Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Culina

Culina is taking reservations for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Capturing the cosmopolitan ethose of Los Angeles, Culina, Modern Italian presents a lively neighborhood gathering spot where sophisticated cuisine and levity join hands. Culina, from the Latin word for "kitchen" showcases the intersection of traditional and modern Italian cuisine with a menu guided by exceptional ingredients. Guests can linger over small plates and wine or settle in for a night of superior dining in the garden. The menu features Los Angeles' only crudo bar with the finest selections of hand prepared raw seafood, as well as homemade pastas, pizzas, the freshest Burrata and salami, and authentic entrees. Our wine program offers approximately 200 wines, most available by carafe, from Italy and the rest of the world, with a range of unique aperitifs and cocktails. Culina provides the perfect atmosphere to see and be seen!

300 South Doheny Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am – 11:00am; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday – Saturday: 11:30am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 6:00pm – 10:30pm; Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Burton Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 860-4000

Website:
http://culinarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking - $12.00 for Culina patrons. Complimentary Valet Parking at Lunch.

Executive Chef:
Culina Chef Mirko Paderno

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Private Events Specialist Kaili Tidland at kaili.tidland@fourseasons.com or call (310) 860-4000.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Culina, Modern Italian’s elegant Private Dining Room and Grappa Room are ideal for business, social and intimate gatherings. For cocktail receptions, we recommend the Culina Lounge or Culina Patio.

Culina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Romantic (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I've stayed at Fourseasons hotels all over the world and they always have the best service that I guess could ask for. This was the strangest restaurant I have ever been to we waited for 20 minutes to be greeted by someone who wasn't our server who told us our server would shortly be there to help us out she came over and said do you want food we broke out laughing. We asked for the manager He ignored our concerns and seem to be oblivious to what was going on in his restaurant. He offered to give us some free dessert offered no explanation or apology and said that they were getting a new chef and the food was amazing. The food was Good not amazing. The only thing I would really recommend is the margarita pizza that was very Italian like but the services of Joes and I can see why it was available last minute on a Saturday night .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Tremendous food and great setting. For the price, portions are tiny. Overall a very nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We keep coming back to Culina. The food is great, the service is great, the dining room is gorgeous, and the outdoor dining room is beautiful too. Yes, it's expensive - but that's where the groupon comes in, bringing a nice three-course dinner for a couple, drinks included, down to about $200, which is in line with the best restaurants in WeHo and Beverly Hills. We had 6 dishes total. The carpaccio and black truffle risotto were outstanding. The octopus and lamb were very good. I made the mistake of asking for brussel sprouts off-menu - they were kind to whip some up, but it takes too much time to do it right, and they didnt. The gelato dessert was a mix: 1 flavor excellent, the other 2 just ok. Finally got to meet the sommelier, who gave great advice, steering us to 2 nice wines we would not otherwise have tried. One downer was getting hit up for $12 for parking - was free last time - makes Uber an attractive option. Another was feeling a bit constrained by the menu, simply because we've back so many times. And one caveat: ask for the price of the specials. We didnt (on the risotto), and were stunned by the $59 price on the tab. I complained, and the server - who was wonderful - made an appropriate adjustment, apologizing for not disclosing the price before. Not to make too big a deal out of it - we had a lovely time - and while we may take a little time off, we'll be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was fifth time here in the last two years. To me this should be one of the great LA dining experiences. It's beautiful, the staff is not snobby at all, wines are great and the food used to be great but it's slipping into boredom. Somehow, now the kitchen seems to be just going through the motions. If we want the same old same old, there's a lot of cheaper places to go. We had the crudo which in the past was a work of art. The fish was good but the preparation lacked finesse and taste. The branzino was great conceptually but again lacked imagination. The baramundi was very boring and in it's present form should be cut from the menu. Our server, Daniel, was fabulous, very knowledgeable and the pacing of the meal was perfect. So it was still enjoyable but I hope somebody shakes things up in the kitchen, or as Yogi would say, "this place is so popular, nobody goes there anymore."

