Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About da Maurizio

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: (902) 423-0859

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Romantic (43)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Authentic (22)
Cozy (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Business Meals (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Comfort Food (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Historic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Waterfront (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Private Room (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1038 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Da Maurizio is an excellent restaurant. Always great food, service and ambiance. We started our meal with two glasses of Champagne which were not at all cold and completely flat with no effervecence. I pointed out this to our waiter who quickly changed them out. Unusual for this caliber of restaurant, but rest of night was amazing with great warm raddichio salad, foie gras, beef tenderloin and veal scallopini. Nice Super Tuscan by the glass. We will return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 7 days ago

Each time I go, I have excellent food and experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Every time we visit Halifax, we try to have dinner here. The service is very professional. The staff know the menu and the wine list so they can make excellent recommendations for food and wine pairings. The setting is elegant with white linen table cloths and napkins, dark wood panelling, reasonable space between the tables, etc. As always, we really enjoyed our meal of fois gras paired with Jost ice wine and a Livorno style fish stew paired with a Chablis. We shared a rich torte for dessert. We'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Will be back!!!!!!
Great food! Great everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This restaurant continues to impress on every visit. For the last 10 years or so, my wife and I have been going to da Maurizio 10-12 times a year and we have yet to not have an outstanding experience. Tanya, the co-owner and front of the house Manager/Maitre D is always so welcoming and appreciative of your business. When we book online for reservations, without saying anything, they try and seat us a our favourite table. The wait staff , most of whom been there for many years, Kelly, Carl, Carlo and Graham are always so professional and efficient. On top of the wait service are a group of assistants that seem virtually invisible but clear dishes, refill water and bread without you even knowing. Finally, the food is incredible, the kitchen staff consistently turn out masterpieces of culinary excellence. This is without a doubt the premier dining room in Halifax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Still one of the Best Itialian Restaurants in Halifax and is a pleasure to enjoy

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The entire experience delightful as always! The hostess is exceptional.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Excellent as always. Our favourite Halifax restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Da Maurizio is one of the finest restaurants in Halifax. We have gone many times for dinner but this was our first for lunch as they have only recently started offering lunches.
I have never been disappointed and have recommended it to many friends. I was very pleased with the lunch menu and portions. We're looking forward to returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 10, 2017

always enjoyable, has stood the test of time. Great Italian food prepared as you like it. Very accommodating for special requests.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Historic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Once again a delicious lunch with family . Great service and food .
We are so glad that Da Maurizio is now open for lunch .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We dined at da Maurizio on our 50th wedding anniversary on February 24 and were not disappointed. We used to eat at this restaurant frequently during the 1990's when we were on business trips from Moncton to Halifax and were never disappointed in the service or cuisine. The meals were perfectly prepared and the service was flawless. My wife and I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Halifax.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Love everything about this restaurant. Had the tenderloin steak twice in the past couple of weeks. Perfectly cooked and tender to the point I believe you could cut it with a butter knife.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This was our first Lunch at Da Maurizio .
The food and service were very good and the wine list is excellent .
The lunch menu offers a variety of choices and we enjoyed the lobster Croissant with crispy pancetta , avacado and lobster with a small mixed bean salad . Delicious . We alsomchose the Gnocchi with wild mushroom sauce , the best Gnocchi we've ever eaten , light cloudy pillows and the sauce is rich and full of mushrooms . Our guest diner enjoyed the burger and fries .

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The evening was fantastic it was my wives birthday and Kelly was amazing as always. We will be back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our evening at Da Maurizio's was a very pleasant respite from the snow shoveling of the week before. We had a lovely table and excellent service on what was a very busy post Valentine's weekend. We both started with the grilled scallops which were excellent, and then follow with the Veal Scallopini with lobster and a rose sauce. It was divine ! We would both recommend the place and the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First time visit after hearing that da Maurizio was the class act in the city. The service and food were very good but not outstanding. Comparable to many lower tier restaurants in the city. Expected more for the price and hype.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was my birthday. We had an amazing meal, staff were very friendly. Would go again in a minute.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My only criticism would be that it can be a little difficult to talk, where the tables are fairly close together. Otherwise, everything was excellent! Amazing food, good service, and great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 17, 2017

