About Cut Steakhouse

5120 Salter Street
Halifax, NS B3J 0A1
View Larger Map

CUT Steakhouse offers a fine dining experience sure to please the most sophisticated of diners. Our menu's main attraction is the dry aged USDA prime beef, aged and butchered in-house by our own exacting specifications. Start your evening with a glass of award-winning wine or perhaps a popular craft beer. From our menu, savour a dry-aged New York Striploin, delicious Paradise Farm's Rib-eye, local tenderloin or Wagyu beef all cooked to your specifications. Finish off with an amazing sampling of fine cheeses, a specialty liqueur and a decadent dessert. Downstairs, SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar features a seafood market with a wide selection of Nova Scotia product delivered daily. Enjoy oysters on the half shell, crudo, ceviche or whole fresh fish prepared to your liking. In the summer, sit outside on our beautiful patio overlooking the Halifax waterfront.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner, nightly from 5:30pm - 10:00pm last seating

Cross Street:
Lower Water St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 429-5120

Website:
http://www.cutsteakhouse.ca/

Catering:
CUT is owned by RCR Hospitality Group, Halifax's leader in off-premise catering, offering the same high level of dining off-site as at the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Ample pay parking just across the street in the Waterfront Development parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Chef Luis Clavel

Private Party Facilities:
A private or semi-private booking at CUT Steakhouse will provide not only the perfect backdrop for your event, but will indulge your guests in a spectacular dinner featuring the finest beef skillfully prepared by our chef de cuisine.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Carey: 8553983265

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow us on facebook to keep in the loop of all of the special events taking place at CUT Steakhouse!

Restaurant Photos

Cut Steakhouse
Bone-In Ribeye - Cut Steakhouse
Fried Arepas with vegetables - Cut Steakhouse
Lobster Poutine - Cut Steakhouse
Beef Tenderloin (Dine Around Limited Menu) - Cut Steakhouse
Tenderloin - Cut Steakhouse
flourless chocolate cake - Cut Steakhouse
Deconstructed Onion Soup - Cut Steakhouse
Deconstructed Carrot Cake - Cut Steakhouse
Pan Seared Whole Fish - Cut Steakhouse
Seared Sea Scallops - Cut Steakhouse
Steak Sandwich - Cut Steakhouse

Cut Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
8 More
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Best Overall
Nova Scotia
Best Food
Nova Scotia
Best Service
Nova Scotia
Best Ambiance
Nova Scotia
Best Value
Nova Scotia
Most Booked
Nova Scotia
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (33)
Notable Wine List (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Hot Spot (7)
Scenic View (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We chose not to have steak but rather La ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined 7 days ago

We chose not to have steak but rather Lamb and Duck. A terrible mistake since neither had any taste, was bland and unrecognizable as to what we were eating. Unfortunate since we have had great steaks at the CUT in the past. Clearly the chef knows nothing about cooking Lamb or Duck or in presenting such product on a plate. The potato was huge, one would have sufficed or a smaller one each. I did not get my beets as ordered. The beans had a unique taste that neither of us liked nor recognized. The salad however was the bright light in evening and very tasty. The service was sporadic and at times we felt it was an inconvenience for the staff. Suggest you stick with cooking steak and remove other alternatives from your menu since your chef clearly has neither the ability or skill to handle other meals which in any other restaurant would have been of a much higher quality, taste and presentation. Perhaps a new chef may help.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Exceptional in every way - 5 star I hav ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Exceptional in every way - 5 star

I have many "go to" favs on my day to day, best dressed restaurant list;however overall if your looking to raise the bar a little for an occasion, The Cut certainly is a "cut above the rest" - Your Welcome.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Staff are very ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great dining experience. Staff are very knowledgeable and attentive. Atmosphere is very calming

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

By far the best steakhouse in the city. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

By far the best steakhouse in the city. Great selection of steak and extremely knowledgable staff

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

While the meal and the wine recommendati ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

While the meal and the wine recommendation were excellent, we were extremely disappointed that you no longer offer the exceptional carrot cake that once was on the menu. I have recommended your restaurant to many, raving over the carrot cake. I was so looking forward to finishing my meal with it and a cup of coffee and was extremely disappointed to be told it was no longer an option. Sigh.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyed very much. The service was exce ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyed very much. The service was excellent. The staff very accomadating.Ihad elderly folks with us and they arranged elavator transport for them. Thetableside caesar salad was amazing. Are you open for lunch?. Would recommend CUT

