Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About da Maurizio

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: (902) 423-0859

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (36)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Business Meals (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Authentic (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Historic (12)
Waterfront (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Private Room (8)
Casual (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1049 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was ok.. service is good.. not worth the price...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 6 days ago

The food quality is good and fresh. Service was attentive and swift. Price was right even though food costs have gone sky high but this restaurant does not sacrifice quality for cost cutting. Few will do that for their patrons. Always look forward to have another meal there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The staff is always so attentive to our needs. I used the web reservation for the first time it was flawless in operation. Of course the main star is the food always top notch and no surprises.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent! Food and ambiance were perfect. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was well prepared and presented. We enjoyed the taste. The server was courteous and attentive. We had a very nice evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall we were okay, my partner liking it more than me, but that was based on the quality of her meal selection as compared to mine. My starter, calamari was covered with a sauce that was far too generous to allow a taste of the calamari. My main course, rabbit, a favourite of mine was almost absent from the meal. There were two smal pieces of rabbit, no bigger than a woman's small finger. The plate was piled high with flat pasta. After a futile search for any more rabbitI I surrender my effort. The waiter inquired as to the uneaten dish and advised that he would speak to the chef. There was no further discussion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My wife and I were greeted with a friendly smile immediately! The service and food was 5 stars all the way through our dinner! It was recommended my a co-worker and I will also recommend to family and friends. We look forward to the next time we go. Congrats to the chef and staff for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

A friend told me about this restaurant and how we had to go for dinner there - we were not disappointed. My wife and I had a lovely evening - great food, service and ambiance

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Exceptional. Despite being a frequent dinner guest, this was my first time dining there for lunch. They have a fantastic and creative lunch menu though that shouldn't have surprised me! The service was impeccable as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Damaurizio's is the overall best restaurant in Halifax !
Food is excellent, great ambiance,professional serving staff !
No weak areas !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Greeted by a lovely friendly hostess. Food was very good. Service was nice. They even found my earring in the parking lot and tracked me down. So grateful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Da Maurizio is an excellent restaurant. Always great food, service and ambiance. We started our meal with two glasses of Champagne which were not at all cold and completely flat with no effervecence. I pointed out this to our waiter who quickly changed them out. Unusual for this caliber of restaurant, but rest of night was amazing with great warm raddichio salad, foie gras, beef tenderloin and veal scallopini. Nice Super Tuscan by the glass. We will return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Each time I go, I have excellent food and experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Every time we visit Halifax, we try to have dinner here. The service is very professional. The staff know the menu and the wine list so they can make excellent recommendations for food and wine pairings. The setting is elegant with white linen table cloths and napkins, dark wood panelling, reasonable space between the tables, etc. As always, we really enjoyed our meal of fois gras paired with Jost ice wine and a Livorno style fish stew paired with a Chablis. We shared a rich torte for dessert. We'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Will be back!!!!!!
Great food! Great everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This restaurant continues to impress on every visit. For the last 10 years or so, my wife and I have been going to da Maurizio 10-12 times a year and we have yet to not have an outstanding experience. Tanya, the co-owner and front of the house Manager/Maitre D is always so welcoming and appreciative of your business. When we book online for reservations, without saying anything, they try and seat us a our favourite table. The wait staff , most of whom been there for many years, Kelly, Carl, Carlo and Graham are always so professional and efficient. On top of the wait service are a group of assistants that seem virtually invisible but clear dishes, refill water and bread without you even knowing. Finally, the food is incredible, the kitchen staff consistently turn out masterpieces of culinary excellence. This is without a doubt the premier dining room in Halifax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Still one of the Best Itialian Restaurants in Halifax and is a pleasure to enjoy

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The entire experience delightful as always! The hostess is exceptional.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Excellent as always. Our favourite Halifax restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Da Maurizio is one of the finest restaurants in Halifax. We have gone many times for dinner but this was our first for lunch as they have only recently started offering lunches.
I have never been disappointed and have recommended it to many friends. I was very pleased with the lunch menu and portions. We're looking forward to returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 10, 2017

always enjoyable, has stood the test of time. Great Italian food prepared as you like it. Very accommodating for special requests.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Historic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Once again a delicious lunch with family . Great service and food .
We are so glad that Da Maurizio is now open for lunch .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We dined at da Maurizio on our 50th wedding anniversary on February 24 and were not disappointed. We used to eat at this restaurant frequently during the 1990's when we were on business trips from Moncton to Halifax and were never disappointed in the service or cuisine. The meals were perfectly prepared and the service was flawless. My wife and I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Halifax.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Love everything about this restaurant. Had the tenderloin steak twice in the past couple of weeks. Perfectly cooked and tender to the point I believe you could cut it with a butter knife.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This was our first Lunch at Da Maurizio .
The food and service were very good and the wine list is excellent .
The lunch menu offers a variety of choices and we enjoyed the lobster Croissant with crispy pancetta , avacado and lobster with a small mixed bean salad . Delicious . We alsomchose the Gnocchi with wild mushroom sauce , the best Gnocchi we've ever eaten , light cloudy pillows and the sauce is rich and full of mushrooms . Our guest diner enjoyed the burger and fries .

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The evening was fantastic it was my wives birthday and Kelly was amazing as always. We will be back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our evening at Da Maurizio's was a very pleasant respite from the snow shoveling of the week before. We had a lovely table and excellent service on what was a very busy post Valentine's weekend. We both started with the grilled scallops which were excellent, and then follow with the Veal Scallopini with lobster and a rose sauce. It was divine ! We would both recommend the place and the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First time visit after hearing that da Maurizio was the class act in the city. The service and food were very good but not outstanding. Comparable to many lower tier restaurants in the city. Expected more for the price and hype.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was my birthday. We had an amazing meal, staff were very friendly. Would go again in a minute.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My only criticism would be that it can be a little difficult to talk, where the tables are fairly close together. Otherwise, everything was excellent! Amazing food, good service, and great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 17, 2017

As always, we greatly enjoyed our delicious dinners and the excellent service we have come to expect from da Maurizio. My wife says her Radicchio Salad was "superb." And the Salmon, plus Risotto was equally tasty. My Butternut Squash soup, Haddock, and Crostata alla Frutta from the "Dine Around" menu was one of the tastiest dinners I've experienced. Mmmm...!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very enjoyable evening meal...friendly knowledgable wait staff. Thanks

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 15, 2017

WE made a reservation two weeks in advance for our special occasion and we were disappointed in being placed at a table in the downstairs where it was chilly and we felt removed from the ambiance to share a special occasion. In making a reservation in advance we should not have been seated where we were. This area should be utilized for walk-in.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Being here for the first time for Valentine date. Food quality is high and service is a little slow but it's being busy so totally fine. Worth second time trying!

Tags: Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Was our first time eating there. Food was excellent and our server Graham Little was excellent and made it an enjoyable experience. We'll be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have eaten at this restaurant many times over the past ten years, always for special occasions such as birthdays or Valentines Day. It has never disappointed. Our most recent experience was Valentine's Day 2017 and we got just what we expected, an excellent meal, provided with very good service, and a pleasant ambiance where we could still carry on a conversation and relax over our meal even though the restaurant was busy with other guests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It's never on the menu but it's always served - a huge portion of customer service that leaves you wanting more. Add to that a fantastic ambience, to die for menu and you have my favourite things all wrapped up in one restaurant. Bravo

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food and service, as always. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Modern Decor, Historic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As usual DaMa was amazing ! Love love love the food there, and service is always excellent. Kudos to the chef, and our server Kelly, on a very busy night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.