About Cured

306 Pearl Parkway
Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Cured – chef Steve McHugh’s first and highly anticipated gastropub opened December 2013 in the century-old building that once belonged to the president’s headquarters of the famed Pearl Brewing Company. This seasoned chef spent ten years in New Orleans as chef de cuisine for chef John Besh followed by two years at Lüke in San Antonio. Yet, his most sterling achievement has been beating cancer. After such a life-changing triumph, McHugh set out to open Cured, giving it a name that speaks to his feat as well as the artisanal cured meats hanging in view. It was with this purity of ingredients and hands-on methodology that enhanced his own healing process. This from-scratch, seasonal focus finds its to menu items like Sweet Potato Agnolotti with Bourbon Brown Sugar & Sage and Slow Cooked Heritage Hog with Smoked Andouille & Okra. McHugh has found a way to implement “gastronomic giving” by donating $1 from every charcuterie board order to a different charity each quarter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Saturday Dinner: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 314-3929

Website:
http://curedatpearl.com/

Parking Details:
All Cured patrons are invited to park at all Pearl Brewery lots located all throughout the entire campus.

Executive Chef:
Steve McHugh

Private Party Facilities:
For any additional information on Private Dining Options, please contact Sylvia McHugh via email at sylvia@curedatpearl.com

Private Party Contact:
Sylvia McHugh: 2103144152x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join Cured at Pearl and celebrate the New Year to come!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cured Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Creative Cuisine (37)
Hot Spot (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Worth the Drive (26)
Historic (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Romantic (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Business Meals (17)
Casual (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Fun (13)
Authentic (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Cozy (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Paleo Friendly (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
People Watching (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great Beer (10)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Tapas (7)
Scenic View (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Organic (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My dad had been wanting to come here sin ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

My dad had been wanting to come here since it opened, so I finally made reservations for us for his birthday this year. It was well worth the wait! Definitely get the charcuterie, and I learned the menu changes seasonally, so even more reason to frequent the restaurant. I'm not sure I would recommend this place for vegetarians, as meat is clearly the star of the show. The customer service was splendid!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Historic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

4人でいきました。 ランチは初めてです。ハム関係は相変わらず 美味しかったです。 ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 25, 2016

4人でいきました。

ランチは初めてです。ハム関係は相変わらず

美味しかったです。スープもヘルシーでよかったです。メインのステーキは柔らかくジューシーで美味い。ただし、それなりの価格でした。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our first visit. I enjoyed the pig, and ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our first visit. I enjoyed the pig, andouille and okra gumbo and the "slice" iceberg salad topped with Point Reyes Bleu Cheese. Wife had the single burger, very tasty but you need to order at least a double. Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I say something bad, does that mean f ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 22, 2016

If I say something bad, does that mean folks won't flock to Cured and I'll have the place all to myself? :)

Joking aside, Cured has never disappointed. This is our third visit and we were yet left impressed.

Three words: TRY THE CHARCUTERIE! Seriously, you can't go wrong with their charcuterie platter. If you're unsure where to begin, the Pork Riette (spelling?) is unctuous, and the perfect combination of salt and sweet. As it is impolite to lick plates in public, I try to restrain myself from licking the jar that this dish comes in...one day I will though...

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening. Our server, Mark, w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Wonderful evening. Our server, Mark, was exceptional. Couldn't ask for a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Meats are superb. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent experience. Meats are superb. Had the double pork chop - like butter. Partner had lamb, very good. Must get the appetizer meat plate, unbelievable. Drinks fun. Must go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

That meat case as you walk in is a very ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

That meat case as you walk in is a very accurate depiction of what's to come.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food. Just wish I could have tri ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing food. Just wish I could have tried more things before getting full!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited menu and, in my opinion, overpri ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Limited menu and, in my opinion, overpriced. The main focus is, of course, the cured meats, yet, our server did not show any intent (or maybe knowledge) to explain the dozen or so categories of cuts and we ended up using Google to understand what each cut was.

The pork chop that was ordered by my wife was nothing special for a $44 dollar entree (and a bit dry), and my hangar steak was flavory, yet, small in size for the paid price.

I believe this is more a place to go for a drink and an appetizer, rather than a full meal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great stop in a very cool area in SA. En ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great stop in a very cool area in SA. Enjoyed our lunch and sitting outside for happy hour that started while we were there! Great service and food, will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Main menu had some very interesting item ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Main menu had some very interesting items: e.g. smoked duck ham, jalapeño sausage, whipped pork butter (a must try), dessert was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Sat at the chef table/bar and tried the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Sat at the chef table/bar and tried the charcuterie followed by steak and lamb - both were very good. The highlight was the charcuterie that came with interesting pickles and mustards. Our earlier lunch at Cured was even better than dinner - their burger still holds as the best in San Antonio in our view

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Best restaurant I have visited in the pa ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Best restaurant I have visited in the past ref months. Incredible cured meats, pastas, steak, and very creative menu. All in a wonderful location that retains the historical charm of the brewery it once was.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food. Unique drinks. There ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding food. Unique drinks. There are hardly any vegetarian options. Make sure you check out the online menu before you go if you have dietary restrictions

