About Cypress Grille

170 South Main
Boerne, TX 78006
View Larger Map

Located in charming Boerne, Texas, the Cypress Grille is a culinary destination. Executive Chef and Owner Tom Stevens is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park and Owner/Operator Paul Thompson is a graduate from Le Cordon Bleu Austin. The entire team of the Cypress Grille welcomes you to come in and enjoy your favorite California wine from our large wine collection while dining in style in our large bar area or at a comfy table in the dining room. Wherever you choose your experience, it is our goal to make it memorable. Our specialty is culinary deliciousness! We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(830) 248-1353

Website:
http://www.cgboerne.com/

Catering:
Catering available for wedding, corporate, and many other functions. Please call or email for more information.

Parking Details:
On Main Street and Behind Bank of America do NOT PARK in the BOERNE CITY CENTER they WILL tow your vehicle

Executive Chef:
Thomas Stevens

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining for up to 30 people - $50.00 Room Fee

Private Party Contact:
Shanda Stevens: (830) 248-1353

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cypress Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Cozy (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Casual (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Romantic (11)
Healthy (9)
Historic (9)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
295 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent restaurant in what is otherwis ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent restaurant in what is otherwise a town with not many other "excellent" ones.

Food is beautifully prepared and thoughtfully composed.

Server was very good.

Seating, ambiance, noise level were all excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to meet friends while visiti ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great place to meet friends while visiting the area. Good food and they would split the entrees which helps my husband and I. Yummy bread with infused rosemary olive oil.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We can always count on this restaurant f ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We can always count on this restaurant for nice atmosphere, good food and friendly service. Recommend this to everyone that would like a nice meal and good wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love love Cypress Grille. Always love lu ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Love love Cypress Grille. Always love lunch specials.

We are frequent fliers here and only thing I would recommend is to change up their dinner menu. While they akways have a special I believe the dinner menu as well as lunch menu has had the same choices for last 4-5 years! I have been getting the Halibut with ravioli for as long as I can remember...

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Historic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always had a good to great experience at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always had a good to great experience at Cypress Grille. One of my favorite restaurants in the San Antonio/Boerne area period. This time the fish entrees were a little bit disappointing- my mahi was mildly overcooked and my mom's salmon special was good but the various elements did not seem to go together as well. Perhaps the chef was experimenting that evening.

Service was outstanding, and our helpful and always accomodating server pointed out the Wed Wine special that we availed of, and the crab cake appetizer portion was great and dessert (lava cake) was outstanding. My daughter's vegetable lasagna which she always gets (as only listed veggie entree on menu besides salad selection) was outstanding as always. The tables were perhaps half occupied mid-week evening so atmosphere was ideal for a quiet, subdued and relaxing conversation

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always great. Never had a bad ex ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food is always great. Never had a bad experience, no matter what was ordered. Wait staff is always friendly and experienced. They are available for questions or to bring an extra napkin. The ambiance is warm and inviting. A great place to relax and enjoy a meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on NYE so it is probably not fai ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went on NYE so it is probably not fair to criticize, but it was almost awful (we bought a nice bottle of wine that carried us through the experience). We had to walk into the kitchen to ask for the bread, twice. Our waiter showed up only once on his own and we had to run him down the rest of the time. My wife's fish was overcooked and very tough (they took it off the bill). My scallop dish was fine.

I think a restaurant should be judged on how it performs on difficult occasions like NYE. This used to be the Corner Wine Bar and I'm sorry it changed hands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Spent New Year's Eve there and had super ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Spent New Year's Eve there and had superb food and an outstanding waitress. DIdn't like the table they reservedcinitially and they went above and beyond make another table happen on that busy night. Great service and great food... will recommend it any time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite place for dinner! Always a ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite place for dinner! Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Ceviche outstanding ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was delicious. Ceviche outstanding. Nice wine selection. Great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good! Paul and Tom, owners, ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Consistently good!

