About Cygnus 27

187 Monroe Avenue NW
Amway Grand Hotel
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Set 27 stories up in the heart of Downtown Grand Rapids, Cygnus27 delivers a Latin-inspired menu and sophisticated cocktail lounge with expansive panoramic views of the Grand River and surrounding cityscape.

The drinks and food at Cygnus27 are as distinctive as the space itself. The cocktail menu is based on classic inspirations and evolves seasonally. The light fare options include a variety of sharable plates – perfect for an after-work or evening bite. Or, enjoy one of the locally-sourced seasonal entrees, sure to satiate your appetite.

With its multi-level dining spaces, Cygnus27 is truly THE destination restaurant and cocktail lounge in West Michigan. A fresh, unique, and authentic menu draws on the Chef Moreno's Latin American heritage and his made-from-scratch dishes that have earned the dining room the AAA Four-Diamond mark of distinction.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Latin / Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar & Cocktail Lounge
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Seasonal Brunch (Labor Day to Mother's Day)
Sunday 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Pearl

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6425

Website:
http://amwaygrand.com/dining/cygnus-27

Catering:
Cygnus27 offers 3 private dining rooms located on the 28th and 29th floors, directly above the restaurant. Seating capacity in our Pinnacle Room is 50ppl, Sky1 - 40ppl, and Sky2 - 20ppl. Mulitple rooms can be combined to accommodate larger gatherings- please contact Sheila Chalmers for booking information, 616-776-6460 or email cygnus27@ahchospitality.com

Parking Details:
Cygnus27 validates parking from both the hotel parking ramp & Valet located on Pearl Street.

Executive Chef:
Tim Moreno

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private & private accommodations are available.

http://amwaygrand.com/uploads/dining/Cygnus27_PRIVATE_DINING_ROOMS_Information_Winter2015.pdf

Private Party Contact:
Sheila Chalmers: 6167766460x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Cygnus27 Happy Hour

20% off all Share Plates and HALF OFF ALL Drinks - 5p-7p Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays AND ALL NIGHT WEDNESDAYS (bar & lounge only)

Restaurant Photos

Cygnus 27 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Scenic View
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
7 More
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

scenic view (86)
special occasion (86)
romantic (61)
See All
fit for foodies (42)
great for brunch (35)
notable wine list (25)
late-night find (13)
good for groups (13)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for lunch (6)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
760 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was professional, our food w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our service was professional, our food was great, and the setting is the best in G.R. We felt relaxed and well cared for. Thank you!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

All was very good. Restaurant busy so ha ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

All was very good. Restaurant busy so had to wait a bit for food. All personnel was delightful

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was incredible ! Fresh flavor co ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Dinner was incredible ! Fresh flavor combinations, textures, visual appeal all TOP RANK ! Wait staff could not have been more helpful, professional and/or friendly. Pre Broadway Phantom of the Opera dinner made for a most memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The windows need to be cleaned! The staf ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The windows need to be cleaned! The staff needs to be more strict on unruly and loud customers! Food was amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience

Dined on May 13, 2016

My husband and I went there five years ago - to celebrate our 5-yr dating anniversary. So we thought it perfect to go and celebrate our 5-yr wedding anniversary, too. That and our new baby girl, due very soon - June 2nd. We hope to be back again in 5 years! :D

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was inventive and truly excellent. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was inventive and truly excellent. Will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great GR Experience!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Cygnus delivers on fantastic service, an alluring atmosphere, amazing food - - this means a terrific dining experience for all. We all ordered different appetizers, entrees and desserts and everyone was completely satisfied with their selections. Cygnus carries an extensive wine and spirits menu rounding out an impeccable time well spent with friends and family.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cygnus 27 was an excellent location for ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Cygnus 27 was an excellent location for a wonderful dinner. The view was incredible looking down the Grand and watching the sunset. Our wait person was excellent and made us feel special. She made good recommendations that turned out as good as she said. We just enjoyed our evening there so much. It should be on the top of the open table list for Grand Rapids.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for a celebratory Sunday Brunch!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing view of downtown GR with an endless buffet of options. Even the donutholes were perfection....Talk about detail! Our server Tom was extremely attentive, friendly, and made our experience very enjoyable! Can't wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Entree to Latin Fliar with a View

