About Cucina 24

24 Wall Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC.

Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South.

We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.

Chef Brian has three children, Mia, Skylar and Luca.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:



Tuesday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm



Dinner:



Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm



Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 254-6170

Website:
http://www.cucina24restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on Wall Street as well as Wall Street parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brian Canipelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

mushroom risotto - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Whip La Tur - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Rigatoni Bolgonese - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Cheese Board - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Bacon scallops - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Pizza - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Petite Lettuce, Speck, Herb Vinaigrette, Pecan, Blue Cheese - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Beet Salad With Popcorn Pana Cotta - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Kumimoto Oysters - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Spaghetti - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Roasted Beet Salad - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Cap Ribeye - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Dessert - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC

Cucina 24 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Special Occasion (50)
See All
Creative Cuisine (42)
Open Kitchen (36)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Romantic (34)
Local Ingredients (32)
Wood Oven (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Cozy (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Bar Seating (21)
Authentic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Seasonal (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Business Meals (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Casual (13)
Fun (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Healthy (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Organic (9)
Tapas (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Private Room (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Spicy (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely fabulous. We've eaten at near ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely fabulous. We've eaten at nearly every restaurant in Asheville, and Cucina 24 is now my husbands favorite. His sister resides in Florence so it's safe to say my husband knows fine, regional dishes. He was wowed at C24's fried sardines. The country pate, made in house was top notch and the focccacia was memorable. We'l be back soon!

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great dinner! Rigatoni Amatric ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great dinner! Rigatoni Amatriciana was perfect, though it might be a little spicy for some. Terrific Grilled Celery Root w Burned Bread Crumbs and Caesar Sauce! Pavlova for dessert- lemon sorbet filled meringue shell fun way to end the night. Nice wine list. Have already recommended to friends. Makes Top 7 dining experiences on my Asheville List.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Spicy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Meal with friends. Everything ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful Meal with friends. Everything we had was great! Especially enjoyed pizza and all the pasta dishes. Would recommend this to anyone, both local and traveling!

Tags: , Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing. Our server Malcom was ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was amazing. Our server Malcom was very knowledgable about the wine and food and helped us make some great pairings. I honestly cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My son and I took my wife out for her bi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My son and I took my wife out for her birthday and they treated us like royalty. When they found out it was her birthday they sent out extra special dishes on the house and surprise us with amazing house made ice creams/sorbets. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. Truly the best!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been hitting up Cucina 24 for years ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I've been hitting up Cucina 24 for years. Every visit has been great, never disappointed. I'll certainly be going back for years to come.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, People Watching, Casual, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Tapas, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful and the waitress was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was wonderful and the waitress was very friendly. Only two complaints - I had requested with my reservation to be seated away from service areas and was seated right next to the kitchen. I realize it is a small restaurant but even one table back from the kitchen could likely have been accommodated. Also our entrees came out separately, so the first entrée was cold by the time the second arrived. However all and all we had a great time and will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our New Years Eve dinner was incredible. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our New Years Eve dinner was incredible. You could tell the chefs took great care in designing the menu with local, fresh ingredients. The courses kept coming and we enjoyed every one. Can't say enough about our food and service. Thanks for a memorable evening!

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have never been disappoint ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I have never been disappointed with Cucina 24. The food was superb. Service was excellent. The attention they put into preparing the food ,to it's presentation was top notch. Looking forward to our next meal there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. We enjoyed the preset Ne ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food. We enjoyed the preset New Years Eve menu and were fully taken care of. Service was great. Courses we're very diverse. All food was fresh and well executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our third time dining at Cucina ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is our third time dining at Cucina 24. This time on New Years Eve with a prix fix menu. All in all a great experience. The first course (5 items) was slightly overwhelming, most likely due to the fact that we didn't realize that this was all part of the first course and at first we thought they brought our entire meal all out together. Would have been nice had their been more explanation of the experience. Once we realized, this was just the first course, all went better. The value was outstanding and the food was fantastic. Our entrees were simply amazing and so delicious! We also had the wine pairing and were very pleased with all of the choices, especially since we really don't have much knowledge/experience with Italian wines, great picks! This restaurant never disappoints which is why we always come back each time we are in the Asheville area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Drinks were good but We were very disapp ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Drinks were good but We were very disappointed in food. This farm to table restaurant was more vegetarian than Italian. The bucatini pasta was lacking in flavor as was the squash pizza. Celery root and side vegetables were burnt - especially the carrots. Overpriced for quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

This was our second time going to Cucina ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our second time going to Cucina 24. This time we brought friends from out of town. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. I would encourage groups or couples to order plates for sharing and ask for the waiter's suggestions. We did this both times we visited and it was a hit! I would list our favorites but the menu seems to change often! Try it all!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent cheese board, Enjoyed the Sang ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent cheese board, Enjoyed the Sangiovese and Bolognese. I would go back again tomorrow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

