About Cured

306 Pearl Parkway
Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78215
View Larger Map

Cured – chef Steve McHugh’s first and highly anticipated gastropub opened December 2013 in the century-old building that once belonged to the president’s headquarters of the famed Pearl Brewing Company. This seasoned chef spent ten years in New Orleans as chef de cuisine for chef John Besh followed by two years at Lüke in San Antonio. Yet, his most sterling achievement has been beating cancer. After such a life-changing triumph, McHugh set out to open Cured, giving it a name that speaks to his feat as well as the artisanal cured meats hanging in view. It was with this purity of ingredients and hands-on methodology that enhanced his own healing process. This from-scratch, seasonal focus finds its to menu items like Sweet Potato Agnolotti with Bourbon Brown Sugar & Sage and Slow Cooked Heritage Hog with Smoked Andouille & Okra. McHugh has found a way to implement “gastronomic giving” by donating $1 from every charcuterie board order to a different charity each quarter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Saturday Dinner: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 314-3929

Website:
http://curedatpearl.com/

Parking Details:
All Cured patrons are invited to park at all Pearl Brewery lots located all throughout the entire campus.

Executive Chef:
Steve McHugh

Private Party Facilities:
For any additional information on Private Dining Options, please contact Sylvia McHugh via email at sylvia@curedatpearl.com

Private Party Contact:
Sylvia McHugh: 2103144152x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cured Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
Fit for Foodies
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (132)
hot spot (80)
special occasion (79)
See All
neighborhood gem (65)
notable wine list (41)
romantic (39)
good for groups (38)
great for lunch (37)
vibrant bar scene (35)
great for brunch (30)
great for outdoor dining (14)
late-night find (13)
scenic view (9)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
680 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Perfect date night. Great atmosphere, kn ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect date night. Great atmosphere, knowledgeable servers, and incredible food. Definitely would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting menu--the charcuterie is not ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Interesting menu--the charcuterie is not to be missed! Excellent service and outstanding food.

This is the re-developed Pearl Brewery site which is worth exploring.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and very upscale feel with ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and very upscale feel with a rustic flair. Curing case at entrance made me salivate! Unique cocktails were very well executed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant. Would have given a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic restaurant. Would have given all four stars but the waitress told us the portions we were ordering were large and in fact they were very small. I've eaten here previously and some of their dishes are quite large, so that's what

I expected. Also, we asked about happy hour and she was not forthcoming until we specifically asked for the quail legs which we had had in the past. Minor details because we loooove this place and will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We will be back on our next stay at the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

We will be back on our next stay at the Emma. What a great neighborhood!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic as usual. I have ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was fantastic as usual. I have never had a bad meal here, and the service is typically wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Too loud, too loud, too loud. Could not ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Too loud, too loud, too loud. Could not converse with people next to me or across the table. Will not go there again. People, Servers, General Manager were polite, helpful, friendly, but they need to do something about their noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

This place came highly recommended as a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This place came highly recommended as a different place to eat in the Pearl district. Cured did not disappoint! I met up with some friends from out of town and although the restaurant was hopping, we were in a table/booth and were still able to hold a conversation without yelling to hear one another. The food was amazing, the wine list indeed notable, and the dessert was delicious. Try the beet salad!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We opted to sit at the chefs bar which w ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We opted to sit at the chefs bar which worked out ok for me but my wife spent the evening staring at 2' stacks of plates. The signature cocktails missed.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

charcuterie amazing! Great menu incorpo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

charcuterie amazing! Great menu incorporating farm to table fabulous! Had lamb ribs, snapper, fois gras (yum!!). Save room for dessert - the basque cake was a perfect ending!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant serves fantastic food, th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant serves fantastic food, the charcuterie tastes fresh, and feels of good quality; the presentation of the dishes is also great, every dish comes very adorned and is pleasing to the sight. The service was okay, not great but good enough, perhaps by the lack of organization our server. Overall, I would highly recommend this restaurant to other people, it was a very enjoyable experience for me.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Second time coming, this time for happy ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Second time coming, this time for happy hour. The quail legs could have used some spice but they tasted great with the honey sauce they used. Tried a lot of drinks, they were all pretty good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Arrived early but seating was seamless. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Arrived early but seating was seamless. Service was knowledgeable and helpful in navigation of an expected eclectic menu that required flavor profile history. Hot day but never saw the bottom of our water glass even though our server had an inside/outside multi-top venue. Cocktails were spot on and the management showed a quiet attention to detail and presented a professional service preparation on all their visible stations. Good job.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Far and above what we expected, Cured ha ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Far and above what we expected, Cured had such an interesting menu, and I recommend sitting at the chef's counter to see the action!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting is awesome, but it was too c ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The setting is awesome, but it was too cold inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Did not like the table we were given. W ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Did not like the table we were given. We were seated next to the main entrance.

I think the restaurant could do a better job identifying/description of the meats they have on display next to the main entrance.

They should improve their offering of wines priced $40 - $60 range from Spain, Italy and South America (Chile and Argentina).

