About Cut Steakhouse

5120 Salter Street
Halifax, NS B3J 0A1
View Larger Map

CUT Steakhouse offers a fine dining experience sure to please the most sophisticated of diners. Our menu's main attraction is the dry aged USDA prime beef, aged and butchered in-house by our own exacting specifications. Start your evening with a glass of award-winning wine or perhaps a popular craft beer. From our menu, savour a dry-aged New York Striploin, delicious Paradise Farm's Rib-eye, local tenderloin or Wagyu beef all cooked to your specifications. Finish off with an amazing sampling of fine cheeses, a specialty liqueur and a decadent dessert. Downstairs, SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar features a seafood market with a wide selection of Nova Scotia product delivered daily. Enjoy oysters on the half shell, crudo, ceviche or whole fresh fish prepared to your liking. In the summer, sit outside on our beautiful patio overlooking the Halifax waterfront.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner, nightly from 5:30pm - 10:00pm last seating

Cross Street:
Lower Water St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 429-5120

Website:
http://www.cutsteakhouse.ca/

Catering:
CUT is owned by RCR Hospitality Group, Halifax's leader in off-premise catering, offering the same high level of dining off-site as at the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Ample pay parking just across the street in the Waterfront Development parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Chef Luis Clavel

Private Party Facilities:
A private or semi-private booking at CUT Steakhouse will provide not only the perfect backdrop for your event, but will indulge your guests in a spectacular dinner featuring the finest beef skillfully prepared by our chef de cuisine.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Carey: (855) 398-3265

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow us on facebook to keep in the loop of all of the special events taking place at CUT Steakhouse!

Cut Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (16)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Waterfront (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Scenic View (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a wonderful meal. Keith and Chelsea ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 3 days ago

What a wonderful meal. Keith and Chelsea were very attentive to my Husband and myself.

Excellent food, Excellent atmosphere, Excellent service. We will be back.

Thank you.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 5 days ago

The meal was outstanding and the service from all who worked there was fantastic! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic. Service was great ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely fantastic. Service was great and the food was amazing. Highly recommended!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was well prepared though starch an ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Steak was well prepared though starch and vegetable portions were on the small side. Caesar salad was awful, worst recipe we've ever eaten. Service was excellent. Nice spot but rethink the Caesar.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

An amazing dinner, impeccable service, f ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 6, 2017

An amazing dinner, impeccable service, friendly yet professional servers. Because the dishes re family style not as expensive as you think. Best Caesar EVER, made tablesude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience which enha ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had a wonderful experience which enhanced our first anniversary. Mike was one of the best waiters to serve us here in Halifax.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was so disappointed with Cut! We had t ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I was so disappointed with Cut! We had to wait a half hour for our table, not a huge deal, we got a drink from the bar. When our table was ready we ordered oysters to start - DELISH! They was fresh and very yummy, the bread was great also. Now for the steak, myself and my boyfriend ordered strip, and a baked potato and prosciutto wrapped tomatoes to share. It took almost an hour for us to get our food, which I understand, we did order a baked potato, so I wasn't too worried about. When we did get it they gave us the wrong steaks, and the baked potato was hard as a rock! They were gracious enough to comp the potato and gave us a free dessert to go (which we didn't enjoy either - he used molecular gastronomy and all the pieces were hard and chewy) And to top off the night, one of the servers had bad body odour, so every time he walked by you could smell him. I was really looking forward to going here and was totally let down! I don't think I would go back!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Our daughters 16th birthday! Great devic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Our daughters 16th birthday! Great device and food. Perfect for a family celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This stop was absolutely incredible. Fro ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This stop was absolutely incredible. From the service, to the wine selection, and over each course, this evening just kept getting better and better. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. To get to the nit and gritty, the steak was, well.....magical to say the least. I enjoyed the 22 oz. Bone-in RibEye. And my beautiful friend enjoyed the Loinstrip cut. We went from enjoying a quite conversation to devouring the slabs of meat in front of us.