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Overpriced and very small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Brautiful setting outside. The food was good

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A nice and enjoyable dinner. We are locals and have to say, though, that $21 for a martini, nothing fancy, is absolutely ridiculous even for a hotel restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We celebrated my girlfriend's birthday over dinner at Culina on a Thursday night, we had a lovely time thanks to the wait staffs, anyhow, the two young female hostesses were cold, stone faced. unwelcoming and less than accommodating; I stay and dine at Four Seasons around the globe and have always enjoy the kindest hospitality, I have never encountered such unprofessional attitude from the personnel at any other location, Culina, right here close to home, what a pity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 23, 2017

the restaurant itself and service was good. the food however was not up to Four Seasons standard in my opinion. Overall, not a bad experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Culina is the best restaurant in the city. Salad appetizers were crispy with tart citrus dressing. My homemade pasta ravioli was scrumptious and my barramundi main dish was outstanding, both in preparation and presentation. My friend had a steak perfectly grilled and our homemade gelatos are the best. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Menu has changed. Not the same place. Sad really

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Took my girl out for a birthday dinner and everything from ambience, food and service was so perfect. Enjoyed sitting outside in the firelight patio drinking wine.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I made a reservation for 8:15 pm on a Saturday night. Called the restaurant to let them know we were arriving at 8:30.
We sat at the bar and at 9:15 the table was not ready yet.
We were sat at 9:30, champagne at the bar was complementary because we waited so long.
The whole stuff was extremely kind.
I ve been there many times and the food is always consistent.

Tags: Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service was warm, professional and attentive--Michael B-- terrific. Every course was notably delicious-- especially the gorgeous burrata appetizer that looked like a flower and the lamb shank.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Service was very good as well as decor and ambience. It was also very comfortable.
Our main complaint is that the entrees were cooked with way, way too much salt. Food and especially wine are ridiculously overpriced. $8 for some bread? No thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Culina is my favorite restaurant in the entire city of Los Angeles. The food is consistently outstanding and the cocktails are simply delicious; my guest said the wine list was extensive. The service is personal and friendly: I appreciate it when the server says "Welcome back, it's nice to see you again". My fish was perfectly prepared and presented, and my guest's salmon was moist and tasty. Dessert was heaven. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful and it was very relaxed. I was able to have a good meeting, so this location met my needs. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was a disappointment.

The food in the restaurants in the Boston Four Seasons is exceptional. The food at this L. A. Four Seasons is, in my opinion, an embarrassment for the chain.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Place is amazing inside. The food was very good but small portions. Luckily ordered a few things. Server was helpful translating the menu since we had no clue what many of this ingredients were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

2 Pasta dishes on menu did not use fresh pasta and were badly over cooked.
The portions for special pasta was very small & double price of menu pasta.
They have a beautiful restaurant-they need a new chef!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

One of the worst dining experience I have ever had. Something that I would never expect from a restaurant located inside of the four seasons. Especially the one in beverly hills. Service was bad, never offered flat/sparkling water option. Instead, just brought tap water. Food was not good, pasta undercooked and black cod was not prepared right, it was fishy and had unplesant flavor that I was only able to take like 4 bites out of. Waiter didnt even bother to ask how the meal was. Never was offered fresh ground pepper while table next door (non groupon customers)was given the option of flat/sparkling water and also was offered fresh ground pepper with every course they ordered. I felt discriminated because I was using groupon. Extremely unhappy. I was embarrassed to take my boyfriend out for dinner. And just to make everything clear, we still left 20% tip only because we are generous but I would appreciate if groupon could contact this restaurnat in regards to this matter.

