About Cut Steakhouse

5120 Salter Street
Halifax, NS B3J 0A1
View Larger Map

CUT Steakhouse offers a fine dining experience sure to please the most sophisticated of diners. Our menu's main attraction is the dry aged USDA prime beef, aged and butchered in-house by our own exacting specifications. Start your evening with a glass of award-winning wine or perhaps a popular craft beer. From our menu, savour a dry-aged New York Striploin, delicious Paradise Farm's Rib-eye, local tenderloin or Wagyu beef all cooked to your specifications. Finish off with an amazing sampling of fine cheeses, a specialty liqueur and a decadent dessert. Downstairs, SHUCK Seafood + Raw Bar features a seafood market with a wide selection of Nova Scotia product delivered daily. Enjoy oysters on the half shell, crudo, ceviche or whole fresh fish prepared to your liking. In the summer, sit outside on our beautiful patio overlooking the Halifax waterfront.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner, nightly from 5:30pm - 10:00pm last seating

Cross Street:
Lower Water St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 429-5120

Website:
http://www.cutsteakhouse.ca/

Catering:
CUT is owned by RCR Hospitality Group, Halifax's leader in off-premise catering, offering the same high level of dining off-site as at the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Ample pay parking just across the street in the Waterfront Development parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Chef Luis Clavel

Private Party Facilities:
A private or semi-private booking at CUT Steakhouse will provide not only the perfect backdrop for your event, but will indulge your guests in a spectacular dinner featuring the finest beef skillfully prepared by our chef de cuisine.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Carey: 8553983265

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow us on facebook to keep in the loop of all of the special events taking place at CUT Steakhouse!

Restaurant Photos

Cut Steakhouse
Bone-In Ribeye
Fried Arepas with vegetables
Lobster Poutine
Beef Tenderloin (Dine Around Limited Menu)
Tenderloin
flourless chocolate cake
Deconstructed Onion Soup
Deconstructed Carrot Cake
Pan Seared Whole Fish
Seared Sea Scallops
Steak Sandwich

Cut Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Best Overall
Halifax
5 More
Best Food
Halifax
Best Service
Halifax
Best Ambiance
Halifax
Best Value
Halifax
Most Booked
Halifax
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (30)
Notable Wine List (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (7)
Scenic View (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was incredible and food was abso ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was incredible and food was absolutely amazing. Server was Rohit (check spelling) - he was incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and our every need was attended to before we asked. He nailed the wine selection! Will definitely be visiting again and will request Rohit as our server.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very great overall experience - the stea ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very great overall experience - the steak was the best I'd had in Eastern Canada, our waiter was excellent, and the dining room was well laid out, attractive, and quiet even with a full house.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steak, great atmosphere Went for ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing steak, great atmosphere

Went for our honeymoon they went beyond expectations

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and relaxing. Steaks were grea ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious and relaxing. Steaks were great! We appreciated the lovely complementary banana loaf on the way out! Great job CUT!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Steaks. All around the food was ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great Steaks. All around the food was very good and lots of it. My only issue is we were a party of 6 and I wish they had round tables. The rectangular ones make conversation hard with people at the other end of the table. Definitely would go back and highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My meal at Cut was the most decadent exp ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My meal at Cut was the most decadent experience I've ever had. If I could go everyday I would. Jonathan and Michael were our servers and they were so knowledgeable and attentive, it really made the eevening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived 15 minutes early and were pro ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We arrived 15 minutes early and were promptly seated. Our waiter came to great us and was pleasant. We ordered champagne and oysters. So far so good. Waiter was very knowledgeable about stakes and we place our orders. 3 had steak and 2 of us order fish. The oysters and champagne arrived promptly but we waited a while for oysters. They came and were fresh... bread was also fresh and warm... we were off to a good start. then over an hour and a half went by before we got our meals. then it was down hill from there. Not only was our meal very slow to arrive, the food was barely warm at best. I mentioned it to the server and he seamed a bit upset about it. our fish was poached and just a bland soggy mess. The stakes were less impressive than The Keg. I was a bit disappointed that the chef did not come out to speak with us after I politely mentioned that all our food was not hot. After our entrees were finished we were comped with 3 free deserts to share... good save! They were all delicious! It feels like something was off in the kitchen that night. I hope for them that it is not a regular occurrence... but I must say that at those prices it was a big disappointment. Not sure I would go back and not sure I would recommend this place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

