Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Aqua PazzoAqua Pazzo
(45)
Italian | Cleveland East, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Ezio's Italian Restaurant & CateringEzio's Italian Restaurant & Catering
(2)
Italian | Cleveland East, Cleveland
Reserve Now
The Bistro at Gervasi VineyardThe Bistro at Gervasi Vineyard
(2639)
Italian | Canton, Canton
Reserve Now
Welshfield InnWelshfield Inn
(881)
American | Burton, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Basil Asian BistroBasil Asian Bistro
(274)
Pan-Asian | Canton, Canton
Reserve Now
Bricco - KentBricco - Kent
(51)
Italian | Kent, Akron
Reserve Now
Bender's TavernBender's Tavern
(366)
Seafood | Canton, Canton
Reserve Now
Thai Lanna & Sushi BarThai Lanna & Sushi Bar
(2)
Japanese | Canton, Canton
Reserve Now
35 Brix35 Brix
(103)
American | Canton, Canton
Reserve Now
The Twisted OliveThe Twisted Olive
(1071)
American | Canton, Canton
Reserve Now
The Cutting BoardThe Cutting Board
(22)
American | Aurora, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Beau's On The RiverBeau's On The River
(508)
Fusion / Eclectic | Akron, Akron
Reserve Now
One Red DoorOne Red Door
(677)
Contemporary American | Hudson, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Tomato GrillTomato Grill
(482)
Italian | Hudson, Cleveland
Reserve Now

About Culinary Arts Restaurant

492 McClurg Road
Boardman, OH 44512
View Larger Map

CA Restaurant carefully blends contemporary American flavors while
embracing Italian and Asian influences. Seasonal and fresh ingredients
precede every culinary creation leaving only an “ambrosial” experience to be
granted. We extend to you an invitation to join us for dinner in the dining
room, or in the relaxing lounge with all your family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Italian, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Tue-5pm-10pm
Wed-5pm-10pm
Thu-5pm-10pm
Fri-5pm-11pm
Sat-5pm-11pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 965-5899

Website:
http://www.culinaryac.com/index.html

Private Party Facilities:
Let CA Restaurant host your next private event and help create memories of a lifetime. Whether you are planning a corporate event, birthday party, bridal or baby shower, our unique state of the art facility is the perfect venue for your next event. Our executive chef and event specialist will work closely with you to create the perfect menu and custom designed event tailored to your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Event Specialist: 3309655899x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent! Food delicious/ presentation ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Excellent!

Food delicious/ presentation attractive.

Erin our waitress was outstanding!

Bar staff great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, details could be improved ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Food was good, details could be improved like making sure that plates are warm when food is served .......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Been going here for some time now and ev ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Been going here for some time now and every time the food is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A little disappointed

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We had reservations. On arrival, she seated us at a small pub-table...in the bar; not what we envisioned. We asked for something different and she replied there were reservation, implying they had first dibs. Hmm, my first visit was about to be my last visit; she moved us to the dining room.

Service started OK, then we noticed every other tables had bread and butter...we had to ask. The waitress didn't check on us much, so we had fewer drinks.

Appetizers were good, as fried-breaded shrimp go, and they had some blend of ranch dressing, but not enough to use as a dip; good presentation, but more would have been better.

The dinners were good, but the table was lit by a single candle. Good for ambiance, but difficult to eat-by. I had a seafood spaghetti entree, which came with linguine and a mixture of seafood's...OK, I like linguine better, but it was a bit unexpected. Each bite was a surprise since we couldn't actually see what we were eating. It definitely had shrimp, but I'm not sure about scallops.

Once she brought the check we were ready to call it a night, then she attended to other table for a very long time. Hmm, a fairly disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

saturday at the CA

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

we arrived a little late for our reservations and were seated immediately. really enjoy the difference between the dining area and the bar we we're seated Midway and enjoyed both. we order the filet Marsala and the salmon special. my girlfriend return her fillet - as being a little undercooked it was done with all apologies and returned cooked perfectly. my salmon was cooked perfectly with fingerling potatoes bacon lardons asparagus and a green sauce tasting of avocado. it was simply a joy to eat. all in all one of the best dining experiences I've ever had at a restaurantwill definitely return and recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We were a little disappointed due to the menu change but found a new entree to order and were not displeased. Food was delicious and we love coming here!

