About Cunningham's

1 Olympic Pl
Towson, MD 21204
View Larger Map

Cunningham’s is a seasonal American grille that blends the modern atmosphere of city dining with the rustic, smoky flavors of the countryside. Using a wood-fired grill and brick oven, we provide guests with dishes created from the freshest seasonal and local ingredients possible. We believe that an excellent dining experience is built on thoughtful, attentive service and sourcing product that are grown and crafted responsibly. Each of these aspects contributes to our mission of providing our guests with an unmatched dining experience. We hope that you will visit us soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
York Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 339-7730

Website:
http://www.cunninghamstowson.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet is available seven days a week in the Olympic Place garage located directly below our restaurant. A conveniently located elevator will bring you upstairs - no walking in the rain or snow here!

Public Transit:
Both the #8 and #48 bus lines stop at the traffic circle at Dulaney Valley and Joppa Roads. Our restaurant is located steps away from the circle.

Executive Chef:
Brian Lavin

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re looking for a small, intimate dinner party or a large, catered reception, the management and service staff at Cunningham’s is happy to assist you in creating the perfect private dining event. From the menu to the table layout, we are happy to work with you to achieve the vision of your event. Our customizable private dining room can hold up to 120 people for a standing cocktail event or 75-100 for a seated event. Cunningham’s is open 7 days a week for events. We are also happy to accommodate breakfast meetings, luncheons, and full or partial restaurant buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Shacochis: (410) 339-7730x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Tue 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cunningham's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Towson ›

fit for foodies (148)
special occasion (146)
notable wine list (85)
See All
neighborhood gem (83)
romantic (71)
good for groups (61)
hot spot (58)
vibrant bar scene (51)
great for brunch (23)
great for outdoor dining (22)
great for lunch (20)
late-night find (19)
scenic view (16)
kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting and varied menu. Everything ...

Dined 5 days ago

Interesting and varied menu. Everything we had was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all loved our experience at Cunningha ...

Dined 5 days ago

We all loved our experience at Cunninghams.Our waiter was fantastic and the whole staff couldn't have been nicer. Look forward to returning for another fun night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very friendly atmosphere. Excellent service.

Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent. The manager was attentive and explain the Cunningham farm and the restaurant. Our server was busy but took time to explain the source of our food. The martini drink that he recommended to my husband exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded expectations

Dined 6 days ago

We didn't expect much considering the location, but Cunningham's proved shockingly good. All the courses and dishes were uniformly well thought out and flawlessly prepared--outstripping some other Baltimore area restaurants that pride themselves on similar specialties. The service was attentive but unobtrusive, and the atmosphere relaxed but not at all loud. The food took center stage, appropriately.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was fantastic. The service was ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was fantastic. The service was excellent. That said, we had 5:00 reservations, were the first to arrive and were seated by the exit to the rest rooms. Had we known this when we were seated we would have requested another table but this was our first visit. I had the cream of crab soup which had generous chunks of lump crab and was garnished with the same. The chef was also a little too generous with the Old Bay for my taste but that's my taste. I also had the filet mignon which was melt in your mouth tender, cooked medium-rare to perfection and arrived hot. The sides and mushroom sauce complemented the entree without dominating it. My dining partner had the wedge salad whose lettuce could have been colder and crisper. The heirloom tomatoes were sweet and fresh. He also had the crab cakes which were good but not up to the highest local standards. The experience was a gift to us and a bit beyond our normal budget but we would recommend it for special occasions or for visitors looking for a local unchained restaurant

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on May 16, 2016

This was our first experience with Cunninghams and it did not disappoint. The food was wonderful and It was presented beautifully without heavy sauces or overly spiced. The waiter was very attentive and was quite knowledgable when describing the various entrees. We look forward to returning to this venue.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome as usual! Our server w ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was awesome as usual! Our server was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Cream crab soup was delicious, nice wine ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Cream crab soup was delicious, nice wine selection, fun mixed drinks. I really enjoyed the veggie flat bread. We ventured outside with our bottle of wine after dinner and then into the bar. Very nice night!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We decided to try Cunningham's with some ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We decided to try Cunningham's with some friends last Friday. First of all, get their Cotes du Rhone: it is a complex wine for a good price. The pork belly and shrimp dumpling are enjoyable, but the shrimp flavor got a bit lost and was overpowered by the pork belly. The pan seared halibut was very well prepared and seasoned and the harvest vegetable flatbread was very good too (perfectly cooked in the wood oven with a crunchy crust!). The sorbets came in 3 different flavor and the vanilla pear was probably the favorite among us all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our visit to Cunninghams was well worth ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our visit to Cunninghams was well worth the trip from Ellicott City. Our drinks, appetizers and meals were fabulous . Our server was right on que satisfying our every request. I can't wait to return for another dining experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, Great Bread

