About Cupping Room Cafe

359 West Broadway
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

The Cupping Room Café was established in 1977. It was originally a wholesale coffee establishment. Different blends of coffee were brewed and tasted by perspective customers. This act of blending and tasting different coffees is called cupping - hence the name The Cupping Room. The coffee tasting went so well that the owners decided to change the name from The Coffee Connection to The Cupping Room Café. They also decided to open the back of the store and sell coffee and pie to the local artists. The building hosting The Cupping Room is a landmark building. It was the first "tall" building in SoHo and is more than 100 years old. The high tin ceilings, hard wood floors, pot-belly stove and exposed brick walls are all part of the original setting. The Cupping Room was a home for artists and locals. Today it is still a neighborhood place where you can see the locals and the famous come together in our homey environment.

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Broome

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 925-2898

Website:
http://www.cuppingroomcafe.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Eggs Benedict with Bacon and Avocado - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Eggs Benedict - Eggporn - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Eggs Scrambled With Breakfast Potatoes - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Blueberry Pancakes, Egg White Omelette, Whole Wheat Toast, Sides Of Fruit & Coffee - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
French Toast With Fresh Berries - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
8 Oz Burger - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Mixed Seafood With Beets Fettuccine - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Vanilla Ice Cream - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Angus Flank Steak And Fries - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Scallops and risotto - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Eggs Benedict - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Le Fermier  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Roasted Butternut Squash Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Grilled Sourdough Toast with Fried Egg and Sauteed Mushrooms  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Scallops - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Southern Mix - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Traditional Eggs Benedict with Home Fries - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
fish tacos - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Stuffed Chicken - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Niçoise salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Mushroom Ravioli in a Pesto Cream Sauce  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Poached Fig Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Halloumi Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Fig Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Tuna Melt and Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Middle Eastern Platter - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Red Velvet Cake - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Strawberry Cheesecake - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Brunch - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Grilled Octopus - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Heirloom Tomato Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Grilled Peach Summer Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Pan Seared Salmon  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Tuna - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Bacon - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Eggs Benedict With Nova - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Seasonal Fruit Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Maggie Benedict - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Soho Sandwich - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Pasayan Sandwich - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Pan-Seared Cod - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Macaroni and Cheese - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
House Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Bakon Bloody Mary - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Caesar Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Ricotta Panna Cotta - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Carrot Chic Cocktail  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Pan Roasted Salmon With Corn Two Ways - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Fried Mozzarella Bites - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Benny's Salad  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Manhattan Cocktail - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Greek Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Le Paysan Sandwich  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Cobb Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Cocktails - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
mushroom risotto - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Passionfruit Cocktail - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Mustard Crusted Salmon  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Mexican Omelette - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Rogue Juniper Pale Ale - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Roasted Half Chicken - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Veggie Burger - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
CRC Burger - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Seared Tuna - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Soft-Shell Crab Sandwich - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Homemade Ravioli Of The Day - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Strawberry Gazpacho - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Ariel's Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Bocconcini Sandwich - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Latte And Croissant With Cheddar - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Fettucini - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Tuna Tataki Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
French Toast Stuffed With Cream Cheese, Nuts, And Raisins - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Turkey Burger - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Hummus And Pita - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
The MotherBurger - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
House Sandwich - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Creme Brulee - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Penne Alla Vodka W/ Chicken - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY

Private Dining

Let us cater or host your next special event! We can create or tailor a menu that can fit all occasions and price ranges.

Cupping Room Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
See All
Casual (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Romantic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Organic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Family Style (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
600 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have heard of this place for long time, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Have heard of this place for long time, finally went at reco of friend for brunch rendezvous. We were welcomed with a warm smile at the end of a holiday weekend; and the friendliness of all staff was tangible. Server was attentive and responsive, food was delish. Now I want to go back for other meals and maybe even to hear the live music!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service. We visit thi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very good food and service. We visit this establishment every time we are in NYC.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch was yummy. Our server was great. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Brunch was yummy. Our server was great. The host handled the crawling/running around of gorgeous,

under 3 year olds, with gentle grace. No one rushed us to leave. I'll happily return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great brunch. Delicious food. Friendly , ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great brunch. Delicious food. Friendly , attentive service

