Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Cucina 24

Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC.

Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South.

We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.

Chef Brian has three children, Mia, Skylar and Luca.

24 Wall Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:



Tuesday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm



Dinner:



Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm



Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 254-6170

Website:
http://www.cucina24restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on Wall Street as well as Wall Street parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brian Canipelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Cucina 24 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (58)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Special Occasion (55)
See All
Fit for Foodies (52)
Local Ingredients (50)
Tasting Menu (43)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Romantic (37)
Authentic (36)
Notable Wine List (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Cozy (24)
Fun (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Casual (21)
Hot Spot (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Seasonal (12)
Business Meals (11)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Organic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vegan (6)
Tapas (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Great setting! And the food matches the creativity of the restaurant without being gimmicky. Some nice choices on the wine list at reasonable prices. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We are building a home in Asheville and visit often as a result. Heard positives regarding Cucina 24 so tried it. Overall, very disappointed. Limited choices. A few breadsticks but no bread. Mediocre salad and bolongese. Excellent branzino but our server did not offer to debone the fish. Had been to Modesto 2 nights previously and found it superior. Not sure we will try Cucina 24 again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Tremendous food elevated to art.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We really enjoy dining here. Wasn't too thrilled with the raviollo which had dill in in. However, everything else is so scrupulously done, including the raviollo and has been since we started coming here 10 years prior. A must eat for sure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food, very friendly service. We'll go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Have not been to Cucina 24 for several months but nothing had changed ... great atmosphere, food and service. It was a celebration night and Cucina 24 is a great place to enjoy a drink and memorable food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had the "what we're cooking tonight " special menu. 5 courses all outstanding and very creative. would definitely come back

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Everything was awesome and we did the tasting menu where you tried several things and each was better then the last! AWESOME!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

As always exceptional! Thanks To Kim for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always excellent...had Floridians with me and they said some of the best scallops they'd ever had!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

This dinner was for our 5 year anniversary. We traveled to Asheville to tour the Biltmore Estate. The service was very good and food was good although my portion seemed a little small . I would recommend to anyone traveling to Asheville.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great dining experience. Excellent service, the waitress suggested the tiger fish, which we loved. Nice atmosphere, we will be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

In a town where you can have memorable meals, this was a regular dinner with no star dishes. Mine was very salty. Services began mediocre and then picked up. I have eaten before in Cucina24 and love it, this time was not particularly impressed. The Pavlova dessert very sub-standard.
I hope you return to your original quality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Delicious food! A bit overpriced for the amount you get but still great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We ate here and had the Chef's tasting menu and it was delicious! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Cucina 24. The food was good, wine was good and the waitress showed the perfect amount of attention to our needs.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our server seemed very disinterested in us. When asking about two dishes and what she might recommend she told me to order both. Every table around us got descriptions of the food. I ended up getting the bolognese and it was pretty good but it great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

One of our favorites in Asheville. Had the spaghetti with mushroom and black truffle- delicious. Husband raved over his branzino.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2017