The food was just excellent, as was the ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was just excellent, as was the service. The servers are awesome. Love this restaurant, we fly a little over an hour to do a weekend so we can go to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and well cooked. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was excellent and well cooked. However the service was somewhat disappointing. There were no recommendations or alterations to accommodate allergies. Simple changes and suggestions would have gone a long way.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I ordered a 10oz tenderloin medium rare. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I ordered a 10oz tenderloin medium rare. It came out medium well. I sent it back , and it came back 25 minutes later! It does not take 25 mins to cook a steak medium rare. I am very disappointed

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We truly enjoyed our night at the Cut. O ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We truly enjoyed our night at the Cut. Only issue is when large groups come in it becomes very loud quickly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice atmosphere, good menu, service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, good menu, service started great then sort of died off, asked for extra butter and never got it. My steak was just okay, my husband's was tough and dry. We felt it was overpriced for the value, and we do not mind spending money for good food. We were overall disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was excellent. Not all covered ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was excellent. Not all covered up with sauces hiding inferior food. The food was clean and fresh and very tasty. This was our second time there and we will be back. Staff was lovely. French fries were the best I have ever had. The music was a little loud at the beginning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OK, have been here before and it was per ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

OK, have been here before and it was perfectly fantastic. Was so excited to return. But terribly disappointed. At least half the steaks at our table were over cooked, not perfectly to order as on previous visit. It's a steakhouse, so I think it's fair to expect this, no? The sides were very good, especially French fries and bread pudding. Dessert menu leaves a lot to be desired, IMO. Expensive night out with drinks and wine but the steaks not done right, even second time around, was seriously disappointing. Also, hostess folded napkins, pushed in chairs and didn't speak to us, or even smile...very odd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We were there for our third anniversary ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were there for our third anniversary and were treated like royalty. They even brought desert out on a plate that had chocolate written Happy Anniversary. Over two hours there and would not hesitate to go back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A fine elegant establishment. It's haut ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A fine elegant establishment. It's haute cuisine menu and care for its patrons is the best we have experienced in North America with some favorites as rivals in Europe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow what can I say the food, the service ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wow what can I say the food, the service and the place it self is outstanding the whole service from the time we enter the room till the time we left the service was second to none. We will do it again for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience; outstanding food and s ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great experience; outstanding food and superb service; my wife and I truly enjoyed our evening. We'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pretentious, mediocre & seriously overpr ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Pretentious, mediocre & seriously overpriced for what you get

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food is AMAZING. The staff very kno ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is AMAZING. The staff very knowledgeable. Our wait time for the food and then again for the dessert was quite long though. It was very busy that night but we waited an hour for dessert which seems a little crazy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cut has made steak great again

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We were treated to a very knowledgeable showcase of the different steak options at the restaurant. Taste and presentation were excellent. The bill gave me PTSD though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good, but expensive.

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This was not our first trip to CUT - we go there on special occasions as it is not exactly a budget friendly location. The food is always of a very high standard and the staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The atmosphere is one of quiet elegance and the mini loaf of banana bread they give you when you leave is delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cut is always wonderful. The dry-aged st ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Cut is always wonderful. The dry-aged steaks are amazing. I have noticed a decline in quality since the new chef took over, but it is still delicious. The carrot cake donuts are sorely missed from the dessert menu...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted to take two friends out for di ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We wanted to take two friends out for dinner to thank them for helping us over the winter. We chose CUT as we all love steak and none of us had eaten there previously. From the moment we were greeted at the door, we had a great experience. Loved the Caesar prepared at the table, the starter shrimp dish and the Chef's salad. Three of us had Nova Scotia bone-in rib eyes that were prepared perfectly, from medium rare minus to medium well done! The tenderloin was also a big hit. Finally, the sides of beets, green beans, and mushrooms were great only to be outdone by the most delicious mashed potatoes and an enormous baked potato. We stayed for over three hours - and hated to go home. Nice touch when each couple was given a little nut loaf to take home for breakfast. Terrific evening, outstanding attention to detail from staff. Nicest dining experience I've had in Halifax in many years! It's not inexpensive but was worth it when we could make an evening of a remarkable dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