If the restaurant is going to treat groupon users differently, they should never offer groupon options. It is definitely not four seasons standards and can only imagine how others are treated using vouchers.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Amazing food and a very romantic ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was the worst meal lI have had in ages. The Caesar Salad was limp and tasteless. Spaghetti and clams were served with a few very small clams. The "homemade" pasta was tough, tasteless and doughy. I can't begin to tell you how disappointed I am. I had seen Culina used on the Food Network and had been anxious to go there. In addition to the food being poor, it was very expensive. One of my go to restaurants is Drago Centro; I guess I have been spoiled by them and many other quality restaurants in the Los Angeles Area. Culina is one I will stay away from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love the food! Love the service! Love the ambience! Everything about Culina is first rate and they aim to please. Truly a wonderful dining experience as soon as you walk in the front door. The staff is as pleasant as can be and the food is DELICIOUS!!! I live in NY and Culina is my 'go to place' I look forward to dining at every time I am in LA!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food in an elegant place. Ideal for special occasions. Very good price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was good, ambiance was beautiful, service was attentive. Very conducive for business conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Very good place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The service was outstanding, very attentive, and professional.
We were 13 Beverly Hills Ladies that dine out all the time and everybody raved about the food and dining experience.
We will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The staff, especially our waitress were friendly, helpful and professional. If it is still on the menu I highly recommend the butterscotch dessert - so glad we ordered it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

without a discount coupon, i doubt we'd dine at culina. especially with the drinks they pour. talk about cheap. they use a measuring thimble as the pour and i could barely taste the scotch on the rocks. our very sweet waitress was able to wrangle a decent pour from the bartender. why would i want to spend big bucks on dinner knowing what i do about their policy of chintzy drinks. boo hiss. how short sighted. bye bye.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I've enjoyed Culina through the years with a parade of chefs in the kitchen, some good and a few excellent ones, before moving on to their individual efforts outside the hotel. Now the kitchen is helmed by a veteran of the Los Angeles Italian restaurant scene --Mirko Paderno. Our meal was excellent beginning with a variety of crudo, followed by a delicious gnocchi with walnuts and blue cheese sauce and then Mirko's risotto with porcini mushrooms (beautifully served in the hollowed out rind of cheese). Ribeye steak was next. The whole staff was amazing with knowledgeable service and friendly smiles. Great start Mirko!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Not a destination place perhaps but considerably better than most any "hotel food." A compact menu with mostly Italian options--but not ordinary by any stretch. Ingredients and combinations that may be unfamiliar but work. The wine list may be exceptional. But unless you have an extensive familiarity of Italian varietals you may not know how to choose--which was my problem. Ended up with a USA bottle that was quite nice. But bring money.
A pleasant staff and easy going service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My favorite place for steak that won't break the bank and the best affogato in town!!! Great place to celebrate special occasions that feels special but doesn't empty the wallet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good front, friendly waiter, pleasing garden, but overlooked fish...oh well, ,,,,,,

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The music was so loud that even far away from the D J it was impossible for us to hear one another. We were only five at the table. We asked them to lower the volume in the area where we were sitting but we still could not hear. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Worst experience
Have to pay for bread? Kidding
Small portions
The place was not even busy
Not worth dining here ever new chief or not
Great location but really poor quality and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New day 2017 !!! Buffet brunch, very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years Brunch and for $120 per person I would expect more. Had to flag down someone to get something to drink and the hot food was fairly cold and not very good. Have been to brunch many times before and it seems to have gone down hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food and service but too pricey for regular visits. The groupon forces you to order the more expensive things on the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Party of 6 arrived and were told to wait at the bar. A few minutes later we were taken to our table in the nearly empty restaurant. Did not see any reason to keep us waiting. Our table was ready and had been when we arrived. Wonderful waitress - competent and friendly. Food average. Chicken too salty. Branzino small & tasteless. Squid small and ok. Salad too much vinegar. Desserts not ok. Three scoops of gelato - two were melted into a puddle, the third frozen solid. All three bland with no discerning flavor. Butterscotch ok. Afforgato good. Even though the restaurant was not busy the hostess seated another party beside us instead of further away as was possible. A fork was dropped and went unnoticed by staff. It's to be expected that hotel dining is expensive but the value was not there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food is very tasty and there is enough variety to please any palette.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.