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still great, but limited menu?

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

My second visit to The CA.

The food was very good and beautifully presented. However my guest and I returned from our first visit ready to reorder a couple favorite dishes only to find that the menu was far less extensive than last time. In fact the menu was far less extensive than the menu posted on their website. This was disappointing and put a damper on the entire experience.

Service and atmosphere were exceptional as before. But I will think twice before booking again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Surprised

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Everyone was very friendly, service was great (waitress helped me pick out a wine to have with dinner). I had the wedding soup as an appetizer, very good but was lukewarm. My wife's salad was superb. I had the sea bass, which was great, but the black rice it sat on was very hard. The wasabi beans were awesome. My wife had beef tenderloin tips, which melted in your mouth…very tasty. The toffee crusted creme brûlée was fantastic!! My only disappointment was that we were the only table not to get bread. It was very cool to be able to see all the meals prepared out in the open. Oh, this place is very pricey, but given the quality of food and ambiance, I think it's nice to have a place like this in our backyard. We'll be back for sure in the Spring/Summer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Online menu

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I was very disappointed with limited selections on the menu. Entrees on the online menu not on Friday's menu...including two items i was looking forward to trying

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointing

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

We were very excited to try CA as we read so many great reviews. We were very disappointed in the food. We had an appetizer, soup, and two entrees and none of them were good. Nice atmosphere though and the service was great. Just not the place for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent food.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Appetizer of Margarita pizza very good. 3 entrees tried - Chick Parm, Salmon w/ kale & Pork w/ figs. All excellent. Very tasty bread as well. Server very helpful with suggestions. Wonderful place to dine for adults.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food looked great

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

Presentation of food was beautiful. Sides and sauces perfect. Proteins very over cooked and dry. Both the pork and seabass were dry and cooked to well. I specifically told the server I would like my pork medium it was well. For the price it should have been perfect. Doubtful I will ever go back.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Hidden Gem

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

CA is a hidden gem, tucked away off of Market st. We absolutely love the CA! They offer fantastic cocktails, food that will awaken your senses, and a beautiful atmosphere! I highly recommend it to anyone who loves food and drinks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reunion with friends

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

The Burrata & 600-day Prosciutto di Parma is fantastic and have gotten it the last two times I've visited. As well, the Resse's Peanut Butter Cheesecake is a favorite and was shared with another person. Tried the Wild Caught Ahi Tuna Sashimi ; the seeds of the jalapenos make it tougher to appreciate the ahi flavor. I wish the ahi was sliced just a little thicker.

I look forward to going there again when I return to my Ohio roots. The service was wonderful, which is tougher to find back in that neck of the woods.

And my thanks to the staff for correcting my reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our second visit exceeded expectations. Great time

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

The attention to detail was obvious in every aspect. Being close and able to watch the quality of preparation made the evening a highlight. Each dish presented at the table was one that could be equaled to the best of any major city. The facility is close-by and very affordable.

A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent find

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

My wife and I often eat out, but had never heard if CA Restaurant. An acquaintance was playing a gig there and we thought we would visit to catch the show. We were pleasantly surprised to find this gem of a restaurant. The food was outstanding, plate presentation was beatiful, and portions were good. I highly recommend the Butter cake with vanilla bean ice cream and strawberries.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Can't wait to return!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

We absolutely loved, loved, loved our food at CA. The restaurant was such an amazing find and we really enjoyed it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The "wow" of the Culinary Arts

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 1, 2015

One of the best experiences I have ever had in a restaurant. The service was second to none with a very extensive wine list. The presentation of the food was absolutely stunning. Would recommend to anyone for a casual night out on the bar side, or a romantic dinner on the service side. A++

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Great food. Great scene. Excellent wine selection. Try to sit in the dining room instead of the bar area. Our server was also the bartender and she wasn't able to provide us with the service that you should get at a place like this. Otherwise great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Love the ambiance!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Love the ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

First visit. Loved the experience. Onl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

First visit. Loved the experience. Only criticism is the ventilation/open kitchen situation. Avoid bringing your favorite dry clean only items since everything requires a good cleaning afterwards. Wouldn't let this prevent me from returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

