Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

D. Burnham's

3.5
185 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Bar Seating
  • Business Meals
  • Creative Cuisine
D. Burnham's is located within Cincinnati's newest four diamond hotel, the Renaissance Cincinnati. We are a contemporary Midwestern American restaurant featuring locally sourced, seasonal and expertly prepared cuisine, served with relaxed elegance. D. Burnham’s presents a wide selection of spirits, cocktails, wine and beer offering an opportunity enjoy traditional favorites or sip something local, creative or adventurous.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast
Daily 6:30 am–11:00 am
Lunch
Daily 11:00 am–3:00 pm
Dinner
Daily 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(513) 455-6406
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Justin Leidenheimer
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Walnut
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Streetcar stop #18
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Join us in the R-Life Lounge for live entertainment on Tuesday & Thursday evenings.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

D. Burnham's, located within Cincinnati's newest Four Diamond hotel, offers nearly unlimited private dining options. The Renaissance Hotel provides over 14,000 square feet of private dining space with rooms accommodating as few as 8 guests in our historic Boardroom or as many as 650 in Burnham Hall.

View Private Dining Details
What 185 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.5based on recent ratings
3.3
food
3.8
service
3.9
ambience
2.8
value
Noise · Quiet
60% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The service was slow. They couldn’t keep up with the food in the buffet. Not a good place to go for mother’s day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Food was very good and exceeded by the properly attentive service. A comfortable atmosphere for drinks and dinner both business and personal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

The salad had nothing in it but lettuce. The soup and chicken sandwich were good. The menu seemed limited and not too imaginative. There is almost no seafood at lunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Even with a reservation, my party and I stood at the door several minutes (3-7) without so much as being acknowledged by a few staff who had passed during that time. After some time, one from the party walked up to the bar to ask if the restaurant was still seating guests. After a shuffle of a few different employees, we had someone show us to a table.
The service was nothing exceptional but no real low points to mention for the service. We were there celebrating an anniversary which was left on the reservation as a note. The special occasion was not acknowledged. One opportunity for the server is to explain the menus or ask if the guests have been before to try and engage just a little bit more with the menu.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Over priced drinks. Average service. Good food. Recommend for someone on a business expense account.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Very disappointing - especially for the price. Go for a drink and appetizer. Skip the main course.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 9, 2018

My friend ordered the vegetable panini without cheese because she’s vegan. Unfortunately, after the sandwich was delivered, it was clear that they had put cheese on the sandwich but attempted to peel it out. There were remnants of melted cheese in the sandwich and on the bread. So she stopped eating the sandwich, but because the food took so long, it wasn’t feasible to order something else before she caught her flight. I ordered the chicken pesto sandwich but could not finish it because it was saturated in oil. The oil used to cook the chicken was so pervasive that I could barely taste anything else on the sandwich. Overall, a very unfortunate experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The meal was horible. One of four orders came out significantly later than the other 3. One was cold. One was undercooked. The Mac and cheese had almost no cheese. One side was served on the wrong plate. The time between ordering and food was excessive. The bread reminded me of sandwich bread.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 18, 2018

We really enjoyed the atmosphere, cozy place to sit on couches and have drinks before dinner. Loved being downtown.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Wait staff was courteous and attentive.
Would highly recommend the Crème Brûlée French Toast and the Burnham Burger.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

The food was excellent. I really enjoyed the stuffed dates and the pistachio crusted sea bass. The atmosphere is very quiet, a bit too cut off from the action near the bar and street. I think it would be great if they could open the dining area to have more exposure to the bar area. This is a restaurant in a hotel, so no separate street entrance. You enter through a gorgeous art deco lobby. Overall, a nice dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 29, 2017

our waiter and greeter at the front were fantastic.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Went right be a show at taft as this it's really only one of a few restaurants i walking distance. It was overpriced with poor service and we were 1 of 3 tables for Saturday dinner. The charcuterie board was subpar and consisted of cheeses I can get from my grocery in the pre-packaged aisle. My wife orders scallops and received 4 overcooked, chewy scallops with no side item (for $32). The tomato goat cheese brulee soup that the server raved about tasted like progresso with one tiny lump of goat cheese.

Really cool atmosphere in a beautiful hotel, but I would never go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 14, 2017

Great place to meet for lunch. good options, excellent service. They remembered a birthday and surprised our guest with dessert and candle. A lovely touch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

This was our third time at D. Burnhams and again the food was delicious. We were a bit worried when we were the only table seated in the entire place. The servers and chef took wonderful care of us and the menu was amazing. They even gave us a courtesy dessert. I highly recommend it, and really hope it stays around. Great addition to Cincinnati

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Overpriced, plain and simple. Food was decent, but not extraordinary. It's a hotel restaurant, and not much more than that. But it was empty when everything else was booked. Should have taken that karma hint. Server was nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Fantastic with allergies
Ask for joe

