About Cucina 24

24 Wall Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC.

Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South.

We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:



Tuesday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm



Dinner:



Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm



Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 254-6170

Website:
http://www.cucina24restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on Wall Street as well as Wall Street parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brian Canipelli

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Rigatoni Bolgonese
Petite Lettuce, Speck, Herb Vinaigrette, Pecan, Blue Cheese
Whip La Tur
mushroom risotto
Cheese Board
Bacon scallops
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad
Pizza
Beet Salad With Popcorn Pana Cotta
Kumimoto Oysters
Cap Ribeye
Roasted Beet Salad
Spaghetti
Dessert

Cucina 24 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (91)
special occasion (61)
romantic (42)
See All
neighborhood gem (42)
good for groups (25)
notable wine list (25)
hot spot (21)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for brunch (8)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful dining experience...food was f ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful dining experience...food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way! Authentic Ital ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding in every way! Authentic Italian food! Alyssa is an exceptional server,highly competent in all aspects of the food preparation and she knows the wines! A wonderful meal and total experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the short rib and Spanish squid appe ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Had the short rib and Spanish squid appetizers and both were amazing. Had the Yellow Fin Tuna entree and it was delicious, but not as yummy as the appetizers. Overall the service was wonderful, food was wonderful and we will for sure be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Bolognese was exc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Service was excellent. Bolognese was excellent. Bread and corn fritters too salty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great fresh pasta and salumi board! The ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great fresh pasta and salumi board! The homemade pork rinds were fantastic. Great spot!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the food excellent. The service ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We found the food excellent. The service was attentive and friendly without being intrusive. The entire staff was focused on the guests' enjoyment of the dinner experience. We give it our highest recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a wonderful spot where the menu ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is a wonderful spot where the menu is constantly changing per chef's ability to source local foods. I love this spot for special occasions. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my husband's choice for his bir ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was my husband's choice for his birthday. Our waiter was prompt and food was excellent. Of all things, the olives are divine! My husband is a bit hard of hearing and the Saturday night noise level was tough, but it is a bustling, vibrant establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner with excellent service. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wonderful dinner with excellent service. The ice cream sandwich is a must have for dessert. Cannot wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant! We had a great server ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great restaurant! We had a great server that made the best recommendations! The chef made an "off menu" vegetarian dish for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I HIGHLY recommend Cucina24 as it is one ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I HIGHLY recommend Cucina24 as it is one of my favorite restaurants to visit every time I am in Asheville. It is the best italian food and look forward to each visit. Can't wait to visit Asheville again! I recommend anyone looking for great Italian food and great service from the wait staff plan their visit soon! Grace provided excellent service this past visit and she was very pleasant, made great recommendations, and answered any questions we asked. Enjoy!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We love Cucina 24 and will keep going ba ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love Cucina 24 and will keep going back! Their menu changes daily which is always an adventure, so there's always something new and delicious to try!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was really good, except desse ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything was really good, except dessert. The ice cream cookie was too frozen to eat. In fact, the cherry on top had visible ice. Other than that, the rest of the food was solidly good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was well prepared and interesti ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was well prepared and interesting and used locally sourced products.

I especially enjoyed trying serviceberry sorbet since I have some serviceberry trees in my yard and was curious. Delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All though the hostess was reluctant to ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

All though the hostess was reluctant to change our seating, the manager and the staff was very accommodating to our various request.

The special drinks, the food and the ambiance was fabulous

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Cucina 24 ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Cucina 24 while visiting Asheville. Our server Alyssa was AMAZING! She was personable, funny and provided excellent recommendations for our dinner. Food is locally sourced and the meal was delicious! We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible service ruined the meal. Rude h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Terrible service ruined the meal. Rude hostess, waited 7 minutes before being greeted by our server after being sat (no apologies), and we never saw our server after placing our entrée order. We didn't like the food and needed new drinks and water refills but we weren't revisited until we had finished our food for >5 minutes. A different server brought us our check. The squash blossoms app was the best thing we ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We love this place because, for one thin ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We love this place because, for one thing, we can have a conversation there without having to shout at each other. The service is always outstanding, and it's not over-touristed, pretentious, or hyped-up "trendy." All of the staff seems to care about the quality of the food and the quality of the patron's experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

made reservations ahead of time...plenty ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

made reservations ahead of time...plenty of open time slots...restaurant mostly empty upon arrival...yet, was seated right next to the kitchen and bathrooms. Food was good, not great. Overall, quite underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food and service were first rate! I ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food and service were first rate! It was our 52nd wedding anniversary and we were treated like royalty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very different then the Italian food in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very different then the Italian food in NY NJ area, in a good way though

Farm to table and very nice place in the middle of downtown asheville.

