Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Crush - Sandusky

CRUSH is a full service, dual-concept restaurant focused on providing high quality food in an inviting and comfortable setting, with friendly and attentive service.
THE WINEBAR: CRUSH allows for reservations only at the WINEBAR, which offers wines by the glass, wine flights, an extensive wine list, spirits & brews. An eclectic menu features small plates, fresh pastas, grilled super thin crust pizzas, entrees & daily features.
THE KITHENBAR: CRUSH has recently expanded and added the "kitchenbar" which features an Asian-fusion menu, complete with big noodle bowls, sushi rolls, & more small plates.
At this time, the "winebar" & the "kitchenbar" menus are NOT combined.
Reservations are accepted ONLY for the CRUSH winebar (not "kitchenbar") for parties of up to 10 guests.

145 Columbus Ave.
Sandusky, OH 44870
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Summer Hours
Dinner: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday:4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00p - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Water Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 502-9463

Website:
http://www.sanduskywinebar.com/

Catering:
We are available to cater your next event, whether its located in your home, on the beach, at a museum or a park. Please contact us to discuss your upcoming catering event.

Parking Details:
Within one block of CRUSH winebar, you will find not only street parking, but also two municipal lots and a parking garage with no fee.

Executive Chef:
Cesare Avallone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are availabe to host your special event, whether it be at our location or yours. Benefit, luncheon, barbeque, reception... we are able to provide a full service to you for your Special Event. Please contact us to discuss your special event.

Crush - Sandusky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Romantic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Absolutely fantastic!! Hannah was such a great server! Knowledgeable, personable, funny, professional! Drinks were perfectly prepared. Food was delicious! Sushi stole the night....wow!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Live Music, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Family Style, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Nice relaxing place to dine

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and service. Would definitely recommend and will definitely go again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Crush offers a casual elegance, professional & friendly staff. Moderate to pricey, but items for every budget. First Class

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Attention to detail, chefs special, patrons should be willing (once in a great while)to trust a chef with great local ingredients and talent isn't that why we choose to dine out rather than cook our dinner at home(?)

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Loved the 3 Meat Meatballs and Winter Salad. Friends loved their Beet salad. Our waitress Sherry was very nice and knowledgeable about the wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Birthday dinner for our son.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had an excellent dining experience. We were a little late for our reservation, but they held it for us. The restaurant filled up quickly when the show at the State Theater next door let out. We had capable, attentive service, a really good bottle of wine, and food that was well prepared and presented. We were really pleased with our dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great for small parties. The food was good but took way to long to get served. We had reservations at 7:00 and didn't leave until after 10:00. The wine selection is excellent..so we kept drink wine waiting for our meals....maybe that was their plan...LOL! Cozy atmosphere...you feel like you are in New York . We will be going back!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waitress forgot our appetizer (which she ended up giving to us free of charge), and our table was near the door and there was a draft. I had pizza and it was delicious! Many options for vegetarians.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fresh chefs choice specials as well as a variety of small plates and regular entrees there is something for everyone on the Crush menu. We started with a smoked fish pate (perfect for those that don't like "fishy" foods) this is served with a toasted garlic rubbed baguette, I had mahi (dolphin) tacos (small plate) and truffle fries (to die for yum!) my date had a fresh chicken pesto pizza. (I'm hungry again writing this!! Absolutely delicious we did take home leftovers) shared a lovely Creme Brûlée for dessert. Never disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Been here a year ago and it was much better then. Perhaps it was due to the "slow season". Food was only okay. The price was high for the lack of quality. Maybe it was a fluke because in past visits I've had much better food there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We love dining at Crush Wine Bar. This particular night they were out of rice so they couldn't serve sushi, and they were out of grapes for the ice wine martinis, but we still enjoyed our visit as always. The pineapple upside down cake is delicious. This will always be a special place for us to visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My family frequently comes to Crush in Sandusky whenever we are home visiting my parents. Crush is always impressive, especially the "crispy duck wings" and the "fruitti de mare." They have a large wine list and you can always find the perfect cocktail -- try the "espresso martini" after dinner!!! The "butternut squash soup" was the only thing that came to the table that my family wasn't totally impressed with, but seeing as we come to Crush every time we are home speaks to the fact that Crush is always sure to satisfy the craving for the foodie or the romantic.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Cozy, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Crush has outstanding food and service! Loved that it is in the historical downtown area on the water! Will go back to this gem for sure!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We brought 2 couples with us and looked forward to an enjoyable evening , but we came away quite disappointed in our experience.

