About Cunningham's

1 Olympic Pl
Towson, MD 21204
View Larger Map

Cunningham’s is a seasonal American grille that blends the modern atmosphere of city dining with the rustic, smoky flavors of the countryside. Using a wood-fired grill and brick oven, we provide guests with dishes created from the freshest seasonal and local ingredients possible. We believe that an excellent dining experience is built on thoughtful, attentive service and sourcing product that are grown and crafted responsibly. Each of these aspects contributes to our mission of providing our guests with an unmatched dining experience. We hope that you will visit us soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
York Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 339-7730

Website:
http://www.cunninghamstowson.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet is available seven days a week in the Olympic Place garage located directly below our restaurant. A conveniently located elevator will bring you upstairs - no walking in the rain or snow here!

Public Transit:
Both the #8 and #48 bus lines stop at the traffic circle at Dulaney Valley and Joppa Roads. Our restaurant is located steps away from the circle.

Executive Chef:
Brian Lavin

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re looking for a small, intimate dinner party or a large, catered reception, the management and service staff at Cunningham’s is happy to assist you in creating the perfect private dining event. From the menu to the table layout, we are happy to work with you to achieve the vision of your event. Our customizable private dining room can hold up to 120 people for a standing cocktail event or 75-100 for a seated event. Cunningham’s is open 7 days a week for events. We are also happy to accommodate breakfast meetings, luncheons, and full or partial restaurant buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Shacochis: (410) 339-7730x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Tue 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cunningham's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Towson ›

fit for foodies (119)
special occasion (116)
neighborhood gem (81)
See All
notable wine list (67)
good for groups (60)
romantic (53)
hot spot (45)
vibrant bar scene (42)
great for outdoor dining (34)
great for lunch (18)
great for brunch (14)
late-night find (13)
scenic view (13)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
979 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I decided to try somewher ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I decided to try somewhere new for a spontaneous date night...and we are so glad we tried Cunningham's! We drive past this restaurant almost every day and we should have dined here much sooner. The food was amazing, service was outstanding, ambiance spectacular, and overall a lovely place to eat. We'll be back for more!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good but small portions and pricey. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food good but small portions and pricey. Ambiance and service very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Cindy Wolfe does it again. I had the so ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Cindy Wolfe does it again. I had the soft shell crabs and they were amazing. Large crabs done cleanly Maryland style paired with amazing spring rolls with a kimchi aioli. The wine was a bit over priced and their iPad wine list was a source of frustration(it never did work properly and I am a techie) but the food and the wait staff were amazing. Our waitress was friendly, knowledgeable and a true professional. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant was a huge disappointmen ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This restaurant was a huge disappointment in every way; the service, cocktails, and food. Our evening was a mess. To be fair, some of the food was good, the oyster appetizer and the dessert were tasty. However, The "crispy" fried chicken was drenched in tasteless gravy that turned the whole dish to mush, the soft crabs were undercooked and fried in tempura, not sautéed as advertised and expected in Maryland. We ordered the pairing menu and our server knew nothing about the food or wine. She came back several times to recheck what we had ordered and she completely screwed up our check, causing my daughter's AmEx to be overcharged.

We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

My dining companion and I were delighted ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My dining companion and I were delighted with our experience at Cunningham's; we went there to celebrate my birthday. The cold corn soup with popcorn crackles was unusual and delicious. The garden salad with burrata was expertly prepared; the tomatoes were at the perfect ripeness. The fried oysters were the best I've ever had. The rest of our food, veggie entrée, white bass, rich and flavorful mac n cheese and green beans with almonds were all wonderful. The piece de resistance was the Kit Kat Praline bar for dessert; ours was served alongside a mini birthday cupcake! The service was impeccable. Go there!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a very good experience as always, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was a very good experience as always, but this time the lamb steak and the shrimps were a bit under cooked for our taste. Usually their shrimp and grits are done perfectly well, and it was our first experience with their steaks, so maybe next time if we order a steak we'll have it medium instead of medium rare. Other then that we've enjoyed our dinner very much and will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall very good we really like Cunning ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall very good we really like Cunninghams. Needed to send back my roasted oyster appetizer for some heat it we like warm. Sea bass was exquisite - crispy chicken was good but boneless would have been better including a thigh for the the price. Praline Kit Kat dessert was exceptional. Service was top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Always a truly delightful experience. Th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a truly delightful experience. This has become our "go to" for a great evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All the food was "off." Bread not tast ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

All the food was "off." Bread not tasty, Spaghetti Squash dish way over seasoned with rosemary, hamburger charred with unpleasant crust. Service was outstanding. Give the misses across the board, it will be a long time before I go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

We were seated and never received menus. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were seated and never received menus. Waiter was very late in coming to the table and providing service. Jazz was playing that evening and it was difficult to hear. lighting so low that when we did receive the menus we could not see them.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was excellent and arrived hot. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was excellent and arrived hot. The wine pairings were very good.

