About Crisp - Heights

2220 Bevis Street
Houston, TX 77008
View Larger Map

Crisp Heights is committed to providing exceptional customer service and quality dining through our chef inspired menu and choice of over 100 hand selected fine wines and seasonal craft brews. Our indoor and outdoor eatery has an Old World flair with a New World influence, designed to evoke a sense of effortless sophistication in a stylish yet comfortable atmosphere where everyone feels welcome.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday- Friday: 11:00am-3:00pm
Dinner: Monday- Saturday: 3:00pm-11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
23rd St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 360-0222

Website:
http://crisphouston.com/

Entertainment:
CRISP offers solo acoustic acts Friday & Saturday between 8pm & 11pm. Call us for more details.

Parking Details:
CRISP is located on a corner lot equipped with 48 parking spots. Plenty of additional street parking, please be mindful of our neighbors properties. We offer complimentary valet Wednesday - Saturday. Please contact us for more details.

Public Transit:
The Wave is always an option for reliable & safe transportation.

Executive Chef:
Jared Estes

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining room features a 10 ft. long table perfect for intimate gatherings to accommodate up to 14 guests. The private dining room is located on the South side of the building overlooking the garden/patio and houses the Wine Room where over 1,000 bottles of wine are temperature controlled for quality and consistency. With a 50” plasma TV equipped to play DVD’s and compatible with most any laptop, this space is perfect for any special occasion or gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Manager at Crisp: (713) 360-0222

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Crisp - Heights Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (14)
Good for a Date (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Bar Seating (9)
Great Beer (9)
Casual (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Special Occasion (5)
People Watching (4)
Cozy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Private Room (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Live Music (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've gone to Crisp before, but it was fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

I've gone to Crisp before, but it was for takeout for a pizza (which was really good). This time I was able to sit down with friends and enjoy great conversations, on top of the food and wine! From the time I walked into the restaurant and from the time I left, the staff was wonderful! The bartender (cannot recall her name) was absolutely amazing and very accommodating! Of course, the food was delicious, but I truly loved the red sangria and that I could take home wine! Definitely a restaurant I will frequent more often!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, cozy atmosphere, great for a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, cozy atmosphere, great for a date or group dinner.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First timer to Crisp in The Heights. New ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

First timer to Crisp in The Heights. New to the neighborhood not long ago and spotted this place while walking about. Went for a date night and sat on their patio out back. The patio is huge and decorated very nicely. It has a water feature, a large covered table that seats up to 10 guest. Multiple TV's to watch the latest sports on. Great wine selection and great food. Our waiter was very professional and attentive to our needs. He made great recommendations from the wine and appetizers to the main course of our meal. All which paired perfectly together. They have complementary valet for patrons and there's plenty of parking in the parking lot as well as street parking. I will definitely be coming back very soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Private Room, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Historic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cons: Our table was by the door, so it w ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Cons: Our table was by the door, so it was quite chilly. This was disappointing given I made a reservation...hoped for a better table. We never took our coats off. No cocktails, and limited selection (2) of white wines by the glass.

Pros: Pork belly appetizer was yummy, and the scallops in the surf and turf entree were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

They went out of their way to make me a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

They went out of their way to make me a dish that I loved, but is no longer on the menu. Be sure to try the Death by Brownie, with a cup of coffee!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, People Watching, Private Room, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a superior waiter by the name of ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had a superior waiter by the name of Jason who helped guide our choices on the menu and kept a watchful eye on us during the meal without being intrusive. We shared the truffle fries and the crispo app to start and then we had the duck leg salad, Lito's gyro and the Surf & Turf Risotto. All excellent! And then we proceeded to each have a dessert. Death by Brownie and the fruit crisp were really good and the bread pudding was the only disappointment. We dined here years ago but we won't wait as long to come back. Definitely worth several repeat visits.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Arrived promptly for early evening reser ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Arrived promptly for early evening reservation and were seated for 15 minutes before demanding that a member of waitstaff stop milling around and take our order. The restaurant was 3/4 empty and fully staffed but no one was interested in serving. Once served our salads, the entrees arrived literally 60 seconds later.

The food is mediocre in taste and grossly oversized. It would be much more marketable by removing half the volume and pricing 25% lower. A side salad "D-B-G & Greens" was well conceived but sized as an entree with a duck leg rivaling a turkey drumstick except overcooked and impossible to tear down without a steak knife. The entrees were soupy with limpid pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Pot pie and salad lunch combo was delici ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Pot pie and salad lunch combo was delicious and at a great price! We were there on a Monday so it was not very busy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Too many kids running around in the back ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Too many kids running around in the back patio dining area. Management should request parents keep their kids with them and not let it turn into a playground. It was very distracting and ruined the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We had great service. That's the positi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had great service. That's the positive part.

BUT, all our food; appetizer, salad and both our entrees, was WAY TOO SALTY!

Terrible.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

First time there, found in internet., me ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

First time there, found in internet., met another ciuple, had beer and wine, 2 appetizers and pizza. Pizza was okay. Crust could have been cooked more for my taste, undertone. Other than that l8bed the pkace, will still come back again. Loved the wine enomatic.

