About Crush - Sandusky

145 Columbus Ave.
Sandusky, OH 44870
View Larger Map

CRUSH is a full service, dual-concept restaurant focused on providing high quality food in an inviting and comfortable setting, with friendly and attentive service.
THE WINEBAR: CRUSH allows for reservations only at the WINEBAR, which offers wines by the glass, wine flights, an extensive wine list, spirits & brews. An eclectic menu features small plates, fresh pastas, grilled super thin crust pizzas, entrees & daily features.
THE KITHENBAR: CRUSH has recently expanded and added the "kitchenbar" which features an Asian-fusion menu, complete with big noodle bowls, sushi rolls, & more small plates.
At this time, the "winebar" & the "kitchenbar" menus are NOT combined.
Reservations are accepted ONLY for the CRUSH winebar (not "kitchenbar") for parties of up to 10 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Summer Hours
Dinner: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday:4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00p - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Water Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 502-9463

Website:
http://www.sanduskywinebar.com/

Catering:
We are available to cater your next event, whether its located in your home, on the beach, at a museum or a park. Please contact us to discuss your upcoming catering event.

Parking Details:
Within one block of CRUSH winebar, you will find not only street parking, but also two municipal lots and a parking garage with no fee.

Executive Chef:
Cesare Avallone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We are availabe to host your special event, whether it be at our location or yours. Benefit, luncheon, barbeque, reception... we are able to provide a full service to you for your Special Event. Please contact us to discuss your special event.

Crush - Sandusky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Notable Wine List
Cleveland
1 More
American
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Sandusky ›

notable wine list (13)
fit for foodies (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
See All
special occasion (8)
romantic (8)
hot spot (4)
good for groups (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was excellent all the way around es ...

Dined 4 days ago

food was excellent all the way around especially pork chops and oysters were unbelievably large for this area...have eaten at zinc many times and did not know you had a full menu at crush. will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service!

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and service!

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Crush i has always been inconsistant wit ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Crush i has always been inconsistant with their foods, always perfect when dining with two, gets inconsistant when larger parties like eight dine.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fried Artichoke App was yummy, beet sala ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Fried Artichoke App was yummy, beet salad awesome & this is the 2nd I have had sushi there and it has been great both times!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

The food is good. It's not stellar, amazing, fantastic, but it's solid good. We dine here regularly when we're up in Sandusky boating.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Need new menu selections, same menu and ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Need new menu selections, same menu and dessert selections since they opened. Food has declined.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every time we're in Sandusky, Crush is a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Every time we're in Sandusky, Crush is a must visit. Terrific food, great wine selection, and a cool vibe. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience with a wide vari ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great dining experience with a wide variety of options. Outstanding service and attention.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Crush NEVER disappoints

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've been to Crush several times and have always had a good experience, this visit was as amazing as always. I took my mom for her first time so we could enjoy a nice "mother - daughter" dinner the evening before Mother's Day. We had made a reservation for 5pm and when we walked in our table was ready and waiting for us. The wine selection is impressive, even my mother who always has a difficult time finding a red wine that she likes was able to find one that she fell in love with! Our food (from the small plate appetizers to our meal) was beyond amazing!! Zack was our server and was extremely friendly, helpful and attentive the entire time we were there. I can not speak highly enough about Crush and will be back a hundred times!!! If you've never been then you are truly missing out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

New policies were a little unnerving. Ma ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

New policies were a little unnerving. May reconsider returning which would be a shame after spending several memorable dinners there over the years. We travel a distance to dine there as do our friends.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Special tradition

Dined on April 16, 2016

My music buddy and I love going to Crush before attending the Firelands Symphony. Our waiter, Zachary was so pleasant and the food excellent, especially my seafood dish. We did have to wait an extra long time for some reason, and a server assisting Zachary brought a wrong plate to my friend. It was remedied quickly and Zach handled it very pleasantly and professionally, though a young college student. We will keep our lovely tradition and enjoy being able to make my reservation with my iPhone. They even sent me a reminder and sent the menue the day before. Nice!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

An absolutely delicious find!

