Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

Say hello to the sister restaurant of San Diego’s award winning CUCINA urbana! CUCINA enoteca’s menu features Italian classics with a modern twist, traditionally coursed or served family-style, and made with the freshest local, organic and sustainable ingredients. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies).

2730 Via De La Valle
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Lunch | Saturday | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Afternoon Snacks | Saturday + Sunday | 2:30pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Brunch | Sunday | 11:30am – 2:30pm

*Walk In seating only, No Reservations

Cross Street:
San Andreas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 704-4500

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-enoteca-del-mar/

Entertainment:
We feature live music on Sunday's for Brunch from 12 - 3pm.

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison Cupper at 619.239.2222 extension 2.

Parking Details:
Valet and Self Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (41)
Notable Wine List (41)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Creative Cuisine (40)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Modern Decor (33)
Fun (33)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Bar Seating (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Casual (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for Groups (23)
People Watching (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Cozy (20)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Healthy (17)
Wood Oven (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Authentic (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Romantic (14)
Family Style (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Seasonal (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Tapas (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Vegan (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Cucina Enoteca is the Restaraunt that always delivers. Since it's opening it has been our favorite Go To spot. The hardest question is what to order and the biggest problem is not over eating.
To complete our dining exeperience, Ryan is simple the best. We always feel welcomed and he is a great person.

You cannot go wrong making a reservation here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We were the first table in our section to be seated and the last to finish, not because we lingered but because service was so slow and inconsistent. There was a long lull between starters and entrees. When our entrees and sides arrived, the truffle parmesan fries were cold. Our server did not checked back after entrees were served. Other tables were offered fresh grated parmesan for pasta dishes, but our server couldn't even be found to ask her for cheese. It somehow felt as if we were being personally dissed. We would have ordered dessert had the server not disappeared. We love Cucina Urbana bit have never found the same love for Cucina Enoteca. Doubt we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food, outstanding service! We will be back on our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was good but service very scattered and erratic detracting significantly from overall experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Timely reservations. Customer service was ok, but didn't feel friendly or homely, and bit slow. Had to wait for an hour to get our food. I ordered short rib parpadelle. Short rib was lil bit too salty and the parpadelle was bit too hard and dry for the taste. I ordered mushrooms pizza to go and it was such a big disappointment. The pizza got burned with ton of black spots all around the crust and underneath the crust. We had to throw the entire pizza away!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Really want to like this place, but very difficult to eat here as a vegetarian. Even the salads are a bit difficult to navigate. Had to add greens to the beet salad to avoid a bowl of beets. Also gluten-free options are gluten-free pasta or a salad. The food is good but the noise factor makes dining unenjoyable. You will be yelling over guests at other tables, who are literally yelling at their dining partners to be heard. It's a place to be seen, it's trendy, it's cute. Been here twice. Since I like dinner convo probably won't return. If you like fine wine, they have a great wine list.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This place used to be one of my favorites but this last time wasn't so great. It was very loud, they didn't have our usual Rosé and we were told that they had just enough for 1 glass. Later, our server recommended a soup, it sounded so good so we ended ordering it and then he returned and said that they didn't have it anymore. It was very busy and looked like they were understaffed. I hope they can fix this because I think this is a lovely place and very close to home!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We had a great experience there tonight. I need go get the name of our server, because he was great. The chocolate gelato was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was easily the best brunch we have ever had. Ever. Seriously. The choices, the atmosphere, the music. Everything. It was exceptional. We were here for Mother's Day brunch and every single person in our party raved about the food and especially the desert options. It was kid friendly too, with our three kids acting their ages (8, 5, and 5 months) and nobody batted an eye-- they had their kids with them too!

While we had previously only dined here for dinner, this is our new brunch spot.

Go! Enjoy!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent Mother's Day brunch! Cocktails are great, and service was very attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love this place! The food and service is consistently excellent, especially the Bucatini!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Decent food at an extraordinary high price. Service was the worst we have ever experienced. We had to ask four times for bread. We waited over an hour for refills of our drinks. The wait staff was inattentive, had no idea of their menu items and what to recommend. Most disappointing was that it really is NOT a kid friendly restaurant. If you are looking for a nice family dinner or have a special teenage birthday event, avoid this place at all costs!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Cucina Enoteca never disappoints. Love the grilled octopus, and the mixed grill is delicious. The craft cocktails are creative and yummy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Certainly a "happening" place. Extremely noisy. So loud, in fact, that everyone was yelling to be heard. Food was okay. Though Brussels sprouts were delicious, meatballs were dry. It was next to impossible to get a coke (requested it three times from two different people) and water refills were also scarce. Really wanted to like this place but doubtful we'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We went for my daughters birthday and we're. Completely surprised by the great food and attentive service.

