Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
11:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 37 times today

Cru Cafe

4.8
3670 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Casual
  • Fit for Foodies
It's the Holy City's Hidden Gem! Cru Café is Charleston's home to some of the best gourmet comfort food in the Lowcountry. Cru Café is the culinary creation of renowned Le Cordon Bleu graduate, Chef John Zucker. Opened in 2002 in response to overwhelming demand, Cru Café is a culinary destination off the beaten path in in a classic 18th century Charleston single-style home. Cru Café and its award-winning Cru Catering division are consistently ranked as top eateries by locals and tourists alike. From our famous Four Cheese Macaroni to our tasty Thai Seafood Risotto, we feature something for everyone. And if you're in the mood for lighter fare, try our Chinese Chicken Salad or Duck Confit Salad. Guests of the restaurant can enjoy daily specials, indoor and outdoor porch seating, a wine list tailored to the varied menu and rich, mouthwatering desserts. We invite to stop in and enjoy a delicious meal with us today.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, Fusion / Eclectic, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 534-2434
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Zucker
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Voted Charleston's best caterer consecutively since 2001 by the Charleston City Paper, our Cru Catering branch offers full service customized catering, in-house personal chefs, corporate catering, receptions, weddings and private parties. Please contact us at 843-534-2433.
www.crucatering.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
East Bay St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Cru Cafe does NOT offer parking. The gravel lot across the street is owned and operated by Palmetto Carriage Company. There is a public parking deck located off Pinckney Street behind the Bank of America building. The address is 200 Meeting Street.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Private Upstairs Dinning Room available for up to 18 people.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 3670 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Always a great meal to be had at Cru. We go every time we are in Charleston. Food took a little longer than usual but service is always great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Cru has been my favorite restaurant since moving to Charleston 9 years ago. It never disappoints!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

In general, the food was creative, very tasty and well prepared. Unfortunately, the kitchen does not heat their plates and the food arrived on the cool side. One of my friends had to return his meal as it was cold. Also, several of the wines by the glass were very average...not a strong selection. Despite every table full, the servers did their best to be attentive.

Bottom line, in such a competitive market as Charleston, I've been to several restaurants and had a better experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

I never miss the chance when friends are in town to take them to Cru Cafe. I have been doing this for over 6 years and the food, service etc., have NEVER disappointed!! A don't miss on any visit to Charleston!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Innovative menu, and all dishes were very fresh and flavorful. Restaurant was packed, so recommend making reservation. Some dishes (like General Tso's salad and wrap) certainly not representative of the low country, but were excellent nevertheless.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great time there ! Had to wait a while even with a Rez but prob due to rain and people not leaving. Fried green tomatoes were amazing!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Definitely didn’t live up to all of the wonderful reviews!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great food and ambiance. We sat on the porch, as requested in our reservation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Delicious dinner. Interesting options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Awesome experience. We sat on the porch. Fawn was an excellent server. Our first time but we will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Excellent service, fun environment, amazing food! (The pic is a half portion of our main entree’.)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We ordered the fried green tomatoes and the shrimp pasta - both were delicious but it took the kitchen 45 minutes to put the food out (we had a 1pm reservation). So don't be in a hurry and you'll have an enjoyable lunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Every one at my table said that his/her meal at Cru Cafe was the best meal they had had during our week in Charleston.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Our late lunch was delicious! Small room, limited seating, but a fun neighborly vibe. We were seated at the bar overlooking the busy kitchen - staff was working hard & still managed to be attentive. We want to go back for dinner!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

This small house is big on atmosphere and flavorful food. Everything was freshly prepared and beautifully presented. The relaxed casual setting is great for a quick lunch. Won't disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Our "go to" place for lunch when we arrive in Charleston. Great food in a neat atmosphere within walking distance to hotels in the heart of the city. They have a nice selection of wine and beer. The staff is always knowledgeable and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

As always Cru did not disappoint. Our meal and dessert was fabulous. Our server was super nice and took care of all our needs. Looking forward to going back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Best mac and cheese in Charleston. Everything I've ever had at Cru has been out of this world amazing. Definitely need to make a reservation, don't sleep on it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We make it to Charleston about twice a year. Each trip must include a meal at Cru Cafe. Always outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Delicious!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Great place to meet my wife while working downtown, food was great as always! Make reservations, it fills up fast!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Excellent meal, top notch service. Very small restaurant, well worth checking out. To date, our best meal in Charleston. Decent wine list, but no cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The fried chicken stuffed with mozzarella and poblano peppers is one of the best things we’ve eaten during our time in Charleston. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Great food - great service great time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We made a reservation for lunch at the last minute and despite the fact that they were very busy with a long wait and didn't understand how we were able to make a last minute on-line reservation they honored it and seated us in a few minutes!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This is the best place weve ever eaten. Amazing wine list. Food was incredible. Very friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

A very fun evening. Our server was excellent Talia?? We ate at 5 of the top dining places in Charleston. Cru was my favorite The food is divine

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We ordered the watermelon gazpacho (excellent), fried green tomatoes (AMAZING), truffle fries with a fantastic aioli (delicious), shrimp sandwich (good), portobello mushroom wrap (good), and bread pudding (EXCELLENT). It came out to about $80 including 20% tip in the end. Definitely make reservations as the restaurant is very small and it's very popular. I definitely recommend swinging by!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Went with my sisters and mother for mom's 80th bday. It was casual and we ate outside on the porch. All of our salads were excellent and creative. There was initial confusion with our reservations, but in the end they accommodated us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Had lunch. Great food great Resturant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Truffle fries are amazing at Cru! A must! The Chinese chicken salad was delicious although there wasn’t much chicken. Also, the lunch garlic chicken club is great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Our favorite meal in all of Charleston, we could not stop talking about all of the amazing appetizers and main meal we had here, simply outstanding!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Always a have a tasty lunch but today it was a little noisy in the dining room for casual conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Graduation celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Excellent food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

My husband and I went for lunch...we both had a fantastic meal! I had the green fried tomatoes and he had the salmon. For dessert we had orange sherbet cake with coconut icing..it was wonderful! I would highly recommend this restaurant. ..reservations are a must.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Absolutely delicious. Smoked salmon on sourdough toasts with arugula, cream cheese and tomato. Sort of like lox and bagels. Hubby had pasta with shrimp and the creamiest sauce. Very busy, make a reservation, even for lunch. Worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

CRU is my very favorite place in town. Wonderful food! Wonderful people! Love it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our lunch including watermelon gazpacho, shrimp blt, fried green tomatoes. Very attentive waitstaff.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
92

Tweets by Cru Cafe