Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Cut Steakhouse

CUT Steakhouse offers a fine dining experience sure to please the most sophisticated of diners. Our menu's main attraction is the dry aged USDA prime beef, aged and butchered in-house by our own exacting specifications. Start your evening with a glass of award-winning wine or perhaps a popular craft beer. From our menu, savour a dry-aged New York Striploin, delicious Paradise Farm's Rib-eye, local tenderloin or Wagyu beef all cooked to your specifications. Finish off with an amazing sampling of fine cheeses, a specialty liqueur and a decadent dessert. Downstairs, SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar features a seafood market with a wide selection of Nova Scotia product delivered daily. Enjoy oysters on the half shell, crudo, ceviche or whole fresh fish prepared to your liking. In the summer, sit outside on our beautiful patio overlooking the Halifax waterfront.

5120 Salter Street
Halifax, NS B3J 0A1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner, nightly from 5:30pm - 10:00pm last seating

Cross Street:
Lower Water St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 429-5120

Website:
http://www.cutsteakhouse.ca/

Catering:
CUT is owned by RCR Hospitality Group, Halifax's leader in off-premise catering, offering the same high level of dining off-site as at the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Ample pay parking just across the street in the Waterfront Development parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Chef Luis Clavel

Private Party Facilities:
A private or semi-private booking at CUT Steakhouse will provide not only the perfect backdrop for your event, but will indulge your guests in a spectacular dinner featuring the finest beef skillfully prepared by our chef de cuisine.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Carey: (855) 398-3265

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow us on facebook to keep in the loop of all of the special events taking place at CUT Steakhouse!

Cut Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
See All
Romantic (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Waterfront (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Scenic View (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 3 days ago

The service here is top notch, there were three wait staff on hand and there was nothing over looked.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined 4 days ago

Capital Grille this is not. A wannabe facsimile it is. The steak quality is comparable but no filet mignon option...though, the tenderloin is a good choice cooked medium. The bone out Canadian striploin was fattier then expected but tasty. However, for the price, the size of the sides was something of a surprise, as the waiter said they were big enough to share, but only if you're sharing with a bird, it seems. Quality wise, they were nothing spectacular. The mashed potatoes too salty. The cocktails are good and large, and the banana creme brûlée nothing to write home about. The cheesecake was ordinary. Bill for 3 including tip tax and 3 drinks: $400. I wish that the second waiter who served us towards the end washed better, he had B.O. Yuck. Shouldn't happen in a place like this.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Disappointed with the service, very inattentive. They forgot to put a candle in my wife's dessert for her birthday. When the realized it, they brought a second dessert and put a candle in it. But it took the luster off the occasion. Steaks were very tender, but they were served at room temperature and they had to be sent back and re-cooked. Very expensive. Value would have been acceptable if the service measured up. Would not recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was an amazing night out. Service was over the top and the food was incredible.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Early Father's Day Dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Expensive but well worth it!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was good but overpriced! The cheese was definitely not 2 ounce serving a very small sliver was what we recieved! The desert was not very good! So for the money we spent $250 we didn't feel it was worth it at all! Next time we will go somewhere else!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Impeccable service and excellent food. I come here 2 or 3 times a year and every time is a delight.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Best steakhouse in Atlantic Canada!

Superb service, atmosphere and food. The dry aged steaks are exceptional, sides and starters are perfectly executed, and the wine/spirits list is impressive.

Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was outstanding. the side dishes were out of this world, loved the ambience. However, the steak (USA striplion) was just average.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Cut is on our list every visit to Halifax. Steak is the only thing I would consider ordering here as they do it so well. They have several choices including Waygu beef and all are well aged. Service is very attentive, great wine list and the "table side" Caesar salad is exceptional. The only issue was that the restaurant was so crowded that it ended up being prepared and then brought to the table so you miss the flair of the prep. If you want a quiet table, ask for one by the window .. there's also a bit of a water view from there. We will return!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I have been there several times but this was the best. The raw sampler plate was amazing. Expensive but a great treat once or twice a year. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My husband and I had an evening away and traveled in from New Brunswick, a night with no kids! We decided to go to Cut as all the reviews were fantastic and we were in the mood for a fabulous meal that we haven't had in a long time as we're usually at busy family restaurants. The reviews didn't lead us astray!! The food was amazing, but what really made the night special was the fabulous service we received from our server, Keith. He went above and beyond to make our dining experience memorable. He helped my choose the best wine with a fun blind tasting at my table. Also, when none of the menu desserts really appealed to me, he asked what I liked in desserts, then proceeded to bring me the perfect dessert to end our evening from the restaurant downstairs. I enjoyed my meal and experience so much it's in my top five dining experiences! I raved about my dinner so much another girlfriend of mine and her husband decided to hit Halifax this weekend and try Cut! Can't wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Keith was an exceptional waiter - both thoroughly enjoyed our dinners and awesome conversation with Keith. We highly recommend this restaurant!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The atmosphere is very lovely. Candlelit, quiet dining in a calm and serene setting with amazing service staff. Steaks were delicious. May recommend a few more starter options for non-salad lovers and a bit more chocolate on the dessert menu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Seemed a bit over priced, comparatively. Service was good, but a bit stiff. Glad we went, but won't be heading back any time soon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A little expensive, but a great quality meal. The steak was great and done exactly as ordered. Service was exceptional and not rushed at all. Restaurant was quiet and peaceful.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing food, service, and atmosphere. My only issue is once you try their steaks, others will never compare.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 19, 2017

