Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About da Maurizio

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (54)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Cozy (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Business Meals (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Authentic (17)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (8)
Waterfront (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Healthy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
1144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Always our "go to" resto for special occasions and other. Never ever been disappointed with the food . Stable staffing personnel always pleasant, eager to help and knowledgeable about dinner offerings. Proprietor takes great care in ensuring a welcoming and memorable dining experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Great food. Nice atmosphere. Warm welcome. Still on our list...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Da Maurizio is the best restaurant we have ever been to. No matter what you order, it is going to be excellent. My goal is to try as many menu items as I can. My wife and I will not go anywhere else for fine dining other than here. This place will be sadly missed when we leave this area!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Food is generally excellent
Menu is varied but rarely changed
Service very polished and professional
Personnel very nice
Expensive
Often crowded
Tables close together
Not much separation or privacy
One of the best restaurants in the City.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We have been planning to come to Da Maurizio for quite a long time, and were not disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Food was nothing special. For a fine dining restaurant I expected so much more! A little loud but overall it was a good atmosphere for a date.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Our evening was excellent - great service, food and ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 30, 2017

I don't know how many times we have eaten here but everytime it is fantastic. Even though Kelly was super busy (group of 40 upstairs and a group of 13 downstairs plus his tables) he never made us feel like he was. Right from the minute we walked through the door you made us feel welcomed and like you trulely appreciated us choosing to dine with you. This is why we will keep coming back over and over again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Maybe the best business lunch in town while maybe the least known.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

We had a spectacular meal for my Dad's 80th birthday. The staff went to a great deal of trouble to make it a very special evening. They even included a personalized 80th birthday message on his dessert. Great service and delicious food. The calamari is the best in the city!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2017

I've not received any points for this reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Da Maurizio never disappoints! We returned for our anniversary October 14th. Food and service were excellent, as usual. Calamari is an excellent starter. All pasta dishes that we have tried are excellent. We highly recommend this restaurant for excellent Italian food and excellent service.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 13, 2017

This is my favourite restaurant in the city, and with so many amazing restaurants in Halifax that says a lot. They are very accommodating with the menu and the food is always fantastic. Service is excellent as well

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

I am very disappointed in the confusion over our meals and the lack of response to my email. Our server got the orders mixed up at the table. I don't have a problem with this but I do have a big problem with her sending me home with someone else's doggy bag because she wrote the wrong seating number on our bags I assume due to the original confusion at the table. Kind of gross! When we were leaving my dinner companion questioned the server to ensure we were getting the right bags and were assured that we were. When I spend $25 on a pasta I would expect to take home my own leftovers and not someone else's. Less than impressed that no one even bothered to respond to my email when I noticed having the wrong food. I would have expected more from such a high class restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

As always, the quality of the food was spectacular. Every bite is amazing with tastes so flavorful they are difficult to describe. Every staff member was extremely pleasant, kind and gracious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great Italian restaurant, food was great, my only disappointment would have been the waitress, there was something that didn't seam right. She could have had an off night to. Seafood stew had lots of seafood in it, only thing was a little too much curry but still ate the whole thing. Overall great place to eat, great atmosphere, place was hard to find, had to call them we walk by twice couldn't see it tuck in a corner right next to the Marriott

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Dinner and service were excellent as usual. When using open table to book special requests are not seen in time to honour these requests. Diabetic dessert was requested but not available on short notice we were told by our waiter. You must call with any special dietary requests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent food, ambience was very romantic. If visiting Halifax and looking for a romantic place to have a meal, this is a must

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

I pains me to have to write this review after 20+ years of patronage.

We normally celebrate our anniversary at da Maurizio with a supper but this year circumstances prevented that so we opted for lunch.

The first thing we noticed was when we sat down. In pulling out the chair for my wife, the seat was either cut or stained, I couldn't see which. When she sat down the chair was unsteady and squeaked. I swapped it for another chair and we sat although we were puzzled at the need for maintenance.

We ordered our traditional calamari and warm radicchio salad.

