About Cucina 24

24 Wall Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC.

Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South.

We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.

Chef Brian has three children, Mia, Skylar and Luca.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:



Tuesday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm



Dinner:



Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm



Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 254-6170

Website:
http://www.cucina24restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on Wall Street as well as Wall Street parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brian Canipelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Cucina 24 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (47)
Fit for Foodies (43)
See All
Creative Cuisine (37)
Local Ingredients (35)
Open Kitchen (33)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (32)
Wood Oven (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
Cozy (20)
Authentic (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Seasonal (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Tapas (11)
Fun (11)
Casual (10)
Disabled Access (8)
Organic (7)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Private Room (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Spicy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

When making our reservation I requested ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

When making our reservation I requested a romantic table for my wife's birthday. Upon arrival, the first thing we noticed was a old peeling faux leather sofa in the waiting area. Then we were taken to our "romantic" table about two feet from the expo station where we could enjoy the sounds of dishes and the view of the backs of servers as they grab their food. The menu was confusing and their prix fixed menu had all of the good items; which were unavailable to order otherwise. Our waiter seemed very kind and attentive, but it was too little too late for us. We went next door and without a reservation we were seated at a far superior table with great ambiance and service. I don't think we will be back. The food may be spectacular, but unfortunately you will have to overcome barriers to very to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

As always, Cucina 24 does not disappoint ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, Cucina 24 does not disappoint. We are frequent diners ere and tonight we had a pizza for the very first lime, excellent! This is in our top five of restaurants in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite restaurants! ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of our favorite restaurants! Our waiter, Robertino was fabulous. So professional and patient. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious. Would recommend to ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely delicious. Would recommend to anyone! We did the chefs selection coursed meal and it was adventurous---everything was incredible (things we'd never try otherwise but were so good!) they were also very accommodating of our dietary needs

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Intimate atmosphere, friendly staff. Ser ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Intimate atmosphere, friendly staff. Server was particularly good. Meal/service was nicely paced between apps and meal. Never ran out of drinks. Didn't feel rushed at all. Music wasn't loud but somewhat eclectic style. Didn't seem to fit that we'll overall but no complaint.

Loved subtlety of flavors. Monk fish was excellent. Potions were perfect. Seating was packed and noise level was surprisingly subdued.

Really enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cucina 24 is an eclectic Italian restaur ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Cucina 24 is an eclectic Italian restaurant. It has taken the Italian Classics in a different direction - a good one! Being Italian, I'm used to and bored with "red" sauce everywhere I go. I can make that at home. Here, I had spaghetti with lemon and anchovies. Amazing! My non-Italian husband had pasta with American "red" sauce. We started with a great salad that was not "over-dressed". We also had fresh green olives ! They were sooooooooooooo good! For dessert my husband had gelato, which was wonderful, and I had the chocolate plate - rich, chocolate-y, decandence. They have a prix-fixe menu as well as a standard menu. We didn't have the prix-fixe because of dietary issues. Our waiter was great and it has a great view of downtown Asheville's busy streets.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food! Nice environment and prices ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Nice environment and prices were reasonable. Will definitely go again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been many times to Cucina24 because ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

