About Cunningham's

1 Olympic Pl
Towson, MD 21204
View Larger Map

Cunningham’s is a seasonal American grille that blends the modern atmosphere of city dining with the rustic, smoky flavors of the countryside. Using a wood-fired grill and brick oven, we provide guests with dishes created from the freshest seasonal and local ingredients possible. We believe that an excellent dining experience is built on thoughtful, attentive service and sourcing product that are grown and crafted responsibly. Each of these aspects contributes to our mission of providing our guests with an unmatched dining experience. We hope that you will visit us soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
York Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 339-7730

Website:
http://www.cunninghamstowson.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet is available seven days a week in the Olympic Place garage located directly below our restaurant. A conveniently located elevator will bring you upstairs - no walking in the rain or snow here!

Public Transit:
Both the #8 and #48 bus lines stop at the traffic circle at Dulaney Valley and Joppa Roads. Our restaurant is located steps away from the circle.

Executive Chef:
Jay Rohlfing

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re looking for a small, intimate dinner party or a large, catered reception, the management and service staff at Cunningham’s is happy to assist you in creating the perfect private dining event. From the menu to the table layout, we are happy to work with you to achieve the vision of your event. Our customizable private dining room can hold up to 120 people for a standing cocktail event or 75-100 for a seated event. Cunningham’s is open 7 days a week for events. We are also happy to accommodate breakfast meetings, luncheons, and full or partial restaurant buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Jamie Birkle: (410) 339-7730

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Tue 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cunningham's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (49)
Creative Cuisine (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (42)
Local Ingredients (35)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Modern Decor (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Romantic (29)
Business Meals (29)
Open Kitchen (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Seasonal (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Cozy (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Casual (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Healthy (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Authentic (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Private Room (4)
Family Style (3)
Organic (3)
Live Music (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
1108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent!

Tags: La perle du quartier, Délicieux et bons pour les enfants, Cuisine moléculaire, Cuisine créative, Santé, Une occasion spéciale, Ingrédients locaux, Il en vaut le détour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent wine selection. Entrées were f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent wine selection. Entrées were fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We love everything Bagby, and Cunningham ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We love everything Bagby, and Cunningham's is our go-to Towson spot. Wonderful food. Great service. And we always feel special after a visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came in on a Saturday a little earlie ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We came in on a Saturday a little earlier then our reservation to have a cocktail at the bar first but ended up having dinner there. Laura the bartender was amazing. She was incredibly knowledgeable with a great personality and took the most amazing are of us. We had the Burrata appetizer and a a harvest salad to start, both dish were insane. For dinner we split a 14oz NY, Rockfish and a crab cake all of which were absolutely delicious. We are already looking forward to coming back. Thanks

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table was cold, service warm and food wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Table was cold, service warm and food was fresh and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great venue. I was very impressed with t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great venue. I was very impressed with the service and attention given to my daughter and I for dinner. The food is always very good with consistent quality.

Tags: Live Music, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our New Years Eve dinner at Cunningham's ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our New Years Eve dinner at Cunningham's was quiet simply awesome. Perfect sized portions, delicious, great wine pairings etc.... too often special occasions menus are over priced and ordinary. At a Cunningham's it was neither. Great service from the entire staff. Cheers 🍷

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We eat here often and brought our son wh ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We eat here often and brought our son who was visiting from out of town. It was a busy night, but our server was attentive just the right amount and kept our water glasses full and appeared to be equally helpful to all his tables. The seasonal menu included a lovely beet salad and a velvety and unusually flavorful butternut squash soup. We all tried fish from the grill having never tried grilled fish here before. The bronzini were prepared whole with small tomatoes and herbs around, tender and perfectly cooked. The rockfish was a good portion with accompanying vegetables, was slightly on the dry side, but was very flavorful with the grill cooking. As always, the assorted breads from Cunningham's bakery were outstanding. We liked dining in the booths for a more casual feel, though if you have a boisterous party nearby, it can get a little noisy. A very nice mid-week meal overall.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The fact that we dined of a Living Socia ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The fact that we dined of a Living Social menu felt a little awkward and perhaps diminished the experience. If I'm going to use a Promo I would like to feel that the experience was not being trimmed down in value and in substance. The fact that the promotional value of the deal was only $19 on a $70 purchase was disappointing - most places reduce the price by 40 -50 percent on promos.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Definitely a neighborhood gem...Everythi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Definitely a neighborhood gem...Everything and I mean everything was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We selected this restaurant to celebrate ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We selected this restaurant to celebrate a birthday as a special occasion and it was a big failure.

It took more than 30 minutes before we were able to place an order and our waitress did not know how to open a bottle of wine. I addressed our issues with the manager on duty and he comped our meal but never aknowledged the problem or offered a warm apology. I was addressed multiple times as "my friend" and despite wearing a suit, the manager had a loud set of keyes hanging from his belt. This is definitely not the service level we were expecting and we will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The BBQ chicken flatbread pizza was fabu ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The BBQ chicken flatbread pizza was fabulous, with the BBQ flavor on the pulled chicken rather than an entire pizza slathered in bbq sauce as it is served at chain restaurants. My teenagers devoured it, as did I. The crispy chicken was also delicious but the cold marinated vegetables accompanying it were not to my or my teens' taste. The family is not a fan of the harder artisan breads served in the breadbasket; hoping for some softer rolls or bread in the future. We will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall, a great dining experience. Onl ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Overall, a great dining experience. Only regret: went for the pork chops, which was an expensive meal that was instantly forgettable. Disappointing. But the appetizers, soup, and other meals were outstanding. This is a fine restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Family had a great meal with outstanding ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Family had a great meal with outstanding service. Looking forward to returning! Definitely would recommend to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The services hen we arrived and the bar ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The services hen we arrived and the bar were very welcoming. Perfect Old Fashions! Our dining server was great. She made sure we were well cared for even stealing the whipped cream from the pastry chef when it was needed for an Irish Coffee! The short ribs and the shrimp and grits were quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been to Cunningham's many times ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been to Cunningham's many times and they always provide a wonderful experience. I recently started following a vegan diet and they made wonderful accommodations for me. We will be most definitely back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant. Great food, supe ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I love this restaurant. Great food, superb service, very comfortable seating and surroundings.

