Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Cucina 24

Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC.

Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South.

We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.

Chef Brian has three children, Mia, Skylar and Luca.

24 Wall Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:



Tuesday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm



Dinner:



Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm



Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 254-6170

Website:
http://www.cucina24restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on Wall Street as well as Wall Street parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brian Canipelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Cucina 24 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (44)
Fit for Foodies (43)
See All
Creative Cuisine (37)
Romantic (34)
Open Kitchen (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Wood Oven (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Authentic (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Cozy (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Business Meals (17)
Seasonal (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Tapas (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Casual (9)
Fun (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Private Room (6)
Healthy (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Organic (5)
Family Style (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Spicy (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great prefix meal, everything was prepared well and delicious! Wait staff was attentive and atmosphere was lively without being overwhelming. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

My pizza was amazing. The waitress was top notch. Amazing Brussels also. The steak with celery root was a little strange.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is my favorite in Asheville and has been for years. It's perfect for a date night, celebration, or to bring family and friends to enjoy good food. Awesome service always, helpful, fun, nice, and answers any questions had. Food is amazing, never ever lets me down. Wine selection and cocktails are fantastic. Always recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great fresh carefully prepared food. Excellent fair priced drinks. Service was friendly and very competent. Atmosphere is romantic but casual. We didn't sit at the bar but plan to go back soon for a drink and wood fired pizza.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We went here for our anniversary and enjoyed our evening. The food was delicious and we were well taken care of.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, a wonderful meal - we have never been disappointed at Cucina 24. Food, service, ambiance, impeccable!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This place is a Gem! Great date night spot or just with friends. Quiet, dimly lit. Friendly waitress. You can watch the chefs cook. Food was amazing. Best restaurant experience in a long time. Hightly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Menu was somewhat difficult to understand especially with a large group. Atmosphere was lovely. Altogether had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We hadn't been to Cucina in several years, so we tried it for my birthday. The waiter was very helpful in explaining the various food choices, so we decided to be adventurous and picked the Family Style meal for $45. It was a great value for all that we got. The diverse appetizers, antipasta before the main course was fun to try, not too much, spaced out so we could enjoy each one, and helped us to linger over what typical is an hour meal for us, to 2 1/2 hours of pure enjoyment. We tried food we'd never tried, and all were excellent! I had the trout and my husband had the beef cheeks for the main course, and they were superb! The dessert was also excellent, and for all the food we got..but not too much to feel bloated or stuffed, the cost was VERY reasonable. We'll try this again!

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Perfect meal, exceptional service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My wife and I walked the short distance from our hotel to the restaurant on a brisk evening threatening snow. Glad it was so close to home base. We were seated promptly and given a brief explanation of the menu. It was a bit confusing as they had one menu for "family style" and another for ala carte but you could also order the items from the family style separately. Combine that with a menu that is a bit light on descriptions and it required a number of questions before we could order. That said our server was patient and helpful during the process. We started with olives and bread and then ordered the main course. My wife had the Rigatoni Amatriciana and I had a grilled whole fish. Both were well prepared and tasty. The menu included a number of small plates and large plates and all looked very interesting and worth another trip.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Allisa was excellent

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We did not realize that we had been there before---probably would have tried somewhere different since there are so many good restaurants in Asheville. Really unlit for reading the menu---needed a flashlight---made it (last time I asked for us to be moved). Tasting menu looked good, but too much food for us. One pasta dish was quite tasty; the rigatoni lacked the Italian flair for just enough "ham" and spice--rather bland and meatless. Enough left for dinner for two (with some added Italian sausage which was on hand) the next night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I would definitely dine here again. We had a reservation and was seated immediately. Our server was very attentive and well versed on the offerings. The first 2 bottles of wine we had chosen were sold out, but our server made a great suggestion that fit the bill. The cheese board and house made salumi were top notch. The tagliatelle bolognese was good, but quite under seasoned. The porchetta di coppa was excellent with some of the potatoes perfectly tender, while others were undercooked to the point of being crunchy. A few minor setbacks to an otherwise great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I would make the 3 hour trip again just for the whole grilled fish (bronzini). It was second only to a grilled, salt-crusted fish dish that I get at a small seaside inn in Japan.

Tags: Wood Oven, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great place for better dining in Asheville, great food and service !

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our table was ready when we arrived, service was outstanding, family-style meal was FABULOUS! We tried Cucina 24 with the eating Asheville food tour last year and had to return with our annual girls' weekend trip. We had an amazing experience and will definitely return. Family style was awesome because they just brought dish after dish out and they were all delicious.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Everything about the restaurant is outstanding. I find myself going back over and over and trying out different things on the menu as it is fresh, different and flavorful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our second time at Cucina 24, and it was an outstanding evening. Service was attentive, friendly, and helpful. The food was amazing. One of the best in Asheville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Fabulous flavors, fresh ingredients. Pasta dishes were flavorful and perfectly cooked. Also enjoyed the Brussels sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

