Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.58mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 1.58mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi

About Crisp - Heights

Crisp Heights is committed to providing exceptional customer service and quality dining through our chef inspired menu and choice of over 100 hand selected fine wines and seasonal craft brews. Our indoor and outdoor eatery has an Old World flair with a New World influence, designed to evoke a sense of effortless sophistication in a stylish yet comfortable atmosphere where everyone feels welcome.

2220 Bevis Street
Houston, TX 77008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday- Friday: 11:00am-3:00pm
Dinner: Monday- Saturday: 3:00pm-11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
23rd St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 360-0222

Website:
http://crisphouston.com/

Entertainment:
CRISP offers solo acoustic acts Friday & Saturday between 8pm & 11pm. Call us for more details.

Parking Details:
CRISP is located on a corner lot equipped with 48 parking spots. Plenty of additional street parking, please be mindful of our neighbors properties. We offer complimentary valet Wednesday - Saturday. Please contact us for more details.

Public Transit:
The Wave is always an option for reliable & safe transportation.

Executive Chef:
Jared Estes

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining room features a 10 ft. long table perfect for intimate gatherings to accommodate up to 14 guests. The private dining room is located on the South side of the building overlooking the garden/patio and houses the Wine Room where over 1,000 bottles of wine are temperature controlled for quality and consistency. With a 50” plasma TV equipped to play DVD’s and compatible with most any laptop, this space is perfect for any special occasion or gathering.

Private Party Contact:
Manager at Crisp: (713) 360-0222

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Crisp - Heights Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Good for Groups (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Great Beer (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Live Music (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Romantic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Private Room (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Live Sports (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We love Crisp for casual family dinners - from delicious salads to pizza to mussels. Not to mention the beer and wine.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

poor service, food was lukewarm, had to ask for refills repeatedly for drinks, and all condiments.., salt and pepper were not on the table nothing was addressed as a courtesy, .. we felt we had to ask for way to much to even try to enjoy the meal.

would not go again. server had a chip on her shoulder . didn't want to be there for Sunday brunch. poor dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

very good pizza but also very good non- pizza items. i love the beer can chicken

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Not impressed with the salmon ciapino. Not particularly flavorful. Service was good and we enjoyed getting out but disappointed with the meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very disappointed in the gnocchi. The consistency and taste was more like stuffing. Pork belly was delicious, as were the mussels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food, great time, great music. Had the fried appetizer, it was awesome, melting short ribs very yummy. Daughter had pizza which was really good. The Mushroom fondue was a little rich for my tastes, but I don't like rich things. Red wine was server cold which was odd. Too cold, had to warm it up to open up.

Good service and great music. Just what we were looking for.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Food was good but not excellent. I liked the idea behind the food, but just not executed to the level of other restaurants in this price range around town. Caveat - we ate a very early dinner and so maybe early service wasn't as good.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very slow service. We ordered desert menu and our waitress did not show up for another 10 minutes to take orders. We were in a hurry to go to the concert and we were there already for 1hour 45 minutes .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This place is a Heights treasure!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our waitress was pretty awful BUT the food was awesome and I have to say the back patio was really cool! I am from out of town but I would definitely come back for pizza or the Wed/Thurs 50% off night. Besides our server the others were super nice and helpful.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It was just alright. Worth it if you live around there and want someplace with a large beer/wine list. Not worth it if you need to drive more than 10 minutes as I feel like you could go to better places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Ran a few minutes late for the reservation but they held the table anyways. The service was great and the food was good as always. They have great deals on beer flights on Friday's. It's one of my favorite places in the Height's.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Always a good neighborhood go-to place! This was the first time I have gone later and the noise level was much better!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was part good, part not good...
* Arancini - Excellent, surprisingly good combination with a very odd orange vinaigrette
* Short Ribs - Meat, good; polenta, ok; too much sauce though, and too liquid
* Pizza with potatoes and arugula - Terrible. Despite high quality ingredients (very fresh arugula, good cheese) the crust was awful, the potatoes were undercooked and the pizza was too salty (crust had enough salt but they put coarse salt on top)

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We go there for pizza and the wine selection. Our server was a little inattentive this past time and our order wasn't right, but it was still good food. Reasonable and would recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Table was a little small for 4 people with win and pizza and the noise level was pretty loud. Other than that the food was amazing and the service was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I liked the food, but the restaurant is dark inside, like a bar.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My family really enjoyed the food and the service. We started with the *AMAZING* goat cheese appetizer, and my husband and I split the green salad and buffalo chicken pizza. Both were solid choices and I'd order again. My 4 year old shared her spaghetti & meatball with her 9 month old sister, who had a great time! We also had a cheesecake dessert that was solid, but not as amazing as that appetizer. Service was attentive and very accommodating of the small children. Their food came out very quickly (as did the rest of the meal). Worth mentioning the restaurant was rather loud so it's great for kids, unless they are sensitive to the noise.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was our first visit, picked it up by looking on OpenTable and it was the best. We enjoyed everything we eat. We didn't come for the beer options and wine, and the food did not disappoint. I had the steamed Mussels and they were amazing. We had a pizza which was great as well as my husband burger. Our waitress, Kayla was so friendly and courteous and helped us with dishes and our dessert. We'd ask for her again if we returned. The service from her and the team who helped her was very nice. Can't wait to go back and recommend it. My sister is Gluten Free and I can't wait to bring her to Crisp, so many options. Thank you for an unexpected and wonderful evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We got together with our son and daughter in law whom we haven't seen in a very long time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Great Beer, Casual, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Business lunch

