Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Culinary Dropout Waterfront

Melt into the comfortable chairs at Culinary Dropout where craft beer, games, and live music await. Treat yourself to amped-up appetizers like our Soft Pretzels sprinkled in sea salt and served with a provolone fondue and crowd favorites like our 36-hour pork ribs, or just enjoy the mood with an ice-cold local beer or signature craft cocktail.

7135 E Camelback Rd, Ste 125
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thur: 11am-11pm
Fri + Sat: 11am-Midnight
Sun: 11am-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-1700

Website:
http://www.culinarydropout.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Ray Suto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Culinary Dropout Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (43)
Good for a Date (40)
Comfort Food (38)
See All
Modern Decor (34)
Happy Hour (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Casual (34)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
People Watching (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Live Music (24)
Bar Seating (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Great Beer (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Live Sports (12)
Business Meals (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Cozy (10)
Family Style (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Romantic (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Waterfront (8)
Tapas (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Scenic View (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Dancing (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
481 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

We arrived about an hour before our reservations and the hostess was able to seat us within 5-10 minutes. They were very accommodating. Once seated our server was awesome and gave us great drink and food recommendations. We really enjoyed the Brussel sprouts appetizer and our drinks. I had the Room Service cocktail which was my favorite item of the night. Our food was just okay. Definitely nothing to write home about even though we order the customer's favorite items including the chicken and the ribs. Others had salmon and salads and weren't impressed either. Overall, a great place to hang out if you are looking for a loud, vibrant atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Spicy, Tapas, People Watching, Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved it! Food was great - awesome menu. Nice staff, but slow bevy service. All in great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a reservation at 7:45 and our party did not get seated until 8:15. This was challenging as my elder mother had no place to really sit while we waited. Our server started out good, but quickly lost our endorsement. After appetizer and drink orders, we barely saw her. She did take our entree orders, but never came back to check on us, ask if we wanted more drinks, water glasses were empty. Our food took a very long time, which was surprising given we didn't get seated until late. Not a mention was made about our late seating or late food. Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely would not recommend. We had reservations for 7:45 and were seated at 8:40. The food that came out was terribly prepared and presented, not to mention under-portioned. We received one slice of cheese for a cheese/meat appetizer! Their famous fried chicken was burnt and dry, with no sauce, a beet and goat cheese salad had no goat cheese. The only good thing about this place was the bartender Mac. Having said that we're never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

It's really loud. They do have kids options off the menu. Service was very slow. The waitress took our order and then disappeared and since runners bring the food, she was oblivious that we never got things we ordered nor did she seem motivated to figure out what was going on. The manager gave us some items free, plus % off plus a gift card so that was nice.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Warm atmosphere. Menu is diverse enough to appeal to all palettes. Flavorful dishes - was with 5 other people and all were pleased with their selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Meatloaf was beyond exceptional, but my Kale Salad left me a little disappointed. Certainly would never have it again especially with the smoked salmon....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

First time at Culinary Dropout. Food was outstanding and service was as well. We sat outside on patio thank goodness because it is too loud inside. I would go back over and over as long as I can be seated outside.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic, Fun, People Watching, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The music was way too loud that I could barely talk or hear the person I was with. It just kept getting louder. Food was great and service was great but next time I go back I hope the music so loud.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The good was amazing! Great live music too! The decor is gorgeous, with a lively crowd.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had a great time drinking beer from a bag and listening to some great tunes. Plus the fried chicken was second to none.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our waiter Luke was tremendous. He had a great sense of humor and answered any questions we had. He made the experience enjoyable and we definitely will recommend to our friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Just okay. You're not missing anything by choosing another restaurant. Atmosphere is all this place offers, and that's not much. Food is a tick or two above Applebees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 15, 2017

NICE HAPPY HOUR. ECLECTIC UNIFORMED WAITSTAFF, GOOD HAPPY HOUR WINE AND SMALL PLATE CHOICES. GOOD PATIO ENVIRONMENT

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Fun, People Watching, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Bummed out.

I booked this 3 hours before we were going and asked for outdoor seating and also mentioned it was for my mother in laws 84th birthday.

When we got there to check in?

"Oh......you want to sit OUTSIDE????? Well...that's going to take much longer since there's many before you."

I asked again how long since my father in law is 87 and wasn't doing so hot and told the front desk people that he wasn't do so well and they told me that it still would be 10-15 minutes and got very annoyed and curt.

My father in law?

Got light headed and weak and my husband headed in annoyed and tried to reason with the hostess gals...but would they reason with a weak 87 year old man and a pleading son? Nope.

Personally? I wanted to leave. The heavily tatted hostess gals turned me off in SO many ways I cannot explain to you. Trashy.

No empathy for elderly, trashy hostess girls, none of the girls working hostess stand seem to know what a bra is, (or the wait staff) and my mother in law? Had her heart set on going here from some darn commercial she heard🙄

I never write reviews. This was a first. I just cannot tell you what a crap place this was (but with such incredible food.)

A tip to the owners?

