About Cyclone Anaya's - Durham

1710 Durham Dr.
@I-10
Houston, TX 77007
View Larger Map

Cyclone Anaya’s has been a family Houston institution since 1966 serving great quality TEX-MEX food.

Our award winning Margaritas, top shelf Tequilas & incredible wine list add to the amazing experience you will have at Cyclone Anaya's..

From our fresh of the grill Fajitas, our tasty enchiladas and fresh salads to our in-house made desserts, we are sure you will be amazed with your experience at Cyclone Anaya's.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tex-Mex, Mexican, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am - 11:00pm

Sunday: 9:30am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Inker St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 862-3209

Website:
http://www.cycloneanaya.com/

Catering:
We offer both in-house & off site catering for large and small groups. From our amazing Fajitas, Enchiladas & Salads to our in-house made desserts, we can cater any style event.

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Jason Gould

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cyclone Anaya's - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
See All
Good for a Date (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
31 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great good and mimosas

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great good and mimosas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had excellent service and a great meal. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Had excellent service and a great meal. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food and better service. Nic ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Really good food and better service. Nice and quiet on a Tuesday night for business meeting.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The server

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing, drinks even more so. T ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was amazing, drinks even more so. They exceeded my expectations on customer service and making sure everyone was taken care in a timely fashion. We were very pleased with there quick service to sit a large party for my friends graduation. Most place take up to an hour to get it ready, we got seated in 10 mins. Thanks to Open Table that is, highly recommend their app.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Graduation Celebration

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Happy to find a moderate priced restaurant that was willing to accept a reservation for 11 for lunch to celebrate our daughters graduation from UH. Service was excellent. Food tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The parking is limited but they do offer a prompt valet service. Our table was ready on time and staff was very nice. Waiter was very helpful and patient . We had a great brunch and will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my fav places for brunch! Make su ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

One of my fav places for brunch! Make sure you make a reservation because it gets packed during church hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Cyclone always treats us as valued guest ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Cyclone always treats us as valued guests even on busy days like Mother's Day. Great food, great drinks, better than the best service from waitress Marlene

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday party

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Waitstaff was very accommodating. Although he could have been a little more attentive. I'm happy I chose cyclone anayas

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Just okay

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was okay and service was so, so. The hostess and our server were just a bit snooty and that did not set well with us. They acted like they were doing us a favor just being there... Overall an okay experience...but we will not return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

My date was late.....

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 6, 2015

.....but I still had a good time while I waited and a better time when she arrived. Food is good, reasonable prices, and good atmosphere. The service was good and since we stayed for 4 hours they were patient and attentive while giving us some privacy to enjoy the conversation and company.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Consistency

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2015

I am so glad to have a neighborhood restaurant that can deliver consistently tasty food and service in a relaxed atmosphere. I can take ANYONE to the restaurant and they will find enough variety on the menu to have a satisfying meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional Service

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2015

Our family has been going to Cyclone Anaya's on Durham for several years now. We enjoy the food, location and friendly staff.

Happy Hours are the best value.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience! I don't know what ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2015

Fantastic experience! I don't know what is better, the food or the wait staff - either way it is a great experience that I will do again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

1¢ Mimosas? Yes, please!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 19, 2015

Our group of six wanted a place for good food and a great deal on drinks. I'd never been to this location but we were able to get a table at our desired time. Valet is complimentary. Service is very attentive, though it is a bit odd that mimosa refills are served out of other glasses (my husband was very concerned I was getting the dregs of someone else's drink). The food was very good but I did expect a little more vavoom with my huevos rancheros (they were still very tasty but the presentation was somewhat lacking). I really wish we could have stayed longer, tried the queso, etc. I'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Quite a dissapointment...its all about the service

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 19, 2015

We have been here several times. The food and drinks were great but took awhile to get to us. Our glasses were empty while we had to search for our server. I get that we had a large party but you have to be on top of your game. At the beginning he asked if who was with who but then at the end would not split the check. I wont be coming back with a large party again. One more thing, I was called 5 times to verify our reservation in a 2 day period. Its great to communicate but that is very excessive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Slow service but good food

