About Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar - Orlando

9101 International Drive
The Point Orlando
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Cuba Libre features a contemporary interpretation of traditional Cuban cuisine & a broad base of authentic Cuban cocktails, including an extensive rum selection highlighting our signature mojito. Passing through the doors of the restaurant, guests are transported to Havana, Cuba, circa the 1950s. One-of-a-kind mill work & architectural salvage including unique doors, gates, cabinetry, furniture & accessories help capture the essence of old Cuban architecture. Our name is our hope for the future of the treasured island nation of Cuba. Cuba Libre will not accept reservation from diners under the age of 21 after 9PM on Friday & Saturday, & the dress code for Friday & Saturday is upscale casual. Complimentary valet parking available for your convienence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Cuban, Latin American, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday and Saturdays 5pm-10:30pm.
Happy Hour Everyday 5-6:30

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 226-1600

Website:
http://www.cubalibrerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
On Fridays, Saturdays and for special events, Cuba Libre turns up the Latin rhythm as professional salsa dancers, musicians and other entertainers perform floor shows in the dining room. After dinner hours Cuba Libre clears the tables allowing guests to dance to a DJ spinning tropical dance, salsa, merengue, bachata & Latin house.

Parking Details:
Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar-Orlando offers Complementary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Guillermo Pernot

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Blackberry Mojito
  • Tostones
  • Ropa Veja
Blackberry Mojito
Tostones
Ropa Veja

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Consider Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum the destination for your next social or corporate event. Whether it’s an intimate party of 15, a grand event for 1000, a themed cocktail party or an elegant dinner, Cuba Libre is the ideal setting for an unforgettable private party or special event.

Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar - Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Orlando / Central Florida East
Hot Spot
Orlando
Best Restaurants in I Drive / Sand Lake ›

Good for Groups (36)
Special Occasion (33)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Romantic (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Good for a Date (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Casual (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Scenic View (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Worth the Drive (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Family Style (6)
Fun (6)
Tapas (6)
Dancing (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Authentic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (3)
Spicy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Music (2)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1014 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was outstanding! It was as if ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 hours ago

Service was outstanding! It was as if our waiter was only for our table. Food was delicious - guacamole, skirt steak and flan for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was competent, friendly, apolog ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Waitress was competent, friendly, apologetic but overwhelmed. Probably busier than expected at the restaurant. No clean utensils, drinks took half an hour. Most of the problems likely beyond her control. Food was very good. Since large conferences are obviously the norm in this area, I am not sure why the restaurant seemed so understaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

If you want authentic Cuban food, you ar ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

If you want authentic Cuban food, you are not going to get it here. The traditional offerings have been modified too much to serve the tourists that frequent International Drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We enjoyed a really good dinner during t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed a really good dinner during the "Magical Dining " month and would visit again. Maybe in Washington DC?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful. Waitress was person ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was wonderful. Waitress was personable and attentive. The kitchen was slow - we weren't expecting it to take 2 hours for dinner! Noise level was HIGH.

Tags: Spicy, Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Was in the mood for Cuban food. Decided ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Was in the mood for Cuban food. Decided to try the Magical dining menu. Made a reservation for 830 pm. The food was not remotely close to being Cuban. The food was cold when it arrived at our table and had to be returned to be reheated. My friend returned her meal because it lacked favor. She ultimately ate another appetizer in lieu of her dinner entree. The manager approached our table but did not seem concerned with our discontent.

The venue is a dance club at night. The staff was more concerned with clearing tables and preparing the dance floor than providing a pleasurable dining experience. Ironically, we were the last table in the middle of the dance floor trying to enjoy dinner.

Not a good place for Cuban food or quality meal. Was also surprised to be charged for an entree that was not eaten because it lacked flavor.

