Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Culinary Dropout Waterfront

Melt into the comfortable chairs at Culinary Dropout where craft beer, games, and live music await. Treat yourself to amped-up appetizers like our Soft Pretzels sprinkled in sea salt and served with a provolone fondue and crowd favorites like our 36-hour pork ribs, or just enjoy the mood with an ice-cold local beer or signature craft cocktail.

7135 E Camelback Rd, Ste 125
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thur: 11am-11pm
Fri + Sat: 11am-Midnight
Sun: 11am-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-1700

Website:
http://www.culinarydropout.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Ray Suto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Culinary Dropout Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (39)
Fun (32)
Hot Spot (27)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Comfort Food (26)
Live Music (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Happy Hour (22)
People Watching (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Waterfront (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Tapas (10)
Great Beer (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Live Sports (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Romantic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

First time, awesome meal. Wait was minimal and wait staff were very knowledgeable and professional!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Live Music, Casual, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great location and outdoor seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Great delicious food. Deserts are delightful. A spin on old home food delights

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

I was honestly disappointed in the fish and chips. Not only was there 0 creativity or originality in the dish it was basically flavorless. My date did enjoy her tacos although I thought that the chipotle was overpowering rendering the slaw useless. I do enjoy the location though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had heard good things about Culinary Dropout, but our experience was very mediocre. We were seated almost 30 minutes after our reservation (reservation was at 8:45). We had the pretzel balls with fondue, which were quite good. Our meals didn't come until almost 10:30, so we didn't leave the restaurant until after 11. We waited a long time for food that was good, but not outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I was really excited to visit. We had a group of 10 people and were celebrating two birthdays. We went on a Saturday night and the restaurant had live music. Unfortunately, the music was so loud, we couldn't carry on a conversation with anyone who wasnt sitting immediately beside us. We asked the manager to turn the volume down and he did, but it was still far to loud for an enjoyable dining experience. All in my group said they would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food at Culinary Dropout is excellent. Very noisy inside so I will prefer to be seated outside next visit.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always a great time with great food! The fried chicken is redonkulous!!!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Good. Good food and the waitress was attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Too noisy and our nachos were not as good as they used to be. Probably won't be back for a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We have never been disappointed with the food or the service. However, the music was so loud again that it was nearly impossible to carry on a conversation. As much we enjoy the food and service, this Is a very distracting factor which prevents us from going there more frequently

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Techno music and DJ started at 7. Too early for loud music which is a shame because food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Delicious food, inviting atmosphere, and phenomenal service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Live Sports, Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always a favorite...for years! Great food, atmosphere and service. Unique cuisine...tapas ok..

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Fun, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing food "for a dropout :)". Great ambiance for younger crowd. Very good value. However not very kids friendly inside at the evening due to the live band. but overall great place to dine and enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was fantastic. Great ambiance. Will go back for sure.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Noise level was off the charts, you couldn't speak to each other, even when moved to a smaller table where people sat closer.
The staff was courteous and helped us find a suitable alternative: a table outside where the noise level was bearable.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food, service and drinks! Can't wait for the Gilbert location to open up!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

thought the food, price point and service were excellent. the big issue, is we had a 7:30 reservation and it must have been 80 degrees in the restaurant--uncomfortably hot for all. we would have stayed longer, but as soon as we finished our meal we went elsewhere for drinks. we asked the server the minute we stepped foot into the restaurant about the air (or lack thereof) and she said it's always hot and they have issues with their AC. I will never visit again during the hot months as it is the most stifling, hot restaurant I have ever encountered in the valley

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our table was close to the kitchen, it was way too warm, it took a long time for drinks to arrive. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our reservation was available with no waiting This was our third visit there did not hold up to their reputation . Our food was cold on all three orders and the waiter service had anon chalet attitude . The manager did come and removed one of meals and provided us with a free complimentary appetizer coupon with our next visit. Will not returning and disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Happy Hour was great, the shareable and appetizers were out super fast and delicious. We had the house made chips with onion dip and deviled eggs both were totally yummy. The ribs were tender and fall off the bone saucy. Drinks were on the weak side but still good. Service and staff were friendly and prompt.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great upscale comfort food, knowledgeable fun staff and a happy atmosphere make this Scottsdale location a must. I visit Scottsdale once a year and Culinary Drop Out is on my must do list since it opened. I always have a great time and an excellent meal