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The best restaurant overall, great food, ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The best restaurant overall, great food, great atmosphere, service superb. Felt very spoiled,. loved every minute.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best meal I have ever had i ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This was the best meal I have ever had in my life. My boyfriend and I went to The Cut for my birthday and we both ordered a strip-loin steak. This steak would melt in your mouth. It is a very romantic setting with elegance and class. A very true representation of fine dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular steaks, as expected. Desser ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Spectacular steaks, as expected. Dessert, less so.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Unfortunately my experience was disappoi ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Unfortunately my experience was disappointing. My steak was over cooked and tough. My waiter had body odour which I found offensive.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

The service was very good - our server w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service was very good - our server was attentive and appeared knowledgeable of the cuts of meat and aging process, as well as beef locale. We did find the lighting to dim to actually see the menu (the average population is aging and our eye sight is declining, we need better light) Our table was less than a foot from the table behind us, when seated. Dinner was $440 for 4 people plus tip. For that price, I would have expected a little more distance between the tables. We did have a nice dinner, we were not made to feel rushed in any way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

This was the first time for my wife and ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was the first time for my wife and I. This was a special occasion for us as the night was our 40th wedding anniversary. The staff was more than excellent especially one in particular, name has been forgotten, but I will describe to be the best of my memory (MOE). This is not the exact name by hopefully this will identify the server. My retirement as a S/Sgt, of a plain clothes section on the south shore, as the up and coming retirement of my wife Helen from the school board made all of the eventfully very special to us. The oysters were extreme to myself as well the steak dinner. We will definitely be returning. Please pass this message to all of concerns

...Al Cunningham

Tags: Scenic View, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was incredible and food was abso ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was incredible and food was absolutely amazing. Server was Rohit (check spelling) - he was incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and our every need was attended to before we asked. He nailed the wine selection! Will definitely be visiting again and will request Rohit as our server.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While my experience was enjoyable, I did ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

While my experience was enjoyable, I didn't find the steak that good and the cuts were not particularly unique. Service was excellent and not stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Very great overall experience - the stea ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very great overall experience - the steak was the best I'd had in Eastern Canada, our waiter was excellent, and the dining room was well laid out, attractive, and quiet even with a full house.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steak, great atmosphere Went for ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing steak, great atmosphere

Went for our honeymoon they went beyond expectations

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and relaxing. Steaks were grea ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious and relaxing. Steaks were great! We appreciated the lovely complementary banana loaf on the way out! Great job CUT!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Steaks. All around the food was ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great Steaks. All around the food was very good and lots of it. My only issue is we were a party of 6 and I wish they had round tables. The rectangular ones make conversation hard with people at the other end of the table. Definitely would go back and highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My meal at Cut was the most decadent exp ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My meal at Cut was the most decadent experience I've ever had. If I could go everyday I would. Jonathan and Michael were our servers and they were so knowledgeable and attentive, it really made the eevening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived 15 minutes early and were pro ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We arrived 15 minutes early and were promptly seated. Our waiter came to great us and was pleasant. We ordered champagne and oysters. So far so good. Waiter was very knowledgeable about stakes and we place our orders. 3 had steak and 2 of us order fish. The oysters and champagne arrived promptly but we waited a while for oysters. They came and were fresh... bread was also fresh and warm... we were off to a good start. then over an hour and a half went by before we got our meals. then it was down hill from there. Not only was our meal very slow to arrive, the food was barely warm at best. I mentioned it to the server and he seamed a bit upset about it. our fish was poached and just a bland soggy mess. The stakes were less impressive than The Keg. I was a bit disappointed that the chef did not come out to speak with us after I politely mentioned that all our food was not hot. After our entrees were finished we were comped with 3 free deserts to share... good save! They were all delicious! It feels like something was off in the kitchen that night. I hope for them that it is not a regular occurrence... but I must say that at those prices it was a big disappointment. Not sure I would go back and not sure I would recommend this place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

The food was just excellent, as was the ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was just excellent, as was the service. The servers are awesome. Love this restaurant, we fly a little over an hour to do a weekend so we can go to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and well cooked. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was excellent and well cooked. However the service was somewhat disappointing. There were no recommendations or alterations to accommodate allergies. Simple changes and suggestions would have gone a long way.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I ordered a 10oz tenderloin medium rare. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I ordered a 10oz tenderloin medium rare. It came out medium well. I sent it back , and it came back 25 minutes later! It does not take 25 mins to cook a steak medium rare. I am very disappointed