I've been many times to Cucina24 because I like the low light ambiance and it's good Italian cuisine. Prices are reasonable. Service was very slow last time I went. With a 6:45 reservation we didn't get out until 9:15. We weren't lingering, it was just taking that long. I was with an out-of-town business associate and would have rather had a chance to tour around Asheville after the meal, but by the time we got out and with a business meeting all day the next day, we just didn't have the time. Thx Cucina24. It won't stop me from coming back, but I was a little disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was great and so was our server, Ro ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great and so was our server, Robertino. The only complaint was how long it took every thing to actually arrive at our table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cucina 24 is my favorite restaurant in A ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cucina 24 is my favorite restaurant in Asheville. Creative Italian cuisine - the pastas and wood oven pizza are my favorites, but the rest of the seasonal menu is terrific as well. I have yet to have a mediocre wine by the glass there - they are always well-chosen - delicious and interesting. The service is outstanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food took very long to get to our table ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food took very long to get to our table even though the restaurant was nearly empty. Some of the food was served at different times and was lukewarm. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We always enjoy the total experience at ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We always enjoy the total experience at Cucina. This evening we were looking for an early light dinner. To start my wife ordered a green salad and and I ordered the steamed mussels. The salad was very simple with Boston lettuce and a very tasty vinaigrette dressing. The mussels were in their own lightly seasoned broth... excellent. We then shared a pizza which again was superb. The thin crust was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I keep returning to Cucina 24 so, clearl ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I keep returning to Cucina 24 so, clearly, I like it. Our server was Malcom, that evening, and he was as delightful as he was professional. Since it's established that I like the food it's the server that can make-or-break your experience -- nothing to worry about with Malcom. I will go so far as to request him in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food and service was absolutely wond ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our food and service was absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend Cucina 24 to locals and tourists.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable salad: fresh delicate gre ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Very enjoyable salad: fresh delicate greens tastily served with flavorful dressing and crunchy topping. Pasta was rich and satisfying. A couple of large groups in the restaurant made our converstion a challenge.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our second visit. Everything wa ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our second visit. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heavy metal music on the speakers! Maybe ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Heavy metal music on the speakers! Maybe great for kitchen staff but not best for our dinner. Service was great and fun with good advice. Drinks pricey and charge extra for rocks pour. Food was tasty but price > value to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Sadly, our meal at Cucina 24 was a disap ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Sadly, our meal at Cucina 24 was a disappointment. First and foremost, I should say that the service was excellent and our server did everything possible to make our meal enjoyable, but the food itself was a disappointment. We ordered a bowl of olives which were plentiful (way too many for two people) but seemingly came straight from the jar with no extra preparation. The cheese plate was only OK... two of the three cheeses were blue cheese and it was garnished with a few nuts, apple slices and orange segments. The green salad with breadcrumbs was just that, with very little dressing and no flavor. And finally, the pasta dish we ordered was so salty that we had to send it back (I've only ever sent one other dish back in my life!). The waitress felt terrible and assured us that they wanted to make us another dish, so that was a positive. Alll in all, for the price, the meal was a let down.

One shining spot in the meal was the house made focaccia bread which was delicious!! Go for a drink and the bread :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Food was excellent as was the service. R ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was excellent as was the service. Robert was our server, he answered all of our questions, and gave us a heads up on a few dishes(he warned me the Nduja pizza would be spicy, he wasn't kidding). The salad was delicious, as we're our entrees and desert. One of the best in Asheville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went here for a girls night out dinne ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went here for a girls night out dinner. Great food, great service. The food is priced on the high end, but I would say that most of the items lived up to their price. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and extensive wine list--we went with his recommendations and were very satisfied.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. We had steak and pas ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was excellent. We had steak and pasta that we shared. Our friends had pizza which was also outstanding.

Service was good and atmosphere was nice. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

sitting at the bar was entertaining as t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

sitting at the bar was entertaining as the kitchen is lively and fun. Food was authentic and creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food and service! Kim was ou ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Phenomenal food and service! Kim was our server and absolutely outstanding. Compliments ro the Culinary Team. I am an Executive Sous Chef for a private club where I oversee 35 Culinary staff within three kitchens. I have worked for A French Master Chef and Managed three Regional Italian Restaurants in my career. The culinary preperation to everything we had was done to perfection and the Food was fantastic. Thank you for an AmaIng experience.

Eric McVaugh

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous. We've eaten at near ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Absolutely fabulous. We've eaten at nearly every restaurant in Asheville, and Cucina 24 is now my husbands favorite. His sister resides in Florence so it's safe to say my husband knows fine, regional dishes. He was wowed at C24's fried sardines. The country pate, made in house was top notch and the focccacia was memorable. We'l be back soon!

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great dinner! Rigatoni Amatric ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great dinner! Rigatoni Amatriciana was perfect, though it might be a little spicy for some. Terrific Grilled Celery Root w Burned Bread Crumbs and Caesar Sauce! Pavlova for dessert- lemon sorbet filled meringue shell fun way to end the night. Nice wine list. Have already recommended to friends. Makes Top 7 dining experiences on my Asheville List.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Spicy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Meal with friends. Everything ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful Meal with friends. Everything we had was great! Especially enjoyed pizza and all the pasta dishes. Would recommend this to anyone, both local and traveling!

