About Cuistot

72595 El Paseo Ave
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Cuistot offers fine California/French cuisine and is located at the Southwest intersection of Highway 111 and El Paseo. Cuistot has consistently earned top ratings in the Zagat Survey and was named one of six restaurants in the United States to score a perfect 100 for food by the Conde Nast Traveler. Dine under the stars on our beautiful terrace overlooking a desert water oasis or in one of our elegant dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Cuistot is open for lunch Tuesday through Friday from 11:30-2:30. Dinner is served nightly from 5:30, and happy hour is everyday from 4-6 pm.

Cross Street:
Highway 111

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-1000

Website:
http://www.cuistotrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking

Executive Chef:
Bernard Dervieux

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
  • Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
  • Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
  • Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA
  • Cuistot, Palm Desert, CA

Report a photo problem

Private Dining

From small, intimate Gatherings to large Receptions and Dinners for up to 320 Guests

Cuistot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Fireplace (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Romantic (17)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Business Meals (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Private Room (6)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Casual (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1087 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent dinner. Terrific staff! Our wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent dinner. Terrific staff! Our waiter, Francois, was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambiance. Everyone was very we ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Wonderful ambiance.

Everyone was very welcoming and attentive- maitred, chef, wait staff.

Sea bass,mushroom soup and chicken was delicious.

Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, , Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey, but with excellent food and exce ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Pricey, but with excellent food and excellent service it was worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great luncheon menu and ambience. Superl ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great luncheon menu and ambience. Superlative service , and elegant fashion presentations by lovely models.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cuistot is great! My wife had Dover Sole ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Cuistot is great! My wife had Dover Sole and I had Veal Chop , both were excellent .

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the room is beautiful, the service perfe ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 3, 2017

the room is beautiful, the service perfect. The food for lunch was ifffy. My husband's lamb sandwich would have been great, but the lamb was not hot My chicken sandwich was just fine

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Inconsistent quality and rising prices d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Inconsistent quality and rising prices describe Cuistot's current offering, and this is truly regrettable given the outstanding selection of wines, beautiful upscale dining room, attentive and professional service and the establishment's longstanding excellent reputation. The lobster ravioli this time just wasn't quite right and the lobster pot pie was equally bland, resulting in at least 2 entrées that were unfit for a New Year's eve menu at $120 a head. Overall a disappointing experience. "Dommage"!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

I'm always afraid of a prix fix menu but ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I'm always afraid of a prix fix menu but Cuisto delighted the table with their food choices. A lovely NYE celebration!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine food, as always. The wait staff bro ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fine food, as always. The wait staff brought two orders of oysters before 2 of us had finished the first appetizer - not watching the table's dining progress. The sommelier was observed picking his teeth near the washrooms with his wine bottle opener - quite unappealing.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The sea bass was excellent on New Year's ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The sea bass was excellent on New Year's Eve. The balance of the meal was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way: service, meal, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding in every way: service, meal, Sommelier was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful! We just love this place! Ever ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful! We just love this place! Everything is always perfect.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always loved Cuistot. This time ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have always loved Cuistot. This time we went for a New Year celebration - a day ahead. Typically the food is very good, but no one at our table enjoyed their food very much this particular evening. Portions seemed much smaller than usual for each of us. Also the cuts of meat were oddly shaped almost like discarded cuts, and not very juicy. I didn't have any alcohol, but the pours of wine for others at the table were in no way generous. All of us were excited to come to Cuistot for our celebration, but I think left a little disappointed as compared to our previous experiences there. I don't know if they have purposely cut back on portion sizes for all their food and beverages or what, but they need to be a little more generous, especially for the price. That said, our seating was the best in the house, next to the fireplace. Also, our servers were delightful. We will return to Cuistot but maybe with a little hesitation in terms of food and value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

This restaurant is awesome :) Been here ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This restaurant is awesome :) Been here twice and both experiences have been exceptional! The staff treated my Mom like a queen for her Bday lunch. Absolutely wonderful :)

