About Cunningham's

1 Olympic Pl
Towson, MD 21204
View Larger Map

Cunningham’s is a seasonal American grille that blends the modern atmosphere of city dining with the rustic, smoky flavors of the countryside. Using a wood-fired grill and brick oven, we provide guests with dishes created from the freshest seasonal and local ingredients possible. We believe that an excellent dining experience is built on thoughtful, attentive service and sourcing product that are grown and crafted responsibly. Each of these aspects contributes to our mission of providing our guests with an unmatched dining experience. We hope that you will visit us soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
York Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 339-7730

Website:
http://www.cunninghamstowson.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet is available seven days a week in the Olympic Place garage located directly below our restaurant. A conveniently located elevator will bring you upstairs - no walking in the rain or snow here!

Public Transit:
Both the #8 and #48 bus lines stop at the traffic circle at Dulaney Valley and Joppa Roads. Our restaurant is located steps away from the circle.

Executive Chef:
Jay Rohlfing

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re looking for a small, intimate dinner party or a large, catered reception, the management and service staff at Cunningham’s is happy to assist you in creating the perfect private dining event. From the menu to the table layout, we are happy to work with you to achieve the vision of your event. Our customizable private dining room can hold up to 120 people for a standing cocktail event or 75-100 for a seated event. Cunningham’s is open 7 days a week for events. We are also happy to accommodate breakfast meetings, luncheons, and full or partial restaurant buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Jamie Birkle: (410) 339-7730x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Tue 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cunningham's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Contemporary American
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Towson ›

Special Occasion (61)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Romantic (40)
See All
Creative Cuisine (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Good for a Date (37)
Local Ingredients (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Open Kitchen (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Business Meals (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Happy Hour (12)
Seasonal (12)
Fun (11)
Healthy (10)
Great for Brunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Authentic (7)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall the food was flavorful HOWEVER a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall the food was flavorful HOWEVER any good chef should know that you shouldn't cook a fish like a Bronzini with the skin on and then float it in a gallon of liquid on the plate! The liquid makes the skin soggy and inedible and just a mess to eat. Yuck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I had an AWESOME experience ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I had an AWESOME experience and dinner the other night. One of the BEST things we tried was the Fall Burratta. Simply OUTSTANDING. The creamyness of the Burrata spread on Pesto coated crispy flatbread with arugula and vinegrette. OUT of this world. Charcuterie Plate, ditto !!!!!!! The Chef, Jay, came out of the Kitchen to talk to us. NICE. Our Bartender/Server Chris was excellent. We will be back real soon. An AWESOME meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very enjoyable company dinner. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had a very enjoyable company dinner. Great menu, outstanding service. Very convenient valet parking. Show your valet ticket to the hostess upon departure and your warm car will be waiting for you when you're ready to leave.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is fantastic!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food is fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive service & tasty food all be it ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Attentive service & tasty food all be it a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal was very good-- nice selection ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our meal was very good-- nice selection of entrees. Service was also very good. However, we arrived on the early side for dinner and the place was relatively empty. Ten minutes later they seat people right next to us -- tables are a little close. We didn't quite understand that logic!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

I had high expectations for Cunningham's ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I had high expectations for Cunningham's as a friend of mine was a server there for several years and spoke highly about the food. The menu seemed to be eclectic and creative.

Upon arrival, our hostess planned to seat us directly next to another couple when there were several tables open beside them to give us a bit more space. We chose a table further away fro others after she suggested it.

The iPad on the table with the wine list was interesting. It was convenient, but felt out of place. We enjoyed the bread basket. nice choices of chewy homemade breads with rosemary and other tasty flavors.

I ordered the Pork Belly and Shrimp dumplings for an appetizer. I am a big fan of good authentic dim sum and will travel to places in D.C. for it and have had it in authentic Chinese restaurants in Toronto's Chinatown. The dumplings were a few gyoza style and weren't impressive. The green chili drizzle on the plate was boring and didn't add much to the plate. These were disappointing. I would guess that perhaps they were frozen and ordered pre-made.

The entree i ordered was the shrimp and grits. The description on the menu sounded like a a fantastic pairing of roasted red peppers, greens and cheese grits. Sounded like a nice pairing to create the Southern dish. The presentation was nice when it arrived, however, in flavor it lacked in several areas. The grits were undercooked and did not have a smooth texture, but a lumpy and in some cases crunchy texture. The flavor of cheese was mild to none and was overpowered by the sauce. I couldn't gauge what the sauce was, but was quite watery probably because of the greens piled on top. The best part was the jumbo shrimp. They were a good size and why the price was $27.