Dined on April 30, 2016

What a great find, after eating at Wolfgang below 2 weeks earlier we took an elevator ride to the 27th floor to find this fantastic view with a eclectic menu of Latin fair. Started with some very interesting cocktails on the menu, they offer mixtures I hadn't had before. One with grapefruit vodka and 2 two other mixers I hadn't heard of, but good. We started with the blue corn crispy calamari, very nice taste and flavor, the kale salad was outstanding to follow with a spicy pasticcio complementing it. Dinner was Paella with a twist, instead of rice its a noodle, I was suspicious but it was excellent, loaded with the traditional shrimp, scallops, mussels, monkfish. My wife had the Halibut and it was a nice thick piece very moist and flavorful. We had the Gelato for dessert only because the rest of the menu was too loaded with chocolate which is fine if you like chocolate. Tracy is one of the best managers of the place and keeps all in order and our server Tom was great. I would ask for both by name.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Night

Dined on April 27, 2016

Service was great- food was on point and workers knew what they were talking about . Ambiance perfect. We went on a weekday and it was not crowded. It was our date night and it was worth it. We came for dessert to end our evening . I reserved table but looks like I didn't need too. But I would reserve a table . The only thing is that 3 of the 4 chairs have arm rests which can be restrictive.I love to wiggle around in my seat so that made it uncomfortable

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Awesome view! Great food and service! Little pricey but worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect at Sunset

Dined on April 23, 2016

GR was a stop on our craft beer tour weekend, so we reserved a night at the Amway Grand. After looking at Cygnus' menu on-line, we made a dinner reservation about a week ahead of our arrival. I called from a house phone downstairs to let them know we would be running about 15 minutes late; the reason was that the pre-dinner whiskey pours at the Lumber Baron bar (another must-hit spot) were more generous than I expected (drink prices at LB seemed high, but only until I saw the pours). Cygnus staff said they could accommodate us with no problem. Every aspect of dinner was outstanding. I had short ribs; they were absolutely delicious, the accompaniments were great and the portions were sized reasonably. Prices were in-line with the quality, service and degree of preparation/presentation. Service was friendly: attentive but unobtrusive. At one point our head-waiter came by, initially I thought to clear my plate; realizing my wife was not yet finished, he did a subtle shift of gears and merely asked whether we needed anything else. I later confirmed that my observation was correct and I complimented him for deciding not to remove my plate. His skill is noteworthy because the waiter was quite young, but his level of professionalism belied his few years of service. Too often these days, restaurant staffers bus away plates in the name of "making room," but the message is that they want to turn over the table. I give my highest compliments for service to Cygnus; clearly their staff is well-trained in more elegant service that harks back to a time when things were less rushed. We had time to enjoy our food and the view of GR at sunset. We will remember this dinner and visit for years to come. It didn't hurt that we were upgraded to suite accommodations. Breakfast downstairs the following morning was also very well done. Everything about this hotel reflects elegance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Riverdance Dining

Dined on April 16, 2016

Decided to try Cygnus for dinner while we were up in Grand Rapids to see Riverdance. The view was amazing, the food was fantastic and our waiter Alex did an absolutely wonderful job with everything. We enjoyed the venue so much we decided to go back for desert after the show. Another wonderful surprise with the atmosphere changing to more of a nightclub feel with a DJ and some great music. We will certainly make this a place to visit on a more regular basis.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed the appetizer and salads, pork c ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Enjoyed the appetizer and salads, pork chop was very good but would not recommend the lamb.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What you would hope for in a restaurant

Dined on April 2, 2016

Knowledgeable, friendly staff. Good food, well cooked. Great view. Good hours. Appropriate pricing... A+

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Love this place!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular view and splendid food

Dined on March 27, 2016

We dine at Cygnus 27 to celebrate memorable events and holidays like Thanksgiving and Easter. Dining on the 27th floor of the Amway Grand Plaza with the city of Grand Rapids spread below you - well for me, it doesn't get better.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our experience here was excellent and I can't wait to go back. Worth mentioning: Iberico ham, Brazilian style steak, pork loin, chicken and scallops, and the eggs benedict. The variety of food including sushi and crepes was great- everything exceeded our expectations.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Almost perfect

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great service. Great food selection with the addition of the Brazilian Rodizio items. The pork was overcooked, unfortunately. Everything else was really good. I will miss the endless mimosas. But we still enjoyed the flavors and the view.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great but....

