About Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook

939 West 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Innovative French and New American cuisine, paired with an outstanding selection of over 10,000 bottles of wine. 360 degree views of downtown Anchorage, Chugach Mountain Range and Cook Inlet. Experience Alaska’s finest, at the Hotel Captain Cook.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
I Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 343-2217

Website:
http://www.captaincook.com/dining/crows-nest

Parking Details:
The Crow’s Nest offers two types of parking. Valet for up to five hours is $18 per vehicle. Or you may self-park in the Captain Cook parking garage and we validate for up to two hours.

Executive Chef:
Chef De' Cuisine Reuben Gerber

Private Party Facilities:
The Crow's Nest offers two semi-private rooms that can hold up to 14 and 18. One completely private room that can hold up to 10.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (26)
Romantic (23)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (4)
Historic (4)
Waterfront (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
811 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server was excellent. He was friendl ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server was excellent. He was friendly and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was incredible, I mean outstand ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was incredible, I mean outstanding. The service was wonderful, even their drinks were fabulous. Nothing but wonderful things to say about The Crow's Nest.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family enjoyed the outstanding servic ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My family enjoyed the outstanding service and the excellent food.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous experience!

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best fine dining in Anchorage. Great pl ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Best fine dining in Anchorage. Great place to take business associates.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Historic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening was great I enjoyed my meal ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The evening was great I enjoyed my meal and the service.

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary tonight an ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary tonight and once again the experience was superb. Crow's Nest is one of our favorite places in Anchorage. We ordered a couple bottles of wine, the aged beef carpaccio, wild boar, and bananas foster. Absolutely everything was delicious! The service was (and always has been) attentive, timely, and friendly. Yes, it is pricy, but it is well worth it! It is so wonderful to be pampered every once in awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great evening at the Crow's Nest ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Another great evening at the Crow's Nest. The wine, cocktails, and service were excellent and the troll-caught king salmon and butternut cheesecake were phenomenal. I would not call this inventive cuisine, but if you want exceptionally good food, wine, and service in the French style, the Crow's Nest can match the best of the best across the U.S. and beyond. The view is a bonus.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We've visited the Crow's Nest on several ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We've visited the Crow's Nest on several occasions and they have never disappointed either myself or my guests. The service is exemplary and always the staff is knowledgeable on the cuisine. The views on a clear night is unmatched and for evening dining, Anchorage just sparkles. Quyanna for your continued high standards.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our go-to destination for some o ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is our go-to destination for some of the top food in Anchorage - and the gorgeous view from atop Tower 3 of the Captain Cook Hotel is such a great pairing. Each course of our meal was stunning, showing considerable sophistication. The service was great, the setting was intimate, and really, it was one of the best all around meals my wife and I have enjoyed in quite some time. Likely, since the last time we ate here! On another note, we usually partake from their excellent wine cellar, but this time went with cocktails, and they still didn't disappoint. Wow.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible views, outstanding food, and ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Incredible views, outstanding food, and warm friendly service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible service for our 29th wedding ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Incredible service for our 29th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing. The food, to di ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service was amazing. The food, to die for. I had the vision bone in ribeye and it was unbelievably tender. The drinks were on point as well. The Crow's Nest is expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was really expecting so much better qu ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was really expecting so much better quality of food for the most expensive restaurant in Anchorage. We ordered 2 different steaks ( one was a local ribeye and the other was a bone in bison). They were both very tough and hard to cut with our steak knives. The potatoes served with the steak were not anything exciting. The crabby patty appetizer was good and the Banana Foster was great. The service was good. They did ask us how our meal was but we did not want to say anything since we wanted to just enjoy our Anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Incredible food with great view and serv ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Incredible food with great view and service. We truly enjoyed everything about it for our anniversary. We will go back again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were just there for my wife's birthda ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were just there for my wife's birthday on December 14 and I had the same dinner that evening, my wife had the steak and I had the venison, both meals were tough and extremely salty. We were deeply disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

