About Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

2730 Via De La Valle
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Say hello to the sister restaurant of San Diego’s award winning CUCINA urbana! CUCINA enoteca’s menu features Italian classics with a modern twist, traditionally coursed or served family-style, and made with the freshest local, organic and sustainable ingredients.

Join CUCINA for an afternoon of Failla Wines and antipasti on Saturday June 11th. Call the restaurant to reserve your spot.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Lunch | Saturday | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Afternoon Snacks | Saturday + Sunday | 2:30pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Brunch | Sunday | 11:30am – 2:30pm

*Walk In seating only, No Reservations

Cross Street:
San Andreas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 704-4500

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-enoteca-del-mar/

Entertainment:
We feature live music on Sunday's for Brunch from 12 - 3pm.

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison Cupper at 619.239.2222 extension 2.

Parking Details:
Valet and Self Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
  • Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar
Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
North San Diego
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

Fit for Foodies (111)
Good for Groups (82)
Special Occasion (81)
See All
Notable Wine List (81)
Hot Spot (67)
Vibrant Bar Scene (66)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Great for Lunch (46)
Romantic (33)
Great for Brunch (22)
Late-night Find (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
853 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They were very accommodating. One guest ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

They were very accommodating. One guest concerned it would be too cold. They were very helpful trying to make sure we were comfortable. Food was also wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally Del Mar has a really good restau ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Finally Del Mar has a really good restaurant. The red and white wine flights were very drinkable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Happy Hour, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was ok just not as friendly as u ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was ok just not as friendly as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Everything was superb, from food to serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything was superb, from food to service! Felt as though they went out of their way to make our night special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoy sitting at the bar and Trip(?) ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We enjoy sitting at the bar and Trip(?) our bartender was excellent. Knows the service business. Looking forward to returning the bar for some food and drink.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We asked for a table in a quiet area and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We asked for a table in a quiet area and were seated between two tables with children and a large, loud party. We asked to be moved and they seated us on the upstairs patio which was quiet and delightful. I blame the hostess for a clueless first seating. Everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was amazing, service slow, arrogant ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was amazing, service slow, arrogant and seemed put off by any questions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was tremendous and so was our w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was tremendous and so was our waiter. We had a large party of 9 and everyone received their meal at the same time. The noise level was a little much, but all together we enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best dining experience in recent memory. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best dining experience in recent memory. Everything was outstanding. We are visiting San Diego for four days and might go back for a second time before we leave. It is that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food (like always) was exceptional. ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food (like always) was exceptional. I recommend the squash blossoms and the burrata vasi. We tried the mushroom pizza for the first time and it did not disappoint. My only negative comment would be that the wine we order was warm. Service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! Delicious food. Kids ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent service! Delicious food. Kids love making their own pizzas. The wine list selection is surprisingly affordable.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made 2 visits during our vacation as ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We made 2 visits during our vacation as we enjoyed our first meal so much. Very accommodating to everyone's requirements. The chicken liver pate was particularly delicious as were the brussel sprouts.

Tags: Neighbourhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server Andrea is the consummate host!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Server Andrea is the consummate host!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sarah our Server made our special occasi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Sarah our Server made our special occasion very enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was amazing and we had a pleasa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was amazing and we had a pleasant server. The host looked miserable to be there and was not friendly. As we walked in she had accidentally given someone else's food to the wrong guest and gave hardly an apology to the guests whose food was taken. Just not the kind of attitude you want to see going into a restaurant. Otherwise had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always a favorite. Wonderful food. Grea ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a favorite. Wonderful food. Great service. Fun vibe and decor. Went for our anniversary but it doesn't have to be a super special occasion. It's casual and delicious. :)

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cucina Enoteca has some delicious food! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Cucina Enoteca has some delicious food! The atmospher can be a bit noisy, but it still can be a cosy time if you and your date want to snuggle a big more closely during the meal. If you're not quite sure about taking a trip out to Del Mar, at least take a look at the menu during San Diego Restaurant Week. Great options for a great price!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the restaurant except that the nois ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Love the restaurant except that the noise level is off the charts. It is almost impossible to carry on a conversation. I have been there for lunch and it's much better and quieter. The staff are incredible and the food is very interesting and delicious- but would love something to be done about the noise.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was very attentive and offere ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our server was very attentive and offered good suggestions to the menu for our friends who had not been there before. We had a late lunch and were there quite awhile and he was very good about checking on us. The food was very fresh and tasty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love love love the decor/atmosphere. Our ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Love love love the decor/atmosphere. Our server Rachel was very sweet and made suggestions if there was an ingredient we didn't prefer in our drink/food choice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I took myself and two others to brunch. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I took myself and two others to brunch. The whole affair was very disappointing: the antipasti bar was a sport affair included in the brunch and $20 extra to add to a lunch dish.

