Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Cucina 24

Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC.

Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South.

We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.

Chef Brian has three children, Mia, Skylar and Luca.

24 Wall Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:



Tuesday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm



Dinner:



Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm



Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 254-6170

Website:
http://www.cucina24restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on Wall Street as well as Wall Street parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brian Canipelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Cucina 24 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (61)
Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Creative Cuisine (48)
Local Ingredients (46)
Romantic (39)
Authentic (37)
Tasting Menu (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Worth the Drive (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (21)
Casual (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Fun (16)
Wood Oven (15)
Business Meals (14)
Healthy (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Seasonal (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
People Watching (7)
Family Style (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Spicy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (4)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Tapas (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

What an excellent find in downtown Asheville! The lunch menu is a bit limited, but there are plenty of great items, and everything we had was delicious. The server was super friendly, and the rigatoni, mushroom pizza, and a side order of meatballs were all excellent. We had a peak at the dinner menu and it looked even better. I definitely strongly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great dinner at Cucina 24. The green olives and foccocia bread were fabulous. Three of us ordered pasta dishes and one a fish--full body with eyes and all. The toasted pound cake for dessert was to die for. We had a fun evening with family and friends.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I decided to try the tasting menu for $45 each. Although, some of the food was tasty and very creative , some of the courses were a little too weird and not so great. The pasta course was miniscule, literally two bites of each dish. One good thing is that my husband and I laugh a lot about the unusual meal we had on our visit to this Asheville Italian (?) restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I have frequented this restaurant since it opened, we are local. Consistent & Delicious! AND it open on Monday nights! This is one of our go-to restaurants in Asheville. YUMMY!

Tags: Vegan, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Cucina 24 family style meal is the best dining experience in Asheville. Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Once again, Cucina 24 exceeds all expectations. Nothing fancy, but by no means ordinary. House Salad, Pasta Bolognese and Farfalle alla Norma to die for. Oh, did I mention the focaccia? Actually, we are still talking about the bolognese 2 days after we dined at Cucina 24.
From top to bottom, great meal. Great atmosphere. Definitely,
a return visit in the future. Perfect dining spot in the heart of Asheville. Check it out!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Great ambiance and service. Great specialty cocktails. Conventional or Unconventional Menu options. Good value and enjoyable experience. Definitely recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Spectacular evening!! We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairings. The food was unique and absolutely delicious. My wife is a vegetarian and her requests were happily accommodated. The parings were unique Italian varietals (vernaccia, ciliegiolo) and paired perfectly with the meal. We will return during our next trip to Asheville.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

One of our favorite upscale restaurants in Asheville for out-of-town guests or special occastions. Their menu now offers a delineation of their more traditional Italian offerings (e.g. pasta or pizza) and more imaginative items on a tasting menu that can be ordered for the table or a la carte. Everything prepared with care.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Being quite familiar in all things from the garden or in a recipe, we were served some greens that I still couldn't identify, to dip in an white anchovy bagna cauda. Sounds like a "so what" dish, right? Wrong! It was outstanding. I ordered crudo mackerel with an orange gelee and it was also outstanding. Pretty amazing considering I kept looking at the menu and thinking, uhm, what to do? Everyone else felt the same about their meals. Everything was light, and totally out of the ordinary while being perfectly delicious. Would never hesitate to close my eyes and just point at the menu, and hopefully not land on steak. Though this place would do steak right!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We just returned from three weeks in Italy and wanted to remember that wonderful trip. Cucina 24 was excellent in every way, waiter, food, we had the fixed menu , and they let us bring a bottle of wine we brought back from Italy . Would return again and again. Recommend the chef go to Bel Poggio near Tivoli, outside Rome. We understand he travels to Italy to get ideas, it is a farm to table restaurant that fits in well with Cucina 24. We can hardly wait to go back to Cucina 24 . So glad we live in Asheville so it is possible

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food! Excellent service. Waiter explained menu options. Waiter very knowledgeable and personable. Loved the bread. Definitely will recommend and repeat trip. For those of you like me a bit intimidated w menu. Go and ask waiter to explain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Service and food outstanding. We had high expectations and we weren't disappointed

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Share price fixed menu which we enjoyed. My finicky son did not like the pasta which I thought was excellent. our very nice and accommodative sever Nicolle substituted it with the best tasting pizza this side of Italy _ he gobbled it up. The baked served up some freshly baked bread as I chatted with him while leaving. It was so wonderful that I suggest bread be served with dinner.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

First time eating here and sorry we didn't go sooner! We had the tasting menu so we got to try lots of things, everything was prepared to perfection and the creative use of local, seasonal ingredients was great. It was quite a lot of food, we would have been fine stopping after the pasta course, but a nice way to try more things on the menu. Highly recommended!