The bison was the best I've had. Highly ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The bison was the best I've had. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, Excellent Food, Creative ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great Service, Excellent Food, Creative And Unique Menu. Beautiful view from the 20th Floor.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from the entire staff, the ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service from the entire staff, the view on the east side of the restaurant was great of the city lights st night, the menu was extensive with very flavorable food choices. Thank you... 😋.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Crow's Nest always produces great fo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The Crow's Nest always produces great food, super service and an ambient atmosphere. The menu is creative and menu selections are served attractively.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very high quality food and a great setti ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very high quality food and a great setting. The service is great and caters to your wants and needs. The views are hard to beat and are complimented by excellent food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very subperb! Loved my dinner! Great des ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Very subperb! Loved my dinner! Great dessert too! I wished the dessert size was a tad bigger though, I had the bird nest dessert and loved the pistachio sorbet but I wanted more. Great service by Jason! Thank you so much

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, , Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding Job from stuff the wine sele ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Outstanding Job from stuff the wine selection we will be back the 24th for my wife Bday Dinners any stay

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing servers!! Great food! The ambian ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Amazing servers!!

Great food!

The ambiance was nice and the view was great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My second time there, and it was spectac ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 7, 2016

My second time there, and it was spectacular again! Amazing food, great wine list, and the service is superb.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The oysters were flat and mushy and my r ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The oysters were flat and mushy and my rivets steak was tough and chewy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

It was my first time eating there. besid ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 2, 2016

It was my first time eating there. besides the wait for the food arrival. I was a bit disappointed at the entrees I ordered, the "Alaska Bois..." it was a bit too salty..

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing food, amazing service. Best of t ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Amazing food, amazing service. Best of the best in Anchorage.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed with the limited sele ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I was disappointed with the limited selection of dinner choices. I have a difficult time believing that any fishery would close due to thanksgiving. There was no salmon and no halibut due to the fishermen going home for the holiday. The deer and the boar "escaped" from their pens and were also not available. I went to the Captain Cook the year before (same Saturday before thanksgiving) and there were no issues with items being available.

The food we did choose was wonderful, and I will not hesitate to go back, I just found it odd for such a high end establishment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Awesome place!! My Husband and I are fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Awesome place!! My Husband and I are from California and each time we come to Anchorage we try to eat here. We had great food, awesome wine and the view is spectacular. Also the service was superb. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience, great view, great ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent experience, great view, great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent! We both had the ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was excellent! We both had the crab cakes which were delicious. You only get one so we decided not to share and get our own. My husband had the rib eye and said it was the best steak he's ever had. The homemade steak sauce was superb. I had the oxtail and black cod. So good! We didn't do the soup/salad because we wanted to make sure we had room for the bananas foster desert! We loved it. The only negative is you have to have a minimum of 2 order it. If you are out as a couple or even a group and only one person wants bananas foster you are kind of out of luck. I'm just glad my husband wanted it too. Maybe he just wanted it so I could have it because that's all I talked about for days! We were seated promptly and our server was very helpful and nice! The view was beautiful. It is a little confusing finding your way to the correct elevator since there is more than one tower, but once you've done it, it isn't a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tom Laret is fantastic! The service is ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Tom Laret is fantastic! The service is extraordinary!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as usual! The Crow's Nest nev ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful as usual! The Crow's Nest never disappoints us. The bartender makes the best martini in town, the waitstaff is attentive without interrupting, the views are amazing, and the food is spectacular. We had the venison and wild boar on this visit and Tom (the sommelier) recommended a wine that was a perfect pairing.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Boar and Venison excellent. Wine list gr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Boar and Venison excellent. Wine list great. View terrifiv.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

VERY nice dining experience. Being an Al ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

VERY nice dining experience. Being an Alaskan I was a little disappointed in the size & number of the scallops.

Wine was a good and Chelsea was a wonderful server.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ordered the Rib Eye steak. It was by ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We ordered the Rib Eye steak. It was by far the best steak I have ever ate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was terrible!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The service was terrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We were celebrating our 29th Wedding Ann ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were celebrating our 29th Wedding Anniversary, other than a nice table in the corner we didn't feel special. Our server just went awwh, Happy Anniversary when my husband said what we were celebrating.

The food was really really good but a bit over priced.

The dessert menu was mostly savory desserts and therefore we did not get anything. I would at least keep a good dessert on the menu along with the banana foster such as a normal chocolate cake with no coffee (hubby doesn't like coffee) or another choice.

Overall was a great meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Surely the best place to eat a fine meal ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Surely the best place to eat a fine meal in Anchorage.....

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.