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very happening place...Had a great lunch ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very happening place...Had a great lunch with family. Noisy but really good food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A gem. Good anytime of day.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A gem. Good anytime of day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They forgot our home fries and it took a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

They forgot our home fries and it took at least 20 min to get a refill on water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Solid Food, Outstanding Service! The fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Solid Food, Outstanding Service! The food at the Cupping Room is very good - we both had Omelettes. Fluffy with no skimping on the fillings. But what differentiated this brunch for us is the high level of service. Ariel, the owner/manager, was in the middle of the action and made sure that a water glass was never empty and the coffee cups are frequently refilled. The wait staff was polite, friendly and super-competent. We go to brunch at a lot of places in NYC - and don't often see this amount of customer care. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Met my out of town cousins for Sunday br ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Met my out of town cousins for Sunday brunch and picked this place because it was close to the hotel where my cousins were staying in Soho. The food was OK, and fairly priced, but two of us had to wait an extra 20 minutes to get our food (after they already served some at the table), because they ran out of Hollandaise sauce. It was a nice atmosphere and not rushed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Literally the worst service I've ever ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Literally the worst service I've ever had in my entire life...took an out of town guest here after having a good experience last year-really regret that decision. Live music was nice, but that was about it. Had to wait forever for everything. Took multiple attempts and asking other waiters to get our servers attention, he never apologized or even acknowledged that he was not giving us any attention. We ordered cocktails that took about 20 minutes to get, when they arrived they were half-full glasses with dead rosemary leaves floating around inside. So bizarre and inedible. Food was very average but the service was the worst. Will never be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Wouldn't waste my time here again. They ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wouldn't waste my time here again. They screwed up our order plus it also took forever to get served. Quality of food was worse than average. If you like noisy, crowded, hectic places .. you'll like it here. Frankly, I lost my appetite.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The music was nice, but we were seated r ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The music was nice, but we were seated right next to it and practically had to yell. The service was incredibly slow and the appetizer we ordered came after we got our food. The food was decent, not terrible, but nothing special.

Tags: Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Went for brunch. It was decent, that's i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went for brunch. It was decent, that's it. Nothing spectacular. Not far off from just going to a diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good (I had the Vege Burger ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was good (I had the Vege Burger with Brie and my wife had the Omelet). For us, the noise level was way too high to be enjoyable. Probably better if you are in a larger group where everyone is chatting loudly and feel they have something important to say and need to keep constantly talking. Also, I think our order was missed or forgotten as several people that came in after us received their entrees before we did so the wait was long. I would say this place is best for the younger crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Delicious food, wonderful ambiance, exce ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Delicious food, wonderful ambiance, excellent service and great value for your money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went at 5pm for happy hour and the ch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We went at 5pm for happy hour and the choices for the small plates were exceptional. We had 5 different dishes but the mac and cheese was to die for. A must try. It was quiet at that time but got busy and a little louder. Our sever was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch with my boyfriend and hi ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Went for brunch with my boyfriend and his mom and had an awesome time. Everyone loved their meals and the atmosphere of the restaurant. It's VERY loud, which was the only downside to an otherwise great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Cupping Room Cafe proved a decent brunch ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Cupping Room Cafe proved a decent brunch place in Soho but nothing particularly memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great brunch

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service with a grouchy waiter a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Terrible service with a grouchy waiter and we waited 30+ minutes for our food despite a nearly empty restaurant on a Sunday evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Food and service were great, and the 6 o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food and service were great, and the 6 of us were seated comfortably at a table that was just the right size.

