About da Maurizio

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: 902-423-0859

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
6 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Nova Scotia
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

Special Occasion (63)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Romantic (53)
See All
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Business Meals (27)
Cozy (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Authentic (24)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Historic (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Private Room (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Waterfront (5)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
929 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was excellent. Our com ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service was excellent. Our company from away truly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I asked for a quiet location - we had a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I asked for a quiet location - we had a table under a stairwell - noise came at us from all directions. The service was intrusive and rushed. A napkin caught fire at the next table after the couple left - we put out the fire but the server left the smouldering napkin on the table. The appetizers, main dishes and wine were great (meat cooked to perfection) - desserts were not tastey. the waiter said "how are the desserts. delicious." and then started to leave so I said they were average to below average - not to complain but more to say they weren't "delicious" .

We were looking forward to a romantic evening (we had our first date at the restaurant and only great memories until now) and what we had was clatter, noise, rushed service, napkin smoke and average desserts.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

One of the best meals I've ever had! Kud ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had! Kudos to all staff. Memorable in a very positive way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The halibut and Romano salad very good. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The halibut and Romano salad very good.

The eggplant appetizer was good.

The duck was tuff.

The linguini with lobster not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Da Maurizio never fails to create the pe ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Da Maurizio never fails to create the perfect atmosphere one looks for when going out to celebrate a special occasion. The food, the service and warm ambiance you get when you go is unparalleled in the city of Halifax. Thank you again for giving us an evening to remember. We will be back again....very soon!

Morrison/ Smith-Camp Family

Tantallon

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love d'Maurizio. The food is always de ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I love d'Maurizio. The food is always delicious and the staff always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service, genuine Ital ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent food and service, genuine Italian fine dining - a Halifax restaurant staple for decades!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, fabulous dining experience! ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Once again, fabulous dining experience! Superb in every respect. Favorite restaurant in Halifax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

da Maurizio never disappoints!!!!!! Tany ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 15, 2016

da Maurizio never disappoints!!!!!! Tanya (the owner) is as gracious and inviting as if she was welcoming you into her very own home. I look forward to dining here each and every time I visit Halifax. The seafood soup is to die for!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard great things about Da Mauri ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had heard great things about Da Maurizio and we were not disappointed. It was our first time going and we will definitely be back again. The calamari was outstanding and may have been the best we have ever had. We also had the gnocchi and ravioli - we shared the dinner plates of both and the serving size was excellent. Highly Recommend!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The red wine was on the cool side,should ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The red wine was on the cool side,should have been warmer.It was a cool night outside and sitting by a window was not warm.The waiter would place the wine on the window sill making the wine cooler also.The calamari was good but the bottom half of the dish was soaking in the sauce,making them soggy.Overall the food,service was quite good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

WE WERE CELEBRATING 3 BIRTHDAYS, HAD 2 G ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2016

WE WERE CELEBRATING 3 BIRTHDAYS, HAD 2 GIFT CERTIFICATES AND DECIDED TO EXPERIENCE A CULINARY DELIGHT. WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED AND THOROUGHLY ENJOYED OUR THREE HOUR EXPERIENCE, FROM GREETINGS AT OUR ARRIVAL , THE SERVICE PROVIDED BY KELLY, OUR SERVER, THE WINE LIST AND DRINKS RECOMMENDED BY KELLY, AND THE CUISINE ITSELF. THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENTLY PREPARED AND PRESENTED AND CHALLENGED THE TASTE BUDS. WE ALL HAD DIFFERENT PRESENTATIONS AND ENJOYED SHARING THE MANY TASTES WITH EACH OTHER. REALLY DIDN'T NOTICE THE TALK OF OTHER HAPPY PATRONS BUT JUST A LOW HUM AND THE SCURRY OF SERVERS.

WE THOROUGHLY ENJOYED OUR OUTING. THANK YOU.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I booked a table for 2 for my parents on ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I booked a table for 2 for my parents on their 30th anniversary celebration. My parents are not the type of people to treat themselves often although I don't know anyone more deserving! Having been to this restaurant myself, I knew I wanted them to experience it! I had called in advance to make special arrangements for my parents. The owner, Tanya, was so incredibly helpful and wonderful and ensured my parents would have a nice surprise on their anniversary.

My parents were reluctant to go when I told them but when they came back they were ALL SMILES! They LOVED their food. My father is a salmon lover and a huge critic when it comes to salmon and it is the first time I've ever heard him say the salmon was perfect at a restaurant. My mother who is vegetarian always has trouble finding good vegetarian options but she ordered the hand made ravioli and was so pleased! They even got complimentary desert.

Thank you so much for helping us make my parents' 30th anniversary special. It's so nice to see wonderful, genuine, service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Halifax. WE go there ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Best restaurant in Halifax. WE go there often. Never dissappointing

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Upon arrival, we where welcomed by a ver ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Upon arrival, we where welcomed by a very nice lady who promptly took our coats and took us to out table. The waiter came right over and offered beverages and was very polite. Some bread was brought to the table (3 kinds) which was delicious. We ordered an appetizer or jumbo scallops and bacon which was amazing, came quickly and was extremely fresh! Shortly after the main courses came, we both had pasta. The hand made ravioli and the braised rabbit pasta, both where phenomenal in my opinion. Had a wonderful dessert with vanilla gelato to finish it off. The staff where extremely polite and very helpful, and the food was amazing. It was our first time going but we will certainly be back!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special place and food Ideal for a spec ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Special place and food

