Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Culinary Dropout Waterfront

Melt into the comfortable chairs at Culinary Dropout where craft beer, games, and live music await. Treat yourself to amped-up appetizers like our Soft Pretzels sprinkled in sea salt and served with a provolone fondue and crowd favorites like our 36-hour pork ribs, or just enjoy the mood with an ice-cold local beer or signature craft cocktail.

7135 E Camelback Rd, Ste 125
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thur: 11am-11pm
Fri + Sat: 11am-Midnight
Sun: 11am-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-1700

Website:
http://www.culinarydropout.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Ray Suto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Culinary Dropout Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (59)
Fun (53)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Hot Spot (45)
Modern Decor (42)
Comfort Food (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
People Watching (34)
Happy Hour (32)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Live Music (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Late-night Find (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Great Beer (18)
Cozy (14)
Quick Bite (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Family Style (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Waterfront (12)
Romantic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Live Sports (11)
Scenic View (9)
Authentic (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Tapas (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Local Ingredients (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fireplace (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (1)
Dancing (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
545 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 13 hours ago

Best chicken tortilla soup we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing food. Fun atmosphere. Good service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Visited this restaurant with friends while in vacation with friends in Scottsdale. Parking was easy in adjoining garage. We were seated on the patio which was much quieter than the inside. Each one in our party of 4 ordered a different entree & each was wonderful. I had the fish & chips & the fish was moist & tasty inside the crispy shell. The service was attentive & quick. My friends highly recommend the banana cream pie! Next time in Scottsdale, we will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

A great all around restaurant. Comfortable, great food and an amazing staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 18, 2017

4 of us enjoyed a later-night dinner earlier this week. Lots of energy in the place which made for a festive and fun atmosphere. Drinks and food was wonderful---we left very satisfied and will definitely return again and again.

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and atmosphere but service was a little slow this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Read the other reviews before going here. Just one thing to say: if the music is too loud, you're too old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought my wife and some of her family to celebrate her birthday. The food was on point! From the fried chicken to the steak and the ribs or even the pork nachos, it was all amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

was great food and the restaurant is so cute and comfortable. aervice from Cooper excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Whoever heard of a restaurant where they bring your entree a minute after the appetizers? They just wanted to fling food out of the kitchen without any concern about the diners experience. Silly scene to boot. May be its the happening place for Arizona, but stuff like that would never fly in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had a great lunch, with 9 of us all choosing something different and delicious. The deco was eclectic and friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fun (loud) live music. Wide variety on the menu so everyone can something.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Late-night Find, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great music and interesting food!
Loved creating our own antipasto plate! A little too loud for us "retirees" to hear each other as there were a lot of larger groups on a Saturday night!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food and service were very good. Jaimie, our waitress, was so helpful and friendly.
Our Open Table reservation was not validated when we came in, so I needed to respond that we truly were there, but it was taken care of quickly.

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Service was average nachos were terrible. Fun atmosphere. Might give it another try because they were nice.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Cool place. Good food. Fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Awesome food. Great atmosphere. The price was next to nothing and the food was of high quality. We enjoyed every minute of our night there

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Busy Friday night so we were seated a little late but it's all good. Food and service were very good. Great variety on food and drink menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I've always wanted to try this place and I finally did. It didn't disappoint. We sat outside with the misters on a hot day. The place was super noisy, made even worse when a live band started over the piped in music on top of the very noisy crowd. However a swig or two of the trendy cocktails made the noise level more tolerable. Service by a nose-ringed young lady was amateurish but again the cocktails helped. Enjoy the garlic grissini and the fried chicken.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Love this place, especially for the pretzels and cheese dip -- the best! It is a bit loud if you are inside -- more the volume of the music than acoustics. Definitely will continue to dine there, but mostly on the patio if possible.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Brittany (I believe) was a great waitress. It was my wife's birthday and she got a fantastic dessert. We had a big breakfast so we didn't eat too much - just getting a couple appetizers. The pretzel bites and pork belly nachos were fantastic! My wife also forgot her bag and they met outside with our Uber to hand it off. Great place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was very tasty. Lots of young people enjoying themselves. Band was really good and not over powering. Reservations @ 8:15p, but waited an extra 15+ minutes to be seated. Overall, look forward to returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Really enjoyed the visit to this restaurant - great atmosphere to chill out with a drink and people watch. Really great spot for Scottsdale visitors to get a feel for the vibe of this fun city! Oh and the food was as advertised- decent menu filled with comfort food favorites - pretzels awesome! Service was a tad over the top but didn't seem to make us feel rushed - very attentive. I'll definately be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Traveling from Chicago to Scottsdale for the weekend. Can't say enough about how great the service exceeded my expectations! Food was awesome ! However if you are wanting to have a conversation with anyone this is not the place? My reservation was for 7PM .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had dinner here as part of a girls' weekend. The food was great and the service was even better. A little on the expensive side, particularly for drinks, but highly recommended!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My daughter and I had a great outdoor dinner on our last evening in Scottsdale at Culinary Dropout. My only complaint is that we had a reservations and still had to wait about 15 minutes for a table. Other than that, the food, music, service were all great.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Even though reservation, took several minutes to get in. But it was worth the wait. Good, different menu choices but also regular ones too. Loud but Great band playing too. Enjoyable night.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Tapas, Good for a Date, Live Music, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This was a nice find on our vacation. My wife, 12 yr old daughter and I had great meals. The trout was excellent and my daughter loved the fried chicken. They were able to accommodate a gluten-free restriction without a reduction in quality. Minor issue would be the noise level inside- some very bouncy acoustics. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 18, 2017

