Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About CUCINA urbana

Welcome to CUCINA urbana, a casual Italian American Neighborhood Kitchen and Wine Shop located in the heart of Bankers Hill. The menu highlights the cuisines of various Italian regions with a distinct California ‘farm to table’ flair for which the Urban Kitchen Group has become known. Chef Joe Magnanelli is excited to share his Italian heritage and create dishes that are fresh, simple and seasonal. Items include: antipasti, artisan pizza, pasta and piatti. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies). The space features contemporary elements and vintage artifacts creating the feel of a modern Italian kitchen combined with the history and comfort of an old rustic country farmhouse.

505 Laurel Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Bar Only | Friday + Saturday | 10:30pm – midnight | pizzas + vasi*

*Walk In seating only, no reservations

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2222

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-urbana-bankers-hill/

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison at 619.239.2222 extension 2. Or if interested in restaurant buyout opportunities, please contact Tiffany Tassano at 619.239.2222 extension 4.

Parking Details:
Street parking & Valet available

Public Transit:
CUCINAurbana offers nightly shuttles to and from the Old Globe Theatre.

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
EVERY DAY 5-6pm Monday + Saturday | 3-6pm Tuesday-Friday | 4:30-6pm Sunday enjoy our food and drink specials.

drink | house red or white wine $7 | moretti draft $4 | seasonal sangria $6 | well drinks $6
food | burnt brussels sprout $3.75 | parmesan fries $3.5 | margerita pizza $7

CUCINA urbana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (87)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Modern Decor (50)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Notable Wine List (44)
Hot Spot (40)
Romantic (40)
Fun (39)
Bar Seating (39)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Casual (26)
Cozy (26)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Business Meals (24)
Authentic (23)
Comfort Food (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Wood Oven (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Happy Hour (14)
People Watching (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Family Style (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Seasonal (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tapas (7)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Organic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great Beer (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (3)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
3842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants. Great food and service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Great wine selection, food is good and the overall ambiance is nice for any occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

The burrata we were served was spoiled and made both my boyfriend and I sick for 24 hrs.

The service was not good at all. Our server barely checked on us and was obviously occupied with larger parties in our seating area.

I normally love Cucina for a celebratory dinner but was very disappointed this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Service was exceptional from the wait

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Cucina Urbana remains the best restaurant in San Diego, as it has been for some years now. Perhaps a little strange an Italian place should hold that crown but it indubitably does. It's more trattoria than ristorante and boy is it good. If you like having a lot of luxe small bites this is the place. Four of us shared a terrific pesto/mozzarella pizza, a salumi/cheese/nut platter expertly selected by the waiter, a big bowl of sauced bucatini with poached eggs, a plate of arugula, prosciutto and burrata. The Sienese sommelier was fun to work with and put up with me without laughing once (that I saw). This meal was not cheap but worth every dime--the ratio of quality to price is very high indeed. Just put yourself in the hands of the staff and have a good time. By the way the staff, wait and greet, is uniformly and genuinely nice without a whiff of the snootiness all too frequently encountered in good places. These folks know what they're doing!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Rare goof with branzino entre. But it won't keep us from coming back .Over all The restaurant is excellent and we always enjoy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This restaurant has always been one of my favorites especially as pre-theater as they offer a shuttle to the Globe. Unfortunately twice we were left with no rieturn ride. This last time we were told the shuttle was on the way when in fact it had not left. We called twice and then walked back to the restaurant. This was fine as we are healthy enough to do that but I have been with elderly customers who could not have made the walk. I understand that stuff happens but the manager only wanted to give excuses and not even an offer of a dessert once we returned. I have been coming to Cucina Urbana since they opened. The staff knows me an are excellent ...the manager a concern!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Perfect service and food for a special day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great atmosphere and professional friendly service! I arrived 30 mins before the reservation time but was seated anyway.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Good for the value

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great date restaurant with incredible food and very reasonable wine prices (no markup just corkage fee).

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Best Pizza anywhere served in a real vibrant atmosphere with excellent service.

