About D. Burnham's

36 East Fourth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

D. Burnham's is located within Cincinnati's newest four diamond hotel, the Renaissance Cincinnati. We are a contemporary Midwestern American restaurant featuring locally sourced, seasonal and expertly prepared cuisine, served with relaxed elegance. D. Burnham’s presents a wide selection of spirits, cocktails, wine and beer offering an opportunity enjoy traditional favorites or sip something local, creative or adventurous.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 455-6406

Website:
http://www.dburnhams.com/

Entertainment:
Join us in the R-Life Lounge for live entertainment on Tuesday & Thursday evenings.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

D. Burnham's, located within Cincinnati's newest Four Diamond hotel, offers nearly unlimited private dining options. The Renaissance Hotel provides over 14,000 square feet of private dining space with rooms accommodating as few as 8 guests in our historic Boardroom or as many as 650 in Burnham Hall.

D. Burnham's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Special Occasion (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Romantic (3)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Cozy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Previous reviews and menu price point wo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Previous reviews and menu price point would leave you to believe this was a very highly regarded restaurant. I did not feel it lived up to that expectation. We had reservations set but instead of having us wait for a couple minutes in the waiting area, were seated at a table before it was cleaned or prepared for us. Service was slow and our server seemed as if he was not trained for fine dining. Food came out cold and drinks were slow as well. I would not recommend this place to others and would likely not plan a return since there are so many other good options downtown anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was delicious...ample portions. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was delicious...ample portions.

Hope that they are busy at lunch...Sat after Thanksgiving was not crowded.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very nice place, good food, reasonably p ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Very nice place, good food, reasonably priced, good staff, nice atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and excellent food. Were m ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great service and excellent food. Were more then gracious to our party of six. Salmon and veal dishes were exceptional, as were the deserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great atmosph ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great food, great service, great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was disappointing.

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Awful service. We were late to the symph ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Awful service. We were late to the symphony. The food just average for the price. Two waitresses chatting and laughing behind the bar area we had to get them in order to get our check. Embarrassing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

the food was out of this world. the serv ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 7, 2016

the food was out of this world. the service . the wait staff super. we can with old friend . they love It.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dates we had for an appetizer were l ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The dates we had for an appetizer were lukewarm. The steak and spare ribs were mediocre at best. The place was empty the whole time which is concerning. Just not what I thought it would be and definitely NOT worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Service was slow considering it was a we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was slow considering it was a week day lunch hour. Arrived at noon and received our food at 12:45. Server was professional and knowledgable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Creative and contemporary space. They m ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Creative and contemporary space. They mishandled our reservation, were slow bringing bar service and the drinks were heavily watered down.

The service was otherwise very good.

Over used goat cheese but the grilled pork chop was sublime. The menu was not terribly creative but good basic food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We had a great dinner; great filet migno ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a great dinner; great filet mignon and salmon great service and ambiance. Well go there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best salmon I have ever had two years in ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best salmon I have ever had two years in a row. Will make a favorite place to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were looking for a diff ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 9, 2016

My husband and I were looking for a different place to eat for our 36th anniversary. As part of restaurant week we decided to go to D. Brurham's. Food was great, service superior and great ambiance. We plan to go back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The manager and serving staff were all v ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The manager and serving staff were all very attentive and accomodating, The food was excellent. I highly reccomend this to anyone staying in the downtown Cincinnati area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great for our lunch meeti ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Everything was great for our lunch meeting. Except the BTL-E, that was not great. The rest of the food was excellent though!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good business lunch location on 4th St. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Good business lunch location on 4th St. The salads are good and large.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We ordered the charcuterie appetizer, wh ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 2, 2016

We ordered the charcuterie appetizer, which was tasteless and rubbery. I ordered the pappardelle with short rib ragu and my husband had the airline chicken. My pasta tasted like pot roast when too much red wine is added, which made it inedible. My husband reported that his chicken was good, but without much taste. Overall, we dropped over $100 and I'm lying in bed in the hotel room trying to decide where to order a pizza from. So disappointing. Although the food wasn't great, our server, Mike, did everything possible to make our experience nice. The Moscow Mule wasn't half bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed the ambiance, the food was great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Enjoyed the ambiance, the food was great, the service was great.

Just wondered why when we arrived, no one was there to greet us and

the restaurant was almost empty, only a table of eight or so and no one else.