Portions were small and mediocre. I had a pizza and asked for peperencino oil and was given spicy mayo! The pizza was just ok anyway.

The service was scattered and uninspired as well as uneducated about the menu and cuisine

I use the Orange county venues a lot and this one did not compare. Ashame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great place. It's near our home and alw ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great place. It's near our home and always busy. Super friendly staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Enoteca to celebrate my husba ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went to Enoteca to celebrate my husband's birthday! We had been there last year and loved the meal and our server. Service can certainly make or break a dining experience, and our server, Victor, did not make it for us! While we had a great table, and the food was wonderful, his timing seemed to be off and there was nothing special about any explanations or presentations. The team as whole was good, but there was just no connection for us with Victor. In fact, he disappeared more than once and we wondered if he had gone on break or something. One of our guests was unhappy with her fries and asked that they be done a bit more. She had to ask someone else where they were, and was already done with her burger by the time they came back exactly the same as the first time. :(

We will certainly try again next time we are in Del Mar, but will ask for a different server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Always a good meal. Service was good.

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always a good meal. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dining area next to the bar is extre ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The dining area next to the bar is extremely noisy! This is not the area to sit in if you want to converse with your party.

Always love the food- this time the vegetables were undercooked ( I mean more than al dente ) and wrong salad was served. Waiter was nice but appeared somewhat frazzled and not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Delicious but very noisy and dessert wai ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Delicious but very noisy and dessert wait a long time. However, manager immediately comped it. Very professional...I would return

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I told the waitress that I need to be gl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I told the waitress that I need to be gluten free and she seemed receptive, but didn't offer any insight into what I should avoid. So I ordered the Paperdelle with gluten free pasta which tasted great! However, I had GI issues for the next 24 hrs which tells me maybe the sauce was not gluten free. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

The food, service & wine are fantastic. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food, service & wine are fantastic. Do not skip the polenta board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here on a Saturday during Comic-C ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We ate here on a Saturday during Comic-Con weekend, so it was weirdly quiet. We arrived around 12, and there was only one other table beside us. I really liked the interior - quirky and creative! Sadly the patio was closed, so we were seated inside the restaurant. The service was top-notch! We never had to ask for more water; the servers were very attentive. Granted, there were only about 5 tables, but still, I've had worst experience in similar situations. I ordered a pasta dish - the pasta was perfectly cooked al dente, the braised short ribs were so soft, it melted in my mouth! Such wonderful flavor! My fiancee ordered a sandwich - she didn't like it very much, and neither did I. It was boring and bland, but the parmesean fries were really good. Our grandma ordered the lamb sausage pasta and she absolutely loved it! We are definitely coming back for more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very attentive staff and service was gre ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very attentive staff and service was great. Love the new items on the menu, the love loaf, the mussels and of course had to order the signature squash blossoms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FOOD was overpriced and when I told our ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

FOOD was overpriced and when I told our server that it was my husbands birthday, he did nothing special....I had many coupons from other restaurants offering a dessert and some a meal...I should of gone there for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was delicious. Very trendy place wi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was delicious. Very trendy place with great ambiance. Made reservation through Open Table. They could see our reservation, but took 10 mins to seat us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great special occasion place for the gir ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great special occasion place for the girls! It's fun to pick up a gift in the gift shop before you get seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the pizza topped with figs, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We ordered the pizza topped with figs, arugula and nuts.

It was served hot - just delicious!!!

Loved the peanut butter dessert topped w/chocolate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my 2nd time there and it's beco ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was my 2nd time there and it's become my favorite restaurant. The food is creative without be overly foo-foo. Augusto Ferrarese, the wine director came over and had a very friendly conversation with us. Gave us his card and said the next time we come to call him directly and he will make our reservation for us. Our waiter (sorry I don't remember his name) was gracious, kind and sweet. The water glasses stayed full. The fried squash blossoms are a must have! I want to go back just for appetizers. Next time I will make a reservation for the patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, especially the squash bl ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic food, especially the squash blossoms!

Great wait staff.

Love the energy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum Great place

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Yum

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service and food are both excellent! Thi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Service and food are both excellent! This was my second visit and both times were equally excellent. I have already recommended to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time at Cucina Urbana's sister re ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Second time at Cucina Urbana's sister restaurant. Overall, great experience. Hostess seemed in a rush to seat us and did not converse with us on the way to the table. A manager (?) and busser were lifting seat cushions up near us and having a loud conversation. Seemed they were in their own little world and we were in their way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful experience, loved the calamari ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful experience, loved the calamari. Great place for first date. Might be alittle loud inside bar at night for some people. Up stairs is great for less noise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.