About Cucina 24

24 Wall Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC.

Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South.

We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:



Tuesday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm



Dinner:



Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm



Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 254-6170

Website:
http://www.cucina24restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on Wall Street as well as Wall Street parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brian Canipelli

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Rigatoni Bolgonese
Petite Lettuce, Speck, Herb Vinaigrette, Pecan, Blue Cheese
Whip La Tur
mushroom risotto
Cheese Board
Bacon scallops
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad
Pizza
Beet Salad With Popcorn Pana Cotta
Kumimoto Oysters
Cap Ribeye
Roasted Beet Salad
Spaghetti
Dessert

Cucina 24 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (84)
special occasion (55)
romantic (44)
See All
neighborhood gem (38)
good for groups (27)
notable wine list (26)
hot spot (16)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (8)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were first rate! I ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were first rate! It was our 52nd wedding anniversary and we were treated like royalty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very different then the Italian food in ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very different then the Italian food in NY NJ area, in a good way though Farm to table and very nice place in the middle of downtown asheville. I would def go back

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Asheville. Great food ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Best restaurant in Asheville. Great food, service and ambiance. We r repeat offenders (recidivist s) at this fine establishment.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HAd a fabulous meal at Cucina 24 last we ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

HAd a fabulous meal at Cucina 24 last weekend! Pasta homemade and perfectly prepared, simply and delicious! Trout was outstanding, as was pizza with peaches and cheese! Chocolate semifredo was scrumptious. Service was excellent, quiet atmosphere where you can actually hear your table conversation. Will go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4

Great ambience. We were seated by the k ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great ambience. We were seated by the kitchen so we could see the dish room., but it wasn't too bad. The food was good!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. The focaccia was incredibl ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing food. The focaccia was incredible. So was the pasta and pizza. Would definitely recommend.

food3
ambience3
service3

I've been several times with great food ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I've been several times with great food and service, however last night every dish was SALTY. Way too SALTY. All 3 dishes we had were drowning in salt. A shame because the dishes were otherwise quite good but hard to get any other flavor. Good atmosphere but acoustics were horrible when the place started filling up.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent experience

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A wonderful place!

Dined on June 10, 2016

This was a delightful experience. Our waitress was very warm and friendly. The service was very good although it did take a bit longer to get our entrees than seemed ideal. Overall, the food was delicious, great atmosphere. We really enjoyed it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down the best restaurant in town!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

We dine here regularly and are never disappointed. The menu changes regularly and the food, service and overall experience is consistently outstanding! Truly a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic appetizers

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

I went to Cucina 24 following a friend recommendation, the overall experience was good to very good. Appetizers were fantastic, main courses not so much. Our waiter was great, but the kitchen was very slow.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service (shout out to Rich!). ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service (shout out to Rich!). Excellent menu choices. Excellent food preparation. Perfect for "foodies" like my wife and me.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cucina 24 lives up to billing.

Dined on May 28, 2016

A friend recommended Cucina 24 for dinner. We had the halibut and mussels, and both were delicious. The focaccia bread was a great starter. We had a table at the back of the restaurant overlooking the street behind. It was cozy and gave us a great view of the restaurant. For dessert, we had strawberries in a firm meringue. It was tops too. The service was friendly, helpful and timely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and ambiance were very nice. Each course was done well and the service was very smooth and responsive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceeded expectations at every turn- tho ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Exceeded expectations at every turn- thoughtful and beautiful cocktails portended an excellent meal. Well-paired wines complimented the meal. Would recommend to anyone looking for a wonderful meal in Asheville

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly one of the more remarkable Italian ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Truly one of the more remarkable Italian meals I've had in a long time. The food was amazing -- every detail considered and cared about. The service was fantastic - I asked my server for recommendations across all courses and he hit it perfectly. The atmosphere was great. Highly recommend Cucina 24 to foodies and casual diners looking to be delighted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was about as kind and competent as ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Staff was about as kind and competent as it gets. Really enjoyed our meal. Food was fantastic. We are going to start eating a Cucina 24 more often. ESPECIALLY because it was quiet. We are in our 60's and do not like noisy dining rooms. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The cocktails were perfect. My Manhatta ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The cocktails were perfect. My Manhattan was one of the best I've ever had! Small plates incredible. We enjoyed two bottles of a wonderful wine from Tuscany call Vernaculum. Extremely food-friendly, delicious Aromas and taste of wild strawberries and low alcohol 12%. Our server was top-notch and professional. We can't wait to go back, and hope to get the same server.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, excellent service. My ve ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Wonderful food, excellent service. My vegan diet was no problem for the chef. One of the best meals ever!

food5
ambience4
service3

The food was killer but we had to wait a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was killer but we had to wait a while for drinks, apps and entrees. The staff were really accommodating when we missed our reservation also.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A perfect celebration

Dined on May 14, 2016

We marked our daughter's college graduation with a delicious meal at Cucina 24. Every dish was a treat. The staff was helpful and gracious--we stayed for a long time over multiple courses. It's rather expensive, so not for every day dining for us, but it would be my top pick for a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best overall experiences in m ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

One of the best overall experiences in many years. A creative menu from top to bottom and each dish is presented as wonderfully as it tastes. Try as many items as possible and don't forget the incredible desserts. The service was just about perfection as well. Just loved this place.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good restaurant for special occasions

