About Cucina 24

24 Wall Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC.

Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South.

We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.

Chef Brian has three children, Mia, Skylar and Luca.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:



Tuesday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm



Dinner:



Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm



Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 254-6170

Website:
http://www.cucina24restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on Wall Street as well as Wall Street parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brian Canipelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

mushroom risotto - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Whip La Tur - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Rigatoni Bolgonese - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Cheese Board - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Bacon scallops - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Pizza - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Petite Lettuce, Speck, Herb Vinaigrette, Pecan, Blue Cheese - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Beet Salad With Popcorn Pana Cotta - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Kumimoto Oysters - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Spaghetti - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Roasted Beet Salad - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Cap Ribeye - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC
Dessert - Cucina 24, Asheville, NC

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Please join us in ringing in the new year!
We will be serving a pre fix menu this year.
The cost is $60 per person not including alcohol, tax or gratuity.

Cucina 24 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Special Occasion (54)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Creative Cuisine (38)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Romantic (35)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Open Kitchen (27)
Wood Oven (25)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Cozy (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Authentic (18)
Fun (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Seasonal (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Organic (6)
Tapas (5)
Spicy (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best restaurants in Asheville ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best restaurants in Asheville. I little pricey but great for a special occassion

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. Was able to meet the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great. Was able to meet the sous-chef Eric, great guy, passionate about culinary excellence. Enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great ambiance. Loved the tagliatelle an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Great ambiance. Loved the tagliatelle and my friend had Carbonara and said it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we live in this area my wife and I ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Since we live in this area my wife and I like to go there at least 5, 6 times a year. While the dining experience is always consistently above average - this Christmas Sales Dinner was absolutely excellent.

Food, choices of wine, service, knowledge and presentation - all a most delightful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't go wrong at Cucina 24! Great ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

You can't go wrong at Cucina 24! Great food as always. A reliable choice for an important business dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was hit or miss. 3/4 loved their di ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was hit or miss. 3/4 loved their dishes but mine was startlingly bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been here several times before an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I have been here several times before and the food and the atmosphere is excellent. We went this past trip with friends from Miami and they loved it. The only disappointment was that we were too late for the chef tasting and our server wasn't the most helpful. Not bad service, just not exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Didn't receive the kind of attention fro ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Didn't receive the kind of attention from our server we needed. It was forever until I was acknowledged after seating. Too long before taking our order & getting wine to start w. She completely forgot a second glass I ordered. I still tipped well, having myself waited tables in 3 states, but I will not b so gracious should it happen again. I hope to eat there again, tonite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

A wonderful dining experience. Good gre ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. Good great and service was excellent. We recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delightful evening with delicio ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a delightful evening with delicious food, wonderful service and ambience . Would definitely recommend this restaurant to all.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really liked this place, arugala salad w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Really liked this place, arugala salad was great, pasta also very good, SAT at the bar and was really pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Not a good experience and won't go back. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Not a good experience and won't go back. Open kitchen so you could see the cooks which was nice, except it looked like 4 guys in baseball caps trying to figure out what to do. Didn't look like the tidiest kitchen either. When they say they make their pasta, they must truly make it when you order. The service was absolutely pathetic--slow, slow slow!!! They proactively offered to comp our dessert so they recognized the slow service. By the time our dessert came, we were the last table left and, to add insult to injury, they wanted to start clearing our table before we even finished our dessert.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Haven't dined here in a few years and re ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Haven't dined here in a few years and regret that. We turned our meal selection over to our waitress and enjoyed everything that was served.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second visit, specifically ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was our second visit, specifically for the tasting menu. We had another couple join us who had never been. The restaurant's bar area is very small but the cocktails are always creative - no premixes used here. We left the choices us to the chef who provided a wonderful tasting menu for the table. Every dish was excellent - smoked fish, dried olive powder and chilled cucumber sauce, carpaccio - perfectly seasoned, perfectly crusted slices of beef with amazing potatoes, pesto pasta made from kale, collards and olive oil and an assortment of deserts to complete the adventure - all pared wonderfully with wines selected by the sommelier . A very special evening with wonderful friends. Worth every penny for the tasting and wine paring.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent dinner for our fifth anniversa ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent dinner for our fifth anniversary! The service was excellent and the food delicious. We will definitely come here again on our next trip to Asheville!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Some of the very best food in town. Ser ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Some of the very best food in town. Service was good, we were going to a concert and let them know.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I went here during a weekend ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I went here during a weekend visit and had a great time. We liked how you can get half portions of the pasta dishes so you can try more than one. The duck and radicchio dishes were excellent as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always friendly and great service... We ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always friendly and great service... We feel looked after!

