Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Cuistot

Cuistot offers fine California/French cuisine and is located at the Southwest intersection of Highway 111 and El Paseo. Cuistot has consistently earned top ratings in the Zagat Survey and was named one of six restaurants in the United States to score a perfect 100 for food by the Conde Nast Traveler. Dine under the stars on our beautiful terrace overlooking a desert water oasis or in one of our elegant dining rooms.

72595 El Paseo Ave
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Cuistot is open for lunch Tuesday through Friday from 11:30-2:30pm. Saturday Brunch from 11:00-2:30pm. Dinner is served nightly from 5:30, and happy hour is everyday from 4-6 pm.

Cross Street:
Highway 111

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-1000

Website:
http://www.cuistotrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking

Executive Chef:
Bernard Dervieux

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

From small, intimate Gatherings to large Receptions and Dinners for up to 320 Guests

Cuistot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Romantic (53)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Notable Wine List (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Fireplace (29)
Worth the Drive (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Authentic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (15)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Live Music (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Private Room (6)
Historic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Every visit is superb. From the optional valet to the last bite of desert - everything is always great!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everyone in our party was very happy with everything we would definitely go back again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch. Excellent menu choices, Chris, our server did a wonderful job. For was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really nice night for our family - good food. Morgan was an excellent server.

Cuistot is always good - never disappointing

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 12, 2017

A wonderful day to have lunch and enjoy the fabulous fashion show - always a delight to dine at Cuistot and bring friends to discovery the wonderful staff and food plus great drinks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Just outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and a really classy place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very good service and wines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was our first dinner at Cuistot (after a few times for lunch).
Our appetizer, dinners and desserts were wonderful. We look forward
to our next Saturday night dinner at Cuistot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic, always fantastic! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our waitress Andrea, was outstanding and the manager was also terrific. Service and food was excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 27, 2017

A group of us came to Cuistot as they were supporting Desert AIDS Project and Dining Out for Life on April 27th. It was my first time dining here and it was exquisite! The lunch menu is extensive and a good value for the quality of food and the quality of the establishment!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Cuistot is a lovely restaurant. Our server was very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

As always, this visit to Cuistot was a delight. All four of us were pleased with the exceptional quality and taste of our selections. I opted for a "special" selection of soft shell crabs. The flavor was simply exceptional and probably contained that special touch of Chef Bernard.
If you haven't been to this restaurant and aren't expecting fast food prices, by all means go soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 19, 2017

First time we had been there. We sat on the patio - lovely. We'll be back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Delicious as always, have been coming here for years and never been disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Celebrating a 65th birthday. They brought out a complimentary meringue dessert. Restaurant felt like a French farmhouse atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 17, 2017

we had a 5 star service, since the entrance to the last minute we were at the restaurant, host welcomed us he was very nice, server and all staff were always making sure we did not run out of water, wine etc, server told us the specials, she clearly had knowledge about the menu, she was very attentive and the food runner was exceptional, the chef came out and i noticed he went to every table to make sure everyone was satisfied with the food, something that i rarely see when i go out for dinner, we will definitely coming back, thank you to all the staff.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was just fantastic. Three of us had the white fish that was to die for.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cuistot is a very fine restaurant without being haughty, atmosphere is inviting

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food. The mushroom soup is a must. Very extensive wine list. Restaurant runs on the pricey side but the food quality is top notch. We only go for special occasions (not holidays).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

2 for Saturday Brunch. Quiet inside...we really enjoyed the 4 course brunch; warm croissants, the famous and delicious mushroom soup, the best eggs Benedict my husband ever had..and a trio of tasty desserts. Lovely selection of wines by the glass, we enjoyed the French Sauvignon Blanc. We look forward to visiting again...

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Superb restaurant overseen by a delightful French chef/owner, Bernard. He uses the best and freshest ingredients and the dishes always arrive hot and beautifully presented. Tasty.
Best soups in the desert! Charming, attentive staff in a original and rather grand setting. Highly recommended.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Love the rack of lamb the service was great Benjamin was wonderful what a nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This place is terrific. The service, ambiance, and food are simply exquisite. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent Dover Sole. Fun atmosphere. Pretty expensive so wouldn't be an everyday dinner but the dining room was busy and all the food was top notch

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 5, 2017

After many years of dining at Cuistot, we still like to go during the week for special occasions. However, this visit, I again forgot and ordered the Cream of Asparagus soup. As has always been the case with Cuistot, the soup was thin and without significant taste to be acceptable. All soup I've ordered has been very poor and without flavor. The Rabbit entrée was delicious and made the dinner worth this visit. The service is always very good, without frequent visits that allows a calm pleasant dinner. I do recommend this restaurant for good food (just not any soup).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

the restaurant is a wonderful experience. When you first enter you find the restaurant is extremely tastefully decorated, albeit more like that of a fine steakhouse. Th outdoor patio is wonderful with an outdoor fire-pit and the garden and water feature behind.

The food is unparalleled but I would ask the server what they recommend. The specials are always excellent, but I confess that repeatedly gravitate to the the Lobster Ravioli appetizer (absolutely amazing) and for dinner either the Dover Sole or the Rack of Lamb.

In all the time I have been there, I have never been disappointed

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Private Room, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everyone is so nice good customer service we enjoy going there. And enjoy the wine tastings with Benjamin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great dinner very relaxing and excellent service by Adriana

Always a treat when I m in in the desert to have dinner at Cuistot

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Another wonderful evening with good friends and good food.

Tags: Fireplace, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Always fabulous!!! You have to have the stuffed chicken.. It is so good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

It was wonderful Bernard Dervieau chef/owner came to our table & consented to make us sweetbreads even though they weren't on the menu. We were served generous servings w/capers in a port wine reduction. Delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

As always, simply amazing food and great service. Beyond the great ambience, the Chef's menu is continually creating new versions of wonderful. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The atmosphere and ambience was very inviting and set a nice tone for the meal. Both the wine sommelier and server were super gracious and helpful. It looked like this was going to be a great dinner, but sadly was not impressed with the food. The salad, pasta dish and fish special of the night were all very average. The best part of the meal was the wine and cookies for dessert. Very good wine list with some outstanding wines available by the glass. I was hoping for more from this restaurant. I am willing to go another time and try a few other dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was excellent. I use a walker (as many do in the Valley) and tghe host made no effort to make a path for me to my table. During the meal some function was going on in the other room where a microphone was used which clearly decreased the ambiance. I will go back because the food is so good, just hope they can improve the general experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I love coming back here again and again. The food is always wonderful, great service, and superb cocktails. The happy hour is also delightful with great choices. You can't go wrong!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Excellent cuisine, service was very friendly and helpful, and ambience was wonderful

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

After waiting 55 minutes for a table WITH A RESERVATION and NO APOLOGIES GIVEN things went downhill from there. Brought to a table, not given menus or greeted for 12 minutes. Once the food came (which was good) no one stopped back to check on us. Overall very, very disappointing. Unfortunately, although the food was good, I would NOT recommend this due to lack of service and poor communication.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had a 7 pm reservation. We arrived on time but we're not seated till 7:30. A private party on the patio apparently threw them into a tizzy The sommelier took our wine order and returned to the table with a decanter to pour the wine. Instead of letting the wine breathe, which is the whole purpose of the decanter, he poured it and then straight into our wine glasses without letting it breathe. The waiter took our food order and everything was very rushed. Dinner for 4 was done in an hour. We have been to Cuistot a couple of times and never had this experience. The food is excellent. If it weren't for our positive previous meals we probably would not return. We will give it another chance down the road.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.