Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Cyclone Anaya's - Midtown

4.6
38 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tex-Mex
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Afternoon Coffee
Cyclone Anaya’s has been a family Houston institution since 1966 serving great quality TEX-MEX food.
Our award winning Margaritas, top shelf Tequilas & incredible wine list add to the amazing experience you will have at Cyclone Anaya's.

From our fresh of the grill Fajitas, our tasty enchiladas and fresh salads to our in-house made desserts, we are sure you will be amazed with your experience at Cyclone Anaya's.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Tex-Mex, Mexican, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Tuesday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Wednesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00am

Sunday: 9:30am - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(713) 520-6969
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Gould
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer both in-house & off site catering for large and small groups. From our amazing Fajitas, Enchiladas & Salads to our in-house made desserts, we can cater any style event.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bagby St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet Parking
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 38 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.1
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Love the drinks here!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Can’t go wrong with the Rita’s and the Lobster Tacos

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Business dinner for 10 folks. The table was ready to go at time of reservation - 7pm. We had the most AMAZING waiter - Joey!!! Drinks were delicious and the food was served within a reasonable time of ordering and HOT

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 28, 2017

If you plan to dine here, find out if there will be live music. The restaurant is way too small for a live band using an amplifier. I literally had to yell at my dinner guest sitting next to me in order to be heard. The loud music ruined our get together and I only get to see this friend once a year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Great ambiance but the table next to us was very loud.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 14, 2017

I have dined here many times and always been one of my favorites, but yesterday I had a horrible experience. Not only did I have to ask another waiter to send ours over to the table, but I found a hair in my shrimp tacos. I asked them to redo the order, which they did. They did comp the tacos, but at this point, I feel more should have been done

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 20, 2017

We had a work event with 17 people. From the minute we walked in everything went smoothly and everyone really enjoyed themselves, and the FOOD. We will return soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 18, 2017

Thanks for a great birthday lunch!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2017

The food and service is always wonderful at Cyclone Anaya's, but their live band playing indoors in their smaller Midtown location was a bit much this last time we went. We were screaming at one another the entire meal and I legit woke up hoarse the next day from it. The band was great, but maybe outside where it isn't so overwhelming. No one seemed to be enjoying it....

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 15, 2016

This was not a good dining experience. The food lacked flavor. The server was not knowledgeable about the menu. She didn't know where fajitas could be found on the menu... The food was expensive especially considering that it simply was not good... Again, this was not a good dining experience and I do not recommend going here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 13, 2016

The taco al carbon was great. I have nothing else to say.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 4, 2016

Nice server, but order was wrong, and then corrected order was cold. Quality of the food not as good as Durham location. Restaurant did seem clean. Margaritas chips and salsa above average.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was incredible....it was a very special day. Fathers Day and my future son-in law asked for our daughter's hand in marriage! It made for a long special morning...and the waiter never lost patience with us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2016

I've been here maybe once or twice and I LOVE it!! Would recommend everyone to try it! My server was excellent

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 8, 2016

The waiter we had was great, but the food was not that great. I had migas and they were not very good. Migas is a simple dish, but these were not good. The outside seating was great. I just wish the food was better to match the great patio dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2016

Favorite place to eat and drink

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2016

We had a group that used to work together. Our waiter was attentive and patient. It was too much fun!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 7, 2016

We were surprised that it wasn't a packed house. It was a nice day and most people were sitting outside. We sat indoors and nearly had the place to ourselves! The drawback was that the service suffered a little. But the food was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2016

Great place to have lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2016

I've never had a bad meal here! The service and food are always fantastic!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 7, 2016

Went for dinner with a group. Food was ok, service was good but the music was blaring. Not sure if there is some confusion or desire to be a nightclub but if these guys truly want to be a restaurant there is no need to have the music so loud that you had to shout at the person beside you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2015

Had a great lunch, food was hot and the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2015

