About Cured

306 Pearl Parkway
Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Cured – chef Steve McHugh’s first and highly anticipated gastropub opened December 2013 in the century-old building that once belonged to the president’s headquarters of the famed Pearl Brewing Company. This seasoned chef spent ten years in New Orleans as chef de cuisine for chef John Besh followed by two years at Lüke in San Antonio. Yet, his most sterling achievement has been beating cancer. After such a life-changing triumph, McHugh set out to open Cured, giving it a name that speaks to his feat as well as the artisanal cured meats hanging in view. It was with this purity of ingredients and hands-on methodology that enhanced his own healing process. This from-scratch, seasonal focus finds its to menu items like Sweet Potato Agnolotti with Bourbon Brown Sugar & Sage and Slow Cooked Heritage Hog with Smoked Andouille & Okra. McHugh has found a way to implement “gastronomic giving” by donating $1 from every charcuterie board order to a different charity each quarter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Saturday Dinner: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 314-3929

Website:
http://curedatpearl.com/

Parking Details:
All Cured patrons are invited to park at all Pearl Brewery lots located all throughout the entire campus.

Executive Chef:
Steve McHugh

Private Party Facilities:
For any additional information on Private Dining Options, please contact Sylvia McHugh via email at sylvia@curedatpearl.com

Private Party Contact:
Sylvia McHugh: 2103144152x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cured Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (137)
special occasion (82)
hot spot (74)
See All
neighborhood gem (58)
great for lunch (49)
good for groups (45)
vibrant bar scene (38)
romantic (38)
notable wine list (36)
great for brunch (32)
great for outdoor dining (21)
late-night find (19)
scenic view (12)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
621 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect in every way! A true 10. Cured ...

Dined 4 days ago

Perfect in every way! A true 10. Cured is 'best in class' and they should be very proud of their staff and accomplishments. Bravo!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Too much loudly and noisy. So I couldn't ...

Dined 4 days ago

Too much loudly and noisy. So I couldn't talk with together.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Max creativity w/great food

vip
Dined 5 days ago

I always appreciate a chef that gets creative. Wonderful meal. I'll return next time I'm in San Antonio.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Great charcuterie plate. Quick service. ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great charcuterie plate. Quick service. Nice selection of liquors.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I am definitely not a fan of Cured, nor ...

Dined 7 days ago

I am definitely not a fan of Cured, nor will I return. Turns out I do not like cured food at all and the carcasses hanging in the entry were a total turn off for me. The red fish I ordered was the smallest portion I have ever received in a restaurant.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our weekend in San Antonio and found thi ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our weekend in San Antonio and found this restaurant with chef as a finalist for the James beard foundation and was not disappointed at all food was great service awesome Jennifer took time to explain the menu she was friendly and at point Overall experience was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and even better food! ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service and even better food! Best brunch in town!

food5
ambience3
service4

Food is very delicious and creative.

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food is very delicious and creative.

food5
ambience5
service5

As soon as we arrived and saw the meat c ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

As soon as we arrived and saw the meat case with various meats hanging, we knee this was going to be an amazing experience. The charcuterie was spot on with pork rilletes and lots of other goodies on the plate. Pickles were wonderful. I ordered the mussels cooked in Pernaud

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FANTASTIC!!

Dined on May 16, 2016

Wacey and Jennifer were the best!! Thanks for showing us a great time. The history, atmosphere and Food. A great combination for the perfect night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Visited for an early lunch of charcuteri ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Visited for an early lunch of charcuterie. Food was excellent. Don't expect large portions but it was sufficient. Chocolate dessert was well worth the calorie splurge. Would definitely return.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful Find!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server was fantastic. She helped guide us thru th varied menu and her suggestions were spot on! We had the 3 sample appetizer. We split a salad course and a dinner course. Every menu item was very fresh tasting. Just a fantastic meal all around. Make reservations and enjoy! Our only criticism was that the room temperature was Very cold. Fantastic evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We’ve been to Cured twice for lunch, but ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We’ve been to Cured twice for lunch, but it was our first time for dinner. The service in the past was good, but this time it was exceptional. Our waiter suggested excellent charcuterie selections and was very knowledgeable providing drink selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the chef's bar! Fabulous expe ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We sat at the chef's bar! Fabulous experierence. Our service person was extremely knowledgeable about the menu. Spicy food, but the Pinot we had paired superbly. Highly recommend it. Chef and staff are all CI of America trained.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Helping to make Texas just a little more civilized