Dined on May 12, 2016

I pleasant setting, well presented food. the cassoulet was little dry but all other dishes, scallops, whole fish and bouillabaisse all excellent. A highlight was the bread, totally excellent, wonderful crumb, great crust and flavor. Co-equal to the bread was the service -attentive but not intrusive. A definite place to visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant! I went there for ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I love this restaurant! I went there for my birthday and they made it so special! The food was great, our server was wonderful, and the decor is stunning! Definitely one of my favorites.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, slow service.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food, diverse palate. Service is simply far too slow.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

SUPER !

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was extraordinarily good food at very reasonable prices. A great menu. Very attractive setting, vibrant, a bit noisy. Very good cocktail and wine list. We were delighted !

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and sons took me here for Mother's Day. The food was excellent - we shared four appetizers (all were great) I had the duck breast (delicious), my husband had the BBQ rib (very tasty, but small portion), and one son had the pasta (very good, but again small portion), and the best meal of the night was the grilled jumbo shrimp on a bed of grits. Wine choices were good. The only (small) complaint is that I wish they would change the menu monthly. There are only a few choices that I like and when the menu is static, it prevents me from going back. Also, we arrived before 5pm (around 4:40), and were not able to be seated, which is fine, but we were made to feel uncomfortable about it. We went outside and sat there until 5. Their coffee is also excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a lovely Mother's Day brunch at Cunningham's. We arrived early and were invited to wait in the cozy bar, where the service was friendly and prompt. Our shrimp carpaccio was excellent and the hash browns were were deliciously smoky. The rhubarb crumble for dessert was spectacular. Our waiter was charming and efficient, and we enjoyed the restaurant's ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cunningham's was a great Mother's Day choice!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had an awesome brunch - exquisite service from our Hostesses, to our server to the Manager - and it made for a great Mother's Day for our family. Great restaurant, and amazing food... cannot wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect for Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a large group for Mother's Day lunch. The quality of the food was outstanding and the portions were just right. The youngest was 7, the oldest 77! Good choices for all. Highly recomend

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Everything was excellent except for our ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was excellent except for our server. She provided what we needed but somehow I felt we were annoying her. Perhaps she wasn't feeling well. My mother and I will return.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I'll be back

Dined on May 6, 2016

Wonderful food and service - Laura was great. However, a bit overpriced so I'm not able to be a "regular". We had a great time, and the ambiance was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the crab cakes and halibut this t ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had the crab cakes and halibut this time and they were delicious! We also tried their new butternut squash toast and it was so good. Amazing as always!

food5
ambience3
service3

Way too noisy and cold. I'll eat in the ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Way too noisy and cold. I'll eat in the bar next time. Good was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top 50

Dined on May 2, 2016

I, along with a group of friends, am trying out Sun Magazine's Top 50 restaurants in Baltimore. We started at #50, Cunningham's was #20, and was by far, one of our favorites! Great food, great service, unique atmosphere, easy parking ... no complaints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Seating and service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Despite having reservations, and arriving when the room was less than a quarter full, we were seated in an area best described as being for overflows. Also, the server showed minimal interest in our table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing food, beautiful environment. Never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef is excellent and has created a nove ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Chef is excellent and has created a novel menu. Waiter was pleasant and extra helpful. Steak tartar was the real thing. My companion and I both thought the crab bisque very well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Deal at Cunningham's

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

This was a pre-theater dinner for 5 people. The menu had something for everyone. And to our surprise, prices for dinner entrees and bottles of wine were reduced. I think that made our food taste that much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4

The Halibut was bland. The Bronzino dry. ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The Halibut was bland. The Bronzino dry. Salads great. Courtney our server was down excellent.

food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Excessively noisy and dark

