About Cygnus 27

Set 27 stories up in the heart of Downtown Grand Rapids, Cygnus27 delivers a Latin-inspired menu and sophisticated cocktail lounge with expansive panoramic views of the Grand River and surrounding cityscape.

The drinks and food at Cygnus27 are as distinctive as the space itself. The cocktail menu is based on classic inspirations and evolves seasonally. The light fare options include a variety of sharable plates – perfect for an after-work or evening bite. Or, enjoy one of the locally-sourced seasonal entrees, sure to satiate your appetite.

With its multi-level dining spaces, Cygnus27 is truly THE destination restaurant and cocktail lounge in West Michigan. A fresh, unique, locally sourced, and authentic menu draws on Chef VanHeulen's creativity and has earned the dining room the AAA Four-Diamond mark of distinction.

187 Monroe Avenue NW
Amway Grand Hotel
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Latin / Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar & Cocktail Lounge
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Seasonal Brunch (Labor Day to Mother's Day)
Sunday 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Pearl

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6425

Website:
http://amwaygrand.com/dining/cygnus-27

Catering:
Cygnus27 offers 3 private dining rooms located on the 28th and 29th floors, directly above the restaurant. Seating capacity in our Pinnacle Room is 50ppl, Sky1 - 40ppl, and Sky2 - 20ppl. Multiple rooms can be combined to accommodate larger gatherings. Please contact Private Events Coordinator, Sheila Chalmers, to reserve your space: cygnus27@ahchospitality.com or 616-776-6460.

Parking Details:
Cygnus27 validates parking from both the hotel self-parking ramp & valet located on Pearl Street.

Executive Chef:
Stephan VanHeulen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cygnus27 Happy Hour (Bar & Lounge Only)

20% off All Tapas and 50% Off ALL Drinks - 5p-7p Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays. 20% off All Tapas and 50% off All Cygnature Martinis ALL NIGHT Wednesdays

(Bar & Lounge Only - Not Valid in Dining Room)

Cygnus 27 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (56)
Romantic (50)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (44)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Tapas (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Waterfront (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fun (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Business Meals (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Casual (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1088 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely brunch at the most scenic view of GR. The food was beautifully presented and tasty.
Our server could have been a bit more attentive, but we also liked the liesurely pace...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Waterfront, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely spot for a intimate dinner in Grand Rapids. The seating includes a wonderful view of downtown Grand Rapids! Recommend picking a day with good weather.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely fantastic! Food and ambiance was wonderful. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Great waiter! Bus Girl kept the water filled
. Food was as awesome as ever. We had the Scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

very cold, food so so, very limited menu, not a tapas fan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We love the view even though our table was in the center of the room. It's the main reason we try to dine here at least once a year.
Our waitress Carmen was outstanding and made the night very enjoyable. She's a treasure!
The food was overpriced for the quality and would visit more if the menu was more affordable. We also wish there were local craft beers to enjoy along with the

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Wonderful wait staff, great service beautiful views of the city and all of us loved the food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great views, food, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Celebrating 20th Anniversary at a window table with a beautiful view. Brandon, our server was excellent and fun. The tapas and entrees were exquisite and perfectly prepared. Evening topped off with a lovely unexpected gift of goodies for our anniversary. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

You definitely cannot beat the views here, but for the price, we were disappointed in the food..it was mediocre at best. Either bring your price points down, or step up the quality of the food. The service was very good and it was more casual than you would expect. I'd go back for drinks for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Very knowledgeable waiter, could provide right recommendations for what food would satisfy our tastes. Welcoming, polite service. Food was good. We loved the octopus appetiser and scallops main dish. Lamb dish was OK, not outstanding. Opera desert was good size for sharing and quite original. Overall great experience though it was a bit chilly by the window.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

We had a lovely time. Our college group gets together once a year. This year it was ArtPrize and staying at the Amway Grand. Our grand finale was dinner at Cygnus.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Not the high end place it used to be but the view is great. Food not as good as it used to be. Service was good. Had to put up with a screaming baby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Have been going to this restaurant for many years, whenever in Grand Rapids. The food is always creative, beautifully presented, and delicious. Service is excellent, and you cannot beat the views!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Exquisite. Very creative, delicious offerings. Exceptional service. A must visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic dining experience with one of the best steaks I have ever had. The service was phenomenal and the staff was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

I had a great experience here. They call and confirm your reservation the day before which makes you feel comfortable boo king online. The service was outstanding. We had a great hostess and waitress. The wine and food was a great selection! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

We had an excellent server who paid great attention, excellent humor and made sure we enjoyed ourselves.