Dined on April 10, 2016

An absolutely delicious find!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sandusky's Finest

Dined on March 12, 2016

This is such a wonderful restaurant, the food is outstanding. Shared the greens-strawberry salad, pierogis, scallops. Butternut squash soup was incredible. Desserts are delicious, had mousse and brownie with chocolate ice cream. If that's not enough, the martinis are the best. Recommend the chocolate, as well as the French.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Love this place!

Dined on February 13, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants and a real gem. Food is always wonderful and high quality and the cocktails and wine list are excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Intimate New Years Eve Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

Love the coziness of this place. Have been here many times and still love the baby greens salad with strawberries and pecans....it is a must try if you have not. We skipped on the bread and oil this time so as not to fill up before our meal. The beef short ribs were amazingly tender and delicious. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CAPTAIN BOB

Dined on December 31, 2015

ALWAYS GOOD AND A GREAT SERVICE. The Bar Is Always Fun. The best Pasta dishes you will ever have.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3

Losing its luster

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

I am usually very happy with my meal but not this time. It was freezing in the dining area, couldn't wait to get outside where it warmer. Sad for December 12. The scallops and short ribs were an odd pairing. Short ribs were tough, marinated olives should be warm so as not to be ordinary. The pineapple upside down cake was gritty like it was made with course corn meal. The bread and dipping oil were delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always!! Stephanie is great!! W ...

vip
Dined on November 12, 2015

Great as always!! Stephanie is great!! We so enjoy Crush and frequently dine here!! Would like to see the menu updated with a chicken entree?

food5
ambience4
service1

The food will lure us back.

vip
Dined on October 12, 2015

Such a treat to discover another good restaurant in addition to Zinc in Sandusky. The meal was something to write home about. We were impressed by some of your staff as well!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

A gem in Sandusky

Dined on October 9, 2015

A wonderful find in downtown Sandusky. We took our teens (3 of them) as a kickoff to our Cedar Point weekend visit. What a great start it was! The food was well-prepared, the tenderloin steak, salmon and mac and cheese were devoured. Service was terrific, prompt and delightful. The table in the back was nestled in a lovely nook and allowed us a comfortable dining spot. Not a complaint in the group; highly recommend this restaurant. My husband and I wish we lived closer - as it most certainly would become a favorite place to sneak off to without the kids, even if just for a glass of wine and a crabcake.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite place to go in Sandusky.

Dined on October 4, 2015

Love the wine, the food and the ambiance, The Mac N Cheese is to die for and the espresso martini is a delicious end to the night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Crushing it!

Dined on October 3, 2015

Crush never disappoints! The food is exquisite and the service is always the finest.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

FAB

Dined on September 19, 2015

The food is so tasteful. Great variety. Baby greens salad with strawberries was very fresh. Loved the pierogies. Scallops are unique. Roots veges were cooked to perfection. Desserts were to die for, brownie with chocolate ice cream and chocolate mousse. Very extensive wine list, and super martinis. Wait staff very attentive and pleasant. Good atmosphere. Go, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wowed out of town guests!

Dined on August 8, 2015

We had visitors from out of town and took them to Crush for dinner. Our friends are foodies and are always looking for great places to dine. Our friends loved Crush -everything about it! They raved about the food! Not once but throughout dinner. Our friends told us they shared their experience at Crush with neighbors and friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great find!

Dined on August 4, 2015

Eclectic menu, delicious food, beautifully presented. Will go back often and bring friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

A great time by all.

Dined on July 30, 2015

We had a table of 8 and met in the rear of the restaurant to discuss Celebrate America with 10 Miss America 1948-2013 on October 3, 2015 at The Sandusky State Theater. A wonderful selection of appetizer, the watermelon salad was delicious and the main course was jut enough so that you weren't stuffed. Jessica, our server, was very attentive. We so enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was perfect! Service was outstanding!!

