About da Maurizio

1496 Lower Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 1R7
View Larger Map

Da Maurizio offers a premiere dining experience on Halifax's historical waterfront. For over twenty years this fine dining Italian restaurant has been considered the city's favorite by locals and travelers alike. It is no wonder Da Maurizio has earned National and International awards; one visit and you will understand why. The exquisite sauces and handmade pastas, the mouth-watering seafood and grilled-to-perfection meats, the exceptional service and beautiful decor, the comprehensive wine list and romantic setting all combine to make Da Maurizio and unforgettable experience. Whether you are seeking a romantic dinner for two, a celebratory family gathering, a lighthearted evening with good friends on the patio or a business discussion over dinner, Da Maurizio is the perfect destination.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Salter

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-0859

Website:
http://www.damaurizio.ca/

Parking Details:
There is a public parking lot directly across the street offering a pay and display service for over 300 vehicles. After 6pm parking is free along the street.

Executive Chef:
Andrew King

Private Party Facilities:
Da Maurizio offers two private rooms. The first and largest room hosts up to 45 people and is completely closed off from the remainder of the restaurant by sliding frosted glass doors. This room has access to our outdoor patio for summer functions and has its own private washrooms. The second private room is secluded and hosts up to 25 people. It is a smaller and cozy room that is separated from the other diners by our bar area and a small flight of steps. Both rooms are perfect for business meetings, weddings, family celebrations and continuing education programs. Also, both rooms are suitable should you require audio/visual equipment for your event. Custom menus are available for both rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Tanya King: 902-423-0859

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

da Maurizio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Romantic (45)
See All
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Business Meals (30)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Cozy (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Authentic (19)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Private Room (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Historic (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Waterfront (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and drinks was amazing, service not ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and drinks was amazing, service not so much. It took 45 minutes to have the server come take our drink orders, then another 25 minutes to get the drinks themselves. Server also never seemed interested in serving us... didn't talk much and seemed annoyed when we decided to split a bunch of appetizers. Additionally, we were seated 30 minutes before a table of 6 yet they seemed to have everything come to them first and the waitress seemed to be with them every time we looked for her.

Would come back to this restaurant...but maybe would submit my drink and food order ahead of time

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

I have been a regular for years and have ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been a regular for years and have never been disappointed. The lunch menu is fabulous and a great way to impress a client.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We discovered this gem several years ago ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 6 days ago

We discovered this gem several years ago, and continue coming back because of the welcoming atmosphere, amazing food, and wonderful staff. We live almost two hours away so we don't get there as often as we like, but when we do we are never disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my 50th birthday with fam ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We celebrated my 50th birthday with family (table for 6). We all found the food outstanding - it was delicious and we felt like the serving sizes were perfect for the price point. The service was excellent. We all loved that when we asked the waiter for advice on food selections he responded with knowledge and with confidence...it was so helpful! He seemed to know exactly what each of us would enjoy. We chose DaMaurizio's because we wanted a dining experience...we wanted to enjoy outstanding food and service but in a setting where we could talk and hear each other. We also didn't want to feel rushed. DaMaurizio gave us all of that. The whole experience was perfect :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, , Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing time during our dinner ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had an amazing time during our dinner! The food was amazing as always and the service was outstanding. Absolutely love the attention paid to details and how friendly the staff is. Truly wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

all was excellent as usual. we even were ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

all was excellent as usual. we even were served favourite items that had been on previous menus but not on the current menu. appreciated that. .... minor comment, cous cous didnt really go with the duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent value for money. Delicious foo ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent value for money. Delicious food. Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Da Maurizio's is our favorite special oc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Da Maurizio's is our favorite special occasion restaurant. Very special for us. Staff is great. Love Tanya and that she remembers us each time. Really makes the date special for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we had a fantastic experience they ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

