Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook

Innovative French and New American cuisine, paired with an outstanding selection of over 10,000 bottles of wine. 360 degree views of downtown Anchorage, Chugach Mountain Range and Cook Inlet. Experience Alaska’s finest, at the Hotel Captain Cook.

939 West 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
I Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 343-2217

Website:
http://www.captaincook.com/dining/crows-nest

Parking Details:
The Crow’s Nest offers two types of parking. Valet for up to five hours is $18 per vehicle. Or you may self-park in the Captain Cook parking garage and we validate for up to two hours.

Executive Chef:
Chef De' Cuisine Reuben Gerber

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (9)
Waterfront (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort by
S
957 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 10, 2018

My wife and I had an excellent dinner at the Crows Nest. The food was great and the wine selection was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 3, 2018

We had an excellent time. The staff and food were wonderful, and we loved the ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Fabulous. Wonderful view. Great service. Fantastic food. Dinner was for a special occasion and all the staff helped make it a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 1, 2018

It was my birthday dinner, the atmosphere is wonderful, a beautiful sunset for the evening I called ahead and asked if they had tenderloin steaks on the menu , And said they did not they did however indicated they had New York steaks as well as a prime rib ribeye steak, we love a good steak , So we ordered the ribeye , Upon receiving our meals both my wife and my own steak cooked well, but full of marbling and gristle , To the point my wife could not eat her steak, I'm not one to make a scene, and in all my years eating out at restaurants I am now prompted to leave this review, I called the following day to inform management about our experience my phone call was not received well. I was told the manager would call us back his name is Tom Laurent to this day still haven't had a call back

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 31, 2018

We love Chelsea! She is the best server ever! Always such a good restaurant with predictably good food! We love Crows Nest!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 27, 2018

I treated my kids to their birthdays, they turned 19 and 8, I try to take my kids someplace special when I have the chance , staff was very nice , good food and love the view

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Wonderful waitress Chelsea. Great food and amazing views. Will return as much as possible!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Been my favorite place to eat for all 53 years that I have been in Alaska. And it only gets better each time I have dinner there. Thanks again food and service once again outstanding. See you soon again.
Lewis Perrault

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 20, 2018

The Crow's Nest continues to be one of the best restaurants in Anchorage -- and there are many great ones here. The menu items are creative, and the portions are just right. For the vegans in our group, there was just one option, but the vegetarians enjoyed several fish/shellfish choices. There's an amazing wine selection by the bottle and a respectable wine-by-the-glass selection. We have dined there before, and we'll surely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 20, 2018

We don't get down to the Crow's Nest as often as we would like...it is always a great dining experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Always great meals and service . Your love ones will be impressed . Dinner starts at 5pm and you must wait until 5pm to use the elevator to the 20th floor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Cozy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Celebrated our anniversary at the Crows Nest. Food and service was outstanding. Yes it’s pricey, but worth it for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Our meal was excellent, along with the service. It was a special occasion and we would love to go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 13, 2018

The service is very slow, and the food is very salty, so the value seems not worth it. Two out of ten options on the menu were out.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Crow’s Nest is always superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Wonderful experience located in the perfect location overlooking downtown Anchorage and/or the mountains and Cook Inlet!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Had a wonderful time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Haven't been here for 18 years, Service was great. Food good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Overall, my favorite restaurant in Anchorage. Amazingly prepared food, friendly and knowledgeable wait staff, great atmosphere and view!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Good food. Great service. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great food and always top notch service. Such a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The food was great, the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. The price of the food is comparable to other restaurants but better.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Excellent food and service. Fun dessert - have the banana split - audacious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 25, 2017

great place , we loved it and the view was a bonus

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 25, 2017

I reserved a table for 4 at the Crow's Nest because my son once worked as the Manager there almost 20 years ago and my grandson and granddaughter (his now adult children) who live out of state now had never been there. The Crow's Nest has always been my premium choice for special occasions, especially during the spring, summer and fall when daylight allows an awesome 360 degree sweeping view for hundreds of miles. We actually arrived a little early and were promptly seated by the Hostess in the South East Alcove at my favorite table. The service was very good, the food excellent and the ambience was great. It is a tad expensive for many people but well worth the extra expense for special occasions. It was a relaxing experience and we were never rushed and after dessert we left after spending 2 & 1/2 delightful hours there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 18, 2017

My husband and I had a very lovely meal! Everything was fantastic food, drinks, service, and view! We will continue to eat here for our special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Awesome experience as always. We asked for a private room for 6 which we have had before. A corner room views from all sides, food service and atmosphere were amazing. There’s so much history in this place you can feel it when you walk in, everyone who has been anyone in the state has likely been here at one time or another to broker a deal or just for the awesome banana split at the end of an evening somewhere else. This is my favorite place in anchorage and they never disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 15, 2017

My daughter her birthday dinner and the service was awesome!

This was our first visit and I will go back again.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The dinner at Crow's Nest was splendid! The food was delicious with a beautiful presentation. The service was professional and prompt, with the right touch of humor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Was very unhappy with the server, Francisca. She informed our guest that if he didn't remove his hat that she invited him to the lounge. She did not apologize nor did she say whether or not we could also order off of the menu in the lounge. From the point that our guest said he did not want to remove his hat she became very unfriendly even though we tried to lighten things up with her. She continued to be unfriendly and unhelpful. For example, when she served the bananas foster she prepared the dessert at a slant and the whole party could not see the presentation. The gal that replenished our water (Tasha) was much more friendly and happy to take the time to explain the dessert menu to us. Because of service given I would not only not return but I would certainly not recommend the Crow's Nest to anyone. As I am sure is the same feeling with all guest at this table.

Tags: Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Best Fine Dining in Anchorage. All ages enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Best Steak that I have had in years! The Crow's Nest has sensational food and wine list. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 28, 2017

As usual, the food was excellent. Unfortunately for us, our server was more interested in Mr. Hickel who was dining at a nearby table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Our experience was outstanding overall: the appetizers and entrees were some of the best we have ever had, the desserts impressive, the wine selection (or rather collection) magnificent. The service was friendly and attentive, formal but not snobbish. We were quite impressed. Of course, the prices were high, but we got what we paid for. Thanks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Service and Food Outstanding , our favorite place to dine.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 20, 2017

If you like fancy, this is the perfect place. Expensive, but classy. Appetizers $18, main dishes $35+. Not a huge selection (typical for upscale locales such as this). Special occasion type place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Wine and drinks were good Caesar salad was not what I expected. Minimal dressing on a romaine stalk with 3 croutons and 3 halves of cherry tomatoes ( which were out of place) on a Caesar. Entree- Halibut was nicely seared. Sauce was not flavorful. Desert of a Lemon tart was still frozen in the middle, very disappointing. Ambiance exceptional and service was good.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Able to make excellence recommendations on wine pairings with the various courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 17, 2017

They made our anniversary special by adding a special touch to our dessert plate in chocolate

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.