About Cupping Room Cafe

359 West Broadway
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

The Cupping Room Café was established in 1977. It was originally a wholesale coffee establishment. Different blends of coffee were brewed and tasted by perspective customers. This act of blending and tasting different coffees is called cupping - hence the name The Cupping Room. The coffee tasting went so well that the owners decided to change the name from The Coffee Connection to The Cupping Room Café. They also decided to open the back of the store and sell coffee and pie to the local artists. The building hosting The Cupping Room is a landmark building. It was the first "tall" building in SoHo and is more than 100 years old. The high tin ceilings, hard wood floors, pot-belly stove and exposed brick walls are all part of the original setting. The Cupping Room was a home for artists and locals. Today it is still a neighborhood place where you can see the locals and the famous come together in our homey environment.

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Broome

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 925-2898

Website:
http://www.cuppingroomcafe.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Eggs Benedict with Bacon and Avocado
Eggs Benedict - Eggporn
Eggs Scrambled With Breakfast Potatoes
Blueberry Pancakes, Egg White Omelette, Whole Wheat Toast, Sides Of Fruit & Coffee
Mixed Seafood With Beets Fettuccine
Vanilla Ice Cream
Angus Flank Steak And Fries
The MotherBurger
Eggs Benedict With Nova
French Toast With Fresh Berries
8 Oz Burger
Scallops and risotto
Eggs Benedict
Le Fermier
Roasted Butternut Squash Salad
Grilled Sourdough Toast with Fried Egg and Sauteed Mushrooms
Scallops
Southern Mix
Traditional Eggs Benedict with Home Fries
fish tacos
Stuffed Chicken
Niçoise salad
Mushroom Ravioli in a Pesto Cream Sauce
Poached Fig Salad
Halloumi Salad
Fig Salad
Tuna Melt and Salad
Middle Eastern Platter
Red Velvet Cake
Strawberry Cheesecake
Brunch
Grilled Octopus
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Grilled Peach Summer Salad
Pan Seared Salmon
Tuna
Bacon
Seasonal Fruit Salad
Maggie Benedict
Soho Sandwich
Pasayan Sandwich
Pan-Seared Cod
Macaroni and Cheese
House Salad
Bakon Bloody Mary
Caesar Salad
Ricotta Panna Cotta
Carrot Chic Cocktail
Pan Roasted Salmon With Corn Two Ways
Fried Mozzarella Bites
Benny's Salad
Manhattan Cocktail
Greek Salad
Le Paysan Sandwich
Cobb Salad
Cocktails
mushroom risotto
Passionfruit Cocktail
Mustard Crusted Salmon
Mexican Omelette
Rogue Juniper Pale Ale
Roasted Half Chicken
Veggie Burger
CRC Burger
Seared Tuna
Soft-Shell Crab Sandwich
Homemade Ravioli Of The Day
Strawberry Gazpacho
Ariel's Salad
Bocconcini Sandwich
Latte And Croissant With Cheddar
Fettucini
Tuna Tataki Salad
French Toast Stuffed With Cream Cheese, Nuts, And Raisins
Turkey Burger
Hummus And Pita
House Sandwich
Creme Brulee
Penne Alla Vodka W/ Chicken

Private Dining

Let us cater or host your next special event! We can create or tailor a menu that can fit all occasions and price ranges.

Cupping Room Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
New York / Tri-State Area
Great for Brunch
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in SoHo ›

Great for Brunch (37)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Lunch (17)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Romantic (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great brunch

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service with a grouchy waiter a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Terrible service with a grouchy waiter and we waited 30+ minutes for our food despite a nearly empty restaurant on a Sunday evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Food and service were great, and the 6 o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food and service were great, and the 6 of us were seated comfortably at a table that was just the right size.

Tags: Organic, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Cupping Room Cafe for brunch and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went to Cupping Room Cafe for brunch and my sandwich was a bit dry. However, my boyfriend had the french toast and that was outstanding. Next time I go here I will be ordering breakfast instead of lunch!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

SO LOUD as to I could not hear my friend ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

SO LOUD as to I could not hear my friend shouting across the table at breakfast of all things. The food was average at best. I will never go back, it's lost its mojo from years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

The food was incredible. Their coffees a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was incredible. Their coffees are exceptional. The fries are unlike any other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Simply charming in SoHo, comfortable and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Simply charming in SoHo, comfortable and not pretentious. Loved it and my business lunch was comfortable and quiet enough to talk, busy enough to feel unnoticed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had wonderful brunch in this great resta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had wonderful brunch in this great restaurant in Soho. What a gem! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Handy spot because it is one of the few ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Handy spot because it is one of the few brunch spots in Soho where they take a reservation and you can normally make a reservation last minute. Nothing is going to blow you away on the menu but the food is solid and service is reliable. Solid three stars and I'm definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Really nothing special, the place has no ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Really nothing special, the place has not been renovated in decades, the food is heavy and not well cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Great place to catch up with a friend ov ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great place to catch up with a friend over breakfast. At 9 am, the morning rush had cleared out and we practically had the place to ourselves. I would definitely return. It was difficult to decide which item to have, but the brioche french toast with berries was delicious, and my friend enjoyed her omelet with side salad. The server accommodated her request for a different cheese with no problem. Can't wait to go back for more yumminess.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What an adorable place! We sat in the ba ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

What an adorable place! We sat in the back where it looks like an enclosed garden. Very cozy. The waitress was friendly and attentive and gave great and accurate recommendations. I had the brioche French toast. I am generally not a fan of French toast but trusted the waitress and am glad I did. It was delicious! Thick pieces with just a hint of crispy coating and spice. The fruit salad was good too. My daughter had a Caesar salad and berries and she said it was very good. This is a neighborhood gem that provides a quiet respite from the noisy world outside.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although we only eat breakfast/brunch at ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Although we only eat breakfast/brunch at the Cupping Room, it is at the top of our list for go-to breakfast in a restaurant. Sometimes the service and the kitchen are somewhat slow, even when the restaurant isn't crowded, but the food always makes up for whatever glitches there are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Quaint Ambience..Old Time feel

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Quaint Ambience..Old Time feel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had breakfast at this spot twice on o ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had breakfast at this spot twice on our recent trip to the city. Service was very good. Portions are quite large and we felt the menu was fairly extensive. Their stuffed French toast and eggs benedict were wonderful. Solid choice if it's nearby or on the way to something.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Although I knwe this would be a lively p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Although I knwe this would be a lively place to go the nise level was just way too high and we found ourselves screaming at each other feeling exhausted when we left the restaurant. People talking was fine but loud music on top was not needed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had a wonderful brunch at this place wit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had a wonderful brunch at this place with my boyfriend and dad! My eggs benedict was INCREDIBLE and they loved their omelette and veggie burger too. The waitstaff are all friendly and awesome, the ambiance is amazing - the exposed brick, the stained glass, the skylights - we stayed for a while and had coffee and played a board game after. Would go back again tomorrow! Awesome neighbourhood spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sweet little place in Soho - we met coll ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Sweet little place in Soho - we met college friends of my daughter for dinner. Two of us had the burgers - they were very good. The onion ring appetizer was excellent as was the hummus. Two in our party had the special mushroom ravioli and practically licked their plates clean. I would recommend for a casual lunch or dinner at a very reasonable cost for the area.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been brunching at the Cupping Room ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We've been brunching at the Cupping Room for years.. it seems to have actually improved!

And it has always been a favorite. Great relaxed service. Good food - a place you can count on.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect pre-game for bridal shopping!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was the perfect choice for brunch prior to wedding dress shopping. Food was excellent, and the mimosas and cocktails were great. Our waitress made sure we all had a very fun and festive time. Food was fresh, ample and tasty. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, the service wasn ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The food was delicious, the service wasn't great...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Great for brunch.

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Had a lovely brunch at The Cupping Room Cafe which was recommended by a friend. Excellent attentive, non pushy service. Two of our group were 15 minutes late for our reservation and we were not made to feel awkward about it, we were served with iced water and fresh orange juice until our friends arrived. Eggs Benedict were perfect as were the coffees afterwards. Lovely setting in a very attractive building with a buzzy but not too noisy atmosphere - highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm pleased to say that The Cupping Room ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I'm pleased to say that The Cupping Room, always our favorite breakfast/brunch restaurant but with erratic service has returned to its glory days: the food remains excellent--and the service is back on track. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great find!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The burgers were outstanding! My daughter said it was the best burger she ever had. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful. Would eat here again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Brunch Spot

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Really nice brunch choices; excellent pastries, egg dishes, etc. I thoroughly enjoyed my "make your own" eggs benedict!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not on a friday!

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Don't mind a bit of live music with my food, but the band playing at the Cupping Room thought they where the main course! To LOUD! The music wasnt my thing, that did not help!

So check out Joy On Fire's website before dining on a friday!

I bet the place is real nice on other nights!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Excellent brunch items - just what we ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent brunch items - just what we had in mind for something in this area. Open table worked seamlessly too!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We celebrated my sister's birthday with ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated my sister's birthday with 7 people and all truly enjoyed the experience. The brunch was yummy and the menu was varied so everyone found something they desired. Plus, the space is charming and delightful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant was busty and ran out of ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The restaurant was busty and ran out of one of the items we ordered (Sunday brunch). Other than that little hiccup, everything was very satisfactory.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

We had a Mothers Day brunch there. Sta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a Mothers Day brunch there. Staff was very accommodating . Service was perfect. Food delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place for a Brunch!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a family trip in NEW York and tried this place for our first breakfast, a brunch. That was so good that we decided to come back on the last day of our trip to keep a good memory of this nice place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Friendly greeting and attentive waiting staff. Menu choice is small but varied. Soup was excellent but the calamari portion size was huge. Main courses were excellent. Wine choice was limited and the wine we chose, which whilst really good, was only available by the glass. Free live entertainment was very enjoyable and added to the atmosphere. Overall a great night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food but the service was horrible. We waited at least 20 min for our drinks and even longer for our food.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Charming restaurant in Soho with excellent food

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant without the overwhelming noise and crazy scene of so many places in Soho. I had salmon for lunch which was prepared with a delicious green salsa and served with roasted broccoli and Basmati rice - really good. My friend had the Cobb Salad which looked beautiful and she said was also great. The servers were friendly and welcoming and the place was sunny and truly charming. Really great place in Soho.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Candle light

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Candle light

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Quaint spot in SOHO. The southern mix en ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Quaint spot in SOHO. The southern mix entree was pretty good! Will visit again-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our meal at the Cupping Room is always b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Our meal at the Cupping Room is always breakfast/brunch and it is one of the best in the city which is why we return again and again. Our only major issue over time has been the service. Recently, though, the service had improved significantly--until our last visit. In a room less than half filled we waited forever for a waiter, then we waited forever for our food. No offer to refill water glasses/coffee mugs. Is the service returning to the bad old days? I hope not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

great brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. The service was good too! I'll definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cozy run down (in a charming way) place ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Cozy run down (in a charming way) place for a perfect Sunday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

good food, long wait

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

even though we had had a reservation, we needed to wait a while to be seated! that being said, everything else was awesome.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.