About Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook

939 West 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Innovative French and New American cuisine, paired with an outstanding selection of over 10,000 bottles of wine. 360 degree views of downtown Anchorage, Chugach Mountain Range and Cook Inlet. Experience Alaska’s finest, at the Hotel Captain Cook.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
I Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 343-2217

Website:
http://www.captaincook.com/dining/crows-nest

Parking Details:
The Crow’s Nest offers two types of parking. Valet for up to five hours is $18 per vehicle. Or you may self-park in the Captain Cook parking garage and we validate for up to two hours.

Executive Chef:
Chef De' Cuisine Reuben Gerber

Private Party Facilities:
The Crow's Nest offers two semi-private rooms that can hold up to 14 and 18. One completely private room that can hold up to 10.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Permafrost vodka Martini
Soft Seared Halibut
Manhattan
Seared Diver Sea Scallops
Seafood Bouillabaisse
Ahi tuna
Sweet and Spicy Sausage Stuffed Quail
Filet Mignon
King Crab Curry Soup
Amuse-bouche
Alaskan King Crab
Resurrection Bay Cod
Salmon
Caesar Salad
Fruitti Di Mari
Butternut Soup
Osso Bucco
Crabby Patty
Pear And Feta Salad

Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
13 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

scenic view (74)
special occasion (71)
romantic (59)
See All
notable wine list (52)
fit for foodies (33)
good for groups (15)
late-night find (9)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great view and ambiance. We come here fo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great view and ambiance. We come here for special occasions but this visit was a disappointment in terms of the quality of the food. Maybe it was an off night. That said, I'm pretty sure I was served the wrong dish and rather than confirm, I was told it was the right one. We are local Anchorageites and we know fish........

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Great Dinner location! Will be back for ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great Dinner location! Will be back for sure. The wild boar is AMAZING! Steak was good a tad over cooked, medium rare ordered and came out as medium. However, it was still great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Superior food, super service, pleasant a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 7 days ago

Superior food, super service, pleasant ambience, full bar service. The staff is always friendly and willing to accommodate. There is a note of elegance about the service and food presentation. My entrée was scallops and they were done to perfection, hot and well presented. The overall experience was relaxing and well worth the tariff.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

If you want high end dining in Anchorage ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

If you want high end dining in Anchorage, this is the place to go.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The briny local fresh oysters with a cor ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The briny local fresh oysters with a coriander melon sorbet, the bouillabaisse, and then the

goat milk gelato were phenomenal. The view is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crows nest was recommended to us bec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The crows nest was recommended to us because my husband is military and wanted to do something special for when my parents came into town. The service was ok, nothing spectacular. The menu was not very clear, we ordered crab legs and a steak both ranging around the $60 tag. Nothing came with the meal except they dropped off one roll of bread for each person and brought out a very small "appetizer" that they didn't ask you if you wanted, ours was salmon. So me being 36 weeks pregnant cannot eat uncooked salmon, my husband has a allergy and my mother does not like salmon. Upon noticing no one ate it there was no offer of anything different. Then the entrees came out, 58 dollars for 6 crab legs and four pieces of broccoli, or the other option was a small portion of potatoes. Very disappointed in the price per serving. Seeing as we've eaten at less well known Resturants in anchorage and had better experiences.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Fantastic food and even better service. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fantastic food and even better service. Was our last night in Alaska and could not have been made more perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, great food. Unique flav ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Amazing service, great food. Unique flavors and presentation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was spectacular. The service im ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was spectacular. The service impeccable. 5 of us enjoyed oysters a delicious crab cake a soup a beet salad and entrées included halibut scallops salmon each one more delicious than the other. The presentation and accompaniments magnificent. This was definitely the best meal we had in Anchorage and more than comprable to best meals in Los Angeles and Chicago. And the price was not outrageous. Can't encourage others enough to go here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view of Anchorage, very friendly s ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great view of Anchorage, very friendly service and outstanding Alaskan seafood.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was decidedly restrained to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was decidedly restrained to allow us time to enjoy ourselves. We noticed and appreciated that.

And the food was well prepared, presented and was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view fantastic. Personnel were great ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The view fantastic. Personnel were great.

Service was great. Food did not seem to be as good a quality as it should be for the establishment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my second time to Crow's Nest. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was my second time to Crow's Nest. Again, I found the menu pretentious and the food disappointing. My steak was excellent but broccolini was heavy in oil. Crab cake and salad were mediocre. I wouldn't chose to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Crow's Nest. The staff had a congratulations note waiting at our table. The view was spectacular, the service stellar, and the food wonderful. In all it was a perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great! Have eaten there many times and a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great! Have eaten there many times and absolutely every time is excellent and prepared just right and service always tops

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had altogether two appetizers and two ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had altogether two appetizers and two entrees. The appetizer with bone marrow was the best dish of the four. The vegetarian entree would have been better with an additional element to tie everything together. Whipped chevre or something like that would have made it a great dish. The service and the view were excellent.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I had a couple of special requests (view ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I had a couple of special requests (view and seating next to each other instead of across the table) and it was perfectly set up that way. Much appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and drinks. Crow's Nest is th ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food and drinks. Crow's Nest is the perfect place for my husband and I to enjoy alone time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We saw mixed reviews on Yelp so were a l ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We saw mixed reviews on Yelp so were a little hesitant but our night was great. Kimberley looked after us well as did Tom the Sommelier. We had fine Australian Riesling with our fish. Food was well prepared and table settings very swish indeed.

