About Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar - Orlando

9101 International Drive
The Point Orlando
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Cuba Libre features a contemporary interpretation of traditional Cuban cuisine & a broad base of authentic Cuban cocktails, including an extensive rum selection highlighting our signature mojito. Passing through the doors of the restaurant, guests are transported to Havana, Cuba, circa the 1950s. One-of-a-kind mill work & architectural salvage including unique doors, gates, cabinetry, furniture & accessories help capture the essence of old Cuban architecture. Our name is our hope for the future of the treasured island nation of Cuba. Cuba Libre will not accept reservation from diners under the age of 21 after 9PM on Friday & Saturday, & the dress code for Friday & Saturday is upscale casual. Complimentary valet parking available for your convienence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Cuban, Latin American, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday and Saturdays 5pm-10:30pm.
Happy Hour Everyday 5-6:30

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 226-1600

Website:
http://www.cubalibrerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
On Fridays, Saturdays and for special events, Cuba Libre turns up the Latin rhythm as professional salsa dancers, musicians and other entertainers perform floor shows in the dining room. After dinner hours Cuba Libre clears the tables allowing guests to dance to a DJ spinning tropical dance, salsa, merengue, bachata & Latin house.

Parking Details:
Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar-Orlando offers Complementary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Guillermo Pernot

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Consider Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum the destination for your next social or corporate event. Whether it’s an intimate party of 15, a grand event for 1000, a themed cocktail party or an elegant dinner, Cuba Libre is the ideal setting for an unforgettable private party or special event.

Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar - Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (40)
hot spot (30)
special occasion (30)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
vibrant bar scene (25)
great for outdoor dining (23)
late-night find (22)
romantic (18)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for lunch (15)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (6)
great for brunch (5)
notable wine list (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
949 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wait staff was outstanding, several opti ...

Dined 3 days ago

Wait staff was outstanding, several options for adults and kids alike. Bar scene looked fun, beautiful scenery in the restaurant recreating a lovely outdoor 50's Havana theme. Food was delicious and there was plenty of it. Would go again any time I stay in the I Drive/ Convention center area

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal! My friend loves this pla ...

Dined 4 days ago

Delicious meal! My friend loves this place in philly so she suggested we try it in Orlando. We were both there on a business trip. Loved the fun outdoor atmosphere. Waiter was super attentive. Food was amazing. I had an incredible chop salad as appetitizer and also the chicken. Flavora popped. Can't wait to go back again next time I'm in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

We made reservations and requested to pa ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We made reservations and requested to participated in happy hour. Upon arrival we were seated in the regular seating. I asked if we could participate in happy hour specials and we were told no. We were seated so close to other table that the waiter could hardly get through. The drink was weak and the skirt steak was over cooked. The amount of food and the cost was not a good value at all. We were there to celebrate our 11th anniversary away from our children so we were a bit disappointed in the experience.

Tags: late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exquisite, the place look phenomenal.

Dined on May 21, 2016

The waiter was very nice and had great recommendations we loved the drinks he brought us based on what we said we likes. The place looked amazing, exactly what we were looking for, something out of the ordinary that made our experience even better. The food to die for. All four of us had different things and all 4 plates were a delight to try. I really liked the place I definitely recommend it

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4

Our server Luis was amazing! Very attent ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our server Luis was amazing! Very attentive and patience to explain the menu. Good recommendations too. The basic problem was the sitting!!! We did a reservation for 8 and we didn't got our table until 8:30pm...

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Atmosphere and food was great.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was good but kitchen service was slow at one hour 15 minutes from order to delivery. Not acceptable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Blowout

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took mom for the Mother's Day brunch. The food was excellent, service was excellent, and the value was great. We have gone a few times for the holidays and each time was wonderful all around.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I celebrated my birthday with friends!!! ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I celebrated my birthday with friends!!! The service was amazing !!! The staff made it a night I won't forget!!! The food was authentic and delicious!! I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys Cuban food and if you are not sure it is worth a try !!! Caesar was an amazing server!!! Thank you all for making my birthday a night I will never forget!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Cuban food with great ambiance

Dined on May 6, 2016

This restaurant was wonderful, our server was especially wonderful and attentive! We had a nice corner area that was convenient for the baby sleeping in the stroller. The food was excellent, albeit on the salty side. Apparently, this is a hot spot on the bar scene at night. The ambiance and decor is fabulous. We will return to this restaurant in the future.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Mediocre