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Very good food, vibe and service. We had the pretzel fondue, deviled eggs and Thai chicken wings. The fondue was my favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were at Culinary Dropout Waterfront Scottsdale to celebrate a 70th Birthday and one in our party was 91 years old. The food was very good; we especially enjoyed the soft pretzels and provolone fondue but found the cheddar pork crackling a little salty. Other favorites were the crispy shrimp Caesar salad and the Korean rib-eye caps. Our waiter, Trey, was very friendly and accommodating. He made our celebration memorable and fun.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I chose this place for my birthday dinner, and while I"m normally happy with my experience there, I was greatly disappointed with the dinner. The live music was so loud, I could not converse with a single person at the dinner table. The music completely overwhelmed the entire restaurant, making it impossible to enjoy dinner or carry on a conversation. Unfortunately, I did not enjoy the dinner or time with friends as it was so hard to talk, I spent the majority of the evening shifting around the table trying to get close enough to people to have a conversation. Perhaps in the future turning down the music to reasonable volume might make for a more enjoyable experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I had made a reservation and was very disappointed in the table they sat us at. We were put right next to the door, the temperature outside was 107 and every time the door opened we got a blast of hot air. Very uncomfortable! If I didn't have a reservation I can see being seated there but not when I had one.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We have always loved coming here. Today the service was terrible. It took a long time before we even got water (had to wave someone down). Hopefully service will be better next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our wait was long even though we had a res

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We travel in the U.S. four times a year. We love restaurants. Steak French dip was best ever and memorable. Honey chicken could have been fryer burned. Too much honey. Overwhelmed the chicken flavor. The place was very loud and difficult to carry on conversation. Band was not playing at the time. Dark with no highlight lighting for contrast. Hard to tell what your date looks like in there. We would eat there again just because we know what to expect. Super service! Great name but we could not see the connection between the name and the food on the menu. What is the gimmick we missed?

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had eaten here several times before but this was the first time we had to wait 20min after our reservation time to he seated, the table AND the chairs were all dirty! We ordered a burger medium done and it showed up raw and the cheese fondue was cold. The service was still good however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great vibrant atmosphere! Great quality food at a reasonable price!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great bar and food. Love the live entertainment on the weekend. Make sure to make reservations.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Went to Culinary Dropout for dinner with friends. Food was outstanding. Pretzel fondue hooked all four of us - definitely recommend. Entrees we sampled were Salmon, Fried Chicken, Fish & Chips, and Ravioli. All were very tasty. IMO prices are reasonable for food this good. Host and wait services were prompt, attentive, and friendly. Would recommend outdoor seating if you can; noise level inside is pretty loud, and casual conversation was difficult. Overall, I like this place. Been here before; will be here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was very loud. Server was overwhelmed. It was a struggle to get anything. Everyone's food came out at different times, some food was cold and some was over cooked. Nothing tasted good. It was difficult to get refills or jot coffee. Even the little things were overlooked like someone brought us a desert we ordered for the table with no utensils and all ours were already taken, plus the people running the food had no idea who ordered what. Overall a bad experience. So loud in there you can't even talk. Seems like a great bar for younger kids but bad for groups and families.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Loved the live music and the hipster vibe. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal (I had the Korean Ribeye and my husband had the Fried Chicken). Both were absolutely delicious. The cocktails are yummy too and the live band was awesome!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching, Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Good food, good service with great value! Fun for a quick bite to eat!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

5/4 STARS!!! If I could give that rating to this place, I would, because they earned it! After having lunch here for business, my hubby made reservations for a well-needed "date night". He mentioned how good the food had been, but seemed to downplay it by saying it had live music- and the band looked good. Vinyl Station was very good, go see them. The food was fantastic! I would call it "Off the hook comfort food" or "Gourmet comfort food". Since this was my first visit, I listened to suggestions from our server, Trevor. He was attentive, knowledgable, and above all, professional. (I will definitely ask for him on our next visit) Since we were so hungry, we started with appetizers: Yesterday's Soup and the Cheap House salad. Holy canoli !! The broth was full of flavor that was only enhanced by the pork meatballs. The salad was fresh with the buttermilk dressing that didn't fill us up too much before the entree. I had the meatloaf- YES, I said meatloaf! A generous portion was accompanied by mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, and a reasonable price. I like to think I have excellent cooking skills despite lacking a culinary degree, but my heart was saying, "Girl, this is better than yours." My hubby enjoyed the 36-hour pork ribs with fries and coleslaw. Now, typically hubby and I share entrees when we go out, but this time neither wanted to share, and that is a rarity. We cleaned our plates and had nothing to bring home for our children. AW, too bad! After enjoying cocktails, appetizers and dinner, we couldn't possibly find room for dessert. Most definitely worth second, third and fourth visits- for published review purposes, of course. Next time we will bring our children to enjoy the fabulous offerings of the Culinary Dropout. Sorry, no pictures this time; I was very hungry. Definitely worth a visit, or two!!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Tapas, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Music, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good drinks and good food - all four of us enjoyed it.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good food, service was slow since it was really bussy, I mentioned it was a birthday celebration on the reservation and there was no acknowledgement at all, first time there by recommendation not sure if would try again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.