About Croc's 19th Street Bistro

620 19th Street
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

A Neighborhood Gem, Fit For Foodies with a Notable Wine List and Great for Groups and Parties! Croc’s is a Platinum Plate Winner from Hampton Roads Magazine. "Wine Friendly Restaurant" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine since 2006. CROC'S coastal casual cuisine infused with authentic Lebanese dishes offer an array of appetizers and half portion entrees. Seafood is approved from the Monterrey Bay Aquarium’s Seafood Watch List and Sensible Seafood programs. Croc's is home to the Old Beach Farmers Market in the Summer and Green Drinks every third Thursday each month. Sunday brunch offers a unique high energy show at 11am and 2pm for a Girls Day Out you'll never forget. "Drag Yourself To Brunch" feature's the region's best female impersonators. Reservations required no children 17&under. Croc's was the first restaurant in the state certified as 'Virginia Green', the commonwealth's program to promote environmentally-friendly practices in all aspects of Virginia's tourism industry.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Lebanese, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:; Sunday - Wednesday 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm- 10:00pm; Sunday "Drag Yourself to Brunch" Showtimes 11AM & 2PM, Reservations are required! No children 17 & under.

Cross Street:
Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 428-5444

Website:
http://www.crocs19thstreetbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Sunday Brunch is a unique high energy show. 11am and 2pm for a Girls' Day Out you'll never forget. "Drag Yourself To Brunch" feature's the region's best female impersonators. Reservations required no children 17&under. Thursday Night features Locals' night with patio party, live music/DJ/dancing

Catering:
CROC'S Catering and Event Menus are on the website. Corporate luncheons, Birthdays, Reunions, Fundraisers and Rehearsal Dinners.

Parking Details:
Free, on premise parking

Executive Chef:
Matt Knack

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s business, vacation, family, or friends let Croc’s Event Planning Team help you. Croc’s events are eco-friendly with on premise Recycling programs, elimination of ALL Styrofoam and efforts to minimize disposables by using linens, china and glassware or biodegradable disposables. Croc’s can accommodate small or large groups, and can be easily reconfigured. Indoors offers an Eco-friendly Dance floor, DJ Booth, area for live band, TV’s, PA surround sound system with microphone and podium. Private Patio area features 4 TVs, ceiling fans, optional music, bar and can seat 45. Flexible menus range from a simple cocktail and hors d'oeuvres gathering, to a multi-course dining experience of extraordinary food and custom selected wines for Bridal and Rehearsal Dinners, Birthdays, Corporate Meetings, Convention Banquets, Charity Fundraisers with a friendly staff to accommodate 2 to 200. For more information visit the website and email us.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Croc's 19th Street Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Virginia
Hot Spot
Virginia
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
1 More
American
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

good for groups (30)
special occasion (25)
great for brunch (22)
See All
fit for foodies (21)
neighborhood gem (17)
hot spot (12)
notable wine list (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (6)
late-night find (5)
romantic (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3

Fun time with a group of friends.

Dined a day ago

Fun time with a group of friends.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

won't be dissapointed

Dined on May 22, 2016

the Drag yourself to Brunch on Sunday's is a blast, just go and you'll see for yourself

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Dragqueen brunch/lunch is great girl fun

Dined on May 15, 2016

drag queen show is lots of fun, great day fun for anyone who likes to have a good time and wants a super fun entertaining and different thing to do with a group of friends. I would definitely recommend - but don't forget your one dollar bills !!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I was a bit put off by the exterior and ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I was a bit put off by the exterior and wondered if I had made a mistake, but I was wrong to judge a book by its cover. The hostess was with us promptly, and we were seated right away. Our server Daniel brought us wonderful hot bread from the oven. I ordered the lavender lemonade sangria and it was delicious and refreshing. My friend ordered a margarita and it was horrible. She sent it back and got a sangria instead. My friend wanted a salad for dinner, so Daniel recommended the kale salad. I ordered the pan seared scallops. We shared the 5 pepper tuna bites as an appetizer. The tuna was seriously the best we have ever had with the most incredible dipping sauce! The kale salad was an explosion of flavor in your mouth and the scallops were cooked perfectly and had a lovely delicate sauce. The service and the food were outstanding and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Can't wait to get back to VA Beach for those tuna bites!

food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Bachelorette Party

Dined on May 8, 2016

The bride to be had a great time!! Posted pics on Fb and now a bunch of friends want to come. We will be returning!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great birthday fun!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

My sister and I went to the drag brunch to celebrate my birthday and Mother's Day. We had a GREAT time, very entertaining and good food!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, affordable, great value...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Saturday night date night half off bottle of wine! Fresh home grown vegetables from the farmers' market. Amazing shrimp and grits! You MUST stop in and visit this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Place!!