I will definitely return again. Hopefully we will get a better table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow- we will be back! Service was awesom ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wow- we will be back! Service was awesome and food was delicious. Thank you for giving my girlfriends and I a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, service, and ambiance at Cured ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food, service, and ambiance at Cured make this an exemplary restaurant in the trendy Pearl district of San Antonio. I went with some work colleagues while at a conference in the city. The location was perfect, and I loved the aesthetic in the revamped bank with a vault used as the wine and liquor storage. Roger was our server and he was awesome! Great personality, humorous, and was excellent at making recommendations. We got the charcuterie spread, and asked him to make the selections. He didn't steer us wrong. All of the meats were fabulous. I especially loved the pork rillet with apple butter on top. He also recommended the bottle of wine, and again it was spot-on with his description. He could have recommended the most expensive, but he actually went with the one that he preferred. It was great, and even the manager stopped by and said it was his favorite wine as well. We shared entrees, including the red fish with peas, the vegetable plate (an eggplant casserole?), a salad and the lamb loin. All were good, but the corn cake that came with red fish was a little too dry. For dessert, we shared the chocolate bar and the honey milk cake. They were both absolutely amazing. I would recommend this place to anyone. Don't miss out on one of their awesome cocktails, and you can't leave without trying the charcuterie. It is, after all, what they specialize in. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktail and lemonade was nice so the fo ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Cocktail and lemonade was nice so the food, but portions are very small and kinda expensive.

Ambiance has nothing special, service was alright, nothing special.

Next time I visit the Pearl I will try another restaurant, don't think I will go back to Cured.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

It was very nice and enjoyable. I really ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was very nice and enjoyable. I really appreciated Squint service, he did an awesome job at giving well attention. Keep up the good work, as well as the dining room manager.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are Cured regulars and it never disap ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We are Cured regulars and it never disappoints. Food is adventurous, original and amazingly delicious. We realized in all the times we've been there, we have never ordered dessert because we helplessly indulge way too much before we get to it. Service and wine pairing recommendations make that all too easy to do. We'll be back soon, determined to begin with the end in mind at least just once!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Hour is the way to go. Loved every ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Happy Hour is the way to go. Loved every detail of this experience--knowledgeable server (Mark) who genuinely cared about our experience and went above and beyond. Superb food (especially the burger and quail legs) and craft cocktails (the happy hour pricing makes them very reasonably priced). Ambience was lovely. Will return many times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cured meats brought me back to a Eur ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The cured meats brought me back to a European vacation many moons ago. The variety in dishes will please any palette. Cocktails were on point as well. Listen to your waiter's suggestion; he/she knows best. Overall, we had a fabulous dinner and can't wait to return and introduce more friends to this hidden treasure in SA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service provided by Matt. sea ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent service provided by Matt. seafood charcuterie was perfect. Mussels and chicken livers hit the spot. Cocktails were well crafted.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Interesting and unique menu, great locat ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Interesting and unique menu, great location at historic Pearl Brewery in San Antonio. The service was outstanding, as was the food. It was our first visit, and we were using a gift card, but we definitely plan to go back. It will still be a great value even paying full price. We would highly recommend it for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Jen was sooo amazing. I didn ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server Jen was sooo amazing. I didn't eat much of my Gumbo, it was different than what I expected without hesitation she took it off our check. She was extremely attentive the entire time making great recommendations. The Chef even came to check on us. Great personal experience and GREAT FOOD! They also have these books you sign when you visit that will be archived. I just LOVED LOVED the experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server John made our experience at C ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server John made our experience at Cured unforgettable. Great Food! Great Drinks! Great Service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was too ambiguous for the avera ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The menu was too ambiguous for the average person to know they were ordering. The waitress had to describe too many of the selections. The food was good, staff friendly.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was okay, a lot of innovation, but ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was okay, a lot of innovation, but the execution was lacking. Service disorganized. I liked the variety of different dishes, but I'm not sure that I would recommend. The Pearl Brewery area is really hopping. Nice night out, just wish the restaurant was better.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Charcuterie was presented beautifully. P ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Charcuterie was presented beautifully. Pickled shrimp super fresh. Poutine was divine. Great beer list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cured has a very interesting and eclecti ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Cured has a very interesting and eclectic menu, prepared and served elegantly but informally. Food was delicious, beer selection was excellent, and it was exactly what I had wished for this occasion, a birthday celebration for my brother and his wife.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are never fail to have a wonderful ti ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We are never fail to have a wonderful time at Cured. Chef McHugh and his team are always so gracious and the food it fantastic - you must try the quail! Great place, incredible food and a first-rate staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks were delicious. Chi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and drinks were delicious. Chicken and donuts were awesome as well as the French toast. My mom really enjoyed the gumbo. The Cured cocktail was very unique and refreshing. The waitress was very sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best restaurant in San Antonio!! Always ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Best restaurant in San Antonio!! Always celebrate our special occasions there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Over-priced. Mediocre food. Inventive, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Over-priced. Mediocre food. Inventive, though expensive, drinks. Just average in this city of 1000 restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great overall! The Monte Cristo foie gra ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great overall! The Monte Cristo foie gras was too sweet and didn't work well, but the charcuterie & bone marrow dish were fantastic! All drinks were great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great chef's choose of cured appetizer , ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great chef's choose of cured appetizer , outstanding lamb tartare

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The place to go if you are into cured me ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The place to go if you are into cured meat. Eclectic menu. Not for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The Charcuturie plate was excellent. We ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The Charcuturie plate was excellent. We tried 9 of them and loved them all.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a birthday dinner for my daught ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was a birthday dinner for my daughter but had been wanting to try this place due to the large amount of coverage in magazines and newspapers the restaurant and the chef had been in, especially being a finalist for a James Beard award. Overall, we enjoyed the dinner but 2 things stuck out: the mixed drinks we ordered were heavy on the alcohol side and for the price of the food the portions were very minimal but thank goodness for the appetizers we ordered which was probably the highlight of the whole dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.