About CUCINA urbana

505 Laurel Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Welcome to CUCINA urbana, a casual Italian American Neighborhood Kitchen and Wine Shop located in the heart of Bankers Hill. The menu highlights the cuisines of various Italian regions with a distinct California ‘farm to table’ flair for which the Urban Kitchen Group has become known. Chef Joe Magnanelli is excited to share his Italian heritage and create dishes that are fresh, simple and seasonal. Items include: antipasti, artisan pizza, pasta and piatti. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($8 corkage fee applies). The space features contemporary elements and vintage artifacts creating the feel of a modern Italian kitchen combined with the history and comfort of an old rustic country farmhouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Bar Only | Friday + Saturday | 10:30pm – midnight | pizzas + vasi*

*Walk In seating only, no reservations

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2222

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-urbana-bankers-hill/

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison at 619.239.2222 extension 2. Or if interested in restaurant buyout opportunities, please contact Tiffany Tassano at 619.239.2222 extension 4.

Parking Details:
Street parking & Valet available

Public Transit:
CUCINAurbana offers nightly shuttles to and from the Old Globe Theatre.

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
EVERY DAY 5-6pm Monday + Saturday | 3-6pm Tuesday-Friday | 4:30-6pm Sunday enjoy our food and drink specials.

drink | house red or white wine $7 | moretti draft $4 | seasonal sangria $6 | well drinks $6
food | burnt brussels sprout $3.75 | parmesan fries $3.5 | margerita pizza $7

Restaurant Photos

CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Beet Salad - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Giant Meatball - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Mediterranean Mussels - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
1/2 sandwich & cup of soup - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Chicken Liver Pâté - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Charred Octopus With Fava Beans - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Semifreddo - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Moscatel - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Bucatini - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Cucina Burger - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Roasted Bone-In New York Strip - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Lavender Lemonade - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Aquazul - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Fries - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Squash Blossoms - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Pork Belly With Egg - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Chocolate Nutella Zeppole - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Chicken Meatball Parmigiano Hero - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Chocolate Espresso Budino - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Truffle Parmesan Fries - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Pepperoni And Fennel Sausage Pizza - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Beef Stroganoff - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Farro And Brussels Sprouts Leaf Salad - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Mussels in White Wine Sauce - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Mussles - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Bread Service - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Brussels Sprouts - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Fig And Arugula Pizza - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Ricotta gnudi - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Fennel Sausage And Taleggio Cheese, Forester Mushrooms - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Proscuitto Caprese - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Ricotta Stuffed and Fried Squash Blossoms, Cherry Tomato - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Short Rib Parpadelle - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Bittersweet Chocolate Budino - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
The Aquazul - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Mission Fig And Arugula Pizza - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Grilled Octopus - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Tequila Mule - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Truffled Parmesan French Fries - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Papperdelle With Braised Shortribs - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Shrimp Puttanesca - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Early Corn Angioletti - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Bbq Octopus - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
suckling pig - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Modern Man Cocktail - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Foraged Mushroom Pizza - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Stuffed Squash Blossoms - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Chocolate Budino - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Moscow Mule - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Short Rib Pappardelle - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Rosemary Bread With Sauce - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Sheep’s Ricotta Gnudi with Brown Butter and Sage - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Ragu with Polenta - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
lasagna - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Lacinato Kale And Romaine Caesar Salad - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Baby Octopus - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Red Sangria - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Jidori Chicken - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Stuff Fried Squash Blossoms - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
flourless chocolate cake - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Garlic Truffle Fries - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Short Rib Papardelle  - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Antipasta Sampler - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Big Meatball - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Burrata And Prosciutto Salad - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Fregolatta - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Parsnip Ravioli With Short Ribs - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Chicken Jidori - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Veal Piccatta - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Mediterranean Branzino With A Lemon Dill Sauce - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Fig And Garganzola Pizza  - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Arugula Pear Pizza - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Mussels In A Lemon Butter Sauce - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Brussel sprouts - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Pear and Gorgonzola Pizza - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Bay Scallops  - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Short Rib Peppardelle - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Pesto Ravioli - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Burrata Jar - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Duck Conserva Cavatelli - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
veal piccata - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Veal Saltimbocca With Lentils - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Tiramisu In A Jar - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Italian Screw - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Rigatoni Bolognese - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Charcuterie and Cheese Platters - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Pork Chop - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Cocktails - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Thank you for celebrating with us! Both our regular menu + a special 4-course prix fixe menu will be available. All reservations prior to 9:30pm will have a 2-hour dining limit, thereafter, guests are invited to ring in the New Year at the table. No reservations for our bar + community areas.

