About Cupping Room Cafe

359 West Broadway
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

The Cupping Room Café was established in 1977. It was originally a wholesale coffee establishment. Different blends of coffee were brewed and tasted by perspective customers. This act of blending and tasting different coffees is called cupping - hence the name The Cupping Room. The coffee tasting went so well that the owners decided to change the name from The Coffee Connection to The Cupping Room Café. They also decided to open the back of the store and sell coffee and pie to the local artists. The building hosting The Cupping Room is a landmark building. It was the first "tall" building in SoHo and is more than 100 years old. The high tin ceilings, hard wood floors, pot-belly stove and exposed brick walls are all part of the original setting. The Cupping Room was a home for artists and locals. Today it is still a neighborhood place where you can see the locals and the famous come together in our homey environment.

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Broome

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 925-2898

Website:
http://www.cuppingroomcafe.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Let us cater or host your next special event! We can create or tailor a menu that can fit all occasions and price ranges.

Cupping Room Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (28)
Casual (24)
Sunday Lunch (19)
See All
Comfort Food (18)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Cozy (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Healthy (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Romantic (3)
People Watching (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great start...reservations and fast seat ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great start...reservations and fast seating. Nice server. Ordered Eggs Benedict and French Toast Brioche. Quick. Eye appealing, however eggs were cold. Server was told quick to fire up a new one. Perfect and tasty!

All was salvaged for my enjoyable breakfast with my son. The care of my experience and the taste will bring me back for sure!!! Enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Service was terrible, water was never re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was terrible, water was never refilled and waiter never came over other than to take order, drop food and check.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Place was very cool. Food was surprising ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Place was very cool. Food was surprisingly better than imagined! The menu looked good, the plate looked amazing! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Hollandaise sauce drowned the nova b ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Hollandaise sauce drowned the nova benedict that I ordered. The presentation was bland at best. Service was chaotic as it was brunch rush hour. Overpriced for food that looked pre-made and boring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

My go to for casual business lunches wit ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My go to for casual business lunches with my team. Consistent in all aspects, and breakfast for lunch as well as great vegetarian options.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food and drinks!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

great food and drinks!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best eggs Benedict 2 days in a row

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best eggs Benedict 2 days in a row

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great eggs Benedict!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great eggs Benedict!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, and very nice food and Peop ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great place, and very nice food and People around, nice prices very good service

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make sure sit in the main room by the Vi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Make sure sit in the main room by the Victorian stove.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a lovely room. Friendly staff. Go ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It's a lovely room. Friendly staff. Good food. The only downside was that the cost was a bit too high for the meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Went three times on an overnight visit t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Went three times on an overnight visit to the city! Yes, it was that good.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Organic, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Healthy, Historic, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the BRUNCH and it was fantas ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for the BRUNCH and it was fantastic. Everything from pastries, yogurt, pancakes, french toast, eggs, home-fries and sausage to salads and sandwiches. A great bar with the mimosa/bloody mary as just the start. In our group of 5 with very different food choices everyone was thrilled with their selection. It is loud but not unpleasant. A wonderful place- will definitely go again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Eggs Benedict was decent. Got the grille ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Eggs Benedict was decent. Got the grilled Salmon with the avocado. Bloody Mary drink is the best bloody mary I've ever head. Service was great even though it was super busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

They made my food exactly the way I want ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They made my food exactly the way I wanted. Service and attention were good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great breakfast/brunch option.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great breakfast/brunch option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Traditional family New Years Eve morning ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Traditional family New Years Eve morning brunch with family. Great brunch place for kids and adults. Very welcoming staff and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location and ambience!! Great for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great location and ambience!! Great for brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was our second time to the Cupping ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our second time to the Cupping Room with many years between visits and our experience and meal was every bit as good as the first. The atmosphere is wonderful and only exceeded by the food quality and taste. We had brunch and enjoyed it more than ever. The service was a little disjointed only because they were short-staffed and our waitress did an amazing job considering she was working alone with several tables. We didn't mind a bit. We will be back once again on our next visit to NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was so horrific! We waited forev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was so horrific! We waited forever for everything and waiter seemed bored and didn't care. People behind us left and another table complained. I think it was an isolated incident because of the one waiter. Food was good and reasonably priced. Place was cute and historic. I would give it another try, hopefully with a better waiter!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Booked for Xmas day breakfast whilst on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Booked for Xmas day breakfast whilst on a visit from Scotland. It was all we hoped it would be. Great food. Great service from friendly staff. All in all a wonderful experience. Would def recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing brunch