Dined on May 7, 2016

Cured makes such a great contribution to the culture of San Antonio. Going there is not merely a dining experience. It's a more general and more profound aesthetic experience. You can tell that the entire staff has put forth great effort to create an exceptional overall experience. On our recent visit, our waiter, Mark, offered fantastic advice about selecting and pairing various foods and wines. Although my wife and I are well traveled and devote great attention to how we eat, Mark's advice turned what would have been a great evening into a memorable experience. Of course, if the food hadn't also been great, he wouldn't have had a lot to work with. One piece of advice: make sure you save ample room for dessert. Each as many as possible. They're all good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the hype!

Dined on May 6, 2016

From the food to the service, everything was incredible! Roger was an awesome server. Very knowledgable and attentive. I recommend sharing several different plates and getting to taste various dishes. From the charcuterie to dessert, our meal was on point. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious experience

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Really excellent food. Meat-centric, but everything they did was really well executed. The cocktails were also done extremely well. Casual and fun place.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant Surprise

Dined on May 3, 2016

This was our first visit to Cured and it will not be our last. Wonderful service and great concept.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Poutine. Wow. So good.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Poutine. Wow. So good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 30, 2016

I brought my mother here to celebrate mother's day early since I'll be out of town the weekend of. The food was amazing-especially the fried green tomatoes, eggs, biscuits, grits and bacon...so everything. And to top it off, a can of Pearl beer came with one of the dishes (with the manager's card underneath-nice touch). The service was wonderful and everything was just perfect. Thank you to everyone at Cured for a great Saturday afternoon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely get the honey cake desert. Be ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Definitely get the honey cake desert. Best thing I have ever eaten.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was great, service good. Only compl ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was great, service good. Only complaint I would have is that our waiter, although attentive, did not seem to enjoy serving us. We asked a few "rookie" questions about the charcuterie and his reaction was a bit terse. Again, we had everything we needed and enjoyed the food, but it wasn't the best dining experience because of the tension we felt.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Love. Love. Love. Did I say LOVE!!!!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Love. Love. Love. Did I say LOVE!!!!

food1
ambience4
service3
value1

No Kid Zone & Overpriced Small Portions

Dined on April 27, 2016

I took my wife and 3 children to Cured on my wife's birthday due to a recommendation from a friend. It is definitely not a place to take children. The food was very expensive for the extremely small portions and it was not overly exciting food anyway. I don't plan to return with or without kids.

food4
ambience5
service5

Get the 50 cent quail legs during happy ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Get the 50 cent quail legs during happy hour. Nuff said.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrible Service - Wouldnt return

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went to dinner at Cured last Saturday night. We were hurried along, with food being shoved at us. It was unpleasant so we left. It was a birthday dinner that was over in 45 minutes. Wouldn't return and wouldn't recommend it.

food4
ambience4
service5

I took my boyfriend here for his birthda ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and he loved it! He had the poutine and the portion was huge and he says it was delicious. I, however, am a vegetarian and would like to warn other vegetarians/vegans who eat here: eat before you go. As expected from somewhere that specializes in charcuterie, there were limited veggie options (3 salads, I think). I had the beet salad and it was delicious but it was tiny compared to all the other plates I saw. We did have dessert though, and I highly recommend the milk & honey. We'll probably be back just for that!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cured

Dined on April 15, 2016

Unique historical building in a wonderful new hotel/retail/dining complex in San Antonio. Outstanding menu and true to its name.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Service, Outstanding Food.

Dined on April 11, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful evening with the wife. Take the River cruise from downtown to "Pearl" have a wonderful meal and finish at Hotel Emma for a evening cocktail.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Fabulous! When can we go again?

