About Culinary Dropout Waterfront

7135 E Camelback Rd, Ste 125
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Melt into the comfortable chairs at Culinary Dropout where craft beer, games, and live music await. Treat yourself to amped-up appetizers like our Soft Pretzels sprinkled in sea salt and served with a provolone fondue and crowd favorites like our 36-hour pork ribs, or just enjoy the mood with an ice-cold local beer or signature craft cocktail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thur: 11am-11pm
Fri + Sat: 11am-Midnight
Sun: 11am-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-1700

Website:
http://www.culinarydropout.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Ray Suto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ
Culinary Dropout Waterfront, Scottsdale, AZ

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Reservations Now, Resolutions Later. Book your New Year's Eve reservation with us today!

Culinary Dropout Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (35)
Casual (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
See All
Hot Spot (22)
Fun (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Live Music (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
People Watching (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Late-night Find (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Great Beer (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Live Sports (8)
Authentic (7)
Romantic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Waterfront (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Family Style (4)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tapas (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing menu item, loved the ambiance. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing menu item, loved the ambiance. Great date spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Save room for the Monkey Bread

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Save room for the Monkey Bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great vibe great band great sever (Kyle)

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great vibe great band great sever (Kyle)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a fun, hip, cool place and the food ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 23, 2016

It's a fun, hip, cool place and the food is very good and dthe service is excellent.

Go! Have fun!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to hang out with friends

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great place to hang out with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, decent but unimaginative menu ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Beautiful, decent but unimaginative menu, but the volume of music makes it nearly impossible to carry on a conversation....lowering it just a touch would make a huge difference. I doubt it that will ever happen since it has been a consistent complaint for a long time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite places in Scottsdale. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of my favorite places in Scottsdale. Food and service is always top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the last stop of the day celebr ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was the last stop of the day celebrating my 50 th bday this was a great choice

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Saturday night, 7pm to visi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We went on a Saturday night, 7pm to visit with friends who were in from out of state. The wait staff was great although it took a long time for the food to be served, however staff did keep us updated (there were a number of large parties this evening.) The food was good, nothing exceptional, just tasty good food. The décor was funky and fun and we liked that later on there was a live band. However, the music noise level from the time we sat down was beyond loud, it wasn't the crowd, it was all music. It was difficult to have a conversation and we had to yell to hear each other. I would understand if this was a bar or night club, however this is a restaurant where people go meet with friends to have a bit of food and some good conversation. I had a sore throat the next day from all the yelling we did :-( . Unfortunately I cannot recommend this restaurant and I wouldn't go back because of how loud the music was. I would happily return and give it another try if the music was turned down so people can comfortably talk to one another and enjoy the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food selection was interesting and servi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food selection was interesting and service was attentive but it was so absolutely noisy we couldn't hear ourselves speaking to each other across the table. And we were outside. Not only did they have the music cranked up to full blast, they had live bands playing above it. Yowsah. Perhaps I'm just too old. A 34-year-old curmudgeon. Pllbbbb.... won't be back here on a weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Service was fantastic! I ordered the "B ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was fantastic! I ordered the "Between You & Me" from the cocktail list and it was delicious! Light and refreshing. For Happy Hour we ordered the Antipasti and it was good. We also order the Pretzels with cheese sauce, and they were out of this world! Best pretzels and cheese I've ever had, and the portion was quite large! For my main course I ordered the Fried Chicken, and it was really disappointing. They use some kind of weird breading, possibly cornmeal. I found the breading disgusting, and dry. Mashed potatoes and gravy were just so so at best. Potatoes needed butter and salt.

We would definitely go back, but I would never order the fried chicken again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We came here for dinner because we were ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We came here for dinner because we were close by looking for someplace different to try. We aren't from the area so we weren't familiar at all with this place. We made reservations online which was really easy and quick. When we got there we were seated instantly in the outdoor seating area. I loved the ambiance and the live music. It wasn't too loud or crowded and the decor was nice. Our server came by often to check on us and she was really friendly. I work in retail so customer service is everything to me, and they didn't disappoint. The food was great, and we didn't have to wait very long. I liked everything about this place and would definitely recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Live Sports, Wood Oven, Family Style, People Watching, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Cozy, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, food, and live music was great. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Service, food, and live music was great. Was visiting from Washington State, my wife and I had a great time.

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meatloaf ever! !

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Best meatloaf ever! !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a fantastic velvety potato soup wi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I had a fantastic velvety potato soup with chives and bacon. The generous portion of trout filet was cooked to perfection. I would definitely come back to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

WE HAD A WONDERFUL DINNER, BUT COULDN'T ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

WE HAD A WONDERFUL DINNER, BUT COULDN'T TALK BECAUSE THE "BACKGROUND MUSIC" WAS WAY TOO LOUD. I NOW UNDERSTAND WHY SO MANY PEOPLE USE THEIR DEVICES AT THE DINNER TABLE. TEXTING IS THE ONLY WAY YOU CAN CONVERSE - WITH PEOPLE AT THE SAME TABLE. LOVED EVERYTHING ELSE, BUT WE PROBABLY WON'T BE BACK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

Loved the food and service. Delicious. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Loved the food and service. Delicious. ...can't wait to go back when we are in Scottsdale.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place to visit when we are ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our favorite place to visit when we are in Scottsdale. We don't miss going for their great food and service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was wonderful! Thank you for ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The staff was wonderful! Thank you for making our night super!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon walking in, enjoyed the decor and t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Upon walking in, enjoyed the decor and the hostess' quick hello. The wait staff were also quick to address, friendly and knowledgeable. Our appetizers were great and the full menu items were enjoyed by all four of our group. The food is a bit on the outside of "normal" comfort food but right up my alley. We will be back.

