Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Culinary Dropout Waterfront

Melt into the comfortable chairs at Culinary Dropout where craft beer, games, and live music await. Treat yourself to amped-up appetizers like our Soft Pretzels sprinkled in sea salt and served with a provolone fondue and crowd favorites like our 36-hour pork ribs, or just enjoy the mood with an ice-cold local beer or signature craft cocktail.

7135 E Camelback Rd, Ste 125
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thur: 11am-11pm
Fri + Sat: 11am-Midnight
Sun: 11am-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-1700

Website:
http://www.culinarydropout.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.

Parking Details:
Valet available

Executive Chef:
Ray Suto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Culinary Dropout Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (55)
Casual (50)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Modern Decor (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Hot Spot (40)
Comfort Food (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Good for Groups (39)
Happy Hour (37)
People Watching (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Live Music (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Bar Seating (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Special Occasion (28)
Late-night Find (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Great Beer (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Live Sports (16)
Cozy (15)
Open Kitchen (13)
Quick Bite (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Family Style (10)
Tapas (10)
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Business Meals (10)
Waterfront (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Scenic View (8)
Authentic (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fireplace (2)
Dancing (2)
Spicy (2)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Traveling from Chicago to Scottsdale for the weekend. Can't say enough about how great the service exceeded my expectations! Food was awesome ! However if you are wanting to have a conversation with anyone this is not the place? My reservation was for 7PM .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Had dinner here as part of a girls' weekend. The food was great and the service was even better. A little on the expensive side, particularly for drinks, but highly recommended!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

My daughter and I had a great outdoor dinner on our last evening in Scottsdale at Culinary Dropout. My only complaint is that we had a reservations and still had to wait about 15 minutes for a table. Other than that, the food, music, service were all great.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Even though reservation, took several minutes to get in. But it was worth the wait. Good, different menu choices but also regular ones too. Loud but Great band playing too. Enjoyable night.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Tapas, Good for a Date, Live Music, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

This was a nice find on our vacation. My wife, 12 yr old daughter and I had great meals. The trout was excellent and my daughter loved the fried chicken. They were able to accommodate a gluten-free restriction without a reduction in quality. Minor issue would be the noise level inside- some very bouncy acoustics. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

5 friends chose this restaurant for dinner on Wednesday evening. Our table was in a nice location and we were greeted nicely by the front desk and our server. From there we were pretty much neglected . We were never offered water and our drinks were delivered after a great length of time and not together! Every part of our service was exceptionally slow and we finally had to ask another waiter to have our waiter come over. The second waiter was more helpful but the overall experience was wanting and we will likely not return. There are too many other good restaurants in the area to put up with this . Sorry....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This place is one of the FOX family of restaurants and this one like the other doesn't disappoint. The food there is amazing, especially the pretzel bread/cheese dip and the Monkey Bread dessert. The location is great with outdoor seating and outdoor bar. We have been there twice now and the food and service has been consistent. We will be going back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I am someone who has been in the industry for a long time and knows food and beverage very well. Your food and wine are above average but then again, what really is average these days? Lovely food is mandatory to survive in this area and most items I've had are fantastic. The beer selection actually left a bit to be desired however.
For me though, ambience and service can trump even F&B that has (very) minor holes. The open layout of the floor and kitchen make for a remarkable experience. Parlay that with the exemplary service we received from Kyle that night, it was a great experience. Poor layout makes for an uncomfortable experience and bad service can rarely be made up for - knocked it out of the park on both counts.
Thanks and see you soon.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great - we love the appetizers & happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Loved all of the good food options and had exceptional service. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed the food and decorating ambiance at Culinary Dropout, but unfortunately, we couldn't wait to leave, as the music noise level was so high, we couldn't talk across the table. When we politely asked our food server if it could be turned down in our area or could we be moved somewhere quieter, we were told that there was only one volume control, which was on the patio. If they turned that down, then the patio people wouldn't be able to hear the music. If I go there again, it will only be at lunch, as I didn't notice the music volume during the lunch hour. Otherwise, I will avoid Culinary Dropout, which is unfortunate, as the rest of the experience was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Apps and burgers were amazing. DJ music was energetic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had requested a patio table when reservation was made. When we arrived, none were available. Seated inside where the music was way too loud. Host asked manager to turn down, which he did, but still too loud to carry on a conversation with friends we hadn't seen in months. Luckily a table opened up outside and we moved. It was very pleasant. Service was very good and everyone enjoyed their entree.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I wanted to update my review to say that I was very impressed to be contacted by a manager who read my review below. She apologized for the slow service and our less than excellent experience and had made arrangements with the chef to make some menu changes. She offered to make things right next time we came in. This attention to detail is praiseworthy and a sign that this establishment cares for their customer's experience!!!

