About Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook

Innovative French and New American cuisine, paired with an outstanding selection of over 10,000 bottles of wine. 360 degree views of downtown Anchorage, Chugach Mountain Range and Cook Inlet. Experience Alaska’s finest, at the Hotel Captain Cook.

939 West 5th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
I Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 343-2217

Website:
http://www.captaincook.com/dining/crows-nest

Parking Details:
The Crow’s Nest offers two types of parking. Valet for up to five hours is $18 per vehicle. Or you may self-park in the Captain Cook parking garage and we validate for up to two hours.

Executive Chef:
Chef De' Cuisine Reuben Gerber

Private Party Facilities:
The Crow's Nest offers two semi-private rooms that can hold up to 14 and 18. One completely private room that can hold up to 10.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Permafrost vodka Martini - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Soft Seared Halibut - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Manhattan - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Seared Diver Sea Scallops - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Ahi tuna - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Seafood Bouillabaisse - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Sweet and Spicy Sausage Stuffed Quail - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Filet Mignon - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
King Crab Curry Soup - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Amuse-bouche - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Alaskan King Crab - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Resurrection Bay Cod - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Salmon - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Caesar Salad - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Fruitti Di Mari - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Butternut Soup - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Osso Bucco - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Crabby Patty - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK
Pear And Feta Salad - Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage, AK

Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Scenic View (26)
Romantic (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Waterfront (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Private Room (2)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was amazing. The food, to di ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was amazing. The food, to die for. I had the vision bone in ribeye and it was unbelievably tender. The drinks were on point as well. The Crow's Nest is expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was really expecting so much better qu ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was really expecting so much better quality of food for the most expensive restaurant in Anchorage. We ordered 2 different steaks ( one was a local ribeye and the other was a bone in bison). They were both very tough and hard to cut with our steak knives. The potatoes served with the steak were not anything exciting. The crabby patty appetizer was good and the Banana Foster was great. The service was good. They did ask us how our meal was but we did not want to say anything since we wanted to just enjoy our Anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Incredible food with great view and serv ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Incredible food with great view and service. We truly enjoyed everything about it for our anniversary. We will go back again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were just there for my wife's birthda ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were just there for my wife's birthday on December 14 and I had the same dinner that evening, my wife had the steak and I had the venison, both meals were tough and extremely salty. We were deeply disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

The bison was the best I've had. Highly ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The bison was the best I've had. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, Excellent Food, Creative ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great Service, Excellent Food, Creative And Unique Menu. Beautiful view from the 20th Floor.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from the entire staff, the ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service from the entire staff, the view on the east side of the restaurant was great of the city lights st night, the menu was extensive with very flavorable food choices. Thank you... 😋.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Crow's Nest always produces great fo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The Crow's Nest always produces great food, super service and an ambient atmosphere. The menu is creative and menu selections are served attractively.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very high quality food and a great setti ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very high quality food and a great setting. The service is great and caters to your wants and needs. The views are hard to beat and are complimented by excellent food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very subperb! Loved my dinner! Great des ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Very subperb! Loved my dinner! Great dessert too! I wished the dessert size was a tad bigger though, I had the bird nest dessert and loved the pistachio sorbet but I wanted more. Great service by Jason! Thank you so much

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, , Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding Job from stuff the wine sele ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Outstanding Job from stuff the wine selection we will be back the 24th for my wife Bday Dinners any stay

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing servers!! Great food! The ambian ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Amazing servers!!

Great food!

The ambiance was nice and the view was great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My second time there, and it was spectac ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 7, 2016

My second time there, and it was spectacular again! Amazing food, great wine list, and the service is superb.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The oysters were flat and mushy and my r ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The oysters were flat and mushy and my rivets steak was tough and chewy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

It was my first time eating there. besid ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 2, 2016

It was my first time eating there. besides the wait for the food arrival. I was a bit disappointed at the entrees I ordered, the "Alaska Bois..." it was a bit too salty..

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing food, amazing service. Best of t ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Amazing food, amazing service. Best of the best in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed with the limited sele ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I was disappointed with the limited selection of dinner choices. I have a difficult time believing that any fishery would close due to thanksgiving. There was no salmon and no halibut due to the fishermen going home for the holiday. The deer and the boar "escaped" from their pens and were also not available. I went to the Captain Cook the year before (same Saturday before thanksgiving) and there were no issues with items being available.

