About Cured

306 Pearl Parkway
Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Cured – chef Steve McHugh’s first and highly anticipated gastropub opened December 2013 in the century-old building that once belonged to the president’s headquarters of the famed Pearl Brewing Company. This seasoned chef spent ten years in New Orleans as chef de cuisine for chef John Besh followed by two years at Lüke in San Antonio. Yet, his most sterling achievement has been beating cancer. After such a life-changing triumph, McHugh set out to open Cured, giving it a name that speaks to his feat as well as the artisanal cured meats hanging in view. It was with this purity of ingredients and hands-on methodology that enhanced his own healing process. This from-scratch, seasonal focus finds its to menu items like Sweet Potato Agnolotti with Bourbon Brown Sugar & Sage and Slow Cooked Heritage Hog with Smoked Andouille & Okra. McHugh has found a way to implement “gastronomic giving” by donating $1 from every charcuterie board order to a different charity each quarter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Saturday Dinner: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 314-3929

Website:
http://curedatpearl.com/

Parking Details:
All Cured patrons are invited to park at all Pearl Brewery lots located all throughout the entire campus.

Executive Chef:
Steve McHugh

Private Party Facilities:
For any additional information on Private Dining Options, please contact Sylvia McHugh via email at sylvia@curedatpearl.com

Private Party Contact:
Sylvia McHugh: 2103144152x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cured Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (94)
Special Occasion (72)
Hot Spot (59)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Romantic (35)
Good for Groups (31)
Great for Brunch (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Historic (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Cozy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
728 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A must visit! Our server Mark was AMAZI ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

A must visit! Our server Mark was AMAZING! He helped us chose different types of meat prepared in a variety of ways. Then educated us on the ingredients, process and preparation. Cured is not just a meal -- it's an experience. Wonderful food, unique atmosphere, and excellent service. The next time we are in San Antonio we will visit again!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ambiance , unique choices of f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent ambiance , unique choices of food.

Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Very considerate and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent service. Very considerate and accommodating. Excellent food and bar drinks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very interesting restaurant experience. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very interesting restaurant experience. My wife and I had our monthly date night and wanted to try something different. Cured definitely met the bill. Very interesting dishes on the menu. We kind of worked our way thru the menu by sharing appetizers, salads and a couple of entrees. We are very adventurous when it comes to food. So we look for items we have never had before and that was easy to do with the menu at Cured. Don't know how many times we looked at each other and stated "That's Good". Of course they offer several safe dishes for those less adventurous, but if you want a neat experience and try something a little different, make a reservation and get over there. Place fills up real fast.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

25 minute wait for a 5:45 PM reservation ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

25 minute wait for a 5:45 PM reservation and then had to sit at the "chef's table". Couldn't see a thing the chefs were doing and it was like being in the kitchen myself.

We waited another 20 minutes for a glass of wine and a martini because the "bartender in training" was working – on a busy Friday night!?

We continued to wait another 25 minutes until finally questioned our waitress about our entrées. Oops! She didn't get our orders of fried chicken livers - which arrived overlooked! Disaster! Disappointing! Catastrophe!

The experience will make me think twice before returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

If you haven't dined here yet, just do i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

If you haven't dined here yet, just do it! You will not be disappointed! Exceptional quality food and the servers are even better. Ask for Angela, she is a great gal! Good times, great food, exceptional cocktails (Try The Old Diplomat) you will have a great time, no doubt!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cured is a gem. When we first started c ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Cured is a gem. When we first started coming to Cured, we didn't know what to make of the menu, which features offal and other unique cuts of meat. Once we ate here the first time, we understood. It's delicious, carefully prepared, and professionally offered. The charcuterie plate is a must-do on each visit, and we love it when we come in time for the burger or quail legs, which are only offered through happy hour.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great, food great, prices go ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was great, food great, prices good. It was an enjoyable lunch with a gastronomic experience that was worth the effort to get there

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointed with the food. I ordered ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Disappointed with the food. I ordered the Red Snapper (small portion) sat in a large bowl of white beans (too many in fact) overpowered the fish, and priced too high for the amount.

