Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Cupping Room Cafe

The Cupping Room Café was established in 1977. It was originally a wholesale coffee establishment. Different blends of coffee were brewed and tasted by perspective customers. This act of blending and tasting different coffees is called cupping - hence the name The Cupping Room. The coffee tasting went so well that the owners decided to change the name from The Coffee Connection to The Cupping Room Café. They also decided to open the back of the store and sell coffee and pie to the local artists. The building hosting The Cupping Room is a landmark building. It was the first "tall" building in SoHo and is more than 100 years old. The high tin ceilings, hard wood floors, pot-belly stove and exposed brick walls are all part of the original setting. The Cupping Room was a home for artists and locals. Today it is still a neighborhood place where you can see the locals and the famous come together in our homey environment.

359 West Broadway
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Broome

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 925-2898

Website:
http://www.cuppingroomcafe.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $21.95

Mondays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $21.95

Mondays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $21.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 11, 2017 - Aug 14, 2017 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

Let us cater or host your next special event! We can create or tailor a menu that can fit all occasions and price ranges.

Cupping Room Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (16)
Cozy (13)
Casual (13)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Romantic (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love this place for brunch, it's very comfortable and the food is always good. My brother didn't want anything fancy for his birthday, so it was a perfect, cozy spot in the village

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food here is incredible- the muffins are delicious. Also staff will accomadote your requests. This is a neighborhood gem and we hit it every time we go to New York City

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Love this cute spot!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

very noisy and music was loud, this was brunch! tables are very close together and it's difficult to talk it's so loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great breakfast! Had French Toast with berries. My wife had eggs Benedict. Both outstanding. Clean, friendly, great space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very nice ambiance and as described on the website.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We celebrated the Easter weekend in New York and SoHo was a the perfect place to visit
such a wonderful area made even better by the Cupping Room Cafe. Brunch was as lovely as
it could be, traditional fare and great service.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had an incredibly positive experience in Dec. 2016. Everything from atmosphere, service to coffee was wonderful. This time, however, we were really disappointed. Our server disappeared several times, my food wasn't hot, and there were five eggshells in my eggs Benedict which was really strange since the eggs were poached. I didn't say anything about the room temperature food because it took so long to come out the first time and we wanted to get on with our day. But when I bit into multiple eggshells and found one the size of a nickel, I complained. To her credit, the waitress had the eggs and my coffee removed from the bill. I think I'll try a different brunch spot next time I'm in NYC.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food and ambience. A little noisy at height of brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The brunch is delicious. The omelets were so delicious - and light - made to order. Nothing like an egg from a bad diner! The coffee was also really tasty! Very fun place for friends to get together for a meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a wonderful time and would recommend it for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I had not been to the Cupping room in years. And I have to say the place is as great -- if not better than I remember it. The food was just delish. Nothing fancy, just well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food at The Cupping Room is fresh and fabulous. Our group of six for a birthday brunch all had a great time. Tables are pretty tightly packed, but it's NYC!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went for brunch.

We didn't have a server approach us for the first 15 min, and had to call someone over and ask for help, their response was "I can't find your waiter, but I'll help you". This not only happened to us, but to the table next to us, and I also heard it happen a few tables down.

Food was ok. Ordered Eggs Benedict and Blackened Chicken Sandwich. Potatoes (served as a side) were cold, Chicken was chewy/crunch and over cooked.

Restaurant overall is a good environment, however would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great place for a brunch

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Loved everything I ordered. The French toast outstanding! My brunch partner got the eggs Benedict. Really good.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Cannot emphasize how horrible the service was. We went on a Saturday night and it was empty (now I can see why). Despite it being empty, and us having a reservation, they would not seat us until forty five minutes after our reservation time. Unclear why. Not one to usually say this, but the waitress was incredibly incompetent. She was never around and even when we found her she was not responsive to requests for things as basic as wanting to order or get the check. The meals came with different sides than on the menu. When we ordered the cake it was completely frozen. The exposed brick and music are the only positive things I can say. Literally go anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I really enjoyed coming to this restaurant. The waiter was really on point and attentive. The ambiance was prefect for girl talk; and we cannot forget the food, which was absolutely delicious!!! I am so glad that I was able to find this gem in SoHo. Definitely a must visit for a New Yorker or visitor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great start...reservations and fast seating. Nice server. Ordered Eggs Benedict and French Toast Brioche. Quick. Eye appealing, however eggs were cold. Server was told quick to fire up a new one. Perfect and tasty!
All was salvaged for my enjoyable breakfast with my son. The care of my experience and the taste will bring me back for sure!!! Enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was terrible, water was never refilled and waiter never came over other than to take order, drop food and check.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Place was very cool. Food was surprisingly better than imagined! The menu looked good, the plate looked amazing! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Hollandaise sauce drowned the nova benedict that I ordered. The presentation was bland at best. Service was chaotic as it was brunch rush hour. Overpriced for food that looked pre-made and boring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My go to for casual business lunches with my team. Consistent in all aspects, and breakfast for lunch as well as great vegetarian options.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

great food and drinks!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best eggs Benedict 2 days in a row

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great eggs Benedict!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great place, and very nice food and People around, nice prices very good service

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Make sure sit in the main room by the Victorian stove.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It's a lovely room. Friendly staff. Good food. The only downside was that the cost was a bit too high for the meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Went three times on an overnight visit to the city! Yes, it was that good.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Organic, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Healthy, Historic, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for the BRUNCH and it was fantastic. Everything from pastries, yogurt, pancakes, french toast, eggs, home-fries and sausage to salads and sandwiches. A great bar with the mimosa/bloody mary as just the start. In our group of 5 with very different food choices everyone was thrilled with their selection. It is loud but not unpleasant. A wonderful place- will definitely go again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Eggs Benedict was decent. Got the grilled Salmon with the avocado. Bloody Mary drink is the best bloody mary I've ever head. Service was great even though it was super busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They made my food exactly the way I wanted. Service and attention were good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great breakfast/brunch option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Traditional family New Years Eve morning brunch with family. Great brunch place for kids and adults. Very welcoming staff and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great location and ambience!! Great for brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our second time to the Cupping Room with many years between visits and our experience and meal was every bit as good as the first. The atmosphere is wonderful and only exceeded by the food quality and taste. We had brunch and enjoyed it more than ever. The service was a little disjointed only because they were short-staffed and our waitress did an amazing job considering she was working alone with several tables. We didn't mind a bit. We will be back once again on our next visit to NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was so horrific! We waited forever for everything and waiter seemed bored and didn't care. People behind us left and another table complained. I think it was an isolated incident because of the one waiter. Food was good and reasonably priced. Place was cute and historic. I would give it another try, hopefully with a better waiter!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Booked for Xmas day breakfast whilst on a visit from Scotland. It was all we hoped it would be. Great food. Great service from friendly staff. All in all a wonderful experience. Would def recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Amazing brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.