Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook

Innovative French and New American cuisine, paired with an outstanding selection of over 10,000 bottles of wine. 360 degree views of downtown Anchorage, Chugach Mountain Range and Cook Inlet. Experience Alaska’s finest, at the Hotel Captain Cook.

939 West 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
I Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 343-2217

Website:
http://www.captaincook.com/dining/crows-nest

Parking Details:
The Crow’s Nest offers two types of parking. Valet for up to five hours is $18 per vehicle. Or you may self-park in the Captain Cook parking garage and we validate for up to two hours.

Executive Chef:
Chef De' Cuisine Reuben Gerber

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (55)
Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (43)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Waterfront (10)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic time!! Great food, great service, and awesome wine list

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

The menu was wonderful, and I regret I could only have one meal! The wine list was extensive and complete. I had salmon and it was beautifully prepared and tasted delicious. Our server was very pleasant and attentive, and the views of Anchorage were great.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Phenomenal service and staff. Highly recommend the banana split. It is no ordinary banana split.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our very first dinner as a married couple. Amazing service, good food and wine suggestions. Delicious entrées and even better desserts. Got a surprise "happy anniversary" chocolate bites with a glass of champagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This place is pretty amazing. I was super impressed with the service and the food. The views were spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The service, food and the view were excellent. We were a group of 5 for dinner with a corner table overlooking the city and the port. The restaurant is upscale with a very traditional feel, great for romantic dinner, business meal or simply a great meal with a tremendous view of Anchorage below. Highly recommend the Crow's Nest.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 10, 2017

MY WAITRESS WAS SUPERB. SHE WAS PROFESSIONAL YET EFFERVESCENT. SHE MADE OUR EVENING A JOYFUL AND HAPPY EXPERIENCE

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fabulous view of Cook Inlet as sun was setting and that made the evening. Great cocktails and attentive outstanding service. Oysters on the half shell (Puget sound) not fresh, had an off taste. Not sure why they aren't using the delicious Kachemak bay oysters. Sommelier gave excellent wine recommendation. Main course (black cod) overcooked a little and lost its light and moist freshness. All the same, can't beat the view and ambience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wonderful location. The food was hit and miss. My meat was good, but $40 for 3 mediocre scallops wasn't reasonable. The beet salad was suitable for use as visual humor in Adam Sandler movie making fun of avant garde cuisine. Previous experiences have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Outstanding views, attentive service and attractive food presentation. While the food is very good, the serving sizes are a little small for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent restaurant, will for sure come back again and recommend it to friends

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We had a beautiful meal, the staff especially our waiter Aaron were great. The view of Anchoarge was magical. A must see

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent food, and excellent service. The best in Anchorage.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Absolutely spectacular experience. Food was amazing and servers were knowledgeable of all menu items including wine and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Excellent meal, service and ambiance! Always a good choice for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The Crow's Nest is great for fine dining. I believe this to be the best restaurant in Anchorage and probably Alaska. The atmosphere is very nice, conducive to leisurely dining and quiet conversation. The view of Anchorage is great. In short, it was a wonderful and memorable dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food, fantastic personal service, with incredible views. A must-do experience in Anchorage. Our server, Celia, was among the very best we have enjoyed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Loved our evening. Amazing staff and wonderful Alaskan foods. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and had the perfect Alaskan view. Will definitely come back. Can't that Crow's Nest enough for a fabulous, relaxing evening. Excellent cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent service as always. Wife's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Love this restaurant since the 70's! Open Table did not convey our reservation to the restaurant, but we were able to be seated.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very good as always. Menu needs a bit more flair and new things

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 18, 2017

My wife and I had an amazing night, they were out of the wine we had chosen so the Sommelier Tom selected a similar wine and gave it to us at a lower rate. Chelsea our server was very helpful and made the evening that much more special. And to top it all off when we ordered desert she informed the kitchen it was our anniversary, so they wrote a message congratulating us in chocolate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food was below average for a $40 entrees- was a special night- not a great experience--$200 bucks later

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Tom the Som was outstanding with suggestions. Superb service like the ole days....great food & view, sound level was so refreshing - low and considerate of fellow diners.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We stayed at the hotel on our way to McKinley. We reserved a table at Crow's Nest and were delighted. The service & food were outstandingstading.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Dinning there was all around wonderful. Food was amazing, service was excellent and the views where incredible

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The view was great the waitresses and other workers were very nice and made the atmosphere comforting and they met all my needs

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Organic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Chelsea did a superb job n the semi private room gave us another look at Denali. Fabulous! ThankYou

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Chelsea was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was the 2nd time we eat here this week. The first time on Monday, we gave every category a 5 star. This time my wife ordered halibut that was dry and my steak was loaded with gristle. On Monday, we ordered salmon and king crab legs that were perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was supposed to be my wife's birthday dinner. We took our one year old baby, and while I know the Crow's Nest isn't "kid friendly" that is quite the understatement. We were given a high-chair with a broken seat buckle. We were seated near the bar, and near the only other guests in the restaurant. We were there at 5:30 pm, so it was pretty empty, and I feel we could have been seated elsewhere. Anyway, the kid was a bit fussy, and while we weren't exactly thrown out, we were clearly told that our baby's behavior was unacceptable. My wife lost her appetite, and I guess I did too. We left shortly thereafter, with our food in a take out box. I'm not sure how to rate a perfectly cook piece of halibut that we ate from a paper box while sitting in our front yard after we got home. While the chef did everything right, it just didn't taste like it should have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Outstanding salmon! My martini was mixed as ordered and poured at the table. Our server, Aaron, handled the pace of our time perfectly.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Their cocktails and bread were so good.
Food was excellent, atmosphere and scenic view were fantastic.
Service was professional.
I will be back next summer, too.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food was very good but because the restaurant caters to large groups and private parties we did not get a table with a good view. We had a view of a big ugly building with a beat up roof. We went to that extremely expensive restaurant because the ads for it tout the amazing views. That is not what we got. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The menu had a good selection of meat and seafood dishes. All prepared perfectly. There were six in our party and they arranged a large square table at the window so all had s view. They made us a nice dessert plate of chocolates for our anniversary treat. We will be back to try the bouillabaisse. The halibut and bison were excellent, but the bouillabaisse looked delicious too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wait staff was extremely friendly and the food was delicious. Highly recommend the banana split!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Menu too limited. Prices too high. Food not that flavorful considering the hype.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great meal overall but atmosphere would have been helped by some background music!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Refreshing food presentations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The food experience the last two times we have been there we're not what we expect from such a great place.
We were there at Christmas, and I had the Wildboar which I normally love. But this time it was dry and seem to be the end of their stock of meat. This time I had the black cod and it was the end tailpiece and it was fishy tasting I did not like it with the ox tail . There were very few gnocchi on my plate as well .

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.