About Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

2730 Via De La Valle
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Say hello to the sister restaurant of San Diego’s award winning CUCINA urbana! CUCINA enoteca’s menu features Italian classics with a modern twist, traditionally coursed or served family-style, and made with the freshest local, organic and sustainable ingredients.

Join CUCINA for an afternoon of Failla Wines and antipasti on Saturday June 11th. Call the restaurant to reserve your spot.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Lunch | Saturday | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Afternoon Snacks | Saturday + Sunday | 2:30pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Brunch | Sunday | 11:30am – 2:30pm

*Walk In seating only, No Reservations

Cross Street:
San Andreas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 704-4500

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-enoteca-del-mar/

Entertainment:
We feature live music on Sunday's for Brunch from 12 - 3pm.

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison Cupper at 619.239.2222 extension 2.

Parking Details:
Valet and Self Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
North San Diego
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

fit for foodies (122)
good for groups (82)
special occasion (82)
See All
notable wine list (81)
hot spot (73)
vibrant bar scene (70)
neighborhood gem (61)
great for lunch (52)
romantic (36)
great for brunch (23)
kid-friendly (20)
late-night find (12)
great for outdoor dining (12)
Sort By:
Newest
827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The dining area next to the bar is extre ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

The dining area next to the bar is extremely noisy! This is not the area to sit in if you want to converse with your party.

Always love the food- this time the vegetables were undercooked ( I mean more than al dente ) and wrong salad was served. Waiter was nice but appeared somewhat frazzled and not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Delicious but very noisy and dessert wai ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious but very noisy and dessert wait a long time. However, manager immediately comped it. Very professional...I would return

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I told the waitress that I need to be gl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I told the waitress that I need to be gluten free and she seemed receptive, but didn't offer any insight into what I should avoid. So I ordered the Paperdelle with gluten free pasta which tasted great! However, I had GI issues for the next 24 hrs which tells me maybe the sauce was not gluten free. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

The food, service & wine are fantastic. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food, service & wine are fantastic. Do not skip the polenta board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here on a Saturday during Comic-C ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We ate here on a Saturday during Comic-Con weekend, so it was weirdly quiet. We arrived around 12, and there was only one other table beside us. I really liked the interior - quirky and creative! Sadly the patio was closed, so we were seated inside the restaurant. The service was top-notch! We never had to ask for more water; the servers were very attentive. Granted, there were only about 5 tables, but still, I've had worst experience in similar situations. I ordered a pasta dish - the pasta was perfectly cooked al dente, the braised short ribs were so soft, it melted in my mouth! Such wonderful flavor! My fiancee ordered a sandwich - she didn't like it very much, and neither did I. It was boring and bland, but the parmesean fries were really good. Our grandma ordered the lamb sausage pasta and she absolutely loved it! We are definitely coming back for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very attentive staff and service was gre ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very attentive staff and service was great. Love the new items on the menu, the love loaf, the mussels and of course had to order the signature squash blossoms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FOOD was overpriced and when I told our ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

FOOD was overpriced and when I told our server that it was my husbands birthday, he did nothing special....I had many coupons from other restaurants offering a dessert and some a meal...I should of gone there for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was delicious. Very trendy place wi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was delicious. Very trendy place with great ambiance. Made reservation through Open Table. They could see our reservation, but took 10 mins to seat us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great special occasion place for the gir ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great special occasion place for the girls! It's fun to pick up a gift in the gift shop before you get seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the pizza topped with figs, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We ordered the pizza topped with figs, arugula and nuts.

It was served hot - just delicious!!!

Loved the peanut butter dessert topped w/chocolate.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my 2nd time there and it's beco ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was my 2nd time there and it's become my favorite restaurant. The food is creative without be overly foo-foo. Augusto Ferrarese, the wine director came over and had a very friendly conversation with us. Gave us his card and said the next time we come to call him directly and he will make our reservation for us. Our waiter (sorry I don't remember his name) was gracious, kind and sweet. The water glasses stayed full. The fried squash blossoms are a must have! I want to go back just for appetizers. Next time I will make a reservation for the patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, especially the squash bl ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic food, especially the squash blossoms!

