About Culina

300 South Doheny Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Culina is taking reservations for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Capturing the cosmopolitan ethose of Los Angeles, Culina, Modern Italian presents a lively neighborhood gathering spot where sophisticated cuisine and levity join hands. Culina, from the Latin word for "kitchen" showcases the intersection of traditional and modern Italian cuisine with a menu guided by exceptional ingredients. Guests can linger over small plates and wine or settle in for a night of superior dining in the garden. The menu features Los Angeles' only crudo bar with the finest selections of hand prepared raw seafood, as well as homemade pastas, pizzas, the freshest Burrata and salami, and authentic entrees. Our wine program offers approximately 200 wines, most available by carafe, from Italy and the rest of the world, with a range of unique aperitifs and cocktails. Culina provides the perfect atmosphere to see and be seen!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am – 11:00am; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday – Saturday: 11:30am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 6:00pm – 10:30pm; Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Burton Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 860-4000

Website:
http://culinarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking - $12.00 for Culina patrons. Complimentary Valet Parking at Lunch.

Executive Chef:
Culina Chef Denis Dello Stritto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Private Events Specialist Kaili Tidland at kaili.tidland@fourseasons.com or call (310) 860-4000.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 6:00PM - 6:45PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Thu - Fri 6:00PM - 6:45PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Culina, Modern Italian’s elegant Private Dining Room and Grappa Room are ideal for business, social and intimate gatherings. For cocktail receptions, we recommend the Culina Lounge or Culina Patio.

Culina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
See All
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Modern Decor (12)
Business Meals (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fun (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (3)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant is beautiful and it was v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

The restaurant is beautiful and it was very relaxed. I was able to have a good meeting, so this location met my needs. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was a disappointment.

The food in the restaurants in the Boston Four Seasons is exceptional. The food at this L. A. Four Seasons is, in my opinion, an embarrassment for the chain.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value4

Place is amazing inside. The food was ve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Place is amazing inside. The food was very good but small portions. Luckily ordered a few things. Server was helpful translating the menu since we had no clue what many of this ingredients were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

2 Pasta dishes on menu did not use fresh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

2 Pasta dishes on menu did not use fresh pasta and were badly over cooked.

The portions for special pasta was very small & double price of menu pasta.

They have a beautiful restaurant-they need a new chef!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

One of the worst dining experience I hav ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

One of the worst dining experience I have ever had. Something that I would never expect from a restaurant located inside of the four seasons. Especially the one in beverly hills. Service was bad, never offered flat/sparkling water option. Instead, just brought tap water. Food was not good, pasta undercooked and black cod was not prepared right, it was fishy and had unplesant flavor that I was only able to take like 4 bites out of. Waiter didnt even bother to ask how the meal was. Never was offered fresh ground pepper while table next door (non groupon customers)was given the option of flat/sparkling water and also was offered fresh ground pepper with every course they ordered. I felt discriminated because I was using groupon. Extremely unhappy. I was embarrassed to take my boyfriend out for dinner. And just to make everything clear, we still left 20% tip only because we are generous but I would appreciate if groupon could contact this restaurnat in regards to this matter.

If the restaurant is going to treat groupon users differently, they should never offer groupon options. It is definitely not four seasons standards and can only imagine how others are treated using vouchers.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

Amazing food and a very romantic ambianc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Amazing food and a very romantic ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was the worst meal lI have had in a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was the worst meal lI have had in ages. The Caesar Salad was limp and tasteless. Spaghetti and clams were served with a few very small clams. The "homemade" pasta was tough, tasteless and doughy. I can't begin to tell you how disappointed I am. I had seen Culina used on the Food Network and had been anxious to go there. In addition to the food being poor, it was very expensive. One of my go to restaurants is Drago Centro; I guess I have been spoiled by them and many other quality restaurants in the Los Angeles Area. Culina is one I will stay away from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Love the food! Love the service! Love th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love the food! Love the service! Love the ambience! Everything about Culina is first rate and they aim to please. Truly a wonderful dining experience as soon as you walk in the front door. The staff is as pleasant as can be and the food is DELICIOUS!!! I live in NY and Culina is my 'go to place' I look forward to dining at every time I am in LA!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in an elegant place. Ideal fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food in an elegant place. Ideal for special occasions. Very good price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, ambiance was beautiful, s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was good, ambiance was beautiful, service was attentive. Very conducive for business conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good place.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Very good place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was outstanding, very attent ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The service was outstanding, very attentive, and professional.

