About Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

2730 Via De La Valle
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Say hello to the sister restaurant of San Diego’s award winning CUCINA urbana! CUCINA enoteca’s menu features Italian classics with a modern twist, traditionally coursed or served family-style, and made with the freshest local, organic and sustainable ingredients.

Join CUCINA for an afternoon of Failla Wines and antipasti on Saturday June 11th. Call the restaurant to reserve your spot.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Lunch | Saturday | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Afternoon Snacks | Saturday + Sunday | 2:30pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Brunch | Sunday | 11:30am – 2:30pm

*Walk In seating only, No Reservations

Cross Street:
San Andreas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 704-4500

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-enoteca-del-mar/

Entertainment:
We feature live music on Sunday's for Brunch from 12 - 3pm.

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison Cupper at 619.239.2222 extension 2.

Parking Details:
Valet and Self Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Thank you for celebrating with us! Both our regular menu + a special 4-course prix fixe menu will be available. All reservations prior to 9:30pm will have a 2-hour dining limit, thereafter, guests are invited to ring in the New Year at the table. No reservations for our bar + community areas.

Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
North San Diego
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

Fit for Foodies (53)
Notable Wine List (53)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Special Occasion (45)
Hot Spot (45)
Good for Groups (41)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Modern Decor (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Fun (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Casual (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (20)
Happy Hour (19)
People Watching (18)
Business Meals (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Cozy (15)
Authentic (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Family Style (12)
Wood Oven (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Healthy (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
933 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved everything about this place- the f ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved everything about this place- the food, the feel, even the wish wall in the women's bathroom! HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caught up with a dear friend over dinner ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Caught up with a dear friend over dinner at Cucina Enoteca. The ambiance is so cozy and we were both very happy with our entrees. She got the braised beef papardelle and I tried the polenta special. For two glasses of house wine, a shared appetizer and two entrees the bill was $100! We split - but let's face it, $50 is still a really nice night out.

My only complaint - we were stuffed!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Can't wait to go back. Great atmosphere ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Can't wait to go back. Great atmosphere, excellent food.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to celebrate the l ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I went to celebrate the last night of our honeymoon. From the moment we entered the restaurant, we felt like our special occasion was special to the staff too. Shannon, the general manager, greeted us with a friendly and excited welcome. She showed us to our corner booth table (which was perfect for both romance and people watching). Rachel introduced herself as our server. She was fantastic! Extremely friendly and personable.

In addition to the fantastic service, the food was delicious! There were specialty items listed on the menu that we had not previously experienced. The option to indulge in white truffle shavings was certainly a favorite of mine. Overall and in every category, our experience was top notch!

Both my husband and I would recommend this spot if you're in the Del Mar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite restaurant. Healthy foo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

My new favorite restaurant. Healthy food choices with a California spin, large wine selection (since it is also a wine shop). Bright and airy ambiance with lots of throw pillows makes you feel cozy and happy. Can get very noisy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and atmosphere but can get no ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food and atmosphere but can get noisy at night. Reservations are a must!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server, Matthew, was fabulous. He wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our server, Matthew, was fabulous. He was super informative and friendly. We all loved the food, and we enjoyed all of the cocktails and wine. My parents couldn't say enough nice things about the restaurant upon leaving! This is a great place to take people visiting from out of town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

mediocre service was a big mistake for o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

mediocre service was a big mistake for our party. normally big spenders.we left a decent tip but could have been uphold easily. maybe not enough servers or too noisy. no personality or engagement about menu, not so good responses to questions. food was mostly quite good. one appetizers missed the mark.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

This was our first visit . . . and we'll ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was our first visit . . . and we'll be back! The service was impeccable and personal, the food delicious. We had the giant meatball , so big that we had to take half of it home; the polenta with vegetarian sauce, we ate every bite; and the mixed grill, also huge and SO tasty! Can't wait to come back and try the pizza.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ate there twice, food was outstadning, t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Ate there twice, food was outstadning, the service was a little slow.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was interesting. Some dishes appea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was interesting. Some dishes appealed to me, some did not. The most negative item is the high level of noise. I was with some people that I wanted to talk to and found it hard to have a conversation without shouting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Pleasantly surprised by the value for th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by the value for the food. We ordered a 4-item cheese plate, entrees, bottle of wine and coffee and got out for $130 for the three of us. The food was excellent, the server knowledgeable and friendly. I always order pappardelle when I see it on a menu and mine did not disappoint, with large portion of short ribs in it. The others enjoyed the agnolotti and the bucatini also. We shared a bottle of the Idyllwild cabernet (I think) which was terrific IMHO. It's a fairly noisy place, though, so maybe not for those with hearing difficulties.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Casual, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great place to share lots of different c ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great place to share lots of different classics and rare gems. The grilled octopus, stuffed squash blossoms and the meatball (yes, a meatball!) were to die for. However, the best part was the wine and the wine service. Wesley was a fabulous wine host and helped us tour our wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have never been disappointed at any U ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We have never been disappointed at any Urban Kitchen restaurant. We especially like this restaurant because it is not far to travel -- and always worth it -- and for its wine shop. The food, ambiance and service were, as always, extraordinary. We like the way we are made to feel special whenever we come. The truffles on our last visit? OMG! Never a moment's hesitation is recommending this restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and ambiance. Service was exc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food and ambiance. Service was excellent. Vast wine selection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great dinner and meal. The fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was a great dinner and meal. The food and service were fantastic. It was a little loud while we we there, but the restaurant was packed and the energy was high, so some additional noise was expected.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for 30-60 year olds looking to min ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great for 30-60 year olds looking to mingle. Very loud, too loud to talk. If your looking to party in Del Mar this is where you want to be. Food is mediocre

