About Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

2730 Via De La Valle
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Say hello to the sister restaurant of San Diego’s award winning CUCINA urbana! CUCINA enoteca’s menu features Italian classics with a modern twist, traditionally coursed or served family-style, and made with the freshest local, organic and sustainable ingredients. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Lunch | Saturday | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Afternoon Snacks | Saturday + Sunday | 2:30pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Brunch | Sunday | 11:30am – 2:30pm

*Walk In seating only, No Reservations

Cross Street:
San Andreas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 704-4500

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-enoteca-del-mar/

Entertainment:
We feature live music on Sunday's for Brunch from 12 - 3pm.

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison Cupper at 619.239.2222 extension 2.

Parking Details:
Valet and Self Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (34)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Creative Cuisine (32)
See All
Fun (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Bar Seating (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Good for a Date (29)
Modern Decor (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Casual (26)
Great for Lunch (22)
People Watching (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Happy Hour (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Business Meals (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Authentic (13)
Romantic (13)
Cozy (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Healthy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Family Style (9)
Wood Oven (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tapas (6)
Seasonal (5)
Organic (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1029 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was exceptional. Our Sea Bass was cooked perfectly! Our server Server (?) was wonderful...she got right away that we just wanted to chill, enjoy the food and talk. The desserts were fantastic...I'm jonesing for that chocolate peanut butter bar! Wow!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was great , food was great would go back again

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Sunday brunch menu ok but prefer regular lunch menu.

Love that decor and ambience. Food very good.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was excellent. It was extremely loud in there and very hard to talk or hear. I was disappointed in the fact that I told him we were celebrating both an anniversary 49 years and my husband's birthday and they didn't do anything

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice; I don't often go out for this level of dinning - I like things a little more casual - but when I do, it always the best. Very pleased with the blending of flavors and textures. I was a little sad they didn't have their osso buco on the menu, but hey, we both loved our food.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was fantastic, our waitress had great suggestions, was knowledgeable about the menu and we ended up with a perfect meal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was okay. Service was really slow. This place isn't on my recommend list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love this place. We've never been disappointed. Everything arrives better than you're expecting in presentation and taste. The wine choices are great and affordable, though we previously knew the least about Italian wines and thought they were overpriced. The hostesses and servers seem genuinely friendly, not obsequious. If you call that you'll be late, they tell you no problem, we'll have your table waiting. Finally, a fit for foodies restaurant in Del Mar.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always good food and good service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food, very taste and varied. Had a wonderful bottle of wine, great squash blossoms for starters and pasta for main course. Great fruit cobbler for desert

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and drinks. We went for Sunday brunch. It was pretty open at the time yet they sat 3 different couples in the corner very close to each other. Could have used the space better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had squash blossoms (great but $14 for 3 seemed steep), pizza (goat cheese and mushroom, very good), sea bass (good, but no bargain) and a sandwich (very good). Service was good but the restaurant was not crowded. We would go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food and service, but on a Thursday evening the noise was deafening, so much that my ears rang upon leaving. I would suggest lunch or an off noght. I have been there before and loved the food, and specials.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I have dined many times at Cucina Enoteca in Del Mar and have enjoyed every meal. This time, service was excellent but my Smoked Chicken Salad was not my favorite. The chicken was dry and had way too much "smoke". I'll go back to my staple menu items next time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Tried on a whim as we could not get into our favorite restaurant in South Park. This is close to our house and we were very impressed! Food, cocktails and dessert were delicious! Bolognese, chicken and affogato....with a blood orange martini. All wonderful! We will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Sara, our server, was great. The Food Was good. The Wine selection, decent. The Ahi tuna starter was the size of a potato chip, for 15$... don't order it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Absolutely outstanding. Food was marvelous and the service was perfect. I would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My friend loved her meal however this time my gluten free pasta was very average , seemed uncooked and rather boring. Our server was great and it was a fun atmosphere so it was still a nice night out, just not sure I will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Really pretty place. Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were late for our reservation due to traffic and they were very accomodating. Great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We came for the chef's whim Risotto and was very disappointed in the Thaitian risottos in an Italian restaurant , won't do it again

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Good food! Great service!excellent wine menu. Enoteca is great for quick drink and apps or entree's. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is just a del mar fave. Have lived through many a restaurant in this space. Cucina is here to stay. Fan faves are the lemon four cheese arugula pizza the papparadelle and duh the squash blossoms. Austin was an amazing server so attentive and patient with us especially during crazy restaurant week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

pizza was super bad, even thought the waiter recommended it. I told him the pizza was not nice and he then said its a new item on the menu. My frustration level were rising at this stage.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

One of my fav restaurants now, close to the house, nice ambience, good bar and food

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Enjoyed Restaurant Week with friends. Great brussel sprouts. Loved polenta and short ribs. Great wine.

