About Cured

306 Pearl Parkway
Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Cured – chef Steve McHugh’s first and highly anticipated gastropub opened December 2013 in the century-old building that once belonged to the president’s headquarters of the famed Pearl Brewing Company. This seasoned chef spent ten years in New Orleans as chef de cuisine for chef John Besh followed by two years at Lüke in San Antonio. Yet, his most sterling achievement has been beating cancer. After such a life-changing triumph, McHugh set out to open Cured, giving it a name that speaks to his feat as well as the artisanal cured meats hanging in view. It was with this purity of ingredients and hands-on methodology that enhanced his own healing process. This from-scratch, seasonal focus finds its to menu items like Sweet Potato Agnolotti with Bourbon Brown Sugar & Sage and Slow Cooked Heritage Hog with Smoked Andouille & Okra. McHugh has found a way to implement “gastronomic giving” by donating $1 from every charcuterie board order to a different charity each quarter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Saturday Dinner: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 314-3929

Website:
http://curedatpearl.com/

Parking Details:
All Cured patrons are invited to park at all Pearl Brewery lots located all throughout the entire campus.

Executive Chef:
Steve McHugh

Private Party Facilities:
For any additional information on Private Dining Options, please contact Sylvia McHugh via email at sylvia@curedatpearl.com

Private Party Contact:
Sylvia McHugh: 2103144152x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

The ultimate destination to wine & dine your significant other on such a special day.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cured Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (45)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Special Occasion (32)
Local Ingredients (31)
Hot Spot (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Historic (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fun (19)
Romantic (19)
Authentic (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Casual (16)
Paleo Friendly (16)
Cozy (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Great Beer (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
People Watching (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Tapas (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Organic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Visiting from Houston. Cure was amazing ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Visiting from Houston. Cure was amazing in everyway. The burger was fantastic but I'd get a double patty if you are hungry since it's slightly small. The charcuterie was phenomenal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole place seems so alive. The staf ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

The whole place seems so alive. The staff seem to genuinely enjoy what they do and believe in what they are doing there. The food is incredible, from the charcuterie to the poutine. One of the most memorable dining experiences we've had. Highly, highly recommend this one-of-a-kind place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, server, and ambiance was amazing! ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Food, server, and ambiance was amazing! The only problem was that it was rather loud. My dinner date and I could barely hear each other.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awsome dinner very informative staff gav ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Awsome dinner very informative staff gave great suggestions as to dinning selections the lamb was tender fall off the bone and delicious also great cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cured is consistently fine dining--the m ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Cured is consistently fine dining--the menu, the service and the ease of reserving through

Open Table are all valued by me. Thank you, Cured!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, drinks and service. Can't wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food, drinks and service. Can't want to come back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fabulous! The food was a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service was fabulous! The food was absolutely divine! Great atmosphere! It was a perfect "date night" dining experience. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this place, one of my favorites in ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Loved this place, one of my favorites in Sanew Antonio! Food, drink, service, ambiance all great. Only wish the portions were a bit larger. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great booze selection, and M ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food, great booze selection, and Mark is the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing. If only it wasn't ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was amazing. If only it wasn't so loud...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very nice dinner and service. The gumbo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very nice dinner and service. The gumbo was an excellent starter and the Oaxacan spiced quail was a delicious and interesting main course. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for New Years Eve 2017. Was ve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came here for New Years Eve 2017. Was very happy that they were serving their regular menu and not some overpriced 3 course meal that you must have if you eat here. Me and my boyfriend sat at the chefs counter and I highly recommend it if you are looking for a different experience. Definitely a little noisy and hot at the chefs counter but in our opinion, totally worth it. It was so fun to see the kitchen staff working on the meals and to see what was being ordered the most which helped us in our dinner decisions. The man who was giving the orders behind the counter was very friendly and helpful in answering some of our questions. We really had a great time with him and he even gave us a little free dessert at the end for "putting up with him yelling all night" but really it was our pleasure. The restaurant has a very cool vibe, great for date night. There was a good wine list and prices were incredibly reasonable. Our waiter was very attentive and kind, we enjoyed talking to him a bit too. I love the story behind the owner opening it and naming it after beating cancer, we got a chance to speak with the owner for a few minutes and gush to him about how much we loved the place which was really special. I ended up having the pork cheek poutine and while it was HUGE (make sure you come hungry) it was absolutely delicious as well. Don't substitute anything or ask for anything to be taken out - the flavors all go so well together. My boyfriend got the lamb and thought that was great as well. I don't think you can really go wrong here though.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything from the food to the ambiance ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything from the food to the ambiance were incredible! Perfect place for a date night or special occasion!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The flat iron steak melts in your mouth! ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The flat iron steak melts in your mouth! My friend had the pork chop and said it was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful "last holiday of fam ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful "last holiday of family being together" brunch on Saturday, New Year's Eve. The ambiance, food and drinks were very, very good. Servers and others working at the restaurant were most polite and friendly! Our table waiter was fine, and efficient, but I'm not sure I ever saw him smile. If I HAD to think of a negative, that would be it - but, he worked hard to please us, and I found myself wondering what made him so serious and sad? So..... wishing all good things for our waiter and CANNOT WAIT for more sweet flavored maple ( or was it praline?) bacon!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good with knowledgeable service. L ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good with knowledgeable service. Limited wine list.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was terrible. Alcohol was extremely ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was terrible. Alcohol was extremely expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

An exceptional experience!

