About CUCINA urbana

505 Laurel Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Welcome to CUCINA urbana, a casual Italian American Neighborhood Kitchen and Wine Shop located in the heart of Bankers Hill. The menu highlights the cuisines of various Italian regions with a distinct California ‘farm to table’ flair for which the Urban Kitchen Group has become known. Chef Joe Magnanelli is excited to share his Italian heritage and create dishes that are fresh, simple and seasonal. Items include: antipasti, artisan pizza, pasta and piatti. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies). The space features contemporary elements and vintage artifacts creating the feel of a modern Italian kitchen combined with the history and comfort of an old rustic country farmhouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Bar Only | Friday + Saturday | 10:30pm – midnight | pizzas + vasi*

*Walk In seating only, no reservations

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2222

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-urbana-bankers-hill/

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison at 619.239.2222 extension 2. Or if interested in restaurant buyout opportunities, please contact Tiffany Tassano at 619.239.2222 extension 4.

Parking Details:
Street parking & Valet available

Public Transit:
CUCINAurbana offers nightly shuttles to and from the Old Globe Theatre.

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
EVERY DAY 5-6pm Monday + Saturday | 3-6pm Tuesday-Friday | 4:30-6pm Sunday enjoy our food and drink specials.

drink | house red or white wine $7 | moretti draft $4 | seasonal sangria $6 | well drinks $6
food | burnt brussels sprout $3.75 | parmesan fries $3.5 | margerita pizza $7

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Beet Salad - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Giant Meatball - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Mediterranean Mussels - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Chicken Liver Pâté - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
1/2 sandwich & cup of soup - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Charred Octopus With Fava Beans - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Semifreddo - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Moscatel - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Bucatini - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Cucina Burger - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Roasted Bone-In New York Strip - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Lavender Lemonade - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Aquazul - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Fries - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Squash Blossoms - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Pork Belly With Egg - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Chocolate Nutella Zeppole - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Chicken Meatball Parmigiano Hero - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Chocolate Espresso Budino - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Truffle Parmesan Fries - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Pepperoni And Fennel Sausage Pizza - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Beef Stroganoff - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Farro And Brussels Sprouts Leaf Salad - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Mussels in White Wine Sauce - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Mussles - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Bread Service - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Brussels Sprouts - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Fig And Arugula Pizza - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Ricotta gnudi - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Fennel Sausage And Taleggio Cheese, Forester Mushrooms - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Proscuitto Caprese - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Ricotta Stuffed and Fried Squash Blossoms, Cherry Tomato - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Short Rib Parpadelle - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Bittersweet Chocolate Budino - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
The Aquazul - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Mission Fig And Arugula Pizza - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Grilled Octopus - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Tequila Mule - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Truffled Parmesan French Fries - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Papperdelle With Braised Shortribs - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Shrimp Puttanesca - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Early Corn Angioletti - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Bbq Octopus - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
suckling pig - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Modern Man Cocktail - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Foraged Mushroom Pizza - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Stuffed Squash Blossoms - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Chocolate Budino - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Moscow Mule - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Short Rib Pappardelle - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Rosemary Bread With Sauce - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Sheep’s Ricotta Gnudi with Brown Butter and Sage - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Ragu with Polenta - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
lasagna - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Lacinato Kale And Romaine Caesar Salad - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Baby Octopus - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Red Sangria - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Jidori Chicken - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Stuff Fried Squash Blossoms - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
flourless chocolate cake - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Garlic Truffle Fries - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Short Rib Papardelle  - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Antipasta Sampler - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Big Meatball - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Burrata And Prosciutto Salad - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Fregolatta - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Parsnip Ravioli With Short Ribs - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Chicken Jidori - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Veal Piccatta - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Mediterranean Branzino With A Lemon Dill Sauce - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Fig And Garganzola Pizza  - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Arugula Pear Pizza - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Mussels In A Lemon Butter Sauce - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Brussel sprouts - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Pear and Gorgonzola Pizza - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Bay Scallops  - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Short Rib Peppardelle - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Pesto Ravioli - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Burrata Jar - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Duck Conserva Cavatelli - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
veal piccata - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Veal Saltimbocca With Lentils - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Tiramisu In A Jar - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Italian Screw - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Rigatoni Bolognese - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Charcuterie and Cheese Platters - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Pork Chop - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA
Cocktails - CUCINA urbana, San Diego, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Thank you for celebrating with us! Our regular menu + special items + a 4-course prix fixe menu will be available. No reservations for our bar + community areas.