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We truly enjoyed our night at the Cut. O ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We truly enjoyed our night at the Cut. Only issue is when large groups come in it becomes very loud quickly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice atmosphere, good menu, service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, good menu, service started great then sort of died off, asked for extra butter and never got it. My steak was just okay, my husband's was tough and dry. We felt it was overpriced for the value, and we do not mind spending money for good food. We were overall disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was excellent. Not all covered ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was excellent. Not all covered up with sauces hiding inferior food. The food was clean and fresh and very tasty. This was our second time there and we will be back. Staff was lovely. French fries were the best I have ever had. The music was a little loud at the beginning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OK, have been here before and it was per ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

OK, have been here before and it was perfectly fantastic. Was so excited to return. But terribly disappointed. At least half the steaks at our table were over cooked, not perfectly to order as on previous visit. It's a steakhouse, so I think it's fair to expect this, no? The sides were very good, especially French fries and bread pudding. Dessert menu leaves a lot to be desired, IMO. Expensive night out with drinks and wine but the steaks not done right, even second time around, was seriously disappointing. Also, hostess folded napkins, pushed in chairs and didn't speak to us, or even smile...very odd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We were there for our third anniversary ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were there for our third anniversary and were treated like royalty. They even brought desert out on a plate that had chocolate written Happy Anniversary. Over two hours there and would not hesitate to go back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A fine elegant establishment. It's haut ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A fine elegant establishment. It's haute cuisine menu and care for its patrons is the best we have experienced in North America with some favorites as rivals in Europe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow what can I say the food, the service ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wow what can I say the food, the service and the place it self is outstanding the whole service from the time we enter the room till the time we left the service was second to none. We will do it again for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience; outstanding food and s ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great experience; outstanding food and superb service; my wife and I truly enjoyed our evening. We'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pretentious, mediocre & seriously overpr ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Pretentious, mediocre & seriously overpriced for what you get

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food is AMAZING. The staff very kno ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is AMAZING. The staff very knowledgeable. Our wait time for the food and then again for the dessert was quite long though. It was very busy that night but we waited an hour for dessert which seems a little crazy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cut has made steak great again

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We were treated to a very knowledgeable showcase of the different steak options at the restaurant. Taste and presentation were excellent. The bill gave me PTSD though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good, but expensive.

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This was not our first trip to CUT - we go there on special occasions as it is not exactly a budget friendly location. The food is always of a very high standard and the staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The atmosphere is one of quiet elegance and the mini loaf of banana bread they give you when you leave is delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cut is always wonderful. The dry-aged st ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Cut is always wonderful. The dry-aged steaks are amazing. I have noticed a decline in quality since the new chef took over, but it is still delicious. The carrot cake donuts are sorely missed from the dessert menu...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted to take two friends out for di ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We wanted to take two friends out for dinner to thank them for helping us over the winter. We chose CUT as we all love steak and none of us had eaten there previously. From the moment we were greeted at the door, we had a great experience. Loved the Caesar prepared at the table, the starter shrimp dish and the Chef's salad. Three of us had Nova Scotia bone-in rib eyes that were prepared perfectly, from medium rare minus to medium well done! The tenderloin was also a big hit. Finally, the sides of beets, green beans, and mushrooms were great only to be outdone by the most delicious mashed potatoes and an enormous baked potato. We stayed for over three hours - and hated to go home. Nice touch when each couple was given a little nut loaf to take home for breakfast. Terrific evening, outstanding attention to detail from staff. Nicest dining experience I've had in Halifax in many years! It's not inexpensive but was worth it when we could make an evening of a remarkable dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

wonderful evening

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Just want to say thanks to the staff at the cut for a good evening! David our server was awesome! Our steaks were great... Our appetizers weren't as good though. Ordered the shrimp made with the jalapeño and they were cold, and undercooked our ceaser salad had too much mustard. But we would return again it was just a little snag in what I thought was a wonderful night!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great relaxed atmosphere and food.

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

David made our first experience at The Cut a fantastic one, he answered all our questions with ease and was quick to respond with great suggestions when asked. It was a very relaxed and enjoyable evening. The lobster risotto was absolutely delicious and we loved the ability to mix and share our requested side dishes. The wine list was extensive and again David helped us pair a great Bordeaux with our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Found the cut pomme de terre highly salt ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Found the cut pomme de terre highly salty, and was disappointed in the new dessert menu. The old desserts were fantastic!

Service however was outstanding.

I will give this establishment another try, but will not recommend until I have done so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.