About Cyclone Anaya's - Midtown

309 Gray St.
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Cyclone Anaya’s has been a family Houston institution since 1966 serving great quality TEX-MEX food.
Our award winning Margaritas, top shelf Tequilas & incredible wine list add to the amazing experience you will have at Cyclone Anaya's.

From our fresh of the grill Fajitas, our tasty enchiladas and fresh salads to our in-house made desserts, we are sure you will be amazed with your experience at Cyclone Anaya's.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tex-Mex, Mexican, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Tuesday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Wednesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00am

Sunday: 9:30am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bagby St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 520-6969

Website:
http://www.cycloneanaya.com/

Catering:
We offer both in-house & off site catering for large and small groups. From our amazing Fajitas, Enchiladas & Salads to our in-house made desserts, we can cater any style event.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Jason Gould

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cyclone Anaya's - Midtown
Cyclone Anaya's - Midtown

Cyclone Anaya's - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.3

ambience

3.7

value

3.3

noise

Energetic

67% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
See All
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Romantic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
29 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was not a good dining experience. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was not a good dining experience. The food lacked flavor. The server was not knowledgeable about the menu. She didn't know where fajitas could be found on the menu... The food was expensive especially considering that it simply was not good... Again, this was not a good dining experience and I do not recommend going here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The taco al carbon was great. I have not ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The taco al carbon was great. I have nothing else to say.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice server, but order was wrong, and th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Nice server, but order was wrong, and then corrected order was cold. Quality of the food not as good as Durham location. Restaurant did seem clean. Margaritas chips and salsa above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was incredible....it was a v ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was incredible....it was a very special day. Fathers Day and my future son-in law asked for our daughter's hand in marriage! It made for a long special morning...and the waiter never lost patience with us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed my Bday

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I've been here maybe once or twice and I LOVE it!! Would recommend everyone to try it! My server was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service - poor food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The waiter we had was great, but the food was not that great. I had migas and they were not very good. Migas is a simple dish, but these were not good. The outside seating was great. I just wish the food was better to match the great patio dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Favorite place to eat and drink

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Favorite place to eat and drink

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Go!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

We had a group that used to work together. Our waiter was attentive and patient. It was too much fun!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Extremely pleasant brunch

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We were surprised that it wasn't a packed house. It was a nice day and most people were sitting outside. We sat indoors and nearly had the place to ourselves! The drawback was that the service suffered a little. But the food was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to have lunch.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Great place to have lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've never had a bad meal here! The serv ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

I've never had a bad meal here! The service and food are always fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for dinner with a group. Food was o ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Went for dinner with a group. Food was ok, service was good but the music was blaring. Not sure if there is some confusion or desire to be a nightclub but if these guys truly want to be a restaurant there is no need to have the music so loud that you had to shout at the person beside you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Had a great lunch, food was hot and the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Had a great lunch, food was hot and the service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice group dinner here

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 27, 2015

Took a group of co-workers here, it was nice short walking distance from our Crowne Plaza hotel downtown. Great little neighborhood that it is in with other good restaurants/shops. We were recommended to go here and it was very good. Great margaritas. We were a group of 10 and the server did a great job with drinks, food, etc. We were in and out in less than 75 minutes, it flew by. Everyone raved about the chips and salsa, some may not have ordered food! Nice atmosphere, a bit loud but its a good accompaniment to the atmosphere not a detraction.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

so much fun, excellent setting for a celebration

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

so much fun!! it is an excellent setting for a celebration or night out. Great food, good drinks!! Ambiance is A+

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Great Choice!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2015

The food was quite good and the atmosphere and service were good as well. Only thing is they cancelled our reservation after we left the restaurant and had to contact open table to get my points. Hope this is not a habit of theirs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service was TERRIBLE

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

Embarrassed by terrible service for out of town guests. Was sat in back corner where waitstaff just passed us by. After 10-15 minutes had to ask hostess for service. ANOTHER 10-15 minutes went by before server finally showed up. Restaurant was NOT busy enough to neglect tables. Server did not seem interested in timeliness and continuity of service. Asked several times for waters to be refreshed without any return (Poured new individual glasses each time and by the end of the lunch the end of the table had about two dozen empty glasses. Really, just bring a pitcher of water.) Food was slow to show and orders were incomplete (kitchen wasn't keeping up I'm assuming) Was not impressed overall.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Loud Lunch with old friends

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2015

I visited this restaurant on 8/6/15 for lunch. I haven't been there for some time because I always remember it being quite loud. It was very busy, and again quite noisy, but another friend had suggested it as it was close to where we all work.

There were three of us and we all had salads. Everyone agreed their salad was good but not great. I'm sure I'll go back again, but it would not be my first choice for catching up with old friends, primarily because of the noise level. The place is obviously popular.

Our server was not the greatest; she tended to disappear for long stretches.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Met with some business partners for dinn ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2015

Met with some business partners for dinner. We were able to get some business out of the way just in time to enjoy the delicious food and margaritas. The service was great. Defiantly will repeat soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Group outing

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2015

Great place for a group dinner. Service and food were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Highly Recommend Cyclone Anaya's for lunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 15, 2014

As always, excellet food at Cyclone Anaya's with lots of choices. I frequent the restaurant and try new dishes all the time and have yet to order something I didn't like. Typically the service is very good but yesterday I believe. If you are brining a large group, make reservations ahead of time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

great service and good food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 20, 2014

Went for a coworkers birthday lunch. Lots of variety on menu. Five ladies ordered a different plate and all were great. The waiter was always near but not intrusive, we all had full drink glasses before they were empty and removed plates as we finished. Was a little concerned about parking but valet was quick and courteous. Will go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Much better than the typical Tex Mex. I ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 23, 2014

Much better than the typical Tex Mex. In addition to the standard, some very creative dishes along with very good service makes this a consistent favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

great place to go for a get together. F ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 12, 2014

great place to go for a get together. Food is excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2014

terrible service. Didn't take our order for almost an hour, and kept trying to make us buy stuff we didn't want.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Food ok, service not

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2014

Food had strange flavors and when mentioned to the server, he did not seem to care. We enjoyed the bottomless mimosa for Sunday brunch, but the over all serving experience and staff attitudes were a little shocking to my group. One person in our group never even got to order food and had to go else where to eat. This restaurant has a strict dress code that they enforce, yet it is not posted on line about the strick dress code. When I hear a venue say a strick dress code enforced, I would assume that those rules apply to everyone that is dining in the venue and not just certain people they select. Not 1 person of the 7 people at my table left happy, nor did the table right next to us. No manager was visible, maybe this was the problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Some colleagues and I chose this restuar ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2014

Some colleagues and I chose this restuarant for a birthday celebration. The food was fresh and tasty, the service good, and we generally had just a really good time and celebration.

Will definitely go back for a Happy Hour and savor the Margaritas.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Casual Dining Spot

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2014

Tasty food, nice atmosphere. Good place to go to on Friday for drinks and good Tex-Mex good. I'll be going back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor Service

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2014

There was no receptionist present for much of the night which left customers confused (including myself). Also, our waitress had the worst timing and brought us entrees immediately after dropping off our appetizers which left us unable to finish even half of our apps. She would also routinely interrupt my colleagues and I mid conversation instead of saying excuse me or waiting for an opening. Very rude and irritating.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.