About Cut Steakhouse

5120 Salter Street
Halifax, NS B3J 0A1
View Larger Map

CUT Steakhouse offers a fine dining experience sure to please the most sophisticated of diners. Our menu's main attraction is the dry aged USDA prime beef, aged and butchered in-house by our own exacting specifications. Start your evening with a glass of award-winning wine or perhaps a popular craft beer. From our menu, savour a dry-aged New York Striploin, delicious Paradise Farm's Rib-eye, local tenderloin or Wagyu beef all cooked to your specifications. Finish off with an amazing sampling of fine cheeses, a specialty liqueur and a decadent dessert. Downstairs, SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar features a seafood market with a wide selection of Nova Scotia product delivered daily. Enjoy oysters on the half shell, crudo, ceviche or whole fresh fish prepared to your liking. In the summer, sit outside on our beautiful patio overlooking the Halifax waterfront.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner, nightly from 5:30pm - 10:00pm last seating

Cross Street:
Lower Water St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 429-5120

Website:
http://www.cutsteakhouse.ca/

Catering:
CUT is owned by RCR Hospitality Group, Halifax's leader in off-premise catering, offering the same high level of dining off-site as at the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Ample pay parking just across the street in the Waterfront Development parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Chef Luis Clavel

Private Party Facilities:
A private or semi-private booking at CUT Steakhouse will provide not only the perfect backdrop for your event, but will indulge your guests in a spectacular dinner featuring the finest beef skillfully prepared by our chef de cuisine.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Carey: 8553983265

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow us on facebook to keep in the loop of all of the special events taking place at CUT Steakhouse!

Restaurant Photos

Cut Steakhouse
Bone-In Ribeye
Seared Sea Scallops
Steak Sandwich
Fried Arepas with vegetables
Lobster Poutine
Beef Tenderloin (Dine Around Limited Menu)
Tenderloin
flourless chocolate cake
Deconstructed Onion Soup
Deconstructed Carrot Cake
Pan Seared Whole Fish

Cut Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
4 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Halifax
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

special occasion (41)
notable wine list (27)
romantic (26)
See All
fit for foodies (21)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (6)
good for groups (6)
scenic view (6)
great for outdoor dining (2)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Pretentious, mediocre & seriously overpr ...

Dined 4 days ago

Pretentious, mediocre & seriously overpriced for what you get

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is AMAZING. The staff very kno ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is AMAZING. The staff very knowledgeable. Our wait time for the food and then again for the dessert was quite long though. It was very busy that night but we waited an hour for dessert which seems a little crazy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cut has made steak great again

Dined on June 6, 2016

We were treated to a very knowledgeable showcase of the different steak options at the restaurant. Taste and presentation were excellent. The bill gave me PTSD though.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good, but expensive.

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was not our first trip to CUT - we go there on special occasions as it is not exactly a budget friendly location. The food is always of a very high standard and the staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The atmosphere is one of quiet elegance and the mini loaf of banana bread they give you when you leave is delicious.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cut is always wonderful. The dry-aged st ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Cut is always wonderful. The dry-aged steaks are amazing. I have noticed a decline in quality since the new chef took over, but it is still delicious. The carrot cake donuts are sorely missed from the dessert menu...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We wanted to take two friends out for di ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We wanted to take two friends out for dinner to thank them for helping us over the winter. We chose CUT as we all love steak and none of us had eaten there previously. From the moment we were greeted at the door, we had a great experience. Loved the Caesar prepared at the table, the starter shrimp dish and the Chef's salad. Three of us had Nova Scotia bone-in rib eyes that were prepared perfectly, from medium rare minus to medium well done! The tenderloin was also a big hit. Finally, the sides of beets, green beans, and mushrooms were great only to be outdone by the most delicious mashed potatoes and an enormous baked potato. We stayed for over three hours - and hated to go home. Nice touch when each couple was given a little nut loaf to take home for breakfast. Terrific evening, outstanding attention to detail from staff. Nicest dining experience I've had in Halifax in many years! It's not inexpensive but was worth it when we could make an evening of a remarkable dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

wonderful evening

Dined on May 8, 2016

Just want to say thanks to the staff at the cut for a good evening! David our server was awesome! Our steaks were great... Our appetizers weren't as good though. Ordered the shrimp made with the jalapeño and they were cold, and undercooked our ceaser salad had too much mustard. But we would return again it was just a little snag in what I thought was a wonderful night!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great relaxed atmosphere and food.

