Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About D. Burnham's

D. Burnham's is located within Cincinnati's newest four diamond hotel, the Renaissance Cincinnati. We are a contemporary Midwestern American restaurant featuring locally sourced, seasonal and expertly prepared cuisine, served with relaxed elegance. D. Burnham’s presents a wide selection of spirits, cocktails, wine and beer offering an opportunity enjoy traditional favorites or sip something local, creative or adventurous.

36 East Fourth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 455-6406

Website:
http://www.dburnhams.com/

Entertainment:
Join us in the R-Life Lounge for live entertainment on Tuesday & Thursday evenings.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

D. Burnham's, located within Cincinnati's newest Four Diamond hotel, offers nearly unlimited private dining options. The Renaissance Hotel provides over 14,000 square feet of private dining space with rooms accommodating as few as 8 guests in our historic Boardroom or as many as 650 in Burnham Hall.

D. Burnham's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
See All
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great Beer (1)
Cozy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Day after my son's wedding. Decompressing. Had dinner with me, my wife, younger son, and bride and groom - perfect. The place was quiet, the menu interesting, good service, nice drinks.
The only thing I would say is that on Open Table it shows affordability as two $$ - but prices were more like 3 or 4 $$$.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Devon was our server. She was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service but had a bug in water and soup delivered after entree. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Me & my boyfriend had dined in last night the food was amazing our server Devon had did an amazing job she made us feel like we we're at home. The hostess Keiara was really nice she greeted us with a smile and thanked us for coming. The overall experience was wonderful. I plan on coming back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Crab and red curry bisque is so delicious! Enjoyed our dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Nice friendly server, but need to train them well.
Our server didn't know what to do when I found a chip of cork floating in my wine glass. The server was trying to put a folk in my wine glass to get out the chip of the cork.
If they serve wine, please teach their server the etiquette of wine serving.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We went to D. Burnham's for Restaurant Week as we like this venue to try places we've not yet sampled. The space is styled as elegant contemporary and the food was awesome especially the lamb. Chef Justin is very talented and nailed the Creme Brûlée. The service was excellent. We enjoyed all of our course selections and commented to the chef that we enjoyed the cuisine more so than some highly rated/ranked Cincinnati restaurants we frequent. We will return and introduce friends to our find.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Me & My husband was a little early the hostess didn't mind at all her name was Keiara she had did a fantastic job sitting us, and pouring water. I would recommend this restaurant to a lot of people. The food was great no complaints and the server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was good but the total experience is not worth the prices. Wine is way over priced

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Salmon a little well done but still good. Soup and bread pudding to die for!!!!!!😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Absolutely fabulous food!!! The chef is great he. Came to our table and whipped up a. Vegan meal for me that was divine. Our server, Sherry was so nice and accommodating!! Definitely recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very nice place for a business lunch. Noise level lends itself to conversation. Good service. Very good menu choices. However, ice tea was not fresh; a real tea drinker like me can tell when tea is recycled from prior day.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had read the reviews and saw they were either very bad or good. So, we tempered our expectations. We arrived early and had a drink in the bar. The bartenders were not very friendly and we noticed they were ill prepared to make a lot of the drinks on the menu. They lacked supplies and sufficient cash to make change. So, we were very nervous about the meal. However, once moving to the restaurant the atmosphere and service changed. Both much better. The food was perfect. We recommend the dates as an appetizer - done perfectly. We had the short ribs and strip steak and it was delicious. So, we highly recommend it for a celebratory meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful experience! The entire staff is friendly. They go out of their way to ensure that you have a great evening. The food is incredible! The Chef, Restaurant Manager, and Hotel AGM all stopped by our table to check in. They were extremely friendly! I highly recommend visiting!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Very good food and service , great lunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was better than I thought it would be. But I would go back.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great staff and beautiful bar ambiance. I want to make this one of my regular places for a great night out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We loved the food that we ordered and atmosphere but the service had a lot to be desired. Also we were very much looking forward to trying their braised short rib but it was not ready that day. Very disappointing. I think the food was very tasty though.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Chicken was ice cold as if from a fridge/freezer on one salad - second salad for another person at table was drenched in dressing so looked more like soup- second chicken they brought out for first salad was different type of chicken as the first had been crusted. Waitress was a bit slow and didn't seem to want to be there. Will never come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Terrible Terrible service. I would not choose this restaurant again. No need to make a reservation, restaurant is not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Serving size continue to shrink. Food quality is good but not a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food, quiet atmosphere, perfect for a meeting or quiet discussion. Very reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The staff tells me the ambiance, food, service - everything - first class. I would recommend you restaurant to anyone!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food was not very good and both of us did not feel very well the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was ok. We were there early for the theater,around 6:00. It was also Garth Brooks concert night. The place was half full. Lots of people showed up for a table. They were way understaffed. Our waitress was new and disappeared several times before and during the dinner. Food was ok nothing to write home about. An overall gray palate for the space. Very cold. When we finished dinner at 7:30 the place was deserted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Terrible experience. Slow service. Wrong drinks. Cold food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Amazing service, delicious food and a great wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Very slow service for a business Lynch. Very frustrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our Chow Chow chicken wasn't very good...quite dry. The duck quesadillas were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 23, 2017

