HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Cugini Manzone

3.8
16 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (28)
  • Good for Groups (16)
  • Great for Lunch (13)

Similar Restaurants

About

If you crave the taste of wood fired pizza and authentic Italian cuisine, you need to check out Cugini Manzone in Berkeley. You can choose between outdoor and indoor seating based on your dining experience preferences. The interior of Cugini Manzone is laid-back, family-friendly and casual. Diners can watch as experienced cooks place their pizza into the wood fire oven to ensure that it is cooked to delicious perfection.

Pizza is not the only menu option you will find when you visit this restaurant. You can also choose calamari fritti, Caesar salad, pesto pizza calzone, gnocchi and chicken parmigiana. There are so many different menu options to choose from that you are sure to find something that will satisfy your taste buds. Stop in at Cugini Manzone for lunch or dinner to fulfill your appetite for scrumptious and authentic Italian cuisine.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am-5:00pm; Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(510) 649-8600
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
Cross street: Ashby/Russel
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 16 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.8
  based on all time ratings
3.9
food
4.0
service
3.8
ambience
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
PierreAlatete (San Francisco)
4.0
Dined on May 29, 2015

We eat here frequently -- it's in the neighborhood -- and the food and service have been consistently good, but this week they outdid themselves. The special on Friday, a grilled prawn garlic fettucini, was indeed special -- exquisitely flavorful. We savored as much as we could of the ample entreel and then brought home the few bits we couldn't finish. I think this is a sign that they're rising to the challenge of being in a special neighborhood where residents are used to fine food; ordinary won't do here.

Also consistently good is the caesar salad. Ditto the local-label olive oil. Consistently bad, on the other hand, is the bread. How on earth can a restaurant in Berkeley, of all places, serve such bland bread?

Report
Helpful
GraceCrv (San Francisco)
3.0
Dined on May 29, 2015

The food was disappointing. We were a group of 11 for lunch. The crab cakes smelled fishy, the meatballs were cold inside, and one order came out a solid 10 minutes after all the rest if us were served. Not worth a re-visit.

Report
Helpful
vipQuiet (San Francisco)
4.0
Dined on March 26, 2015

We stopped in here for dinner before a local event and my wife was pleased to find gluten-free pizza on the menu. We each had a really good salad and then shared a pizza. I don't care about the gluten-free stuff yet found the pizza really delicious.

Report
Helpful
arcadia (Central Coast)
2.0
Dined on February 21, 2015

I really wanted to like this neighborhood restaurant. It has the potential to be a great experience due to its location adjacent to an alley where tables can spill onto the sidewalk for outside dining. Unfortunately it is a little expensive ($250 excluding tip for party of 6 including 2 bottles of $35 wine) for a casual neighborhood restaurant and the food doesn't justify the expense. I would accept the prices if the food were better, but the food is only marginal. Nothing was bad, but nothing was really good either. 2 people at our table had the chicken parmesan and both entrees were overcooked, with the cheese on top noticeably darkened so its not as if the chef couldn't tell, but they served them anyway. The mussels appetizer was ordinary, the frutti di mare was substandard, and nothing anyone ordered really stood out as good. There are too many excellent restaurants to choose from at this price point to justify returning here, despite the convenience of the location. That is too bad, as I grew up eating at a neighborhood Italian restaurant almost every week and was hoping this could be that place, but it just doesn't deserve to be it. Still in search of good Italian in the Rockridge/Elmwood area to be a regular go to place.

Report
Helpful
vipJinruigakusha (San Francisco)
3.0
Dined on February 14, 2015

Accommodating staff, good plentiful food though not an enormous variety. Bit noisy.
Wait staff made one bad mistake, forgetting a dish and needing a forceful
reminder. Has a section outside which might be quieter.

Report
Helpful
brunello (San Francisco)
4.0
Dined on February 8, 2015

We've had a few meals at this place, with two to eight people. The welcome and service have always been very pleasant, almost every dish we've tried absolutely delicious with nice portions, the interior is very nicely done and great for any weather, any time of day. Always a pleasant experience --

Report
Helpful
Beth (San Francisco)
2.0
Dined on January 15, 2015

Salmon salad was nice presentation but salmon overcooked and lacked flavor. Our server was friendly.

Report
Helpful
roomtoimprove (San Francisco)
4.0
Dined on December 31, 2014

Tight entry, worked our way to the counter to have glass of wine. Were keep informed as to where we were on our reservation.

Report
Helpful
KurtO (Las Vegas)
2.0
Dined on December 29, 2014

Attractive place, good service and location on college but excitement about wood fire oven pizzas extinguished by burned taste, heavy dark charcoal underneath one Margarita and one potato pizza. Also, and maybe I'm spoiled by The Cheeseboard's potato pizza, the potato pizza tasted too starchy perhaps because the potato slices are too thick?
The mixed green and beet salads were best thing which is sad to say about an Italian pizza and pasta restaurant. Re the latter, the Rigotoni with read meat sauce was very average in terms of both pasta (harder than al dente) and sauce (plain, nothing special) while the linguini with clams did feature plump tasty clams but over average pasta. Considering the market for Italian food in Bay Area, no reasons to go back here unless they figure out how to make great wood fire pizzas and raise their pasta to above average (the restaurants survival will depend on it)..

Report
Helpful
Jennifer (San Francisco)
5.0
Dined on November 3, 2014

My fiance and I had been here one other time and we wanted to go somewhere special for his birthday. So I made a reservation on Open Table and requested a great table and told them it was my fiance's birthday. Not only did they greet us by name when we walked in, but they sat us at the table right at the window. The service was perfect all night and they even comped our dessert for his birthday. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a couple looking for a romantic dinner. Our experience at Cugini Manzone was perfect!

Report
Helpful
1
2

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am-5:00pm; Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Ashby/Russel
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(510) 649-8600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer take out for customers, catering both for pick up or on site with complete staff available for off site events.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street metered parking, free after 6pm. Free on Sundays. Parking lot behind restaurant, free after 6pm, free on Sundays
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Walking distance from Ashby Bart and Rockridge Bart and AC Transit
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Giuseppe Manzone
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine