About Cygnus 27

Set 27 stories up in the heart of Downtown Grand Rapids, Cygnus27 delivers a Latin-inspired menu and sophisticated cocktail lounge with expansive panoramic views of the Grand River and surrounding cityscape.

The drinks and food at Cygnus27 are as distinctive as the space itself. The cocktail menu is based on classic inspirations and evolves seasonally. The light fare options include a variety of sharable plates – perfect for an after-work or evening bite. Or, enjoy one of the locally-sourced seasonal entrees, sure to satiate your appetite.

With its multi-level dining spaces, Cygnus27 is truly THE destination restaurant and cocktail lounge in West Michigan. A fresh, unique, locally sourced, and authentic menu draws on Chef VanHeulen's creativity and has earned the dining room the AAA Four-Diamond mark of distinction.

187 Monroe Avenue NW
Amway Grand Hotel
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Latin / Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar & Cocktail Lounge
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Seasonal Brunch (Labor Day to Mother's Day)
Sunday 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Pearl

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6425

Website:
http://amwaygrand.com/dining/cygnus-27

Catering:
Cygnus27 offers 3 private dining rooms located on the 28th and 29th floors, directly above the restaurant. Seating capacity in our Pinnacle Room is 50ppl, Sky1 - 40ppl, and Sky2 - 20ppl. Multiple rooms can be combined to accommodate larger gatherings. Please contact Private Events Coordinator, Sheila Chalmers, to reserve your space: cygnus27@ahchospitality.com or 616-776-6460.

Parking Details:
Cygnus27 validates parking from both the hotel self-parking ramp & valet located on Pearl Street.

Executive Chef:
Stephan VanHeulen

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private & private accommodations are available.

http://amwaygrand.com/uploads/dining/Cygnus27_PRIVATE_DINING_ROOMS_Information_Winter2015.pdf

Private Party Contact:
Sheila Chalmers: (616) 776-6460

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cygnus27 Happy Hour (Bar & Lounge Only)

20% off All Tapas and 50% Off ALL Drinks - 5p-7p Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays. 20% off All Tapas and 50% off All Cygnature Martinis ALL NIGHT Wednesdays

(Bar & Lounge Only - Not Valid in Dining Room)

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mother's Day, Cygnus 27 is offering our Brunch service for $39.95 Per Person. We reserve the right to charge the following cancellation fee: $10 per person for any cancellation made within 72 hours of the reservation.

Cygnus 27 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (56)
Scenic View (53)
Romantic (50)
See All
Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Modern Decor (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Waterfront (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Tapas (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Cozy (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Fun (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Private Room (3)
Casual (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined a day ago

I love love love brunch here! Such amazing service and great quality

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined a day ago

The Sunday Brunch is amazing, the food is wonderful and service is even better. This is a Grand Rapids must do.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service, which to me, is just as important as the food for a total dining experience. The desserts satisfy tastes for the expected and unexpected, and were absolutely delicious. Great restaurant; highly recommend.

Tags: Private Room, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The ambience alone makes it worth every penny with such a marvelous panoramic view of the city. But the food and service are both outstanding making it an excellent choice for an extra special occasion. My wife and I were thrilled to be able to make a last minute reservation the day before Easter. Thanks to our waiter Max and the whole team for a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Disappointed in the quality and the changes to Cygnus 27 brunch menu. We have been regular for the past 15 years but we decided this will likely be the last time we go to Cygnus for brunch. The new Brazilian Rodizio menu leaves a lot to be desired. The meat was cold and tough. Wish they would go back to the small plates.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Me and my boyfriend went for brunch and it was amazing. Our server, Danny, was great! We had the buffet and everything we tried was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The only thing that was disappointing was we're staying at the Amway Grand, and called this restaurant to add to our reservation just one more person our son. We were told sorry we're completely booked, yet we were Sat at a four top, and we're there for an hour and a half the four top next to us never got Sat. I'm very disappointed , in that our son could not be with us because the restaurant stated they were booked. Problem? Yes! He was coming from Ann Arbor. We are staying at the Amway for four days, and will not go back to this restaurant while we're here.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I chose Cygnus 27 for my birthday, by word of mouth. My friend and I enjoyed ourselves. The view was beautiful and our food was delicious. Our waitress was very kind and accommodating. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

wonderful food and setting, worth the time and money for a special date.

