About Cygnus 27

Set 27 stories up in the heart of Downtown Grand Rapids, Cygnus27 delivers a Latin-inspired menu and sophisticated cocktail lounge with expansive panoramic views of the Grand River and surrounding cityscape.

The drinks and food at Cygnus27 are as distinctive as the space itself. The cocktail menu is based on classic inspirations and evolves seasonally. The light fare options include a variety of sharable plates – perfect for an after-work or evening bite. Or, enjoy one of the locally-sourced seasonal entrees, sure to satiate your appetite.

With its multi-level dining spaces, Cygnus27 is truly THE destination restaurant and cocktail lounge in West Michigan. A fresh, unique, locally sourced, and authentic menu draws on Chef VanHeulen's creativity and has earned the dining room the AAA Four-Diamond mark of distinction.

187 Monroe Avenue NW
Amway Grand Hotel
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Latin / Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar & Cocktail Lounge
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Seasonal Brunch (Labor Day to Mother's Day)
Sunday 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Pearl

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6425

Website:
http://amwaygrand.com/dining/cygnus-27

Catering:
Cygnus27 offers 3 private dining rooms located on the 28th and 29th floors, directly above the restaurant. Seating capacity in our Pinnacle Room is 50ppl, Sky1 - 40ppl, and Sky2 - 20ppl. Multiple rooms can be combined to accommodate larger gatherings. Please contact Private Events Coordinator, Sheila Chalmers, to reserve your space: cygnus27@ahchospitality.com or 616-776-6460.

Parking Details:
Cygnus27 validates parking from both the hotel self-parking ramp & valet located on Pearl Street.

Executive Chef:
Stephan VanHeulen

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private & private accommodations are available.

http://amwaygrand.com/uploads/dining/Cygnus27_PRIVATE_DINING_ROOMS_Information_Winter2015.pdf

Private Party Contact:
Sheila Chalmers: (616) 776-6460

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cygnus27 Happy Hour (Bar & Lounge Only)

20% off All Tapas and 50% Off ALL Drinks - 5p-7p Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays. 20% off All Tapas and 50% off All Cygnature Martinis ALL NIGHT Wednesdays

(Bar & Lounge Only - Not Valid in Dining Room)

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Easter Sunday, Cygnus 27 offers our Brunch Service for $39.95 Per Person. We reserve the right to charge a cancellation fee of $10 per person for any cancellation made within 72 hours of the reservation.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mother's Day, Cygnus 27 is offering our Brunch service for $39.95 Per Person. We reserve the right to charge the following cancellation fee: $10 per person for any cancellation made within 72 hours of the reservation.

Cygnus 27 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (51)
Romantic (49)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Special Occasion (44)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Modern Decor (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Tapas (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Waterfront (17)
Cozy (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (11)
Fun (11)
Seasonal (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Authentic (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Awesome !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The menu at Cygnus 27 continues to evolve. What fun to try new things. And "Carmen" (from the 1913 Room), our server, is the best! She explains all the dishes and what flavors to expect. Finally, hats off to Executive Chef Chris (formerly chef de cuisine at the 1913 Room) for ramping up the menu. Great food, great service...Go!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Restaurant was not open to customizing a meal. Was a slow weekday, we are paying top dollar would think they would make an effort to work with a customer request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Best Brunch in town. Carmen was awesome. The food and service are top notch.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My fiancé and i celebrate our engagement here and the service and food were impeccable. Highly recommend Cygnus 27 for romantic dinner date!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a belated anniversary celebration. Our sever Carmen was outstanding with perfectly timed charming, friendly, welcoming service, and excellent drink recommendations (martini and Camus wine) to pair with our food. The calimari appetizer was fantastic, the filet was exquisitely done, and the view was spectacular.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I will never come to this place again. Horrible food. High prices like 3 meat balls for 9$ and a small piece of grill chicken for 29$. Price's are ridiculous. If you have a medium appetite you need to order 2 entrees.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The staff was friendly and courteous. They took very good care of us. Our waitress took the time to explain several of the dishes on the menu. We took her suggestion on several items - we were not disappointed!

