About Cupping Room Cafe

359 West Broadway
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

The Cupping Room Café was established in 1977. It was originally a wholesale coffee establishment. Different blends of coffee were brewed and tasted by perspective customers. This act of blending and tasting different coffees is called cupping - hence the name The Cupping Room. The coffee tasting went so well that the owners decided to change the name from The Coffee Connection to The Cupping Room Café. They also decided to open the back of the store and sell coffee and pie to the local artists. The building hosting The Cupping Room is a landmark building. It was the first "tall" building in SoHo and is more than 100 years old. The high tin ceilings, hard wood floors, pot-belly stove and exposed brick walls are all part of the original setting. The Cupping Room was a home for artists and locals. Today it is still a neighborhood place where you can see the locals and the famous come together in our homey environment.

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Broome

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 925-2898

Website:
http://www.cuppingroomcafe.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Eggs Benedict with Bacon and Avocado
Eggs Benedict - Eggporn
Eggs Scrambled With Breakfast Potatoes
Blueberry Pancakes, Egg White Omelette, Whole Wheat Toast, Sides Of Fruit & Coffee
Mixed Seafood With Beets Fettuccine
Angus Flank Steak And Fries
Vanilla Ice Cream
The MotherBurger
Eggs Benedict With Nova
French Toast With Fresh Berries
8 Oz Burger
Scallops and risotto
Eggs Benedict
Le Fermier
Roasted Butternut Squash Salad
Scallops
Grilled Sourdough Toast with Fried Egg and Sauteed Mushrooms
Southern Mix
Traditional Eggs Benedict with Home Fries
Stuffed Chicken
Niçoise salad
fish tacos
Strawberry Cheesecake
Tuna Melt and Salad
Mushroom Ravioli in a Pesto Cream Sauce
Fig Salad
Pan Seared Salmon
Halloumi Salad
Tuna
Brunch
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Grilled Octopus
Middle Eastern Platter
Red Velvet Cake
Poached Fig Salad
Grilled Peach Summer Salad
Bacon
Seasonal Fruit Salad
Maggie Benedict
Soho Sandwich
Pasayan Sandwich
Pan-Seared Cod
Manhattan Cocktail
Latte And Croissant With Cheddar
Cobb Salad
House Salad
Bakon Bloody Mary
Cocktails
Caesar Salad
Fettucini
Mustard Crusted Salmon
Homemade Ravioli Of The Day
Veggie Burger
Macaroni and Cheese
Seared Tuna
Rogue Juniper Pale Ale
CRC Burger
Ariel's Salad
Bocconcini Sandwich
Ricotta Panna Cotta
Le Paysan Sandwich
Carrot Chic Cocktail
Mexican Omelette
Passionfruit Cocktail
Benny's Salad
Tuna Tataki Salad
Soft-Shell Crab Sandwich
mushroom risotto
Roasted Half Chicken
Pan Roasted Salmon With Corn Two Ways
Strawberry Gazpacho
Fried Mozzarella Bites
Greek Salad
French Toast Stuffed With Cream Cheese, Nuts, And Raisins
Hummus And Pita
Turkey Burger
Penne Alla Vodka W/ Chicken
Creme Brulee
House Sandwich

Private Dining

Let us cater or host your next special event! We can create or tailor a menu that can fit all occasions and price ranges.

Cupping Room Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Comfort Food
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Restaurants in SoHo ›

great for brunch (43)
neighborhood gem (33)
great for lunch (22)
See All
good for groups (21)
fit for foodies (13)
kid-friendly (11)
special occasion (8)
hot spot (6)
romantic (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful brunch at this place wit ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful brunch at this place with my boyfriend and dad! My eggs benedict was INCREDIBLE and they loved their omelette and veggie burger too. The waitstaff are all friendly and awesome, the ambiance is amazing - the exposed brick, the stained glass, the skylights - we stayed for a while and had coffee and played a board game after. Would go back again tomorrow! Awesome neighbourhood spot!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sweet little place in Soho - we met coll ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Sweet little place in Soho - we met college friends of my daughter for dinner. Two of us had the burgers - they were very good. The onion ring appetizer was excellent as was the hummus. Two in our party had the special mushroom ravioli and practically licked their plates clean. I would recommend for a casual lunch or dinner at a very reasonable cost for the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been brunching at the Cupping Room ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We've been brunching at the Cupping Room for years.. it seems to have actually improved! And it has always been a favorite. Great relaxed service. Good food - a place you can count on.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect pre-game for bridal shopping!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

This was the perfect choice for brunch prior to wedding dress shopping. Food was excellent, and the mimosas and cocktails were great. Our waitress made sure we all had a very fun and festive time. Food was fresh, ample and tasty. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service1

The food was delicious, the service wasn ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

The food was delicious, the service wasn't great...

