About Culinary Dropout Waterfront

7135 E Camelback Rd, Ste 125
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Melt into the comfortable chairs at Culinary Dropout where craft beer, games, and live music await. Treat yourself to amped-up appetizers like our Soft Pretzels sprinkled in sea salt and served with a provolone fondue and crowd favorites like our 36-hour pork ribs, or just enjoy the mood with an ice-cold local beer or signature craft cocktail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thur: 11am-11pm
Fri + Sat: 11am-Midnight
Sun: 11am-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-1700

Website:
http://www.culinarydropout.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Ray Suto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ

Report a photo problem

Culinary Dropout Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Casual (25)
See All
Fun (23)
Live Music (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Modern Decor (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Special Occasion (19)
People Watching (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Great Beer (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Live Sports (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (8)
Waterfront (7)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (5)
Tapas (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Family Style (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place with a god vibe and good foo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place with a god vibe and good food. Handcrafted brews with a wide variety on the menu. It's a little loud but fun.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We all loved the restaurant! Everyone ha ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We all loved the restaurant! Everyone had a great time, and enjoyed the food. We all enjoyed the live music too!

Tags: Dancing, Vegan, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Great Beer, Tapas, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the pleasure of going back annually ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had the pleasure of going back annually to this local spot. Lexi and Jess L did an amazing job tending to my parties needs and quickly fixed the fire torch for us and recommended amazing drinks and overall superior customer service. See ya next January

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, , Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, and the service was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was great, and the service was the best I've seen in a long time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Live Music, Casual, Happy Hour, , Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Live music started promptly at 7pm and w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Live music started promptly at 7pm and was so loud we could not hear each other talk over it. That must be why half the other tables were taking selfies rather than talking. Shame, the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Great food and a fun atmosphere! The foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food and a fun atmosphere! The food came out quickly and the service was awesome!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the atmosphere, round tables are gr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Love the atmosphere, round tables are great and good happy hour and regular menu options! Kale and butternut squash salad amazing!

Service is top shelf!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated for dinner (for six) outs ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were seated for dinner (for six) outside on a row of bar high tops (with a reservation). To spend $300+ for dinner and sit outside on bar high tops was disappointing. The service was awful. Our waiter came by no more than 4-5 times over the 2 hour dinner. We waited more than 45 min after ordering our entrees to be served. Will definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Cool place to dine, excellent food. Try ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Cool place to dine, excellent food. Try the pretzels with cheese and the chicken fried chicken to die for. Highly recommended when in Scottsdale or Phoenix area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as usual, a must stop for us ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food as usual, a must stop for us in Scottsdale. Service was top notch too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was really great except the p ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was really great except the particular table we were seated at. The food was really good - the deviled eggs - to die for (I ordered a 2nd appetizer of them). Our waitress was super sweet and helpful. The manager came by without us asking to apologize for having to wait for our reservation and gave us a free desert...so really it is a steller place! Just make sure you aren't seated at the entry table if you can help it! :-) It was right at the door and the people who were waiting were right on top of us.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the food! Love the service! Love th ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love the food! Love the service! Love the atmosphere! One of our favorite places to eat when we are in Scottsdale!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique dishes and very good service. Wil ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Unique dishes and very good service. Will definitely recommend to friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time eating at this location, went ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 26, 2016

First time eating at this location, went out to a nice lunch with family in town. Appetizers were not out until after the meal 45 mins or so and finally got a refill on water at the same time. Waitress didn't even come back in the 45 flagged down a different one to check on apps I think only then was the order put in. It wasn't even as busy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

This place is perfect to bring teenagers ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This place is perfect to bring teenagers- they love the menu and the live music

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this place!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was excellent - wait servers e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The staff was excellent - wait servers eager to please and fun. The food was outstanding. All made for a really nice evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kind, attentive staff. Food was fine. Ve ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Kind, attentive staff. Food was fine. Very cool atmosphere- industrial loft style with chandeliers throughout, live music toward the end of the night, outdoor lounge seating, heaters and TVs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great service and atmosphere - a little ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service and atmosphere - a little on the loud side making some conversation difficult to hear, but still great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was horrible.. our waitress didn ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service was horrible.. our waitress didn't know what kind of beer they had. She didn't know how to pour a beer in a glass! And never checked back in with us.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

There were 5 of us for this reservation. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 21, 2016

There were 5 of us for this reservation.

