About Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook

939 West 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Innovative French and New American cuisine, paired with an outstanding selection of over 10,000 bottles of wine. 360 degree views of downtown Anchorage, Chugach Mountain Range and Cook Inlet. Experience Alaska’s finest, at the Hotel Captain Cook.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
I Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 343-2217

Website:
http://www.captaincook.com/dining/crows-nest

Parking Details:
The Crow’s Nest offers two types of parking. Valet for up to five hours is $18 per vehicle. Or you may self-park in the Captain Cook parking garage and we validate for up to two hours.

Executive Chef:
Chef De' Cuisine Reuben Gerber

Private Party Facilities:
The Crow's Nest offers two semi-private rooms that can hold up to 14 and 18. One completely private room that can hold up to 10.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Permafrost vodka Martini
Soft Seared Halibut
Manhattan
Seared Diver Sea Scallops
Ahi tuna
Seafood Bouillabaisse
Sweet and Spicy Sausage Stuffed Quail
Filet Mignon
King Crab Curry Soup
Amuse-bouche
Alaskan King Crab
Resurrection Bay Cod
Salmon
Caesar Salad
Fruitti Di Mari
Butternut Soup
Osso Bucco
Crabby Patty
Pear And Feta Salad

Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
12 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Scenic View (60)
Special Occasion (58)
Notable Wine List (49)
See All
Romantic (46)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice restaurant with a beautiful am ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice restaurant with a beautiful ambiance. Great food, service. Will come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although we have had excellent meals at ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Although we have had excellent meals at the Crow's Nest in the past, the meals we ordered this time were very disappointing. We had the seafood bouillabaisse and the wild boar. The seafood was over cooked and lacked any taste. The boar was also over cooked and too salty. The potato-leek soup was amazing. For those who have never been, the view is reason enough to check this place out. Also, we could not have asked for better service. We will come back again as we know that every good restaurant can have a bad day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

This is a very nice restaurant in Anchor ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant in Anchorage. It is expensive but the food and service are excellent. We were there on vacation and chose that restaurant on the recommendation of a friend. We were not staying in the hotel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Hotel Captain Cook was my home away ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Hotel Captain Cook was my home away from home for forty years, and I've eaten at the Crow's Nest many, many times. It simply isn't what it used to be. It was once a top of the line restaurant with long-term staff who knew regular customers. If it wasn't on the menu, they were likely to be able to serve it anyway. Now it is a tourist trap. You can run a restaurant like this when your customers come off a cruise ship and you won't see them again. We'll see how the Cook is doing in the winter when the locals abandon it. Maybe it will just go the way of the other cruise line properties and simply close in mid-September and re-open in May. Sad fate for a once great place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Service totally stands out at the crows ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service totally stands out at the crows nest. Friendly, super knowledgeable and helpful, just the right balance. Add to that perfectly conceived and delivered food that tastes really great, along with a spectacular view (also an incredible wine list) and this is a restaurant I couldn't recommend more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great views

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tasha took very good care of us - never ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Tasha took very good care of us - never overly present but always there when we needed her. All the food was wonderful. The best two surprises of the evening were 1) the wild boar - which was prepared perfectly and there was no hint of gaminess to the meat. It paired wonderfully with the polenta, brussel sprout leaves, and pomegranate seeds. 2) The second surprise of the evening was the Butternut Cheesecake which featured a crust of crushed cracker jacks, a wonderful cheesecake custard and dulce de leche on the side. Topping off the evening was the ruby port, a Smithwood LBV - absolutely smooth and an excellent dessert wine to go with the cheesecake. Our birthday celebration was perfect thanks to the Crow's Nest staff and the food and drink offerings.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There was a beautiful sunset on Friday n ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

There was a beautiful sunset on Friday night - even the staff were taking pictures 😄 It was a great experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My meal with out of town guests who are ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My meal with out of town guests who are "foodies" was a big disappointment. I dine occasionally at the Crow's Nest (2-3 times per year), and it is often inconsistent in every way (food, service), and this meal was typical of that tendency. The service was outstanding and our waitperson was understanding and not at all intrusive to push us to order while we were deep in conversation. One of the diner's (his first visit to Alaska) ordered fresh oysters as an appetizer, encouraged by both me and the waitperson who had raved about the size, quality and taste of Alaska-grown oysters. They were each served with a small ball of herbed sherbet. My friend commented that they were very strong and suggested I try one. I did and agreed the taste was quite unpleasant. He requested, and received, lemon, catsup and horseradish to make the oyster more palatable. I could not eat another one. The salads and bread were fine. My main course was halibut, and for $42, I expected more than a piece the size of a Hostess Twinkie. And, it was greatly overcooked and dry. It was surrounded by quinoa. The combination of the two items was overall tasteless. In sum, it was culinary-wise a very disappointing meal. We were thus in no mood for desert. The sunset was breathtaking however and we took it in along with dozens of others who paraded in front of our table to take photos. It was also disappointing that the Cook does not seem to enforce any sort of dress code. I know it is Alaska, but for such a classy, and expensive, restaurant it is distressing to see people in ball caps, track suits, tennis shoes, and the like. I have lived in Alaska for over 40 years and this was the most casually dressed I have ever seen anyone at the Crow's Nest.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The halibut was much drier and least tas ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The halibut was much drier and least tasty than than any we tasted in 4 other restaurants in Alaska.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was disappointing Wife had overcook ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was disappointing

Wife had overcooked crab legs, and I had the alaska boulliabas, which was ok, but certainly not meeting my expectations.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The best restaurant in Anchorage with th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The best restaurant in Anchorage with the best view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Crows best is usually on point, somethin ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Crows best is usually on point, something was off tonight. The steak was tough and the venison filet was served whole, overcooked and difficult to cut with the serrated butter knife (not sure if they have real steak knives). We were dissappionted in our meals and the fact that each entree was $44. For that price, each meal has to be special.