Tags: Great Beer, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice, relaxed experience for dinner on ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A nice, relaxed experience for dinner on NYE. Live music was nice. Unfortunately, they had already run out of the dinner special for the night. Wine was good as usual. Love the cheese board with salami added every time we visit. Waiter must have been new since he was not as familiar with the food options as other waiters in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food items on the menu at reasonab ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food items on the menu at reasonable prices. Excellent selection of beers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Was great!! Our party of 8 all loved t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Was great!! Our party of 8 all loved their food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Crisp two Other times. A ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We have been to Crisp two

Other times. As

Before the food was delicious and also the wine. Great service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Huge selection of craft beer. Delicious ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Huge selection of craft beer. Delicious and quinquennial varieties of pizza. Fun atmosphere and fresh food. A must try!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

New favorite place for brunch! Great men ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

New favorite place for brunch! Great menu and outdoor seating in the cooler weather is perfect way to start weekend. Love the atmosphere and food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was five girls drinking a lot of wine ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 15, 2016

It was five girls drinking a lot of wine at a monthly "Girls' Dinner." God bless him, our server, Nelson, was fantastically patient and helpful. And the food was great! San Fran pizza was delicious fresh, and great reheated at home. Small side salad made a perfect accompaniment. The gyro had lots of well-seasoned meat. I didn't try the fondue our table ordered, but everyone really seemed to enjoy it! We went on a Tuesday at happy hour, and our bill was very reasonable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Nice neig ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and great service. Nice neighborhood restaurant with good energy. A little noisy so not too good for an intimate dinner. But other than that a fantastic place to dine. Definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went to Crisp on Sunday for brunch. We ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went to Crisp on Sunday for brunch. We sat on the patio and enjoyed and wonderful meal. A carafe of Poinsettias and a Bloody Mary were on point. Excellent service. My friend and I had the frittata and another friend had the pancakes. All were great. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pizza is amazing and there are many ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The pizza is amazing and there are many creative dishes to try. Great beer selection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great time and a great meal at ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a great time and a great meal at Crisp. Our waiter was on top of things, and helpful. We were all really pleased with our orders. I had the shrimp and polenta appetizer for my meal and it was really delicious. The others had the short ribs and loved them too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Crisp was a great place for l ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

As always, Crisp was a great place for lunch with a very good Caesar salad.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was more impressed with the patio than ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I was more impressed with the patio than anything else. Service was so so, food was good though.

My wine options was something I would go back and find in the store to buy, so that was a bonus.

Overall - would certainly return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Love crisp!great addition to the neighbo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Love crisp!great addition to the neighborhood!excellent vegetarian options ,nice outdoor seating, kid friendly but also after work happy hour destination!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a laid back night. Was s ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great place for a laid back night. Was surprising to see live music on Friday night. For those who might not know there's some good food and drink happy hour deals before 7pm.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First time at this location. Food was g ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 15, 2016

First time at this location. Food was good and service was also good. Good crowd size and atmosphere. It appears to be a restaurant for locals in the Heights.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The restaurant has a feel of a neighborh ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The restaurant has a feel of a neighborhood bar and grill. The food is different enough to be interesting but because it is family friendly is exactly why it is not a great place to go for serious conversation and food and drink.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Need a place to get away from the live m ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Need a place to get away from the live music if you want to. Music is great but hard to talk over if you are there to have a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had the Houston Restaurant week menu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had the Houston Restaurant week menu and the wine pairings were spot-on. We did have a slight issue with one of the entrees, but upon hearing about it, our waiter brought out the chef and we were able to give him our opinion. He offered to cook another for us, but it wasn't necessary. Oh, and the desserts were great! We had the lemon panna coat--really delicious. They ended up crediting some of our meal and giving us a complimentary glass of wine. Excellent customer service from beginning to end. We would go back for the regular menu and for the large beer selection.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A thorough disappointment. We thought w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2016

A thorough disappointment. We thought we'd try it for Houston Restaurants Week as we explore the many restaurants in The Heights. CRISP seems to promote itself as a serious gastropub but it was just another sports bar with fancy sounding but disappointing food. The fried ravioli were bland and a little undercooked. The balsamic on the caprese just wasn't good. The sauce for the quail just tasted like flour and water. The Wagu stuffed sirloin au bleu was just an overcooked blue cheese Salisbury steak. The yummy-sounding "Tiramisu Chocolate Cannoli" was thick, bland and less than I'd expect from the frozen food department at Sam's. Service was forgettable. Either get the product up to the promise or drop the pretense and just serve up some decent dishes from Sysco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great neighborhood place. The food was v ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great neighborhood place. The food was very good! We will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Made a reservation for dinner during HRW ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Made a reservation for dinner during HRW....the parking lot was packed but there was valet and later found it was complimentary...already a plus.....ordered from the menu and everything was so delicious and fresh...enjoyed the scallops and the fried quail with the lemon panna cote for dessert...enjoyed our meal so much that we went back the next day for lunch and had the truffle shuffle pizza which is soooo good and the lamb pizza as well as the chicken pot pie...will be going back soon and already told friends about the great choices on HRW menu,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time there and we will be back. Love ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

1st time there and we will be back. Loved the chicken fried quail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food very good. Great neighborhood resta ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food very good. Great neighborhood restaurant. We did have to wait a bit for our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere . Didn't like the high ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Nice atmosphere . Didn't like the high tables for dinner but it worked in the end. The server was nice and the food was awesome! Will come back in the future.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A very friendly, relaxed atmosphere at t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

A very friendly, relaxed atmosphere at the bar watching the Olympics. Our bartender was very attentive with a huge smile - genuinely wanting to please us. A positive experience all around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a good neighborhood restaurant o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is a good neighborhood restaurant offering a variety of chef inspired fresh food. The selection of beer, wine and cocktails is really nice. The noise level inside is too much if you are trying to enjoy a conversation with friends over a good dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We came here for HRW and their menu was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We came here for HRW and their menu was phenomenal! I had the fried ravioli, chicken fried quail, and cannoli for dessert. The quail dos not disappoint and the portion sizes were good! The ambience was nice and our server was very attentive. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were disappointed that our waiter was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were disappointed that our waiter was uninformed about their menu and policies. Also,he was very rigid about any substitutes. Take what'swhat's on the menu or forget it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.