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Very underwhelming in terms of food. Pork belly appetizer overcooked, mussel appetizer also overcooked. Main dish I got the burger, also overcooked, dry, and underseasoned. We also got the short rib dish which was very low on flavor with a runny broth (not reduced down like with typical short rib dishes).

The scene was pretty good though, especially with outdoor seating. Would be great for HH or drinks, but food definitely needed improvement.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great place. Good food and great live music

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Live Music, Family Style, Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Fresh salads with tasty entries. Great lunch specials.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was not as great as it used to be. My friend and I ordered the chicken and waffles and the waffles were so soggy and the rest just cold. And the chicken portion was so small. Disappointing.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Crisp is a very quiet place on Saturdays - definitely would recommend going for brunch then rather than in Saturday, where it apparently is more crowded with a church crowd. Inside was rather dim, however. Prices are quite affordable, and the food is tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We enjoyed Crisp, but there are not enough options for the entrées. The wine and beer selection is excellent, but we find ourselves opting not to go there because there are not enough entrées to our liking. We end up with a hamburger, which is good, but not great. Pizzas are good, but not great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Sadly the Enoteca wine dispensing machine was not working on this occasion. The standard wine by the glass choices are average, but moves into the interesting range when the dispenser is operational. The bottle wine list is above average, but we didn't venture in that direction. The cheese board with added cured meats is an appetizing plus.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was just OK. The service was good, food was decent, but the restaurant clearly wasn't setup for brunch. I get the feeling it was something they added to make a quick buck. Also, it's not in The Heights.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were seated quickly, and had plenty of room at the table. The goat cheese and Marinara is always worth it as an appetizer. Local drafts rotation was very good - great selection of dark beers. My wife and I split a pizza, with plenty leftover to bring home. We will return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've gone to Crisp before, but it was for takeout for a pizza (which was really good). This time I was able to sit down with friends and enjoy great conversations, on top of the food and wine! From the time I walked into the restaurant and from the time I left, the staff was wonderful! The bartender (cannot recall her name) was absolutely amazing and very accommodating! Of course, the food was delicious, but I truly loved the red sangria and that I could take home wine! Definitely a restaurant I will frequent more often!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I loved Crisp! Very good food and service. Nice outdoor dining. Don't miss the bisque!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, cozy atmosphere, great for a date or group dinner.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First timer to Crisp in The Heights. New to the neighborhood not long ago and spotted this place while walking about. Went for a date night and sat on their patio out back. The patio is huge and decorated very nicely. It has a water feature, a large covered table that seats up to 10 guest. Multiple TV's to watch the latest sports on. Great wine selection and great food. Our waiter was very professional and attentive to our needs. He made great recommendations from the wine and appetizers to the main course of our meal. All which paired perfectly together. They have complementary valet for patrons and there's plenty of parking in the parking lot as well as street parking. I will definitely be coming back very soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Private Room, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Historic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Cons: Our table was by the door, so it was quite chilly. This was disappointing given I made a reservation...hoped for a better table. We never took our coats off. No cocktails, and limited selection (2) of white wines by the glass.
Pros: Pork belly appetizer was yummy, and the scallops in the surf and turf entree were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The place is really nice.
Food was delicious.
Ambience is great for family and friends.
Patio super nice and bar provocative which i expect to try in other time.

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

They went out of their way to make me a dish that I loved, but is no longer on the menu. Be sure to try the Death by Brownie, with a cup of coffee!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, People Watching, Private Room, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had a superior waiter by the name of Jason who helped guide our choices on the menu and kept a watchful eye on us during the meal without being intrusive. We shared the truffle fries and the crispo app to start and then we had the duck leg salad, Lito's gyro and the Surf & Turf Risotto. All excellent! And then we proceeded to each have a dessert. Death by Brownie and the fruit crisp were really good and the bread pudding was the only disappointment. We dined here years ago but we won't wait as long to come back. Definitely worth several repeat visits.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Arrived promptly for early evening reservation and were seated for 15 minutes before demanding that a member of waitstaff stop milling around and take our order. The restaurant was 3/4 empty and fully staffed but no one was interested in serving. Once served our salads, the entrees arrived literally 60 seconds later.

The food is mediocre in taste and grossly oversized. It would be much more marketable by removing half the volume and pricing 25% lower. A side salad "D-B-G & Greens" was well conceived but sized as an entree with a duck leg rivaling a turkey drumstick except overcooked and impossible to tear down without a steak knife. The entrees were soupy with limpid pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Pot pie and salad lunch combo was delicious and at a great price! We were there on a Monday so it was not very busy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.