About Cunningham's

1 Olympic Pl
Towson, MD 21204
View Larger Map

Cunningham’s is a seasonal American grille that blends the modern atmosphere of city dining with the rustic, smoky flavors of the countryside. Using a wood-fired grill and brick oven, we provide guests with dishes created from the freshest seasonal and local ingredients possible. We believe that an excellent dining experience is built on thoughtful, attentive service and sourcing product that are grown and crafted responsibly. Each of these aspects contributes to our mission of providing our guests with an unmatched dining experience. We hope that you will visit us soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
York Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 339-7730

Website:
http://www.cunninghamstowson.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet is available seven days a week in the Olympic Place garage located directly below our restaurant. A conveniently located elevator will bring you upstairs - no walking in the rain or snow here!

Public Transit:
Both the #8 and #48 bus lines stop at the traffic circle at Dulaney Valley and Joppa Roads. Our restaurant is located steps away from the circle.

Executive Chef:
Brian Lavin

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re looking for a small, intimate dinner party or a large, catered reception, the management and service staff at Cunningham’s is happy to assist you in creating the perfect private dining event. From the menu to the table layout, we are happy to work with you to achieve the vision of your event. Our customizable private dining room can hold up to 120 people for a standing cocktail event or 75-100 for a seated event. Cunningham’s is open 7 days a week for events. We are also happy to accommodate breakfast meetings, luncheons, and full or partial restaurant buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Shacochis: (410) 339-7730x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Tue 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cunningham's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Towson ›

fit for foodies (130)
special occasion (124)
neighborhood gem (85)
See All
notable wine list (70)
good for groups (61)
romantic (51)
hot spot (48)
vibrant bar scene (43)
great for outdoor dining (33)
great for lunch (21)
great for brunch (21)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (13)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
960 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I decided to try Cunningh ...

Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I decided to try Cunningham's and were pleased with the service and thoroughly enjoyed each dish we ordered. The decor and atmosphere were very pleasant and the acoustics were so that you could enjoy your conversation with your company without interference.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Cunningham's is fun, food is good, servi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Cunningham's is fun, food is good, service is great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cunningham's is one of my favorite place ...

Dined 6 days ago

Cunningham's is one of my favorite places to eat. They combine fresh, local and seasonal ingredients with a creative flare to create a menu that keeps me coming back. They have some great staples and rotating seasonal dishes as well as specials and a solid Happy Hour. Their cocktails are fun and different and there is something for every taste. The service is always on point.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Compared to another fine dining restaura ...

Dined 6 days ago

Compared to another fine dining restaurant in Baltimore County that I ate at recently,Cunnningham's portion size,price points,and ambience were slightly better,and everything else was the same,so if I had to choose,I'd go with Cumningham's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Got lucky. 3 piece jazz ensemble plays ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Got lucky. 3 piece jazz ensemble plays every other Thursday. It was great background music.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food and a beautiful dining ro ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Delicious food and a beautiful dining room . Very good service as well. Next time will want to eat outside on the great deck

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have been to Cunningham's ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

My wife and I have been to Cunningham's several times now, and each time has proven to be a wonderful experience. We don't go often because the price tag is high, but it is always a lovely time. The servers are attentive, the food is outstanding, and the atmosphere is nice and also intimate.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After hearing about the restaurant for a ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

After hearing about the restaurant for a while, and seeing it on many best of Baltimore lists, we finally went for our anniversary dinner. And now I can't wait to go back! Delicious food, fantastic service, great setting, totally lived up to the hype!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Went to Cunningham's to celebrate Father ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Went to Cunningham's to celebrate Father's Day. The food was excellent from appetizers to desserts. Our server was knowledgeable and helpful. Didn't try any wine or cocktails but both menus seemed thorough. Food service was slightly off timing wise as one of our dinner sides came well after the entrees. I will definitely be returning.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Cunningham's for Father's Day ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Cunningham's for Father's Day brunch. The basket of pastries was delicious, and we only had small samples so that we wouldn't be too full for the rest of the meal. Our first courses were shrimp cocktail and pea salad, both unusual preparations. Our server explained ahead of time that the shrimp cocktail would "look different" which indeed it did. For main courses we had the eggs benedict with crab and the shrimp and grits. We agreed that the shrimp and grits were far superior to the eggs benedict which were fine but just rather bland. The shrimp in both the appetizer and main course were somewhat overcooked. However, the meal overall was enjoyable, even if not quite as good as previous visits, and provided a pleasant Father's Day excursion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had a bad experience here and ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I've never had a bad experience here and the food is always amazing. I try something different every time and I'm always impressed. The service is excellent as well, and the atmosphere is elegant yet relaxed. Definitely worth a try if you've been considering it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scrumptious bread, delicious food. Nice ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Scrumptious bread, delicious food. Nice atmosphere, great service.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our first time we came to Cunni ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This was our first time we came to Cunninham's and the dinner was great. the service was very good and the food was superb. The wine selections also were great. I am sure we will come back again with our friends and family.We also met the Manager who was very attentive and cordial making our dinner night very amicable .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4

