Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Cyclone Anaya's - CityCentre

Cyclone Anaya’s has been a family Houston institution since 1966 serving great quality TEX-MEX food.
Our award winning Margaritas, top shelf Tequilas & incredible wine list add to the amazing experience you will have at Cyclone Anaya's.

From our fresh of the grill Fajitas, our tasty enchiladas and fresh salads to our in-house made desserts, we are sure you will be amazed with your experience at Cyclone Anaya's.

800 Town & Country Blvd.
#800
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tex-Mex, Mexican, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Friday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Queensbury Ln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 461-1300

Website:
http://www.cycloneanaya.com/

Catering:
We offer both in-house & off site catering for large and small groups. From our amazing Fajitas, Enchiladas & Salads to our in-house made desserts, we can cater any style event.

Parking Details:
There are 3 Different free parking lots a block from Cyclone Anaya's as well as complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Jason Gould

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cyclone Anaya's - CityCentre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
See All
Casual (4)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Romantic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
78 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Reservations were made online and I then called on Wednesday to confirm my table for 20 for Sunday @ 3:15. This was a surprise birthday dinner for my girlfriend's 32nd birthday. On Sunday around 2:55pm I received a call from Cyclone staff stating my guest would not be seated until after 4 because OpenTable shouldn't have allowed me to book prior to 4 pm. My guest stood outside sweating for in Houston heat for at least 40 minutes as I begged and pleaded with management and staff to accommodate me.
The waitress was very kind but my guest did have several issues with other wait staff being rude. One of my guest ordered a shot of Tequila and was told they were too busy and she should order from the bar. Overall this ruined the surprise. We waited so long to be seated until after awhile she caught on to what was happening. Epic Fail.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Fun, Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food and service. We requested a table for 8, and luckily, one person was unable to make it because we had to squeeze 7 in a booth for 6. Other than that, it was great - excellent margarita choices.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Good food and quick service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Nice folks, good chips, but not worth the hassle of CityCentre. Thank you to Brenda, our server, for being all smiles!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Reservation not honored (15minute delayed). Wait staff very inattentive to our group situated up stairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Fantastic happy hour spot! Good drinks, great food, amazing staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Was a great place to dine on father's day with the family. Shall return do like next week.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The service and food were average it was out wedding anniversary and we did not appreciate the lurid drunken cavorting behavior of a young couple in one of the booths that the staff chose to ignore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Met some Texas friends who moved to North Carolina and were back for a wedding. They were craving Tex Mex and I immediately thought about Cyclone's at CityCentre. We had time to just enjoy our visit, the waiter didn't rush us to order. The food was delicious and very tasty!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was a bit slow but that was expected due to the significance of the date. Very good food. Very friendly staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

party of 6, we had reservations and they put us at a table in the bar which was kind of odd. But the service was good and the food was wonderful. Highly recommend the ceviche and the bacon wrapped shrimp that was part of the extensive appetizer platter (off the menu) that our waiter suggested. Tuesday was half-price bottles of wine which worked great for us!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service was so slow. Unbelievable. Not enough people were working. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service was horrible and the food was mediocre and this was on a Sunday afternoon when it was not busy at all. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We only had beef nachos & margaritas. Everything was delicious as always!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our waiter was excellent

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I scheduled a reservation thru Open Table for Sunday @ 4p. When we arrived the hostess acted as if she knew nothing about the reservation. She said, "did you do this on the web?" I replied, "yes, isn't Open table online?" Then she says, "oh, I saw this about 45 minutes ago". I said, "huh"??? After about 40 minutes, we finally were seated. Anyways, to make a long story short, the food was great but definitely not a great place for a large party. It is tooooo small of a restaurant & one server for all of us. I was not pleased with the lack of communication between the Open Table reservation & the hostess. Normally, when I use open table, the hostess or manager will call to confirm the day off. They did not & I should've called myself to confirm to make sure there would be no issues.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Took some visitors from Japan here to get good Mexican food (recommended by a friend). Drinks and beer were good and timely, but service fell off drastically after that. Ordered and received queso and guacamole and then waited 30 minutes for the waitress to take our food order. Poor guys were jet-lagged and starving and went three multiple baskets of chips!

Food was good, but not fantastic, and the prices were higher than the average for comparable food.

