Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Cypress Grille

4.4
466 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Located in charming Boerne, Texas, the Cypress Grille is a culinary destination. Owner/Chef Paul Thompson is a graduate from Le Cordon Bleu Austin, along side Executive Chef Kevin Babbitt. The entire team of the Cypress Grille welcomes you to come in and enjoy your favorite California wine from our large wine collection while dining in style in our large bar area or at a comfy table in the dining room. Wherever you choose your experience, it is our goal to make it memorable. Our specialty is culinary deliciousness! We look forward to serving you!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Tue–Sun 11:00 am–2:00 pm
Dinner
Tue–Sat 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(830) 248-1353
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kevin Babbitt
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private Dining for up to 30 people - $50.00 Room Fee
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Roland Villagran: (830) 248-1353
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering available for wedding, corporate, and many other functions. Please call or email for more information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
On Main Street and Behind Bank of America do NOT PARK in the BOERNE CITY CENTER they WILL tow your vehicle
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 466 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Service was excellent; we enjoyed being able to talk with each other (there were 3 of us) without shouting as the noise level was moderate. Portions on the Special were a bit small but tasty. Located exceptionally well. Menu selection could be enhanced. The brunch menu was not especially selective or adequate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were excellent. Father's Day special entree was a delight.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Creative, well crafted food and a highly knowledgeable and attentive wait staff made for a lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Nice evening, good food and great service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Excellent food, as always! Love the atmosphere and the coziness of this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Prime Rib was outstanding. Done perfect, and served warm. Thursdays are the right night to go to the Cypress.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Fresh food, prepared and presented well, tasty. Service was excellent. Moderately price. Recommend for lunch. Casual but elegant decor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

It was a very nice experience. The food was delicious .

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 1, 2018

My wife and I started off with crab cakes. Two small crab cakes. The portion size was fine, but unfortunately the taste was not that good. My wife makes much better crab cakes. Next we split a Caesar salad. It had blue cheese dressing and too much of it. We did not care for the change from Caesar dressing and we don’t like our salad soaking in dressing. Next my wife had the tuna and I had beef shank. Mine was excellent, very good, highly recommend. My wife’s, however, was very disappointing. The flavor was not good. I can grill better tasting tuna. We also had wine by the glass. The wine was fine, but we were given small pours for $9.00 a glass. Overall, we were disappointed in the food and the wine. The service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Food is amazingly good, my wife is real picky and absolutely loves this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

This was our first visit to Cypress Grille. We will definitely return.
We would certainly recommend the dishes we ordered. We had the Spearfish (a special) and the Chile Spiced Pork Shank. The Spearfish was moist, tender and delicious - definitely NOT overcooked and dry as too often happens in too many restaurants that offer fish on the menu but have no idea how it should be cooked.
The Chile Spiced Pork Shank was a real surprise. If "spicy" means "hot" to diners, this dish was definitely not hot. Since we lived in New Mexico (where chile is king) for 35 years "spicy" does not mean "hot" to us . It instead refers to a great combination of wonderful seasoning that is neither bland nor overwhelming. The shank was served a bowl containing a tasty broth that included mushrooms, truffles, and a very light touch of fennel and chipotle. The seasoning permeated well into the generous serving of pork that was attached to the shank.
Our server was prompt, friendly and eager to answer our questions about the chef's preparation of our dishes.
We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

This is an outstanding restaurant. Food was great and the atmosphere is perfect. What a find in Boerne, Tx

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

It was amazing as always! The food is delicious! We visit often for lunch. It is a great value!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I couldn’t have happier with the food and the top notch service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Excellent from the appetizers to desert. Nice variety of menu items and very prompt service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Never had a bad meal or experience at Cypress Grille- remains my favorite restaurant in the San Antonio area. Everything about it is just right!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Food was a disappointing. Selection was limited and service was beyond slow. Would not recommend based on this meal and pricing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Excelente comida y buen sabor y servicio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The service was the best I have had in Boerne. Also each of the dishes that we had were excellent, and the price was reasonable. Definitely is now my official go-to restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great Mother's Day lunch. Excellent service and food quality, as well as very comfortable seating arrangement.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The appetizers were good. The salad and entrée were...OK. The service from the service was good but the kitchen took too long to prepare the entrees.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We went for an early morher’s Day dinner. Great dinner and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Dinner with old friends from out of town.The booth was ready as requested on special requests and we were ushered in when we shared that we were meeting another couple!
Our waitress was very gracious and knowledgeable .
Our service was seamless and unobtrusive !
The food was perfect- MahiMahi for two of our diners! Quail for one and scallops for me! I have eaten scallops here for at least 10 years- it’s my favorite - But it’s Always perfect!
Amazingly perfect and consistent ! Truly hard to achieve but Cypress Grill does it every time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The food and service were excellent. The restaurant cozy and romantic.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Beef Tenderloin dinner was quite frankly awful. I asked for an “end cut” thinking it was cooked as one piece of meat. The server asked if I wanted the end cut med rare! NO the point of an end cut is a well done piece of meat. I should have cancelled my order right then and got a hamburger.

