Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Culina

Culina is taking reservations for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Capturing the cosmopolitan ethose of Los Angeles, Culina, Modern Italian presents a lively neighborhood gathering spot where sophisticated cuisine and levity join hands. Culina, from the Latin word for "kitchen" showcases the intersection of traditional and modern Italian cuisine with a menu guided by exceptional ingredients. Guests can linger over small plates and wine or settle in for a night of superior dining in the garden. The menu features Los Angeles' only crudo bar with the finest selections of hand prepared raw seafood, as well as homemade pastas, pizzas, the freshest Burrata and salami, and authentic entrees. Our wine program offers approximately 200 wines, most available by carafe, from Italy and the rest of the world, with a range of unique aperitifs and cocktails. Culina provides the perfect atmosphere to see and be seen!

300 South Doheny Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am – 11:00am; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday – Saturday: 11:30am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 6:00pm – 10:30pm; Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Burton Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 860-4000

Website:
http://culinarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking - $12.00 for Culina patrons. Complimentary Valet Parking at Lunch.

Executive Chef:
Chef Byron Thomas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Private Events Specialist Amelia Wehr
Amelia.wehr@fourseasons.com
(310) 860-4000

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Culina, Modern Italian’s elegant Private Dining Room and Grappa Room are ideal for business, social and intimate gatherings. For cocktail receptions, we recommend the Culina Lounge or Culina Patio.

Culina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Romantic (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
People Watching (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Authentic (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic buffet spread....we were all in heaven! Beautiful quality and flavors. Nice touches
like hollandaise sauce on the side, fresh doughnuts. Our favorite Sunday spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Our appetizers were very good and my chicken entrée was also very good. The veggies pizza was the most boring pizza we have had in years. It was like cardboard with veggies on top. For $20 for a small pizza, it was beyond disappointing. One more positive side, the place has a great ambiance, and good service. As an FYI, the only reason my wife got the pizza was because there wasn't a vegetarian option under the main courses - this is another thing that could be improved upon by this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Ate outside in the beautiful garden area with a waterfall and very cool lighting once it became dark. My daughter is a vegetarian and there were few options so they ought to work on that. I thoroughly enjoyed the salad, gnocchi past with mushrooms and then the branzino main dish

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Waitress was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Met a long time friend for dinner at Culina inside the Four Seasons Hotel on Burton Way and Doheny. This restaurant is
Lovely and with modern decor.

For starters chilled Pinot Grigio, the caprese salad with heirloom tomato and buffalo mozzarella and frisée and balsamic vinaigrette all very light yet nice simple summer flavors.

Mains: special request spaghetti pasta with ragu meat sauce and grilled branzino with buttery morels. Both were smaller portions, fresh, delicate and flavorful. For dessert we had the
gelato trio of strawberry, espresso and dulce de leche all yummy and the luxe chocolate cake with berries.

Service from hostess, waitress, servers and valet were professional, accommodating and very nice. Would definitely
return and recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Culina wasn't as good as it has been in the past. The peaches in the burrata and peaches salad were dry with brown spots and NO flavor; the cheese was good. The branzino was very tiny and it came with nothing around it: a few mushrooms or a couple of green beans would have added to the presentation. The gelato dessert was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service was exceptional, ambiance of outdoor setting with waterfall wonderful and food was superb!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The garden/patio at Culina is just a lovely place for dinner! We sat outside by the water (fountain/rain) surrounded by plants that block out most of the noise and let you forget that you are right there on Doheny Ave. We had two great servers, Renee and Brent, along with others who brought food, bread, and water. All of the dishes we ordered were very tasty-a pizza with a yummy, crispy crust, branzino (minus the head), osso buco, a rather strange vegetarian or vegetable but not with vegetables pasta, and a fabulous huge New York strip steak. For dessert we shared the baked alaska, the butter cake, and a layered dark chocolate cake that is not on the menu. I think my only complaint might be that the bottle of wine we ordered wasn't cold so we had to wait a while for it to chill and be able to enjoy it. Otherwise, it was a really nice evening with family!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Superb service, cuisine and presentation. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The staff was extremely attentive and accommodating. Our waitress was great, she went the extra mile to make sure we got exactly what we wanted from the organic wine (Badia a Coltibuono) to the gluten free pasta. The sommelier also added to the wonderful experience. Great menu, great vibe. Our breakfast the next morning was just as nice. Looking forward to dining again soon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Culina is a beautiful restaurant. It has a very nice and varied menu. Service is excellent and the food is very well prepared

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Nothing to rave about. I have tried this place several times and I'm done. I keep hoping it will get better but now I give up. My cauliflower soufflé appetizer with truffles was good but the Risotto was overkill on the gorgonzola cheese...could not eat and chose not to complain.
Not what it was when it first opened ...that is for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food in a beautiful outdoor patio.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Food was excellent and presentations lovely. Pizza, bronzino, gnocchi w/ lamb ragu terrific. would go back. just a bit pricey

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always a treat, Culina never disappoints. My salad with cheese, fresh greens and sliced apples was refreshing and tasty. My branzino was cooked to perfection with no bones left behind, and the home made gelatos and sorbetti are wonderful. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The selection of food was amazing. Everything from Dim Sum to sushi to eggs Benedict.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Sunday brunch was fabulous as always. The food is great , service was excellent & we saw a couple of celebs.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 6, 2017

