About Cyclone Anaya's - CityCentre

800 Town & Country Blvd.
#800
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Cyclone Anaya’s has been a family Houston institution since 1966 serving great quality TEX-MEX food.
Our award winning Margaritas, top shelf Tequilas & incredible wine list add to the amazing experience you will have at Cyclone Anaya's.

From our fresh of the grill Fajitas, our tasty enchiladas and fresh salads to our in-house made desserts, we are sure you will be amazed with your experience at Cyclone Anaya's.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tex-Mex, Mexican, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Friday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Queensbury Ln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 461-1300

Website:
http://www.cycloneanaya.com/

Catering:
We offer both in-house & off site catering for large and small groups. From our amazing Fajitas, Enchiladas & Salads to our in-house made desserts, we can cater any style event.

Parking Details:
There are 3 Different free parking lots a block from Cyclone Anaya's as well as complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Jason Gould

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cyclone Anaya's - CityCentre
Cyclone Anaya's - CityCentre

Cyclone Anaya's - CityCentre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (13)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for lunch (5)
See All
hot spot (5)
fit for foodies (4)
special occasion (4)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
48 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter was amazing and the food as w ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter was amazing and the food as well ! We enjoy it a lot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Liked the decoration, specially the bar, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Liked the decoration, specially the bar, very interesting! The service was ok; waiter was taking longer than usual to come to our table but I want to think it was because it was really busy that Thursday night.

The food was good. I had the lobster tacos and a Margarita. Just an observation on the beans: it looked more like a small cup of bean soup rather than beans. Too much water. But well, not sure if that's supposed like that. Anyways, food was tasty!

Overall experience was good, probably next time I will try to seat in the bar, looks fun to seat around it!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visit. The ceviche was as wo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

First time visit. The ceviche was as wonderful as the waiter said it was. A few of us had the ceviche topped with crabmeat as our entree since we weren't very hungry and it was perfect. It was a bit louder than I expected but don't regret making the choice for our business meal. (If you want or need a quiet atmosphere for a business meal, this would not be the choice) I would definitely recommend it for friends or a family get together - Very lively! Our group ordered salmon, enchiladas and the ceviche and we were all quite pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation for 7:45. We had k ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We made a reservation for 7:45. We had kids which is why we chose a place that took reservations. It was July 4th and there was a firework show later which resulted in large crowds at all the restaurants. It is understandable that the restaurant was busy but after waiting 30 minutes for my table, I had to finally find a manager. The manager told me she was overwhelmed and couldn't do much about the large crowds and to talk to the hostess. She mentioned many other people with reservations were also upset. I guess that's not how I expected a manager to respond and resolve an issue. For future events, the restaurants should not have reservation openings every 15 minutes on OpenTable. Fewer slots should have been open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

My waitress was catering to my 10 month ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

My waitress was catering to my 10 month old niece's needs. Very prompt food was fresh chips and salsa was awesome as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worse service experience!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We were a group of 5 celebrating 3 friends birthdays. Overall, the food was very good. However, the service was horrible! And, I had something done to me that I've never seen happen before! They brought me the wrong beans with my meal. The waitress said she can bring me the right beans but she needed to take my dish and scrape off my beans. She actually took my dish mid bite! My friend sitting in front of me said my face was priceless! Did speak to the manager. Would never set foot in there again! very good. However, the service was horrible! And, I had something done to me that I've never seen happen before! They brought me the wrong beans with my meal. The waitress said she can bring me the right beans but she needed to take my dish and scrape off my beans. She actually took my dish mid bite! My friend sitting in front of me said my face was priceless! Did speak to the manager. Would never set foot in there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Wonderful experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Very pleased with everything ,from food,ambience,request for private area and service,always use opentable,will def be back

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a Good choice

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

I've been to this location three times now. its the go to spot for lunch not that i work in city centre.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice fun atmosphere. The ceviche was awe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Nice fun atmosphere. The ceviche was awesome, the tres leches not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Needs to improve service and food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

From the moment I entered I was not acknowledge. When I asked for the party I was meeting I was just told is in the back you can go overthere, it would have been nice if someone showed me the way. This was my first time there and I was not impressed by their service or food.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Party of 6 adults; seating was sufficien ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Party of 6 adults; seating was sufficient. Assigned waiter had too many tables assigned, so service was slow (not his fault); and food was not that great (though on a previous visit the food was pretty good). The other issue is the music was so loud we could not hear each other speak unless you're immediately adjacent to a person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Service and food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

I had lunch there on Wednesday afternoon. For starters the waiter was to attentive coming to our table to much and filling up our tea glasses all the time. I ordered some soup and the waitress spilled it on the white linen table cloth in front of me and it almost landed in my lap on my shirt. Found out she was new there. Then I got my meal, and it was way way to salty. Had it compted. The manager said thanks for the comment and offered something else. Was charged for the something else I ordered should have been free. I was really disappointed in the place overall. It was the first time there to. I was at the City Street location in Houston, Texas and will not go back. This place needs better food prep. and people that are trained better as well.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Order the lobster tacos! Delicious and g ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Order the lobster tacos!

Delicious and generous drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I took four ladies to lunch there to cel ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

I took four ladies to lunch there to celebrate a birthday. The other ladies had never been there. We were all pleased that we could talk easily, since women do tend to do that! The service was excellent - the ambience was perfect for the type of food - the birthday touch was great.