Tags: Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The restaurant atmosphere was beautiful. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The restaurant atmosphere was beautiful. The smells of the food were wonderful! We started with toasted Cuban bread with this amazing mango butter, yummy! We had a fabulous appetizer with a nice amount of meats to try. I had the chicken and yellow rice, my boyfriend had the steak with white rice and black beans, they were both delicious. We ended our meal with key lime pie shooters, wow, I could eat that every day! My boyfriend had Cuban coffee, he enjoyed it too! Our server, Michael, was on top of everything! Can't wait to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We went to Cuba Libre for Magical Dining ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We went to Cuba Libre for Magical Dining. The menu has a large selection of items. The Lecheon pulled pork with delicious, the arroz con pollo was just okay (just one note), the tostones were quite flavorful.

The desert was just okay. Key lime and tiramisu in the shot glasses. The value is good for magical dining, but I have been to much better magical dining locations.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We had resos for 6:30 and were promptly ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had resos for 6:30 and were promptly seated. The restaurant was not crowded at all. We must've been seated in a no man's zone, because no servers came for quite a while. When a server finally came by and asked if we'd been helped - and we said no - he offered to help. So we got our drink orders in - mojitos. They were good. Everyone enjoyed the appetizers - I had the bruschetta off the magical dining month menu. The entrees were good, too. I had the beef - a very healthy portion! - and the key lime dessert. A nice ending to the meal. I'll recommend the restaurant, but you might have to be patient with the service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Very disappointing. Went for the Orlando ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very disappointing. Went for the Orlando Magical Dining Month. Supposedly $32.50 per person. We ordered for 2 and had a total of 3 Mojitos ( not 3 for each of us, a total of 3 drinks). The bill came to $115.87. Mojitos are $5 each (AT THE BAR). Same Mojito is $9.50 at the table. Beautiful building, lovely decor but the noise level is intolerable (we went at 5:30 - I estimate the room was about 50% full). Cannot begin to imagine how loud it must be when all the tables are full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

We went out on a Wednesday night for Orl ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We went out on a Wednesday night for Orlando's magical dining and had an amazing experience! The restaurant prsented their regular menus & Orlando's magical dining menus at the same time! Had never seen that done before it any other restaurant! Service was impeccable and the food was delicious !

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant brings back the same fla ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant brings back the same flavors that I grew up tasting when I was a boy in New York City in the 50s. I will be back, again and again.

Tags: Private Room, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted wanted to share that with order ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I wanted wanted to share that with orders the mahi mahi and I got food poisoning .iit was the worst feeling ever.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at this restaurant during Orlan ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We dined at this restaurant during Orlando's Magical Dining Month. We were very pleased and thoroughly enjoyed the decor, festive atmosphere, food, proportion sizes, and the excellent service. Everyone was so nice and genuinely wanted to make sure we had a wonderful dining experience. Luis, our waiter, explained all the dishes and drinks with such detail and enthusiasm, that we wanted to try everything on the menu! Each course, and there were 4, were delicious!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Tapas, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere/ambiance was special. Th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The atmosphere/ambiance was special. The food was amazing. The server was extremely attentive and knowledgeable and made very good recommendations. Would highly recommend. Apparently it turns into a nightclub at 10:00, although we didn't stay that late.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite spot to visit when we are in Or ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Favorite spot to visit when we are in Orlando. Food is great and so is the atmosphere of the restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service provided by Stephanie. ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent service provided by Stephanie. Every course was tasty and prepared with our special requests in mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here as part of the Orlando Mag ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We dined here as part of the Orlando Magical Dining experience. We arrived as soon they opened as we enjoy a quieter, conversation friendly experience. We were greeted- and very well cared for- by Luis, who was EXCELLENT at assuring everything was exactly right. He provided important information about the menu items as well as little tidbits about himself and the history of the restaurant and chef. The decor was interesting- definitely reminiscent of D.C.'s Little Havana with tromp l oeil scenery of stucco, flowering vines, and muted hues. The menu choices, even for this special offering, were extensive and allowed my "discerning" (picky) husband to find something that he would like. We started off the FOUR course fest with the coconut crab fritters and the papas rellenas- both delicious (the sauce for the fritters was a little spicy- just the way I like it!). Next was the jardin salad- fresh greens with a burst of salty olive and spicy onion in a light vinaigette. The entrees were ropa vieja (shredded beef brisket in a rich sauce) and the mahi mahi (gently cooked and served over a sensational tomato sauce). Both were excellent- and we both took most of them home! There was just too much food. We did finish with one of their little desserts- sweet, creamy, and packed with flavor- JUST the right size for the end of a generous meal. I loved everything about Cuba Libre and we will certainly return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was amazing. Our waitress mad ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything was amazing. Our waitress made our night. I would come back just to have her again. The food was great, it Cuban fusion but made right. I cannot say enough about service, they catered to my kids so we were able to eat our meals while they had theirs, and for parents that means the world when we get to enjoy a warm meal. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible!!! We ordered of ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was incredible!!! We ordered off the Magical Dining menu. Every single item was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Dancing, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Credit card machine was broken...made us ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Credit card machine was broken...made us wait half an hour just to inform us, then another fifteen while they manually wrote our bill and required us to use cash.

