About Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar

2730 Via De La Valle
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Say hello to the sister restaurant of San Diego’s award winning CUCINA urbana! CUCINA enoteca’s menu features Italian classics with a modern twist, traditionally coursed or served family-style, and made with the freshest local, organic and sustainable ingredients.

Join CUCINA for an afternoon of Failla Wines and antipasti on Saturday June 11th. Call the restaurant to reserve your spot.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Tuesday – Friday | 11:30am – 2pm
Lunch | Saturday | 11:30am – 2:30pm
Afternoon Snacks | Tuesday – Friday | 2pm – 5pm*
Afternoon Snacks | Saturday + Sunday | 2:30pm – 5pm*
Dinner | Sunday + Monday | 5pm – 9pm
Dinner | Tuesday – Thursday | 5pm – 10pm
Dinner | Friday + Saturday | 5pm – 10:30pm
Brunch | Sunday | 11:30am – 2:30pm

*Walk In seating only, No Reservations

Cross Street:
San Andreas

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 704-4500

Website:
http://www.urbankitchengroup.com/cucina-enoteca-del-mar/

Entertainment:
We feature live music on Sunday's for Brunch from 12 - 3pm.

Catering:
URBAN KITCHEN CATERING provides four star, stunning events with menus unique to your occasion. For more information check the URBAN KITCHEN CATERING link on our website www.urbankitchengroup.com or call Alison Cupper at 619.239.2222 extension 2.

Parking Details:
Valet and Self Parking Available

Executive Chef:
Joe Magnanelli

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Cucina Enoteca - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
North San Diego
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

fit for foodies (127)
good for groups (96)
hot spot (85)
See All
notable wine list (83)
special occasion (82)
vibrant bar scene (80)
neighborhood gem (69)
great for lunch (64)
romantic (38)
great for brunch (31)
kid-friendly (23)
late-night find (15)
great for outdoor dining (8)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was good except the bucantini ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Everything was good except the bucantini was way too salty especially after I ask to go easy on the sodium.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful meal and great wine. Th ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Had a wonderful meal and great wine. The service was attentive and server very friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing experience we had! The f ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

What an amazing experience we had! The food was incredible ( must try the polenta!), so waste wine list. Great atmosphere and our waiter, Scott, was so knowledgeable about the food and wine. Loved it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love this place. Food is very dependable ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Love this place. Food is very dependable, great bar and drinks, and last time really had a cute, attentive waitress. One of our favorites.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food, love the servers! Very k ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Love the food, love the servers! Very knowledgeable servers, especially Rachel!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have never walked in here without bein ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I have never walked in here without being greeted by an enthusiastic scene. The food is delicious and great for sharing.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was Great! Food was great! Rec ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Service was Great! Food was great! Recommendations were outstanding! A little loud for easy conversation but the service and food overshadowed that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy

Dined on May 9, 2016

Very flavorful food & many of the menu items are naturally gluten free.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

good does not disappoint!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had another great dinner here. The pappardalle was delicious and we always enjoy the squash blossoms. They changed their beet salad - it has way too many wierd seeds on top of it now, giving it a TOO CRUNCHY texture. Please change it back! Other than that, our dinner was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

The squash blossoms are outstanding, the ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The squash blossoms are outstanding, the burger was very good and the overall experience was great

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and great food.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service and great food.

food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Not enough cheese

Dined on May 7, 2016

I ordered the pizza, which was very forgettable. I will remember it, however, as it only had a couple of dollops of goat cheese. It really needed more cheese- it was very dry.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & great wine at reasonable price

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was incredible. Loved everything we tries especially the polenta . The wine is sold at retail prices & they add $8.00 corking fee. Wine that we usually pay $90 at restaurant was $48 so $56 with the corking fee. Service was great & ambience cool fun vibetrio

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

way too loud!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

way too loud!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening!

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I have been to Enoteca several times and it is always a fun experience. The restaurant/bar is very lively and a great place to meet people or just people watch. The cocktails are great, with a wide variety of well crafted choices. We ordered the mushroom, goat cheese pizza and had a great beet salad as well. We have also really enjoyed the short ribs. The wait staff is usually very personable and the ambiance and decor is hip and trendy. Overall, if you are looking for a fun, lively and trendy place with excellent, imaginative food, this is one of North County's better choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was absolutely delicious but servic ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious but service left A LOT to be desired!!! Very loud but great atmosphere and decoration.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Stylish yet cozy restaurant,can't wait to go back!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I love this stylish yet cozy restaurant. The food was awesome, my pasta dish was delicious and the parm and truffle fries were fried perfectly, although I wish there were more cheese and truffles on them. The presentation of the desserts were good looking and tasty too. My husband had the pizza, we had to bag it because we had too much to eat, but when we reheated them in the oven, they were still very delicious! Overall a really great experience, however we do wish the waiters there can be a bit friendlier in general.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caesar salad

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Wonderful restaurant but it needs to fix its caesar salad. It is simply not edible.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was perfect for a special occasion!

