About Culinary Dropout Waterfront

7135 E Camelback Rd, Ste 125
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Culinary Dropout, our little gastropub "rebel child" breaks all the rules with its uniform-free staff and relaxed, soulful ambiance.

You'll find amped-up pub-type appetizers, salads, sandwiches and entrees, along with a unique Antipasti Menu showcasing delicious and hard-to-find meats, cheeses and vegetables.

Rustic wood flooring and worn, overstuffed leather benches compliment deep purple and green chandeliers and patterned velvet chairs. Melt into the comfortable setting at the Scottsdale Waterfront and enjoy our outdoor patio and live music performed a few nights each week on our mini stage. Culinary Dropout is also a day-drinking and late-night destination with two-thirds of the menu dedicated to beer, wine and some pretty interesting cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thur: 11am-11pm
Fri + Sat: 11am-Midnight
Sun: 11am-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-1700

Website:
http://www.culinarydropout.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Ray Suto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront
Culinary Dropout Waterfront

Culinary Dropout Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (53)
Hot Spot (43)
Fit for Foodies (43)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Great for Lunch (32)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Special Occasion (19)
Late-night Find (16)
Great for Brunch (9)
Fun (8)
Casual (7)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Scenic View (6)
Live Music (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Great Beer (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We tried for restaurant week and will be ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

We tried for restaurant week and will be back again😀. Best fried chicken ever👍.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server and bartender were both so gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The server and bartender were both so great! I'd come back because of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, I enjoy Culinary Dropout (all l ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall, I enjoy Culinary Dropout (all locations) and generally have a good experience there. However, this night we had terrible service and the food was sub-par. We went because it was restaurant week, & the pre-fix seemed like a good deal for two couples to share a dinner together. Our server seemed distracted and not at all attentive. My friend had to ask 3 times for a coke while waiting for our appetizers. Our salads came within a reasonable about of time, but the pretzels seemed to be forgotten. When we inquired with the server he said "oh let me go grab those for you" with no explanation as to why there was such delay & no apology for it either. 5-10 minutes later another person came over and offered a crudites plate because of the wait & stated "the kitchen is backed up due to restaurant week & they ran out of pretzels". In spite of the wait for the appetizers, dinner came shortly after before we were actually finished, which if you are into the dinning experience, you can understand is very frustrating. The meat was over salted, the chicken was overcooked- we mentioned some of this to the server but didn't feel like waiting for things to be re-made so just tried to enjoy what we could. The server offered no apologies, no manager ever came back over to talk with us, and overall I would just say my experience was not as good as I know it can be. I will still go back there, as I do think the good and atmosphere are good, this just wasn't one of those times.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

Always like a visit to Culinary Dropout, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always like a visit to Culinary Dropout, good vibe and food and drink options for everyone . Liked the chopped salad and a local beer. Misters make sitting outside bearable , even in the heat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a last minute decision to try Cu ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 7 days ago

We made a last minute decision to try Culinary Dropout for AZ Restaurant week despite mixed reviews on Open Table. We were greeted with a smile & given a choice of indoor or outdoor seating. Our server was helpful, attentive and had a great sense of humor. It was hard to stop eating the pretzel cheese fondue appetizer. The fried chicken was crispy and the meat was moist and flavorful. The ribs were tender with a mild, slightly sweet BBQ sauce. Portions are large, so take half home for another meal, and enjoy the chocolate bourbon pie for dessert! Music was a bit loud so it was hard to have a conversation. There are TVs over the bar, and you can look at the open kitchen on the other side of the restaurant. We were surprised to see so many children, but we dined early. We'll go back for a casual dinner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We tried the restaurant week menu but al ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We tried the restaurant week menu but also ordered off the regular menu. We started with the house salad and pretzel bites. House salad was good and pretzel bites were amazing. Fondue cheese served warm with the pretzel balls. Salmon dish had tons of flavor but disappointed in the many bones in my filet. My friend's fried chicken platter was huge and very yummy. Both desserts we had, Caramel custard and chocolate torte were excellent. Ambiance is very interesting and relaxed. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Not first time there, but first time ins ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Not first time there, but first time inside. Was disappointing. Music WAY TOO LOUD. Ear Piercing. Food was so-so from a disinterested waiter. I will give them one more shot before recommending people go elsewhere. Too bad. This was a regular bi-weekly stop for our homeowners group.