Love the food. Love the restaurant. Management and our server failed us this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Scrumptious food. Creative menu. Superb ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Scrumptious food. Creative menu. Superb service. Awesome experience.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Spicy, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server could have been more attentive. O ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Server could have been more attentive. Other than that nice place for dinner. Food presentation beautiful. The Maduros con queso was delicious . Pleasant atmosphere. Thank you magical dining!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent Cuban-style food. Great mix ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent Cuban-style food. Great mix of flavors!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its my favorite when i get the chance to ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Its my favorite when i get the chance to go out, its always cuba libre

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

average food

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I have been to Cuba Libre on a date with ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I have been to Cuba Libre on a date with my wife at least 10 times. The place keeps on getting better and the menu is excellent. I will keep going back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome everything is all i can say... T ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome everything is all i can say... This place is amazing and the service is a ten plus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was perfect Drinks were memorabl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was perfect

Drinks were memorable and unique

I had a shrimp dish it was delicious and the shrimp were large and plentiful for the price. My wife loved the chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

honestly it was our first time in free C ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

honestly it was our first time in free Cuba, we ordered seafood and it was so old in fact that some things were burned (squid) sound in the Latino disco was horrible and finally decided to go elsewhere ... I wanted to have a detail with my friend for our arrival in Spain and has been a disaster ...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

This restaurant is one of my favorites, ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant is one of my favorites, food and music is great. Really enjoy going there.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Visiting Orlando for the first time...th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Visiting Orlando for the first time...this was our end of trip dinner. It was a great experience to capture our vacation. Good food, friendly service, great ambiance...

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was excellent for a multi location ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was excellent for a multi location chain. Very well executed. Unique

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was authentic , good vibes and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was authentic , good vibes and good times! Really good service , best waiter attention for being a normal restaurant

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was Amazing!! Great atmosphere, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was Amazing!! Great atmosphere, fun, & lively. Only downside was how weak the Mojitos were...very dissappointed for a $10 drink...tasted like a virgin/ non-alcoholic drink. I feel as though a cuban drink at a cuban restaurant should be spot on.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten at the one in Atlantic City ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I have eaten at the one in Atlantic City, it was a good experience there. However at this location we asked to be moved to a smaller table because they sat us at a huge table and we had 2 small children with us this time. So it was not appropriate for a high chair to be at this kind of table/booth area. I had to ask for the high chair 2 times, I eventually went to the manger. This is after asking the hostess and a server. The we sat for a while waiting for a server. Had to get our own menus that were placed at the old table. Then our server shows up, he was not aware we were seated in his section. Service was quick after that, food was excellent. Its not somewhere you want to bring kids too even if your in Orlando. The place was empty for a Tuesday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Absolutely my favorite place in Orlando! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Absolutely my favorite place in Orlando! The outdoor bartenders Friday, Saturday and Sunday night we're awesome servers and made me feel right at home although I live far away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for a fun place with ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

If you are looking for a fun place with excellent dining then Cuba Libre is a great option. Food was excellent I recommend the tuna and the appetizers. On the weekend after 1030 it becomes a night club. Service was on point too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful all around!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Wonderful all around!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.