About Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar - Orlando

9101 International Drive
The Point Orlando
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Cuba Libre features a contemporary interpretation of traditional Cuban cuisine & a broad base of authentic Cuban cocktails, including an extensive rum selection highlighting our signature mojito. Passing through the doors of the restaurant, guests are transported to Havana, Cuba, circa the 1950s. One-of-a-kind mill work & architectural salvage including unique doors, gates, cabinetry, furniture & accessories help capture the essence of old Cuban architecture. Our name is our hope for the future of the treasured island nation of Cuba. Cuba Libre will not accept reservation from diners under the age of 21 after 9PM on Friday & Saturday, & the dress code for Friday & Saturday is upscale casual. Complimentary valet parking available for your convienence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Cuban, Latin American, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday and Saturdays 5pm-10:30pm.
Happy Hour Everyday 5-6:30

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 226-1600

Website:
http://www.cubalibrerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
On Fridays, Saturdays and for special events, Cuba Libre turns up the Latin rhythm as professional salsa dancers, musicians and other entertainers perform floor shows in the dining room. After dinner hours Cuba Libre clears the tables allowing guests to dance to a DJ spinning tropical dance, salsa, merengue, bachata & Latin house.

Parking Details:
Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar-Orlando offers Complementary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Guillermo Pernot

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Blackberry Mojito - Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar - Orlando, Orlando, FL
  • Tostones - Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar - Orlando, Orlando, FL
  • Ropa Veja - Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar - Orlando, Orlando, FL
Blackberry Mojito - Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar - Orlando, Orlando, FL
Tostones - Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar - Orlando, Orlando, FL
Ropa Veja - Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar - Orlando, Orlando, FL

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Consider Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum the destination for your next social or corporate event. Whether it’s an intimate party of 15, a grand event for 1000, a themed cocktail party or an elegant dinner, Cuba Libre is the ideal setting for an unforgettable private party or special event.

Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar - Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Good for Groups (21)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Casual (20)
Authentic (19)
Fun (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Romantic (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Tapas (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Dancing (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Family Style (7)
Spicy (7)
People Watching (7)
Cozy (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (3)
Live Music (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1054 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was excellent!! The mango ci ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was excellent!! The mango cinnamon butter is delicious they should jar and sell it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My steak was over cooked outside & under ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

My steak was over cooked outside & under cooked inside. Very pricey for type of food & size of drinks. Poor lighting for menu reading, we used our cellphones flashlight. However, they have good appetizers, desserts & service.

Tags: Casual, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

It was outstanding we loved it

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

It was outstanding we loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. Service was great. O ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great atmosphere. Service was great. Overall food was good. Pork was a little tough in the Lechon Asado, but overall good experience. Great for meal with friends or late night drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

This place had food that tasted too auth ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This place had food that tasted too authentic, I don't think it was prepared wrongly or bad per se. I just don't think my palate is used to this type of food.

The music was so loud we couldn't hear each other talk. The best part was the desserts from the tasting menu. Not sure we would go back.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

When we first walked in, we were a littl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

When we first walked in, we were a little worried it'd be too much of a tourist trap. And the cocktails were definitely weak. But the food was incredible. Overall, is definitely recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our portions were rather small compared ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our portions were rather small compared to other times we've ordered the same exact entree. The waiter wasn't willing to sub any sides. He continued to tell us that The meals were as is.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Very busy, sat for 10 minutes before fin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very busy, sat for 10 minutes before finding a MGR to ask for service. After that service was wonderful. They were very busy and food runners were beyond working their butts off!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I love the Cuba Libre franchise. I've be ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I love the Cuba Libre franchise. I've been to the one in A.C. many times, and this location three times.

Sorry to say this was not a good visit. Long wait to be recognized, a very long wait long to complete our drink order (30 minutes after ordering, maybe longer)! Bread was delivered with food, which there was a long delay also.

I'd like to be able to tell you that they were extrodinarily busy, but that wasn't the case. The food was very good, as usual.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Acogedor ambiente y buena comida cubana

vip
 (México)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Acogedor ambiente y buena comida cubana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Beautiful restaurant with fabulous food ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with fabulous food and service.

The only negative is that it was a bit in the loud side.

We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The drinks were amazing and has a nice a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The drinks were amazing and has a nice atmosphere. The food was good but it is not traditional cuban, more of the chain restaurant quality.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I had a large 100+ group event as well a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I had a large 100+ group event as well as another dinner here with a group of 4 friends. Would highly recommend for either. The service and food are great and the location near the convention center is great.

