About da Maurizio

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: 902-423-0859

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken With Jumbo Shrimp In Lemon And White Wine Sauce
Chicken With Jumbo Shrimp In Lemon And White Wine Sauce

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
12 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Best Overall
Halifax
Best Food
Halifax
Best Service
Halifax
Best Ambiance
Halifax
Best Value
Halifax
Most Booked
Halifax
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

Special Occasion (85)
Romantic (68)
Fit for Foodies (63)
See All
Notable Wine List (41)
Good for Groups (31)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
867 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is some of the best Italian food I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is some of the best Italian food I have ever eaten . we shared a starter , fettuccine with mushroom ragu , delicious ; the roast jumbo shrimp with lobster and avocado salad was so tasty . We all loved the chicken and the beef tenderloin .

The cocktails were very good and the wine list was well chosen to accompany the menu .

The restaurant was very busy but still friendly , attentive service .

We will all return .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was awesome as usual, they had us i ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was awesome as usual, they had us in their system as well so knew table preference .

great service and had a wonderful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have never been disappointed with the ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have never been disappointed with the quality of food and the service! Tanya has created such a warm inviting feel to the restaurant and the food is top shelf. It is our go to for all our special occasions and we will be back tomorrow night with a couple of great friends for what we know will be a wonderful evening.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our experiences at Da Ma ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined 5 days ago

We always enjoy our experiences at Da Maurizio's and consider it one of Halifax's gems! Tanya and her team provide the utmost of fabulous food, wonderful service and a warm, inviting atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole staff was friendly and polite. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined 6 days ago

The whole staff was friendly and polite. I'm glad I had choose this place for our one year wedding anniversary. Would return for another special date. Thanks for the fine dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I eat at 'da Maurizio', a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I eat at 'da Maurizio', as a special night out, whenever we are in Halifax; the quality of both the food and service is outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Maurizios is probably the best fine dini ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Maurizios is probably the best fine dining restaurant in Halifax.

The service is excellent and the ambiance is wonderful.

The cuisine is northern Italian .

The menu is a little abbreviated (yet still three pages) in the summer/ probably to maintain a high level of service yet accomodate a brisk summer tourist trade. There is a fifty dollar 3 course prix fix menu as well.

Reservations are necessary but dress is city casual.

Go for a pleasant evening with friends or a special occasion..

As this is fine dining I suggest a babysitter as opposed to bringing the youngsters along.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic restaurant. The Cappesante all ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. The Cappesante all Pancetta (scallops with pork belly) appetizer was amazing. Same came be said about the mains - the linguine with jumbo shrimp and the double prime rib of pork. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although the food was good and our waitr ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Although the food was good and our waitress was very accommodating, De Maurizos wasn't "special". The cost was high, but we ate well and enjoyed drinks, so that wasn't the issue. With all the hype about this place, and their own website description, expectations were high and sadly, not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

There were six of us & each person had a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

There were six of us & each person had a fabulous meal, a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

There was a good option of menu du jour ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

There was a good option of menu du jour at 50$. However, I felt that appetizers were too large and felt like a meal on their own (is this a tendance in Halifax??). Again the main course was too large, and will, without any doubt , contribute to the obesity epidemic in the Atlantic provinces. The desserts needs more work and individuality. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous dinner. Nice wine selection. Gr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fabulous dinner. Nice wine selection. Great pasta dishes. Lobster ravioli one of the best I have had!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't thank you enough for a lovely ev ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I can't thank you enough for a lovely evening. The food was excellent and the waiter was superb. He was helpful without a shred of arrogance. I really appreciated his service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was the best meal out that we have ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was the best meal out that we have had since we came to Halifax 11 years ago. What a great location for a special evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant has always been known fo ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This restaurant has always been known for both good and service! I understand why.. Simply excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date night with my husband. Hostes ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great date night with my husband. Hostess very welcoming. Carl, the waiter was extremely friendly and accommodating. The chef prepared appetizer & meal that was not on the current menu, however on the menu from our previous visit. Not a fan of the potato preparation, or the vegetables (?) however the veal marsala was perfection. The appetizer, no longer on the menu was shrimp scampi in a to die for white cream sauce. The chef prepared us beautiful large shrimp ( not scampi ) in that wonderful sauce. Not quite as good as when they are scampi, however hats off to the chef for going the distance for us.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not eaten at Da Maurizio in a few ye ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had not eaten at Da Maurizio in a few years... turns out it is better than ever. We had a wonderful meal, both agreeing that all three courses were an absolute delight. Will make dining at Da Maurizio's a must-do on future visits to Halifax.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We always enjoy our experience at DaMaur ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We always enjoy our experience at DaMaurizio. The food never disappoints and the service is always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For an appetizer I had "Gamberi Santa M ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

For an appetizer I had "Gamberi Santa Maria"--Spice roasted jumbo shrimp served with a lobster and avocado salad and drizzled with smoked pepper aioli. $18.00 I thought the avocado & lobster were very good, but we were disappointed with the shrimp, they lacked flavor.

My main course was very good! I had the "Ravioli all’ Aragosta e Tartufo"--Hand made ravioli stuffed with fresh lobster, mascarpone, tomato and herbs, tossed in a truffle, white wine and cream sauce. $29.00 It was full of rich flavor and a large portion.