One guest selected pork chops and another ordered a hamburger. The server took the orders but came back to report that the kitchen was out of both items! Out of hamburgers on a prime dining nite (Sat)?? How can that be?? Needless to say, it was very embarrassing & disappointing for us since we suggested the venue...

Although we live in a suburb of Cleve...we own a condo in Sandusky & have had other positive dining experiences at Crush. I'm bringing our recent situation to your attention in hopes that it will be rectified for continued good dining experiences in the future!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very disappointed, started with the server. She didn't acknowledge the females in the party. They had to tell her that they wanted a beverage. Then she didn't know the menu. The food was cold. When asked the server for a specific bottle of wine, she said, "wow, no one ever orders that one". Really, It was a Montifalco~ This was the first time for our guests, who we were entertaining for New Years Eve. Things have certainly changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food and service was excellent. We celebrated our 39th anniversary. I very nice evening. Definitely will return again.
Howard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were attending a concert at a nearby theater and made reservations early enough to have a leisurely meal. The restaurant was busy, but not packed. We were seated at a table near the front that, unfortunately received a blast of cold air every time e the door opened. Our request to be moved was not accepted. In addition we waited more than half an hour for our salads, and our entrees were delivered ten minutes later. The food was good, but it was difficult to enjoy in those circumstances. Our server was attentive and apologetic, but the problems were outside her control. This was our third visit and first negative experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

One of my favorite hometown spots. Everything I've had here is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 12, 2016

It is a cozy place, with great small plate choices that appealed to everyone in our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went here for the live music with a date. Fantastic music, great selection of wine, and delicious food. Definitely great for a date, special occasion, or just a fun night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Waterfront, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This place is such a cozy little nook. The Ambiance is amazing, the wine is even better! The food is good as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Full bodied white wine flight was a great, diverse selection of French, Spanish and Italian whites. Each of three pours was nearly a full glass, what a bargain.

Butternut squash bisque with Applewood smoked bacon was subtly spiced and very satisfying. The salad special with beets was large enough for four to split.

Always enjoy and feel special here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Overall excellent -great waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always a favorite!! Best cocktails! (Sam) Food presentation and quality-fabulous!!! Highly recommend!! Service is excellent! Once you try Crush, you will be hooked!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food-best Martinis!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always fresh and presentation is excellent. All staff is polite and and prompt wether it's to be seated or getting you a glass of water. An experience worth the drive, not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I wanted reservations for 5:30. said I could only get 4:45. The place was empty. I don't understand why I had to go early.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I made a 7:00 PM reservation on a Sunday evening to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The kid at the door asked if we had reservations, and we said YES. He took us into the bar anyway, and put us at a table for 2. The bar counter was full of loud drinking patrons, the flatscreen TV was on to Sunday night football, and the restaurant area was empty except for our friends, John and Lisa B. and their family. The barmaid came out to serve us at our table, and told us that she was not supposed to have a table that evening. Her service and the food were as expected, but the location was terrible. We complained to the kid at the door on the way out, and he said without apology that he was following a "seating rotation". This is at least a training opportunity, if not a need for a change in seating policy. On Open Table, it specified that you must REQUEST to sit in the kitchen bar. We certainly did not.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Excellent wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was our second time at Crush, again the food was excellent, menu is varied and unique. We always split many very flavorful dishes. Great service as well

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Was satisfied for the most part. However, we ordered a cheese plate and literally was brought a cheese plate with no bread or crackers. When we asked for crackers was brought a few crackers and told that they ran out of bread and crackers. Should have been given the option to cancel the cheese plate or at least comp for the cheese plate. Wine selection was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 23, 2016

What a pleasant surprise to find in Sandusky! In an area that is full of chain restaurants, this is a gem. The food was outstanding - we shared several of the "small plates" and all were very good. Everything was very fresh and created to order (including modifications for food allergies - which were all done correctly). Absolutely loved the duck wings - they are addictive! For the first time ever, I think, I loved all the wines in the flight that I ordered! It is a little pricey, but I think it is definitely worth it for the quality. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The server we had was very good. We will ask for her the next time we go.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Have eaten at CRUSH in the past .... a little pricey but the food is good. However when we arrived for our "anniversary" dinner the place was CLOSED ------ either this booking service or CRUSH screwed up my anniversary royally! We drove a good way to eat there and nothing ... ended up walking around the corner to another place to get a burger :( NOT HAPPY

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Yummy. We were surprised how good the food was!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Good service and very nice food - freshly and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.