Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Cucina 24

Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC.

Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South.

We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.

Chef Brian has three children, Mia, Skylar and Luca.

24 Wall Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:



Tuesday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm



Dinner:



Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm



Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 254-6170

Website:
http://www.cucina24restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on Wall Street as well as Wall Street parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brian Canipelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Please join us in ringing in the New Year!
We will be cooking a multi-course family-style meal.
The cost is $65 per person, please reserve your spot today, as we are filling up fast.

Cucina 24 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (72)
Good for a Date (70)
Fit for Foodies (64)
See All
Special Occasion (59)
Local Ingredients (45)
Tasting Menu (40)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Romantic (39)
Authentic (38)
Notable Wine List (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Bar Seating (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Cozy (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Fun (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Business Meals (18)
Healthy (18)
Seasonal (17)
Casual (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Organic (7)
Tapas (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort by
S
1753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 2 days ago

Best pasta and cheese board in Asheville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first Cucina 24 experience and we loved it. We ate at the lively kitchen bar and did the tasting menu, which was creative, tasty, and a real value. Highly-recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We went on a Sunday evening, and it was quiet and all around perfect. Food, wine, ambience and service were stellar. Wish we lived in Asheville:-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Best restaurant in Asheville!! Wait staff and hostess are very professional, warm and approachable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Looking for an innovative dining experience look no further than Cucina 24. Alan our server was attentive and knowledgeable. We had the tasting dinner and it was fabulous The presentation and unique flavors melted in your mouth. Kudos to the chef. We are going again next week!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 10, 2017

My wife and I had a very enjoyable dinner there this weekend. My dinner was a whole grilled fish with roasted root vegetables, and the whole meal was delicious. My wife got the house-made pasta, which was also very good.

A note on the decor: I noticed that they did a great job integrating acoustical panels on the ceiling, which made the noise level in the high-occupancy early evening setting very comfortable, feeling lively while still allowing easy conversation at our table. That's an oversight at so many other nice restaurants, so I wanted to make sure to mention that thoughtful touch here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Enjoyed an anniversary dinner last night. Katie was awesome. She offered personal opinions about each dish and wine selections. She was right on.
It was interesting seeing the chef/ staff never get into frenzy; yet see them plate food with amazing efficiency and consistency!
Each dish was simply incredible. Every plate on nearby tables looked incredible.
We will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Excellent, best restaurant in Asheville. Interesting and delicious. I enjoyed the chefs multi-course cuisine. It was different, thrilling and very good. It was an adventure in dining. The staff are very professional, friendly, and accommodating. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Good service and value. Food was thoughtful and generally tasty. Good wine and spirits list.
They offered a price fix menu as well as a la cart choices. Authentic Italian pasta dishes were available as well as interesting entrees. Noise level was acceptable, held a conversation with out-of-town friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Sat near open kitchen and watched how smoothly the kitchen ran. Wait staff recommended wine & beer. Loved the recommendations.
Food was prepared very well, high quality, excellent taste, very memorable meal. As good if not better than similar meals eaten in Italy.
Would highly recommend this when visiting Asheville.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Cucina has never failed us. It's warm inviting atmosphere and the pleasant, extremely professional wait staff are icing on the cake for the delicious and unique food they serve.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Brought some friends for their first visit to Cucina 24 👍👍

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We enjoy coming there. Great food. Our server was average. Maggie needs a better attitude .

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Robertino is amazing, and as always the food was only shown up by the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Everything excellent especially the food. Service needed to be a bit more knowledgeable of the menu and a bit more attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

We would definitely go again. The prix fix tasting looked very interesting, however we were
having a late dinner (9pm) and wanted to really time to enjoy that dining option.
Missed out on the mussels so we opted for the tuna appetizer. Would not order that again. Tasted too much of the oil, and not enough of the tuna. However, the bolognese was wonderful.
Our server was great and very knowledgable. There house made focaccia is fabulous but ask for it at the beginning and it is extra $.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 30, 2017

