About Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

2730 Via De La Valle
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Say hello to the sister restaurant of San Diego’s award winning CUCINA urbana! CUCINA enoteca’s menu features Italian classics with a modern twist, traditionally coursed or served family-style, and made with the freshest local, organic and sustainable ingredients.

Join CUCINA for an afternoon of Failla Wines and antipasti on Saturday June 11th. Call the restaurant to reserve your spot.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Lunch | Saturday | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Afternoon Snacks | Saturday + Sunday | 2:30pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Brunch | Sunday | 11:30am – 2:30pm

*Walk In seating only, No Reservations

Cross Street:
San Andreas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 704-4500

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-enoteca-del-mar/

Entertainment:
We feature live music on Sunday's for Brunch from 12 - 3pm.

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison Cupper at 619.239.2222 extension 2.

Parking Details:
Valet and Self Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Diego
Italian
North San Diego
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

fit for foodies (125)
notable wine list (88)
good for groups (87)
See All
hot spot (84)
special occasion (82)
vibrant bar scene (77)
neighborhood gem (67)
great for lunch (55)
romantic (34)
great for brunch (29)
kid-friendly (22)
late-night find (13)
great for outdoor dining (8)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We made a reservation a few days in adva ...

Dined 4 days ago

We made a reservation a few days in advance and were a little nervous after reading the reviews concerning how loud the restaurant might be. Nonetheless, we arrived at 7:30 for our reservation and were seated promptly in the main dining area by the friendly hostesses. Noise level was appropriate - no trouble having a conversation yet appropriate din to provide an energetic atmosphere. Our waiter was incredibly conversant about food preparation and made excellent suggestions as all menu items sounded so good we couldn't make up our mind. The Burata salad, veal, and special pasta of the night were incredible. Equally fantastic was the dark/milk chocolate mousse praline dessert. This is definitely a restaurant you should keep on your rotation if you live in the area and visit if you're from out of town.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of my all-time favorite rest ...

Dined 5 days ago

This is one of my all-time favorite restaurants! The menu changes with the seasons and is always fresh and creative! The atmosphere is lively and it always just feels fun there! I LOVE that they have the attached "retail wine store" - I've actually stopped by before just to pick up a great bottle on the way home from work. The concept is a fresh and clever as the menu! That's why I chose it to celebrate my birthday - they spoiled the daylights out of us... from the fried zucchini flower appies to delicious, colorful cocktails and amaze-balls for desert! Thank you Sharon and our awesome server (Ryan Reynolds look-alike, according to my friend!) and everyone else there!! I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well located off Interstate 5. Food is a ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Well located off Interstate 5. Food is always excellent & atmosphere is always fun. Good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

excellent food, service and atmosphere. Would like less noise!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Too noisy.

Dined on June 6, 2016

We left before ordering. The noise level was so loud we couldn't hear or talk to people sitting across the table. Would not go back, as we have been there several times and it's always been noisy, although this time was the worst.

food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down, the very best octopus I've e ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Hands down, the very best octopus I've ever had. Tender and delicious! The servers are absolutely lovely and sociable. Great hospitality all around.

food4
ambience5
service3

One of my favorite places in San Diego, ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

One of my favorite places in San Diego, love the ambience here. I personally enjoy the appetizers the most. The service is usually great and servers are knowledgeable and cool.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

pork chop special was the best

Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband - a total foodie - ordered the pork chop special and said it was the best pork chop he's ever had in his life. I think he almost cried. Good job!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special occasion

Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I visited for her birthday and we were so pleased with the food and the experience, we will be sure to make the restaurant part of our regular rotation. The New York strip was an odd cut with small a-typical bones for the cut. It was undercooked and tough. Seasoning was good. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Berkshire osso busco was delicious! We ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Berkshire osso busco was delicious! We were celebrating my moms bday and the restaurant did a wonderful job with surprising her with a dessert.

food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was good except the bucantini ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything was good except the bucantini was way too salty especially after I ask to go easy on the sodium.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brussels And meatball

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great Brussels And meatball

food5
ambience2
service4
value4

I asked for a quieter table when I made ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

I asked for a quieter table when I made the reservation over a month ago and they put us right by the bar which was horribly noisy - we were friends who never see each other and could barely hear each other in order to catch up. The food was wonderful and everyone loved what they ordered. Brussel Sprouts - FANTASTIC. It was a Friday night so I probably should have known, but it would have been so nice if our request had been honored. Even a few more tables removed from the traffic would have been great . Service was lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great meal with friends

Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was wonderful...especially the polenta board...wow! Excellent service. I've never had a bad meal here. The only downside is the noise level...the dining room is large and noise is amplified by the surroundings in the room.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful meal and great wine. Th ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Had a wonderful meal and great wine. The service was attentive and server very friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing experience we had! The f ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

What an amazing experience we had! The food was incredible ( must try the polenta!), so waste wine list. Great atmosphere and our waiter, Scott, was so knowledgeable about the food and wine. Loved it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love this place. Food is very dependable ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Love this place. Food is very dependable, great bar and drinks, and last time really had a cute, attentive waitress. One of our favorites.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food, love the servers! Very k ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Love the food, love the servers! Very knowledgeable servers, especially Rachel!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have never walked in here without bein ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I have never walked in here without being greeted by an enthusiastic scene. The food is delicious and great for sharing.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was Great! Food was great! Rec ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Service was Great! Food was great! Recommendations were outstanding! A little loud for easy conversation but the service and food overshadowed that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy

Dined on May 9, 2016

Very flavorful food & many of the menu items are naturally gluten free.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

good does not disappoint!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had another great dinner here. The pappardalle was delicious and we always enjoy the squash blossoms. They changed their beet salad - it has way too many wierd seeds on top of it now, giving it a TOO CRUNCHY texture. Please change it back! Other than that, our dinner was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

The squash blossoms are outstanding, the ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The squash blossoms are outstanding, the burger was very good and the overall experience was great

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and great food.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service and great food.

food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Not enough cheese

Dined on May 7, 2016

I ordered the pizza, which was very forgettable. I will remember it, however, as it only had a couple of dollops of goat cheese. It really needed more cheese- it was very dry.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & great wine at reasonable price

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was incredible. Loved everything we tries especially the polenta . The wine is sold at retail prices & they add $8.00 corking fee. Wine that we usually pay $90 at restaurant was $48 so $56 with the corking fee. Service was great & ambience cool fun vibetrio

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

way too loud!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

way too loud!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening!

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I have been to Enoteca several times and it is always a fun experience. The restaurant/bar is very lively and a great place to meet people or just people watch. The cocktails are great, with a wide variety of well crafted choices. We ordered the mushroom, goat cheese pizza and had a great beet salad as well. We have also really enjoyed the short ribs. The wait staff is usually very personable and the ambiance and decor is hip and trendy. Overall, if you are looking for a fun, lively and trendy place with excellent, imaginative food, this is one of North County's better choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was absolutely delicious but servic ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious but service left A LOT to be desired!!! Very loud but great atmosphere and decoration.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Stylish yet cozy restaurant,can't wait to go back!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I love this stylish yet cozy restaurant. The food was awesome, my pasta dish was delicious and the parm and truffle fries were fried perfectly, although I wish there were more cheese and truffles on them. The presentation of the desserts were good looking and tasty too. My husband had the pizza, we had to bag it because we had too much to eat, but when we reheated them in the oven, they were still very delicious! Overall a really great experience, however we do wish the waiters there can be a bit friendlier in general.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caesar salad

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Wonderful restaurant but it needs to fix its caesar salad. It is simply not edible.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was perfect for a special occasion!

Dined on April 25, 2016

I have been to Cucina Urbana several times (when I lived in San Diego and after moving away) and have always loved it. When a work retreat brought us to Del Mar, I knew I had to try Cucina Enoteca. I was not disappointed at all! I was recently diagnosed with celiac disease and I am pregnant, so my food options were limited. Michael, the GM was extremely helpful over e-mail beforehand to ensure me that there were still plenty of options to eat. Our server at the restaurant (Matthew I believe) was amazing, confirming my dietary restrictions and answering all my questions. We ordered a salad, gluten free pasta and risotto. I don't usually love risotto but this one was amazing! My fiancé was hesitant to order it since he wasn't sure about the ingredients, but he loved it too (although was very nice and let me finish it off for him). Matthew was also great with wine pairings for my fiancé. We will definitely be back the next time we're in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointing Enoteca

Dined on April 25, 2016

Wine list was good, service was good. Food was underwhelming. Ordered apps, assuming they'd be served at the same time. Nope. Focaccia came out a good 5 minutes before the giant meatballs we'd hope to have with it. Osso bucco was completely flavorless, and the bland side of beans served with it did no favors. Pizzas were fine, but nothing special. All in all a disappointing meal for a special family event.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4

We went there for desserts after an even ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

We went there for desserts after an event with my wife. Can see where they were going and are interesting twists with candied rosemary and thyme but just didn't do it for me. Their polenta with ragu that we've had in the past is amazing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than ever

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We often dine at Cucina Enoteca, but our last meal was outstanding. The addition of the Arctic Char entree is not to be missed. Like everything on the menu, the chef does an excellent job of combining the freshest of ingredients for fantastic creative cuisine. We also always enjoy the wine list, and the opportunity to try something new. The servers are knowledgeable and able to make great recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely return

Dined on April 16, 2016

Amazing Food, fun and eclectic decor. We were seated in a corner window banquet. It was a great place to watch the restaurant come to life. And come to life it did. Clearly a lively set of people frequent here with family, friends and dates on a regular basis. If we lived closer, we would become regulars too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Just ok...Pricey wine.

Dined on April 15, 2016

They push the bottled wines and appetizers big time. Food is reasonably priced. Wine though of good quality is expensive. Seems like high end Del Mar singles hangout. No that impressed.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience!

Dined on April 10, 2016

We went for a birthday dinner with some friends and had an incredible time. We brought a couple bottles of wine and the corkage was reasonable (and we ordered a couple more). The food was all excellent, especially the barrata. We shared various small plates and it allowed us to taste a lot of great things on the menu. We'll definitely be back to work our way through the rest of the options.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great vibe, good food. Pate is delicious ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great vibe, good food. Pate is delicious! Menu a little limited, but wine selection superb. Noise level too high for group conversation, but otherwise, a great neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.