The view is awesome. It was a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was over the top. Max (Maxamillion) was our server and guided us through our dining choices like a pro. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our server Danny was awesome- very professional and fun!

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Cygnus is a great place for Sunday Brunch or a cocktail before or after dinner or an event. The views from the 27th floor can't be beat whether it is the afternoon or night. The bar staff is always attentive and creates the best cocktails. The service also can't be beat. I recommend Cygnus to anyone visiting downtown GR.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were here for a birthday celebration Sunday brunch. The food was fantastic, and the service was extremely friendly if not attentive. Several times our coffee and water glasses were empty and we had to signal someone for refills. Also, the meat-to-table service was rather poor. They stopped by just once--and we had to wait a long time for that visit.

We all left with full and happy tummies though.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Absolutely love the Sunday brunch at Cygnus! The food is creative and wonderful (particularly the sushi and desserts), and the mimosas (as part of the brunch price) are a terrific starter. It is both relaxing and cheerful especially on a bright Sunday morning/afternoon in Grand Rapids. This is our second time at Cygnus on a Sunday and our group enjoyed every bite from the shrimp salad to the scallops to the crepe station. Fabulous! And a shout out to our waiter Alex who was attentive during the entire meal. Can't wait for the Easter brunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great staff who was well educated on the menu and catered to the tree nut allergy I have! Entirely comfortable atmosphere and the views of Grand Rapids at night time is stellar! Entirely warm and welcoming!

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were very disappointed with the food and felt the food was mediocre at best. The plating of the food and sides was poor. The food lacked flavor. The view and drinks were great but not worth the dollars we paid for the evening.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed the ambiance, the wine, the food, the service...everything was awesome!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Carmen is a fantastic server! We couldn't be happier with another dinner at Cygnus 27. We ventured outside of our comfort zone and ordered a dish we both had never had and it was amazing. The sunset view is also priceless!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great views of the city and good table spacing create a wonderful ambiance. Our server was not trained in opening and serving wine which was a bit off-putting but the food service was well paced and professional. The duck, beet salad, and mushroom soup were very good but the empanadas were bland fried dough. Wine list was OK and not too over priced. All in all a very good restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was our first time at Cygnus and all of our expectations were highly exceeded. Alex was an awesome server! He was very attentive and always available when we needed him. We will be back for sure with friends and family!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Server was great!! Only complaint was a steak ordered medium rare came out as medium well.. but it was corrected quickly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Well worth planning a little ahead for Fantastic Vegan Fare! OMG the Mushroom soup was fabulous, the cucumber salad with Almond 'gary' 'vegan cheese' was wonderful with the coral crisps like a sort of crouton. Wonderful service, wonderful food! Definitely going back! So give a little notice with food selections and they will come up with somethin wonderful just for you! Register with happycow.net so all the vegans across the world can find you when they come to town!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vegan, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Anna was our server and she was AMAZING. The entire staff made sure we were well taken care of and were knowledgeable, professional, and warm. Not to mention the food was to die for. Anna made my parents anniversary one for the books.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This restaurant is at the top of the Amway Grand Hotel in Grand Rapids. So I wanted to have dinner there for my 50th birthday and show my daughter the beautiful view of Grand Rapids high atop the hotel. Well that didn't work out for us. Apparently not all of the tables let you see the view. I didn't know that I had to request a window table so we definitely were not by the window and could not be moved because they were at capacity.
Very disappointed and will not return. The food was ok not great . The atmosphere was really what we went for and didn't get it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went to dinner for my fiancés birthday, the food was amazing the drinks were outstanding and the server was phenomenal, can't wait to go back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have a special trandition of going to Cygnus every year for Valentine's day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Amway Grand Plaza hotel has some of the finest restaurants you'll find in Grand Rapids. Valentine's Day is a special occasion, and typically, you want a special restaurant to fill that position. I can say, truthfully, that my choice to dine at Cygnus 27, and not Ruth's Chris steakhouse, was definitely the right choice. The food at Cygnus 27 is unmatched and truly a delight. Their menu is ever-changing, and you'll never know what they'll be serving, which is a nice change from steak and potatoes. The highlight of our night, wholeheartedly, was our server. She filled the night with laughter and made it special. To go, and not have Carmen as your server, would be a tragedy. I cannot recommend her enough. Thank you, Carmen. The servers at Ruth's Chris could certainly learn a thing or two from you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Loved our dinner there! Lauren was our server and she made our night wonderful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Cozy, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was my first trip to Cygnus 27 and I'm excited to go back soon! We went on Valentine's Day and they had a specialty menu. So, while I can't speak to their every day menu, I imagine it is on par with what we had. The service was impeccable, the food was delicious, and we felt very welcome to take our time and enjoy our meal. It is a high-cost meal, but for special occasions I would think it to be worth every penny.

