Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Cypress Grille

Located in charming Boerne, Texas, the Cypress Grille is a culinary destination. Executive Chef and Owner Tom Stevens is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park and Owner/Operator Paul Thompson is a graduate from Le Cordon Bleu Austin. The entire team of the Cypress Grille welcomes you to come in and enjoy your favorite California wine from our large wine collection while dining in style in our large bar area or at a comfy table in the dining room. Wherever you choose your experience, it is our goal to make it memorable. Our specialty is culinary deliciousness! We look forward to serving you!

170 South Main
Boerne, TX 78006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 248-1353

Website:
http://www.cgboerne.com/

Catering:
Catering available for wedding, corporate, and many other functions. Please call or email for more information.

Parking Details:
On Main Street and Behind Bank of America do NOT PARK in the BOERNE CITY CENTER they WILL tow your vehicle

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stevens

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining for up to 30 people - $50.00 Room Fee

Private Party Contact:
Roland Villagran: (830) 248-1353

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cypress Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Romantic (15)
Casual (15)
Cozy (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Healthy (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great dining experience. The menu is outstanding. All four of us had different dishes, and everyone was pleased. The service was great and we were not rushed. Would return for sure!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent. The steak was well seasoned and cooked perfectly. The mac and cheese is a must!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great service! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Relaxed, attentive staff, excellent food and selections from a Mother's Day Buffet.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had reservations but still waited 20 minutes to get seated. Then did not have first contact with wait staff until 5-10 minutes after that. Waitress was very apologetic and made it right thereafter. Food was excellent as always. Aside from the log delays initially, was a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Over the years, consistently good! Can always depend upon a great dining experience with a local flavor and touch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The Cypress Grille never disappoints! The ambiance, decor, service and especially the food, are excellent! We've gone here for special occasions as well as meeting friends for lunch. Everything we have tried on the menu is incredible!! Unfortunately, it's a 45 min. drive from our home, or we would go more often! Highly, recommend the Cypress Grille for any occasion!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 12, 2017

A lovely evening! Delicious food, excellent service and friendly ambiance. Will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The waitress was nice but our food took over an hour and a half. We arrived at 6:45 and did not leave until well after 9 and most of the time we spent waiting. They were nice and comped us some coffee and dessert.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My husband and I love to eat here on our date nights. The food and service is always great! We love the salads and the ribeye is outstanding! Great wine selection too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service very good food wish they had martini or a whiskey bar instead of just beer and wine offerings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Very good salads for lunch. I had the Texas Cobb salad with grilled shrimp. My coworker had the Grilled Chicken salad. Both were very nice.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This was our first time for dinner and had out-of-town family joining us for my birthday. We were all very pleasantly surprised that on Wednesday's there is a 40% discount on all bottles of wine! Perfect start and it only got better! The service was excellent, the food was absolutely delicious and my birthday dinner couldn't have been better! Thank you, we'll definitely be back, and probably on another Wednesday:)!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Been coming off and on for 10 years. This dinner was disappointing. The Caesar salad had SO MUCH dressing we had to send it back.

The rib eye steak was tougher than a New York Strip. The flavor was okay but very chewy! Definitely not worth $36.00 for this one.

Will think twice before coming back. Too bad.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Lamb Chops were cooked to perfection! Wine suggestion was excellent. If you ever go ask for Kale...he will take care of you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch - A little bit of everything on the buffet... from Ham and Prime Rib to Half-Shell Oysters and Shrimp. Great sides and creative desserts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter - love it- and the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food is always good. Atmosphere is nice. Austin is the best waiter! Whatever they pay him isn't enough so he always deserves a good tip! My daughter says, "You can never go wrong with the Buffalo Burger!" I have never had a disappointment off the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very good place to dine. The day we were there was busy and the service coverage was a little disorganized. Once that was straightened out, the rest of the dinner was great. Very good food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2017

For any occasion in your area, Cypress Grill is our choice. It is our favorite spot for food and service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2017

An outstanding restaurant offering a wide variety of menu choices. Great homemade soups, appetizers and desserts add to the wonderful menu. Service is efficient, attentive but not over-bearing. Ownership takes great pride in making your meal a memorable one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Everything was perfect ...the food, the atmosphere, the friendly service, the special visit from the chef. We are frequent patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Always great food- wonderful lunch atmosphere with exceptional food. Good service.
Bar is delightful for light bites.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This was the worst meal I've ever eaten. The meat and fish was under dome and salty. Wine was not chilled. Bread for dipping was little biscuits which didn't make sense. We were passing from out of town and based our decision on the ratings. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The staff celebrated the birthdays of two staff members, one of whom is also leaving the office to take a position at another business. So this was definitely a special lunch. Wait staff was exceptional and enthusiastic -- worked with us to make the experience one both honorees will fondly remember. Cypress Grille is our #1 go-to lunch spot! Thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Usual excellent meal; however we showed up ahead of time and yet afterwards received a phone message and an email from Open Table that we were a no show. Spoke to the manager that evening and he said he would take care of the problem and contact Open Table to take the no-show off our account.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Consistent in all respects: scrumptious food, great service, excellent wine list, glorious ambience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Nice, very nice. Service was a bit of a faster pace than we prefer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Previous visits were much better, but the steak/crab special wasn't up to par. The steak was over cooked a little, but the main issue is that it was extremely tough.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was such an excellent restaurant. The food was fantastic. A wide range of tastes and pricing. Our group of 9 was accommodated quickly and the service was extraordinary. It was a busy Friday night and the service was still what we expected on a regular basis. Wine library was extensive and broad based including inexpensive wines.
Would recommend to all friends and family.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Took my wife for anniversary and she can't stop saying great thing about the experience; what a Gem!

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful for dinner and lunch. The food never disappoints. Nice wines, good service, and ambience. Their specials are always excellent. Steaks cooked perfectly, seafood cooked properly and it's all delicious. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food. There was a failure in the kitchen exhaust system though. It became too smokey to safely eat inside. They really did their best to accommodate everything though. I'd go back any day.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were seated by the hostess and did not receive service of any kind for over 15 minutes! Once a server did arrive she was helpful. The food was mediocre at best. The crab cakes were awful. My husbands chicken was tasty but overall it was not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We were very disappointed. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Food was very mediocre -- lobster ravioli was underdone (not even al dente); mahi mahi was overdone and dry. My husband's rib eye was Ok, not super. Dessert was very good however. We provided feedback to the waiter, but the restaurant manager did not come out and correct the situation. For a $150 dinner for two (with wine); it was a big disappointment. Would NOT recommend this to friends!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Outstanding food but as the lunch hour rolled along, the noise level increased so much that you could hardly hear the person sitting across from you at your table.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great atmosphere with wooden floors, hill county decor. Paul the owner/chef does a great job with the cuisine. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This has always been a friendly place, exceptional staff, very attentive.
You receive a good value for your money.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A little noisey due to dining area being full. We had to raise our voices to be heard across the small table for two. I opted for the off menu special of stuffed salmon with crab sauce. It was quite tasty but the sauce was a little too salty for my taste. My wife had the ribeye steak which was grilled over wood with good flavor and tenderness. For dessert we had creme brule and a scoup (very small) of house made butterfinger ice cream. Both were very good.
Prices were a little high for us with our total being over $100 with a bottle of less expensive wine. After all it was a special occasion being our Valentine meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice place but not overwhelming. Food was pricey for what it was (home style with a twist) and too salty for both our palates. Nice atmosphere however.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.