My husband enjoyed the soup "Zuppa di Pomodoro"--San Marzano tomato soup braised with garlic, onions and basil, garnished with whipped goat cheese crostini and drizzled with herb oil. $12.00

My husband was disappointed with the "Scaloppine di Vitello all’ Astice"

Veal scaloppine sautéed with fresh lobster, served with lemon spinach risotto and finished with a garlic, tomato, brandy and cream sauce. $36.00 -- the veal was a bit tough and not very flavorful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was excellent and the food was f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was excellent and the food was fabulous. It's one of our favorites and we're pleased every time we go. Very romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The time lapse between the dinner being ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The time lapse between the dinner being over, ordering the dessert and then finally receiving the dessert was far too long with children. We waited 20-25 minutes from the time we ordered our dessert and then receive it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and chose da Maurizio's because of the food and ambiance. Both were as wonderful as we remembered. We selected from the prix fixe menu because it appealed to our tastes and were not disappointed. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. An awesome way to celebrate a very special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the whole experience! All si ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We enjoyed the whole experience! All six people were quite impressed with the meal, service and the ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu, the service, the food and drin ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The menu, the service, the food and drink, and the service were wonderful. However, the noise level was such that conversation was actually somewhat difficult. As I age, noise levels are almost as important as the menu and the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Where did my points go? Open table is in ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Where did my points go? Open table is in my bad books!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding. This ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service were outstanding.

This restaurant has never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bravo- the food was very fresh and prepa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Bravo- the food was very fresh and prepared with outstanding sauces that tempted you to "lick the plate".

The pasta (ravioli with lobster) was very delicious and the rack of lamb was cooked perfectly medium and was so tender.

We will back for sure. The service was outstanding !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

While its entrance isn't obvious (go in ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

While its entrance isn't obvious (go in off entryway to Marriott hotel_ it's well worth making the effort to this fine Italian restaurant. Elegantly apoointed and comfortable seating, Very diverse menu and $50 three course dinner options. Extensive wine list including some Nova Scotia offerings. Able and knowledgeable staff some of whom have been there for over a dozen years (a good sign).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply outstanding. Our favourite dining ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Simply outstanding. Our favourite dining spot in Halifax. It has everything a fine dining restaurant should have - outstanding staff, excellent menu and wine list and a terrace kitchen. Well done everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a highly rated restaurant the food w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

For a highly rated restaurant the food was just average though the desserts were exceptional. I would hope there is better value and better food to be found elsewhere in Halifax. It was a bit disappointing. My wife and I live 5 months a year in Sicily so we're use to better Italian food then what we had. The duck confit was over cooked and a bit dry and the skin was not crunchy perhaps too much time in the warming tray. The pasta primavera had an over abundance of tomatoe sauce and the vegetables were not grilled as advertised. The pasta itself was quite excellent. The desserts were as stated previously were excellent. We had the lemon Tort and the tiramisu. The wine menu was excellent with some exceptional choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

While the service food and beverages are ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

While the service food and beverages are first rate, the music works at the Hard Rock Cafe does not work here. At least our server turned down the volume. Also, the lighting to the wine cellar needs to be directed to be only there, not glaring in eyes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Food was outstanding and service was ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The Food was outstanding and service was very good. Overall a great Italian experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Parking was very confusing and very inco ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Parking was very confusing and very inconvenient. The location of the restaurant was very hard to find given that are from out of town and don't know the area. We ended up walking back and forth trying to find the entrance.

Server was overly polite - and, yes, there IS such a thing as being overly polite.

Main course was overly priced for the portions received. The appetizer, however, was a very good value (I had the meatballs in tomato sauce).

I, most likely, would not visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We discovered da Maurizio 's a few years ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We discovered da Maurizio 's a few years ago but being from Ontario we can only go when we're in Halifax. Every time we we're in town we come here. Fantastic mussels, meatballs, seafood dishes like panko crusted haddock with lobster chunk. Wow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Halifax to celebrate Ca ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were visiting Halifax to celebrate Canada Day and since da Maurizio was close to our hotel we decided to have supper there.

From the moment that we walked in to the time we left the staff treated us like dignitaries.

The food was pricey but was worth every penny spent.

I would definitely recommend da Maurizio to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was disappointed Saturday night as the ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I was disappointed Saturday night as there was a wedding and we were seated just outside the room. It was very noisy and I had a special friend visiting from Ottawa. I told him it was a nice quiet place and they did not rush you through your servings. Everything was rushed Saturday, my meal came before I was finished my mussels

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at Da Maurizio ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Da Maurizio: the food was amazing, the service outstanding, and we sat on the lovely small patio outdoors on a warm summer night, all made for a memorable meal. A small note: finding the entrance to this restaurant is quite a challenge, many people asked diners sitting on the patio on how to get inside (including us), so: you have to enter the building through glass doors and the entrance to Da Maurizio is down the hallway (passed casual Indian and Chinese take-out places) on the left.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thew service and the food were great. An ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Thew service and the food were great. Another wonderful experience at one of our favourite places to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I will be back. It was wonderful! Great ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I will be back. It was wonderful! Great culinary experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service Great food Wonderful wine ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great service

Great food

Wonderful wine list

We were a party of five.

Everyone raved about their meals...fish/lamb/veal/gnocchi

All were spectacular

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.