About D. Burnham's

36 East Fourth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

D. Burnham's is located within Cincinnati's newest four diamond hotel, the Renaissance Cincinnati. We are a contemporary Midwestern American restaurant featuring locally sourced, seasonal and expertly prepared cuisine, served with relaxed elegance. D. Burnham’s presents a wide selection of spirits, cocktails, wine and beer offering an opportunity enjoy traditional favorites or sip something local, creative or adventurous.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 455-6406

Website:
http://www.dburnhams.com/

Entertainment:
Join us in the R-Life Lounge for live entertainment on Tuesday & Thursday evenings.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

D. Burnham's, located within Cincinnati's newest Four Diamond hotel, offers nearly unlimited private dining options. The Renaissance Hotel provides over 14,000 square feet of private dining space with rooms accommodating as few as 8 guests in our historic Boardroom or as many as 650 in Burnham Hall.

D. Burnham's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Special Occasion (4)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (3)
Romantic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food, quiet atmosphere, perfect for a meeting or quiet discussion. Very reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The staff tells me the ambiance, food, service - everything - first class. I would recommend you restaurant to anyone!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was ok. We were there early for the theater,around 6:00. It was also Garth Brooks concert night. The place was half full. Lots of people showed up for a table. They were way understaffed. Our waitress was new and disappeared several times before and during the dinner. Food was ok nothing to write home about. An overall gray palate for the space. Very cold. When we finished dinner at 7:30 the place was deserted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Terrible experience. Slow service. Wrong drinks. Cold food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Amazing service, delicious food and a great wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Very slow service for a business Lynch. Very frustrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our Chow Chow chicken wasn't very good...quite dry. The duck quesadillas were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 23, 2017

My wife and I went there on a Monday evening before a theater event at the Taft. When we got to the restaurant there was nobody to greet us for about 5 minutes. (6p reservation) Even though there were only about 4 people in the restaurant (empty), they proceeded to seat us at the worst table in the restaurant. We requested a different table and were moved. We asked for a cocktail menu multiple times before receiving it. I ordered a Sazerac. I've never had a Sazerac served to me with the glass packed with crushed ice. Upon tasting, I'm not sure there was any alcohol in it. Terrible cocktail. The service times were long as we were in the restaurant for close to 90 minutes despite there being virtually nobody in there. The braised short-ribs were mostly dry (how do you do that with short-ribs??) and the accompanying brussels sprouts were bland. My wife order a filet with lump crab. About 30 minutes after ordering, they informed here that there was no crab. Not sure why they had just realized it so late. On the good side, they did comp us her dinner. For the menu prices, I would expect a much higher level of service, detail, and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

For some reason, this restaurant is not busy, even on a Saturday night. Food was very good, albeit the service a little slow. Easy to talk, as versus the noise level in some other more-popular restaurants. Décor was very nice--including the restored hotel lobby and beautiful brass elevator doors--and valet service available.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was amazing, but our salads and entrees came to the table at the same time, which is disappointing in a nice restaurant. We never received bread, so the table was without any food for over an hour. Luckily, we were with good friends, but since we were one of only 3 seated tables, I expected much better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food and reasonably priced. Nice atmosphere. Service was friendly but did not fit the quality of the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

D. Burnham... simply put, "A Wonderful EXPERIENCE!" My family and I dined here for my mother's 59th birthday. The service was spot on and the food came to the table rather quickly. Everything was delightful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our special occasion was a wedding anniversary. They took great care of us! The decor is on the modern side, the wait staff (which works as a big team) was very attentive throughout the meal, which was "paced" perfectly!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Previous reviews and menu price point would leave you to believe this was a very highly regarded restaurant. I did not feel it lived up to that expectation. We had reservations set but instead of having us wait for a couple minutes in the waiting area, were seated at a table before it was cleaned or prepared for us. Service was slow and our server seemed as if he was not trained for fine dining. Food came out cold and drinks were slow as well. I would not recommend this place to others and would likely not plan a return since there are so many other good options downtown anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was delicious...ample portions.

Hope that they are busy at lunch...Sat after Thanksgiving was not crowded.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Very nice place, good food, reasonably priced, good staff, nice atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great service and excellent food. Were more then gracious to our party of six. Salmon and veal dishes were exceptional, as were the deserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great food, great service, great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Awful service. We were late to the symphony. The food just average for the price. Two waitresses chatting and laughing behind the bar area we had to get them in order to get our check. Embarrassing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 7, 2016

the food was out of this world. the service . the wait staff super. we can with old friend . they love It.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The dates we had for an appetizer were lukewarm. The steak and spare ribs were mediocre at best. The place was empty the whole time which is concerning. Just not what I thought it would be and definitely NOT worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was slow considering it was a week day lunch hour. Arrived at noon and received our food at 12:45. Server was professional and knowledgable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Creative and contemporary space. They mishandled our reservation, were slow bringing bar service and the drinks were heavily watered down.

The service was otherwise very good.

