About Cuistot

72595 El Paseo Ave
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Cuistot offers fine California/French cuisine and is located at the Southwest intersection of Highway 111 and El Paseo. Cuistot has consistently earned top ratings in the Zagat Survey and was named one of six restaurants in the United States to score a perfect 100 for food by the Conde Nast Traveler. Dine under the stars on our beautiful terrace overlooking a desert water oasis or in one of our elegant dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 5:30 pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:30 pm - 9:00pm

BARcelona Lounge: Happy Hour Tuesday-Sunday 4:00pm-6:00pm Bar Menu: 14 Not so small plates $9.50 and under.

Cross Street:
Highway 111

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-1000

Website:
http://www.cuistotrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking

Executive Chef:
Bernard Dervieux

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

From small, intimate Gatherings to large Receptions and Dinners for up to 320 Guests

Cuistot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Desert ›

special occasion (107)
fit for foodies (83)
romantic (80)
See All
great for outdoor dining (65)
notable wine list (61)
great for lunch (39)
neighborhood gem (28)
good for groups (23)
scenic view (17)
great for brunch (14)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
957 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Typical Lyon quality

Dined on May 18, 2016

My wife and I always look to Cuistot for a quality meal and impeccable service. We also have another reservation for next month before they close for the summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrace dining at Cuistot-beautiful

Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyed a date night and Chef Bernard and his team did a fantastic job and putting together a special menu and wine pairing. It's the way to go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is, in my opinion, by far the best ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This is, in my opinion, by far the best restaurant in the Coachella Valley. The food and sauces are artfully prepared and delicious. Sharon Miller

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Went to The Tour de France special me ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We Went to The Tour de France special menue and enjoyed it very much. The food was outstanding. We subsequently made a reservation for a future night. The staff was friendly and helpful without being overbearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We came for Mother's Day brunch and it w ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for Mother's Day brunch and it was everything expected. From the bottomless mimosas to the set me ur choices! Our waiter was outstanding as well!

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent outside dining patio however t ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent outside dining patio however the food was mediocre. I will not return

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Best

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Eating out for five nights at all great places, but this was the best of the best! Food preparation exceptional! David

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a beautiful evening, we chose to ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

It was a beautiful evening, we chose to sit outside on the patio. Service was excellent. Our dinners were great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not disappointed

Dined on April 23, 2016

We took our grandson and wife for lunch here because we had h ad such a beautiful dinner here last month. We ate on the patio and our lunch was superb. The "Lunchbox" special was really enjoyed by my husband and grandson.....a very clever idea served in a kind of "bento box", making it fun to eat. Husband had the duck confit and I had the shrimp Louie, both of which were extremely good and attractively served. Service was excellent . A lovely restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous!!!

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We had not visited the desert in several years and were excited to visit Cuistot's again. The atmosphere, service and food were still excellent as we remembered. We dined there 2 nights during our week of vacation. A desert gem and a must to visit!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a beautiful spot with excellent foo ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Such a beautiful spot with excellent food, service, and outside seating.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely indoor-outdoor garden setting for ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Lovely indoor-outdoor garden setting for lunch. The Wild Mushroom Soup is superb! Service friendly and professional. Thank you, Chef Bernard; we'll be back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Another restaurant with fantastic food, ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Another restaurant with fantastic food, and wine list are a wow wow Wine lover Must Must try Cuistot .

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lovely lunch...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

2 for lunch on a Friday...restaurant was packed, with large groups...we were seated promptly,on the outside patio - and forgotten! It was quiet, but had to ask 3 times for a waiter and when he finally arrived he told us no one had advised him we had even been seated there ( patio tables were full) that being said, our waiter was terrific and we enjoyed the seafood quenelles, salmon and leek soup. The pate was not great. The Sancerre wine was terrific. We will return but, hope to be seated at a banquette the next time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Could do better

Dined on April 5, 2016

The food was generally excellent with a few notable exceptions. Avocado salad was served on a HOT plate (not warm, hot!) Lamb and Dover Sole were superb. Had to ask 3 times for water. Interior dining room decor is very old world comfortable, outside seating is not very inviting for dinner; fine for cocktails. A bit noisy from traffic. Pricey and Le Vallauris offers equal quality food in a more pleasant atmosphere at slightly lower prices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Under the stars

Dined on April 3, 2016

This is always one of my favorite restaurants, especially for a romantic dinner or celebration because they treat you like royalty. This was the first time we enjoyed dinner, outside under the stars. With a park-like setting and the sound of the waterfalls behind us, it was perfect. Ben the sommelier is fantastic. He has an incredibly large and diverse wine selection. With a brief discussion, he can always find the perfect wine - and it's never too expensive. For food, atmosphere and service, you can't beat this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Good but overpriced

Dined on March 30, 2016

Cuistot is a lovely place and we would maybe go back for a really special occasion. The Service and atmosphere were superb, but the food was a bit of a disappointment for the prices charged. If I am going to spend that excessive amount of money, the food had better be way above average. We were celebrating our friends anniversary, and they did make it special for them, so all in all it was a good experience. Just be advised this restaurant is very expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time's a charm