A few friends and I had dinner for my Birthday. Culina and its staff made my Birthday very special, will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Very poor representation via Groupon. Which said the deal was $95 for 2-wine, 2-and, 2-mains and 1-dessert. Turns out they take your total bill after ordering from the regular menu and deduct $165. Still paid $130 on top of the Groupon "deal" that cost $95. And they totally changed the menu. And they add 18% gratuity. No deal at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Stayed at the Four Seasons and this spot is attached to the property. The wine list was amazing and the food was really great. Not pretentious at all - very nice experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great food and even better service. We loved our waiter. Would recommend to everybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The ambience was very warm and sexy. The drinks were delicious. I loved the pizza and the sea bass melted in my mouth!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Culina never disappoints. I love it there. Our server, Michael, was super personable and very on top of the order. I've never had a bad meal there and I've been there for birthday lunches as well. My husband had the chicken and I had the salmon. Both were very good. The chicken was over the top. To start he had the octopus salad and I had the green pea purée both were delicious. The atmosphere there is chill and cozy. The fountain provides a nice white noise that feels zen.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Service was Great, the location was Really nice. Trendy Looking. not at all busy on a sunday evening. Must use the valet its about 12 bucks .

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've been going for mothers day for years. Always a pleasure

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Visited Culina for Sunday brunch for the second time. Had a wonderful morning. Food selection was fantastic and they made us feel special .... especially mom as it was Mothers Day. The entire theme was Mother's Day focussed.
It is an expensive treat.. but Culina always makes it worthwhile.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family and I spend every Mother's Day at Culina and we are never disappointed. The service has been good every year, and seems to improve each year. Our waiter this year, Gabriel, was excellent. He was attentive and friendly. The variety of food was massive. They have several selections for carnivores, vegetarians and pescetarians. Of course, there are lots of sweets, too. The restaurant is always beautiful and clean.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The new menu is just terrible! I'm not sure what the chef is trying to do but my food was inedible. My husband ordered ravioli and there were literally 4 ravioli on the plate and the meat tasted old. I had pasta with pesto and it was sour, I'm not sure what from but I couldn't eat it. This was one of our favorite restaurants but we won't be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Until this visit was one of my favorite places. Still love the patio and enjoy the bar. New menu disappointing and the things I like meatballs, pasta, cheese platter removed from menu. Additionally the food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Amazing Food from Chef Mirko and great wine knowledge from Luca !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Service was not satisfactory. Lots of wait time between servings. Had to ask for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Truly lovely delicious meal. Pricey but worth it. Old-fashioned plush, elegant dining. The branzino was crispy outside, very succulent inside. fabulous veal chop. Excellent chicken.
All of the desserts were top notch. And we ordered a wine that wasn't on the menu so were given a bottle that was $30 more for no extra charge! We almost had our own little private room, as we were in a corner alcove and it was a pleasure to be at a restaurant where we didn't have to yell. wonderful all around.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Taste and presentations were outstanding. A bit pricey but throughly enjoyed and we will return

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The service was superb. I had a pasta and shrimp dish that was the best I've every eaten.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I've stayed at Fourseasons hotels all over the world and they always have the best service that I guess could ask for. This was the strangest restaurant I have ever been to we waited for 20 minutes to be greeted by someone who wasn't our server who told us our server would shortly be there to help us out she came over and said do you want food we broke out laughing. We asked for the manager He ignored our concerns and seem to be oblivious to what was going on in his restaurant. He offered to give us some free dessert offered no explanation or apology and said that they were getting a new chef and the food was amazing. The food was Good not amazing. The only thing I would really recommend is the margarita pizza that was very Italian like but the services of Joes and I can see why it was available last minute on a Saturday night .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Tremendous food and great setting. For the price, portions are tiny. Overall a very nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We keep coming back to Culina. The food is great, the service is great, the dining room is gorgeous, and the outdoor dining room is beautiful too. Yes, it's expensive - but that's where the groupon comes in, bringing a nice three-course dinner for a couple, drinks included, down to about $200, which is in line with the best restaurants in WeHo and Beverly Hills. We had 6 dishes total. The carpaccio and black truffle risotto were outstanding. The octopus and lamb were very good. I made the mistake of asking for brussel sprouts off-menu - they were kind to whip some up, but it takes too much time to do it right, and they didnt. The gelato dessert was a mix: 1 flavor excellent, the other 2 just ok. Finally got to meet the sommelier, who gave great advice, steering us to 2 nice wines we would not otherwise have tried. One downer was getting hit up for $12 for parking - was free last time - makes Uber an attractive option. Another was feeling a bit constrained by the menu, simply because we've back so many times. And one caveat: ask for the price of the specials. We didnt (on the risotto), and were stunned by the $59 price on the tab. I complained, and the server - who was wonderful - made an appropriate adjustment, apologizing for not disclosing the price before. Not to make too big a deal out of it - we had a lovely time - and while we may take a little time off, we'll be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This was fifth time here in the last two years. To me this should be one of the great LA dining experiences. It's beautiful, the staff is not snobby at all, wines are great and the food used to be great but it's slipping into boredom. Somehow, now the kitchen seems to be just going through the motions. If we want the same old same old, there's a lot of cheaper places to go. We had the crudo which in the past was a work of art. The fish was good but the preparation lacked finesse and taste. The branzino was great conceptually but again lacked imagination. The baramundi was very boring and in it's present form should be cut from the menu. Our server, Daniel, was fabulous, very knowledgeable and the pacing of the meal was perfect. So it was still enjoyable but I hope somebody shakes things up in the kitchen, or as Yogi would say, "this place is so popular, nobody goes there anymore."

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Overpriced and very small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.