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Every bite of our charcuterie board was better than the previous - how do they do that? The meats were flavorful, and the accompaniments (mustards, etc.) were perfect complements to each meat. In addition to our charcuterie board, we had entrees. My steak tartare with emulsified egg was deliciously seasoned, though I could have used some crackers, flatbread or bread to complement the tartare. It was very rich to eat it alone, with a fork. My husband had quail which was very good - though not as good as the previous night at nearby Supper. The desserts we had were not large (that's a good thing) but fresh, tasty and a nice end to our fabulous meal. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CURED, NUFF SAID !!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Our waiter Jonathan was very knowledgeable on their dishes plus the buildings history & architecture. CHARCUTERIE: Apple Jalepeno Port Rillettes,Pork Pate,Local lamb,Jalepeno sausage,smoked duck,90 day pork belly. great starters. We had the roasted lamb leg,chicken fried chicken livers,grilled flat iron & the Wagyu beef tartare. EVERYTHING was prepared to PERFECTION !! Highly recommend CURED, from the time you enter the restaurant to the time they let you out by opening the door for you, GREAT experience. It was our first time and will definitely be returning. Must have a STARTER KIT cocktail .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Food good, value not so much

Dined on April 9, 2016

This is a good spot for all you foodies. Things on the menu you will definitely not see other places. We started with a charcuterie of six assortments suggested by the waiter. It was amazing! We followed with the fried chicken livers. They were nothing special. My daughter had the quail, which was exceptional. My son had the flat iron steak, which was a little disappointing. Rather boring. My husband had the bone marrow, which was really just a tasting as the bone contained maybe 1-1/2 bites of marrow and lots of sauce and bread. What was there, was good. He also had a terrein which was good. I had the fish and polenta. At $30 for the plate, was a real disappointment. It was a plate of polenta with a 1x4 inch piece of fish. Do not get that if you're hungry! We enjoy new flavors and combinations so it was a fun dining experience for our twins' 16 th bday. This is definetly not a standard go-out-to-dinner place for us. Though the service was VERY good, and the atmosphere is hip (although the chairs are very uncomfortable and the a/c was cranked way to cold) and the food is good, the value is just NOT there. I would recommend it to certain people, but not most. This kind of restaurant is for a dining "experience" not just "I'm really hungry, let's go out to dinner".

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A pleasant surprise in San Antonio

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We recently moved to Texas from California and were pleasantly surprised to find this restaurant in the Pearl Brewery district of San Antonio. The food was innovative and beautifully presented, the wine list was decent (we would have liked to see a few more California wines on the list!), and the vibe definitely modern and upbeat. The only negative we'd offer is that the restaurant was a bit loud -- but this was certainly tolerable given everything else the place had to offer.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food good time

Dined on April 8, 2016

Cured offered an eclectic food and drink menu that delighted my guests. We had a great time at this cute little place in the Pearl.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful, never a disappointment

Dined on April 3, 2016

Cured offers an atmosphere fitting to any occasion. We have frequented Cured for date nights, family dinners, drinks and appetizers, and celebrations alike. The staff is highly knowledgable, courteous, and always friendly. The building is stunning and full of history, (ask their knowledgable staff if you're interested!). Great mixed drinks and beer and wine selection. The food is amazing! We always start with a charcuterie plate, but each time we have gone we have tried a different entre and have never been disappointed. I highly recommend going as you will have a wonderful experience. Cured is a true gem in San Antonio.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The chef has a way with charcuterie!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

We had the chef-picked, nine item charcuterie platter and it was outstanding. The restaurant is in a refurbished factory building of some kind and it is very pretty, but there is nothing to absorb the sound. Be adventurous and enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good but Salty

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food was good. The charcuterie and salads were very good. The steaks and fish were tasty. However the quail was too salty. It had a wonderful cherry reduction and the salt overwhelmed the flavor of the sauce and meat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for Easter brunch. Wonderful.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our waiter was amazing. Food and prices were great. I loved the music selection. I would like to try it out for food and drinks for dinner. Will be back soon. !!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Go here!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

I live in San Francisco, and come to San Antonio regularly for work. have been to Cured twice for dinner and once for brunch. This place is fantastic. Great space, great food - inventive but never over-wrought or precious - great cocktails, and service that is smart, attentive, gracious. Win-win.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lunch!

Dined on March 23, 2016

Needed a close-to-convention-center place in SA for lunch with out of town visitors so we did a trial run at CURED last week. We knew that they had great reviews through many sources and we were not disappointed. We had the 3-meat plate (duck ham, lamb & citrus terrine, and pork rillette), wedge salad with Breton bacon, pork gumbo, pastrami with Kimchi sandwich. Needless to say, we took leftovers home!. Everything was excellent! Can't wait to return and introduce this place to others who like interesting, quality food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.