About Cypress Grille

170 South Main
Boerne, TX 78006
View Larger Map

Located in charming Boerne, Texas, the Cypress Grille is a culinary destination. Executive Chef and Owner Tom Stevens is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park and Owner/Operator Paul Thompson is a graduate from Le Cordon Bleu Austin. The entire team of the Cypress Grille welcomes you to come in and enjoy your favorite California wine from our large wine collection while dining in style in our large bar area or at a comfy table in the dining room. Wherever you choose your experience, it is our goal to make it memorable. Our specialty is culinary deliciousness! We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 248-1353

Website:
http://www.cgboerne.com/

Catering:
Catering available for wedding, corporate, and many other functions. Please call or email for more information.

Parking Details:
On Main Street and Behind Bank of America do NOT PARK in the BOERNE CITY CENTER they WILL tow your vehicle

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stevens

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining for up to 30 people - $50.00 Room Fee

Private Party Contact:
Shanda Stevens: 8302481353x

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cypress Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
3 More
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Boerne ›

Special Occasion (46)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Great for Lunch (39)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Romantic (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was OK smoked prime rib was a littl ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was OK smoked prime rib was a little tough not tender and for two people very expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We arrived ahead of time, no problem sea ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We arrived ahead of time, no problem seating. We got a nice window table, staff was attentive and efficient, each course was perfectly prepared. All in all, our dining experience was first rate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal. The food and atmosp ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We enjoyed our meal. The food and atmosphere was good. Our server was inexperienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

One of or favorite restaurants! Great fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of or favorite restaurants! Great food, great staff, great wine list! What more could you ask for...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The choice of appetizers, entrees and de ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The choice of appetizers, entrees and desserts were incredible. The wait staff was very attentive and knowledgeable about everything on the menu and of course the specials of the day. We will definitely go back again and again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for dinner last week and it was out ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Went for dinner last week and it was outstanding. 40% off all bottles of wine made it even more outstanding . Great dinner spot for special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was tasty and served quickly, but t ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was tasty and served quickly, but there was no rush to get in and get out.

The menu had variety and the desserts were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought our visiting son here for Sun ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We brought our visiting son here for Sunday brunch. As always the food was excellent, the service delightful (Ben) and the ambiance great. We often come to the Cypress Grille as a date-night excuse, but find that brunch, lunch and dinner are always excellent. Don't forget to check out the specials - always something new and different.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal!! Very impressed with t ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding meal!! Very impressed with the facility and the staff. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not my family's first time here. We alwa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Not my family's first time here. We always love it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very enjoyable experience. Great food an ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. Great food and nice wine list. I didn't give it five stars because the service was noticeably slow. With that said, I will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Consistently good food and service! A l ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Consistently good food and service! A little pricey, but always enjoy our dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the roast smoked chicken - excellent ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had the roast smoked chicken - excellent! Also enjoyed their Belgium Triple beer, great to find a restaurant that has good brew in Boerne!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Absolutely awesome! Unreal that a restau ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Absolutely awesome! Unreal that a restaurant of this quality is located in little old' Boerne.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants in Boern ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Boerne. Wednesday 40% off bottled wine and Thursday the most fantastic Prime Rib . You will not be disappointed. The service was excellent and the food was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic and service was g ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was fantastic and service was great! We will definitely go back and again when visiting Boerne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food with reasonable prices. Great ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food with reasonable prices. Great atmosphere too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not a big enough menu for lunch as we we ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Not a big enough menu for lunch as we were hoping to have steak. Other than that is was pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are always good at ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food and service are always good at Cypress Grille. We eat there often with friends and drive there from our home about 35 minutes away. We like that we can bring our own wine and pay a corkage but their wine list is also good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was expensive and NOT GOOD! Four d ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was expensive and NOT GOOD! Four different entrees and none good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was not great and part of th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was not great and part of the lunch was good. I would not recommend the chicken salad at all.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Roasted chicken was awesome, my wife is ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Roasted chicken was awesome, my wife is still raving about it! My filet was great, along with asparagus and green beans. My Simi Cab hit the spot!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the variety of the menu offer ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed the variety of the menu offerings. My friends had the potato and eggplant lasagna and they said it was the BEST lasagna they had EVER had! They wanted to go back the next night and have it again. I ordered the fish and it was magnificent in presentation as well as taste. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Boerne to visit Cypress Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food prep continues to be a surprise - b ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food prep continues to be a surprise - because it's invariably solid, imaginative. Haven't had a setback yet. Setting a nice standard for an excellent Boerne dining choice. Ordered an extra serving of the sauteed spinach with artichoke hearts... Do it..!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent menu options. Nice wine list. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent menu options. Nice wine list. Exceptionally attentive, but not overbearing wait staff. A nice place to have a meal and relax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service. A classy ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always great food and service. A classy place that's never noisy but still active. It's a "go to" place in Boerne where we've never had poor food or service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down best food we had in Boerne. I ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Hands down best food we had in Boerne. I had the Cobb salad with grilled shrimp, fried oysters AND a crab cake. ( Special order). OMG. DElish! The dressing was great and I wished I had gone back the next night instead of trying the place down the street