Dined on April 25, 2016

We go to Croc's regularly for the last 15 years as it is my wife's favorite place. For her dinner they did not disappoint us again. Great food, Great Staff, and great environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So much fun

Dined on April 3, 2016

Went to the Sunday brunch drag me to brunch and it was amazing dancing very funny MC great atmosphere and great people

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

Our first "Drag yourself to Brunch". Had ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our first "Drag yourself to Brunch". Had a great time. Probably a half hour too long. Food was ok but not up to their usual standards. The wait staff was very helpful. They got t-shirts we wanted and helped us preorder a birthday cake. They were even honest enough to tell us the cake wasn't from the advertised bakery and charged us less. Great for a special occasion - probably my new favorite Easter tradition!! 😀😀

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Friends and I had a great time at Bourbo ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Friends and I had a great time at Bourbon, burgers and bingo night, I have also attended the Drag yourself to brunch. Food is excellent, entertainment great and every staff member has been friendly and happy.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on February 25, 2016

We chose Croc's over other VA Beach options based on the online posted Restaurant Week menus. The food not only didn't disappoint, but it was absolutely delicious. My wife had the Duck Breast Salad to start and it was a meal unto itself. My Tuna Tar-Tar was the best that I've had. Our main courses of Lobster Fettuccine and Lamb Shank with Risotto were also excellent. We ended up taking home half of our dinners so that we could enjoy our desserts of Bread Pudding and Apply Roll-up Pie; both served with home ice cream. Both desserts, especially the home made ice cream were delicious and good endings to a perfect meal. The service was excellent as well as our specialty cocktails and dinner wine. Highly recommend this restaurant. We're heading back soon to enjoy their Sunday Brunch

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delivers...never disappoints!

Dined on February 19, 2016

Once again my husband and I "introduced" a couple to Croc's and as usual were delighted we did. We started out sharing a mezze sampler which was delicious and it was a perfect choice for 4 people to share. For entrees I had convinced my husband to try the crab cakes with risotto and he as thrilled he listened...thoroughly enjoyable. I was delighted with a beautiful salmon, our guests enjoyed seafood risotto and chicken ratatouille! When my husband saw bread pudding on the menu he was ecstatic. It was to be served with ice cream which he refused so our delightful server brought 2 pieces of pudding and....you guessed it...four spoons! Of course no one but my husband wanted desert yet the rest of us more than helped him demolish this exquisite dessert! We are extremely happy to have this awesome "green" establishment in our neighborhood!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5

First time visiting what turns out to be ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

First time visiting what turns out to be a local gem. Food was delicious and service was outstanding. while setting is more like a local bar the food and service matches a fine dining experience. The wait staff sports shirts with S.O.L. emblazoned on the backs... Sustainable. Organic. Local. and the restaurant even has their own organic garden out back.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fun time

Dined on February 7, 2016

I went for my birthday and it was a fun time had by all. They were very accomodating and the reservation process was easy. They packed the house and the entertainment was so fun. I really enjoyed it. Food was good drinks were good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday night surprise

Dined on February 6, 2016

We had not eaten at the restaurant for many years. We knew we were going to be at a nearby venue and because it was so close I wanted to eat there. My wife wanted a different restaurant but I stuck to my guns and made the reservation. What a great surprise. Food and atmosphere was great. The broiled crab cakes were awesome and would recommend the entre to anyone who likes great crab cakes with no filler! Did I mention that any bottle of wine was half price that night (Saturday). How could you go wrong? There was three of us and we ordered a bottle and took what we didn't drink - just a tad. We will be returning even though we live in Chesapeake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been coming here for many years and ...