We liked Cucina 24 Very Much. Local ingredients as much as possible. Very good Food, and Service. One of our new favorites in Asheville.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Cucina 24 is a simple Italian restaurant that does bread, pasta, and drinks well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Amazing food !! Great Service !! One of our favorite restaurants in Asheville !! We had the family style dinner, sooo glad we did. Each dish was amazing !!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 29, 2017

special night out Cucina 24 delivered on all levels

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2017

very pleased with our dinner. We came prepared to order from others reviews and decided to instead order the chefs 4 course dinner selection. It was delightful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2017

My wife and I visit Asheville several times a year. We were in town for a concert and had heard good things about Cucina 24 so we made reservations several weeks earlier ( good thing because no seats were available until 9 that night). My sister and brother in law had been there the night before and recommended the tasting menu. Great advice. We had 5 dishes plus the desert menu. It was creative and excellent. Nice job chef (s). The service was great too and nothing was rushed. Highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I brought my good friends from out of town here for an amazing dinner. Everything from the handcrafted cocktails and the great service was exactly what I expected from this well reviewed Italian restaurant. The food was heavenly, Brian the executive chef is a genius. Our server Robertino was polite, fun, and very knowledgeable. I can't wait to come back. Anthony

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Always fabulous! Roberto o was excellent! Great food great fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 25, 2017

We were visiting Asheville this week and decided to try Cucina 24 and it was a pleasant surprise. The food was outstanding and we consider ourselves serious foodies. The pasta dishes are some of the best we have experienced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 22, 2017

I am a local and haven’t been for a while. I wish I hadn’t strayed. Unique and delishish dishes nice staff and enough variety for all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

This is easily in the upper eschelon of Asheville restaurants.......superb food offerings, presented in creative fashions.....simply a very special dining experience.....

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Brilliant farm to table approach. Highly suggest ordering what the chef is cooking that evening. We enjoyed a great 5 course meal with a great bottle of wine over 2 hours. The wait staff was on point and we really enjoyed the evening. Glad we made the reservation and took the time out to enjoy all that Cucina 24 offers.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Amazing atmosphere and dinner. Our server, Robertino was knowledgable and so helpful with explaining menu options. Loved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Thought this was a spot we hit many years ago, based on the menu on OpenTable. Either I was mistaken or this was under new direction because the menu didn't match what is seen in the app. Regardless, had the tasting menu and was floored! I've had many meals in Asheville, but this might have been the best! This is highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

In general we had a good experience. The waiter was overbooked with tables and seemed in a hurry and not as helpful as one would expect. The food was hit or miss. The restaurant has a great atmosphere however.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Totally incompetent waitress made for a terrible evening. Malcom made up for the disaster. Perhaps Mondays are not a good day to dine out as the C crew is on duty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We went to Cucina 24 due to its presence on Eater's best of Asheville. It certainly did not disappoint. Great, authentic Italian food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Dined at Cucina 24 30 times. Always a treat. You will be served ingredients you seldom have eaten and the server can describe each in detail. For foodie's indeed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Absolutely the best pizza I ever experienced. The dough was exquisite. Wanted to take all the bread home. Could have used a bit more meatball. Every one in our group of 6 were delighted. Will certainly return even though we are 50 miles away. Kifo'so to the cooks, waiter was very attentive.
Thanks to the entire crew

Tags: Fun, Organic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Had a wonderful experience at Cucina 24 while in Asheville for an anniversary celebration. We selected the tasting menu and enjoyed each course equally. The food was delicious and the wait staff was friendly and attentive. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Food is very tasty but restaurant is very noisy. Not a place to go with friends for quiet conversation especially on a weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Food was very good but arrived so late (1.5hrs) we lost interest. Wait person was uninformed and non-attentive which mattered because the menu is confusing. The support staff were, however, quite good. Maybe this was not a typical night for the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience. We enjoyed every dish from the family style menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Asheville and our favorite Italian restaurant. Inventive, modern Italian with an emphasis on fresh local ingredients. Great service from Kim and all of the staff. Always happy for an oportunity to eat at Cucina 24. Hope to be back soon.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.