The Flatbread my spouse had was beautiful and apparently pretty good. It was full of vegetables.

I was disappointed in our visit. I am not sure if it was just the dishes I chose, or just a kitchen that isn't as talented as the menu suggests.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

What an absolutely wonderful restaurant. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

What an absolutely wonderful restaurant. It may very well be my new favorite. The food is fantastic, the staff is courteous and accommodating. I love all the way on the other side of town but the 40 minute commute was well worth it for such a great experience. You won't regret going. I'm already thinking about the next time I'll be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came to Cunninghams to hear the Freddi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I came to Cunninghams to hear the Freddie Stevens Trio. I got so much more than expected. The service was wonderful, the food and wine really delicious and the music was first rate. Looking forward to my next visit when the Trio is playing again. I am bringing a bunch of my friends. Just really had such a fun night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A superb experience on all counts. The ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

A superb experience on all counts. The room is warm, well appointed with comfortable chairs and well spaced tables. The service was friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable. Being there on Tuesday, we were able to take advantage of the half on wine price so I had a bottle of the house red (a blend of grenache and syrah) for $20. I noticed other good bargains on the list for when I return. My wife's flatbread was spacious, loaded with diverse vegetables, and pleasantly crunchy. The oyster corn fritters I had as an appetizer were crisp on the outside, moist and flavorful on the inside. The bone in pork chop was succulent. Easily comparable to Woodberry Grill.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was very slow but our waitress w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was very slow but our waitress was personable. Food was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We had the pumpkin soup, short rib and t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had the pumpkin soup, short rib and tuna that were all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizers needed some work but the ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The appetizers needed some work but the food was mostly good. Service was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was ok. Butternut squash and buratt ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was ok. Butternut squash and buratta was delicious. We had cornmeal oysters and tried the two types of raw oysters on the menu none were noteworthy. The oysters from Maine were good but the others really lacked flavor. Two in our party got steak entrees, I had the shrimp and grits and another ordered the short ribs. Entrees weren't bad, just not good enough to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This was my second time at Cunningham's. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was my second time at Cunningham's. The first time I was there for brunch. The food is excellent. Servers are attentive. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have come to like Cunningham's a lot. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I have come to like Cunningham's a lot. Local, fresh, seasonal food is important to me. This restaurant has that matched with a great service team and a beautiful relaxing dining room. This is where I go when I want to relax with my husband after a hectic week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was delicious! Only negative ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Everything was delicious! Only negative comment doesn't have anything to do with the restaurant...the valet staffer smelled of cigarette smoke causing the smell to linger in our car as well. So much so that we're leaving our car windows open for the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently returned to Cunningham's, wh ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We recently returned to Cunningham's, which is rapidly becoming our favorite local restaurant.

Lamont, at the indoor valet parking site, greeted us warmly. His friendly smile set the tone for the evening.

On this visit we tried the three course wine pairing menu. For our first course we each close the Cornmeal Fried Oysters. The Blue Points were delicious, plump and juicy, served on a bed of arugula with crisp chunks of bacon. The accompanying wine was a Spanish Albarino. For entrees, I opted for the Shrimp & Grits - large, tender shrimp served with grits that were like cream. The wine was a crisp Sauvignon Blanc, My husband chose the Ziti Bolognese with a Grenache blend.For desserts I had Date Pudding and ice cream with a nice Madeira. My husband enjoyed his Apple Crisp accompanied by a wonderful Sauternes.

Chris, our waiter, was charming - pleasant, polite, knowledgable and very efficient.

This was an evening to remember, Highly recommend !!

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time we went to Cunn ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This was the second time we went to Cunningham's and we tried their fixed-price menu, which is a great deal if you are hungry and like very sweet desserts. We started with the roasted meatball and the soup. Both delicious, but very different. The meatball was very tender and was accompanied by a rich mascarpone polenta and tangy tomato sauce that complemented each other nicely. The soup was very smooth and flavorful.

As main dishes we order the shrimp and grits and the crab cake. Do not expect a southern shrimp and grits plate if you order it, but it is still very good with bitter greens on top. The crab cake is dense and perhaps 90% of it is actually crab meat: impressive!

