About Cucina 24

24 Wall Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC.

Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South.

We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:



Tuesday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm



Dinner:



Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm



Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 254-6170

Website:
http://www.cucina24restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on Wall Street as well as Wall Street parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brian Canipelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rigatoni Bolgonese
Petite Lettuce, Speck, Herb Vinaigrette, Pecan, Blue Cheese
Whip La Tur
mushroom risotto
Cheese Board
Bacon scallops
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad
Pizza
Beet Salad With Popcorn Pana Cotta
Kumimoto Oysters
Spaghetti
Roasted Beet Salad
Cap Ribeye
Dessert

Cucina 24 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (83)
Special Occasion (69)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
See All
Romantic (45)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Groups (26)
Hot Spot (20)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for a Date (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Wood Oven (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Cozy (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not our cup of tea. This restaurant is v ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Not our cup of tea. This restaurant is very eclectic with it's food choices. Had a hard time finding something on the daily changing menu (although farm to table) to eat. Pastas were fresh and would recommend the bolognese. Did not have pizza but they had a wood fired oven. Not allot of entree's to choose from.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

easily one of the best restaurants in as ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

easily one of the best restaurants in asheville. great produce, wine list, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The house salad and special focaccia bre ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The house salad and special focaccia bread were delicious but the entree, pasta and shrimp, was bland and ordinary. The cake was all dough and very little filling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

2 weeks dining at all the well known and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

2 weeks dining at all the well known and recommended places. Curate, Limones, Nightbell, Rhubarb, Tupelo. At the end we found Cucina 24. First night my husband and I had two different pastas, salads and shared the delicious olives. Loved it so much we had lunch there the next day and had one of the best pizzas ever (and we have eaten pizza all over the US including the James Beard winner in Phoenix). Spent our last night here before leaving Asheville. Cacio Pepe is an all time Fav!! but this preparation was the best. Hope everyone is lucky to find this hidden away place during their trips to Asheville.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A terrific meal. Wasn't expecting "Itali ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

A terrific meal. Wasn't expecting "Italian" food to be special in this part of the country but it was.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful. As good as you get ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Absolutely wonderful. As good as you get in New York or San Francisco for much more. The wood grilled Okra was divine as was the sardine salad. Great value on wines too,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Whole grilled fish with ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great service. Whole grilled fish with endive and eggplant was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally love the wait staff; did not en ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Normally love the wait staff; did not enjoy the waitress this night. Otherwise, usually always enjoy very much. I am a regular here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The bread is incredible!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The bread is incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Amazing homemade pasta. New menu daily a ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing homemade pasta. New menu daily and the wait staff is wonderful.everything about the old and the restaurant is delightful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative cocktails, and there are a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very creative cocktails, and there are always new cocktails to try. Food is great...had two different flatbreads that were very good, and the pastas are always fantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked on OpenTable and were immediat ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We booked on OpenTable and were immediately seated in a quiet booth (making it easy to hear one another!) and treated like queens! We returned a bottle of wine (something I almost NEVER do) and were immediately visited by a manager who made an incredible recommendation and continued to visit our table to take care of us. Everything we had (about 9 dishes from apps to salads to mains) was devine, from the olives to the tartare to the branzini. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brown butter sauce was very watery and t ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Brown butter sauce was very watery and the cacio e pepe was lacking flavor, back room was loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Celebrated my birthday here and had a FA ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Celebrated my birthday here and had a FABULOUS meal. Everything was perfect - and really appreciated the amazing dessert on the house. Very creative, fresh, beautifully presented and delicious food.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wait staff amazing.. liked the lighting, ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

wait staff amazing.. liked the lighting, intamacy of booth.. easy parking in garage..walked to Skybar after for view

Tags: Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was the best part of the meal, o ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Service was the best part of the meal, our server was very friendly and knew her stuff. The bread plate was good, and the gelato was very good. However the main dishes were very lacking, my pasta was cooked well but seems like they preportioned in plastic which left a flavor transfer which I ended up only eating a fourth of the dish. My wife's dish was undercooked and the shrimp had an overly strong order to it so she couldn't finish hers either.

