Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About CUCINA urbana

Welcome to CUCINA urbana, a casual Italian American Neighborhood Kitchen and Wine Shop located in the heart of Bankers Hill. The menu highlights the cuisines of various Italian regions with a distinct California ‘farm to table’ flair for which the Urban Kitchen Group has become known. Chef Joe Magnanelli is excited to share his Italian heritage and create dishes that are fresh, simple and seasonal. Items include: antipasti, artisan pizza, pasta and piatti. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies). The space features contemporary elements and vintage artifacts creating the feel of a modern Italian kitchen combined with the history and comfort of an old rustic country farmhouse.

505 Laurel Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Bar Only | Friday + Saturday | 10:30pm – midnight | pizzas + vasi*

*Walk In seating only, no reservations

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2222

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-urbana-bankers-hill/

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison at 619.239.2222 extension 2. Or if interested in restaurant buyout opportunities, please contact Tiffany Tassano at 619.239.2222 extension 4.

Parking Details:
Street parking & Valet available

Public Transit:
CUCINAurbana offers nightly shuttles to and from the Old Globe Theatre.

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
EVERY DAY 5-6pm Monday + Saturday | 3-6pm Tuesday-Friday | 4:30-6pm Sunday enjoy our food and drink specials.

drink | house red or white wine $7 | moretti draft $4 | seasonal sangria $6 | well drinks $6
food | burnt brussels sprout $3.75 | parmesan fries $3.5 | margerita pizza $7

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

We’re putting our own CUCINA spin on Feast of the Seven Fishes. We will be offering 2-3 seafood dishes per night from December 18th – December 24th. Our chefs are excited to share their small plate creations with you invite you to visit often and try them all!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Enjoy our regular Dinner menu and a selection of chef's specials for the evening. Last seating is at 10pm. Complimentary champagne toast for all guests at midnight.

CUCINA urbana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Special Occasion (53)
Fit for Foodies (49)
See All
Creative Cuisine (49)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Fun (44)
Notable Wine List (43)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Hot Spot (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Casual (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Authentic (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Cozy (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Seasonal (13)
Healthy (12)
Tapas (11)
Late-night Find (10)
People Watching (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
4163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Too noisy. Food is mediocre. Convenient. Pack dinners in. Popular.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service every time. Loved the grilled octopus and polenta board.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was perfect. The sommelier was very knowledgeable, the food all arrived at the same time, attention to detail was as expected. Good job all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 7, 2017

My friend and I had the BEST lunch ever! The Rib Eye Salad is new and a terrific addition to the already- awesome menu. The meat was perfectly grilled to medium-rare and the different tastes and textures of the rest of the ingredients were a perfect compliment. My friend had the Beet & Pink Grapefruit Salad - a beautiful plate that tasted as good as it looked! The service was excellent - attentive and not rushed. Oh, and we shared a Raspberry Lemon dessert that was silky-smooth and a lovely way to end our lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Simply amazing!
Let me start with the amazing vape this place has ! creative and specious very comfortable bar perfect for dinner or just for drinks . High top tables including one with direct view to the pizza oven ! I had the chance to watch how my delicious pizza was made ! Comfortable tables perfect for romantic date and long tables for big group of friends all decorated so beautiful for Christmas.. the place looked magical! But lets talk about food ! I have been to many many upscale expensive and very high reviewed restaurants but honestly Cucina Urbana is in my top 3! Starting with the Vasì ! highly recommend whipped goat cheese and the chicken liver portion is big dont get fooled by the price :) 1 to share is plenty for 3 people! The the burata ... so creamy perfectly combined with prosciutto arugula and balsamic .. the squash blossoms delicious!!! Octopus one of the best i ever had! Steak cooked to perfection! I can not miss the amazing servers ! Everybody was super nice and helpful! I highly recommend! And i will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 4, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Cucina Urbana and the Fig, Bacon pizza was amazing! Also, my son (3), ate his whole "Green" pizza!
The only minor negative was there was no Wifi, which is not a big deal, but makes waiting for food with a 3 year old a tad bit easier!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Excellent food! Pasta was homemade and tasted great, our server was fabulous and total staff was very attentive

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Caught an early dinner [with a reservation] and worked our way through a flat bread three cheese appetizer that was very good along with a a glass of Sangria. For dinner we ordered the whole red fish and the baked pasta, both were well seasoned, cooked correctly and most importantly - hot at the table. I wish we had skipped desert but the bread pudding sounded great - and it was, no will power at all.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Very nice and attentive staff. They also let us change tables so my girl and I could sit side by side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

Awesome food . Loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

Loved this restaurant. The layout is really visually appealing and it felt so cozy with the dim lights and all of the winter/holiday decorations. The menu had a great selection that could satisfy my family and I (all with very diverse palates and preferences!) We were surprised the place had a good buzz going even though it was only a Tuesday. Everything was delicious. Service was great. The best time we’ve had in a while. I will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 29, 2017

The service was fantastic! Kevin was incredible in recommendations on the menu.