Though the crowd was sparse, the bartender was a bit inattentive.

Once at our table, 5 (!) different people tended to us, which made the service a bit cumbersome. No explanation was given for the constant "hand-off".

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The addition of talented young chef Jay ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The addition of talented young chef Jay Rohlfing elevates Cunningham's from good to great. The menu is fresh and fun - something for everyone. A virtual Foodie utopia. We were there on a Monday evening so limited crowd. The service, a questionable aspect of Cunningham's in the past, was very good. A definite do over.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We patronize Cunningham's for many years ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We patronize Cunningham's for many years and it was one of the many enjoyable experiences we've always had. This time we were very impressed with CHILLED CORN SOUP, HEIRLOOM TOMATO & BURRATA (which was even better tasting then we've remembered), The vegetarian special was outstanding and MIXED BERRY COBBLER was the best ending of the meal.

Thank you Cunningham's, we'll definitely be back for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was great! Our waiter Mat ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our experience was great! Our waiter Matt was great! Kept us entertained and was very polite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best crab cakes in town. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

One of the best crab cakes in town. The chilled corn soup was delicious too!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasantly surprised. Crab cake was exce ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Crab cake was excellent. Server was not the greatest but this would not prevent me from going back again in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice setting. Staff were excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very nice setting. Staff were excellent. I would go back next time in town.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Ooooh, the food was wonderfully delish!! ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Ooooh, the food was wonderfully delish!!! The menu could not have been more tailored to such a variety of choices---Pizza, Burgers, and for the "Foodies" elegant selections. This is definitely a something for everyone place to go. The noise level was moderate, but who can complain on that note-watching the galley do their thing, the expertise of the wait staff and the "suit" guys always ready to ask about your meal and explain the dish. It was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything I got was very salty-even the ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything I got was very salty-even the salad and corn. The entrees were overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

My husband and I decided to try Cunningh ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My husband and I decided to try Cunningham's and were pleased with the service and thoroughly enjoyed each dish we ordered. The decor and atmosphere were very pleasant and the acoustics were so that you could enjoy your conversation with your company without interference.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cunningham's is fun, food is good, servi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Cunningham's is fun, food is good, service is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Cunningham's is one of my favorite place ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Cunningham's is one of my favorite places to eat. They combine fresh, local and seasonal ingredients with a creative flare to create a menu that keeps me coming back. They have some great staples and rotating seasonal dishes as well as specials and a solid Happy Hour. Their cocktails are fun and different and there is something for every taste. The service is always on point.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Compared to another fine dining restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Compared to another fine dining restaurant in Baltimore County that I ate at recently,Cunnningham's portion size,price points,and ambience were slightly better,and everything else was the same,so if I had to choose,I'd go with Cumningham's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Got lucky. 3 piece jazz ensemble plays ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Got lucky. 3 piece jazz ensemble plays every other Thursday. It was great background music.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food and a beautiful dining ro ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Delicious food and a beautiful dining room . Very good service as well. Next time will want to eat outside on the great deck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have been to Cunningham's ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

My wife and I have been to Cunningham's several times now, and each time has proven to be a wonderful experience.

