About Cypress Grille

170 South Main
Boerne, TX 78006
View Larger Map

Located in charming Boerne, Texas, the Cypress Grille is a culinary destination. Executive Chef and Owner Tom Stevens is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park and Owner/Operator Paul Thompson is a graduate from Le Cordon Bleu Austin. The entire team of the Cypress Grille welcomes you to come in and enjoy your favorite California wine from our large wine collection while dining in style in our large bar area or at a comfy table in the dining room. Wherever you choose your experience, it is our goal to make it memorable. Our specialty is culinary deliciousness! We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 248-1353

Website:
http://www.cgboerne.com/

Catering:
Catering available for wedding, corporate, and many other functions. Please call or email for more information.

Parking Details:
On Main Street and Behind Bank of America do NOT PARK in the BOERNE CITY CENTER they WILL tow your vehicle

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stevens

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining for up to 30 people - $50.00 Room Fee

Private Party Contact:
Shanda Stevens: 8302481353

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Cypress Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
1 More
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Boerne ›

special occasion (49)
great for lunch (41)
fit for foodies (38)
See All
neighborhood gem (33)
romantic (24)
good for groups (24)
notable wine list (21)
great for brunch (16)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite restaurants in Boern ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants in Boerne. Wednesday 40% off bottled wine and Thursday the most fantastic Prime Rib . You will not be disappointed. The service was excellent and the food was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic and service was g ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was fantastic and service was great! We will definitely go back and again when visiting Boerne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food with reasonable prices. Great ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food with reasonable prices. Great atmosphere too!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not a big enough menu for lunch as we we ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Not a big enough menu for lunch as we were hoping to have steak. Other than that is was pleasant.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are always good at ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food and service are always good at Cypress Grille. We eat there often with friends and drive there from our home about 35 minutes away. We like that we can bring our own wine and pay a corkage but their wine list is also good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was expensive and NOT GOOD! Four d ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was expensive and NOT GOOD! Four different entrees and none good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was not great and part of th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was not great and part of the lunch was good. I would not recommend the chicken salad at all.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Roasted chicken was awesome, my wife is ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Roasted chicken was awesome, my wife is still raving about it! My filet was great, along with asparagus and green beans. My Simi Cab hit the spot!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the variety of the menu offer ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed the variety of the menu offerings. My friends had the potato and eggplant lasagna and they said it was the BEST lasagna they had EVER had! They wanted to go back the next night and have it again. I ordered the fish and it was magnificent in presentation as well as taste. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Boerne to visit Cypress Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food prep continues to be a surprise - b ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food prep continues to be a surprise - because it's invariably solid, imaginative. Haven't had a setback yet. Setting a nice standard for an excellent Boerne dining choice. Ordered an extra serving of the sauteed spinach with artichoke hearts... Do it..!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent menu options. Nice wine list. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent menu options. Nice wine list. Exceptionally attentive, but not overbearing wait staff. A nice place to have a meal and relax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service. A classy ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always great food and service. A classy place that's never noisy but still active. It's a "go to" place in Boerne where we've never had poor food or service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down best food we had in Boerne. I ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Hands down best food we had in Boerne. I had the Cobb salad with grilled shrimp, fried oysters AND a crab cake. ( Special order). OMG. DElish! The dressing was great and I wished I had gone back the next night instead of trying the place down the street

I he service was attentive and accurate but not overly bothersome . If you only go one place in Boerne, go hear. Skip the other place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food! Great Service

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome food! Great Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a pleasure having lunch with a gr ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was a pleasure having lunch with a group of 6 where we could actually hear each other talk.

The food was awesome. Wait staff couldn't have been any more patient or accommodating.

Will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cypress Grill is our go to restaurant f ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Cypress Grill is our go to restaurant for special friends and for our special occasions. We have never been disappointed and will return again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good but we had a great experienc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always good but we had a great experience the other night, food and service were outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meal, wait staff is very kno ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent meal, wait staff is very knowledgeable and friendly

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good avg to great and service consistently poor

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I have visited this establishment a four times over the last year and the food can be just average to really good, just kind of hit or miss. Consistently the service is mediocre at best, I have waited 20 minutes for a waitperson after being seated and the meals just kind of trickle out of the kitchen as they become ready. Tricky with 5 people getting their entrees over a 5-7 minute period. I really want this place to be stellar as it saves the drive into San Antonio, but for now my family and I will make the drive as opposed to dining here.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Cypress Grille

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Cypress Grille is my favorite place in Boerne but the last time I went my Lima beans were overcooked to the point that I couldn't eat them. Also, My tuna was supposed to be seared but it seemed like they didn't really sear it. I mean, it was good, just not outstanding which is what I expect.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Cozy and Romantic

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Very nice layout of restaurant separate from the bar crowd! Nice cozy nooks for dining and great ambience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch! Fresh and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch! Fresh and plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I eat here often and am never disappointed! It's great for any occasion

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day weekend

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our service was less than desirable. She didn't appear to know much about the food.

Didnt have a full bar.

Nice wine list, and beer only...the steak my husband ordered was 14oz but it was extremely thin.

On positive side, the kids steak was perfect and extremely tasty and tender for our son. I ended up having only a salad because was not impressed with menu.