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 17, 2017

We sat on sofas which is a little awkward for dining at table. The food took too long to arrive 15-20 minutes. Our server was acceptable but not particularly professional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent food and the portions were, frankly, MASSIVE. I’ve never seen a salmon portion so large. Same with the short rib. Just wonderful value and quality.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Service was absolutely terrible. Bought 2 bottles of wine. We poured every glass for ourselves. Asked waiter if there were any specials and the response was “A pork chop”. I asked if it came with anything else I got the response “I think it comes with greens”. There were only 3 tables booked when we were there. I understand why. When our food finally arrived it was actually very good but D. Burnhams should be embarrassed for their service and the cost of their food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Me & my husband dined here for a wedding that will be taking place tomorrow night. The restaurant is nice, the food was amazing mainly the apple cobbler. The service we received was wonderful, the hostess Kieara was amazing and greeted us so kindly, our server Jeremy was nice. We will be returning back here.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 23, 2017

D. Burnham has the potential to be an upscale restaurant, but the experience we had was subpar. There were many things on the menu that they did not have (the menus did look old, by the way). My fish was cooked all the way through, so I sent it back (and I'm usually not that picky). It took a long time, so most everyone else was finished by the time mine came back. They had made me a new piece which smelled fishy and wasn't really cooked all the way through either. I didn't eat it. During all of this, our waiter was absent (and there were only 2 other tables filled in the restaurant), and he didn't ever offer to do anything about our issues. When I asked him why there was nothing said or done, he said he'd get the manager. The manager came and wanted to know what I wanted. He didn't indicate our server had told him the concerns. He also did nothing. Won't be going back. That restaurant needs some serious rework before it can make a go of it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 23, 2017

This was our second visit. Food is very good, especially for a hotel restaurant. The restaurant was quiet because it was almost empty on a Saturday. Service is the weak spot here. Our waiter was well intentioned but he certainly lacked polish that I believe reflected a lack of training. He had limited knowledge of the menu in response to our questions. We waited 15 mins for a dessert we ordered and then just canceled the order and asked for a check. This has the potential to be a much better restaurant than it is.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 19, 2017

I go to D. Burnham's for business lunches regularly. Yesterday's service was not good. A table next to us who came in after us, got their order in and their food served before our order was taken. They also left before we even got our food. We were there over 90 minutes....way too slow. It is difficult to complain when you are with a client, nut the service was awful. The waitress was nice enough just did not provide any service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 30, 2017

Devin is a great server; very attentive and personable - ask for her by name !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 26, 2017

The short rib entree was extremely salty. My husband has heart and kidney disease so this did not work for him. Way to much salt for even a healthy inividual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Day after my son's wedding. Decompressing. Had dinner with me, my wife, younger son, and bride and groom - perfect. The place was quiet, the menu interesting, good service, nice drinks.
The only thing I would say is that on Open Table it shows affordability as two $ - but prices were more like 3 or 4 $$.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Devon was our server. She was terrific.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 17, 2017

Great service but had a bug in water and soup delivered after entree. Food was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Me & my boyfriend had dined in last night the food was amazing our server Devon had did an amazing job she made us feel like we we're at home. The hostess Keiara was really nice she greeted us with a smile and thanked us for coming. The overall experience was wonderful. I plan on coming back to this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Crab and red curry bisque is so delicious! Enjoyed our dinner!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Nice friendly server, but need to train them well.
Our server didn't know what to do when I found a chip of cork floating in my wine glass. The server was trying to put a folk in my wine glass to get out the chip of the cork.
If they serve wine, please teach their server the etiquette of wine serving.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 9, 2017

We went to D. Burnham's for Restaurant Week as we like this venue to try places we've not yet sampled. The space is styled as elegant contemporary and the food was awesome especially the lamb. Chef Justin is very talented and nailed the Creme Brûlée. The service was excellent. We enjoyed all of our course selections and commented to the chef that we enjoyed the cuisine more so than some highly rated/ranked Cincinnati restaurants we frequent. We will return and introduce friends to our find.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 8, 2017

Me & My husband was a little early the hostess didn't mind at all her name was Keiara she had did a fantastic job sitting us, and pouring water. I would recommend this restaurant to a lot of people. The food was great no complaints and the server was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 8, 2017

We love the farm to table concept of this place. It had lots of locally sourced selections, all done well, and sooo good. Ingot the pork belly as an appetizer and it was delicious, very tender with just a bit of tang from the pineapple. My main course was the short ribs, which were just deliciously fall apart. We shared a creme brûlée for dessert. Highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was good but the total experience is not worth the prices. Wine is way over priced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 7, 2017

Salmon a little well done but still good. Soup and bread pudding to die for!!!!!!😋

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2017

Absolutely fabulous food!!! The chef is great he. Came to our table and whipped up a. Vegan meal for me that was divine. Our server, Sherry was so nice and accommodating!! Definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 27, 2017

Very nice place for a business lunch. Noise level lends itself to conversation. Good service. Very good menu choices. However, ice tea was not fresh; a real tea drinker like me can tell when tea is recycled from prior day.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 22, 2017

We had read the reviews and saw they were either very bad or good. So, we tempered our expectations. We arrived early and had a drink in the bar. The bartenders were not very friendly and we noticed they were ill prepared to make a lot of the drinks on the menu. They lacked supplies and sufficient cash to make change. So, we were very nervous about the meal. However, once moving to the restaurant the atmosphere and service changed. Both much better. The food was perfect. We recommend the dates as an appetizer - done perfectly. We had the short ribs and strip steak and it was delicious. So, we highly recommend it for a celebratory meal.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5