Tags: Organic, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Cupping Room Cafe for brunch and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went to Cupping Room Cafe for brunch and my sandwich was a bit dry. However, my boyfriend had the french toast and that was outstanding. Next time I go here I will be ordering breakfast instead of lunch!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

SO LOUD as to I could not hear my friend ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

SO LOUD as to I could not hear my friend shouting across the table at breakfast of all things. The food was average at best. I will never go back, it's lost its mojo from years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

The food was incredible. Their coffees a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was incredible. Their coffees are exceptional. The fries are unlike any other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Simply charming in SoHo, comfortable and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Simply charming in SoHo, comfortable and not pretentious. Loved it and my business lunch was comfortable and quiet enough to talk, busy enough to feel unnoticed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had wonderful brunch in this great resta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had wonderful brunch in this great restaurant in Soho. What a gem! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Handy spot because it is one of the few ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Handy spot because it is one of the few brunch spots in Soho where they take a reservation and you can normally make a reservation last minute. Nothing is going to blow you away on the menu but the food is solid and service is reliable. Solid three stars and I'm definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Really nothing special, the place has no ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Really nothing special, the place has not been renovated in decades, the food is heavy and not well cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Great place to catch up with a friend ov ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great place to catch up with a friend over breakfast. At 9 am, the morning rush had cleared out and we practically had the place to ourselves. I would definitely return. It was difficult to decide which item to have, but the brioche french toast with berries was delicious, and my friend enjoyed her omelet with side salad. The server accommodated her request for a different cheese with no problem. Can't wait to go back for more yumminess.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What an adorable place! We sat in the ba ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2016

What an adorable place! We sat in the back where it looks like an enclosed garden. Very cozy. The waitress was friendly and attentive and gave great and accurate recommendations. I had the brioche French toast. I am generally not a fan of French toast but trusted the waitress and am glad I did. It was delicious! Thick pieces with just a hint of crispy coating and spice. The fruit salad was good too. My daughter had a Caesar salad and berries and she said it was very good. This is a neighborhood gem that provides a quiet respite from the noisy world outside.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although we only eat breakfast/brunch at ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Although we only eat breakfast/brunch at the Cupping Room, it is at the top of our list for go-to breakfast in a restaurant. Sometimes the service and the kitchen are somewhat slow, even when the restaurant isn't crowded, but the food always makes up for whatever glitches there are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Quaint Ambience..Old Time feel

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Quaint Ambience..Old Time feel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had breakfast at this spot twice on o ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had breakfast at this spot twice on our recent trip to the city. Service was very good. Portions are quite large and we felt the menu was fairly extensive. Their stuffed French toast and eggs benedict were wonderful. Solid choice if it's nearby or on the way to something.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Although I knwe this would be a lively p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Although I knwe this would be a lively place to go the nise level was just way too high and we found ourselves screaming at each other feeling exhausted when we left the restaurant. People talking was fine but loud music on top was not needed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had a wonderful brunch at this place wit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had a wonderful brunch at this place with my boyfriend and dad! My eggs benedict was INCREDIBLE and they loved their omelette and veggie burger too. The waitstaff are all friendly and awesome, the ambiance is amazing - the exposed brick, the stained glass, the skylights - we stayed for a while and had coffee and played a board game after. Would go back again tomorrow! Awesome neighbourhood spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sweet little place in Soho - we met coll ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Sweet little place in Soho - we met college friends of my daughter for dinner. Two of us had the burgers - they were very good. The onion ring appetizer was excellent as was the hummus. Two in our party had the special mushroom ravioli and practically licked their plates clean. I would recommend for a casual lunch or dinner at a very reasonable cost for the area.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been brunching at the Cupping Room ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We've been brunching at the Cupping Room for years.. it seems to have actually improved!

And it has always been a favorite. Great relaxed service. Good food - a place you can count on.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect pre-game for bridal shopping!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was the perfect choice for brunch prior to wedding dress shopping. Food was excellent, and the mimosas and cocktails were great. Our waitress made sure we all had a very fun and festive time. Food was fresh, ample and tasty. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, the service wasn ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2016

The food was delicious, the service wasn't great...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Great for brunch.

 
 (London)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Had a lovely brunch at The Cupping Room Cafe which was recommended by a friend. Excellent attentive, non pushy service. Two of our group were 15 minutes late for our reservation and we were not made to feel awkward about it, we were served with iced water and fresh orange juice until our friends arrived. Eggs Benedict were perfect as were the coffees afterwards. Lovely setting in a very attractive building with a buzzy but not too noisy atmosphere - highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.