All in all, it was a very successful day and we will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Lunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

This was a great place to have lunch. The chicken salad was way better than my expectation. The chicken was moist and of great quality. I would most definitely come back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Clincal Group Secret Santa

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Saved our table reservation even though my group was an hour late. We camped at the table all night chatting with each other.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Service was terrible. Have been here be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

Service was terrible. Have been here before and was not bad, but no drink orders were taken for 15 minutes after we were seated and food order was not taken for 30 minutes.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Pretty good food however service lacks.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 13, 2015

As always the food continues to be consistent, it's always good to make reservation ahead of time otherwise you will be waiting during dinner time. Unfortunately that is also the downfall as they do get busy during dinner time which leads to service being slow. Furthermore, it also leads to them not being flexible if you want anything add on. Overall never been disappointed and still continues to be consistent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was great as always but our server ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 24, 2015

Food was great as always but our server was terrible. Very sad because it was my birthday and not the best experience. Always had to hunt her down for something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

great if you only want to stare at each other

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2015

Definitely got the impression reservation was lost. Sat a table of 8 in a corner of the bar. The bar was very loud and the TV was on high. Asked repeadedly for it to be turned down but it was always turned back up all the way. What was supposed to be a reunion of friends was reduced to staring around the table and yelling 'what' a lot. Not recommended. At all.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

We had a great dinning experence.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

We are defiantly going back! Soon the food was great and the service was spot on. the food came out in the appropriate time. Over all it was excellent. Thanks.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Soaking up Citicentre

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

Effectively my local as I regularly drop in for a drink sitting outside to soak up the vibrant atmosphere of the Citicentre.

When I do eat there, the food is always good. I find service inside the restaurant to be a bit more attentive that for those patrons that are outside which doesn't sit well with my preference but that is a small inconvenience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Love

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2015

Loved my experience on my b-day. The waitress was excellent. Staff were great. Love the decor inside and out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great! Great vegetarian e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2015

Everything was great! Great vegetarian enchiladas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was ok -- nothing special, espe ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 30, 2015

The food was ok -- nothing special, especially for the price hostess Rachel was awesome -- they should have her waiting tables or managing. The server was nice -- can't remember name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Grad party success!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 7, 2015

Great food and ambiance. Fun decor and plenty of space for our party. The food was fantastic and came out hot and in good time for our group of 24!

The staff was a little overwhelmed but managed. Expected better service for such an established restaurant. Bar needs a bit of training on classic drink recipes. Stick to the drink menu.

Would go again on date night!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Good Choice with options

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

From scratch margaritas and excellent food options.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome Food & Service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2015

Our group of eight enjoyed the food , service and of course the Margaritas. Great time

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good food but mix up in kitchen

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 7, 2015

We were dining with a party of 8 - food was good but dishes were not brought out at the same time. 2 guest received their meals when the rest of us were about half way through the meal. Server was very friendly but maybe the kitchen was having trouble. Will most likely try again and hopefully will have better results.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Always excellent

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

The food at Cycone Anayas is always top notch. And delicious large margaritas are great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Just SoSo

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 11, 2015

I have eaten at other locations and been very pleased. This nght was a bit of a disappointment. There were 6 in our party and all of our food was medium warm to cold and very bland. I am sure if we had asked it could have all been taken back and re-heated but what a hassel for 6 of us. The wait staff was excellent! For dessert we ordered Tres Leche which was the worst I have ever had and Key Lime Pie which was the best I have ever had. The Key Lime pie was the best thing on our table that night. Parking is a nightmare at this location. I hope they get it together as this is usually a great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Food was mediocre

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 6, 2015

My he ambience was the best part of the evening. The server was not very attentive. Food was cold-fajitas weren't even served on a flaming smokin grill plate. Never been to Mexican restaurant where fajitas just served on plate. Would recommend this place for social hour and drinks only

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Wedding Lunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 5, 2015

We came here with the family after our small wedding, to celebrate. Great food, great service.. wonderful ending to our happy day!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very specific on where I wanted to ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 3, 2015

I was very specific on where I wanted to sit and they did not disappoint. Extremely great service, friendly staff and amazing margaritas.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Birthday Celebration

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 13, 2015

A small group of friends from work took another friend to celebrate her birthday. Our server, George was very helpful and attentive during our entire visit. There is always a smile on his face and he is always eager to serve. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleased

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 19, 2014

We had a great time, food was excellent. This was our company holiday get together. Try the Jalapeno Margarita.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 16, 2014

OUT OF ALL THE RESTAURANTS IN CITY CENTRE, CYCLONE ANAYAS WAS ABLE TO FIT MY PARTY OF 13. THE STAFF WAS VERY NICE.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Corporate Team Dinner

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 8, 2014

CityCentre is a vibrant place in general and Cyclone Anayas location, food and service is excellent for families and groups. It's typically hard to walk in and get a seat without a reservation so using OpenTable for our team worked perfectly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Cyclone Anaya's city center Houston Texas

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 14, 2014

the restaurant itself is nice fair good service and the food isn't tooo good tomato sauce on enchiladas! What !! First of all and then the taste it's pretty nasty also the Mexican rice isn't good either Iv been told everything is ok also it's too expensive

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.