About CUCINA urbana

505 Laurel Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Welcome to CUCINA urbana, a casual Italian American Neighborhood Kitchen and Wine Shop located in the heart of Bankers Hill. The menu highlights the cuisines of various Italian regions with a distinct California ‘farm to table’ flair for which the Urban Kitchen Group has become known. Chef Joe Magnanelli is excited to share his Italian heritage and create dishes that are fresh, simple and seasonal. Items include: antipasti, artisan pizza, pasta and piatti. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($8 corkage fee applies). The space features contemporary elements and vintage artifacts creating the feel of a modern Italian kitchen combined with the history and comfort of an old rustic country farmhouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Bar Only | Friday + Saturday | 10:30pm – midnight | pizzas + vasi*

*Walk In seating only, no reservations

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2222

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-urbana-bankers-hill/

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison at 619.239.2222 extension 2. Or if interested in restaurant buyout opportunities, please contact Tiffany Tassano at 619.239.2222 extension 4.

Parking Details:
Street parking & Valet available

Public Transit:
CUCINAurbana offers nightly shuttles to and from the Old Globe Theatre.

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
EVERY DAY 5-6pm Monday + Saturday | 3-6pm Tuesday-Friday | 4:30-6pm Sunday enjoy our food and drink specials.

drink | house red or white wine $7 | moretti draft $4 | seasonal sangria $6 | well drinks $6
food | burnt brussels sprout $3.75 | parmesan fries $3.5 | margerita pizza $7

Restaurant Photos

CUCINA urbana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Notable Wine List
San Diego
2 More
Italian
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Banker's Hill ›

fit for foodies (186)
neighborhood gem (139)
special occasion (129)
See All
hot spot (121)
notable wine list (120)
good for groups (93)
vibrant bar scene (85)
romantic (79)
great for lunch (47)
late-night find (29)
kid-friendly (14)
great for brunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
3275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in San Diego! Eve ...

Dined 5 days ago

My favorite restaurant in San Diego! Everyone that works at Cucina Urbana from the hostess and bus people to servers are so friendly and attentive to your meal. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Food very good.

Dined 5 days ago

Service was excellent. Food very good.

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Ambiance was nice, a little bit loud bu ...

Dined 6 days ago

Ambiance was nice, a little bit loud but ok, not for romantic date , food was cold, service was good.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday ...

Dined 6 days ago

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday and we both thought it was great! Excellent food and excellent service. Very good modern Italian cuisine!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We loved everything about this restauran ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We loved everything about this restaurant except the noise level. This was a dinner with an old friend that we had not seen in several years and it was difficult to carry on a conversation. I would dine at this restaurant again but not if the main reason was conversation. I realize that it would be difficult to make it less noisy but I will be more careful in the future if noise will affect my experience

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

My waiter never checked up on us, it too ...

Dined 6 days ago

My waiter never checked up on us, it took about 25 min to wave him down for the check, it wasn't even busy. I wanted dessert but I was so annoyed that he never came around so I gave up and took my party to have dessert elsewhere.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Service was good. Will go ba ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Service was good. Will go back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Cucuna Urbana for a graduatio ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went to Cucuna Urbana for a graduation celebration. We were a party of 8 and had super night. The food, ambiance and service was impeccable. David was our server and was a lot of fun. No complaints from anyone! We wish there was a Cucina up in Northern California. We will definitely be back

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and the service was great ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved the food and the service was great. Highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good service. Amazing food! Spec ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Really good service. Amazing food! Specially the pizzas and the beet salad.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful, as usual.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable though the experience would have been better had the sound level been a bit "less energetic." Service was perfect: available but not overly hovering.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and even a friendly shuttl ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great service and even a friendly shuttle to athe Old Globe. Noise level was on the high side. That was the only negative.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!!!!