CUCINA urbana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Diego
Italian
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Banker's Hill ›

Fit for Foodies (76)
Good for a Date (69)
Special Occasion (64)
See All
Creative Cuisine (59)
Notable Wine List (58)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Hot Spot (50)
Fun (46)
Modern Decor (43)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Casual (38)
Romantic (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Local Ingredients (26)
Business Meals (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Authentic (23)
Happy Hour (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Cozy (19)
Wood Oven (17)
People Watching (16)
Tasting Menu (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Healthy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Family Style (9)
Tapas (9)
Great Beer (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Organic (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Spicy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (1)
Dancing (1)
Historic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
3510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and their burrata was very ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and their burrata was very good although a bit small for sharing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food. Service was not great. Sat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food. Service was not great. Sat us on a small table on with ur corner. When we requested to be moved, the waiter said he cannot seat us anywhere else although there were many tables available, including right next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good for any occasion. The cheese board ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Good for any occasion. The cheese boards are excellent and the budino is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I celebrated our wedding ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here, and had outstanding service from start to finish. The food and ambiance were great; Cucina Urbana is an urban gem!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and our waiter wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food was excellent and our waiter was extremely helpful, professional and friendly. The wine selections and prices are incredible. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to have dinner with friends. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great place to have dinner with friends. We all loved the menu. We tried four appetizers-two cheese and two salami. It was all delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the evening at the restaurant. Service at the bar during happy was excellent. Both bar tenders were very friendly and professional and worked well together. The hostess was super sweet!

David our server was excellent. Food was delicious. All around a very nice evening before we went to the SD Civic Theater for a play.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was impeccable. Our burrata ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The service was impeccable. Our burrata was under salted and then my entree seemed salty. The peanut butter and chocolate dessert was perfect! I would go back every week just for that dessert!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cucina Urbana delivers on a wide variety ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Cucina Urbana delivers on a wide variety of well-made Italian dishes with great service. The options are both traditional and yet inventive, and solidly made - the presentation and service were also top notch. The polenta board is not to be missed, neither are the fresh made pastas, or the meyer lemon white pizza. Wine list with both affordable and classic high end wines, full bar and great for both a date and a large family. Can't recommend it enough.

Tags: Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Pizza crust was one of th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great service. Pizza crust was one of the best I've ever had, however some of the toppings were just okay. Pear and Gorgonzola was too salty and Margherita was missing the basil. Pappardelle with short rib was delish. Gelato sampler was also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

great atmosphere with food to match. we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

great atmosphere with food to match. we enjoyed the pizza with pepperoni and sausage, the beet and avocado salad and my son's both had pastas which were yummy too. the whole branzino was tasty but a little bit overcooked. it was nice that they deboned the fish and left it very in tact- would definitely go back again

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere was just great. I really ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The atmosphere was just great. I really liked the decoration and the food was delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ol lady requests this place every ti ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The ol lady requests this place every time we go out to dinner. Get the octopus for an appetizer no matter what.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at Cucina Urbana was amazing ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service at Cucina Urbana was amazing, we arrived very late and the kitchen was closed but they still managed to take care of us!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kevin was Fabulous! Exceptional service. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Kevin was Fabulous! Exceptional service. We always love the octopus appetizer but it was super salty and had a pretty random set up with proscuitto and citrus yogurt sauce. Hmm. BUT, love this place everything.is always a special treat! Thanks Kevin!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This experience was terrific, they cater ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This experience was terrific, they catered to all my requests from table location to pulling up my car as we had to get to a show. Excellent service and excellent food!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each dish was amazing - full of flavor a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Each dish was amazing - full of flavor and cooked just right. Loved the mushroom pizza, papardelle and spaghettini. Will try the sea bass next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, excellent food, ima ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Outstanding service, excellent food, imaginative cocktails, hip ambiance.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always great. Never disappointed! Thank ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Always great. Never disappointed! Thanks to Traci and company for another wonderful evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seriously one of the best meals I've had ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Seriously one of the best meals I've had in Southern CA. Great wine list with incredible prices! The brussel sprouts and secret sauce are AHMAZING!!! We ordered a second serving they were that good.

Must go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have eaten here many times and I reall ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I have eaten here many times and I really like it but with one big caveat-Sodium. Every item is so salty. I am not on any sodium restriction and love salt but the food surely could be prepared with less salt. This is the third time in the last 2 months I have eaten there and I had different entrees each time. By the time I get home I am chugging water just to neutralize. All the guests comment the same each time.

Service was great, very fun place, and food choices good.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Fourth or fifth time to CU and each time ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fourth or fifth time to CU and each time has been memorable. One of the small percentage of places where we are not left thinking that we could have out-cooked the chef.

Inside decor is interesting, including integral wine "store"/cellar. Knowledgeable, efficient and friendly staff offer the most consistent level of service of any restaurant we have been to more than once. Danielle rocks! The polenta/ragu board, beet salad and octopus entrees were all delicious and suitable for sharing. Entrees (pizzas, pasta) were equally well-prepared with emphasis on flavour and texture. Chocolate budino is a great finish - save room.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service in a lively a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very good food and service in a lively atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hubby took me to Cucina for my birthday. ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Hubby took me to Cucina for my birthday....I got to pick the restaurant. Have been here many times and it's always a meal I look forward to consuming. I had a great (new to me) drink...starts with a 'Z' and had gin, cucumber, jalapeno....very refreshing. We had the stuffed squash blossoms as an appetizer and enjoyed them very much, but there were only three. Seemed kind of stingy. For dinner I ordered the veal and my husband ordered the sea bass. Both entrees were fine, nothing notable though. For dessert I asked our waitress to forgo the usual scoop of ice cream because we wanted the sorbet/gelato sampler. I'm always interested in what flavors they come up with because it's something different every time. My favorite this time was Nutella, though they were all delicious.

