About Cunningham's

1 Olympic Pl
Towson, MD 21204
View Larger Map

Cunningham’s is a seasonal American grille that blends the modern atmosphere of city dining with the rustic, smoky flavors of the countryside. Using a wood-fired grill and brick oven, we provide guests with dishes created from the freshest seasonal and local ingredients possible. We believe that an excellent dining experience is built on thoughtful, attentive service and sourcing product that are grown and crafted responsibly. Each of these aspects contributes to our mission of providing our guests with an unmatched dining experience. We hope that you will visit us soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
York Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 339-7730

Website:
http://www.cunninghamstowson.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet is available seven days a week in the Olympic Place garage located directly below our restaurant. A conveniently located elevator will bring you upstairs - no walking in the rain or snow here!

Public Transit:
Both the #8 and #48 bus lines stop at the traffic circle at Dulaney Valley and Joppa Roads. Our restaurant is located steps away from the circle.

Executive Chef:
Brian Lavin

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re looking for a small, intimate dinner party or a large, catered reception, the management and service staff at Cunningham’s is happy to assist you in creating the perfect private dining event. From the menu to the table layout, we are happy to work with you to achieve the vision of your event. Our customizable private dining room can hold up to 120 people for a standing cocktail event or 75-100 for a seated event. Cunningham’s is open 7 days a week for events. We are also happy to accommodate breakfast meetings, luncheons, and full or partial restaurant buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Shacochis: (410) 339-7730x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Tue 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cunningham's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Towson ›

Special Occasion (115)
Fit for Foodies (110)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
See All
Romantic (56)
Notable Wine List (53)
Good for Groups (52)
Hot Spot (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Great for Brunch (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Scenic View (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A little hard to find, but for natives o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

A little hard to find, but for natives of Towson, should be no problem with the circle. A little quirky, but nice in regards to parking, (the parking attendant was very nice, polite, and fun), then going up the elevator, then going almost OUT of the building, to go into the restaurant. Very modern and trendy, hostess very nice BUT she gave us relatively lousy seats, and I say that only b/c my back was to the rest of the restaurant, and i didn't get to see how gorgeous and expansive the place was until I got up to leave and got a good look! My meal was pretty outstanding, with the dumplings as apps, and the crabcake for dinner with fried green tomatoes. The slaw was a little too acidic, and the crabcake could have used a little more lump crab in it, but otherwise was very good. I tried my friend's fried oysters, which were pretty good, and his steak was cooked perfectly. We did not have dessert nor drinks, since it was a Sunday and we both had to work. I only gave service a 4 because it was just a bit slower than I like, but otherwise, our waitress was great, as were the guys who brought out our meals. I wish I had a better seat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fun, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Resturant week. Wonderful meal. Great m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Resturant week. Wonderful meal. Great menu. Will be back soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to take advantage of Baltimore C ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went to take advantage of Baltimore County Restaurant Week. We chose food options with the wine pairings - all was delicious and perfect! We had been in twice before and the server recognized us and greeted us with, "Welcome back!" Food was delicious and fresh. We love the Bagby Group and their ethics, and like to patronize their restaurants. We will definitely be back for special events and everyday dining enjoyment!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant serves gourmet food, exc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant serves gourmet food, exceptional breads, entrees and desserts. The menu provides good options for fish or meat lovers and some options as well for vegetarians but it is not unusual to find bacon in salads (not a surprise - appropriately described on menu). I assume the bacon could be eliminated if desired. The ambience is nice although can be a bit noisy. The prices are high as might be expected for the caliber of food. The service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to cunningham's several tim ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to cunningham's several times. Very good experience with hi quality food and great ambiance. Had a nice conversation with the manager Carlos. Excellent hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Terrific happy hour drinks, great dinner ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Terrific happy hour drinks, great dinner and supreme service. It was a festive crowd and great to see this kind of business in the small town of Towson. Who knew? The open dining room is noisy making it hard for conversation for the 3 people at our table. But all in all a terrific dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went during restaurant week this time ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went during restaurant week this time. The food was outstanding, and the portions were perfect. It didn't seem to be anything different from the regular menu except for fewer choices. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. Overall we had a great evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for restaurant week and was very ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went for restaurant week and was very pleased with the food, service and ambiance. We sat by the kitchen and was able to watch the chefs and expeditors work. Top notch crew! I would definitely go back and try other things on the menu! The bar looked to be "the place" for the happy- hour- after- work crowd.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Of the six of us for dinner three of us ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Of the six of us for dinner three of us had meals that were very bland

