Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

Say hello to the sister restaurant of San Diego’s award winning CUCINA urbana! CUCINA enoteca’s menu features Italian classics with a modern twist, traditionally coursed or served family-style, and made with the freshest local, organic and sustainable ingredients. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies).

2730 Via De La Valle
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Lunch | Saturday | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Afternoon Snacks | Saturday + Sunday | 2:30pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Brunch | Sunday | 11:30am – 2:30pm

*Walk In seating only, No Reservations

Cross Street:
San Andreas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 704-4500

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-enoteca-del-mar/

Entertainment:
We feature live music on Sunday's for Brunch from 12 - 3pm.

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison Cupper at 619.239.2222 extension 2.

Parking Details:
Valet and Self Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (48)
Good for a Date (43)
Notable Wine List (39)
See All
Fun (35)
Special Occasion (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Casual (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Hot Spot (25)
Authentic (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
People Watching (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Business Meals (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Romantic (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Tapas (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Cozy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Organic (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic time at Cucina Enoteca. Our server Jennifer was outstanding! She was fun, friendly and incredibly helpful. The hostesses were so welcoming and of course the food was excellent!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

I wanted to love this restaurant. The decor, lighting and extra touches are wonderful but unfortunately, the food paled in comparison. The cocktails were a bit light on the pour, but fresh and tasty. The brussels sprouts were the best thing we ordered. The short rib pappardelle pasta was extremely bland - fresh parmesan was not offered and when we asked it came too late. The burrata caprese was also a bit bland. The mushroom flatbread was OK but nothing I'd order again. Over all our meal was disappointing. I'm not sure if it was an off night or what :( I truly loved the atmosphere and wanted to enjoy the food but it was not good. As the night progressed we couldn't hear each other across the table. Sadly we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

I have dined at this restaurant often.... for birthday celebrations, one-on-one with a friend, happy hour. Never disappointed... Highly recommend. The staff is has been wonderful. And I shall return with friends and family..

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Terrible food that is over priced by 40 %
We will never return .

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We always enjoy our visits...love the relaxed atmosphere, great service and food. Love being able to keep the menu at the table and order what we want, when and as we want it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We've been here a handful of times and have always enjoyed it but there was something particularly good about this recent visit. I had the eggplant and fig pasta, which was so good that I sopped the sauce up with bread at the end. The servers were particularly attentive and kind after we shared in passing that we had just come from a funeral.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2017

More entree selection will be great !
Bring back the Branzino

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We have been coming here on special occasions for about 2 years. It's always nice energy and the wine list is always quite spectacular. If you like quirky wines European that have very reasonable prices, this is a fantastic place

On this particular night we found that the food quality had gone down hill . Lots of fried items that don't need to be fried, lots of dairy and rich cheesy sauces made everything overall feel heavier and less refined that we remember. Lots of heavy oily things that weigh down the food. When the food is this heavy, the actual ingredients cannot stand out. What we love about this place is that it has a European quality to it which makes it more elegant than other places in the area. I hope that the chef will take note and take a step back to bring back the more refined presentation of food, allowing ingredients to shine through again.

Our favorite dish has always been the grilled octopus, but this time it had a heavy pesto sauce that made the octopus greasy and soft. It was accompanied by a side arugula salad that had way too much oversalted prosciutto. My chicken al diavolo was overly salted and weighed down with a cheesy heavy polenta sauce.everything way too salty and heavy. Sorry to be so blunt. I truly have faith in this place as I know it will be around for a long time. I love the bar area for seating and we look forward to coming back and enjoying a wonderful meal with fantastic wine

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Love Cucina Enoteca. Love the variety, shared meals, reasonable wine and the fact that you are NOT rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Fun ambience and delicious and unusual pastas and salads.
Excellent wine list. Our party of 4 ordered a variety (salads, pizza,
pasta, and mains) and they were all outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 4, 2017

