About Cured

306 Pearl Parkway
Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Cured – chef Steve McHugh’s first and highly anticipated gastropub opened December 2013 in the century-old building that once belonged to the president’s headquarters of the famed Pearl Brewing Company. This seasoned chef spent ten years in New Orleans as chef de cuisine for chef John Besh followed by two years at Lüke in San Antonio. Yet, his most sterling achievement has been beating cancer. After such a life-changing triumph, McHugh set out to open Cured, giving it a name that speaks to his feat as well as the artisanal cured meats hanging in view. It was with this purity of ingredients and hands-on methodology that enhanced his own healing process. This from-scratch, seasonal focus finds its to menu items like Sweet Potato Agnolotti with Bourbon Brown Sugar & Sage and Slow Cooked Heritage Hog with Smoked Andouille & Okra. McHugh has found a way to implement “gastronomic giving” by donating $1 from every charcuterie board order to a different charity each quarter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Saturday Dinner: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 314-3929

Website:
http://curedatpearl.com/

Parking Details:
All Cured patrons are invited to park at all Pearl Brewery lots located all throughout the entire campus.

Executive Chef:
Steve McHugh

Private Party Facilities:
For any additional information on Private Dining Options, please contact Sylvia McHugh via email at sylvia@curedatpearl.com

Private Party Contact:
Sylvia McHugh: 2103144152x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cured Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (115)
Special Occasion (77)
Hot Spot (72)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Romantic (36)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for Groups (34)
Great for Lunch (33)
Great for Brunch (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Scenic View (9)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had just got married a few days before ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had just got married a few days before and it was my wifes bday

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was so nice, explaining dishes ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

Everyone was so nice, explaining dishes and drinks. We were celebrating my mother's birthday and they sent out a crab & cucumber gel amuse bouche. Everything was perfect and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved the ambiance and the artistic wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

I loved the ambiance and the artistic way in which the historic building was renovated into a restaurant. The menu was interesting and fun.The meats were good, but the sauces were especially great, and I loved the salad and veggies we ordered. The wait person was excellent, very attentive and very informative. The prices were kind of high, but we expected that. It was a great place to celebrate our 37th anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great vibes and great environment. The f ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great vibes and great environment. The food was real good. I had the steak and rabbit and gumbo and bone marrow. The steak was cooked great. Nice and red in the middle with great flavor but overpriced and not enough of it. The Rabbit was delicious but overpriced and not enough of it. The gumbo was the bomb. The roux was yum and good portion. The bone marrow was real good but again overpriced. The in house carbonated cokes were real good. The apple lime is my favorite. Overall, I think the food they offered was different and outside the box and I enjoyed that. #LambGang..... Thanks to our waiter, he was dope.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

great food and service. drinks were als ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

great food and service. drinks were also very good

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Uh-mazing food, classic ambiance with a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Uh-mazing food, classic ambiance with a contemporary twist. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food and wonderful service- my o ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Awesome food and wonderful service- my only complaint, and it is kind of a big one- is that we went for lunch on a Wednesday to celebrate my birthday and even though the place was basically empty, we ended up getting our food to go because it took so long. People have to get back to the office during the week. It's not dinner service- don't wait for us to finish the charcuterie plate to bring our meal. The food and service were stellar and I WILL be returning but the fact that I had to ask to either cancel my food or get it to go asap really irritated me. Because of that, I got to eat my birthday lunch in the car on my way to a meeting and totally missed out on the milk and honey cake.

I've been a server. I get it. But the place was empty and it was the middle of the week. If Cured makes their staff treat weekday lunches like dinner, I recommend they adjust that policy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good. The meat plate in pa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was very good. The meat plate in particular. My poutine was god but not great. It actually came out cold and was clearly sitting in the window a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Location on the grounds of the former Pe ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Location on the grounds of the former Pearl Brewery was easily accessible. It was enjoyable to walk around the area after dinner. The service at Cured was very good. There were five people in our group. One ordered the Redfish, which she thought was very good. One ordered the Flat Iron Steak, medium well. He had to send it back to the kitchen because it was so tough. It was graciously replaced with the Redfish. Two others also ordered the Flat Iron Steak and felt it to be no more than mediocre. One ordered the Roasted Bone Marrow and asked to substitute the Escargot that accompanied it with another selection. She was told there were no substitutions. She then asked that the escargot not be served at all, and this somewhat grudgingly complied with. The Roasted Bone Marrow was to also be accompanied with Chanterelles, and they were in scant evidence. She makes this dish at home, and felt that the marrow would have been better had it been roasted a little longer. She did enjoy the Country Style Pate that she had as an appetizer. Overall, the consensus of the group was that we would not be returning to Cured.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent service from the moment you wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent service from the moment you walk in the door, from the host to the wait staff. Had the blue ribbon burger and it was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was overly aggressive in his ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server was overly aggressive in his suggestions and was not shy to let us know our preferences were wrong. The charcuterie was and always is excellent. The entrees were large, I would suggest splitting the poutine with someone special, and, same as the char, excellent. The desserts were what really surprised me this visit. All spectacular but my favorite is the milk and honey or semifreddo chocolate cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Happy hour was extraordinary! Food, serv ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Happy hour was extraordinary! Food, service and drinks were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome brunch!!! Cured restaurant never ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome brunch!!! Cured restaurant never disappoints. Our favorite San Antonio place to eat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, one of the best ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was delicious, one of the best cheeseburgers that I have ever had. The beer choices were magnificent. I tasted a very good beer that I had never had before.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Located in the Pearl district, this is m ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Located in the Pearl district, this is my favorite area of SA. We had the 9 meat plate and the cucumber melon salad. This was plenty to share for two of us and oh so delicious. Great variety of cocktails and wines as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall I think the food was pretty good ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Overall I think the food was pretty good. The value just isn't there though. The place looked grimy and the food was overpriced. We had the $18 Charcuterie which allowed us to choose three 1 ounce portions of meat. We thought this was slightly pricy but the waiter said it was what they were known for. When we received the check that item alone was $30...the waiter failed to mention that there was a $12 upcharge for one of the aged meats when he was explaining how the charcuterie plate pricing worked...ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

