About Cuistot

72595 El Paseo Ave
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Cuistot offers fine California/French cuisine and is located at the Southwest intersection of Highway 111 and El Paseo. Cuistot has consistently earned top ratings in the Zagat Survey and was named one of six restaurants in the United States to score a perfect 100 for food by the Conde Nast Traveler. Dine under the stars on our beautiful terrace overlooking a desert water oasis or in one of our elegant dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Cuistot is currently closed for summer vacation. We will re-open on Thursday September 22, 2016

Cross Street:
Highway 111

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-1000

Website:
http://www.cuistotrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking

Executive Chef:
Bernard Dervieux

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
  • Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
  • Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
  • Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
  • Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA

Private Dining

From small, intimate Gatherings to large Receptions and Dinners for up to 320 Guests

Cuistot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Fireplace (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
People Watching (4)
Romantic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
999 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The wait staff is trained to not mention ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

The wait staff is trained to not mention the price of the daily specials. Always ask to avoid a surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Outstanding food. Over the top service a ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Outstanding food. Over the top service and the dessert duffle is to die for. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friday's are a wonderful time to lunch a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Friday's are a wonderful time to lunch at Cuistot. Many of the fine shops on El Paseo take part in a fashion show. All 7 of us enjoyed every bit of our meal and the service was outstanding. Our new go to place in Palm Desert

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too many people and few servers

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Too many people and few servers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Very poor service. 30 minute wait with a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very poor service.

30 minute wait with a reservation, an additional 30 minutes for a waiter to get an order going.

Just terrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent service, food is incredible, a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent service, food is incredible, atmospher is charming, a MUST GO! I cannot wait to visit again!

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cuistot? What can one say? The child of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Cuistot? What can one say? The child of Chef Bernard and his wife Susan now going on 15. A wonderful place for a superb meal at any time, but with a special 4 course menu for Thanksgiving --- can't be better than this. Choice of three main dishes (Turkey, Sirloin of Beef and Sea Bass ...) something for everyone. My wife had the sea bass and it was superb as was its accompanying sauce ... I had the turkey and requested all dark meat ... and not only did I get dark meat, but I got a whole drumstick as well. ... thank you Chef!

Another highlight was the wine list ... I's been expanded quite a bit since I was here a bit more than a year ago, but what stunned me was the fact that there was a WHOLE PAGE of viogniers. I consider myself fortunate if I find one on a list, but seven (7!) WOW! In any case I had to ask for advice from the Sommelier who recommended one that was absolutely superb ... so good in fact that after drinking one with dinner, I bought another one to take home. (Who knew that Cuistot had an off-site sale license??)

Bottom line --- indulge yourself in a superb meal when you are in Palm Springs. You won't be sorry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you want great food, along with wonde ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

If you want great food, along with wonderful caring service, Cuistot is the place to go. Cuistot is one of the best restaurants in all of Coachella Valley !!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been a fan of Cuistot for years. T ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I've been a fan of Cuistot for years. The food is wonderful, unique and always filled with flavor. The Thanksgiving meal was not the usual Cuistot fare. There were just three options, turkey, roast beef and fish. We had the roast beef and while it was OK it wasn't wonderful. The special experience of being at Cuistot just wasn't there. We'll go back but not on a holiday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

This was our third or fourth visit, our ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our third or fourth visit, our second Thanksgiving, arriving at 2:00 PM. Very French Country ambiance with a soaring massive beamed ceiling, stonework walls, a glowing fireplace plus excellent, accommodating service. Fresh, crusty bread accompanied the suggested nice wine. For the special day, the menu was limited so I chose the chillean sea bass. The appetizer provided was a tablespoon (literally) of a half-inch sliver of salmon atop chopped something celeric(?). Next came a flavorful ginger carrot soup in a small tureen, then my sea bass, smothered with slivered something resembling cabbage, though I am sure the menu identified it properly. The sea bass was not the usual 3/4" white tender chilean sea bass, but was thinner, darker, more firm and pretty tasteless. No other accompaniment. Limited dessert offerings so I had a simple vanilla ice cream drizzled with chocolate. Husband had a nice salad but the turkey dinner was really disappointing: chopped pieces of dark meat, sparse dressing and mashed potatoes, barely any gravy and few green beans, and we are not large-portion diners. His unappetizing pumpkin pie tasted store-bought. It may be awhile before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The atmosphere is great, the wild mushro ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The atmosphere is great, the wild mushroom soup and the lobster ravioli were to dye for!