The Caesar salad needs more garlic and less anchovy. Crab cakes were awesome, so was the ambiance and the view.

We are locals so they will definately get another chance.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I went there for our 2nd ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My husband and I went there for our 2nd wedding anniversary in August. They were so great! There was a card on our decorated table saying congratulations on years of marriage! I'd never gotten anything like that from a restaurant so it was such a nice touch. They were busy, so they made sure we knew they would take a while -- and after being the restaurant industry for over 6 years I thought that was very considerate and professional to let the guests know they would take their time. We didn't even notice because we enjoyed the view! Great wine list and seafood! Definitely coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The entire meal was much more than I exp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The entire meal was much more than I expected. Starting with warm fois gras served with a dusting of pistachio and onion confit. A roasted marrow bone large enough to serve two then bouliabase and local sea scallops. We shared a terrific Meyer lemon tart. Service was first rate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our first visit being new residents and ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our first visit being new residents and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent, the ambiance wonderful and the food was fantastic.

We will certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best view in the city. Great food!!

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best view in the city. Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed our time at the Crow's Nest on ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I enjoyed our time at the Crow's Nest on my different occasions but I did find the serve to be a bit slow at times.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was surprised they prepared the local ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I was surprised they prepared the local Halibut to be dry. I sent it back , received anew plate, better.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Kimberly was a delight. Please give her ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Kimberly was a delight. Please give her a big raise. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was amazing and our server was fa ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Dinner was amazing and our server was fantastic! We will dine here again when we come to Anchorage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crabcake was delicious! The view fr ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The crabcake was delicious! The view from the hotel was awesome, as well as the service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I are semi familiar with fin ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My wife and I are semi familiar with fine dining, but we decided to try the Crows Nest for the first time on our anniversary. Needless to say, it was a bust. Most fine dining, you pay more for less, but delicious portions. Our meal was even less than described, and tasted god awful to boot. Fancy names and price tags, but when the food was delivered, we were far from impressed. I will not be visiting, or recommending this restaurant any time in the near future.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Wonderful food and choices, excellent se ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wonderful food and choices, excellent service and outstanding views. I wish we lived closer so we could come here more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view and ambiance. We come here fo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great view and ambiance. We come here for special occasions but this visit was a disappointment in terms of the quality of the food. Maybe it was an off night. That said, I'm pretty sure I was served the wrong dish and rather than confirm, I was told it was the right one. We are local Anchorageites and we know fish........

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Great Dinner location! Will be back for ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great Dinner location! Will be back for sure. The wild boar is AMAZING! Steak was good a tad over cooked, medium rare ordered and came out as medium. However, it was still great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Superior food, super service, pleasant a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Superior food, super service, pleasant ambience, full bar service. The staff is always friendly and willing to accommodate. There is a note of elegance about the service and food presentation. My entrée was scallops and they were done to perfection, hot and well presented. The overall experience was relaxing and well worth the tariff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

If you want high end dining in Anchorage ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

If you want high end dining in Anchorage, this is the place to go.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The briny local fresh oysters with a cor ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The briny local fresh oysters with a coriander melon sorbet, the bouillabaisse, and then the

goat milk gelato were phenomenal. The view is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crows nest was recommended to us bec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The crows nest was recommended to us because my husband is military and wanted to do something special for when my parents came into town. The service was ok, nothing spectacular. The menu was not very clear, we ordered crab legs and a steak both ranging around the $60 tag. Nothing came with the meal except they dropped off one roll of bread for each person and brought out a very small "appetizer" that they didn't ask you if you wanted, ours was salmon. So me being 36 weeks pregnant cannot eat uncooked salmon, my husband has a allergy and my mother does not like salmon. Upon noticing no one ate it there was no offer of anything different. Then the entrees came out, 58 dollars for 6 crab legs and four pieces of broccoli, or the other option was a small portion of potatoes. Very disappointed in the price per serving. Seeing as we've eaten at less well known Resturants in anchorage and had better experiences.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Fantastic food and even better service. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fantastic food and even better service. Was our last night in Alaska and could not have been made more perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, great food. Unique flav ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Amazing service, great food. Unique flavors and presentation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was spectacular. The service im ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was spectacular. The service impeccable. 5 of us enjoyed oysters a delicious crab cake a soup a beet salad and entrées included halibut scallops salmon each one more delicious than the other. The presentation and accompaniments magnificent. This was definitely the best meal we had in Anchorage and more than comprable to best meals in Los Angeles and Chicago. And the price was not outrageous. Can't encourage others enough to go here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view of Anchorage, very friendly s ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great view of Anchorage, very friendly service and outstanding Alaskan seafood.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was decidedly restrained to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was decidedly restrained to allow us time to enjoy ourselves. We noticed and appreciated that.

And the food was well prepared, presented and was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view fantastic. Personnel were great ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The view fantastic. Personnel were great.

Service was great. Food did not seem to be as good a quality as it should be for the establishment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my second time to Crow's Nest. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was my second time to Crow's Nest. Again, I found the menu pretentious and the food disappointing. My steak was excellent but broccolini was heavy in oil. Crab cake and salad were mediocre. I wouldn't chose to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Crow's Nest. The staff had a congratulations note waiting at our table. The view was spectacular, the service stellar, and the food wonderful. In all it was a perfect evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great! Have eaten there many times and a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great! Have eaten there many times and absolutely every time is excellent and prepared just right and service always tops

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had altogether two appetizers and two ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had altogether two appetizers and two entrees. The appetizer with bone marrow was the best dish of the four. The vegetarian entree would have been better with an additional element to tie everything together. Whipped chevre or something like that would have made it a great dish. The service and the view were excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.