Dined on February 1, 2016

I've been coming here for many years and I absolutely love Crocs! They have the best crab cakes in the world!! Very personable wait staff. My wife and I always eat here for our Anniversary

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Show

Dined on January 17, 2016

My number one thing I would have to recognize is having specific people just for water refills, that is huge and that was awesome service on them! The other waitresses and waiters were excellent as well. Overall a great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Four people 2 drinks 1 bottle of wine (1 ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Four people 2 drinks 1 bottle of wine (1/2 price Saturday) 1 appetizer 4 salads 4 entrees. $216.00 and worth it. Rather small place reservations necessary. They have a private parking lot. They offer 1/2 portions of several entrees. I had 1/2 portion of crab cake. 1 good sized crab cake. Cheese risotto fresh Asparagus. Only disappointment was crab dip. Smaller than pictured in other reviews, and came with Mexican style chips instead of pita quarters. But large enough for all four to have a sample. Will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the best time here!

Dined on January 10, 2016

I would go again and again... the whole experience was exciting!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was all fresh and we'll prepare ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The food was all fresh and we'll prepared. Everything was exceptional.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great time at Crocs!

Dined on December 6, 2015

This was a birthday celebration and everyone had a blast. Service was attentive and quick. Food was good, drinks were good and plentiful. The performers were outstanding, over the top. the DJ was great in keeping things moving along and creating a party vibe. Everyone in the room was having a great time. This is my 2nd time there and I will come back again for another special occasion. Good job!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Beach Local

Dined on October 17, 2015

Went for my wife's birthday. Found that Saturday night is half price on bottles of wine - yea. We went for the calamari appetizer, which was as good as I have had. We opted for the half orders on our main dishes, which turned out to be as much portion as most places on a regular order. The food was very good with one small issue. The sea scallops were just a bit over cooked and on scallops that really makes them dry and a bit tough. Once we received the check it took quite a while to get it picked up so we could leave. I hate sitting around when I am done and ready to go. The wine list was excellent and a bargain at half price. I will return as the menu had quite a few items that were tempting. I won't get the scallops. Good service, good food and reasonable pricing - what more can you ask for.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the funniest days of my life!!

Dined on October 4, 2015

Came with a group of girls for a bachlorette and I have never laughed so hard in my life. I couldn't stop handing out money left and right because I was so impressed with everyone's performances, this isn't somthing you only go to once! this brunch makes you leave knowing you will be coming back for more !! Amazing people amazing show!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service4

Drag Brunch - So Much Fun!

Dined on September 27, 2015

If you've never been, take a group and get ready for some fun! Very entertaining, especially with a lively group. Don't take your conservative friends, though. It can get racy!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

GREAT ENTERTAINMENT !!

Dined on September 27, 2015

A group of us came for B-Day celebration . It was the first time for us. We really enjoyed ourselves ! Great fun!! Would recommend !!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

Food temperature

Dined on September 13, 2015

The food was good but it was not hot. I know the place is busy on drag queen Sunday but servers need to make sure to bring food out once it's done and not let it sit. Also the mimosa you could only taste a strong champagne taste. Other than that everything was good and much fun.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

BDAY Brunch Fun

Dined on September 13, 2015

Drag yourself to brunch was fun, entertaining, and unforgettable. I will remember this brunch event always. What a fantastic way to celebrate my birthday! Thanks all...

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch & a show!

Dined on September 13, 2015

This is THE place to be for Sunday brunch if you want to go out and have some fun with the girls. The show was awesome, the food was good, the drinks were very well made (thanks TJ!) and the bartender (TJ) who was also our server was pretty darn cute. We had a party of six and we all had a blast. We were sitting up in the bar though and it was hard for the queens to get up to us and interact, so make sure you get your reservations in early and get a table down on the floor. You won't get the awesome TJ, but you'll get more interaction with the queens. We'll definitely be going back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3

I wanted to be dragged out of there

Dined on September 13, 2015

Drag brunch was very entertaining and good for the bachelorette party I was with. But the food was terrible. Like inedible. There's a drag brunch specific menu that I wasn't able to find before hand. Lemme tell you- it's different than the regular crocs menu. I was with a group of 5 and we were seated in a booth for 4 with a chain on the end of the table. Which would have been fine except the chair was squished up against another table and in the walk way so I was being climbed over by other guests and performers. It was miserable. And then there was the sound system. Sooooooo loud and out of balance. It was actually painful to listen to the music and commentary. Overall it was fun for what it was and the occasion but I don't feel the need to pay $8 for a mimosa to get climbed over, eat terrible food, and get a headache. Not impressed.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

had so much fun. Can't wait to go back. ...

