Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Cypress Grille

Located in charming Boerne, Texas, the Cypress Grille is a culinary destination. Executive Chef and Owner Tom Stevens is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park and Owner/Operator Paul Thompson is a graduate from Le Cordon Bleu Austin. The entire team of the Cypress Grille welcomes you to come in and enjoy your favorite California wine from our large wine collection while dining in style in our large bar area or at a comfy table in the dining room. Wherever you choose your experience, it is our goal to make it memorable. Our specialty is culinary deliciousness! We look forward to serving you!

170 South Main
Boerne, TX 78006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 248-1353

Website:
http://www.cgboerne.com/

Catering:
Catering available for wedding, corporate, and many other functions. Please call or email for more information.

Parking Details:
On Main Street and Behind Bank of America do NOT PARK in the BOERNE CITY CENTER they WILL tow your vehicle

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stevens

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining for up to 30 people - $50.00 Room Fee

Private Party Contact:
Roland Villagran: (830) 248-1353

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cypress Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (17)
Casual (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Romantic (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Historic (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Been coming off and on for 10 years. This dinner was disappointing. The Caesar salad had SO MUCH dressing we had to send it back.

The rib eye steak was tougher than a New York Strip. The flavor was okay but very chewy! Definitely not worth $36.00 for this one.

Will think twice before coming back. Too bad.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch - A little bit of everything on the buffet... from Ham and Prime Rib to Half-Shell Oysters and Shrimp. Great sides and creative desserts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food is always good. Atmosphere is nice. Austin is the best waiter! Whatever they pay him isn't enough so he always deserves a good tip! My daughter says, "You can never go wrong with the Buffalo Burger!" I have never had a disappointment off the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very good place to dine. The day we were there was busy and the service coverage was a little disorganized. Once that was straightened out, the rest of the dinner was great. Very good food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2017

For any occasion in your area, Cypress Grill is our choice. It is our favorite spot for food and service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2017

An outstanding restaurant offering a wide variety of menu choices. Great homemade soups, appetizers and desserts add to the wonderful menu. Service is efficient, attentive but not over-bearing. Ownership takes great pride in making your meal a memorable one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Everything was perfect ...the food, the atmosphere, the friendly service, the special visit from the chef. We are frequent patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Always great food- wonderful lunch atmosphere with exceptional food. Good service.
Bar is delightful for light bites.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This was the worst meal I've ever eaten. The meat and fish was under dome and salty. Wine was not chilled. Bread for dipping was little biscuits which didn't make sense. We were passing from out of town and based our decision on the ratings. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The staff celebrated the birthdays of two staff members, one of whom is also leaving the office to take a position at another business. So this was definitely a special lunch. Wait staff was exceptional and enthusiastic -- worked with us to make the experience one both honorees will fondly remember. Cypress Grille is our #1 go-to lunch spot! Thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Usual excellent meal; however we showed up ahead of time and yet afterwards received a phone message and an email from Open Table that we were a no show. Spoke to the manager that evening and he said he would take care of the problem and contact Open Table to take the no-show off our account.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Consistent in all respects: scrumptious food, great service, excellent wine list, glorious ambience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Nice, very nice. Service was a bit of a faster pace than we prefer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Previous visits were much better, but the steak/crab special wasn't up to par. The steak was over cooked a little, but the main issue is that it was extremely tough.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was such an excellent restaurant. The food was fantastic. A wide range of tastes and pricing. Our group of 9 was accommodated quickly and the service was extraordinary. It was a busy Friday night and the service was still what we expected on a regular basis. Wine library was extensive and broad based including inexpensive wines.
Would recommend to all friends and family.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Took my wife for anniversary and she can't stop saying great thing about the experience; what a Gem!

