About Cygnus 27

Set 27 stories up in the heart of Downtown Grand Rapids, Cygnus27 delivers a Latin-inspired menu and sophisticated cocktail lounge with expansive panoramic views of the Grand River and surrounding cityscape.

The drinks and food at Cygnus27 are as distinctive as the space itself. The cocktail menu is based on classic inspirations and evolves seasonally. The light fare options include a variety of sharable plates – perfect for an after-work or evening bite. Or, enjoy one of the locally-sourced seasonal entrees, sure to satiate your appetite.

With its multi-level dining spaces, Cygnus27 is truly THE destination restaurant and cocktail lounge in West Michigan. A fresh, unique, locally sourced, and authentic menu draws on Chef VanHeulen's creativity and has earned the dining room the AAA Four-Diamond mark of distinction.

187 Monroe Avenue NW
Amway Grand Hotel
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Latin / Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar & Cocktail Lounge
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Seasonal Brunch (Labor Day to Mother's Day)
Sunday 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Pearl

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6425

Website:
http://amwaygrand.com/dining/cygnus-27

Catering:
Cygnus27 offers 3 private dining rooms located on the 28th and 29th floors, directly above the restaurant. Seating capacity in our Pinnacle Room is 50ppl, Sky1 - 40ppl, and Sky2 - 20ppl. Multiple rooms can be combined to accommodate larger gatherings. Please contact Private Events Coordinator, Sheila Chalmers, to reserve your space: cygnus27@ahchospitality.com or 616-776-6460.

Parking Details:
Cygnus27 validates parking from both the hotel self-parking ramp & valet located on Pearl Street.

Executive Chef:
Stephan VanHeulen

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private & private accommodations are available.

http://amwaygrand.com/uploads/dining/Cygnus27_PRIVATE_DINING_ROOMS_Information_Winter2015.pdf

Private Party Contact:
Sheila Chalmers: (616) 776-6460

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cygnus27 Happy Hour (Bar & Lounge Only)

20% off All Tapas and 50% Off ALL Drinks - 5p-7p Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays. 20% off All Tapas and 50% off All Cygnature Martinis ALL NIGHT Wednesdays

(Bar & Lounge Only - Not Valid in Dining Room)

Cygnus 27 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (57)
Special Occasion (55)
Romantic (52)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Tapas (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Waterfront (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Business Meals (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Fun (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Authentic (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1064 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to Cygnus 27 before for their cocktails, this was out first dining experience there. It was absolutely amazing. I made reservations for my girlfriends birthday and had put in a special request for a lovely window table overlooking the city skyline and river...they accommodated. I also included a small list of allergies my girlfriend has...once again they made it a point of informing the chef and we were accommodated. She had the striped bass which she absolutely loved...i had the rack of lamb which was cooked perfectly. The server was very attentive. I ordered a bottle of champagne for the evening...our glasses only became empty when the bottle was gone...overall we will be back and recommend Cygnus 27 with the highest regards.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food woth a great view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a reservation and as we got there ordered our drinks salad came right away but our bread did not. After our salad we waited 45 minutes for our main course. Bread finally came and we ended up eating it all since we were hungry. Wine was done and we asked what was taking so long since everyone around us who came later had already eaten their meal. It finally comes. It's delicious but the service was terrible. It's one of our favorites but not going back for awhile. There are way to many excellent restuarant that I won't feel ignored at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing experience at Cygnus 27 (again!). The staff is very knowledgeable about the food and very helpful with dietary restrictions (both gluten free and dairy free). Food and wine are always fantastic too!

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed our evening for restaurant week. The cocktails, food , and mood was wonderful. The wait staff was amazing very attentive and professional at all times. We will definitely return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for restaurant week and made reservations online thru open table. Requested a river view and it was great. Excellent waitress.

Disappointed in the beet pasta. First few bites were good but then tasted gummy. Other meals at the table were excellent as well as the appetizer and dessert.

Great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great menu. We went during Restaurant Week and were totally charmed!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Go! You will have a wonderful time. They have an above average happy hour so we had drinks at the bar before dinner. Mitch was our waiter and he took really good care of us. He was knowledgeable, friendly, attentive and fun.
Dinner was delicious and beautifully presented. Abigail was our server and did an excellent job. The attention to detail is impressive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

On the plus side, our server was very good. She managed to engage us in conversation, and was efficient and welcoming.

The ambiance is pretentious, but not so special. I found their take on a rock garden to be a comical failure.

The food - which should be the centerpiece of a dining experience - was not up to par. While still a "good value" during Restaurant week in Grand Rapids, I can't recommend it to anyone. My companion's main course was very disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 7 days ago

It was our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised. We ordered from the Restaurant Week menu. Everything was delicious. Portion sizes are a little smaller but we left feeling full rather than over-stuffed, so I'd count that as a plus. The service was excellent, attentive but not too much so. The view of the city from the 27th floor is stunning.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

We went here for the first time for my wife's birthday and were very impressed. I let them know in my reservation request that it was her birthday. They gave us the table with probably the best view and even brought her some chocolates after dinner for her birthday. The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. We had several tapas and were happy with every one of them. I would highly recommend this to anyone for happy hour drinks or a special date!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Restaurant was fantastic. The view and food was fantastic. Just order tapas and you'll be full. No need to order the main enteree. We love the desserts too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Decided to check this place out for restaurant week. From the moment we walked in we knew we had made the right choice. From the friendly staff to the beautiful view of the city, everything was wonderful. The server was very helpful with all of our questions from the food to the wine. Top notch dining. We will definitely return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great service and food. It would have been nice if we were told where to park. The hostess said we could have had parking validated if we parked in the right spot. Since they bothered to call me to confirm the reservation the day before, they could have bothered to tell me at this time. The hostess apologized and said she was sorry and that this happens a lot.