Dined on March 28, 2016

Our second visit was on Easter Sunday, but not for the offered vastly-arrayed brunch. The dinner crowd, in primarily casual short-sleeves and spring attire, filled tables surrounded by the inviting french country decor with massive beams, soaring ceiling and and stone walls. My husband and I shared a cheery chiffonade salad with apples and a slightly spicy mustard vinaigrette and warm crusty bread followed by his order of perfectly-cooked rack of lamb atop an amazing sauce. I chose a rather hearty, dense wild mushroom soup, followed by another appetizer, two small lobster bits atop four (I believe) large scallops resting in yet another amazing sauce. My taste buds had a field day! Everything was just so delicious. Appropriate wine from an extensive fine selection accompanied. Service, from valet parking to the final thank-you with several "Bon appetites" between, was impeccable. I am already thinking of the next occasion to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Most elegant restaurant in the desert wi ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Most elegant restaurant in the desert with incredible attention to detail and a warm, friendly attitude. Superb French cuisine and the fo is groi shouldn't be missed. Service was attentive and not obtrusive. My only complaint is that it's too far from home to visit weekly

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Overpriced with OK food

Dined on March 27, 2016

The ambiance is nice but the prices are crazy for very mediocre food. I was very unimpressed. I got the tagliatelle which was an expensive version of Fettuccine Alfredo. The only good thing was the champagne ($19 a glass...).

Tags: romance
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always nice to come here for lunch and t ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Always nice to come here for lunch and the informal modeling on Fridays...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

disappointed

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

unfortunately to our mind it did not live up to our expectations/reviews. My wIfe's salad was overpowering with too strong a goats cheese and dressing for the avocado. My short rib ravioli was very good. For entrees mushroom pasta was very light on the mushrooms while my seabass was overly greasy. Will not revisit.

food2
ambience2
service2

Too expensive for the value. Food medioc ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Too expensive for the value. Food mediocre. Place was empty. I guess other people agree with me.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the opportunity to lunch on March ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

We had the opportunity to lunch on March 17 as we took a break from Indian Wells tennis. We were greeted by Mike, the Sales and Marketing Manager and had the pleasure of being served by Jimmy, each of whom expertly and pleasantly guided us through wine and entree options. The menu options were expansive and we were more than delighted by the tenderloin medallions and the vinegar chicken. The outdoor patio was very pleasant and we walked through the other dining and lounge rooms - very well done. We look forward to returning on our next visit to the desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Quiet Gem

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

The atmosphere is very nice and the premises are gorgeous. Great food and a great find.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Superb dining experience

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Once again, Cuistot's did not disappoint. From the mushroom soup, the moderne Caesar salad, the beets cream cheese and salmon app, and the asparagus app through to dinner and desserts, EVERYTHING was excellent. I had the veal chop, which was prepared well and was accompanied by very tasty veggies. My cousin had the lamb, which was also presented well, though a bit undercooked. Our wives each had two apps, rather than an entree, and were delighted with their choices. Desserts were both attractively presented and delicious. Finally, our server, Adriana, was friendly, helpful and attentive. Al in all, a memorable meal--with a memorable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Friday's ... Great food Models ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Fabulous Friday's ... Great food Models with great jewelry and clothes... Consistently good..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was uneven. The lobster ravioli ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

The food was uneven. The lobster ravioli were generously stuffed with a mixture of a nondescript whitefish with a hint of lobster and served in a delectable reduction sauce. The beet, cream cheese, salmon Napoleon appetizer was masterfully prepared. The veal chop was perfect though the accompanying vegetables were limp. The lobster pot pie was outstanding. The raspberry feuillette dessert was a disaster and should not have been served as the pastry was burned and the custard was grainy. The coffee was not up to the standard of a fine restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is tops in every area. W ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

This restaurant is tops in every area. We love it!

food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent ambience, good food and outsta ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

Excellent ambience, good food and outstanding service (John)

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

A wonderful place for outdoor dining.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Located next door to the Palm Springs museum in Palm Desert which has a wonderful outdoor garden with sculptures. We had, overall, a fun time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Another great meal!

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Had another excellent meal at Cuistot! Rabbit and quail are our favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

success

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Excellent for years - getting even better. Varied, imaginative menu, welcoming atmosphere, superb food preparation and presentation, and outstanding service. A total delight.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cuistot

Dined on March 2, 2016

Beautiful dinner on patio. Don't know about back patio/happy hour as it looked crowded.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & ambiance. Outside patio is ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Great food & ambiance. Outside patio is great for large or small parties. Attentive service. This is one of our favorites in Palm Desert!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continued Favorite in the Desert

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Everything about Wally's is done to perfection. The sommelier is very knowledgeable and the wine list is quite extensive and varied.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cuistot is wonderful

Dined on February 27, 2016

Wonderful evening with friends because of the cuisine and ambience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very quiet place

Dined on February 24, 2016

Visited on a weeknight. No crowds. Very quiet. The service staff was great. Outside seating is very pretty.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Consistent Food and Service

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

A true gem in the desert. Everytime I come here the food and service are very good. Just love the Wild Mushroom soup! Great variety of menu items too!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service & food

Dined on February 20, 2016

amazing food , our waiter was super attentive and very friendly , jaime thank you very much for your service. The food, the atmosphere, everything is perfect , we are going back for my wife's birthday. For dinner , I hope we have the same waiter

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.