Dined on March 13, 2016

My friend and I have been coming to brunch at Cygnus 27 for the last 4 years. It's always amazing, we keep coming back every year for our birthdays. I was saddened to find out that they are now charging for the mimosas and were not made aware of the charges until our bills came. The fact that we were not made aware of this and that there is a charge at all now is the only reason I didn't give all 5 stars.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was not pleasant!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Not impressed with the entree's. I was ok with the high prices but not ok with the bad choice of menu!!! Not impressed!!!

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Cygnus 27 Brunch

Dined on February 28, 2016

My wife and I had not visited Cygnus in a number of years and decided to return for an anniversary brunch last week. Thankfully the day was sunny and bright, the view of Grand Rapids and the surrounding area from the 27th floor was fantastic. I cannot however say the same for the quality and variety of brunch options available to us. The value to view might be worth it, but value to food leaves a lot to be desired. Our server and staff members were great but that could not make up for the meal. If you come to Cygnus 27, pray for a clear sunny day to soak in the views and expect to pay alot for that view. You won't get it back in the brunch meal quality or options.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience.

Dined on February 28, 2016

The experience was amazing. The atmosphere was divine and the service was awesome. The food was reasonably priced, extremely well cooked, and tasty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Ambiance was the best part

Dined on February 25, 2016

Ambiance at Cygnus 27 is spectacular. I wish the food matched. I have dined here before and was impressed. This was not the case this last time. I brought my business colleagues to Cygnus 27 for a business dinner, based on past positive experiences I have had with this restaurant. Service was great, atmosphere is one of the best in Grand Rapids. However, the food seemed to have spent too much time under the heat lamps. Not sure why, as the restaurant was not that busy. The quality of food did not equal the price. The steak I ordered was supposed to be medium, however it was served well done on a bed of overcooked vegetables. I prefer restaurants that pride themselves in serving fresh food.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Sunday Brunch

Dined on February 21, 2016

After our first visit, we just had to go back for another Sunday brunch because it's absolutely wonderful. Oh, the food! So many choices, deliciously prepared and beautifully presented. The service is excellent and the staff, warm and friendly. And the view is spectacular. We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Nice view, good apps, meh main course, huge bill

Dined on February 20, 2016

While this restaurant offers a great view of downtown GR, that's probably it's only real draw. I took my girlfriend as a belated Valentines Day dinner and overall it was alright. Nothing great, nothing awful, just a ok experience that I probably won't repeat. We had a pair of appetizers, drinks, dinner, and dessert. Apps were pretty good, however the dinner was not noteworthy. I can only assume that the drinks are carried by hand in lead casks up the stairs, otherwise someone misplaced a decimal point when they were priced. Dessert was something of a spectacle, but otherwise unremarkable, although considering it was chocolate on chocolate with chocolate, the GF was in love. All told we racked up just under $150 including 18%. Worth it? Eh. GF had fun, and it was a classy end to our date. I'm calling it a wash, but like I said before, I'm probably not going to hurry back.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Casual Date Night

Dined on February 20, 2016

My husband and I went a few days ago to make up for Valentine's day. Parking was full but thankful for valet parking(free if you dine). :D We ordered the Manchego Fritters and Chorizo Croquette. Amazing!! The jam that was on top of the fritters was so good. Trip was worth it just for those starter dishes. My husband ordered the pork chop and I got the short ribs. Pork chops were okay but a little salty for our taste and the short ribs was a no-no. It was bland and i didn't think the arroz con crema complemented the meat at all. We should have ordered the lamb shank and filet again. Those two dishes never fail. :D For dessert we got the banana creme brulee and it was full blown banana everything(maybe a little too much). But overall we enjoyed our time and will definitely come back again for the starter dishes. Love using opentable because I can put a note to the restaurant to have cold moscato ready for me. :D

