About Cured

306 Pearl Parkway
Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Cured – chef Steve McHugh’s first and highly anticipated gastropub opened December 2013 in the century-old building that once belonged to the president’s headquarters of the famed Pearl Brewing Company. This seasoned chef spent ten years in New Orleans as chef de cuisine for chef John Besh followed by two years at Lüke in San Antonio. Yet, his most sterling achievement has been beating cancer. After such a life-changing triumph, McHugh set out to open Cured, giving it a name that speaks to his feat as well as the artisanal cured meats hanging in view. It was with this purity of ingredients and hands-on methodology that enhanced his own healing process. This from-scratch, seasonal focus finds its to menu items like Sweet Potato Agnolotti with Bourbon Brown Sugar & Sage and Slow Cooked Heritage Hog with Smoked Andouille & Okra. McHugh has found a way to implement “gastronomic giving” by donating $1 from every charcuterie board order to a different charity each quarter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Saturday Dinner: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 314-3929

Website:
http://curedatpearl.com/

Parking Details:
All Cured patrons are invited to park at all Pearl Brewery lots located all throughout the entire campus.

Executive Chef:
Steve McHugh

Private Party Facilities:
For any additional information on Private Dining Options, please contact Sylvia McHugh via email at sylvia@curedatpearl.com

Private Party Contact:
Sylvia McHugh: 2103144152x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cured Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
1 More
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (119)
special occasion (71)
hot spot (70)
See All
neighborhood gem (55)
great for lunch (40)
good for groups (39)
notable wine list (37)
vibrant bar scene (35)
romantic (33)
great for brunch (28)
late-night find (16)
great for outdoor dining (15)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great overall! The Monte Cristo foie gra ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great overall! The Monte Cristo foie gras was too sweet and didn't work well, but the charcuterie & bone marrow dish were fantastic! All drinks were great too!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great chef's choose of cured appetizer , ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great chef's choose of cured appetizer , outstanding lamb tartare

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

The place to go if you are into cured me ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The place to go if you are into cured meat. Eclectic menu. Not for everyone.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Charcuturie plate was excellent. We ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The Charcuturie plate was excellent. We tried 9 of them and loved them all.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We drive from Austin just to have brunch ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We drive from Austin just to have brunch here. Consistently excellent food, surroundings and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great Grown-up Night!

Dined on June 11, 2016

We went out for a mom's night out. What a great choice! Jennifer was AMAZING! We just ordered whatever she suggested. The food was great, the atmosphere was fun, I can't wait to bring my husband for date night! By far, one of my favorite San Antonio spots!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and better food Burger ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent service and better food Burger was great

food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time at Cured and my ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

This was my second time at Cured and my husband's first. I was pleased to see the same server, Leslie, as my first time. I was shocked however, when she remembered me from three months previous and even remembered the wine I drank! She suggested an alternative wine that was available and offered such incredible service. I really cannot compliment her enough on her manner and impeccable service! Oh and of course the food and drinks were excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was fantastic. Would hi ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Food and service was fantastic. Would highly recommend to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had an awesome dining experience at Cure ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Had an awesome dining experience at Cured! Not only was our food amazing but Mike, our server, made it that much more special and exceptional. We could tell right away that Mike was knowledgable about their menu and was confident in their offerings. He made such a great appetizer suggestion that we handed him the reigns to order the rest of our meal including dessert. We didn't ask what would be coming and we certainly weren't disappointed with the selections. This was definitely one of our best dining experiences!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cured review

Dined on June 4, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Cured. We had a wonderful time with a terrific meal and fantastic service. Cured's charcuterie offerings are the best in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family dinner

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

We had a great experience this week at Cured. The food was excellent. We definitely ate too much, but everyone had a lot of fun. The server was so very patient and helpful and really made the experience. She picked six items on the charcuterie menu that were AWESOME! I particularly loved the smoked duck ham. She helped navigate the menu as well. Everything we tried was great, but the poutine and the quail definitely stood out as my favorites. We live in NYC so we are definitely food snobs, but Cured is a beautiful place with excellent service and outstanding food. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a great brunch there and will return!

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

5 of us for brunch so I decided to try Cured because they were a finalist for the James Beard award this year in San Antonio, TX and we were staying at the fabulous Hotel Emma in the historic Pearl District there. They specialize in "cured meats" with 15 choices plus some eclectic breakfast selections, like Pig Cheek Poutine, Crabmeat Ravigote, Chicken & Donuts and New Orleans BBQ Shrimp! My wife is from Canada so she had to have the Poutine (huge) and we all shared the Basque Cake w/ Marcona Almonds and the Milk & Honey Cake... Xanadu! Note: if you're a vegan or gluten-free person, this is not for you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waiter was excellent. I wish the men ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Our waiter was excellent. I wish the menu had more beef, chicken, and vegetarian choices. But the menu appealed to my husband and our guests because it was so non-traditional.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

It was very noisy and impossible to talk ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

It was very noisy and impossible to talk together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect in every way! A true 10. Cured ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Perfect in every way! A true 10. Cured is 'best in class' and they should be very proud of their staff and accomplishments. Bravo!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Too much loudly and noisy. So I couldn't ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Too much loudly and noisy. So I couldn't talk with together.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Max creativity w/great food