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a wonderful atmosphere and interest ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Such a wonderful atmosphere and interesting eating experience. Mark was our waiter and he was fabulous; very knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every bite was amazing! If you appreciat ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Every bite was amazing! If you appreciate great, quality food, then Cured is your best choice. It was our best meals in the four days we were in San Antonio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Met an old friend for dinner & Cured was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Met an old friend for dinner & Cured was the PERFECT choice. Roger made sure everything was exactly as it should be. Empty glass? NOT. Affordable bubbles kept cold- as it should be! Explanation of menu items- perfection. Shared the delicious beet salad, chicken livers are to die for, and the quail- so good. Service was phenomenal- atmosphere is welcoming- all combined, it made for a most excellent reunion! Can't wait for my next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food, great variety and terr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Outstanding food, great variety and terrific service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was so kind! We love having h ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our waiter was so kind! We love having him, he's always super attentive and very well rounded in his knowledge of the menu and beer pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience on all counts. Great fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great experience on all counts. Great food and inviting ambience.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great first experience at Cured! Cockta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great first experience at Cured! Cocktails were strong and the food and service were great. Definitely recommend for a dinner date experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Casual, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server was Mark, and he was exceptio ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our server was Mark, and he was exceptional. The food was delicious, well presented, not too large a quantity, and interesting. We will certainly try to come here again, and have already recommended it to our son and his wife. Attention was paid to our having a good experience at the restaurant, and we did.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very special dining experience. Diffe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A very special dining experience. Different type of service and foods. Waitress guided our selections which were delicious. Love the restaurant's participation in area charities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was better than ever!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food was better than ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

A very unique place with a limited but i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A very unique place with a limited but interesting menu, which is the way I like it. Food was great with wonderful options; service was exceptional and we will definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional service; beautiful space; am ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Exceptional service; beautiful space; amazing food. Best restaurant experience I've had in years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

$60 tab for 2 breakfasts, 2 beers & $8 f ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 22, 2016

$60 tab for 2 breakfasts, 2 beers & $8 for a champagne flute mimosa is a bit much- food was tasty though...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cured came highly recommended by local f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Cured came highly recommended by local friends.

I'm an admitted foodie and enjoyed the open concept and unique food. Charcuterie is one of my food obsessions and Cured satisfied my pallet and curiosity! I purchased a few of the Cured delights: 🍅 jam, mustard and Hali pano apple butter to create with at home. I'd recommend Cured to people who enjoy an interesting dinning destination!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They always take great care of me and ma ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

They always take great care of me and make my guest feel welcome and special. The food is amazing the location is easy to get to also. It is my go to spot when I'm in San Antonio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a fabulous find. Cured specializ ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This is a fabulous find. Cured specializes in a very unique experience. The dining experience starts (or should start) with a customizable charcuterie. Be sure to try the chicken liver mousse (this is normally not my thing - it is now - get it). The bartender is a master of hand crafted cocktails (try "a boy names suse). This is a slightly bitter (by no means sweet) brilliant drink based on gin and absinthe. All of the meat is good - Cured is a Carnivores delight). The Wagyu beef is tender and silky, the lamb tartare if refreshing - and not a single iota of gaminess. All of the desserts are decadent. The Chocolate with pine fluff is incredible. Be sure to get the fluff on each bite - AMAZING.

Chef McHugh is a true artisan.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice scene for a night out. Great d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very nice scene for a night out. Great drinks, a bit pricey but worth it... In the middle of the pearl so definitely plenty to do if you decide to make a night of it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here during a weekend trip to San A ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Came here during a weekend trip to San Antonio with my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday. It was our first meal in the city. We were both impressed by both the food and drinks. Everything was carefully prepared and full of flavor. We had the steak frites and a charcuterie board. I loved the homemade spreads that came with the charcuterie. Great cocktail and beer selection. A perfect place for a special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We tried the 3 serving charcuterie, foie ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We tried the 3 serving charcuterie, foie gras and steak with mushrooms. The two best were the duck ham and the figs with the foie gras. The mushrooms that came with the steak entree. The best part of Cured is the variety of appetizers and entrees. This visit was not the best, however, there is such variety that I will come back. The other times I've been there, the choices were fabulous

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome charcuterie selection. Great win ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Awesome charcuterie selection. Great wine list. Can't wait to go back to try more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good, but not for th ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was really good, but not for the price. While I am willing to pay for craftsmanship, the price points were grossly inflated on quite a few items, especially on the craft beer selection. I don't know anyone willing to pay $34 for a local beer that they can get at another restaurant or the brewery itself for $10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great dining experience. Wonderful cur ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great dining experience. Wonderful cured meats and flavors. Great waitress and even when they brought one item that we did not order by mistake they left it as complimentary and it was one of our favorites. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Cured is always great. Love the food op ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Cured is always great. Love the food options. You can eat tapas style, full diner or combine options. Great drinks, beers and wine selection. Wine list includes quality wines at reasonable prices. Happy hour is a great option. Marc is an awesome waiter if you go. Very knowledgeable. One of our favorite places.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed with our first trip there ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very impressed with our first trip there. We'd heard their burger was good and we're not disappointed- it was excellent! Real potato fries, cooked perfectly too. Crazy cheap - I'd have paid more for the wonderful service, menu and character, so they got a good tip instead! Can't wait to come back for more

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual, Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place to eat. I will absolutel ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Amazing place to eat. I will absolutely be coming back again. Food presented well and was delish. Server was great and those meats...... A must try for any food lover in San Antonio

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food portions were a bit small. The char ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food portions were a bit small. The charcuterie was excellent. Service was excellent and server was very knowledgeable. It is a bit noisy in the back room but all in all a good experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.