Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Wood TavernWood Tavern
(1560)
Gastro Pub | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
GatherGather
(2780)
Californian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Belotti Ristorante e BottegaBelotti Ristorante e Bottega
(54)
Italian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
OsmanthusOsmanthus
(265)
Asian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
La Note Restaurant ProvencalLa Note Restaurant Provencal
(770)
French | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Bourbon & BeefBourbon & Beef
(453)
Steak | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Julia's at the Berkeley City ClubJulia's at the Berkeley City Club
(489)
French | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Corso RistoranteCorso Ristorante
(1473)
Italian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Mitama Japanese RestaurantMitama Japanese Restaurant
(63)
Sushi | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
FIVEFIVE
(1692)
American | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Millennium OaklandMillennium Oakland
(283)
Vegan | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
TOAST kitchen+barTOAST kitchen+bar
(404)
Californian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Meritage at the ClaremontMeritage at the Claremont
(1094)
Californian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Juhu Beach ClubJuhu Beach Club
(124)
Contemporary Indian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Mount Everest RestaurantMount Everest Restaurant
(28)
Indian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now

About Cugini Manzone

2930 College Ave
Berkeley, CA 94705
View Larger Map

Authentic Italian Restaurant. Imported wood burning pizza oven from Italy. Specializing in Pizza, Calzone, Pasta, Salads, Grilled fish and meats. Italians wines and beer on tap. Food for take out. Heated patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am-5:00pm; Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Ashby/Russel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 649-8600

Website:
http://cuginimanzone.com/

Catering:
We offer take out for customers, catering both for pick up or on site with complete staff available for off site events.

Parking Details:
Street metered parking, free after 6pm. Free on Sundays. Parking lot behind restaurant, free after 6pm, free on Sundays

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Ashby Bart and Rockridge Bart and AC Transit

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Manzone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Sort By:
Newest
16 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Friday night's special was special

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

We eat here frequently -- it's in the neighborhood -- and the food and service have been consistently good, but this week they outdid themselves. The special on Friday, a grilled prawn garlic fettucini, was indeed special -- exquisitely flavorful. We savored as much as we could of the ample entreel and then brought home the few bits we couldn't finish. I think this is a sign that they're rising to the challenge of being in a special neighborhood where residents are used to fine food; ordinary won't do here.

Also consistently good is the caesar salad. Ditto the local-label olive oil. Consistently bad, on the other hand, is the bread. How on earth can a restaurant in Berkeley, of all places, serve such bland bread?

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Disappointing

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

The food was disappointing. We were a group of 11 for lunch. The crab cakes smelled fishy, the meatballs were cold inside, and one order came out a solid 10 minutes after all the rest if us were served. Not worth a re-visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

A good choice

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

We stopped in here for dinner before a local event and my wife was pleased to find gluten-free pizza on the menu. We each had a really good salad and then shared a pizza. I don't care about the gluten-free stuff yet found the pizza really delicious.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

missed opportunity

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

I really wanted to like this neighborhood restaurant. It has the potential to be a great experience due to its location adjacent to an alley where tables can spill onto the sidewalk for outside dining. Unfortunately it is a little expensive ($250 excluding tip for party of 6 including 2 bottles of $35 wine) for a casual neighborhood restaurant and the food doesn't justify the expense. I would accept the prices if the food were better, but the food is only marginal. Nothing was bad, but nothing was really good either. 2 people at our table had the chicken parmesan and both entrees were overcooked, with the cheese on top noticeably darkened so its not as if the chef couldn't tell, but they served them anyway. The mussels appetizer was ordinary, the frutti di mare was substandard, and nothing anyone ordered really stood out as good. There are too many excellent restaurants to choose from at this price point to justify returning here, despite the convenience of the location. That is too bad, as I grew up eating at a neighborhood Italian restaurant almost every week and was hoping this could be that place, but it just doesn't deserve to be it. Still in search of good Italian in the Rockridge/Elmwood area to be a regular go to place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Accommodating staff, good plentiful food though not an enormous variety. Bit noisy.

Wait staff made one bad mistake, forgetting a dish and needing a forceful

reminder. Has a section outside which might be quieter.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Very nice Elmwood dining

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

We've had a few meals at this place, with two to eight people. The welcome and service have always been very pleasant, almost every dish we've tried absolutely delicious with nice portions, the interior is very nicely done and great for any weather, any time of day. Always a pleasant experience --

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Salmon Salad Disappointing

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 15, 2015

Salmon salad was nice presentation but salmon overcooked and lacked flavor. Our server was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Good food, friendly atmosphere.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

Tight entry, worked our way to the counter to have glass of wine. Were keep informed as to where we were on our reservation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Attractive place, good service and locat ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on December 30, 2014

Attractive place, good service and location on college but excitement about wood fire oven pizzas extinguished by burned taste, heavy dark charcoal underneath one Margarita and one potato pizza. Also, and maybe I'm spoiled by The Cheeseboard's potato pizza, the potato pizza tasted too starchy perhaps because the potato slices are too thick?

The mixed green and beet salads were best thing which is sad to say about an Italian pizza and pasta restaurant. Re the latter, the Rigotoni with read meat sauce was very average in terms of both pasta (harder than al dente) and sauce (plain, nothing special) while the linguini with clams did feature plump tasty clams but over average pasta. Considering the market for Italian food in Bay Area, no reasons to go back here unless they figure out how to make great wood fire pizzas and raise their pasta to above average (the restaurants survival will depend on it)..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Wonderful experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 4, 2014

My fiance and I had been here one other time and we wanted to go somewhere special for his birthday. So I made a reservation on Open Table and requested a great table and told them it was my fiance's birthday. Not only did they greet us by name when we walked in, but they sat us at the table right at the window. The service was perfect all night and they even comped our dessert for his birthday. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a couple looking for a romantic dinner. Our experience at Cugini Manzone was perfect!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasantly surprised

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 24, 2014

We frequented the predecessor to this place and thought we'd try this despite the early lackluster reviews. We were all pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed our family dinner here! Everyone found something to like on the menu and we especially enjoyed the pizza (great crust), and the bruschetta!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Very acconodating

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

We were a group whose # changed a couple time. The restaurant was very accommodating no matter our size. Good was really good! Service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My favorite restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 28, 2014

I love their generous portions and excellant food.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and atmosphere. Food w ...

 
·Dined on September 27, 2014

Excellent service and atmosphere. Food was aduquate but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Thanks, love it!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2014

Very happy with the new Cugini Manzone--same open, sunny room with wonderful food. The caprese was tabu (fresh mozzarella, as touted) and pizza--magnifico!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Expensive, indescribable

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2014

I will admit to being prejudiced; my wife and I were fans of Filipo's which used to occupy this real estate. Filipo's was comfortable in menu, pricing, and ambience. The warm spinach salad at Cugini was not warm, the pancetta was over-cooked, it and the pine nuts were scarce, and there was shaved Parmesan on top which was not listed on the menu. My crab cakes were very good, well seasoned, not overly breaded and the aioli was rich and tasty. My wife ordered the mussels with Calabrese sausage, which the waiter described as mildly spicy. She had to rush home for some yogurt to cool her mouth off. There seems to be a disconnect between what the kitchen, wait staff, and the menu think is being served. Too bad there's only one kind of sausage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.