Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook

Innovative French and New American cuisine, paired with an outstanding selection of over 10,000 bottles of wine. 360 degree views of downtown Anchorage, Chugach Mountain Range and Cook Inlet. Experience Alaska’s finest, at the Hotel Captain Cook.

939 West 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
I Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 343-2217

Website:
http://www.captaincook.com/dining/crows-nest

Parking Details:
The Crow’s Nest offers two types of parking. Valet for up to five hours is $18 per vehicle. Or you may self-park in the Captain Cook parking garage and we validate for up to two hours.

Executive Chef:
Chef De' Cuisine Reuben Gerber

Private Party Facilities:
The Crow's Nest offers two semi-private rooms that can hold up to 14 and 18. One completely private room that can hold up to 10.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (35)
Romantic (34)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for a Date (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Business Meals (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Waterfront (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (5)
Historic (5)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
840 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 3 days ago

Arrived at this restaurant the previous night for a cocktail and cheese playter. Service was friendly, prompt and courteous. Enjoyed it and decided to bring a larger group for dinner the next night. Our waiter, Logan, and his colleagues were locals who knew their menu, explained the entrees as needed and provided excellent service. Very attentive but not overbearing. The bananas foster, prepared tableside, for dessert capped an excellent evening. The view of the city, mountains, and bay certainly helped with the conversation. Fabulous Halibut!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing view. Best place for Manhattans this side of Girdwood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Delicious meal & lovely attentive service. I would request mountain view if I return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food and service! My only wish is for the menu to change more often. I hope they come up with new appetizers and entrees as we dine here often and I'm wanting to experience something different. The reason why we keep on coming back is their wine selection. There are only a few restaurants in Anchorage that offer a wide selection of red Burgundy, which is a must for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great view of Anchorage plus great food - highly recommend it to first time visitors to Anchorage

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We ordered charcuterie, foie gras, oysters, king crab bisque, and king salmon followed by bananas foster. Everything was well executed and delicious. Service was friendly and professional. View was worth the visit.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 12, 2017

After having not been to the Crow's Nest for over ten years, it was gratifying to see that this landmark Anchorage restaurant is still a quality, elegant evening dinner destination. My halibut was moist, flavorful and cooked to the right temperature and texture. One of my guests boasted about her vegetarian dish being well prepared and tasty. The view from almost anywhere in the restaurant is spectacular (not downtown Anchorage, but the mountains in the distance). For that reason the ambiance of the decor inside makes little difference, but if this was in the dark of winter and the outside presented no view, the somewhat dark and dismal interior with its dark woods and heavy walls, furniture and fixtures could be sobering. Actually, the whole hotel could be lightened up a bit. It is probably one of the four or five most expensive restaurants in Anchorage. Still, all things considered, Crow's Nest makes a good impression on your guests and worth the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The staff really went the extra mile to make our anniversary special.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food Really So wonderfull and fresh
Professional service
I will be back

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The Somelier accommodated even though I incorrectly made reservation on line. Steak was huge!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We've always enjoyed Crows Nest as a special occasion restaurant. We were there 3 weeks ago and had honestly forgotten how good it was. However they fell short tonight. We found a lady bug, as well as another bug in our Caesar Salad, and I ordered the $67 dollar Bison Ribeye that the Chef recommended medium temperature, and I got a well done steak. I hope this was just a night "off", however at that price point I feel a night off is unacceptable. However, I will eat there again and would recommend it to anyone celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was nice to go to a quality restaurant and find the service was prompt and friendly, food was well crafted, quality wine and drink list, conversational ambiance, beautiful 360 view of city, and dress code was appreciated-made for a delightful special occasion celebration. Restaurant tops-literally and figuratively!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 19, 2017

As usual, everything was amazing. The food, the drinks, the staff, all of it.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The appetizers, main course and wine pairings are just outstanding.
Great service !!!
Gorgeous views and very romantic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Overall It was a great experience for me 😊👌🏼 The food is perfect, the service is very good, a little pricey but it's fine dining so it's all good :) very worth it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Authentic, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Although it took a long time between courses, the meal was outstanding and worth the wait. Our waiter was friendly , knowledgeable about the menu, and the wine list was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Super fancy! Everyone was so kind and the food is great. A lot of really fancy places can be stuff, but this place is fancy but approachable. Great sommelier and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 26, 2017

