About Cupping Room Cafe

The Cupping Room Café was established in 1977. It was originally a wholesale coffee establishment. Different blends of coffee were brewed and tasted by perspective customers. This act of blending and tasting different coffees is called cupping - hence the name The Cupping Room. The coffee tasting went so well that the owners decided to change the name from The Coffee Connection to The Cupping Room Café. They also decided to open the back of the store and sell coffee and pie to the local artists. The building hosting The Cupping Room is a landmark building. It was the first "tall" building in SoHo and is more than 100 years old. The high tin ceilings, hard wood floors, pot-belly stove and exposed brick walls are all part of the original setting. The Cupping Room was a home for artists and locals. Today it is still a neighborhood place where you can see the locals and the famous come together in our homey environment.

359 West Broadway
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Broome

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 925-2898

Website:
http://www.cuppingroomcafe.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Eggs Benedict with Bacon and Avocado - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Eggs Benedict - Eggporn - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Eggs Scrambled With Breakfast Potatoes - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
French Toast With Fresh Berries - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
8 Oz Burger - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Mixed Seafood With Beets Fettuccine - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Vanilla Ice Cream - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Angus Flank Steak And Fries - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Blueberry Pancakes, Egg White Omelette, Whole Wheat Toast, Sides Of Fruit & Coffee - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Scallops and risotto - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Eggs Benedict - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Le Fermier  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Roasted Butternut Squash Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Grilled Sourdough Toast with Fried Egg and Sauteed Mushrooms  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Scallops - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Southern Mix - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Traditional Eggs Benedict with Home Fries - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
fish tacos - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Stuffed Chicken - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Niçoise salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Mushroom Ravioli in a Pesto Cream Sauce  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Poached Fig Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Halloumi Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Fig Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Tuna Melt and Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Middle Eastern Platter - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Red Velvet Cake - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Strawberry Cheesecake - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Brunch - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Grilled Octopus - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Heirloom Tomato Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Grilled Peach Summer Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Pan Seared Salmon  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Tuna - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Bacon - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Eggs Benedict With Nova - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Seasonal Fruit Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Maggie Benedict - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Soho Sandwich - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Pasayan Sandwich - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Pan-Seared Cod - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Macaroni and Cheese - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
House Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Bakon Bloody Mary - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Caesar Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Ricotta Panna Cotta - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Carrot Chic Cocktail  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Pan Roasted Salmon With Corn Two Ways - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Fried Mozzarella Bites - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Benny's Salad  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Manhattan Cocktail - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Greek Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Le Paysan Sandwich  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Cobb Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Cocktails - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
mushroom risotto - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Passionfruit Cocktail - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Mustard Crusted Salmon  - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Mexican Omelette - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Rogue Juniper Pale Ale - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Roasted Half Chicken - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Veggie Burger - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
CRC Burger - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Seared Tuna - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Soft-Shell Crab Sandwich - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Homemade Ravioli Of The Day - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Strawberry Gazpacho - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Ariel's Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Bocconcini Sandwich - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Latte And Croissant With Cheddar - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Fettucini - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Tuna Tataki Salad - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
French Toast Stuffed With Cream Cheese, Nuts, And Raisins - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Turkey Burger - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Hummus And Pita - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
The MotherBurger - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
House Sandwich - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Creme Brulee - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY
Penne Alla Vodka W/ Chicken - Cupping Room Cafe, New York, NY

Private Dining

Let us cater or host your next special event! We can create or tailor a menu that can fit all occasions and price ranges.

Cupping Room Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (18)
Casual (17)
Sunday Lunch (12)
See All
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Cozy (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Family Style (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Romantic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

great food and drinks!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

great food and drinks!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best eggs Benedict 2 days in a row

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Best eggs Benedict 2 days in a row

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great eggs Benedict!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great eggs Benedict!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, and very nice food and Peop ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place, and very nice food and People around, nice prices very good service

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make sure sit in the main room by the Vi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Make sure sit in the main room by the Victorian stove.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went three times on an overnight visit t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Went three times on an overnight visit to the city! Yes, it was that good.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Organic, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Healthy, Historic, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the BRUNCH and it was fantas ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for the BRUNCH and it was fantastic. Everything from pastries, yogurt, pancakes, french toast, eggs, home-fries and sausage to salads and sandwiches. A great bar with the mimosa/bloody mary as just the start. In our group of 5 with very different food choices everyone was thrilled with their selection. It is loud but not unpleasant. A wonderful place- will definitely go again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Eggs Benedict was decent. Got the grille ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Eggs Benedict was decent. Got the grilled Salmon with the avocado. Bloody Mary drink is the best bloody mary I've ever head. Service was great even though it was super busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

They made my food exactly the way I want ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They made my food exactly the way I wanted. Service and attention were good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great breakfast/brunch option.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great breakfast/brunch option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Traditional family New Years Eve morning ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Traditional family New Years Eve morning brunch with family. Great brunch place for kids and adults. Very welcoming staff and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location and ambience!! Great for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great location and ambience!! Great for brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was our second time to the Cupping ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our second time to the Cupping Room with many years between visits and our experience and meal was every bit as good as the first. The atmosphere is wonderful and only exceeded by the food quality and taste. We had brunch and enjoyed it more than ever. The service was a little disjointed only because they were short-staffed and our waitress did an amazing job considering she was working alone with several tables. We didn't mind a bit. We will be back once again on our next visit to NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was so horrific! We waited forev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was so horrific! We waited forever for everything and waiter seemed bored and didn't care. People behind us left and another table complained. I think it was an isolated incident because of the one waiter. Food was good and reasonably priced. Place was cute and historic. I would give it another try, hopefully with a better waiter!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Booked for Xmas day breakfast whilst on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Booked for Xmas day breakfast whilst on a visit from Scotland. It was all we hoped it would be. Great food. Great service from friendly staff. All in all a wonderful experience. Would def recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing brunch

