About Cypress Grille

Located in charming Boerne, Texas, the Cypress Grille is a culinary destination. Executive Chef and Owner Tom Stevens is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park and Owner/Operator Paul Thompson is a graduate from Le Cordon Bleu Austin. The entire team of the Cypress Grille welcomes you to come in and enjoy your favorite California wine from our large wine collection while dining in style in our large bar area or at a comfy table in the dining room. Wherever you choose your experience, it is our goal to make it memorable. Our specialty is culinary deliciousness! We look forward to serving you!

170 South Main
Boerne, TX 78006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 248-1353

Website:
http://www.cgboerne.com/

Catering:
Catering available for wedding, corporate, and many other functions. Please call or email for more information.

Parking Details:
On Main Street and Behind Bank of America do NOT PARK in the BOERNE CITY CENTER they WILL tow your vehicle

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stevens

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining for up to 30 people - $50.00 Room Fee

Private Party Contact:
Shanda Stevens: (830) 248-1353

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cypress Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Cozy (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Romantic (17)
Casual (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Healthy (12)
Business Meals (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (10)
Historic (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Fun (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food. There was a failure in the kitchen exhaust system though. It became too smokey to safely eat inside. They really did their best to accommodate everything though. I'd go back any day.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were seated by the hostess and did not receive service of any kind for over 15 minutes! Once a server did arrive she was helpful. The food was mediocre at best. The crab cakes were awful. My husbands chicken was tasty but overall it was not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We were very disappointed. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Food was very mediocre -- lobster ravioli was underdone (not even al dente); mahi mahi was overdone and dry. My husband's rib eye was Ok, not super. Dessert was very good however. We provided feedback to the waiter, but the restaurant manager did not come out and correct the situation. For a $150 dinner for two (with wine); it was a big disappointment. Would NOT recommend this to friends!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Outstanding food but as the lunch hour rolled along, the noise level increased so much that you could hardly hear the person sitting across from you at your table.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great atmosphere with wooden floors, hill county decor. Paul the owner/chef does a great job with the cuisine. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This has always been a friendly place, exceptional staff, very attentive.

You receive a good value for your money.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A little noisey due to dining area being full. We had to raise our voices to be heard across the small table for two. I opted for the off menu special of stuffed salmon with crab sauce. It was quite tasty but the sauce was a little too salty for my taste. My wife had the ribeye steak which was grilled over wood with good flavor and tenderness. For dessert we had creme brule and a scoup (very small) of house made butterfinger ice cream. Both were very good.

Prices were a little high for us with our total being over $100 with a bottle of less expensive wine. After all it was a special occasion being our Valentine meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice place but not overwhelming. Food was pricey for what it was (home style with a twist) and too salty for both our palates. Nice atmosphere however.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Seemed noisy, but then lots of places seem like that for this group of seniors! Everyone enjoyed their food and the attractiveness of the plating. My tenderloin was beyond tender and cooked to a perfect "medium". Appreciated the option of inexpensive wine by the glass, so much so that I ordered a second. This restaurant remains at the top of our list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Have been many times and never disappointed. Were celebrating my wife's birthday and was again a great experience. Seated quickly at a central table allowing us to observe the dining and kitchen area. Service by Destiny was outstanding and went way out of her way to make our night memorable. The owner even stopped by and spent a good bit of time chatting with us. Food is always top notch, pace of servings allowed a nice leisurely fulfilling evening. Will be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful restaurant, great food, exceptional service. Love going to the Capital Grille!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was the perfect place to meet with old friends. The food was excellent. Service was Superb! The atmosphere was quiet and pleasant! We would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends...and go there to meet them! TY!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Cypress Grille is always fantastic for any occasion. What a great find. The lunch is amazing and the dinner is wonderful.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my first visit. Although our waitress was very friendly, we barley saw her and had slow service. Our reservation was for 7pm and we received entrees about 8:30pm. I ordered the scallops, which I iiked, but they were definitely over-seasoned and I didn't think it was worth it to send them back. It was a very expensive meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a first visit and we were amply impressed by the appetizer, Duck Lettuce Wraps. The wait staff was very capable. I ordered from the special Restaurant Week menu and all 3 courses were very ho-hum. Hubs ordered off the menu and his grilled fish was over cooked. The beer and wine were excellent, but that didn’t give us enough reason to return for a very ordinary meal that cost well over $100.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was very good. Our server, however, forgot our salad and, after we finished our coffee, remembered our dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Portions were large and attractively presented. Perfectly seasoned rare ahi tuna with baby bok Choy was my main course. It was delicious and fried calamari was my appetizer. I took home most of my food because the servering size was so large especially of the shrimp and calamari. I will certainly plan another trip to Boerne when I haven't eaten all day for another meal at the Cypress Grille!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was my first visit to Cypress Grill Restaurant since moving to San Antonio recently. Made a reservation for four and drove an hour to get there. I ordered the "pork chop with house made applesauce." When it was served there was barely a teaspoon of applesauce so I asked for more on the side. Was told there would be a charge for extra. REALLY? A $29 porkchop and I'm asked to pay for more than a teaspoon of applesauce? Very disappointing! Don't plan to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 20, 2017

First, you are met with the wonderful aroma of a wood burning kitchen. The decor is rustic,neat, comfortable, pleasing. Service is just right...not too much attention, but just the right amount of attention. Menu covers the array of protein selection and includes vegan/vegetarian (think gluten-free as well). I had Pork Chop stuffed with smoky gouda cheese...cooked just right. Spouse had the buffalo burger sans bun - was a little dry, but bison usually is a little dry. All in all an enjoyable evening...as we have experienced in the past. Recommended!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Casual, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Excellent restaurant in what is otherwise a town with not many other "excellent" ones.

