About Crush - Sandusky

145 Columbus Ave.
Sandusky, OH 44870
View Larger Map

CRUSH is a full service, dual-concept restaurant focused on providing high quality food in an inviting and comfortable setting, with friendly and attentive service.
THE WINEBAR: CRUSH allows for reservations only at the WINEBAR, which offers wines by the glass, wine flights, an extensive wine list, spirits & brews. An eclectic menu features small plates, fresh pastas, grilled super thin crust pizzas, entrees & daily features.
THE KITHENBAR: CRUSH has recently expanded and added the "kitchenbar" which features an Asian-fusion menu, complete with big noodle bowls, sushi rolls, & more small plates.
At this time, the "winebar" & the "kitchenbar" menus are NOT combined.
Reservations are accepted ONLY for the CRUSH winebar (not "kitchenbar") for parties of up to 10 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Summer Hours
Dinner: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday:4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00p - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Water Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 502-9463

Website:
http://www.sanduskywinebar.com/

Catering:
We are available to cater your next event, whether its located in your home, on the beach, at a museum or a park. Please contact us to discuss your upcoming catering event.

Parking Details:
Within one block of CRUSH winebar, you will find not only street parking, but also two municipal lots and a parking garage with no fee.

Executive Chef:
Cesare Avallone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are availabe to host your special event, whether it be at our location or yours. Benefit, luncheon, barbeque, reception... we are able to provide a full service to you for your Special Event. Please contact us to discuss your special event.

Crush - Sandusky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Notable Wine List
Cleveland
1 More
American
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Sandusky ›

Notable Wine List (17)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (11)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Tapas (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second time at Crush, again ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our second time at Crush, again the food was excellent, menu is varied and unique. We always split many very flavorful dishes. Great service as well

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was satisfied for the most part. However ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was satisfied for the most part. However, we ordered a cheese plate and literally was brought a cheese plate with no bread or crackers. When we asked for crackers was brought a few crackers and told that they ran out of bread and crackers. Should have been given the option to cancel the cheese plate or at least comp for the cheese plate. Wine selection was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

What a pleasant surprise to find in Sand ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

What a pleasant surprise to find in Sandusky! In an area that is full of chain restaurants, this is a gem. The food was outstanding - we shared several of the "small plates" and all were very good. Everything was very fresh and created to order (including modifications for food allergies - which were all done correctly). Absolutely loved the duck wings - they are addictive! For the first time ever, I think, I loved all the wines in the flight that I ordered! It is a little pricey, but I think it is definitely worth it for the quality. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The server we had was very good. We wil ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The server we had was very good. We will ask for her the next time we go.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten at CRUSH in the past .... a l ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Have eaten at CRUSH in the past .... a little pricey but the food is good. However when we arrived for our "anniversary" dinner the place was CLOSED ------ either this booking service or CRUSH screwed up my anniversary royally! We drove a good way to eat there and nothing ... ended up walking around the corner to another place to get a burger :( NOT HAPPY

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Yummy. We were surprised how good the fo ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Yummy. We were surprised how good the food was!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service and very nice food - freshl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Good service and very nice food - freshly and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We went to Crush Wine for our anniversar ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We went to Crush Wine for our anniversary. It was very quiet and unique, with wine bottles stacked to the ceiling and a immense wine list. We ordered the duck wings, pork chops and salmon pasta. Sadly the duck wings and pork chops were hard to eat due to the rock hard breading. The breading also made the food tasteless and completely dried out the meat inside. However the salmon pasta was amazing and cooked perfectly. My advice is to stay away from the fried food and it should be good. The price is high for the quality of the food however.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Always a favorite!! Great food, great s ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a favorite!! Great food, great service!! We frequent Crush and highly recommend! If you are in the Sandusky area....Go, you will be glad you did!!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. We were seated in the wi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food. We were seated in the wine bar which was occupied by very noisy bar patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Awesome place! Love the atmosphere. Se ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Awesome place! Love the atmosphere. Service always good

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ALWAYS LOVE GOING TO CRUSH WHEN I AM IN ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

ALWAYS LOVE GOING TO CRUSH WHEN I AM IN SANDUSKY! BEST COSMOS ON THE PLANET! GREAT FOOD AND ATMOSPHERE! PERFECT GET TOGETHER WITH FRIENDS!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love the Mushroom Papardelle, fabulous ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love the Mushroom Papardelle, fabulous dish. However the portion is decreasing and the price is increasing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Heard good things about Crush and though ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Heard good things about Crush and thought we would give it a try. The people were kind and helpful. The food was absolutely great which made the dinner wonderful. We'll be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ordered appetizers, main dish, and de ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We ordered appetizers, main dish, and dessert. Everything we had was delicious!! Not knowing much about wine, we ordered "something sweet and white". Our waitress quickly told us say no more and brought back an amazing bottle for us. Absolutely will go back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Adam was great. Everyone was very happy ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Adam was great. Everyone was very happy with our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

food was excellent all the way around es ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

