Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 52 times today

Culinary Dropout Waterfront

4.5
845 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Gastro Pub
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Fun
  • Vibrant Bar Scene
Melt into the comfortable chairs at Culinary Dropout where craft beer and live music await. Treat yourself to amped-up appetizers like our Soft Pretzels sprinkled in sea salt and served with a provolone fondue and crowd favorites like our 36-hour pork ribs, or just enjoy the mood with an ice-cold local beer or signature craft cocktail.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Gastro Pub, American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon-Thur: 11am-11pm
Fri + Sat: 11am-Midnight
Sun: 11am-10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(480) 970-1700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ray Suto
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet available
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 845 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Zack was a FANTASTIC server - kept our glasses filled, extra ice, timely food, great personality,etc. Rarely disappointed at Culinary Dropout..... Thanks, Zack. Will ask for you in the future!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Jamie Lee our waitress was incredible
As a waitress and a person animated friendly warm
Would come back just because of her

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

We had a little trouble at our table since we were outside in the couch area, and there was a very boisterous couple of ladies that were very excitedly talking to one another. This made it a little hard to speak to my mother, but other than that everything was top notch. Great food, courteous servers (every single one would make way for me every time I passed by), and very easy to get and get to a reservation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Food was really tasty just wish the waiter had been more attentive to refills and requests. The runners were more helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Our first time here! I took my mom and family for Mother’s Day and it was awesome. Our server, Emily put the experience over the top. We will back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers dat

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Even though on time for our reservation, had to wait 45 minutes for a table. Terrible. I will choose another restaurant rather than this one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very good. The fried chicken was crispy on the outside and extremely moist on the inside. They must brine it. Not overly sweet from the honey, just a enough to add another layer of flavor.

If you ever go here for some kind of special event, go early. They ran out of the Mother's Day brunch specials well before brunch ended. Very, very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very disappointed. Not at all prepared for Mother’s Day. Have eaten there before on weekday evenings when not as busy and much better experience. Mother’s Day was a disaster which I would say was the fault of management. We had a 1:30 reservation and check in 10 minutes early. I was told it would be 10-15 minutes. No problem with that. At 1:50 I asked for an update and was told my table was being cleared. At 2:10 I asked again and finally seated. We were searing at a table that had been empty for 20 minutes and no one cleaned it. Not even one of the four host/hostess that that walk past it numerous times. Our waitress was very nice but seemed overloaded. Management needs training and host need training. We waited near the host table and could hear much of the conversations. It didn’t seem to matter if you had a reservation. Your name was put on the bottom of the list when you checked in. No one was turned away or informed that it would be a long wait. Mostly heard “10 minutes”. If your not going to honor reservations, don’t accept them. Not one time did we see any of the 4 host do a thing to help the remaining staff to keep up. Many empty tables went unattended for 5-10 minutes. The poor waitresses were running all over the place trying to get customers their food. All the while being barked at by the guy standing in front of the kitchen, finalizing orders. When our food arrived most of it was cool with the fries being cold. Our waitress did bring new fries when we asked. Lastly, the bar drinks we ordered when we were seated finally arrived after our meal. They need to do a better job preparing for holidays, have the correct staff there, be honest with people regarding wait times, etc. and maintain the reservation vs. walk in process.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s day

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our server was absolutely spectacular. I believe her name was Jamie Lee...can’t say enough good things about her! The food was also amazing! The only issue we had was that we were sat in the sun; not an issue for all people, but we asked for an umbrella to be moved and it wasn’t really possible to do so I guess. We would’ve asked for another table from the beginning but we had to wait 20 minutes past reservation time for a table to begin with, again, we understand that it was a holiday and they were busy but we had to cut our meal short because of where we were seated.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Reservation was for Mother's Day. We're 75 yrs. old and got seated outside, in the sun, on a tiny table for 2, between 2 tables of 4, (1 with kids), about 10" apart. Sun was blinding and very hot for my wife - poor Mother's Day choice this year. Last year we were seated inside on a comfortable table with sturdy chairs. It was so noisy and overrun with people, we couldn't hear each other talk, and no, we don't have hearing problems. Doubt we would return for a special occasion, if we wanted a quiet, intimate place to enjoy our lunch or dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great food, service, and ambiance. Will be back again!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fish n chips were excellent, decently priced. The noise level was stupid loud, holler to talk. Service was fast n friendly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Benjamin was our server - he was very knowledgeable, friendly and prompt. The food selections were great and very tasty. There was no feeling of being rushed to vacate the table so we leisurely ate and visited. The walk along the waterfront was beautiful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Good morning,