Dined on May 3, 2016

Sat at the bar when we arrived. Ordered an appetizer and some drinks. I found out the hard way that I do not like pineapple in my guacamole. Great Cuban bread. Very friendly and accommodating bartender. Moved to a table and ordered the mahi-mahi in a creole sauce. The sauce was spicy but did not complement the fish. Expensive cocktails. Maybe that's just what the prices are in Orlando, but $11.00 for a vodka and soda seems expensive. Would not go back or recommend to any of my friends.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Cuba Libre is one of our top three Orlan ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Cuba Libre is one of our top three Orlando restaurants. We anticipate our Cuba Libre dinner with each trip. The food is always good, consistent and the service is instant with multiple servers. Every time we go, we make a night of it!

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Fun Place

Dined on April 28, 2016

Really interesting place, the food is good and the atmosphere is very unique. Great selection of Mojito's too.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service2

Great food. Watered drinks. Bad seating ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Great food. Watered drinks. Bad seating experience - like they couldn't care less. Insincere service - the inner workings of role playing for a tip was too obvious - just creeps me out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite Cuban food that will not disap ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Exquisite Cuban food that will not disappoint. Top notch customer service by all. Our server Jose was amazing.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

great cuban meal for a vegan couple

Dined on April 13, 2016

Loved the Vegan vege dish and was especially happy with the yucca fries. Passionate fruit mojito was also pleasing. Service was fast and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Everything was great. My only complaint is that the food was not authentic. It had a contemprary twist on it which I do not care for when I am going to eat some cuban food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Bartender not friendly

Dined on April 4, 2016

The woman bartending at the main bar was very unfriendly. She served us ok but didn't speak to us or for that matter even look at us. Be nice and get more tips.... Not sure if she got the memo.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Great atmosphere and good food.. Turns i ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great atmosphere and good food.. Turns into a night club on Friday and Saturday night after 10:30.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sure thing..

Dined on March 31, 2016

Best Place to eat in Pointe Plaza Orlando. Food was cooked perfect, great taste and Service was superb. Much better than DelFriscos in Orlando.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Easter buffet was outstanding. Service w ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter buffet was outstanding. Service was even better. Can't wait to go back.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our server Steven was given too many tables to wait on, so the service was not as good as in past. Some of the beef was cooked pretty rare, but the other food was plentiful and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun atmosphere with great service and in ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Fun atmosphere with great service and interesting dining choices. Delicious, flavorful and well presented. Can't wait to return.

food4
ambience3
service1

Food was good, but it was REALLY loud an ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was good, but it was REALLY loud and the service could be better.

food5
ambience5
service5

Yum! Great mojitos.

Dined on March 17, 2016

Yum! Great mojitos.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Drinks overpriced

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was good but found the drinks to be a little overpriced compared to other top restaurants we have been to.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

FOR A GREAT TASTE OF CUBA

Dined on March 11, 2016

WE'VE BEEN TO CUBA LIBRE SEVERAL TIMES. ALL THE FOOD IS GREAT AND THE PROPORTIONS ARE LARGE. IN PARTICULAR WE LOVE THE SHRIMP CEVICHE, THE EMPANADAS, THE SEAFOOD SOUP, AND THE ROPA VIEJA. BUT REALLY EVERYTHING THEY OFFER IS DELICIOUS WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THEIR MINI DESSERTS WHICH ARE JUST OK. BUT YOURE SO FILLED UP FROM EATING EVERYTHING ELSE YOU REALLY DONT HAVE ROOM FOR DESSERT. THE SERVICE IS ALWAYS GOOD, EVERYONE IS FRIENDLY, AND THE AMBIENCE IS WONDERFUL. OUR SON WAS VISITING US SO WE TOOK HIM AND OUR DAUGHTER LAST FRIDAY WITH THE INTENTION OF STAYING FOR THE DANCING LATER. SINCE WE ATE DINNER THERE THEY SAID WE WOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY A COVER CHARGE LATER WHICH WAS VERY NICE. WE WAITED AROUND OUTSIDE UNTIL 10:00 PM BUT THEY STILL HAD NOT CLEARED THE TABLES AND CUSTOMERS TO CONVERT THE FLOOR FOR THE DJ AND DANCING. SO UNFORTUNATELY WE GAVE UP AND LEFT. ITS A GREAT PLACE TO EAT. OUR ONLY RECOMMENDATION WOULD BE TO BRING IN LATIN DANCERS OR LIVE MUSICIANS, AT LEAST ON FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHTS, TO ENTERTAIN WHILE WE EAT. IT WOULD ADD TO THE AMBIENCE WHICH IS ALREADY UNIQUE AND BEAUTIFUL. AND THEY COULD STILL CONVERT IT INTO A DANCE CLUB LATER AT NIGHT.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Not as good as last time