Dined on April 25, 2016

I have been to Cucina Urbana several times (when I lived in San Diego and after moving away) and have always loved it. When a work retreat brought us to Del Mar, I knew I had to try Cucina Enoteca. I was not disappointed at all! I was recently diagnosed with celiac disease and I am pregnant, so my food options were limited. Michael, the GM was extremely helpful over e-mail beforehand to ensure me that there were still plenty of options to eat. Our server at the restaurant (Matthew I believe) was amazing, confirming my dietary restrictions and answering all my questions. We ordered a salad, gluten free pasta and risotto. I don't usually love risotto but this one was amazing! My fiancé was hesitant to order it since he wasn't sure about the ingredients, but he loved it too (although was very nice and let me finish it off for him). Matthew was also great with wine pairings for my fiancé. We will definitely be back the next time we're in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointing Enoteca

Dined on April 25, 2016

Wine list was good, service was good. Food was underwhelming. Ordered apps, assuming they'd be served at the same time. Nope. Focaccia came out a good 5 minutes before the giant meatballs we'd hope to have with it. Osso bucco was completely flavorless, and the bland side of beans served with it did no favors. Pizzas were fine, but nothing special. All in all a disappointing meal for a special family event.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4

We went there for desserts after an even ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

We went there for desserts after an event with my wife. Can see where they were going and are interesting twists with candied rosemary and thyme but just didn't do it for me. Their polenta with ragu that we've had in the past is amazing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than ever

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We often dine at Cucina Enoteca, but our last meal was outstanding. The addition of the Arctic Char entree is not to be missed. Like everything on the menu, the chef does an excellent job of combining the freshest of ingredients for fantastic creative cuisine. We also always enjoy the wine list, and the opportunity to try something new. The servers are knowledgeable and able to make great recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely return

Dined on April 16, 2016

Amazing Food, fun and eclectic decor. We were seated in a corner window banquet. It was a great place to watch the restaurant come to life. And come to life it did. Clearly a lively set of people frequent here with family, friends and dates on a regular basis. If we lived closer, we would become regulars too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Just ok...Pricey wine.

Dined on April 15, 2016

They push the bottled wines and appetizers big time. Food is reasonably priced. Wine though of good quality is expensive. Seems like high end Del Mar singles hangout. No that impressed.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience!

Dined on April 10, 2016

We went for a birthday dinner with some friends and had an incredible time. We brought a couple bottles of wine and the corkage was reasonable (and we ordered a couple more). The food was all excellent, especially the barrata. We shared various small plates and it allowed us to taste a lot of great things on the menu. We'll definitely be back to work our way through the rest of the options.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great vibe, good food. Pate is delicious ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great vibe, good food. Pate is delicious! Menu a little limited, but wine selection superb. Noise level too high for group conversation, but otherwise, a great neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Consistently have excellent service, has a brilliant and robust wine list, the food is always fresh and divine! I dine here 1-2 times a month for business and personal lunches.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cucina enoteca

Dined on April 1, 2016

Awesome place to eat. Delicious food with friendly staff. Very attentive. Not too formal of an environment, interesting decor. Make sure to make a reservation, always crowded. 10/10 will visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable in every way

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

The kitchen and dining of Cucina Enoteca is run impeccably. The service is on par to every degree. Customers are treated like valued guests. Attention is taken to celebrations, food concerns, and overall satisfaction. The food is of the highest quality and prepared at the highest standard. This is the dined experience that impresses at every visit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Not sure

Dined on March 28, 2016

4 of us went for Easter dinner. 3 thought the food was good. I ordered lamb chops, waiter didn't ask me how I wanted them cooked? Came very rare and tough to chew. Never came back and asked if it was ok. Mistake I didn't say anything, didn't want to disturb a good time with friends. As my Irish Grandfather would say it was mutton, not lamb. Afterwards, my husband complained to management and they were very kind to give us a gift certificate for my meal price, to try them again. That's a sign of a good restaurant in my book, so that's why I say not sure.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More than I expected!

Dined on March 27, 2016

I was impressed with the atmosphere and the wait staff. Everything we ate was delicious and we cleaned our plates. The brunch antipasti bar had just the right amount of choices. A great place for Sunday Brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Cucina Enoteca

Dined on March 27, 2016

The brunch entrées were limited.The desserts were few and very disappointing.However, there was a good cheese selection.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal! First time for brunc ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Another great meal! First time for brunch, DEFINITELY not the last ... Too good!

food3
ambience4
service4

Pizza was slightly burnt

Dined on March 27, 2016

Pizza was slightly burnt

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in the Del Mar area - food is consistently good - appetizers, salads and entrees are all great but I wish they would have a more diverse selection of desserts ...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience!

Dined on March 26, 2016

We really enjoyed the unique food here. The stuffed squash blossoms were out of this world! The giant meatballs were tasty. The staff was friendly and attentive, and the scene was great to take in. Even though the location is not the best...you look at the parking lot from the main dining room - once it gets dark you never notice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to place

Dined on March 24, 2016

Always a good time with excellent food and service. Squash blossoms are wonderful. Both had pasta dishes and were both quite happy with our choice. Tried the Scribe cab great value. Since it was my birthday treated to champagne and dessert. Perfect dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Dinner was great the service was poor at best

Dined on March 15, 2016

We had to wait 35 minutes for a check, then when a credit card was presented the itemized check was not give to us. I will be hesitant to come back here again for a business dinner. As my guest were inconvenienced by the long wait time for the check to arrive. One had to leave before the group to catch a plane. Very disappointed as the food was amazing the room is well designed but our waiter was never anywhere to be found.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic 10/10

Dined on March 14, 2016

Fantastic 10/10

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.