While we had a fantastic experience they did not deliver on my request for a special delivery for my parents 50th anniversary party, even though it was confirmed the day before that they would.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We live in Italy, and have the good fort ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We live in Italy, and have the good fortune to dine in some great Italian restaurants. We have both eaten in DaMaurizo's on different occasions over the past 10 years, and our return this past week lived up to our memories. Local ingredients, amazing service, creative entrees and antipasta....what a treat. Based on our experience, anything with lobster, scallops or haddock will not disappoint. The wine list is abbreviated but covers the range of what you would enjoy. We both felt it was one of the best meals we have had in some time......well done Andrew, can't wait for an excuse to be back in Halifax so we can marvel in the flavours again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in Halifax f ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Halifax for special occasions: excellent food, excellent service, welcoming hostess who sincerely wants one to have a good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, friendly & knowledgabl ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great atmosphere, friendly & knowledgable staff. The food was excellent! Wood recommended it to family & friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, , Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

DaMaurizo has been our go to destinatio ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 23, 2016

DaMaurizo has been our go to destination for special occasions for many years. This week we celebrated my husband's birthday. They were very accommodating , providing a special holiday dessert. The food and service were as always impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Da Maurizio never disappoints! This was ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Da Maurizio never disappoints! This was another wonderful meal with fabulous wine and service. I would highly recommend to anyone whether it's a romantic dinner for two or a celebration with a group.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Da Maurizio is our close second fave res ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Da Maurizio is our close second fave restaurant in Halifax. It never disappoints. Most excellent venue for a romantic dinner. Congrats to mr and mrs King!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was out of this world. Hands do ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was out of this world. Hands down the best food I have ever eaten. The server was so confident and good at his job he made getting coffee sound amazing like something that needed to be done. Overall amazing experience and will be back again soon

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, , People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience at da Maurizio! ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Another great experience at da Maurizio! Our go to place for special occasions. Always fantastic food and great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff, excellent service, great ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Friendly staff, excellent service, great wine list, and extraordinarily tasty food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Authentic, Fun, , Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we really enjoyed our meal and t ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Overall we really enjoyed our meal and the service was outstanding. This was our first trip but won't be our last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful place for a romantic meal. T ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 9, 2016

A wonderful place for a romantic meal. The food was a delight to the palette, presentation was excellent, and the prix fixe menu was amazing and great value. I would highly recommend da Maurizio.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, , Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This restaurant always serves great food ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This restaurant always serves great food and they are very flexible with picky eaters. Service is great and good atmosphere. Love going here!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Tanya and her host of professional staff ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Tanya and her host of professional staff, provide an unsurpassed evening of great food, wine and ambience . Maurizio has been my choice of dining, for far too many years to count. Haven't had a disappointing experience yet.

Looking forward to the new renovations and grand opening for lunch.

Always a fan.

Pierre Legere

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience on this evening was wonde ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Our experience on this evening was wonderful. The food was fantastic and the service exceptional. We found the serving size to be just about perfect and the wine list exquisite. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this restaurant! Probably my favou ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Love this restaurant! Probably my favourite in Halifax. I have been coming here for years, and the food is always great and the service attentive. Hope to enjoy many times more in the coming years.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always one of the very best dining exper ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always one of the very best dining experiences in Halifax

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Our com ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Our company from away truly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I asked for a quiet location - we had a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I asked for a quiet location - we had a table under a stairwell - noise came at us from all directions. The service was intrusive and rushed. A napkin caught fire at the next table after the couple left - we put out the fire but the server left the smouldering napkin on the table. The appetizers, main dishes and wine were great (meat cooked to perfection) - desserts were not tastey. the waiter said "how are the desserts. delicious." and then started to leave so I said they were average to below average - not to complain but more to say they weren't "delicious" .

We were looking forward to a romantic evening (we had our first date at the restaurant and only great memories until now) and what we had was clatter, noise, rushed service, napkin smoke and average desserts.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

One of the best meals I've ever had! Kud ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had! Kudos to all staff. Memorable in a very positive way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Da Maurizio never fails to create the pe ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Da Maurizio never fails to create the perfect atmosphere one looks for when going out to celebrate a special occasion. The food, the service and warm ambiance you get when you go is unparalleled in the city of Halifax. Thank you again for giving us an evening to remember. We will be back again....very soon!

