Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook

Innovative French and New American cuisine, paired with an outstanding selection of over 10,000 bottles of wine. 360 degree views of downtown Anchorage, Chugach Mountain Range and Cook Inlet. Experience Alaska’s finest, at the Hotel Captain Cook.

939 West 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
I Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 343-2217

Website:
http://www.captaincook.com/dining/crows-nest

Parking Details:
The Crow’s Nest offers two types of parking. Valet for up to five hours is $18 per vehicle. Or you may self-park in the Captain Cook parking garage and we validate for up to two hours.

Executive Chef:
Chef De' Cuisine Reuben Gerber

Private Party Facilities:
The Crow's Nest offers two semi-private rooms that can hold up to 14 and 18. One completely private room that can hold up to 10.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (46)
Romantic (43)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for a Date (34)
Notable Wine List (30)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Waterfront (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Historic (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
873 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Menu too limited. Prices too high. Food not that flavorful considering the hype.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Great meal overall but atmosphere would have been helped by some background music!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

The food experience the last two times we have been there we're not what we expect from such a great place.
We were there at Christmas, and I had the Wildboar which I normally love. But this time it was dry and seem to be the end of their stock of meat. This time I had the black cod and it was the end tailpiece and it was fishy tasting I did not like it with the ox tail . There were very few gnocchi on my plate as well .

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was fantastic! We took some friends from CA there and we all had marvelous meals. The steaks were done to perfection. The risotto was phenomenal! One in our group had the halibut and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great flavors! The service was great! They were able to accommodate our request for a table by the windows by giving us a private corner room...Amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Good upscale restaurant with a terrific view. Expensive but worth it. Best banana split ever.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We've lived in this area for a year, and this was our first visit to the Crow's Nest. It's been on our list of places to try, so for our anniversary we made a reservation. We were not disappointed in any aspect of the visit in spite of the rain clouds which limited our view. The food was excellent, well prepared, a party for our taste buds. From the fried olives and foie gras, to the soups, to salmon and black cod, to chocolate cake and lemon tart, the presentations were a delight to the eye and memorable on the tongue. We will definitely return, though we won't wait for another anniversary. The visit was well worth the cost which wasn't out of line for the experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in Alaska. The view is amazing and the service outstanding. The food is delicious and never disappoints. Get the homemade ice cream banana split!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

To start, we had the risotto of the day and we could've ordered it as an entree and life would have been great. But it got better with the bison entree, it was fantastic. Every bite forced my eyes to close so that no energy was wasted not tasting the delectable meat. Dessert was the chocolate cake - I nearly threw etiquette out the window of breathtaking views to pickup the plate and lick it clean.

Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Never disappointed every time we come here. Staff was wonderful Food was outstanding. Many unique desserts to try too!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Elegant, perfectly prepared entrees are on the smaller side, allowing for a salad and shared appetizer before hand. Every table has a panorama view of city or inlet, and the service is outstanding, so we look for ways to prolong our experience just a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Second time eating here on our vacation and it did not disappoint. Fois gras and halibut was terrific!

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a wonderful 25th anniversary dinner to start out our two week Alaskan vacation; along with a phenomenal view that took our breath away. One word: perfection. Excellent food that met our dietary needs and impeccable service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Good food, good service, good wine list, good view...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Loved the view! Everything we ordered was delicious. We had the foie gras, crab cake, halibut, salmon, and lemon tart. It was our first dinner in Anchorage and it was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Limited menu choices. Lovely view. Staff very friendly. Expensive

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

At the end of our Alaska cruise, after reading the great reviews, we had dinner at the Crow's Nest.
The welcome was exceptionally warm and they encouraged us to walk around and see the views from all sides. Once seated, we were greeted by a very professional waiter but who also was very personable. The meal proceeded at a leisurely pace which is what we wanted. All the courses were outstanding. It was one of the few restaurants we have been to in the recent past that has really delivered on great promise. It is rumored that both President Xi of China and President Obama have dined there. Highly recommended for those seeking an exceptional evening. The only disappointment was that the surrounding mountains were clouded in clouds and that we lacked self discipline to eat less (especially after the cruise) but it was well worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food and service superb. Great menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We selected this restaurant based upon reviews we had read and we were glad we did. The views were without compare in Anchorage, the service wonderful--attentive but not overbearing. The food was delicious and attractively presented. We enjoyed ourselves a lot.

The only criticism is that the restaurant was advised that this was a special occasion dinner and they were told it was my birthday. The host at the podium upon entry acknowledged my birthday as did our waiter. But no complementary dessert was offered.