The only semi-negative of the evening was being seated right next to the stairs. I guess we've always gotten lucky in the past and been seated at a table a little further into the interior. My husband found it extremely distracting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

David was very nice. Over time, the onl ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

David was very nice. Over time, the only other person who has been nice is the very tall, a bit older waiter (forgot his name).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappoints! I had a great experie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Never disappoints! I had a great experience again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WE ENJOY CUCINA URBANA AS IT HAS A CONTE ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

WE ENJOY CUCINA URBANA AS IT HAS A CONTEMPORARY VIBE WHICH MY OLDER CHILDREN ENJOY. THE FOOD WAS VERY GOOD THOUGH NOT QUITE HOT ENOUGH. OUR WAIT person was very helpful and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, CUCINA URBANA, urban food kit ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 11, 2016

As always, CUCINA URBANA, urban food kitchen and it's chefs never disappoint. From small bites to desserts, this place has it perfected hands-down. We always look forward to our dining experiences at this particular location and enjoy the latest changes to the menus. Most folks will overlook the fact that the restaurant charges store prices for their wine, making it very affordable, and a small corkage fee.... This makes everyone feel like family and at home. The food is beyond delicious the desserts are nothing short of amazing. Bravo !!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Casual, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food never disappoints. We were del ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food never disappoints. We were delighted with the multilingual staff who could translate into Italian and/or Spanish for my guests. The wine list is superb and the staff was very knowledgeable. My guests really enjoyed the pizza. I loved the pasta. A tasty pumpkin flavored tiramisu for dessert. All, in all a lovely evening for my foody guests from Barcelona.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant was way too noisy. We cou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The restaurant was way too noisy. We could not hear each other, or make any conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The corkage fee of $25, is ridiculous. I ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The corkage fee of $25, is ridiculous. If you order a bottle of wine there you have to pay a $9 corkage fee, which I have never heard of. The food was ok, a little bland. Me and my family ordered a bottle of wine and normally they bring an ice bucket to keep your wine chilled, but that was not the case. They took our bottle of wine away, which was really inconvenient because when we were wanting to fill up our glass we would have to ask multiple people. Also our server was trying to up sell us, which I hate. I am a server at a fine dining restaurant and we were taught not to up sell but to share the items that are most popular and that are our personal favorites, not $30 dishes. Also you would think that on a Wednesday night it wouldn't be super crowded but the restaurant was extremely loud, I could barely hear our server or my family sitting right next to me. Overall my first experience there was terrible, I would not go back or recommend Cucina urbana to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Very nice atmosphere and accommodating t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Very nice atmosphere and accommodating to young children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Came out to enjoy my wife's birthday wit ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Came out to enjoy my wife's birthday with friends. Table was ready pretty close to our reservation time, so I was happy with that. Everyone had a great time there and enjoyed their food. Portions are not very large compared to what you spend on certain menu items but it was enough. I was a little disappointed the lasagna was no longer offered since that was my favorite thing to order (lunch menu only item apparently) and I'm a regular food eater who's a bit picky so its tough for me to find things to order on menus that I want to eat (this place is no different). I had the Pappardelle which was really good and we all shared a few plalenta (spelling?) appetizers which was amazing... so at least we all enjoyed what we got. They even brought out a little dessert for my wife for her birthday (nice touch). This is my wife's favorite place to eat at and they didn't disappoint her.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and drinks. I ordered the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great service and drinks. I ordered the veal and it was literally like eating a Denny's chicken fried steak. Not bad per se just not the level of food I was expecting.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been here for dinner and loved it ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I have been here for dinner and loved it so I decided to take a client for a business lunch. I had the chicken salad and it was quite salty and too much dressing. I also bit into some chewy pieces of chicken. I was on a business lunch so I didn't say anything to the server. I hope this was just an off day as I am not sure If I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

We were entertaining relatives visiting ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We were entertaining relatives visiting from Scotland. They were very impressed as were we. We'll definitely be back and soon!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An opportunity for late lunch after a Mi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

An opportunity for late lunch after a Minghei show found us walking to Cucina Urbana just across the street from Balboa Park on Laurel. A wonderful young female server welcomed us and explained fulsomely the delightful, if complicated, menu. With a glass of wine in hand, I enjoyed soup and sandwich for vegetarians, my friend a carnivore's delight of assorted meat and cheese.

There was so much that tempted us. We really must return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a wonderful dining experience. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This was a wonderful dining experience. The service was outstanding and the food fantastic. I'll go again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here to celebrate a birthday. Gr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We went here to celebrate a birthday. Great food, great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall outstanding and Thank you Kevin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Overall outstanding and Thank you Kevin for your recommendations.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.