Coffee was served cold, told the server

assumed it must have been the last of the coffee as we were the last table of the night

pretty sure she nuked it- was OK

Crab dish was mushy- did tell server she was very apologetic, tried to take back meal but the person didn't want her too. The manager did come over to apologize and they took the meal off the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a good dinner with a poor waitres ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had a good dinner with a poor waitress. She was pleasant but hard to find. She said she was bringing rolls and our salads came by someone else who dropped and ran. We thought she would be there shortly with the rolls but she didn't come until we were finished our salads. I tried to catch here eye but it was impossible. Later our water glasses were empty for a while. She apologized often but unfortunately her poor service overshadowed our dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Reliable, consistent, classy dining room ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Reliable, consistent, classy dining room and food choices and quality!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was nice. The check was incor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was nice. The check was incorrect at the end and the waitress got flustered because she couldn't correct it on the credit card on the spot. We have to wait and see if it is resolved in the next week or so. Put a slight damper on the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent restaurant all around. Sophist ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent restaurant all around. Sophisticated decor, lovely, well-dressed staff, creative food beautifully presented.Kudos to the pastry chef for inspired desserts. The risotto under my salmon was to die for, the butchers cut steak is consistently juicy and delicious. The bread is so very good Now my favorite restaurant in Baltimore.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food in a comfortable, buzzy-for-To ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good food in a comfortable, buzzy-for-Towson space. I especially appreciated the grace and speed with which the front of the house accommodated the needs of a 90-year-old in our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant week meal. Server ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful restaurant week meal. Server was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best dining experien ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had! This restaurant has it all. From the bread to the coffee Cunningham's will not disappoint. My date and I selected items off of the largest restaurant week menu I have ever seen. Each course was hot and full of flavor. We ordered the butcher steak and the atlantic bass. Both the steak and bass were well rested and perfectly seasoned. For dessert we had the praline kit kat and the strawberry gateau. The desserts were very impressive and also jam packed with flavor. Although the food was great, the waitstaff was very professional and keen on details that often get overlooked at other restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner and so accommodating. The ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Amazing dinner and so accommodating. The scallops, steak and crab cake were to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent we enjoyed ourselves. We went ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent we enjoyed ourselves. We went for restaurant week. The food was excellent. I will go back again

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was restaurant week, and it was a goo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was restaurant week, and it was a good value. They serve the same sized dishes as on their regular menu - unlike some restaurants during the week, but you basically get the dessert free. with the fixed price for three courses. And the food was very good. Service left something to be desired. Long waits between visits from our server even though it wasn't overly crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We've dined at Cunningham's several time ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We've dined at Cunningham's several times and always have had a great meal.

The bread alone is worth going for!

The food is creative, true farm to table and often comes from their own property.

Their house Cote du Rhone is a great value!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Restaurant week was a special treat. Tha ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Restaurant week was a special treat. Thanks to chef Jay and his staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was overall really good.The coc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was overall really good.The cocktails and bread were great. My fish was perfect. My only quibble was the heirloom tomato salad with burrata. The tomatoes were not very good for the height of tomato season. They seemed very ordinary and not very good. (the burrata was tasty though.) i was expecting great heirloom tomatoes since it was August.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We are always wowed by the food at Cunni ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We are always wowed by the food at Cunningham's, where they are innovative in their farm to table approach. Beautiful wine to complement. Impeccable service. We loved the whole experience and look forward to dining there again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting my daughter in Baltimore. Dinn ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Visiting my daughter in Baltimore. Dinner was wonderful, our waiter was great. It was a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I decided to try somewher ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I decided to try somewhere new for a spontaneous date night...and we are so glad we tried Cunningham's! We drive past this restaurant almost every day and we should have dined here much sooner. The food was amazing, service was outstanding, ambiance spectacular, and overall a lovely place to eat. We'll be back for more!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good but small portions and pricey. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food good but small portions and pricey. Ambiance and service very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This restaurant was a huge disappointmen ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This restaurant was a huge disappointment in every way; the service, cocktails, and food. Our evening was a mess. To be fair, some of the food was good, the oyster appetizer and the dessert were tasty. However, The "crispy" fried chicken was drenched in tasteless gravy that turned the whole dish to mush, the soft crabs were undercooked and fried in tempura, not sautéed as advertised and expected in Maryland. We ordered the pairing menu and our server knew nothing about the food or wine. She came back several times to recheck what we had ordered and she completely screwed up our check, causing my daughter's AmEx to be overcharged.