Dined on May 8, 2016

David made our first experience at The Cut a fantastic one, he answered all our questions with ease and was quick to respond with great suggestions when asked. It was a very relaxed and enjoyable evening. The lobster risotto was absolutely delicious and we loved the ability to mix and share our requested side dishes. The wine list was extensive and again David helped us pair a great Bordeaux with our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5

Found the cut pomme de terre highly salt ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Found the cut pomme de terre highly salty, and was disappointed in the new dessert menu. The old desserts were fantastic! Service however was outstanding. I will give this establishment another try, but will not recommend until I have done so.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Cut

Dined on April 28, 2016

They have made many changes to the menu however they have taken away all their most popular dishes. The steaks we had were mostly fat and grissle with little to no taste. I used to frequent Cut a lot and I have recently returned after a few years away. My family and I were looking forward to renewing our relationship with Cut however we were all very disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. Great food. A bit pri ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Excellent service. Great food. A bit pricy but worthed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night out

Dined on March 15, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed the full experience of Cut the steak and duck were great with that said the table side ceaser salad, lobster risotto and onion rings were amazing. Don't let me forget the veggie sticks and dip was as good as I remember them to be... Johnthan are server was hands down awesome he truly added to the overall experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Birthday spot

Dined on March 3, 2016

I was hoping the King Crab appetizer would taste more like crab and less like pickled vegetables. A bit disappointed with that choice. The steak was amazing and I loved learning about all the cuts and where it came from before hand. The wine was delicious and the server was helpful in making a recommendation to others in my party. I appreciated the birthday message on my dessert. Overall a great birthday celebration.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit to The Cut and ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

This was our second visit to The Cut and the experience was excellent both times.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Food, Wonderful Service

Dined on February 14, 2016

We made a reservation for Valentine's Day. We showed up about 20 minutes early and our table was available (we made a reservation for 6pm). The excellent service started as soon as we entered the restaurant. Complimentary coat check, and wonderfully attentive staff. The staff were very attentive and quite knowledgeable about the menu. Our food arrived in a timely manner and was well spaced out. Everything tasted delicious and the portion sizes were excellent. We were too full to order dessert! We will definitely be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday Feb 13th

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was great as usual! Food was fantastic, and our server Jonathan was outstanding! Thanks again for an awesome evening......I will be back very soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steaks

Dined on February 13, 2016

Everything was top quality. The steak were possibly the best I have ever tried. The local dry aged striploin was amazing. The menu can be a bit daunting for the uninitiated in the high-end steak universe, however our waiter did an excellent job of guiding us through the different types and cuts and allowed us to make an educated decision. The mash potatoes were nicely done with no lumps and just the right amount of garlic. Only complaint was I wanted more. The market vegetables we had were done in a lasagna style and we're also delicious. The tempura onion rings were light and crispy, however only the top couple had any sauce so the last few didn't have the appeal of the first ones. My wife thought they were also too thick, but I rather liked the size of the rings. We also had starters and a dessert, and if the rest of the menu is anything like what we ordered, I don't think you can make a wrong decision.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal we have had at Cut. Simply ex ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Best meal we have had at Cut. Simply exceptional.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great place

Dined on February 13, 2016

Beautiful spot, fantastic food and flawless service. The market veg was almost as great tasting as the steak!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on February 6, 2016

Everything we ate was amazing but I can't recommend the lobster risotto enough. I'd eat it everyday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dining experience

Dined on January 30, 2016

had a great experience, sevice was top notch and very in tune with all details and attentive to our dining pleasure

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our overall dining experience was except ...

Dined on January 9, 2016

Our overall dining experience was exceptional.We certainly would recommend the Cut for a great dining experience.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Average

Dined on January 9, 2016

The steak was high quality and well cooked; however the quality of the rest of the sides were the same that you would find at any family restaurant (maybe not even as good). The service was attentive.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

lovely atmosphere

Dined on December 30, 2015

My other half and I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the exceptional service from all of there staff. The menu has a great selection but we would have like to seen more local meat on there. I had the wild boar which was nice but I found there was too much for one person and would have liked to see the sauce on side because it took away from the flavours of the meat. We ordered three delicious sides which could have very well fed four people. We really enjoyed the the mini banana loaves given to us on the way out. Such a nice gesture! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visit.

Dined on December 12, 2015

Our son and his girlfriend gave us coupons for the Cut. We went on a Saturday evening. Great reception and all the way through from a nice table, great server service (John)great explanation of the steaks ( one good reason for going), great meal, wine and desert. Will definitely go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and wine were excellent. I hav ...