Dined on April 30, 2016

Cunninghams is a large restaurant with an open kitchen. We were placed in a smaller alcove room so I thought we would be OK. There was a party of eight that were so loud we could not hear ourselves. Additionally, I brought out my Kindle to use as a flashlight so I could read the tiny menu print in the very dim light. We requested moving tables and eventually were relocated. The new spot was so much better and the ambient light from outside made it possible to read the menu. The food was spotty. Some dishes were excellent and others were not worthy of the previous reviews. One person in our party had the potato gnocci. They were gummy and flavorless. One person in our party had the pork chop. It was cooked perfectly and the plate was lovely. I had the rack of lamb but requested a different sauce than the peppercorn sauce it came with, due to an allergy. My lamb was more rare than medium rare, there was no sauce and the plate was pretty bare. I had fingerling potatoes and asparagus. There were four small pieces of potato and a few stalks of asparagus. I took my lamb home to cook it some more. Between the noise, the lighting, and the poorly prepared food, I would not return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Farm to Table with Good Wine

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Remember to try the house wine made for Cunninghams from France. It is very good and not highlighted.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Waiter and chef wer ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was excellent. Waiter and chef were very helpful and accommodating with the allergies our group had - dairy and soy; gluten

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Dissapointed

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have been here for happy hour before and it is great. Our dinner experience was underwhelming. The food was ok - nothing exciting. The scallop appetizer was the best item we had to eat - would recommend it for sure. The cream of crab soup was too think and had too much old bay. The shrimp and grits had a smoky flavor that was different and we did not love it - the grits were the best part. The swordfish was plain. I don't see us going back here for a date night again. Happy hour for sure - $5 drinks and $5 apps. The service was very good and the restaurant is beautiful.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cunninghams

Dined on April 23, 2016

Very surprised how good the food really was. Waitress was exceptionally friendly and prompt with any request. Would definitely eat here again. Great place to eat after a movie, but make reservations because the place was packed!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was wonderful. And the food ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The service was wonderful. And the food was excellent. Would definately go back.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Valet - your first and last impression

Dined on April 23, 2016

Thank you Cunninhams for having complimentary valet. Unfortunately, as we pulled in, there was no one around, so I started to park myself. A horn started blaring and I realized the valet was honking at us. He was yelling that we were 'going the wrong way' - attempting to park three yards from him. I drove forward and got out and proceeded to the restaurant (the signage could be better) where we were escorted to our table by a man who did not speak to us or pull out my mom's chair or my chair. He literally did not say a word! Fortunately our waiter was excellent. The food was good, but a bit pricey, for lacking imagination. I do support your farm to table initiative, so that doesn't really bother me. At the end of the evening we returned to the garage to retrieve our car from the complimentary valet who once again aggressively berated us for not leaving the key with him. After being honked out and yelled out, I did forget to give him my key, as I have a new car that does not require a key in the ignition. I am puzzled as to why he did not ask for my key or, once he realized he did not have it, come up to the restaurant to ask me for it. Instead, he left my car unlocked the entire time. I doubt, based on my experience when we arrived that my car was left unattended while unlocked during the evening. Finally, I asked for directions out of the garage, not wanting to go 'the wrong way' again, and was treated as if I were stupid for not realizing I had to go against the one way arrows to leave the garage the way I came in. Ridiculous. First impressions are important; but when the final impression is no better, it doesn't matter what happens in between, you are left with a bad taste in your mouth. I am disappointed to say the least.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceeded expectations

Dined on April 22, 2016

All six people in our party (including a vegetarian) very much enjoyed their food, which is a rarity! Service was also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

Bring a sweater....air conditioning was ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Bring a sweater....air conditioning was on full blast. Our server was very nice ... but forgot wine for the wine tasting and a dessert. Overall was a nice evening.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

tasty

Dined on April 19, 2016

The food was delicious but a little over-priced. The service was ok, slow in the beginning but towards the end it seemed that the server was trying to get us out because she came to the table a dozen times.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time, still a charm

Dined on April 19, 2016

The first time we went to the restaurant, we had trouble finding the proper entrance for the attached parking garage so we called the restaurant and they guided us in. Cocktails were enjoyable. I tried a prosecco and blackberry drink. Both my husband and I felt the appetizers were okay. Don't get me wrong, they were good, but we felt that the cream of crab could have been hotter. We also had the homemade meat tray, which we were expecting more flavor from. The main courses were delicious! He had the filet and I had the burger (one of the best I've ever had). The dessert was crazy good too, we tried the apple rhubarb crisp. I swear we could have had ordered several :) Our server was friendly, attentive and helpful with our questions. A great place for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Always a favorite for a nice dinner!! Lo ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Always a favorite for a nice dinner!! Love the squash bread!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.