About Crisp - Heights

2220 Bevis Street
Houston, TX 77008
View Larger Map

Crisp Heights is committed to providing exceptional customer service and quality dining through our chef inspired menu and choice of over 100 hand selected fine wines and seasonal craft brews. Our indoor and outdoor eatery has an Old World flair with a New World influence, designed to evoke a sense of effortless sophistication in a stylish yet comfortable atmosphere where everyone feels welcome.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday- Friday: 11:00am-3:00pm
Dinner: Monday- Saturday: 3:00pm-11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
23rd St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 360-0222

Website:
http://crisphouston.com/

Entertainment:
CRISP offers solo acoustic acts Friday & Saturday between 8pm & 11pm. Call us for more details.

Parking Details:
CRISP is located on a corner lot equipped with 48 parking spots. Plenty of additional street parking, please be mindful of our neighbors properties. We offer complimentary valet Wednesday - Saturday. Please contact us for more details.

Public Transit:
The Wave is always an option for reliable & safe transportation.

Executive Chef:
Jared Estes

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining room features a 10 ft. long table perfect for intimate gatherings to accommodate up to 14 guests. The private dining room is located on the South side of the building overlooking the garden/patio and houses the Wine Room where over 1,000 bottles of wine are temperature controlled for quality and consistency. With a 50” plasma TV equipped to play DVD’s and compatible with most any laptop, this space is perfect for any special occasion or gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Manager at Crisp: 7133600222

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Crisp - Heights Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Groups (25)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Hot Spot (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Romantic (3)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
229 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time at this location. Food was g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

First time at this location. Food was good and service was also good. Good crowd size and atmosphere. It appears to be a restaurant for locals in the Heights.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The restaurant has a feel of a neighborh ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The restaurant has a feel of a neighborhood bar and grill. The food is different enough to be interesting but because it is family friendly is exactly why it is not a great place to go for serious conversation and food and drink.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Need a place to get away from the live m ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Need a place to get away from the live music if you want to. Music is great but hard to talk over if you are there to have a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had the Houston Restaurant week menu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had the Houston Restaurant week menu and the wine pairings were spot-on. We did have a slight issue with one of the entrees, but upon hearing about it, our waiter brought out the chef and we were able to give him our opinion. He offered to cook another for us, but it wasn't necessary. Oh, and the desserts were great! We had the lemon panna coat--really delicious. They ended up crediting some of our meal and giving us a complimentary glass of wine. Excellent customer service from beginning to end. We would go back for the regular menu and for the large beer selection.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A thorough disappointment. We thought w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

A thorough disappointment. We thought we'd try it for Houston Restaurants Week as we explore the many restaurants in The Heights. CRISP seems to promote itself as a serious gastropub but it was just another sports bar with fancy sounding but disappointing food. The fried ravioli were bland and a little undercooked. The balsamic on the caprese just wasn't good. The sauce for the quail just tasted like flour and water. The Wagu stuffed sirloin au bleu was just an overcooked blue cheese Salisbury steak. The yummy-sounding "Tiramisu Chocolate Cannoli" was thick, bland and less than I'd expect from the frozen food department at Sam's. Service was forgettable. Either get the product up to the promise or drop the pretense and just serve up some decent dishes from Sysco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great neighborhood place. The food was v ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great neighborhood place. The food was very good! We will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Made a reservation for dinner during HRW ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Made a reservation for dinner during HRW....the parking lot was packed but there was valet and later found it was complimentary...already a plus.....ordered from the menu and everything was so delicious and fresh...enjoyed the scallops and the fried quail with the lemon panna cote for dessert...enjoyed our meal so much that we went back the next day for lunch and had the truffle shuffle pizza which is soooo good and the lamb pizza as well as the chicken pot pie...will be going back soon and already told friends about the great choices on HRW menu,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time there and we will be back. Love ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

1st time there and we will be back. Loved the chicken fried quail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food very good. Great neighborhood resta ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food very good. Great neighborhood restaurant. We did have to wait a bit for our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere . Didn't like the high ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Nice atmosphere . Didn't like the high tables for dinner but it worked in the end. The server was nice and the food was awesome! Will come back in the future.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A very friendly, relaxed atmosphere at t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A very friendly, relaxed atmosphere at the bar watching the Olympics. Our bartender was very attentive with a huge smile - genuinely wanting to please us. A positive experience all around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a good neighborhood restaurant o ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is a good neighborhood restaurant offering a variety of chef inspired fresh food. The selection of beer, wine and cocktails is really nice. The noise level inside is too much if you are trying to enjoy a conversation with friends over a good dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We came here for HRW and their menu was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We came here for HRW and their menu was phenomenal! I had the fried ravioli, chicken fried quail, and cannoli for dessert. The quail dos not disappoint and the portion sizes were good! The ambience was nice and our server was very attentive. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were disappointed that our waiter was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were disappointed that our waiter was uninformed about their menu and policies. Also,he was very rigid about any substitutes. Take what'swhat's on the menu or forget it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food and a fun place to eat. Parki ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good food and a fun place to eat. Parking is a problem. And I was disappointed that there was not a veg option on the Houston Restaurant Weeks choices. I purchased from the regular menu (and the food was great - they have good vegan options) and saved money but would have liked to have participated, along with my daughter, in the special occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Scallops were seared to perfection atop ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Scallops were seared to perfection atop beautiful watermelon radishes. The honey sauce was a wee too sweet for my taste but still beautiful. The mint was the perfect kick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is nice chic and the food is ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place is nice chic and the food is amazing. My coworker and friends love eating at this place for either lunch or dinner. Very clean

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers were great but we were a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The appetizers were great but we were a bit disappointed with the entree as it did not indicate that the sirloin would be ground and stuffed with blue cheese... We thought it would be sliced in the middle and stuffed. It was still a decent tasting dish, we just wished it would have specified on the menu that it was ground.

