Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About CUCINA urbana

Welcome to CUCINA urbana, a casual Italian American Neighborhood Kitchen and Wine Shop located in the heart of Bankers Hill. The menu highlights the cuisines of various Italian regions with a distinct California ‘farm to table’ flair for which the Urban Kitchen Group has become known. Chef Joe Magnanelli is excited to share his Italian heritage and create dishes that are fresh, simple and seasonal. Items include: antipasti, artisan pizza, pasta and piatti. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies). The space features contemporary elements and vintage artifacts creating the feel of a modern Italian kitchen combined with the history and comfort of an old rustic country farmhouse.

505 Laurel Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Bar Only | Friday + Saturday | 10:30pm – midnight | pizzas + vasi*

*Walk In seating only, no reservations

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2222

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-urbana-bankers-hill/

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison at 619.239.2222 extension 2. Or if interested in restaurant buyout opportunities, please contact Tiffany Tassano at 619.239.2222 extension 4.

Parking Details:
Street parking & Valet available

Public Transit:
CUCINAurbana offers nightly shuttles to and from the Old Globe Theatre.

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
EVERY DAY 5-6pm Monday + Saturday | 3-6pm Tuesday-Friday | 4:30-6pm Sunday enjoy our food and drink specials.

drink | house red or white wine $7 | moretti draft $4 | seasonal sangria $6 | well drinks $6
food | burnt brussels sprout $3.75 | parmesan fries $3.5 | margerita pizza $7

CUCINA urbana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (102)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Special Occasion (67)
See All
Creative Cuisine (64)
Notable Wine List (60)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Modern Decor (53)
Hot Spot (49)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Bar Seating (44)
Fun (42)
Romantic (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Cozy (34)
Casual (31)
Good for Groups (27)
Authentic (27)
Comfort Food (27)
Business Meals (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Happy Hour (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
People Watching (21)
Wood Oven (21)
Family Style (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Open Kitchen (16)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Seasonal (10)
Tapas (10)
Healthy (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Vegan (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
3929 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

If you're in the Balboa Park area, this is a fabulous choice for an excellent meal. Particularly recommended are the octopus appetizer, branzino, and steelhead trout

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Sadly, the food was horrid. The place was half empty (in the past it was a hard rez to get). Could this be the end of something good? I really hope not. However, I don't want to take a chance again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous fresh food. Wonderful service. Such reasonable wines !!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, tables nicely spaced, good service & au courant ambience. A repeater!

Tags: Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent menu and reasonable wine prices for bottles which you can select from racks in the restaurant. Lively and fun atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Business Meals, Wood Oven, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Loved Kevin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love this place, always delicious food and excellent wine selection! Can't get better!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Cucina never disappoints! We come here as much as we can. They remember us every time and know where we like to sit! Can't beat it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

B-Day Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had an excellent meal with our daughter & her boyfriend while visiting San Diego. In fact, it was the BEST meal of the entire week, and we are picky "foodies". I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a delicious, high quality meal in a classy setting.

Tags: Vegan, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Outstanding food. Chicken Fra Diabolo was sublime, cooked to perfection. The caramel dessert was wonderful. So creamy. Waiter was excellent in guiding us in our choices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Awesome restaurant! Vibrant atmosphere and amazing food!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great service, amazing food! Strongly recommend and will return again and again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always amazing experience. One of the best restaurants and gastronomy experience. We love the Caprese Salad (amazing) and the pork chop is just extremely delicious!! The octopus is an amazing appetizer.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Café Urbana is upscale Italian in all the right ways. The ambience is a little on the casual side, but sophisticated. Totally fine for a special night out. Noise level is moderate to loud. The dishes are authentic Italian yet with enough of a twist in ingredients to keep the flavor profiles fresh, interesting, not trite. Antipasti were inventive yet approachable. Everything we ordered was excellent with some teensy missteps. The ground lamb in the ravioli was too coarse. Gave the little pillows an awkward flavor and texture and the pappardelle were cut a little too thick. Service was knowledgeable and congenial. Our server suggested family style options for various dishes which made our meal more festive. They had a terrific wine promo that evening (perhaps standard practice?) buy your wine from their adjoining retail market and they serve it only charging a corkage fee of $9. You can be a bit more adventurous without breaking the bank. Overall a good value for the experience. I'd definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Past and pizza was very good. Casual dining with great service. Nice wine selection.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Delicious from start to finish ..,,,appetizers were prepared and served on point server knew the menu the entrees were cooked perfectly... and the desserts were yummy,

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Enjoyed the trout immensely; tasted and looked just like salmon!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent post and pre theater! Really enjoyed the polenta board.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great service and great food, the waiter had intimate knowledge of the menus and made very good recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 30, 2017

really wanted to like this place. such glowing reviews. but ultimately, the best was probably the salad. the other appetizers and entres were really ordinary. also a little too salty. the atmosphere was good, service was good. but overall not excited.