went there for our anniversary. everything from the moment we walked in, to the moment we left; was amazing! the food was to die for and the service was so great, we felt like the only ones in the room. will definitely be back, and will recommend to all my friends and family!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 16, 2017

What a wonderful meal. Keith and Chelsea were very attentive to my Husband and myself.
Excellent food, Excellent atmosphere, Excellent service. We will be back.
Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The meal was outstanding and the service from all who worked there was fantastic! Highly recommend!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely fantastic. Service was great and the food was amazing. Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Steak was delicious, I couldn't have asked for better. I was disappointed with my lemon desert. My partner enjoy his chocolate, though. We had an unusual incident in that when my partner went to pick up his beer glass it shattered. Beer and glass went everywhere. The waiter replaced his beer, but still charged us for it. I expected better of a restaurant of this calibre.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Steak was well prepared though starch and vegetable portions were on the small side. Caesar salad was awful, worst recipe we've ever eaten. Service was excellent. Nice spot but rethink the Caesar.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 6, 2017

An amazing dinner, impeccable service, friendly yet professional servers. Because the dishes re family style not as expensive as you think. Best Caesar EVER, made tablesude

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had a wonderful experience which enhanced our first anniversary. Mike was one of the best waiters to serve us here in Halifax.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I was so disappointed with Cut! We had to wait a half hour for our table, not a huge deal, we got a drink from the bar. When our table was ready we ordered oysters to start - DELISH! They was fresh and very yummy, the bread was great also. Now for the steak, myself and my boyfriend ordered strip, and a baked potato and prosciutto wrapped tomatoes to share. It took almost an hour for us to get our food, which I understand, we did order a baked potato, so I wasn't too worried about. When we did get it they gave us the wrong steaks, and the baked potato was hard as a rock! They were gracious enough to comp the potato and gave us a free dessert to go (which we didn't enjoy either - he used molecular gastronomy and all the pieces were hard and chewy) And to top off the night, one of the servers had bad body odour, so every time he walked by you could smell him. I was really looking forward to going here and was totally let down! I don't think I would go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Our daughters 16th birthday! Great device and food. Perfect for a family celebration

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This stop was absolutely incredible. From the service, to the wine selection, and over each course, this evening just kept getting better and better. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. To get to the nit and gritty, the steak was, well.....magical to say the least. I enjoyed the 22 oz. Bone-in RibEye. And my beautiful friend enjoyed the Loinstrip cut. We went from enjoying a quite conversation to devouring the slabs of meat in front of us.
When in Halifax, you MUST make a stop here. Also, a shout out to the Oyster Bar "SHUCK"on the first floor, also managed by this place. Fantastic happy hour, with $1 oysters and great drink selections

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fifth trip to Cut. Always for a special occasion. Ambience, food and service delightful as usual. Only downside was having a large party seated next to us with one very loud gentleman holding court. Next time we'll asked to be seated in a more "couple friendly" part of the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fantastic food. Our server was very gracious and generous and made my 50th birthday memorable. Thanks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Incredible, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Steaks were melt in your mouth tender and the sides were terrific. Our wine was incredible, and was recommended by our waiter after some discussion on our likes. This is a perfect restaurant to celebrate those very special occasions!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary at Cut for 2nd year in a row. Great food, excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our first time here and definitely will not be our last !!!!
The staff ... so friendly ,knowledgable and sweet !!!
The meal ... spectacular , delicious and filling!!
The wine .... added to the romance !!!
Thank you for a memorable last day of 2016 !!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing food, romantic atmosphere, but the expense would make it a once a year type visit for us. Either way - best meal I've ever had.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic experience. Servers (Roet & John) were great and the two server approach was also excellent. Great food and outstanding service. We've been a handful of times and will definitely be back

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We ate here 2 years ago and had the best steak we'd ever had. Unfortunately this time around it didn't melt in our mouths the way it had previously and it was over salted. Huge disappointment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This restaurant was great. Great food, great friendly service, and great ambiance. A great place to take your significant other for a date if you are not thinking of your pocketbook

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Never go back again, ok services, forgot to bring in one dish we ordered, not worth big money for that...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 21, 2016

While the principle reason for going was indeed for the steak experience, we were a little put off by the fact that traditional sides like vegetables and even a simple baked potato was each an additional $8 on top of the order. An $8 baked potato?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.