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

An exceptional experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the food! The fried quail legs ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We loved the food! The fried quail legs for 50 cents each were the perfect start to our evening. We loved the charcuterie 9 selections. My wife especially loved the duck ham, pork rillette , pork butter and the chicken liver mousse. The top of the charts for me was the Fried Chicken livers. We also enjoyed some great cocktails during happy hour. This was our first visit to Cured. It will definitely not be my last. This is my new favorite San Antonio restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Cured for the ambiance and food. Ve ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love Cured for the ambiance and food. Very distinctive.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Historic, Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some dishes were horrible. Especially th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Some dishes were horrible. Especially the carrot salad. I couldn't finish it. Kale salad was good. Everything is in very small amounts. Steak was smaller than a match box. Unbelievably expensive too. We felt like we we're cheated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

The quality of the food was excellent.

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The quality of the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great place and great food with top notc ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great place and great food with top notch service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food! Only issue was that I was d ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great Food! Only issue was that I was double charged for the meal. Called and spoke to a manager who is fixing the issue. Definitely gotta get the the charcuterie!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent concept as there aren't many c ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent concept as there aren't many charcuterie-style restaurants in Texas. The night we visited was a Friday; and the establishment was extremely noisy from the bar patrons, so we sat outside. Judging from the regular patrons, reservations are recommended to avoid a long wait.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious but servings were ver ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was delicious but servings were very small for the price. The service was sub par. Our table was treated as an afterthought. The server topped off my tea 3 times without refilling with ice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

loved the menu because it had items tha ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 22, 2016

loved the menu because it had items that are not common. service was good and the atmosphere is wonderful. would go again and would take friends there. Would also buy gifts cards for friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was good but a bit over price ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Everything was good but a bit over priced for the size of portions - also $9.00 for a beer seems excessive

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

This place was all we wished for when we ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This place was all we wished for when we started looking for a special restaurant for date night. I surprised hubby, by keeping this place a secret and he was more that excited once we got there, walked in, and saw "the meat locker"! Recommendations were perfect made by our waiter. Food was more than expected and price were reasonable for what you were getting. We will be returning w/ friends in the near future.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a beautiful restaurant. Every detai ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 20, 2016

What a beautiful restaurant. Every detail of the restaurant is so well thought out and beautiful. Can honestly say that most everything we ordered was a new experience. Had the most tender, juicy pork chop and was so impressed I shared too much of it! Mixed drinks were inventive and served beautifully. Waitress was charming and quick to offer recommendations when we didn't know something. That's always a risk since recommendations are usually the most $$ but we threw caution to the wind this first time @ Cured. There were many things on the menu we hadn't had before. For less adventurous eaters, it might be hard to find something to order with confidence. That said, we did order some new-to-us things that were delicious and some that we wouldn't need to have again. All part of the experience! We went for the burger which they stop serving at 6pm so we'll have to go back earlier next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

What a fantastic restaurant. From the se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

What a fantastic restaurant. From the service to the recommendations from the server. Food was absolutely wonderful. First time customer, will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning re-purposed, historic building ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Stunning re-purposed, historic building with a culinary crew that knows their stuff!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

12/17/16 Charcuterie is the draw for Cu ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

12/17/16

Charcuterie is the draw for Cured for me. You MUST order a chacuterie board. They use more of the animal and different cuts then the norm. I had the lamb heart bolognese with gnocchi and if you are not sure about trying offal this is a must try. It was wonderful. I had the blood sausage for the first time ever. Not terrible but not something I would order personally. Don't be scared to try it. The drinks were crazy good we had two of each the "Cured" and "Lazy Bee". Great service, drinks, and charcuterie. Cool old building. Not your same old resturant. Try it, you might like it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the decor of this restaurant and ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I love the decor of this restaurant and it's location at Pearl. Our waiter was great and we liked our meat platter that we ordered. The portion sizes are far too small though. We chatted it up with the couple next to us and they ordered many plates of food. I would say that one of the plates is not enough food to fill up even one person. They should be more up front about how small the plates are and that they do not include anything else (the fish for example is served JUST the fish, no sides).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was wonderful and the beer and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was wonderful and the beer and wine list keep the hubby and I quite pleased. My other half was really impressed on how special the made him feel for his birthday lunch.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Historic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was very good except the nois ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything was very good except the noise level. It was so loud in the restaurant that normal conversation was difficult at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Mark was great! Our charcuterie was out ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Mark was great! Our charcuterie was out of this world! Made my bf's bday a great one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cured is an amazing culinary experience. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Cured is an amazing culinary experience. The staff, chef, everyone seemed to care about what and who they are serving! We had 3 combo opening plate with cured meats, amazing mustards, fresh pickles, sweet jams. I could have eaten it all night. Then we moved on to the pork chop and lamb neck. I wasnt sure about that but it melted in tour mouth! Portions are appropriate, flavored well, timed impeccably, and worth your time to enjoy as many as possible!!! Ask you server why they are calked Cured! It will melt you heart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic charcuterie and craft cocktail ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Fantastic charcuterie and craft cocktails with service to match!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We enjoyed every aspect of the restauran ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We enjoyed every aspect of the restaurant, the staff, the menu, the setting. We went prior to a concert, told the staff about time constraints and they did an excellent job meeting our expectations.

So much so we are going again this coming weekend with another couple.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.