About da Maurizio

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: 902-423-0859

Additional:
Bar Dining, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
7 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Halifax
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

special occasion (101)
romantic (85)
fit for foodies (70)
See All
notable wine list (56)
good for groups (44)
neighborhood gem (17)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
815 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried and True

Dined 3 days ago

Always offers a high standard of service and quality. We always choose this restaurant when we want a great experience, traditional Italian cuisine and no surprises. As other restaurants come and go in Halifax DaMaurizio remains our "go to" place for special occassions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

You can count on da Maurizio to provide ...

Dined 5 days ago

You can count on da Maurizio to provide excellent service and fine food. We started with mussels which were in a delicious tomato based broth, good enough to qualify as a soup on its own! The pork tenderloin had a lovely sauce; the meat itself was a little tougher than expected. It was attractively served with nice vegetables, properly cooked. Chocolate mousse to finish was melt in your mouth delicious, the apple crumble not as interesting. All in all, a great evening with attentive service in a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Great!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Awesome as usual! We are from Ontario and whenever we are in Halifax this is our must go to place for dinner. The food and service are always, consistently great! The calamari appetizer is always a staple for us. We have found over the years that you cannot go wrong with any of the menu items. Thanks to the owners and staff as this is not often found in many restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as were our hostess & waiter.

Dined on May 11, 2016

1st visit and wont be our last the restaurant is very relaxing and comfortable. The minute we walked in the hostess made use feel we were the most important thing in her day. Our waiter was also very pleasant went over the menu and made a number of good suggestions, All our meals were delicious. The only suggestion I may have would be pasta, the whole idea for me in going to an Italian restaurant is the pasta. The pasta was very good and we enjoyed what we ordered. But found the selection a bit quiet ( safe ) nothing really jumped out at us. As in I have to try that or that sounds interesting or a bit different. Once more thank for a lovely evening and looking forward to returning to da Maurizio.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, atmosphere and food. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent service, atmosphere and food. They pay attention to all details

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely meal and excellent service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food melted in mouth: soup was hot/freshly made and halibut was best ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've ever dined in. The food was great and a nice relaxing atmosphere. Service by our waiter and others was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best unknown resturants in Halifax

Dined on April 22, 2016

Looked for a nice restaurant for my wives birthday was very happy with our choice the service was great lots of staff, we never felt rushed the place was packed but the servers took it all in stride. The food was served hot and plentiful , the portions were bordering on to big the flavour was really good, really enjoyed the evening. It is expensive but worth it. I highly recommend it.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We choice the restaurant for our 40th an ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We choice the restaurant for our 40th anniversary with a group of friends. Everything was excellent

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just phenomenal.

Dined on April 18, 2016

I have been going to Da Maurizio's for 15 years and it never disappoints. The service, the ambiance, the romance of fine dining is a dawning of a time that really doesn't exist anymore...except here. Thank you Tanya and Andrew for another great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I Felt that the appetizers were excellen ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

I Felt that the appetizers were excellent as well as the pasta, but the veal was overpowered by the sauce. The restaurant was very noisy as were between two large parties it was difficult to hear the other people at our table. Dessert was also very good. The service was a bit lax as they were very busy with the other groups.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

SOLID 5 STAR ALL AROUND

Dined on April 15, 2016

Visiting Halifax we decided to come here for our anniversary. Great food, good sized portions and the service was absolutely amazing. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Damaurizio Does it Again

Dined on April 9, 2016

Dinner was excellent as always. Kudo's to Tanya and her entire team. Kelly was outstanding as our server

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Even after going to da Maurizio with hig ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Even after going to da Maurizio with high expectations, we were blown away by an incredible meal enjoyed by all. The server was courteous, knowledgeable and appropriately attentive in a very non-conspicuous manner

