About Cuistot

72595 El Paseo Ave
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Cuistot offers fine California/French cuisine and is located at the Southwest intersection of Highway 111 and El Paseo. Cuistot has consistently earned top ratings in the Zagat Survey and was named one of six restaurants in the United States to score a perfect 100 for food by the Conde Nast Traveler. Dine under the stars on our beautiful terrace overlooking a desert water oasis or in one of our elegant dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Cuistot is currently closed for summer vacation. We will re-open on Thursday September 22, 2016

Cross Street:
Highway 111

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-1000

Website:
http://www.cuistotrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking

Executive Chef:
Bernard Dervieux

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cuistot
  • Cuistot
  • Cuistot
  • Cuistot
  • Cuistot
Cuistot
Cuistot
Cuistot
Cuistot
Cuistot

Private Dining

From small, intimate Gatherings to large Receptions and Dinners for up to 320 Guests

Cuistot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
5 More
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Fit for Foodies
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Desert ›

special occasion (67)
fit for foodies (54)
romantic (49)
See All
notable wine list (39)
great for outdoor dining (35)
great for lunch (23)
neighborhood gem (16)
good for groups (15)
great for brunch (12)
scenic view (10)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
974 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice service, food and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice service, food and atmosphere. My husband an I have been at Cuistot before and we always enjoy it. However, I have to admit that the prices are getting to be a little bit high, and I also wish they offered smaller dishes for those of us that can't eat a big entree.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual, a most enjoyable evening, this ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As usual, a most enjoyable evening, this time celebrating my birthday. The food was very good and the service by Morgan was wonderful. Cuistot will be closed until the new season. Will be back then.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive but delicious. Lovely dining r ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Expensive but delicious. Lovely dining room, good waitstaff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My all time and forever favorite restaur ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My all time and forever favorite restaurant! Food is always creative and wonderful. Staff is exceptional. Delightful fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our first trip to the Palm Desert area. Cuistot was a recommendation from a friend. The atmosphere is reminiscent of a old style steakhouse. Very brown and old school. The service was ok but my steak (ordered medium) was well done so we sent it back and basically just shared my wife's steak (also ordered medium and it was done perfectly).

Overall it wasn't anything special and we had been told it was. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Restaurant Week visit

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

had a wonderful dinner at Cuistot on the Restaurant Week prixe fixe menu $38/pp. Our waiter Cole was charming and helpful. Although the fixed menu had an appetizer, entree and dessert, we decided to splurge on the special appetizer that evening, Fois Gras w/an apple cider and apricot compote. It was pretty amazing, and so was the price (which we did not ask about beforehand) .. so we got quite the "sticker-shock" when we saw how much it cost ($40)! But it was, for us, a once-in-a-lifetime treat and we're glad we had it, esp prepared by such an excellent French chef. The restaurant is lovely and comfortable to be in. We will look forward to returning again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cuistot's is a beautiful restaurant and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Cuistot's is a beautiful restaurant and the Restaurant Week menu was quite appealing. We were seated right away but had to sit there for about 10 minutes waiting for our waitress to show up. (She was busy on the other side of the room, but she should have come by and let us know she'd be with us shortly.) Although the service was quite slow, the food had a good taste and a good look. Then we got our bill and we were sorely disappointed in that they charged us $15.90 for a coke and a diet coke (with one refill each). This charge was ridiculous (and so unnecessary) and put a pale on the whole evening. All of us at the table are millionaires so it wasn't that we couldn't afford being there...but we all became millionaires because of a sense of price : value and Cuistot's really missed the mark here. We probably won't be back and we won't recommend Cuistot's unless we pass along this upsetting management fact.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Excellent service

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was great, only to be topped by professional and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall Outstanding!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

My husband and I dined at Cuistot for our anniversary. It was our third time there in three weeks. The food was delicious and the service very good. Chef Bernard came around to the table and asked about everything. I replied that the food was outstanding as usual and that we had really enjoyed the Chicken with Morels a few nights earlier. I told him that it was probably the best chicken dish that I had ever tasted. He promptly walked away with no comment. We were perplexed at his reaction. Also, we had take home boxes, and we couldn't quite get a bag to hold the boxes. Not a good end to what had been a superb experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wine list overpriced. Service decent. Ra ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Wine list overpriced. Service decent. Rabbit was not good nor was the avocado appetizer. Mushroom soup very good. Will

not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Outstanding!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My husband and I dined at Cuistot with a friend to take advantage of their Special Culinary Tour de France Menu for $39.00. Everything was wonderful from start to finish. The Chicken with Morels was probably the best chicken dish I have ever had. Outstanding in every way!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Took my girlfriends there for both their birthdays and had a great time. They brought a large birthday dessert to share.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding service and menu is very am ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Outstanding service and menu is very amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. The setting and ambi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was excellent. The setting and ambiance are also excellent. The sculpture garden is an added bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the most fabulous dinner. All the ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

It was the most fabulous dinner. All the food was excellent and the staff was over the top

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the first visit to Cuistot for my ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

It was the first visit to Cuistot for my husband and me. It was like dining in a way out restaurant in Provence. The setting was elegant, seductive and comfortable. Service throughout was discreet, smooth and very professional.

The wine list blew us away ; it is not everyday that you see DRC on a wine list. Awesome!!!

We decided to try the menu Bordelais , with a side order of foie gras, as an extra.

The foie gras was done to a T - fast saute, melt in your mouth feel. The brioche toast with it was a perfect compliment. i wouldn't mind it as French toast for breakfast!

The hanger steak was perfect medium rare, sauced with peppercorns and Roquefort. Classic!!!

We will be back .