Tags: Great Beer, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

Nice place. good value. A little noisy i ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Nice place. good value. A little noisy inside. pleasant outside. Will go back with good deals

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

we went there for the 3 course menu duri ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

we went there for the 3 course menu during restaurant week. We hadn't finished our antipasto which we had as an appetiser when they brought out the entree and had only just finished that when they plonked the desert on the table. We felt like we were being rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Awesome place for out of towners. They w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Awesome place for out of towners. They were impressed!

Tags: Family Style, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fun, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Authentic, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food with excellent service but too ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good food with excellent service but too loud and that's even before the band started!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

It's pretty good. We went on a Saturday ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It's pretty good. We went on a Saturday night, they were busy, service was hectic, but they were nice and communicated with us. It was borderline loud, but again, Saturday night. I'd go back, the food is good, good drinks, it's a nice place.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Little disappointed that with a reservat ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Little disappointed that with a reservation it took about 20 minutes to get a table, but the staff and food were great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was wonderful, wait staff friendly ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was wonderful, wait staff friendly and helpful.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The antipasto al a carte quickly added u ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The antipasto al a carte quickly added up to $26 for bread, 2 small cheeses, 1 meat, 2 veggies. Shared between 3 people, there was just 1 piece of toast for each.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We had great service and the energetic a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had great service and the energetic atmosphere just added to our fun!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not good. Our appetizer came ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was not good. Our appetizer came after our food and we were basically sent in circles to get it. What's the point of an appetizer after eating dinner.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

I love Culinary Dropout food and atmosph ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I love Culinary Dropout food and atmosphere. We finally got seated 35 minutes past our reservation time which I was unhappy with since we had to leave by a certain time for a show.

Live music was great, but so loud I couldn't hear the person across from me. Just turn it down a couple notches.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

No AC and was 95 degrees out side, 45 mi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

No AC and was 95 degrees out side, 45 minutes past our reservation time, and couldn't hear what people at my own table were saying because it was so loud. Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Had dinner here for a girls night out/bi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had dinner here for a girls night out/birthday celebration. Our party of 6 was promptly seated even though we were very early for our reservation. The round table was perfect for our group however the band and music was too loud at times to enjoy conversation. Overall a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Saw Dylan Gardner there Saturday night. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Saw Dylan Gardner there Saturday night. Great entertainment! Ribs came out to salty and to our surprise, the kitchen actually tasted them and agreed! That's customer service! Prepared new meal for us with no attitude.

We would go back just to see Dylan Gardner!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Live music Friday and Saturday nights - ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Live music Friday and Saturday nights - probably good for young adults but for mature dinners, the noise level is unbearable, conversation impossible. Otherwise, love the hot pretzel appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Comfort Food! I always order the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great Comfort Food!

I always order the fried chicken - which is excellent. I decided to order a salad and was not disappointed. Very good and huge portion. Service was very good and

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table hadn't been cleaned well and I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our table hadn't been cleaned well and I had to wipe off a bunch of crumbs after we were seated. The pretzel app came without the tea light and the cheese cooled quickly. Food was okay, but I was expecting it to be better based on reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went here for my girlfriend's birthday d ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went here for my girlfriend's birthday dinner with some friends and it was a great time! The drinks were good and our server was always quick to ask if we needed anything. The pretzels and fondue were beyond amazing. Definitely going to come back to this location!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice but too noisy for me. xxxxxxxxxxxx ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice but too noisy for me. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had reservations and we were promptly ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had reservations and we were promptly seated. Our server gave us quick service. She was attentive the whole time we were there. Good food and a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is visually appealing. T ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The restaurant is visually appealing. There was much thought given to the finishes and seating. The food is delicious. They offer a creative mix of comfort foods for every palette. Service is provided by the team so you are not waiting for your server to show back up. Very good training and delivery of service.