We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I bought my dad a Cunningham's gift card ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I bought my dad a Cunningham's gift card for Father's Day, and this was the reservation we made. The food was amazing, the service was lovely, and the experience was great. My dad had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My dining companion and I were delighted ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My dining companion and I were delighted with our experience at Cunningham's; we went there to celebrate my birthday. The cold corn soup with popcorn crackles was unusual and delicious. The garden salad with burrata was expertly prepared; the tomatoes were at the perfect ripeness. The fried oysters were the best I've ever had. The rest of our food, veggie entrée, white bass, rich and flavorful mac n cheese and green beans with almonds were all wonderful. The piece de resistance was the Kit Kat Praline bar for dessert; ours was served alongside a mini birthday cupcake! The service was impeccable. Go there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a very good experience as always, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was a very good experience as always, but this time the lamb steak and the shrimps were a bit under cooked for our taste. Usually their shrimp and grits are done perfectly well, and it was our first experience with their steaks, so maybe next time if we order a steak we'll have it medium instead of medium rare. Other then that we've enjoyed our dinner very much and will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall very good we really like Cunning ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall very good we really like Cunninghams. Needed to send back my roasted oyster appetizer for some heat it we like warm. Sea bass was exquisite - crispy chicken was good but boneless would have been better including a thigh for the the price. Praline Kit Kat dessert was exceptional. Service was top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Always a truly delightful experience. Th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a truly delightful experience. This has become our "go to" for a great evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All the food was "off." Bread not tast ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

All the food was "off." Bread not tasty, Spaghetti Squash dish way over seasoned with rosemary, hamburger charred with unpleasant crust. Service was outstanding. Give the misses across the board, it will be a long time before I go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

We were seated and never received menus. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were seated and never received menus. Waiter was very late in coming to the table and providing service. Jazz was playing that evening and it was difficult to hear. lighting so low that when we did receive the menus we could not see them.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was excellent and arrived hot. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was excellent and arrived hot. The wine pairings were very good.

Though the crowd was sparse, the bartender was a bit inattentive.

Once at our table, 5 (!) different people tended to us, which made the service a bit cumbersome. No explanation was given for the constant "hand-off".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The addition of talented young chef Jay ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The addition of talented young chef Jay Rohlfing elevates Cunningham's from good to great. The menu is fresh and fun - something for everyone. A virtual Foodie utopia. We were there on a Monday evening so limited crowd. The service, a questionable aspect of Cunningham's in the past, was very good. A definite do over.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We patronize Cunningham's for many years ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We patronize Cunningham's for many years and it was one of the many enjoyable experiences we've always had. This time we were very impressed with CHILLED CORN SOUP, HEIRLOOM TOMATO & BURRATA (which was even better tasting then we've remembered), The vegetarian special was outstanding and MIXED BERRY COBBLER was the best ending of the meal.

Thank you Cunningham's, we'll definitely be back for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was great! Our waiter Mat ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our experience was great! Our waiter Matt was great! Kept us entertained and was very polite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best crab cakes in town. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

One of the best crab cakes in town. The chilled corn soup was delicious too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasantly surprised. Crab cake was exce ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Crab cake was excellent. Server was not the greatest but this would not prevent me from going back again in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.