Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Culinary Dropout Waterfront

Melt into the comfortable chairs at Culinary Dropout where craft beer, games, and live music await. Treat yourself to amped-up appetizers like our Soft Pretzels sprinkled in sea salt and served with a provolone fondue and crowd favorites like our 36-hour pork ribs, or just enjoy the mood with an ice-cold local beer or signature craft cocktail.

7135 E Camelback Rd, Ste 125
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thur: 11am-11pm
Fri + Sat: 11am-Midnight
Sun: 11am-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-1700

Website:
http://www.culinarydropout.com/location/scottsdale/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Ray Suto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Culinary Dropout Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (30)
Casual (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
See All
Hot Spot (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Groups (19)
People Watching (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Live Music (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (10)
Great Beer (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Waterfront (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Romantic (7)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Live Sports (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Organic (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome place and great every time. You can't go wrong here.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Another great experience here. Sat outside on a cooler day and it was perfect. Great service and the food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2018

A friend recommended this place and he was spot on. Great food, cool atmosphere and top notch service. Our group tried the Ribs, fried chicken and Salmon. Each were prepared as if this place specialized in only that dish. I also ordered the Seared Ahi salad and we asked for a separate dish so we could share. The server offered to split it up for us without missing a beat. Definitely worth the try.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

Fish and chips. Fish an A, chips so salty inedible, Meatloaf bland and tasteless. table service excellent

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Great restaurant near Fashion Square. One of our best meals during our Scottsdale vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 5, 2018

The service was good and em they were attentive to my birthday however it was very load and too dark to read the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Patio was wonderful. Not too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We had a delicious antipasto with wine. Very nice!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Cold old coffee. Slow food. My aunts food came out 5-10 minutes after everyone else's food. It was embarrassing since it's the first opportunity in years for me to take her out and she watched everyone else eat. She came to visit from 2000 miles away and this is where I took her for a treat. I'm not sure why this place has all the hype. She had a salad by the way. Not exactly time consuming,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Food served cold. Entrees delivered to table separately to five guests over span of 15 minutes. The elements are there for good food, but the service is a problem.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2017

We had the Caesar salad and substituted chicken for the fried shrimp. We got a bowl full of dressed lettuce and kale. No croutons, no chicken. They brought out a chicken breast on a separate plate for us to add. It definitely wasn't a typical caesar and felt like a very expensive bowl of lettuce and kale w/ dressing. Nothing special AT ALL! The next night I had the most AMAZINGLY beautiful, tasty and colorful salad at Dough Bird. There!!! Is where I'll be going next time I'm in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Culinary Dropout is one of my go-to restaurants in Scottsdale! I always go for good food.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2017

stick to drinks and appetizers...Chicken was dry. Chili not so good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2017

average food at best, there are much better options. Noisy and waited for table after reserved time even though there were empty tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2017

What a great place for dinner! The menu was super and the service was first class!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2017

The food and service was very good, however, it was very challenging to have a conversation with others in the party if they were not sitting right next to you due to the acoustics in the restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Had a friend recommend this place for my girlfriend and I as we were in holiday from Denver. Loved the atmosphere, food and our server was fantastic!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Best go-to restaurant in fashion square area. Pretzel fondue is a must.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Live Music, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Definitely NOT a place to take out of town guests. The service was DEPLORABLE and while I can abide poor service if the food and drinks are divine, CD fell short. The food was only mediocre.

Service issues included a server who kept pulling up her tube top!! ...as she handled our food!? She also kept getting lost! Never checked back on us, thus couldn't even get drinks to make the experience tolerable!

Overall ~ FAIL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2017

We went here for my sons graduation celebration from ASU. We had a great night! We were seated outside which had a great ambiance. Food and service were GREAT! The restaurant Even supplied my son with a complimentary dessert to celebrate. Best part, It is was so nice that it was not too loud so we could have easy conversation and have many laughs together. Highly recommend. Thank you Culinary Dropout for a wonderful night!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 8, 2017

We had a lot of fun. Fun food, fun cocktails, good service and unique interior. We had the pork crackings, deviled eggs and great/great ribs. some of the best ribs ever.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Great food! Anna was our server. She was attentive and fun.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Great as always, food and drinks rock, great service too

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Group of 5, sat on patio. Everything was great. Loved the atmosphere. Food was very tasty. Pretzels, pirogies, are must haves. Fried chicken dinner excellent value and taste. Music was a little loud when we first sat down but was lowered so we could hear each other.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2017

The atmosphere here is really eclectic and inviting, the decor is mismatched matching and comfortable. The live music (it was a Saturday night) was soothing and fun. We had a kale salad and turkey sandwich and both were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Excellent service and wonderful food! A very fun place to spend an hour or the entire evening!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Loved it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

The service was fabulous. Food was so-so. Will likely give it another try at some point.

Tags: Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Special occasion and they screw it up by brînging appetizer and meal at the same time. Spiked to server about and she was unhelpful

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

I took my husband to dinner here for his birthday. It was perfect. He loved the live music, the food was amazing and our waitress could not have been more sweet and on top of things. If you want a quiet romantic place to have a deep conversation this isn't for you... but if you are looking for a fun night out with some yummy food, it's worth it.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Great service. The food was terrific and we will definitely be returning to this spot.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

The music was great for a Friday night. The nervous was great and the apps were awesome. I noticed multiple staff running drinks so no one waited long.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Perfectly cooked yet overpriced and salty salmon. Chosen only because trout was not available. Restaurant highly recommended by friend but I can not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Great. Location great, food quality very good. Service was disappointing. Service was slow. Had to ask multiple times for bill. She was nice, just did not seem to care about how long it took her to take the order, to check on empty glasses, or bring the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

Excellent appetizers and entrees. The sangria was devine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on November 13, 2017

The evening got started off wrong when the hostess was just incredibly slow and had a restaurant half empty but no place to seat us for our confirmed reservation. It took forever to get our salads. They ended up being delivered with our sandwich. By the time we finished our salads the sandwich had gotten cold. Better places to eat in Phoenix/Scottsdale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

We sat outside, great night, was glad a little to loud for us.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Service was terrific! We made some changes and she got all perfect! And, don't miss the pretzel and cheese dip appetizer! The best!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Good food, excellent ribs! Very noisy, hard to hear much of anything other than the recorded music played quite loud (before the band). Service was ok. Small bar for the size of restaurant, seating very limited. Nice ambiance otherwise.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Food was tasty, live music was good but impossible to carry on any kind of conversation. Too loud! We had reservation at 7:15 and was extremely loud from the get go-didn’t wait for later in the evening to ramp up the noise! Had to leave earlier then anticipated because of noise level.

Tags: Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.