Please bring back the old salmon salad!! ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Please bring back the old salmon salad!!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This has become a regular "go to" for us ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This has become a regular "go to" for us with constantly excellent food!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We loved this restaurant! The food was ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We loved this restaurant! The food was outstanding, fresh and beautifully prepared. We can't wait to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service from Matt, who was fri ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent service from Matt, who was friendly and attentive. Food was excellent! This was our first time, but definitely will not be the last. The fried oyster appetizers were superb and the brown butter popcorn was a nice little surprise. Nice quiet ambiance and will try dining outdoors next time when it is not too hot. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I've been going to Fleet Street Kitchen ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

I've been going to Fleet Street Kitchen and Bagby Pizza for years since I live in Baltimore City. My Mom lives in Towson and loves Cunningham's. We had a great meal outside on the terrace. It was a Friday night so we could hear the music from the festival nearby but it wasn't so loud as to disrupt our evening. We shared a charcuterie platter that was very generous for the price featuring at least two cheeses and four kinds of meat. All were very tasty. We planned on being more adventurous but the duck special (sous vide with risotto and butternut squash and finished with chimmichurri) sounded too good to pass up so we each ordered that. It did not disappoint. Perfectly cooked with crispy skin. Yet again, very good sized portion - more than a place of this caliber and style has to give to justify the price. Dessert was phenomenal. I had a trio of sorbets (lemon-thyme, pineapple-jalepeno, and pear-mint). My Mom had the trio of ice creams (toasted coconut, tchao chocolate, and vanilla). They were all delicious. This wasn't my first time to Cunningham's but it is my first time writing a review. I have to say the one disappointment on every visit (and my mother confirmed) is service is always slow. Everyone is very friendly and nothing is ever overlooked or forgotten, but it is slow. This is disappointing because Cunningham's food and ambiance can hold its own against any restaurant in Baltimore. With that said, even knowing what we know about the service, we continue to return and recommend to friends because it is that good. Outdoor dining at Cunningham's is a must, but the inside dining rooms are beautiful too. The drink list is very impressive (I love unusual cocktails and they make some mean ones). The price tag is fair for the quality and quantity of food you receive but if you're intimidated by it, there is a lounge outside where I'm sure it would be fun to go and relax and maybe order an appetizer and drink and still make it a special day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our "Go To" Restaurant

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Cunningham's has become our "Go To" restaurant in the Towson area. The food and service are always solid. The drinks are flavorful and the outdoor dining space is large and comfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience; the food an ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent dining experience; the food and the service both excellent. Our second visit and we look forward to returning

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal and great experience

Dined on June 3, 2016

It was not our first time at Cunningham's. we spent our anniversary there last year too. this year we decided to go back. Once again we were not disappointed. Tomasina, our server, was great and made us feel as if were the only people in the restaurant. The new manager was equally as gracious. The food is great - especially the Bronzini. While I'm sure we will be back there soon, I know that we will spend our anniversary there next year too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cunningham's

Dined on June 2, 2016

Restaurant very nice but difficult to find if you are not familiar with the Towson area. Valet parking is available but that information needs to be on the website since people are always concerned about parking in Towson.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 31, 2016

This meal couldn't have been better. The food was some of the best I have ever had. Oysters in a cornmeal crust, crunchy on the outside and perfectly juicy. Served on a bed of arugula with tiny bacon bits strewn about. Shrimp with grits was another incredible winner. Creamy, cheesy grits dressed with a bit of steamed baby greens surrounded by six enormous shrimp. I've eaten Charleston and the food was outstanding, but had to stop on the way home to get something to eat. Here the food is not only outstanding delicious, but substantial and I'm a bit eater. Service was perfect, attentive without being obsequious. I'm looking forward to my next meal there!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We loved everything about our food. Drin ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We loved everything about our food. Drinks to Dessert. We loved the look and feel of Cunningham's. We have only ever had been to the coffee shop before but it was our Anniversary. The only draw back was our Server. I felt like we were intruding on her life. Took for ever for her to acknowledge us. We had to ask to order drinks and dessert. It was like she was anxious to have us leave when the place wasn't busy. I realize what a server makes so we tipped 15%, but for great service we happily go 20-25%. We will definitely go back but will avoid her section. Don't know her name, she never introduced herself.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was excellent. My two guests a ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was excellent. My two guests and I were pleased with the fried oysters, salads and our entrees. The service was uneven and the seemed to significantly lag at points. It was also loud for a Wednesday.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting and varied menu. Everything ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Interesting and varied menu. Everything we had was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all loved our experience at Cunningha ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We all loved our experience at Cunninghams.Our waiter was fantastic and the whole staff couldn't have been nicer. Look forward to returning for another fun night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very friendly atmosphere. Excellent service.

