Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Cuistot

Cuistot offers fine California/French cuisine and is located at the Southwest intersection of Highway 111 and El Paseo. Cuistot has consistently earned top ratings in the Zagat Survey and was named one of six restaurants in the United States to score a perfect 100 for food by the Conde Nast Traveler. Dine under the stars on our beautiful terrace overlooking a desert water oasis or in one of our elegant dining rooms.

72595 El Paseo Ave
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Cuistot is open for lunch Tuesday through Friday from 11:30-2:30pm. Saturday Brunch from 11:00-2:30pm. Dinner is served nightly from 5:30, and happy hour is everyday from 4-6 pm.

Cross Street:
Highway 111

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-1000

Website:
http://www.cuistotrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking

Executive Chef:
Bernard Dervieux

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

From small, intimate Gatherings to large Receptions and Dinners for up to 320 Guests

Cuistot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (44)
Creative Cuisine (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for a Date (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fireplace (31)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Notable Wine List (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Authentic (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Cozy (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
People Watching (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Private Room (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Historic (4)
Casual (3)
Healthy (3)
Live Music (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent. I use a walker (as many do in the Valley) and tghe host made no effort to make a path for me to my table. During the meal some function was going on in the other room where a microphone was used which clearly decreased the ambiance. I will go back because the food is so good, just hope they can improve the general experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

I love coming back here again and again. The food is always wonderful, great service, and superb cocktails. The happy hour is also delightful with great choices. You can't go wrong!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent cuisine, service was very friendly and helpful, and ambience was wonderful

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

After waiting 55 minutes for a table WITH A RESERVATION and NO APOLOGIES GIVEN things went downhill from there. Brought to a table, not given menus or greeted for 12 minutes. Once the food came (which was good) no one stopped back to check on us. Overall very, very disappointing. Unfortunately, although the food was good, I would NOT recommend this due to lack of service and poor communication.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had a 7 pm reservation. We arrived on time but we're not seated till 7:30. A private party on the patio apparently threw them into a tizzy The sommelier took our wine order and returned to the table with a decanter to pour the wine. Instead of letting the wine breathe, which is the whole purpose of the decanter, he poured it and then straight into our wine glasses without letting it breathe. The waiter took our food order and everything was very rushed. Dinner for 4 was done in an hour. We have been to Cuistot a couple of times and never had this experience. The food is excellent. If it weren't for our positive previous meals we probably would not return. We will give it another chance down the road.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Another wonderful with friends. Great food and service and wine selection.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were enchanted and delighted with the Cuistot lunch experience. Ambience on the back patio is outstanding, right down to the appropriate background music which was very enjoyable.
The service was both attentive and very capable and knowledgeable. The food was varied, delicious with interesting presentation.
The value for price paid was very good. We would not hesitate or recommend to friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 18, 2017

As good as a restaurant can be. No place better... not anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food and great choices of wines
Have brrn going year after year and it is always outstanding

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a horrible experience. The four of us were there for lunch celebrating 3 birthdays. They were having issues with their computer system. The service was painfully slow. When our waiter did finally came over to take our order - we had been waiting almost a half hour. He was rude and just barked at us asking - what do you want to eat!! We brought a bottle of wine and he was annoyed that we needed a ice bucket and glasses. He just kept disappearing and finally arrived again with 3 glasses - there were four of us. The manager brought over another waiter who was very pleasant. The second half of our order arrived at about 1 1/2 hours after we arrived. We understand that things happen but the recovery from the waiter & the manager was not good. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing! One of the best meals that I have had in a very long time. My friend and I enjoyed the beet appetizer and lobster ravioli with black truffles. To this day, I am still thinking how amazing the beet appetizer was and how I need to make a reservation soon. Our dinner entrees were prefectly prepared and the merringue dessert was a perfect ending to our dinner. Our server was attentive and we enjoyed her professionalism. Thank you for an amazing dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Worst service we have ever had at this restaurant. It was noted in our reservation that we had theatre at 7:30p.m. We ask for a table in a quieter section due to the fact that the hostess of the dinner is 103 years old. Instead we were placed surrounded by a six top, twelve top and another six top. It took forever for our waitress to show up....orders were placed and arrived very slowly. Sauce for ravioli was burnt. No wine was offered to the guests during the meal but instead after the meal. We arrived at 5:15p.m and did not get until 7:30p.m. We missed our show due to the lousy service. What was a top notch restaurant has surely been diminished by this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food at Cuistot is always fabulous. And we love that the chef comes by your table to touch base and welcome you to the restaurant. Wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Celebrating my husband's birthday. He absolutely loved the Maine lobster pot pie (he's from Maine) and they brought him a complimentary dessert which thrilled him. Very special.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Outstanding in every aspect, consistently ! Never fail to deliver, serious cooking here.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Mushroom soup and Lobster Pot Pie, very good. Dover Sole drowned in butter, Avocado and Goat Cheese appetizer underwhelming. The after dinner coffee an dessert an afterthought of the menu. Probably wound not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding food and service coupled with a fabulous wine list. Pricey but well spent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We choose this restaurant based on it's rating and proximity to our hotel ...Well it did not disappoint us.Everything about this restaurant was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fireplace, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I've been in before with my husband and friends.
I came in with my grand daughter and we were seated by the kitchen! I had reservations so thought it was very rude. Will not come back without a male!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent in very way !! A perfect combination of gourmet food and superb service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything we ate was fabulous! !! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was wonderful! Piano music and atmosphere were very pleasant and comforting.

