About Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook

939 West 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Innovative French and New American cuisine, paired with an outstanding selection of over 10,000 bottles of wine. 360 degree views of downtown Anchorage, Chugach Mountain Range and Cook Inlet. Experience Alaska’s finest, at the Hotel Captain Cook.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
I Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 343-2217

Website:
http://www.captaincook.com/dining/crows-nest

Parking Details:
The Crow’s Nest offers two types of parking. Valet for up to five hours is $18 per vehicle. Or you may self-park in the Captain Cook parking garage and we validate for up to two hours.

Executive Chef:
Chef De' Cuisine Reuben Gerber

Private Party Facilities:
The Crow's Nest offers two semi-private rooms that can hold up to 14 and 18. One completely private room that can hold up to 10.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
15 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Notable Wine List
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Notable Wine List
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (66)
scenic view (64)
romantic (61)
See All
notable wine list (45)
fit for foodies (30)
good for groups (13)
late-night find (7)
hot spot (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crows Nest is the Best

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The Crows Nest is certainly the finest of the many wonderful restaurants in Anchorage. The service is excellent, views of the inlet extraordinary and food unique and well-prepared. It is more expensive than other restaurants, but if you are looki8ng for a high quality, intimate meal in secluded surroundings for a special occasion, this is the best choice. We come here once a year or so and are never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricy

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was great, but our guests and I thought you were slightly over priced by 1/3 or so!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual food was excellent and service ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

As usual food was excellent and service impeccable. I did not catch her name but our server was perfect; intelligent, attentive without being over bearing and interesting to talk with, especially about the two bottles of $10,000 Petrus which they have in the cellar (No, we were not tempted to try one). A great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience, great view.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Awesome experience, great view.

food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Rude Service

Dined on April 30, 2016

Surprised my daughter by taking her to Crows Nest for her birthday just to have the wait or joke about how spoiled she is for being there!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Evening

Dined on April 24, 2016

My Daughters Birthday had to be perfect. Crow's Nest did the job. The perfect table, the perfect meal and a lovely Birthday Plate. The Service was outstanding. Thank You to all those that took part in making My Daughters Birthday everything I wanted it to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really nice dinner. Drinks were mixed p ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Really nice dinner. Drinks were mixed perfectly. Everything was cooked correctly. Scenery was nice at the top of the Captain Cook Hotel. We both had a really good time.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrating Life

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I decided to take some time to enjoy a nice meal with a great view in a nice restaurant. Just to celebrate life. Our server Katie was amazing, her assistant Joseph was very pleasant as well. They made a great time, great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice for an anniversary

Dined on April 20, 2016

Very nice restaurant for a special occasion. Service is top notch, food is great, and the view is amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

hostess mislead me on table traffic surrounding

Dined on April 19, 2016

not happy with bad information about noise level and traffic in proximity of my table

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderfully romantic

Dined on April 5, 2016

We had an amazing time at the Crow's Nest! Outstanding service, wonderful food, and majestic views from the top of the Captain Cook overlooking downtown Anchorage, the Chugach and Talkeetna mountain ranges, Mt Susitna and even Denali! . Definitely an unforgettable experience on our dream vacation. We enjoyed every bite of the cheese slate appetizer, creamy king crab bisque, venison loin and the rib eye . And then to top off the evening... an unbelievable banana split!! Yum. Also, they have a smooth root beer on tap as a non-alcoholic option. Top-notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, excellent food, great service ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

As always, excellent food, great service and consistency. Apart from the magnificent view.....

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, ambience and prices.

Dined on April 3, 2016

You really can't beat the Crow's Nest for the level of quality, service and attention to your needs. We have been to many fine dining restaurants all over the country. The Crow's Nest is still the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Good service , coooked well, poor quality.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Im a lifelong alaskan and x black cod long liner, so when I order Black Cod I know what good should taste like . This was a well prepared but old piece of fish . When i explained that i was told it was normal for it to taste that way . Anyway my takeaway was great service and great cook ,justreally poor product , was a lityle freezr burnt im guessing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just do it

Dined on March 22, 2016

For Benihana $ you can go first class, does not disappoint,food, view, service, atmosphere, all great

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place to celebrate our anniversary!

Dined on March 20, 2016

The atmosphere was perfect quiet romantic setting. The staff were fabulous and they all took great care of us. The food was out of this world, timing was great for every course and we enjoyed every minute of our dinner. Our desserts came out with Happy Anniversary in chocolate on the plates which was a nice touch. We would defiantly go back there in a heart beat :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Inadequate parking voucher

Dined on March 15, 2016

Upon leaving the Crow's Nest I asked if they validated parking at the garage across K street. The hostess said yes, and gave me two vouchers to use for payment. However, the two vouchers were insufficient; I had to use my credit card to make an additional payment. I was not happy, especially as I had tipped the hostess $5!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best if not the best restaurant in AK

Dined on March 8, 2016

Staff was very pleasant, wine assist was spot on, cocktails fantastic, and flawless execution and creativity by the chef. Can't wait to go back. Be prepared for a spendy meal but you get what you pay for and worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Service is on point portions are lacking

Dined on March 6, 2016

The service at crows nest was on point. Our waitress was super friendly and helpful he checked in many times on us. The food was full of flavor I had the duck and it was the best tasting duck I've ever had however the portions were very small I left still hungry.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Meal, Great View and Great Experience!