We were 13 Beverly Hills Ladies that dine out all the time and everybody raved about the food and dining experience.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff, especially our waitress were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The staff, especially our waitress were friendly, helpful and professional. If it is still on the menu I highly recommend the butterscotch dessert - so glad we ordered it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

without a discount coupon, i doubt we'd ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

without a discount coupon, i doubt we'd dine at culina. especially with the drinks they pour. talk about cheap. they use a measuring thimble as the pour and i could barely taste the scotch on the rocks. our very sweet waitress was able to wrangle a decent pour from the bartender. why would i want to spend big bucks on dinner knowing what i do about their policy of chintzy drinks. boo hiss. how short sighted. bye bye.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I've enjoyed Culina through the years wi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I've enjoyed Culina through the years with a parade of chefs in the kitchen, some good and a few excellent ones, before moving on to their individual efforts outside the hotel. Now the kitchen is helmed by a veteran of the Los Angeles Italian restaurant scene --Mirko Paderno. Our meal was excellent beginning with a variety of crudo, followed by a delicious gnocchi with walnuts and blue cheese sauce and then Mirko's risotto with porcini mushrooms (beautifully served in the hollowed out rind of cheese). Ribeye steak was next. The whole staff was amazing with knowledgeable service and friendly smiles. Great start Mirko!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not a destination place perhaps but cons ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Not a destination place perhaps but considerably better than most any "hotel food." A compact menu with mostly Italian options--but not ordinary by any stretch. Ingredients and combinations that may be unfamiliar but work. The wine list may be exceptional. But unless you have an extensive familiarity of Italian varietals you may not know how to choose--which was my problem. Ended up with a USA bottle that was quite nice. But bring money.

A pleasant staff and easy going service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My favorite place for steak that won't b ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My favorite place for steak that won't break the bank and the best affogato in town!!! Great place to celebrate special occasions that feels special but doesn't empty the wallet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good front, friendly waiter, pleasing ga ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good front, friendly waiter, pleasing garden, but overlooked fish...oh well, ,,,,,,

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The music was so loud that even far away ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The music was so loud that even far away from the D J it was impossible for us to hear one another. We were only five at the table. We asked them to lower the volume in the area where we were sitting but we still could not hear. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Worst experience Have to pay for bread? ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Worst experience

Have to pay for bread? Kidding

Small portions

The place was not even busy

Not worth dining here ever new chief or not

Great location but really poor quality and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

New day 2017 !!! Buffet brunch, very goo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New day 2017 !!! Buffet brunch, very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went for New Years Brunch and for $120 p ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years Brunch and for $120 per person I would expect more. Had to flag down someone to get something to drink and the hot food was fairly cold and not very good. Have been to brunch many times before and it seems to have gone down hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Great food and service but too pricey fo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food and service but too pricey for regular visits. The groupon forces you to order the more expensive things on the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Party of 6 arrived and were told to wait ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Party of 6 arrived and were told to wait at the bar. A few minutes later we were taken to our table in the nearly empty restaurant. Did not see any reason to keep us waiting. Our table was ready and had been when we arrived. Wonderful waitress - competent and friendly. Food average. Chicken too salty. Branzino small & tasteless. Squid small and ok. Salad too much vinegar. Desserts not ok. Three scoops of gelato - two were melted into a puddle, the third frozen solid. All three bland with no discerning flavor. Butterscotch ok. Afforgato good. Even though the restaurant was not busy the hostess seated another party beside us instead of further away as was possible. A fork was dropped and went unnoticed by staff. It's to be expected that hotel dining is expensive but the value was not there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food is very tasty and there is enou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food is very tasty and there is enough variety to please any palette.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall great dining experience.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was good but it is much too exp ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was good but it is much too expensive for what you get. We even had 30% off and it was still well over $100/pp before the tip. And we only had one drink each.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We went there while on vacation. The foo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We went there while on vacation. The food was delicious and everyone was so nice to our two year old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant! Food was deliciou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! Food was deliciousa always.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday night at 6PM. It seemed like the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Sunday night at 6PM. It seemed like the the top chef may have been off but who knows. Crudo was good but a little too subtle IMO. Octopus was good but needed something to kick it up a notch. My lamb shank was vey good, no problems but the rabbit pasta was lacking in real rabbit. It could have been ground turkey, chicken, veal??? so it was a downer. Service was fine. Though the wines by the glass are quite good, they need more selections.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food that you would only expect ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Amazing food that you would only expect from a restaurant at the Four Seasons. The servers were attentive and knowledgeable, food came and was timed perfectly, not to mention, delicious and the perfect portion. Wine was also really good! A must for any one wanting a special night out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent. We ini ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food and service were excellent. We initially were seated next to an exceptionally loud (what appeared to be a) bachelorette party, and though we didn't begrudge them their fun, we couldn't conduct a conversation. Upon request, we were moved to the patio, which was kept at a comfortable temperature by heat lamps on a fairly cold night, and was very quiet. Our server Michael was wonderful. My only suggestion is that they add some more affordable California red wines by the glass. I don't mind $15 - $20 for a really good glass of wine, but at $35 and up it was a little steep for my group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Really enjoyed the festive atmosphere (h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Really enjoyed the festive atmosphere (holiday!)--the service was exceptional and the food outstanding. Good value for a very elegant setting and meal. And no charge for valet parking, classy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good, not great. It is overpr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food is good, not great.