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Amazing brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is basic and overpriced for wha ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is basic and overpriced for what you are paying for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great brunch place for friends. Good foo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great brunch place for friends. Good food and great service. Would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to the Cupping Room many, ma ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I have been to the Cupping Room many, many times before, and it's a "go to" place for brunch/lunch, so when I had a friend in from out of town, it was an obvious choice. Unfortunately, it won't be my choice again. I had my usual eggs benedict with smoked salmon and french fries. The fries were soggy and tasteless. The hollandaise sauce was thick and somewhat congealed and my eggs were overcooked, hard inside. My friend had soup and fries. I noticed that she kept adding condiments to her soup to eat it and also didn't enjoy her fries. Who doesn't eat their fries? Certainly not me. I'm crossing it off my list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great spot for a breakfast/brunch. Food ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great spot for a breakfast/brunch. Food, service, ambiance lived up to high expectations.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the Le Fermier, blackened chi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We ordered the Le Fermier, blackened chicken sandwich on focaccia bread, and the seared tuna salad. Both were very good. Went for lunch.

Portions were large and prices were reasonable, especially for the area.

Atmosphere was very quaint and service was excellent.

Tags: Casual, , Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been about 15 years since I've be ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It has been about 15 years since I've been to the Cupping Room, we were regulars years ago when we lived in NY. It's a perfect spot to brunch in Soho, and is exactly the same as the last time we went, so long ago. Very cozy feeling, low key, and casual. We were two families of 4 brunching together, and had a long table set up on the Broome Street Side. I always loved how the restaurant flows from the W Broadway side to the Broome Street side. We all had the classic fare, waffles, pancakes, eggs Benedict, poached eggs etc.. delish!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed our meal, however it took a v ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, however it took a very long time to receive our drinks. We ordered our cocktails before ordering our food and waited about 20 minutes until it arrived. About 5 minutes later our food arrived. We would have loved to have had it the whole time we waited but overall the place was busy and food was excellent so it was difficult to be upset. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was slow and Opentable canceled ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was slow and Opentable canceled my reservation even though I was at the restaurant on time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Super charming and laid back. Some excel ...

vip
 (Hong Kong)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Super charming and laid back. Some excellent live music. Good for everyday dining, casual date night, or, a friendly get together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best brunch in NYC

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Best brunch in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find in Soho! This historic build ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

What a find in Soho! This historic building (both inside and out) houses a terrific restaurant with well-prepared food at reasonable prices. The creatively coifed and clad waiters are as fun to observe as they are attentive and efficient in their work. Something went awry with our order but our waiter made every effort to fix the problem and keep us apprised of its progress. This was a great place for Sunday brunch. We were glad we made a reservation but it did not seem to be necessary.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I got the stuffed french toast and it wa ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I got the stuffed french toast and it was by far the best I have ever ate. Very cute and quaint place. Very warm, cute and charming environment.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great environment for drinks or a date. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great environment for drinks or a date. Staff very friendly, drinks are good and strong. Food was delicious had the linguine with shrimp,mussels, and calamari delicious!!!! Will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have heard of this place for long time, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Have heard of this place for long time, finally went at reco of friend for brunch rendezvous. We were welcomed with a warm smile at the end of a holiday weekend; and the friendliness of all staff was tangible. Server was attentive and responsive, food was delish. Now I want to go back for other meals and maybe even to hear the live music!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service. We visit thi ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very good food and service. We visit this establishment every time we are in NYC.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch was yummy. Our server was great. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Brunch was yummy. Our server was great. The host handled the crawling/running around of gorgeous,

under 3 year olds, with gentle grace. No one rushed us to leave. I'll happily return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious food, large portions, many opt ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious food, large portions, many options! Went for brunch with a group of 5 and we're easily accommodated for an early brunch. I'd recommend going early if you have a large group as the restaurant filled up quickly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great brunch. Delicious food. Friendly , ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great brunch. Delicious food. Friendly , attentive service

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very happening place...Had a great lunch ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very happening place...Had a great lunch with family. Noisy but really good food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A gem. Good anytime of day.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A gem. Good anytime of day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They forgot our home fries and it took a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

They forgot our home fries and it took at least 20 min to get a refill on water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Solid Food, Outstanding Service! The fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Solid Food, Outstanding Service! The food at the Cupping Room is very good - we both had Omelettes. Fluffy with no skimping on the fillings. But what differentiated this brunch for us is the high level of service. Ariel, the owner/manager, was in the middle of the action and made sure that a water glass was never empty and the coffee cups are frequently refilled. The wait staff was polite, friendly and super-competent. We go to brunch at a lot of places in NYC - and don't often see this amount of customer care. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Met my out of town cousins for Sunday br ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Met my out of town cousins for Sunday brunch and picked this place because it was close to the hotel where my cousins were staying in Soho. The food was OK, and fairly priced, but two of us had to wait an extra 20 minutes to get our food (after they already served some at the table), because they ran out of Hollandaise sauce. It was a nice atmosphere and not rushed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Literally the worst service I've ever ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Literally the worst service I've ever had in my entire life...took an out of town guest here after having a good experience last year-really regret that decision. Live music was nice, but that was about it. Had to wait forever for everything. Took multiple attempts and asking other waiters to get our servers attention, he never apologized or even acknowledged that he was not giving us any attention. We ordered cocktails that took about 20 minutes to get, when they arrived they were half-full glasses with dead rosemary leaves floating around inside. So bizarre and inedible. Food was very average but the service was the worst. Will never be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.