When in Halifax, you MUST make a stop here. Also, a shout out to the Oyster Bar "SHUCK"on the first floor, also managed by this place. Fantastic happy hour, with $1 oysters and great drink selections

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fifth trip to Cut. Always for a special ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fifth trip to Cut. Always for a special occasion. Ambience, food and service delightful as usual. Only downside was having a large party seated next to us with one very loud gentleman holding court. Next time we'll asked to be seated in a more "couple friendly" part of the restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food. Our server was very gra ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fantastic food. Our server was very gracious and generous and made my 50th birthday memorable. Thanks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible, friendly and knowledgeable s ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Incredible, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Steaks were melt in your mouth tender and the sides were terrific. Our wine was incredible, and was recommended by our waiter after some discussion on our likes. This is a perfect restaurant to celebrate those very special occasions!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated our anniversary at Cut for 2n ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary at Cut for 2nd year in a row. Great food, excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time here and definitely will ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our first time here and definitely will not be our last !!!!

The staff ... so friendly ,knowledgable and sweet !!!

The meal ... spectacular , delicious and filling!!

The wine .... added to the romance !!!

Thank you for a memorable last day of 2016 !!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, romantic atmosphere, but t ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing food, romantic atmosphere, but the expense would make it a once a year type visit for us. Either way - best meal I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic experience. Servers (Roet & J ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic experience. Servers (Roet & John) were great and the two server approach was also excellent. Great food and outstanding service. We've been a handful of times and will definitely be back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate here 2 years ago and had the best ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We ate here 2 years ago and had the best steak we'd ever had. Unfortunately this time around it didn't melt in our mouths the way it had previously and it was over salted. Huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This restaurant was great. Great food, ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This restaurant was great. Great food, great friendly service, and great ambiance. A great place to take your significant other for a date if you are not thinking of your pocketbook

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never go back again, ok services, forgot ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Never go back again, ok services, forgot to bring in one dish we ordered, not worth big money for that...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

While the principle reason for going was ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 21, 2016

While the principle reason for going was indeed for the steak experience, we were a little put off by the fact that traditional sides like vegetables and even a simple baked potato was each an additional $8 on top of the order. An $8 baked potato?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing steak, we ordered and shared a b ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Amazing steak, we ordered and shared a boneless Wagyu ribeye and it blow our mind. I am sorry to say this, but this restaurant made us a steak snob. The sampler appetizer was a good choice to share and experience what the Shuck Raw Bar had to offer. Would recommend this to anyone wanting a experience with steak and cannot make it to Japan.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We visited CUT to thank my parents for a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We visited CUT to thank my parents for all their help and support with my recent wedding. None of my group had ever been to CUT. We received the best service from Jonathan, and all the staff. We all thoroughly enjoyed our steaks (cooked to perfection!) and loved the family style dining for our sides - try the Aligot - you won't be disappointed. None of us tried appetizers as we were excited for our mains, but thankfully weren't too full for dessert - we loved the Looks Like a Lemon!

We all commented it was one of the best, if not the best, meals we've ever enjoyed in Halifax, and will certainly be back to celebrate another special occasion.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always given Cut at least a 4 somet ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I've always given Cut at least a 4 sometimes 5 for food, service and value however based on my last experience I had to drop down to a three. Brioche for the fore grows felt like a piece of thin wonder bread not a toasted brioche. I asked the waiter for a wine recommendation between the Amarone and the Brunello and the Brunello he recommended, Caparzo 2011 was thin and weak. Finally I ordered the dry aged USDA bone in rib eye and asked for it to be between medium rare and medium as I find my normal medium rare steak just doesn't work with the fattier cuts. He pressed me to choose either medium or medium rare as apparently the kitchen can't do in between, first time I have ever had that problem at a steak house. I settled on the medium but when steak arrived although medium in the centre the outside was black and the outer fat cap was essentially charcoal. My daughter and her boyfriend ordered medium rare NY striploins which came out beautifully which is the only reason it received a 3 not a 1.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Went for my wife`s birthday this past Sa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Went for my wife`s birthday this past Saturday, professional service, great food, wonderful ambiance. Thank you so much for the great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The pac ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The pace of service was perfect; allowing a relaxed and unhurried atmosphere. The food was certainly delicious. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cut to anyone !