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

We were given the best table in the house, which had the best view overlooking Anchorage. The meal was phenomenal, from the starters to the dessert. Loved the service too, our waitress did a great job in making our meal a very memorable one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Likely the most elegant dining in Anchorage

Dined on February 28, 2016

First and foremost, the New York Strip steak was the best I've had to date. The rich, earthy flavor and the complex flavors of a dry aged cut was unmatched. The bananas foster had quite a tasteful show to go along with it, and the signature banana split was gorgeous enough to be art and tasted good enough to be the same.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3

Crab cakes no flavor. Caesar salad not ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Crab cakes no flavor. Caesar salad not good! Coffee stayed empty! Very sad this use to be the place for good food. steak looked great but hard to cut. Needed salt. It's all show!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capt Cook Crows Nest

Dined on February 28, 2016

Best dining experience ever enjoyed in Anchorage! Perfect choice for dinner after the Rondy Melodram for viewing fireworks and enjoying excellent food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service~!

Dined on February 23, 2016

Though a bit pricey, the food was very flavorful and well prepared~!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorry you dropped the ball regarding the flowers.

Dined on February 21, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, first class service and great food......But bring your own flowers....because they won't tell you they can't provide them and when you get to your first anniversary dinner with your new bride...They won't be in the table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I forgot my servers name, but she was aw ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

I forgot my servers name, but she was awesome, really funny and friendly :) This was our first time here and the view was spectacular as well as the food

food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress Kimberly was outstanding. T ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The waitress Kimberly was outstanding. The food was superb and everything was amazing! Great place to celebrate an anniversary.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not just great view, wonderful food as well

Dined on February 20, 2016

Service was wonderful. Wonderful appetizers/salads, and the rib eye was much bigger than expected. Sauce on the steak was great and cooked perfectly. The highlight was the banana split. Large portions and is a work of art.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great! but had some strange flaws

Dined on February 12, 2016

To keep it short everything was great, great food, great service. Only exceptions were the grumpy looking hostess who look bothered that we were there. And the fact that they sat us at a tiny high traffic table, when we had a reservation & the place was empty. Probably not how you should treat someone looking to move $200 to your business. Otherwise it was super, & the previous time was flawless.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit and is was our celebrati ...

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

Our first visit and is was our celebration for Valentine's Day. Was wonderful and exceeded our expectations. Kimberly was a wonderful server that timed everything, made recommendations to enhance our dining experience. When we were first seated, we were next to a really noisy table and right near the bar. I asked to be moved and we were promptly accommodated at a quite table. As I had stated in our Rez that we were looking for romance..:. Wine list is very complete with a few really fun choices as well as some less common selections. I could have pages through all night. We will be back, the pricing is very reasonable and we really enjoyed our meal.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The Crow's Nest has always been my favor ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

The Crow's Nest has always been my favorite spot for after work drinks and appetizers. Unfortunately, for the price of the food I do not feel dinner is worth the penny. Our party ordered the black cod, duck, crab legs and a salad. The duck was executed perfectly and was the only dish worth the cost. The cod was mediocre but I found the flavors rather flat. I will note, however, that the oxtail component was superb. Sadly for an Alaskan restaurant, the crab legs were dried out and the texture slightly mushy. Perhaps last year's batch? Regardless, for a restaurant of this caliber I do expect an Alaskan speciality to be prepared perfectly. Service was spot on and the wines, as always, wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Has such an amazing evening. Good and dr ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Has such an amazing evening. Good and drinks were fantastic and the night was made perfect by having our server, Chelsea. Will request her every time we go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant. My favorite. Tonig ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Love this restaurant. My favorite. Tonight loud business meeting going on at next table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive but Amazing

Dined on January 24, 2016

If you're on a tight budget, don't go here. The food is EXPENSIVE, and the portions are small/average. But if you've got money to spend, this place is incredible. I took my wife here for her birthday. The food (especially the Rib-Eye) was AMAZING, we loved the view, the service was phenomenal, and if I ever want to spoil my wife again I'll be bringing her back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service2

Our server Ryan was lazy at best. I have ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Our server Ryan was lazy at best. I have eaten here several times and tonight by far was the least enjoyable experience. And the worst service I have ever had at this very fine establishment. The food was the only redeemable factor. Thank you chefs.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Very nice place to go for a ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Great food. Very nice place to go for a special occassion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Crow's Nest Extraordinaire

Dined on January 17, 2016

Great ambiance; we've been here many times. It was my brother's 60th birthday and he really enjoyed the entire repertoire of the servers and wine sommelier. Thanks for the great evening.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellence defined

Dined on January 17, 2016

Days have passed, and I'm still reminiscing over the meal I shared with my daughter while overlooking downtown Anchorage and the Cook Inlet. The lighting was perfect - bright enough to see clearly, soft enough to help create a warm, classy ambience. Our service staff was impeccable, as though they read our minds. The goat cheese pa na gotta with lavender honey settled me right in, the olive rolls were crisp and warm, and my glass was never more than half empty. Our crab cake starter was just as amazing as I remembered, and I was left wanting more. I split the rib eye with my dining partner (we had our own sides), and we were more than satisfied with 8 oz each. Those fingerling potatoes, now they combined incredible flavors, one of which I still can't figure out. To finish, my table shared the Chocolate Delici, which combined a molten lava cake, a scoop of whipped raspberry ice cream, and a cream sauce. Such presentation!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service5

The Crows nest is due for a remodel! The ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

The Crows nest is due for a remodel! The food was good and service excellent but it has the same dreary look it had 25 years ago

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an experience

Dined on December 29, 2015

Its a 5 star experience in beautiful Alaska. If youre in for a romantic evening in the area then this is the restaurant. I plan my visit to AK around this restaurant everytime.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.