CUCINA urbana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (64)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Creative Cuisine (52)
See All
Special Occasion (51)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Modern Decor (47)
Notable Wine List (45)
Fun (44)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Hot Spot (40)
Romantic (35)
Bar Seating (34)
Casual (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Cozy (21)
Authentic (20)
Business Meals (18)
Wood Oven (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
People Watching (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Family Style (8)
Healthy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great Beer (5)
Organic (5)
Tapas (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
3747 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Perfect. Food, drinks, servers were grea ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 19 hours ago

Perfect. Food, drinks, servers were great. Wife was happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it - gorgeous atmosphere with very ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved it - gorgeous atmosphere with very thoughtful and trendy vibes. Amazing service and food is delicious! Would go back :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good and presented well bu ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good and presented well but unfortunately the service was very, very, very slow. Since this is the first time I've encountered slow service, I'll chalk it up this time to just a bad night. Will go again next time in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We went for restaurant week and really e ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

We went for restaurant week and really enjoyed our meals. The special menu was very limited, so we both had to get pizza entrees. They were good, but this place has been recommended to us by several people, and I don't think that that was for the pizza. I would like to go back sometime to explore the regular menu, but it would have to be some time that I was willing to pay their prices - date night or special occasion. Parking was really hard to find, and after circling a lot we finally settled on using their $7 valet. The atmosphere is very unique and cool; I enjoyed being in there. The Samoa bread pudding was my favorite part.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

out of everything i've experienced in th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

out of everything i've experienced in this restaurant, the service was outstanding! Someone would always pour water for us before we had to ask, servers are very gentle and nice, and no one rushed us during our meal. There are many tables and chairs so some people would consider that as 'crowded' but I sure didn't think so! Would definitely come back for another meal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, this is our goal to place f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place, this is our goal to place for dinner when we are in San Diego. It's perfect for a bite to eat before the theater. Food & service is awesome!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Our second v ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Our second visit and everything was on point. Quality meal at a very manageable price.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was in San Diego on business and had d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I was in San Diego on business and had dinner with 4 other ladies and we all totally enjoyed the dinner. Our waiter Brooklyn was friendly and knowable about the menu and the wines. He suggested the chopped salad served family style which was beyond excellent. I had the Veal Milanese, one of my favorites, and it was the best I've ever had and was only $27.

The atmosphere is warm and friendly. It's a 5 minute Uber ride from the convention center and far superior to any restaurant in the Gaslight district and half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fabulous dinner at Cucina Urbana. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Had a fabulous dinner at Cucina Urbana. Delicious beet salad, seafood pasta, and absolutely divine chocolate crumble(?) dessert!!! Entree was rather small compared to most Italian restaurants but was very tasty. Chianti wine by the glass was also very good. Excellent, friendly waitress whose dining suggestions were great! Lots of happy people packed the restaurant. Decor is very warm & attractive too. Highly recommend making a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, , Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited from out of town and selected ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We visited from out of town and selected Cucina Urbana based upon other reviews. We are so glad we did! The ambience is hip casual, service is outstanding, and the food was awesome. The menu is creative and quality was excellent. We are wine collectors and always look for BYOB restaurants. Cucina has a very nice wine inventory at retail store prices, so you select your bottle and pay a $9 corkage fee to drink it there. Or if you buy 2 bottles, corkage is waived. This is so much better than paying the 100+% markup like most restaurants. Don't miss the burnt brussel sprouts!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. The pizza had ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was outstanding. The pizza had a crisp yet chewy crust, restrained cheese, and a flavorful topping. The tagliatelle Bolognese was perfectly al dente, with just the right amount of delicious meat sauce. Portion sizes were ample but not over-sized. A nice selection of reasonably priced wines and beers. Service was friendly but inept. Our main courses arrived moments after our appetizers, and had to be sent back to be kept warm. Next time we'll order the main course after the appetizers are served. The room is attractive and comfortable, but very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent Service But the ravioli dish ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent Service