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

really enjoyed the great service and fan ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 21, 2016

really enjoyed the great service and fantastic food during our recent business meal. Wide variety of dishes ordered including several cuts of steak. everyone was very pleased with the quality and taste. Table side caesar tasted AMAZING!

My beer glass was never empty and everyone thought the service was great. not one of us had room for dessert, which is a compliment to the kitchen.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were fabulous! (Althoug ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food and service were fabulous! (Although I don't recommend their Caesar Salad, the steaks were perfect!)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We both agree this was literally the bes ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We both agree this was literally the best restaurant meal we've ever had hands down

Loved every single thing about it from the ambiance, the impeccable service and the perfect food

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I have been here once ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My girlfriend and I have been here once before, and to be honest the impression the first time was so amazing that it was the only place I wanted to take her for our two year anniversary. If I could book a table here every night I would! Whether you're looking to really wow someone for a date, anniversary, birthday or just an incredible dining experience this is the place to go! P.s they have the best steak you'll find in the Atlantic provinces!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the evening was almost ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Everything about the evening was almost spectacular. I had been wanting to try CUT for a long time and took my boyfriend on Tuesday to celebrate his birthday.

The service was excellent.

Unfortunately, the steak (which I asked medium/rare) came well done.

By this time we were so hungry and I didn't want to make a scene, we were celebrating and I also wanted to eat my meal when he had his. I regret not sending it back since it did cost 52$.

This unfortunately left a sour mood on the experience and never plan on returning, to spend that kind of money and not have it cooked even close to the way I asked is just not acceptable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good but one complaint: It was fre ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very good but one complaint: It was freezing cold. The air conditioning was blasting

over our table. Couldn't take my jacket off. Otherwise, enjoyed immensely.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We celebrated our wedding annviersary he ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We celebrated our wedding annviersary here and we're not disappointed. Happy to have chosen this location. Romantic, immpecable flavours and service.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had an amazing evening, thank you ver ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had an amazing evening, thank you very much. We feel we had the best waiters, Keith and Dave, but I'm sure they are all great. We have recommended it to many people since our visit. The food was well prepared and presentation only added to the night. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Family Style, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Potatoes were not freshly baked. Steak ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Potatoes were not freshly baked. Steak was orderd medium & came raw & way too salty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Hi. This restaurant was recommended to u ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Hi. This restaurant was recommended to us by another Chef's restaurant as one of the best restaurant in Halifax. The place was nice but we were seated near the elevator while the place was pretty much empty. Wine list was huge so was the price of a bottle. We ordered ribeye steak (14 oz). Steak was good but nothing spectacular. Sides were ok . Overall it was quite disappointing and very expensive.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This was the best restaurant we have vis ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was the best restaurant we have visited in Halifax since we moved over one year ago. We will be back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Business Meals, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife asked for medium well and got me ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My wife asked for medium well and got medium rare. Had to send her beef tenderloin back.

My steak was cooked medium as requested

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The quality of the steak was excellent a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The quality of the steak was excellent and preparation was just right. Servers were friendly and attentive. Just give yourself enough time as it is not a place where you want to rush; although our servers were able to feed us and still allow us to get to the show on time!

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We chose not to have steak but rather La ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We chose not to have steak but rather Lamb and Duck. A terrible mistake since neither had any taste, was bland and unrecognizable as to what we were eating. Unfortunate since we have had great steaks at the CUT in the past. Clearly the chef knows nothing about cooking Lamb or Duck or in presenting such product on a plate. The potato was huge, one would have sufficed or a smaller one each. I did not get my beets as ordered. The beans had a unique taste that neither of us liked nor recognized. The salad however was the bright light in evening and very tasty. The service was sporadic and at times we felt it was an inconvenience for the staff. Suggest you stick with cooking steak and remove other alternatives from your menu since your chef clearly has neither the ability or skill to handle other meals which in any other restaurant would have been of a much higher quality, taste and presentation. Perhaps a new chef may help.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Exceptional in every way - 5 star I hav ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Exceptional in every way - 5 star

I have many "go to" favs on my day to day, best dressed restaurant list;however overall if your looking to raise the bar a little for an occasion, The Cut certainly is a "cut above the rest" - Your Welcome.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.