The calamari looked perfect ...... but it wasn't. It was chewy/rubbery and some pieces actually tasted fishy. Frankly, we were shocked. What is always the best calamari of them all, was some of the worst we'd ever had.

The server removed our plates, apologizing for the quality and assuring us it would be removed from the bill. We declined another choice as we had time constraints.

Salads arrived. Pancetta perfectly cooked. Parmesan lattice - inedible - tough and rubbery. We make these ourselves so we know it was stale.

My radicchio was fine. My wife's bowl contained mostly inedible bottom stems. She ate the pieces she could and left the rest. We couldn't bring ourselves to send the salad back as well so we just asked for the bill.

As we were getting up, the waiter asked the couple at the table next to us about their soup. They told him it was cold. Inexcusable. At that point there were only four people in the restaurant.

We don't now what we will do in future: calamari, salad and the soup at the next table. Incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Every time we are in Halifax we come here, usually for dinner but this time we only had time for lunch. Still worth it. We have mussels, salad and the tomato soup. Wow, wow, wow. We could live on the mussels they are so good. We'll be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Old world atmosphere. Food was delicious but make sure you are hungry. Impeccable service.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is outstanding. The food, the friendly staff it is by far the best restaurant in Halifax!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 27, 2017

I believe it has been one of the top best restaurants in Canada for the past 6 years. And the rating is right on!! Fabulous food, great service. Pricey but well worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 15, 2017

It was great. The veal chop was amazing and the gamberi appetizer great. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We dined at da Maurizio for our recent Wedding Anniversary. We have dined there many times before, and have never been disappointed in the quality of food and service. Once again, we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Although there were two large parties in the restaurant that evening, service was impeccable, and all courses were delicious. da Maurizio - we love dining with you, and will continue to support you for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambiance. The halibut was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Tucked way in a mall of some sort but still a good vibe. Once inside, more romantic than I expected, given its location. Nice and friendly staff. Holly was lovely. Finally, a place in Nova Scotia that serves Prosecco. Nice selection of breads. Our salads were great. We read on Open Table, they offered lasagna and tapas size pastas but this night, no to both. I really like trying different dishes so 3 tapas selections is ideal for me but instead had the homemade gnocchi. It was good... but not to the level of must have again. My friend had the lobster ravioli which I did try. Again, good but I have had better. Would I go back... YES. It's the only way I can try the other pastas.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great lunch burger. Tomato soup is always a good choice as well

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Was a little hesitant given the reviews and considering the night before we dined at Cut so we assumed that meal would be hard to top. Glad we gave da Maurizio a chance! The atmosphere was very romantic and the food was excellent! Our server Kelly went above and beyond to make this meal exceptional! When asked for a recommendation he didn't hesitate both with the main courses and dessert and was spot on with his recommendations. He was very helpful explaining the menu and provided extremely attentive service despite seemingly tending many tables. The calamari and mussel appetizers were delicious as were the mains (haddock and tenderloin), as well the deserts we're exceptional as was the coffee that finished off the great experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great Italian food and excellent service. Worth experiencing again and again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Da Maurizo is the best restaurant in Canada. There is nothing on the menu that you would be disappointed and you will keep coming back again. Best service and best food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was excellent and it was great to see well selected local wine on their wine list that matched many of their dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great Italian food and excellent service. Don't miss this great dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Good food and location. No disability access whatsoever.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Superb in all regards. Great service, food and ambience .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food was excellent and our waiter paced and tended us cheerfully and professionally. We have dined here many times and always look forward to coming again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was good but very oily. Lots butter and cream

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Love coming here for a nice dinner with the wife and friends. Always a good time, good food and fantastic service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

I normally love this restaurant but was disappointed with my most recent visit. Service was brusque, and there was a long wait between courses.

I always come here on my visits to Halifax, as my go to restaurant for a consistently good meal, and gracious service, in a lovely environment- but I will rethink that based on my most recent experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The service was exceptional and all the food was delicious. We loved the calamari and the warm salad.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.