About Culinary Dropout Waterfront

7135 E Camelback Rd, Ste 125
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Culinary Dropout, our little gastropub "rebel child" breaks all the rules with its uniform-free staff and relaxed, soulful ambiance.

You'll find amped-up pub-type appetizers, salads, sandwiches and entrees, along with a unique Antipasti Menu showcasing delicious and hard-to-find meats, cheeses and vegetables.

Rustic wood flooring and worn, overstuffed leather benches compliment deep purple and green chandeliers and patterned velvet chairs. Melt into the comfortable setting at the Scottsdale Waterfront and enjoy our outdoor patio and live music performed a few nights each week on our mini stage. Culinary Dropout is also a day-drinking and late-night destination with two-thirds of the menu dedicated to beer, wine and some pretty interesting cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thur: 11am-11pm
Fri + Sat: 11am-Midnight
Sun: 11am-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-1700

Website:
http://www.culinarydropout.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Ray Suto

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront

Culinary Dropout Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (65)
Hot Spot (53)
Fit for Foodies (48)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
Great for Lunch (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Special Occasion (26)
Late-night Find (16)
Great for Brunch (11)
Scenic View (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sort By:
Newest
317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had dinner here for a girls night out/bi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

Had dinner here for a girls night out/birthday celebration. Our party of 6 was promptly seated even though we were very early for our reservation. The round table was perfect for our group however the band and music was too loud at times to enjoy conversation. Overall a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Saw Dylan Gardner there Saturday night. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

Saw Dylan Gardner there Saturday night. Great entertainment! Ribs came out to salty and to our surprise, the kitchen actually tasted them and agreed! That's customer service! Prepared new meal for us with no attitude.

We would go back just to see Dylan Gardner!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Comfort Food! I always order the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great Comfort Food!

I always order the fried chicken - which is excellent. I decided to order a salad and was not disappointed. Very good and huge portion. Service was very good and

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table hadn't been cleaned well and I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our table hadn't been cleaned well and I had to wipe off a bunch of crumbs after we were seated. The pretzel app came without the tea light and the cheese cooled quickly. Food was okay, but I was expecting it to be better based on reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went here for my girlfriend's birthday d ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went here for my girlfriend's birthday dinner with some friends and it was a great time! The drinks were good and our server was always quick to ask if we needed anything. The pretzels and fondue were beyond amazing. Definitely going to come back to this location!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice but too noisy for me. xxxxxxxxxxxx ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice but too noisy for me. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had reservations and we were promptly ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had reservations and we were promptly seated. Our server gave us quick service. She was attentive the whole time we were there. Good food and a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is visually appealing. T ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The restaurant is visually appealing. There was much thought given to the finishes and seating. The food is delicious. They offer a creative mix of comfort foods for every palette. Service is provided by the team so you are not waiting for your server to show back up. Very good training and delivery of service.

My only feedback would be to better control the noise level in the restaurant. The noise level is so high you need to elevate your voice to an uncomfortable level just to communicate with your dining partner .

If you have dined at other Fox Concept restaurants this will not come as a surprise. Great good and service. Just know you will just be eating and not talking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding service and food. Music play ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Music played too loudly, making it difficult to even speak to the person sitting next to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Service was very, very good...unfortunat ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was very, very good...unfortunately the food was just okay (except for the pretzel rolls) and ignore trying to get a reservation because it won't help you. We made a reservation a day in advance through Open Table and there were plenty of availability, but when we arrived the "hostess" who couldn't have been more than 16 told us it would be awhile. After 15 minutes we asked what was going on and they asked if we had "checked in" then they told us they would get to us. After another 10 minutes and ready to leave, I gave the MySpace hostess a death glare and then finally we were seated in the bar not a table (40 minutes after our reserved time!) Like Jerry says "You know how to take a reservation you just don't know how to hold the reservation!"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

No point in making reservations, as our ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

No point in making reservations, as our reservation wasn't honored. We waited as long as if we just walked in without a reservation. Finally seated, and it was outside, didn't want to sit outside, but tired of waiting, so we did. Sorry we just didn't leave as it was very hot and all the mist system did was wet our clothes and the table and seating. Music VERY loud, like a club, however, this was a restaurant, not a night club. Food was average at best. All in all a terrible experience. This restaurant is all HYPE without any substance. Will never return, and will make sure to dissuade anyone who may consider going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Really enjoyed the food and the service. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and the service. Staff was great and food was hot and fresh. My only complaint was they had all the doors opened and it was extremely hot inside because of it. When I dine in AZ and it is 110 outside please close the doors and let the AC flow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Our server was extra special. I wish I h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server was extra special. I wish I had remembered her name. She was very patient with us. She kept our ice teas coming, and when our party unexpectedly got larger by 3 people, she happily brought over the next table to seat us together. I have been to this location now 4 times, and the food is awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best burger I have had in Arizona!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best burger I have had in Arizona!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, service good, was a littl ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good, service good, was a little hard to hear and was a little warm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I have dined at the Culinary Dropout se ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I have dined at the Culinary Dropout several times. I usual order the mussels which are fantastic an I highly recommend. My grandson loves the burgers and the ribs. Weekends I have enjoyed live music.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoy the food there and the s ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We really enjoy the food there and the staff always seems so happy and friendly which is nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great price points. Great se ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food. Great price points. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a fun spot for diners visiting t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is a fun spot for diners visiting the Scottsdale shopping and dining scene. The menu offers some interesting options for those willing to venture out a bit.

