Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About CUCINA urbana

Welcome to CUCINA urbana, a casual Italian American Neighborhood Kitchen and Wine Shop located in the heart of Bankers Hill. The menu highlights the cuisines of various Italian regions with a distinct California ‘farm to table’ flair for which the Urban Kitchen Group has become known. Chef Joe Magnanelli is excited to share his Italian heritage and create dishes that are fresh, simple and seasonal. Items include: antipasti, artisan pizza, pasta and piatti. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies). The space features contemporary elements and vintage artifacts creating the feel of a modern Italian kitchen combined with the history and comfort of an old rustic country farmhouse.

505 Laurel Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Bar Only | Friday + Saturday | 10:30pm – midnight | pizzas + vasi*

*Walk In seating only, no reservations

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2222

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-urbana-bankers-hill/

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison at 619.239.2222 extension 2. Or if interested in restaurant buyout opportunities, please contact Tiffany Tassano at 619.239.2222 extension 4.

Parking Details:
Street parking & Valet available

Public Transit:
CUCINAurbana offers nightly shuttles to and from the Old Globe Theatre.

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
EVERY DAY 5-6pm Monday + Saturday | 3-6pm Tuesday-Friday | 4:30-6pm Sunday enjoy our food and drink specials.

drink | house red or white wine $7 | moretti draft $4 | seasonal sangria $6 | well drinks $6
food | burnt brussels sprout $3.75 | parmesan fries $3.5 | margerita pizza $7

CUCINA urbana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (66)
Good for a Date (64)
Notable Wine List (59)
See All
Creative Cuisine (57)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Special Occasion (44)
Bar Seating (39)
Casual (39)
Fun (39)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Hot Spot (35)
Romantic (35)
Authentic (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Happy Hour (20)
Cozy (20)
People Watching (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Healthy (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Seasonal (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Tapas (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Organic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vegan (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
4037 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Although the food and service were " good" - we felt very rushed. The food came out too fast and they whisked our plates away barely before we took our last bite. We would have enjoyed it much more if we didn't feel rushed by the staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

All servicemployeesand greeters at this restaurant were very nice, but there was a glitch in the service promptness, especially the bar. Food was great. Seems to be a great scene for wine aficionado's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We went on a Sunday and my husband really enjoyed getting to pick out a bottle of wine at retail pricing and the corkage was free. Great value for a great bottle of wine. The gluten free pasta was very good. The salads were fresh and delicious. And the squash blossom appetizer was yummy! It is noisy but not so noisy that you cannot chat with your friends. The service is amazingly fast and friendly. Leftovers are boxed and put in a refrigerator behind the hostess stand for you to pick up on the way out - very fancy!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Great Italian place - very crowded, but they have community tables if you don't have a reservation. Super service and recommendations by the wait staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great ambiance in a casual setting in one of the few restaurants that offers great food and wine. If you appreciate a thoughtful wine list with unique offering across all price points, this is the place for you. The staff are very knowledgeable about wine.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I was so looking forward to get back to Cucina Urbana to visit with my peeps and enjoy smoe great pre-theater bites. They saved me the last table in the Atrium adjacent to the hostess station so I could keep an eye on everyone coming and going, lol, I’m nosey like that.

I had Brooklyn as my server again. I love it when the staff is on top of everything on the menu and off the menu. It was great to meet and greet some of the old friends still working there . They are all a great bunch.

I asked if they’d used up all the white peach infused liquors and Brooklyn said he’d check but he said the newest concoction or bar whim, called “Life’s a Peach” was amazing. They'd just made a haul of those white doughnut shaped peaches, I think called "Stark Saturns," from the farmer's market. The cocktail was made with peach puree, gin, sweet white vermouth and lemon crowned with egg white foam and garnished with an edible flower. Lprd help me! It was incredible, so fresh and the peach flavor, wow.

I started with the chopped salad with escarole, radicchio, casalingo salumi, caciocavallo, shishito peppers, cherry tomatos, ceci beans, castelvetrano, croutons with an oregano vinaigrette. The best salad hand’s down and enough to be shareable.

I decided since it was throw back Thursday I’d have a long missed item, the polenta board, literally a wooden serving board schmeared with a more than ample portion of creamy mascarpone polenta where the server runs a tablespoon back and for to make a moat for the chef's whim ragu. Tonight’s whim was sumac braised pork shoulder with fennel, onions and kale. Again a knock out of the park dish with everything so melt in your mouthdelicoius. I accompanied this lusciousness with Brooklyn’s recommendation, a glass of Montalbera Ruché di Castagole Monferrato, Piedmont, Italy, perfect with the ragu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Best Branzino anywhere. The very first time I tried Branzino, it was at Cucina Urbana. It was just the most amazing, delicious fish I had ever had. It was packed in salt and baked. That was a couple years ago. I've been to other restaurants since then and ordered their Branzino. None of the others ever came close. Alas, I was back at Cucina Urbana on Thursday and had the Branzino again. It was prepared differently, AND EVEN BETTER than before. I know they don't have it on their menu all year, but if it's on the menu when you go, I can highly recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Average food, and slow service! I had chicken with polenta and it was okay. My friends had trout and pasta bolognese and theirs was average. We were attending a performance at the Old Globe so we had 5 pm reservations. It took 45 minutes to receive our entrees so we had to rush. It ruined the meal. And it was my friend's birthday, so they rushed out a dried up cupcake with no flavor. Over all a very disappointing dinning experience. We will not be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Loved this place when we went there in April. Food was unique and excellent. Our server was outstanding. But was a bit disappointed when we went there last week. Food wasn't as good and the server was decent but not interesting and unique and informative, like the first time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our waitress was truly wonderful - she guided us to her favorites which matched our
preferences. Everything was delicious - from the starters through the main course to the
final gelato selections - superb in every way. This was our first time at Cucina Urbana, and
we will definitely be back - soon. The added convenience of a shuttle service to take us to
the Old Globe theater was terrific - we had a phenomenal evening, all in all, in San Diego!
Thank you all for the fine experience you are providing your customers!
Sincerely,
Mike and Pam Sanderson