This was my first visit. My son lives out there and requested we plan his graduation party there.
I am so glad we did it was fabulous!
Our table was set up perfectly when we arrived, champagne , appetizers and cheese boards were awesome! The staff was very attentive and gave us some great suggestions on putting together cheese boards....it was all delicious!
We moved our party into the game area, where we enjoyed corn hole for a couple of hours!

Thanks a bunch for making our celebration memorable.

Sincerely,
Lisa Berg

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Ungodly loud. Did not accommodate our seating requests highly overpriced and overrated

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Restaurant was really busy but we were seated within 10 minutes of our reservation. The only complaint was that our food took a long time to get served. Waiter was excellent. Eating outside is a must if you want to have a conversation!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We are older but the music was awful. Close the door so the flies don’t get in. Server was very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Amazing meal as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Music and noise was a little loud to try to carry on a conversation. Found ourselves shouting at times. Other than that...good

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We have been to culinary drop out twice in the past. Excellent experience! We are in town for business with 2 new team members and were excited to take them for dinner. We had 8:30 open table reservations and once seated drink order was taken nearly 15 minutes later. Our food was delivered at 9:32pm and once team members food was cold. 3 of the meals were fantastic but service was a bit slow. We will likely return but a little disappointed on the slow service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Had to eat outside due to a party inside. Understand the capitalist needs but unpleasant outside. Wish there had been a notice on Open Table telling us about the party.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Great food great service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Met friends for drinks. Outside patio seating was nice. FYI crowd. Food was original and delightful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Food is good, but overpriced. Service is friendly. Great patio and decor!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

We went for a birthday and they treated us great! Awesome food too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Second time here with the girls for dinner, the food is great, this time tried a salad-the seared tuna was good but having had the fried chicken dinner before would drive across town for the fried chicken (and I usually won't eat fried foods)--talked two of my friends into trying it--they are now believers. Next trip, will take my southern husband for his verdict. Wine options good, cocktails (by report) amazing. Finished with the apple monkey bread--perfect for sharing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We went for brunch and the food was excellent. My wife got the breakfast sandwich and I got the breakfast burrito, both were amazing and fresh.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Fun place to eat, but don’t expect intimate conversation. The food was very yummy - I had the ahi salad and it was delicious. Our waiter welcomed us almost immediately and was attentive. All in all, we will definitely eat there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Ana is the best of the best

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Sandwich and side salad was quite small for price especially given that quality and taste was nothing exceptional.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Average restaurant. Hip spot for the 20-30 set. Average food and the service was just fair

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great menu and great food. The issue is the sound. It is so incredibly loud throughout the restaurant that you cannot hear the person beside you. After a short time, you just feel like your ears are bleeding due to the constant high volume from either the music over their sound system or the live band (in the small space). Sadly, this takes it off our list for a do again, especially with a group.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Efficient service and great food! everything was perfect!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Loved this place! Best salad I’ve ever had! It was the kale with salmon. Mmmm!

The place was pretty crowded and noisy. Not the place to go for quiet conversation but the music duo playing that night were great so it was fine.

Would go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Fried chicken for dinner was good but mashed potatoes were thin & gravy tasteless.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great food and service. I was very impressed as this was my first time here. I can’t wait until the new one opens closer to us in Gilbert!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

This was a fun loud place. Decor was cute and fun. The food was just ok. We had the pretzel fondue which was great. The fried Chechen had been raved about and it was good just not great. Kale salad and tuna salads were good but not out of this world. Lot of groups of young people. So if you are looking for a hip happening place, this works. Not a foodie dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Another outstanding experience - food, and especially service, is always awesome.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
22