My friend and I split the soft pretzels and dip, and they are served warm and are delicious. We had to stop ourselves from over indulging on the pretzels so that we could enjoy our entrees. Still, there were several pretzels and lots of dip to take home.

I ordered the sweet corn cannelloni, and it was outstanding. I believe the pasta must be made fresh because it was exceptional. The sweet corn filling was in a cream sauce and was also very good. All topped with fresh sautéed tomatoes and more sweet corn. I would order this again in a heartbeat.

My friend ordered the soup of the day, and I honestly can't remember what it was. I think it had green chilies and pork. Whatever it was, she ate every bite and declared it excellent.

The service is very friendly and servers genuinely seem to be interested in your enjoyment of the food and drinks. Having said that, service was pretty laid back, and we had to ask for our drinks a couple of times.

Good value in my opinion. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food. Great service! Very loud insi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good food. Great service! Very loud inside, was difficult to have conversations and even hear the waiter at times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and amazing service. They hav ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and amazing service. They have awesome chefs there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a noisy restaurant. The waitress ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is a noisy restaurant. The waitresses seemed to forgotten their pants and shirts. The food was so-so. I will not eat here again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

After business meeting meal with a party ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

After business meeting meal with a party of 14. Casual ambiance. No live music our night. Noise level high. Difficult to hear past those across from you or next to you. All enjoyed their meal and apps. I had the Pub Burger----Best burger I've had in a decade. I ordered Medium.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We really enjoyed eating at Culinary Dro ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We really enjoyed eating at Culinary Dropout. The fondue pretzels were particularly enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had great service and the food & drin ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We had great service and the food & drinks were really, really, good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Culinary Dropout is one of my favorite p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Culinary Dropout is one of my favorite places for the lunch, I love the deviled eggs and the beets as snacks to start. The little bits of prosciutto on top of the eggs is perfect. I usually order the kale salad with chicken but this time I tried something new. I ordered the sweet corn cannelloni, which is more like big raviolis - it was good but the filling was a little runny. I did like the fresh corn on top though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy . We were seated in the bar in ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Too noisy . We were seated in the bar instead of the dining room . We really wanted the dining room . It as so noisy we almost had to yell to hear each other .

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food. Awesome atmosphere. A fun op ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food. Awesome atmosphere. A fun option to get together with friends and enjoy some good food and drinks. Live music adds an extra flavor too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and wondering staff!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and wondering staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. Our waiter w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent service and food. Our waiter was very attentive to our needs and made sure we were taken care of. Highly recommend the pretzel and cheese dip.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was knowledgable about gluten fre ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Server was knowledgable about gluten free items. My kids didn't like being sat in the bar bc the lighting was too dim to see their food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The ambiance at this restaurant was grea ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The ambiance at this restaurant was great! Food was wonderful and my craft cocktail was superb. To top it off, the service was impeccable. Great dining experience, not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Inside was too noisy to hear oneself, bu ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Inside was too noisy to hear oneself, but out on the patio (even with temps above 100) was pleasant and comfortable. Food was very good - will return once temps drop so can really enjoy the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun atmosphere and friendly staff. Food ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fun atmosphere and friendly staff. Food was great and reasonably priced. Great selection of beers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had such high hopes... Especially sin ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I had such high hopes... Especially since I am a Fox Restaurant Concepts fan. The menu is a little on the small side and unfortunately the food didn't wow us. It wasn't bad, but it was just okay. Our server was really nice and attentive but pretty slow, even though they weren't that busy when we first arrived. I hate to say it, but I wouldn't recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

great food but noise level is loud, it w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

great food but noise level is loud, it was very hard to hear across the table

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service! I'll be b ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outstanding food and service! I'll be back and will be happy to recommend to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a friend visiting from out of stat ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I had a friend visiting from out of state and I took her to Culinary Dropout. We loved it! The atmosphere was lively and fun. The menu was an interesting assortment of small plates, appetizers, sandwiches and salads, up to more substantial entrees. We loved the mix and match cheese/salami/cold plate option. The waiter was funny and patient. The hostesses were also friendly regarding our slightly late arrival.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A very nice restaurant, attentive server ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A very nice restaurant, attentive servers and pleasant atmosphere. Big comfortable couches to sit on in bar and restaurant. Food was good, prices were good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

This is just an OK restaurant. It's got ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is just an OK restaurant. It's got a great scene with lots of trendy people, but the food is standard and nothing special.

It's very very close to a franchise restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.