food was excellent all the way around especially pork chops and oysters were unbelievably large for this area...have eaten at zinc many times and did not know you had a full menu at crush. will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Crush i has always been inconsistant wit ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Crush i

has always been inconsistant with their foods, always perfect when dining with two, gets inconsistant when larger parties like eight dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Fried Artichoke App was yummy, beet sala ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Fried Artichoke App was yummy, beet salad awesome & this is the 2nd I have had sushi there and it has been great both times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food is good. It's not stellar, amazing, fantastic, but it's solid good. We dine here regularly when we're up in Sandusky boating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Crush never lets you down, my fav in ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The Crush never lets you down, my fav in my hometown of Sandusky Ohio!!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Need new menu selections, same menu and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Need new menu selections, same menu and dessert selections since they opened. Food has declined.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Every time we're in Sandusky, Crush is a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Every time we're in Sandusky, Crush is a must visit. Terrific food, great wine selection, and a cool vibe. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience with a wide vari ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great dining experience with a wide variety of options. Outstanding service and attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crush NEVER disappoints

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I've been to Crush several times and have always had a good experience, this visit was as amazing as always. I took my mom for her first time so we could enjoy a nice "mother - daughter" dinner the evening before Mother's Day. We had made a reservation for 5pm and when we walked in our table was ready and waiting for us. The wine selection is impressive, even my mother who always has a difficult time finding a red wine that she likes was able to find one that she fell in love with! Our food (from the small plate appetizers to our meal) was beyond amazing!! Zack was our server and was extremely friendly, helpful and attentive the entire time we were there. I can not speak highly enough about Crush and will be back a hundred times!!! If you've never been then you are truly missing out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New policies were a little unnerving. Ma ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

New policies were a little unnerving. May reconsider returning which would be a shame after spending several memorable dinners there over the years. We travel a distance to dine there as do our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Special tradition

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My music buddy and I love going to Crush before attending the Firelands Symphony. Our waiter, Zachary was so pleasant and the food excellent, especially my seafood dish. We did have to wait an extra long time for some reason, and a server assisting Zachary brought a wrong plate to my friend. It was remedied quickly and Zach handled it very pleasantly and professionally, though a young college student. We will keep our lovely tradition and enjoy being able to make my reservation with my iPhone. They even sent me a reminder and sent the menue the day before. Nice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

An absolutely delicious find!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

An absolutely delicious find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sandusky's Finest

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

This is such a wonderful restaurant, the food is outstanding. Shared the greens-strawberry salad, pierogis, scallops. Butternut squash soup was incredible. Desserts are delicious, had mousse and brownie with chocolate ice cream. If that's not enough, the martinis are the best. Recommend the chocolate, as well as the French.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants and a real gem. Food is always wonderful and high quality and the cocktails and wine list are excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Intimate New Years Eve Dinner

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Love the coziness of this place. Have been here many times and still love the baby greens salad with strawberries and pecans....it is a must try if you have not. We skipped on the bread and oil this time so as not to fill up before our meal. The beef short ribs were amazingly tender and delicious. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for the area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

CAPTAIN BOB

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

ALWAYS GOOD AND A GREAT SERVICE. The Bar Is Always Fun. The best Pasta dishes you will ever have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Losing its luster

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

I am usually very happy with my meal but not this time. It was freezing in the dining area, couldn't wait to get outside where it warmer. Sad for December 12. The scallops and short ribs were an odd pairing. Short ribs were tough, marinated olives should be warm so as not to be ordinary. The pineapple upside down cake was gritty like it was made with course corn meal. The bread and dipping oil were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great as always!! Stephanie is great!! W ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Great as always!! Stephanie is great!! We so enjoy Crush and frequently dine here!! Would like to see the menu updated with a chicken entree?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food will lure us back.

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

Such a treat to discover another good restaurant in addition to Zinc in Sandusky. The meal was something to write home about. We were impressed by some of your staff as well!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

A gem in Sandusky

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

A wonderful find in downtown Sandusky. We took our teens (3 of them) as a kickoff to our Cedar Point weekend visit. What a great start it was! The food was well-prepared, the tenderloin steak, salmon and mac and cheese were devoured. Service was terrific, prompt and delightful. The table in the back was nestled in a lovely nook and allowed us a comfortable dining spot. Not a complaint in the group; highly recommend this restaurant. My husband and I wish we lived closer - as it most certainly would become a favorite place to sneak off to without the kids, even if just for a glass of wine and a crabcake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My favorite place to go in Sandusky.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

Love the wine, the food and the ambiance, The Mac N Cheese is to die for and the espresso martini is a delicious end to the night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crushing it!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Crush never disappoints! The food is exquisite and the service is always the finest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FAB

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

The food is so tasteful. Great variety. Baby greens salad with strawberries was very fresh. Loved the pierogies. Scallops are unique. Roots veges were cooked to perfection. Desserts were to die for, brownie with chocolate ice cream and chocolate mousse. Very extensive wine list, and super martinis. Wait staff very attentive and pleasant. Good atmosphere. Go, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.