HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today

Cupping Room Cafe

4.4
762 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Great for Brunch
  • Cozy
The Cupping Room Café was established in 1977. It was originally a wholesale coffee establishment. Different blends of coffee were brewed and tasted by perspective customers. This act of blending and tasting different coffees is called cupping - hence the name The Cupping Room. The coffee tasting went so well that the owners decided to change the name from The Coffee Connection to The Cupping Room Café. They also decided to open the back of the store and sell coffee and pie to the local artists. The building hosting The Cupping Room is a landmark building. It was the first "tall" building in SoHo and is more than 100 years old. The high tin ceilings, hard wood floors, pot-belly stove and exposed brick walls are all part of the original setting. The Cupping Room was a home for artists and locals. Today it is still a neighborhood place where you can see the locals and the famous come together in our homey environment.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Home Style
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 5:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 925-2898
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Broome
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Let us cater or host your next special event! We can create or tailor a menu that can fit all occasions and price ranges.

View Private Dining Details
What 762 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
MJEA 
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

Lattes to start were the best we've had in a while, hot and rich espresso taste, a beautiful milky cappuccino. Brunch was superb. Over stuffed omelettes, pretty perfect eggs benedict, brie oozing from smoked turkey and apple chutney on french bread.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (London)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

Tourists from London, came here twice for breakfast on our 4 day stay. Pancakes are exceptionally great but then so was everything. Highly recommend. 5 stars!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Amazing experience! Everything from the food to tbthe service to the drinks was simply outstanding. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
vipSS19 (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Thank you Nasrul

Report
Helpful
vipSGINZ (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

Great place, lotta fun staff was very nice, took a long time for the food to come out. We were in no rush though, the waitress recognize this on her own and brought us a complimentary pastry which was delicious, you would think that on a Sunday at 11:30 in the morning that would be enough staff for a brunch, overall I liked it and would come back

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Ambiance was great and food was good. A bit pricey given that the food wasn’t particularly outstanding but the experience was very relaxed and enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
vipGwret6 (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

Food was very good but fries were cold as well as hollandaise sauce. Overall very noisy atmosphere but still would come back.

Report
Helpful
SaratogaDrew (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

Was really looking forward to trying it out. Food was very average, dining room cold, waiter hard to find.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on January 1, 2018

I had not been there for 20 years and other than a remodel it was exactly as we remembered. The only disappointment was the sour cream muffins which are now stuffed with jelly. Otherwise it was excellent

Report
Helpful
vipCherRN88 (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

We are from out of town and happened upon Cupping Room. It was the perfect NYC nighttime experience in Soho. Great food! Amazing, friendly service, and the atmosphere was so warm and inviting.

Report
Helpful
vipPhiliEat (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Cute cozy wood filled cafe with delicious breakfast and brunch! Something for everyone. A nice place to start your morning!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

Great food, unique interesting setting. The service was great! I would recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
JFT1011 (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

I met my two girlfriends here, one was visiting from Florida. We had a reservation for 10am and were seated right away. That was when all service ended. We literally sat for 45 minutes without a server coming over to us, not even to give us coffee. I had to get up and go over and find someone to take our coffee orders and then our breakfast orders. Thankfully we were so happy to see one another since we don't get to but once a year, that we didn't become rude or nasty. However, the service was atrocious. The worst service the three of us have ever experienced in NYC.

Report
Helpful
vipMaryBeth (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

Service was horrible. Took 1 hour just to get cappuccinos. And 1.5 hours for our food. Waiter never came back to offer more coffee.
Food was average and 2 out of our eight dishes were cold!
The restaurant itself was cold and drafty. Not warm and cozy at all. Had to eat with coats on.
Would not recommend this place. The city has far better options to choose from.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

the host seemed to not care about anyone who had a reservation. we went the previous year and had no issues or no wait. overheard another couple who was having a similar issue and had to wait even though they had a reservation. the food was great so it made up for the first part

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
51