About Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook

939 West 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Innovative French and New American cuisine, paired with an outstanding selection of over 10,000 bottles of wine. 360 degree views of downtown Anchorage, Chugach Mountain Range and Cook Inlet. Experience Alaska’s finest, at the Hotel Captain Cook.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
I Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 343-2217

Website:
http://www.captaincook.com/dining/crows-nest

Parking Details:
The Crow’s Nest offers two types of parking. Valet for up to five hours is $18 per vehicle. Or you may self-park in the Captain Cook parking garage and we validate for up to two hours.

Executive Chef:
Chef De' Cuisine Reuben Gerber

Private Party Facilities:
The Crow's Nest offers two semi-private rooms that can hold up to 14 and 18. One completely private room that can hold up to 10.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Permafrost vodka Martini
Soft Seared Halibut
Manhattan
Seared Diver Sea Scallops
Seafood Bouillabaisse
Ahi tuna
Sweet and Spicy Sausage Stuffed Quail
Filet Mignon
King Crab Curry Soup
Amuse-bouche
Alaskan King Crab
Resurrection Bay Cod
Salmon
Caesar Salad
Fruitti Di Mari
Butternut Soup
Osso Bucco
Crabby Patty
Pear And Feta Salad

Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
13 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

scenic view (71)
special occasion (70)
romantic (60)
See All
notable wine list (49)
fit for foodies (32)
good for groups (12)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (5)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Crow's Nest. The staff had a congratulations note waiting at our table. The view was spectacular, the service stellar, and the food wonderful. In all it was a perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great! Have eaten there many times and a ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great! Have eaten there many times and absolutely every time is excellent and prepared just right and service always tops

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We had altogether two appetizers and two ...

Dined 7 days ago

We had altogether two appetizers and two entrees. The appetizer with bone marrow was the best dish of the four. The vegetarian entree would have been better with an additional element to tie everything together. Whipped chevre or something like that would have made it a great dish. The service and the view were excellent.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

I had a couple of special requests (view ...

Dined 7 days ago

I had a couple of special requests (view and seating next to each other instead of across the table) and it was perfectly set up that way. Much appreciated!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and drinks. Crow's Nest is th ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food and drinks. Crow's Nest is the perfect place for my husband and I to enjoy alone time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Outstanding views and ambiance! The foo ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Outstanding views and ambiance! The food was incredible. We ordered the bone marrow appetizer and it was well worth the extra few minutes wait. It was decadent and creamy with a perfect light crust of subtle and salty cheese. The black cod was among the best pieces of fish I've ever eaten. My wife's scallops were perfectly seared and each of our dishes was presented in the most beautiful manner. The cocktails were skillfully prepared and the wine list is amazing. This is an exquisite restaurant experience in Anchorage that anyone who appreciates fine dining will absolutely enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We haven't been the Crow's Nest in many ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We haven't been the Crow's Nest in many years because at that time it seemed overpriced and undervalued. Boy has it changed! We had dinner there last week and was very pleasantly surprised. An outstanding menu. I had a great rib steak and my wife had a wonderful King salmon. The wine was great, service was very good, and we were very happy with the overall experience. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect place to eat, Excellent Custome ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Perfect place to eat, Excellent Customer service :) I highly recommend this place to everyone. The food is so delicious, King crab legs, Dessert and appetizer are perfect:) Thanks Definitely going back there every single day :D

food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite restaurant to dine ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant to dine in when in Anchorage.The food is wonderful,the views Are terrific and the people that work there are amazing.Chelsea could not be a better server.Logan also did a great job.Katie is so personable and a great manager.We also enjoyed talking to Alex,the hostess and David and Milosz,the busboys.We left feeling as if we had known all of them before.We ate there 3 times this week.We had everything from King crab to salmon to boar shanks.They were all fabulous.You cannot go wrong here.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Anchorage favorite

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

I must say that we were disappointed in the food quality given the favorable reviews we had read on Open Table. And the prices were reflective of a top notch restaurant; however, the two salads we had were very average, and the salmon was over cooked notwithstanding our request for it to be medium rare. The service was excellent.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Excellent Fine Dining Experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

We went to the Crow's Nest to celebrate my wife's birthday. They accommodated my advance seating request. The service was spectacular, expedient and courteous, and our main server was very warm and attentive. The meal itself was exceptional, ever course a wonderful blend of flavors, prepared with skill. We love this establishment for special occasions. They never disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The crab legs were amazing!! They cut th ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The crab legs were amazing!! They cut them open for you so there is no mess! They are huge and it was too much food for me to eat. I also ordered the Brussel sprouts that were grilled and seasoned lightly to perfection. The mashed potatoes were alright. View was good and it was quiet enough to talk.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, great view, and impeccab ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food, great view, and impeccable service. As a local here in Anchorage, I would rate Crow's Nest the city's #1 fine dining establishment. I had the halibut and the other two in the party had the king crab. Both were very tasty. Caesar salad and crab bisque were enjoyed, and the table side bananas foster was as fun to watch as it was to eat. The only two things I can think to suggest would be a more basic appetizer option and actual iced tea (the ice had melted in our glass by the time it made it to our glass every time).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crows Nest is the Best

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

The Crows Nest is certainly the finest of the many wonderful restaurants in Anchorage. The service is excellent, views of the inlet extraordinary and food unique and well-prepared. It is more expensive than other restaurants, but if you are looki8ng for a high quality, intimate meal in secluded surroundings for a special occasion, this is the best choice. We come here once a year or so and are never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricy

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was great, but our guests and I thought you were slightly over priced by 1/3 or so!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal in anchorage. Nice views of th ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Best meal in anchorage. Nice views of the city with delicious fresh food and attentive waiters.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual food was excellent and service ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

As usual food was excellent and service impeccable. I did not catch her name but our server was perfect; intelligent, attentive without being over bearing and interesting to talk with, especially about the two bottles of $10,000 Petrus which they have in the cellar (No, we were not tempted to try one). A great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience, great view.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Awesome experience, great view.

food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Rude Service

Dined on April 30, 2016

Surprised my daughter by taking her to Crows Nest for her birthday just to have the wait or joke about how spoiled she is for being there!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Evening

Dined on April 24, 2016

My Daughters Birthday had to be perfect. Crow's Nest did the job. The perfect table, the perfect meal and a lovely Birthday Plate. The Service was outstanding. Thank You to all those that took part in making My Daughters Birthday everything I wanted it to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really nice dinner. Drinks were mixed p ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Really nice dinner. Drinks were mixed perfectly. Everything was cooked correctly. Scenery was nice at the top of the Captain Cook Hotel. We both had a really good time.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrating Life

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I decided to take some time to enjoy a nice meal with a great view in a nice restaurant. Just to celebrate life. Our server Katie was amazing, her assistant Joseph was very pleasant as well. They made a great time, great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice for an anniversary

Dined on April 20, 2016

Very nice restaurant for a special occasion. Service is top notch, food is great, and the view is amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

hostess mislead me on table traffic surrounding

Dined on April 19, 2016

not happy with bad information about noise level and traffic in proximity of my table

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderfully romantic

Dined on April 5, 2016

We had an amazing time at the Crow's Nest! Outstanding service, wonderful food, and majestic views from the top of the Captain Cook overlooking downtown Anchorage, the Chugach and Talkeetna mountain ranges, Mt Susitna and even Denali! . Definitely an unforgettable experience on our dream vacation. We enjoyed every bite of the cheese slate appetizer, creamy king crab bisque, venison loin and the rib eye . And then to top off the evening... an unbelievable banana split!! Yum. Also, they have a smooth root beer on tap as a non-alcoholic option. Top-notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, excellent food, great service ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

As always, excellent food, great service and consistency. Apart from the magnificent view.....

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, ambience and prices.

Dined on April 3, 2016

You really can't beat the Crow's Nest for the level of quality, service and attention to your needs. We have been to many fine dining restaurants all over the country. The Crow's Nest is still the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Good service , coooked well, poor quality.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Im a lifelong alaskan and x black cod long liner, so when I order Black Cod I know what good should taste like . This was a well prepared but old piece of fish . When i explained that i was told it was normal for it to taste that way . Anyway my takeaway was great service and great cook ,justreally poor product , was a lityle freezr burnt im guessing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just do it

Dined on March 22, 2016

For Benihana $ you can go first class, does not disappoint,food, view, service, atmosphere, all great

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place to celebrate our anniversary!

Dined on March 20, 2016

The atmosphere was perfect quiet romantic setting. The staff were fabulous and they all took great care of us. The food was out of this world, timing was great for every course and we enjoyed every minute of our dinner. Our desserts came out with Happy Anniversary in chocolate on the plates which was a nice touch. We would defiantly go back there in a heart beat :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Inadequate parking voucher

Dined on March 15, 2016

Upon leaving the Crow's Nest I asked if they validated parking at the garage across K street. The hostess said yes, and gave me two vouchers to use for payment. However, the two vouchers were insufficient; I had to use my credit card to make an additional payment. I was not happy, especially as I had tipped the hostess $5!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best if not the best restaurant in AK

Dined on March 8, 2016

Staff was very pleasant, wine assist was spot on, cocktails fantastic, and flawless execution and creativity by the chef. Can't wait to go back. Be prepared for a spendy meal but you get what you pay for and worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Service is on point portions are lacking

Dined on March 6, 2016

The service at crows nest was on point. Our waitress was super friendly and helpful he checked in many times on us. The food was full of flavor I had the duck and it was the best tasting duck I've ever had however the portions were very small I left still hungry.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Meal, Great View and Great Experience!

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

We were given the best table in the house, which had the best view overlooking Anchorage. The meal was phenomenal, from the starters to the dessert. Loved the service too, our waitress did a great job in making our meal a very memorable one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Likely the most elegant dining in Anchorage

Dined on February 28, 2016

First and foremost, the New York Strip steak was the best I've had to date. The rich, earthy flavor and the complex flavors of a dry aged cut was unmatched. The bananas foster had quite a tasteful show to go along with it, and the signature banana split was gorgeous enough to be art and tasted good enough to be the same.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3

Crab cakes no flavor. Caesar salad not ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Crab cakes no flavor. Caesar salad not good! Coffee stayed empty! Very sad this use to be the place for good food. steak looked great but hard to cut. Needed salt. It's all show!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capt Cook Crows Nest

Dined on February 28, 2016

Best dining experience ever enjoyed in Anchorage! Perfect choice for dinner after the Rondy Melodram for viewing fireworks and enjoying excellent food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service~!

Dined on February 23, 2016

Though a bit pricey, the food was very flavorful and well prepared~!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorry you dropped the ball regarding the flowers.

Dined on February 21, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, first class service and great food......But bring your own flowers....because they won't tell you they can't provide them and when you get to your first anniversary dinner with your new bride...They won't be in the table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I forgot my servers name, but she was aw ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

I forgot my servers name, but she was awesome, really funny and friendly :) This was our first time here and the view was spectacular as well as the food

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.