However, the cassoulet had very lilttle meat, and really just an overpriced serving of beans. When we mentioned that, they did not seem overly concerned or willing to do much about it.

Not sure we will hurry back, except for the ravioli!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

great dining experience all round. recom ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

great dining experience all round. recommend for a romantic evening out.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bad tasting salad. Very slow service. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Bad tasting salad. Very slow service. Party of five and could not serve all people at one time. several minute delay for one salad. Long wait for main course≥

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

It really tries to be more than it reall ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It really tries to be more than it really is. We did enjoy the patio with the exception of the highway noise from the very busy Highway 111 that is cleverly camouflaged with a growing assortment of desert plants. Our wait person was efficient but did not give any description of any of the food items. We were also very surprised not to have been asked for or told what was available for desert at the end of our meal. After the table was cleared the bill was delivered and we left. Ice cream at home was certainly more reasonably priced. Doubtful that we will return. This could explain why it was not busy at all on a Saturday night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Cozy, Private Room, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our favorite in the desert. Looking forw ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our favorite in the desert. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

While a lovely restaurant, we were expec ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 22, 2016

While a lovely restaurant, we were expecting more. And easily this place could up my opinion if they just did a few things differently.

My seasonal salad had almost no salad greens and way too much apple and barely any blue cheese. Needed more greens, less apple.

Our sole entrees, the fish was delicious, but plating needed help. Hardly any veggies, and over white rice? Plating in a French restaurant should be much better.

We told them several times we were gluten free, but bread kept being delivered. Server told us she was required to bring bread to the table with cheese even when we made it clear we did not want it. Similar thing with wine ice bucket. We told the server that the wine was cold enough, but she said it was required by the sommelier to provide an ice bucket. Really? I doubt the issue is with the server. Provided our feedback directly to the restaurant manager.

Anyway, we won't be back. Just seems a dated and old style place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The wine, the staff, and the food were a ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The wine, the staff, and the food were allexcellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is the most important part of an ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Service is the most important part of any restaurant , we had the best lunch in a very long time at Cuistot ,

From the fast efficient and friendly service, the attention of the staff was present the right way.

Our server Jaime recommended the oyster they were just perfect .

Everything was so good , from the appetizer to the desert , the best part ? The excellent customer service couldn't have been happier

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the desert Best food ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Best restaurant in the desert

Best food and ambiance

Always love going to Cuistot

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A person called me the day before and as ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 7, 2016

A person called me the day before and asked if I would like anything special. I said it was a birthday lunch and received a nice dessert. We were very impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not on their usual game on this visit. S ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Not on their usual game on this visit. Service was slow and they had an issue with a neighbor.

I'll go back and give them another chance but they need to step up their game.

Food was top notch though just took awhile to get to us.

Friendly folks and they tried to fix it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Had a great lunch. Food was wonderful a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Had a great lunch. Food was wonderful and the wine list is spectacular.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Cozy, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were spectacular! ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The service and food were spectacular! The short rib ravioli's were great as well as the creme brûlée!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a fabulous meal on our ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My wife and I had a fabulous meal on our first visit to Cuistot. Chef Bernard came out to our table during our meal to introduce himself and make sure we were enjoying . We ordered 2 special appetizers that were delicious as well as the Rabbit, and Quail entrees which were both fabulous. With Ben the Sommeliers' help we found a great bottle of wine at a great price. Cuistot is a great find and we will be back again soon!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing service and ambiance! We sat on ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Amazing service and ambiance! We sat on the patio on a beautiful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice service, food and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice service, food and atmosphere. My husband an I have been at Cuistot before and we always enjoy it. However, I have to admit that the prices are getting to be a little bit high, and I also wish they offered smaller dishes for those of us that can't eat a big entree.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual, a most enjoyable evening, this ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 19, 2016

