Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

Say hello to the sister restaurant of San Diego’s award winning CUCINA urbana! CUCINA enoteca’s menu features Italian classics with a modern twist, traditionally coursed or served family-style, and made with the freshest local, organic and sustainable ingredients. Enjoy wine by the glass or visit the wine shop and select a bottle from over 100 selections at retail price ($9 corkage fee applies).

2730 Via De La Valle
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Lunch | Saturday | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Afternoon Snacks | Saturday + Sunday | 2:30pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Brunch | Sunday | 11:30am – 2:30pm

*Walk In seating only, No Reservations

Cross Street:
San Andreas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 704-4500

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-enoteca-del-mar/

Entertainment:
We feature live music on Sunday's for Brunch from 12 - 3pm.

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison Cupper at 619.239.2222 extension 2.

Parking Details:
Valet and Self Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (44)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Notable Wine List (35)
Fun (32)
Special Occasion (29)
Casual (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Business Meals (18)
People Watching (16)
Authentic (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Romantic (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Quick Bite (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (7)
Tapas (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Organic (5)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
1232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

I have dined here before, and it ha been okay, but we were served food that was cold and it had to be sent back. They remade the pizza and most likely just heated up the pasta dish and meatball. The diner who ordered the salmon had no problem with food temperature.
The manager was very nice and came to our table with the offer of complimentary desserts but we declined. i think they should have taken the price of an entree off our bill for the inconvenience.
AlsoI think it would be a better choice on a week night as it was extremely busy and very noisy on Friday night.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service & food. Had a nice birthday dinner with a small complimentary dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Great place for foodies! Their stuffed fried squash blossom antipasti is amazing. Although the tagliatelle was a bit salty, the pappardelle & pizzas were all delicious & the NY strip steak was really good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

A great favorite restaurant of ours.Has just improved in all aspects over time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2017

At one time they had a great octopus appetizer but swapped it out for what they call an octopus appetizer but it's basically an arugula salad with a very small piece of octopus. My husband did enjoy the chicken but everything else was average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Fun atmoshere. Good food with a nice variety. Loved the jar spread

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2017

A tad too loud to hear our party of 6

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Service was excellent wine list extensive food is great- lamb was a little bland and was quite loud- went back second night and was better

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Excellent wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 2, 2017

CE is always a good choice! The main dining room is often very loud. Opted for the lesser used area near the bar, and was rewarded with quiet conversation. the food is consistently good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Nice happening place with good food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Love the restaurant, the food and the wine but the main dining room is so noisy. It might have been that we had two loud tables next to us, but we had to shout to be heard. It would be great if they could find an acoustic solution for the noise.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2017

We had dined here before and really enjoyed it! For some reason the second experience was as great, but still enjoyable. Love the meatballs and unique food options!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Todd and device were great. Squash blossoms are alway a fav. Only complaint was that it was very cold in the bar and dining area. Several tables complained and they eventually turned off the AC. Otherwise and awesome dinner!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2017

My only concern is that the hostess claimed I didn’t have a reservation, but sat us anyways after a wait? Funny thing is, I did have an Open stable res, hence why it had prompted me via email to leave a review??
Other than that, food was good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Happy, busy, bustling with lots of charm for celebrating groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

Best time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Great food, wine, service. What else can I say?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Always impressed with this place. Great for visiting friends or date night.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We had been wanting to try this restaurant for years and finally had the chance. I loved the space and the atmosphere. It was funky but warm, hip and inviting. Our waitress was great - she realized that we all had the same last name and made jokes about us being family. She was just attentive enough without being annoying. Our food was only so so, sadly. We had the pizza with dates and bacon and it was delicious, but the pasta we got (carbonara) we SO incredibly salty. We ate all of it because we were super hungry but with each bite we commented on how salty it was. We even mentioned it to our waitress. A bit of a disappointment for a restaurant of this level. It won't keep us from coming back I don't think but we'll never order that pasta again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Love this place! The food and service are impeccable. Love Sina!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Absolutely excellent food - although hearty and filling which is not necessarily a bad thing! Only gripe is the noise level...but still a great restaurant with excellent wine list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My husband and I went to Cucina Enoteca for our third anniversary and everything was GREAT! They greeted us with complimentary champagne and sat us in a super special corner table. I would recommend this to anyone and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We are regular visitors and this is one of our favorite restaurants in town. However, we are worried after this visit that our fave place may be slipping a bit. It almost seemed like the chef took a night off, or they got a "new guy". The Vasi we ordered hardly came with any bread, just crunchy crackers. The bucatini dish that we always get was a noticeably smaller portion than usual, the delicious egg on top was overcooked with no runny yolk and the pasta seemed a bit overcooked as well. Our daughter's order came wrong and they were very nice about re-doing it and didn't charge us for her meal-- But still... the whole thing just seemed to be having an "off night". We will of course go back and try again, since we love it here. And everyone is entitled to a bad day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

The Mushroom flatbread pizza is a must do as are the burnt brussels sprouts, the charcuterie board and the octopus! Great restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food always good! Fun atmosphere. LOUD! I did ask for a quiet table, but....

Next time, I will ask for a different area

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The service was great however, it was noisy. I couldn't hear very well from across the table.
I'm only 50 years old! Can you imagine older people trying to dine there?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We went during restaurant week, service seems slower. However, the food exceeded expectations and waiter gave us free polenta to make up for the long food wait.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The server was excellent and helpful with wine selection!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Unfortunately we did not have very good service and it put a damper on our experience. We weren't given a bread basket (had to ask for it) and when they brought out my husband's entree (which was lukewarm) before the appetizer salad our server replied "that's fine." She didn't apologize or offer to fix it. I'm assuming since it was restaurant week that's why the service wasn't great. I have been to the one in Irvine and everything was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Service was not good I'm sure you guys were to busy
Food not good
Desapoiment because is a really nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2017

nice place, good service, great wine list. Two out of three dishes we ordered were great (sandwich with shaved beef and pizza with unusual toppings), one was so-so (overcooked salmon). Overall nice experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great place to go for Restaurant Week. Really good food. The only issue is it is really loud, and even though there were only two of us we had to speak very loudly to be heard. No, we are not old and deaf yet!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We were there for restaurant week and enjoyed prix fixe menu options along with a bottle of wine. There could have been more vegetarian entree options. The squash blossoms and beet salad were a hit along with a side of brussel sprouts. The short rib papardelle was delicious. The pizza came out rather burnt, so we sent it back. A new pizza came out faster than any other part of the meal and was discounted from the bill entirely. The only lowlight from the evening was the service. She was inattentive and unavailable when we needed her. But overall, Cucina Enoteca was an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food was not same quality and taste ad previous visits. We went for Restaurant Week.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The server was quite helpful with menu knowledge. Very pleasant experience with great food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 26, 2017

I'd first like to say that I love Cucina and often frequent the one downtown. I requested a quiet area to sit as I was spending time with my Mother for her birthday and wanted to be able to talk easily. We were seated in the area on the west side and it was insanely loud. We asked to be moved to a quieter area and were seated over near the bar. Two problems. 1. It felt like we were sitting in the bar and (my main complaint about the entire evening) 2. We were seated near an area where they were filming a reality tv show. This was VERY distracting both because of the light and constant activity around us. We were not alerted to this until we arrived so really had no choice but to put up with it and stay. This could have all been avoided if we had been called and forewarned. Very disappointing dining experience for many reasons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Always reliable and one of our favorite dining spots. Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was AMAZING! Everything was great but our server was a bit awkward to talk to. She seemed a bit nervous/ shy. But still was fantastic :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.