Overall, disappointed with our first and probably only experience at this restaurant. The amount of money we shelled out for less than desirable dining experience was sickening.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Do not waste your money

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The Cypress Grille is a waste of money. Four of us went and four entree's were mediocre at best.

Center cut tenderloin tough and too well done for how it was ordered, ribeye's were chewy and grisly and my lamb had no flavor. That is hard for lamb. The side dishes were lukewarm adding insult to injury.

Made the mistake of not following the negative reviews on Yelp.

Bohannan's will be in Boerne soon and Valeria's is excellent. If you are a foodie, Cypress Grille is not your restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Among the Best

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

If you're in Boerne, you only have a few choices at upscale food eateries. This is one of them. Enough of a diverse menu to satisfy most anyone. The only negative I have to say about them is they are tight with the bread. I suppose it's healthier for me to skip the second or third roll, but I still get irked when they bring only enough bread for 1 apiece. Small complaint. And you can buy additional, so not too bad. Food seems handcrafted and made to order. Top it off with great service and this is one of the few quality places we go back to in Boerne repeatedly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little expensive

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our food was good. Two of us had the tenderloin and it was cooked to the requested specifications. The beef medallions were not that great, sort of flat and a bit over cooked. And frankly that was my choice, I had it last year and it was good. This year not worth the 30 dollar price.

Waitress was fine, she seemed a little new..which was fine. Asked for more time and she totally disappeared.

Atmosphere is very nice, would go back next year when we return for the corvette show.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Cypress Grill: San Antonio Favorite

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We get to San Antonio a couple times each year. When there we always plan a dinner at the Cypress Grill. The food is extraordinary and the service is fantastic. We highly recommend a visit to Cypress Grill when you are in or near San Antonio.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but need more servers

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We had a late reservation (8 PM) on a Saturday night and had to wait for a table. Service and food delivery took quite a while. The staff seemed to be literally running around trying to keep up with the business. They were all pleasant and cheerful and the food was excellent. We loved the restaurant, just feel they need to add staff or reduce their bookings to make the experience more relaxing for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Perfect in every way.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Surprised to find such a high standard restaurant in Boerne. Went on Thursday when they had their smoked prime rib. The large portion was plenty enough to split between my wife and I. Between that and the calamari appetizer and the bottle of wine were completely full. Will be sure to return next time we are in town. Kudos to management for having such a well trained and friendly staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I usually don't like Easter Brunches, but Cypress Grille does a pretty good job. The prime rib was raw, and cooked some more while we ate other things, and was ready by the time we left. The pork/ham was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Incredible filet mignon!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The special was a smoked beef tenderloin, which was outstanding! The amount of smoke was just right and it was cooked a perfect medium rare. Yum! If you're ever in Boerne, go to the Cypress Grille!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Find

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great spot for meeting friends for lunch. Service and food was excellent. Glad we found it and would return if we every go that way again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good atmosphere - fair food

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

At first glance Cypress Grill looked pleasant. We all liked the atmosphere. Our appetizer were tasty. The disappointment startet with the entree. We had steak, chicken, fish and burger. All not bad but nothing spezial. Very small steak and fish - not a good value-for-money ratio. So if you are interested in a good atmosphere and not too hungry this will be your place to go.

The waitress was nice but maybe not very experienced. Questioning if we want money back when paying cash, that's not the way it should work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great service, always delicious

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Count on creative appetizers and entree's, and well mannered attentive youthful servers.

The rotisserie chicken is perfect comfort food while the seafood, smoked beef, soups, salads and sides always have fresh well presented ingredients. Dine a little early to be sure to get a chance at the nightly chef's specials. The upholstered booths which are set aside from the main floor are the place to go for intimate conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It seems as thou they are trying to be s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

It seems as thou they are trying to be something that they are not ready to be. They are a good restaurant but not a fine dining experience. The Foie Gras was OK but it was served on a one inch thick piece of cinnamon bread with apple sauce. It was not a good dish. The sea scallops were also just OK.

Our waiter had only been employed one month and could not tell us much about several dishes but he tried. Three stars is probably a bit high but maybe we hit them on an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Cypress Grille in Boerne, TX

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was different, which made the evening a little more interesting. I did not love my food but enjoyed it. I appreciated being able to try something different. The service was amazing. The hostess, Cammie, was so sweet. She knew it was our anniversary and made the evening really special. Thank you, Cammie!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall an outstanding experience

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We very much enjoyed our experience at Cypress. I had the pork shank and he had the lamb...both were delicious. We would like to have seen a better selection of wines by the glass, bu overall the wine menu was extensive and had some excellent selections. Once a server arrived (it took approximately 7 minutes (I do not think this kind of wait is the norm for this place, just a hiccup), service was top notch. We would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food and service were excellent. Menu w ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Menu was not as extensive as I would have liked. Overall the food was very good. I had the filet and it was prepared nicely with good flavor. The special corn chowder soup was excellent. It was like a delicious pot pie without the crust. Everyone really seemed to enjoy their dishes. The rotisserie chicken was good. So were the lamb chops. I can't say enough about the homemade Root Beer. Have it with you meal and afterwards as a Root Beer Float.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perhaps the restaurant and especially ou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Perhaps the restaurant and especially our waiter was having on 'off ' day , but we experienced poor service, forgot our appetizer, forgot to bring the lemon slices we requested for our iced tea, and we watched our plates sit on the pick up counter for almost 10 minutes before he retrieved and delivered to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.