Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Cucina 24

Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC.

Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South.

We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.

Chef Brian has three children, Mia, Skylar and Luca.

24 Wall Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:



Tuesday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm



Dinner:



Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm



Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 254-6170

Website:
http://www.cucina24restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on Wall Street as well as Wall Street parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brian Canipelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Cucina 24 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (53)
Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Creative Cuisine (40)
Romantic (35)
Open Kitchen (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Authentic (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Wood Oven (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Tasting Menu (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fun (14)
Seasonal (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Family Style (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Casual (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Healthy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Private Room (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Tapas (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Organic (3)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Talk about an amazing dinner!!! The food is off the chain.. This is a must dine in Asheville!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

How this restaraunt was ever labeled Italian, I will never know. If your looking for good vegetarian cuisine this may be for you. My husband and I were craving some real authentic Italian food and ordered the Chef's special. We were served greens, kale, roasted beets along with some roasted carrots and everything NOT Italian food. Spent 150 bucks on glorified vegetables and left hungry. I feel the chef was more concerned about presentation of food and how it looked, rather than how it tasted. Very disappointed. Service however was great and our waitress was sweet. Just wouldn't recommend this to anyone seeking Italian food

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

While the food was very good the service was slow and erratic at best. We had hoped for a more relaxing meal but we were always on edge wondering how long it would take to get the next course. Just not what we had hoped for an evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Did the tasting menu for 4. Meal was paced too slow- especially given the minuscule size of the portions. Tasting does not mean "a taste"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent meal. Must try the focaccia!!! Pasta dish was delicious!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our server was Johnathon and he was excellent. It was a great evening. As always the food was wonderful. A very active scene on a late Monday night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We loved the salad and crab app
The pasta was very salty

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was a combination of Mothers Day dinner for my wife and a double date with friends. I was tasked with selecting our place to try. Upon entry, it took several minutes before we were even greeted. Upon sitting, Alissa promptly introduced herself. We shared that it was a first for us all at Cucina 24. We elected to do the Family Style so we could try more foods that Cucina offered. The kitchen did not let us down. The food was served elegantly and at the correct temperature. If I had to reach for a "con", it took a lil longer than expected to deliver our entree. Other than that, we would highly recommend and would go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best pizza we've ever had for only $10 each at lunch. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very surprised at how great the experience was. Eat out all over the country and this rates right up at the top!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We made reservations for a group of six. All was ready upon arrival. Food was excellent, service attentive and not intrusive. Second time we have enjoyed a meal at Cucina 24 and we will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

An unbusy Tuesday - great service, friendly and knowledgeable of the menu and wine list. Superb calamari salad w/curls of celery mimicking the round squid. My wild mushrooms with polenta and kale in a rich broth was perfectly executed. Husband's smoked duck not so successful - cooked perfectly but very tough throughout. It was way too chewy - perhaps need some marinating. The accompanying red baby turnips and greens were delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food, great service, wished they had the sweetbreads that they had last time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The Rigatoni, made in house, was some of the best pasta I have tasted in my life. The sauce was perfectly flavored, not too sweet with a little kick. The Pizza crust was perfect and the cheese was sharp. The desserts were out of this world. Everything about this dining experience was as good or better then Italian I have had in NYC's best restaurants. I can't say enough about this place. If you are in Asheville, eat here!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Absolutely wonderful service from the front of the house to our server. Excellent quality food and presentation. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was AMAZING! Our server spilled a glass of red wine on one member of our party. She offered to pay for dry cleaning (not necessary). BUT. She declined to replace the glass of wine she spilled. NOT great customer service in our book. But do go for the food L)!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Had to wait to be seated despite having a reservation. Waited 45 minutes for our entrees, and the appetizer showed up 5 minutes after our meals arrived. Portions were small and overpriced. Food was cold by the time it arrived. Drinks were interesting. Would not return or recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Cucina 24 is one of our favorites. It never disappoints. The food is high quality, delicious, and imaginative without being "precious." The service is always first-rate: friendly, knowledgeable, attentive without hovering. A wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Y'all are always so badass and on point!! Always a fun experience!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Beautifully prepared dinner on a busy night. Thoughtful service, delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Was disappointed. Had wanted to try Cucina24 for some time. Was out of several wines we requested. Server said they had a "big weekend". But we were there on Wednesday and in our view they had plenty of time to get the wine list restocked - even if they had to go to the grocery store. Server was OK but not what we are used to in Asheville for friendliness and being helpful. Food was quite good but there are better Italian venues in Asheville.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Nice atmosphere and staff. Unique and fun for a date night. We had the sample menu, so it was fun to try new food together!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great table, good service. We ordered entrees off the "chef's menu and the portions were very small.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent tasting menu with good use of local ingredients. Good wine list and attentive staff. Would definitely revisit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Truly some of the best meals I've had in a long time. The ingredients were fresh and the menu was interesting without feeling contrived. Solid, delicious food with generous portions and a terrific waitstaff to boot. Handmade pots top off the experience and I dream of going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Good food, and centrally located in downtown Asheville.