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite sausage potato salad. Great wi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Favorite sausage potato salad. Great wine list because there is a wide selection from around the world. Of course steak frites and duck confit are winners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A great restaurant underperformed on thi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A great restaurant underperformed on this Christmas Eve. Poor service, long delay to be seated, warm salad, but great wine list. Lesson-go sometime other than the pre-fixed menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We arrived on-time for a 7:30 Christmas ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We arrived on-time for a 7:30 Christmas Eve Prix Fixe reservation, but were told it would be a 30 minute wait. It was obvious that we were upset and the staff then got us to our table after a 15 minute wait. The restaurant was rushed and the wait staff so overwhelmed we weren't greeted by our waitress until another 7 minutes had passed.

After another 10 to 15 minutes had passed, we told by our server that our appetizers would be out shortly and thank you for waiting (oysters rockefeller and lobster raviolis - the ravioli was particularly plump and perfectly cooked and the sauce was excellent).

I reminded her that we had not yet received our amuse bouche - a component of the prix fixe. She then scrambled back to the open kitchen, started to prepare and then came out with our table's amuse as well as two other adjacent tables all at the same time. The entrees were well prepared and tasty however the presentation was sloppy. I had the goose and my spouse had the king salmon.

We paid the corkage and brought our wine, it was nicely decanted tableside at our request, but except for the initial pour and another, we ended up pouring most of it by ourselves throughout the evening.

Perhaps it was the holiday. We'll have to try it after the holidays are well behind us because we left unimpressed compared to experiences at other competitors in the desert such as Le Vallauris or Wally's.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We have spent many holidays at Cuisto an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have spent many holidays at Cuisto and have always had a great time. Great cuisine and wine list. We also enjoy just going there for lunch and dinner. One of our favorite restaurants in the desert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat to celebrate at Cuistot! ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Always a treat to celebrate at Cuistot! Christmas Eve menu was perfect, and the service could not have been better.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected to be wow'd. Nothing special. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Expected to be wow'd. Nothing special. Stuft Pizza has better food and service without the fancy French ambiance. Will not return or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Beautiful setting and special food.

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Beautiful setting and special food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times with friends a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Have been here many times with friends as well as groups...

Consistently good in all categories..

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely decor and ambiance - elegant but ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Lovely decor and ambiance - elegant but still energizing. Duck Confit at lunch was excellent. Service very good. Drinks were happily generous. Have already booked our next outing for a family Christmas dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had our annual Holiday lunch at Cuist ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had our annual Holiday lunch at Cuistot, and the entire experience was amazing. The ambiance, the service, and the food was all exceptional. It continues to be one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always had very food here. One o ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I have always had very food here. One of the best in the Desert.

Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This country French style restaurant is ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This country French style restaurant is very nice and has a beautiful outside eating patio. One of their specialties is a 'box' lunch that looks like a Japanese bento box, and consists of 4 courses including a green salad, soup du jour, entree du jour, and dessert du jour. Our 'box' lunch included the green salad, a tomato/basil soup with goat cheese, baked salmon surrounded by a bread crust, and an 'island' dessert consisting of a marsh-mellow like center floating in a cream sauce--all was delicious!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is the first time I haven't given C ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This is the first time I haven't given Cuistot, 5's across the board. This was our anniversary dinner. We are gluten free and they had no alternative for the bread at the beginning of the meal. The cocktails were a solid 5. The main course was a 5+. The service was a little stuffy. We are very causal diners and the wait staff likes a more formal diner. It's not good when you feel the wait staff is judging you. But the food in the past has been so outstanding, that we keep coming back. So far, we got what we accepted. The turning point was dessert. We have had their soufflés in the past. We loved them. One of the many reasons we kept coming back. So when they arrived, we were surprised to see they were burnt. When we told our waiter, the response was I'm so sorry. So we left with half eaten desserts. The sauce was outstanding. I still can't believe that the chef would like a burnt soufflé leave the kitchen.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Wowwww first time here , my girlfriends ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wowwww first time here , my girlfriends and I decided to came for the fashion show , since the beginning everything was perfect , our waiter Jaime was profesional , friendly and fun , he answered ours questions about the menu , he recommended a really nice wine for our food , I like when the waiters knows about it , we see you next week . Thanks Chef Bernard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's just was off that night, had lunch ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It's just was off that night, had lunch a few time anbd it was great. But dinner last night did make it a great night-at best fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Service was quiet and discreet but effic ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Service was quiet and discreet but efficient. Food was very good, and the atmosphere most pleasant. We enjoyed very much.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The wait staff is trained to not mention ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The wait staff is trained to not mention the price of the daily specials. Always ask to avoid a surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Outstanding food. Over the top service a ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Outstanding food. Over the top service and the dessert duffle is to die for. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friday's are a wonderful time to lunch a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Friday's are a wonderful time to lunch at Cuistot. Many of the fine shops on El Paseo take part in a fashion show. All 7 of us enjoyed every bit of our meal and the service was outstanding. Our new go to place in Palm Desert

