Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

Say hello to the sister restaurant of San Diego’s award winning CUCINA urbana! CUCINA enoteca’s menu features Italian classics with a modern twist, traditionally coursed or served family-style, and made with the freshest local, organic and sustainable ingredients. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies).

2730 Via De La Valle
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Lunch | Saturday | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Afternoon Snacks | Saturday + Sunday | 2:30pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Brunch | Sunday | 11:30am – 2:30pm

*Walk In seating only, No Reservations

Cross Street:
San Andreas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 704-4500

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-enoteca-del-mar/

Entertainment:
We feature live music on Sunday's for Brunch from 12 - 3pm.

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison Cupper at 619.239.2222 extension 2.

Parking Details:
Valet and Self Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (50)
Good for a Date (50)
Notable Wine List (44)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Fun (36)
Special Occasion (34)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Casual (30)
Hot Spot (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Good for Groups (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Authentic (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
People Watching (20)
Cozy (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Business Meals (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Healthy (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Family Style (10)
Wood Oven (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Seasonal (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tapas (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vegan (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Spicy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing meal.

Squash blossoms are out of this world; crispy and stuffed with goat cheese in a light oil with undertones of citrus. I mopped up every bit of it with bread... Eggplant appetizer was superb; cooked and marinated but served cold with a head of garlic baked to perfection -- spread it on breads and toasts. The flavor and temperature contrasts were enticing. Arugula Salad was light and fresh; a great counterpoint to the mushroom pizza with caramelized onions and goat cheese with a bass note of truffle oil tying it all together.

I took my wife here for her birthday and its fair to say that this is now our favorite restaurant in San Diego.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

We went here for our Anniversary. The food was fabulous and our waiter was so gracious and friendly. Highly recommend for a nice evening out!
The Polenta Board was incredible. I don't typically like polenta, but I could eat this everyday.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was outstanding! Great food - 5 people all ordered something different and each loved it. Very pleasant evening. I would highly recommend Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Have been here a couple of times. This was our third time but we have a bad experience. We had a reservation but waited another 30 minutes to get seated. Once seated, it took 90 minutes for us to get our food. Once the food arrived, the pizza was burnt but we were too hungry (and it was already 10pm) to send it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything about this restaurant was great... food, service, fun decor and ambiance although it is noisy. After we left, however, I was shocked to notice a corkage fee assessed for wine we purchased there. I called and the reception desk said that this was correct. I feel like this is deceptive... just make the bottles the price to cover service! I have never experienced this anywhere else!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was our first visit to the restaurant and I was very pleasantly surprised! The food was excellent great wine list and the ambience was beautiful. I think it's going to be our new hotspot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I go often they always have wonderful food and drink!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food was good. Except for the mussels. Most of them were very small and dried out. I had some that were a good size. Our server was ok. He didn't seem very appreciative or welcoming. He didn't do a good job explaining the food when we asked. I don't think we're typical clients to the Del Mar area but we should still be treated like any other. Fyi, we're both very well educated just don't drive an expensive car and have a ton of plastic surgery, which seems to be a thing for that area. The desert was great and at least that was a good way to finish of the meal. We like the look of the restaurant and I guess that's why we come back every so often in hopes of it being better. This time it was ok.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I had been there last summer and had a great dinner. This time, took my boyfriend for his first time, and my best girlfriend and her husband, who have eaten there before. Great bar, awesome menu choices. Menu changes, but stuffed blossom appetizer is always on. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Cucina Enoteca is a go to favorite! The mussels were oustanding and my vegetarian pasta dish was so good I already want to return and order the same thing. I love that you can order an entire bottle of wine and for a modest (9$) corkage fee you can take it home. The wine list is extensive and they sell it at retail prices. Part of what sets them apart. We prefer to sit downstairs but if you end up upstairs you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Really cute restaurant, great service, great food and wine. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My favorite dish has always been the grilled octopus at Cucina Enoteca. This time it was way to salty for my taste. The Pizza was great and so was the pasta. Nice place to dine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The experience was wonderful! Our server Rachel was great, the staff members were on point, and they took my request for a corner table by the window to heart and made it happen. I look forward to the next experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Pasta was runny, too much water in the sauce.
Pizza had salt flakes everywhere. 1st bite was awesome, then salt got to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Not sure what happened to the food here. Last time I came here it was great. This time the food was mediocre. The Brussels sprouts and pizza were a big disapointment.
The server was very nice but seemed to have been given to many tables at one time.
I hope when we return they have things worked out.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great place for all occasions-groups, kids, happy hour, date night!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We requested and ate on the roof, which was delightful