wonderful evening

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Just want to say thanks to the staff at the cut for a good evening! David our server was awesome! Our steaks were great... Our appetizers weren't as good though. Ordered the shrimp made with the jalapeño and they were cold, and undercooked our ceaser salad had too much mustard. But we would return again it was just a little snag in what I thought was a wonderful night!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great relaxed atmosphere and food.

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

David made our first experience at The Cut a fantastic one, he answered all our questions with ease and was quick to respond with great suggestions when asked. It was a very relaxed and enjoyable evening. The lobster risotto was absolutely delicious and we loved the ability to mix and share our requested side dishes. The wine list was extensive and again David helped us pair a great Bordeaux with our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Found the cut pomme de terre highly salt ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Found the cut pomme de terre highly salty, and was disappointed in the new dessert menu. The old desserts were fantastic!

Service however was outstanding.

I will give this establishment another try, but will not recommend until I have done so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Cut

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

They have made many changes to the menu however they have taken away all their most popular dishes. The steaks we had were mostly fat and grissle with little to no taste. I used to frequent Cut a lot and I have recently returned after a few years away. My family and I were looking forward to renewing our relationship with Cut however we were all very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent service. Great food. A bit pri ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Excellent service. Great food. A bit pricy but worthed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great night out

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed the full experience of Cut the steak and duck were great with that said the table side ceaser salad, lobster risotto and onion rings were amazing. Don't let me forget the veggie sticks and dip was as good as I remember them to be... Johnthan are server was hands down awesome he truly added to the overall experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Most enjoyable evening. Everything was ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Most enjoyable evening. Everything was perfect- food, service and atmosphere. I have been recommending Cut to everyone. Our family made a great memory! We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday spot

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

I was hoping the King Crab appetizer would taste more like crab and less like pickled vegetables. A bit disappointed with that choice.

The steak was amazing and I loved learning about all the cuts and where it came from before hand.

The wine was delicious and the server was helpful in making a recommendation to others in my party.

I appreciated the birthday message on my dessert. Overall a great birthday celebration.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our second visit to The Cut and ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

This was our second visit to The Cut and the experience was excellent both times.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Food, Wonderful Service

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We made a reservation for Valentine's Day. We showed up about 20 minutes early and our table was available (we made a reservation for 6pm). The excellent service started as soon as we entered the restaurant. Complimentary coat check, and wonderfully attentive staff. The staff were very attentive and quite knowledgeable about the menu. Our food arrived in a timely manner and was well spaced out. Everything tasted delicious and the portion sizes were excellent. We were too full to order dessert! We will definitely be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Saturday Feb 13th

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was great as usual! Food was fantastic, and our server Jonathan was outstanding! Thanks again for an awesome evening......I will be back very soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steaks

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Everything was top quality. The steak were possibly the best I have ever tried. The local dry aged striploin was amazing.

The menu can be a bit daunting for the uninitiated in the high-end steak universe, however our waiter did an excellent job of guiding us through the different types and cuts and allowed us to make an educated decision.

The mash potatoes were nicely done with no lumps and just the right amount of garlic. Only complaint was I wanted more. The market vegetables we had were done in a lasagna style and we're also delicious. The tempura onion rings were light and crispy, however only the top couple had any sauce so the last few didn't have the appeal of the first ones. My wife thought they were also too thick, but I rather liked the size of the rings.

We also had starters and a dessert, and if the rest of the menu is anything like what we ordered, I don't think you can make a wrong decision.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal we have had at Cut. Simply ex ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Best meal we have had at Cut. Simply exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great place

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Beautiful spot, fantastic food and flawless service. The market veg was almost as great tasting as the steak!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Everything we ate was amazing but I can't recommend the lobster risotto enough. I'd eat it everyday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dining experience

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

had a great experience, sevice was top notch and very in tune with all details and attentive to our dining pleasure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.