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was my 4th or 5th dinner at Cucina 24 in Asheville and each has been a good experience. I consider the priority of "my likes" to be 1 ambiance , 2 food and 3 service all of which are good to very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Already looking forward to my next visit!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Excellent night! We started off sampling a few of the small plates and shared them (we were a group of four). The waitstaff was very knowledgable in explaining the different menu items. Every dish that was brought to us was a work of art, the chefs obviously love what they do. Our main courses were wonderful, fantastic veal parmesan, steak cooked to perfection. I forget what the others had but there was certainly nothing left on anyones plate! The desserts were lovely, the wine was great....a very, very satisfying evening. Not rushed at all. I'm looking forward to trying Cucina 24 for lunch, as they've recently expanded to serve that.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Now Open For Lunch

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

In days of old Cucina 24 was open for Lunch and then it wasn't and now it is once again!!! Yippee, this is the perfect restaurant to meet friend or business partners when you are looking for simple fare done beautifully in a very handsome space with excellent service. Pizza has the perfect tasty crust with topping choices to satisfy the meat lover or vegetarian. We had one with potato and one with shitake mushrooms and switched halfway through in order to have two different tastes. Also had a Burial Beer - local and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food, slow service

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Sometimes we thought we had been forgotten. But when our server was present, we were treated well. The food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Put this on the Top of your list

Dined on May 1, 2016

We visited Cucina 24 during a walking food tour and ended up there for dinner the next night. It was the perfect ending to our trip to Asheville. The food was delicious and I plan on coming back when our family vacations in the region this summer. The chef owner was so approachable and deserves James Beard nomination he has received.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Hungry?

Dined on April 30, 2016

Quality of the food was very good. Mussels were excellent. Limited menu. Very small portions. Too expensive for the amount of food. For example, the flat iron steak consisted of two small strips of beef. Thought it was an appetizer. Overrated!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Interesting techniques

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

The restaurant has good space and open kitchen. Chef is creative, maybe sometimes too. My pasta dish of fresh wide noodles came with octopus and trout, but when the dish came to my table, I saw none Oh, they were in the dish, but changed. My server pointed out the octopus and fish "pasta." The elements were pureed, shaped into sheets and cooked sous vide. Cut into strips. Grilled. Now, I like some molecular gastronomy and trompe d'oeile, but it has limits. The goal should be pow flavor. This fell short. But go and try it. You decide.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

30th Anniversary

Dined on April 24, 2016

After dining twice before on girlfriend getaways to asheville, I decided to bring my husband while visiting town for our 30th wedding anniversary weekend. I noted our special occasion on OT and as soon as we arrived to Cucina 24, we were greeted with Happy Anniversary wishes, as well as being seated at their "best table"! We ordered a bottle of Brunello from the extensive wine list, that happened to be one of our favorites and from a vineyard we have actually visited in Italy! Casanova Di Neri. It was sublime. We started our food experience by sharing some PEI mussels served with grilled bread and a delicious white wine and bacon broth. It was a huge portion, def enough for four, but my husband finished them all! The menu is great for sharing and trying many items, we decided to order a grilled quail dish, and a homemade pasta with a pork ragu. We seriously fought over the quail. There were two plump little birds served over some of the softest and most delicious canelini beans in a sauce that I wish I could duplicate. Incredible, great job chefs! The pasta was cooked nicely, but just plain didn't compare to the quail. But no complaints. Our service was outstanding. We were offered a celebratory dessert and had the homemade flan. As stuffed as we were, We finished every bite! I love that each time I've dined at Cucina, the menu has seasonably changed and is farm to table. I would highly recommend Cucina, and will of course be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner - hats off to the chef!

Dined on April 23, 2016

My family and I traveled to Asheville for a birthday weekend and we made a reservation at Cucina24. It did not disappoint! Yummy!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it

Dined on April 22, 2016

This was a great restaurant. The food was delicious, the wait staff was great and it was a very trendy ambiance. I would go here again in a heartbeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable evening ..

Dined on April 22, 2016

This was our first time at Cucina. The cheese board appetizer was delicious. The wine list was extensive and the entree's were really good. The pasta was cooked to perfection. The dessert was out of this world. The chocolate and the mint. We had a good time and the service was good. The hostess was so sweet.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Genuine Italian Flavors

Dined on April 20, 2016

Excellent meal and wine with friendly service from Rich. I have lived in Italy and appreciate a restaurant that strives to present great locally sourced food and truly Italian flavors. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The octopus salad, and beet salad were n ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

The octopus salad, and beet salad were nice appetizers both the pasta dishes one with spicy sausage and the other with pork were very good . Asked for bread and was very pleased with warm fresh served with oil, excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievably great.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Amazing. We will come back just for the pork belly alone. The olives, the appetizers, the tuna entrée ... All fantastic. A beautiful place and a wonderful atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nothing special

Dined on April 16, 2016

My Husband and I were in Asheville for a getaway weekend and wanted to go out for a great meal while we were in town. The food and service was good but was nothing special. We each had a pasta dish that did not seem much more then box pasta, even though it was homemade. There are so many food options in the Asheville area, I don't feel the strong need to come back here again on our next visit.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Cecina used to be our favorite Asheville restaurant. Not sure what has happened. The martini's weren't good and served with no olives and the wrong gin; the pasta served cold as though it came out of fridge (i sent it back) ; the white anchovy crostini isn't good anymore (1 anchovy on a piece of crostini with some sort of cheese spread slathered on it). The one bright spot was the fish dish - it was awesome. We won't be back for a very long time - i only hope they can get their mojo back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Improving over time

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We've eaten at Cucina 24 about once per quarter for the last four years. The quality of the food has improved over time, with our last meal ranking as good as any in Asheville!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on April 10, 2016

Everything was outstanding! Molly was an amazing server and the food exceeded or expectations.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.