View was difficult to enjoy at sunset but once the sun faded, we could roll up the blinds and look out. The hotel is very nice too so you can spend time in the gift shops below.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding views and ambiance! The foo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Outstanding views and ambiance! The food was incredible. We ordered the bone marrow appetizer and it was well worth the extra few minutes wait. It was decadent and creamy with a perfect light crust of subtle and salty cheese. The black cod was among the best pieces of fish I've ever eaten. My wife's scallops were perfectly seared and each of our dishes was presented in the most beautiful manner. The cocktails were skillfully prepared and the wine list is amazing. This is an exquisite restaurant experience in Anchorage that anyone who appreciates fine dining will absolutely enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Found the food to be unexceptional. From ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Found the food to be unexceptional. From previous reviews we were looking forward to a beautiful view with wonderful food. There must be a better view than where we sat. Overall very disappointed for the overall cost of the meal. The other restaurants in Captain Cook's served much better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We haven't been the Crow's Nest in many ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We haven't been the Crow's Nest in many years because at that time it seemed overpriced and undervalued. Boy has it changed! We had dinner there last week and was very pleasantly surprised. An outstanding menu. I had a great rib steak and my wife had a wonderful King salmon. The wine was great, service was very good, and we were very happy with the overall experience. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfect place to eat, Excellent Custome ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Perfect place to eat, Excellent Customer service :) I highly recommend this place to everyone. The food is so delicious, King crab legs, Dessert and appetizer are perfect:) Thanks Definitely going back there every single day :D

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite restaurant to dine ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant to dine in when in Anchorage.The food is wonderful,the views

Are terrific and the people that work there are amazing.Chelsea could not be a better server.Logan also did a great job.Katie is so personable and a great manager.We also enjoyed talking to Alex,the hostess and David and Milosz,the busboys.We left feeling as if we had known all of them before.We ate there 3 times this week.We had everything from King crab to salmon to boar shanks.They were all fabulous.You cannot go wrong here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anchorage favorite

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I must say that we were disappointed in the food quality given the favorable reviews we had read on Open Table. And the prices were reflective of a top notch restaurant; however, the two salads we had were very average, and the salmon was over cooked notwithstanding our request for it to be medium rare. The service was excellent.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

An Excellent Fine Dining Experience

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went to the Crow's Nest to celebrate my wife's birthday. They accommodated my advance seating request. The service was spectacular, expedient and courteous, and our main server was very warm and attentive. The meal itself was exceptional, ever course a wonderful blend of flavors, prepared with skill. We love this establishment for special occasions. They never disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crab legs were amazing!! They cut th ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The crab legs were amazing!! They cut them open for you so there is no mess! They are huge and it was too much food for me to eat. I also ordered the Brussel sprouts that were grilled and seasoned lightly to perfection. The mashed potatoes were alright. View was good and it was quiet enough to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food, great view, and impeccab ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food, great view, and impeccable service. As a local here in Anchorage, I would rate Crow's Nest the city's #1 fine dining establishment. I had the halibut and the other two in the party had the king crab. Both were very tasty. Caesar salad and crab bisque were enjoyed, and the table side bananas foster was as fun to watch as it was to eat. The only two things I can think to suggest would be a more basic appetizer option and actual iced tea (the ice had melted in our glass by the time it made it to our glass every time).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crows Nest is the Best

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The Crows Nest is certainly the finest of the many wonderful restaurants in Anchorage. The service is excellent, views of the inlet extraordinary and food unique and well-prepared. It is more expensive than other restaurants, but if you are looki8ng for a high quality, intimate meal in secluded surroundings for a special occasion, this is the best choice. We come here once a year or so and are never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricy

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was great, but our guests and I thought you were slightly over priced by 1/3 or so!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best meal in anchorage. Nice views of th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Best meal in anchorage. Nice views of the city with delicious fresh food and attentive waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual food was excellent and service ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

As usual food was excellent and service impeccable. I did not catch her name but our server was perfect; intelligent, attentive without being over bearing and interesting to talk with, especially about the two bottles of $10,000 Petrus which they have in the cellar (No, we were not tempted to try one).

A great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome experience, great view.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Awesome experience, great view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rude Service

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Surprised my daughter by taking her to Crows Nest for her birthday just to have the wait or joke about how spoiled she is for being there!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Beautiful Evening

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My Daughters Birthday had to be perfect. Crow's Nest did the job. The perfect table, the perfect meal and a lovely Birthday Plate.

The Service was outstanding.

Thank You to all those that took part in making My Daughters Birthday everything I wanted it to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice dinner. Drinks were mixed p ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Really nice dinner. Drinks were mixed perfectly. Everything was cooked correctly. Scenery was nice at the top of the Captain Cook Hotel. We both had a really good time.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrating Life

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I decided to take some time to enjoy a nice meal with a great view in a nice restaurant. Just to celebrate life. Our server Katie was amazing, her assistant Joseph was very pleasant as well. They made a great time, great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice for an anniversary

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Very nice restaurant for a special occasion. Service is top notch, food is great, and the view is amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

hostess mislead me on table traffic surrounding

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

not happy with bad information about noise level and traffic in proximity of my table

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderfully romantic

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

We had an amazing time at the Crow's Nest! Outstanding service, wonderful food, and majestic views from the top of the Captain Cook overlooking downtown Anchorage, the Chugach and Talkeetna mountain ranges, Mt Susitna and even Denali! . Definitely an unforgettable experience on our dream vacation. We enjoyed every bite of the cheese slate appetizer, creamy king crab bisque, venison loin and the rib eye . And then to top off the evening... an unbelievable banana split!! Yum. Also, they have a smooth root beer on tap as a non-alcoholic option. Top-notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.