LillianS

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Typical Lyon quality

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

My wife and I always look to Cuistot for a quality meal and impeccable service. We also have another reservation for next month before they close for the summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrace dining at Cuistot-beautiful

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyed a date night and Chef Bernard and his team did a fantastic job and putting together a special menu and wine pairing. It's the way to go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is, in my opinion, by far the best ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

This is, in my opinion, by far the best restaurant in the Coachella Valley. The food and sauces are artfully prepared and delicious. Sharon Miller

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Went to The Tour de France special me ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We Went to The Tour de France special menue and enjoyed it very much. The food was outstanding. We subsequently made a reservation for a future night. The staff was friendly and helpful without being overbearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too crowded. Slow service, not family fr ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Too crowded. Slow service, not family friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We came for Mother's Day brunch and it w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for Mother's Day brunch and it was everything expected. From the bottomless mimosas to the set me ur choices! Our waiter was outstanding as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent outside dining patio however t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent outside dining patio however the food was mediocre. I will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Best of the Best

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Eating out for five nights at all great places, but this was the best of the best! Food preparation exceptional!

David

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a beautiful evening, we chose to ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

It was a beautiful evening, we chose to sit outside on the patio. Service was excellent. Our dinners were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not disappointed

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We took our grandson and wife for lunch here because we had h ad such a beautiful dinner here last month. We ate on the patio and our lunch was superb. The "Lunchbox" special was really enjoyed by my husband and grandson.....a very clever idea served in a kind of "bento box", making it fun to eat. Husband had the duck confit and I had the shrimp Louie, both of which were extremely good and attractively served. Service was excellent . A lovely restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!!!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We had not visited the desert in several years and were excited to visit Cuistot's again. The atmosphere, service and food were still excellent as we remembered. We dined there 2 nights during our week of vacation. A desert gem and a must to visit!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a beautiful spot with excellent foo ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Such a beautiful spot with excellent food, service, and outside seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely indoor-outdoor garden setting for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Lovely indoor-outdoor garden setting for lunch. The Wild Mushroom Soup is superb! Service friendly and professional. Thank you, Chef Bernard; we'll be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another restaurant with fantastic food, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Another restaurant with fantastic food, and wine list are a wow wow

Wine lover Must Must try Cuistot .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely lunch...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

2 for lunch on a Friday...restaurant was packed, with large groups...we were seated promptly,on the outside patio - and forgotten! It was quiet, but had to ask 3 times for a waiter and when he finally arrived he told us no one had advised him we had even been seated there ( patio tables were full) that being said, our waiter was terrific and we enjoyed the seafood quenelles, salmon and leek soup. The pate was not great. The Sancerre wine was terrific. We will return but, hope to be seated at a banquette the next time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Could do better

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

The food was generally excellent with a few notable exceptions. Avocado salad was served on a HOT plate (not warm, hot!) Lamb and Dover Sole were superb. Had to ask 3 times for water. Interior dining room decor is very old world comfortable, outside seating is not very inviting for dinner; fine for cocktails. A bit noisy from traffic. Pricey and Le Vallauris offers equal quality food in a more pleasant atmosphere at slightly lower prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Under the stars

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This is always one of my favorite restaurants, especially for a romantic dinner or celebration because they treat you like royalty. This was the first time we enjoyed dinner, outside under the stars. With a park-like setting and the sound of the waterfalls behind us, it was perfect. Ben the sommelier is fantastic. He has an incredibly large and diverse wine selection. With a brief discussion, he can always find the perfect wine - and it's never too expensive. For food, atmosphere and service, you can't beat this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but overpriced

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Cuistot is a lovely place and we would maybe go back for a really special occasion. The Service and atmosphere were superb, but the food was a bit of a disappointment for the prices charged. If I am going to spend that excessive amount of money, the food had better be way above average. We were celebrating our friends anniversary, and they did make it special for them, so all in all it was a good experience. Just be advised this restaurant is very expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Second time's a charm

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Our second visit was on Easter Sunday, but not for the offered vastly-arrayed brunch. The dinner crowd, in primarily casual short-sleeves and spring attire, filled tables surrounded by the inviting french country decor with massive beams, soaring ceiling and and stone walls. My husband and I shared a cheery chiffonade salad with apples and a slightly spicy mustard vinaigrette and warm crusty bread followed by his order of perfectly-cooked rack of lamb atop an amazing sauce. I chose a rather hearty, dense wild mushroom soup, followed by another appetizer, two small lobster bits atop four (I believe) large scallops resting in yet another amazing sauce. My taste buds had a field day! Everything was just so delicious. Appropriate wine from an extensive fine selection accompanied. Service, from valet parking to the final thank-you with several "Bon appetites" between, was impeccable. I am already thinking of the next occasion to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most elegant restaurant in the desert wi ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Most elegant restaurant in the desert with incredible attention to detail and a warm, friendly attitude. Superb French cuisine and the fo is groi shouldn't be missed. Service was attentive and not obtrusive. My only complaint is that it's too far from home to visit weekly

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overpriced with OK food

 
 (London)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The ambiance is nice but the prices are crazy for very mediocre food. I was very unimpressed. I got the tagliatelle which was an expensive version of Fettuccine Alfredo. The only good thing was the champagne ($19 a glass...).

Tags: romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Always nice to come here for lunch and t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Always nice to come here for lunch and the informal modeling on Fridays...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

disappointed

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

unfortunately to our mind it did not live up to our expectations/reviews. My wIfe's salad was overpowering with too strong a goats cheese and dressing for the avocado. My short rib ravioli was very good. For entrees mushroom pasta was very light on the mushrooms while my seabass was overly greasy. Will not revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Too expensive for the value. Food medioc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Too expensive for the value. Food mediocre. Place was empty. I guess other people agree with me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.