About Cygnus 27

Set 27 stories up in the heart of Downtown Grand Rapids, Cygnus27 delivers a Latin-inspired menu and sophisticated cocktail lounge with expansive panoramic views of the Grand River and surrounding cityscape.

The drinks and food at Cygnus27 are as distinctive as the space itself. The cocktail menu is based on classic inspirations and evolves seasonally. The light fare options include a variety of sharable plates – perfect for an after-work or evening bite. Or, enjoy one of the locally-sourced seasonal entrees, sure to satiate your appetite.

With its multi-level dining spaces, Cygnus27 is truly THE destination restaurant and cocktail lounge in West Michigan. A fresh, unique, locally sourced, and authentic menu draws on Chef VanHeulen's creativity and has earned the dining room the AAA Four-Diamond mark of distinction.

187 Monroe Avenue NW
Amway Grand Hotel
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Latin / Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar & Cocktail Lounge
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Seasonal Brunch (Labor Day to Mother's Day)
Sunday 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Pearl

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6425

Website:
http://amwaygrand.com/dining/cygnus-27

Catering:
Cygnus27 offers 3 private dining rooms located on the 28th and 29th floors, directly above the restaurant. Seating capacity in our Pinnacle Room is 50ppl, Sky1 - 40ppl, and Sky2 - 20ppl. Multiple rooms can be combined to accommodate larger gatherings. Please contact Private Events Coordinator, Sheila Chalmers, to reserve your space: cygnus27@ahchospitality.com or 616-776-6460.

Parking Details:
Cygnus27 validates parking from both the hotel self-parking ramp & valet located on Pearl Street.

Executive Chef:
Stephan VanHeulen

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private & private accommodations are available.

http://amwaygrand.com/uploads/dining/Cygnus27_PRIVATE_DINING_ROOMS_Information_Winter2015.pdf

Private Party Contact:
Sheila Chalmers: (616) 776-6460

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cygnus27 Happy Hour (Bar & Lounge Only)

20% off All Tapas and 50% Off ALL Drinks - 5p-7p Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays. 20% off All Tapas and 50% off All Cygnature Martinis ALL NIGHT Wednesdays

(Bar & Lounge Only - Not Valid in Dining Room)

Cygnus 27 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (63)
Scenic View (61)
Special Occasion (57)
See All
Romantic (52)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Modern Decor (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Tapas (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Waterfront (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fun (15)
Cozy (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Authentic (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Casual (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Historic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1018 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall very nice

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Very impressed. Great food and staff was very friendly and helpful

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing views, food, and service. It's nice to enjoy a well paced, delicious meal without ever feeling rushed. Views are spectacular. We cannot say enough about the service as well, servers are always well versed in the entire menu and offer suggestions and guidance. We will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice place with good food and food choices. Had dinner two nights in a row, Friday / Saturday. Our waitress, Anna, was the best. Things in general took a little extra time due to the place being so busy or maybe we were just use to quicker meals from dining at other places that get you in and out promptly...

We will be back on a regular basis !

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed the brunch on Mothers Day very much. It was a beautiful day and the food was great. We had wonderful view of the Grand River and our server Brandon and all the other staff made our experience at Cygnus exceptional. Thank you so much!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My husband and I had our first experience at Cygnus 27 and Carmen waited on us. She was very very informative and very good at what she does. Food was fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time at Cygnus27, but have been aware of it for years. We went for the pre-opera menu (3-courses at $40), but will definitely go there again. Stunning view atop the Amway Grand building, but the restaurant itself is equally beautiful and contemporary - a contrast to the über-traditional Amway Grand Hotel. Loved it - both the food and service are terrific. I had the manchego fritters, a tenderloin filet, and the (to-die-for) chocolate torte.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Surprised my 18 year old grand-daughter a unique dining experience & she had a wonderful time. Would love to come again. Will enjoy many more special occasions there.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Seasonal, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The staff was delightfully friendly and the meal was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great view from the highest in GR.Good for dates but, not for family with little baby.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellant on all levels. Service and food. Great bar service also.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Cygnus 27 is amazing. The wait staff was so kind, helpful, and had incredible etiquette when serving. They attended to our needs without being overbearing at all. Such a great treat for myself and our friends. The 360 degree view of our city wasn't half bad either. Thank you--will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I went to Cygnus pto celebrate our 4th anniversary and had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend the Sunday brunch for anyone without diet restrictions. I'm not sure it would be as good of a value if anyone in your party has certain foods they can't eat (ie vegetarian). The foods was delicious and perfectly well done, the selection was fantastic, the wait staff was exceptional, and we both had a wonderful time. We sat and enjoyed our meal for over two hours. This is a brunch where you truly have to pace yourself and enjoy an extended visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great drinks. Great food. Great service. Great view.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was great and so was the waitress, sorry I can't remember her name, but she gave us all so many ideas. I think most of us picked what she said was her favorite and she was right! The scallops and the gold lemon torte dessert - to die for!! Great presentation on the food also.
Thanks for a great "girls night out" before the show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was unique and amazing. Loved and will definitely come back. Great view and location as well!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a wonderful time with great drinks, excellent food, and a stellar view of the river and city. The aged cubic lighting decor is still distractingly unattractive, but just don't look up. Everything else about this place is wonderful. Our server Carmen was perfect as always and every service provider pitches in to make the experience a good one.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Perfect anniversary dinner! Best calamari I've ever had. Everything was delicious. Service was superb (thank you Carmen)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Carmen is a great server! Atmosphere is heavenly!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 29, 2017

