About Cut Steakhouse

5120 Salter Street
Halifax, NS B3J 0A1
View Larger Map

CUT Steakhouse offers a fine dining experience sure to please the most sophisticated of diners. Our menu's main attraction is the dry aged USDA prime beef, aged and butchered in-house by our own exacting specifications. Start your evening with a glass of award-winning wine or perhaps a popular craft beer. From our menu, savour a dry-aged New York Striploin, delicious Paradise Farm's Rib-eye, local tenderloin or Wagyu beef all cooked to your specifications. Finish off with an amazing sampling of fine cheeses, a specialty liqueur and a decadent dessert. Downstairs, SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar features a seafood market with a wide selection of Nova Scotia product delivered daily. Enjoy oysters on the half shell, crudo, ceviche or whole fresh fish prepared to your liking. In the summer, sit outside on our beautiful patio overlooking the Halifax waterfront.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner, nightly from 5:30pm - 10:00pm last seating

Cross Street:
Lower Water St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 429-5120

Website:
http://www.cutsteakhouse.ca/

Catering:
CUT is owned by RCR Hospitality Group, Halifax's leader in off-premise catering, offering the same high level of dining off-site as at the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Ample pay parking just across the street in the Waterfront Development parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Chef Luis Clavel

Private Party Facilities:
A private or semi-private booking at CUT Steakhouse will provide not only the perfect backdrop for your event, but will indulge your guests in a spectacular dinner featuring the finest beef skillfully prepared by our chef de cuisine.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Carey: 8553983265

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow us on facebook to keep in the loop of all of the special events taking place at CUT Steakhouse!

Restaurant Photos

Cut Steakhouse, Halifax, NS
Bone-In Ribeye - Cut Steakhouse, Halifax, NS
Fried Arepas with vegetables - Cut Steakhouse, Halifax, NS
Lobster Poutine - Cut Steakhouse, Halifax, NS
Beef Tenderloin (Dine Around Limited Menu) - Cut Steakhouse, Halifax, NS
Tenderloin - Cut Steakhouse, Halifax, NS
flourless chocolate cake - Cut Steakhouse, Halifax, NS
Deconstructed Onion Soup - Cut Steakhouse, Halifax, NS
Deconstructed Carrot Cake - Cut Steakhouse, Halifax, NS
Pan Seared Whole Fish - Cut Steakhouse, Halifax, NS
Seared Sea Scallops - Cut Steakhouse, Halifax, NS
Steak Sandwich - Cut Steakhouse, Halifax, NS

Cut Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
1 More
Most Booked
Nova Scotia
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Waterfront (8)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Healthy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Scenic View (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The pac ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The pace of service was perfect; allowing a relaxed and unhurried atmosphere. The food was certainly delicious. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cut to anyone !

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

really enjoyed the great service and fan ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 21, 2016

really enjoyed the great service and fantastic food during our recent business meal. Wide variety of dishes ordered including several cuts of steak. everyone was very pleased with the quality and taste. Table side caesar tasted AMAZING!

My beer glass was never empty and everyone thought the service was great. not one of us had room for dessert, which is a compliment to the kitchen.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were fabulous! (Althoug ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food and service were fabulous! (Although I don't recommend their Caesar Salad, the steaks were perfect!)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We both agree this was literally the bes ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We both agree this was literally the best restaurant meal we've ever had hands down

Loved every single thing about it from the ambiance, the impeccable service and the perfect food

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I have been here once ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My girlfriend and I have been here once before, and to be honest the impression the first time was so amazing that it was the only place I wanted to take her for our two year anniversary. If I could book a table here every night I would! Whether you're looking to really wow someone for a date, anniversary, birthday or just an incredible dining experience this is the place to go! P.s they have the best steak you'll find in the Atlantic provinces!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the evening was almost ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Everything about the evening was almost spectacular. I had been wanting to try CUT for a long time and took my boyfriend on Tuesday to celebrate his birthday.

The service was excellent.

Unfortunately, the steak (which I asked medium/rare) came well done.

By this time we were so hungry and I didn't want to make a scene, we were celebrating and I also wanted to eat my meal when he had his. I regret not sending it back since it did cost 52$.

