About Cupping Room Cafe

359 West Broadway
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

The Cupping Room Café was established in 1977. It was originally a wholesale coffee establishment. Different blends of coffee were brewed and tasted by perspective customers. This act of blending and tasting different coffees is called cupping - hence the name The Cupping Room. The coffee tasting went so well that the owners decided to change the name from The Coffee Connection to The Cupping Room Café. They also decided to open the back of the store and sell coffee and pie to the local artists. The building hosting The Cupping Room is a landmark building. It was the first "tall" building in SoHo and is more than 100 years old. The high tin ceilings, hard wood floors, pot-belly stove and exposed brick walls are all part of the original setting. The Cupping Room was a home for artists and locals. Today it is still a neighborhood place where you can see the locals and the famous come together in our homey environment.

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Broome

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 925-2898

Website:
http://www.cuppingroomcafe.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Let us cater or host your next special event! We can create or tailor a menu that can fit all occasions and price ranges.

Cupping Room Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Comfort Food
New York / Tri-State Area
Great for Brunch
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in SoHo ›

great for brunch (34)
neighborhood gem (23)
good for groups (16)
See All
great for lunch (15)
fit for foodies (12)
kid-friendly (8)
special occasion (6)
hot spot (4)
romantic (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Not on a friday!

Dined 6 days ago

Don't mind a bit of live music with my food, but the band playing at the Cupping Room thought they where the main course! To LOUD! The music wasnt my thing, that did not help! So check out Joy On Fire's website before dining on a friday! I bet the place is real nice on other nights!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent brunch items - just what we ha ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent brunch items - just what we had in mind for something in this area. Open table worked seamlessly too!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We celebrated my sister's birthday with ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated my sister's birthday with 7 people and all truly enjoyed the experience. The brunch was yummy and the menu was varied so everyone found something they desired. Plus, the space is charming and delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

The restaurant was busty and ran out of ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The restaurant was busty and ran out of one of the items we ordered (Sunday brunch). Other than that little hiccup, everything was very satisfactory.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a Mothers Day brunch there. Sta ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a Mothers Day brunch there. Staff was very accommodating . Service was perfect. Food delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place for a Brunch!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a family trip in NEW York and tried this place for our first breakfast, a brunch. That was so good that we decided to come back on the last day of our trip to keep a good memory of this nice place!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great atmosphere.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Friendly greeting and attentive waiting staff. Menu choice is small but varied. Soup was excellent but the calamari portion size was huge. Main courses were excellent. Wine choice was limited and the wine we chose, which whilst really good, was only available by the glass. Free live entertainment was very enjoyable and added to the atmosphere. Overall a great night out.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Brunch

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food but the service was horrible. We waited at least 20 min for our drinks and even longer for our food.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming restaurant in Soho with excellent food

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant without the overwhelming noise and crazy scene of so many places in Soho. I had salmon for lunch which was prepared with a delicious green salsa and served with roasted broccoli and Basmati rice - really good. My friend had the Cobb Salad which looked beautiful and she said was also great. The servers were friendly and welcoming and the place was sunny and truly charming. Really great place in Soho.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Candle light

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Candle light

food4
ambience5
service5

Quaint spot in SOHO. The southern mix en ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Quaint spot in SOHO. The southern mix entree was pretty good! Will visit again-

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our meal at the Cupping Room is always b ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Our meal at the Cupping Room is always breakfast/brunch and it is one of the best in the city which is why we return again and again. Our only major issue over time has been the service. Recently, though, the service had improved significantly--until our last visit. In a room less than half filled we waited forever for a waiter, then we waited forever for our food. No offer to refill water glasses/coffee mugs. Is the service returning to the bad old days? I hope not.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great brunch

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. The service was good too! I'll definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Cozy run down (in a charming way) place ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Cozy run down (in a charming way) place for a perfect Sunday brunch

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

good food, long wait

Dined on March 6, 2016

even though we had had a reservation, we needed to wait a while to be seated! that being said, everything else was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4

We added people to our reservation and t ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We added people to our reservation and the staff was very accommodating and pleasant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Time

Dined on March 3, 2016

Patricia was such a delightful employee. I enjoyed her service and the ambience of the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Good brunch spot. Healthy options but al ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Good brunch spot. Healthy options but also good sweets and splurges

food5
ambience3
service2
value2

NO Bang for your Buck at the Cup

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a 1:15 reservation, which we arrived on time for but we did not get seated until almost 2:00. We only got seated because we tracked down the host and asked how much longer it would be, she then took down our name AGAIN and then we waited another 10 minutes for the table. The food was great but extremely over priced for the area and the portions. I had an 18 dollar omelet that probably only had 3 eggs in it. As someone that works with the cupping room and in the NYC restaurant scene I was bummed out that the service and pricing were so poor.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Find

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my daughter to the Cupping Room Cafe for brunch on Valentine's Day. I selected this restaurant because of its' diverse brunch menu. I was concerned about so many bad reviews about service but decided to give it a try anyway. Glad I did. The atmosphere is very charming. The restaurant was very busy but our waitress was very attentive. The only negative was the drink service. It took 20 minutes to get water and 25 minutes to get drinks. Other than that - no complaints. The food was very good. I had the spinach and ricotta omelette - which I highly recommend. My daughter had the chocolate chip pancakes - also delicious. Look forward to going back and trying other things.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Valentine's brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food wasn't as great as it usually is. My poached eggs weren't runny and they were out of turkey bacon before noon. Way to early to be running out of specific food items. I love cupping room but I wouldn't go there again during a big holiday.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous neighborhood gem

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were seated promptly despite a line of customers extending onto the street. The food and selections were fabulous. The waiter was outstanding. Can't wait to go back. H&

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice decor, great location, but rushed by staff

Dined on February 13, 2016

Nice place for brunch, but one where they try and rush you out as the last bite is being forked into your mouth. Check -not requested- landed in front of us before we'd finished our drinks, and without checking if we wanted anything else. And even then it cheekily suggested tips going up to 25%! The location is great and the decor is nice though.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great breakfast.

