Cut Steakhouse

4.5
622 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Quiet Conversation
CUT Steakhouse offers a fine dining experience sure to please the most sophisticated of diners. Our menu's main attraction is the dry aged USDA prime beef, aged and butchered in-house by our own exacting specifications. Start your evening with a glass of award-winning wine or perhaps a popular craft beer. From our menu, savour a dry-aged New York Striploin, delicious Paradise Farm's Rib-eye, local tenderloin or Wagyu beef all cooked to your specifications. Finish off with an amazing sampling of fine cheeses, a specialty liqueur and a decadent dessert. Downstairs, SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar features a seafood market with a wide selection of Nova Scotia product delivered daily. Enjoy oysters on the half shell, crudo, ceviche or whole fresh fish prepared to your liking. In the summer, sit outside on our beautiful patio overlooking the Halifax waterfront.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Contemporary American, Global, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner, nightly from 5:30pm - 10:00pm last seating
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(902) 429-5120
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Luis Clavel
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
CUT is owned by RCR Hospitality Group, Halifax's leader in off-premise catering, offering the same high level of dining off-site as at the restaurant.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lower Water St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample pay parking just across the street in the Waterfront Development parking lot.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Follow us on facebook to keep in the loop of all of the special events taking place at CUT Steakhouse!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 622 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We had a wonderful dining experience with excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Delicious food every time. Price is way too high.
Would bring in more customers with an overall price cut of 15%.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Good stakes, side plates over priced and undersized. Not good value for money.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 6, 2018

This wasn't bad, but it was very expensive. I have eaten at expensive restaurants before, and often find that they are worth the price -- but in this case, I would not say so. In addition to the meal itself being just good, the service was very slow -- I can accept a 20-minute wait for my entree, but not for dessert or the bill.

I certainly would not go there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Aaron, Matt and the crew are the best and treated us so well. Mike, Sue, and Lynn and I really enjoyed ourselves - as always. Fantastic.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 31, 2018

It was a beautiful restaurant with excellent service. That being said, the steaks were pretty average for the price. I am an Albertan so I know good steak. My bone in rib eye was under seasoned so quite bland. The sides which are a la carte we're tiny! Our 12$ mashed potatoes were so small our table of 4 (2 kids 2 adults) only got about 2 tablespoons each .. so, for the $300 we spent it was a so so dining experience. If they really want to know how to do it right, go to chucks in Banff .. they'll show you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I'm not exaggerating with the language I use. Eating their Wagyu ribeye with foix gras on top was an emotional experience. I have never had food cause me to have to stop and take a moment and collect myself. The steak cut like butter, I could have used a butter knife. Even the fat tasted good. The foix gras made it even more rich and added another level of flavor. I can't recall any meal I've had where the food itself was an experience that I will carry with me. Cut has given me something I didn't think possible.

The fiddleheads, shrimp and potatoes were also excellent. But that steak was really just something you have to experience yourself. I can't really describe it except to say it did something to me I didn't know food could do.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Good selection of quality food items. Very attentive and polished service. Wife and I enjoyed a fine meal. Wife isn’t really into steak but found the cut and flavour, especially when mixed with the garlic & onion side, dish very enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Use to be our favourite restaurant, quality down substantially. Service was just ok.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The appetizers were great but the main course was a disappointment. Over cooked and over seasoned

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had a wonderful meal. Everything here is done to perfection. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and extremely professional. Our server was very attentive, but, not to the point of being annoying. Our steaks were delicious and done just as we requested. This is a beautiful restaurant. A bit expensive so we couldn't do it often, but it is certainly worth it to treat yourself to a meal here. There was nothing we would have changed. Also, the little banana bread they gave us when leaving was delicious and such a nice touch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Amazing food. Even better service. Differently worth the experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Excellent service. The steaks were the down on our experience. The meats were too dry and hard for medium rare. Beautiful deco and good wine list. They should include side dish in the price with the steak. We were surprise even the sauce for the steak was extra.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Atmosphère calme et chaleureuse. Très bon service. Cuisine raffinée.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Good quality steak. Cooked perfectly however was too cool when brought to the table. I’ve experienced this before at this restaurant. For the price you pay, a bit of a let down. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The superior service makes CUT standout over it's rivals. Food is excellent as you would expect from a restaurant at the price level.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

