About Culinary Dropout Waterfront

Melt into the comfortable chairs at Culinary Dropout where craft beer, games, and live music await. Treat yourself to amped-up appetizers like our Soft Pretzels sprinkled in sea salt and served with a provolone fondue and crowd favorites like our 36-hour pork ribs, or just enjoy the mood with an ice-cold local beer or signature craft cocktail.

7135 E Camelback Rd, Ste 125
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thur: 11am-11pm
Fri + Sat: 11am-Midnight
Sun: 11am-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-1700

Website:
http://www.culinarydropout.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Ray Suto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Culinary Dropout Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (37)
Happy Hour (33)
Fun (33)
See All
Modern Decor (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Comfort Food (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Casual (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Live Music (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
People Watching (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Great Beer (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Live Sports (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Family Style (8)
Business Meals (8)
Waterfront (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Scenic View (6)
Authentic (6)
Tapas (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (4)
Fireplace (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

Second visit, great service, long waite for food order. The menu indicates the fried chicken may take additional time, disappointing that it was overcooked and actually tasted charred!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Always one of my favorite places to eat. I've never had a bad meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was very good- apps, nachos, entrees. Wine selection, was limited.

Service was very slow and a bit disorganized.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Very creative menu with lots of fun drink options. The service was incredible. We enjoyed the people watching and liked the casual atmosphere. The best part was the build your own appetizer portion of the menu. It's perfect for a HH.

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

the waitress was great!! i wish i could remember her name...tall, blonde. tattoos - a cat of hers that had died? anyway she was very knowledgeable and so friendly and professional and accommodating. she made the experience super great!! food was good---i LOVED the antipasti dishes and ate LOTS of them!! had only tastes of other dishes, tho.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I have to say that this is my new Favorite spot!! The place is gorgeous, the food is outstanding and if you are lucky, you will get Luke for a server-he is AWESOME!!!!! We will be back!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Loved the atmosphere and live band, although it was hard to hear our conversations. Waiter was stretched thin in the bar, but overall had a great time and would come back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service this time was not what we usually experience. We had two servers and they were not attentive to refills, so much so that the hostess was the only one available. We waited a half hour til we saw her again, by that time we had been needing boxes for the food, the check, and drinks. She was nice, just not very attentive at all. Other than that the ambiance is great, decor is stylish. Food is good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was awesome.... we will definitely go again.

Thanks for the great evening

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Culinary dropout is our favorite! The atmosphere is awesome, the pretzels are amazing, the chips and onion dip are so good, love the meatloaf and the drinks are very unique and yummy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Live Music, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The place is charming with its rustic elegance and everything we had on the menu was fabulous. Pretzels, fried chicken and meatloaf was fantastic. Server was great..upscale ambiance. It was quite loud and the band wasnt even playing but would definitely return

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great choice in Scottsdale. Fun atmosphere and tastee food

Tags: Fireplace, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We waited 45 minutes beyond our reservation time. Hostess were uninformed and not helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our food was very good and our server quite attentive, but it was so noisy that it was impossible to have a conversation, even though we were as far away from the music as possible and they said the speakers near us were turned down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The concept seems a little confused, nothing terribly ground breaking. The menu looks like the reatest hits from other restaurants and culinary pop culture. The service was good, just a little too canned with the talking points. Food came out pretty fast but it was warm and not hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great menu and good. We sat outside and was loud there. Probably worse inside. Still a great dining experience with some unique dishes as pretty reasonable prices.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Came here for lunch while on vacation after researching through opentable and TripAdvisor. Couldn't resist ordering the fried chicken. YUM!!!!!! Mashed potatoes, gravy, slaw, biscuit! Classic comfort food and they knocked it out of the park. I also ordered one of the craft cocktails on the menu which was deeeeelish! Sat at the bar and the bartender was attentive and informative. Very cool ambience. Definitely will come back next time we're in town.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love all Fox Restaurant Concepts, but we didn't love this one. The restaurant is super fun/festive, but WAY too loud. We were literally yelling at each other over dinner just to hear each other. They were 25 min late seating us for our reservation. The food was OK, not as good as the other Fox restaurants. Service was great. We liked the live music. Would likely just return for drinks/music, but not dinner and not expecting to have a conversation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Loved the fun, eclectic atmosphere and delicious menu and drink menu. Great music at 8. Perfect location too. Right in the heart of beautiful Scottsdale!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Live Sports, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Culinary Dropout was fun place to have lunch with a great friend. Service was outstanding and gave a great feeling of team work as they all worked together to makes sure everyone had what they needed, quickly and were well taken care of. A must for lunch especially if you are at the Waterfront shopping!!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pretzel balls are the best anywhere! A must try if you like pretzels. Food is very good. Fried chicken is super crispy and yummy! Maragarita type drink was another favorite. We sat outside and it was quite nice. There was live entertainment inside which was very loud, could not converse comfortably over it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Tapas, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Tasty fried chicken and ribs! Great service with a lively atmosphere. Great spot for a fun night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our group of 6 came directly from the Phoenix Open and the host was extremely accommodating when we had to push our reservation, due to an Uber fiasco. Although it was crazy busy when we arrived, they seated us almost immediately. The food was amazing (as always, the Pretzel Fondue is a must!), and service was good, given how busy they were. This place doesn't disappoint!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Pretzels and cheese fondue appy and Fried Chicken meal......I have been thinking about them since I left 2 days ago..... D E L I C I O U S.........DELICIOUS!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Overall great experience! The only downside is we had to wait 30 minutes and we had a reservation. Wait time without a reservation was 90 minutes.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We've eaten at other locations before, so I'm providing fair grades in all categories since a rating is required to submit a review. We made this reservation well over a week in advance. I then received a call on the afternoon of the reservation informing me that it was 1st available - inside or outside. When we arrived there seemed to be a number of empty tables inside, but we were told it was a 1.5 hour wait for an inside table. Outside was too cool and windy in spite of their efforts with portable heaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Met a pal for lunch, service and food were great. Starters, soup and sandwiches were prepared well and presentation was also nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great restaurant with good food, service and happy hour pricing.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Try the trout!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Lunch meeting with a client.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Staff very friendly and quick. Food is great. It was not a good place for a group of 9 that wanted to talk because the music is very very loud. They did turn it down for about a half hour for us, but then it went back up to blast level. You have to yell to be heard by a person right across the table from you... forget about talking to anyone 2 seats away. I thought it would be better on a Sunday evening, but it wasn't. Will not return for dinner, maybe lunch.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