This unfortunately left a sour mood on the experience and never plan on returning, to spend that kind of money and not have it cooked even close to the way I asked is just not acceptable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good but one complaint: It was fre ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very good but one complaint: It was freezing cold. The air conditioning was blasting

over our table. Couldn't take my jacket off. Otherwise, enjoyed immensely.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We celebrated our wedding annviersary he ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We celebrated our wedding annviersary here and we're not disappointed. Happy to have chosen this location. Romantic, immpecable flavours and service.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had an amazing evening, thank you ver ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had an amazing evening, thank you very much. We feel we had the best waiters, Keith and Dave, but I'm sure they are all great. We have recommended it to many people since our visit. The food was well prepared and presentation only added to the night. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Family Style, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Potatoes were not freshly baked. Steak ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Potatoes were not freshly baked. Steak was orderd medium & came raw & way too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Hi. This restaurant was recommended to u ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Hi. This restaurant was recommended to us by another Chef's restaurant as one of the best restaurant in Halifax. The place was nice but we were seated near the elevator while the place was pretty much empty. Wine list was huge so was the price of a bottle. We ordered ribeye steak (14 oz). Steak was good but nothing spectacular. Sides were ok . Overall it was quite disappointing and very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This was the best restaurant we have vis ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was the best restaurant we have visited in Halifax since we moved over one year ago. We will be back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Business Meals, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife asked for medium well and got me ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My wife asked for medium well and got medium rare. Had to send her beef tenderloin back.

My steak was cooked medium as requested

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The quality of the steak was excellent a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The quality of the steak was excellent and preparation was just right. Servers were friendly and attentive. Just give yourself enough time as it is not a place where you want to rush; although our servers were able to feed us and still allow us to get to the show on time!

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We chose not to have steak but rather La ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We chose not to have steak but rather Lamb and Duck. A terrible mistake since neither had any taste, was bland and unrecognizable as to what we were eating. Unfortunate since we have had great steaks at the CUT in the past. Clearly the chef knows nothing about cooking Lamb or Duck or in presenting such product on a plate. The potato was huge, one would have sufficed or a smaller one each. I did not get my beets as ordered. The beans had a unique taste that neither of us liked nor recognized. The salad however was the bright light in evening and very tasty. The service was sporadic and at times we felt it was an inconvenience for the staff. Suggest you stick with cooking steak and remove other alternatives from your menu since your chef clearly has neither the ability or skill to handle other meals which in any other restaurant would have been of a much higher quality, taste and presentation. Perhaps a new chef may help.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Exceptional in every way - 5 star I hav ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Exceptional in every way - 5 star

I have many "go to" favs on my day to day, best dressed restaurant list;however overall if your looking to raise the bar a little for an occasion, The Cut certainly is a "cut above the rest" - Your Welcome.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Staff are very ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great dining experience. Staff are very knowledgeable and attentive. Atmosphere is very calming

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

By far the best steakhouse in the city. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 17, 2016

By far the best steakhouse in the city. Great selection of steak and extremely knowledgable staff

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

While the meal and the wine recommendati ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 16, 2016

While the meal and the wine recommendation were excellent, we were extremely disappointed that you no longer offer the exceptional carrot cake that once was on the menu. I have recommended your restaurant to many, raving over the carrot cake. I was so looking forward to finishing my meal with it and a cup of coffee and was extremely disappointed to be told it was no longer an option. Sigh.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyed very much. The service was exce ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyed very much. The service was excellent. The staff very accomadating.Ihad elderly folks with us and they arranged elavator transport for them. Thetableside caesar salad was amazing. Are you open for lunch?. Would recommend CUT

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The best restaurant overall, great food, ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The best restaurant overall, great food, great atmosphere, service superb. Felt very spoiled,. loved every minute.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best meal I have ever had i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 6, 2016

This was the best meal I have ever had in my life. My boyfriend and I went to The Cut for my birthday and we both ordered a strip-loin steak. This steak would melt in your mouth. It is a very romantic setting with elegance and class. A very true representation of fine dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular steaks, as expected. Desser ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Spectacular steaks, as expected. Dessert, less so.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Unfortunately my experience was disappoi ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Unfortunately my experience was disappointing. My steak was over cooked and tough. My waiter had body odour which I found offensive.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

