Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook

Innovative French and New American cuisine, paired with an outstanding selection of over 10,000 bottles of wine. 360 degree views of downtown Anchorage, Chugach Mountain Range and Cook Inlet. Experience Alaska’s finest, at the Hotel Captain Cook.

939 West 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
I Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 343-2217

Website:
http://www.captaincook.com/dining/crows-nest

Parking Details:
The Crow’s Nest offers two types of parking. Valet for up to five hours is $18 per vehicle. Or you may self-park in the Captain Cook parking garage and we validate for up to two hours.

Executive Chef:
Chef De' Cuisine Reuben Gerber

Private Party Facilities:
The Crow's Nest offers two semi-private rooms that can hold up to 14 and 18. One completely private room that can hold up to 10.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (29)
Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Notable Wine List (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (6)
Historic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (5)
Waterfront (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Fun (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
821 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

What a beautiful place!!! The wine was excellent. Service is outstanding. Menu and food are okay.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

The dinner was fantastic. Cod on oxtail, boar shanks, and bison steak were all excellent. Tom Laret, as usual, suggested the perfect wine that went with all three dishes.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Beautiful scenic view, but even though I had requested a table with a view when I made our reservations we were directed to a booth away from the window. Since there was no one sitting at any of the window tables I asked to be moved, which they did with no problem. We were immediately turned off by the server referring to the hostess as "my girl" as in "Did my girl offer you a drink or wine?" We were then disappointed when several of the offerings on the menu were not available. They did not have salmon because "the man who catches the salmon didn't go fishing". Really, no salmon in Alaska? And they did not have the banana split because "the man who makes the ice cream didn't come in today." I had Alaska King Crab Bisque (Sherry gelee, bitter greens, with a tiny crab leg medallion) the was tasty, but barely warm. We ended up ordering very good crab cakes for the "Starters" section as our entree because nothing on the limited entree section appealed to us. They did bring us each a delicious chocolate when they brought the bill.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I enjoy eating at Captain Cooks Crows nest but my last visit was not as good. I was especially upset with menu because it has become very limited with food selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding food, ambiance and service. Premium pricing.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Maybe one of the best Rib eye steaks I have ever had. Good wine list but they were low on Cab Frank options at this time. They were able to find us a nice affordable choice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Beautiful view! Perfect for a special night out and definitely get the banana split!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We had family in town for the first time and wanted a special venue that showed off Anchorage. We were seated on the side of the dining room to show off the sunset over the inlet which was very much appreciated by both myself and our family.
As always, the food and service were spectacular.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service and amazing food. Also you just can't beat the amazing view!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This is an awesome Fine Dining place. . .the best in Alaska and rivals other fine dining restaurants do the world. I had the foie gras and it was prepared beautifully in the classic French style. The food was put very smartly together and it was a real treat. My prime rib steak was heavenly. My husband had the Alaskan Salmon and it was so delicate. It is obvious that all the food was prepared by a well trained hand. Thank you for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our server was excellent. He was friendly and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was incredible, I mean outstanding. The service was wonderful, even their drinks were fabulous. Nothing but wonderful things to say about The Crow's Nest.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My family enjoyed the outstanding service and the excellent food.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Best fine dining in Anchorage. Great place to take business associates.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Historic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The evening was great I enjoyed my meal and the service.

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary tonight and once again the experience was superb. Crow's Nest is one of our favorite places in Anchorage. We ordered a couple bottles of wine, the aged beef carpaccio, wild boar, and bananas foster. Absolutely everything was delicious! The service was (and always has been) attentive, timely, and friendly. Yes, it is pricy, but it is well worth it! It is so wonderful to be pampered every once in awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Another great evening at the Crow's Nest. The wine, cocktails, and service were excellent and the troll-caught king salmon and butternut cheesecake were phenomenal. I would not call this inventive cuisine, but if you want exceptionally good food, wine, and service in the French style, the Crow's Nest can match the best of the best across the U.S. and beyond. The view is a bonus.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We've visited the Crow's Nest on several occasions and they have never disappointed either myself or my guests. The service is exemplary and always the staff is knowledgeable on the cuisine. The views on a clear night is unmatched and for evening dining, Anchorage just sparkles. Quyanna for your continued high standards.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is our go-to destination for some of the top food in Anchorage - and the gorgeous view from atop Tower 3 of the Captain Cook Hotel is such a great pairing. Each course of our meal was stunning, showing considerable sophistication. The service was great, the setting was intimate, and really, it was one of the best all around meals my wife and I have enjoyed in quite some time. Likely, since the last time we ate here! On another note, we usually partake from their excellent wine cellar, but this time went with cocktails, and they still didn't disappoint. Wow.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Incredible views, outstanding food, and warm friendly service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Incredible service for our 29th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service was amazing. The food, to die for. I had the vision bone in ribeye and it was unbelievably tender. The drinks were on point as well. The Crow's Nest is expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was really expecting so much better quality of food for the most expensive restaurant in Anchorage. We ordered 2 different steaks ( one was a local ribeye and the other was a bone in bison). They were both very tough and hard to cut with our steak knives. The potatoes served with the steak were not anything exciting. The crabby patty appetizer was good and the Banana Foster was great. The service was good. They did ask us how our meal was but we did not want to say anything since we wanted to just enjoy our Anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Incredible food with great view and service. We truly enjoyed everything about it for our anniversary. We will go back again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were just there for my wife's birthday on December 14 and I had the same dinner that evening, my wife had the steak and I had the venison, both meals were tough and extremely salty. We were deeply disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The bison was the best I've had. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great Service, Excellent Food, Creative And Unique Menu. Beautiful view from the 20th Floor.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service from the entire staff, the view on the east side of the restaurant was great of the city lights st night, the menu was extensive with very flavorable food choices. Thank you... 😋.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The Crow's Nest always produces great food, super service and an ambient atmosphere. The menu is creative and menu selections are served attractively.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very high quality food and a great setting. The service is great and caters to your wants and needs. The views are hard to beat and are complimented by excellent food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Very subperb! Loved my dinner! Great dessert too! I wished the dessert size was a tad bigger though, I had the bird nest dessert and loved the pistachio sorbet but I wanted more. Great service by Jason! Thank you so much

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Outstanding Job from stuff the wine selection we will be back the 24th for my wife Bday Dinners any stay

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Amazing servers!!
Great food!
The ambiance was nice and the view was great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 7, 2016

My second time there, and it was spectacular again! Amazing food, great wine list, and the service is superb.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The oysters were flat and mushy and my rivets steak was tough and chewy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 2, 2016

It was my first time eating there. besides the wait for the food arrival. I was a bit disappointed at the entrees I ordered, the "Alaska Bois..." it was a bit too salty..

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Amazing food, amazing service. Best of the best in Anchorage.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I was disappointed with the limited selection of dinner choices. I have a difficult time believing that any fishery would close due to thanksgiving. There was no salmon and no halibut due to the fishermen going home for the holiday. The deer and the boar "escaped" from their pens and were also not available. I went to the Captain Cook the year before (same Saturday before thanksgiving) and there were no issues with items being available.
The food we did choose was wonderful, and I will not hesitate to go back, I just found it odd for such a high end establishment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Awesome place!! My Husband and I are from California and each time we come to Anchorage we try to eat here. We had great food, awesome wine and the view is spectacular. Also the service was superb. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.