We went here for our wedding anniversary -- and what a lovely spot it was. We enjoyed wonderful food, lovely service and a quiet and romantic atmosphere. It wasn't busy (Tuesday night) which was nice for the occasion. I understand that they are busier on other days -- and was surprised that they are very accommodating with their menu and welcome children. Great find!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmoshere was so amazing, when you f ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

The atmoshere was so amazing, when you first pull in it's, very decieving.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

First timer

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Received a gift card for Christmas-took us a while to use it-but are glad we did. Was a little apprehensive that it would be too fancy for dinner before a movie., but was way off base. There was a great mix of customers from teens going to a dance to young ones coming in with their parents. Waiter was great and wish I could remember his name as well as the food. My friend and I got mixed drinks which were well worth what we paid for them and our husbands got wine/no complaints from them either. We will definatley go back for either the holidays & if not in the soaring so that maybe we can sit outside.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, great night!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

We had heard about CA from a few of our friends and decided to check it out for ourselves. We were not disappointed. We were celebrating Ed's birthday and the night was perfect. We started with a couple of drinks, then had the Lettuce Wraps for appetizer (so yummy, Ed's first

experience with a lettuce wrap, so funny), then Ed had a steak, it was done to perfection and I had the Korean Beef tips, deliscious!! Thank you for a wonderful night! We are telling our friends and two of them already checked you out on Saturday. We shall return!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food for a Special Night Out

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

I had visited the Culinary Arts Restaurant about 5 years ago and swore I never would return. This visit was "day and night" from my visit 5 years ago.

My reservations were handled with expediency and I was welcomed and seated with in 5 minutes of walking in the door (the restaurant was very busy due to Sweetest Day.)

My server came immediately to the table and selected a nice wine for us to enjoy while we looked over the menu. We both decided on the 4 course Sweetest Day Special, and every course was outstanding in every way (flavor, freshness, and taste.) The first course, the lobster bisque was delightful, not too rich or salty (as sometimes this type of soup may be.) The salad had the house dressing which was light and did not overpower the taste of the salad. But the star of the show was the "surf and turf." The filet was so tender and was prepared perfectly as requested (medium rare). The lobster was also cooked to perfection, not overcooked (which happens a lot in this area.)

To top the evening off, the red velvet cheesecake was served. I thought I would only have one bite and take the rest home, however I could not stop eating it! It was delicious.

I could not believe what a wonderful evening we had at the Culinary Arts Restaurant! My husband has commented several time on the service, the food, and a just fabulous night out"

I have changed my mind regarding the Culinary Arts Restaurant and will return again.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

These people know how to cook fish! The ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

These people know how to cook fish! The lobster bisque was outstanding! You definitely get what you pay for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten at CA multiple times. Las ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

We have eaten at CA multiple times. Last evening our service was exceptionally slow, and they screwed up the order so we were delayed eating even longer. I refuse to eat in front of my guests who had to wait for their meals, so my food was cold by the time the last entrees were served. The hostess was apologetic and said she was not charging us for the entree but we were still charged. Disappointed in many levels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

A surprising find in Youngstown

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

Visited CA based on a recommendation of a co-worker. She warned me that as I drove down the road to the restaurant I would wonder if I was going to the right place, the area is mostly warehouses and light industry.

The building is plain on the outside but truly lovely on the inside, elegant and well-kept. I was there on a Wednesday night and they had live music, a singer in the bar - he was excellent.

Service was outstanding, on par with the best I've had. So far I really liked the place.

Then the food arrived - amazing. From classics to eclectic, everything we order was fantastic, all the way through to dessert. I have only been back in the midwest for a year, but it was the best meal I've had in the Cleveland-Columbus-Pittsburgh area, easily.

I would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just ok

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

Our service wasn't very good, we waited 10 minutes at our table before anyone came over. The food was warm but not hot. Our server never came back over to check on us. The food was just ok. Overpriced

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great Experience

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

Girls night out - My friends and I went to CA for dinner out and had a fabulous meal!! From appetizers to dessert it couldn't have been better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2015

Four of us for a nice evening of dinner and a bottle of wine. Good variety on the menu - something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Something has changed....