Dined on May 13, 2016

I would recommend Urbana Cucina to anyone. It will now be my "go to" restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Their staff, and level of service, was s ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Their staff, and level of service, was second to none!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A hit with out of towners

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great place to take an out of town friend who appreciates good food. The stuffed squash blossoms are always perfect. Although a bit noisy, it is only because it is so popular. Attentive service.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I discovered this place a month ago and ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I discovered this place a month ago and have gone back twice since then. Amazing food and reasonable prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 11, 2016

The service was good, but we were disappointed that the Hostess or the waiter forgot to wish my daughter a happy sweet 16. We told the hostess, but no acknowledgement of her special birthday. I would of complained, but my daughter said "don't worry". In hind site, this was a special birthday and I should of walked over to the hostess station to speak to the manager to express our disappointment. Sadly, this was not a memorable evening for a sweet 16 birthday.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellente'

Dined on May 9, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Would gladly have gone back another night if my trip had been one more night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great service, great food

Dined on May 9, 2016

We were celebrating Mother's Day. After a visit to the Mingei museum, this was perfect for dinner. Our server, Brooklyn, could not have been better. He was great with us, and also with every other table he was taking care of. In addition to the great food and wine, he really did make the experience a special one.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an excellent place for dinner!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This is an excellent place for dinner!

food4
ambience4
service4

Good ambiance (can be noisy), excellent ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Good ambiance (can be noisy), excellent food. Service is OK. Secure option for a good dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fun and live atmosphere. Very good food ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Fun and live atmosphere. Very good food and service!

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Mixed Feelings

Dined on April 28, 2016

This was my 4th time here and I was was so disappointed in our entrees. We had the rabbit ravioli (meat was dry), short rib pappardelle (noodles were undercooked) and the lamb shoulder (veggies were fridgerator cold). On the positive, the appetizers we had were amazing. The grilled octopus, polenta with ragu and cheese board! The zeppole dessert was delicious too.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great food and service

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Service lacked, waited over 20 minutes b ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Service lacked, waited over 20 minutes before being greeted by our server, set a bad tone for the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

CUCINA urbana is my new favorite!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Staff is fantastic! Friendly, attentive, provided good suggestions. Rigatoni sounds simple, but was outstanding. Lemon Mascarpone Agnolotti was really tasty, but the portion was smaller than expected. Chicken Liver Pate mini mason jar was so rich and good. Cocktails were excellent too. Highly recommend and will definitely come back, especially to try happy hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Great atmosphere, great wine, great food- enjoyed a great date night w my husband !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We wanted to lick the board.

Dined on April 25, 2016

The Chef's Daily Ragu never fails to please but this night it was Lamb Shank with some vegetables and kohlrabi - it was amazing. All four of us looked at the board and wished we got it as an entree. All of our entrees were great but this night the Papardella was not quite up to par. The Char and sauce was perfection. The wine was fantastic if a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

The food was amazing like always, plus t ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was amazing like always, plus their cocktails are great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendship Anniversary

Dined on April 24, 2016

My best friend flew in from Pittsburgh to celebrate our 29 years of friendship. I made reservations for us at Cucina Urbana because it is one of my all time favorite restaurants and I wants her to have the "Cucina Experience". We were in love with the atmosphere and the food was absolutely amazing. Our waiter found out we were celebrating 29 years of being best friends and brought us two glasses of bubbly to honor our friendship. The night was just perfect. Thank you Cucina Urbana for making a memory we won't forget! Much love!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Cucina Urbana offers a great mix of tale ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Cucina Urbana offers a great mix of talented, interesting, helpful, friendly staff (Caroline, Kevin, Christian), great food options, and a selection of diverse wines and spirits. Try it and you'll return again and again, as we do..

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect yet again. Went for my wife's b ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Perfect yet again. Went for my wife's birthday and received a glass of champagne and dessert on the house.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Cucina Urbana when we ar ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

We always enjoy Cucina Urbana when we are in the San Diego area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent selection of appetizers. We m ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Excellent selection of appetizers. We made a meal of it. Small but interesting wine selection. The food came very quickly. Our server was attentive. Definitely worth going back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food, delightful staff.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our waiter, Antonio, was charming and so helpful. He recommended a delightful wine that went so well with our delicious entrees. We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Ate at the bar. Bartender,despite being ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Ate at the bar. Bartender,despite being jammed, was as friendly, attentive and knowledgable as you could get.

food5
ambience5
service5

Polenta was amazing, everything deliciou ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Polenta was amazing, everything delicious! Great service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food & wine experience. Best ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Incredible food & wine experience. Best ever.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divine as always! Every dish was perfect ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Divine as always! Every dish was perfect, and the wine list is infallible and a good value as well, especially Sundays when there is no corkage fee. Dine here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lemon Pasta

Dined on April 10, 2016

I had a delicious pasta dish that had a lemony sauce. I believe it was agnioli. The price was about $23. and I did not feel it was a sufficient portion size for that price. I really would have loved to have more. I do love the fact that I never feel rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.