Beyond that, everything was great. The server was very friendly and knew the menu well. She made great suggestions and was very friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I loved the design of the restaurant and how you can see the city from above. The view was amazing. The food was good. Although I did not care for the entree (beetroot pasta) the rest of the food was great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was amazing! (Personally not a huge fan of the beetroot noodles-but I'm sure someone would love them!) But more than the food, the view was to die for! Being on top of the city, able to look out across Grand Rapids was breathtaking. Would definitely recommend checking it out!

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The service and food were both excellent and what I would expect from The Amway! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food and view. The wine pairing was well designed and a good value. The price is relatively high but appropriate for the venue. We consider it a good value for Restaurant Week. The service was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Cygnus 27 was our first experience for Restaurant Week Grand Rapids and we were not disappointed! First, the view is awesome. As a local, it renews your perspective on the beautiful area you live in (and I am NOT a fan of cities!) and we enjoyed soaking in as much of the view as we could. As our menu was from their special restaurant week choices, they couldn't have done a better job showcasing what they have to offer. And our waitress??? LOVED HER!!!! From the very first moment, she was attentive and informative and so so so friendly. She explained to us how restaurant week worked (we did have questions) and was such a big part of our experience. My husband jokingly made a comment about so much silverware, he didn't know where to start and she didn't even bat an eye and kindly told us how to work through them. We already knew but were so impressed she didn't talk down to us or find us annoying, she just wanted to make sure we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. We never felt rushed, our courses were appropriately timed, our drinks remained full, the manager checked in, our meal was outstanding, our waitress was the best...we will return!!!!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We enjoyed our Restaurant Week meal very much! Our waitress was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our service was excellent, the food was delicious and the view was beautiful! Thank you for a delightful evening!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We weren't staying in the hotel, so we had to ask lobby staff to turn on elevator access to the 27th floor. Once past that, we had a delightful visit and would love to return.

The reception staff of Ruth and Stephanie were solicitous and thoughtful. The manager was a treat to talk to. Our waiter, Danny, was knowledgeable and made good suggestions. I'd ask for him next time.

The octopus appetizer is larger and more delicious than almost every restaurant anywhere. The salad was fresh and generous. The local produce (it was summer) was superior, especially the purple potatoes. The kitchen clearly takes the preparation seriously and presentation was excellent.

The room itself can use some freshening but more importantly, the seating is comfortable. Overall, an excellent choice for dinner with a nice view from the 27th floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Cygnus27 offered a wonderful experience from start to finish. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive. The food and drinks were expertly made. The view from the restaurant enhanced the experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Perfect spot for our 3rd year anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our waitress Carmen was amazing. She made our anniversary extra special. She also helped us with our food selection it was delicious

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food, excellent wait staff, wonderful views of the city. I am glad we had dinner at Cygnus27. Wonderful dining experience....

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

What a great evening! We celebrated our anniversary and enjoyed a wonderful meal with superb service and a stunning view of the sun setting over Grand Rapids. We can't do it every weekend but for a special occasion Cygnus 27 cannot be beaten.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

It was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. Food, service, and great view added up to a memorable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great service and great food. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was not just delicious, but beautifully plated, there was a fantastic atmosphere, and wonderful service. I will be returning, and I recommended to friends that they need to try it out.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Tapas, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The complete experience was great. Good customer service,very clean place friendly staff and really good food.

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Loved it. One of our favorite spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I took my girlfriend on a nice date to Cygnus27 and we loved our time. Our server Danny was great and really new what he was doing and what the meal contained. We are looking forward to coming back. The food was great and the chocolate sphere dessert was a great way to end the night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We enjoyed the new menu offerings! And, always... the best service from Carmen!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

About a year ago we had an unpleasant dining experience at Cygnus. We were placed at a wobbly round table and the water glasses were very long stemmed. Unfortunately one small movement caused the goblets to fall and spill water all over my wife. However the staff reacted very well and the table was removed. There was an item on the online menu that I was looking forward to but was not available that night. Since we are seafood lovers we ordered fish that evening but it was very dry. We decided to try Cygnus again and this time it was a very pleasant dining experience. We will be back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Everything at Cygnus is special, including the way they remember their guests preferences! Always a nice evening

Tags: Tapas, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service, decor and view of the Grand River was outstanding. Maxx our waiter was very knowlegeable and his recommendations were excellent! Food presentation and taste was also very good. Overall, we had a great time here celebrating a special occasion!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My husband and I have been looking forward to our reservation at Cygnus 27 for several months. We had heard about it from our friends and were looking forward to celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary there. What a wonderful experience we had! From the delicious meal to the warm and friendly service. It was an evening to remember! We highly recommend Cygnus 27 in Grand Rapids, MI.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Carmen, our server, was amazing. Outstanding view and food. Great wine list.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Enjoyed four tapas selections that provided excellent variety of flavors. Service was excellent thanks to Anna. Provided us two champagne to help celebrate our 50th anniversary. Overall, a most enjoyable evening and the view was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.