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

This restaurant is a fairly significant distance for us, but our first several visits were so overwhelmingly good that we made quite a few trips here. But things were different this time around. The appetizers were as they had been and fantastic. The calamari is still to die for. The deserts are as they were, and very good. However there are subtle changes here. The warm butter cake used to come with fresh whipped cream, but now with ice cream. We preferred the whipped cream. The entrees however, were much different. In both cases - pork chop and duck breast - the protein was over-cooked. This was very odd on the pork chop since they specifically asked for done-ness level.

The sides have been re-arranged and not always to the better. Udon noodles now come with the duck breast and were formerly with the Korean BBQ - which was a better choice in my opinion. The asparagus was perfect (olive oil and a little salt - still nicely crispy) but of too small a quantity. Lots of sweet potatoes, which were just not to our taste.

We ordered champagne splits, but they weren't cold. It was obvious that the waitress had never served them before. To be fair, she was extremely attentive, very friendly, and quite helpful. We had the feeling she was fairly new.

It's a small venue, and we recognized none of the help, none of the cooks, etc. So there has been some change, which unfortunately in our opinion, has not benefitted the restaurant.

It's now a dilemma for us since it is very pricey and thus not easy to randomly give a second chance to. They may be in the middle of a transition and will return to their previous levels of service. It is our hope that they will.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Elegant

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

Place is appropriate for close friends, or family or group dinner , very accommodating, courteous and clean , the menus and prices fair.

Our server was very attentive to all of us.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

sadly dissapointed

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

we have ate at this restaurant before and were excited to go back. The previous visit was stellar, however the most recent visit was a total disappointment. We asked to be seated in the bar area which they obliged. My girlfriend ordered salmon, which she said was great. I ordered a pasta Bolognese that was on tastefully done. It was a broth more than a hearty Bolognese sauce. I told the waitress that it was horrible and she allowed me to order something else. She did take the pasta dish off of the bill but charge me full price for the replacement food. I had special request that it was my girlfriend's birthday and that was not acknowledged at all. The waitress was not visible at most of the time during our dinner. Refills had to be asked for instead of being granted without request. I probably will not go back, because I feel it will not change

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great Experience

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

Wonderful food, eclectic menu, interesting dinnerware makes CA a place to return to. Every bite was enjoyed and savored. Our waitress was attentive and helpful. Sitting near the open kitchen we at first thought was a negative but we realized we could not only watch the food being prepared, we could also check out various menu choices.

The food was beautifully plated on uniquely shaped dinnerware. Generous portions and so much flavor!

Only two negative comments. When we arrived, we were in an unattended lobby. A young man appeared in few minutes but wasn't very friendly. He found our reservations and seated us, all without even a hit of a smile and NO personality at all. We did not feel welcomed at all! Thankfully, our server, I think her name was Erin, was bubbly, professional, helpful and a delight.

The other negative was the menu, it had a lot on one large sheet, small print and printed in an ink color that did not provide enough contrast to make it readable in the dim lighting. It's ok to use black ink.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Don't waste your time

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

Untrained waitress

No knowledge of wine list. Wines are not described on wine list.

Food overdone.

Poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

this was our go to place

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 22, 2015

When the CA first opened we visited there every chance we got a least once a week. The food was outstanding the service was to. The place sparkled with the candles and the chandelier was a focal point. We had the seafood tower for our 45 anniversary dinner that was to die for.

On our last visit last Wed. we sat outside . The chairs under the cushions were broken down, had to ask for napkins to go with our small plate selection's that were at the least marginal in taste. Not what I expected for a kabob. We went inside for dinner with friends that have been there before also, the food wasn't what we have come to expect from the CA. I didn't answer the question would you recommend to friends I have done the opposite. I told them it isn't as good as it once was. Very nice place to have a drink with friends but that is about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our food was fabulous!! The lettuce wrap ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 7, 2015

Our food was fabulous!! The lettuce wraps have such depth of flavor. The bolognese was amazing! I would like to see more seasonal specials and a delicate fish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Each course was better than the last.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

Food and decor was great. Portions were ample. Service seemed a little slow but that was OK. We enjoyed watching the chefs prepare all the dinners. Maybe it's slow by design. It's pricey, but I didn't mind paying for a meal of that quality. Chocolate molting cake was the best I've ever had. My wife and I will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.