The Nutella Bombolini is a MUST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Great service. I always make a reservation to avoid disappointment as they do fill up. Delicious food and cozy but elegant funky spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Always phenomenal food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2017

What a place! We have been wanting to visit Cucina for quite a while now. It is rather difficult to make a last minute reservation, and as it turned out for a very good reason. The place has impeccable service, great ambiance, excellent wines, and knock your socks off food. To say we were impressed, would be an understatement. In fact, we were so taken with it, we made another reservation on the spot to come back with family before Christmas.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2017

All 3 courses I had were excellent. The wine prices and great selection even with a cork fee was a very pleasant surprise.
Will definitely return any time we're in the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We have a longstanding tradition of enjoying the night before Thanksgiving with an outing to Cucina Urbana. We order family style and try a plethora of dishes. This year the wine and food were spectacular and only exceeded by the exceptional service by Kevin and his crew!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2017

On Sunday we had a wonderful and unforgettable dining experience at Cucina Urbana. First of all the wine list is expansive, especially if you are a lover of Italian wine like my husband and I. The price for wine is very comparable to Total Wine and BevMo. On Sunday the $9.00 uncorked fee is waived.
Jonathan was our waiter and the service he provided was remarkable, his recommendations were on point, he timed our order perfectly, and our glasses never reached empty.
Most importantly the food was exquisite. Every dish had a little something extra that set it apart from other Italian restaurants. We definitely recommend this restaurant and we will return.
CUCINA Urbana thank you for the hospitality.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Dinner was great as usual! Food, drinks and atmosphere were all on point.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2017

It was great !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Such an amazing spot, food was delicious and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

This is a lively and atmospheric restaurant with excellent food and service, but note that it can be very noisy at busy times.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2017

We liked it so much we went back 2 nights later. In a city of too many less than average restaurants, this was an exception.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Service was top notch, zucchini blossoms phenomenal...We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Never have been disappointed with the food and table service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2017

The food was amazing - highly recommend the polenta board and farfalle. So yummy! Great service too. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Exceptional service and awesome food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2017

It was a wonderful way to celebrate my husband's 89th birthday. Food, wine, service was terrific!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2017

As a new resident of San Diego, I wasn’t sure of what were some of the city’s best restaurants. After discovering CUCINA, I fell in love with the ambience and the decoration of the restaurant. Incredibly friendly and hospitable hosts/hostesses and waiters/waitresses. The food was great! My date and I ordered a great deal of food for just the two of us, but we managed to finish most of our dishes while having a box or two for leftovers. Very favorable portion sizes too. The only downside is that it’s a rather noisy restaurant so if you happen to eat during peak hours and nights, you’ll probably have a tough time hearing your guests speak.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vegan, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Archetypal excellent Californian style Italian. The food was original, inventive and yet retaining the essence of Italian tradition. Service friendly, knowledgeable, passionate and yet understated. Vibrant busy turbulent dining space...but with a rustic heart. A top pick so far in San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

They spilled champagne all over my clothes and hair and didn’t even comp my coffee. Easily one of the worst dining experiences I’ve had. The food which is usually marvelous was well below par. Pasta was cold and stuck together. I probably won’t be going back, which is sad because it was one of my favorite restaurants

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Great dinner but pricey. Very warm and inviting atmosphere

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2017

From the hostess to Jason our waiter and the helping crew....WONDERFUL service!...the food was great, creative and well priced...and then the wine, FINALLY, a restaurant that does not rip off on wine pricing, rather, they sell the wines they serve at wine store prices...great concept?!?

We're fans...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The meal was not up to expectations set by repeated dining at Cucina Urbana over the past 3 years.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Loved it. Great service. Great food. Friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food and service was excellent, but there was a table was to us that was very very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great Italian in San Diego. Service was fantastic, food was excellent, and unique, and the atmosphere felt right.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2017

This is the third time that I dined at this restaurant and as always, it was delicious. The food is consistently good, the service was great, and overall it was a nice experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Slow but friendly service again. Food was fresh and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Honestly some of the best service I’ve ever had! Working for a restaurant group, I’m picky about a dining experience...and the staff really blew me away with attention to detail and quality food. Keep up the amazing work! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.