Get less tarty tatty gals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great experience. Definitely get the pretzel /fondue!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A great a go to place to eat and hang out with a friend or group. Ambiance and food were great. Menus are as always updated or changing like seasons.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I frequent CD often and just love the ambiance, food and the service and host staff are very friendly. The weekend music is top notch and offers a wide variety. The Waterfront location is great for taking a after dinner stroll and sample some of the other club and music scenes!! The only con is the noise level inside the restaurant is very loud, which is why I prefer the outdoor seating.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Awesome! I always look forward to coming here when I'm in Scottsdale. Should be a must on your dining list!! Order the pretzel bits and fondue, fried chicken, meatloaf....never had anything bad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were seated outside which was lovely, but directly beneath an overhead speaker witch made it a bit difficult to hear each other. The pretzel/fondu appetizer was outstanding! My sister and I shared the fried chicken dinner (house specialty) it was not only delicious, but was PLENTY for the two of us, with bit left over.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Love this place! Service is always excellent and the food is amazing. I love the antipasti menu. Culinary Dropout has unique items that are creative and different compared to most other restaurants.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Entrees and appetizers were all good and cooked to perfection. The rainbow trout was dynamite. We also shared a S'Mores dessert. Very good. The prices are moderate and the seating is comfy. All of this along with really excellent A+ service via JD. Seriously though, on the service! The guy was on point.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Good for a Date, People Watching, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 1, 2017

It was WAY too loud to have dinner conversation. Our server was teetering between intrusively-attentive and rushing us (I was not able to determine his intention and it made me feel rushed and uneasy.)

The food was only fair.

The decor and seating were excellent. I would try it again and hope for an easy-going server, lower music volume and better food. Maybe we just had bad luck.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Always a great experience when we come here. The staff is always engaged and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Fun spot on the Waterfront. Good tapas. Lively. Try the bread.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I was on a vacation with a very special friend and this was our special night out. The minute I walked in I felt comfortable and welcome. Staff was welcoming and knowledgeable. I had the specialty drink "czech the gate" not to sweet and a little spicy. Loved it. Had two. Then the korean style brussel sprouts with an order of the bacon-parmesan grisinni. Also excellent. My main course was the rainbow trout and my friend had the meatloaf. My trout was lovely in presentation with sautéed green beans on top. The green beans were crispy and finished well, the trout was tasty and done to a perfect flakiness. The only bad part, was I was too full and ended up taking half of the trout home. This was a fun place and located in a great place for walking around and exploring shops.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a reservation at 8:00, got there at 7:30. 8:15 still waiting, went to front desk, told,
"we haven't even sat the 7:30's yet, we will let you know, keep waiting."

Go sat at our table at 8:30, 1st choice was right next to the loud band, second choice was just "sit outside". It was 40 degrees out with no heaters on. Asked to be put in the dining room.

After waiting, then got a seat in the dining room, seating staff made you feel like you
were an inconvenience for asking what was going on.

Good thing the food was good, we were ready to walk.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Live Music, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything seas fine except waiting 30 minutes past our reservation time. Otherwise fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I was most annoyed that we waited over 20 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. But when my dollop of $6 pimento cheese was served without crackers or bread, I decided that this third trip is my last. The food is nicely planned, but portions and seasoning are wildly disparate. My beer cheese broccoli soup had very little flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had high hopes but were let down by the food. The reason we came here was because it was recommended by a few friends.

The items we tried were not as flavorful as they seemed they would be. We tried the French Dip and the 36-hour ribs as our entrees. The French dip was meh but the side salad was delicious. The 36-hour ribs were fall of the bone tender which is good but the sauce wasn't as expected when it came to a jalapeno/molasses glaze. I thought it would of been more of a sweet and spicy flavor. The fries were room temperature and the slaw was not very tasty either. We also tried the pimento cheese which was like cheese-wiz, the cheddar pork cracklings weren't bad (they just tasted like fried pork skins), and the crusty bread was good (it seemed like they used a quality EVOO and Balsamic on it).

When it comes to cocktails, they rock! We had the "room service" which tasted like a strawberry shortcake (YUM!) and the "Smashed Irishman" which was like a mojito with jameson instead of rum (also YUM!).

We would probably come back for happy hour because of the great specials and the cocktails are great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Eclectic dining room, huge portions, leans heavily on pig for flavor profiles. Excellent service.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food, although my steak was under cooked. Sent it back and it came back still undercooked. The manager approached me to say he would take it off the bill. I didn't have to ask. Originally seated in gigantic library chairs which were not conducive to eating so they gladly moved us. Made everything right. Highly recommend. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2017

A big group of co-workers had a great dinner. Service, ambiance, food and location was great! Will defiantly be returning.

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was good but had run out of my favorite meal, mussels.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Second visit, great service, long waite for food order. The menu indicates the fried chicken may take additional time, disappointing that it was overcooked and actually tasted charred!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Always one of my favorite places to eat. I've never had a bad meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food was very good- apps, nachos, entrees. Wine selection, was limited.

Service was very slow and a bit disorganized.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very creative menu with lots of fun drink options. The service was incredible. We enjoyed the people watching and liked the casual atmosphere. The best part was the build your own appetizer portion of the menu. It's perfect for a HH.

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

the waitress was great!! i wish i could remember her name...tall, blonde. tattoos - a cat of hers that had died? anyway she was very knowledgeable and so friendly and professional and accommodating. she made the experience super great!! food was good---i LOVED the antipasti dishes and ate LOTS of them!! had only tastes of other dishes, tho.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.