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

We were in Orlando a few years ago and stumbled upon Cuba Libre. Great time. So we brought 5 friends with us and I ordered a pitcher of Mojitos w/special rum. The assistant waiter came around to pour everyone else first, and almost ran out on my glass, giving me a lot of ice. Really? I said to put the pitcher on my bill, and another member in our party was getting something different. He did, as he wasn't so fond of Mojitos and wanted margarita's. My wife's friend didn't drink her glass and passed it over to me. The guacamole is plentiful, but we ran out of plantain chips - then the waiter tried to take the bowl several times (even tho my wife had asked for more chips). We scooped it up with a fork. Didn't start off on a good foot. Otherwise, our food was good, as was the ambiance.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service2

Reservation 3 months ahead! Upon arrival ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Reservation 3 months ahead! Upon arrival Told only table available at all was in the bar where it was cramped with waiters bumping into us constantly !!! Was extremely difficult to converse.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for unwinding with colleagues

Dined on March 4, 2016

Went to Cuba Libre with colleagues to unwind after a long day at a convention. Perfect place for this. Our waiter was great answering all of our many questions. We tried a few mojitos, considered trying one of each. Next time, maybe.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing meal ad service

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Amazing meal ad service

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

Dined on February 27, 2016

Had a great time to celebrate my birthday. Food was good. Dancing was lots of fun and had great energy. The crowd was very pleasant and comfortable.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and great menu to meet a v ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Great service and great menu to meet a variety of tastes and budgets!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a lovely meal at Cuba Libre. The service was fantastic, our waiter was very attentive but not overly so, the food and wine were brilliant. We sat outside on the terrace but inside looked great too. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bad start, but turned out well.

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

I booked this reservation well in advance and our party showed up on time. The hostess escorted us across the first floor dining room to a steep climb up a very long staircase (not offering the elevator), then across the second floor dining room to the deepest recesses of the restaurant between the bar and kitchen. Others were also seated in this area while the vast majority of tables elsewhere in the restaurant remained empty. I said, “No, this won't do. Please find us a better table.” The hostess went to consult with someone managerial before assigning us a different table. We were puzzled by what we felt was a rather cool reception. Bear in mind that our party was comprised of two well dressed (and certainly well behaved) couples; all retired executives. Although other diners were seated around us during the course of our meal, the restaurant never became crowded, so we couldn't understand why we were initially offered such poor seating. Fortunately, our servers restored our hope for a better evening. We received very courteous and attentive service, and the food was very good. We have some familiarity with Cuban cuisine and our selections proved quite satisfying. There were several other menu selections we would like to try. The decor is truly remarkable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Upscale Fusion Cuban Fare

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very nice, cuban cuisine that is out of the ordinary. Pricey but very high quality... Luis our attendant was excellent and attentive. Will definitely return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a beautiful time. Great place, ni ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a beautiful time. Great place, nice atmosphere, good music and good service

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 14, 2016

Place is fantastic to go dance latin music. Food was fantastic and ambiance was very pleasant. Im looking forward to come back with more friends. 100% recommended.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent All Around

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent service. We had 3 picky eaters with us and all the wait staff did their best to keep them occupied with bread. Drinks were out of this world and the Cuban food great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and pe ...

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and personable. The food was fantastic; a good blend of authentic Cuban roots and artistic talent . I highly recommend.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fun evening!

Dined on February 11, 2016

Went there with work colleagues. Had many small plates - the empanadas and spinach balls were good. The bread basket with mango and brown sugar butter was heaven. Drinks were on the sweet side but exotic. The place was hopping and service good. Would recommend for a casual evening.

Tags: hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.