Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About CUCINA urbana

Welcome to CUCINA urbana, a casual Italian American Neighborhood Kitchen and Wine Shop located in the heart of Bankers Hill. The menu highlights the cuisines of various Italian regions with a distinct California ‘farm to table’ flair for which the Urban Kitchen Group has become known. Chef Joe Magnanelli is excited to share his Italian heritage and create dishes that are fresh, simple and seasonal. Items include: antipasti, artisan pizza, pasta and piatti. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies). The space features contemporary elements and vintage artifacts creating the feel of a modern Italian kitchen combined with the history and comfort of an old rustic country farmhouse.

505 Laurel Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Bar Only | Friday + Saturday | 10:30pm – midnight | pizzas + vasi*

*Walk In seating only, no reservations

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2222

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-urbana-bankers-hill/

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison at 619.239.2222 extension 2. Or if interested in restaurant buyout opportunities, please contact Tiffany Tassano at 619.239.2222 extension 4.

Parking Details:
Street parking & Valet available

Public Transit:
CUCINAurbana offers nightly shuttles to and from the Old Globe Theatre.

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
EVERY DAY 5-6pm Monday + Saturday | 3-6pm Tuesday-Friday | 4:30-6pm Sunday enjoy our food and drink specials.

drink | house red or white wine $7 | moretti draft $4 | seasonal sangria $6 | well drinks $6
food | burnt brussels sprout $3.75 | parmesan fries $3.5 | margerita pizza $7

CUCINA urbana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (59)
Good for a Date (59)
Notable Wine List (57)
See All
Creative Cuisine (54)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Special Occasion (49)
Fun (42)
Casual (41)
Bar Seating (39)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Authentic (36)
Romantic (35)
Hot Spot (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Cozy (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Business Meals (15)
Seasonal (12)
People Watching (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Tapas (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
4107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Loooove this spot! Will definitely back! Amazing food, cocktails, ambience and fabulous service!!

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Had an amazing time and the food was wonderful. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing and beyond expectations! Short rib pasta dish and lobster/clam pasta dish = d'lish. Squash blossom app is a must!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely atmosphere. Fresh seafood and elegant dining. Housemade pasta is a must! Loved the shrimp linguine. Waitress was phenomenal and the bridal party had a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic! The hostess accommodated our request for a booth table, so we were able to sit back and watch the lively bustle of the restaurant and still able to hear ourselves talk as it is moderately noisy (like any big restaurant). Divided room makes it feel more intimate in a large space, the service was top notch and the food was wonderful as well. We shared small plates - highly recommend the brussels, burrata, truffle fries, and the fig salad. Will be coming back here again and again! So much more to try.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived too early for the reservation and took a chance to see if we were able to get seated. Ashley, the hostess pleasantly explain the situation which was understandable and within a few minutes manage to seat us to a table. Needless to say, from the get-go my wife and my experience here is outstanding!

Our server acknowledge the occasion and made our dinner experience wonderful and so very memorable. Her recommendation from concoction, appetizers, and entree was on point!

I will be a frequent diner base off the staff professionalism alone.

Thank you so much for the positive dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Although my table wasn’t ready when I came in, had an overall good experience

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

4 people, 3 different main courses. I had your "special" Papredelle and short ribs. (3rd time and was not a charm). Too many mushrooms, not enough short rib and gravy. Carrots and pasta undercooked. Very disappointed. Other main course dishes were very good. Fig salad and brussels sprouts were also very good.
Noise level off the charts.
So many other nice restaurants in town to try so wouldn't go out of my way to return.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great restaurant, lively with contemporary feel, attentive and friendly staff, good wine selection. Great pasta made in house. Good value for the quality. Don't go back to many restaurants but will look forward to coming back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Absolutely wonderful, as always. I usually get the same dish (Short Rib Parpadelle) but that night I ventured out and I got what the waitress recommended (Triangoli) and now I can't believe I had anything else. The food was beyond amazing, and my friend and I had the absolute best time. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Cucina Urbana IS my Favorite Restaurant in the San Diego. I have demanding requirements coming from NY and living overseas in Italy and eating genuine Italian food and Cucina Urbana I would recommend to all my colleagues, friends and relatives. Great food, great service, friendly accommodating hosts and worthy of coming back over and over. They never let you down.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

First, our server and her assistants were outstanding. My sons had the skirt steak which was good but a bit tough. The raga bean accompaniment was flavorless. My wife's Salmon was excellent but again the rest of the food on the plate was dull. My sausage and pepperoni pizza was excellent. The Duck Sausage Gnocci appetizer rated 4/5 but was just enough for two average bites for three of us. $205 with A generous tip for the great service. Probably won't go back. Overall value a bit below my cut off.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Cucina Urbana is consistently delicious. It is our favorite restaurant in San Diego