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

It is an amazing restaurant with awesome ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It is an amazing restaurant with awesome food. We will be back many more times.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good ambiance. A little slow ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food, good ambiance. A little slow on the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful as always we celebrate B-Days ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful as always we celebrate B-Days here and never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience, just think th ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always a great experience, just think that it's very tacky that when the server suggests that a bottle of wine is more economical then by the glass, then with out telling you they tack on a corkage fee??? Very tacky.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

delish mushroom pizza! Always good! Burr ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

delish mushroom pizza! Always good! Burrata salad with arugula and prosciutto, also a hit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love❤️It... Great atmosphere, great food ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Love❤️It...

Great atmosphere, great food just right👌

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good, casual atmosphere. Can be loud. Me ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Good, casual atmosphere. Can be loud. Menu can seem limited after visiting a number of times. Good wine list.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

What a delight - I met a friend halfway ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What a delight - I met a friend halfway for lunch and took a chance on a restaurant neither of us had visited before. The ambiance, service, selection and food at Cucina Enoteca could not have been better. I will definitely make it a point to be back! The fig pizza, beet salad and bottomless mimosas were perfect. Enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always. Fit for foodies. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent as always. Fit for foodies. Everything is nuanced and "special."

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Authentic, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great wine list!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food and great wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What happened to the previously great st ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

What happened to the previously great stuffed squash blossoms?? They have been on the menu from day one at Cucina Urbana and Enoteca. They used to be primarily squash blossoms, now they are small zucchini with a microscopic blossom attached. There is nothing to stuff so you essentially pay top $$$ for one of the cheapest foods one can buy, zucchini. 4 baby zucchini cost our table $14.00!!! This has happened 2x in a row. These would be $4.00 even at Chino's, where they are readily available. There is almost no ricotta filling as there is no blossom. The chef must think no one notices but we do! This is only 1 example of this restaurants continual decline in the quality of the food. It used to be hard to get a reservation but now you can walk in almost anytime. There is a reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food is really good! We had a pizza ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food is really good! We had a pizza to share that was almost as good as being in Italy. The risotto was delicious as was the daily sugo over polenta. Lovely service. Only disappointment was that we told the hosts that we were celebrating a birthday but the message didn't get to the waitstaff so no special moment there. Too bad, because the place is pricey and we were there specifically to celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food at this place is always good. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food at this place is always good. Service is superb.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was not my first time to this place b ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

it was not my first time to this place but food was not the same at all, and I was asking for extra mushroom and waitress completely forgot! so I dont recommend my this time visit! but last 3 years i wend was fantastic! i hope they dont loos their quality!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

One of my favorite places to eat in SD, ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat in SD, but I wouldn't recommend this place for a date night since the tables are jammed right next to each other.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We met a co-worker who happened to be in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We met a co-worker who happened to be in town for vacation. The front desk staff leaves much to be desired. There were three people up front, one young man with glasses who never did acknowledge our presence, a young women who was obviously new and a more senior young woman who was on the phone. We were the only people waiting to speak to the staff up front. The more senior young woman was on the phone and the other two did not acknowledge our presence. We had a reservation, so we waited patiently as they do have a pretty good wine selection at the entry point to glance through. Once the phone was hung up, the young lady smiled and assisted us. We were seated at a nice table. Our waitress was outstanding! She was attentive and answered questions, took our order and let us visit. She even joked with us when one of the folks at our table spilled a glass of wine. The food was outstanding. We ordered two pizza's, two salads and rigatoni! The restaurant itself is really well decorated, modern and warm at the same time. Our waitress was awesome, the wine was good and the food was great! It's a little loud and the front desk staff leaves some to be desired...but the wait service and the food far out weights any negative. Eat here! You will not regret it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The grilled octopus was fantastic! The d ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The grilled octopus was fantastic! The desserts, extraordinary. The service, awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Del Mar. Creative men ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Best restaurant in Del Mar. Creative menu especially for a vegetarian. Wonderful wine list. A really happening place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mushroom pizza was delicious. Arugula s ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Mushroom pizza was delicious. Arugula salad with prosciutto, tomatoes and burrata was wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

It has been better - we had to wait a lo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 13, 2016

It has been better - we had to wait a long time for our reserved table and no where to sit down to wait - we were a small group but the plates/food came out very far apart so was awkward and getting cold ...very loud and tough to have a conversation - food was not up to par ... we go to Cucina A LOT ...but i was disappointed in front of my friends .

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Terrific food, loved it. Kinda noisy, h ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Terrific food, loved it. Kinda noisy, hard to carry on a conversation in the evening though.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we eat at Cucina Enoteca, the ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Every time we eat at Cucina Enoteca, the experience is less than wonderful. The ambience is awful and the noise level is through the roof! After each time we say NEVER AGAIN! Well, we tried it again yesterday... Not sure why. The noise was only 3/4 as bad as usual, but of course it was only the lunch crowd. And the food was delicious. We each had a pizza and they were both yummy. Guess that's why we keep going back. But don't expect a relaxing experience. Hurry up, eat and get the heck out of there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My daughter came for a visit and I wante ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My daughter came for a visit and I wanted to treat her to s lovely lunch. My daughter had been there before and loved the decor. She ordered the beet and avocado salad and practically licked her plate. It contained all her favorites. It's become our venue whenever she visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.