About Cucina 24

24 Wall Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC.

Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South.

We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:



Tuesday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm



Dinner:



Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm



Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 254-6170

Website:
http://www.cucina24restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on Wall Street as well as Wall Street parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Brian Canipelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rigatoni Bolgonese
Petite Lettuce, Speck, Herb Vinaigrette, Pecan, Blue Cheese
Whip La Tur
mushroom risotto
Cheese Board
Bacon scallops
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula & Burrata Salad
Pizza
Beet Salad With Popcorn Pana Cotta
Kumimoto Oysters
Spaghetti
Roasted Beet Salad
Cap Ribeye
Dessert

Cucina 24 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (93)
Special Occasion (71)
Romantic (48)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Hot Spot (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was very good. It is more of an exot ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was very good. It is more of an exotic Italian experience, but there was stuff for my picky eater husband.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Cucina many times. Over ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have eaten at Cucina many times. Over the years we have enjoyed dinner on week nights as well as for special occasions. The last three or four times we have visited we noticed the food was not as delicious as in times past. The recent visit was very disappointing as we were served quail that was extremely tough and a pork chop that was very fatty. All in all, very disappointing. Will probably not book dinner reservations in the future. Too many very good restaurants in Asheville to settle for sub par food. Sad because I loved eating here for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was delicious. Homemade pasta ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was delicious. Homemade pasta. Shrimp appetizer. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice compliment to our stay in Asheville ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nice compliment to our stay in Asheville. Excellent service with very good food and ambience Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cucina 24 was so good, we went back a se ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Cucina 24 was so good, we went back a second night during our stay in Asheville. Our favorites were the Fig appetizer served on thick, grilled bread with fresh figs, chèvre, fig and onion jam. Delicious! One of our other favorites was the Straciatella - fresh mozzarella stretched so that it's smooth and served with heirloom tomatoes and micro greens. So good! For dessert we had the Creameax - a chocolate piece of goodness. Service was very good. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cucina 24 never disappoints. As a local ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Cucina 24 never disappoints. As a local Ashevillian, Cucina 24 is one of my favorite restaurants to bring out of town guests, and they were blown away by the quality of the food, its preparation, the service and ambiance of this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and Alyssa, our server, w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent food and Alyssa, our server, was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we had was great and the rest ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything we had was great and the restaurant didn't mind us splitting dishes which allowed us to try many different dishes. Waiter was super helpful also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This farm to table Italian has delicious ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This farm to table Italian has delicious food. The pasta is fresh and made in house. The food isn't overly seasoned allowing the fresh ingredients to shine. My daughter's steak was perfectly prepared. We wanted to order dessert but the entrees were a good size portion and we didn't have room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The most noteworthy restaurant in Ashevi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The most noteworthy restaurant in Asheville. A world-class menu and wine list with a tasting menu that is beyond belief. Well-informed and thoughtful service. And a master bartender, to boot.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great experience. food was extraordinar ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

great experience. food was extraordinary. simple tagliatelle bolognese. my wife had the seafood in broth. both great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, but it took forever ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent, but it took forever to come out. The waiter was very friendly and did everything in his power to rectify the issue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

My wife and I had a really amazing night ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I had a really amazing night . Between the perfect and helpful service from our Waitress and the beautiful preparation of the food that was so delicious from the appetizer to the dessert , our night was awesome ... We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took friends who had never been. Love ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We took friends who had never been. Loved it. The bartender made us a cocktail they had never done before. It was spot on nothing but great things to say about our dining experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was excellent, and our server w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

