Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Cupping Room Cafe

The Cupping Room Café was established in 1977. It was originally a wholesale coffee establishment. Different blends of coffee were brewed and tasted by perspective customers. This act of blending and tasting different coffees is called cupping - hence the name The Cupping Room. The coffee tasting went so well that the owners decided to change the name from The Coffee Connection to The Cupping Room Café. They also decided to open the back of the store and sell coffee and pie to the local artists. The building hosting The Cupping Room is a landmark building. It was the first "tall" building in SoHo and is more than 100 years old. The high tin ceilings, hard wood floors, pot-belly stove and exposed brick walls are all part of the original setting. The Cupping Room was a home for artists and locals. Today it is still a neighborhood place where you can see the locals and the famous come together in our homey environment.

359 West Broadway
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Broome

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 925-2898

Website:
http://www.cuppingroomcafe.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Let us cater or host your next special event! We can create or tailor a menu that can fit all occasions and price ranges.

Cupping Room Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Casual (12)
See All
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fun (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Live Music (4)
Organic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Romantic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
714 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We went to see my friend sing jazz. The service was incredibly slow,It took a half hour to get out drinks alone, The waiter never asked us if we wanted refills. It took a really long time to get our check too.They need more help,

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The Cupping Room was once a lunch destination for my friend who worked in Soho and me for finding it to be, with Hundred Acres, the best breakfast in the area.

The food is no longer my reason to go there. I don't dig how the new chef does things.

Sitting at the bar for a glass of wine or a cocktail is great. And if you have a seated meal if Darrin or Nas is your server, you will be in excellent hands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Very accommodating to my daughter's gluten allergy. Great meal! Friendly staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Berkshire)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The decor & atmosphere here is great, it is noisy but not off putting, they do show the English football. Food was ok, I think we ordered badly, but the brunch drinks were nice & the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Underwhelming, but satisfactory. No complaints, but off-menu requests were simple, yet not understood by the staff. When vacationing in NYC for a long weekend, I want to have each restaurant experience be special. This was average - absolutely not special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Really good food. Go and enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A Soho staple that consistently satisfies. BRUNCH! Great food, fabulous crowd, excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Definitely a must-go! Best brunch place in Soho.
Visited twice during my first trip to NY and will definitely come back in my next visit.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 16, 2017

My family loves The Cupping Room. We've been coming for years for a great breakfast/brunch place. The food is delicious and service great. It's just a fun SoHo place to dine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We waited for almost 10 minutes at a table with no menus or water. When our waiter finally came by we saw him to place our order and then to pay, which we had to flag him down to get the bill. Our food took about 25 minutes to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I came here with a group of 8 -- we had family in town. The service and food were fantastic! Everyone enjoyed their meal and loved the atmosphere. One thing to note - I booked our table only a couple of hours beforehand, which I learned I shouldn't do in the future as the restaurant's seating system can't take such short notice reservations. Fortunately, another reservation for 8 people cancelled at the last minute and they seated us at their table. Just something to keep in mind!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

No wait for a table at ~noon on a Saturday which is why we went. Service was excellent and the food came out pretty fast. The quality/taste of the food was just alright. Not bad, but nothing special. Prices are high for what you get. Overall good not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Everything was very good except I had the WORST Bloody Mary ever. It was bland, tasteless even though we ordered them with Ketel vodka, and filled only half a glass with too many garnishes. The bartender should take a trip up to Cafe Un Deux Trois to sample what this drink should taste like. As long as you don't order a Bloody Mary, I recommend the Cupping Room.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch had 11:45 reservations and we were seated when we arrived.
Loved the feeling of the this cafe- friendly people, brick walls, quirky artwork. Food was awesome my husband and son had the design your own eggs Benedict. My daughter had
pancakes and scrambled eggs and I had the French toast with a heaping side of fresh berries.
Everyone loved their meals!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 17, 2017