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 27, 2015

We had a group of 8 and made a reservation for 4pm on a busy Saturday. We arrived early and they were able to seat us promptly. The restaurant was not busy. We gave our drink orders to the waiter and asked for waters for the table, 20 minutes later we still didn't have our waters. The service got better but it was a bit too slow. Good was good and the marks were strong! But I think the margaritas sat at the bar bc they were mostly melted by the time they arrived at the table. I'd try it again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Our waiter Alejandro was awesome! Great ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2015

Our waiter Alejandro was awesome! Great food, great drinks, great company!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beef Fajitas are the best

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 24, 2015

The Beef Fajitas & Cammarones were excellent with the beef fajitas the best I have every eaten. My dinner guest had the Beef Tacos Al Carbon, but she had a piece of my beef fajitas and she said my beef tasted so much better. I tried a piece of her beef fajitas and I agreed that mine tasted more marinated and had a better taste. We were surprised that was a difference.

The margaritas are great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Mother's Day

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 10, 2015

While the service was ok, the food was cold and mediocre. Won't be going back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Nice to Come Back

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2015

I had not been to Cyclone Anaya's for a while and was glad to return to this fantastic spot. The food was fantastic and the service was great. My friend and I chose to sit outside to enjoy the weather, but it was a bit too loud from the street noise.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday Bash

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2015

Our first visit to Cyclone Anaya's. I ordered the Beef Fajitas and it was the best Fajitas that I have every had. The Guacamole was also the best I have ever had as well. I was not very impressed with the charro beans and I will probably avoid them the next time.

My wife had the Fish Tacos and she said that she would order them again because they were too fishy tasting. She also craved the Guaclamole as well.

The birthday girl had the Steak Fajitas Carbon Tacos she also stated that it was the best Fajitas that she has every had. She also craved the Guacamole as well.

Our son was very pleased with the Chicken Quesadillas.

The Jumbo Margaritas were very good.

The only thing that kept the evening from being great was the very poor waiter service. We had a very hard time getting Gus's attention and did a very poor job with follow up visits to our table. It was the worst service that we have encountered in a very long time.

We will probably be back and we hope that we have a different waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Reservations don't always equal a table is ready

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 1, 2015

We met some friends for lunch on Sunday and knew it would probably be crowded, so since there was 8 of us we made a reservation. We arrived 15 minutes early and was told there would be a little bit of a wait because they were really busy. We weren't sat at our table until 30 minutes AFTER our reservation time.

Other than that, the food was excellent and our waiter was great. My son had the pancakes, which were delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Tequila

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Food was good. Try the ceviche! Flour tortilla's were not the best but everything else we ate was pretty good!

But, do not pass up the margaritas and do yourself a favor and buy the tequila flight! Good for shots or to put more kick in the already strong Margaritas. This location has a nice patio with a wonderful view of the businesses across the street. Lol, but it was a great place to hang out and drink.... TEQUILA

My recommendation is, unless you just want a reason to complain about service, treat your servers with respect and they will provide good service. I see all the reviews knocking the service and wonder just how good a customer these people are.

By the way, our chips were very good. Not stale as so many complain about.

Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is a great place for lunch. I woul ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2015

This is a great place for lunch. I would recommend reservations if you have a large party >4, so that you can get a good booth. The food is great...not the regular tex-mex.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Worst experience ever!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 10, 2015

I have been to the midtown location numerous of times and have never experience the type of service I had at this location. It Took a little over 2 hrs to serve a party of 8. The food was cold. When ask to speak to the general Mgr he was very rude! I explain to him that we have been waiting a little over two hours and when we finally receive our food everyone food was cold. His response was you get better customer service during the week verse the weekend! I have never experience anything like This before. I ask for the owner or corporate information and he refused to give it me. Stay away from this location if you are looking for good food and great customer service.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

great

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 27, 2014

Wonderful service! !! Would go back anytime. My server was amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Overall my visit was good . I believe th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 13, 2014

Overall my visit was good . I believe that the service could have been better. It was a while between visits that we saw our table server. some of our food was not hot - just barely warm

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great place to meet friends

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2014

Met friends here for drinks and a meal. Had a great time and wonderful service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FABULOUS SERVICE AND FOOD

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 9, 2014

We chose Cyclone Anaya's on DURHAM to have a MBA graduation party for my friend. Their brunch options were good and the regular menu is always good. The service was so great!! We had a large party and they were VERY accomodating to us. They had a table ready for us when we arrived and allowed us to set up with our own decorations. The staff was friendly and kept water on the table and chips salsa. I am very glad we chose this location and will definately come back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.