Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Culina

Culina is taking reservations for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Capturing the cosmopolitan ethose of Los Angeles, Culina, Modern Italian presents a lively neighborhood gathering spot where sophisticated cuisine and levity join hands. Culina, from the Latin word for "kitchen" showcases the intersection of traditional and modern Italian cuisine with a menu guided by exceptional ingredients. Guests can linger over small plates and wine or settle in for a night of superior dining in the garden. The menu features Los Angeles' only crudo bar with the finest selections of hand prepared raw seafood, as well as homemade pastas, pizzas, the freshest Burrata and salami, and authentic entrees. Our wine program offers approximately 200 wines, most available by carafe, from Italy and the rest of the world, with a range of unique aperitifs and cocktails. Culina provides the perfect atmosphere to see and be seen!

300 South Doheny Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am – 11:00am; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday – Saturday: 11:30am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 6:00pm – 10:30pm; Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Burton Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 860-4000

Website:
http://culinarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking - $12.00 for Culina patrons. Complimentary Valet Parking at Lunch.

Executive Chef:
Chef Byron Thomas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Private Events Specialist Amelia Wehr
Amelia.wehr@fourseasons.com
(310) 860-4000

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Culina, Modern Italian’s elegant Private Dining Room and Grappa Room are ideal for business, social and intimate gatherings. For cocktail receptions, we recommend the Culina Lounge or Culina Patio.

Culina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (14)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
People Watching (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was not as good as the breakfast service. Rissoto was fantastic. Disappointed in the pizza with porcini - was not expecting reconstituted mushrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Phenomenal service, menu knowledge from server Sonja and the wine staff was impeccable. Interior is relaxing, beautiful, and classy. We ate dinner outside by the fire, very peaceful and quiet. Had the oysters, octopus, beef carpaccio, risotto with bone marrow, and asparagus. Then we headed back inside to watch the baseball game at the bar and had lively intellectual conversation with other patrons. Such an incredible experience, and I will most certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2017

It was my birthday and ordered the lemon ricotta pancakes which in the past I had loved.
It was extremely expensive over $30. Two thick dry pancakes arrived with no accompaniments.
ei. fruit, butter. They had no flavor at all. So very disappointing at this find restaurant.
The service was non attentive. Had to wait for water, coffee not very relaxing.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Wonderful service and food! Great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is a great brunch. The food looks beautiful and tastes great. There is something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2017

I eat there often. Always love the food and service. Prices are a bit high.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Mediocre food with mediocre service in a mediocre setting with high prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Tiny pasta portions. The eggplant pasta was good. I wish there was more. The Caesar salad was enough to share, but nothing special. We returned it because of the over abundance of pepper. They remade the salad. I compare local Italian restaurants to DaPasquale's outstanding pastas and Caesar salad. Also I resent paying $12.00 for parking. I don't feel privileged to dine at their mediocre overpriced restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We got a table outside. There were a lot of flies swarmed our food, drink and around the table. We went there for a birthday celebration and requested both on the phone and when we get there to make us a birthday dessert. They said they can do and will bring to us but they didn't do anything. I was very disappionted.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great food and service. Can be very expensive for what you get.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Very pleasant dining, food, service,etc. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversory, everything was great. Service was a bit slow i mean we waited some time for the food to come but overall I recommend it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

So many people eating here and not many people going.around asking us for stuff and we had to wait a while to get a servers attention

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Perfect! Food was amazing from beginning to end. The server was nice and we had a lot of fun. Good, cozy environment.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The siting was perfect. The staff were beyond professional. The food was made in heaven! It was a perfect romantic dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fantastic buffet spread....we were all in heaven! Beautiful quality and flavors. Nice touches
like hollandaise sauce on the side, fresh doughnuts. Our favorite Sunday spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our appetizers were very good and my chicken entrée was also very good. The veggies pizza was the most boring pizza we have had in years. It was like cardboard with veggies on top. For $20 for a small pizza, it was beyond disappointing. One more positive side, the place has a great ambiance, and good service. As an FYI, the only reason my wife got the pizza was because there wasn't a vegetarian option under the main courses - this is another thing that could be improved upon by this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Ate outside in the beautiful garden area with a waterfall and very cool lighting once it became dark. My daughter is a vegetarian and there were few options so they ought to work on that. I thoroughly enjoyed the salad, gnocchi past with mushrooms and then the branzino main dish

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Waitress was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Met a long time friend for dinner at Culina inside the Four Seasons Hotel on Burton Way and Doheny. This restaurant is
Lovely and with modern decor.