Paul and Tom, owners, know food and do everything well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed the evening but was pricey fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed the evening but was pricey for what we ordered.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Love this place, worth the drive from Ke ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love this place, worth the drive from Kerrville. My sisters and niece from Austin meet during the holidays for a special lunch. This is the third time we have come to this restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to the Grille since ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We have been coming to the Grille since it opened many years ago. The quality of the dishes is consistently good. The wine list is very deep and continues to satisfy. Waitstaff come and go, but Justin took good care of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We had friends from out of town that we ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had friends from out of town that we hadn't seen in years and took them out to dinner to experience great dining in Boerne. We had eaten at Cypress Grille previously and thought it was very good. I am sorry to say that this was not our experience this time. Service was very poor and most of us left the majority of our meal on our plates. Given the prices of items on the menu, we expected outstanding food. That simply was not the case. I appreciate the opportunity to comment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I have been to Cypress grill countless t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I have been to Cypress grill countless times. We live in Boerne. We Always enjoy. Love the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everyone enjoyed the food and our server ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Everyone enjoyed the food and our server was very nice. There was a bit of a lag between the appetizers and the entrees. We celebrated a birthday which was acknowledged with a free dessert. Nice ambience, good food and friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious. All 5 of us had ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was delicious. All 5 of us had something different but the favorites of the day were the tomato basil soup and the salmon sandwich. The salmon - we all agreed was the best we've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I love this place so very much!! I want ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I love this place so very much!! I want to meet the chef and shake his hand. My husband and I love to cook and really appreciate finding good quality food and the ambiance that makes it such a nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantasy dining experience. The staff was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantasy dining experience. The staff was very knowledgeable about the food and with wine pairings. The food was superb and the vast wine selection (by glass and bottle) made it easy for everyone to drink what they wanted bassd on their choice of food. This was my second dining experience there, and I will most certainly go back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great and innovative meal. Good service ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great and innovative meal. Good service, great wine list. quiet and casual. Went there for Mother's birthday. Staff was great and prepared lovely birthday dessert for her 79th!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to Cypress Grille. The foo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love to go to Cypress Grille. The food is always delicious and we have many favorites. The calamari is our favorite appetizer. I love the butter lettuce salad with homemade ranch dressing and they always have a delicious soup( my husband is partial to the Shiner Cheese soup) but the little filet steals the show. Or at least until you see the dessert menu....their creme brûlée is so creamy and good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. We had everythi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was delicious. We had everything from the calamari to portabella pasta and it was all delicious. The service was really good and our waitress was very personable. We wish the menu for Sunday lunch was bigger or included more brunch items. However, we love the Cypress Grill and will continue to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant was one of two options w ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This restaurant was one of two options we considered, and we were very pleased with our choice. Food was excellent, setting was lovely, and our trip to Boerne was enhanced by eating at this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Tom and Paul, owners, do an excellent jo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Tom and Paul, owners, do an excellent job of running a very nice restaurant with a versatile menu and good service. By the way, very good food too! Have dined there many times and never disappointed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Great food, wonderful service. We had t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food, wonderful service. We had the chicken and waffles, which was a daily special and ahi tuna salad. Very fresh, quality ingredients. Lunch menu is great value. Lovely ambience. The establishment was decked out for Christmas.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Fireplace, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great!! We really enjoyed ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Everything was great!! We really enjoyed ourselves, we were there for our company Christmas Party. However the only downfall was it seem to take a long time to get A waiter to our table to wait on us. and when our drink order was placed, We would wait a good 10-15 minutes for our refills every time we request them. Other than that We had a very Pleasant Experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service and food. Amazing wine lis ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great service and food. Amazing wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food. Ca ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food and great ambiance. Se ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always good food and great ambiance. Service to large group was excellent and friendly. One of our favorite local eating spots!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, , Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had lunch with three other friends and w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Had lunch with three other friends and we had a wonderful time. The food, ambiance and a spectacular waiter who said his name is "Kale." I have to take him at his word. What we say around here is "Cypress Grille is realibable. The food and service are consistently very good."

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I had lunch on the Saturday ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My wife and I had lunch on the Saturday following Thanksgiving. It was a superb experience and the food was beyond great! Great service, friendly staff and wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They use wonderful seasonal ingredients. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

They use wonderful seasonal ingredients. I encourage you to try the nightly specials. Always awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding and beautifully pre ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was outstanding and beautifully presented. Service was excellent. My wife is vegetarian and asked if they could create a vegetable plate. Our server got a list of my wife's preferences and then conferred with the chef. She returned to explain what ingredients he planned to use and how they were to be prepared. The result was very impressive and attractive. The vegetables were delicious. My crab cakes and grilled Mahi-mahi were also excellent. Even with wine, the bill was less than we had expected.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice wine with dinner. Ou ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a very nice wine with dinner. Our server was very helpful in recommending tasty dishes to eat. The food was excellent. The ambiance was very nice, but a large party near us celebrating an office party was a bit loud and did not fit with the restaurant. I would recommend this for a special night out or if you are looking for high quality food. I needed gluten free options and they easily accommodated this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Organic, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Michelle, was outstanding. W ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our server, Michelle, was outstanding. We returned 2 nights later and requested her again. Both meals were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

too noisy, good food but expensive, whe ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 12, 2016

too noisy, good food but expensive, when asked about Veterans day discount the person (ruth criss had one) replied very sharply "NO".

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Experience what dining is all about. The ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Experience what dining is all about. The food , atmosphere and service is top notch. Enjoy you will not be disappointed and be a regular.

Thank you Cypress Grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant, I just l ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant, I just love the food, atmosphere, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place can almost always be counted ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This place can almost always be counted on to do a great job. We've been eating here so long it's taken on a comfort of excellent like dining in our own home.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.