Morrison/ Smith-Camp Family

Tantallon

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The halibut and Romano salad very good. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The halibut and Romano salad very good.

The eggplant appetizer was good.

The duck was tuff.

The linguini with lobster not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I love d'Maurizio. The food is always de ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I love d'Maurizio. The food is always delicious and the staff always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service, genuine Ital ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent food and service, genuine Italian fine dining - a Halifax restaurant staple for decades!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, fabulous dining experience! ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Once again, fabulous dining experience! Superb in every respect. Favorite restaurant in Halifax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

da Maurizio never disappoints!!!!!! Tany ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 15, 2016

da Maurizio never disappoints!!!!!! Tanya (the owner) is as gracious and inviting as if she was welcoming you into her very own home. I look forward to dining here each and every time I visit Halifax. The seafood soup is to die for!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard great things about Da Mauri ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had heard great things about Da Maurizio and we were not disappointed. It was our first time going and we will definitely be back again. The calamari was outstanding and may have been the best we have ever had. We also had the gnocchi and ravioli - we shared the dinner plates of both and the serving size was excellent. Highly Recommend!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The red wine was on the cool side,should ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The red wine was on the cool side,should have been warmer.It was a cool night outside and sitting by a window was not warm.The waiter would place the wine on the window sill making the wine cooler also.The calamari was good but the bottom half of the dish was soaking in the sauce,making them soggy.Overall the food,service was quite good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

WE WERE CELEBRATING 3 BIRTHDAYS, HAD 2 G ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2016

WE WERE CELEBRATING 3 BIRTHDAYS, HAD 2 GIFT CERTIFICATES AND DECIDED TO EXPERIENCE A CULINARY DELIGHT. WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED AND THOROUGHLY ENJOYED OUR THREE HOUR EXPERIENCE, FROM GREETINGS AT OUR ARRIVAL , THE SERVICE PROVIDED BY KELLY, OUR SERVER, THE WINE LIST AND DRINKS RECOMMENDED BY KELLY, AND THE CUISINE ITSELF. THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENTLY PREPARED AND PRESENTED AND CHALLENGED THE TASTE BUDS. WE ALL HAD DIFFERENT PRESENTATIONS AND ENJOYED SHARING THE MANY TASTES WITH EACH OTHER. REALLY DIDN'T NOTICE THE TALK OF OTHER HAPPY PATRONS BUT JUST A LOW HUM AND THE SCURRY OF SERVERS.

WE THOROUGHLY ENJOYED OUR OUTING. THANK YOU.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I booked a table for 2 for my parents on ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I booked a table for 2 for my parents on their 30th anniversary celebration. My parents are not the type of people to treat themselves often although I don't know anyone more deserving! Having been to this restaurant myself, I knew I wanted them to experience it! I had called in advance to make special arrangements for my parents. The owner, Tanya, was so incredibly helpful and wonderful and ensured my parents would have a nice surprise on their anniversary.

My parents were reluctant to go when I told them but when they came back they were ALL SMILES! They LOVED their food. My father is a salmon lover and a huge critic when it comes to salmon and it is the first time I've ever heard him say the salmon was perfect at a restaurant. My mother who is vegetarian always has trouble finding good vegetarian options but she ordered the hand made ravioli and was so pleased! They even got complimentary desert.

Thank you so much for helping us make my parents' 30th anniversary special. It's so nice to see wonderful, genuine, service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, , Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Halifax. WE go there ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Best restaurant in Halifax. WE go there often. Never dissappointing

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Upon arrival, we where welcomed by a ver ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Upon arrival, we where welcomed by a very nice lady who promptly took our coats and took us to out table. The waiter came right over and offered beverages and was very polite. Some bread was brought to the table (3 kinds) which was delicious. We ordered an appetizer or jumbo scallops and bacon which was amazing, came quickly and was extremely fresh! Shortly after the main courses came, we both had pasta. The hand made ravioli and the braised rabbit pasta, both where phenomenal in my opinion. Had a wonderful dessert with vanilla gelato to finish it off. The staff where extremely polite and very helpful, and the food was amazing. It was our first time going but we will certainly be back!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.