About Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook

939 West 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Innovative French and New American cuisine, paired with an outstanding selection of over 10,000 bottles of wine. 360 degree views of downtown Anchorage, Chugach Mountain Range and Cook Inlet. Experience Alaska’s finest, at the Hotel Captain Cook.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
I Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 343-2217

Website:
http://www.captaincook.com/dining/crows-nest

Parking Details:
The Crow’s Nest offers two types of parking. Valet for up to five hours is $18 per vehicle. Or you may self-park in the Captain Cook parking garage and we validate for up to two hours.

Executive Chef:
Chef De' Cuisine Reuben Gerber

Private Party Facilities:
The Crow's Nest offers two semi-private rooms that can hold up to 14 and 18. One completely private room that can hold up to 10.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Permafrost vodka Martini - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Soft Seared Halibut - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Manhattan - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Seared Diver Sea Scallops - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Ahi tuna - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Seafood Bouillabaisse - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Sweet and Spicy Sausage Stuffed Quail - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Filet Mignon - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
King Crab Curry Soup - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Amuse-bouche - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Alaskan King Crab - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Resurrection Bay Cod - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Salmon - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Caesar Salad - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Fruitti Di Mari - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Butternut Soup - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Osso Bucco - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Crabby Patty - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Pear And Feta Salad - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK

Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Food
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Service
Anchorage / Alaska
10 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage / Alaska
Special Occasion
Anchorage / Alaska
Most Booked
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (34)
Scenic View (27)
Romantic (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Historic (4)
Waterfront (4)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
751 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was my first time eating there. besid ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

It was my first time eating there. besides the wait for the food arrival. I was a bit disappointed at the entrees I ordered, the "Alaska Bois..." it was a bit too salty..

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing food, amazing service. Best of t ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Amazing food, amazing service. Best of the best in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed with the limited sele ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I was disappointed with the limited selection of dinner choices. I have a difficult time believing that any fishery would close due to thanksgiving. There was no salmon and no halibut due to the fishermen going home for the holiday. The deer and the boar "escaped" from their pens and were also not available. I went to the Captain Cook the year before (same Saturday before thanksgiving) and there were no issues with items being available.

The food we did choose was wonderful, and I will not hesitate to go back, I just found it odd for such a high end establishment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Awesome place!! My Husband and I are fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Awesome place!! My Husband and I are from California and each time we come to Anchorage we try to eat here. We had great food, awesome wine and the view is spectacular. Also the service was superb. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience, great view, great ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent experience, great view, great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent! We both had the ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was excellent! We both had the crab cakes which were delicious. You only get one so we decided not to share and get our own. My husband had the rib eye and said it was the best steak he's ever had. The homemade steak sauce was superb. I had the oxtail and black cod. So good! We didn't do the soup/salad because we wanted to make sure we had room for the bananas foster desert! We loved it. The only negative is you have to have a minimum of 2 order it. If you are out as a couple or even a group and only one person wants bananas foster you are kind of out of luck. I'm just glad my husband wanted it too. Maybe he just wanted it so I could have it because that's all I talked about for days! We were seated promptly and our server was very helpful and nice! The view was beautiful. It is a little confusing finding your way to the correct elevator since there is more than one tower, but once you've done it, it isn't a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tom Laret is fantastic! The service is ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Tom Laret is fantastic! The service is extraordinary!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as usual! The Crow's Nest nev ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful as usual! The Crow's Nest never disappoints us. The bartender makes the best martini in town, the waitstaff is attentive without interrupting, the views are amazing, and the food is spectacular. We had the venison and wild boar on this visit and Tom (the sommelier) recommended a wine that was a perfect pairing.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Boar and Venison excellent. Wine list gr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Boar and Venison excellent. Wine list great. View terrifiv.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

VERY nice dining experience. Being an Al ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

VERY nice dining experience. Being an Alaskan I was a little disappointed in the size & number of the scallops.

Wine was a good and Chelsea was a wonderful server.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ordered the Rib Eye steak. It was by ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We ordered the Rib Eye steak. It was by far the best steak I have ever ate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 29th Wedding Ann ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were celebrating our 29th Wedding Anniversary, other than a nice table in the corner we didn't feel special. Our server just went awwh, Happy Anniversary when my husband said what we were celebrating.

The food was really really good but a bit over priced.

The dessert menu was mostly savory desserts and therefore we did not get anything. I would at least keep a good dessert on the menu along with the banana foster such as a normal chocolate cake with no coffee (hubby doesn't like coffee) or another choice.

Overall was a great meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Surely the best place to eat a fine meal ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Surely the best place to eat a fine meal in Anchorage.....

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was great... servers were fri ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Atmosphere was great... servers were friendly and knowlegable.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious!! Started with a sm ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Absolutely delicious!! Started with a small corn bisque (gratis), then Crabbie patties,then a small salad that had a nice cheese, candied walnuts, different lettuces, vinaigrette. Then a beautiful ribeye steak with fingerling potatoes and broccoli florets... It came with a sauce that I wasn't crazy about, but still was a very nice steak. The sauce was on half the steak.. They brought two grand mariner chocolates with the bill that were scrumptious!! GREAT service throughout. Stunning sunset over the Cook Inlet on one side of the restaurant and a gorgeous city view afterward on the other side. Reasonably priced.. I'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was very nice, but the food o ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Everything was very nice, but the food overall seemed under-seasoned or lacking flavor. My palate yearned to be "lifted" even if just a hint.