As wonderful as the first time. Great service. Wonderful food and fantastic atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We originally had been given a gift certificate, and thought it would be a good place to celebrate my husbands birthday. We forgot the gift certificate (which just means we will have to come back). The food and service was outstanding. The service was on point and meticulous. We will be back. Steak was soooo good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food Great Service worth the money Beautiful decor..great views😁 my friend was celebrating her birthday...i let them know when I made reservations but it was not acknowledged:( I didn't like that our waiter kept trying to sell us shots after we told him 4 times we dont do shots only wine...I still don't understand why in a place like The Cut a waiter would do that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Aaron, Kevin and Micheal, plus the young ladies who attended us, made the evening one we soon won't forget. A must for us when we travel back to Halifax. The extra care and attention we recieved , especially making my husbands birthday even more special. We've recommended The Cut to several friends who travel to or thru Halifax. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great night filled with great food and even some light entertainment. We learned all about the different cuts of meat, the dry aging process, and even how to make a delicious Caesar salad. The music was fun, but quiet enough not to be disruptive. The staff were attentive without being intrusive and brought some great laughs to our table. We had a great time and will be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great service, amazing food, a relaxing and peaceful space to engage in pleasant conversation.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 3, 2018

we were there 140 minutes before our entrees came, even with appetizers this was unacceptable. My 8 oz steak was stone cold and tough on arrival, however given the delay and this was a special celebration I did not send it back as that would have further detracted from the evening.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Very disappointed,
Downtown Halifax has plenty of wonderful places to dine, Cut steakhouse is not one of them. The service was cold and uninviting, explanation of their bizarre menu layout was quick and condescending. My wife and I both ordered the Canadian AAA dry aged striploin, they were 1/3 fat and grissle, the remaining cut of meat was simply unimpressive. I ordered a side of fries and for $11.00 I expected at least something made in house, instead I got frozen fries I could have bought at the grocery store. I can’t find any reason to ever dine here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Excellent restaurant. Our Waiter made a big difference in our experience. He 'listened' to our preferences. Fabulous guy (Jonathan).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Second time dining at this location. We came back for a reason and will continue coming back for the same reason, best steak in Halifax (we have dined at all the major steakhouses). The staff is very knowledgeable and accommodating. The ambiance is classy yet comfortable nonetheless.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I took my boyfriend here on an anniversary date and we had an absolutely wonderful time. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was gorgeous and comfortable. Staff were attentive and friendly. The cocktails were great and sitting at the bar seeing the bartender craft them was a highlight. I would definitely recommend CUT to anyone looking for an upscale experience for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Small portions in relation to price. Food was good, not great. Service was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Absolutely amazing every time! I will keep going back for the service alone! The food is divine and we love the "whiskey smash" created by the mixologist Matt Dash. The atmosphere is perfect for our anniversary and we never leave unimpressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Was there Saturday evening with my wife and friends. Everything was 5* all the way. The only detractor for me was, I think I may have been sitting underneath a speaker (by a window), and found it hard to listen to our friends across the table. I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant, and I WILL be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Service was well done. Best steak we ever had. Drinks were reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

This was our second visit to the Cut and it has earned it's diamond status for good reason. Aside from the high quality and presentation of the food, the dining experience is excellent start to finish. The staff are extremely professional and friendly, knowledgeable, and provide top notch service. The atmosphere is classy, the acoustics are perfect, décor is nice, and you know you are dining somewhere special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2018

This was one of the most memorable dining experiences in Halifax I’ve ever had. Our server Keith kept the conversation light and fun but was also very knowledgeable. Plating is gorgeous and everything tasted amazing. Will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

This was our second time visiting. The first time we were very impressed with all aspects of the experience. The food was wonderful, the service was very professional but at the same time friendly and comfortable. Our second visit was another great experience. We will definitely return again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Great atmosphere for sure. Steak was amazing. So much flavour. Baked potato arrived cold but opted out for another due to the fact our meal would have been done by that time. But they did award a free glass of wine. But have to say, too expensive for the value and quantity of the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Impeccable service. Loved that they all worked together. They clearly communicated well. Keith recommended my wine. It was super good. Food was excellent. Only complaint was the mushrooms were a bit too salty. Steak was fabulous of course but also the veg.
My husband doesn’t even like dessert and he ordered cheesecake and devoured it.
We had a blast.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Love this place!!!! Best steak in Halifax!!!! The creme brulee was phenomenal. Despite sitting close to the entrance, we couldn't tell. Will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Amazing steak; we shared a 22 oz between the two of us. Left will a full belly. Surpassed our expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Excellent food, great ambiance, generous space between tables, good wine list and nice service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2018

Our server Jonathan was amazing! The host was very sweet as well. Food was excellent and the ambience made our night extra special. Thanks for everything!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16

Tweets by Cut Steakhouse