Husband ordered gumbo very delicious and fried chicken gizzards and were very tasty. Priced just right and portions were good. Ambiance was nice, restaurant was unique in design and we were seated as soon as we arrived.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Fabulous place! Not inexpensive, so we ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fabulous place! Not inexpensive, so we save it for special occasions. Unique food and drinks, wonderful service. We love Cured!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved my visit to Cured. I've been twi ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I loved my visit to Cured. I've been twice and I ordered the burger both times. It might be the best burger I've ever had. I would go back in a heartbeat! I will say that I wish there were draft beer options. $9 for a bottled beer is a little ridiculous.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of old college friends came from ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A group of old college friends came from afar to celebrate my husband's birthday. Cured was perfect and we had a great table, great food and drink, and most of all a GREAT server... Jonathan.

This is one of our two very favorite local restaurants and it was a pleasure to share it with great friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again this restaurant never fails t ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Once again this restaurant never fails to impress. Our dinner guests were 1st timers to Cured. I believe they will return and as will we. Still our personal favorite restaurant. My Lovely bride to be and I were very surprised to be seated at the same table we enjoyed our first dinner at Cured. Absolutely Love Cured.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heavy on cured meats - a little on the s ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Heavy on cured meats - a little on the salty side; fun, bumpin' vibe

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely wonderful, we enjoyed our tim ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Absolutely wonderful, we enjoyed our time. It was well worth the afternoon!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Menu focused on charcuterie. All variat ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Menu focused on charcuterie. All variations of sausage, just a few cheeses though. Skip the poutine; it bears little resemblance to Canadian version of comfort food. Wonderful, varied beer list. Attentive service in a pleasant atmosphere. Park in Pearl garage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Didn't match the hype... Very expensive ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Didn't match the hype...

Very expensive for a little amount of food on the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Had a great server, great experience, on ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Had a great server, great experience, one of my favorite restuarants

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent t! Service sublime. ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was excellent t! Service sublime. Sad that the chicken sausage was gone by 7 PM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good experience, I would say, it is ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very good experience, I would say, it is a different option, I had very good time, drinking and tasting different dishes.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The service at Cured was excellent. It w ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service at Cured was excellent. It was a special occasion and they did everything they could to make sure the evening was memorable. I didn't have a single complaint. The food of course was delicious, as always.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was friendly, very knowledgeable a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Staff was friendly, very knowledgeable about the menu, wine and beer. We started off with the charcuterie with the bresaola, smoked duck ham, and pig's head terrine. Outstanding flavors. Our entrée was the Wagyu NY Strip for two with spicy potato hash and summer squash. It was one of the best steaks I've ever had. My gf said it rivaled Peter Luger's steakhouse in Brooklyn, NY. Cooked to Perfection. We will be going back again, Cured is Highly recommended in my book.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had just got married a few days before ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I had just got married a few days before and it was my wifes bday

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was so nice, explaining dishes ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everyone was so nice, explaining dishes and drinks. We were celebrating my mother's birthday and they sent out a crab & cucumber gel amuse bouche. Everything was perfect and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved the ambiance and the artistic wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I loved the ambiance and the artistic way in which the historic building was renovated into a restaurant. The menu was interesting and fun.The meats were good, but the sauces were especially great, and I loved the salad and veggies we ordered. The wait person was excellent, very attentive and very informative. The prices were kind of high, but we expected that. It was a great place to celebrate our 37th anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great vibes and great environment. The f ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great vibes and great environment. The food was real good. I had the steak and rabbit and gumbo and bone marrow. The steak was cooked great. Nice and red in the middle with great flavor but overpriced and not enough of it. The Rabbit was delicious but overpriced and not enough of it. The gumbo was the bomb. The roux was yum and good portion. The bone marrow was real good but again overpriced. The in house carbonated cokes were real good. The apple lime is my favorite. Overall, I think the food they offered was different and outside the box and I enjoyed that. #LambGang..... Thanks to our waiter, he was dope.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