Tags: Tapas, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fantastic food and great waiters. The decor is beautiful and it's a comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent pre/post theater!
The food and drink menus were very creative. Presentation and "narration" of cheese plate was friendly and well done. The osso buco was amazing and the lamb filled triangular raviolis were so unique and delicious. As mentioned the wait staff was very friendly, but might want to mention that clanging the empty "sharing" plates is rude and disconcerting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service....this place is kid friendly too - the diy pizza was a hit with our 6-year-old....we enjoy visiting this place for special occasions and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Really enjoyed the pesto-olive pizza and chopped salad

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent food and great service. Large selection of wine by the bottle.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It was so wonderful to see so many of my peeps still working especially my great server Antonio when I stopped in for a pre-theater bite.

I started with my favorite cocktail the Il Zenzero, gin, Canton ginger-flavored liqueur, jalapeño, cucumber, basil and lemon. It’s so pretty and just that perfect burst of freshness.

I started with my standard, the chopped salad with escarole, radicchio, casalingo salumi, caciocavallo, shishito peppers, cherry tomatos, ceci beans, castelvetrano, croutons with an oregano vinaigrette. It is one fabulous salad full of super fresh ingredients and it’s definitely shareable. I brought half home.

I had the pasta entrée, the special of the evening: ricotta filled agnolotti pasta with bay shrimp and crispy salume in a burre blanc sauce and topped with, fresh today, Susie’s Farm flowers and shaved vegetables.

Antonio recommended this incredible white wine, hard to describe but wonderful, I’d could buy a bottle or three, “Etna Bianco” Benanti Carricante from Sicily.

I chose a dessert to pick up after the theater to take home: the caramel budino with espresso meringue and devil's food cake crumble. OMG the velvety creaminess caramel made me want to bury my face in it and lick the ramekin. This is the best budino I’ve had since the butterscotch at Pizzeria Mozza back in the day.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great spot for a special occasion or date night. Great wine list and bottle shop in restaurant. Delicious craft cocktails, and good appetizers. Their main sizes vary, and you may need to order a side with things like fish or chicken. Pastas are a good size.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We had several small dishes. Each was flavorful and satisfying. Wait staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Close enough to walk to/from Old Globe. Very pleasant time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The atmosphere is fantastic! Beautifully decorated and a unique look. Wine and signature cocktail list are impressive . That's where it ends for me. We had an 8:45pm reservation and felt our waitress was phoning it in at that point. We were served wine and salad and watched bread served to surrounding tables . Waitress nowhere to be found. Needed to ask the young man clearing out salad plates for bread. Entrees beautifully presented. I ordered the chicken fra diavlo it was so fatty that I could not eat more than a few bites, the broccolini was so undercooked that I could not get a knife through the long stalks. Our second entree was the Mediterranean Sea Bass delicious but a tiny amount of sea bass . Overall would go back only to have a glass of wine and a salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Love this restaurant 2nd time here while visiting son in college, will be back on next trip to SAN Diego!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Family Style, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The server was very friendly, and informed our food choices; the wine was great - we ended up bringing a bottle home; and the menu was delicious.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Kevin was terrific and added to the experience of our evening. Great food as always! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent wine list! The bottle prices are all retail which is great if you want to take them home, but if you drink at dinner it's a $9 corkage. Still...great selection and the staff seemed extremely educated on every bottle. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The grilled octopus was the star of the show but other than that, I thought the food was a little pricey for what you received. The ambiance made up for the okay food but I don't know that I would go back there again.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The ONLY restaurant that has fun and creative non-alcoholic drinks. One of the best service mentality in San Diego and that is hard to find since the industry here lacks expediency and attentiveness while not being overbearing (I worked as a server for 10 years here in SD). Excellent food, excellent service. Best place to dine for everything. Period.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Tapas, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Perfect for Lunch or dinner, pre/post theatre. Food, service and ambiance wonderful. Highly recommend

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had great food and the service was excellent. Staff were very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Lovely attentive service and delicious, high quality food. Excellent presentation and the crowd was professional and good-looking. A+

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.