The service and the food were outstanding.

The only downfall to this experience was the constant swatting of the flies and nats in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place is absolutely amazing the che ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This place is absolutely amazing the chef has really chosen a delicious menu. You have to try the fried chicken it is to die for. I can't wait to go back

Tags: Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Liked the space, loved the kale salad, w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Liked the space, loved the kale salad, would come back again

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great experience, food was fantastic and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great experience, food was fantastic and the vibe was cool for a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite. Loved the decor, the wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

My new favorite. Loved the decor, the waitstaff were very helpful and the S'Mores dessert was fabulous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. Reservation at 9 and didn't ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great place. Reservation at 9 and didn't get seated till 920. The food and service made up for that.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good. Music too loud

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food good. Music too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First off let me say that the food was v ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 8, 2016

First off let me say that the food was very good , however, considering we had obviously booked the restaurant , we were shown to a low coffee table outside on the patio . When we complained we were informed by the 12 year old who seated us that " booking only means the first available table" and that they had nothing inside or at proper tables as they had a function booking of 65 who were occupying all the space.

My question is if this was the case why did they allow open table to show multiple times between 1845 and 2000 as available ?

Anyway due to the table height we decided to go with hand held food. The food was as mentioned very good with the exception of a cold (purposely) poached egg with the salmon. Not something I had seen before or would rush to have again!.

The final disappointment was we asked our server if they had cappuccino. On being informed yes we ordered two . Unfortunately what arrived was 2 ordinary coffees in cappuccino style cups ! .On pointing it out to our server she simply smiled and said sorry they only do ordinary coffee. We're we not meant to notice ?

Overall a definite Meh !!! Of an experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The atmosphere is always upbeat. Our wai ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The atmosphere is always upbeat. Our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive and gave us excellent service. Two of us ordered fish and chips and they were delicious, cooked to perfect crispness. We will all be ordering them next time

Always enjoy the location. Within walking distance to Norstroms, crate and barrel and other fun stores.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing menu item, loved the ambiance. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing menu item, loved the ambiance. Great date spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Save room for the Monkey Bread

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Save room for the Monkey Bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

First visit, definitely won't be our las ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 29, 2016

First visit, definitely won't be our last. Excellent service, but it was an odd/slow time (1:45) for lunch on a weekday. Food was above-average pub fare. Fair price points, plentiful portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great vibe great band great sever (Kyle)

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great vibe great band great sever (Kyle)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a fun, hip, cool place and the food ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 23, 2016

It's a fun, hip, cool place and the food is very good and dthe service is excellent.

Go! Have fun!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to hang out with friends

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great place to hang out with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, decent but unimaginative menu ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Beautiful, decent but unimaginative menu, but the volume of music makes it nearly impossible to carry on a conversation....lowering it just a touch would make a huge difference. I doubt it that will ever happen since it has been a consistent complaint for a long time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite places in Scottsdale. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of my favorite places in Scottsdale. Food and service is always top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the last stop of the day celebr ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was the last stop of the day celebrating my 50 th bday this was a great choice

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Saturday night, 7pm to visi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We went on a Saturday night, 7pm to visit with friends who were in from out of state. The wait staff was great although it took a long time for the food to be served, however staff did keep us updated (there were a number of large parties this evening.) The food was good, nothing exceptional, just tasty good food. The décor was funky and fun and we liked that later on there was a live band. However, the music noise level from the time we sat down was beyond loud, it wasn't the crowd, it was all music. It was difficult to have a conversation and we had to yell to hear each other. I would understand if this was a bar or night club, however this is a restaurant where people go meet with friends to have a bit of food and some good conversation. I had a sore throat the next day from all the yelling we did :-( . Unfortunately I cannot recommend this restaurant and I wouldn't go back because of how loud the music was. I would happily return and give it another try if the music was turned down so people can comfortably talk to one another and enjoy the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.