Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About CUCINA urbana

Welcome to CUCINA urbana, a casual Italian American Neighborhood Kitchen and Wine Shop located in the heart of Bankers Hill. The menu highlights the cuisines of various Italian regions with a distinct California ‘farm to table’ flair for which the Urban Kitchen Group has become known. Chef Joe Magnanelli is excited to share his Italian heritage and create dishes that are fresh, simple and seasonal. Items include: antipasti, artisan pizza, pasta and piatti. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies). The space features contemporary elements and vintage artifacts creating the feel of a modern Italian kitchen combined with the history and comfort of an old rustic country farmhouse.

505 Laurel Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Bar Only | Friday + Saturday | 10:30pm – midnight | pizzas + vasi*

*Walk In seating only, no reservations

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2222

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-urbana-bankers-hill/

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison at 619.239.2222 extension 2. Or if interested in restaurant buyout opportunities, please contact Tiffany Tassano at 619.239.2222 extension 4.

Parking Details:
Street parking & Valet available

Public Transit:
CUCINAurbana offers nightly shuttles to and from the Old Globe Theatre.

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
EVERY DAY 5-6pm Monday + Saturday | 3-6pm Tuesday-Friday | 4:30-6pm Sunday enjoy our food and drink specials.

drink | house red or white wine $7 | moretti draft $4 | seasonal sangria $6 | well drinks $6
food | burnt brussels sprout $3.75 | parmesan fries $3.5 | margerita pizza $7

CUCINA urbana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (99)
Special Occasion (68)
Fit for Foodies (65)
See All
Creative Cuisine (62)
Notable Wine List (56)
Modern Decor (55)
Hot Spot (50)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Romantic (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Bar Seating (43)
Fun (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Cozy (33)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Casual (32)
Authentic (27)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Comfort Food (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Wood Oven (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Family Style (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
People Watching (16)
Open Kitchen (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Seasonal (10)
Tapas (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Vegan (4)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
3898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Great ambiance, excellent food and great service. Large selection of wine by the bottle.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Great spot for a special occasion or date night. Great wine list and bottle shop in restaurant. Delicious craft cocktails, and good appetizers. Their main sizes vary, and you may need to order a side with things like fish or chicken. Pastas are a good size.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

We had several small dishes. Each was flavorful and satisfying. Wait staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Close enough to walk to/from Old Globe. Very pleasant time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere is fantastic! Beautifully decorated and a unique look. Wine and signature cocktail list are impressive . That's where it ends for me. We had an 8:45pm reservation and felt our waitress was phoning it in at that point. We were served wine and salad and watched bread served to surrounding tables . Waitress nowhere to be found. Needed to ask the young man clearing out salad plates for bread. Entrees beautifully presented. I ordered the chicken fra diavlo it was so fatty that I could not eat more than a few bites, the broccolini was so undercooked that I could not get a knife through the long stalks. Our second entree was the Mediterranean Sea Bass delicious but a tiny amount of sea bass . Overall would go back only to have a glass of wine and a salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Love this restaurant 2nd time here while visiting son in college, will be back on next trip to SAN Diego!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Family Style, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Kevin was terrific and added to the experience of our evening. Great food as always! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent wine list! The bottle prices are all retail which is great if you want to take them home, but if you drink at dinner it's a $9 corkage. Still...great selection and the staff seemed extremely educated on every bottle. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The grilled octopus was the star of the show but other than that, I thought the food was a little pricey for what you received. The ambiance made up for the okay food but I don't know that I would go back there again.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The ONLY restaurant that has fun and creative non-alcoholic drinks. One of the best service mentality in San Diego and that is hard to find since the industry here lacks expediency and attentiveness while not being overbearing (I worked as a server for 10 years here in SD). Excellent food, excellent service. Best place to dine for everything. Period.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Tapas, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had great food and the service was excellent. Staff were very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Lovely attentive service and delicious, high quality food. Excellent presentation and the crowd was professional and good-looking. A+