Good choices of food that was well prepared and met our expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We enjoyed the view, and the waiter's recommendation for appetizer (fritters--delicious!). We were toasting an engagement, and we lucky to arrive a night they had a special on champagne. A lovely start to the evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Guess, I didn't realize they had gone from upscale to casual...maybe I should have done more research...still go back a number of years when it was THE place for quality, high-end dining...food was average at best, very disappointed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Gazi was excellent and very knowledgeable. I had a wonderful experience and will definitely be back. Food was amazing! I never knew the food up here was so good. I haven't been there since 1999.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The wife and I decided to celebrate our anniversary there. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding!! Highly recommended for special occasions :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We have been to Cygnus 27 before for their cocktails, this was out first dining experience there. It was absolutely amazing. I made reservations for my girlfriends birthday and had put in a special request for a lovely window table overlooking the city skyline and river...they accommodated. I also included a small list of allergies my girlfriend has...once again they made it a point of informing the chef and we were accommodated. She had the striped bass which she absolutely loved...i had the rack of lamb which was cooked perfectly. The server was very attentive. I ordered a bottle of champagne for the evening...our glasses only became empty when the bottle was gone...overall we will be back and recommend Cygnus 27 with the highest regards.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food woth a great view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I am a trained culinary chef and pastry chef, and I just loved my recent meal at Cygnus 27! It was restaurant week, and each course with it's accompanying wine selection was outstanding!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had a reservation and as we got there ordered our drinks salad came right away but our bread did not. After our salad we waited 45 minutes for our main course. Bread finally came and we ended up eating it all since we were hungry. Wine was done and we asked what was taking so long since everyone around us who came later had already eaten their meal. It finally comes. It's delicious but the service was terrible. It's one of our favorites but not going back for awhile. There are way to many excellent restuarant that I won't feel ignored at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Amazing experience at Cygnus 27 (again!). The staff is very knowledgeable about the food and very helpful with dietary restrictions (both gluten free and dairy free). Food and wine are always fantastic too!

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We enjoyed our evening for restaurant week. The cocktails, food , and mood was wonderful. The wait staff was amazing very attentive and professional at all times. We will definitely return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Went for restaurant week and made reservations online thru open table. Requested a river view and it was great. Excellent waitress.

Disappointed in the beet pasta. First few bites were good but then tasted gummy. Other meals at the table were excellent as well as the appetizer and dessert.

Great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great menu. We went during Restaurant Week and were totally charmed!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Go! You will have a wonderful time. They have an above average happy hour so we had drinks at the bar before dinner. Mitch was our waiter and he took really good care of us. He was knowledgeable, friendly, attentive and fun.
Dinner was delicious and beautifully presented. Abigail was our server and did an excellent job. The attention to detail is impressive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 17, 2017

On the plus side, our server was very good. She managed to engage us in conversation, and was efficient and welcoming.

The ambiance is pretentious, but not so special. I found their take on a rock garden to be a comical failure.

The food - which should be the centerpiece of a dining experience - was not up to par. While still a "good value" during Restaurant week in Grand Rapids, I can't recommend it to anyone. My companion's main course was very disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 16, 2017

It was our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised. We ordered from the Restaurant Week menu. Everything was delicious. Portion sizes are a little smaller but we left feeling full rather than over-stuffed, so I'd count that as a plus. The service was excellent, attentive but not too much so. The view of the city from the 27th floor is stunning.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

We went here for the first time for my wife's birthday and were very impressed. I let them know in my reservation request that it was her birthday. They gave us the table with probably the best view and even brought her some chocolates after dinner for her birthday. The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. We had several tapas and were happy with every one of them. I would highly recommend this to anyone for happy hour drinks or a special date!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Restaurant was fantastic. The view and food was fantastic. Just order tapas and you'll be full. No need to order the main enteree. We love the desserts too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Decided to check this place out for restaurant week. From the moment we walked in we knew we had made the right choice. From the friendly staff to the beautiful view of the city, everything was wonderful. The server was very helpful with all of our questions from the food to the wine. Top notch dining. We will definitely return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great service and food. It would have been nice if we were told where to park. The hostess said we could have had parking validated if we parked in the right spot. Since they bothered to call me to confirm the reservation the day before, they could have bothered to tell me at this time. The hostess apologized and said she was sorry and that this happens a lot.

Beyond that, everything was great. The server was very friendly and knew the menu well. She made great suggestions and was very friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I loved the design of the restaurant and how you can see the city from above. The view was amazing. The food was good. Although I did not care for the entree (beetroot pasta) the rest of the food was great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was amazing! (Personally not a huge fan of the beetroot noodles-but I'm sure someone would love them!) But more than the food, the view was to die for! Being on top of the city, able to look out across Grand Rapids was breathtaking. Would definitely recommend checking it out!

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The service and food were both excellent and what I would expect from The Amway! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.