I he service was attentive and accurate but not overly bothersome . If you only go one place in Boerne, go hear. Skip the other place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food! Great Service

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome food! Great Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a pleasure having lunch with a gr ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was a pleasure having lunch with a group of 6 where we could actually hear each other talk.

The food was awesome. Wait staff couldn't have been any more patient or accommodating.

Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cypress Grill is our go to restaurant f ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Cypress Grill is our go to restaurant for special friends and for our special occasions. We have never been disappointed and will return again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good but we had a great experienc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always good but we had a great experience the other night, food and service were outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meal, wait staff is very kno ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent meal, wait staff is very knowledgeable and friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good avg to great and service consistently poor

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I have visited this establishment a four times over the last year and the food can be just average to really good, just kind of hit or miss. Consistently the service is mediocre at best, I have waited 20 minutes for a waitperson after being seated and the meals just kind of trickle out of the kitchen as they become ready. Tricky with 5 people getting their entrees over a 5-7 minute period. I really want this place to be stellar as it saves the drive into San Antonio, but for now my family and I will make the drive as opposed to dining here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Cypress Grille

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Cypress Grille is my favorite place in Boerne but the last time I went my Lima beans were overcooked to the point that I couldn't eat them. Also, My tuna was supposed to be seared but it seemed like they didn't really sear it. I mean, it was good, just not outstanding which is what I expect.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Cozy and Romantic

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Very nice layout of restaurant separate from the bar crowd! Nice cozy nooks for dining and great ambience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch! Fresh and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch! Fresh and plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I eat here often and am never disappointed! It's great for any occasion

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day weekend

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our service was less than desirable. She didn't appear to know much about the food.

Didnt have a full bar.

Nice wine list, and beer only...the steak my husband ordered was 14oz but it was extremely thin.

On positive side, the kids steak was perfect and extremely tasty and tender for our son. I ended up having only a salad because was not impressed with menu.

Overall, disappointed with our first and probably only experience at this restaurant. The amount of money we shelled out for less than desirable dining experience was sickening.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Do not waste your money

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The Cypress Grille is a waste of money. Four of us went and four entree's were mediocre at best.

Center cut tenderloin tough and too well done for how it was ordered, ribeye's were chewy and grisly and my lamb had no flavor. That is hard for lamb. The side dishes were lukewarm adding insult to injury.

Made the mistake of not following the negative reviews on Yelp.

Bohannan's will be in Boerne soon and Valeria's is excellent. If you are a foodie, Cypress Grille is not your restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Among the Best

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

If you're in Boerne, you only have a few choices at upscale food eateries. This is one of them. Enough of a diverse menu to satisfy most anyone. The only negative I have to say about them is they are tight with the bread. I suppose it's healthier for me to skip the second or third roll, but I still get irked when they bring only enough bread for 1 apiece. Small complaint. And you can buy additional, so not too bad. Food seems handcrafted and made to order. Top it off with great service and this is one of the few quality places we go back to in Boerne repeatedly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.