Maybe Saturday lunch is not a busy place. Good for me of course. Why did

I feel that I had to make a reservation, when the restaurant was almost empty?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic, service was excellen ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was fantastic, service was excellent - we were there for my birthday and the end the manager brought out multiple desserts for us to share - I ordered the filet and it was so perfectly seasoned - we also ordered the shrimp cargot - that is a MUST try! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, dim lighting, few diners

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The lighting in the restaurant is gloomy -- they should put candles on the table or something! The restaurant deserves a larger clientele -- the food is good, but the restaurant - on Mother's Day, admittedly early (we were going to a concert) was empty except for one other table for most of the time we were there. We have special dietary needs -- we're vegetarians -- and the chef was happy to improvise to accommodate us, deliciously.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Nice Atmosphere

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Stayed in the bar to watch the derby and eat before heading to Cirque. This is a nice grown -up place. The menu is very nice with some different offerings than the norm. The drink menu is nice and the service was great. I would definitely go back for the short-rib poutine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was amazing! The only proble ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was amazing! The only problem was the location. It was difficult to find the restaurant and parking was scarce.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I was disappointed by this restaurant. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 23, 2016

I was disappointed by this restaurant. It was a 2016 Restaurant Week pick for me, after seeing stuffed dates on the menu. I couldn't wait after seeing them online. They arrived to the table shortly after receiving my salad. So, there was a two-three minute delay before I dug in. I anticipated a sweet warm date filled with cream cheese with salty bacon for a contrast in taste. That is not what I got. The mixture was room temperature and chewy with barely any hint of bacon. My initial thought was, "Aw, I bet they were warm when they arrived. Shouldn't have waited." I asked the waiter to confirm my suspicion.

Much to my surprise, I was wrong. They're served exactly as I ate them. The braised pork was just ok; something I could've ordered from Boston Market. Probably won't go back. I expected so much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Excellent evening !!!, food and service ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent evening !!!, food and service very good. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but not outstanding. I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was good but not outstanding. I was really expecting something a little more interesting. The place itself is very pretty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

great find!

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 18, 2016

What an incredible space. We went for restaurant week because the menu sounded great and were not disappointed! Very chic decor, modern, cool large table for groups. Everything we ate was well prepared and seasoned. Awesome cocktails. Overall a wonderful experience and we will now try more hotel restaurants because of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good meal

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 12, 2016

I visit here at least once a month, sometimes 3-4 times, for breakfast and lunch. I've never been disappointed with food or service. This is a good place to have a business conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very good for a hotel restaurant

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Interesting menu and, generally, good food. We ordered the beet salad, to share. The kitchen did not split the salad, we had to. The salad needed more dressing - the beets were a bit bland and needed something to enhance the flavor. The waiter did not bring bread until we mentioned it, but by then it was too late.

The ambiance felt "cold", i.e., hard, chilly and not comfortable. But that is probably typical of contemporary restaurant design.

Overall a good, but not outstanding experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, great service -- would try ag ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Good food, great service -- would try again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I chose this restaurant since we were st ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2016

I chose this restaurant since we were staying at the hotel. We we're celebrating my wife's bday and our anniversary. Our meals were great. We had the hummus appetizer and the shrimp cargot which we enjoyed very much. We shared the field harvest salad and the sea bass entree. Both very good. The creme brûlée and apple cobbler were very good too. Unfortunately no special dessert or comment on our celebration. Would have been a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Delicious

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and I would definitely go back. The only downfall, we sat towards the front of The restaurant and there was a private party that was pretty loud so it wasn't the quiet dinner that I was looking forward to. I will just ask for aYankee toward the back of the restaurant in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We enjoyed the poutine frites as an appe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2016

We enjoyed the poutine frites as an appetizer and also shared the crab cake. Our dinner special was a bourbon glazed salmon with sweet potato and green beans which were tasty! the ambience and setting is very nice. Happy hour is from 4-7 featuring $5 wine selections (thumbs up!). We will be returning in the near future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

All I have to say is YES!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 22, 2016

All I have to say is YES!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Saw our server busing tables. He is goin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Saw our server busing tables.

He is going to handle our food and he handles others waste. My wife did not like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

A Great Uknown

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2016

We had never heard of this restaurant before and when we received a coupon in the mail we thought what the heck. It wont take a coupon to go back! Great food and ambiance. Love the bar area in front of the restaurant. It provided us with a place to sit and relax before dinner. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a change of scene downtown eatery & its right in the heart of downtown cincinnati

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new restaurant

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Visited for the first time on a recommendation from a friend. Was pleasantly surprised as our experience (for the most part) with restaurants at hotels in the US has not been good. Food was excellent (try the short ribs) and service great. Even though it was a busy night at the hotel (wedding or something) the valet parking service was great, they evidently staffed up for the expected crowd. Will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pretty good food for being in a hotel. S ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Pretty good food for being in a hotel. Service was great this time although it can be hit and miss. Two different duck entrees and both were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Booked a reservation 20mins before we ar ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 23, 2016

Booked a reservation 20mins before we arrived and they were ready for us. The crab cakes were a delicious appetizer and the lemonade was amazing. For entrees the girls and I had the filet, braised short rib, and pistachio crusted sea bass. All were very delicious. For dessert we had the chocolate caramel torte, apple pie, and chocolate chip torte they were just as delicious. I would definitely revisit this restaurant. The service was great. We can tell Kayla was fairly new but she was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and Service are very good! The amb ...

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Food and Service are very good! The ambiance was nice but could be a bit softer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.