One caveat - This was on MLK day when many people were likely off work and the place was busy. However, this is something that is easily planned for by the restaurant. They should have had more staff in place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I was placed at a table and waited for 25 minutes before I asked a manager where was our server. The server finally comes and brings 2 glasses of water and leaves for another 15 minutes, which was frustrating because I already was ready to order food and drinks. Service is really poor. Won't be visiting this location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were seated immediately with the reservation--service was prompt and friendly and the food was very good--the beef fajitas were tender and had a lot of flavor.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Generally a very nice spot to meet friends with good food and drinks. However, this visit was disappointing as with invited friends for a fun night in City Center. Although we had reservations, we waited over 30 minutes for staff to put a table together for our party. We had to call the manager to our table to get one of the members of wait staff to visit our table to take drink orders. They initially brought 2 glasses of water to a party of 9 then disappeared for 15-20 mi utes. The drinks orders were delivered incorrectly and the appetizer was burned (far substandard to the usual quality). Lastly, one member of our party never received her order. She finally agreed to accept, the wrong item (an appetizer, not her originally order entree).

The two couples who have frequent this establishment found ourselves apologizing to our guest continuously for the comedy of errors we experienced.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great place for Mexican food ! Food is very fresh and abundant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great meal and wonderful atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Very good service. Great waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food and service were great. It took the server 3 tries and was still unable to get the charges correct for what was ordered - other than that, everything was wonderful and would recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, People Watching, Live Sports, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Worst service ever! Slow, mixing up orders etc and no apologies what so ever. I won't be coming back...all the other city Center restaurants are so much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Very noisy. One of our group had allergies and the order got messed up twice. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Cyclone Anaya's is always a great place to meet my friends and have casual talk. Great waitress and nice service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 25, 2016

First time to this restaurant. Was vert impressed with the jalapeño margaritas and their salsa. Both were outstanding. Would highly recommend this restaurant to others

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great for a Business outing for coworkers. Enjoyed myself.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 3, 2016

We got there and although they were offering the Houston Restaurant Week's menu at other Cyclone's they were not honoring it at this location. So we got up, left and went to SAL Y PIMIENTA down the street and had the selection from their excellent Rest Week's menu.
Tried not putting in recommendations for Cyclone's , but not allowed. Never have eaten there. This was an opportunity, but will not go back. Manager was nice, but not allowed flexibility,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our waiter was amazing and the food as well ! We enjoy it a lot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Liked the decoration, specially the bar, very interesting! The service was ok; waiter was taking longer than usual to come to our table but I want to think it was because it was really busy that Thursday night.
The food was good. I had the lobster tacos and a Margarita. Just an observation on the beans: it looked more like a small cup of bean soup rather than beans. Too much water. But well, not sure if that's supposed like that. Anyways, food was tasty!
Overall experience was good, probably next time I will try to seat in the bar, looks fun to seat around it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 14, 2016

First time visit. The ceviche was as wonderful as the waiter said it was. A few of us had the ceviche topped with crabmeat as our entree since we weren't very hungry and it was perfect. It was a bit louder than I expected but don't regret making the choice for our business meal. (If you want or need a quiet atmosphere for a business meal, this would not be the choice) I would definitely recommend it for friends or a family get together - Very lively! Our group ordered salmon, enchiladas and the ceviche and we were all quite pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2016

We made a reservation for 7:45. We had kids which is why we chose a place that took reservations. It was July 4th and there was a firework show later which resulted in large crowds at all the restaurants. It is understandable that the restaurant was busy but after waiting 30 minutes for my table, I had to finally find a manager. The manager told me she was overwhelmed and couldn't do much about the large crowds and to talk to the hostess. She mentioned many other people with reservations were also upset. I guess that's not how I expected a manager to respond and resolve an issue. For future events, the restaurants should not have reservation openings every 15 minutes on OpenTable. Fewer slots should have been open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 10, 2016

My waitress was catering to my 10 month old niece's needs. Very prompt food was fresh chips and salsa was awesome as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2016

We were a group of 5 celebrating 3 friends birthdays. Overall, the food was very good. However, the service was horrible! And, I had something done to me that I've never seen happen before! They brought me the wrong beans with my meal. The waitress said she can bring me the right beans but she needed to take my dish and scrape off my beans. She actually took my dish mid bite! My friend sitting in front of me said my face was priceless! Did speak to the manager. Would never set foot in there again! very good. However, the service was horrible! And, I had something done to me that I've never seen happen before! They brought me the wrong beans with my meal. The waitress said she can bring me the right beans but she needed to take my dish and scrape off my beans. She actually took my dish mid bite! My friend sitting in front of me said my face was priceless! Did speak to the manager. Would never set foot in there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Very pleased with everything ,from food,ambience,request for private area and service,always use opentable,will def be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 20, 2016

I've been to this location three times now. its the go to spot for lunch not that i work in city centre.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2016

Nice fun atmosphere. The ceviche was awesome, the tres leches not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2016

From the moment I entered I was not acknowledge. When I asked for the party I was meeting I was just told is in the back you can go overthere, it would have been nice if someone showed me the way. This was my first time there and I was not impressed by their service or food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.