We celebrated my son's 19th birthday here on a weeknight, per his request. The place was noisy, but with an upbeat attitude! Decor was well done, with comfortable seating. We were seated right away having made reservations. The menu seemed surprisingly limited in the offerings. Bar drinks came fairly quickly but it was hard to toast to my son's birthday since he waited 10 minutes for his soft drink! We then waited another 15 minutes to order food. The waiter seemed put out and a little snippy that we asked the very helpful server who he was orienting, to take our order. We then waited quite awhile for our food. The salad was good, the turkey pastrami and steak were "okay" and the cannelloni was was tough and tasted pasty. We then WAITED so long for the S'Mores dessert, that we stated that we really didn't want it anymore. It then magically appeared, and we weren't charged for it, which was appreciated. This place gets great reviews, and seems very busy. However, we found the service slow and the taste of the food mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 11, 2017

love this place, come here almost every monday! such great food and up beat environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Love this unique restaurant! The menu is so original and everything from the appetizers to desert was original and very yummy! Even the drinks were excellent. Atmosphere and location were excellent also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food is amazing! We had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Slightly glorified bar food. Nothing spectacular. The 36 hour ribs were skinny and a let down. Not worth smother visit. I can see why the high school and college kids think it may be fun but if you want fine dining don't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

SLOW.....our entrees took forever. We waited 25 minutes for the banana cream pie. The staff comped the desert because it took so long. 2 hours for a simple lunch on a Sat. Is too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Loved the ambiance & great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It is EXTREMELY loud in this place. Definitely more for drinkers than eaters. You literally cannot have a conversation without screaming, let alone hear your server.

The service was very poor. The server was not attentive to our drinks and barely available to be "flagged" for service. We sat with our meals finished for 20 minutes before he arrived to ask if anything else was needed.

2 out of our 3 appetizers arrived first and the third arrived with our entrees. The olive appetizer had soft and mushy olives.

There's plenty of staff, but they seem more keen on huddling by the hostess stand than attending to guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great ambiance and bad, appetizers were incredible! Of course get the pretzels and fondue

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Everything was great except the flies were a major nuisance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Fodd was great so were the drinks. It was a bit laud, but that seems to be the trend these days.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 4, 2017

best meal we had in Scottsdale, for quality and value. it WAS noisy but it was a big night for sports. recommended by our Segway tour guide and worth it-we'll go back!

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 4, 2017

awesome as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 2, 2017

First time eating here. I got the Turkey sandwich, which is a "house favorite". I was not impressed, the taste was not great. The side salad was very small, I should have ordered the french fries. The drinks were good and the atmosphere was cool. I'm sure the food is usually better, just wouldn't get that meal again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Loved the relaxed ambience. Our waiter Robert was attentive and fun. Food was very good comfort food and I enjoyed the interesting drink list!!

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a very enjoyable evening. The live band was awesome. Food and server were both great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The waiter (male) that served us was fantastic. Unfortunately, the gal who dropped off the food was either having a bad night or just had an attitude. Regardless, it was disappointing to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I always enjoy eating at Culinary Dropout. Great service and great food!

Tags: Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Went for lunch, but have been for dinner. Very lively place, comfortable, a bit noisy. excellent food for lunch and for casual dinner. Part of the Fox Group, which are all pretty good places. Kale salad with pears, etc. was surprisingly good (not usually a kale person) and chicken club sandwich was also very good.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The place had an hour wait time. We waited 15 min and was seated to our surprise... we were so excited and thankful.. it was very busy.. but they seemed to have enough staff on hand for the crowd inside.... once seated it was so noisy we could barely hear the waiter give the specials of the night...
We had the fried chicken and grilled cheese... before the dinner came we ordered beverages that came in a decent time.. but when the food can out it was cold and not arranged properly.. the fried chicken in my opinion was overlooked and cold and mind you the dish took 25 min they said to be prepared to wait 25 min for it to be cooked, and the biscuit that came with it was sad.. it too was cold and the flavor was boring at best... the grilled cheese looked promising but it too was cold and the fries were soggy and cold!!!
Not a good experience... we sat at right In Front of the kitchen and saw our food come out as soon as it hit the shelf so it didn't sit.... the problem is in the kitchen.. the kitchen manager not ensuring quality control on a busy night! Unacceptable!!! The noise level was INSANE.... wayyyy to loud to even hold a conversation....

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We were a party of four and enjoyed our meal here. The service was impeccable and the waiter, Kyle was wonderful. The atmosphere is good and the food was good, but just a tad salty. Our friends had the salmon and trout. Both enjoyed, but felt the portions were small. We had the fried chicken, which was delicious, but the side order of mashed potatoes with it was small as well. It is easy to park here and we will go back again when we are in the area.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great ribs, wings and cocktails. Great location and they offer valet parking.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Always a good time @ Culinary Dropout. Friendly staff, great food and adult beverage selection. Service could be a tad bit more attentive. Haven't seen any new menu items since my first visit a little over a year ago.

Tags: Live Sports, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Waterfront, Cozy, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very cool, upbeat ambiance. Food was very good and they even let us stay a bit to watch Oregon knock off Kansas. Perfect night

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

waitress was great....but she didn't know a lot about your IPA's, nor did she suggest a mixed drink......we sat on the patio and it was pretty easy to talk....we brought our out of town friends......we will be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We arrived about an hour before our reservations and the hostess was able to seat us within 5-10 minutes. They were very accommodating. Once seated our server was awesome and gave us great drink and food recommendations. We really enjoyed the Brussel sprouts appetizer and our drinks. I had the Room Service cocktail which was my favorite item of the night. Our food was just okay. Definitely nothing to write home about even though we order the customer's favorite items including the chicken and the ribs. Others had salmon and salads and weren't impressed either. Overall, a great place to hang out if you are looking for a loud, vibrant atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Spicy, Tapas, People Watching, Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Loved it! Food was great - awesome menu. Nice staff, but slow bevy service. All in great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.