About Cunningham's

1 Olympic Pl
Towson, MD 21204
View Larger Map

Cunningham’s is a seasonal American grille that blends the modern atmosphere of city dining with the rustic, smoky flavors of the countryside. Using a wood-fired grill and brick oven, we provide guests with dishes created from the freshest seasonal and local ingredients possible. We believe that an excellent dining experience is built on thoughtful, attentive service and sourcing product that are grown and crafted responsibly. Each of these aspects contributes to our mission of providing our guests with an unmatched dining experience. We hope that you will visit us soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
York Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 339-7730

Website:
http://www.cunninghamstowson.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet is available seven days a week in the Olympic Place garage located directly below our restaurant. A conveniently located elevator will bring you upstairs - no walking in the rain or snow here!

Public Transit:
Both the #8 and #48 bus lines stop at the traffic circle at Dulaney Valley and Joppa Roads. Our restaurant is located steps away from the circle.

Executive Chef:
Brian Lavin

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re looking for a small, intimate dinner party or a large, catered reception, the management and service staff at Cunningham’s is happy to assist you in creating the perfect private dining event. From the menu to the table layout, we are happy to work with you to achieve the vision of your event. Our customizable private dining room can hold up to 120 people for a standing cocktail event or 75-100 for a seated event. Cunningham’s is open 7 days a week for events. We are also happy to accommodate breakfast meetings, luncheons, and full or partial restaurant buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Shacochis: (410) 339-7730x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Tue 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cunningham's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Baltimore Suburbs
Contemporary American
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Towson ›

Special Occasion (90)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
See All
Romantic (53)
Good for Groups (44)
Notable Wine List (30)
Hot Spot (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Healthy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1027 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the neighborhood Sunday night disco ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love the neighborhood Sunday night discount of 20% off entrees and wine! Food and service was all good. Interesting ingredients! YUM!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I had a living social for the tasting me ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had a living social for the tasting menu. That was a good deal and there were plenty of choices on the menu. The fried oysters were very good but the crab cake was not good It was not lump crab meat and it had much too much mayonnaise. The chocolate desert was good. I think that an expensive restaurant should serve the best crab meat.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Second time at Cunninghams for a birthda ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Second time at Cunninghams for a birthday celebration and they didn't disappoint. Food was delicious. Especially liked the seasonal Pumpkin soup appetizer and fried oysters. They use locally sourced vegetables, meat and other items. Birthday person always receives a cute cupcake with lit candle and Happy Birthday written in chocolate on the plate. Can't go wrong for a good Towson neighborhood gem with garage parking and open lot right across the street.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed everything. Our waitress was won ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed everything. Our waitress was wonderful. We will definitely come again and refer our friends and famalies.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent decor. Good space. Very good ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent decor. Good space. Very good breads. Wait staff well trained and management on the alert. I would like to see more variety in the menu for dinner. Only one fish and one vegetarian dish. I am pleased to see Towson getting another restaurant and one with parking is a plus. I will go again.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my third time at Cunningham's. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was my third time at Cunningham's. The first time was just after they opened, with one friend. The second time was with our Gourmet Group (12 people) and the most recent was with family (5 people.) The first time my friend and I were really impressed because we got a free desert and after-dinner drink. The food was good but not exceptional. The same with the second and third times. The second time they had a hard time dealing with the size of our group and didn't get the orders right. Both of these times the wait between courses was long, even though there were not a lot of people in the restaurant. Still, it is a very attractive place, and if you are not in a hurry, the waitstaff are very friendly and the food is good. It was a pleasant experience.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I had the White Bass and my wife had the ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I had the White Bass and my wife had the Ahi Tuna entree. I started with the oysters and she a salad. My wife exclaimed that this was the best Ahi Tuna she had ever had and would always get the same when she returned, unequivocally. The ambiance is upper echelon with 3 large sections for dining you are not on top of one another. The food was not only incredibly delicious and well prepared but the best presentation of food I have seen. What really made it however was the live jazz. I don't know how often they are playing but it is a unique touch. Also very unique is the parking which is complimentary valet in a garage so you're never exposed to the elements. Hint: winter is coming.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband ordered a drink that was in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

