Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About da Maurizio

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: (902) 423-0859

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Business Meals (24)
Cozy (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Authentic (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Waterfront (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1079 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic cuisine with and unbeatable ambiance. Worthy of a very special occasion meal. As romantic a restaurant as there is in Halifax.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was professional, informative and showed exactly the right amount of attentiveness. The food was well prepared and beautifully showcased.

This is a high end restaurant with high end prices and the food and the service deserve it to be. We had a wonderful meal. Thank you.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

It was our wedding anniversary, and once again, da Maurizio did not disappoint. We ordered from the prix fixe menu, which was all good, but the salad with cheese-stuffed, ham-wrapped Medjool dates was a stand-out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Surrey)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We sat outside for lunch on their small bit very nice patio , we had been recommended by the residents who we meet when our plane was very delayed at deer lake !! We come from the uk it was our last full day away so decided to go there for lunch . We had excellent food in a quiet relaxed patio. Generous portions and excellent friendly service

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This was our first time here, by recommendation of our daughter who had dined there only one time before . It was absolutely delicious , and the atmosphere was very nice . The service was great , everyone was so friendly . We'll be back to try a new dish 😊

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Love this restaurant! Service is impeccable and food is fantastic!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Service and quality of food is always exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Not a great experience just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The service was fantastic, the place is adorable, the portions are reasonable but the food was just average for the price. Worth a visit if your looking for a splurge but there are better places to eat in Halifax at this price point.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 5, 2017

What a delightful meal! I went out with my brother and the two of us shared an appetizer and had a meal and a drink - EVERYTHING was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Overall it was a pleasant experience but parking is definitely an issue.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was amazing the lamb and fetuchini dishes were perfect. Quiet place. Service was really good. Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our server was excellent. The wine was very good. The decor was nice but two in our group found that that there was a musty smell... carpet, drapes? My lobster croissant was tasty but a bit mushy, no chunks of lobster. I wouldn't be in a hurry to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 22, 2017

There was nothing off about this meal. From the portions, to the value, to the quality! Yummmmmm

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service was particularly good. We enjoyed the cocktails and the food very much.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Ever since we discovered it some years ago, da Maurizio's has always been our 'special' restaurant. Staff is friendly and thoroughly professional, service has always been excellent, and the food is spectacularly wonderful. It is not inexpensive, but prices do not appear out of line for value, and we love the place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

A bit pricey. Fairly good food but the waiting staff was overworked.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had great food.
Best most tender calamari appetizer I ever had.
They customized a seafood pasta to fit my taste.
IT was wonderfull ( mussel, large shrimp, and large scallop on a rose sauce served over linguine). This is my favourite restaurant in Halifax.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Food and service outstanding. Best tasting salad I've ever eaten. Also veal was excellent the way it was prepared and presented. A little noisy with a large table near but it was acceptable.

Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This dining experience was absolutely wonderful. Atmosphere, service, food were all far over the top. Cannot wait to go again.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have been to da Maurizio a dozens of time over the last ten to fifteen years. This was the last time.... The food is still amazing but the ambiance was absolutely terrible. There was a group on the other side of the restaurant with extremely loud ladies yelling the entire evening and basically ruined the evening of everybody else. I understand they cannot control who book an evening but they should have been told politely to be more respectful for the rest of the restaurant. Our server seemed overwhelmed and the service suffered. We ordered 2 glass of cognac Louis XIII to finish our evening. We had Louis XIII many times in the past. At $200 per ounce there is only one way to serve this cognac. You bring the bottle to the table and measure one ounce per glass in front of the customer. That way, you know you are getting one ounce and you are getting Louis XIII. That's how we always had it served in Paris, New York, Vegas, Hong Kong, Budapest, Zurich... Most of the time, they bring it on a cart specifically for the cognac. I was extremely upset to see the 2 glasses of what I hope was one once each of Louis XIII arriving at the table. A restaurant of that class should know better. It was my wife's birthday so I tried not to show how shocked and upset I was in front of her not to ruined her evening. That was the icing on the cake and completely unacceptable. They just lost a loyal customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Disappointed that it did not live up to its reputation. It was my wife's birthday. When I made the reservation, I asked for a nice table. They didn't even wish my wife a happy birthday or put a candle in her dessert. The waiter didn't inspect my order before putting it on the table. We had to send it back along with my wife's so that hers would be warm and we'd eat at the same time. Don't know what all of the fuss is about. Overpriced because it didn't live up to expectations.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Thank dinner for friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