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was the perfect place to celebrate ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was the perfect place to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had a fabulous time. The food was great and the atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We went before a Halloween Party and had ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went before a Halloween Party and had a number of small plates. 2 of the 6 of us have never been there. The Korean Brussel Sprouts were SO GOOD, that one of the aforementioned 2, who claimed to despise Brussel sprouts, finished half the dish.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Atmosphere.. Loved the food.. the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great Atmosphere.. Loved the food.. the nly thing I can say is that we waited a while for the server to circle back around when we were ready to order. Other than that the server was attentive and pleasant..

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Really neat atmosphere. Service was a b ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Really neat atmosphere. Service was a bit slow, but food was good. Could have a little more options, but overall good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had to find a spot where they serve so ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I had to find a spot where they serve something for everyone's picky appetites, young and old. Service was slow. There were more hostesses than servers. We went on a night that was suppose to have live music and there was none. And the monkey bread desert took forever. Overall, it was centrally located and the decor was funky. Make sure to make reservations. They were turning a lot of people away even when there were plenty of tables. If you're not in a hurry, then this spot is great.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Normally our experiences at the Culinary ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Normally our experiences at the Culinary Dropout have been stellar however the fish and chip was greasy and the soft pretzels were over cooked. My wife's tuna salad was excellent. I would still recommend this restaurant and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great get together. Good food and atmosp ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great get together. Good food and atmosphere. Wish the drinks were cheaper, but everyone had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Too expensive for very average food. Se ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Too expensive for very average food. Service ok but far from good or great. I'd never go back in a city like Scottsdale where there are so many superior restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I was disappointed because I ordered the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I was disappointed because I ordered the same thing (grilled chicken club) at another location and it was fantastic. At this location it was terrible. Also, no one really liked what they ordered. I won't go to this location anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Culinary dropout was a great experience! ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Culinary dropout was a great experience! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Cozy, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food at a great price - highly rec ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Great food at a great price - highly recommend Ma's Meatloaf but all other dishes awesome as well!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 14 of us and we were pretty c ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

There were 14 of us and we were pretty comfortable. Love the decor. Food great and our server was very attentive. My only complaint would be the noise level. But we had a good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice once we got in but not impressed wi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Nice once we got in but not impressed with wait time and not able to eat in restaurant given we had reservation. We were seated on patio next to large group of high school prom etcc...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The area is great but the food was all o ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The area is great but the food was all overcooked and the music was much too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

The food was outstanding, I would eat th ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was outstanding, I would eat there every day if I could. Servis was amazing, slightly slow, but understandable. The roads are so busy, if you don't know the area it's easy to pass by and sometimes hard to know where to park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was o ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was great and the service was outstanding, but the restaurant was so noisy we couldn't converse with our friends. We probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We tried for restaurant week and will be ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 19, 2016

We tried for restaurant week and will be back again😀. Best fried chicken ever👍.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server and bartender were both so gr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The server and bartender were both so great! I'd come back because of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, I enjoy Culinary Dropout (all l ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Overall, I enjoy Culinary Dropout (all locations) and generally have a good experience there. However, this night we had terrible service and the food was sub-par. We went because it was restaurant week, & the pre-fix seemed like a good deal for two couples to share a dinner together. Our server seemed distracted and not at all attentive. My friend had to ask 3 times for a coke while waiting for our appetizers. Our salads came within a reasonable about of time, but the pretzels seemed to be forgotten. When we inquired with the server he said "oh let me go grab those for you" with no explanation as to why there was such delay & no apology for it either. 5-10 minutes later another person came over and offered a crudites plate because of the wait & stated "the kitchen is backed up due to restaurant week & they ran out of pretzels". In spite of the wait for the appetizers, dinner came shortly after before we were actually finished, which if you are into the dinning experience, you can understand is very frustrating. The meat was over salted, the chicken was overcooked- we mentioned some of this to the server but didn't feel like waiting for things to be re-made so just tried to enjoy what we could. The server offered no apologies, no manager ever came back over to talk with us, and overall I would just say my experience was not as good as I know it can be. I will still go back there, as I do think the good and atmosphere are good, this just wasn't one of those times.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

Always like a visit to Culinary Dropout, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always like a visit to Culinary Dropout, good vibe and food and drink options for everyone . Liked the chopped salad and a local beer. Misters make sitting outside bearable , even in the heat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.