My only feedback would be to better control the noise level in the restaurant. The noise level is so high you need to elevate your voice to an uncomfortable level just to communicate with your dining partner .

If you have dined at other Fox Concept restaurants this will not come as a surprise. Great good and service. Just know you will just be eating and not talking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding service and food. Music play ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Music played too loudly, making it difficult to even speak to the person sitting next to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Service was very, very good...unfortunat ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was very, very good...unfortunately the food was just okay (except for the pretzel rolls) and ignore trying to get a reservation because it won't help you. We made a reservation a day in advance through Open Table and there were plenty of availability, but when we arrived the "hostess" who couldn't have been more than 16 told us it would be awhile. After 15 minutes we asked what was going on and they asked if we had "checked in" then they told us they would get to us. After another 10 minutes and ready to leave, I gave the MySpace hostess a death glare and then finally we were seated in the bar not a table (40 minutes after our reserved time!) Like Jerry says "You know how to take a reservation you just don't know how to hold the reservation!"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

No point in making reservations, as our ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

No point in making reservations, as our reservation wasn't honored. We waited as long as if we just walked in without a reservation. Finally seated, and it was outside, didn't want to sit outside, but tired of waiting, so we did. Sorry we just didn't leave as it was very hot and all the mist system did was wet our clothes and the table and seating. Music VERY loud, like a club, however, this was a restaurant, not a night club. Food was average at best. All in all a terrible experience. This restaurant is all HYPE without any substance. Will never return, and will make sure to dissuade anyone who may consider going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Really enjoyed the food and the service. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and the service. Staff was great and food was hot and fresh. My only complaint was they had all the doors opened and it was extremely hot inside because of it. When I dine in AZ and it is 110 outside please close the doors and let the AC flow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Our server was extra special. I wish I h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server was extra special. I wish I had remembered her name. She was very patient with us. She kept our ice teas coming, and when our party unexpectedly got larger by 3 people, she happily brought over the next table to seat us together. I have been to this location now 4 times, and the food is awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best burger I have had in Arizona!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best burger I have had in Arizona!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, service good, was a littl ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good, service good, was a little hard to hear and was a little warm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I have dined at the Culinary Dropout se ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I have dined at the Culinary Dropout several times. I usual order the mussels which are fantastic an I highly recommend. My grandson loves the burgers and the ribs. Weekends I have enjoyed live music.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoy the food there and the s ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We really enjoy the food there and the staff always seems so happy and friendly which is nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great price points. Great se ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food. Great price points. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a fun spot for diners visiting t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is a fun spot for diners visiting the Scottsdale shopping and dining scene. The menu offers some interesting options for those willing to venture out a bit.

My friend and I split the soft pretzels and dip, and they are served warm and are delicious. We had to stop ourselves from over indulging on the pretzels so that we could enjoy our entrees. Still, there were several pretzels and lots of dip to take home.

I ordered the sweet corn cannelloni, and it was outstanding. I believe the pasta must be made fresh because it was exceptional. The sweet corn filling was in a cream sauce and was also very good. All topped with fresh sautéed tomatoes and more sweet corn. I would order this again in a heartbeat.

My friend ordered the soup of the day, and I honestly can't remember what it was. I think it had green chilies and pork. Whatever it was, she ate every bite and declared it excellent.

The service is very friendly and servers genuinely seem to be interested in your enjoyment of the food and drinks. Having said that, service was pretty laid back, and we had to ask for our drinks a couple of times.

Good value in my opinion. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food. Great service! Very loud insi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good food. Great service! Very loud inside, was difficult to have conversations and even hear the waiter at times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.