It is overpriced as you would expect from a hotel restaurant. The value with the discount made it ok, but not good.

Service was good, attentive and responsive. They were very good about finding a wine that worked for us.

One issue that we have always had with this restaurant is the 80's synth-heavy music that is playing in the background. It doesn't fit the restaurant or the general mood of the place. I understand that it gives the restaurant some "energy", but it just doesn't fit.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Wine prices are ridiculous. No good cho ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wine prices are ridiculous. No good choices in a reasonable range. In more sophisticated restaurants, there are wines to choose that don't ruin the experience because you are being ripped off.

$25 for a 6 ounce pour? Insulting.

The server was delightful. Lovely personality.

The hostess needs training in public relations. She pulled a long face because we wanted a table inside, not on the patio where she took us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our server was really great in suggestin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Our server was really great in suggesting and spreading out the service of our meal. The whole wait staff was great. Could not say enough good things about it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Groupon deal: Two Drinks (Choices of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our Groupon deal: Two Drinks (Choices of either Cocktails, Wine, or Non-Alcoholic drinks); Two Shared Appetizers; 2 Main Entrees; and 1 Shared Dessert.

Mom got an adorable 6oz Diet Coke Bottle. I got the Fiori & Zenzero ($16) Cocktail. The drink was really strong after the first two sips, but got better as the huge ice melted.

APPETIZERS

Polpo alla Griglia $18 Comes with 2 pieces - one tentacle & one piece of the body. About the size of your middle and index fingers put together. Both were grilled deliciously - very soft and tender. Definitely recommend getting this one. Polpette $18 Small meatball sizes - think golf ball sizes. The meatballs were moist and tender, and seasoned perfectly. The tomato sauce was delicious, and we both used the parmesan cracker bread to scoop up the sauce with.

MAIN ENTREES

Gambetto $42 The braised lamb shank was soft and tender, easily fell off the bone. The farotto was hearty and seasoned perfectly. I think Mom liked the farotto more than the lamb shank itself, lol! Mom got the Branzino $46 - EPIC FAIL!!!! She was annoyed that a $46 dish had no flavor to it. The fish itself was tender, but oh so bland! We had high hopes for this dish, but sadly, it sucked. The only thing that we did agree on it was the crispy skin.

DESSERT -BUTTERSCOTCH BUDINO $11 (Whipped Crème Fraiche, Sea Salt Caramel, Coconut Cookies). Now came the best part of the meal, dessert!!! We both liked the soft and creamy texture. Paired with the whipped crème fraiche and long, thin shortbread coconut/toffee flavored cookie, it was divine.

SERVICE

Our waitress, - sweet and patient, answered any questions we had about our meal and drinks as well as being on point with changing up our dinner ware for each different dish. As for the male servers, very attentive in making sure our waters were refilled continuously, and taking away any finish dishes quickly. Also, they address you by your last name, which I thought I was very nice gesture.

Worth the try at least!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I used a Groupon to treat my nephew and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I used a Groupon to treat my nephew and brother from England to a fancy Saturday night dinner when we visited L.A. I reserved through OpenTable with no problems. When your teenage nephew sits up and remarks, this is posh, I knew I made the right choice. I appreciate our hostess who did not look down on us Groupon users. Service was attentive. Food came out timely and was indeed, very good. We were not rushed. It was worth the 30% tip. We ended up having a very nice evening out from our Culina dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My dining experience was regrettable. Th ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

My dining experience was regrettable. The food was excellent. The waitress (Meg)was horrid. She had no interest in providing service. She never asked if I wanted a refill. She demanded the check which we discovered she added an 18% tip at $45 and and the bill was $188. Also she added $20.80 in tax and food tax is only 9%...It was my birthday. We received a refund. We later discovered that she added a tip onto her 18% for a total of $79. We shouldn't have had to deal with it at all.

Tags: , Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Everything is about this place is amazin ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Everything is about this place is amazing but of a weird walk to finally get to your destination but once you are there you are greater with a smile , everybody is very attentive ( your server or others ) , the gambetto ( lamb shank ) was to die for and the wine selection is pretty great as well , MEG was very pleasant and made great recommendations especially when it came to dessert , I had the tiramisu and one scoop of house made gelato ( Dulce de Leche )

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was fabulous on all count ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The experience was fabulous on all counts. Great ambiance, fresh interesting and delicious food, excellent service. We will be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.