Tags: , Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing. Our server Malcom was ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was amazing. Our server Malcom was very knowledgable about the wine and food and helped us make some great pairings. I honestly cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My son and I took my wife out for her bi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My son and I took my wife out for her birthday and they treated us like royalty. When they found out it was her birthday they sent out extra special dishes on the house and surprise us with amazing house made ice creams/sorbets. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. Truly the best!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been hitting up Cucina 24 for years ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I've been hitting up Cucina 24 for years. Every visit has been great, never disappointed. I'll certainly be going back for years to come.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, People Watching, Casual, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Tapas, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful and the waitress was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was wonderful and the waitress was very friendly. Only two complaints - I had requested with my reservation to be seated away from service areas and was seated right next to the kitchen. I realize it is a small restaurant but even one table back from the kitchen could likely have been accommodated. Also our entrees came out separately, so the first entrée was cold by the time the second arrived. However all and all we had a great time and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our New Years Eve dinner was incredible. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our New Years Eve dinner was incredible. You could tell the chefs took great care in designing the menu with local, fresh ingredients. The courses kept coming and we enjoyed every one. Can't say enough about our food and service. Thanks for a memorable evening!

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have never been disappoint ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I have never been disappointed with Cucina 24. The food was superb. Service was excellent. The attention they put into preparing the food ,to it's presentation was top notch. Looking forward to our next meal there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. We enjoyed the preset Ne ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food. We enjoyed the preset New Years Eve menu and were fully taken care of. Service was great. Courses we're very diverse. All food was fresh and well executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our third time dining at Cucina ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is our third time dining at Cucina 24. This time on New Years Eve with a prix fix menu. All in all a great experience. The first course (5 items) was slightly overwhelming, most likely due to the fact that we didn't realize that this was all part of the first course and at first we thought they brought our entire meal all out together. Would have been nice had their been more explanation of the experience. Once we realized, this was just the first course, all went better. The value was outstanding and the food was fantastic. Our entrees were simply amazing and so delicious! We also had the wine pairing and were very pleased with all of the choices, especially since we really don't have much knowledge/experience with Italian wines, great picks! This restaurant never disappoints which is why we always come back each time we are in the Asheville area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Drinks were good but We were very disapp ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Drinks were good but We were very disappointed in food. This farm to table restaurant was more vegetarian than Italian. The bucatini pasta was lacking in flavor as was the squash pizza. Celery root and side vegetables were burnt - especially the carrots. Overpriced for quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

This was our second time going to Cucina ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our second time going to Cucina 24. This time we brought friends from out of town. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. I would encourage groups or couples to order plates for sharing and ask for the waiter's suggestions. We did this both times we visited and it was a hit! I would list our favorites but the menu seems to change often! Try it all!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent cheese board, Enjoyed the Sang ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent cheese board, Enjoyed the Sangiovese and Bolognese. I would go back again tomorrow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

server was excellent and so was the food

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

server was excellent and so was the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Cucina 24 was an excellent find! We arri ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Cucina 24 was an excellent find! We arrived a bit early for our reservation and were able to sit at the bar and enjoy a few drinks before dinner. The bartenders were very attentive, and the cocktails here are handcrafted, very unique and some of the best we had in Asheville. Our knowledgable server made some excellent food recommendations, and both our dishes were excellent. The menu changes often here, meaning the ingredients are fresh, seasonal and local (you can find a list of the farms where they source ingredients on the back of the menu). The pasta was delicious, the focaccia was authentic and our brussels sprouts were cooked to perfection. The kitchen is open, providing a lively atmosphere that blended well with the dimly-lit, romantic vibe of the dining area. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a tasty and creative twist on Italian fare.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A truly great experience rooted in the w ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A truly great experience rooted in the warm and welcoming experience created by our server. With restaurants becoming more and more busy in Asheville I've noticed much of the service around the city is becoming transactional - not the case at Cucina 24. My new favorite place to dine when visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.