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Cucina 24 is consistently delicious. The last time we went we were a group of 6 and got the $45 per person "family style" dinner, which can only be ordered if the entire party is getting it. It's a great deal and everyone was very happy with it. If you have good eaters in your party, I highly recommend going this route. Enjoy!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Recommended by food tour leader and should have gone with pizza or pasta. Tried tasting menu and were very disappointed with several dishes. The pork was lukewarm and tough. Vegetarian dish was ok. The bread and dessert were excellent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Fresh herbs and ingredients from local farms, homemade pasta, great bolognese sauce, perfect amount with the pasta, crusted and moist inside focaccia bread, wonderful wreck fish ... I am salivating just remembering our dinner. We were happy the were so flexible with options. We could take single elements from the chef's sampling menu instead going with the prifix dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was good. The service was good. I had the pork which was really good. Wine selection was good. Service was average. Could have been slightly more attentive. If they were I would have drank more... ha!
I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wow! This was one of my top 5 meals of all time. We tried 4 of the top 5 Asheville Open-Table restaurants while we were in Asheville. This one was so far ahead of the others in every respect. We had the chef's tasting and it was simply amazing. I can't see any reason to order anything but this, if you go. Every dish was five-star (and there are a lot of dishes). You get a real feel for what the chef is all about. The whole experience really works, from the stunning visual plate to the awesome palate experience. Don't miss this one - Everyone we spoke with in Asheville loves this place.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

One of the best meals ever!! We had the prefixed menu (several courses) & dined for about 3 hours!! Nicole was an incredible server and new every detail of each dish that was served! The food was fresh and authentic!! Enjoyed every morsel, will definitely be back!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had the tasting menu that featured a variety of local and seasonal ingredients. The food was great and nicely presented. If they have the lamb loin chop on the menu do yourself a favor and order it! The service staff are very friendly and personable. My only complaint is parking but that is not a problem unique to them in downtown. Well worth the two block walk.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

It is the best! It is our favorite place to eat. Going back tonight for my birthday! Great foo! Great waitstaff! I can't say enough!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

That has a nice ambience, the food is absolutely fabulous, and the wait staff was excellent. They were attentive to every need we had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My wife and I were there on 6/24/17 for dinner. We both chose the pairing menu. The food was very fresh and very well prepared, but I feel like the menu was too hipster. It was like they tried so hard to pick unique items and forgot about actually preparing good food. Saluted sunflowers, canolies filled with liver foam, and a lot of other items like that. We are not picky eaters by any means.. but maybe my palate isn't refined enough to enjoy these dishes. All of the portions were gourmet sized and looked very nice on the plate. Maybe the other menu items would have been a better choice. At the end of the night, we left hungry and with $150 less dollars than we came with. On a side note, all of the adjacent restaurants on Wall St. looked fantastic. There are way too many other really good restaurants in Asheville for me to go back there.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The absolute most authentic Italian food we have had since leaving Italy! The Cacio e Pepe was on point! It's difficult to find a restaurant that even serves the dish more less gets it exactly like the Romans! This will be a must every time we visit Asheville!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The service was wonderful-Baby Don did a great job! And the hostess was adorable and so helpful with our table selection . The bread was the best I have ever had. The entrees were good but not as good as we had expected after reading the reviews.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was excellent though we may try non-family-style next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 20, 2017

A hidden gem. We had the chef's tasting meal and our waitress paired a white and red wine for us. The smoked duck mouse was incredible. Loved the variety, freshness and presentation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great Italian restaurant with fresh, local ingredients. Good selection of pastas and entrees. Superior wine list and craft cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We came for a bachelorette party and Robertino provided us with phenomenal service. The food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We found this place a few years ago while driving through Asheville, and we make a point of stopping there every time we're in the area. They've added a family-style menu option which seems very popular, and includes a good variety of offerings. We didn't go that way this time, but might, next time we're there.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Everyone enjoyed their meals and one of our party guests was raving about her drink. I don't remember what she ordered but she loved it. The pasta was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Amazing freshness in every bite. Thin crust pizza was outstanding. And had an absolutely perfect bolognesse.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good restaurant, though not paleo-friendly. Some unusual dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Tasting menu was fantastic with a number of interesting small bites we never would have tried otherwise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This was quite possibly the best meal I've ever had! Food was incredible. Fresh homemade focaccia bread that melts in your mouth. Very unique appetizer (in layman's terms it was a crab crepe) that was so incredibly delicious. Thank you to the chef for such a wonderful dining experience! We were on a weekend trip but this is a MUST the next time I'm in Asheville!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Good evening with friends. Rigatoni was very good; my wide had scallops and she said they were wonderful. Had a bite too and agree. Good food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We really enjoyed our dining experience on June 16. Maggie was our server and was very attentive. We all had pasta and thought it was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Creative tasting menu with beautiful progression of tastes. Highly recommend this restaurant. Server was so pleased to explain each dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.