As dessert we had the praline kit kat and the pear and date cake. They were both too sweet for my taste, but they paired well with the red wine I was still sipping.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Made a reservation two times in the mont ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Made a reservation two times in the month of October at Cunningham's for a business dinner to welcome candidates to the area. The food was absolutely delicious both times. However, the staff there are less than friendly and whoever manages the event reservations is unresponsive. I first reached out to try and book a private room to three different people - via email AND over the phone. Nothing. I used opentable because I was able to get a response! For the dinners, the girl that checked us in for our reservation looked like I was bothering her when we walked in. In addition, our waitresses at both dinners (two separate servers) were less than friendly. Never smiled and acted like they didn't even want to be there. I have never had such indifferent servers at such an upscale place. Having great food does not make up for the attitude of the staff. Because of that, I will not be back in neither a business nor a personal manner to Cunningham's - which is a shame since I really enjoyed both meals, but there are plenty of restaurants in the area with friendlier staff and good food.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

As a group of four we all loved it. I'm ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 24, 2016

As a group of four we all loved it. I'm very critical of food, so it should be understood that a very good rating from me is high praise. This was our first visit and will go again. The cost was very reasonable.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good food, entree's are w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great service, good food, entree's are well priced for the quality

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sooo romantic, exceptional service! Can' ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Sooo romantic, exceptional service! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant - slow service! It too ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great restaurant - slow service! It took ~30 minutes for us to be seated, even with a reservation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a great experience. Love the food ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always a great experience. Love the food and the service. Great staff!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Romantic, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, People Watching, Family Style, Scenic View, Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Jay was very informative about the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Chef Jay was very informative about the menu and the food was great.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Cunningham's almost once a week ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We go to Cunningham's almost once a week. It's always a good time and we usually eat in the bar. The service is typically spot-on and friendly. Happy Hour is fun and delicious. There are plenty of wines to choose from, including Cunningham's own Cuvee'. Cocktails are also worth the try.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

we went to Cunningham's for Sunday dinne ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

we went to Cunningham's for Sunday dinner, everything was 20% off, that is a great deal! all the food was excellent, in terms of preparation, fresh ingredients.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to treat my Bridesmaids to a ni ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I wanted to treat my Bridesmaids to a nice dinner all together and celebrate my Wedding Party! It was a wonderful evening, food was good, the setting was romantic and the service was superb!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a great dining experience!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu changes with the seasons with some ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Menu changes with the seasons with some items year round. Waitress explained in detail new items. Bread choices always good, excellent wine list, portion size good, atmosphere great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was was a little more formal than I e ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 14, 2016

It was was a little more formal than I expected or could decipher from the mobile site. I felt a little underdressed, but not a huge problem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've never been disappointed with Cunnin ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I've never been disappointed with Cunningham's and this visit was no exception. My husband and I went for our anniversary and it was fantastic. They went above and beyond to make sure out night was enjoyable. The food was delicious as usual and we enjoyed a great bottle of wine. I recommend this place to anyone looking for an unforgettable meal in an upscale setting.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome, service could have bee ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was awesome, service could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

A great night in Towson, food was wonder ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

A great night in Towson, food was wonderful, preparation and presentation outstanding. Our server Zach, professional and attentive. Another wonderful restaurant from The Bagby Group. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at Cunning hams. Food was exc ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on October 8, 2016

First time at Cunning hams. Food was excellent as well as the appetizers. Will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great waitress! Excellent food

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great waitress! Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful meal with friends at Cun ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Had a wonderful meal with friends at Cunningham's. some of the favorite dishes at the table was the harvest salad, pumpkin soup, shrimp and grits, pork chops, apple crisp and pumpkin cheesecake. Sangria was pretty good and the bartender (was so busy I could not get his name) made a very nice French Pear Martini. Can't wait to go back

My only issue with the night was the slow service. We waited about 15-20 minutes for our drinks. It too way to long for our appetizers to arrive and then the long time between our appetizers and the bringing of our entrees was super long. The only reason we did not really complain was because me and my friends had not seen each other in such a long time that we were too busy catching up to really make a stink about it.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Second visit to Cunningham's. The burrat ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Second visit to Cunningham's. The burrata was well presented and a great blend of flavors. We both had the butcher's steak which was cooked just the way we asked for it. Probably the top spot in Towson to go but not outrageously expensive. Steaks, appetizers, 2 glasses of wine and tip just over $100. Oh and they keep your water glass filled. Kudos for that!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is always very good, wine selection ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Food is always very good, wine selection as well. We will definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.