server was excellent and so was the food

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

server was excellent and so was the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Cucina 24 was an excellent find! We arri ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Cucina 24 was an excellent find! We arrived a bit early for our reservation and were able to sit at the bar and enjoy a few drinks before dinner. The bartenders were very attentive, and the cocktails here are handcrafted, very unique and some of the best we had in Asheville. Our knowledgable server made some excellent food recommendations, and both our dishes were excellent. The menu changes often here, meaning the ingredients are fresh, seasonal and local (you can find a list of the farms where they source ingredients on the back of the menu). The pasta was delicious, the focaccia was authentic and our brussels sprouts were cooked to perfection. The kitchen is open, providing a lively atmosphere that blended well with the dimly-lit, romantic vibe of the dining area. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a tasty and creative twist on Italian fare.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A truly great experience rooted in the w ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A truly great experience rooted in the warm and welcoming experience created by our server. With restaurants becoming more and more busy in Asheville I've noticed much of the service around the city is becoming transactional - not the case at Cucina 24. My new favorite place to dine when visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The tagliatelle bolognese and orichiett ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The tagliatelle bolognese and orichiette was scrumptious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of four had a lovely meal at C ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our group of four had a lovely meal at Cucina 24 on Christmas Eve. The staff is young, hip and very professional. The menu is varied and interesting with lots of local fresh offerings. Our meals were delicious (a cheese plate, two pastas, a hearty white bean and kale soup and a beautifully prepared NY strip). The Wall street location is great for dining and then strolling to other fun Asheville locations, and a large parking garage is just across the street. We will definitely

return to this cool but cozy restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere, outstanding servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, outstanding service, and delicious Italian cuisine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this restaurant, and eat here oft ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I love this restaurant, and eat here often. The food has never disappointed, and this time we tried a few new items - the stracciatelli with butternut squash was sublime, and the duck confit crunchily awesome. The pizza chef made me a special to order pie with veggies that was delish, and my daughter couldn't help herself - we shared the chocolate panna cotta to finish. I'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. It was our firs ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We love this restaurant. It was our first lunch. We usually do dinner. It did not disappoint.

Tags: Disabled Access, Private Room, Cozy, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Romantic, , Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an incredible meal. Every aspect ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had an incredible meal. Every aspect of it was perfection. The N'djua pizza was one of the most delicious I've ever eaten. And our waiter was personable and professional. His recommendations were spot on, including an after-dinner music venue. And he comped us dessert as a way of congratulating us on our pregnancy. I wish we lived in town so we could become regulars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the restaurant. It never disappoint ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Love the restaurant. It never disappoints when it comes to a great night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard mixed reviews about Cucina ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had heard mixed reviews about Cucina 24 and had never dined there before. Our mistake... Everything was delicious, and the service was quite good. The cheese platter was amazing: what a delicious array and variety! My husband and I each selected a different pasta dish (homemade pasta, of course); the portions initially looked small, but that was only because the bowls were deceptively deep. (We ended up taking some home.) We also had grilled cauliflower--done two different ways--wonderful. Cucina 24 has a good wine menu, but it has an even more impressive selection of both liquor and liqueurs.

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had the pork neck, great cheese board an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Had the pork neck, great cheese board and the blood orange cake was awesome. like an orange dreamcycle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner service was exceptionally slow th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Dinner service was exceptionally slow the time between appetizer and entrée was one hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Love Cucina, everytime we go we always h ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Love Cucina, everytime we go we always have a great time with great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing experience from Chef Bri ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Another amazing experience from Chef Brian Cucinelli!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fabulous. My favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always fabulous. My favorite restaurant in Asheville.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was exceptional and our din ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Our waitress was exceptional and our dinner couldn't have been better

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent; the waitress ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service was excellent; the waitress was knowledgable, attentive, personable and efficient. Food was delicious: hot, appealing to the eye, very good seasoning, and made you want to eat more than you should. The bread was fresh. The appetizer plate was a thing of beauty(we took pictures) and the steak with the turnips and mustard greens was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MY mother in law and I dined here on Sat ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

MY mother in law and I dined here on Saturday night. We had a lovely bottle of wine, a pizza and some pasta. Our server was a sweet-natured young lady who was helpful with suggestions, especially regarding the wine. Our dessert was outstanding as well; I had the semi-freddo and it was delicious beyond description. After asking the hostess to not seat us in the entrance to the kitchen, we were finally able to get a nice two-top close to the open kitchen. The ambiance was such that my MIL and I were able to carry on a conversation with ease. My husband, MIL, and I are accustomed to eating out at high quality restaurants and Cucina24 did not disappoint.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed a delicious meal at a great p ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious meal at a great price with excellent service during our Asheville visit. It's our new go-to spot in that area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent overall experience. Seated as ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent overall experience. Seated as soon as we entered. Waitress very knowledgeable of menu items, including wine and drinks. Very helpful with our menu selections. Timing of the courses was perfect. We've been here before and will return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best restaurants in Asheville ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 5, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Asheville. I little pricey but great for a special occassion

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. Was able to meet the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was great. Was able to meet the sous-chef Eric, great guy, passionate about culinary excellence. Enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great ambiance. Loved the tagliatelle an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great ambiance. Loved the tagliatelle and my friend had Carbonara and said it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we live in this area my wife and I ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Since we live in this area my wife and I like to go there at least 5, 6 times a year. While the dining experience is always consistently above average - this Christmas Sales Dinner was absolutely excellent.

Food, choices of wine, service, knowledge and presentation - all a most delightful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't go wrong at Cucina 24! Great ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

You can't go wrong at Cucina 24! Great food as always. A reliable choice for an important business dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.