service was good and staff very friendly. Nice band playing. Food is mediocre at best. Good place for hanging out and drinking. Very young crowd. NOT for foodie's.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were in Scottsdale on vacation and stopped in at Culinary Dropout for dinner one evening. It was an "OK" experience, nothing special. The cheese and bread appetizer was overpriced for the portion. The gorgonzola was very good, the goat cheese not so good. The rainbow trout on my entree was soggy rather than flaky but the accompanying vegetables were cooked well. We skipped dessert and headed elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is a funky place that is great for people watching and enjoying a good meal. Excellent drinks too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It was noisy and our waitress didn't seem very friendly. It seems she wanted to hurry us to turnover the table quickly. She kept removing plates as others were eating. I reported that when we asked for straws, she put her fingers on everyone into the water glass. Not sanitary.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Way too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great place..... Band was a little loud. Hard to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Fabulous as always! This is a must everytime we are in Scottsdale.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Our server was spectacular. He was very well-versed on the menu; had recommendations and was able to make suggestions based on a short set of questions...not only for bar items, but for everything on the menu. The chef there remains mostly on the outside looking into his kitchen, which was so much fun to watch. He had that kitchen running really smooth. Fantastic blend of menu selections, but the desserts were lacking. Get a flourless chocolate something on there!! :) I was there with co-workers for a dinner event; too loud to carry on a conversation with anyone that wasn't directly next to you (unless you know how to read lips). Youthful décor made it fun; bar has TVs, so keeps the environment casual. I will be back with my husband to enjoy dinner at the comfy high-back chair tables!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great place with a god vibe and good food. Handcrafted brews with a wide variety on the menu. It's a little loud but fun.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We all loved the restaurant! Everyone had a great time, and enjoyed the food. We all enjoyed the live music too!

Tags: Dancing, Vegan, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Great Beer, Tapas, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had the pleasure of going back annually to this local spot. Lexi and Jess L did an amazing job tending to my parties needs and quickly fixed the fire torch for us and recommended amazing drinks and overall superior customer service. See ya next January

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was great, and the service was the best I've seen in a long time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Live Music, Casual, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Live music started promptly at 7pm and was so loud we could not hear each other talk over it. That must be why half the other tables were taking selfies rather than talking. Shame, the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food and a fun atmosphere! The food came out quickly and the service was awesome!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Love the atmosphere, round tables are great and good happy hour and regular menu options! Kale and butternut squash salad amazing!

Service is top shelf!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were seated for dinner (for six) outside on a row of bar high tops (with a reservation). To spend $300+ for dinner and sit outside on bar high tops was disappointing. The service was awful. Our waiter came by no more than 4-5 times over the 2 hour dinner. We waited more than 45 min after ordering our entrees to be served. Will definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Cool place to dine, excellent food. Try the pretzels with cheese and the chicken fried chicken to die for. Highly recommended when in Scottsdale or Phoenix area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food as usual, a must stop for us in Scottsdale. Service was top notch too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was really great except the particular table we were seated at. The food was really good - the deviled eggs - to die for (I ordered a 2nd appetizer of them). Our waitress was super sweet and helpful. The manager came by without us asking to apologize for having to wait for our reservation and gave us a free desert...so really it is a steller place! Just make sure you aren't seated at the entry table if you can help it! :-) It was right at the door and the people who were waiting were right on top of us.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.