About da Maurizio

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: 902-423-0859

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken With Jumbo Shrimp In Lemon And White Wine Sauce
Chicken With Jumbo Shrimp In Lemon And White Wine Sauce

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
12 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Best Overall
Nova Scotia
Best Food
Nova Scotia
Best Service
Nova Scotia
Best Ambiance
Nova Scotia
Best Value
Nova Scotia
Most Booked
Nova Scotia
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

Special Occasion (96)
Romantic (71)
Fit for Foodies (61)
See All
Notable Wine List (49)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Good for a Date (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Cozy (11)
Historic (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Private Room (6)
Business Meals (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Healthy (4)
Waterfront (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
887 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My beef tenderloin was the BEST I have e ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 4 days ago

My beef tenderloin was the BEST I have ever had (that includes steak I've had in high end restaurants in montreal and quebec city). The veal was also excellent and the sauce was delish! The wine selection in the $70/bottle and below was a bit small but still good choices. Dessert was excellent, so was the expresso with biscotti!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time I had used OpenTable booking ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined 4 days ago

First time I had used OpenTable booking system, very impressed with simplicity and efficiency.

Warm welcome at the restaurant. Tables quite close together which was ok at first as we arrived quite early ( 6pm ) but not private later as restaurant filled up. We could hear every word from adjacent tables ( so they could hear ours ! ).

Good choice of food with some imaginative dishes. Waiter was helpful with choices.

Quality of the food was excellent though I thought the cost of wine per glass rather expensive ($14).

Overall a good experience but unlikely to return soon - lots of other good restaurants to try in Halifax.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

For years DaMaurizio has been the most e ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

For years DaMaurizio has been the most elegant restaurant in Halifax. At the same time, it is friendly and accommodating, with just the right degree of formality. The menu has reliable seasonal favourites, which always return, as well as more evanescent offerings, including some foodie delights. The wine list offers good value across a robust price range. It is weighted toward Italian wines, with a few gems, and a couple of local ones (sparkling or white) that are definitely worth trying. The sommelier delights in helping find the right wine for the right taste at the right price. We've been going there for years on our own, with guests and for business. It is always a treat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and service was friendly, ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Excellent food and service was friendly, professional while at the same time unobtrusive. Celebrated a double birthday and the food, service and ambience made it a very special occasion. Was worth the trip from Calgary.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My table was beside the stairs and cramp ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My table was beside the stairs and cramped. The food wasn't what I considered outstanding.

I had the veal chop that was tasty enough. My companion had the lobster ravioli, by far the best dish of the evening. The foie gras didn't do it for me and I am a usually a big fan.

The meatballs were loaded with garlic and I love garlic. These were to pungent and tough to boot. The fixed menu seemed ok . The gnocchi nothing yo write home about.

The dessert to sweet.

The cost for 4 persons with only 2 beers and 1 sambuca was $300.00

I tipped $50 even though the service was just so so.

I would not hurry back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Tasty food locally sourced in a cozy env ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Tasty food locally sourced in a cozy environment. A good wine selection suggested by the waiter.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is great, and service is always ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food is great, and service is always exceptional! You do need reservations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Da Maurizio's was a beautiful restaurant ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Da Maurizio's was a beautiful restaurant, comfortable, wonderful ambience, delicious food and impeccable service. My husband and I were celebrating my birthday that night and we were so happy to have found this restaurant while we were traveling and staying in Halifax.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Karl was excellent knowledgea ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our waiter Karl was excellent knowledgeable and fun.Food amazing.Seafood well prepared. Enjoyed eggplant and tomato sauce outstanding .Owner fun and friendly and interesting.

A definite must in Halifax

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant offers delicious North I ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This restaurant offers delicious North Italian cuisine. The menu and wine list are extensive, the service is first rate, and the ambience is elegant. I have dined at this location many, many, times over the last couple of decades and it has met the highest standards consistently. A gem.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with attentive service. I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent food with attentive service.

It's a regular top for me when I'm Halifax.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have been coming to Da Maurizio's for ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We have been coming to Da Maurizio's for many years. It's our favorite restaurant by far in a city with lots of new and creative restaurants. We come for the excellent service and cuisine that never disappoints. I would recommend this restaurant highly to anyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DaMaurizio has always been our go-to pla ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

DaMaurizio has always been our go-to place for a great meal or special occasion. Still is! We always order too much, because the menu is so good. Servers pace your wine with the meal, whereas at other establishments, they want to pour it down your throat. Staff is very knowledgeable and customer conscious. Great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Golf star ! Service was excellent ! Foo ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Golf star ! Service was excellent !

Food fantastic !

This was our best dinning experience while on holidays in Halifax !!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Delicious meal,excellent rapport qualité ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Delicious meal,excellent rapport qualité prix(prix fixe menu)

tables have nice space between each,low noise,very nice atmosphere without being too formal.service perfect,adjusted to our slow eating!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We just felt this was not Fine Dining. I ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We just felt this was not Fine Dining. I ordered a beer and the bottle was brought to the table along with a warm glass. I was expected to pour the beer in the glass and the bottle remained on the table for pickup. The portions were too large for fine dining. Focus on the flavors and experience, not the large portions. The restaurant seemed a little aged. Tables and chairs need some TLC. Fine dining should be an unique experience. A special experience!

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We very much enjoyed our meal , it was o ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We very much enjoyed our meal , it was our anniversary and a special occasion. The service was wonderful , staff professional and friendly. We will definatley go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great but the server was only o ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was great but the server was only okay. He did not come to our table very often.

We were put in a back room at a back table. It was cold an we were almost hidden.