The food is ALWAYS great and the place has a good atmosphere too. I love the open kitchen element to it too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Fun, Authentic, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and wonderful food! Varie ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great service and wonderful food! Varied wine choices, fresh ingredients, happy to do half-portions of pasta, plenty of menu options. Very pleased with our dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Our waiter e ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent food and service. Our waiter explaIned all the menu items and made excellent recomendations

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have travelled a lot in Italy and we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We have travelled a lot in Italy and we are Italian food lovers so we came to Cucina 24 with high expectations. Unfortunately, except for a complete - but expensive - wine list, there is nothing Italian in this restaurant.

Even the pasta was too salty and overlooked. As for the lemon cake it has nothing to do with a ´torta al limone'.

The meat dish was OK but nothing Italian.

We will not return to Cucina 24 again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Consistently the best restaurant in Ashe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Consistently the best restaurant in Asheville. Not the newest, not the most trendy. Been here at least half the time I have (maybe 8-10 years?) and just gets better. This is not easy to pull off.

As good with vegetables as with meats - and always creative and well-executed with both. Also unusual.

The local food focus is REAL and you get a true sense of unique flavors that come from this southern Appalachian environment, culture, ecology - old and new.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

4 girls out for dinne 2 of us ordered pa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

4 girls out for dinne 2 of us ordered pasta and shrimp unfortunately the garlic and lemon was burned so dish was bitter sent one back a little better second try

The flatiron steak was delicious and perfectly cooked

The other dish was swordfish and was also delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have eaten at this restaurant many ti ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed. We have invited guests from out of town they have never been disappointed. No one is disappointed at this restaurant. We will be back soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was creative yet simple. Our serve ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Meal was creative yet simple. Our server was extremely well versed in the make up and preparation of each dish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dark ambiance is great for a romatinic d ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Dark ambiance is great for a romatinic date night. Menu is unique and creative. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

From appetizer to dessert, the meal was ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

From appetizer to dessert, the meal was perfect. Along with our most helpful and friendly waiter, Robertino, our entire experiences at Cucina 24 was truly a delightful one.

Chef/Brian is exceptionally talented!

Thanks for a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant layout provides a nice va ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The restaurant layout provides a nice variety of seating and its quiet ambience is understated elegance. The mix of flavors in a variety of dishes - starter, small plate and pasta - is spot on. However, the food portions are quite small and there isn't a bottle of wine offered under $35.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Lovely food in a warm pleasant room. Ni ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Lovely food in a warm pleasant room. Nice patio dining.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat at the bar overlooking the kitche ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We sat at the bar overlooking the kitchen which I recommend. We enjoyed watching the chef cook in the brick oven and he was happy to answer questions. The food is delicious and I would recommend ordering a few things and sharing. The cauliflower was awesome as was the Italian sausage pasta. But the cocktails were divine!!! Wish I had taken Uber so I could have had a couple more!!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. We sat at t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. We sat at the bar overlooking the kitchen and we're able to see preparation of each meal. The efficiency and care in food preparation was clear. Cucina 24 is not to be missed.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant. My favorite Italia ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent restaurant. My favorite Italian Restaurant. Food was delicious and well done. I had lamb chops which is my favorite food and it was the best lamp

Chops I have ever had. The wine list was very good and the waitress very nice and helpful

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants. A dest ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. A destination dinner and worth every mile

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were vacationing in Asheville and had ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We were vacationing in Asheville and had heard many good things about Cucina 24. We were not disappointed. There was a variety of choices and many unique items. Our server was patient and informative with our many questions.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

service was stellar, food was rustic, it ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

service was stellar, food was rustic, italian, and creative. the pasta was perfectly al dente. flavor balance and combinations was suberb. best negroni of my life and the mussels were sweet and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Meal and service. This was the ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fabulous Meal and service. This was the second time we have been there and we will definitely be coming back!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the New York strip was too chewy and too ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

the New York strip was too chewy and too expensive

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Cucina 24 on Wall Street is always a gre ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Cucina 24 on Wall Street is always a great dining destination. The drinks are creative and unique, and the evolving menu is always interesting. It's one of our favorite restaurants in Asheville, and never disappoints.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine list is exceptionally good. Servic ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Wine list is exceptionally good. Service excellent but it is getting very pricey. Food is excellent but options were not as plentiful during this time of year. What we had was wonderful ( pork cheeks and polenta and stuffed veal breast) Appetizer was not as inspired as in the past.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.