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Amazing brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is basic and overpriced for wha ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is basic and overpriced for what you are paying for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great brunch place for friends. Good foo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great brunch place for friends. Good food and great service. Would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to the Cupping Room many, ma ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I have been to the Cupping Room many, many times before, and it's a "go to" place for brunch/lunch, so when I had a friend in from out of town, it was an obvious choice. Unfortunately, it won't be my choice again. I had my usual eggs benedict with smoked salmon and french fries. The fries were soggy and tasteless. The hollandaise sauce was thick and somewhat congealed and my eggs were overcooked, hard inside. My friend had soup and fries. I noticed that she kept adding condiments to her soup to eat it and also didn't enjoy her fries. Who doesn't eat their fries? Certainly not me. I'm crossing it off my list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great spot for a breakfast/brunch. Food ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great spot for a breakfast/brunch. Food, service, ambiance lived up to high expectations.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the Le Fermier, blackened chi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We ordered the Le Fermier, blackened chicken sandwich on focaccia bread, and the seared tuna salad. Both were very good. Went for lunch.

Portions were large and prices were reasonable, especially for the area.

Atmosphere was very quaint and service was excellent.

Tags: Casual, , Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been about 15 years since I've be ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It has been about 15 years since I've been to the Cupping Room, we were regulars years ago when we lived in NY. It's a perfect spot to brunch in Soho, and is exactly the same as the last time we went, so long ago. Very cozy feeling, low key, and casual. We were two families of 4 brunching together, and had a long table set up on the Broome Street Side. I always loved how the restaurant flows from the W Broadway side to the Broome Street side. We all had the classic fare, waffles, pancakes, eggs Benedict, poached eggs etc.. delish!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed our meal, however it took a v ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, however it took a very long time to receive our drinks. We ordered our cocktails before ordering our food and waited about 20 minutes until it arrived. About 5 minutes later our food arrived. We would have loved to have had it the whole time we waited but overall the place was busy and food was excellent so it was difficult to be upset. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was slow and Opentable canceled ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was slow and Opentable canceled my reservation even though I was at the restaurant on time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Super charming and laid back. Some excel ...

vip
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Super charming and laid back. Some excellent live music. Good for everyday dining, casual date night, or, a friendly get together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best brunch in NYC

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Best brunch in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find in Soho! This historic build ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

What a find in Soho! This historic building (both inside and out) houses a terrific restaurant with well-prepared food at reasonable prices. The creatively coifed and clad waiters are as fun to observe as they are attentive and efficient in their work. Something went awry with our order but our waiter made every effort to fix the problem and keep us apprised of its progress. This was a great place for Sunday brunch. We were glad we made a reservation but it did not seem to be necessary.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I got the stuffed french toast and it wa ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I got the stuffed french toast and it was by far the best I have ever ate. Very cute and quaint place. Very warm, cute and charming environment.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great environment for drinks or a date. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great environment for drinks or a date. Staff very friendly, drinks are good and strong. Food was delicious had the linguine with shrimp,mussels, and calamari delicious!!!! Will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have heard of this place for long time, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Have heard of this place for long time, finally went at reco of friend for brunch rendezvous. We were welcomed with a warm smile at the end of a holiday weekend; and the friendliness of all staff was tangible. Server was attentive and responsive, food was delish. Now I want to go back for other meals and maybe even to hear the live music!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service. We visit thi ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very good food and service. We visit this establishment every time we are in NYC.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch was yummy. Our server was great. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Brunch was yummy. Our server was great. The host handled the crawling/running around of gorgeous,

under 3 year olds, with gentle grace. No one rushed us to leave. I'll happily return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious food, large portions, many opt ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious food, large portions, many options! Went for brunch with a group of 5 and we're easily accommodated for an early brunch. I'd recommend going early if you have a large group as the restaurant filled up quickly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great brunch. Delicious food. Friendly , ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great brunch. Delicious food. Friendly , attentive service

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.