Tags: Wood Oven, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent service and love the pre theater leisure supper and shuttle.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had an 8:30pm reservation and were not seated for 15 minutes and there was no where to sit while you wait...kinda awkwardly in the way of everyone. Usually not a big deal but I just had ankle surgery and really needed to sit down for once! While our waiter was by no means rude, he was very quiet and barely said two words to us the entire time we were there. We asked for recommendations and he just pointed to 3 items that he said were good. He was right! They were delicious but it was kind of odd still. Also we waited (not exaggerating) a full 30 minutes for our food. This was after we had ordered drinks and an appetizer. Appetizer only took 10 minutes so it was weird that a small pasta dish and pizza took 40 min total to come out. Overall I would DEFINITELY recommend the food here and the ambiance. I would just advise you to be prepared when you arrive that your reservation may not be ready and that it takes quite a while to get your food. We enjoyed our date and the conversation so it was no problem to us but if you were really hungry you might get hangry lol.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The service was excellent just make sure you make a reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I have been going to Cucina Urbana for many years. It has truly deteriorated and I shall not
return. Sad as it used to be my favorite. I vote with my feet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 10, 2017

After reading mixed reviews about the service and noise level of this restaurant, I was reluctant to give it a try for dinner and instead went for lunch. The service was TERRIFIC ! The environment is upbeat, bright but cozy and fun. My friend and I shared two plates...one being the beet salad which was one of the best I've had . The other, lamb lasagna, was just OK and something I wouldn't recommend.
But all in all, dining at Cecina Urbana was a good experience and one I would do again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 10, 2017

OMG! What an amazing meal! Our son lives in San Diego and picked the place. We don't usually give 5 stars across the board but there was no fault. We loved the special cocktail "Photo Finish", and tried 3 antipasti and 3 pastas. We will absolutely go again on our next trip to San Diego.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Just love this restaurant. Whenever we are in San Diego we make sure to have reservations. Excellent food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food and service was great....love the polenta!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Yum yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmj

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We are a frequent diner at this restaurant. It never disappoints us. We had the Coppola spicy pizza and it WAS SPICY. I loved it my my husband thought it was a little too spicy. The burrata caprese was delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The spaghettini with shrimp was great. Love the liver pate. great service and lovely staff from hostess to wait staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We had five gentlemen in town for a business meeting and unfortunately Cucina Urbana doesn't have round tables for five so we ended up as five at a table for four. Food was wonderful. We had skate, zuchini flowers and charcuterie to start and pastas and veal marsala for mains. The wine list is appropriate for the food and prices are very reasonable. Service was very good. I look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Pizza was totally burned and should have sent it back.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The deep fried and stuffed squash blossoms were amazing. My husband enjoyed his pizza. I found the fresh pasta (I ordered the bucatini) pretty underwhelming. The flavors were muddled. We'd happily go back, but would skip the pasta next time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Really good food and always interesting choices. Priced well. Our only complaint would be the noise level. Do not take your elderly parents there!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The service was great, the food tasty- but felt way overpriced, loud and crowded seating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went with family for Birthday Celebrations. Great experience. Great Food,

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Cucina urbana is one of our favorite eating experiences in San Diego, we look forward to the classic menu items [pizza's] and the new items that are offered. Also, you guys have it right in so many ways, thanks for pricing your wines fairly that is a direct interest in your clients and we will make it more there soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I love to bring our friends here because then they rave about me knowing the best restaurants! I can always confidently brag and boast about CUCINA because I know they will never disappoint. We had two bottles of Ramey and the other couple had one bottle of red, they liked it so much that they bought one to bring back to Phoenix. We wanted to order the appetizer with pork and risotto but the server steered us away from that and to the tomato-mozzarella salad. Bad suggestion so we ended up ordering the appetizer that we initially wanted anyway. The Atmosphere is fun and energetic which makes the entire evening exciting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food and service, nice decoration and fair price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Recommended by a local foodie while visiting San Diego. Authentic italian cuisine, handmade pasta and great selection of wines. Very affordable!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Organic, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My new favorite place -
Great atmosphere, food and server, friendly staff , shuttle to the Old Globe...
Perfect !!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of our favorites in San Diego always consistently good very friendly staff but not a place for private conversation

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food and professional service
Our server recommended a wine similar to the wine that we had last time (they were out of the other) and it was very good and close in price $46
Thanks for great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great innovative drinks! We started with the Burrata & Roasted Garlic Vasi, accompanied by the Roasted Chicken, which was delicious! Wonderful place to dine pre or post-theatre!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 1, 2017

It was very good dinner for us. Seems very popular as it was packed and busy on Tuesday night. Dishes were good except for octpus which was obviously overcooked and we felt like eating charcoal...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our server, Kevin, was fantastic! He read our group's personality and timing well. He was very knowledgable about the menus/ dietary options. His suggestions were spot on! We had a great time. The food, service and ambience was outstanding & the wines were priced well. We were in town a few years ago and had lunch and this time we were lucky enough to enjoy dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Cozy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Service was rushed. Pasta excellent. Don't bother with cheese plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.