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for brunch.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Had a lovely brunch at The Cupping Room Cafe which was recommended by a friend. Excellent attentive, non pushy service. Two of our group were 15 minutes late for our reservation and we were not made to feel awkward about it, we were served with iced water and fresh orange juice until our friends arrived. Eggs Benedict were perfect as were the coffees afterwards. Lovely setting in a very attractive building with a buzzy but not too noisy atmosphere - highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I'm pleased to say that The Cupping Room ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

I'm pleased to say that The Cupping Room, always our favorite breakfast/brunch restaurant but with erratic service has returned to its glory days: the food remains excellent--and the service is back on track. Well done!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great find!

Dined on May 28, 2016

The burgers were outstanding! My daughter said it was the best burger she ever had. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful. Would eat here again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Brunch Spot

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Really nice brunch choices; excellent pastries, egg dishes, etc. I thoroughly enjoyed my "make your own" eggs benedict!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Not on a friday!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Don't mind a bit of live music with my food, but the band playing at the Cupping Room thought they where the main course! To LOUD! The music wasnt my thing, that did not help! So check out Joy On Fire's website before dining on a friday! I bet the place is real nice on other nights!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent brunch items - just what we ha ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent brunch items - just what we had in mind for something in this area. Open table worked seamlessly too!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We celebrated my sister's birthday with ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated my sister's birthday with 7 people and all truly enjoyed the experience. The brunch was yummy and the menu was varied so everyone found something they desired. Plus, the space is charming and delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

The restaurant was busty and ran out of ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The restaurant was busty and ran out of one of the items we ordered (Sunday brunch). Other than that little hiccup, everything was very satisfactory.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a Mothers Day brunch there. Sta ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a Mothers Day brunch there. Staff was very accommodating . Service was perfect. Food delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place for a Brunch!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a family trip in NEW York and tried this place for our first breakfast, a brunch. That was so good that we decided to come back on the last day of our trip to keep a good memory of this nice place!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great atmosphere.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Friendly greeting and attentive waiting staff. Menu choice is small but varied. Soup was excellent but the calamari portion size was huge. Main courses were excellent. Wine choice was limited and the wine we chose, which whilst really good, was only available by the glass. Free live entertainment was very enjoyable and added to the atmosphere. Overall a great night out.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Brunch

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food but the service was horrible. We waited at least 20 min for our drinks and even longer for our food.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming restaurant in Soho with excellent food

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant without the overwhelming noise and crazy scene of so many places in Soho. I had salmon for lunch which was prepared with a delicious green salsa and served with roasted broccoli and Basmati rice - really good. My friend had the Cobb Salad which looked beautiful and she said was also great. The servers were friendly and welcoming and the place was sunny and truly charming. Really great place in Soho.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Candle light

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Candle light

food4
ambience5
service5

Quaint spot in SOHO. The southern mix en ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Quaint spot in SOHO. The southern mix entree was pretty good! Will visit again-

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our meal at the Cupping Room is always b ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Our meal at the Cupping Room is always breakfast/brunch and it is one of the best in the city which is why we return again and again. Our only major issue over time has been the service. Recently, though, the service had improved significantly--until our last visit. In a room less than half filled we waited forever for a waiter, then we waited forever for our food. No offer to refill water glasses/coffee mugs. Is the service returning to the bad old days? I hope not.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great brunch

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. The service was good too! I'll definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Cozy run down (in a charming way) place ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Cozy run down (in a charming way) place for a perfect Sunday brunch

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

good food, long wait

Dined on March 6, 2016

even though we had had a reservation, we needed to wait a while to be seated! that being said, everything else was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4

