Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

Say hello to the sister restaurant of San Diego’s award winning CUCINA urbana! CUCINA enoteca’s menu features Italian classics with a modern twist, traditionally coursed or served family-style, and made with the freshest local, organic and sustainable ingredients. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies).

2730 Via De La Valle
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Lunch | Saturday | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Afternoon Snacks | Saturday + Sunday | 2:30pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Brunch | Sunday | 11:30am – 2:30pm

*Walk In seating only, No Reservations

Cross Street:
San Andreas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 704-4500

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-enoteca-del-mar/

Entertainment:
We feature live music on Sunday's for Brunch from 12 - 3pm.

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison Cupper at 619.239.2222 extension 2.

Parking Details:
Valet and Self Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (37)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Fun (32)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Good for a Date (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Modern Decor (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
People Watching (21)
Business Meals (20)
Casual (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Authentic (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Romantic (12)
Cozy (12)
Healthy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Tapas (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Family Style (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Organic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1057 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food, fabulous wines and absolutely fantastic ambience. We loved it.

Tags: Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

I'd like to start by saying we are frequent customers and have never had a negative experience at any Cucina location. It's one of our favorite restaurants! However, tonight was a bit of a let down. After spending over $300 on dinner, the man working at the front desk essentially accused us of shoplifting our wine - "excuse me Sir, did you want to pay for that?", as he chased us out the front door. We purchased the wine at our table - when our server asked if we needed it wrapped, I said "no" out of respect for the fact he was likely busy with other tables. After telling the accusatory man we paid for it at our table, we overheard him asking the other staff "what table were they at?!?" in disbelief. Pretty embarrassing in front of our friends and the other guests that were whispering. We don't shoplift. We don't need to shoplift. It's absurd to be confronted and chased out the door over a $35 bottle. Next time I'll be sure to ask for a receipt at the table or not buy a bottle period. Ridiculous ending to a wonderful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Wesley the Somelier was excellent. Great recommendations from him. We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

We made reservations two weeks before a special occasion. We arrived and were made to wait about 20 minutes for a table. We were seated after I complained. There were 3 other 4 top tables vacant when we were seated. Since we were 2 people evidently they were trying to fill these tables with 4 people, not us!
This was very disappointing as we have been to this restaurant on many occasions. Apparently it is now amateur hour.
The food is generally good but the menu choices need to change as it is getting stale. Very sorry to have to say something negative but this experience was totally maddening and unnecessary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely love this restaurant!! Service and ambiance is OUTSTANDING! Food is amazing as well. More than satisfied with me dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Quality food with the most pleasant staff. It is such a treat to eat here. Pasta dishes were great and a most interesting wine list. Highly recommend

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I know this place gets rave reviews, but I don't get it. The $6 Happy Hour house wines are a good deal. But the food is just average and overpriced. The pizza we ordered lacked toppings beyond the center of the pizza and the pasta dish was a bit skimpy as well. The focaccia bread was dry and tough. The beet and blood orange salad was tasty. Better Italian food in Encinitas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great meal. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

As always, excellent food and service! Upbeat environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our server made our night. Great food and great drinks

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Excellent and unique food. Well prepared and beautifully presented. Not inexpensive. Eclectic and fun decor.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

the food was not up to par with previous meals I had at the same establishment in the past ... overall some dishes were not well done, ie pizza was soggy, the taste of some dishes (vasi, and cryudo) whihc i had experienced in my past visit, were comprised and lacking spices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

While Cucina Urbana is a great place for drinks and a meal, Cucina Enoteca in Del Mar suffers from McDonalds arches blazing into the main dining hall. Unless your back is to the window, you can't avoid the brash yellow arches shelling out diabetes inducing fast food. This can result in a high probability of heart burn and blindness.

