About Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

2730 Via De La Valle
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Say hello to the sister restaurant of San Diego’s award winning CUCINA urbana! CUCINA enoteca’s menu features Italian classics with a modern twist, traditionally coursed or served family-style, and made with the freshest local, organic and sustainable ingredients. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Lunch | Saturday | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Afternoon Snacks | Saturday + Sunday | 2:30pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Brunch | Sunday | 11:30am – 2:30pm

*Walk In seating only, No Reservations

Cross Street:
San Andreas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 704-4500

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-enoteca-del-mar/

Entertainment:
We feature live music on Sunday's for Brunch from 12 - 3pm.

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison Cupper at 619.239.2222 extension 2.

Parking Details:
Valet and Self Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Thank you for celebrating with us! Our regular menu + special items + a 4-course prix fixe menu will be available. No reservations for our bar + community areas.

Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for a Date (35)
Hot Spot (34)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Bar Seating (31)
Fun (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Modern Decor (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Casual (24)
Good for Groups (23)
People Watching (23)
Happy Hour (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Business Meals (20)
Open Kitchen (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Romantic (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Authentic (12)
Family Style (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Healthy (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Tapas (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
996 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went their for Restaurant Week and well ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Went their for Restaurant Week and well work the drive and the dining experience. My friend and I had a great time and the food was Yummy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fabulous fresh pasta. good veggie option ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

fabulous fresh pasta. good veggie options. very tasty and we'll seasoned food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really good food. Great atmosphere. Re ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Really good food. Great atmosphere. Recommend reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. Everyone loved the meal each dish was better then the other. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant for the under 40-crowd, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Good restaurant for the under 40-crowd, but not us old-timers. Very crowded and noisy with no grey-hairs in sight (except me). Food well prepared, but a bit pricey.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Restaurant Week is always a gamble when ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant Week is always a gamble when you return to a favorite. Overall the meals and service were quite good, except for the mussels starter - they arrived cold and just weren't good. Our server replaced them with a chopped salad, which had something chewy and unpleasant in every bite, so that was a miss as well. The stuffed squash blossoms, a must have each time we go, were served differently - no crema and lots of citrus drizzle. They didn't look as nice as usual, but I loved the citrus sauce, and there was enough for dipping, so that was an nice change. Our friends really loved the beet and tomato salad, and we all liked our mains, especially the sea bass. They ran out of one featured dessert before 8pm (?!?!) and substituted another. The chocolate peanut butter tarte was TINY!!! About 3 inches long with three little dollops of meringue around the side??? Tasty, but stingy compared to everything else. Definitely NOT regular size. We did appreciate the chance to order from the regular menu as well as the prix fixe RW menu, so all in all still highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Sunday brunch. Besides bottomless ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Sunday brunch. Besides bottomless bellinis & mimosas, they have a nice antipasti bar which could fill you up by itself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good selection of wines. Nothing was out ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Good selection of wines. Nothing was outstanding. Nothing was bad . Food was presented well. Tasty. Nothing bad to say however it wasn't memorable. Good , solid. I'd go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Better than ever at a recent visit for l ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Better than ever at a recent visit for lunch with out of town visitors. One of the best moderately priced wine selections and knowledgeable help particularly from the sommelier. Perfect all around.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the burrata, the octopus and the sp ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Love the burrata, the octopus and the specialty cocktails.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing service, amazing food, just over ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Amazing service, amazing food, just overall wonderful.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for lunch. Although service w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great spot for lunch. Although service was spotty at best, the experience was good. Food was good. We ordered additional veggies and fries, and they came after we were all finished. Additional tea was ordered, but never arrived