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very poor service. 30 minute wait with a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very poor service.

30 minute wait with a reservation, an additional 30 minutes for a waiter to get an order going.

Just terrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Too many people and few servers

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Too many people and few servers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Excellent service, food is incredible, a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent service, food is incredible, atmospher is charming, a MUST GO! I cannot wait to visit again!

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cuistot? What can one say? The child of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Cuistot? What can one say? The child of Chef Bernard and his wife Susan now going on 15. A wonderful place for a superb meal at any time, but with a special 4 course menu for Thanksgiving --- can't be better than this. Choice of three main dishes (Turkey, Sirloin of Beef and Sea Bass ...) something for everyone. My wife had the sea bass and it was superb as was its accompanying sauce ... I had the turkey and requested all dark meat ... and not only did I get dark meat, but I got a whole drumstick as well. ... thank you Chef!

Another highlight was the wine list ... I's been expanded quite a bit since I was here a bit more than a year ago, but what stunned me was the fact that there was a WHOLE PAGE of viogniers. I consider myself fortunate if I find one on a list, but seven (7!) WOW! In any case I had to ask for advice from the Sommelier who recommended one that was absolutely superb ... so good in fact that after drinking one with dinner, I bought another one to take home. (Who knew that Cuistot had an off-site sale license??)

Bottom line --- indulge yourself in a superb meal when you are in Palm Springs. You won't be sorry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you want great food, along with wonde ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

If you want great food, along with wonderful caring service, Cuistot is the place to go. Cuistot is one of the best restaurants in all of Coachella Valley !!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been a fan of Cuistot for years. T ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I've been a fan of Cuistot for years. The food is wonderful, unique and always filled with flavor. The Thanksgiving meal was not the usual Cuistot fare. There were just three options, turkey, roast beef and fish. We had the roast beef and while it was OK it wasn't wonderful. The special experience of being at Cuistot just wasn't there. We'll go back but not on a holiday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

This was our third or fourth visit, our ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our third or fourth visit, our second Thanksgiving, arriving at 2:00 PM. Very French Country ambiance with a soaring massive beamed ceiling, stonework walls, a glowing fireplace plus excellent, accommodating service. Fresh, crusty bread accompanied the suggested nice wine. For the special day, the menu was limited so I chose the chillean sea bass. The appetizer provided was a tablespoon (literally) of a half-inch sliver of salmon atop chopped something celeric(?). Next came a flavorful ginger carrot soup in a small tureen, then my sea bass, smothered with slivered something resembling cabbage, though I am sure the menu identified it properly. The sea bass was not the usual 3/4" white tender chilean sea bass, but was thinner, darker, more firm and pretty tasteless. No other accompaniment. Limited dessert offerings so I had a simple vanilla ice cream drizzled with chocolate. Husband had a nice salad but the turkey dinner was really disappointing: chopped pieces of dark meat, sparse dressing and mashed potatoes, barely any gravy and few green beans, and we are not large-portion diners. His unappetizing pumpkin pie tasted store-bought. It may be awhile before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.