My husband ordered a drink that was in their website . 20-30 minutes later the waitress came back to tell him they couldn't make that any more. So then it took another wait for the drinks . Meanwhile there were 2 other tables busy in our area. Ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

just 'meh. nothing else. best part was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

just 'meh. nothing else. best part was the valet - very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was good but our service was very p ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was good but our service was very poor. We had empty drinks on our table several times. She walked by us 3 or 4 times with empty drinks! Not what you expect when you are paying these kind of prices for drinks and food. We were disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Over an hour and a half before dinner ar ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Over an hour and a half before dinner arrived.

Fish was brought out with head and tail after being asked not to.

No manager was sent to the table.

Said come on a day when it is less busy and we would be taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

This was my second time dining at Cunnin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This was my second time dining at Cunningham, and just as before the food was delicious, the service was fantastic and well paced. The overall experience was excellent. I look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to ask to have a/c turned down at le ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Had to ask to have a/c turned down at least 3 times..

Two of us had left overs that the server did not give us on the way out.

Poor service the whole evening, and we had a pretty big bill. (6 people)

I know Cumminham's is better then this!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Food was good, not enough wait staff h ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was good, not enough wait staff help so service was rather slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Cunningham's is very elegant with excell ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Cunningham's is very elegant with excellent food and service. Corn meal encrusted oysters and scallop entree were both outstanding. Their crab cake is a notch lower.

Only complaints on our recent visit were a rather loud jazz band and very cold temperature. It was hot outside but AC was set to refrigerate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service, delicious food, and b ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food, and beautiful ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't be turned off by the entrance to t ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Don't be turned off by the entrance to this restaurant. Once you get past the front door, it is very lovely and the food is amazing. We enjoyed the carne supremo flat bread pizza which was made with farm fresh local ingredients, bronzini which was delicious and the shrimp and grits. Each bite was out of this world. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my parents there for my moms b-day. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Took my parents there for my moms b-day. They loved it and were very impressed. They are tough to impress😉

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met a friend for dinner to catch up afte ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Met a friend for dinner to catch up after being out of touch for a while. Neither of us had been here before. Parking is a bit confusing - valet only in the garage - but apparently you can use the lot across the street also. Decor was fancier than we expected, but comfortable. In the half-filled open dining room the noise level was pretty high and the tables close together, so conversation wasn't easy at first. Service was very attentive and knowledgeable, and the food was delicious. Prices are moderately high. We stayed for a long time and were never pressured to leave. I wouldn't necessarily recommend this restaurant for an intimate dinner, but it is great for foodies, friendly gatherings, special occasions, etc.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service good and the food was good but d ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Service good and the food was good but didn't have much wow factor, steak was cooked correct but had no flavor.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The quality of the meal did not justify ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The quality of the meal did not justify the steep price.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