Food is beautifully prepared and thoughtfully composed.

Server was very good.

Seating, ambiance, noise level were all excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great place to meet friends while visiting the area. Good food and they would split the entrees which helps my husband and I. Yummy bread with infused rosemary olive oil.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We can always count on this restaurant for nice atmosphere, good food and friendly service. Recommend this to everyone that would like a nice meal and good wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Love love Cypress Grille. Always love lunch specials.

We are frequent fliers here and only thing I would recommend is to change up their dinner menu. While they akways have a special I believe the dinner menu as well as lunch menu has had the same choices for last 4-5 years! I have been getting the Halibut with ravioli for as long as I can remember...

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Historic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always had a good to great experience at Cypress Grille. One of my favorite restaurants in the San Antonio/Boerne area period. This time the fish entrees were a little bit disappointing- my mahi was mildly overcooked and my mom's salmon special was good but the various elements did not seem to go together as well. Perhaps the chef was experimenting that evening.

Service was outstanding, and our helpful and always accomodating server pointed out the Wed Wine special that we availed of, and the crab cake appetizer portion was great and dessert (lava cake) was outstanding. My daughter's vegetable lasagna which she always gets (as only listed veggie entree on menu besides salad selection) was outstanding as always. The tables were perhaps half occupied mid-week evening so atmosphere was ideal for a quiet, subdued and relaxing conversation

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food is always great. Never had a bad experience, no matter what was ordered. Wait staff is always friendly and experienced. They are available for questions or to bring an extra napkin. The ambiance is warm and inviting. A great place to relax and enjoy a meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went on NYE so it is probably not fair to criticize, but it was almost awful (we bought a nice bottle of wine that carried us through the experience). We had to walk into the kitchen to ask for the bread, twice. Our waiter showed up only once on his own and we had to run him down the rest of the time. My wife's fish was overcooked and very tough (they took it off the bill). My scallop dish was fine.

I think a restaurant should be judged on how it performs on difficult occasions like NYE. This used to be the Corner Wine Bar and I'm sorry it changed hands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Spent New Year's Eve there and had superb food and an outstanding waitress. DIdn't like the table they reservedcinitially and they went above and beyond make another table happen on that busy night. Great service and great food... will recommend it any time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite place for dinner! Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was delicious. Ceviche outstanding. Nice wine selection. Great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Consistently good!

Paul and Tom, owners, know food and do everything well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed the evening but was pricey for what we ordered.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love this place, worth the drive from Kerrville. My sisters and niece from Austin meet during the holidays for a special lunch. This is the third time we have come to this restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We have been coming to the Grille since it opened many years ago. The quality of the dishes is consistently good. The wine list is very deep and continues to satisfy. Waitstaff come and go, but Justin took good care of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had friends from out of town that we hadn't seen in years and took them out to dinner to experience great dining in Boerne. We had eaten at Cypress Grille previously and thought it was very good. I am sorry to say that this was not our experience this time. Service was very poor and most of us left the majority of our meal on our plates. Given the prices of items on the menu, we expected outstanding food. That simply was not the case. I appreciate the opportunity to comment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I have been to Cypress grill countless times. We live in Boerne. We Always enjoy. Love the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Everyone enjoyed the food and our server was very nice. There was a bit of a lag between the appetizers and the entrees. We celebrated a birthday which was acknowledged with a free dessert. Nice ambience, good food and friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was delicious. All 5 of us had something different but the favorites of the day were the tomato basil soup and the salmon sandwich. The salmon - we all agreed was the best we've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I love this place so very much!! I want to meet the chef and shake his hand. My husband and I love to cook and really appreciate finding good quality food and the ambiance that makes it such a nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantasy dining experience. The staff was very knowledgeable about the food and with wine pairings. The food was superb and the vast wine selection (by glass and bottle) made it easy for everyone to drink what they wanted bassd on their choice of food. This was my second dining experience there, and I will most certainly go back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great and innovative meal. Good service, great wine list. quiet and casual. Went there for Mother's birthday. Staff was great and prepared lovely birthday dessert for her 79th!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love to go to Cypress Grille. The food is always delicious and we have many favorites. The calamari is our favorite appetizer. I love the butter lettuce salad with homemade ranch dressing and they always have a delicious soup( my husband is partial to the Shiner Cheese soup) but the little filet steals the show. Or at least until you see the dessert menu....their creme brûlée is so creamy and good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was delicious. We had everything from the calamari to portabella pasta and it was all delicious. The service was really good and our waitress was very personable. We wish the menu for Sunday lunch was bigger or included more brunch items. However, we love the Cypress Grill and will continue to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This restaurant was one of two options we considered, and we were very pleased with our choice. Food was excellent, setting was lovely, and our trip to Boerne was enhanced by eating at this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Tom and Paul, owners, do an excellent job of running a very nice restaurant with a versatile menu and good service. By the way, very good food too! Have dined there many times and never disappointed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food, wonderful service. We had the chicken and waffles, which was a daily special and ahi tuna salad. Very fresh, quality ingredients. Lunch menu is great value. Lovely ambience. The establishment was decked out for Christmas.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Fireplace, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Everything was great!! We really enjoyed ourselves, we were there for our company Christmas Party. However the only downfall was it seem to take a long time to get A waiter to our table to wait on us. and when our drink order was placed, We would wait a good 10-15 minutes for our refills every time we request them. Other than that We had a very Pleasant Experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great service and food. Amazing wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always good food and great ambiance. Service to large group was excellent and friendly. One of our favorite local eating spots!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Had lunch with three other friends and we had a wonderful time. The food, ambiance and a spectacular waiter who said his name is "Kale." I have to take him at his word. What we say around here is "Cypress Grille is realibable. The food and service are consistently very good."

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.