Dined on December 9, 2015

The food and wine were excellent. I have been here a few times now and keep coming back. I would recommend it to anyone. A little on the pricey side but well worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A favourite restaurant

Dined on December 4, 2015

I took my daughters out for dinner on this occasion and The Cut continues to impress. Food is always fantastic, Jonathon is an amazing waiter and the wine list has something for everyone. I'd like to see the Benjamin Bridge Tidal Bay added but overall the place is just great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Just A Note

Dined on December 2, 2015

We were very satisfied with our overall experience, we have been coming on our anniversary for the last three years. This year when we arrived we were greeted with Happy Anniversary and when we sat down were given a glass of champagne. Thinking that this was impressive that they keep a data base with this info and that they gave champagne to us after we were seated. Well at the end of the night when we got home and looked at the bill more carefully we found out that we were charged for the champagne. We think that this was very cheesy to bill us for the champagne, especially since we didn't even order it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4

Below Average

Dined on November 17, 2015

We were very disappointed in the steaks, particularly for the money. I have had a better steak at the Keg and even the Mic-Mac Tavern. The appetizers were very good, as was the bread served. The service was very good and the ambiance was above average. But the steak is the reason for eating at the CUT. We didn't find a lot of flavour, and basically it was nothing to write home about.

food1
ambience3
service5

Dissappointed !!!

Dined on October 23, 2015

We received a gift card valued at $100 and went to Cut for our Anniversary, our bill came to $192.50 and it was not worth it at all. The best thing about the whole meal was the table side Caesar salad. The steaks both had no flavor whatsoever my husband had the 20oz 35 day aged boneless ribeye @ $57 and I had 8oz 35 day aged boneless striploin @ $40 :( baked potato for $8 was OK, the cut pomme de terre for $10 was greasy, the mushrooms and onions at $8 each were ok little on the greasy side as well. I would not recommend anyone go here perhaps there chicken and fish dishes are better. Claim to fame is Steak and I think this is unfounded.

food5
ambience5
service5

25th Wedding anniversary

Dined on October 19, 2015

We selected this restaurant as a memorable location for a romantic dinner on our 25th wedding anniversary in late October. It did not disappoint. Although the prices could be viewed as high for some items, most items were well priced considering the overall value of "top-drawer" service, quality and ambiance. Having travelled extensively for work and vacation worldwide, we have dined at many restaurants of varying levels, across France to Italy, New York to LA and Cape Town, and many places in between. Cut is up there with the best and it is a pleasure to have a world-class restaurant in our home town. In summary, the location was great, the food was fantastic, and the servers knew their stuff and delivered it with expertise.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Jamie is a great staff at Cut, he will e ...

Dined on October 13, 2015

Jamie is a great staff at Cut, he will ensure a great experience. The steak is great but I go for the table side cesear salad

food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite Evening

Dined on October 6, 2015

I took my wife to Cut Steakhouse for her birthday. She now has a new favorite restaurant in Halifax!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good, not great

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

Everything about the restaurant was good, but we couldn't identify what was off the mark in terms of Fine Dining. We waited a long time to be greeted and seated. Food was good but not noteworthy or distinctive. The explanation about the different types of meat went on too long.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Steak was simply out of this world

Dined on September 29, 2015

Food, drinks and service was top notch, likely the classiest I've seen in the maritimes and on par with some of the best restaurants I've eastern in around the world. Pricey, but you're paying for the experience, not just the meal itself.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

First timers

Dined on September 19, 2015

Cut was good. They take very special care in making you feel #1. The atmosphere is romantic but can be noisy at times given the wood floors. Overall we were satisfied. I ordered the tenderloin med rare and they actually over cooked it to med well but fixed it as fast as they could. Didn't like not eating together as I had to wait for my food to be fixed while wife ate hers. They were very apologetic and DID fix it. The a la carte was barely enough food to share so don't come hungry for anything but meat. Food was very good though. Would go again but would maybe try the downstairs grill for a different feel and flavor.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Good but too pricey

Dined on September 11, 2015

We had a nice dinner for two. It was our first time there. The experience was nice but it was more expensive than other comparable restaurants and I didn't feel the price was justified. The USDA steaks were very nicely done and they have a nice wine list which complimented the steaks well. A few times we felt the food was a too salty, especially the sides. The cheese tray was a mix of hit and miss. Their beer list is unimaginative and lacking local craft brew options. It sounds like they have plans to update this. We had good service. All in all a nice experience but I have enjoyed a comparable experience for less in downtown Halifax.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Anniversary Dinner

Dined on September 11, 2015

The food was exquisite, the waiters were very attentive to my food sensitivities and delivered an outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

An Evening with friends

Dined on September 11, 2015

This is a very nice place which gave a sense of privacy while being in the full room of people. The staff are polite and informed but in the background. We enjoyed our meal while never feeling rushed. The food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic Restaurant

Dined on September 10, 2015

Excellent staff & food. Limited alcohol selection would be the only miss; no beer on tap & they had limited shots of a specific ask (ie. not enough for 1 per on a table of 7). Overall, great experience / evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.