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This has become our favorite place to go ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This has become our favorite place to go on the weekends. Kristian is the most friendly, outgoing server I have ever met. He really completes the overall experience of dining at Cucina Enoteca. I can't wait to book our next reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is delicious as always, sound almos ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food is delicious as always, sound almost unbearable to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food great service.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food great service.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining here. We ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This was our first time dining here. We came to celebrate our anniversary and we were absolutely eased with the entire experience. From when we entered the restaurant and we were greeted with "Happy Anniversary " to the complimentary prosseco to toast with after we sat down. The ambiance was warm and cozy. We were sat at the corner table at the window that was comfortable and private. Our server was excellent and he recommended amazing dishes. The polenta appetizer and pork chop entree were hands down incredible. We will definitely be dining here on a regular basis after our experience this past week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great very creative but bring y ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Food was great very creative but bring your glasses and flashlight the lighting is very dim and the writing is small. Also the happy hour is delicious but I wasn't impressed by the lack of visits from the server we had. Overall good experience.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We eat at Enoteca Del Mar somewhat regul ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We eat at Enoteca Del Mar somewhat regularly, and have several favorite dishes and wines. On our most recent dinner visit, we arrived around 40 minutes before our reservation time, so decided to sit immediately at the "bar" near the pizza oven. The food was as tasty as always, and the waitress was so attentive that we were finished before our reservation time. Great food, great ambience, and in and out in 40 minutes.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was surprised to note such a difference ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Was surprised to note such a difference between Del Mar and Irvine locations. The Del Mar site was a notch above its Irvine sister in the manner of service, cuisine (presentation), and cocktails. The key was attention to detail - : ) Kudos to the manager and chef!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, , Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great resturaunt recommend to all. Serv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great resturaunt recommend to all. Service outstanding for superb

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Italian restaurant with a modern ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Elegant Italian restaurant with a modern look, a great menu, and a special attention for kids. Ours were glad to make their own pizza and told us it was the best they've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Simply said: Brilliant. Masterfully exec ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Simply said: Brilliant. Masterfully executed on every level, from ambience to service to food. James strives to make his guests feel like VIPs and Brian and Kelly are an incredible service team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, great all the way around.

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent, great all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were for new years eve and it was ama ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were for new years eve and it was amazing. Incredible waitress and Wesley the Wine guy was so festive and smart and funny. We felt welcomed with our kids - the bathroom notes also made me weep. Such a unique idea . Food was incredible.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this location. Have been t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time at this location. Have been to Cucina Urbana near Balboa Park. What a great spot! Open, airy, and great food with friendly, attentive service. We shared a delicious margherita pizza, and all our entrees were excellent. Perfectly cooked sea bass with crispy skin, spaghettini with shrimp in a tasty sauce, and of course, the exquisite short rib pappardelle. Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just returned from a delicious meal with ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just returned from a delicious meal with good friends. Cucina Enoteca is one of the most welcoming restaurants. From the minute you walk in past the assortment of retail wines into the belly of the beast it's a great experience. Servers are always knowledgeable about the menu and are able to answer any and all questions. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great scene, good food, up beat. It's a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great scene, good food, up beat. It's a bit loud in the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Family Style, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

christmas dinner

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

christmas dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have an excellent Christmas Eve dinne ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

we have an excellent Christmas Eve dinner and they were able to accommodate our Vegan diners as well. Service was excellent too.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great as usual. We especi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was great as usual. We especially love the squash blossom appetizer! Attentive and exceptional service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place never disappoints. The ambi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This place never disappoints. The ambiance, food and service are top notch. Thank you for consistently knocking it out of the park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. Thanks Heather!!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Amazing. Thanks Heather!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here every couple of months and r ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We eat here every couple of months and really like the cocktails, wine list, and food. The ambiance is also great and service is usually very good as well, and the servers have a good knowledge of the menu. On our most recent trip we ordered the pear/gorgonzola pizza and were very disappointed to find that they had changed their pizza crust recipe. The pizza was served on a different platter and the crust was soggier in the middle than it had been previously, and the flavors didn't blend as well. It was actually a bad pizza. Everything else was very good though, and the polenta board was outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and food was outstanding.

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service and food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good ambience, lively but not excessivel ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Good ambience, lively but not excessively loud

Service was excellent

Food was delicious

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was a bit slow. Had to wait a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our server was a bit slow. Had to wait a while after appetizers and for our check. 4 stars on service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tracy and her team are the best!! Delic ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Tracy and her team are the best!! Delicious every time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love being seated at the tall community ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Love being seated at the tall community tables enjoying my "go to" menu items ~ Stuffed Squash Blossoms, polenta board with Chef's "daily" Ragu, Brussels sprouts, Short Rib Pappardelle. Cucina Enoteca, Cucina Urbana, all the Urban Kitchen Group restaurants are excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

overall not a great experience with the ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 17, 2016

overall not a great experience with the server standing over us and not leaving until we ordered something. Food was average but the prices were more than average. Loud and energetic but fun. The pappardelle was the only thing we had that was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

This place is always a really fun lively ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This place is always a really fun lively restaurant with lots of beautiful people, good food and a great wait staff. If you enjoy being in the middle of the fun North County social scene, I would highly recommend Cucina!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.