Dined on September 6, 2015

had so much fun. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun and Crazy Sunday Brunch

Dined on August 30, 2015

The "drag me to brunch" event on Sunday's is a must visit for anyone in Hampton Roads.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

A nice casual experience

vip
Dined on August 19, 2015

Off the beach a few blocks, Crocs was better than most beach town restaurants. Loved the beautiful wine glasses and small but excellent wine list. Calamari appetizer was wonderful and Blackened tuna and crab cake entrees were very nice. Service was a bit slow and very young but prices were good, we enjoyed everything and will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Pleasant departure from Boardwalk food

Dined on August 15, 2015

We were searching for a nice restaurant away from the Virginia Beach Boardwalk pizza/subs fare. My husband found Croc's 19th street Bistro via Open Table and thought it looked interesting. The atmosphere is fun and funky with unusual décor in black and gold tones. The menu is creative and varied. I had pineapple seared scallops while my daughter and husband tried the alligator bites. I had seafood risotto which was flavorful and creamy with a nice selection of seafood - clams, mussels, shrimp and scallops. My husband was very happy with his steak selection. Both of my daughters enjoyed the Caesar salads. I indulged in one cocktail...the raspberry sangria which was very fruity and refreshing. Croc's is pricey but for a special night out on our vacation and a departure from boardwalk food, it is a great find. We spent $165 for four which covered four appetizers, one drink and four entrees with tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Drag Yourself to Brunch

vip
Dined on August 9, 2015

I went to the Drag Yourself to Brunch on a Sunday and had the best time. I enjoyed the shrimp and grits and the drinks were great too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is always delicious and we love ...

Dined on August 8, 2015

The food is always delicious and we love that Croc's has it own garden with fresh produce.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Slow and Disorganized

Dined on August 4, 2015

We went to dinner prior to seeing a show. The dinner took over 45 minutes from the time we ordered until all of the food was delivered. The dinner was all ordered to come out together, yet some of our group got their food at least 15 minutes prior to others in the group. My son's kids pasta with Tuna was the last to come out. Some of the food that did come out was cooked incorrectly, such as steamed shrimp instead of fried shrimp in the tacos. Other portions of the order never came out. One of the guests ordered 2 of the same Martinis (at separate times throughout the meal) and they came out completely differently. Although the bartender said that they were the same drink, the second one was so different, that the drink was sent back and water was requested instead. The owner's reason for the delays was that they had a party of 30 that slowed them down, unfortunately, this is just an excuse in my opinion. If you cannot handle a party of 30 in addition to your regular tables, then you should take a step back and look at your processes. Either stop accepting large parties, close the rest of the restaurant when you do have large parties, or learn how other restaurants manage large parties without impacting the remaining customers. The owner did end up comping most of the food for the table, however, this really didn't fix anything as we still ended up missing the first 15 minutes of the performance that we were going to due to slow service.

food5
ambience4
service1

great performers, bad service

Dined on August 2, 2015

The Drag brunch was so much fun! Very energetic, upbeat and colorful! The food was good and we enjoyed everything about the entertainment. The service though was horrible though. Waitress kept forgetting things we ordered, never filled our water glasses, wasn't concerned with how we enjoyed things, and was barely found anywhere. She just wasn't friendly and it took away from the experience.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable

Dined on July 27, 2015

This restaurant is just blocks away from the heart of Virginia Beach. The food was excellent and their menu caters to many. We're always looking for vegetarian items and many restaurants think if they have a pasta dish they've got it covered. They have a Middle Eastern influence but not so much that it should scare away people looking for American flavors. My scallops over linguini was outstanding. They have a kids menu that was very nice and reasonable. The alligator bites appetizer was enjoyable and so were the grilled wings. My wife had hummus and a Mediterranean type salad that she really enjoyed. We would definitely recommend this place to people looking for diversity and quality food. Definitely not "bar food" although they can deliver that if you wish. Service was outstanding! It wasn't very crowded since we were there early and I suspect not being down in the main area affects that but don't let that fool you. Everything was fresh and very tasty and deserving of a much larger crowd!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

A little disappointed

Dined on July 11, 2015

I went for the drag show and wasn't aware that it only happens on Sunday. Also it wasn't a huge wine list or menu to choose from however the steak salad that I had was very delicious

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.