A reservation is definitely recommended as it is an "exclusive sized" restaurant that seems to be very popular. The view from the dining area is a gorgeous panorama of Grand Rapids that adds to the high-end feel of the space. The "27" refers to it being on the 27th floor of the Amway. This gives you views you can't get in any other restaurant in town. Stunning!

While it is described as a "Latin" restaurant, I didn't find that to be overwhelmingly true. This is not a place to go to experience authentic tapas (such as San Chez) but more of a high-end steakhouse/seafood restaurant that has some Latin flair. I had clams in a delicious spicy tomato sauce, seared scallops with pea risotto, and a delicious chocolate torte. My date had a fresh and yummy salad, a perfectly cooked filet with an artichoke salad, and an amazing vanilla bean creme brulee. Needless to say, it was the perfect meal for the biggest date night of the year.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent display of food, fantastic variety and the service was great! We were seated at the same table that we were a month prior (for brunch) and the hostess knew that I recommended that table last time so that's why she put us there again- so awesome that she remembered! Highly recommended to friends and family- The brunch is amazing and we look forward to going back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The menu is creative, with a South American influence. There are assorted small plates so that you can eat Spanish style, as well as full entrees. No beer on tap, but interesting wine list. Attentive service and friendly staff who know their menu. The prices are not absurdly high (if you want that, try Ruth's Chris downstairs or the Chop House across the street), and the quality of the food is consistently high. Great choice before a concert or show downtown, and a distinctive local one rather than a chain restaurant. Stylish decor, but casual atmosphere. One of the best in the area, especially for people who take food seriously. Hope nobody steals their chef any time soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is my second time dining at Cygnus. I certainly was not disappointed. The service was wonderful!
I was greeted immediately and taken to my table with a view. The night continued the same way! The food was amazing and the service impeccable !
The craft cocktails and the wine list are amazing. I will certainly be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Anna our server was fantastic. She was very knowledgeable of the menu as well as the wine pairings. She made our anniversary meal pleasant and memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Best restaurant in GR. Delicious Latin Inflenced food and amazing view. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Comfort Food, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Max was a very attentive waiter and made us feel welcome even though we felt a bit out of our normal social class. The hostess was classy, hospitable and lovely although I fail to remember her name. Thank you for a special date night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We love going to Cygnus 27! We recently celebrated a birthday and there's no better place to have a birthday date night. Our waitress (Carmen) was so much fun and the food is always amazing. Well worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The ambiance, the views, the cocktails, the music, the service, the tapas, and the entrees were ALL outstanding. I will absolutely come here again next time I have a night out in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 26, 2017

A beautiful view and a great meal! Worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Wonderful food, drinks, and the gold standard in service for the Grand Rapids area. Not to be missed!

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Organic, Spicy, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The ambiance is wonderful and the waiter was great...the food, however, was not stellar. I had the filet and my date had the pork chop. His was tastier than mine...the steak was overcooked. The sides were a mixed vegetable type slaw and mine came with three small basically boiled potatotes...again...beautiful restaurant...less than stellar food. Go to Ruth Chris...at least you can count on a good steak.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We have dined for our anniversary for years and have had perfect experiences until this year. The Tapa, New York Strip, was tough and hard to eat. Only finished a small part of it. Otherwise the meal was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.