Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Cypress Grille

Located in charming Boerne, Texas, the Cypress Grille is a culinary destination. Executive Chef and Owner Tom Stevens is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park and Owner/Operator Paul Thompson is a graduate from Le Cordon Bleu Austin. The entire team of the Cypress Grille welcomes you to come in and enjoy your favorite California wine from our large wine collection while dining in style in our large bar area or at a comfy table in the dining room. Wherever you choose your experience, it is our goal to make it memorable. Our specialty is culinary deliciousness! We look forward to serving you!

170 South Main
Boerne, TX 78006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 248-1353

Website:
http://www.cgboerne.com/

Catering:
Catering available for wedding, corporate, and many other functions. Please call or email for more information.

Parking Details:
On Main Street and Behind Bank of America do NOT PARK in the BOERNE CITY CENTER they WILL tow your vehicle

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stevens

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining for up to 30 people - $50.00 Room Fee

Private Party Contact:
Roland Villagran: (830) 248-1353

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cypress Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Romantic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Many menu items were not available. My Cobb salad was a very small portion for $14. My husbands buffalo burger was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My husband and I loved our food and experience at Cypress Grille! Everything was amazing and worth the cost. Great service and ambiance. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Everybody was very welcoming and the food was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I've been to cypress grill many times and each time was Great. This last time was very disappointing. My steak and baked potatoes were barely Luke warm. Made me wonder just how long my meal was ready before the waiter brought me my plate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We found this Boerne restaurant to be worth a trip. It's well-appointed, comfortable and while not exactly cozy, it was not too loud or cramped on a busy Saturday night. Service was exceptional. Our waitress was attentive and offered us useful information about our choices. That was especially helpful because the menu is extensive and there were probably a half-dozen entrees or more that sounded equally tasty. We shared the chef's appetizer of the day, a moo shu pork-like wrap on a bed of thin-sliced cured meat. My husband had the posole with crab, scallops, clams and shrimp in a light tomatillo broth. I had the blackened sea scallops which came with andouille sausage and a spicy sweet potato hash. For dessert, we had a vanilla been creme brule and a warm chocolate cake with house-made vanilla bean ice cream. The restaurant doesn't have a full bar but the wine list is extensive and it has a small but excellent selection of beers, including some outstanding ones on tap. The food portions were perfect. Every dish was complex and imaginative. Overall, everything was top-notch. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We are regulars. Our server was new and apologized for several things. Would love a new menu.... put in remarks when reserved that we had 2 happy Birthday gals 70th. No small dessert to surprise her by CG. Pllllllllleassssssseeeeee get a new menu beside the specials....

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great food. Ok service. Great wine deal on Wednesdays. Pretty loud with only 50% full. Fairly expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Loved the food. Service was mediocre at best. Inattentive at worst. Very disappointed about the lack of a cocktail menu. Would recommend after one other visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Locally owned and shines well on many items. All are good. Some better than others.
Don't be timid, ask the server or the duty chef, or even the owner if he's around. Especially if its your first visit. All the locals are found of this place and its proprietor. Some items are maybe a little too "fancy" for my simple tastes, but I've never been disappointed. The lamb is excellent. Ribeye a winner. All fish entrees. Appetizers all good. I actually wish Paul would conjure up a meat loaf or something like that, and peach cobbler. Would love to see his treatment on those. But there are so many items we have not yet tried, that we will.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The service was so slow- we waited an hour for our first course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food was excellent, the service was very attentive BUT the noise level was very high. My husband and I had to speak to each other at top volume. No TV, no music - just people who do not realize other people do not want to hear their conversation.

On the negative side. I wanted to eat there during restaurant week. I wanted to find out what the menu for that would be, Their phone number only permits interaction with a computer; instructions how to make a reservation. When we arrived and saw the special menu, it was a great disappointment. If I had known what was on that menu, we would not have driven the 40 miles. We ordered from the regular menu. Lunch cost $45.00 for 2 entrees, an appetizer and 2 iced teas. This is at the very top of our budget. The estimated $100.00 for dinner for 2 will preclude our eating that meal there.

However, as previously wen, the food was excellent and we will eat lunch there again.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We go here for dinner frequently, but the last couple times we've been disappointed. Listed menu items left off the dish, service not as spot on as in the past....just hasn't been as good as it used to be. Maybe we will give it a break for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 15, 2017

First visit here during SA restaurant week. Delicious food--the Frozen Citrus Souffle was excellent! Portions were very generous & the wait staff was very pleasant! We will be back!😁

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was very good and service was great. We were in Boerne for weekend and celebrating our anniversary. Restaurant recommended by friends and our first time in restaurant. We were very pleased with Cypress Grille and will visit again if we are ever back in Boerne.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