I would def go back

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Best restaurant in Asheville. Great food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best restaurant in Asheville. Great food, service and ambiance. We r repeat offenders (recidivist s) at this fine establishment.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HAd a fabulous meal at Cucina 24 last we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

HAd a fabulous meal at Cucina 24 last weekend! Pasta homemade and perfectly prepared, simply and delicious! Trout was outstanding, as was pizza with peaches and cheese! Chocolate semifredo was scrumptious. Service was excellent, quiet atmosphere where you can actually hear your table conversation. Will go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience. We were seated by the k ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great ambience. We were seated by the kitchen so we could see the dish room., but it wasn't too bad. The food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Amazing food. The focaccia was incredibl ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing food. The focaccia was incredible. So was the pasta and pizza. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been several times with great food ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I've been several times with great food and service, however last night every dish was SALTY. Way too SALTY. All 3 dishes we had were drowning in salt. A shame because the dishes were otherwise quite good but hard to get any other flavor.

Good atmosphere but acoustics were horrible when the place started filling up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Excellent experience

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful place!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This was a delightful experience. Our waitress was very warm and friendly. The service was very good although it did take a bit longer to get our entrees than seemed ideal. Overall, the food was delicious, great atmosphere. We really enjoyed it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hands down the best restaurant in town!

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We dine here regularly and are never disappointed. The menu changes regularly and the food, service and overall experience is consistently outstanding! Truly a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic appetizers

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I went to Cucina 24 following a friend recommendation, the overall experience was good to very good.

Appetizers were fantastic, main courses not so much. Our waiter was great, but the kitchen was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent service (shout out to Rich!). ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service (shout out to Rich!). Excellent menu choices. Excellent food preparation. Perfect for "foodies" like my wife and me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cucina 24 lives up to billing.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

A friend recommended Cucina 24 for dinner. We had the halibut and mussels, and both were delicious. The focaccia bread was a great starter. We had a table at the back of the restaurant overlooking the street behind. It was cozy and gave us a great view of the restaurant. For dessert, we had strawberries in a firm meringue. It was tops too. The service was friendly, helpful and timely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and ambiance were very nice. Each course was done well and the service was very smooth and responsive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceeded expectations at every turn- tho ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Exceeded expectations at every turn- thoughtful and beautiful cocktails portended an excellent meal. Well-paired wines complimented the meal. Would recommend to anyone looking for a wonderful meal in Asheville

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Truly one of the more remarkable Italian ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Truly one of the more remarkable Italian meals I've had in a long time. The food was amazing -- every detail considered and cared about. The service was fantastic - I asked my server for recommendations across all courses and he hit it perfectly. The atmosphere was great.

Highly recommend Cucina 24 to foodies and casual diners looking to be delighted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was about as kind and competent as ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Staff was about as kind and competent as it gets. Really enjoyed our meal. Food was fantastic. We are going to start eating a Cucina 24 more often. ESPECIALLY because it was quiet. We are in our 60's and do not like noisy dining rooms. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The cocktails were perfect. My Manhatta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The cocktails were perfect. My Manhattan was one of the best I've ever had! Small plates incredible. We enjoyed two bottles of a wonderful wine from Tuscany call Vernaculum. Extremely food-friendly, delicious Aromas and taste of wild strawberries and low alcohol 12%. Our server was top-notch and professional. We can't wait to go back, and hope to get the same server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, excellent service. My ve ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Wonderful food, excellent service. My vegan diet was no problem for the chef. One of the best meals ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was killer but we had to wait a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was killer but we had to wait a while for drinks, apps and entrees. The staff were really accommodating when we missed our reservation also.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.