great food and service. drinks were als ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

great food and service. drinks were also very good

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Uh-mazing food, classic ambiance with a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Uh-mazing food, classic ambiance with a contemporary twist. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food and wonderful service- my o ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Awesome food and wonderful service- my only complaint, and it is kind of a big one- is that we went for lunch on a Wednesday to celebrate my birthday and even though the place was basically empty, we ended up getting our food to go because it took so long. People have to get back to the office during the week. It's not dinner service- don't wait for us to finish the charcuterie plate to bring our meal. The food and service were stellar and I WILL be returning but the fact that I had to ask to either cancel my food or get it to go asap really irritated me. Because of that, I got to eat my birthday lunch in the car on my way to a meeting and totally missed out on the milk and honey cake.

I've been a server. I get it. But the place was empty and it was the middle of the week. If Cured makes their staff treat weekday lunches like dinner, I recommend they adjust that policy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good. The meat plate in pa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was very good. The meat plate in particular. My poutine was god but not great. It actually came out cold and was clearly sitting in the window a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Location on the grounds of the former Pe ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Location on the grounds of the former Pearl Brewery was easily accessible. It was enjoyable to walk around the area after dinner. The service at Cured was very good. There were five people in our group. One ordered the Redfish, which she thought was very good. One ordered the Flat Iron Steak, medium well. He had to send it back to the kitchen because it was so tough. It was graciously replaced with the Redfish. Two others also ordered the Flat Iron Steak and felt it to be no more than mediocre. One ordered the Roasted Bone Marrow and asked to substitute the Escargot that accompanied it with another selection. She was told there were no substitutions. She then asked that the escargot not be served at all, and this somewhat grudgingly complied with. The Roasted Bone Marrow was to also be accompanied with Chanterelles, and they were in scant evidence. She makes this dish at home, and felt that the marrow would have been better had it been roasted a little longer. She did enjoy the Country Style Pate that she had as an appetizer. Overall, the consensus of the group was that we would not be returning to Cured.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent service from the moment you wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent service from the moment you walk in the door, from the host to the wait staff. Had the blue ribbon burger and it was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was overly aggressive in his ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server was overly aggressive in his suggestions and was not shy to let us know our preferences were wrong. The charcuterie was and always is excellent. The entrees were large, I would suggest splitting the poutine with someone special, and, same as the char, excellent. The desserts were what really surprised me this visit. All spectacular but my favorite is the milk and honey or semifreddo chocolate cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Happy hour was extraordinary! Food, serv ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Happy hour was extraordinary! Food, service and drinks were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome brunch!!! Cured restaurant never ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome brunch!!! Cured restaurant never disappoints. Our favorite San Antonio place to eat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, one of the best ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was delicious, one of the best cheeseburgers that I have ever had. The beer choices were magnificent. I tasted a very good beer that I had never had before.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Located in the Pearl district, this is m ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Located in the Pearl district, this is my favorite area of SA. We had the 9 meat plate and the cucumber melon salad. This was plenty to share for two of us and oh so delicious. Great variety of cocktails and wines as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall I think the food was pretty good ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Overall I think the food was pretty good. The value just isn't there though. The place looked grimy and the food was overpriced. We had the $18 Charcuterie which allowed us to choose three 1 ounce portions of meat. We thought this was slightly pricy but the waiter said it was what they were known for. When we received the check that item alone was $30...the waiter failed to mention that there was a $12 upcharge for one of the aged meats when he was explaining how the charcuterie plate pricing worked...ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

First time visiting the Cured. Amazing f ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

First time visiting the Cured. Amazing food and atmosphere. Our waiter could have been a little more friendly and personable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.