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Gluten-free not a strength

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food was good but not outstanding. I've had far better meals there in the past. The one thing that has changed since my last visit is a diagnosis of celiac disease. So, I must eat gluten-free. Believe me, that's not my choice. It's one imposed on me. Since my diagnosis I've had both horrible and fantastic experiences with gluten-free offerings in restaurants. I would have expected that daMaurizio would have been one of the more fantastic experiences. It was not. It was so-so. After being told that just about anything on the menu could be modified for me, my first choice was nixed and then my second choice. Finally, I settled on a four cheese gluten-free pasta. So-so. The others in my party got bread; I got tasteless crackers. The romaine salad was better than most. The chocolate mousse was just ok. Celiac disease is becoming an epidemic. It is vastly under-diagnosed at the moment but that's evolving. Any restaurant has got to put more than a half-hearted effort into accommodating gluten-free patrons. Or we'll all just stick to eating at home.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

incredible food as usual, attentive serv ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

incredible food as usual, attentive service and great romantic atmosphere. we go every year for our anniversary and always come away very impressed so now we go more often!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Da Maurizio delivers a great experience

Dined on March 22, 2016

Fantastic Dinner downtown Halifax!!! As always, Da Maurizio delivers fine quality dining experience on the waterfront in Halifax. Great job!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Dining Experience

Dined on March 12, 2016

Even after all the years still the best in Halifax

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Quiet surroundings with excellent service and food

Dined on March 4, 2016

Delicious meal for a special family birthday celebration. One of the few restaurants in Halifax where the noise level is low thanks to carpeting, table cloths and upholstered seating which do a good job at dampening the sound.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently Outstanding

Dined on March 4, 2016

There is a reason I continue to return for not only all the important events in my life and that of my family, but to just relax and not feel rushed. The food is outstanding, the service immpecable and the atomposhere relaxing. There is nothing better than going somewhere that makes you feel at home every time. Tanya and her staff are to be commended.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special place for special occasions

Dined on March 4, 2016

My family, here in Nova Scotia and from UK, friends from Ontario, everyone who is special to us, loves Da Maurizio. We never think twice when we have something to celebrate or when someone comes in from out of town, we head straight for Da Maurizio and we are never disappointed. We know it will be excellent. Those of us who live here have always believed it is the best restaurant in the city, probably in the Province! Admittedly, we were a little worried when Maurizio left, but our concerns were soon allayed. The welcome is always warm, the attention to detail (which our family feel is so important) is always spot on. The menu is extensive, something for everyone, the food is amazing and the service second to none (thank you to Carl, this last time). Besides we have not been able to find a better selection of fine wines in any other restaurant in Nova Scotia.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 3, 2016

Tables very close together. Food excellent although on the small portion side. Service top notch. I mentioned in the reservation requests it was my wife's birthday and didn't even receive a small desert with a candle. Would have been a nice gesture.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of five and all chosen a ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

We were a group of five and all chosen apps and entrees were exceptional. We all wanted to return the next day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite place to eat in the whole world

Dined on February 24, 2016

My husband and i started coming to this restaurant 6 years ago and every time we go the food, service and ambiance is outstanding. We have never once been let down in the quality of food or service. We had tried other places in Halifax and been let down enormously time after time, we now know to come here for special occasions. Eat the Calamari! This is indeed a world class restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Space requirements

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food & service was beyond excellent - but the dialogue between my partner and I was limited due to the uncomfortably close proximity of the tables to either side of us. It became difficult to not ease drop on others, and our conversations didn't stray into the romantic because other diners might have overheard. One less table in that section would make all the difference in keeping groups separated enough that they're not bumping into one another whenever they get up or sit down. Again, excellent food, but hard to enjoy the actual beauty of the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Da Maurizio, Great Place for Dining

Dined on February 20, 2016

Enjoyed a great evening dinner at this gem of a restaurant in the heart of Halifax. Atmosphere is cozy and warm. The service was fast and very attentive to our needs and the food was absolutely exquisite with portions that were just right. A delicious end of dinner Cappuccino truly capped this wonderful experience. Hats off to the staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

a bit slow...