For starters chilled Pinot Grigio, the caprese salad with heirloom tomato and buffalo mozzarella and frisée and balsamic vinaigrette all very light yet nice simple summer flavors.

Mains: special request spaghetti pasta with ragu meat sauce and grilled branzino with buttery morels. Both were smaller portions, fresh, delicate and flavorful. For dessert we had the
gelato trio of strawberry, espresso and dulce de leche all yummy and the luxe chocolate cake with berries.

Service from hostess, waitress, servers and valet were professional, accommodating and very nice. Would definitely
return and recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Culina wasn't as good as it has been in the past. The peaches in the burrata and peaches salad were dry with brown spots and NO flavor; the cheese was good. The branzino was very tiny and it came with nothing around it: a few mushrooms or a couple of green beans would have added to the presentation. The gelato dessert was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service was exceptional, ambiance of outdoor setting with waterfall wonderful and food was superb!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The garden/patio at Culina is just a lovely place for dinner! We sat outside by the water (fountain/rain) surrounded by plants that block out most of the noise and let you forget that you are right there on Doheny Ave. We had two great servers, Renee and Brent, along with others who brought food, bread, and water. All of the dishes we ordered were very tasty-a pizza with a yummy, crispy crust, branzino (minus the head), osso buco, a rather strange vegetarian or vegetable but not with vegetables pasta, and a fabulous huge New York strip steak. For dessert we shared the baked alaska, the butter cake, and a layered dark chocolate cake that is not on the menu. I think my only complaint might be that the bottle of wine we ordered wasn't cold so we had to wait a while for it to chill and be able to enjoy it. Otherwise, it was a really nice evening with family!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Superb service, cuisine and presentation. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The staff was extremely attentive and accommodating. Our waitress was great, she went the extra mile to make sure we got exactly what we wanted from the organic wine (Badia a Coltibuono) to the gluten free pasta. The sommelier also added to the wonderful experience. Great menu, great vibe. Our breakfast the next morning was just as nice. Looking forward to dining again soon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Culina is a beautiful restaurant. It has a very nice and varied menu. Service is excellent and the food is very well prepared

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Nothing to rave about. I have tried this place several times and I'm done. I keep hoping it will get better but now I give up. My cauliflower soufflé appetizer with truffles was good but the Risotto was overkill on the gorgonzola cheese...could not eat and chose not to complain.
Not what it was when it first opened ...that is for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food in a beautiful outdoor patio.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Food was excellent and presentations lovely. Pizza, bronzino, gnocchi w/ lamb ragu terrific. would go back. just a bit pricey

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always a treat, Culina never disappoints. My salad with cheese, fresh greens and sliced apples was refreshing and tasty. My branzino was cooked to perfection with no bones left behind, and the home made gelatos and sorbetti are wonderful. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The selection of food was amazing. Everything from Dim Sum to sushi to eggs Benedict.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Sunday brunch was fabulous as always. The food is great , service was excellent & we saw a couple of celebs.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 6, 2017

A few friends and I had dinner for my Birthday. Culina and its staff made my Birthday very special, will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Very poor representation via Groupon. Which said the deal was $95 for 2-wine, 2-and, 2-mains and 1-dessert. Turns out they take your total bill after ordering from the regular menu and deduct $165. Still paid $130 on top of the Groupon "deal" that cost $95. And they totally changed the menu. And they add 18% gratuity. No deal at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Stayed at the Four Seasons and this spot is attached to the property. The wine list was amazing and the food was really great. Not pretentious at all - very nice experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great food and even better service. We loved our waiter. Would recommend to everybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The ambience was very warm and sexy. The drinks were delicious. I loved the pizza and the sea bass melted in my mouth!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Culina never disappoints. I love it there. Our server, Michael, was super personable and very on top of the order. I've never had a bad meal there and I've been there for birthday lunches as well. My husband had the chicken and I had the salmon. Both were very good. The chicken was over the top. To start he had the octopus salad and I had the green pea purée both were delicious. The atmosphere there is chill and cozy. The fountain provides a nice white noise that feels zen.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Service was Great, the location was Really nice. Trendy Looking. not at all busy on a sunday evening. Must use the valet its about 12 bucks .

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've been going for mothers day for years. Always a pleasure

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.