A little hard to find, but for natives o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A little hard to find, but for natives of Towson, should be no problem with the circle. A little quirky, but nice in regards to parking, (the parking attendant was very nice, polite, and fun), then going up the elevator, then going almost OUT of the building, to go into the restaurant. Very modern and trendy, hostess very nice BUT she gave us relatively lousy seats, and I say that only b/c my back was to the rest of the restaurant, and i didn't get to see how gorgeous and expansive the place was until I got up to leave and got a good look! My meal was pretty outstanding, with the dumplings as apps, and the crabcake for dinner with fried green tomatoes. The slaw was a little too acidic, and the crabcake could have used a little more lump crab in it, but otherwise was very good. I tried my friend's fried oysters, which were pretty good, and his steak was cooked perfectly. We did not have dessert nor drinks, since it was a Sunday and we both had to work. I only gave service a 4 because it was just a bit slower than I like, but otherwise, our waitress was great, as were the guys who brought out our meals. I wish I had a better seat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fun, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Resturant week. Wonderful meal. Great m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Resturant week. Wonderful meal. Great menu. Will be back soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to take advantage of Baltimore C ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went to take advantage of Baltimore County Restaurant Week. We chose food options with the wine pairings - all was delicious and perfect! We had been in twice before and the server recognized us and greeted us with, "Welcome back!" Food was delicious and fresh. We love the Bagby Group and their ethics, and like to patronize their restaurants. We will definitely be back for special events and everyday dining enjoyment!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant serves gourmet food, exc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This restaurant serves gourmet food, exceptional breads, entrees and desserts. The menu provides good options for fish or meat lovers and some options as well for vegetarians but it is not unusual to find bacon in salads (not a surprise - appropriately described on menu). I assume the bacon could be eliminated if desired. The ambience is nice although can be a bit noisy. The prices are high as might be expected for the caliber of food. The service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to cunningham's several tim ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have been to cunningham's several times. Very good experience with hi quality food and great ambiance. Had a nice conversation with the manager Carlos. Excellent hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Terrific happy hour drinks, great dinner ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Terrific happy hour drinks, great dinner and supreme service. It was a festive crowd and great to see this kind of business in the small town of Towson. Who knew? The open dining room is noisy making it hard for conversation for the 3 people at our table. But all in all a terrific dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went during restaurant week this time ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went during restaurant week this time. The food was outstanding, and the portions were perfect. It didn't seem to be anything different from the regular menu except for fewer choices. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. Overall we had a great evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for restaurant week and was very ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went for restaurant week and was very pleased with the food, service and ambiance. We sat by the kitchen and was able to watch the chefs and expeditors work. Top notch crew! I would definitely go back and try other things on the menu! The bar looked to be "the place" for the happy- hour- after- work crowd.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Of the six of us for dinner three of us ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Of the six of us for dinner three of us had meals that were very bland

Coffee was served cold, told the server

assumed it must have been the last of the coffee as we were the last table of the night

pretty sure she nuked it- was OK

Crab dish was mushy- did tell server she was very apologetic, tried to take back meal but the person didn't want her too. The manager did come over to apologize and they took the meal off the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a good dinner with a poor waitres ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had a good dinner with a poor waitress. She was pleasant but hard to find. She said she was bringing rolls and our salads came by someone else who dropped and ran. We thought she would be there shortly with the rolls but she didn't come until we were finished our salads. I tried to catch here eye but it was impossible. Later our water glasses were empty for a while. She apologized often but unfortunately her poor service overshadowed our dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Reliable, consistent, classy dining room ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Reliable, consistent, classy dining room and food choices and quality!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was nice. The check was incor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was nice. The check was incorrect at the end and the waitress got flustered because she couldn't correct it on the credit card on the spot. We have to wait and see if it is resolved in the next week or so. Put a slight damper on the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent restaurant all around. Sophist ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent restaurant all around. Sophisticated decor, lovely, well-dressed staff, creative food beautifully presented.Kudos to the pastry chef for inspired desserts. The risotto under my salmon was to die for, the butchers cut steak is consistently juicy and delicious. The bread is so very good Now my favorite restaurant in Baltimore.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food in a comfortable, buzzy-for-To ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good food in a comfortable, buzzy-for-Towson space. I especially appreciated the grace and speed with which the front of the house accommodated the needs of a 90-year-old in our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant week meal. Server ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful restaurant week meal. Server was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food is always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best dining experien ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had! This restaurant has it all. From the bread to the coffee Cunningham's will not disappoint. My date and I selected items off of the largest restaurant week menu I have ever seen. Each course was hot and full of flavor. We ordered the butcher steak and the atlantic bass. Both the steak and bass were well rested and perfectly seasoned. For dessert we had the praline kit kat and the strawberry gateau. The desserts were very impressive and also jam packed with flavor. Although the food was great, the waitstaff was very professional and keen on details that often get overlooked at other restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner and so accommodating. The ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Amazing dinner and so accommodating. The scallops, steak and crab cake were to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent we enjoyed ourselves. We went ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent we enjoyed ourselves. We went for restaurant week. The food was excellent. I will go back again

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.