About CUCINA urbana

505 Laurel Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Welcome to CUCINA urbana, a casual Italian American Neighborhood Kitchen and Wine Shop located in the heart of Bankers Hill. The menu highlights the cuisines of various Italian regions with a distinct California ‘farm to table’ flair for which the Urban Kitchen Group has become known. Chef Joe Magnanelli is excited to share his Italian heritage and create dishes that are fresh, simple and seasonal. Items include: antipasti, artisan pizza, pasta and piatti. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies). The space features contemporary elements and vintage artifacts creating the feel of a modern Italian kitchen combined with the history and comfort of an old rustic country farmhouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Bar Only | Friday + Saturday | 10:30pm – midnight | pizzas + vasi*

*Walk In seating only, no reservations

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2222

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-urbana-bankers-hill/

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison at 619.239.2222 extension 2. Or if interested in restaurant buyout opportunities, please contact Tiffany Tassano at 619.239.2222 extension 4.

Parking Details:
Street parking & Valet available

Public Transit:
CUCINAurbana offers nightly shuttles to and from the Old Globe Theatre.

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
EVERY DAY 5-6pm Monday + Saturday | 3-6pm Tuesday-Friday | 4:30-6pm Sunday enjoy our food and drink specials.

drink | house red or white wine $7 | moretti draft $4 | seasonal sangria $6 | well drinks $6
food | burnt brussels sprout $3.75 | parmesan fries $3.5 | margerita pizza $7

CUCINA urbana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (65)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Creative Cuisine (47)
See All
Special Occasion (47)
Modern Decor (45)
Fun (39)
Notable Wine List (37)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Hot Spot (35)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Romantic (31)
Bar Seating (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Casual (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Business Meals (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Cozy (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Authentic (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Wood Oven (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
People Watching (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Family Style (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great Beer (5)
Healthy (4)
Tapas (4)
Organic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3785 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, goo selection of wine and be ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, goo selection of wine and beer

Been going for 2 years, its our favorite place in sd to bring friends and have good times, food is always great, is a place that you just cant go wrong

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was nice, but I order a sea b ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was nice, but I order a sea bass, and the dish was super oily. I did not even finish

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply perfect, everything was great! Se ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Simply perfect, everything was great! Service was great all around. Food was jus esquisite. Ambiance was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two couples, pre-theater dinner. An appe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Two couples, pre-theater dinner. An appetizer to share was yummy. Meals arrive, food is quite tasty but the portion size is very small. The two men asked for more bread as they were still hungry after their entree. Never like leaving a restaurant feeling hungry.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Outstanding food and service but very lo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding food and service but very loud making conversation difficult.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

very nice however the service was a bit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

very nice however the service was a bit slow meal was great and nice people.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Italian food and extensive wine li ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great Italian food and extensive wine list. Wine is retail price with $9 corkage fee. Service is excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was pretty good, our waiter w ...

 
 (México)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything was pretty good, our waiter was very kind and polite, the food was great although octopus was a little too roasted (tasted a little burnt). We will absolutely come back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable meal and venue. Would def ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very enjoyable meal and venue. Would definitely return as we attend the theatre quite often. The putanesca sauce was the only disappointing dish but the others were delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing experience...will visit often.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Amazing experience...will visit often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the meals were tasty. Portions were ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 7, 2017

All the meals were tasty. Portions were just right.

Service was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What a great find! The pizza (cheese wi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

What a great find! The pizza (cheese with Meyer lemon) was the best we'd ever had. Great deal on the wine from the store. Fabulous meals! Wish we lived closer!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and good atmosphere. Loved ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and good atmosphere. Loved the selection of drinks and food. Hear my out before you judge, try the burger, it is worth your time. The pasta is a bit above average but nothing to write home about. The only big down side was out server, but other servers were great, we just got a giant dud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

This was my first time to this Cucina lo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was my first time to this Cucina location - I have been to the location in Del Mar Mar on several occasions. Both location are the same for me. If you are going out with friends and looking for a place with a fun atmosphere and not concerned about the food, either location Cucnia is a good option. It is not that the food is bad, but it is okay. I just would not pick this restaurant if my primary focus for the evening was the food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful hip decor, squash blossoms and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Beautiful hip decor, squash blossoms and mushroom pizza were great. Pickle fries sounded a little odd but were awesome! Pasta wasn't so awesome, a little pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The Branzino Fish Dish Last time we went ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The Branzino Fish Dish Last time we went was great, this time it was covered with greens and not tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The hostess went out of her way to find ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The hostess went out of her way to find a suitable table for my group.