If you are expecting your Mama’s classic Italian, you need to go elsewhere! Cucina 24 is an adventure in exploring different tastes, textures and combinations – Italian roots are detectable but served up with a really creative approach.
We chose the ‘family’ option and very much enjoyed the sharing’ aspect of the meal. Numerous courses are offered – just enough to have small portions each, but there is no way you will walk away hungry. And each course is a surprise, from the charcuterie platter to the homemade pastas to the dessert. The beef cheeks were melt-in-your-mouth tender...
A couple of minor things: we found the menu confusing and also suggest that they figure out how to adapt / allow selection of the ‘main’ from the ‘a la carte’ choices. If the rest of the table would like to share, anyone in the group with a dietary restriction could have pretty limited choices.
Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I was disappointed with my experience at Cucina24. Although I had heard many positive things from friends about the food, our experience was that we were served stale crackers with our appetizer and that our pizza was bland and lacking in flavor. I definitely did not think the food was worth the price. When we offered this feedback to the waitstaff, we were given complimentary dessert. The waitstaff was kind, though inconsistent and often hard to flag down. They also first brought us the wrong pizza and later came to take it back to the kitchen. All in all, I was not satisfied and would not consider going back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very good, hearty Italian. The pasta dishes were huge portions but the kitchen will divide them. The cauliflower and sunchoke side was my favorite. We split 3 of the desserts and they were all great. You don't often see sticky toffee pudding on a menu. Nice location, well designed interior. Our server was good but maybe too busy to pour our wine or bring more breadsticks. I will keep coming back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We enjoyed the Chef's Choice and the dresser. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very enjoyable dinner. Great service. Knowledgeable staff. Tasting menu was fun, but a little too much food. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

When making our reservation I requested a romantic table for my wife's birthday. Upon arrival, the first thing we noticed was a old peeling faux leather sofa in the waiting area. Then we were taken to our "romantic" table about two feet from the expo station where we could enjoy the sounds of dishes and the view of the backs of servers as they grab their food. The menu was confusing and their prix fixed menu had all of the good items; which were unavailable to order otherwise. Our waiter seemed very kind and attentive, but it was too little too late for us. We went next door and without a reservation we were seated at a far superior table with great ambiance and service. I don't think we will be back. The food may be spectacular, but unfortunately you will have to overcome barriers to very to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As always, Cucina 24 does not disappoint. We are frequent diners ere and tonight we had a pizza for the very first lime, excellent! This is in our top five of restaurants in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants! Our waiter, Robertino was fabulous. So professional and patient. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely delicious. Would recommend to anyone! We did the chefs selection coursed meal and it was adventurous---everything was incredible (things we'd never try otherwise but were so good!) they were also very accommodating of our dietary needs

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Intimate atmosphere, friendly staff. Server was particularly good. Meal/service was nicely paced between apps and meal. Never ran out of drinks. Didn't feel rushed at all. Music wasn't loud but somewhat eclectic style. Didn't seem to fit that we'll overall but no complaint.

Loved subtlety of flavors. Monk fish was excellent. Potions were perfect. Seating was packed and noise level was surprisingly subdued.

Really enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Cucina 24 is an eclectic Italian restaurant. It has taken the Italian Classics in a different direction - a good one! Being Italian, I'm used to and bored with "red" sauce everywhere I go. I can make that at home. Here, I had spaghetti with lemon and anchovies. Amazing! My non-Italian husband had pasta with American "red" sauce. We started with a great salad that was not "over-dressed". We also had fresh green olives ! They were sooooooooooooo good! For dessert my husband had gelato, which was wonderful, and I had the chocolate plate - rich, chocolate-y, decandence. They have a prix-fixe menu as well as a standard menu. We didn't have the prix-fixe because of dietary issues. Our waiter was great and it has a great view of downtown Asheville's busy streets.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food! Nice environment and prices were reasonable. Will definitely go again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I've been many times to Cucina24 because I like the low light ambiance and it's good Italian cuisine. Prices are reasonable. Service was very slow last time I went. With a 6:45 reservation we didn't get out until 9:15. We weren't lingering, it was just taking that long. I was with an out-of-town business associate and would have rather had a chance to tour around Asheville after the meal, but by the time we got out and with a business meeting all day the next day, we just didn't have the time. Thx Cucina24. It won't stop me from coming back, but I was a little disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great and so was our server, Robertino. The only complaint was how long it took every thing to actually arrive at our table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cucina 24 is my favorite restaurant in Asheville. Creative Italian cuisine - the pastas and wood oven pizza are my favorites, but the rest of the seasonal menu is terrific as well. I have yet to have a mediocre wine by the glass there - they are always well-chosen - delicious and interesting. The service is outstanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food took very long to get to our table even though the restaurant was nearly empty. Some of the food was served at different times and was lukewarm. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We always enjoy the total experience at Cucina. This evening we were looking for an early light dinner. To start my wife ordered a green salad and and I ordered the steamed mussels. The salad was very simple with Boston lettuce and a very tasty vinaigrette dressing. The mussels were in their own lightly seasoned broth... excellent. We then shared a pizza which again was superb. The thin crust was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I keep returning to Cucina 24 so, clearly, I like it. Our server was Malcom, that evening, and he was as delightful as he was professional. Since it's established that I like the food it's the server that can make-or-break your experience -- nothing to worry about with Malcom. I will go so far as to request him in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our food and service was absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend Cucina 24 to locals and tourists.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.