One of my favorites in Asheville, Cucina 24 is amazing in every way and always has a great selection of simple and complex dishes to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent, as always. Service was a little slow, but it appeared that the staff was stretched thin that night. However, our waiter was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food was great. Service was so-so. Our server was less than attentive and rather arrogant. He may have been an outlier. Other servers appeared to be doing a great job with their tables.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We had a party of four, sharing our food, all of which was vegetarian. The goat cheese pizza, pasta with mushrooms, and pasta with eggplant were wonderful. My dish of ravioli with corn and okra got an "A" for effort, but I didn't really care for it. Our server was wonderful and made excellent wine pairing suggestions. Most of the desserts were delicious; none of us cared for the mint ice cream. My cappuccino was dreadful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Wonderful food, inventive Italian merged with local ingredients. Plenty of room between tables and service that is on point but not stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Our experience was truly so different from any other dining experience we have ever had. Great service personnel and service, truly different food preparation, and ambiance that was the best. We will definitely go back when in Asheville. Kudos to this staff!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Every time I have come here, we have gotten the Chef's Tasting. My favorite part of the meal, mostly because of its unique nature, is the first course of locally foraged plants that you would never think of consuming otherwise. The pastas are ALWAYS to die for. (Note that almost all of the pasta dishes can be made into a half-portion. If you're like me, we always order more food after the tasting menu merely because we want to stuff ourselves silly with those delicious flavors.) The wine list is all Italian, but very guest friendly for those who don't know which varietals match to regions. The cocktails are ever rotating. Every experience here is new and not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Wonderful experience all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent meal at Cucina24! I'd return tomorrow if I could. Our server was cheerful, knowledgeable about everything on the menu, and made great recommendations for us. The food arrived quickly from the kitchen, and every single bite was delicious. Can't recommend it enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It is the best restaurant in Asheville. Never disappoints. Malcolm is a fabulous waiter!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was effing amazeballs as always! The food was incredible, Jimmy is a pleasure to chat with, and the special swear-laden menu was one of the highlights of my year! Thank you for everything!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always an incredible pleasure to dine here. Fantastic food and hospitality!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We planned to have pasta, but talked ourselves into a "simple" pizza after starting with great veal carpaccio. Wow! The pizza was simple in concept, but complex in execution and flavor - total surprise. The pizza crust was perfect and the local tomatoes were some of the best tasting I'd ever had. Maybe a top ten lifetime pizza - I'm 64, that adds up to a lot of pizzas!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Major staff change-over which kinda scared me at first because I'm a creature of habit and comfort, ....and I had my favorite servers and cooks. But the food still delivered on goodness and that's really all you can ask for in this ever-shifting world. In conclusion, be ballsy and step out of your comfort zone, and enjoy a tasty treat while you can.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

What I really like about this place is the wine list. No welcome when we got in, we had to wait 5 minutes before somebody shown up. We also had to wait for our table even if we had a reservation. I wanted to get a drink at the bar but it was a little mess. Empty glasses on the counter from previous customers. Restaurant is supposedly Italian but I'm Italian, born and raised in Italy and the menu was not "very Italian". Beside this, bread was very good and my Veal carpaccio was superb. Quails were nothing special to me. My wife's meal was good. My son got a pizza and he and I liked it. We got the check on the table while we where still eating and this is something that drive me crazy. No customer was waiting to be seated and many tables were available. It was 9.40 pm.. Little details make the different . If somebody was at the door to welcome you and check would come when you ask for I'll rated the restaurant higher because beside everything the food was good and I liked the effort in searching good wine and different menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was one of best Italian meals I have had outside of Italy. The hostess was kind to recommend the bar seating to view the kitchen and it did not disappoint. My dinning companion -- my 12 year old son -- told me it was the best pizza he's ever had. They also went out of their way to make some special orders for us not found on the menu. Service could not have been better: prompt, attentive, accommodating and pleasant. Thank you. We will be back when we next visit Asheville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Tapas, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This our favorite restaurant!!!!! Always remarkable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Best. In. Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

I love Cucina 24. I wish they'd keep their charcuterie board year round but understand they want to highlight other things.
My only complaint is their liquor brands. Their spirits are unusual and, while I often try their brands I rarely care for them. I wish they'd stick a few of the more "usual" vodkas, tequilas, etc. I'm allergic to wine so it's important to me.
Their food is great so I order Titos and eat happily!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Everything was delicious! The focaccia was amazing, fresh pasta, veal carpaccio...wow! Get here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The service from the staff was attentive but chaotic. The bartender(s) was/were also waiting on tables while large parties were also waiting at the bar for tables; the servers were also greeting parties that arrived. There needed to be a central person at the front to maintain several positions in the restaurant. The wild boar ragu with pappardelle pasta was amazing! However, some of the dishes seemed muddled and overtly complex.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Most amazing pork chop I have ever had with grilled peaches! Pavlova with berries was delicious. Very knowledgeable waitress.
Can't wait to go back & try something else.
A foodies place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.