Dined on July 24, 2015

A gem, this place was very nice the bar area is very big! The entire place is very clean, the staff is very friendly and our service was excellent. The bar staff was also great! Our cocktails were made perfectly and the food was 5 Star! For people who track this stuff, we arrived on a busy Friday night. Not packed but a good amount of customers.. We were seated right away. Our server came within a minute with water which was very impressive (no asking). Shows good service. We placed a drink order and the drinks came back within 3-5 minutes, and again it was busy, not packed but active. (Another plus!) From the time we placed our order for our food to delivery was about 15 minutes and the food was plated perfectly and hot! We had a salad and that came out within 5 minutes of the drinks arriving at the table. We have dined all over the world, and this spot is worth the time, and effort to visit! We will be back...Sushi is very pleasing and FRESH! My only (and this is minor) issues were the bench seating in the bar area. I suggest a cushion for comfort, rather than sitting on a hard surface. People would stay longer and spend more money! Overall...5 STARS!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Small plates offer something for everybody

Dined on July 11, 2015

Table of eight had an excellent dining experience. Small plates, wine by the glass and flights, entrees, desserts and cocktails - we had it all. There was not a single aspect of this dining experience that was even remotely disappointing. Everything was a high-point of the evening. Three kids had steak, burger and pasta and they loved it all (with the exception of bleu cheese on the burger). Bacon wrapped dates with fontinella were heavenly indulgent. Fettuccine with creamy pesto and sundried tomatoes satisfied the pickiest of eaters. Mushroom pappardelle with mushrooms was just perfect. The scallops with just a hint of Sambuca in the sauce had us asking for bread to clean the plate. The desserts (chocoholic brownie and pineapple upside down cake) were a perfect finish with a little Port. There is a reason that we will definitely be coming back for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Cool location. People are really nice. ...

vip
Dined on July 1, 2015

Cool location. People are really nice. Food is unique and quite good. Nice wine selection.

food5
ambience5
service5

Cathing up with old friends

Dined on June 26, 2015

Made a reservation on line ahead of the date. When we arrived our table was ready. We were kind of tucked away in the corner so we did not enjoy all of the scenery but it was a very nice area to catch up with old friends. We could hear each other without any problems. Wine and food were both great. Nice selection. Would come back

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Phenomenal food and service

Dined on June 19, 2015

We arrived early they seated us right away, the menus are very simplistic and not overwhelming the wait staff was amazing! The food was great. It's a good place to grab food then walk the pier for a great date night

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Have enjoyed the restaurant for years. ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2015

Have enjoyed the restaurant for years. They started out with some service issues but have redeemed themselves in recent times. Food and service has been very good and dependable. Very nice menu items but time for an update.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

AweSome food. Large choice of wines. Ser ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2015

AweSome food. Large choice of wines. Service very great. No kid menu but we were proposed pizza or pasta. Very convenient. Don't miss it when you come in Sandusky!

food5
ambience5
service5

My wife's favorite place to relax and h ...

Dined on May 9, 2015

My wife's favorite place to relax and have your choice of small plates or larger portions.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service and Food

Dined on May 7, 2015

The service and the food we had at the Crush were exceptional! It was a perfect place for our birthday celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

LOVE THE CRUSH!

Dined on May 1, 2015

WE LIVE IN SANDUSKY AND LOVE THE CRUSH, ALWAYS GO THERE AND HAVE A GREAT TIME!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Crush never disappoints

Dined on March 14, 2015

Using fresh ingredients and a reliable standard menu with small and large plates there is something for everyone at Crush. We had the Smoked Trour Pate for a starter which comes with fresh grilled crostini. Noticing we ran out of "bread" before pate staff was quick to provide more. Portions are always appropriate and seasonal ingredients used on the alternative menu are a good option.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Need to. Work on temp, when doors open w ...

Dined on February 28, 2015

Need to. Work on temp, when doors open when temp is as cold as it has been

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful!

Dined on February 16, 2015

We were staying at Kalahari, and found this place in downtown Sandusky. The food was absolutely phenomenal, and our waitress was fantastic :)

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Facilties and concern for customers

Dined on February 14, 2015

Table we were seated at was in bad shape, moved all around. Waiter was too busy to resolve the problem so I ask the hostess for help and she did a great job, moved us to another table. What would have been nice if the manager would of acted as if cared about us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.