We added people to our reservation and t ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We added people to our reservation and the staff was very accommodating and pleasant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Time

Dined on March 3, 2016

Patricia was such a delightful employee. I enjoyed her service and the ambience of the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Good brunch spot. Healthy options but al ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Good brunch spot. Healthy options but also good sweets and splurges

food5
ambience3
service2
value2

NO Bang for your Buck at the Cup

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a 1:15 reservation, which we arrived on time for but we did not get seated until almost 2:00. We only got seated because we tracked down the host and asked how much longer it would be, she then took down our name AGAIN and then we waited another 10 minutes for the table. The food was great but extremely over priced for the area and the portions. I had an 18 dollar omelet that probably only had 3 eggs in it. As someone that works with the cupping room and in the NYC restaurant scene I was bummed out that the service and pricing were so poor.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Find

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my daughter to the Cupping Room Cafe for brunch on Valentine's Day. I selected this restaurant because of its' diverse brunch menu. I was concerned about so many bad reviews about service but decided to give it a try anyway. Glad I did. The atmosphere is very charming. The restaurant was very busy but our waitress was very attentive. The only negative was the drink service. It took 20 minutes to get water and 25 minutes to get drinks. Other than that - no complaints. The food was very good. I had the spinach and ricotta omelette - which I highly recommend. My daughter had the chocolate chip pancakes - also delicious. Look forward to going back and trying other things.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Valentine's brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food wasn't as great as it usually is. My poached eggs weren't runny and they were out of turkey bacon before noon. Way to early to be running out of specific food items. I love cupping room but I wouldn't go there again during a big holiday.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous neighborhood gem

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were seated promptly despite a line of customers extending onto the street. The food and selections were fabulous. The waiter was outstanding. Can't wait to go back. H&

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice decor, great location, but rushed by staff

Dined on February 13, 2016

Nice place for brunch, but one where they try and rush you out as the last bite is being forked into your mouth. Check -not requested- landed in front of us before we'd finished our drinks, and without checking if we wanted anything else. And even then it cheekily suggested tips going up to 25%! The location is great and the decor is nice though.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great breakfast.

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Great breakfast.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch great everything.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great brunch great everything.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Went in for lunch on a Friday, not busy ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

Went in for lunch on a Friday, not busy at all and our server still was no where to be found. She took our orders in a timely manner but after we were all finished we waited 20 minutes before a different server had to bring us our check.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good

Dined on January 17, 2016

I have been coming to this place for about 30 years and always come with pleasure for a good brunch. Even crowded, they did their best to accomodate our special table wish.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find!

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Had to find a breakfast spot that opened early for a relative just in from LA. My google search brought me to The Cupping Room and hoping it would be a great Soho find, it far outweighed my expectations. From the moment I arrived, the service and the friendly staff, asked if I'd like a cup of coffee while I waited for my guests. That set the stage for a great, relaxing, foodie experience. Just for that and their unique Apple and Chedder Ommette would make me want to come back and you can be sure, I will!

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, group bookings, neighbourhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Satisfying brunch in a rustic atmosphere

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

I love the ambiance of The Cupping Room - there is a great amount of natural light in the main dining room, the staff is friendly (though busy) and the restaurant knows how to serve a pot of tea - so few restaurants do. I've only been here for brunch (quite a few times though only twice through Open Table.) The portions are satisfying overall although I have yet to be wowed by anything on the menu, I do love the place and I leave happy. I recommend it - and get a reservation! Whenever I go, it's quite busy - that's a sign of its popularity.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food is great, 2nd time service has been terrible

Dined on January 9, 2016

The food here is great and the ambiance is nice. However, this is the 2nd time we have went and the service has been incredibly slow. I had to ask for a refill on my coffee all three times, we had to ask for the check and the waitress seemed much more interested in having a deep conversation with another waiter/wait staff and gently scratching their back. It was annoying. As much as I loved the food and ambiance, I will find another place to eat the next time I'm in SoHo. Too many great restaurants than to waste time with a place where the wait staff doesn't care.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply amazing !

Dined on January 2, 2016

Went there for a breakfast and fell in love with all ! The food, the environmente, everything was amazing !! Super recommend !! Defenitly will come back when I visit NY next time !!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.