Tags: Family Style, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of the appetizers were delicious.. e ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

All of the appetizers were delicious.. empanadas, croquetas, warm Cuban bread. Yuca fries were fresh and crisp. The vaca frita was the best I've had and the arroz con pollo was also delicious. For dessert we had the rice pudding and key lime pie in a glass. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the ambiance. It had a very ret ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We loved the ambiance. It had a very retro Cuba vibe. I half expected Sean Connery to come in with a Bond girl. We shared a pitcher of Sangria and several appetizers. The empanadas were the best we ever had. Great dips , chips and fresh seafood. The service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My brother was in town and he wanted to ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 17, 2016

My brother was in town and he wanted to eat Cuban food. We decided to try a new restaurant and selected this place. The service and the food was great as well as the cocktails. The restaurant is a bit noisy and not a place for a romantic dinner for certain. I would say the only downside of the restaurant were the hostesses who were not so friendly. They definitely didn't provide that warm welcome

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful experience . We came here two ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Wonderful experience . We came here two years ago and were looking forward to returning. Did not disappoint

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to Cuba and certainly had no ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I have been to Cuba and certainly had no food there that was as good as this ! Loved the way the balconies etc. were so like Havana. Everything we ate was delicious , our waitress Stephanie very attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good experience, the food was go ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Overall good experience, the food was good but a bit pricey. The service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful meal. Our server

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. Our server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the nicest, most helpful waiter. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had the nicest, most helpful waiter. The food was awesome. The mojitos were exquisite. I love this place. Definitely going to be a regular haunt.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ambiance & awesome food! Huge ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent ambiance & awesome food! Huge environment. Employees worked very diligently to make this a great experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone needs to give this a try. It wa ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everyone needs to give this a try. It was a fun spot. Food was good..will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food, service and atmosphere were in ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food, service and atmosphere were incredible. I went for orlando's magical dining month and couldn't have been more pleased with the menu that was offered and everything I ordered was delicious. Would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Authentic Cuban Food. Reasonably go ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very Authentic Cuban Food. Reasonably good value. Service had one minor issue, but quickly corrected it. Very good Mojitos.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food and great service. I would de ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great food and great service. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Dancing, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was amazing! Had some great s ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Our server was amazing! Had some great suggestions as we wanted to try almost everything on the menu. Didnt stear us wrong at all.

Tags: Dancing, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit. We loved the food and t ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our first visit. We loved the food and the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the second time I have had Cuba ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 28, 2016

This was the second time I have had Cuba food, the first time it was a very bland experience! Cuba Libre was amazing, the flavours of the foods popped. Our server was very helpful and honest, which is great. The four courses were perfect, we'll be dining here again as soon as we head back to Florida!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We were seated quickly as we ad a reserv ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We were seated quickly as we ad a reservation. Out waitress, Kayla, was amazing. She was funny, efficient and helped us to choose incredible food! Highly recommend !

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding! It was as if ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Service was outstanding! It was as if our waiter was only for our table. Food was delicious - guacamole, skirt steak and flan for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outdoor table with a fan blowing in my c ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Outdoor table with a fan blowing in my clients face the entire meal. Food very good!! Recommend it for this reason alone. All excellent. Had a party of 8 and we were seated at a table for 6. Way too tight. Had to demand a larger table, but with some assertiveness, was accommodated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Very tasty, great ambiance authentic co ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very tasty, great ambiance authentic cocktails and food

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The decor is beautiful. The food was won ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The decor is beautiful. The food was wonderful , and our waitress was very attentive and gave us suggestions on what to order fro appetizers to desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return trip to Orlando and we wanted to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Return trip to Orlando and we wanted to go back. Food was spot on, service excellence, good value, valet parking. Highly recommended.

Tags: Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my Wife here for the magical dining ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Took my Wife here for the magical dining menu. 4 courses (Salad, appetizer, main dish, dessert.)

It's setup and decorated like a town square in 1950's Havana. Really well done, nice atmosphere. Waitress was super attentive, and always kept things moving. I've read other reviews on here that said the service was slow, but that was not the case with us. All the food was the right temperature as well.

Salad is made out of watercress, which makes it nice and light. Lots of choices to choose from for the other items as well.. (I think 8 appetizers, 5 or 6 different main courses, and 8 different 'mini' desserts.)

I got these potato balls stuffed with ground beef (yum) Wife got the crab balls (lots of crab, but not enough coconut.. a little fishy.) Main course was Braised beef for me (it was alright.. was expecting spices and heat.. and basically got 'beef stew meat shredded with a few bell peppers, in a beef stew broth base') Wife got the brick chicken.. that tasted amazing, wish I had gotten that instead.

Dessert was great and the PERFECT size.

My only complaint was that the food was not spicy at all.. super tasty, but I was expecting a little heat at least. Perhaps that is not common in cuban food - just my lens I guess.

Overall it was a great price for the $33 a person, but I probably wouldn't pay the extra on a normal night. It was good food, but too expensive outside of the special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was not good at ALL

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was not good at ALL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

I had read wonderful things about Cuba L ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I had read wonderful things about Cuba Libre on Open Table, Yelp, and Trip Advisor. My family and I enjoy ethnic food and found Cuba Libre to more than meet our expectations. We are usually in the Orlando area about every six weeks and we will be returning to Cuba Libre in the future.

Tags: Fun, Spicy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress was competent, friendly, apolog ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Waitress was competent, friendly, apologetic but overwhelmed. Probably busier than expected at the restaurant. No clean utensils, drinks took half an hour. Most of the problems likely beyond her control. Food was very good. Since large conferences are obviously the norm in this area, I am not sure why the restaurant seemed so understaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

If you want authentic Cuban food, you ar ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 22, 2016

If you want authentic Cuban food, you are not going to get it here. The traditional offerings have been modified too much to serve the tourists that frequent International Drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.