Dined on February 19, 2016

We had a table of 5, and it was a busy night, but we waited more than an hour for our appetizers, then things went more smoothly. One order was incorrect, had to be sent back...and then the kitchen ran out of crème brule ... it was overall an enjoyable night out with friends, but to write an accurate review of the service, well, it was adequate.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Birthday Supper

Dined on February 17, 2016

We ordered from the special menu after reading the extensive complete menu and received exactly what we expected, all three courses were excellent and the portions were hearty. Service was excellent even when I sent a bottle of wine back (It may have been fine but it was new to me and unexpectedly dry). We all had a good time and timing was relaxed but we were never left waiting. One of our best experiences in Halifax and worth returning to.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best in Halifax

Dined on February 15, 2016

This is a hidden gem next to the Alexander Keith's Brewery. Hands down the best meal I've had in Halifax! Nice atmosphere, but the real sell is the food. Beyond phenomenal and can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as usual

Dined on February 15, 2016

Da Maurizio never disappoints. Once again the food was delicious, the wine was excellent and our service was superb. I would recommend the Melanzanne for appetizer it's scrumptious. We also tried the Tuna Tartare which was outstanding. Our mains did not disappoint either. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. My favourite spot in Halifax for a fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pure food heaven

Dined on February 15, 2016

The tuna tartare is amazing, rack of lamb and calamari were cooked perfectly!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Valentines Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

I could go on for days about how perfect this restaurant was. I'm so glad I made a reservation early, because it filled up quickly. The staff were extremely welcoming and accommodating, answering any questions and helping us in every way imaginable. The food came out quickly and was absolutely incredible. The entire establishment is gorgeous, romantic and much higher-class than I am used to, but they made us feel right at home. Don't wait, reserve a table now. You won't regret it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special night

Dined on February 14, 2016

I must say i loved my experiance at this restorant . A+ ! Our service was famtastic and friendly to the t. we did not wait at all for our drink to apotizers to our meal . Hot , perfectly cooked with a perfect balance of flavors. Portians were well balance with the price , we will defenatly re-visit this romantic little gettaway resto! Thank you

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time attending your r ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our first time attending your restaurant and we were very impressed. The food was awesome. The only thing I asked about was your price fix menu and at the time of the reservation the girl did not know if you would have that for Feb. 13th. I asked when we arrived and was told the price fix menu was not available on that date. Are you able to tell me when it is available so we can return and try that as well? Thank you.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Valentine Disappointment

Dined on February 12, 2016

Overall the food selected was a major disappointment. The beetroot salad should have been at room temp at a minimum but tasted like it had just been removed from the frig. The prosciutto wrapped dates should have been hot from the oven. The halibut main was over cooked ie: dry.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

An Early Valentine Dinner

Dined on February 12, 2016

We reserved early on a Friday night a couple of days before Valentine's day and were not disappointed. The service was excellent, the atmosphere conducive to table conversation for the most part and the food was excellent except for our dessert, the flourless chocolate cake, which was not up to the standard of the rest of the meal. We have had their excellent prix-fix menu before but opted this time to order off the menu. I had the calamari followed by an excellent rack of lamb and my partner enjoyed the seared scallops and a main of veal scallopini. We had an very good Prosecco with the appetizers and a very nice Ripasso with the mains.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great experience except for...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Went here for my birthday dinner and was blown away by the food. Delicious all around. However, the server did not make conversation with us and rarely checked in on us. I was extremely excited for the night and the food exceeded my expectations, I just wish the service was a little more personable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Melanzane

Dined on January 30, 2016

I am troubled when I arrive as I know that I have to start with the gorgeous melanzane antipasti. Even though I love most of the antipasti list, I can't go without my fix. Many folks shy away from eggplant, but this is THE best way to fall in love with my favourite vegetable. Da M's has four new fans of this dish as I reluctantly shared my order around the table. Everyone agreed ... it is a showstopper! We had a wonderful evening for our celebration. Thank you once again for being such a warm and wonderful place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best meal in months!

Dined on January 23, 2016

we had a fantastic meal last saturady evening, scollops with pumpkin puree, escargot, perfectly done steak and shank of lamb, ......and then the desserts!! Our server, Kelly, personable and attentive, provided excellent service throughout the evening. Can't really think of anything negative, slightly noisy, but it was a full house, so that's to be expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as usual

Dined on January 16, 2016

Every time we go to HFX we just have to go here. As usual it was an experience worth every penny. Impecable service from a great staff and food to die for. Already looking forward to our next trip there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.