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Great breakfast.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch great everything.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great brunch great everything.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Went in for lunch on a Friday, not busy ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

Went in for lunch on a Friday, not busy at all and our server still was no where to be found. She took our orders in a timely manner but after we were all finished we waited 20 minutes before a different server had to bring us our check.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good

Dined on January 17, 2016

I have been coming to this place for about 30 years and always come with pleasure for a good brunch. Even crowded, they did their best to accomodate our special table wish.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find!

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Had to find a breakfast spot that opened early for a relative just in from LA. My google search brought me to The Cupping Room and hoping it would be a great Soho find, it far outweighed my expectations. From the moment I arrived, the service and the friendly staff, asked if I'd like a cup of coffee while I waited for my guests. That set the stage for a great, relaxing, foodie experience. Just for that and their unique Apple and Chedder Ommette would make me want to come back and you can be sure, I will!

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, group bookings, neighbourhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Satisfying brunch in a rustic atmosphere

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

I love the ambiance of The Cupping Room - there is a great amount of natural light in the main dining room, the staff is friendly (though busy) and the restaurant knows how to serve a pot of tea - so few restaurants do. I've only been here for brunch (quite a few times though only twice through Open Table.) The portions are satisfying overall although I have yet to be wowed by anything on the menu, I do love the place and I leave happy. I recommend it - and get a reservation! Whenever I go, it's quite busy - that's a sign of its popularity.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food is great, 2nd time service has been terrible

Dined on January 9, 2016

The food here is great and the ambiance is nice. However, this is the 2nd time we have went and the service has been incredibly slow. I had to ask for a refill on my coffee all three times, we had to ask for the check and the waitress seemed much more interested in having a deep conversation with another waiter/wait staff and gently scratching their back. It was annoying. As much as I loved the food and ambiance, I will find another place to eat the next time I'm in SoHo. Too many great restaurants than to waste time with a place where the wait staff doesn't care.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply amazing !

Dined on January 2, 2016

Went there for a breakfast and fell in love with all ! The food, the environmente, everything was amazing !! Super recommend !! Defenitly will come back when I visit NY next time !!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our go-to breakfast spot when we're in t ...

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

Our go-to breakfast spot when we're in the city!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Special spot on a busy day

Dined on December 28, 2015

The cupping room is a very popular spot and seems to become more so every time I visit. We visited this time during xmas to new year week - challenging for any NYC popular spot.. The service was very good ~ the food not as good as in a less busy week. But stil very worthy of lunch w family or friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Breakfast place

Dined on December 25, 2015

Loved this place - had pancakes with berries - very good! Food seemed very fresh and coffee was good. I would definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

mediocre

Dined on December 21, 2015

the food was just average. service was not friendly.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service2

Small, yet lively and energetic. Eggs B ...

vip
Dined on December 20, 2015

Small, yet lively and energetic. Eggs Benedict were a great choice for all 4 in our party and made to our individual liking. The hostess started the experience off for us with a curt, smug attitude due to our hovering around the greeting station as we waited to check in with our Open Table reservation. We considered leaving but decided to give it a chance. Upon arrival of our waitress to our table, the temperament didn't change but we had drinks from the bar, so once again, let's stay and taste the food. Glad we did cause the food was worth the obstacles. If you are in the area, I would choose Hundred Acres.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Based on previous reviews, we made a res ...

Dined on December 18, 2015

Based on previous reviews, we made a reservation. We arrived for breakfast around 8:30 am and almost all tables were empty so really no need for a reservation. The food was good.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Traditional cafe with ambiance.

vip
Dined on December 15, 2015

I always enjoy going to the Cupping Room, especially for the atmosphere. The holiday decorations are very special in a space with exposed brick walls. It reminds me of a Village of time past. My guests loved their sun-dried tomato raviolis with artichokes.

food4
ambience4
service5

One of our favorite brunch locations in NYC

Dined on December 12, 2015

When we're in NYC we almost every time go to the Cupping room for brunch. The cream cheese and lox beagles are great, the eggs florentine or Benedict as well and the bloody Mary's are worth a try. Make sure you get a table in the back be with the nice glass roof. And make sure you have a reservation on weekends...

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1

Terrible service, mediocre food

Dined on November 29, 2015

The ambiance was lovely, but service at Sunday brunch was abysmal. We had to ask three times for milk for our coffee, which was getting cold on the table - and finally went and got the milk ourselves at the bar. We ordered simple breakfast food which took an hour and fifteen minutes to come out, and was really quite sadly and plainly presented. The waffles were no more appetizing than eggos - no garnish, just slapped on the plate. The servers were standing around doing nothing and the kitchen was totally disorganized and overwhelmed. Unimpressive, would not return.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.