Great wait staff.

Love the energy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum Great place

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Yum

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service and food are both excellent! Thi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Service and food are both excellent! This was my second visit and both times were equally excellent. I have already recommended to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time at Cucina Urbana's sister re ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Second time at Cucina Urbana's sister restaurant. Overall, great experience. Hostess seemed in a rush to seat us and did not converse with us on the way to the table. A manager (?) and busser were lifting seat cushions up near us and having a loud conversation. Seemed they were in their own little world and we were in their way.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful experience, loved the calamari ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful experience, loved the calamari. Great place for first date. Might be alittle loud inside bar at night for some people. Up stairs is great for less noise.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always delicious but today the cavatelli ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always delicious but today the cavatelli with lamb sausage and tomato sugo was amazing. My 7 year old remembered that she liked it last time and requested it again. Definitely a hit! Maybe it should go on the kids menu too instead of just buttered pasta? Thanks to Brian for excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place for the food and fun dri ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Love this place for the food and fun drinks. It's a cool atmosphere. The food is high quality, flavorful, and interesting. There's always new, creative cocktails. The charcuterie never disappoints. Service is inconsistent considering it's not cheap and they're trying to cultivate a rather high-end experience. Hostesses are young and not super professional. I understand they could be learning, but I worked at 17 at Starbucks and learned pretty darn quickly how to provide good customer service, at least the basics of smiling, looking in the eye, being welcoming, attentive to your guests. It could have been busy, but it seemed like water was always empty. Nothing to be upset about, but opportunities to really do better and create an all-around great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I am a frequent visitor to Cucina Enotec ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I am a frequent visitor to Cucina Enoteca. I have always enjoyed my meals. The manager came around at the beginning of our lunch and that is always a nice touch.

I ordered the burrata prosciutto caprese salad for lunch. Nice presentation and very tasty. My friend ordered porchetta brie panini. The waiter did not describe the sandwich well. She thought she was getting sliced pork. She received a sandwich with sliced ham similar to deli ham. It was good, but not what she thought she ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrific service and yummy food! We were ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Terrific service and yummy food! We were very late for our reservation and they were very gracious about seating us when we finally arrived. We did let them know on a regular basis our status and did not expect a table to be available when we arrived. It was quite a pleasant surprise. And greatly appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We recently visited the San Diego area f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We recently visited the San Diego area for a week and went to several restaurants -- including Jakes, Il Fornaio, Fish Market, Hilton's Coastal, and L'Auberge. Our brunch at Cucina Enteca was in another category ... So much better than the others. To begin, the place has a delightful decor. The entrance is a wine shop with eclectic choices, which you can select and enjoy with your meal. The ambiance overall is delightfully comfortable and interesting, like being in an a cross between an art gallery, an upscale kitchen store, and the best farm-to-table restaurants we enjoys in NY.

The menu and food are exquisitely interesting .. and the execution does not disappoint. At brunch, they feature an "anti-pasta" bar that is hard to describe. It is far more than you expect -- with fresh roasted veggies, savory meats, fine cheeses and breads, hot dishes, and scrumptious deserts. We had both Fratata and Breakfast pizza and they were fantastic. The cocktails are also very good and a great value. The service was attentative and friendly. I'd especially encourage foodies to give this place a try! It's our new favorite in the San Diego area.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent / knowledgeable st ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was excellent / knowledgeable staff,

Food was interesting and exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The pony wall is where it is at! I real ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The pony wall is where it is at!

I really enjoyed this place and it is right by my house - everyone's food was so yummy!!!

Great night - service was slow - but no worries!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

For me and apparently others, the place ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

For me and apparently others, the place is too dark. While I liked the food very much - in the upper 60% I've had in San Diego - I won't go again because I just couldn't read the menus and felt that having to use my Torch app on my phone was distracting to others as well as myself. While dining, you see other diners using their phones to illuminate the menus so you know it's not just you.