We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good food and ambience, unfortunately the staff in gerneral there are always rude, unfriendly, especially the receptionists are a bit stuck up (we've been here at least 3 times). With this kind of service, don't think we will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful food! First time at this location, we usually go to Cucina Urbana.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We have come to really enjoy dining at Cucina Enoteca. We live in San Diego, but enjoy meeting at this restaurant with friends who live in North County. The setting here is so much more open feeling than the original Cucina Urbana in Banker's Hill. The food was fabulous! The polenta board was excellent; chef's salad - family style was so good; grilled octopus delicious; date and ricotta pizza tasty and generous (leftovers for lunch); the bucatini completed the meal! And talking wine with their wine director was great fun!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Our family was in town for our daughter's 16th birthday - delicious meal - great cost - dishes large enough to share and sooo good. Must try the fried squash blossoms!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Fun restaurant with good, reasonably priced food and friendly competent service. I have been to this restaurant before and will go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I recently enjoyed my birthday dinner at Cucina Enoteca and had a wonderful experience. The food, decor, ambience, service and wine were all amazing. Highly recommended!

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent place, urban restaurant just like NYC in San Diego! Excellent service from Dolly who was super friendly to our daughter as well:).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A beautiful place for people watching offering delicious foodie meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, People Watching, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I brought some friends here to celebrate the birthday of one of them, and they were all pleased with the ambience from the vertical herb garden at the entrance to the wine collection as you walk in. Our waiter was great, everyone loved the food specially the lemon ricotta stuffed zucchini flowers and the mushroom pizza. We had a great time!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always a fun dining experience. Was surprised how crowded it was for lunch yesterday! Very noisy. Should have chosen the quieter of the two rooms.

The octopus app was amazing. So tender!

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

From the moment you enter the restaurant every single employee treats you with excellent service. That, coupled with delicious food makes this a 5star experience in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great experience! Delicious food, fantastic waiter recommendations and a little treat for my birthday. Perfect evening!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The women at the host desk gave us a warm greeting when we arrived, and had us seated immediately. They gave us a table up top on the patio which was lovely. It was warm outside so it worked really well. Our server, I forget his name, but I think that he is Italian, was very friendly. The service was very good, and our food was very good as well.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great place to go for a nice dinner out. Has a good vibe, great ambience, and the good and wine selection is great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food was great, ambiance is so lovely. Our server was good but it overwhelmingly so. The wine was wonderful - they have an extensive selection. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 17, 2017

There are some nearby shops so you can walk around before and/or after you dine. Menu choices aren't run-of-the-mill. I chose a chicken dish which was quite good. My husband's pesto pizza, on the other hand, wax very salty. Squash blossom appetizer was great. Nice wine shop at front of restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We were there for an early Easter dinner and loved it. Our group of 6 sat in the bar and started with appetizers and cocktails. Ryan was amazing with his suggestions and great service. The grilled octopus, squash blossoms, brussels sprouts and rib eye carpaccio were all top notch - delicious! I couldn't believe it but we all kept ordering and shared a few pizzas, a salad and the pappardelle. It was really all excellent and a great atmosphere. I give the evening a 5 star!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch. Great as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing decor! I would come back for the visual aspect alone. Food was wonderful as was the staff. Will be making this a regular stop.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My first experience here was for Easter Brunch and everything was exceptional. The character and decor are spot on being very unique, modern, light & airy. The food was excellent. We were a group of 6 and every single person had raving reviews. The Bellinis (especially Guava) were a favorite.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance that was comprised of cool aesthetics, people having a good time and most important, a dialed in and attentive staff. I noticed the servers on their game but was impressed at the manager/managers flowing through the rooms and hawking the tables.
A Totally professional organization.

Ps. we were trying to get to a Belly up function and the staff accommodated us swiftly and without any grief,
cheers

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great evening at Cucina Enoteca. It all began with selecting our wine, being seated in the diNing room and starting with some appetizers. Our wait staff did an excellent job, never rushing us and making sure we had everything we needed. We ordered our entrees and after enjoying dinner we finished with two decadent desserts for the four of us. I would definitely recommend this restuarant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service, friendly staff and the food was absolutely delicious. No TV's and no loud music so
although the restaurant was packed, the noise level stayed comfortable. Our first visit, but we're going to be regulars from now on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We happen to love cocktails and the 3 of us had, between us, a "Brooklyn", a "Sazarac", and a Negroni. The Negroni was declared excellent, the Brooklyn was okay, but my husband was disappointed with the Sazaraac. We think the difference may be that these are among the barrel aged cocktails. Next time, something simpler will do! we loved the octopus appetizers, and the mussels were delicious, too!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

excellent as always
excellent as always
excellent as always

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.