So pleased with the well-crafted cocktails and authentic, authentic tapas served by knowledgeable, friendly servers. The view of Grand Rapids? Outstanding!!!!

Tags: Tapas, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food is always great. It's the service - and Carmen - that brings us back again, and again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Very good food and service. Scallops were probably the best I've had in 10+ years. The octopus appetizer was excuizete.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I love love love brunch here! Such amazing service and great quality

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The Sunday Brunch is amazing, the food is wonderful and service is even better. This is a Grand Rapids must do.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I was expecting more from the service. I felt that there were other tables getting more attention than ours. We were seated early but didn't get water at least 5-7 minutes after being seated. We had to wait for another 15 or so minutes to get bread. Our waiter was young (usually not a big deal for me) but he was more interested in the Bachelorette party behind us. My husband and I wanted a nice night out for a date and it was not as nice as I had hoped for. The food was good, cooked well, and priced moderately well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent service, which to me, is just as important as the food for a total dining experience. The desserts satisfy tastes for the expected and unexpected, and were absolutely delicious. Great restaurant; highly recommend.

Tags: Private Room, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The ambience alone makes it worth every penny with such a marvelous panoramic view of the city. But the food and service are both outstanding making it an excellent choice for an extra special occasion. My wife and I were thrilled to be able to make a last minute reservation the day before Easter. Thanks to our waiter Max and the whole team for a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Disappointed in the quality and the changes to Cygnus 27 brunch menu. We have been regular for the past 15 years but we decided this will likely be the last time we go to Cygnus for brunch. The new Brazilian Rodizio menu leaves a lot to be desired. The meat was cold and tough. Wish they would go back to the small plates.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Me and my boyfriend went for brunch and it was amazing. Our server, Danny, was great! We had the buffet and everything we tried was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The only thing that was disappointing was we're staying at the Amway Grand, and called this restaurant to add to our reservation just one more person our son. We were told sorry we're completely booked, yet we were Sat at a four top, and we're there for an hour and a half the four top next to us never got Sat. I'm very disappointed , in that our son could not be with us because the restaurant stated they were booked. Problem? Yes! He was coming from Ann Arbor. We are staying at the Amway for four days, and will not go back to this restaurant while we're here.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I chose Cygnus 27 for my birthday, by word of mouth. My friend and I enjoyed ourselves. The view was beautiful and our food was delicious. Our waitress was very kind and accommodating. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

wonderful food and setting, worth the time and money for a special date.

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Sunday brunch date with my wife. First time at Cygnus27, was impressed from start to finish. So many delicious options, waddled out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a great brunch, highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing ambience, food and service! They really went above and beyond, will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a fabulous meal to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious and the service superb.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service and food were both great. The room was very hot when we walked in but cooled to a reasonable level before we left. We were sat in an area without a view, while tables by the windows were left empty the whole time we were there. If you want a window seat please make sure you mention it when making a reservation ( disadvantage to using open table, I guess)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Carmen was our waitress. she is extremely knowledgeable in all of the cuisine. Very outgoing and friendly. knows wines and other drinks. one of the best people we have seen anywhere in the business in a long time. she treated all her tables like they were the most special people in the restaurant .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Treated my girlfriend and I to a special dinner for our 1 year anniversary. The service was exceptional - waitress was very attentive and well versed of the various entrees on the menu. Drinks were made to perfection and the ambience was just right. Would recommend for a special date or special celebration. Thank you Cygnus 27! See you again soon.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Had a wonderful birthday dinner at Cygnus 27. The chef prepared a special dish to meet my dietary need (vegetarian) and it was wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.