Ideal for a special celebration

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Delicious meal in a warm, cozy, quiet at ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Delicious meal in a warm, cozy, quiet atmosphere. Staff were extremely attentive! We'll be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic Food and Service! We enjoyed a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Fantastic Food and Service! We enjoyed a special family dinner. Most of our most memorable occasions are from dinners at da Maurizio!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Booked a reservation for 2 at 7:30. Once ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Booked a reservation for 2 at 7:30. Once we entered we were told they were prepping the table. We stood for ten minutes pushed off to the side as other parties were seated coming in after us. Our main course took a very long time to arrive. When leaving we had to search for our coats while other older groups had their coats handed to them. We are a couple in our mid 20's who did not receive the same respect or attention as the middle to old aged groups dining that evening. It was disrespectful and had us leaving very unhappy on the evening of our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

My spouse and I discovered da Maurizio a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 26, 2016

My spouse and I discovered da Maurizio about 4 years ago. It has been on our indulgence agenda each time we have gone to Halifax since, as the restaurant has never disappointed. Service and food are of the highest quality. We have tried a wide assortment of menu items and all have been excellent. Now, it seems we often chose the 'Prix Fixe Menu' just to try to put some limits on available choices; everything is so good we struggle to decide what to order. While I generally choose something with fish and/or seafood, my spouse generally selects something with meat - then we share. What a terrific way to spend a relaxing evening in Halifax.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food, great ambience and excel ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Wonderful food, great ambience and excellent staff!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meatballs are always wonderful and t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The meatballs are always wonderful and the ambiance is lovely, understated elegance yet relaxing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our evening very much..from t ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We enjoyed our evening very much..from the ambiance to the service,food and wine. It was our first time there and we will be sure to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, food, great. Unfortunately afte ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Service, food, great. Unfortunately after being seated and quite pleased with the table location, an overhead air-conditioner/ventilator came on which made sufficent noise to be annoying! We were well into the meal at the time and "tolerated it" Otherwise pleased with the evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We love this place! Can't wait for the s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We love this place! Can't wait for the squash soup to come back on the menu!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The best meal we had on the East Coast i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The best meal we had on the East Coast in two weeks! Impeccable service and great ambiance. Well worth the visit, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again very tasty meals for all four ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Once again very tasty meals for all four of us . The fettuccine with mushroom ragu is outstanding . Great wine list and service .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far THE best restaurant we h ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was by far THE best restaurant we have had the pleasure of dining in. We are avid cruise people and have been in Europe as well as North America and the Carribean. The food was perfectly done and the presentation was excellent. The chefs / owners should be very pleased with their product. Terffic menu with great choices. Excellent wine list. No wonder this restaurant was voted as one of the top 100 in Canada!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The noise level was perfect for conversa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The noise level was perfect for conversation with beautiful music playing in the background and enough space between tables to create privacy. The waiter was great. He knew the menu and was always there when we needed him. The Dodd was delicious from start to finish. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second visit in 2 months. Both times ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Our second visit in 2 months. Both times the food and service were both excellent. Our favorite restaurant when travelling to Halifax.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food with great atmosphere. T ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Delicious food with great atmosphere. The service is excellent. The meal is nicely paced for an evening out. Don't expect a quick in and out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

expectations were high for quality itali ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 4, 2016

expectations were high for quality italian pasta, the wild mushroom linguine was absolutely terrible, the ravioli was marginal at best. Our service was fantastic, however, did not ask us about quality of our meal, nor did the host. The server definitly knew the food was bad, the host, well, yeah, the host new as well.

We will never consider this restaurant again, and will make a point to tell all we know, NOT TO GO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

A beautiful and comfortable place with e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 3, 2016

A beautiful and comfortable place with excellent food and great service. Reasonable value for the quality.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined there on the recommendation of ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We dined there on the recommendation of the manager at our other favourite restaurant in Halifax - Salty's. We loved this authentic Northern Italian restaurant with an east coast flavour.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meatball appetizer was excellent. More ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Meatball appetizer was excellent. More than enough for two people to share. Rack of lamb was superb. Cooked perfectly. Tiramisu and lemon torta were divine. Service was great. The one disappointment was the pork tenderloin. Though visually appealing, the portion was a little small, and the pork a tad dry. I would definitely go back. 9 out of 10.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great dining experience over ma ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Always a great dining experience over many years. We now always include a dinner at da Maurizio when we visit Halifax after living there for over 20 years.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant ! Wonderful food and w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Lovely restaurant ! Wonderful food and wonderful waiter service .

We will be back for sure !

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been dining at Da Maurizio for 2 ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We have been dining at Da Maurizio for 20+ years and have never had anything but excellent food and equally fine service. The ambience is great - elegant and refined and the service is always prompt and friendly. We celebrate all our special occasions there and it is our go-to place when we have out of town visitors. The menus vary with the seasons but the special favorites are always available. Good variety of wines and, unlike most local restaurants, the noise level is always minimal enough to allow good conversation. The warm welcome from Tanya King always starts the evening off on a high note !

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time we had a meal a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 26, 2016

This was the second time we had a meal at da Maurizio and we were not disappointed. The fish soup was excellent as was the tomato soup. My only disappointment was that after soup and the lamb chops, I was too full to contemplate dessert. So, if you are a dessert lover, you might want to consider not having 2 courses or substituting an appetizer or salad for the main course.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My beef tenderloin was the BEST I have e ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My beef tenderloin was the BEST I have ever had (that includes steak I've had in high end restaurants in montreal and quebec city). The veal was also excellent and the sauce was delish! The wine selection in the $70/bottle and below was a bit small but still good choices. Dessert was excellent, so was the expresso with biscotti!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.