No full bar. Several wine selections were out. Two entrees were so over salted , we could not eat. Vegetables were cold. Ate here last year, disappointed this year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We come back to the Cypress Grill whenever we are in the area. It is a casual and relaxing venue with great food and great service. Warm atmosphere from the beginning with personable wait staff. The menu has a good variety and some unusual items on it (like wild game). Prepared very well. A large wine list and a full bar will match your thirst for the meal.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We got there with 2 more people than our reservation but after a bit of discussion on how to accommodate us, we were seated. there were several large parties like ours but they were able to make room. Can't beat the customer service there. We all agreed that it was worth a return trip since the food was outstanding with service to match.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Love the cypress grille and are devoted fans. Eggplant entree is wonderful and the seared tuna was yummy too. Our service was lacking this past visit. Received our entrees before our salads so we called the salads off. Granted we were coming in late that evening but felt a bit ignored, especially considering all the previous visits before with excellent service. Think it was an aberration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent food every visit I've had. Very friendly staff. Great wine selection. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Really impressed with the service and hospitality from everyone - door to table, to ending of a great dining experience. Our waitress Cristina was very knowledgeable and very patient. the flow of the food was timely. All dishes had a great presentation, and tasted delicious. Special the final touch - Homemade Key Lime Pie... It was our first time visiting Boerne, and Cypress Grill left us with a great impression, and wanting to come back again soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Every time we visit Boerne, this place is one of our favorites. The foi gra was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was great! The Texas Cobb with Grilled Shrimp, avocado, mango and more, was fabulous! My friend got the Beef Tenderloin, and it was perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 17, 2017

When we found out a relative owned this restaurant we decided to give it a try to celebrate 3 birthdays, an anniversary and Father's Day. We were pleasantly engaged with the wait staff, the decor and the food was scrumptious!!!. Unfortunately, our 2nd cousin, Chef Tom was not at this location, but at his other restaurant down the street (different venue and menu). So, we did not get to meet and converse with him. Will go again and make sure we connect!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Service is always great and the food is interesting .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We arrived this evening with a reservation for four and were promptly seated at one of the booths on the right. These are nice because they offer a quiter area for conversation but require two of the four to sit at angle so you can visit without getting a crick in your neck. If you would rather sit at a table for four you may feel more comfortable but you will be in a noisier area so you have to decide which works best for you. We started with the calamari appetizer and chefs soup special which were both delicious. Two of us ordered the chefs fish special which was fabulous (you can never go wrong with the chefs specials here). The other two ordered the pork chops which is a large portion but is succulent and delicious as well. Very good food at a more reasonable price than many other fine dining establishments. My only issue with this restaurant is I would like to have some other wines available by the glass. I do not like many of the reds they offer but I also am not wanting to buy a bottle. They may have some better options if you go that direction. Always excellent attentive wait staff.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Unexpected excellence that deserves high praise. We went to celebrate my father's birthday and felt that the food, ambience, and service honored him well. It was a treat from beginning to end, appetizers and wine to entrees and dessert, and it was wonderful to see the kitchen staff taking pride in every detail. We don't live near Boerne, but we'll be making the trip again just for this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a great dining experience. The menu is outstanding. All four of us had different dishes, and everyone was pleased. The service was great and we were not rushed. Would return for sure!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food was excellent. The steak was well seasoned and cooked perfectly. The mac and cheese is a must!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food and great service! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We love this place. Great food, well prepared. Mostly excellent service (delightful people eager to serve, but maybe one waiter who mumbles a bit and harder to hear). Good wine choices by glass (we usually try different options and share). The specials are always creative and well thought out.

We are regulars and plan to continue to be - wonderful night out in the hill country of Boerne at Cypress Grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Relaxed, attentive staff, excellent food and selections from a Mother's Day Buffet.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had reservations but still waited 20 minutes to get seated. Then did not have first contact with wait staff until 5-10 minutes after that. Waitress was very apologetic and made it right thereafter. Food was excellent as always. Aside from the log delays initially, was a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Over the years, consistently good! Can always depend upon a great dining experience with a local flavor and touch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The Cypress Grille never disappoints! The ambiance, decor, service and especially the food, are excellent! We've gone here for special occasions as well as meeting friends for lunch. Everything we have tried on the menu is incredible!! Unfortunately, it's a 45 min. drive from our home, or we would go more often! Highly, recommend the Cypress Grille for any occasion!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 11, 2017

A lovely evening! Delicious food, excellent service and friendly ambiance. Will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The waitress was nice but our food took over an hour and a half. We arrived at 6:45 and did not leave until well after 9 and most of the time we spent waiting. They were nice and comped us some coffee and dessert.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My husband and I love to eat here on our date nights. The food and service is always great! We love the salads and the ribeye is outstanding! Great wine selection too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great service very good food wish they had martini or a whiskey bar instead of just beer and wine offerings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Very good salads for lunch. I had the Texas Cobb salad with grilled shrimp. My coworker had the Grilled Chicken salad. Both were very nice.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This was our first time for dinner and had out-of-town family joining us for my birthday. We were all very pleasantly surprised that on Wednesday's there is a 40% discount on all bottles of wine! Perfect start and it only got better! The service was excellent, the food was absolutely delicious and my birthday dinner couldn't have been better! Thank you, we'll definitely be back, and probably on another Wednesday:)!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.