But the ravioli dish extremely small, the pasta with ground beef and wide noodles, tastes like hungry helper.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We were just visiting for the night and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were just visiting for the night and didn't really know the area very well so we decided to make our reservations through Open Table. The reviews from this site did not do me wrong, then again it never does. This was place was definitely worth every penny we paid. Our server Kevin was so friendly, made great recommendations on entrees and starters (we opted to go for his top two choices in entrees and on his starters suggestion as well). He also made a couple of recommendations on a wine which we ended up getting the bottle. The ambience was casual yet romantic. This place was a hit for us and when we get a chance, we will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very much looking forward to our ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were very much looking forward to our dinner as we love Cucina Urbana but we were extemely disappointed when we arrived on time for our reservation which we had booked a week in advance and did not get seated for 50 minutes -- literally. Our reservation was at 830 and we did not get seated until 920 which is outrageous. Not to mention, when we arrived, they said it would be about 5 minutes. So 5 minutes came and went, 15 minutes, we went to the bar got multiple drinks, and they did not even acknowledge the situation. When we inquired as to what was happening, they acted as if we were inconveniencing them by asking. Isn't the entire point of making a reservation to be seated and not wait that long? Finally we were seated at 920, they said we realize you must be hungry and we will bring you some snacks, and they literally brought a plate of bread for the 7 of us and that was it.

The waitress was good and the food was great as always but honestly, 50 minutes late with a rude hostesses is unbelievable. In a time where choices are abundant and customer service is everything, I would be outraged to know this was happening bc this is clearly not how to get people

Coming back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Polenta board was amazing!!!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Polenta board was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went with the waiters suggestions and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We went with the waiters suggestions and tried the bucatini it's a must try. Loved the truffle pizza and cocktails as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every year we have our national meeting ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Every year we have our national meeting near this restaurant and this is my third year coming back, although this time I went two nights in a row it's so incredibly good. I lived in SF and now northern Los Angeles and this has got to be by far one of the most consistent amazing restaurants I've been too. Wine menu and pricing like I've never seen and some of the best wines. I remembered the bar tender from three years ago who was still there. Unbelievabley passionate and knowledgeable about the food and wine. The night before I sat at a table and the waitress was fabulous.

Wish we had one where I live.... shortnrib paperdelle, beet salad, pizzas, Brussels sprouts and veal chop are all A+ ratings!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had an excellent birthday meal for my pa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Had an excellent birthday meal for my partner. The staff was warm and friendly the food was excellent and the restaurant vibe was fun and energetic !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my 40th birthday dinner and I lef ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 4, 2017

It was my 40th birthday dinner and I left a bit disappointed given the reputation this spot has in Bankers Hill. I'd been to CU before, but for happy hour, and was generally happy with my food and service. Tonight, however, was a let down. The service was fair -- could be that our server was sat too many times close together and had a difficult table that needed extra help with ordering. But the timing of everything was just off. For example, our appetizer came out before our drinks, the latter of which felt like it took awhile. My pasta also seemed old, a little dry and hard even though it was covered in sauce. Thankfully the short rib and mushrooms were tasty making up for the pasta. Given the number of places in SD, I probably won't go back for a long time. I hope this was just an anomaly given Cucina Urbana's great reputation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Ambiance was inviting and eclectically I ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Ambiance was inviting and eclectically Italian farmhouse and brought my wife and son back to when we lived in Sicily. Service was friendly and willing to please and fairly attentive. Food was delicious. so much so that when it was noticed that there was no Salt & Pepper on the table, it was welcomed because there was absolutely no need for any additional seasoning. Except for the risotto - extremely too salt-ridden - so much so that it left an after-taste. Even so, we've dined Italian throughout san Diego - and Cucina Urbana is definitely our new place for Italian!