Took a group of co-workers here, it was nice short walking distance from our Crowne Plaza hotel downtown. Great little neighborhood that it is in with other good restaurants/shops. We were recommended to go here and it was very good. Great margaritas. We were a group of 10 and the server did a great job with drinks, food, etc. We were in and out in less than 75 minutes, it flew by. Everyone raved about the chips and salsa, some may not have ordered food! Nice atmosphere, a bit loud but its a good accompaniment to the atmosphere not a detraction.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2015

so much fun!! it is an excellent setting for a celebration or night out. Great food, good drinks!! Ambiance is A+

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 15, 2015

The food was quite good and the atmosphere and service were good as well. Only thing is they cancelled our reservation after we left the restaurant and had to contact open table to get my points. Hope this is not a habit of theirs.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 7, 2015

Embarrassed by terrible service for out of town guests. Was sat in back corner where waitstaff just passed us by. After 10-15 minutes had to ask hostess for service. ANOTHER 10-15 minutes went by before server finally showed up. Restaurant was NOT busy enough to neglect tables. Server did not seem interested in timeliness and continuity of service. Asked several times for waters to be refreshed without any return (Poured new individual glasses each time and by the end of the lunch the end of the table had about two dozen empty glasses. Really, just bring a pitcher of water.) Food was slow to show and orders were incomplete (kitchen wasn't keeping up I'm assuming) Was not impressed overall.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 6, 2015

I visited this restaurant on 8/6/15 for lunch. I haven't been there for some time because I always remember it being quite loud. It was very busy, and again quite noisy, but another friend had suggested it as it was close to where we all work.
There were three of us and we all had salads. Everyone agreed their salad was good but not great. I'm sure I'll go back again, but it would not be my first choice for catching up with old friends, primarily because of the noise level. The place is obviously popular.
Our server was not the greatest; she tended to disappear for long stretches.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 23, 2015

Met with some business partners for dinner. We were able to get some business out of the way just in time to enjoy the delicious food and margaritas. The service was great. Defiantly will repeat soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2015

Great place for a group dinner. Service and food were great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 15, 2014

As always, excellet food at Cyclone Anaya's with lots of choices. I frequent the restaurant and try new dishes all the time and have yet to order something I didn't like. Typically the service is very good but yesterday I believe. If you are brining a large group, make reservations ahead of time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 20, 2014

Went for a coworkers birthday lunch. Lots of variety on menu. Five ladies ordered a different plate and all were great. The waiter was always near but not intrusive, we all had full drink glasses before they were empty and removed plates as we finished. Was a little concerned about parking but valet was quick and courteous. Will go again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 22, 2014

Much better than the typical Tex Mex. In addition to the standard, some very creative dishes along with very good service makes this a consistent favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 12, 2014

great place to go for a get together. Food is excellent!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 3, 2014

terrible service. Didn't take our order for almost an hour, and kept trying to make us buy stuff we didn't want.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 17, 2014

Food had strange flavors and when mentioned to the server, he did not seem to care. We enjoyed the bottomless mimosa for Sunday brunch, but the over all serving experience and staff attitudes were a little shocking to my group. One person in our group never even got to order food and had to go else where to eat. This restaurant has a strict dress code that they enforce, yet it is not posted on line about the strick dress code. When I hear a venue say a strick dress code enforced, I would assume that those rules apply to everyone that is dining in the venue and not just certain people they select. Not 1 person of the 7 people at my table left happy, nor did the table right next to us. No manager was visible, maybe this was the problem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2014

Some colleagues and I chose this restuarant for a birthday celebration. The food was fresh and tasty, the service good, and we generally had just a really good time and celebration.

Will definitely go back for a Happy Hour and savor the Margaritas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 11, 2014

Tasty food, nice atmosphere. Good place to go to on Friday for drinks and good Tex-Mex good. I'll be going back soon.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 4, 2014

There was no receptionist present for much of the night which left customers confused (including myself). Also, our waitress had the worst timing and brought us entrees immediately after dropping off our appetizers which left us unable to finish even half of our apps. She would also routinely interrupt my colleagues and I mid conversation instead of saying excuse me or waiting for an opening. Very rude and irritating.

Report
Helpful

Tweets by Cyclone Anaya's - Midtown