We don't go often because the price tag is high, but it is always a lovely time. The servers are attentive, the food is outstanding, and the atmosphere is nice and also intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After hearing about the restaurant for a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

After hearing about the restaurant for a while, and seeing it on many best of Baltimore lists, we finally went for our anniversary dinner. And now I can't wait to go back! Delicious food, fantastic service, great setting, totally lived up to the hype!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Cunningham's to celebrate Father ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went to Cunningham's to celebrate Father's Day. The food was excellent from appetizers to desserts. Our server was knowledgeable and helpful. Didn't try any wine or cocktails but both menus seemed thorough. Food service was slightly off timing wise as one of our dinner sides came well after the entrees. I will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We went to Cunningham's for Father's Day ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Cunningham's for Father's Day brunch. The basket of pastries was delicious, and we only had small samples so that we wouldn't be too full for the rest of the meal. Our first courses were shrimp cocktail and pea salad, both unusual preparations. Our server explained ahead of time that the shrimp cocktail would "look different" which indeed it did. For main courses we had the eggs benedict with crab and the shrimp and grits. We agreed that the shrimp and grits were far superior to the eggs benedict which were fine but just rather bland. The shrimp in both the appetizer and main course were somewhat overcooked. However, the meal overall was enjoyable, even if not quite as good as previous visits, and provided a pleasant Father's Day excursion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've never had a bad experience here and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I've never had a bad experience here and the food is always amazing. I try something different every time and I'm always impressed. The service is excellent as well, and the atmosphere is elegant yet relaxed. Definitely worth a try if you've been considering it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scrumptious bread, delicious food. Nice ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Scrumptious bread, delicious food. Nice atmosphere, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time we came to Cunni ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This was our first time we came to Cunninham's and the dinner was great. the service was very good and the food was superb. The wine selections also were great. I am sure we will come back again with our friends and family.We also met the Manager who was very attentive and cordial making our dinner night very amicable .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Please bring back the old salmon salad!! ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Please bring back the old salmon salad!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This has become a regular "go to" for us ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This has become a regular "go to" for us with constantly excellent food!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved this restaurant! The food was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We loved this restaurant! The food was outstanding, fresh and beautifully prepared. We can't wait to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service from Matt, who was fri ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent service from Matt, who was friendly and attentive. Food was excellent!

This was our first time, but definitely will not be the last.

The fried oyster appetizers were superb and the brown butter popcorn was a nice little surprise.

Nice quiet ambiance and will try dining outdoors next time when it is not too hot.

You will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going to Fleet Street Kitchen ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I've been going to Fleet Street Kitchen and Bagby Pizza for years since I live in Baltimore City. My Mom lives in Towson and loves Cunningham's. We had a great meal outside on the terrace. It was a Friday night so we could hear the music from the festival nearby but it wasn't so loud as to disrupt our evening.

We shared a charcuterie platter that was very generous for the price featuring at least two cheeses and four kinds of meat. All were very tasty. We planned on being more adventurous but the duck special (sous vide with risotto and butternut squash and finished with chimmichurri) sounded too good to pass up so we each ordered that. It did not disappoint. Perfectly cooked with crispy skin. Yet again, very good sized portion - more than a place of this caliber and style has to give to justify the price.

Dessert was phenomenal. I had a trio of sorbets (lemon-thyme, pineapple-jalepeno, and pear-mint). My Mom had the trio of ice creams (toasted coconut, tchao chocolate, and vanilla). They were all delicious.

This wasn't my first time to Cunningham's but it is my first time writing a review. I have to say the one disappointment on every visit (and my mother confirmed) is service is always slow. Everyone is very friendly and nothing is ever overlooked or forgotten, but it is slow. This is disappointing because Cunningham's food and ambiance can hold its own against any restaurant in Baltimore. With that said, even knowing what we know about the service, we continue to return and recommend to friends because it is that good.

Outdoor dining at Cunningham's is a must, but the inside dining rooms are beautiful too. The drink list is very impressive (I love unusual cocktails and they make some mean ones). The price tag is fair for the quality and quantity of food you receive but if you're intimidated by it, there is a lounge outside where I'm sure it would be fun to go and relax and maybe order an appetizer and drink and still make it a special day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our "Go To" Restaurant

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Cunningham's has become our "Go To" restaurant in the Towson area. The food and service are always solid. The drinks are flavorful and the outdoor dining space is large and comfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience; the food an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent dining experience; the food and the service both excellent. Our second visit and we look forward to returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal and great experience

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

It was not our first time at Cunningham's. we spent our anniversary there last year too. this year we decided to go back. Once again we were not disappointed. Tomasina, our server, was great and made us feel as if were the only people in the restaurant. The new manager was equally as gracious. The food is great - especially the Bronzini. While I'm sure we will be back there soon, I know that we will spend our anniversary there next year too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.