THE MEATBALL DISH WAS TOO SALTY. THE GRILL OCTOPUS WAS THE BEST. THE BEET SALAD WOULD TASTE BETTER IF THE BEET WAS COOK MORE. IT STILL CRUNCHY. THE CHEESE PLATTER TOO SMALL AND WOULD TASTE BETTER IF THE BREAD WAS FRESH OR HOT. THE MARGARITA PIZZA WOULD TASTE MUCH BETTER IF MORE BASIL WAS ADDED. WHEN WE ASK FOR HONEY FOR OUR ICE TEA , HE BRING OUT A HALF SPOON. WHEN ASK FOR MORE, HE NEVER CAME BACK. AT HOTELS, THEY OFFER A LOT OF HONEY IN A JAR ON THE TABLE.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Nice place for a casual dinner. Service was great. We both had pasta and salad and everything was flavorful. Sangria was excellent, and chocolate bar for dessert was a perfect finish. We've been here several times and food is always good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Awesome experience! Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Fun, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This place is good--for Del Mar. I'm in the minority here, but Cucina Enoteca essentially serves upscale mall food now, not like it was when it first opened. Every entree plate tastes like it's drowning in the same oil, regardless of the ingredients. The pastas are better than average but nothing like the outstanding quality you can get in little Italy. The salads are all good, and for that reason I'd say it's best for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The chopped salad and bucatini pasta were delicious. However we were disappointed with the caprese salad. The burrata was chewy and the tomatoes were pale pink in color, hard, and flavorless. There's no reason not to have fresh red tomatoes! We were disappointed and will likely not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Birthday dinner :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Decorations were so unique and classy. Loved the style. We had a great celebration with our son we hadn't seen all summer. Thanks for a great brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Heather was our waitress and did a wonderful job suggesting food items as well as wines to pair.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My friend and I were ushering at the North Coast Rep Theater and decided to have a lite dinner before ushering. What a delightful find this place was. Service was great....not to mention how fabulous the food was. Would recommend this highly to my friends.

Tags: Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Kelly was EXCELLENT ! Friendly, very knowledgeable server/waitress and more!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The service is good and the food is always properly cooked and a great bite to eat. Always great birthdays and meeting uo with friends or family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2017

My go to favorite restaurant in Del Mar. Love the chicken with polenta. Good food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent food & drinks and the restaurant combines the quality and class that you would want for a date, but also fun with good options for kids. First restaurant we have been to which effectively combines these traits. Wish we had one on the east coast!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Heather is a great server! Always does an amazing job.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service excellent. But the portions were ridiculously small. If we had not ordered appetizers and salads, we would have been very hungry. This has never happened at Enoteca to us before. I ordered the pork, and it came with about 5 small pieces with no veggies. My husband ordered the short ribs and it was an appetizer serving size. Food was really delicious though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

this is my third time dining here it's just fabulous. The food is all fresh ingredients with lots of options and taste amazing. The service is also fantastic to definitely worth coming back to.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our waiter was outstanding! Attentive and great with conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Superior food - very creative interpretation of Italian. Everything our 5 person party had was delicious. Will absolutely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Good food, well prepared, great service, interesting wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Cucina Enoteca never fails - always a terrific menu, excellent wine selection and a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Bar Seating, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Casual, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I had a rather enjoyable time. The polenta was spectacular and the mixed grill was a great way to sample different meats. It seemed a bit chaotic, but it was a Saturday. Our food took awhile, but it wasn't a big deal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Had a wonderful meal. They were very aware of our time restriction and got us out in time to get to our event. The waitstaff was wonderful as were the hostesses

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Loved our waiter, he was so efficient and on point in every way.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Disabled Access, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Busy restaurant with great wine list. Menu has something for everyone. Friendly service, seemed like it took some time to get our food out, but it was worth the wait-fresh and tasty!

Tags: Tapas, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Had a nice meal with colleagues. One strange thing--we ordered the truffle fries to share on Saturday evening at 7:30pm, and our waiter never came with them. When he brought the check and we asked him about them, he said "oh, I took them off your bill. The kitchen said they ran out ." Very strange to run out of fries at that time on a Saturday night.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our server Rachel was great! Always great food here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I thought polenta and lamb was good , liver pate great , fries great , pizza was so do. Pepporoni snd f sausage

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We go there a lot alone or with another couple or with a large family group. I don't do this review at all but this place hits everything on the button. Continue to find new items and they are always delicious. Servers know the food inside and out, do not try to hurry you up and make you want to thank them for doing such a great job. Go there it is really good and very cool to boot.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Amazing! Trendy spot with cute decor and some of the best california inspired dishes in sd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great experience. Service, food, wine were all excellent. Only complaint would be the noise level in the restaurant, was hard to hold a conversation. That said I would still definitely return.

Love the chicken liver pate, chicken and chopped salad. Pasta is the bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.