Everyone around us had jackets on during their meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

We were underwhelmed with dinner at da M ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We were underwhelmed with dinner at da Maurizio. The fettichinni fungi had a gravy broth poured all over it, like a stroganoff type of dish. The spaghettini parmesean was clumpy, pasta was stuck together. Waiter did not ask how our meals was but busboy did when clearing plates. We told him the pasta wasn't very good, he simply finished his job and walked away. No one followed up with us. We are hesitant to return and certainly won't recommend to friends.

Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Servers were amazing - made to feel very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Servers were amazing - made to feel very welcome! Food was amazing...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is some of the best Italian food I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This is some of the best Italian food I have ever eaten . we shared a starter , fettuccine with mushroom ragu , delicious ; the roast jumbo shrimp with lobster and avocado salad was so tasty . We all loved the chicken and the beef tenderloin .

The cocktails were very good and the wine list was well chosen to accompany the menu .

The restaurant was very busy but still friendly , attentive service .

We will all return .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was awesome as usual, they had us i ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was awesome as usual, they had us in their system as well so knew table preference .

great service and had a wonderful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have never been disappointed with the ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We have never been disappointed with the quality of food and the service! Tanya has created such a warm inviting feel to the restaurant and the food is top shelf. It is our go to for all our special occasions and we will be back tomorrow night with a couple of great friends for what we know will be a wonderful evening.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our experiences at Da Ma ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We always enjoy our experiences at Da Maurizio's and consider it one of Halifax's gems! Tanya and her team provide the utmost of fabulous food, wonderful service and a warm, inviting atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole staff was friendly and polite. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The whole staff was friendly and polite. I'm glad I had choose this place for our one year wedding anniversary. Would return for another special date. Thanks for the fine dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I eat at 'da Maurizio', a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I eat at 'da Maurizio', as a special night out, whenever we are in Halifax; the quality of both the food and service is outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Maurizios is probably the best fine dini ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Maurizios is probably the best fine dining restaurant in Halifax.

The service is excellent and the ambiance is wonderful.

The cuisine is northern Italian .

The menu is a little abbreviated (yet still three pages) in the summer/ probably to maintain a high level of service yet accomodate a brisk summer tourist trade. There is a fifty dollar 3 course prix fix menu as well.

Reservations are necessary but dress is city casual.

Go for a pleasant evening with friends or a special occasion..

As this is fine dining I suggest a babysitter as opposed to bringing the youngsters along.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic restaurant. The Cappesante all ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. The Cappesante all Pancetta (scallops with pork belly) appetizer was amazing. Same came be said about the mains - the linguine with jumbo shrimp and the double prime rib of pork. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although the food was good and our waitr ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Although the food was good and our waitress was very accommodating, De Maurizos wasn't "special". The cost was high, but we ate well and enjoyed drinks, so that wasn't the issue. With all the hype about this place, and their own website description, expectations were high and sadly, not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

There were six of us & each person had a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

There were six of us & each person had a fabulous meal, a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

There was a good option of menu du jour ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

There was a good option of menu du jour at 50$. However, I felt that appetizers were too large and felt like a meal on their own (is this a tendance in Halifax??). Again the main course was too large, and will, without any doubt , contribute to the obesity epidemic in the Atlantic provinces. The desserts needs more work and individuality. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous dinner. Nice wine selection. Gr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fabulous dinner. Nice wine selection. Great pasta dishes. Lobster ravioli one of the best I have had!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't thank you enough for a lovely ev ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I can't thank you enough for a lovely evening. The food was excellent and the waiter was superb. He was helpful without a shred of arrogance. I really appreciated his service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was the best meal out that we have ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was the best meal out that we have had since we came to Halifax 11 years ago. What a great location for a special evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant has always been known fo ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This restaurant has always been known for both good and service! I understand why.. Simply excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date night with my husband. Hostes ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great date night with my husband. Hostess very welcoming. Carl, the waiter was extremely friendly and accommodating. The chef prepared appetizer & meal that was not on the current menu, however on the menu from our previous visit. Not a fan of the potato preparation, or the vegetables (?) however the veal marsala was perfection. The appetizer, no longer on the menu was shrimp scampi in a to die for white cream sauce. The chef prepared us beautiful large shrimp ( not scampi ) in that wonderful sauce. Not quite as good as when they are scampi, however hats off to the chef for going the distance for us.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not eaten at Da Maurizio in a few ye ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had not eaten at Da Maurizio in a few years... turns out it is better than ever. We had a wonderful meal, both agreeing that all three courses were an absolute delight. Will make dining at Da Maurizio's a must-do on future visits to Halifax.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We always enjoy our experience at DaMaur ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We always enjoy our experience at DaMaurizio. The food never disappoints and the service is always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For an appetizer I had "Gamberi Santa M ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

For an appetizer I had "Gamberi Santa Maria"--Spice roasted jumbo shrimp served with a lobster and avocado salad and drizzled with smoked pepper aioli. $18.00 I thought the avocado & lobster were very good, but we were disappointed with the shrimp, they lacked flavor.

My main course was very good! I had the "Ravioli all’ Aragosta e Tartufo"--Hand made ravioli stuffed with fresh lobster, mascarpone, tomato and herbs, tossed in a truffle, white wine and cream sauce. $29.00 It was full of rich flavor and a large portion.

My husband enjoyed the soup "Zuppa di Pomodoro"--San Marzano tomato soup braised with garlic, onions and basil, garnished with whipped goat cheese crostini and drizzled with herb oil. $12.00

My husband was disappointed with the "Scaloppine di Vitello all’ Astice"

Veal scaloppine sautéed with fresh lobster, served with lemon spinach risotto and finished with a garlic, tomato, brandy and cream sauce. $36.00 -- the veal was a bit tough and not very flavorful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was excellent and the food was f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was excellent and the food was fabulous. It's one of our favorites and we're pleased every time we go. Very romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.