Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Culinary Dropout Waterfront

Melt into the comfortable chairs at Culinary Dropout where craft beer, games, and live music await. Treat yourself to amped-up appetizers like our Soft Pretzels sprinkled in sea salt and served with a provolone fondue and crowd favorites like our 36-hour pork ribs, or just enjoy the mood with an ice-cold local beer or signature craft cocktail.

7135 E Camelback Rd, Ste 125
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thur: 11am-11pm
Fri + Sat: 11am-Midnight
Sun: 11am-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-1700

Website:
http://www.culinarydropout.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Ray Suto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Culinary Dropout Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (62)
Fun (42)
Hot Spot (38)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Good for a Date (37)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
People Watching (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Bar Seating (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Comfort Food (27)
Live Music (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Modern Decor (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Waterfront (16)
Late-night Find (16)
Great Beer (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Tapas (9)
Live Sports (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Romantic (6)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Good drinks and good food - all four of us enjoyed it.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good food, service was slow since it was really bussy, I mentioned it was a birthday celebration on the reservation and there was no acknowledgement at all, first time there by recommendation not sure if would try again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Enjoyed the pretzels and smoke salmon very much. The service was also very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great chicken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The service at Culinary Dropout was amazing! My husband mentioned to the host that it was our anniversary and at the end of our meal, they sent us a complimentary monkey bread. For the host to remember this and tell our server was above and beyond of what I would expect. The food was great, atmosphere was fun, and the service was top notch!

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We have eaten many times in the past and loved everything about this place, however we were there for dinner on 4th of July and had a bad experience. I had a reservation and waited 45minutes past my reservation time for our table. Our salads were not to their usual standard. The guy who stands in front of the area where the food is placed for the servers to pick up orders was screaming at everyone through our entire meal. The night was a big disappointment

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had a very friendly waiter, but between he and the person that delivers the food, there were misses. Forks taken away with the eaten salad and not replaced with our entrees. Finally after 5 minutes I got up and walked up to a female waitress to get some forks and she looked at me like I asked for something they didn't have?! finally our waiter saw I was there and then found us forks in another 2 minutes. My husband ordered ribs. The table next to us, was given wipes and a bowl to place the bones. Not us! He used the napkin, but so much that the napkin was covered and of course got on his pants. When we were almost done, the waiter came and asked how we liked our dinner. Either short handed or not experienced enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Abominable service, average food, noisy, not worth the drive. IT A LOSER!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

It was perfect!!! Meatloaf amazing! Would not miss this one.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Really good food. Was pretty loud, hard to hold a conversation with the person sitting across the table, and that was before the live music even began.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great palace to eat with your dog. Food was great and servers are great.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I always love going to Culinary Dropout. The food is delicious and they make great Old Fashioned's. It's consistent and always busy. If you plan on dining here, I recommend making a reservation. The bar fills up fast for happy hour and there is normally a wait for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The service, food, and staff were exceptional. Everyone had a great time and cannot wait to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Live Music, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything was great! Pretzels and fondue were AMAZING treat! Service was great too! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The moment I walked in, the vibe was good. The staff was very friendly and professional, which led to a fun interaction. Allie was our server. She offered excellent suggestions, kept in contact throughout the meal, and was thoughtful enough to bring us drinks to go on a 117 degree day. The food was outstanding (the meatloaf and the chicken club, the fondue, and the monkey bread). I look forward to returning to try other items on the menu.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Very creative cocktails and some super good happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

A little loud, always good service and quality food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I always enjoy dropout. Great location and consistently creative dishes. No live music today but it's great when there is. The staff is friendly and attractive. Good for lunch or a night out in old town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was our first time here and we thoroughly enjoyed everything. The ambiance, the food, the service. It was all great! The only suggestion I would make would be to have the servers dress in a uniform, as it was hard to tell the servers from the guests

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Went here for my bachelorette party--- there were about 4 other bachelorette parties there too! Lots of fun, fantastic food, and great location for going out to the bars afterwards

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food and a fun atmosphere! We went for our anniversary and it was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The staff, food and time to wait for food was perfect. The music was to loud that you could not carry on a conversation with out almost screaming or having the person right up close to talk.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Cool ambience! Need to turn the air conditioner down, really warm inside during dinner. I must say your pretzel cheese fondue is the bomb!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Inside restaurant was too hot. The music was so loud, we could barely hear each other or we had to yell and of course that made it even worse. Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My husband and I wanted to try something new for dinner. It was our wedding aniversary and we were headed to the talking stick to play black jack. Wanted something new and fun. This was perfect. Would eat there again and recommend to friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The only problem was trying to seat us outside in 106 degree heat, despite having Reservations thru Open Table 12 hours earlier.
And all the windows were open, HOT HOT HOT

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This location was wonderful. Right across the street from Fashion Square mall, it is a great place to grab a delicious meal. My wife and I visited for the dinner hour, and enjoyed the Ribs and Korean style Rib-eye Cap. Both were delicious, but neither stood out more than the pretzels and cheese sauce. Everything there was wonderful, including the service. I would definitely recommend this place and will be back to visit soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Went for lunch and all 4 people in party were pleased with their meal. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was amazing, some of the best ribs i have ever had. The service was very slow. However, the price was right for what we got.

Tags: Waterfront, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great dining experience at Culinary Dropout. The turkey pastrami was delicious, our server was very attentive and the live music was great. Would HIGHLY recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I really like the place, but finally went for the ribs and Nahh, no so great, but other than that, Mussels, Burger, Kale Ceasar, all very good, each time. Wondered about the rubs, cant have everything. You will enjoy

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Recently went to Culinary Dropout for a bachelorette dinner with friends and we all absolutely LOVED this spot. Our waitress was amazing and so helpful! Food was fantastic!

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Made me feel like a little old lady! The music was so loud we asked twice to have it turned down. Even the manager agreed the music was too loud and hadn't been adjusted since the previous evening.

The server was working her second day and unfamiliar with the wine list. The bar man delivered Pinot Grigio and poured it into a glass of Chardonnay . Water was seldom refilled and once spilled over the table and onto packages below.

The food, at least, was very tasty. Go when the weather cools and you can sit outside.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Love the food. Later in the evening the music got louder other than that it was a wonderful time at the place

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We came here with 4 of us and the experience overall was solid. I really like the look and feel of the place. The hosts and server was very friendly. I really like the patio and decor inside. The food overall was good. The Korean ribeye cap was delicious, but the ribs were pretty basic. The sandwiches and salads that we ordered we're pretty decent, but nothing special. I would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Best chicken tortilla soup we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were at culinary dropout on a very hot afternoon. they had the misters going and it made outside dining tolerable. great live bar, it got very busy. great menu; i had the fried chicken - it was cooked just right.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Consistently good food and service. The Cinnabon/apple desert was amazing!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Good place to go for a casual meal. It's a little noisy but the food is good (try the meatloaf!) and the location is easy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.