The service was very good - our server w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service was very good - our server was attentive and appeared knowledgeable of the cuts of meat and aging process, as well as beef locale. We did find the lighting to dim to actually see the menu (the average population is aging and our eye sight is declining, we need better light) Our table was less than a foot from the table behind us, when seated. Dinner was $440 for 4 people plus tip. For that price, I would have expected a little more distance between the tables. We did have a nice dinner, we were not made to feel rushed in any way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

This was the first time for my wife and ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was the first time for my wife and I. This was a special occasion for us as the night was our 40th wedding anniversary. The staff was more than excellent especially one in particular, name has been forgotten, but I will describe to be the best of my memory (MOE). This is not the exact name by hopefully this will identify the server. My retirement as a S/Sgt, of a plain clothes section on the south shore, as the up and coming retirement of my wife Helen from the school board made all of the eventfully very special to us. The oysters were extreme to myself as well the steak dinner. We will definitely be returning. Please pass this message to all of concerns

...Al Cunningham

Tags: Scenic View, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was incredible and food was abso ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was incredible and food was absolutely amazing. Server was Rohit (check spelling) - he was incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and our every need was attended to before we asked. He nailed the wine selection! Will definitely be visiting again and will request Rohit as our server.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While my experience was enjoyable, I did ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 17, 2016

While my experience was enjoyable, I didn't find the steak that good and the cuts were not particularly unique. Service was excellent and not stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Very great overall experience - the stea ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very great overall experience - the steak was the best I'd had in Eastern Canada, our waiter was excellent, and the dining room was well laid out, attractive, and quiet even with a full house.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steak, great atmosphere Went for ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing steak, great atmosphere

Went for our honeymoon they went beyond expectations

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and relaxing. Steaks were grea ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious and relaxing. Steaks were great! We appreciated the lovely complementary banana loaf on the way out! Great job CUT!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Steaks. All around the food was ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great Steaks. All around the food was very good and lots of it. My only issue is we were a party of 6 and I wish they had round tables. The rectangular ones make conversation hard with people at the other end of the table. Definitely would go back and highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My meal at Cut was the most decadent exp ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 12, 2016

My meal at Cut was the most decadent experience I've ever had. If I could go everyday I would. Jonathan and Michael were our servers and they were so knowledgeable and attentive, it really made the eevening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived 15 minutes early and were pro ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We arrived 15 minutes early and were promptly seated. Our waiter came to great us and was pleasant. We ordered champagne and oysters. So far so good. Waiter was very knowledgeable about stakes and we place our orders. 3 had steak and 2 of us order fish. The oysters and champagne arrived promptly but we waited a while for oysters. They came and were fresh... bread was also fresh and warm... we were off to a good start. then over an hour and a half went by before we got our meals. then it was down hill from there. Not only was our meal very slow to arrive, the food was barely warm at best. I mentioned it to the server and he seamed a bit upset about it. our fish was poached and just a bland soggy mess. The stakes were less impressive than The Keg. I was a bit disappointed that the chef did not come out to speak with us after I politely mentioned that all our food was not hot. After our entrees were finished we were comped with 3 free deserts to share... good save! They were all delicious! It feels like something was off in the kitchen that night. I hope for them that it is not a regular occurrence... but I must say that at those prices it was a big disappointment. Not sure I would go back and not sure I would recommend this place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

The food was just excellent, as was the ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was just excellent, as was the service. The servers are awesome. Love this restaurant, we fly a little over an hour to do a weekend so we can go to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and well cooked. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was excellent and well cooked. However the service was somewhat disappointing. There were no recommendations or alterations to accommodate allergies. Simple changes and suggestions would have gone a long way.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I ordered a 10oz tenderloin medium rare. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I ordered a 10oz tenderloin medium rare. It came out medium well. I sent it back , and it came back 25 minutes later! It does not take 25 mins to cook a steak medium rare. I am very disappointed

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We truly enjoyed our night at the Cut. O ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We truly enjoyed our night at the Cut. Only issue is when large groups come in it becomes very loud quickly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice atmosphere, good menu, service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, good menu, service started great then sort of died off, asked for extra butter and never got it. My steak was just okay, my husband's was tough and dry. We felt it was overpriced for the value, and we do not mind spending money for good food. We were overall disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was excellent. Not all covered ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was excellent. Not all covered up with sauces hiding inferior food. The food was clean and fresh and very tasty. This was our second time there and we will be back. Staff was lovely. French fries were the best I have ever had. The music was a little loud at the beginning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.