About da Maurizio

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: (902) 423-0859

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Romantic (54)
Good for a Date (52)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Cozy (31)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Business Meals (23)
Authentic (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Comfort Food (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Historic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Waterfront (9)
Private Room (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Family Style (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fireplace (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our evening at Da Maurizio's was a very ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 4 days ago

Our evening at Da Maurizio's was a very pleasant respite from the snow shoveling of the week before. We had a lovely table and excellent service on what was a very busy post Valentine's weekend. We both started with the grilled scallops which were excellent, and then follow with the Veal Scallopini with lobster and a rose sauce. It was divine ! We would both recommend the place and the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visit after hearing that da M ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 4 days ago

First time visit after hearing that da Maurizio was the class act in the city. The service and food were very good but not outstanding. Comparable to many lower tier restaurants in the city. Expected more for the price and hype.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

It was my birthday. We had an amazing m ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 4 days ago

It was my birthday. We had an amazing meal, staff were very friendly. Would go again in a minute.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only criticism would be that it can b ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 5 days ago

My only criticism would be that it can be a little difficult to talk, where the tables are fairly close together. Otherwise, everything was excellent! Amazing food, good service, and great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very enjoyable evening meal...friendly k ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 6 days ago

Very enjoyable evening meal...friendly knowledgable wait staff. Thanks

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

WE made a reservation two weeks in advan ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 15, 2017

WE made a reservation two weeks in advance for our special occasion and we were disappointed in being placed at a table in the downstairs where it was chilly and we felt removed from the ambiance to share a special occasion. In making a reservation in advance we should not have been seated where we were. This area should be utilized for walk-in.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Being here for the first time for Valent ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Being here for the first time for Valentine date. Food quality is high and service is a little slow but it's being busy so totally fine. Worth second time trying!

Tags: Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was our first time eating there. Food wa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Was our first time eating there. Food was excellent and our server Graham Little was excellent and made it an enjoyable experience. We'll be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have eaten at this restaurant many ti ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have eaten at this restaurant many times over the past ten years, always for special occasions such as birthdays or Valentines Day. It has never disappointed. Our most recent experience was Valentine's Day 2017 and we got just what we expected, an excellent meal, provided with very good service, and a pleasant ambiance where we could still carry on a conversation and relax over our meal even though the restaurant was busy with other guests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and service, as always. Can ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food and service, as always. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Modern Decor, Historic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual DaMa was amazing ! Love love lo ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As usual DaMa was amazing ! Love love love the food there, and service is always excellent. Kudos to the chef, and our server Kelly, on a very busy night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food and ambiance! Local favor ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good food and ambiance! Local favorite....

Don't look further if authentic Italian is what you're looking for!

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience is phenomenal! Right from ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The experience is phenomenal! Right from the Maitre D, the wait staff, and especially the Chef and all the kitchen staff, you couldn't ask for a better restaurant. They know how to do it right!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

da Maurizio really is my favorite restau ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 10, 2017

da Maurizio really is my favorite restaurant in HRM, the food, the staff and the ambiance is just incredible. My only complaint would be that my husband reserved a romantic quiet spot for a special occasion and we were seated next to a family with a very young (as in months old) baby who was a little fussy. I do understand that new parents like to get out and that the staff likely had no idea there was a baby in their party when the reservation was made, but it did affect our experience for the evening.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First off it was really hard to find for ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 4, 2017

First off it was really hard to find for someone who's never been. The inside looked lovely. The arched windows and exposed wood was beautiful. Our menus were very warn looking and bent. Our waitress was very nice and friendly. Really the customer service was the redeeming quilty here because even though our food was ready quickly it was lukewarm at best. I ordered the ravioli and my boyfriend had the spaghetti and although mine had good favour it was cold within minutes and he barely touched his... For the price the food should of been hot. Not worth it for us.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

It was wonderful, the whole dining exper ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was wonderful, the whole dining experience! However, getting in was a problem, the signage was poor, the door below the main da Maurizio sign was not open and there was no other indication that we should go into the shopping centre to find it.

Parking was good too, across the street.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Every time I visit Da Maurizio I'm remin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Every time I visit Da Maurizio I'm reminded of how outstanding the food and service really is. Nothing else compares to this restaurant in Halifax, it's the most delicious Italian food in the city. The mushroom gnocchi is amazing, I've never had anything quite like it. Tanya is also an amazing host/owner. She always makes me feel like family every time I visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favourite restaurants ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Halifax- and that says a lot since Halifax has so much to offer! The menu is fabulous and the food is too! Excellent service and the atmosphere is great.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, they never disappoin ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was excellent, they never disappoint. Service was very good. Calamari is the best in Halifax. First time trying the chocolate and hazelnut mousse and it was very tasty and remarkably light.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic meal. Tenderloin steak cooked ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Fantastic meal. Tenderloin steak cooked perfectly and very tender.

Nice to have a quiet place to talk and we're not rushed at all.