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic Weekend Getaway

Dined on February 19, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the Latin/South American direction the new chef is taking with the menu. Some eclectic and savory pairings provided multiple taste bud surprises. The lamb shank and salmon were perfectly cooked and NOT over-seasoned as is, unfortunately, so common. The Molten Chocolate dessert was a delectable treat to eat... and watch! It was neither to rich nor too large. That said the Mango dessert was amazing: fresh, light, chilled and satisfying! The view to the West was delightful... particularly at sunset. The staff was superb, our waitress, Krista I believe, was perfect. Her personality and punctuality were unparalleled. Despite our discomfort in such classy surroundings she put us at ease with her humor, smile, and service.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a treat

Dined on February 14, 2016

We took our kids and spouses for brunch. Food was superb. Service was impeccable. The view was great. We truly enjoyed everything.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was a lovely brunch for a special occasion! Love that they have added the Brazilian steak house flair along with the brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

I was hoping for more

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was old fashion in plating and Unappealing to look at, flavor was bland .. And the restaurant was very cold to sit in. In addition bread was cold and gross . Highlight was great service , good view , food came out fast, and our server made a great wine recommendation. I guess I was hoping for more ..I mean the potential for that place is incredible. Especially with such great staff. For the same money, I would rather get a steak from chophouse or Ruth Chris from now on .

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

To keep this short and sweet, the views ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

To keep this short and sweet, the views are amazing! We dined at night, which was spectacular to see the city lights and cars far off in the distance! The service was outstanding, and the people were extremely nice. The "Shareables" or "Appetizers" are extremely small portioned, but do please realize this is common when eating at fancy 5 star restaurants. The Entrée was absolute perfect. Only thing I would list as a negative experience here would be the room temperature (February visit). My girlfriend was cold the entire time in here which ruined her experience, and after a while I was cold too. Overall, everything was perfect aside how cold the temperature of the restaurant was.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Two nights in a row

Dined on February 13, 2016

I was in both Fr and Sat nights. My server Fr night was awesome, Sat night, nice kid, but he fumbled a bit. Likewise the main hostess both nights was really great, the back up was not quite as good. The food was excellent, and the pricing was better than expected. I'll definitely be back. My only real negative was that it got quite noisy after 9:30. I don't mind some noise, but the folks in the lounge were pretty raucous. All in all a very nice time was had by me and both of my dates.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New menu, still a sure thing

Dined on February 13, 2016

We came to Cygnus again for Valentine's Day, and they didn't respond. We hadn't been back since they changed menus (to Latin themed fare) and chefs, but the new offerings don't disappoint. They had a lovely prix fixe menu for V-Day, and we took advantage of that, alongside with some mixed drinks. The food was divine, especially the appetizer with roasted dates and the desserts (a banana crème brûlée and a chocolate mousse).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant and romantic.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Superb view of Grand Rapids night lights and deliciously prepared entrees. Service was excellent. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Big City Dining Experience Without the Hassle

Dined on February 7, 2016

Cygnus 27 was reminiscent of several rooftop restaurants in larger cities like Toronto or New York. The artsy, modern interior and panoramic views of Grand Rapids contributed greatly to the atmosphere, perfect for going out with a few friends or your special someone. The price range is a bit high, but you certainly get the quality you pay for and the limited selection on the menu is made up for by the mastery with which all the dishes are plated and constructed. I had the lamb and couscous, which was a wonderfully seasoned and nicely matched pairing with contrasting texture and rich, bold flavors that complimented each other perfectly. The appetizer; Manchego Fritters was expertly paired with a sweet glaze to offset the rich smokiness of the chese. As for desert; Cygnus 27 has mastered pairing of fruit with sweets, the mango custard overtop coconut pudding was an experience with bright, acidic notes balancing with smooth sweet undertones in the coconut. Expect contrasting flavors and multi-dimensional experiences with different aspects of the same dish. I highly recommend this restaurant for a nice night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and Awesome Service

Dined on February 6, 2016

My mother and I make a point every couple years to go to Grand Rapids and stay at the Amway just so we can eat at Cygnus 27...I Love this place. The food is amazing and the staff is always energetic and fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

1/30/16

Dined on January 31, 2016

My fiance and I went to Cygnus 27 for our anniversary for drinks and desert to end the night. We had a wonderful. The service was very good, and they accomodated our reservation very nicely.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING

Dined on January 28, 2016

My husband and I went to celebrate his work promotion and the service, food, and view of the city was outstanding! This is our new favorite hot spot for special occasions. What a night, if you have never been here its a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.