I work in Tribeca and has passed many times going to the Gourmet Garage on Broome Street.
Had a friend from Memphis in NYC for a visit and we came and it was terrific!!!
Love the breakfast/brunch available every day and will keep it in mind for special occasions.
Ambience was wonderful; service was attentive and the food was excellent.
I recommend it highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Bustling space with warm friendly service and generously portioned dishes - perfect for Sunday brunch with friends.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Had a great breakfast, had made a reservation through Open Table and checked in with the host 5 minutes early. Apparently he forgot, because they reported me as a "no show".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were looking forward to a good meal and listening to the open mic entertainment. The place was pretty dead (Sunday evening) and only two participated in open mic. I ordered the seared tuna salad - rare. The tuna was closer to well done. My friend ordered the buttermilk fried chicken sandwich ($18.00) and it was average at best, especially for the price. There were only a few other tables seated, and I myst say the wait staff was less than attentive. They seemed completely disinterested. It's unfortunate, because it's a very cool looking place and we went in with high hopes. Sorry, won't be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Disappointed. Sub par food and slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Good food; lovely ambience; terrific service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Friend had "the best well-done burger" he's ever had. And the most delicious ketchup! We had dropped in for a late-ish spontaneous dinner, and was pleasantly surprised to find live music. It was the first time I had tried dinner at the Cupping Room. I have always gone for breakfasts during the week (not weekend brunch). I will definitely go back for the salmon dinner, the roasted vegetables were incredible.

Naz recommended the Coconut Carrot cake, it was divine. Thanks!

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Live Music, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Busy,busy mid day Friday. Numbers of large parties. Still, the staff stayed cool and as efficient as possible under difficult circumstances. Good as always was cooked to order. All six of us were pleased,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our waiter was amazing . The food was delish and the atmosphere feels like you're in a special cafe outside of NYC ! So cozy

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Nice spot, great service, good food, relaxing open ambiance and interesting arts

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very cute place with interesting brunch items! Cute dog paintings on the wall is a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love this place for brunch, it's very comfortable and the food is always good. My brother didn't want anything fancy for his birthday, so it was a perfect, cozy spot in the village

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food here is incredible- the muffins are delicious. Also staff will accomadote your requests. This is a neighborhood gem and we hit it every time we go to New York City

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Love this cute spot!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

very noisy and music was loud, this was brunch! tables are very close together and it's difficult to talk it's so loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great breakfast! Had French Toast with berries. My wife had eggs Benedict. Both outstanding. Clean, friendly, great space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very nice ambiance and as described on the website.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We celebrated the Easter weekend in New York and SoHo was a the perfect place to visit
such a wonderful area made even better by the Cupping Room Cafe. Brunch was as lovely as
it could be, traditional fare and great service.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had an incredibly positive experience in Dec. 2016. Everything from atmosphere, service to coffee was wonderful. This time, however, we were really disappointed. Our server disappeared several times, my food wasn't hot, and there were five eggshells in my eggs Benedict which was really strange since the eggs were poached. I didn't say anything about the room temperature food because it took so long to come out the first time and we wanted to get on with our day. But when I bit into multiple eggshells and found one the size of a nickel, I complained. To her credit, the waitress had the eggs and my coffee removed from the bill. I think I'll try a different brunch spot next time I'm in NYC.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food and ambience. A little noisy at height of brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The brunch is delicious. The omelets were so delicious - and light - made to order. Nothing like an egg from a bad diner! The coffee was also really tasty! Very fun place for friends to get together for a meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a wonderful time and would recommend it for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I had not been to the Cupping room in years. And I have to say the place is as great -- if not better than I remember it. The food was just delish. Nothing fancy, just well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food at The Cupping Room is fresh and fabulous. Our group of six for a birthday brunch all had a great time. Tables are pretty tightly packed, but it's NYC!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went for brunch.

We didn't have a server approach us for the first 15 min, and had to call someone over and ask for help, their response was "I can't find your waiter, but I'll help you". This not only happened to us, but to the table next to us, and I also heard it happen a few tables down.

Food was ok. Ordered Eggs Benedict and Blackened Chicken Sandwich. Potatoes (served as a side) were cold, Chicken was chewy/crunch and over cooked.

Restaurant overall is a good environment, however would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great place for a brunch

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.