I will commend the staff ended up taking the main dishes off the ticket which we didn't even ask for it to happen. They do care about their patrons which a lot of other people do not.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

Our favorite foodie place in Asheville. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our favorite foodie place in Asheville. Celebrated my wife's birthday this trip and had another wonderful time and very interesting menu choices. The food was perfectly prepared and delicious. Very good wine selection, too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed the atmosphere of this restaur ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I enjoyed the atmosphere of this restaurant. The food and drinks I ordered were flavorful and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The service was marginal. This could ha ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was marginal. This could have been our particular server. The menu is limited. When ordering bourbon on the rocks, we were charged an additional two dollars for what was described as a "pour charge". We had never had such a charge anywhere else in our travels or in Asheville. We officially renamed it a poor charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Both the waitress Chloe and the chef Nic ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Both the waitress Chloe and the chef Nick we're amazing. Nick, who prepared an awesome appetizer tray that was not only tasty but was so beautiful to look that we took pictures of it- was impressive with his cullinary skills. Both he and Chloe we're friendly, engaging and provided excellent service. The meal was delicious as well.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cucina 24 has a creative menu that's sur ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Cucina 24 has a creative menu that's sure please. If you like Italian food you won't be disappointed here. The appetizers and entrees were delicious, especially the rigatoni amatraciana! And their cheese platter was divine. I definitely recommend checking them out for a meal if you're in Asheville!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our second time at Cucina24 was just thi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Our second time at Cucina24 was just this last August 30th, and it was every bit as good as we remembered, even on a Tuesday night. My wife and I took two of our visiting friends. And they also loved the place for a memorable evening. As before, the ambience is terrific - warm and pleasant, with excellent service and terrific food. The bar scene is wonderful, good drinks both usual and unusual, and a show in itself. Prices seemed moderate for the quality this place keeps.

I always think twice before giving across the board "excellent" ratings, and have here. But even so I can enthusiastically rate this restaurant as excellent and highly recommend Cucina24.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat. VERY reasonably pri ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great place to eat. VERY reasonably priced for what it is. Couldn't pronounce any of the menu and our server was kind enough to help with that. Would recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was very good. It is more of an exot ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It was very good. It is more of an exotic Italian experience, but there was stuff for my picky eater husband.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable dinner. Pleasant environment. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Enjoyable dinner. Pleasant environment.

I had heard a good deal of hype and had expected a little more Pizazz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We have eaten at Cucina many times. Over ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We have eaten at Cucina many times. Over the years we have enjoyed dinner on week nights as well as for special occasions. The last three or four times we have visited we noticed the food was not as delicious as in times past. The recent visit was very disappointing as we were served quail that was extremely tough and a pork chop that was very fatty. All in all, very disappointing. Will probably not book dinner reservations in the future. Too many very good restaurants in Asheville to settle for sub par food. Sad because I loved eating here for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

This is another restaurant that was reco ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This is another restaurant that was recommended to us.My dinner was amazing...trout dish.

My husband ordered a pasta dish and he thought it had no flavor. He would not go back for pasta but he loved my dinner. You also had to pay extra for bread if you wanted it which in an Italian restaurant seemed odd. The server had a little of an attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was delicious. Homemade pasta ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was delicious. Homemade pasta. Shrimp appetizer. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice compliment to our stay in Asheville ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nice compliment to our stay in Asheville. Excellent service with very good food and ambience Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cucina 24 was so good, we went back a se ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Cucina 24 was so good, we went back a second night during our stay in Asheville. Our favorites were the Fig appetizer served on thick, grilled bread with fresh figs, chèvre, fig and onion jam. Delicious! One of our other favorites was the Straciatella - fresh mozzarella stretched so that it's smooth and served with heirloom tomatoes and micro greens. So good! For dessert we had the Creameax - a chocolate piece of goodness. Service was very good. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cucina 24 never disappoints. As a local ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Cucina 24 never disappoints. As a local Ashevillian, Cucina 24 is one of my favorite restaurants to bring out of town guests, and they were blown away by the quality of the food, its preparation, the service and ambiance of this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and Alyssa, our server, w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent food and Alyssa, our server, was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we had was great and the rest ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything we had was great and the restaurant didn't mind us splitting dishes which allowed us to try many different dishes. Waiter was super helpful also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This farm to table Italian has delicious ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This farm to table Italian has delicious food. The pasta is fresh and made in house. The food isn't overly seasoned allowing the fresh ingredients to shine. My daughter's steak was perfectly prepared. We wanted to order dessert but the entrees were a good size portion and we didn't have room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The most noteworthy restaurant in Ashevi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The most noteworthy restaurant in Asheville. A world-class menu and wine list with a tasting menu that is beyond belief. Well-informed and thoughtful service. And a master bartender, to boot.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great experience. food was extraordinar ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

great experience. food was extraordinary. simple tagliatelle bolognese. my wife had the seafood in broth. both great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, but it took forever ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent, but it took forever to come out. The waiter was very friendly and did everything in his power to rectify the issue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

My wife and I had a really amazing night ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I had a really amazing night . Between the perfect and helpful service from our Waitress and the beautiful preparation of the food that was so delicious from the appetizer to the dessert , our night was awesome ... We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took friends who had never been. Love ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We took friends who had never been. Loved it. The bartender made us a cocktail they had never done before. It was spot on nothing but great things to say about our dining experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was excellent, and our server w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

the food was excellent, and our server was wonderful. everyone enjoyed their meal and said they would return. all locally sourced food and the bread & butter is made on site. It was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.