the food was excellent, and our server was wonderful. everyone enjoyed their meal and said they would return. all locally sourced food and the bread & butter is made on site. It was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous ! Will definitely return next t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fabulous ! Will definitely return next time we are in Asheville !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything was amazing about our experie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Everything was amazing about our experience. Our waiter and his service, food quality, and notable wine list. Would highly recommend the squash blossom appetizer, striped bass, steak, and pastry with whipped cream & berries. Definitely will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The desserts were the weakest link. Quit ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The desserts were the weakest link. Quite mediocre and a after such meticulously prepared appetizers and entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We ordered three different pasta dishes ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We ordered three different pasta dishes and they were all outstanding. Cooked to perfection and very flavorful. The Pavlova dessert was a dream.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cucina 24 was my favorite Asheville rest ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Cucina 24 was my favorite Asheville restaurant for several years but it has slipped in food quality over the past 2 years. Apparent efforts to make it more cutting edge have resulted in odd dishes. For instance, my order of gnocchi produced a dish with tight little spirals of pasta in a forgettable sauce. The entrees didn't appeal to any of the 4 diners at our table. Only the pizzas were appetizing. Our favorite dessert, the olive oil cake, is no longer on the menu. This will no longer be our "go to" restaurant in Asheville.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Cucina 24 is one of Asheville's best kep ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Cucina 24 is one of Asheville's best kept secrets - great food in a foodie town. The atmosphere is warm and relaxing and the waitstaff doesn't make you feel rushed. The wine is a bit pricey. I would like a few more affordable options.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food . Wait staff very attenti ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food . Wait staff very attentive and friendly. Service was a little slow but not bad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Along with our friends we had spent a w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Along with our friends we had spent a week in Asheville and had eaten out almost every meal. We had used the usual sources for dining and Cucina 24 was by far the best for food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Cucina 24 three times an ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have been to Cucina 24 three times and have thoroughly enjoyed each experience. Have never been disappointed with the food. Top notch quality, beautifully plated and tastes delicious. Love their drink and wine menu too. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Creative, delicious food offerings. Wait ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Creative, delicious food offerings. Wait staff patiently helps you through the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Must be our 3rd or 4th visit, and we wil ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Must be our 3rd or 4th visit, and we will certainly return in the future. Great service, great food, great presentation. buttermilk Ricotta : beet : blackberry : calendula was beautiful and delivious. roasted Pork Collar : peppers : polenta : onion agrodolce : fennel pollen was incredible. Desserts were awesome. Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our 1st visit to Cucina24 ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Really enjoyed our 1st visit to Cucina24 and would highly recommend to anyone!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptionally good service and food. Lov ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Exceptionally good service and food. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall an outstanding experience. Meal ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Overall an outstanding experience. Meal included delicious food (appetizer and small plates) and excellent recommendations from the ample wine list by the knowledgeable wait staff. Our group (3 women on a foodie tour of Asheville ) was so impressed and would recommend Cucina 24 as a must while in Asheville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being a native New Yorker and 100% Itali ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Being a native New Yorker and 100% Italian, I did not have high expectations when I arrived. The Bucatini alla Gricia (and smoked pork collar were both delicious. Our server made great recommendations on combining the meat entrees with side portions of their handmade pastas which were huge homeruns for all of us in our dining party. Their specialty drinks were terrific - we really enjoyed the Peruvian piscos and the glass onion cocktails. Will definitely plan on coming back for dinner when I'm back in Asheville!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience...food was f ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Wonderful dining experience...food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way! Authentic Ital ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Outstanding in every way! Authentic Italian food! Alyssa is an exceptional server,highly competent in all aspects of the food preparation and she knows the wines! A wonderful meal and total experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the short rib and Spanish squid appe ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had the short rib and Spanish squid appetizers and both were amazing. Had the Yellow Fin Tuna entree and it was delicious, but not as yummy as the appetizers. Overall the service was wonderful, food was wonderful and we will for sure be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Bolognese was exc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Service was excellent. Bolognese was excellent. Bread and corn fritters too salty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great fresh pasta and salumi board! The ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great fresh pasta and salumi board! The homemade pork rinds were fantastic. Great spot!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the food excellent. The service ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We found the food excellent. The service was attentive and friendly without being intrusive. The entire staff was focused on the guests' enjoyment of the dinner experience. We give it our highest recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a wonderful spot where the menu ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is a wonderful spot where the menu is constantly changing per chef's ability to source local foods. I love this spot for special occasions. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my husband's choice for his bir ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was my husband's choice for his birthday. Our waiter was prompt and food was excellent. Of all things, the olives are divine! My husband is a bit hard of hearing and the Saturday night noise level was tough, but it is a bustling, vibrant establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner with excellent service. ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wonderful dinner with excellent service. The ice cream sandwich is a must have for dessert. Cannot wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant! We had a great server ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great restaurant! We had a great server that made the best recommendations! The chef made an "off menu" vegetarian dish for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.