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful for dinner and lunch. The food never disappoints. Nice wines, good service, and ambience. Their specials are always excellent. Steaks cooked perfectly, seafood cooked properly and it's all delicious. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food. There was a failure in the kitchen exhaust system though. It became too smokey to safely eat inside. They really did their best to accommodate everything though. I'd go back any day.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were seated by the hostess and did not receive service of any kind for over 15 minutes! Once a server did arrive she was helpful. The food was mediocre at best. The crab cakes were awful. My husbands chicken was tasty but overall it was not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We were very disappointed. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Food was very mediocre -- lobster ravioli was underdone (not even al dente); mahi mahi was overdone and dry. My husband's rib eye was Ok, not super. Dessert was very good however. We provided feedback to the waiter, but the restaurant manager did not come out and correct the situation. For a $150 dinner for two (with wine); it was a big disappointment. Would NOT recommend this to friends!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Outstanding food but as the lunch hour rolled along, the noise level increased so much that you could hardly hear the person sitting across from you at your table.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great atmosphere with wooden floors, hill county decor. Paul the owner/chef does a great job with the cuisine. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This has always been a friendly place, exceptional staff, very attentive.
You receive a good value for your money.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A little noisey due to dining area being full. We had to raise our voices to be heard across the small table for two. I opted for the off menu special of stuffed salmon with crab sauce. It was quite tasty but the sauce was a little too salty for my taste. My wife had the ribeye steak which was grilled over wood with good flavor and tenderness. For dessert we had creme brule and a scoup (very small) of house made butterfinger ice cream. Both were very good.
Prices were a little high for us with our total being over $100 with a bottle of less expensive wine. After all it was a special occasion being our Valentine meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice place but not overwhelming. Food was pricey for what it was (home style with a twist) and too salty for both our palates. Nice atmosphere however.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Seemed noisy, but then lots of places seem like that for this group of seniors! Everyone enjoyed their food and the attractiveness of the plating. My tenderloin was beyond tender and cooked to a perfect "medium". Appreciated the option of inexpensive wine by the glass, so much so that I ordered a second. This restaurant remains at the top of our list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Have been many times and never disappointed. Were celebrating my wife's birthday and was again a great experience. Seated quickly at a central table allowing us to observe the dining and kitchen area. Service by Destiny was outstanding and went way out of her way to make our night memorable. The owner even stopped by and spent a good bit of time chatting with us. Food is always top notch, pace of servings allowed a nice leisurely fulfilling evening. Will be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful restaurant, great food, exceptional service. Love going to the Capital Grille!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was the perfect place to meet with old friends. The food was excellent. Service was Superb! The atmosphere was quiet and pleasant! We would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends...and go there to meet them! TY!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Cypress Grille is always fantastic for any occasion. What a great find. The lunch is amazing and the dinner is wonderful.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my first visit. Although our waitress was very friendly, we barley saw her and had slow service. Our reservation was for 7pm and we received entrees about 8:30pm. I ordered the scallops, which I iiked, but they were definitely over-seasoned and I didn't think it was worth it to send them back. It was a very expensive meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a first visit and we were amply impressed by the appetizer, Duck Lettuce Wraps. The wait staff was very capable. I ordered from the special Restaurant Week menu and all 3 courses were very ho-hum. Hubs ordered off the menu and his grilled fish was over cooked. The beer and wine were excellent, but that didn’t give us enough reason to return for a very ordinary meal that cost well over $100.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was very good. Our server, however, forgot our salad and, after we finished our coffee, remembered our dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Portions were large and attractively presented. Perfectly seasoned rare ahi tuna with baby bok Choy was my main course. It was delicious and fried calamari was my appetizer. I took home most of my food because the servering size was so large especially of the shrimp and calamari. I will certainly plan another trip to Boerne when I haven't eaten all day for another meal at the Cypress Grille!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was my first visit to Cypress Grill Restaurant since moving to San Antonio recently. Made a reservation for four and drove an hour to get there. I ordered the "pork chop with house made applesauce." When it was served there was barely a teaspoon of applesauce so I asked for more on the side. Was told there would be a charge for extra. REALLY? A $29 porkchop and I'm asked to pay for more than a teaspoon of applesauce? Very disappointing! Don't plan to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 20, 2017

First, you are met with the wonderful aroma of a wood burning kitchen. The decor is rustic,neat, comfortable, pleasing. Service is just right...not too much attention, but just the right amount of attention. Menu covers the array of protein selection and includes vegan/vegetarian (think gluten-free as well). I had Pork Chop stuffed with smoky gouda cheese...cooked just right. Spouse had the buffalo burger sans bun - was a little dry, but bison usually is a little dry. All in all an enjoyable evening...as we have experienced in the past. Recommended!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Casual, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Excellent restaurant in what is otherwise a town with not many other "excellent" ones.
Food is beautifully prepared and thoughtfully composed.

Server was very good.

Seating, ambiance, noise level were all excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great place to meet friends while visiting the area. Good food and they would split the entrees which helps my husband and I. Yummy bread with infused rosemary olive oil.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We can always count on this restaurant for nice atmosphere, good food and friendly service. Recommend this to everyone that would like a nice meal and good wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Love love Cypress Grille. Always love lunch specials.
We are frequent fliers here and only thing I would recommend is to change up their dinner menu. While they akways have a special I believe the dinner menu as well as lunch menu has had the same choices for last 4-5 years! I have been getting the Halibut with ravioli for as long as I can remember...

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Historic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.