It did not bother me but it was odd to have the event acknowledged simply with words. The food prices were commensurate with the location and view, and a free dessert being offered, whether we would have declined or accepted it, would have been a nice touch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The Crow's Nest at the Hotel Captain Cook is THE premier dining experience in Alaska. I have been a resident of Alaska for over 40 years and the Crow's Nest never disappoints. Superbly "fit for foodies" with imaginative and taste-expanding menu the Crow's Nest remains the quintessential restaurant for the experienced patron of truly fine dining at the highest level. The wine list is the finest locally and exceeds most of my international-capital-city dining experiences (of which I have a number), or most high-class restaurants in the Lower 48 (of which I have many memorable dining pleasures). This is not place for a fun family with children supper, nor a spur of the moment "grab a bite" after a rough game of rugby. The restaurant is elegant with impeccable service and a menu focused on experimental nouvelle cuisine in appropriately medium size portions which attends to providing a memorable dinner expertly prepared and served. The dining experience is more enjoyable if the patron has a solid appreciation and knowledge of wine. However, the sommelier will very expertly guide the guests to a wonderful wine choice in the price range requested. The views of Anchorage and Alaska (weather permitting) are outstanding. If fine dining, superb wine, and attentive professional service is of interest, the Crow's Nest is incomparably the Alaskan restaurant at which to make your reservation. Enjoy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The lure of this restaurant is the view, but the unattractive tops of buildings didn't do it for me. The food is good, but certainly not worth the cost.
I dine out often, and I use open table as a reference, but this was disappointing. We did, however, eat at Simon & Seafort, and it was amazing!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We love the service, the view of the inlet and my steak was cooked exactly how I wanted it. Our waitress made every effort to accommodate the food request of my grandson, I'm looking forward to dining there again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We were on vacation and staying at the hotel but, I booked this reservation before I got to Anchorage based on other positive reviews. We loved the food and very attentive service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We went there for our anniversary. From giving us table to the service they exceeded our expectations. From tomato soup chefs gift to crab cake as appetizer crab soup that we ordered beet salad that was presented so artistically. Highlight was I would say salmon that was made so delicately and delicious. To top it off bananas foster. They even surprised us with chocolate anniversary plate. Unbelievable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I think the flavors could have been better. Nothing to write home to mom and dad. Pretty standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We were vacationing in Alaska, and while in Anchorage...we checked out Yelp reviews. Lots of positive feedback. Everything was excellent ..... service, drinks, food, desserts, view!

Highly recommend a delicious and relaxing evening at the Crow's Nest! You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Spectacular views, good service, solidly executed food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Birthday for my spouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We went here for the Alaskan king crab legs because all of the reviews said they had the best . Wellll all I can say is I was highly disappointed and for $58 a lb they charge they should have been the best but were NOT . I live in Nj and can buy them for $25 a lb And make them better . Do yourself a favor go to Costco and buy them . We had a window seat and yes you could see the view of the water however what you notice is the building across with a disgraceful rooftop . I believe this building is part of the hotel so one would think of maybe doing something about it . I am not by all means a snooty person . It's just my observation and can't be the only one that thought this while sitting looking out the window. We advised the front desk of our disappointment when we checked out of the hotel and we got oh sorry you felt that way . I do have to say our server was great n that's why we didn't complain to her . Even though she told us we made a GREAT choice . 🤔

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent food with a great view of downtown Anchorage.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service and food excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Although the food was delicious and the view was beautiful, the menu was limited to very expensive choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Arrived at this restaurant the previous night for a cocktail and cheese playter. Service was friendly, prompt and courteous. Enjoyed it and decided to bring a larger group for dinner the next night. Our waiter, Logan, and his colleagues were locals who knew their menu, explained the entrees as needed and provided excellent service. Very attentive but not overbearing. The bananas foster, prepared tableside, for dessert capped an excellent evening. The view of the city, mountains, and bay certainly helped with the conversation. Fabulous Halibut!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing view. Best place for Manhattans this side of Girdwood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were in Anchorage for a business meeting and had made reservations at the Crow's Nest well before we arrived in Alaska. The view is amazing, the food is very good, and the ambiance is great. Our only disappointment was the service.
We ordered pre dinner drinks and when they arrived, there were issues. One of the glasses was dirty and sticky, so we sent it back. I ordered a glass of Pinot Noir and didn't care for the taste (it was corked). I sent it back and asked for a glass of a different wine. It never showed up and when the bill came, I was charged for the glass I sent back.
We ordered dinner and made it clear of gluten free requirements of one of our guests. When the chef's "gift" arrived prior to the first course, it had a flour crust. We sent it back and the gluten free version took 10 minutes to arrive. The dinner was excellent, starters and mains were as expected and tasted very nice. When it came to dessert, we were disappointed again. One associate was looking forward to their banana split, but found that they had been out of key ingredients for over a week. We passed on dessert and after dinner drinks and moved on.
All in all, a good meal, but not outstanding. More attention to service would be beneficial.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Delicious meal & lovely attentive service. I would request mountain view if I return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food and service! My only wish is for the menu to change more often. I hope they come up with new appetizers and entrees as we dine here often and I'm wanting to experience something different. The reason why we keep on coming back is their wine selection. There are only a few restaurants in Anchorage that offer a wide selection of red Burgundy, which is a must for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great view of Anchorage plus great food - highly recommend it to first time visitors to Anchorage

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We ordered charcuterie, foie gras, oysters, king crab bisque, and king salmon followed by bananas foster. Everything was well executed and delicious. Service was friendly and professional. View was worth the visit.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 11, 2017

After having not been to the Crow's Nest for over ten years, it was gratifying to see that this landmark Anchorage restaurant is still a quality, elegant evening dinner destination. My halibut was moist, flavorful and cooked to the right temperature and texture. One of my guests boasted about her vegetarian dish being well prepared and tasty. The view from almost anywhere in the restaurant is spectacular (not downtown Anchorage, but the mountains in the distance). For that reason the ambiance of the decor inside makes little difference, but if this was in the dark of winter and the outside presented no view, the somewhat dark and dismal interior with its dark woods and heavy walls, furniture and fixtures could be sobering. Actually, the whole hotel could be lightened up a bit. It is probably one of the four or five most expensive restaurants in Anchorage. Still, all things considered, Crow's Nest makes a good impression on your guests and worth the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The staff really went the extra mile to make our anniversary special.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.