First time visiting the Cured. Amazing f ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

First time visiting the Cured. Amazing food and atmosphere. Our waiter could have been a little more friendly and personable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went there thinking the experience was g ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Went there thinking the experience was going to be great. We'll it was better than great. My wife and I hadn't been on a date in awhile and this was just what the doctor ordered. Amazing food and very friendly staff. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to stop if you are near the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place to stop if you are near the Peal in San Antonio. we stopped hear after a long day of walking and as soon as we sat down the manager came over to great us. we asked what was good and he suggested the PIG CHEEK POUTINE and Fried Quail Legs, both of these were fantastic.

Service was friendly and responsive to our needs and the drink menu was very interesting. Little pricey on the drinks though.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely love CURED. They have outst ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I absolutely love CURED. They have outstanding Front-of-House and Serving staff. Heir food is wonderful (I recommend the Gumbo!). The ambiance is unique yet very clean.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All I can say is it is my new favorite p ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

All I can say is it is my new favorite place in San Antonio👍

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cured offers a unique venu for healthful ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Cured offers a unique venu for healthful probiotic foods. The portions are inadequate, I.e., very small in terms of the menu prices. European restaurants with the same kinds of plates are more generous with the portions . For example we selected a cheese item, and the four of us each had .002 grams of this item! The service was chaotic at best. Too many wait persons serving one table. Noise level approached uncomfortable. Cured is unique, but does not offer quality value for the money. The menu needs to be reevaluated and expanded with more imaginative and creative offerings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Phenomenal charcuterie and main courses ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Phenomenal charcuterie and main courses (make sure to try the foie gras while it's offered). Wacy did an awesome job helping us choose wines to go with our meal, and Fetaine was simply an amazing server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect date night. Great atmosphere, kn ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Perfect date night. Great atmosphere, knowledgeable servers, and incredible food. Definitely would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting menu--the charcuterie is not ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Interesting menu--the charcuterie is not to be missed! Excellent service and outstanding food.

This is the re-developed Pearl Brewery site which is worth exploring.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and very upscale feel with ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service and very upscale feel with a rustic flair. Curing case at entrance made me salivate! Unique cocktails were very well executed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant. Would have given a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. Would have given all four stars but the waitress told us the portions we were ordering were large and in fact they were very small. I've eaten here previously and some of their dishes are quite large, so that's what

I expected. Also, we asked about happy hour and she was not forthcoming until we specifically asked for the quail legs which we had had in the past. Minor details because we loooove this place and will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We will be back on our next stay at the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We will be back on our next stay at the Emma. What a great neighborhood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic as usual. I have ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was fantastic as usual. I have never had a bad meal here, and the service is typically wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Too loud, too loud, too loud. Could not ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Too loud, too loud, too loud. Could not converse with people next to me or across the table. Will not go there again. People, Servers, General Manager were polite, helpful, friendly, but they need to do something about their noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

This place came highly recommended as a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This place came highly recommended as a different place to eat in the Pearl district. Cured did not disappoint! I met up with some friends from out of town and although the restaurant was hopping, we were in a table/booth and were still able to hold a conversation without yelling to hear one another. The food was amazing, the wine list indeed notable, and the dessert was delicious. Try the beet salad!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We opted to sit at the chefs bar which w ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We opted to sit at the chefs bar which worked out ok for me but my wife spent the evening staring at 2' stacks of plates. The signature cocktails missed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

charcuterie amazing! Great menu incorpo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

charcuterie amazing! Great menu incorporating farm to table fabulous! Had lamb ribs, snapper, fois gras (yum!!). Save room for dessert - the basque cake was a perfect ending!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant serves fantastic food, th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant serves fantastic food, the charcuterie tastes fresh, and feels of good quality; the presentation of the dishes is also great, every dish comes very adorned and is pleasing to the sight. The service was okay, not great but good enough, perhaps by the lack of organization our server. Overall, I would highly recommend this restaurant to other people, it was a very enjoyable experience for me.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Second time coming, this time for happy ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Second time coming, this time for happy hour. The quail legs could have used some spice but they tasted great with the honey sauce they used. Tried a lot of drinks, they were all pretty good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Arrived early but seating was seamless. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Arrived early but seating was seamless. Service was knowledgeable and helpful in navigation of an expected eclectic menu that required flavor profile history. Hot day but never saw the bottom of our water glass even though our server had an inside/outside multi-top venue. Cocktails were spot on and the management showed a quiet attention to detail and presented a professional service preparation on all their visible stations. Good job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Far and above what we expected, Cured ha ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Far and above what we expected, Cured had such an interesting menu, and I recommend sitting at the chef's counter to see the action!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting is awesome, but it was too c ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The setting is awesome, but it was too cold inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Did not like the table we were given. W ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Did not like the table we were given. We were seated next to the main entrance.

I think the restaurant could do a better job identifying/description of the meats they have on display next to the main entrance.

They should improve their offering of wines priced $40 - $60 range from Spain, Italy and South America (Chile and Argentina).

I will definitely return again. Hopefully we will get a better table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow- we will be back! Service was awesom ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wow- we will be back! Service was awesome and food was delicious. Thank you for giving my girlfriends and I a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.