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Authentic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food is really tasty. They have this option where kids can make their own pizza and they will bake it. They bring pizza base with sauce, cheese, and toppings on your table. Kids loved it.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was Father's Day. The reviews seemed quite unanimous that it was an overall great place to eat. We arrived 12 minutes early but was able to immediately sit down. Everyone from the Host to the waitress were very welcoming and friendly. I ordered an iced tea and the waitress stuck a lime wedge on the glass rim instead of a lemon wedge and was extremely apologetic. Despite me saying that it was totally fine, she replaced it and brought a small bowl with both lemons and limes in it. That's how great the service was. We got the Spaghettini, the Mushroom Pizza and a Big Meatball. The spaghettini noodles were cooked al dente which were perfect. The puttanesca had a great, deep tangy flavor. The pizza was also tasty; it had a thinner crust was had a good chew to it. The mushrooms were flavorful and worked well with the milder goat cheese. The meatball was fairly big, maybe not as big as I thought, but was packed with smoky flavor and was sitting in a bowl of a chunky marinara. Overall, the experience was great, and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Been here many times and was disappointed with the quality of the food and a little disappointed with the service as well. My husband and I don't get out much with a 1 year old at home, but we made special arrangements for my birthday and we were definitely let down.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The papardelle pasta/short ribs is one of the best dishes I have ever eaten. FAN-TASTIC.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Consistently great food, among the best in North County in its price range. Very friendly staff. Nicely done decor. Reliably excellent dining.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This is the third time in a row that with (more than a week ahead of time) reservations we get some of the worse seats. Next time I'll ask to wait for the seats by the window, just a shame that we don't get those by default. Should be first come first served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Sorry but my pasta entree was less than dazzling. Our squash blossom starter was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Their wine list was spectacular, and including everything from low-cost quality wines to truly "the good stuff". The decor and ambience were top-notch, and the service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Food was outstanding. Service was good and attentive. A bit pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

really nice place to take loved one or family and there is always some good wine and we have always had a great meal. people are friendly and service is very good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very nice fun vibe at Cucina Enoteca! Most of all I enjoyed my meal, and we found the wine to be a great value, too. The service was excellent and all of the staff were friendly and welcoming. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great Californian Italian. Loved the grilled octopus. Pasta was fantastic. The tagliatelle with short ribs rocked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

A bit noisy but nice place with good food. Would recommend for couples or groups.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great food, nice atmosphere!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is our local "go to" place for good food and fun experience. Didn't disappoint...always have the polenta board (a must). Shannon was an extraordinary server.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Delicious menu selections on par with Cucina Urbana in San Diego. The urban decor made me want to check out every little detail of the restaurant. Food was amazing and service as well. The staff attended to all our needs. It's a good place for friends, family, and dates.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Always a favorite, never disappoints. Great food. Love the ambiance

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Cucina Enoteca is the Restaraunt that always delivers. Since it's opening it has been our favorite Go To spot. The hardest question is what to order and the biggest problem is not over eating.
To complete our dining exeperience, Ryan is simple the best. We always feel welcomed and he is a great person.

You cannot go wrong making a reservation here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We were the first table in our section to be seated and the last to finish, not because we lingered but because service was so slow and inconsistent. There was a long lull between starters and entrees. When our entrees and sides arrived, the truffle parmesan fries were cold. Our server did not checked back after entrees were served. Other tables were offered fresh grated parmesan for pasta dishes, but our server couldn't even be found to ask her for cheese. It somehow felt as if we were being personally dissed. We would have ordered dessert had the server not disappeared. We love Cucina Urbana bit have never found the same love for Cucina Enoteca. Doubt we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wife's Birthday

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food, outstanding service! We will be back on our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was good but service very scattered and erratic detracting significantly from overall experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.