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've wanted to go to Cucina Urbana for a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I've wanted to go to Cucina Urbana for a few years and when my friends came into town looking to meet us for dinner I immediately booked us our table. I was surprised by how open the place is, expecting it to be a basement venue and all. The floor to ceiling windows bring the outside in and it didn't feel like it was closed in at all. There was a fair amount of noise in the place, but we were able to converse without a problem, and being that we're all retired folks that's saying a lot. The food was excellent - I had the Mediterranean Sea Bass, which was delish - plus the waiter, when I said I was not fond of spinach, quickly suggested substituting the burned Brussels sprouts, which were wonderful. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

On vacation. This was recommended to us ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

On vacation. This was recommended to us and did not disappoint! We had the pappardelle with braised short ribs and the arugula and tomato salad. Salad was super fresh and the short rib was moist and beefy and tender. Great cocktails too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are staying near Balboa Park in S ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

If you are staying near Balboa Park in SanDiego, this is a great choice. Reserve early and often. Great ambiance and food. Have a drink at the bar across the street before your dinnner. Friendly and reasonable - both places.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. Thank you for an amazin ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love this place. Thank you for an amazing dining experience, as always! Loved the NYE Lamb Special. Keep that dish around!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was great! The environment was a little loud, but that was the character of the place. Everyone in my party enjoyed it thoroughly!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was awesome. We enjoyed everything or ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was awesome. We enjoyed everything ordered from appetizers to dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La pizza de 4 quesos y el pulpo delicios ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

La pizza de 4 quesos y el pulpo deliciosos. Excelente combinación de sabores.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've dined here several times in the pa ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We've dined here several times in the past few years. Each time was great and we kept coming back. This evening was an exception. We were sat like cattle, right on top of the surrounding tables, along a wall when most of the restaurant was empty. No spacing out of the tables as they arrived, just piled them on top of each other. When we asked about it the hostess told us "we're busy and this will have to do". The server was nice and attentive. But the food was the main problem here. The polenta board was great. But the entrees were less than stellar. I had the risotto and it was soupy and the rice was both undercooked and overcooked at the same time. When I asked the server about it, she asked the chef and he said "it's supposed to be that way". It was unpleasant to say the least. My husband's pizza was less than stellar as well, slightly bland and soggy by the time we got it. Nothing was hot, only luke warm. All in all, we'll likely give it another shot next visit. But it has definitely gone down hill since we first visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Terrific ambience! Friendly staff. While ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Terrific ambience! Friendly staff. While great for date night it has 'make your own pizza ' for kids which is awesome. Stuffed squash blossom is great as is pappardelle dish. Wine list very affordable. We will eat here every trip to San Diego!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always love the food. Wish that there wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always love the food. Wish that there was more 'soundproofing' as the noise level can be very uncomfortable at times. Service is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My promotion and early holiday dinner.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My promotion and early holiday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Everything was exceptional. Highly recom ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Everything was exceptional. Highly recommend the holiday special Feast of the 7 Fishes. Perfectly cooked pasta, amazing flavors. Well worth traveling 2 hours to get here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Todo muy bueno

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Todo muy bueno

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb. Went to the restaurant after th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Superb. Went to the restaurant after the Ballet at Civic Theatre. Excellent food and a service staff happy to welcome diners at a late hour.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, excellent menu choices ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great restaurant, excellent menu choices and tasty food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Odd and limited menu, especially if you ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Odd and limited menu, especially if you don't eat pizza or sandwiches. Service quite slow. Street parking can be hard to find.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Second time at cucina Urbana and absolut ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Second time at cucina Urbana and absolutely LOVED it. Food was fantastic as were the cocktails and the overall ambiance. Prices are not over the top for the quality that you get and main courses are shareable for those that are cost conscious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Veal Milanese different than expected - ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Veal Milanese different than expected - could have used more greens and didn't need to be so big. The bread is great. The chicken liver is great. I hate always having to ask for pepper. I don't understand why servers don't automatically offer it. Makes them appear lazy. Lead server was fantastic. Wish I had asked about fish special. Our favorite SD restaurant all the same!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

A lively restaurant with extremely fine ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

A lively restaurant with extremely fine Italian food with a modern flair. Might be a little too noisy for a romantic tete a tete, but truly a fun place. The retail wine room is an added bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Rudeness Overcomes Ambiance! Go somewher ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Rudeness Overcomes Ambiance! Go somewhere ELSE that appreciates it customers and is hospitable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.