According to the concierge in our hotel this is the best restaurant in Halifax. As I had booked da Maurizio from Australia based on reviews, this was good to hear. After our experience I heartily agree.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We chose the Prix Fixe dinner menu and it was great! Very nice wine list and our server was excellent, thanks Kelly!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Best restaurant in Halifax! Great service, beautiful atmosphere and exceptional cuisine - everytime

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We were in NS for a 6 day vacation to see the Halifax, Lunenburg and the Annapolis Valley. This was the best dinner of all dinners while in NS! We'd go back there in a heartbeat!!! I had the veal chop and my wife had the rack of lamb, both were fantastic. Wine was equally good as was the service provided by our waiter, "Kelly".

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The restaurant came highly recommended for Italian fare, so we chose it to have a pre-graduation celebration for our son. We were seated at the foot of the stairs, which was not very nice, but the room was fairly quiet.

We ordered each an appetizer and a main course, and I will say the scallops, shrimp and bisque were all delicious, raising our hopes for the entrees. However, we were thoroughly disappointed with the pastas (lobster ravioli and vongole linguini) as well as the pork tenderloin. You could tell that the pasta dishes had been left under a heating lamp for a while as the sauces were covered with a film that made it unappealing. The pork tenderloin was tough, hinting at overcooking or again, having been left on a heating unit or in the oven while waiting to be served.

I think the restaurant was very crowded for the convocation season, but pasta should always be served immediately after being cooked and tossed in sauce. I would think that is an elementary rule for an Italian restaurant, especially of this calibre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I really enjoy this restaurant and definitely recommend it to anyone looking to go to a good restaurant. I encourage many of my business lunches and suppers at this restaurant. It is currently in my top 2.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We dined here for our anniversary,
The meat and fish dishes were of a very high standard.
I am Vegetarian and gave the restaurant prior notice of this.
The Vegetarian options were limited but adequate.
The flavour and imagination of the vegetarian dishes fell short of my expectations. the dishes were rather bland and needed some refinement.
With this restaurant's reputation and prices I expected a little more

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was ok.. service is good.. not worth the price...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food quality is good and fresh. Service was attentive and swift. Price was right even though food costs have gone sky high but this restaurant does not sacrifice quality for cost cutting. Few will do that for their patrons. Always look forward to have another meal there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The staff is always so attentive to our needs. I used the web reservation for the first time it was flawless in operation. Of course the main star is the food always top notch and no surprises.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent! Food and ambiance were perfect. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was well prepared and presented. We enjoyed the taste. The server was courteous and attentive. We had a very nice evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall we were okay, my partner liking it more than me, but that was based on the quality of her meal selection as compared to mine. My starter, calamari was covered with a sauce that was far too generous to allow a taste of the calamari. My main course, rabbit, a favourite of mine was almost absent from the meal. There were two smal pieces of rabbit, no bigger than a woman's small finger. The plate was piled high with flat pasta. After a futile search for any more rabbitI I surrender my effort. The waiter inquired as to the uneaten dish and advised that he would speak to the chef. There was no further discussion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My wife and I were greeted with a friendly smile immediately! The service and food was 5 stars all the way through our dinner! It was recommended my a co-worker and I will also recommend to family and friends. We look forward to the next time we go. Congrats to the chef and staff for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

A friend told me about this restaurant and how we had to go for dinner there - we were not disappointed. My wife and I had a lovely evening - great food, service and ambiance

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Exceptional. Despite being a frequent dinner guest, this was my first time dining there for lunch. They have a fantastic and creative lunch menu though that shouldn't have surprised me! The service was impeccable as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Damaurizio's is the overall best restaurant in Halifax !
Food is excellent, great ambiance,professional serving staff !
No weak areas !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.