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Good food. Good vibe.They didn't have the wine that I ordered. The Sommelie recommended a really good Italian Piedmont wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Good and service were superb. My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our time and we can't wait to come back and try more of the menu items. I would definitely recommend for dinner date with significant other or girls night out.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Lucky find ! Our first time here and it was an absolutely a great experience. The food was excellent, as was the service. The décor is also very nice. The only drawback is that it is noisy. But when you have a restaurant that is so popular because it is so good and so many people like it - it's bound to happen.
My wife said her pasta dish was one of the best she's ever had.
I am on a special "boot camp" diet and had special requests for both the appetizer and my entrée. I was impressed when they each came out perfect the first time.
Highly recommend it.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Vastly overpriced for small relatively insubstantial dishes. Expected a plate of beet salad, say, and got a tiny bowl. Pizzas thin crust. Cheapest wine by glass at $10 was good, but also overpriced. Paying for lively, friendly ambience and creative, tasty cooking.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Really one of the best dining experiences that I've had in a long time. Attentive and very helpful service, excellent food, and reasonably -priced wine. A really nice evening with friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Amazing anniversary dinner- Superb service, delicious meal! Thanks to our hostess and server for making our evening extra special!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Every dish we ordered was great but the mushroom & goat cheese pizza with truffle oil was amazing. Also, the restaurant has an excellent wine list at reasonable prices. I will go back whenever I'm in San Diego!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Reservation is a must, the plates are really individual, if you are hungry share a appetizer as well.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I got the date of the reservation wrong. They were very nice about it and found us a table quickly anyways. The food was delicious and service was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Everything was Amazing as always!!!! Love this place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 11, 2017

great spot, incredible food, great service, intriguing menu.
I highly recommend Cucina Urbana

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Visited for the first time to celebrate a friends birthday. It was a busy Saturday night and the place was crowded. The staff was very friendly and energetic. They provided friendly professional service.
We started with a formaggio mista plate. We enjoyed the mix of savory and sweet dried fruit, nuts, cheeses and prosciutto served with a variety of breads.
The flavors of our entrees were well prepared and the presentation was very nice. I would say we quite enjoyed our meal. My only negative was the proportion size. My friend, who is a petite woman, and I both left feeling hungry. Even after enjoying dessert.
I wouldn't describe this restaurant a good value for the money. I certainly would recommend this restaurant for the flavors of the food, the ambience and staff. They also have a great wine and cocktail menu. I would encourage my friends to eat here, but don't go if they're really hungry.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food and great wine. Darrell was great host

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 9, 2017

the food was very good, but not better than many italian restaurants in the area. tables are crowded together, many with large chairs, making it difficult for patrons and wait staff to get to and from tables. nice decor/ambiance, but loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

One of my favorite San Diego restaurants. Foods excellent, service phenomenal, great ambiance (very happening).

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Vegan, Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing place! Been there several times and always great

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Would come here again, but order differently. Octopus appetizer was not as spectacular as hoped for. Braised shot rib pasta was incredibly rich; too much for one person. However, whole branzino was beautifully prepared, loved quality and preparation. They fillet it for you. Stuffed with yummy Peruvian potatoes, citrus and other things. Wonderful dish! This is a great place to go if you are into wines. The wine prices are extremely reasonable and there is a wide variety. Service was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This place is fantastic. The ambiance was great. The staff was very friendly. My friends and I enjoyed our dining experience here. The menu had a wide variety to choose from and the food was amazing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We found Cucina Urbana on Yelp and decided to try it on our visit to San Diego. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. We LOVED our whole experience at CU! The atmosphere was super cool, the bartenders were incredible and knowledgeable, our waiter Kevin was fabulous. Everyone took great care to make sure we had a perfect experience. Best of all, everything we ordered was fantastic. This would be a great spot to go with a group so you could try a lot of different things, because everything is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Awesome food and ambiance; some of the very best food in San Diego. I have been many times and the experience is always outstanding. Great service as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

My 11 year old daughter and I dined before going to the theatre. We were fortunate to be waited on again by Kevin, who is attentive and helpful and friendly. We had a great dinner, and lovely time together in the awesome atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Food was excellent. Highly recommend the polenta appetizer. Comfortable atmosphere. Service was average by waiter.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We were a party of 3 celebrating my husband's birthday. We had exceptional service, accommodating some special requests, and our meals were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Loved the squash blossoms and the carrot humus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food, good atmosphere and the service is always friendly
We love that place and they always accomodate us when we go to see a play and make sure we get the meal on time

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We come to San Diego to sail every three weeks. Every trip we make sure we make sure we have dinner at Cucina Urbana. We usualy bring guests and all have loved it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Good find in Bankers Hill great food, ambiance and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.