The dessert with lemon and blueberry preserves was also a letdown. The preserves were way too thick (it was a thick hardened glob of blueberry pudding).

We will probably be returning but we won't ever try the restaurant week menu again as I dont feel that it is a very good example of their food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service was impeccable. I will ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food and service was impeccable. I will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great but the place was really ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was great but the place was really cold. Had to eat entire dinner with jacket on. We even ended up lending a blanket from our car to a lady at another table! Turn down the AC a little bit folks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Great location and great service. Calam ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great location and great service. Calamari was way too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food good as usual. Great beer selection ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food good as usual. Great beer selection. Good service as well

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went at 11 Sunday AM. Food was interesti ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went at 11 Sunday AM. Food was interesting, not the usualbrunch fare. Decent covered outdoor dining area. Parking lot almost completely valet on weekends, so if you have "valet issues" for whatever reason, prepare for a walk of up to 3 blocks. Service was iffy, despite being only a third full at arrival time. Drink orders for subsequently arriving group members, plus menus, place settings, etc., hard to secure. Like server only wanted to deal with the first 2 people at table for 6. Ambivalent about returning. Maybe if the company was good, and they insisted going there for some reason.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The best service and my family loved the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The best service and my family loved the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is fantastic EXCEPT their laz ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything is fantastic EXCEPT their lazy valet. They sit there looking at you instead of opening your door. They watch every step a woman takes to get to the other side and just stand there watching. This is Texas. Step it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the loudest restaurants I've ever ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

One of the loudest restaurants I've ever been to.

Watched one of the bus boys come out of a stall in the bathroom and wash his hands for 2 seconds without soap before drying them and going back to work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was amazing and so was the service ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was amazing and so was the service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally this place is more impressive t ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Normally this place is more impressive than they were for brunch last Sunday. I ordered the hearty skillet and I wouldn't describe it as hearty. I will give them another shot, but this was not their finest hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Screaming kids! Totally ruined our dinn ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Screaming kids! Totally ruined our dinner. Won't be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Great menu overall…we were a party of fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great menu overall…we were a party of four so tried several starters & everything was good especially the pork belly with sweet corn polenta! YUM!

We tried a couple of pizzas..huge portions but very good. Our server was new but took good care of us…wine was served really cold which it needed to be & the service was better than we expected.

Had no idea this place had been over for 3 plus years…a true find for good food & out with friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pizzas are great!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Pizzas are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My family and I were planing on going to ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My family and I were planing on going to Crisp for dinner on July 2nd but after realizing there were no open reservations we opted for Sunday morning brunch. We arrived at 10:30 (30 minutes after opening) and we were the only ones in the restaurant. All the staff was super friendly and attentive and even as the restaurant quickly filled we never felt like we were forgotten about. We ordered three of the different brunch entrees and they were all phenomenal! As we were leaving everyone kept saying how we can't wait to come back and try the other entrees.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Crisp but it's so loud...almost rui ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Love Crisp but it's so loud...almost ruins the experience but the food and wine are exceptional which balances it out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was great for a group of us to get ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was great for a group of us to get together and celebrate a friend's birthday. I was glad that there were a couple of options for my vegan friend. The service wasn't as it has been in the past. We appeared to be somewhat invisible to the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We were at Crisp for Father's Day brunch ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were at Crisp for Father's Day brunch. First time there for everyone. What a great experience. Everyone's food was outstanding. The facility, despite being mostly full, was still fairly quiet - actual sound insulation in a Houston restaurant! What a concept!

Service was outstanding, and the entire check for four people, including Mimosas, was less than $60.

I just wish I had found this place sooner. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful. Unfortunately we wer ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was wonderful. Unfortunately we were sat next to a loud table even though there was hardly anyone else in the restaurant as we ate rather early. It would have been too obvious if we asked to move--I don't think waiter should have sat us there in the first place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great place for a relaxing dinner. Love ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place for a relaxing dinner. Love the beer options.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the worst meals I have h ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

This was one of the worst meals I have had in quite sometime. The gnocchi was horrible. Crisp reminds me of an expensive TGIF's. Do not go. Way too many good places to eat in this town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great birthday celebration!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We celebrated two birthdays, one of which was our son's 21st! The beer selection is awesome, so he jumped right in. Our server was great, and worked with our sometimes undecidedness! We enjoyed the food and the drink which made our celebration all the more special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy brunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Have eaten at Crisp since it's opening but met friends for my first brunch and it was over the top delicious! I'll definitely be back for brunch again!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.