The best place to sit appears to be at the bar. Luckily, from there only the bar tenders might see the arches. For a restaurant that prides itself on ambiance, great food and an excellent wine selection, I'm surprised they skimped on the architect selection. An architect that apparently takes most of their meals at the diabetic arches.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We celebrated my husbands birthday with the kids. The food was great...especially loved the bureaus vasi... and the meatball. Service was excellent!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The hostesses and waiters are world class. They accommodated all of my mother's requests for particular seating and food. They even gave us free dessert for my Dad's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food was OK but the service was pretty disappointing. It's been a while since we were here last. It has gone down hill from when it was good. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 2, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants, not only in the San Diego Area but also in Newport Beach.
Great menu.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Absolutely fabulous. The atmosphere- cool, the food is delicious and the staff there is amazing. James the manager is excellent. Thank you. We can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our table was waiting for us, party of 6. Server very personable. We asked for help with wine selection, under $30, liked Napa Valley Cabs. She suggested a Napa Boudreaux blend, good suggestion, we said yes. She came back and said it was out but here's a Napa Valley (no, Columbia Valley) Cab, under $30 (well, was $36)... didn't notice until she poured and left....but it was good. Service extremely slow, they were busy when we got there but not by the time we left!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Nice concept. But very little portion and certainly overpriced.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food in Del Mar. Everything was delicious. The ragout special was a standout!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Terrible experience - used to be a great, have been here many times prior and to their other location for years. Not only over 30 minutes late seating our 7:45pm "reservation" we ordered a dish we had had many times prior - the Short Rib Pappardelle. Usually great - raved to our guests who, we told this is a great place, to order it - they did and the dish was beyond horrible. All noodles, almost NO short rib, chewy thick gummy noodles inside with hard crusty crunchy top noodles - was it heat lamp? Old, made days prior? Inedible. This place has lost what they once had if this was an indicator. Waitress was nice but restaurant was a zoo of disorganization and food was awful cannot say we will ever return nor will our guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Sisters reunion- difficult to hear each other due to high noise level. Otherwise delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Everything was exceptional. Our Sea Bass was cooked perfectly! Our server Server (?) was wonderful...she got right away that we just wanted to chill, enjoy the food and talk. The desserts were fantastic...I'm jonesing for that chocolate peanut butter bar! Wow!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Service was great , food was great would go back again

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Great tasty menu in interesting surroundings. Don't let the mall setting throw you. Only draw back is the noise level-- with all the glass and hard surfaces, it was deafening. Waiters and diners had to yell to be heard.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Sunday brunch menu ok but prefer regular lunch menu.
Love that decor and ambience. Food very good.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was excellent. It was extremely loud in there and very hard to talk or hear. I was disappointed in the fact that I told him we were celebrating both an anniversary 49 years and my husband's birthday and they didn't do anything

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice; I don't often go out for this level of dinning - I like things a little more casual - but when I do, it always the best. Very pleased with the blending of flavors and textures. I was a little sad they didn't have their osso buco on the menu, but hey, we both loved our food.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was fantastic, our waitress had great suggestions, was knowledgeable about the menu and we ended up with a perfect meal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was okay. Service was really slow. This place isn't on my recommend list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love this place. We've never been disappointed. Everything arrives better than you're expecting in presentation and taste. The wine choices are great and affordable, though we previously knew the least about Italian wines and thought they were overpriced. The hostesses and servers seem genuinely friendly, not obsequious. If you call that you'll be late, they tell you no problem, we'll have your table waiting. Finally, a fit for foodies restaurant in Del Mar.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always good food and good service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food, very taste and varied. Had a wonderful bottle of wine, great squash blossoms for starters and pasta for main course. Great fruit cobbler for desert

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and drinks. We went for Sunday brunch. It was pretty open at the time yet they sat 3 different couples in the corner very close to each other. Could have used the space better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had squash blossoms (great but $14 for 3 seemed steep), pizza (goat cheese and mushroom, very good), sea bass (good, but no bargain) and a sandwich (very good). Service was good but the restaurant was not crowded. We would go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food and service, but on a Thursday evening the noise was deafening, so much that my ears rang upon leaving. I would suggest lunch or an off noght. I have been there before and loved the food, and specials.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I have dined many times at Cucina Enoteca in Del Mar and have enjoyed every meal. This time, service was excellent but my Smoked Chicken Salad was not my favorite. The chicken was dry and had way too much "smoke". I'll go back to my staple menu items next time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We really enjoy this restaurant and never fail to take out-of-town guests. I'd prefer it a bit quieter, but I suppose the physical plant won't allow for that. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and we just love Cucina Enoteca. Thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Tried on a whim as we could not get into our favorite restaurant in South Park. This is close to our house and we were very impressed! Food, cocktails and dessert were delicious! Bolognese, chicken and affogato....with a blood orange martini. All wonderful! We will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.