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Went their for Restaurant Week and well work the drive and the dining experience. My friend and I had a great time and the food was Yummy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

fabulous fresh pasta. good veggie options. very tasty and we'll seasoned food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Really good food. Great atmosphere. Recommend reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. Everyone loved the meal each dish was better then the other. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Good restaurant for the under 40-crowd, but not us old-timers. Very crowded and noisy with no grey-hairs in sight (except me). Food well prepared, but a bit pricey.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Restaurant Week is always a gamble when you return to a favorite. Overall the meals and service were quite good, except for the mussels starter - they arrived cold and just weren't good. Our server replaced them with a chopped salad, which had something chewy and unpleasant in every bite, so that was a miss as well. The stuffed squash blossoms, a must have each time we go, were served differently - no crema and lots of citrus drizzle. They didn't look as nice as usual, but I loved the citrus sauce, and there was enough for dipping, so that was an nice change. Our friends really loved the beet and tomato salad, and we all liked our mains, especially the sea bass. They ran out of one featured dessert before 8pm (?!?!) and substituted another. The chocolate peanut butter tarte was TINY!!! About 3 inches long with three little dollops of meringue around the side??? Tasty, but stingy compared to everything else. Definitely NOT regular size. We did appreciate the chance to order from the regular menu as well as the prix fixe RW menu, so all in all still highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great Sunday brunch. Besides bottomless bellinis & mimosas, they have a nice antipasti bar which could fill you up by itself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good selection of wines. Nothing was outstanding. Nothing was bad . Food was presented well. Tasty. Nothing bad to say however it wasn't memorable. Good , solid. I'd go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Better than ever at a recent visit for lunch with out of town visitors. One of the best moderately priced wine selections and knowledgeable help particularly from the sommelier. Perfect all around.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Love the burrata, the octopus and the specialty cocktails.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Amazing service, amazing food, just overall wonderful.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great spot for lunch. Although service was spotty at best, the experience was good. Food was good. We ordered additional veggies and fries, and they came after we were all finished. Additional tea was ordered, but never arrived

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This has become our favorite place to go on the weekends. Kristian is the most friendly, outgoing server I have ever met. He really completes the overall experience of dining at Cucina Enoteca. I can't wait to book our next reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food is delicious as always, sound almost unbearable to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food great service.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This was our first time dining here. We came to celebrate our anniversary and we were absolutely eased with the entire experience. From when we entered the restaurant and we were greeted with "Happy Anniversary " to the complimentary prosseco to toast with after we sat down. The ambiance was warm and cozy. We were sat at the corner table at the window that was comfortable and private. Our server was excellent and he recommended amazing dishes. The polenta appetizer and pork chop entree were hands down incredible. We will definitely be dining here on a regular basis after our experience this past week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Food was great very creative but bring your glasses and flashlight the lighting is very dim and the writing is small. Also the happy hour is delicious but I wasn't impressed by the lack of visits from the server we had. Overall good experience.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We eat at Enoteca Del Mar somewhat regularly, and have several favorite dishes and wines. On our most recent dinner visit, we arrived around 40 minutes before our reservation time, so decided to sit immediately at the "bar" near the pizza oven. The food was as tasty as always, and the waitress was so attentive that we were finished before our reservation time. Great food, great ambience, and in and out in 40 minutes.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Was surprised to note such a difference between Del Mar and Irvine locations. The Del Mar site was a notch above its Irvine sister in the manner of service, cuisine (presentation), and cocktails. The key was attention to detail - : ) Kudos to the manager and chef!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great resturaunt recommend to all. Service outstanding for superb

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Elegant Italian restaurant with a modern look, a great menu, and a special attention for kids. Ours were glad to make their own pizza and told us it was the best they've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Simply said: Brilliant. Masterfully executed on every level, from ambience to service to food. James strives to make his guests feel like VIPs and Brian and Kelly are an incredible service team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent, great all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were for new years eve and it was amazing. Incredible waitress and Wesley the Wine guy was so festive and smart and funny. We felt welcomed with our kids - the bathroom notes also made me weep. Such a unique idea . Food was incredible.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.