Waiter service was excellent, but support staff was lacking - crumbs not wiped off table, kept having to ask for water, booth table not pulled out or in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The early bird bar menu is a great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We had a ball. Celebrated my 50th with lunch and champagne. The staff was attentive and charming and brought me a delicious desert for my birthday. Delicious classic French.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food was outstanding but the service was not what is expected in a quality restaurant. Had to ask for service several times including for wine refills and the check when finished. We may return next year because of great food but hope service improves.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Rated it fair because nothing really special jumped out. We sat outside for lunch and not many people were there. Food choices were great and food was fair/good, again nothing special. The vibe was too low key for us. Inside looked lovely and romantic. I may give it another shot and inside next time. Wanted to like it more, but did not.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Outstanding evening- the food was delicious and the service was perfect.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Cuistot is a Palm Desert gem. Yes, it is pricey, but, the service, food and general ambiance make it worthwhile. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful place with great food. Service was Very Slow. Our server had too much to do to get to us but did end up buying our dessert to try to compensate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fabulous dinner - sauces are amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will definitely visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Although the food was good, it is too far from being as refined as French food should be, especially with the big Lyon sign in the main living dining room. The $70 cote de beouf had a fantastic look to it but unfortunately was drowsed in a cheap bourguignon sauce which was more sweet than it should have been. Here, some herbes de Provence and sea salt would have been sufficient to make this exquisite. Again, an indication that sous chefs and perhaps unqualified kitchen staff are prepping the meals versus having a true chef in the back. One of the things that we all noticed was the red wines, Including desert, were served too chilled. The restaurant must learn to keep some of their wines at correct temperature. We were pleased to see however that Pichet of wine were available. A nice touch reminiscent of true French restaurant dining.
Lastly, we were quite disappointed that by 830 on a Friday night the restaurant was left empty… perhaps this is common in Palm Desert California.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Service was good,food was good.......price was high....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We enjoyed Cuistot very much each time we have eaten there this year. The food is served hot and tastes delicious. The desserts are very attractive and tasty. The chef adds some unique presentations and additions to the plate to add to a complete experience. Service was very good. We had no hiccups in service. All good. Just go if you can afford it. Prices are a little high but not higher than the same caliber restaurants in the area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great Dover sole and wonderful ambiance. Happy to recommend to friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

very pleasant main dining area inside, side by side "booth" seating; first class service, excellent food

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Nice experience for my 4 friends from out of the state. Enjoyed the fashion show very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Cuistot is one of our most favored desert restaurants. First, there is Chef Bernard and his French food which is heavenly. He is a product of Lyon and that school led by the "Master", Paul Bocuse. The restaurant itself is stand alone and lovely with lots of classic mirrors on the wall. Valentine's Day is always a bit of a zoo at any restaurant and service might be a step slower than normal due to the sheer volume of diners. Still, the servers managed all of this and did so with a smile. Cuistot is not inexpensive but certainly not outrageously so. There are no bad menu items, but if I had to point to one, it would be the "branzino" (sea bass). It is wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was Valentine's Day dinner for 3 couples. We were seated near the fireplace in the main room. The service and food was excellent. The pate followed by the tomato bisque and branzino were beautifully prepared and served. All I can say is the restaurant could not have been more welcoming and considerate. A definite do again!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I went to Cuistot for Valentine's Day, the location of our first date 13 years ago. Cuistot is a beautiful restaurant. We were seated on the outside patio near the huge fireplace. The setting was romantic, with stars above and the glowing fireplace; however, since this was Valentine's Day, we were hoping for some live, soft, romantic entertainment, but none was provided. There was recorded music playing, but the volume was very low and inaudible and since this was supposed to be THE day of romance (Valentine's Day), we were disappointed that very little was done to create a more romantic atmosphere other than the normal ambiance of the already beautiful restaurant. Although it was a "fixed" menu, we both had the Sea Bass which was pricey but excellent. The service was very good. We were not rushed through our meal.
On any other day, I would say Cuistot is excellent all around; but for special occassions like Valentine's Day, I would suggest a little extra enhancement would have been nice, such as the aforementioned live romantic music and perhaps a rose on the table for the ladies.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Reservation requested over a week ago. Asked for indoor seating. Hostess tried to seat on secondary patio facing parking lot were no one else was seated. Moved to another patio which was very nice. Food was good, not great. Appetizer was excellent. Pate and small salad. Entree was pork loin which was actually cool. Didn't send back because of time it took to get entree. Dessert was very good but to much for even two people. Overall would try them again, but not on a special menu night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.