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Sunday brunch date with my wife. First time at Cygnus27, was impressed from start to finish. So many delicious options, waddled out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a great brunch, highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing ambience, food and service! They really went above and beyond, will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a fabulous meal to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious and the service superb.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service and food were both great. The room was very hot when we walked in but cooled to a reasonable level before we left. We were sat in an area without a view, while tables by the windows were left empty the whole time we were there. If you want a window seat please make sure you mention it when making a reservation ( disadvantage to using open table, I guess)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Carmen was our waitress. she is extremely knowledgeable in all of the cuisine. Very outgoing and friendly. knows wines and other drinks. one of the best people we have seen anywhere in the business in a long time. she treated all her tables like they were the most special people in the restaurant .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Treated my girlfriend and I to a special dinner for our 1 year anniversary. The service was exceptional - waitress was very attentive and well versed of the various entrees on the menu. Drinks were made to perfection and the ambience was just right. Would recommend for a special date or special celebration. Thank you Cygnus 27! See you again soon.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Had a wonderful birthday dinner at Cygnus 27. The chef prepared a special dish to meet my dietary need (vegetarian) and it was wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The meal was great... and the bartenders are hella gnar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We didn't like the food. The calamari was ok. The meatballs were good but the wild mushroom soup was bland to the point we were seasoning it with salt and pepper at the table to make it worth eating. And neither of us is much of a salt lover normally. The pork was good but overall we both felt the meal wasn't worth returning. Our server was very enthusiastic and probably the highlight of the meal. We will stick with Ruth's Chris next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was exceptional with incredible flavors..... ceviche, pork chop. You won't go wrong.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Awesome !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The menu at Cygnus 27 continues to evolve. What fun to try new things. And "Carmen" (from the 1913 Room), our server, is the best! She explains all the dishes and what flavors to expect. Finally, hats off to Executive Chef Chris (formerly chef de cuisine at the 1913 Room) for ramping up the menu. Great food, great service...Go!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Restaurant was not open to customizing a meal. Was a slow weekday, we are paying top dollar would think they would make an effort to work with a customer request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Best Brunch in town. Carmen was awesome. The food and service are top notch.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My fiancé and i celebrate our engagement here and the service and food were impeccable. Highly recommend Cygnus 27 for romantic dinner date!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a belated anniversary celebration. Our sever Carmen was outstanding with perfectly timed charming, friendly, welcoming service, and excellent drink recommendations (martini and Camus wine) to pair with our food. The calimari appetizer was fantastic, the filet was exquisitely done, and the view was spectacular.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I will never come to this place again. Horrible food. High prices like 3 meat balls for 9$ and a small piece of grill chicken for 29$. Price's are ridiculous. If you have a medium appetite you need to order 2 entrees.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The staff was friendly and courteous. They took very good care of us. Our waitress took the time to explain several of the dishes on the menu. We took her suggestion on several items - we were not disappointed!

The view is awesome. It was a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was over the top. Max (Maxamillion) was our server and guided us through our dining choices like a pro. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our server Danny was awesome- very professional and fun!

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Cygnus is a great place for Sunday Brunch or a cocktail before or after dinner or an event. The views from the 27th floor can't be beat whether it is the afternoon or night. The bar staff is always attentive and creates the best cocktails. The service also can't be beat. I recommend Cygnus to anyone visiting downtown GR.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were here for a birthday celebration Sunday brunch. The food was fantastic, and the service was extremely friendly if not attentive. Several times our coffee and water glasses were empty and we had to signal someone for refills. Also, the meat-to-table service was rather poor. They stopped by just once--and we had to wait a long time for that visit.

We all left with full and happy tummies though.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Absolutely love the Sunday brunch at Cygnus! The food is creative and wonderful (particularly the sushi and desserts), and the mimosas (as part of the brunch price) are a terrific starter. It is both relaxing and cheerful especially on a bright Sunday morning/afternoon in Grand Rapids. This is our second time at Cygnus on a Sunday and our group enjoyed every bite from the shrimp salad to the scallops to the crepe station. Fabulous! And a shout out to our waiter Alex who was attentive during the entire meal. Can't wait for the Easter brunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great staff who was well educated on the menu and catered to the tree nut allergy I have! Entirely comfortable atmosphere and the views of Grand Rapids at night time is stellar! Entirely warm and welcoming!

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were very disappointed with the food and felt the food was mediocre at best. The plating of the food and sides was poor. The food lacked flavor. The view and drinks were great but not worth the dollars we paid for the evening.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed the ambiance, the wine, the food, the service...everything was awesome!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Carmen is a fantastic server! We couldn't be happier with another dinner at Cygnus 27. We ventured outside of our comfort zone and ordered a dish we both had never had and it was amazing. The sunset view is also priceless!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great views of the city and good table spacing create a wonderful ambiance. Our server was not trained in opening and serving wine which was a bit off-putting but the food service was well paced and professional. The duck, beet salad, and mushroom soup were very good but the empanadas were bland fried dough. Wine list was OK and not too over priced. All in all a very good restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was our first time at Cygnus and all of our expectations were highly exceeded. Alex was an awesome server! He was very attentive and always available when we needed him. We will be back for sure with friends and family!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Server was great!! Only complaint was a steak ordered medium rare came out as medium well.. but it was corrected quickly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.