Continues to be my favourite Halifax restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a special occasion sort of dat ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great for a special occasion sort of date! Romantic atmosphere, wonderful staff with perfect timing and very knowledgeable - our server provided us with an excellent wine pairing for our meal, and he was very attentive throughout our evening in making sure our glasses were never low. Would absolutely go back as there are several other menu items I would like to try!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I did request a birthday candle for dess ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I did request a birthday candle for dessert that would be ordered when I filled out "Requests" online. This request wasn't fulfilled. I would not have had the dessert if I didn't know the request would not be filled. It was for my husband's birthday; he didn't want dessert, and neither did I, but I wanted this little touch. I didn't say anything, but I was terribly disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the best Gnocchi we have ever eat ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Simply the best Gnocchi we have ever eaten .

This was a special Birthday celebration with family and we requested the Gnocchi with 4 cheese sauce as appetizers for the table . Simply delicious .

All our meals were beautifully plated , generous portions with a variety of vegetables with the chicken , beef tenderloin , braised short ribs and veal chop .

The cocktails and wine were perfect for our celebration .

Our thanks to the chef and staff for a great evening .

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been eating at this restaurant for ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I've been eating at this restaurant for a number of years now and can honestly say everytime has been a wonderful experience. They have a very hard working staff and management team there and always go out of there way to ensure your dinning experience is the best possible. Although at first look you make think this is an upscale Itialin restaurant (which it is) but for me I tell everyone it's the best Steakhouse in Atlantic Csnada.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, , Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been 18 years since my last visit a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

It's been 18 years since my last visit and all I can say if your are going to Halifax this establishment is a must. The food, service is outstanding!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great to go to an excellent restaurant w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great to go to an excellent restaurant where you eat so well but also can carry on a conversation with your table mate! Really appreciate the quiet table and am so please Da Maurizio's is now open for lunch. Will recommend it highly, especially when someone is looking for something a little special.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Years ago this restaurant was open for l ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Years ago this restaurant was open for lunch. Welcome back . Retired people like a great lunch with bottle of wine, women like upscale food and environment at lunch ( a special place to celebrate everything from birthdays to its Thursday), grandparents like a venue to introduce upscale dining to grandchildren. ( They have to pass the Nana test before they can come so don't panic) . Great place for a business lunch as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food. Have been there seve ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Always great food. Have been there several times and have never had a bad item off of the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Private Room, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Been several times have never had a less ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Been several times have never had a less than excellent meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

da Maurizio is always amazingly deliciou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

da Maurizio is always amazingly delicious. The restaurant has just opened for lunch and it was every bit as good as dinner. A lovely menu with lighter fare. Lots of variety, excellent service and beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we came for an italian meal and we were ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 16, 2017

we came for an italian meal and we were not disappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant with amazing food and ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Amazing restaurant with amazing food and service. We visit this restaurant mostly for our anniversary but we always take out of town friends there

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks was amazing, service not ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food and drinks was amazing, service not so much. It took 45 minutes to have the server come take our drink orders, then another 25 minutes to get the drinks themselves. Server also never seemed interested in serving us... didn't talk much and seemed annoyed when we decided to split a bunch of appetizers. Additionally, we were seated 30 minutes before a table of 6 yet they seemed to have everything come to them first and the waitress seemed to be with them every time we looked for her.

Would come back to this restaurant...but maybe would submit my drink and food order ahead of time

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

I have been a regular for years and have ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have been a regular for years and have never been disappointed. The lunch menu is fabulous and a great way to impress a client.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We discovered this gem several years ago ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We discovered this gem several years ago, and continue coming back because of the welcoming atmosphere, amazing food, and wonderful staff. We live almost two hours away so we don't get there as often as we like, but when we do we are never disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my 50th birthday with fam ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We celebrated my 50th birthday with family (table for 6). We all found the food outstanding - it was delicious and we felt like the serving sizes were perfect for the price point. The service was excellent. We all loved that when we asked the waiter for advice on food selections he responded with knowledge and with confidence...it was so helpful! He seemed to know exactly what each of us would enjoy. We chose DaMaurizio's because we wanted a dining experience...we wanted to enjoy outstanding food and service but in a setting where we could talk and hear each other. We also didn't want to feel rushed. DaMaurizio gave us all of that. The whole experience was perfect :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, , Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing time during our dinner ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had an amazing time during our dinner! The food was amazing as always and the service was outstanding. Absolutely love the attention paid to details and how friendly the staff is. Truly wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

all was excellent as usual. we even were ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

all was excellent as usual. we even were served favourite items that had been on previous menus but not on the current menu. appreciated that. .... minor comment, cous cous didnt really go with the duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent value for money. Delicious foo ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent value for money. Delicious food. Outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, , Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Da Maurizio's is our favorite special oc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Da Maurizio's is our favorite special occasion restaurant. Very special for us. Staff is great. Love Tanya and that she remembers us each time. Really makes the date special for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.