My wife and I went there on a Monday evening before a theater event at the Taft. When we got to the restaurant there was nobody to greet us for about 5 minutes. (6p reservation) Even though there were only about 4 people in the restaurant (empty), they proceeded to seat us at the worst table in the restaurant. We requested a different table and were moved. We asked for a cocktail menu multiple times before receiving it. I ordered a Sazerac. I've never had a Sazerac served to me with the glass packed with crushed ice. Upon tasting, I'm not sure there was any alcohol in it. Terrible cocktail. The service times were long as we were in the restaurant for close to 90 minutes despite there being virtually nobody in there. The braised short-ribs were mostly dry (how do you do that with short-ribs??) and the accompanying brussels sprouts were bland. My wife order a filet with lump crab. About 30 minutes after ordering, they informed here that there was no crab. Not sure why they had just realized it so late. On the good side, they did comp us her dinner. For the menu prices, I would expect a much higher level of service, detail, and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

For some reason, this restaurant is not busy, even on a Saturday night. Food was very good, albeit the service a little slow. Easy to talk, as versus the noise level in some other more-popular restaurants. Décor was very nice--including the restored hotel lobby and beautiful brass elevator doors--and valet service available.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was amazing, but our salads and entrees came to the table at the same time, which is disappointing in a nice restaurant. We never received bread, so the table was without any food for over an hour. Luckily, we were with good friends, but since we were one of only 3 seated tables, I expected much better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food and reasonably priced. Nice atmosphere. Service was friendly but did not fit the quality of the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2016

D. Burnham... simply put, "A Wonderful EXPERIENCE!" My family and I dined here for my mother's 59th birthday. The service was spot on and the food came to the table rather quickly. Everything was delightful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our special occasion was a wedding anniversary. They took great care of us! The decor is on the modern side, the wait staff (which works as a big team) was very attentive throughout the meal, which was "paced" perfectly!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Previous reviews and menu price point would leave you to believe this was a very highly regarded restaurant. I did not feel it lived up to that expectation. We had reservations set but instead of having us wait for a couple minutes in the waiting area, were seated at a table before it was cleaned or prepared for us. Service was slow and our server seemed as if he was not trained for fine dining. Food came out cold and drinks were slow as well. I would not recommend this place to others and would likely not plan a return since there are so many other good options downtown anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was delicious...ample portions.
Hope that they are busy at lunch...Sat after Thanksgiving was not crowded.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Very nice place, good food, reasonably priced, good staff, nice atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great service and excellent food. Were more then gracious to our party of six. Salmon and veal dishes were exceptional, as were the deserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great food, great service, great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.