The food was delicious and the waiter very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must admit that I had low expectations ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I must admit that I had low expectations. Dinner at 8pm on a Monday night? We expected to hear crickets or something. I was totally wrong. Fortunately, I had reservations or we would not get in. Excellent food, great prices and a good wine list at a reasonable price.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kevin was fantastic as always in guiding ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Kevin was fantastic as always in guiding my wine decisions. He always makes the evening special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very tasty and the staff we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was very tasty and the staff were just wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time there and my husb ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was my third time there and my husbands first. Every time I come I find something new to try. Love the atmosphere food is amazing, top service and food came out incredibly fast!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have loved this place in past but this v ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Have loved this place in past but this visit was disappointing. Whole branzino was bland. Not meat eaters and most pastas included meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Delicious food. Great service and prese ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Delicious food. Great service and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good but it was way too ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was really good but it was way too noisy. I was barely able to hear my girlfriend sitting across the table from me. I had the short rib parpedelle and thought it was pretty amazing. Also ordered the friend squash blossoms as an app.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Spectacular food and service. Converted ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Spectacular food and service. Converted my mom to a Brussel sprouts lover

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Cucina Urbana at least t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We have been to Cucina Urbana at least two dozen times. (Including the night of our engagement.) This restaurant was special to us but it has increasingly gone down hill in the past year or two. They have gotten rid of staples of their menu that we loved. (Gorgonzola Vasi and Jadori Chicken, which they had for YEARS.) The sea bass was under whelming to be kind, the burger dull. It was terrible. Used to be a restaurant we took everyone to for group dinners and out of town visitors, not anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

The food was disappointing. I came 2 yea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food was disappointing. I came 2 years ago and the flavor was much better. The veal was undercooked, over breaded, and veggies just dumped on top. Portions are small to medium and overpriced.

Service is good as well as atmosphere. However, food is what counts most. I'm not going back, better choices in little Italy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Caught the last of restaurant week and e ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Caught the last of restaurant week and enjoyed a wonderful meal in cozy area... all while staying dry from the rain!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week menu was excellent. Most ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Restaurant week menu was excellent. Most items on the regular menu. Tastes were superb.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal had the Sea Bass, loved t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Wonderful meal had the Sea Bass, loved the ambience of the restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday dinner

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Followed the wait staff suggestions and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Followed the wait staff suggestions and didn't go wrong - squash blossoms, bucatini and chocolate peanut butter bars. All great suggestions that can be described with one word - yummm!!!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week lunch was delicious- pol ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Restaurant week lunch was delicious- polenta with short ribs with an arugala salad to begin with. Great service by Amanda and a couple of other attentive servers. Would go back next time we're in San Diego.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect. Food, drinks, servers were grea ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Perfect. Food, drinks, servers were great. Wife was happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is consistently so solid in t ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This place is consistently so solid in terms of both food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved it - gorgeous atmosphere with very ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Loved it - gorgeous atmosphere with very thoughtful and trendy vibes. Amazing service and food is delicious! Would go back :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good and presented well bu ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was very good and presented well but unfortunately the service was very, very, very slow. Since this is the first time I've encountered slow service, I'll chalk it up this time to just a bad night. Will go again next time in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We went for restaurant week and really e ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went for restaurant week and really enjoyed our meals. The special menu was very limited, so we both had to get pizza entrees. They were good, but this place has been recommended to us by several people, and I don't think that that was for the pizza. I would like to go back sometime to explore the regular menu, but it would have to be some time that I was willing to pay their prices - date night or special occasion. Parking was really hard to find, and after circling a lot we finally settled on using their $7 valet. The atmosphere is very unique and cool; I enjoyed being in there. The Samoa bread pudding was my favorite part.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

out of everything i've experienced in th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

out of everything i've experienced in this restaurant, the service was outstanding! Someone would always pour water for us before we had to ask, servers are very gentle and nice, and no one rushed us during our meal. There are many tables and chairs so some people would consider that as 'crowded' but I sure didn't think so! Would definitely come back for another meal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, this is our goal to place f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great place, this is our goal to place for dinner when we are in San Diego. It's perfect for a bite to eat before the theater. Food & service is awesome!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.