5 friends chose this restaurant for dinner on Wednesday evening. Our table was in a nice location and we were greeted nicely by the front desk and our server. From there we were pretty much neglected . We were never offered water and our drinks were delivered after a great length of time and not together! Every part of our service was exceptionally slow and we finally had to ask another waiter to have our waiter come over. The second waiter was more helpful but the overall experience was wanting and we will likely not return. There are too many other good restaurants in the area to put up with this . Sorry....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This place is one of the FOX family of restaurants and this one like the other doesn't disappoint. The food there is amazing, especially the pretzel bread/cheese dip and the Monkey Bread dessert. The location is great with outdoor seating and outdoor bar. We have been there twice now and the food and service has been consistent. We will be going back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I am someone who has been in the industry for a long time and knows food and beverage very well. Your food and wine are above average but then again, what really is average these days? Lovely food is mandatory to survive in this area and most items I've had are fantastic. The beer selection actually left a bit to be desired however.
For me though, ambience and service can trump even F&B that has (very) minor holes. The open layout of the floor and kitchen make for a remarkable experience. Parlay that with the exemplary service we received from Kyle that night, it was a great experience. Poor layout makes for an uncomfortable experience and bad service can rarely be made up for - knocked it out of the park on both counts.
Thanks and see you soon.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great - we love the appetizers & happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Loved all of the good food options and had exceptional service. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed the food and decorating ambiance at Culinary Dropout, but unfortunately, we couldn't wait to leave, as the music noise level was so high, we couldn't talk across the table. When we politely asked our food server if it could be turned down in our area or could we be moved somewhere quieter, we were told that there was only one volume control, which was on the patio. If they turned that down, then the patio people wouldn't be able to hear the music. If I go there again, it will only be at lunch, as I didn't notice the music volume during the lunch hour. Otherwise, I will avoid Culinary Dropout, which is unfortunate, as the rest of the experience was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Apps and burgers were amazing. DJ music was energetic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had requested a patio table when reservation was made. When we arrived, none were available. Seated inside where the music was way too loud. Host asked manager to turn down, which he did, but still too loud to carry on a conversation with friends we hadn't seen in months. Luckily a table opened up outside and we moved. It was very pleasant. Service was very good and everyone enjoyed their entree.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I wanted to update my review to say that I was very impressed to be contacted by a manager who read my review below. She apologized for the slow service and our less than excellent experience and had made arrangements with the chef to make some menu changes. She offered to make things right next time we came in. This attention to detail is praiseworthy and a sign that this establishment cares for their customer's experience!!!

We celebrated my son's 19th birthday here on a weeknight, per his request. The place was noisy, but with an upbeat attitude! Decor was well done, with comfortable seating. We were seated right away having made reservations. The menu seemed surprisingly limited in the offerings. Bar drinks came fairly quickly but it was hard to toast to my son's birthday since he waited 10 minutes for his soft drink! We then waited another 15 minutes to order food. The waiter seemed put out and a little snippy that we asked the very helpful server who he was orienting, to take our order. We then waited quite awhile for our food. The salad was good, the turkey pastrami and steak were "okay" and the cannelloni was was tough and tasted pasty. We then WAITED so long for the S'Mores dessert, that we stated that we really didn't want it anymore. It then magically appeared, and we weren't charged for it, which was appreciated. This place gets great reviews, and seems very busy. However, we found the service slow and the taste of the food mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 11, 2017

love this place, come here almost every monday! such great food and up beat environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Love this unique restaurant! The menu is so original and everything from the appetizers to desert was original and very yummy! Even the drinks were excellent. Atmosphere and location were excellent also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food is amazing! We had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.