturants in Halifax

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Looked for a nice restaurant for my wives birthday was very happy with our choice the service was great lots of staff, we never felt rushed the place was packed but the servers took it all in stride. The food was served hot and plentiful , the portions were bordering on to big the flavour was really good, really enjoyed the evening. It is expensive but worth it. I highly recommend it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We choice the restaurant for our 40th an ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We choice the restaurant for our 40th anniversary with a group of friends. Everything was excellent

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just phenomenal.

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

I have been going to Da Maurizio's for 15 years and it never disappoints. The service, the ambiance, the romance of fine dining is a dawning of a time that really doesn't exist anymore...except here.

Thank you Tanya and Andrew for another great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Felt that the appetizers were excellen ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I Felt that the appetizers were excellent as well as the pasta, but the veal was overpowered by the sauce. The restaurant was very noisy as were between two large parties it was difficult to hear the other people at our table. Dessert was also very good. The service was a bit lax as they were very busy with the other groups.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.