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was excellent. The manager was attentive and explain the Cunningham farm and the restaurant. Our server was busy but took time to explain the source of our food. The martini drink that he recommended to my husband exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded expectations

Dined on May 19, 2016

We didn't expect much considering the location, but Cunningham's proved shockingly good. All the courses and dishes were uniformly well thought out and flawlessly prepared--outstripping some other Baltimore area restaurants that pride themselves on similar specialties. The service was attentive but unobtrusive, and the atmosphere relaxed but not at all loud. The food took center stage, appropriately.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was fantastic. The service was ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was fantastic. The service was excellent. That said, we had 5:00 reservations, were the first to arrive and were seated by the exit to the rest rooms. Had we known this when we were seated we would have requested another table but this was our first visit. I had the cream of crab soup which had generous chunks of lump crab and was garnished with the same. The chef was also a little too generous with the Old Bay for my taste but that's my taste. I also had the filet mignon which was melt in your mouth tender, cooked medium-rare to perfection and arrived hot. The sides and mushroom sauce complemented the entree without dominating it. My dining partner had the wedge salad whose lettuce could have been colder and crisper. The heirloom tomatoes were sweet and fresh. He also had the crab cakes which were good but not up to the highest local standards. The experience was a gift to us and a bit beyond our normal budget but we would recommend it for special occasions or for visitors looking for a local unchained restaurant

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on May 16, 2016

This was our first experience with Cunninghams and it did not disappoint. The food was wonderful and It was presented beautifully without heavy sauces or overly spiced. The waiter was very attentive and was quite knowledgable when describing the various entrees. We look forward to returning to this venue.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome as usual! Our server w ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was awesome as usual! Our server was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Cream crab soup was delicious, nice wine ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Cream crab soup was delicious, nice wine selection, fun mixed drinks. I really enjoyed the veggie flat bread. We ventured outside with our bottle of wine after dinner and then into the bar. Very nice night!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We decided to try Cunningham's with some ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We decided to try Cunningham's with some friends last Friday. First of all, get their Cotes du Rhone: it is a complex wine for a good price. The pork belly and shrimp dumpling are enjoyable, but the shrimp flavor got a bit lost and was overpowered by the pork belly. The pan seared halibut was very well prepared and seasoned and the harvest vegetable flatbread was very good too (perfectly cooked in the wood oven with a crunchy crust!). The sorbets came in 3 different flavor and the vanilla pear was probably the favorite among us all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our visit to Cunninghams was well worth ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our visit to Cunninghams was well worth the trip from Ellicott City. Our drinks, appetizers and meals were fabulous . Our server was right on que satisfying our every request. I can't wait to return for another dining experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, Great Bread

Dined on May 12, 2016

I pleasant setting, well presented food. the cassoulet was little dry but all other dishes, scallops, whole fish and bouillabaisse all excellent. A highlight was the bread, totally excellent, wonderful crumb, great crust and flavor. Co-equal to the bread was the service -attentive but not intrusive. A definite place to visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant! I went there for ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I love this restaurant! I went there for my birthday and they made it so special! The food was great, our server was wonderful, and the decor is stunning! Definitely one of my favorites.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, slow service.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food, diverse palate. Service is simply far too slow.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

SUPER !

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was extraordinarily good food at very reasonable prices. A great menu. Very attractive setting, vibrant, a bit noisy. Very good cocktail and wine list. We were delighted !

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and sons took me here for Mother's Day. The food was excellent - we shared four appetizers (all were great) I had the duck breast (delicious), my husband had the BBQ rib (very tasty, but small portion), and one son had the pasta (very good, but again small portion), and the best meal of the night was the grilled jumbo shrimp on a bed of grits. Wine choices were good. The only (small) complaint is that I wish they would change the menu monthly. There are only a few choices that I like and when the menu is static, it prevents me from going back. Also, we arrived before 5pm (around 4:40), and were not able to be seated, which is fine, but we were made to feel uncomfortable about it. We went outside and sat there until 5. Their coffee is also excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.