Still, very good food at little higher price but not out of line with the quality. We ordered the $9 bread with 'sampling' of euro sized pieces and a full jar of mascarpone , but left 1/2 of this great cheese because we ran out of anything to put it on. Ask for more bread or crackers with this dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We made a reservation a few days in adva ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We made a reservation a few days in advance and were a little nervous after reading the reviews concerning how loud the restaurant might be. Nonetheless, we arrived at 7:30 for our reservation and were seated promptly in the main dining area by the friendly hostesses. Noise level was appropriate - no trouble having a conversation yet appropriate din to provide an energetic atmosphere. Our waiter was incredibly conversant about food preparation and made excellent suggestions as all menu items sounded so good we couldn't make up our mind. The Burata salad, veal, and special pasta of the night were incredible. Equally fantastic was the dark/milk chocolate mousse praline dessert. This is definitely a restaurant you should keep on your rotation if you live in the area and visit if you're from out of town.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This is one of my all-time favorite rest ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is one of my all-time favorite restaurants! The menu changes with the seasons and is always fresh and creative! The atmosphere is lively and it always just feels fun there! I LOVE that they have the attached "retail wine store" - I've actually stopped by before just to pick up a great bottle on the way home from work. The concept is a fresh and clever as the menu! That's why I chose it to celebrate my birthday - they spoiled the daylights out of us... from the fried zucchini flower appies to delicious, colorful cocktails and amaze-balls for desert! Thank you Sharon and our awesome server (Ryan Reynolds look-alike, according to my friend!) and everyone else there!! I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well located off Interstate 5. Food is a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Well located off Interstate 5. Food is always excellent & atmosphere is always fun.

Good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem of a dinner spot for kids and parent ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Gem of a dinner spot for kids and parents. While travelling in the San Diego area all the way from Toronto, Canada, we wanted to fill our nights with a few child friendly yet adult focused restaurants. Cucina Enoteca hit the mark - the create your own pizzas at the table were a treat for the kids and the adult meals were equally yummy. A definite go-to the next time we visit the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good experience. Food is good ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Always a good experience. Food is good every time. Love the wines!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

excellent food, service and atmosphere. Would like less noise!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Too noisy.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We left before ordering. The noise level was so loud we couldn't hear or talk to people sitting across the table. Would not go back, as we have been there several times and it's always been noisy, although this time was the worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Hands down, the very best octopus I've e ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Hands down, the very best octopus I've ever had. Tender and delicious! The servers are absolutely lovely and sociable. Great hospitality all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite places in San Diego, ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

One of my favorite places in San Diego, love the ambience here. I personally enjoy the appetizers the most. The service is usually great and servers are knowledgeable and cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

pork chop special was the best

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband - a total foodie - ordered the pork chop special and said it was the best pork chop he's ever had in his life. I think he almost cried. Good job!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special occasion

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I visited for her birthday and we were so pleased with the food and the experience, we will be sure to make the restaurant part of our regular rotation. The New York strip was an odd cut with small a-typical bones for the cut. It was undercooked and tough. Seasoning was good. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Berkshire osso busco was delicious! We ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Berkshire osso busco was delicious!

We were celebrating my moms bday and the restaurant did a wonderful job with surprising her with a dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Everything was good except the bucantini ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything was good except the bucantini was way too salty especially after I ask to go easy on the sodium.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Brussels And meatball

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great Brussels

And meatball

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I asked for a quieter table when I made ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I asked for a quieter table when I made the reservation over a month ago and they put us right by the bar which was horribly noisy - we were friends who never see each other and could barely hear each other in order to catch up. The food was wonderful and everyone loved what they ordered. Brussel Sprouts - FANTASTIC. It was a Friday night so I probably should have known, but it would have been so nice if our request had been honored. Even a few more tables removed from the traffic would have been great . Service was lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Great meal with friends

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was wonderful...especially the polenta board...wow! Excellent service. I've never had a bad meal here. The only downside is the noise level...the dining room is large and noise is amplified by the surroundings in the room.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.