We had a lovely time, and the service was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

When I made the reservation I made it a ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2016

When I made the reservation I made it a point to note that it was for a birthday. Half way through dinner I mentioned it again to the hostess and she said they do a special plate for desert. Once desert came around, nothing happened. I love this restaurant but may think twice about going for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The charcuterie and cheese platters were ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The charcuterie and cheese platters were very good. A cocktail glass arrived with multiple lipstick prints on it. The restaurant is definitely a "special event" place, but we've had better food with more choices and price points at other locations in Anchorage.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Always an e notable meal. Excellent wai ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always an e notable meal. Excellent wait staff, food & wine selection, and the view is always a plus! Top 5 restaurants in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service is outstanding . We wer ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food and service is outstanding . We were seated overlooking the city of Anchorage , Alaska. We ate hog cheeks and goose liver and a fine selection of drinks. A wonderful time !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing view with moon rising. Great way ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Amazing view with moon rising. Great way to spend a special evening. The food, wine, service and view do not disappoint!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for wedding anniversary. Defi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Went here for wedding anniversary. Definitely suggest it. Great view, wonderful food, and extraordinary service.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food.

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

the crows nest was amazing date night at ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 13, 2016

the crows nest was amazing date night atmosphere for me and my husband. the food was exquisite and the staff and service were very attentive. very fancy, not for children.

will totally recommend this to any of my friends

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately they ran out of IPA and we ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Unfortunately they ran out of IPA and we were told whoever in charge of ordering is on leave

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything great, except that no Sugar i ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Everything great, except that no Sugar in the Raw for coffee/tea. The coffee cart in the lobby had it, so . . . .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good. Service was exceptio ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was very good. Service was exceptional without being obtrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an excellent dinner for two with ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had an excellent dinner for two with halibut and wild boar. Both dishes were very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was delightful experience and the vie ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It was delightful experience and the view is exceptional. Everyone in our party enjoyed the beverage selection, entree selection and dessert selection. We only item we didn't experience was the appetizers. A wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The view was gorgeous and the waitstaff ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The view was gorgeous and the waitstaff was very attentive. The food was decent but was definitely not anything spectacular, especially not for the price. Best part of the meal was table side preparation of the Bananas Foster.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful decor and beautiful views. V ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Beautiful decor and beautiful views. VERY SLOW EVERYTHING. I'm a restaurant manager, so I'm familiar with pacing and timing...our appetizer took 44 min. The entrees took over an hour...from the time the appetizer was cleared. Venison was delicious, ribeye was delicious. All the side items were caked in salt.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Very nice restaurant with a beautiful am ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very nice restaurant with a beautiful ambiance. Great food, service. Will come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful way to end our cruise & land t ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Wonderful way to end our cruise & land tour of Alaska. Service was great, they did a very nice job recognizing our birthday celebration, food was fantastic & the views are awesome!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we have had excellent meals at ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Although we have had excellent meals at the Crow's Nest in the past, the meals we ordered this time were very disappointing. We had the seafood bouillabaisse and the wild boar. The seafood was over cooked and lacked any taste. The boar was also over cooked and too salty. The potato-leek soup was amazing. For those who have never been, the view is reason enough to check this place out. Also, we could not have asked for better service. We will come back again as we know that every good restaurant can have a bad day.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

This is a very nice restaurant in Anchor ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant in Anchorage. It is expensive but the food and service are excellent. We were there on vacation and chose that restaurant on the recommendation of a friend. We were not staying in the hotel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Hotel Captain Cook was my home away ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Hotel Captain Cook was my home away from home for forty years, and I've eaten at the Crow's Nest many, many times. It simply isn't what it used to be. It was once a top of the line restaurant with long-term staff who knew regular customers. If it wasn't on the menu, they were likely to be able to serve it anyway. Now it is a tourist trap. You can run a restaurant like this when your customers come off a cruise ship and you won't see them again. We'll see how the Cook is doing in the winter when the locals abandon it. Maybe it will just go the way of the other cruise line properties and simply close in mid-September and re-open in May. Sad fate for a once great place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Service totally stands out at the crows ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service totally stands out at the crows nest. Friendly, super knowledgeable and helpful, just the right balance. Add to that perfectly conceived and delivered food that tastes really great, along with a spectacular view (also an incredible wine list) and this is a restaurant I couldn't recommend more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great views

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tasha took very good care of us - never ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Tasha took very good care of us - never overly present but always there when we needed her. All the food was wonderful. The best two surprises of the evening were 1) the wild boar - which was prepared perfectly and there was no hint of gaminess to the meat. It paired wonderfully with the polenta, brussel sprout leaves, and pomegranate seeds. 2) The second surprise of the evening was the Butternut Cheesecake which featured a crust of crushed cracker jacks, a wonderful cheesecake custard and dulce de leche on the side. Topping off the evening was the ruby port, a Smithwood LBV - absolutely smooth and an excellent dessert wine to go with the cheesecake. Our birthday celebration was perfect thanks to the Crow's Nest staff and the food and drink offerings.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There was a beautiful sunset on Friday n ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

There was a beautiful sunset on Friday night - even the staff were taking pictures 😄 It was a great experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.