As usual, a most enjoyable evening, this time celebrating my birthday. The food was very good and the service by Morgan was wonderful. Cuistot will be closed until the new season. Will be back then.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive but delicious. Lovely dining r ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Expensive but delicious. Lovely dining room, good waitstaff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My all time and forever favorite restaur ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 12, 2016

My all time and forever favorite restaurant! Food is always creative and wonderful. Staff is exceptional. Delightful fine dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our first trip to the Palm Desert area. Cuistot was a recommendation from a friend. The atmosphere is reminiscent of a old style steakhouse. Very brown and old school. The service was ok but my steak (ordered medium) was well done so we sent it back and basically just shared my wife's steak (also ordered medium and it was done perfectly).

Overall it wasn't anything special and we had been told it was. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Restaurant Week visit

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 9, 2016

had a wonderful dinner at Cuistot on the Restaurant Week prixe fixe menu $38/pp. Our waiter Cole was charming and helpful. Although the fixed menu had an appetizer, entree and dessert, we decided to splurge on the special appetizer that evening, Fois Gras w/an apple cider and apricot compote. It was pretty amazing, and so was the price (which we did not ask about beforehand) .. so we got quite the "sticker-shock" when we saw how much it cost ($40)! But it was, for us, a once-in-a-lifetime treat and we're glad we had it, esp prepared by such an excellent French chef. The restaurant is lovely and comfortable to be in. We will look forward to returning again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cuistot's is a beautiful restaurant and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Cuistot's is a beautiful restaurant and the Restaurant Week menu was quite appealing. We were seated right away but had to sit there for about 10 minutes waiting for our waitress to show up. (She was busy on the other side of the room, but she should have come by and let us know she'd be with us shortly.) Although the service was quite slow, the food had a good taste and a good look. Then we got our bill and we were sorely disappointed in that they charged us $15.90 for a coke and a diet coke (with one refill each). This charge was ridiculous (and so unnecessary) and put a pale on the whole evening. All of us at the table are millionaires so it wasn't that we couldn't afford being there...but we all became millionaires because of a sense of price : value and Cuistot's really missed the mark here. We probably won't be back and we won't recommend Cuistot's unless we pass along this upsetting management fact.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Excellent service

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was great, only to be topped by professional and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall Outstanding!

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2016

My husband and I dined at Cuistot for our anniversary. It was our third time there in three weeks. The food was delicious and the service very good. Chef Bernard came around to the table and asked about everything. I replied that the food was outstanding as usual and that we had really enjoyed the Chicken with Morels a few nights earlier. I told him that it was probably the best chicken dish that I had ever tasted. He promptly walked away with no comment. We were perplexed at his reaction. Also, we had take home boxes, and we couldn't quite get a bag to hold the boxes. Not a good end to what had been a superb experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wine list overpriced. Service decent. Ra ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Wine list overpriced. Service decent. Rabbit was not good nor was the avocado appetizer. Mushroom soup very good. Will

not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Outstanding!

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 2, 2016

My husband and I dined at Cuistot with a friend to take advantage of their Special Culinary Tour de France Menu for $39.00. Everything was wonderful from start to finish. The Chicken with Morels was probably the best chicken dish I have ever had. Outstanding in every way!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Took my girlfriends there for both their birthdays and had a great time. They brought a large birthday dessert to share.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding service and menu is very am ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Outstanding service and menu is very amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. The setting and ambi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was excellent. The setting and ambiance are also excellent. The sculpture garden is an added bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the most fabulous dinner. All the ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 25, 2016

It was the most fabulous dinner. All the food was excellent and the staff was over the top

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.