As always, we greatly enjoyed our delicious dinners and the excellent service we have come to expect from da Maurizio. My wife says her Radicchio Salad was "superb." And the Salmon, plus Risotto was equally tasty. My Butternut Squash soup, Haddock, and Crostata alla Frutta from the "Dine Around" menu was one of the tastiest dinners I've experienced. Mmmm...!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very enjoyable evening meal...friendly knowledgable wait staff. Thanks

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 15, 2017

WE made a reservation two weeks in advance for our special occasion and we were disappointed in being placed at a table in the downstairs where it was chilly and we felt removed from the ambiance to share a special occasion. In making a reservation in advance we should not have been seated where we were. This area should be utilized for walk-in.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Being here for the first time for Valentine date. Food quality is high and service is a little slow but it's being busy so totally fine. Worth second time trying!

Tags: Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Was our first time eating there. Food was excellent and our server Graham Little was excellent and made it an enjoyable experience. We'll be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have eaten at this restaurant many times over the past ten years, always for special occasions such as birthdays or Valentines Day. It has never disappointed. Our most recent experience was Valentine's Day 2017 and we got just what we expected, an excellent meal, provided with very good service, and a pleasant ambiance where we could still carry on a conversation and relax over our meal even though the restaurant was busy with other guests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It's never on the menu but it's always served - a huge portion of customer service that leaves you wanting more. Add to that a fantastic ambience, to die for menu and you have my favourite things all wrapped up in one restaurant. Bravo

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food and service, as always. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Modern Decor, Historic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As usual DaMa was amazing ! Love love love the food there, and service is always excellent. Kudos to the chef, and our server Kelly, on a very busy night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good food and ambiance! Local favorite....
Don't look further if authentic Italian is what you're looking for!

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The experience is phenomenal! Right from the Maitre D, the wait staff, and especially the Chef and all the kitchen staff, you couldn't ask for a better restaurant. They know how to do it right!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 10, 2017

da Maurizio really is my favorite restaurant in HRM, the food, the staff and the ambiance is just incredible. My only complaint would be that my husband reserved a romantic quiet spot for a special occasion and we were seated next to a family with a very young (as in months old) baby who was a little fussy. I do understand that new parents like to get out and that the staff likely had no idea there was a baby in their party when the reservation was made, but it did affect our experience for the evening.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 4, 2017

First off it was really hard to find for someone who's never been. The inside looked lovely. The arched windows and exposed wood was beautiful. Our menus were very warn looking and bent. Our waitress was very nice and friendly. Really the customer service was the redeeming quilty here because even though our food was ready quickly it was lukewarm at best. I ordered the ravioli and my boyfriend had the spaghetti and although mine had good favour it was cold within minutes and he barely touched his... For the price the food should of been hot. Not worth it for us.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was wonderful, the whole dining experience! However, getting in was a problem, the signage was poor, the door below the main da Maurizio sign was not open and there was no other indication that we should go into the shopping centre to find it.
Parking was good too, across the street.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Every time I visit Da Maurizio I'm reminded of how outstanding the food and service really is. Nothing else compares to this restaurant in Halifax, it's the most delicious Italian food in the city. The mushroom gnocchi is amazing, I've never had anything quite like it. Tanya is also an amazing host/owner. She always makes me feel like family every time I visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Halifax- and that says a lot since Halifax has so much to offer! The menu is fabulous and the food is too! Excellent service and the atmosphere is great.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was excellent, they never disappoint. Service was very good. Calamari is the best in Halifax. First time trying the chocolate and hazelnut mousse and it was very tasty and remarkably light.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Fantastic meal. Tenderloin steak cooked perfectly and very tender.
Nice to have a quiet place to talk and we're not rushed at all.
Continues to be my favourite Halifax restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great for a special occasion sort of date! Romantic atmosphere, wonderful staff with perfect timing and very knowledgeable - our server provided us with an excellent wine pairing for our meal, and he was very attentive throughout our evening in making sure our glasses were never low. Would absolutely go back as there are several other menu items I would like to try!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I did request a birthday candle for dessert that would be ordered when I filled out "Requests" online. This request wasn't fulfilled. I would not have had the dessert if I didn't know the request would not be filled. It was for my husband's birthday; he didn't want dessert, and neither did I, but I wanted this little touch. I didn't say anything, but I was terribly disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.