The food we did choose was wonderful, and I will not hesitate to go back, I just found it odd for such a high end establishment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Awesome place!! My Husband and I are fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Awesome place!! My Husband and I are from California and each time we come to Anchorage we try to eat here. We had great food, awesome wine and the view is spectacular. Also the service was superb. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience, great view, great ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent experience, great view, great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent! We both had the ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was excellent! We both had the crab cakes which were delicious. You only get one so we decided not to share and get our own. My husband had the rib eye and said it was the best steak he's ever had. The homemade steak sauce was superb. I had the oxtail and black cod. So good! We didn't do the soup/salad because we wanted to make sure we had room for the bananas foster desert! We loved it. The only negative is you have to have a minimum of 2 order it. If you are out as a couple or even a group and only one person wants bananas foster you are kind of out of luck. I'm just glad my husband wanted it too. Maybe he just wanted it so I could have it because that's all I talked about for days! We were seated promptly and our server was very helpful and nice! The view was beautiful. It is a little confusing finding your way to the correct elevator since there is more than one tower, but once you've done it, it isn't a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tom Laret is fantastic! The service is ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Tom Laret is fantastic! The service is extraordinary!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as usual! The Crow's Nest nev ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful as usual! The Crow's Nest never disappoints us. The bartender makes the best martini in town, the waitstaff is attentive without interrupting, the views are amazing, and the food is spectacular. We had the venison and wild boar on this visit and Tom (the sommelier) recommended a wine that was a perfect pairing.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Boar and Venison excellent. Wine list gr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Boar and Venison excellent. Wine list great. View terrifiv.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

VERY nice dining experience. Being an Al ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

VERY nice dining experience. Being an Alaskan I was a little disappointed in the size & number of the scallops.

Wine was a good and Chelsea was a wonderful server.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ordered the Rib Eye steak. It was by ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We ordered the Rib Eye steak. It was by far the best steak I have ever ate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 29th Wedding Ann ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were celebrating our 29th Wedding Anniversary, other than a nice table in the corner we didn't feel special. Our server just went awwh, Happy Anniversary when my husband said what we were celebrating.

The food was really really good but a bit over priced.

The dessert menu was mostly savory desserts and therefore we did not get anything. I would at least keep a good dessert on the menu along with the banana foster such as a normal chocolate cake with no coffee (hubby doesn't like coffee) or another choice.

Overall was a great meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Surely the best place to eat a fine meal ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Surely the best place to eat a fine meal in Anchorage.....

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was great... servers were fri ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Atmosphere was great... servers were friendly and knowlegable.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious!! Started with a sm ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Absolutely delicious!! Started with a small corn bisque (gratis), then Crabbie patties,then a small salad that had a nice cheese, candied walnuts, different lettuces, vinaigrette. Then a beautiful ribeye steak with fingerling potatoes and broccoli florets... It came with a sauce that I wasn't crazy about, but still was a very nice steak. The sauce was on half the steak.. They brought two grand mariner chocolates with the bill that were scrumptious!! GREAT service throughout. Stunning sunset over the Cook Inlet on one side of the restaurant and a gorgeous city view afterward on the other side. Reasonably priced.. I'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was very nice, but the food o ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Everything was very nice, but the food overall seemed under-seasoned or lacking flavor. My palate yearned to be "lifted" even if just a hint.

We had a lovely time, and the service was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

When I made the reservation I made it a ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 21, 2016

When I made the reservation I made it a point to note that it was for a birthday. Half way through dinner I mentioned it again to the hostess and she said they do a special plate for desert. Once desert came around, nothing happened. I love this restaurant but may think twice about going for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The charcuterie and cheese platters were ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The charcuterie and cheese platters were very good. A cocktail glass arrived with multiple lipstick prints on it. The restaurant is definitely a "special event" place, but we've had better food with more choices and price points at other locations in Anchorage.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Always an e notable meal. Excellent wai ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always an e notable meal. Excellent wait staff, food & wine selection, and the view is always a plus! Top 5 restaurants in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service is outstanding . We wer ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food and service is outstanding . We were seated overlooking the city of Anchorage , Alaska. We ate hog cheeks and goose liver and a fine selection of drinks. A wonderful time !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing view with moon rising. Great way ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Amazing view with moon rising. Great way to spend a special evening. The food, wine, service and view do not disappoint!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for wedding anniversary. Defi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Went here for wedding anniversary. Definitely suggest it. Great view, wonderful food, and extraordinary service.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food.

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

the crows nest was amazing date night at ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 13, 2016

the crows nest was amazing date night atmosphere for me and my husband. the food was exquisite and the staff and service were very attentive. very fancy, not for children.

will totally recommend this to any of my friends

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately they ran out of IPA and we ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Unfortunately they ran out of IPA and we were told whoever in charge of ordering is on leave

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything great, except that no Sugar i ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Everything great, except that no Sugar in the Raw for coffee/tea. The coffee cart in the lobby had it, so . . . .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.