Over used goat cheese but the grilled pork chop was sublime. The menu was not terribly creative but good basic food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a great dinner; great filet mignon and salmon great service and ambiance. Well go there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best salmon I have ever had two years in a row. Will make a favorite place to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 9, 2016

My husband and I were looking for a different place to eat for our 36th anniversary. As part of restaurant week we decided to go to D. Brurham's. Food was great, service superior and great ambiance. We plan to go back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The manager and serving staff were all very attentive and accomodating, The food was excellent. I highly reccomend this to anyone staying in the downtown Cincinnati area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Everything was great for our lunch meeting. Except the BTL-E, that was not great. The rest of the food was excellent though!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Good business lunch location on 4th St. The salads are good and large.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 2, 2016

We ordered the charcuterie appetizer, which was tasteless and rubbery. I ordered the pappardelle with short rib ragu and my husband had the airline chicken. My pasta tasted like pot roast when too much red wine is added, which made it inedible. My husband reported that his chicken was good, but without much taste. Overall, we dropped over $100 and I'm lying in bed in the hotel room trying to decide where to order a pizza from. So disappointing. Although the food wasn't great, our server, Mike, did everything possible to make our experience nice. The Moscow Mule wasn't half bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Enjoyed the ambiance, the food was great, the service was great.

Just wondered why when we arrived, no one was there to greet us and

the restaurant was almost empty, only a table of eight or so and no one else.

Maybe Saturday lunch is not a busy place. Good for me of course. Why did

I feel that I had to make a reservation, when the restaurant was almost empty?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was fantastic, service was excellent - we were there for my birthday and the end the manager brought out multiple desserts for us to share - I ordered the filet and it was so perfectly seasoned - we also ordered the shrimp cargot - that is a MUST try! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The lighting in the restaurant is gloomy -- they should put candles on the table or something! The restaurant deserves a larger clientele -- the food is good, but the restaurant - on Mother's Day, admittedly early (we were going to a concert) was empty except for one other table for most of the time we were there. We have special dietary needs -- we're vegetarians -- and the chef was happy to improvise to accommodate us, deliciously.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Stayed in the bar to watch the derby and eat before heading to Cirque. This is a nice grown -up place. The menu is very nice with some different offerings than the norm. The drink menu is nice and the service was great. I would definitely go back for the short-rib poutine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was amazing! The only problem was the location. It was difficult to find the restaurant and parking was scarce.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 23, 2016

I was disappointed by this restaurant. It was a 2016 Restaurant Week pick for me, after seeing stuffed dates on the menu. I couldn't wait after seeing them online. They arrived to the table shortly after receiving my salad. So, there was a two-three minute delay before I dug in. I anticipated a sweet warm date filled with cream cheese with salty bacon for a contrast in taste. That is not what I got. The mixture was room temperature and chewy with barely any hint of bacon. My initial thought was, "Aw, I bet they were warm when they arrived. Shouldn't have waited." I asked the waiter to confirm my suspicion.

Much to my surprise, I was wrong. They're served exactly as I ate them. The braised pork was just ok; something I could've ordered from Boston Market. Probably won't go back. I expected so much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent evening !!!, food and service very good. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was good but not outstanding. I was really expecting something a little more interesting. The place itself is very pretty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 18, 2016

What an incredible space. We went for restaurant week because the menu sounded great and were not disappointed! Very chic decor, modern, cool large table for groups. Everything we ate was well prepared and seasoned. Awesome cocktails. Overall a wonderful experience and we will now try more hotel restaurants because of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 12, 2016

I visit here at least once a month, sometimes 3-4 times, for breakfast and lunch. I've never been disappointed with food or service. This is a good place to have a business conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Interesting menu and, generally, good food. We ordered the beet salad, to share. The kitchen did not split the salad, we had to. The salad needed more dressing - the beets were a bit bland and needed something to enhance the flavor. The waiter did not bring bread until we mentioned it, but by then it was too late.

The ambiance felt "cold", i.e., hard, chilly and not comfortable. But that is probably typical of contemporary restaurant design.

Overall a good, but not outstanding experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Good food, great service -- would try again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2016

I chose this restaurant since we were staying at the hotel. We we're celebrating my wife's bday and our anniversary. Our meals were great. We had the hummus appetizer and the shrimp cargot which we enjoyed very much. We shared the field harvest salad and the sea bass entree. Both very good. The creme brûlée and apple cobbler were very good too. Unfortunately no special dessert or comment on our celebration. Would have been a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and I would definitely go back. The only downfall, we sat towards the front of The restaurant and there was a private party that was pretty loud so it wasn't the quiet dinner that I was looking forward to. I will just ask for aYankee toward the back of the restaurant in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2016

We enjoyed the poutine frites as an appetizer and also shared the crab cake. Our dinner special was a bourbon glazed salmon with sweet potato and green beans which were tasty! the ambience and setting is very nice. Happy hour is from 4-7 featuring $5 wine selections (thumbs up!). We will be returning in the near future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 22, 2016

All I have to say is YES!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Saw our server busing tables.

He is going to handle our food and he handles others waste. My wife did not like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2016

We had never heard of this restaurant before and when we received a coupon in the mail we thought what the heck. It wont take a coupon to go back! Great food and ambiance. Love the bar area in front of the restaurant. It provided us with a place to sit and relax before dinner. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a change of scene downtown eatery & its right in the heart of downtown cincinnati

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Visited for the first time on a recommendation from a friend. Was pleasantly surprised as our experience (for the most part) with restaurants at hotels in the US has not been good. Food was excellent (try the short ribs) and service great. Even though it was a busy night at the hotel (wedding or something) the valet parking service was great, they evidently staffed up for the expected crowd. Will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.