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Sadly disappointed. Food was good but rushed and then one dish arrived cold. Very noisy. There are many dining spots nearby that are superior to this in every way

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great food. Overall dinner took less than an hour, including wine, appetizer and main entree. You have to ask for the house bread, but it is very good! Servers worked different areas of restaurant, so we kept running out of water. Eventually I just got up and grabbed a small bottle of water to keep at the table. Recommending it! There was a couple there on an anniversary and a large group of girls for a birthday, we were there for simple date night of Italian food.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Love Cucina Urbana. But this time, our food was served lukewarm instead of hot. A little disappointing since i had a friend in town and had raved about this restaurant. Food was just OK. Guess i ordered the wrong stuff although the server recommended both dishes.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

That caramel budino is amazing!
The drinks are exceptional, too!

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Late-night Find, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We arrived for an early dinner and sat in a widow seat. It was a bit quieter, as the main part of the restaurant can be a bit loud when it's crowded. However, we love this place. The service is always wonderful, and the food is great! Good for after the theater or just an evening out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Always a great time at Cucina Urbana! It's so effortlessly delicious, the service is wonderful, and we always feel welcome there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Is my favorite restaurant ever. Kevin give us outstanding service and the wine manager too.

Tags: Seasonal, Vegan, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Restaurant week menu portions were disappointing, particularly squash blossoms. 2pieces we're not enough. Skirt steak flavoring was good but rough texture. Thank you to our server for being pleasant and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Restaurant week is fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Loved Cucina Urbana! I've been dying to try this restaurant for a couples years now and came with my mom and sister-in-law for Restaurant Week. Our waiter was really great and helped us make some really awesome choices on the menu. We had the Bucatini which was really good (a little spicy) and the Triangoli which has fresh cilantro and mint. Amazing! Burrata and stuffed squash blossoms for appetizers. The other really neat thing about the restaurant is you can go to the back and pick out your own bottle of wine. They are supposedly market price and then you pay a $9 corkage fee. The wine list was very reasonably priced!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Another amazing dinner at Cucina. Thank you for the bubbly to celebrate my husband’s & my anniversary! This will always be my go-to restaurant!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Bad all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Disappointed in Papardelli Pasta. Appetizers very good. Service just OK. Not very attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Love, love this restaurant. I have been going here since they opened and keep on returning. The shuttle service they offer to theater is a HUGE plus! Love it!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Totally awesome brah

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Cucina Urbana exceeded expectations in all ways! They have a friendly staff, great selection of wine, as well as a sophisticated Italian menu. We got the whipped goat cheese appetizer to start and it was fantastic. Then, for dinner, my girlfriend and I shared the date, bacon, and arugula pizza and an order of spaghetti! All fresh and you could tell it was homemade. Will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great tasting food. Liked the wine concept they offer, you pay retail price for the bottles and they charge you a corkage fe of $9, great!!! Worth dining there!!!

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great treat for lunch. Nice treat and relaxed atmosphere for friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Everything I ate was delicious. I had the chop salad, the Octopus salad, and the whole roasted Branzino w/ fennel, boned yet whole fish. Perfectly cooked.

Particular kudos to Priscilla, bartender, who should be called Jennifer. She was attentive, social, and charming in addition to being conversant with the whole menu. Fantastic Service.

Tags: Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Fantastic!!! We will definitely be back. Highly, highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Ask to sit in Kevin's section. He provides beyond stellar service and has been serving us here for years.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We were a group of four and we all enjoyed everything we ate during our dinner before going to the Old Globe Theatre.

The appetizers were delicious. We especially enjoyed the pate in a jar. All of our entrees were wonderful.

A special bonus was the car service to and from the restaurant. We simply left our car valet parked at the restaurant and were driven to and from the theater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2017

As usual, great food, great service, great wine. Went before theater at the Old Globe. Easy parking on 6th. 10 min. walk to the theater, nice walk back to the car. Don't miss the stuffed zucchini blossoms. Food and wine and service is all wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Do a great job getting people served before a play. Provide shuttle and valet parking for theater goers-- great service. Staff very helpful and friendly

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We had a nice relaxing meal here after a long day. The staff were attentive and helpful and the food was delicious. The decor is pleasant and in a good location

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The hamburger we ordered medium came out fairly raw. We had cut it in half to share and were pleased to see that they didn't try to recook the old one but got us a new one and circle back twice to make sure we were satisfied. Service was great and I really enjoyed it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We were in San Diego for Labor Day weekend and had heard this place had great Italian food! They certainly did not disappoint. We first started with a very nice Italian wine and then the burrata. We had a part of four so we decided in order to try a lot of menu items we would all share. We got the chop salad and the caprese salad, both were just ok. Our server had suggested the octopus and it was delicious!! For the main courses we tried 3 pasta dishes: the pappardelle, spaghetti and lemon verbena fazzoletti. By fair the pappardelle and fazzoletti were our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.