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Organic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Lovely dinner for a lovely summer evening!
Not too heavy just right

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Outstanding meal and great surroundings. A great place to go after a day in Balboa Park or the Zoo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I made the reservation through OpenTable and wrote at the reservation it was a birthday celebration! I was expecting a good, sofá, nice by the window, table. But they gave us the worse located table from the restaurant.
I had been at this restaurant other times without a reservation and had a way batter located table!
And the food, this time, was not the best.
I had better days in this restaurant...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

A wonderful experience! The decor is elegant and classy without being overwhelming. The service was excellent and the food amazing, flavorful and made of fresh ingredients! The cocktails are always great! I highly recommend spotted lynx if you like mezcal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The food was delicious!!!! Grilled octopus was very yummy!! I like the birthday cake dessert a lot; the almond sponge cake was super good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The place and the food were both wonderful. The service was un-attentive and not the waiters fault. She was charged with two large parties and several other tables along with ours. Come on, it's not cheap here, hire some help. Nobody wants to be the diner who's waving his hand
because no one brings another bottle of water or the finished plates have been in front of you
for 20 minutes. It's called hospitality for a reason.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Been there twice and it's become a favorite. Conner, the Bar tender extremely knowledgeable

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great spot to go with a group. Wine concept is great. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 1, 2017

It was our Anniversary. When we were seated they brought us two glasses of champagne and cider for my 9yr old. Our waiter (Philip) was awesome and very knowledgeable about menu and wine selection. The food was delicious and over all experience was great. Made my wife very happy and that's what I was shooting for. Thank you and look forward to my next visit!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Diverse and interesting menu. Excellent and attentive service. Great wine list. Food was delicious.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great food, friendly servers, love the decor.there is a wide variety of food choices...from appetizers , main courses to desserts. I had a pasta with lamb that was delicious. The flatbread was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We went here before a play in Balboa park. The wait staff knew this, the Hostess knew this ( I had stated it when I reconfirmed the reservation). The wait staff was not engaging. The food was slow to arrive after ordering. They were non-communicative when we asked several times about our meals. The food was good but nothing to write home about. I love the cucina enoteca in Del Mar and will be going up there even thought I live much closer to Cucina Urbana. At least the staff there cares about your experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This restaurant is the BEST in SAN DIEGO.
It has everything to offer for a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Octopus was amazing. Fabulous service at both bar and main dining area. Excellent and reasonable pricing for the quality/service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Absolutely amazing dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food quality has gone down. No recognition for birthday even though reservation was made with this in mind and stated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Cucina Urbana is my go-to restaurant whenever in San Diego on business or pleasure. The food is excellent and there is always a great vibe. We've gotten to know server Kevin over the years and look forward to his recommendations for wine and food, not to mention friendship. Great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Awesome as usual. It is our go to spot in San Diego.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Cucina Urbana and their other restaurants ALWAYS provide superb service and excellent food. The wine list is extensive, and though they used to have more wines by the bottle from Italy, they still have one of the best and most interesting lists in San Diego. Whenever I look on open table and find they have availability, I book and go have a wonderful time. I wholeheartedly recommend Cucina Urbana and any of their other restaurants. Try the vasi of chicken liver and also of Burrata. They are delicious and enjoyable. The pasta are incredible and the pizza quite nice and authentically italian.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Food was sooo delicious! Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Wonderful as ever , my husband and I make this our date spot when in San Diego. Delicious , great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Excellent service to go along with excellent menu!

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I came here with my boyfriend to celebrate our anniversary and we had an amazing time!! We were greeted very warmly at the door and our server Philip gave us complimentary champagne on the house and made us feel taken care of. He was never in a hurry and took his time offering suggestions. We were extremely pleased with the quality of the food and the attention and pace of the service. We will definitely be coming back and recommending Cucina Urbana!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Cucina Urbana is fantastic! The staff was amazing; super helpful and polite, the food presentation was beautiful, and the flavors in the food, delectable. Second time there and can't wait to go back. Great champagne and wine selection.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food went down hill. The polenta was amazing! But the short rib pappardelle was burnt, so it tasted bitter. I should have sent it back but was so hungry. The lobster and clams pasta was very weak as in not enough flavors. We used to come all the time but not recently... seems like it went downhill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

It's our go to spot and always fantastic. Thanks again for a wonderful, fun evening.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Loved the hankerchief pasta with the lobster, clams, fava beans and lemon verbena

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Always a great meal. Delicious food and great service!
Pastas cooked perfectly, the grilled octopus appetizer delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We absolutely love this restaurant. The food and service are always amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Dining at Cucina Urbana is always a great experience. From the great ambiance to the amazing food (I'm not a pizza person but theirs is incredible) to the unbelievable service (the hostess remembered me from dining a month earlier and I don't even live in town). CU is always on my list of top restaurants when visiting San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.