A salad with chicken on top was not cooked fully awful.

The other two patrons got fish dishes and were happy. Awful is NOT what I’m used to at Cypress Grille

It will be a while before I give Cypress Grill another chance.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 26, 2018

This use to be my favorite restaurant, but something has changed. It went from delicate and delicious Seafood Pistole to harsh salt lick. I could barely eat it. Service was bad. And that 5 oz pour of wine looked like 3. Did they run out? Something wrong here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great food and ambiance as usual. A great place for a great meal, with a creative flair.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The consensus of the 9 diners in our group was that we will not be back! 5 of us judged our meals to be TOO SALTY. By too salty I mean nearly inedibly salty! One of us ordered the lump crabcake. Not only were there no lumps of crabmeat but there wasn’t much crab flavor. The appetizer was returned and thankfully taken off the bill. We arrived for a 7:30 reservation and were seated immediately. However, the service (kitchen or table? I don’t know) was extremely slow and we didn’t leave until 9:20. There also was a big mix up regarding twice baked potatoes. Apparently the kitchen ran out so the last two potatoes were brought to the table for everyone to share. That wouldn’t have been so bad but then EVERYONE was served fries as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We went here for an anniversary dinner. It is in a nice old building with good atmosphere. Friendly staff and good service on a not too busy Friday night. My wife had the best Giant Scallops she has ever had and I had a very good bison burger. Also very good garden salad and crab cakes. A little on the expensive side but we will go back for another special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Great dinner! My husband had duck lettuce wraps and quail. I had seared foie gras and lamb chops. Delicious. Jason was a great waiter!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Our party of seven was far from impressed with this restaurant's service. Where to start? First of all, had a reservation, got there 45mins earlier and waited ~1hr. Then, the hostess said she would do us a "favor" and sit us in their "private dining room without charging us extra" for our patience. This "private dining room" was a table with white raggedy cloths and highly uncomfortable metal and vinyl chairs in the back of their main hallway. The best part? Full view of the restrooms and back storage area, nice dining room right? NOT!! We asked our waitress if this was their 'private dining area' and she said it was mostly used as an overflow party area. We were not about to eat in front of the bathrooms and requested to be moved into the main dining area. They proceeded to move us to a six chair table behind the hostess station, still outside the main dining area (despite the EMPTY 6 chair table that was inside the dining area). NEVER felt more judged, labeled, segregated or discriminated. Mind you that between all of us we've been to over 40 countries. The only good part was our server, who was very welcoming and pleasant. She had good insight on menu choices and made us feel welcome despite their hostess!! Not once were we approached by their manager to see if we were comfortable with our new table or to express his regrets or go over our concerns. They should invest in etiquette classes for their hostess, after all these are the faces that represent their restaurant. We suggest taking your business elsewhere!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 11, 2018

50 minute wait for food. Food not prepared as advertised or requested. Cypress has slipped.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Cypress Grille is always wonderful! The staff is courteous and the food is amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Birthday for a girlfriend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The hostess met us with a smile and was welcoming. Our server was efficient, knowledgable, and very pleasant. The food was delicious. We will definetly return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

All great, pork sandwich very tasty ..... could of used a bit more shredded on it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The food was delicious and the server attentive, but not intrusive. My friend and I were able to have a have a leisurely, relaxed dinner, giving us plenty of time to catch up with each other’s lives.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Poor kitchen and management...waited 20 min for last plate after rest had been served—owner refused to acknowledge and left it to his staff to fix...hats off to his staff and kitchen manager for picking up his slack. I hope he realizes he costs them money with his indifference and his lack of desire to do good business.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I was extremely pleased with our friendly server and the high quality of all our dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Waiter was helpful and funny!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12