Would recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

My sons are food lovers and go out of their way to seek out the finest restaurants and they too were impressed!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've always passed the restaurant and de ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I've always passed the restaurant and decided to set a reservation to try it out. The cuisine is farm to table and the flavors are amazing. Everything tasted fresh and was served in a visually creative way. The tasting menu was reasonably priced and provides an appetizer, entree and dessert. For the quality of the food the prices were absolutely reasonable and worth it! Will definitely be going again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a place I just keep finding my w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This is a place I just keep finding my way back to. When the food is so good, the atmosphere so pleasant, and the service so attentive, there's always a reason to choose Cunningham's for a dining experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything about this dinner was perfect ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Everything about this dinner was perfect - the food was really, really good, and the service was expert and discreet. Lovely space.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think some items were good, oysters, t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I think some items were good, oysters, tuna app, beer salad was weak not enough flavor, got a read wine sangria made with Bloody Mary mix, waiter forgot shrimp and pork belly dumplings, Irish whiskey mule was really good, goat cheese flat bread was surberb, then ordered BBQ chicken flatbread and carne flatbread were not worth eating, apple crisp was not hot when served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This was not our first visit to Cunningh ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was not our first visit to Cunningham's. As in other visits the food was quite good. I had the fried oysters and the short rib which were both delicious. The service on this occasion was not great. The waiter seemed stressed. He took our drink orders and it took forever for the drinks to arrive. He also kept asking me if he got my order right like he was second guessing himself. Perhaps it was not his night!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely dinner on an icy Saturday night. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Lovely dinner on an icy Saturday night. Very good pork chop and stone crabs!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seasonal menu options were delicious - t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Seasonal menu options were delicious - took a few of the server's recommendations, and none of them disappointed. Really enjoyed the seasonal burrata with butternut squash, arugula and granola, as well as the 14oz rib eye special and pumpkin scallops risotto.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great drinks and food. Service was aweso ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great drinks and food. Service was awesome. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we requested in our Open Table ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Although we requested in our Open Table reservation "a quiet table, please," we were inexplicably seated next to a noisy group of birthday celebrators. Does anyone read these notes? It was a 10 p.m. seating and plenty of better choices were available. Food and wine were fine, although using an electronic tablet instead of a traditional printed wine list was awkward and off-putting. Even so, the first bottle we ordered turned out not to be available. Some times new technology is not an improvement.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was good and the service was go ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food was good and the service was good, but the restaurant was freezing. They said they weren't able to move us to a different table because they had other reservations coming in. I wore my coat while I ate. If I go back, it will be in the summer.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

This was impeccable service with wait st ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This was impeccable service with wait staff knowledge of menu items and personal recommendations on wine and appetizer/dessert selections. It was a special occasion for us, but we would not hesitate to come in a more casual dress mode. Second time here--we'll be back for sure!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

what a disappointment! great word of mo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

what a disappointment! great word of mouth which never materialized in reality. Impossible parking in the area and no valet parking attendant . As a handicapped individual walking up and down the stairs outside was not enjoyable - when mentioned no attendant was greeted with an offhanded shrug. Food was mixed bag - really over-reaching and cutesy menu - more misses than hits. Overpriced for what was ordered. Perhaps dining in New York has left me jaded on what to expect in a good restaurant. There are a number of much better choices in the area... don't waste your time and money here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was great, made us wait 30 minutes ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was great, made us wait 30 minutes for an 8pm reservation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Lovely food in a lovely space, an enjoya ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Lovely food in a lovely space, an enjoyable evening and meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice for our Christmas dinne ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Excellent choice for our Christmas dinner. Staff was very attentive, but did not disturb, staff knowledge of menu items, food was delicious, décor clean and modern.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, perfectly cooked. We'll ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Delicious food, perfectly cooked. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Good drinks, delic ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wonderful experience. Good drinks, delicious food and great service. This upscale restaurant was also welcoming to our young children. Nice dinner out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the food was flavorful HOWEVER a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Overall the food was flavorful HOWEVER any good chef should know that you shouldn't cook a fish like a Bronzini with the skin on and then float it in a gallon of liquid on the plate! The liquid makes the skin soggy and inedible and just a mess to eat. Yuck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I had an AWESOME experience ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My wife and I had an AWESOME experience and dinner the other night. One of the BEST things we tried was the Fall Burratta. Simply OUTSTANDING. The creamyness of the Burrata spread on Pesto coated crispy flatbread with arugula and vinegrette. OUT of this world. Charcuterie Plate, ditto !!!!!!! The Chef, Jay, came out of the Kitchen to talk to us. NICE. Our Bartender/Server Chris was excellent. We will be back real soon. An AWESOME meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very enjoyable company dinner. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had a very enjoyable company dinner. Great menu, outstanding service. Very convenient valet parking. Show your valet ticket to the hostess upon departure and your warm car will be waiting for you when you're ready to leave.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is fantastic!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food is fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner with a friend so we could cat ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Had dinner with a friend so we could catch up with each other. Our waiter greeted us, then allowed us the time we needed to look at the menu and talk a bit before placing our order. The food was well prepared and we enjoyed a variety of dishes and enjoyed them all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Attentive service & tasty food all be it ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Attentive service & tasty food all be it a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.