What a beautiful place!!! The wine was excellent. Service is outstanding. Menu and food are okay.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent food, ambiance, service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The dinner was fantastic. Cod on oxtail, boar shanks, and bison steak were all excellent. Tom Laret, as usual, suggested the perfect wine that went with all three dishes.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Beautiful scenic view, but even though I had requested a table with a view when I made our reservations we were directed to a booth away from the window. Since there was no one sitting at any of the window tables I asked to be moved, which they did with no problem. We were immediately turned off by the server referring to the hostess as "my girl" as in "Did my girl offer you a drink or wine?" We were then disappointed when several of the offerings on the menu were not available. They did not have salmon because "the man who catches the salmon didn't go fishing". Really, no salmon in Alaska? And they did not have the banana split because "the man who makes the ice cream didn't come in today." I had Alaska King Crab Bisque (Sherry gelee, bitter greens, with a tiny crab leg medallion) the was tasty, but barely warm. We ended up ordering very good crab cakes for the "Starters" section as our entree because nothing on the limited entree section appealed to us. They did bring us each a delicious chocolate when they brought the bill.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I enjoy eating at Captain Cooks Crows nest but my last visit was not as good. I was especially upset with menu because it has become very limited with food selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding food, ambiance and service. Premium pricing.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Maybe one of the best Rib eye steaks I have ever had. Good wine list but they were low on Cab Frank options at this time. They were able to find us a nice affordable choice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Beautiful view! Perfect for a special night out and definitely get the banana split!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We had family in town for the first time and wanted a special venue that showed off Anchorage. We were seated on the side of the dining room to show off the sunset over the inlet which was very much appreciated by both myself and our family.
As always, the food and service were spectacular.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service and amazing food. Also you just can't beat the amazing view!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This is an awesome Fine Dining place. . .the best in Alaska and rivals other fine dining restaurants do the world. I had the foie gras and it was prepared beautifully in the classic French style. The food was put very smartly together and it was a real treat. My prime rib steak was heavenly. My husband had the Alaskan Salmon and it was so delicate. It is obvious that all the food was prepared by a well trained hand. Thank you for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our server was excellent. He was friendly and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was incredible, I mean outstanding. The service was wonderful, even their drinks were fabulous. Nothing but wonderful things to say about The Crow's Nest.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My family enjoyed the outstanding service and the excellent food.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Best fine dining in Anchorage. Great place to take business associates.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Historic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The evening was great I enjoyed my meal and the service.

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary tonight and once again the experience was superb. Crow's Nest is one of our favorite places in Anchorage. We ordered a couple bottles of wine, the aged beef carpaccio, wild boar, and bananas foster. Absolutely everything was delicious! The service was (and always has been) attentive, timely, and friendly. Yes, it is pricy, but it is well worth it! It is so wonderful to be pampered every once in awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Another great evening at the Crow's Nest. The wine, cocktails, and service were excellent and the troll-caught king salmon and butternut cheesecake were phenomenal. I would not call this inventive cuisine, but if you want exceptionally good food, wine, and service in the French style, the Crow's Nest can match the best of the best across the U.S. and beyond. The view is a bonus.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We've visited the Crow's Nest on several occasions and they have never disappointed either myself or my guests. The service is exemplary and always the staff is knowledgeable on the cuisine. The views on a clear night is unmatched and for evening dining, Anchorage just sparkles. Quyanna for your continued high standards.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is our go-to destination for some of the top food in Anchorage - and the gorgeous view from atop Tower 3 of the Captain Cook Hotel is such a great pairing. Each course of our meal was stunning, showing considerable sophistication. The service was great, the setting was intimate, and really, it was one of the best all around meals my wife and I have enjoyed in quite some time. Likely, since the last time we ate here! On another note, we usually partake from their excellent wine cellar, but this time went with cocktails, and they still didn't disappoint. Wow.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Incredible views, outstanding food, and warm friendly service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Incredible service for our 29th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.