Tags: Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

After a long day of work at our own business, we were looking forward to a fabulous dinner, and a bottle of great wine. We walked into Cucina at 9:30 pm, the last couple on their list of reservations on a Sunday holiday, and were treated as if they had been looking forward to seeing us all evening.

Brian and his staff create an array of tastes that are very exciting and different. The extensive wine list gives opportunity to step away from the usual glass, into an authentically delicious Italian experience. Our server was gracious, knowledgable, and made great suggestions when needed.

As late as we were, we weren't made to feel like we were keeping anyone at work, or rushed to finish. It was a perfect evening at Cucina 24, and a special treat to meet everyone at the end of the night for a bit of conversation.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was great! We did the tasting menu and it was the perfect amount of food and a nice way to try what Cucina 24 had to offer. The service was where they fell short. Our server did the bare minimum and only one of the food runners ever explained what was being dropped off.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Celebrated my 70th birthday at Cucina 24. We were a party of 11 and decided on the family style tasting menu. Each course was unique and delicious with fresh ingredients. Guests were so delighted with the meal. Service was suberb.

Tags: Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Foodie worthy fare. Entrees wowed the inner chef in all of us. Even our well behaved 4 year old enjoyed the evening. Thank you for exceptional service!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very nice meal, we usually visit this restaurant on our trips to Asheville and have never been disappointed. Plenty of options to chose from and served in a manner that embodies authentic Italian food. Very nice if eclectic wine selection. Will not hesitate to return on our next visit to the area.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was very good however it took over an hour and a half just to get or appetizer. Then another hour for food. The server rarely refilled drinks or asked if we need anything. I would go back just try not to be put in the back room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Ordered seafood, not their best offerings. Sticking with pizza and pasta dishes better bet. Wine list is all Italian so be ready to think about those choices. Probably better by the glass here to experiment a bit if you're not familiar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Professional, knowledgeable waiter, first class good served in an appropriate timeframe, relatively quiet atmosphere at fair prices. Hosting parents who are visiting Asheville for the first time. Left a very positive first impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Simply outstanding.

Extraordinary experience. Service was superb. Great wine selection. Bolognese was a masterpiece.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our dinner at Cucina 24 was slightly disappointing. We may have had too high of expectations considering all the rave reviews of food in Asheville and reviews of this particular restaurant online. We may have been one of three other couples in the restaurant - it was a Wednesday evening, so take that for what it is. The service was just ok and the food was not anything to complain about, but we definitely had better meals while in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I would highly recommend this restaurant!! Food was outstanding & service was superb! We will be back every time we are in Asheville!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Awesome service and great food! Katie was a great server!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I always liked Cucina, but the family style menu kicked it up to another level. Top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Came here for our last meal in Asheville. We had many good meals the last few days and this was certainly up there with the rest. My wife said it was her favorite. Having returned from Italy a few months ago, it was nice to have authentic home made pasta again. Delicious food. We will be back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.