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

I always appreciate a chef that gets creative. Wonderful meal. I'll return next time I'm in San Antonio.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Great charcuterie plate. Quick service. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great charcuterie plate. Quick service. Nice selection of liquors.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I am definitely not a fan of Cured, nor ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I am definitely not a fan of Cured, nor will I return. Turns out I do not like cured food at all and the carcasses hanging in the entry were a total turn off for me. The red fish I ordered was the smallest portion I have ever received in a restaurant.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our weekend in San Antonio and found thi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our weekend in San Antonio and found this restaurant with chef as a finalist for the James beard foundation and was not disappointed at all food was great service awesome Jennifer took time to explain the menu she was friendly and at point Overall experience was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and even better food! ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service and even better food! Best brunch in town!

food5
ambience3
service4

Food is very delicious and creative.

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food is very delicious and creative.

food5
ambience5
service5

As soon as we arrived and saw the meat c ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

As soon as we arrived and saw the meat case with various meats hanging, we knee this was going to be an amazing experience. The charcuterie was spot on with pork rilletes and lots of other goodies on the plate. Pickles were wonderful. I ordered the mussels cooked in Pernaud

food3
ambience5
service4

Cured has a limited menu. Food is good ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Cured has a limited menu. Food is good but choices may not appeal to every palate. Service was good and the environment at the Pearl is amazing. This is a really good place to try with an open mind.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrating 25 years

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Cured is our go-to for special occasions or when we just want a great meal close to home. The charcuterie is outstanding, service friendly and attentive, but not overbearing. We were given champagne to celebrate our anniversary as a start to the memorable meal. Starting with suggestions from the server, we enjoyed the entire well prepared meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FANTASTIC!!

Dined on May 16, 2016

Wacey and Jennifer were the best!! Thanks for showing us a great time. The history, atmosphere and Food. A great combination for the perfect night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Visited for an early lunch of charcuteri ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Visited for an early lunch of charcuterie. Food was excellent. Don't expect large portions but it was sufficient. Chocolate dessert was well worth the calorie splurge. Would definitely return.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful Find!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server was fantastic. She helped guide us thru th varied menu and her suggestions were spot on! We had the 3 sample appetizer. We split a salad course and a dinner course. Every menu item was very fresh tasting. Just a fantastic meal all around. Make reservations and enjoy! Our only criticism was that the room temperature was Very cold. Fantastic evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We’ve been to Cured twice for lunch, but ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We’ve been to Cured twice for lunch, but it was our first time for dinner. The service in the past was good, but this time it was exceptional. Our waiter suggested excellent charcuterie selections and was very knowledgeable providing drink selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the chef's bar! Fabulous expe ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We sat at the chef's bar! Fabulous experierence. Our service person was extremely knowledgeable about the menu. Spicy food, but the Pinot we had paired superbly. Highly recommend it. Chef and staff are all CI of America trained.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Helping to make Texas just a little more civilized

Dined on May 7, 2016

Cured makes such a great contribution to the culture of San Antonio. Going there is not merely a dining experience. It's a more general and more profound aesthetic experience. You can tell that the entire staff has put forth great effort to create an exceptional overall experience. On our recent visit, our waiter, Mark, offered fantastic advice about selecting and pairing various foods and wines. Although my wife and I are well traveled and devote great attention to how we eat, Mark's advice turned what would have been a great evening into a memorable experience. Of course, if the food hadn't also been great, he wouldn't have had a lot to work with. One piece of advice: make sure you save ample room for dessert. Each as many as possible. They're all good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the hype!

Dined on May 6, 2016

From the food to the service, everything was incredible! Roger was an awesome server. Very knowledgable and attentive. I recommend sharing several different plates and getting to taste various dishes. From the charcuterie to dessert, our meal was on point. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious experience

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Really excellent food. Meat-centric, but everything they did was really well executed. The cocktails were also done extremely well. Casual and fun place.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

If you haven't been here what are you wa ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

If you haven't been here what are you waiting for? From service to food options to decor this place touches them all and does it very well. Don't pass on the libations!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant Surprise

Dined on May 3, 2016

This was our first visit to Cured and it will not be our last. Wonderful service and great concept.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Poutine. Wow. So good.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Poutine. Wow. So good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 30, 2016

I brought my mother here to celebrate mother's day early since I'll be out of town the weekend of. The food was amazing-especially the fried green tomatoes, eggs, biscuits, grits and bacon...so everything. And to top it off, a can of Pearl beer came with one of the dishes (with the manager's card underneath-nice touch). The service was wonderful and everything was just perfect. Thank you to everyone at Cured for a great Saturday afternoon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely get the honey cake desert. Be ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Definitely get the honey cake desert. Best thing I have ever eaten.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was great, service good. Only compl ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was great, service good. Only complaint I would have is that our waiter, although attentive, did not seem to enjoy serving us. We asked a few "rookie" questions about the charcuterie and his reaction was a bit terse. Again, we had everything we needed and enjoyed the food, but it wasn't the best dining experience because of the tension we felt.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.